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RULES AND REGULATIONS

Title 7—AGRICULTURE

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
[7 PA. CODE CH. 104]
Sheep and Lamb Marketing Program

The Department of Agriculture (Department) adopts
amendments to 88 104.21, 104.22, 104.24—104.26 and
104.28—104.30. These amendments are adopted under
sections 3 and 11 of the Pennsylvania Agricultural Com-
modities Act of 1968 (act) (3 P.S. 8§ 1003 and 1011)
which, respectively, require the Department to administer
commodity marketing programs and delegate to the De-
partment the power to adopt regulations necessary to
implement the act.

Chapter 104, Subchapter C (relating to sheep and lamb
marketing program) was adopted in 1993, and addresses
the Pennsylvania Sheep and Lamb Marketing Program
(Program). The primary purpose of Subchapter C was to
involve sheep and lamb sales agents in the process of
collecting the 25¢-per-head producer charge owed the
Program by sheep and lamb producers. As a result of the
Program Board’'s experience in administrating the Pro-
gram under Subchapter C, though, it has determined it
can better enlist the cooperation of sales agents in the
producer charge collection process by minimizing the
responsibilities and paperwork and recordkeeping require-
ments imposed upon sheep and lamb producers and sales
agents. The amendments will streamline Subchapter C to
establish a less-intrusive method of collecting and verify-
ing the payment of producer charges due the Program.

Comments

Notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 25
Pa.B. 3345 (August 19, 1995), and provided for a 30-day
public comment period.

Only two comment letters were received with respect to
the notice of proposed rulemaking: one from a member of
the Program Board and the other from the Independent
Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC).

The Program Board member offered general comments
in support of these amendments, noting that the amend-
ments were long overdue and that it would save time and
effort on the part of those involved in the producer charge
collection process.

IRRC noted that 88 104.25(a), 104.26(a) and 104.28(b)
(relating to accounting and payment by sales agents;
accounting and payment by producers; and exemptions) of
the proposed amendments would require producers and
sales agents to retain certain records for 5 years. IRRC
recommended this required record retention period be
shortened to 2 or 3 years. For the reasons which follow,
the Department accepts IRRC's comment in part, and has
shortened the 5-year record retention period to 4 years.

The Department does not view the record retention
requirements at 8§ 104.25(a), 104.26(a) and 104.28(b) as
placing some new burden on sheep and lamb producers
and sales agents. The records required under these
sections are the type of records that would be kept in the
ordinary course of business.

In addition, the records required under these sections
are not so voluminous as to constitute a burden upon
those who are required to keep them. The Department

views the fact that no producer or sales agent offered any
comment against the proposed 5-year record retention
period as some evidence that this is the case.

The Department reviewed record retention require-
ments imposed under other commodity marketing pro-
grams. The Pennsylvania Apple Marketing Program re-
quires (at § 104.6(a)) apple sales agents to retain records
of certain transactions “... for at least 3 marketing
seasons beyond the marketing season within which the
transaction occurred.” In effect, this record retention
period is more than 3 years and less than 4 years.

The Pennsylvania Vegetable Marketing and Research
Program requires (at 8§88 104.55 and 104.56(b)) vegetable
producers and sales agents to retain records for at least 2
growing seasons beyond the growing season within which
particular events occur. In effect, this record retention
period is more than 2 years and less than 3 years.

Based on the foregoing, the Department and the Pro-
gram Board believe it reasonable to accommodate IRRC'’s
concerns and decrease the required record retention period
from the 5-year period originally proposed. To this end,
88§ 104.25(a), 104.26(a) and 104.28(b) now require that the
specific records referenced in those sections be retained for
4 years. The Program Board voted its approval of this
4-year record retention period on November 30, 1995.

Fiscal Impact
Commonwealth

The amendments will impose no costs and have no
fiscal impact upon the Commonwealth.

Political Subdivisions

The amendments will impose no costs and have no
fiscal impact upon political subdivisions.

Private Sector

The amendments will decrease the costs of compliance
which were imposed upon the private sector by the
current regulations. The recordkeeping and paperwork
requirements of Subchapter C would be decreased and,
presumably, this would result in some tangible savings
among sheep and lamb producers and sales agents.

