
THE COURTS
Title 204—JUDICIAL
SYSTEM GENERAL

PROVISIONS
PENNSYLVANIA COMMISSION ON SENTENCING

[204 PA. CODE CH. 303]
Proposed Changes to Sentencing Guidelines

The Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing is hereby
submitting proposed revisions to the sentencing guide-
lines for purposes of soliciting comments. The procedure
for amending the guidelines is mandated by 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 2155. This statute requires that all changes to the
guidelines be published and that public hearings be held
no sooner than 30 days and no later than 60 days from
the date of this publication. The Commission will be
holding public hearings for persons to testify on the
proposed changes at the following locations:
Bellefonte Thursday, August 29, 1996 at 10 a.m.

Centre County Courthouse
Courtroom One

Pittsburgh Wednesday, September 4, 1996 at 1
p.m.
820 City County Building
414 Grant Street

Philadelphia Friday, September 6, 1996 at 1 p.m.
Room 1106 Criminal Justice Center
1301 Filbert Street

Persons who are testifying are requested to bring 30
copies of their testimony to the public hearing. Arrange-
ments to testify can be made by contacting the Commis-
sion via phone (814) 863-2797 (extension 1), fax (814)
863-2129 or E-mail (CAK16@PSU.EDU). Written testi-
mony should be addressed to Dr. John Kramer, Executive
Director, Commission on Sentencing, P.O. Box 1200, State
College, PA 16804.

The Commission will evaluate the proposed changes
after consideration of the testimony and comments re-
ceived. Any amendments adopted by the Commission will
then be submitted to the General Assembly for its review,
via publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. At that
time, the proposed amendments would become effective
within 90 days of their submission unless rejected by
concurrent resolution by the legislature.

SENATOR DAVID HECKLER,
Chair

Commentary on Annex A
Reasons for Changes to the Guidelines

After an extensive multi-year review of the guidelines,
a revised set of sentencing guidelines became effective on
August 12, 1994. The Commission is proposing changes to
these sentencing guidelines for the following reasons.
First, there were concerns brought to the attention of the
Commission that the revised recommendations for violent
offenders, particularly for repeat violent offenders, were
not harsh enough. The Commission evaluated this issue
and agreed that some violent offenders warranted more
severe sentences than the current guidelines recommend.
The second reason for changing the guidelines is to
address the new legislation passed since the revised

guidelines took effect. In January, 1995, Governor Ridge
called for a Special Session on Crime that, along with the
regular legislative session, resulted in the passage of a
number of new laws. One of the most notable was the
adoption of the ‘3 strikes’ legislation that revised the
mandatory sentences for violent offenders. The Commis-
sion is proposing changes that provide some consistency
between the ‘3 strikes’ legislation and the guidelines. The
third reason for some of the proposed changes is to
address areas of inconsistency in the guidelines. The
proposed changes provide better consistency in how of-
fenses are viewed with respect to Offense Gravity Score
(OGS) ranking and Prior Record Score (PRS) calculations.
Revisions to Sentence Recommendations

1. More severe sentences for violent offenders. The cur-
rent guidelines focus on providing harsher penalties for
violent offenders while recommending community based
alternatives for certain non-violent offenders. However,
concerns have been raised that the sentences for certain
violent offenders, particularly repeat violent offenders,
are not harsh enough. The Commission re-evaluated the
recommendations for violent offenders and decided that
the concerns were justified and thus, is proposing more
severe sentences for violent offenders. Some of the violent
offenses have been re-ranked in order to address this
issue. The Commission is also proposing harsher sen-
tences in response to legislative changes that increased
the statutory limit for murder 3 and inchoate murder
(attempts, conspiracies, and solicitations) and that re-
drafted the sexual assault statute.

2. ‘3 strikes’ offenses. Last fall the legislature passed,
and the Governor signed, a ‘3 strikes’ statute that
provides harsher mandatory penalties for certain violent
offenders. To provide some consistency between the ‘3
strikes’ legislation and the guideline recommendations,
the Commission decided to include the offenses desig-
nated as violent in the ‘3 strikes’ legislation in the upper
tier of the guidelines that require state incarceration. The
major change involves assigning a higher OGS ranking to
the offense of ‘burglary of a structure adapted for over-
night accommodation/person present’ so that it is ranked
in the upper tier of the guidelines with the most serious
offenses.

3. More severe sentences for Repeat Felony 1/Felony 2
(RFEL) offenders. The current guidelines created a new
prior record score category for Repeat Felony 1/Felony 2
(RFEL) offenders. This new category was created to
isolate the more serious felony offenders. The Commission
is proposing that the sentence recommendations for such
offenders be increased.

4. Combining OGS categories of 6 and 7. The sentence
recommendations for offenses in offense gravity score
categories of 6 and 7 are very similar with sometimes
only a month difference in the recommendation. Thus, the
Commission is proposing that these two categories be
collapsed into one.

5. Revision of RS-RIP cells. The current guideline
recommendation for four cells of the matrix is RS-RIP
which allows up to 30 days in a restrictive intermediate
punishment program but does not allow for incarceration.
The Commission proposes that these recommendations be
changed to RS-1 to allow for 30 days incarceration. This
is consistent with Commission policy that has established
a rough equivalency between restrictive intermediate
punishment and incarceration in areas of the matrix that

3404

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 26, NO. 29, JULY 20, 1996



allow for incarceration. That is, the maximum length of
time permitted in an RIP program is the same as the
maximum length of confinement permitted. However, for
the recommendation of RS-RIP while 30 days of RIP is
permitted as a standard range sentence, the equivalent
period of confinement is an aggravated sentence. Allowing
1 month incarceration also provides more flexibility for
counties that currently do not have sentencing authority
for the use of intermediate punishment, often due to the
lack of availability of such programs.

6. Limit Level 1 recommendations. Current guidelines
provide a standard sentence recommendation of Restor-
ative Sanction (RS) for offenders with an OGS of 1 or 2
and PRS of 0 or 1. The proposed change would continue
to provide RS as a standard recommendation for offend-
ers who have an OGS=1 or 2 and PRS=0 but allow the
court the option of imposing incarceration for offenders
who have a PRS=1.

7. Allow RIP exchange for certain state offenders (Level
4a). Currently, the guidelines allow for an exchange of
RIP for certain offenders who would otherwise receive a
county jail sentence (i.e. maximum sentence under two
years and minimum sentence under one year). The
proposed change would allow a RIP exchange for certain
state offenders who are eligible to serve their sentence in
a county jail (i.e. maximum sentence under five years).
This proposed change is indicated by the dark grey areas
of the grid and referenced as Level 4a.
Revisions to the Prior Record Score Points

The Commission is proposing changes in how offenses
are counted for the purposes of the Prior Record Score
(PRS). These changes provide better consistency between
how these offenses are counted in the Prior Record Score
and how they are ranked for the Offense Gravity Score.
The changes are indicted in bold.

1. Offenses assigned 4 points. The current guidelines
increased the points assigned to the most violent offenses
from 3 to 4 for the purposes of calculating the prior record
score.

The Commission is proposing adding some offenses to
this category. The following offenses would be 4-point
offenses:

Murder
Voluntary manslaughter
Rape
IDSI
Kidnapping
Arson (F1 - structure occupied/bodily injury)
Robbery (causes serious bodily injury)
Robbery of a motor vehicle (causes serious bodily
injury)
Attempted murder
Aggravated assault (causes serious bodily injury)
Drug delivery resulting in death
Burglary (structure adapted for overnight
accommodation/person present)

It should be noted that there is a change to two
offenses that currently count 4 points in the prior record:
Arson (F1) and Robbery (F1). The Commission
subcategorized both of these offenses beyond statute to
allow greater distinctions to be made. The Commission
felt it important to distinguish between arsons that pose
immediate danger to a victim and those that do not.
Thus, Arson (F1) is subcategorized on the basis of
whether a person is inside the structure at the time of
the arson or whether there is bodily injury as a result of
the fire. The Commission proposal is to rank this arson

(F1) at OGS=10 if a person is inside the structure at the
time of the arson or if there is bodily injury. This more
serious arson would count 4 points in the PRS. If the
arson (F1) does not involve a person being inside the
structure at the start of the fire or no person sustains
bodily injury, then the Commission proposes that it be
ranked at OGS=9 and that it count 3 points in the PRS.

The Commission also subcategorized Robbery involving
serious bodily injury (F1) on the basis of whether the
serious bodily injury (SBI) was completed or threatened.
If the Robbery causes SBI, then the Commission proposes
that it be ranked at OGS=11 and that it count 4 points in
the PRS. If the Robbery threatens SBI, then the Commis-
sion proposes that it be ranked at OGS=10 and that it
count 3 points in the PRS. This policy provides consis-
tency in how the most violent offenses are counted in the
PRS. (i.e. completed violent offenses count 4 points;
attempted violent offenses count 3 points).

2. Offenses Assigned 3 points. The current guidelines
do not have any offenses that are assigned 3 points. The
Commission is proposing that the following offenses be
assigned 3 points each:

Attempt, conspiracy, or solicitation to one of the 4
point offenses listed above
Aggravated Assault (attempts serious bodily injury)
Robbery (threatens serious bodily injury)
Robbery of a motor vehicle (no serious bodily injury)
Robbery (commits/threatens to commit F1 or F2)
Arson (F1-unoccupied structure/no bodily injury)
Causing catastrophe (F1)
Sexual assault
Aggravated indecent assault
PWID (Cocaine, etc. involving 50 grams or more)
Burglary (structure adapted for overnight accommoda-
tion/person not present OR of structure not adapted for
overnight accommodation/person present)
All other F1 offenses
3. Offenses assigned 2 points. The following offenses

will continue to be assigned 2 points each:
PWID (Cocaine, etc. involving � 50 grams)
Any other felony drug offense not specified as a 3 point
offense
Burglary (F2)
All remaining Felony 2 offenses
4. Offenses assigned 1 point. Felony 3 offenses and

weapons misdemeanors currently add 1 point each to the
prior record score. Due to the serious nature of some
misdemeanor offenses, the Commission is proposing that
the M1 offenses involving death or endangering of chil-
dren also carry 1 point each. Other misdemeanors will
continue to be counted 1, 2, or 3 points depending upon
the total number of misdemeanors involved. The offenses
that carry one point each are:

Felony 3 offenses
Weapons misdemeanors
Involuntary manslaughter
Homicide by vehicle
Luring a child into motor vehicle
Indecent assault involving minors
Endangering welfare of children
Corruption of minor (when of a sexual nature)
Simple assault against child by adult
Dealing in infant children
Indecent exposure involving minors

Prior juvenile offenses
The Commission is proposing two changes concerning

the use of prior juvenile adjudications. First, in accord-
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ance with the recent legislative change that allows prior
juvenile adjudications to be considered in the sentencing
for misdemeanor offenses (Act 13 of 1995), the Commis-
sion is proposing a change to the juvenile adjudication
criteria that would also allow prior juvenile offenses to
count when the currently sentenced offense is either a
felony or misdemeanor. Currently, they can only count
when the current offense is a felony. Second, the Commis-
sion is proposing a change to the juvenile lapsing provi-
sion that includes the completed ‘3-strikes’ offenses in the
list of juvenile offenses that would never lapse for the
purposes of prior record score calculation.
Definition of Transaction

The current guidelines utilize the concept of transaction
to determine how the prior record is applied to multiple
offenses and how current multiple offenses are counted in
future prior record scores. The definition of transaction is
important as it influences current and future sentence
recommendations. The current definition of transaction in
the guidelines is:

‘‘A transaction is a crime or crimes which were commit-
ted by an offender at a single time or in temporally
continuous actions that are part of the same episode,
event, or incident, or which are conspiracy and the object

offense. ‘Spree’ crimes are not part of the same transac-
tion unless they occurred as continuous actions not
separated in time by law-abiding behavior’’

This definition has resulted in confusion in the field
and has been interpreted in different ways among the
counties. Thus, the Commission proposes deleting the
current definition of transaction and using the following
policy on how to calculate the prior record when there are
multiple offenses:

For sentencing, apply the prior record score to each
conviction offense. For subsequent scoring of prior convic-
tions, assign points for all conviction offenses. Exception:
For crimes sentenced concurrently, assign points for only
the most serious conviction offense.

New/Amended Offenses

The legislature passed several pieces of legislation that
created new offenses or amended current offenses. Com-
mission policy for new/amended offenses is to assign the
omnibus offense ranking which is based upon the statu-
tory grading of the offense. This ranking remains in effect
until the Commission has the opportunity to decide what
ranking would be appropriate. The Commission proposes
the following ranking for the new and amended offenses:

18 § 910 Manufacture, distribution or possession of devices for theft of telecommunication services
M1 OGS=3 (1st conviction)
F3 OGS=5 (subsequent conviction)

18 § 913 Possession of firearm or other dangerous weapon in court facility
M3 OGS=1
M1 OGS=3 (intend for crime)

18 § 1102(c) Inchoate murder
F1 OGS=13 (when SBI)
F1 OGS=12 (when no SBI)

18 § 2503 Voluntary Manslaughter
F1 OGS=11

18 § 2504 Involuntary Manslaughter
F2 OGS=8 (when victim under 12 years)

18 § 2713 Neglect of care-dependent person
F1 OGS=10 (when SBI)
M1 OGS=4 (when BI)

18 § 3122.1 Statutory sexual assault
F2 OGS=7

18 § 3124.1 Sexual Assault
F1 OGS=11

18 § 3127 Indecent exposure
M1 OGS=3 (when person less than age 16 present)

18 § 4303 Concealing death of child
M1 OGS=3

18 § 4304 Endangering welfare of child
F3 OGS=6 (course of conduct)

18 § 5123 (a.2) Possession of controlled substance contraband by inmate prohibited
M1 OGS=3

18 § 5511 Cruelty to animals
M2 OGS=3

18 § 5902 Prostitution and related offenses (involving HIV/AIDS)
F3 OGS=5

18 § 6110.1 Possession of firearm by minor
M1 OGS=3 (possession)
F3 OGS=7 (delivery to minor by adult)

18 § 6111 Firearm ownership
M2 OGS=2 (unlawful delivery)
F3 OGS=5 (selling to ineligible; unlawful background check; false statements)
F2 OGS=7 (subsequent convictions)
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18 § 6117 Altering marks of firearms
F2 OGS=7

18 § 7313 Buying or exchanging federal food order coupons, stamps, authorization cards or access devices
F3 OGS=5
M1 OGS=3

18 § 7314 Fraudulent traffic in food orders
F3 OGS=5
M1 OGS=3

18 § 7328 Operation of certain establishments prohibited without local option
M3 OGS=1

75 § 3735.1 Aggravated assault by vehicle while DUI
F2 OGS=7

75 § 3743 Accidents involving damage to attended vehicle or property
M3 OGS=1

Omnibus Offense Score Policy

The Commission has a policy that provides for an
omnibus offense gravity score to be applied to new
offenses or offenses that have a change in the statutory
grading. The omnibus score, which is based upon the
statutory grade of the offense, remains in place until the
commission has the opportunity to rank the offense.
Recently, however, the legislature increased the statutory
grading of some offenses (e.g. attempted murder was
changed from a felony 2 to a felony 1) that ended up
resulting in a lower recommendation based upon the
omnibus score. The Commission is proposing a change to
the omnibus policy to assure that when the statutory
grading for an offense is raised, that the omnibus score
for the offense does not result in a lower score, and thus
lower recommendation, than what currently exists.

Guideline recommendations for Driving Under the Influ-
ence (DUI) and Homicide by Vehicle while DUI.

Currently, the only two offenses that do not have an
Offense Gravity Score (OGS) assigned to them are Driv-
ing under the influence (75 § 3731) and Homicide by
vehicle while DUI (75 § 3735). The guideline recommen-
dation for these two offenses has always been application
of the mandatory statute governing them. The proposed
change would assign an OGS=2 to Driving under the
Influence when it is a M2 (1st or 2nd conviction) and an
OGS=3 when it is a M1 (3rd or subsequent conviction).
An OGS=8 would be assigned to Homicide by vehicle
while DUI. As always, any mandatory statute governing
these offenses would supersede the guideline recommen-
dations.

The Commission also is proposing the elimination of
the subcategorization of DUI according to whether there
is serious bodily injury or not, in light of the new offense
of aggravated assault by vehicle while DUI. The proposed
OGS scores for Homicide by vehicle and Involuntary
manslaughter when there is also a conviction for DUI
were raised to be consistent with the recommendation for
aggravated assault.

It should be noted that with this change to the DUI
offenses, that prior non-DUI offenses would count in the
prior record score calculations.

Deadly weapon enhancement (DWE) based on used vs.
possessed.

Statute requires the guidelines to provide for enhanced
sentences if the offender possessed a deadly weapon
during the commission of the offense. Currently the
amount of time is based upon the seriousness of the
offense. The Commission is proposing that the DWE also

make a distinction between offenders who use vs possess
the weapon during the commission of the offense.

Multiple offenses overlapping different guidelines

Current guideline policy states that the guidelines
apply to offenses that occur on or after the effective date
of the guidelines. When there are amendments to the
guidelines, offenses that occur before the effective date of
the amendments are subject to the prior guidelines, while
offenses that occur after the effective date of the amend-
ments are subject to the new guidelines. When there are
multiple offenses and the dates of the offenses are un-
known, there has been no guideline policy. Thus, the
Commission is proposing a policy that would indicate that
the most recent guidelines apply if the specific dates are
undetermined.

Proposed technical changes

The Commissioners proposes three technical changes to
the guidelines: 1) a clarification that the guidelines do
apply to persons who plead guilty or nolo contendere, not
just to persons found guilty through trial; 2) that the
guideline sentence form be submitted to the Commission
within 30 days, rather than 20 days, of sentencing; and 3)
clarification that the original guidelines were effective
July 22, 1982 and were invalidated due to a procedural
technicality, but that new guidelines did become effective
again April 25, 1988.

Annex A

TITLE 204. JUDICIAL SYSTEM GENERAL
PROVISIONS

PART VIII. CRIMINAL SENTENCING

CHAPTER 303. SENTENCING GUIDELINES

§ 303.1. Sentencing guidelines standards.

(a) The court shall consider the sentencing guidelines in
determining the appropriate sentence for offenders con-
victed of, or pleading guilty or nolo contendere to,
felonies and misdemeanors.

(b) The sentencing guidelines do not apply to sentences
imposed as a result of probation or parole revocations,
accelerated rehabilitative disposition, disposition in lieu of
trial, direct or indirect contempt of court, nor violations of
protection from abuse orders.

(c) [ The sentencing guidelines became effective
on April 25, 1988 and shall apply to all misde-
meanor and felony offenses committed on or after
that date. Amendments to the guidelines went into

THE COURTS 3407

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 26, NO. 29, JULY 20, 1996



effect August 9, 1991, December 20, 1991, and Au-
gust 12, 1994. Amendments to the sentencing guide-
lines shall apply to all offenses committed on or
after the date the amendment becomes part of the
guidelines. ] The sentencing guidelines shall apply
to all offenses committed on or after the effective
date of the guidelines. Amendments to the guide-
lines shall apply to all offenses committed on or
after the date the amendment becomes part of the
guidelines.

(1) When there are current multiple convictions
for offenses that overlap two sets of guidelines, the
former guidelines shall apply to offenses that occur
prior to the effective date of the amendment and
the later guidelines shall apply to offenses that
occur after the effective date of the amendment. If
the specific dates of the offenses cannot be deter-
mined, then the later guidelines shall apply to all
offenses.