General Public

The amendments will impose no costs and have no
fiscal impact upon the general public.

Paperwork Requirements

The amendments are not expected to result in an
appreciable increase in paperwork.

Contact Person

Further information is available by contacting the
Department of Agriculture, Attention: Michael Varner,
Bureau of Market Development, 2301 North Cameron
Street, Harrisburg, PA 17110-9408.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)) on August 9, 1995, the Department
submitted a copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking
published at 25 Pa.B. 3345 (August 19, 1995) to IRRC
and to the Chairpersons of the House and Senate Stand-
ing Committees on Agriculture and Rural Affairs for
review and comment. In compliance with section 5(b.1) of
the Regulatory Review Act, the Department also provided
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IRRC and the Committees with copies of the comments
received, as well as other documentation.

In preparing these final-form regulations, the Depart-
ment has considered all comments received from IRRC,
the Committees and the public.

These final-form regulations were deemed approved by
the House Committee on May 6, 1996, was deemed
approved by the Senate Committee and were approved by
IRRC on May 16, 1996, in accordance with section 5(c) of
the Regulatory Review Act.

Findings
The Department finds that:

(1) Public notice of intention to adopt the amendments
encompassed by this order has been given under sections
201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968 (P.L. 769, No.
240) (45 P.S. 88 1201 and 1202) and the regulations
thereunder, 1 Pa. Code 88 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and that all comments received were considered.

(3) The modifications that were made to these amend-
ments in response to comments received do not enlarge
the purpose of the proposed amendments published at 25
Pa.B. 3345.

(4) The adoption of the amendments in the manner
provided by this order is necessary and appropriate for
the administration of the authorizing statute.

Order

The Department, acting under the authorizing statute,
orders that:

(@) The regulations of the Department, 7 Pa. Code
Chapter 104, are amended by amending §§ 104.21, 104.22,
104.24, 104.29 and 104.30 to read as set forth at 25 Pa.B.
3345 (August 19, 1995) and by amending 88 104.25, 104.26
and 104.28 to read as set forth in Annex A.

(b) The Secretary of Agriculture shall submit this
order, 25 Pa.B. 3345 and Annex A to the Office of General
Counsel and to the Office of Attorney General for ap-
proval as required by law.

(c) The Secretary of Agriculture shall certify this order,
25 Pa.B. 3345 and Annex A and deposit them with the
Legislative Reference Bureau as required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect upon publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.

CHARLES C. BROSIUS,
Secretary

(Editor's Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 26 Pa.B. 2669 (June 1, 1996).)

Fiscal Note: 2-96. No fiscal impact; (8) recommends
adoption.

Annex A
TITLE 7. AGRICULTURE
PART IV. MARKETS

CHAPTER 104. ENFORCEMENT OF MARKETING
PROGRAMS

Subchapter C. SHEEP AND LAMB MARKETING
PROGRAM

§ 104.25. Accounting and payment by sales agents.

(@) Required records. A sales agent whose business is
located within this Commonwealth shall maintain, for 4

years, a record of the following information with respect
to each producer from whom the sales agent purchases
sheep or lambs, or on whose behalf he sells sheep or
lambs:

(1) The name and address of the producer.

(2) The number of head of sheep or lambs subject to
the producer charge.

(3) The number of head of sheep or lambs exempt from
the producer charge.

(4) The amount of money collected or deducted as
producer charges owed the Program.

(b) Inspection of records. The records described in
subsection (a) shall be made available for inspection,
during reasonable business hours or at some mutually
agreeable time, upon the written request of the Program.