(2) The initial sentencing guidelines went into
effect on July 22, 1982, and applied to all crimes
committed on or after that date. Amendments to the
guidelines went into effect in June 1983, January
1986 and June 1986. On October 7, 1987, the Penn-
sylvania Supreme Court invalidated the guidelines
due to a procedural error that occurred in 1981
when the legislature rejected the first set of guide-
lines. New guidelines were drafted and became
effective on April, 25, 1988. Amendments to the
guidelines went into effect August 9, 1991 and
December 20, 1991. A revised set of guidelines
became effective August 12, 1994.

(d) A Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing Guide-
line Sentence Form shall be completed at the court’s
direction and shall be made a part of the record no later
than [ 20 ] 30 days after the date of each sentencing and
a copy shall be forwarded to the Pennsylvania Commis-
sion on Sentencing.

§ 303.2. Procedure for determining the guideline
sentence.

(a) The procedure for determining the guideline sen-
tence shall be as follows:

(1) Determine the offense gravity score as described in
§§ 303.3 and [ 303.15 ] 303.14.

(2) Determine the prior record score as described in §§
303.4—303.7.

(3) Determine the standard guideline sentence as de-
scribed in §§ 303.8, 303.12 and [ 303.16. ] 303.15.

(4) Determine if the deadly weapon enhancement or
youth/school enhancement is applicable and, if so, adjust
the standard range, as described in §§ 303.9 and 303.11.

(5) Determine if aggravating or mitigating circum-
stances exist and, if so, adjust the standard range, as
described §§ 303.10 and 303.11.

[ (b) For determination of the guideline sentence
recommendations for 75 Pa.C.S. § 3731 (relating to
mandatory imprisonment for driving under the
influence of alcohol or controlled substance), or 75
Pa.C.S. § 3735 (relating to mandatory imprisonment
for homicide by vehicle while driving under the
influence), refer to § 303.14. ]

§ 303.3. Offense gravity score—general.
(a) An offense gravity score is given for each offense.

The offense gravity scores are located in [ § 303.15 ]
§ 303.14.

(b) Subcategorized offenses. The following offenses are
subcategorized and scored by the Commission according
to the particular circumstances of the offense. The court
determines which offense gravity score, located in
§ 303.15, applies:

18 Pa.C.S. 901, 902, 903 (only when relating to
attempt, solicitation or conspiracy to commit mur-
der)

18 Pa.C.S. § 907 (relating to possessing instruments of
crime)

18 Pa.C.S. § 2504 (relating to involuntary manslaugh-
ter)

18 Pa.C.S. § 2702 (relating to aggravated assault)
18 Pa.C.S. § 3301(a) (relating to arson and related

offenses, endangering persons)
18 Pa.C.S. § 3502 (relating to burglary)
18 Pa.C.S. § 3701 (relating to robbery)
18 Pa.C.S. § 3702 (relating to robbery of motor vehicle)
18 Pa.C.S. § 3921 through § 3927 and § 3932 (relating

to felony 3 thefts)
18 Pa.C.S. § 5121 (relating to escape)

18 Pa.C.S. § 6105 [ (relating to former convict not
to own a firearm, etc.) ] (relating to persons not to
possess, etc. firearms)

18 Pa.C.S. § 6106 (relating to firearms not to be
carried without a license)

18 Pa.C.S. § 6108 (relating to carrying firearms on
public streets or public property in Philadelphia)

18 Pa.C.S. § 6110 (relating to persons to whom delivery
shall not be made)

18 Pa.C.S. § 6301 (relating to corruption of mi-
nors)

35 P.S. § 780-113(a)(12) (relating to acquisition of a
controlled substance by fraud)

35 P.S. § 780-113(a)(14) (relating to delivery of a con-
trolled substance by practitioner)

35 P.S. § 780-113(a)(30) (relating to possession with
intent to deliver a controlled substance)

[ 75 Pa.C.S. § 3731 (relating to driving under the
influence of alcohol or controlled substance) ]

75 Pa.C.S. § 3732 (relating to homicide by vehicle)

(c) Inchoate offenses. Inchoate offenses are scored as
follows:

(1) Convictions for attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy
to commit a felony 1 offense receive an offense gravity
score of one point less than the offense attempted,
solicited, or which was the object of the conspiracy.

(2) Convictions for attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy
to commit any offense which is not a felony 1 offense,
receive the offense gravity score of the offense attempted,
solicited, or which was the object of the conspiracy.

(3) Convictions for attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy
to commit any offense under The Controlled Substance,
Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act (35 P.S.§§ 780-101—
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780-144) receive the offense gravity score of the offense
attempted, solicited, or which was the object of the
conspiracy.

(4) Exception for inchoate murder convictions. Convic-
tions for attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to commit
murder receive the offense gravity score of [ 10 ] 13 if
there is serious bodily injury and 12 if there is no
serious bodily injury.

(d) Ethnic intimidation. Convictions for ethnic intimi-
dation (18 Pa.C.S. § 2710) receive an offense gravity
score that is one point higher than the offense which was
the object of the ethnic intimidation. When the object
offense is murder of the third degree, a conviction for
ethnic intimidation receives the highest offense gravity
score.

(e) Violations of The Controlled Substance, Drug, De-
vice and Cosmetic Act (35 P. S. §§ 780-101—780-144). If
any mixture or compound contains any detectable amount
of a controlled substance, the entire amount of the
mixture or compound shall be deemed to be composed of
the controlled substance. If a mixture or compound
contains a detectable amount of more than one controlled
substance, the mixture or compound shall be deemed to
be composed entirely of the controlled substance which
has the highest offense gravity score.

(1) Exception for prescription pills. The exception to
subsection (e) above is for violations of 35 P. S. § 780-114
(a)(12) (relating to fraudulent prescriptions) when pre-
scription pills are involved. For such violations it is the
number of pills rather than the amount of the controlled
substance which is considered in determining the offense
gravity score. (See § [ 303.15 ]303.14.)

(f) Omnibus offense gravity scores. All other crimes not
listed in [ § 303.15 ] § 303.14 are scored as follows:

Felony 1 [ 9 ] 8
Felony 2 7
Felony 3 5
Felonies not subclassified

by the General Assembly 5
Misdemeanor 1 3
Misdemeanor 2 2
Misdemeanor 3 1
Misdemeanors not subclassified

by the General Assembly 1

(1) Exception. When the statutory grading for an
offense is increased, and the omnibus OGS is lower
than the OGS that is currently assigned to the
offense, then the offense shall carry the current
OGS rather than the omnibus OGS.
§ 303.4. Prior record score—general.

(a) Total prior record score. All prior adult convictions
for felonies and misdemeanors and certain prior juvenile
adjudications are scored under §§ [ 303.4 ]303.5—303.7.
The prior record score is the sum of points accrued; it
cannot be greater than 5. The exceptions are for offenders
in the repeat violent offender category as defined below in
subsection (b) or for offenders in the repeat felony 1 and
felony 2 offender category as defined below in subsection
(c).

(b) Repeat violent offender category (REVOC). Offend-
ers who have two or more previous convictions or adjudi-
cations for the following offenses and whose current
conviction carries an offense gravity score of [ 10 ] 9 or
higher shall be classified in the repeat violent offender
category:

18 Pa.C.S. §§ 901, 902, 903 (only when relating to
attempt, solicitation and conspiracy to commit mur-
der)

18 Pa.C.S. § 2502 (relating to murder)
18 Pa.C.S. § 2503 (relating to voluntary manslaughter)
18 Pa.C.S. § 2506 (relating to drug delivery result-

ing in death)

18 Pa.C.S. § 2702(a)(1)(2) (relating to aggravated
assault causing serious bodily injury)

18 Pa.C.S. § 2901 (relating to kidnapping)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating to rape)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate
sexual intercourse)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3301(a) (relating to arson and related
offenses, endangering persons and there is serious
bodily or a person is inside at the start of the
arson)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3502 (a)(1)(relating to burglary, when
it involves an occupied structure adapted for over-
night accommodation and a person is present)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3701(a)(1)(I) [ (i, ii, iii) ] (relating to
robbery, causing serious bodily injury)

18 Pa.C.S. 3702 (relating to robbery of motor
vehicle, causing serious bodily injury)

(c) Repeat felony 1 and felony 2 offender category
(RFEL). Offenders who have previous convictions or
adjudications for felony 1 and/or felony 2 offenses which
total 6 or more in the prior record, and who do not fall
within the repeat violent offender category, shall be
classified in the repeat felony 1 and felony 2 offender
category.
§ 303.5. Prior record score—prior juvenile adjudica-

tions.

(a) Juvenile adjudication criteria. Prior juvenile adjudi-
cations are counted in the prior record score when the
following criteria are met:

[ (1) the currently sentenced offense is a felony, ]
[ (2) ] (1) the juvenile offense occurred on or after the

offender’s 14th birthday, and

[ (3) ] (2) there was an express finding by the juvenile
court that the adjudication was for a felony or one of the
[ weapons misdemeanors ] misdemeanor one of-
fenses listed in § 303.6 (2)[ (i) ] and (3).

No other juvenile adjudication of delinquency shall be
counted in the prior record score.

(b) Lapsing of juvenile adjudications. Prior juvenile
adjudications for the following offenses shall always be
included in the prior record score provided the criteria in
subsection (a) above are met:

18 Pa.C.S. §§ 901, 902, 903 (only when relating to
attempt, solicitation and conspiracy to commit mur-
der)

18 Pa.C.S. § 2502 (relating to murder)

18 Pa.C.S. § 2503 (relating to voluntary manslaughter)

18 Pa.C.S. § 2506 (relating to drug delivery result-
ing in death)

18 Pa.C.S. § 2702(a)(1)(2) (relating to aggravated
assault causing serious bodily injury)
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18 Pa.C.S. § 2901 (relating to kidnaping)
18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating to rape)
18 Pa.C.S. § 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate

sexual intercourse)
18 Pa.C.S. § 3301(a) (relating to arson and related

offenses, endangering persons and there is serious
bodily or a person is inside at the start of the
arson)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3502 (a)(1)(relating to burglary, when
it involves an occupied structure adapted for over-
night accommodation and a person is present)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3701(a)(1)(i,) [ ii, iii ] (relating to robbery,
causing serious bodily injury)

18 Pa.C.S. 3702 (relating to robbery of motor
vehicle, causing serious bodily injury)

(1) All other juvenile adjudications not listed above in
subsection (b) lapse and shall not be counted in the prior
record score if the offender was 28 years of age or older at
the time the current offense was committed.

(2) Nothing in this section shall prevent the court from
considering lapsed prior adjudications at the time of
sentencing.
§ 303.6. Prior record score—guideline points scor-

ing.
(a) Scoring of prior convictions and adjudications is as

follows:
(1) Prior felony convictions and adjudications:
(i) Four points are added for each prior conviction or

adjudication for the following offenses:
18 Pa.C.S. §§ 901, 902, 903 (only when relating to

attempt, solicitation and conspiracy to commit mur-
der)

18 Pa.C.S. § 2502 (relating to murder)

18 Pa.C.S. § 2503 (relating to voluntary manslaughter)

18 Pa.C.S. § 2506 (relating to drug delivery result-
ing in death)

18 Pa.C.S. § 2702(a)(1)(2) (relating to aggravated
assault causing serious bodily injury)

18 Pa.C.S. § 2901 (relating to kidnapping)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating to rape)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate
sexual intercourse)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3301(a) (relating to arson and related
offenses, endangering persons and there is serious
bodily or a person is inside at the start of the
arson)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3502 (a)(1)(relating to burglary, when
it involves an occupied structure adapted for over-
night accommodation and person is present)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3701(a)(1)(i) [ , (ii), (iii) ] (relating to
robbery, causing serious bodily injury)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3702 (relating to robbery of motor
vehicle, causing serious bodily injury)

(ii) Three points are added for each prior convic-
tion or adjudication for the following offenses:

18 Pa.C.S. § 2702(a)(1)(2) (relating to aggravated
assault attempting serious bodily injury)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3124.1 (relating to sexual assault)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent
assault)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3301(a) (relating to arson and related
offenses, endangering persons and there is no seri-
ous bodily injury nor a person is inside at the start
of the arson)

18 Pa.C.S.§ 3302 (a)(relating to intentionally
causing catastrophe)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3502 (a)(1)(relating to burglary, when
it involves a structure adapted for overnight ac-
commodation and a person is not present or is a
structure not adapted for overnight accommoda-
tion and a person is present)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3701(a)(1)(ii) (relating to robbery,
threatening serious bodily injury)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3701(a)(1)(iii) (relating to robbery,
committing or threatening to commit any felony of
the first or second degree)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3702 (relating to robbery of motor
vehicle with no serious bodily injury)

35 P. S. § 780-113(a)(12)(acquisition of a controlled
substance involving 50 grams or more by fraud)

35 P. S. § 780-113(a)(14)(relating to the delivery of
a controlled substance involving 50 grams or more
by a practitioner)

35 P. S. § 780-113(a)(30) (relating to the manufac-
ture, delivery or possession with intent to manufac-
ture or deliver a controlled substance involving 50
grams or more)

All other Felony 1 offenses not listed in § 303.6
(a)(1)(i) above.

All attempts, conspiracies, and solicitations to the
4-point offenses listed in § 303.6 (a)(1)(i) above.

[ (ii) ](iii) Two points are added for each prior convic-
tion or adjudication for the following offenses:

[ any felony 1 or felony 2 not listed in subsection
(i) above, and for each prior felony conviction or
adjudication under The Controlled Substance,
Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act (35 P. S. §§ 780-101—
780-144) ]

18 Pa.C.S. § 3502 (a)(1)(relating to burglary, when
it involves a structure not adapted for overnight
accommodation and a person is not present)

Any prior felony conviction or adjudication under
The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cos-
metic Act (35 P. S. §§ 780-101— 780-144) not listed as
a 3-point offense in § 303.6 (a)(1)(ii) above.

All other Felony 2 offenses not listed in § 303.6
(a)(1)(i) or (ii) above.

[ (iii) ] (iv) One point is added for any felony 3 or for
any felony not scored above in subsections (i) [ or ], (ii)
or (iii).

(2) Prior weapons misdemeanor convictions and adjudi-
cations.

(I) One point is added for each prior conviction or
adjudication for the following weapons misdemeanors:

18 Pa.C.S. § 907(b) (relating to possessing instruments
of crime)

18 Pa.C.S. § 908 (relating to prohibited offensive weap-
ons)
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18 Pa.C.S. § 912 (relating to possession of weapon
on school property)

18 Pa.C.S. § 913(2)(relating to possession of fire-
arm or other dangerous weapon in court facility)

18 Pa.C.S. § 6105 [ (relating to former convict not
to own a firearm, etc.) ](relating to persons not to
possess, use, manufacture, control, sell or transfer
firearms)

18 Pa.C.S. § 6106 (relating to firearms not to be
carried without a license)

18 Pa.C.S. § 6108 (relating to carrying firearms on
public streets or public property in Philadelphia)

[ 18 Pa.C.S. § 6110 (relating to persons to whom
delivery shall not be made) ]

18 Pa.C.S. § 6110.1(a) (relating to possession of
firearm by minor)

[ 18 Pa.C.S. § 6111 (relating to sale of firearms) ]
(3) Prior misdemeanors involving death or dan-

ger to children.
(I) One point is added for each prior conviction

or adjudication for the following misdemeanor 1
offenses that involve death or danger to children:

18 Pa.C.S. § 2504 (relating to involuntary man-
slaughter)

18 Pa.C.S. § 2701(b)(2) (relating to simple assault
against child by adult)

18 Pa.C.S. § 2910 (relating to luring a child into a
vehicle)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3126 (a)(6) (relating to indecent as-
sault involving minors)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3127 (relating to indecent exposure;
person less than age 16 present)

18 Pa.C.S. § 4304 (relating to endangering welfare
of children)

18 Pa.C.S. § 4305 (relating to dealing in infant
children)

18 Pa.C.S. § 6301 (relating to corruption of minors
of a sexual nature)

75 Pa.C.S. § 3732 (relating to homicide by vehicle)

[ (3) ] (4) Prior non-weapons misdemeanor convictions.

(I) One point is added if the offender was previously
convicted of two or three misdemeanors.

(ii) Two points are added if the offender was previously
convicted of four to six misdemeanors.

(iii) Three points are added if the offender was previ-
ously convicted of seven or more misdemeanors.
§ 303.7. Prior record score—miscellaneous.

(a) [ Current multiple ] Multiple convictions.
[ When imposing sentences for convictions arising
out of the same transaction, the prior record score
is computed for the offense with the highest offense
gravity score in such transaction. If there are two
offenses which carry the same offense gravity
score, the prior record score shall apply to only one
of the offenses. For the remaining offenses in such
transactions, the prior record score shall be zero.
When imposing sentences for convictions arising
out of separate transactions, the prior record score

shall be computed independently for each separate
transaction. ] When imposing sentences for mul-
tiple convictions, apply the prior record score to
each conviction offense. For subsequent scoring of
prior convictions, assign points for all conviction
offenses. Exception: For crimes sentenced concur-
rently, assign points for only the most serious
conviction offense.

[ (b) Prior multiple convictions and adjudications
of delinquency for offenses arising out of the same
criminal transaction for which concurrent or con-
secutive sentences were imposed are scored as a
single conviction equal to the statutory classifica-
tion of the most serious conviction offense.

(c) Definition of transaction. A transaction is a
crime or crimes which were committed by an of-
fender at a single time or in temporally continuous
actions that are part of the same episode, event, or
incident, or which are conspiracy and the object
offense. ‘‘Spree’’ crimes are not part of the same
transaction unless they occurred as continuous
actions not separated in time by law-abiding behav-
ior.

(d) ] (b) Out-of-state, Federal, or former Pennsylvania
offenses. A prior out-of-state or Federal conviction or
adjudication of delinquency, or a prior conviction or
adjudication of delinquency under former Pennsylvania
law, is scored as a conviction for the current equivalent
Pennsylvania offense. When there is no current equiva-
lent Pennsylvania offense, prior out-of-state or Federal
convictions or adjudications of delinquency are scored as
non-weapons misdemeanors. When there is no current
equivalent Pennsylvania offense to a conviction or adjudi-
cation of delinquency under prior Pennsylvania law, apply
subsection [ (e) ] (c).

[ (e) ] (c) Incomplete prior records for Pennsylvania
convictions. When a prior conviction or adjudication of
delinquency was for a felony, but the grade of the felony
is unknown, it shall be treated as a felony 3. When a
prior conviction was for a misdemeanor, but the grade of
the misdemeanor is unknown, it shall be treated as a
non-weapons misdemeanor. When it cannot be deter-
mined if the prior conviction was a felony, weapons
misdemeanor, or non-weapons misdemeanor, it shall be
treated as a non-weapons misdemeanor. When a prior
conviction is for a crime which has a summary grade, the
prior conviction shall not be counted in the prior record
score.

[ (f) ] (d) Excluded offenses. The following types of
offenses shall not be scored in the prior record score:

(1) Summary offenses, violations of local ordinances,
and dispositions under Pa.Rules Crim.P.R. 175—185 (re-
lating to accelerated rehabilitative disposition), 35 P. S.
§ 780-117 (relating to probation without verdict) or 35
P. S. § 780-118 (relating to disposition in lieu of trial or
criminal punishment), shall not be used in computing the
prior record score.