(c) Accounting by collecting sales agents. If a collecting
sales agent whose business is located within this Com-
monwealth purchases sheep or lambs from a producer or
sells sheep or lambs on behalf of a producer within a
particular calendar month, the collecting sales agent shall
submit a monthly report and remittance form with re-
spect to that calendar month, together with payment of
the producer charges owed the Program as reflected on
that form, to the Program no later than the 15th day of
the subsequent calendar month. Monthly report and
remittance forms shall be provided by the Program upon
request of the collecting sales agent. The monthly report
and remittance form shall reflect the time period to which
it is applicable, the total number of sheep or lambs
marketed, the total number of sheep or lambs exempt
from producer charges under § 104.28 (relating to exemp-
tions), the total number of sheep or lambs subject to
producer charges and the total producer charges due the
Program. The collecting sales agent shall sign a verifica-
tion that the contents of the monthly report and remit-
tance form are true and accurate. The monthly report and
remittance form and the payment of producer charges
owed the Program shall be submitted by mail or delivery
to:

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

Department of Agriculture

Bureau of Market Development

Attn: PA Sheep and Lamb Marketing Program
2301 North Cameron Street

Harrisburg, PA 17110-9408

§ 104.26. Accounting and payment by producers.

(a) Required records. A producer shall maintain, for 4
years, a record of the following information with respect
to sheep or lambs which the producer sells, whether the
sale is through the producer or a sales agent:

(1) The name and address of the person to whom the
sheep or lambs were sold.

(2) The date of the sale.
(3) The number of head of sheep or lambs sold.

(4) Whether the producer charge owed the Program
with respect to the sale was deducted or collected by a
collecting sales agent or whether it is being submitted by
the producer contemporaneously with its producer record
form.

(b) Inspection of records. The information required in
subsection (a) shall be made available for inspection,
during business hours or at some mutually agreeable
time, upon the written request of the Program.
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(c) Accounting. A producer shall submit its producer
record form for a particular calendar year, together with
payment of the producer charges owed the Program as
reflected on that form, to the Program by January 20 of
the subsequent calendar year. The producer record form
shall be provided by the Program upon request of the
producer. The form shall clearly identify the producer, the
time period to which it is applicable, the total number of
sheep or lambs marketed, the total number of sheep or
lambs exempt from producer charges under § 104.28
(relating to exemptions), the total number of sheep or
lambs subject to producer charges and the total produc-
tion charges due the Program. A producer may submit
two producer record forms with respect to a particular
calendar year, the first of which shall cover sales from
January 1 through June 30 and be submitted by July 20,
and the second of which shall cover sales from July 1
through December 31 and be submitted by January 20 of
the subsequent calendar year. The producer shall sign a
verification that the contents of the producer record form
are true and accurate. The producer record form and the
payment of producer charges owed the Program shall be
submitted by mail or delivery to the address in
§ 104.25(c) (relating to accounting and payment by sales
agents).

§ 104.28. Exemptions.

(a) Generally. A person who produces sheep or lambs or
causes sheep or lambs to be produced within this Com-
monwealth is exempt from the requirement that he pay
producer charges with respect to the following:

(1) Sheep or lambs which have not been within this
Commonwealth for 30 consecutive days immediately prior
to sale or slaughter.

(2) Sheep or lambs that were sold, transferred or
slaughtered for other than business purposes. Purposes
that are “other than business purposes” include the sale
or transfer of sheep or lambs, without profit, for use as
pets or as zoo or exhibition animals or the donation of
sheep or lambs for charitable purposes such as feeding
needy individuals.

(b) Records supporting exemptions. To claim an exemp-
tion, the producer shall retain, for 4 years, records to
demonstrate that a particular sheep or lamb met one of
the requirements of subsection (a). These records shall be
made available for inspection, during business hours or at
some mutually agreeable time, upon the written request
of the Program.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 96-954. Filed for public inspection June 14, 1996, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 49—PROFESSIONAL
AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

STATE BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE
[49 PA. CODE CH. 31]
General Information
The State Board of Veterinary Medicine (Board) adopts

amendments to Chapter 31, to read as set forth in Annex
A.

The purpose of the amendments is to expand and
consolidate existing language, and to provide greater

guidance to applicants for examinations for licensure on
issues relating to the required examinations for licensure
in this Commonwealth, the qualifications for licensure
and the limitations imposed on temporary permit holders.
The amendments also provide greater guidance to licens-
ees of the Board on issues relating to licensure renewal,
continuing education and approved providers of continu-
ing education courses.

Notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 24
Pa.B. 4482 (September 3, 1994). Publication was followed
by a 30-day public comment period during which the
Board received written comments from Clifford G. Cum-
mings, D.V.M., on behalf of the Pennsylvania Veterinary
Medical Association (PVMA). Comments were also re-
ceived from the Honorable Clarence D. Bell, Chairperson,
Senate Consumer Protection and Professional Licensure
Committee, the House Professional Licensure Committee
(HPLC) and the Independent Regulatory Review Commis-
sion (IRRC).

The amendments reflected in Annex A are responsive to
the comments and suggestions received from these com-
mentators. For ease of reference, the Board will address
the comments in the order in which the amendments
appear.

§ 31.11. Application for licensure.

Editorial changes have been made by the Board to
§ 31.11(b) (relating to application for licensure) to clarify
that, as a prerequisite to original licensure as a veterinar-
ian, applicants must submit specified documentation to
the Board to verify their qualifications.

The Board also added language to § 31.11(b)(1) to
recognize as evidence of graduation from graduates of
schools or colleges outside of the United States and
Canada, certification from other programs which may be
subsequently approved by the American Veterinary Med-
ical Association (AVMA). The Board recently received
information that discussions are anticipated to begin
between the National Board Examining Committee
(NBEC) and the AVMA to transfer the Educational Com-
mission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) to the
NBEC.

Commenting on § 31.11(b), IRRC questioned why the
requirements of section 9(b)(4) of the Veterinary Medicine
Practice Act (63 P.S. § 485.9(b)(4)) (act) (which requires
an applicant to submit satisfactory evidence that he has
not been convicted of a felonious act prohibited by The
Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act (35
P. S. 88 780-101—780-144)) has not been included under
§ 31.11(b). IRRC opined that this statutory requirement
should not be omitted from the regulatory requirements,
and recommended that the Board add a paragraph to
§ 31.11(b) to incorporate this language. The Board has
complied with this request.

8§ 31.13. Licensure renewal.

IRRC expressed a similar concern regarding proposed
§ 31.13(b) (relating to licensure renewal). IRRC noted
that the language, as proposed, does not include the
statutory requirement of section 9(d) of the act that a
licensee of this Commonwealth, who is also licensed to
practice veterinary medicine elsewhere, report any disci-
plinary action taken in another state, territory or country
to the Board at the time of biennial renewal or within 90
days of disposition, whichever is sooner. In response to
this comment, subsection (b) has been amended by adding
language to track the statutory reporting requirement.
Subsections (b)—(d) as originally proposed have been
relettered as subsections (c)—(e), respectively.
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The HPLC and IRRC each expressed concern that
subsection (b) as originally proposed states that failure of
a veterinarian to cease practice if the veterinarian does
not renew his license may result in disciplinary action.
Both commentators recommended that the Board retain
the language from the original regulation which provides
that failure of a veterinarian to cease practice if the
veterinarian does not renew his license will result in
disciplinary action. The commentators opined that use of
the word “may” as opposed to “will” could imply that the
Board is now more willing to overlook unlicensed practice
than it was in the past. In light of these concerns, the
Board has amended the language of subsection (b) (now
subsection (c)), accordingly.

IRRC's final concern respecting § 31.13 was the
Board's deletion of language under proposed subsection
(c) which required that a holder of an expired license who
wishes to reactivate and renew the license be required to
pay fees as would have been paid had the holder main-
tained his license in good standing. The Board originally
proposed to delete this language because the general
practice of the Bureau of Professional and Occupational
Affairs is to require a licensee who wishes to renew an
expired license to sign an affidavit of nonpractice (verify-
ing the period of time in which the licensee abstained
from practice in this Commonwealth) and to pay only the
current biennial renewal fee. Notwithstanding this prac-
tice, the Board acknowledges that section 19(a)(2) of the
act (63 P. S. § 485.19(a)(2)) specifically states that one of
the requirements for reinstatement of an expired license
to practice veterinary medicine is “[p]Jayment of all fees
that would have been paid if [the veterinarian] had
maintained his or her license in good standing...” This
being so, the Board has added language under new
subsection (d) to incorporate this statutory language.

§ 31.15. Continuing education.