(2) Except when the current offense is a violation of
The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act
(35 P. S. §§ 780-101—780-144), when the maximum sen-
tence applicable to the current offense is dependent upon
past convictions, those prior convictions shall not be used
in computing the prior record score. For example: retail
theft offenses are subject to a longer period of confine-
ment when the offender has been previously convicted of
the same offense.
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[ (g) ] (e) Definitions for prior convictions and adjudi-
cations of delinquency. A prior conviction means ‘‘previ-
ously convicted’’ as defined in 42 Pa.C.S. § 2154(a)(2). A
prior adjudication of delinquency means ‘‘previously adju-
dicated delinquent’’ as defined in 42 Pa.C.S. § 2154(a)(2).
The Superior Court interpretation of ‘previously con-
victed’ requires that the commission and conviction on the
prior offense occur before the commission of the current
offense in order for the prior offense to count in the prior
record score. (See Commonwealth v. Eyster, 401 Pa.
Super. 477, 585 A.2d. 1027.)
§ 303.8 Sentencing levels.

(a) Purpose of sentence. In writing the sentencing
guidelines, the Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing
strives to provide a benchmark for the judges of Pennsyl-
vania. The sentencing guidelines provide sanctions pro-
portionate to the severity of the crime and the severity of
the offender’s prior conviction record. This establishes a
sentencing system with a primary focus on retribution,
but one in which the recommendations allow for the
fulfillment of other sentencing purposes including reha-
bilitation, deterrence, and incapacitation. The Commis-
sion has established Levels within the Standard Range
Chart and has classified intermediate punishments into
restrictive intermediate punishments and restorative
sanctions to allow for greater consideration of sentencing
options.

(b) Sentencing Levels. Determine which Level of the
Standard Range Chart is applicable to the offender based
upon the offense gravity score and prior record score. The
following are the sentencing options that shall be consid-
ered by the court at each sentencing Level.

(1) Level 4—Level 4 provides recommendations for the
most serious offenders. Normally at this Level, the of-
fense of conviction is a major violent or major drug
offense and often the offender has a serious history of
violent offenses. The Commission has established guide-
line ranges of total confinement for these offenders. The
basic purposes for the recommendations at this Level are
to provide punishment commensurate with the serious-
ness of the conviction offense and the prior record of the
offender and to protect the public by providing for total
control over the offender for a significant period of time in
total confinement. For the Repeat Violent Offender Cat-
egory the Commission has established recommendations
that are the maximum punishment/incapacitation pos-
sible under law.

(i) At Level 4 the sentencing option is total confine-
ment. Exception. Offenders at Level 4a may receive
a restrictive intermediate punishment sentence in
lieu of state incarceration. The procedure for im-
posing a restrictive intermediate punishment sen-
tence at Level 4a is the same as provided for Level
3 offenders in § 303.8 (2) below.

(ii) If the offender meets the statutory criteria for
participation in the state motivational boot camp, the
court should consider authorizing the offender as eligible
for this program. (See § 303.13.)

(2) Level 3—Level 3 provides recommendations for
serious offenders with potential for violence or moderately
serious offenders with a serious prior record. Conse-
quently, the Commission has established a relatively wide
range of sentences providing for state and county incar-
ceration with the option to use restrictive intermediate
punishments. The major focus in constructing the guide-
line sentence recommendations at this Level was provid-
ing serious punishment for serious offenders. The punish-

ments are intended to exert considerable control over the
offender’s freedom. While retribution and control are the
primary purposes of the recommendations, the guideline
ranges also allow the court to consider the restoration of
the victim and the treatment of the offender. For ex-
ample, the court may choose to place the primary focus of
the sentence on treatment of the offender by placing the
offender in an inpatient treatment facility. Restoration
may be fulfilled by placing the offender in county incar-
ceration with work release thereby allowing the offender
to pay restitution to the victim.

(i) At Level 3 the sentencing options include one or
more of the following:

Total confinement
Partial confinement
Restrictive intermediate punishments, following the
procedures outlined below in (ii), (iii), and (iv).

(ii) An offender under consideration for restrictive in-
termediate punishments at Level 3 shall have a diagnos-
tic assessment of dependency on alcohol or other drugs
conducted by one of the following: the Pennsylvania
Department of Health’s Office of Drug and Alcohol Pro-
grams (ODAP) or a designee; the county authority on
drugs and alcohol or a designee; or clinical personnel of a
facility licensed by the Office of Drug and Alcohol Pro-
grams. An offender assessed to be dependent shall be
evaluated for purposes of a treatment recommendation by
one of the above listed assessors. The evaluation shall
take into account the level of motivation of the offender.
An offender assessed to be dependent shall be sentenced
to restrictive intermediate punishment consistent with
the level of care and length of stay prescribed in the
treatment recommendation. An offender not assessed to
be in need of drug or alcohol treatment may be placed in
any approved restrictive intermediate punishment pro-
gram. The court retains the authority to incarcerate
offenders in either of these categories.

(iii) Restrictive intermediate punishments may be im-
posed only if the court has been granted sentencing
authority by the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and
Delinquency (pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S. § 9729). The
County Intermediate Punishment Board is required to
develop assessment and evaluation procedures to assure
the appropriate targeting of offenders. All programs must
meet the minimum standards provided in the Pennsylva-
nia Commission on Crime and Delinquency regulations
(37 Pa. Code Chapter 451) for intermediate punishments.

(iv) The total length of confinement or length of time
spent in a restrictive intermediate punishment pro-
gram(s) or combination thereof shall fall within the
guideline ranges. Exception: An offender assessed to be in
need of treatment shall be sentenced to a level of care
and length of stay consistent with the treatment recom-
mendation.

(v) If the offender meets the statutory criteria for
participation in the state motivational boot camp, the
court should consider authorizing the offender as eligible
for this program. (See § 303.13.)

(3) Level 2—Level 2 provides recommendations for
basically non-violent offenders. It includes offenders who
have a conviction for less serious offenses (e.g felony 3
and misdemeanor 1 theft offenses) or who have a convic-
tion for one of the least serious offenses, but a prior
record score that indicates a long and/or significant
criminal career. The Commission has established guide-
line ranges that allow for sentences that provide signifi-
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cant control of the offender to assure that the offender
meets his or her responsibilities to the victim and to
protect the public from the offender. Many offenders in
this Level suffer from drug and/or alcohol problems and
the court should consider a treatment component to
address the rehabilitative needs of such offenders.

(I) At Level 2 the court should focus on alternatives to
incarceration.

(ii) At Level 2, where the range allows for a term of
incarceration, the sentencing options include one or more
of the following:

Total confinement
Partial confinement
Restrictive intermediate punishments
Restorative sanctions
(iii) At Level 2, where the range does not allow for

confinement (i.e. range=RS-RIP), the sentencing options
include one or both of the following:

Restrictive intermediate punishments
Restorative sanctions

(iv) While a diagnostic assessment of dependency on
drugs and/or alcohol is not required at Level 2, an
assessment is encouraged to determine the appropriate-
ness of treatment.

(v) When a restrictive intermediate punishment sen-
tence is imposed, the court is encouraged to consider a
treatment component. The total length of confinement or
length of time spent in a restrictive intermediate punish-
ment program(s) or combination thereof shall fall within
the guideline ranges.

(vi) When the range does not allow for confinement (i.e.
range=RS-RIP), the court is encouraged to consider the
restorative sanctions first. If the court rejects these
sentencing options, the offender may be placed in a
restrictive intermediate punishment for up to 30 days. If
the restrictive intermediate punishment sentence exceeds
30 days, it shall be considered outside of the standard
range.

(4) Level 1—Level 1 provides recommendations for the
least serious offenders both in terms of the conviction
offense and their relatively minor prior record. The
Commission has established a range that focuses on
sentencing options that require minimal control of the
offender but allow for supervision to assure that the
offender fulfills obligations to pay restitution, to complete
community service orders, or to complete a treatment
program ordered by the court.

(i) At Level 1 the sentencing options are restorative
sanctions.

(c) Definitions. Following are definitions for restrictive
intermediate punishments and restorative sanctions. The
County Intermediate Punishment Plan provides a mecha-
nism to advise the court of the extent and availability of
services and programs authorized in the county. This plan
includes information on the appropriate classification and
use of county programs based on program-specific re-
quirements.

(1) Restrictive intermediate punishments (RIP). Restric-
tive intermediate punishments are defined as programs
that provide for the strict supervision of the offender.
These programs either:

(i) house the offender full or part time; or

(ii) significantly restrict the offender’s movement and
monitor the offender’s compliance with the program(s); or

(iii) involve a combination of programs that meet the
standards set forth under (i) and (ii).

(A) The following is a list of programs that generally
are considered as restrictive intermediate punishments:

Work camps
Inpatient treatment
Residential rehabilitation centers
Halfway houses
Day reporting centers
Work release centers
Intensive supervision with electronic monitoring
House arrest with intensive supervision
House arrest with electronic monitoring
Other programs or combination of programs that meet
the definition of restrictive intermediate punishments.
(2) Restorative sanctions (RS). Restorative sanctions

are non-confinement sentencing options that:
(I) are the least restrictive in terms of constraint of

offender’s liberties;
(ii) do not involve the housing of the offender (either

full or part time); and
(iii) focus on restoring the victim to pre-offense status.
(A) The following is a list of programs that generally

are considered as restorative sanctions:
Drug testing programs
Outpatient treatment programs
Standard probation
Community service programs
Fines programs
Restitution programs
Fines
Guilt without further penalty
Other programs or combination of programs that meet
the definition of restorative sanctions.

§ 303.9 Enhancements.

(a) Deadly weapon enhancement.