Language has been added to § 31.15 (relating to con-
tinuing education), at the suggestion of IRRC, to clarify
that the period of time for meeting the continuing
education requirement is the 24 months preceding the
renewal date. The language added by the Board tracks
the statutory language of section 18 of the act (63 P.S.
§ 485.18).

§ 31.16. Continuing education provider approval.

In response to concerns raised by the HPLC and IRRC
to the language of proposed § 31.16(a) (relating to con-
tinuing education provider approval), the Board has
deleted the phrase, “as long as the programs are specifi-
cally designed to increase the skills, knowledge and
competency of veterinarians,” where that language ap-
peared in subsection (a). Upon reconsideration, the Board
is of the view that this language, as originally proposed,
was out of place.

Commenting on proposed subsection (d), the HPLC and
IRRC questioned why members of the faculties of ap-
proved schools of veterinary medicine are exempt from
the requirement under subsection (e¢) to submit to the
Board a resumé of their qualifications to teach a continu-
ing education course. The Board has exempted these
individuals from the resumé requirement because the
qualifications of faculty members of approved schools of
veterinary medicine are closely scrutinized by qualified
academicians associated with these schools. Further re-
view by Board members of the qualifications of these
instructors to teach a continuing education course is
unnecessary.

Commenting on behalf of the PVMA, Dr. Cummings
urged the Board to amend subsection (a) to include,

among the list of providers that do not require prior
Board approval, constituent associations of the PVMA.
Dr. Cummings explained that local constituent associa-
tion programs are an important means of continuing
education for many practitioners in this Commonwealth,
and that programs offered by PVMA's constituent associa-
tions utilize university staff members and other special-
ists to provide meaningful continuing education to li-
censed practitioners. The Board agrees with this
suggestion and has amended subsection (a) accordingly.

IRRC's final comment regarding subsection (d) pertains
to the Board’'s word choice in paragraphs (2) and (3).
IRRC noted that in paragraph (2), the Board states that
licensed veterinarians who are not faculty members of
approved schools of veterinary medicine may be instruc-
tors of a continuing education program if, by virtue of
their professional activities and achievements in a par-
ticular field, the doctors are recognized by the Board as
qualified to speak on a particular subject. In paragraph
(3), the Board states that instructors of continuing educa-
tion programs may include other lecturers or instructors
who are not licensed veterinarians, if the Board deter-
mines that they are qualified to speak on a particular
subject. At the suggestion of IRRC, and for consistency,
the Board has amended paragraph (2) to read “deter-
mined” as opposed to “recognized.”

IRRC also questioned how a continuing education pro-
vider is advised that he has been determined by the
Board as qualified to speak on a particular subject. In
response, the Board carefully reviews the resumé submit-
ted by the individual to evaluate the individual's educa-
tion and experience background to speak on a particular
subject, and communicates its decision to the individual
in writing, stating the reason, if any, for disapproval.

Statutory Authority

These amendments are adopted under the authority of
section 5(1) of the act (63 P. S. § 485.5(1)), which empow-
ers the Board to adopt reasonable rules and regulations
governing the practice of veterinary medicine as are
necessary to enable the Board to carry out and make
effective the purpose and intent of its enabling statute.

Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

The amendments should have no fiscal impact and
should require no additional paperwork by the Common-
wealth, its political subdivisions or the private sector.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. 8 745.5(a)), the Board submitted a copy of the notice
of proposed rulemaking, published at 24 Pa.B. 4482, to
IRRC and to the Chairpersons of the HPLC and the
Senate Committee on Consumer Protection and Profes-
sional Licensure for review and comment. In compliance
with section 5(b.1) of the Regulatory Review Act, the
Board also provided IRRC and the Committees with
copies of all comments received, as well as other docu-
mentation.

In preparing these final-form regulations the Board has
considered all comments received from IRRC, the Com-
mittees and the public.

These final-form regulations were approved by the
HPLC on May 13, 1996, and approved by the Senate
Committee on May 14, 1996. IRRC met on May 16, 1996,
and approved the regulations in accordance with section
5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act.
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Further Information

Persons who wish further information about the
amendments may communicate with Deborah Orwan,
Administrative Assistant, State Board of Veterinary Medi-
cine, P. O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649, (717)
783-1389.