[ (1) When the court determines that the offender
possessed a deadly weapon, as defined in 18 Pa.C.S.
§ 2301 (relating to definitions), during the commis-
sion of the current conviction offense, the following
number of months shall be added to the standard
range which would otherwise have been applicable:
Offense gravity score Deadly weapon enhancement

13 9-18 months
12 9-18 months
11 9-18 months
10 9-18 months
9 9-18 months
8 6-12 months
7 6-12 months
6 6-12 months
5 6-12 months
4 3-6 months
3 3-6 months
2 3-6 months
1 3-6 months ]

(1) The deadly weapon enhancement is based
upon whether the court determines that the of-
fender possessed or used a deadly weapon during
the commission of the current conviction offense.
The number of months indicated below shall be
added to the standard range which would other-
wise have been applicable, depending upon
whether the court defines that the weapon was
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used or possessed by the offender.
Offense gravity
score Deadly Weapon enhancement

Possessed Used
14 9 months 18 months
13 9 months 18 months
12 9 months 18 months
11 9 months 18 months
10 9 months 18 months
9 9 months 18 months
8 6 months 12 months
7 6 months 12 months
6 6 months 12 months
5 6 months 12 months
4 3 months 6 months
3 3 months 6 months
2 3 months 6 months
1 3 months 6 months

(2) Definitions. For the purposes of the deadly
weapon enhancement the following definitions ap-
ply:

(i) Possession of a deadly weapon—any of the
following were on the defendant’s person or within
his immediate physical control:

(A) Any firearm, whether loaded or unloaded, (as
defined in 42 § 9712), or

(B) Any dangerous weapon (as defined in 18
§ 913), or

(C) Any device, implement, or instrumentality de-
signed as a weapon or capable of producing death
or serious bodily injury which defendant intended
to use to threaten or injure another individual.

(ii) Use of a deadly weapon—any of the following
employed by the defendant in a way that threat-
ened or injured another individual or in the fur-
therance of the crime:

(A) Any firearm, whether loaded or unloaded, (as
defined in 42 § 9712), or

(B) Any dangerous weapon (as defined in 18
§ 913), or

(C) Any device, implement, or instrumentality ca-
pable of producing death or serious bodily injury.

[ (2) ] (3) To determine the aggravated and mitigated
sentence recommendations, apply §§ 303.10 and 303.11.

(I) In no case where a deadly weapon enhancement is
applied may the mitigated sentence recommendation be
lower than 3 months.

[ (3) ] (4) Example. If the offender is convicted of rape
(OGS=[ 11 ] 12) and has no prior record (PRS=0), then
the standard range is [ 42-60 ] 48-66 months. If the court
determines that the offender possessed a deadly weapon
during the commission of the offense, then 9 months is
added to the bottom and top of the range [ and 18
months is added to the top of the range ] and the
standard range becomes [ 51-78 ] 57-75 months (i.e.
[ 42 ] 48+9=[ 51 ] 57 and [ 60+18=78 ] 66+9=75). The
lower limit of the mitigated recommendation becomes
[ 39 ] 45 months and the upper limit of the aggravated
recommendation becomes [ 90 ] 87 months (i.e.[ 51 ]
57-12=[ 39 ] 45 and 78+[ 12=90 ] 9=87). If the court
determines that the offender used a deadly weapon

during the commission of the offense, then 18
months is added to the ranges and the standard
range would become 66-84. The lower limit of the
mitigated range would be 54 and the upper limit of
the aggravated range would be 96.

[ (4) ] (5) There shall be no deadly weapon enhance-
ment for the following offenses: 18 Pa.C.S. § 2702(a)(4)
(relating to aggravated assault); the Pennsylvania Uni-
form Firearms Act, 18 Pa.C.S. §§ 6101—6120; 18 Pa.C.S.
§ 907 (relating to possessing instruments of crime); 18
Pa.C.S. § 908 (relating to prohibited offensive weapons);
for any other offense for which possession of a deadly
weapon is an element of the statutory definition; or for
any offense which is lesser included to an offense for
which possession of a deadly weapon is an element of the
statutory definition.

[ (5) Where there are sentences for crimes arising
from the same transaction, the deadly weapon en-
hancement shall be applied only once and to the
conviction offense which has the highest offense
gravity score. ]

(6) The deadly weapon enhancement shall apply
to each conviction offense for which a deadly
weapon is possessed or used.

(b) Youth and school enhancement

(1) When the court determines that the offender either
distributed a controlled substance to a person or persons
under the age of 18 in violation of 35 P. S. § 780-114, or
manufactured, delivered or possessed with intent to de-
liver a controlled substance within 1000 feet of a public or
private elementary or secondary school, then 12 to 36
months shall be added to the standard range which would
otherwise have been applicable. To determine the aggra-
vated and mitigated sentence recommendations, apply
§§ 303.10 and 303.11. Where appropriate, this enhance-
ment shall be added in addition to the deadly weapon
enhancement.

(c) If upon application of an enhancement the resulting
lengths exceed the longest legal minimum sentence, then
the statutory limit is the sentence recommendation. (See
§ 303.12(c).)

§ 303.10. Aggravated and mitigated sentence rec-
ommendations.

(a) When the court determines that an aggravating
circumstance(s) is present, it may impose an aggravated
sentence as follows:

(1) For the offense gravity scores of 9, 10, 11, 12, [ and
]13, and 14 the court may impose a sentence that is up
to 12 months longer than the top of the standard range.

(2) For the offense gravity scores of 6, 7, and 8, [ and
9 ] the court may impose a sentence that is up to 6
months longer than the top of the standard range.

(3) For the offense gravity scores of 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5,
[ and 6 ] the court may impose a sentence that is up to 3
months longer than the top of the standard range.

(4) When the standard range is restorative sanctions
(RS), and no enhancement has been added, the lower
limit of the aggravated sentence recommendation is re-
strictive intermediate punishment (RIP). When the stan-
dard range is RS-RIP, and no enhancement has been
added, the upper limit of the aggravated sentence recom-
mendation is 3.
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(5) Example. If the offense gravity score is [ 10 ] 9 and
the prior record score is 2, the standard range is [ 36-54 ]
24-36 months. The aggravated sentence should not exceed
the top of the standard range ([ 54 ] 36 months) by more
than 12 months (i.e. the upper limit of the aggravated
sentence recommendation becomes [ 66 ] 48 months).

(b) When the court determines that a mitigating cir-
cumstance(s) is present, it may impose a mitigated
sentence as follows:

(1) For the offense gravity scores of 9, 10, 11, 12, [ and
]13, and 14, the court may impose a sentence that is up
to 12 months shorter than the bottom of the standard
range.

(2) For the offense gravity scores of 6, 7, and, 8, [ and
9 ] the court may impose a sentence that is up to 6
months shorter than the bottom of the standard range.

(3) For the offense gravity scores of 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5,
[ and 6 ] the court may impose a sentence that is up to 3
months shorter than the bottom of the standard range.

(4) When the bottom of the standard range is less than
or equal to 3 months of incarceration, and no enhance-
ment has been added, the lower limit of the mitigated
sentence recommendation is restorative sanctions (RS).

(5) Example. If the offense gravity score is [ 10 ] 9 and
the prior record score is 2, the standard range is [ 36-
54 ] 24-36 months. The mitigated sentence should not go
below the bottom of the standard range ([ 36 ] 24
months) by more than 12 months (i.e. the lower
limit of the mitigated sentence recommendation
becomes [ 24 ] 12 months).

(c) When the court imposes an aggravated or miti-
gated sentence, it shall state the reasons on the record
and on the guideline sentence form, a copy of which is
forwarded to the Commission on Sentencing.

§ 303.11. Adjusted sentence recommendations.

(a) The procedures for determining the sentencing op-
tions for the adjusted sentences under § 303.9 (relating
to enhancements) and § 303.10 (relating to aggravated
and mitigated sentence recommendations) are as follows:

(1) When the lower limit of the adjusted sentence
recommendation is a term of incarceration greater than
or equal to 12 months (a state sentence as defined in 61
P. S. § 331.17), the court shall consider the Level 4
sentencing options. (See § 303.8(b)(1).)

(2) When the lower limit of the adjusted sentence
recommendation is a term of incarceration that is less
than 12 months (a county sentence as defined in 61 P. S.
§ 331.17), the court shall consider the Level 3 sentencing
options. (See § 303.8(b)(2).)

(3) When the lower limit of the adjusted sentence
recommendation is restorative sanctions (RS) or restric-
tive intermediate punishments (RIP) and the upper limit
of the adjusted sentence recommendation is a term of
incarceration, the court shall consider the appropriate
Level 2 sentencing options. (See § 303.8 (b)(3).)

(4) When the top of the standard range is 11 1/2
months, this number shall be rounded to 12 months
before enhancing and/or aggravating the range.

§ 303.12. Guideline sentence recommendations—
miscellaneous.
(a) Guideline ranges are shown in the Standard Range

Chart in § [ 303.16 ] 303.15.
(b) All numeric guideline ranges are months of mini-

mum confinement as defined in 42 Pa.C.S. § 9755(b) and
§ 9756 (b) (relating to partial and total confinement).

(c) When the guideline range exceeds that permitted by
18 Pa.C.S. §§ 1103 and 1104 (relating to sentence of
imprisonment for felony and misdemeanor) and 42
Pa.C.S. § 9755(b) and § 9756(b) (relating to sentence of
partial and total confinement) or other applicable statute
setting the maximum term of confinement, then the
statutory limit is the guideline sentence. For the purposes
of the guidelines, the statutory limit is the longest legal
minimum sentence, which is one-half the maximum al-
lowed by law.

(d) When the guideline range is lower than that re-
quired by a mandatory sentencing statute, the mandatory
sentence becomes the guideline sentence. When the
guideline range is higher than that required by a manda-
tory sentencing statute, the guideline range shall be
considered as it is in a non-mandatory case.

(e) When the court imposes a sentence that falls on the
boundary of the standard range, the sentence shall be
considered within the standard range.