Findings
The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of the Board's intention to adopt the
amendments herein was given under sections 201 and
202 of the act of July 31, 1968 (P. L. 769, No. 240) (45
P.S. 8§ 1201 and 1202), and the regulations thereunder,
1 Pa. Code 8§ 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) The regulations adopted herein are necessary and
appropriate for the administration of the act.

Order

The Board, acting under its authorizing statute, there-
fore orders that:

(&) The regulations of the Board, 49 Pa. Code Chapter
31, are amended by adding 8§ 31.3, 31.15 and 31.16 and
by amending 8§ 31.11—31.13 to read as set forth in
Annex A.

(b) The Board shall submit this order and Annex A to
the Office of Attorney General and the Office of General
Counsel for approval as required by law.

(c) The Board shall certify this order and Annex A and
deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bureau as
required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect upon publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.

JOY LOUISE ELLWANGER, C. A H.T,,
Chairperson

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 16A-572 remains valid for
the final adoption of the subject regulations.

(Editor's Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 26 Pa.B. 2669 (June 1, 1996).)

Annex A

TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND
VOCATIONAL STANDARDS

PART |I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND
OCCUPATIONAL AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 31. STATE BOARD OF
VETERINARY MEDICINE

GENERAL INFORMATION
§ 31.3. Examinations.

(@) The examinations required as a prerequisite to
original licensure as a veterinarian are the National
Board Examination (NBE), the Clinical Competency Test
(CCT) and the Pennsylvania Veterinary Legal Practice
Examination. The examinations will be given at least
annually and at other times deemed appropriate by the
Board, in consultation with the professional testing or-
ganization providing these examinations to applicants of
the Board.

(b) Applications to take the licensing examinations,
together with instructions for applicants, including dead-
lines for filing and paying fees, may be obtained from the
Administrative Office of the Board by writing or telephon-

ing the State Board of Veterinary Medicine, Post Office
Box 2649, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17105-2649, (717)
783-1389.

(c) Examination applications and the fee required by
§ 31.41 (relating to schedule of fees) shall be submitted
directly to the professional testing organization desig-
nated by the Board at least 60 days prior to the
examination date.

LICENSURE
§ 31.11. Application for licensure.

(@) Application forms. Application forms for original or
reciprocal licensure may be obtained from the Administra-
tive Office of the Board by writing or telephoning the
State Board of Veterinary Medicine, Post Office Box 2649,
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17105-2649, (717) 783-1389.

(b) Original licensure. As a prerequisite to original
licensure as a veterinarian, an applicant shall submit the
following documentation to the Board:

(1) Evidence of graduation from an approved school or
college of veterinary medicine. The applicant’s official
transcript provided by the degree-granting institution or
a verification of graduation from the degree-granting
institution shall be evidence of graduation from an ap-
proved college of veterinary medicine. A graduate of a
school or college of veterinary medicine outside of the
United States and Canada shall submit certification by
the American Veterinary Medicine Association, Educa-
tional Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates or
another program which may subsequently be approved by
the American Veterinary Medical Association, as proof of
graduation from an approved school or college of veteri-
nary medicine.

(2) National Board Examination (NBE) and Clinical
Competency Test (CCT) examination results as furnished
through a national examination grade reporting service.
The Board will accept an applicant's grades from an
examination taken within the last 5 years as furnished
through a National examination grade reporting service
in lieu of retaking these examinations, if the applicant
passed these examinations with a score equivalent to or
higher than the passing score then prevailing in this
Commonwealth.

(3) A letter of good standing from the licensure board of
each state where the applicant has held a license to
practice veterinary medicine, reporting the outcome of
disciplinary actions taken against the applicant, if any, in
that state.

(4) A statement from the applicant that the applicant
has not been convicted of a felony under The Controlled
Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act (35 P.S.
88 780-101—780-144), or convicted of a felony relating to
a controlled substance in a court of law of the United
States or any other state, territory or country unless the
following apply:

(i) At least 10 years have elapsed from the date of
conviction.