(f) Fines and restitution.
(1) Fines and restitution, as provided by law, may be

added to any guideline sentence.
(2) A fine, within the limits established by law, shall be

considered by the court when the offender is convicted of
35 P. S. § 780-113(a)(12), (14) or (30), and the drug
involved is 2.5 or more grams of any of the following: a
controlled substance or counterfeit substance classified in
Schedule I or II and which is a narcotic; phencyclidine,
methamphetamine, or cocaine, including the isomers,
salts, compounds, salts of isomers, or derivatives of
phencyclidine, methamphetamine, or cocaine; or is one
thousand pounds or more of marijuana. Such fine shall be
of an amount that is at least sufficient to exhaust the
assets utilized in, and the proceeds obtained by the
offender from, the illegal possession, manufacture, or
distribution of controlled substances. Such fine shall not
include assets concerning which the attorney for the
Commonwealth has filed a forfeiture petition or concern-
ing which he has given notice to the court of his intent to
file a forfeiture petition.

(3) Fines and restitution programs may be utilized as
restorative sanctions and, if properly approved, as restric-
tive intermediate punishments. (See § 303.8(b)(2)(i)-(iv).)

(g) In every case in which the court imposes a sentence
for a felony or misdemeanor, the court shall make as a
part of the record and disclose in open court at the time
of sentencing a statement of the reason or reasons for the
sentence imposed. In every case where the court imposes
a sentence outside the sentencing guidelines the court
shall provide a contemporaneous written statement of the
reason or reasons for the deviation from the guidelines.
These reasons shall be recorded on the guideline sentence
form, a copy of which is forwarded to the Commission on
Sentencing.
§ 303.13. Boot camp program eligibility.

(a) According to statute (61 P. S. §§ 1121—1129), in
order for the court to authorize the offender as eligible for
the boot camp program, the offender must meet the
following criteria:
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(1) be sentenced to term of confinement under the
jurisdiction of the Department of Corrections;

(2) receive a minimum and maximum sentence which
does not exceed that allowed by the statute governing the
boot camp program (61 P. S. § 1123);

(3) be less than 35 years of age; and
(4) have a current conviction which is not for one of the

following offenses:
18 Pa.C.S. § 2501 (relating to criminal homicide)
18 Pa.C.S. § 2901 (relating to kidnapping)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating to rape)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate
sexual intercourse)

18 Pa.C.S. § 3701 (a)(i), (ii), or (iii) (relating to robbery)

(b) The court shall indicate on the offender’s commit-
ment order and the guideline sentence form if the
offender is authorized as eligible for the boot camp
program. The Department of Corrections makes the final
determination as to whether the offender will be accepted
into the boot camp program.

[ § 303.14. Driving under the influence of alcohol or
controlled substance (DUI) and homicide by ve-
hicle while driving under the influence.

(a) When the court determines that no victim
suffered serious bodily injury as a result of DUI,
sentences for driving under the influence of alcohol
or controlled substances are determined by applica-
tion of 75 Pa.C.S. § 3731 (relating to mandatory
imprisonment for driving under the influence of
alcohol or controlled substance) and 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 9763 (relating to intermediate punishment for
driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled
substance).

(b) When the court determines that one or more
victims, other than the offender, suffered serious
bodily injury as a result of DUI, the standard
ranges for convictions under 75 Pa.C.S. § 3731 (re-
lating to driving under the influence of alcohol or
controlled substance) are as follows:
1st conviction 3-5
2nd conviction 6-8
3rd conviction 9-11

4th/subsequent conviction 12

(1) When the court determines that an aggravat-
ing circumstance(s) is present, it may impose an
aggravated sentence up to 2 months longer than
the top of the standard range.

(2) When the court determines that a mitigating
circumstance(s) is present, it may impose a miti-
gated sentence up to 2 months shorter than the
bottom of the standard range.

(c) The court may impose a qualified restrictive
intermediate punishment in lieu of incarceration
for any conviction under 75 Pa.C.S. § 3731 (relating
to driving under the influence of alcohol or con-
trolled substance). The number of days of incar-
ceration that may be exchanged for a qualified
restrictive intermediate punishment cannot exceed
90 days.

(1) Definition of qualified restrictive intermedi-
ate punishments. In accordance with 37 Pa. Code
§ 451.52 (relating to sentencing restrictions for
driving under the influence convictions) qualified
restrictive intermediate punishment programs are
defined as either:

(i) residential inpatient drug and alcohol pro-
grams or residential rehabilitative center pro-
grams; or

(ii) house arrest and electronic monitoring com-
bined with drug and alcohol treatment.

(c) Sentences for homicide by vehicle while driv-
ing under the influence are determined by applica-
tion of 75 Pa.C.S. § 3735 (relating to mandatory
imprisonment for homicide by vehicle while driving
under the influence).

(d) A guideline sentence form must be completed
for all offenders convicted of 75 Pa.C.S. § 3731
(relating to driving under the influence of alcohol
or controlled substance) and 75 Pa.C.S. § 3735 (re-
lating to for homicide by vehicle while driving
under the influence) in accordance with § 303.1(d)
(relating to sentencing guidelines standards). ]
[ § 303.15 ] § 303.14. Offense Gravity Scores.

Offenses are scored as follows:

CRIMES CODE OFFENSES

Statutory Offense Gravity
18 Pa.C.S. § Offense Title Classification Score

907(a) Possessing Instruments of Crime (criminal instruments) M1 3
907(b) Possessing Instruments of Crime (weapon) M1 4
908 Prohibited Offensive Weapons M1 4
909 Manufacture/Distribute Master Key for Motor Vehicles M1 3
910 Manufacture/Distribute Devices for Theft of

Telecommunications
[ M1 ] F3 [ 3 ] 5

910 Manufacture/Distribute Devices for Theft of
Telecommunications

[ M2 ] M1 [ 2 ] 3

911 Corrupt Organizations F1 [ 9 ] 8
912 Weapon on School Property M1 4
913 (a)(1) Possession of Firearm or Other Dangerous Weapon

in Court Facility
M3 1
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CRIMES CODE OFFENSES

Statutory Offense Gravity
18 Pa.C.S. § Offense Title Classification Score
913 (a)(2) Possession of Firearm or Other Dangerous Weapon

in Court Facility (intend for crime)
M1 3

2102 Desecration of Flag M3 1
2103 Insults to Flag M2 2
2502(c) Murder, Third Degree F1 [ 13 ] 14

Murder, Attempt, Solicitation, or Conspiracy (SBI) [ F2 ] F1 [ 10 ] 13
Murder, Attempt, Solicitation, or Conspiracy (no SBI) [ F2 ] F1 [ 10 ] 12

2503 Manslaughter, Voluntary [ F2 ] F1 [ 10 ] 11
2504* Manslaughter, Involuntary (when there is also a conviction

for DUI arising from the same transaction)
M1 8

2504* Manslaughter, Involuntary (when there is not a conviction
for DUI arising from the same transaction)

M1 [ 7 ] 6

2504 Manslaughter, Involuntary (victim under 12 years) F2 8
2505(b) Suicide, Aids or Solicits F2 6
2505(b) Suicide, Aids or Solicits M2 2
2506 Drug Delivery Resulting in Death F1 [ 12 ] 14
2701(b) Simple Assault M2 3
2701(b)(1) Simple Assault (mutual consent) M3 1
2701(b)(2) Simple Assault (against child by adult) M1 4
2702(a)(1)* Aggravated Assault (causes serious bodily injury) F1 11
2702(a)(1)* Aggravated Assault (attempts to cause serious bodily

injury)
F1 [ 9 ] 10

2702(a)(2)* Aggravated Assault (causes serious bodily injury police,
etc.)

F1 11

2702(a)(2)* Aggravated Assault (attempts to cause serious bodily
injury, police, etc.)

F1 [ 9 ] 10

2702(a)(3) Aggravated Assault (causes or attempts to cause bodily
injury, police, etc.)

F2 6

2702(a)(4) [ * ] Aggravated Assault (causes bodily injury with a deadly
weapon)

F2 [ 9 ] 8

2702(a)(4)[ * ] Aggravated Assault (attempts to cause bodily injury with a
deadly weapon)

F2 [ 6 ] 8

2702(a)(5) Aggravated Assault (teacher) F2 6
2703 Assault by Prisoner F2 6
2705 Recklessly Endangering Another Person M2 3
2706 Terroristic Threats M1 3
2707(a) Propulsion of Missiles into an Occupied Vehicle M1 3
2707(b) Propulsion of Missiles onto a Roadway M2 2
2708 Use of Tear Gas in Labor Dispute M1 3
2709(b) Stalking, Subsequent Offense F3 5
2709(b) Stalking M1 3
2710 Ethnic Intimidation See § 303.3(d) See § 303.3(d)
2712 Assault on Sports Official M1 3
2713 (a)(1)(2) Neglect of Care-dependent Person(SBI) F1 10
2713 (a)(1)(2) Neglect of Care-dependent Person(BI) M1 4
2901 Kidnapping F1 10
2902 Unlawful Restraint M1 3
2903 False Imprisonment M2 2
2904(c) Interference with the Custody of Children F3 4

*These offenses have been subcategorized by the Commission. See Section 303.3(b).
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CRIMES CODE OFFENSES

Statutory Offense Gravity
18 Pa.C.S. § Offense Title Classification Score
2904(c)(1) Interference with the Custody of Children F2 6
2904(c)(2) Interference with the Custody of Children M2 2
2905 Interference w/Custody of Committed Persons M2 4
2906 Criminal Coercion M1 3
2906 Criminal Coercion M2 2
2907 Disposition of Ransom F3 5
2909 Concealment of Whereabouts of a Child F3 4
2910 Luring a Child into a Motor Vehicle M1 5
3121 Rape F1 [ 11 ] 12

[ 3122 ] [ Rape, Statutory ] [ F2 ] [ 7 ]
3122.1 Statutory Sexual Assault F2 7
3123 Involuntary Deviate Sexual Intercourse F1 [ 11 ] 12