(if) The applicant satisfactorily demonstrates to the
Board that the applicant has made significant progress in
personal rehabilitation since the conviction so that
licensure of the applicant should not be expected to create
a substantial risk of harm to the health and safety of
patients or the public or a substantial risk of further
criminal violations.

(iii) The applicant otherwise satisfies the qualifications
contained in the act.
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(c) Reciprocal licensure. An applicant for licensure by
reciprocity who has held a valid license from another
state and has been actively engaged in clinical practice in
that state for 5 years immediately preceding application
for licensure in this Commonwealth, may be granted a
license to practice veterinary medicine in this Common-
wealth after having passed the Pennsylvania Veterinary
Legal Practice Examination, paid the fee required by
§ 31.41 (relating to schedule of fees), and submitted the
following documentation to the Board:

(1) An application form under subsection (a).

(2) A verification of clinical practice, completed by the
applicant, describing in detail the applicant’s clinical
practice during the immediately preceding 5 years.

(3) A letter from the licensure board of the state
wherein the applicant has been actively engaged in
clinical practice during the immediately preceding 5
years, certifying 5 years of continued licensure in that
state.

(4) Two certificates of recommendation from licensed
veterinarians regarding the applicant's character and
competence and attesting to the fact that the applicant
has been in active clinical practice during the immedi-
ately preceding 5 years.

(5) A letter of good standing from each board office in
which the applicant has held a license to practice veteri-
nary medicine, reporting the outcome of disciplinary
actions taken against the applicant, if any, in that state.

§ 31.12. Temporary permits.

(a) Original licensure. An applicant for original
licensure who desires a temporary permit under section
10 of the act (63 P.S. § 485.10) may be granted a
temporary permit to practice veterinary medicine upon
graduation from an approved school or college of veteri-
nary medicine, completion of an application form pre-
scribed by the Board and payment of the fee required by
§ 31.41 (relating to schedule of fees). The applicant's
official transcript provided by the degree-granting institu-
tion or a verification of graduation from the degree-
granting institution shall be evidence of graduation from
an approved school or college of veterinary medicine. A
graduate of a school or college of veterinary medicine
outside of the United States and Canada shall submit
certification by the American Veterinary Medical Associa-
tion, Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary
Graduates or another program which may subsequently
be approved by the American Veterinary Medical Associa-
tion, as proof of graduation from an approved school or
college of veterinary medicine.

(b) Reciprocal licensure. An applicant for reciprocal
licensure who desires a temporary permit under section
10 of the act may be granted a temporary permit to
practice veterinary medicine in this Commonwealth pend-
ing passage of the Pennsylvania Veterinary Legal Practice
Examination if the applicant completes an application
form prescribed by the Board, pays the fee required by
§ 31.41, and otherwise meets the requirements of subsec-
tions (a) and (c) and section 10 of the act.

(c) Temporary permit holder limitations. A temporary
permit holder shall be associated with a licensed doctor of
veterinary medicine, shall limit his work to the practice of
the licensed doctor of veterinary medicine and may not
participate in any practice or operation of a branch office,
clinic or allied establishment. The associating veterinar-
ian shall be responsible for all veterinary activities of the
temporary permit holder and shall be accessible to the

temporary permit holder either by telephone or personal
contact. When contact by telephone or personal contact is
not possible as, for example, in the case of vacations or
other travel, the associating veterinarian shall delegate
the supervisory responsibilities to another licensed veteri-
narian. The associating veterinarian will continue to
assume responsibility for the veterinary activities of the
temporary permit holder in his absence. A temporary
permit holder shall report to the next scheduled examina-
tion of the Board following the issuance of the temporary
permit. The temporary permit shall expire on the day
following the announcement of the grades of the first
examination given after the temporary permit is issued.

§ 31.13. Licensure renewal.

(@) Licenses expire on November 30 of each even-
numbered year, regardless of the date of issuance. Li-
censes are renewable for a 2-year period beginning De-
cember 1 of each even-numbered year. The fee for
biennial renewal is as set forth in § 31.41 (relating to
schedule of fees). Late fees are prescribed by the Bureau
of Professional and Occupational Affairs Fee Act (63 P. S.
88 1401-101—1401-501) will be added to the renewal fees
of licensees who do not submit their renewal applications
by December 1 of the year of expiration of their licenses.
Upon renewing their licenses, licensees will receive a blue
5 x 7 wall certificate and wallet-size license card which
show the next expiration date of the license. These
documents are the only evidence of valid, current
licensure.

(b) A licensee who is also licensed to practice veteri-
nary medicine in another state, territory or country shall
report this information on the biennial registration form.
Disciplinary action taken in other states, territories or
countries shall be reported to the Board on the biennial
registration application or within 90 days of final disposi-
tion, whichever is sooner.

(c) Licensed veterinarians who fail to renew their
license shall cease from the practice of veterinary medi-
cine in this Commonwealth on the last day of November
of the renewal year. Failure to do so will result in
disciplinary action by the Board under section 9(a) of the
act (63 P. S. § 485.9(a)).

(d) A holder of an expired license to practice veterinary
medicine may reactivate and renew the license within 5
years from the date of its expiration, upon application to
and approval of the Board and upon payment of the
current biennial renewal fee as set forth in § 31.41 and
the payment of the fees that would have been paid if the
license had been maintained in good standing. The
application for renewal shall also be accompanied by
certificates of attendance at continuing education courses
as required by § 31.15 (relating to continuing education)
for the current and preceding biennial renewal periods in
which the license was expired, and an Affidavit of Non-
Practice, verifying the period of time in which the licensee
abstained from the practice of veterinary medicine in this
Commonwealth.

(e) A licensee will not be assessed a late renewal fee for
the preceding biennial periods in which the licensee
abstained from the practice of veterinary medicine in this
Commonwealth.

§ 31.15 Continuing education.

As a condition of licensure renewal under § 31.13
(relating to licensure renewal), a veterinarian shall at-
tend eight clock hours of continuing education courses
approved by the Board during the 24 months preceding
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the renewal date. Continuing education credit will not be
given for a course in office management or practice
building.

§ 31.16. Continuing education provider approval.

(a) Subject to § 31.15 (relating to continuing educa-
tion), the Board will approve without application to the
Board and the fee required under § 31.41 (relating to
schedule of fees), continuing education courses offered by
the following providers:

(1) The American Veterinary Medical Association
(AVMA).

(2) Approved schools.
(3) Allied organizations of the AVMA.

(4) AVMA-approved major regional veterinary organiza-
tions.

(5) Specialty boards of the AVMA.

(6) The Pennsylvania Veterinary Medical Association
and its constituent associations.

(7) Other states’ veterinary medical associations.

(b) Continuing education courses which are offered by
providers not covered under subsection (a) shall receive
prior approval of the Board. An application for approval of
continuing education programs may be obtained from the
Administrative Office of the Board by writing or telephon-
ing the State Board of Veterinary Medicine, Post Office
Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649, (717) 783-1389. A
request for approval shall be filed with the Board at least
60 days prior to the date of the proposed program, and
shall be accompanied by the fee required by § 31.41.

(c) Organizations approved under subsections (a) and
(b) shall provide certificates of attendance to the veteri-
narian which includes the name of the provider, the name
of the licensee, the title of the course, the date of the
course, the number of credit hours and the signature of
the person authenticating attendance. Organizations ap-
proved under subsection (b) shall also provide the Penn-
sylvania approval number.

(d) Instructors of continuing education programs may
include:

(1) Members of the faculties of approved schools of
veterinary medicine.

(2) Licensed doctors of veterinary medicine in this
Commonwealth or in another state who are not faculty
members of the schools covered under paragraph (1) if, by
virtue of their professional activities and achievements in
a particular field, the doctors are determined by the
Board to be qualified to speak on subjects of pertinent
value to the profession.

(3) Other lecturers or instructors who are not licensed
to practice veterinary medicine, if the Board determines
that they are qualified to speak upon a subject which will
be of value to the profession.

(e) A resume of the qualifications of instructors of
continuing education programs under subsection (d)(2)
and (3) shall be included with the application for approval
of continuing education programs. This subsection does
not apply to providers enumerated under subsection (a).

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 96-955. Filed for public inspection June 14, 1996, 9:00 a.m.]
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