[ 3124 ] [ Voluntary Deviate Sexual Intercourse ] [ M2 ] [ 3 ]
3124.1 Sexual Assault F1 11
3125 Aggravated Indecent Assault F2 [ 9 ] 10
3126(a)(1)-(5) Indecent Assault M2 4
3126(a)(6) Indecent Assault (involving minors) M1 5
3127 Indecent Exposure M2 3
3127 Indecent Exposure (person less than 16 present) M1 4

[ 3128 ] [ Spousal Sexual Assault ] [ F2 ] [ 9 ]
3301(a)* Arson Endangering Persons (where a person is inside the

structure when the fire is started or when bodily injury
results, either directly or indirectly, at the scene of the fire)

F1 10

3301(a)* Arson Endangering Persons (where no person is inside the
structure when the fire is started and no bodily injury
results either directly or indirectly, at the scene of the fire)

F1 [ 8 ] 9

3301(c) Arson, Endangering Property F2 6
3301(d) Arson, Reckless Burning F3 5
3301(e) Arson, Failure to Report M1 3
3301(f) Arson, Possess Explosive Material F3 5
3301(g) Arson, Disclosure of True Owner M3 1
3302(a) Catastrophe, Causing F1 10
3302(a) Catastrophe, Recklessly Causing F2 6
3302(b) Catastrophe, Risking F3 4
3303 Failure to Prevent Catastrophe M2 2
3304 Criminal Mischief (over $5,000) F3 5
3304 Criminal Mischief (over $1,000) M2 2
3304 Criminal Mischief (over $500) M3 1
3305 Tampering w/Fire Hydrants M3 1
3307 Institutional Vandalism (over $5,000) F3 5
3307 Institutional Vandalism M2 2
3309 Agricultural Vandalism (over $5,000) F3 5
3309 Agricultural Vandalism (over $1,000) M1 3
3309 Agricultural Vandalism (over $500) M2 2
3309 Agricultural Vandalism ($500 or less) M3 1
3502* Burglary (of a structure adapted for overnight

accommodation in which at the time of the offense any
person is present)

F1 9

*These offenses have been subcategorized by the Commission. See Section 303.3(b).
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CRIMES CODE OFFENSES

Statutory Offense Gravity
18 Pa.C.S. § Offense Title Classification Score
3502* Burglary (of a structure adapted for overnight

accommodation in which at the time of the offense no
person is present)

F1 [ 8 ] 7

3502* Burglary (of a structure not adapted for overnight
accommodation in which at the time of the offense any
person is present)

F1 6

3502 Burglary (of a structure not adapted for overnight
accommodation in which at the time of the offense no
person is present)

F2 5

3503(a)(1)(ii) Trespass, Criminal F2 4
3503(a)(1)(i) Trespass, Criminal F3 3
3503(b) Trespass, Defiant M3 1
3701(a)(1)(i) Robbery (inflicts serious bodily injury) F1 11
3701(a)(1)(ii) Robbery (threatens another with or intentionally puts him

in fear of immediate serious bodily injury)
F1 [ 9 ] 10

3701(a)(1)(iii) Robbery (commits or threatens immediately to commit any
F1 or F2)

F1 9

3701[ * ](a)(1)(iv) Robbery (inflicts bodily injury) F2 [ 9 ] 7

3701[ * ](a)(1)(iv)* Robbery (threatens bodily injury or intentionally puts him
in fear of immediate bodily injury)

F2 [ 6 ] 7

3701(a)(1)(v) Robbery (physically takes or removes property by force,
however slight)

F3 5

3702* Robbery of Motor Vehicle (inflicts serious bodily injury) F1 11
3702* Robbery of a Motor Vehicle (does not inflict serious bodily

injury)
F1 9

3921 Theft by Unlawful Taking, During Disaster F2 7
3921* Theft by Unlawful Taking or Disposition (over $100,000) F3 [ 9 ] 8
3921* Theft By Unlawful Taking or Disposition (over $50,000 to

$100,000)
F3 [ 8 ] 7

3921* Theft By Unlawful Taking or Disposition (over $25,000 to
$50,000)

F3 [ 7 ] 6

3921* Theft by Unlawful Taking or Disposition (over $2,000 to
$25,000, or if the property is a firearm, automobile,
airplane, motorcycle, motorboat, or other motor- propelled
vehicle)

F3 5

3921 Theft by Unlawful Taking or Disposition ($2,000 or less,
from person or by threat or in breach of fiduciary
obligation)

M1 3

3921 Theft by Unlawful Taking or Disposition ($200 to $2,000) M1 3
3921 Theft by Unlawful Taking or Disposition ($50 to less than

$200)
M2 2

3921 Theft by Unlawful Taking or Disposition (less than $50) M3 1
3922* Theft by Deception (over $100,000) F3 [ 9 ] 8
3922* Theft By Deception (over $50,000 to $100,000) F3 [ 8 ] 7
3922* Theft By Deception (over $25,000 to $50,000) F3 [ 7 ] 6
3922* Theft by Deception (over $2,000 to $25,000, or if the

property is a firearm, automobile, airplane, motorcycle,
motorboat, or other motor-propelled vehicle)

F3 5

3922 Theft by Deception ($2,000 or less, from person or by
threat or in breach of fiduciary obligation)

M1 3

3922 Theft by Deception ($200 to $2,000) M1 3
3922 Theft by Deception ($50 to less than $200) M2 2

*These offenses have been subcategorized by the Commission. See Section 303.3(b).
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CRIMES CODE OFFENSES

Statutory Offense Gravity
18 Pa.C.S. § Offense Title Classification Score
3922 Theft by Deception (less than $50) M3 1
3923* Theft by Extortion (over $100,000) F3 [ 9 ] 8
3923* Theft by Extortion (over $50,000 to $100,000 F3 [ 8 ] 7
3923* Theft by Extortion (over $25,000 to $50,000) F3 [ 7 ] 6
3923* Theft by Extortion (over $2,000 to $25,000, or if the

property is a firearm, automobile, airplane, motorcycle,
motorboat, or other motor-propelled vehicle)

F3 5

3923 Theft by Extortion ($2,000 or less, from person or by threat
or in breach of fiduciary obligation)

M1 4

3923 Theft by Extortion ($200 to $2,000) M1 4
3923 Theft by Extortion ($50 to less than $200) M2 2
3923 Theft by Extortion (less than $50) M3 1
3924* Theft of Property Lost, Mislaid, or Delivered by Mistake

(over $100,000)
F3 [ 9 ] 8

3924* Theft of Property Lost, Mislaid, or Delivered by Mistake
(over $50,000 to $100,000)

F3 [ 8 ] 7

3924* Theft of Property Lost, Mislaid, or Delivered by Mistake
(over $25,000 to $50,000)

F3 [ 7 ] 6

3924* Theft of Property Lost, Mislaid, or Delivered by Mistake
(over $2,000 to $25,000, or if the property is a firearm,
automobile, airplane, motorcycle, motorboat, or other
motor-propelled vehicle)

F3 5

3924 Theft of Property Lost, Mislaid or Delivered by Mistake
($2,000 or less, from person or by threat or in breach of
fiduciary obligation)

M1 3

3924 Theft of Property Lost, Mislaid or Delivered by Mistake
($200 to $2,000)

M1 3

3924 Theft of Property Lost, Mislaid or Delivered by Mistake
($50 to less than $200)

M2 2

3924 Theft of Property Lost, Mislaid or Delivered by Mistake
(less than $50)

M3 1

3925 Theft by Receiving Stolen Property, During Disaster F2 7
3925* Theft by Receiving Stolen Property (over $100,000) F3 [ 9 ] 8
3925* Theft by Receiving Stolen Property (over $50,000 to

$100,000)
F3 [ 8 ] 7

3925* Theft by Receiving Stolen Property (over $25,000 to
$50,000)

F3 [ 7 ] 6

3925* Theft by Receiving Stolen Property (over $2,000 to $25,000,
or if the property is a firearm, automobile, airplane,
motorcycle, motorboat, or other motor- propelled vehicle, or
if the receiver is in the business of buying or selling stolen
property)

F3 5

3925 Theft by Receiving Stolen Property ($2,000 or less, from
person or by threat or in breach of fiduciary obligation)

M1 3

3925 Theft by Receiving Stolen Property ($200 to $2,000) M1 3
3925 Theft by Receiving Stolen Property ($50 to less than $200) M2 2
3925 Theft by Receiving Stolen Property (less than $50) M3 1
3926* Theft of Services (over $100,000) F3 [ 9 ] 8
3926* Theft of Services (over $50,000 to $100,000) F3 [ 8 ] 7
3926* Theft of Services (over $25,000 to $50,000) F3 [ 7 ] 6

*These offenses have been subcategorized by the Commission. See Section 303.3(b).
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CRIMES CODE OFFENSES

Statutory Offense Gravity
18 Pa.C.S. § Offense Title Classification Score
3926* Theft of Services (over $2,000 to $25,000, or if the property

is a firearm, automobile, airplane, motorcycle, motor-boat,
or other motor-propelled vehicle)

F3 5

3926 Theft of Services ($2,000 or less, from person or by threat
or in breach of fiduciary obligation)

M1 3

3926 Theft of Services ($200 to $2,000) M1 3
3926 Theft of Services ($50 to less than $200) M2 2
3926 Theft of Services (less than $50) M3 1
3926 (e) Theft of Services (sale ransfer of device for diversion of

services)
M3 1

3927* Theft by Failure to Make Required Disposition of Funds
Received (over $100,000)

F3 [ 9 ] 8

3927* Theft by Failure to Make Required Disposition of Funds
Received (over $50,000 to $100,000)

F3 [ 8 ] 7

3927* Theft by Failure to Make Required Disposition of Funds
Received (over $25,000 to $50,000)

F3 [ 7 ] 6

3927* Theft by Failure to Make Required Disposition of Funds
Received (over $2,000 to $25,000, or if the property is a
firearm, automobile, airplane, motorcycle, motorboat, or
other motor- propelled vehicle)

F3 5

3927 Theft by Failure to Make Required Disposition of Funds
Received ($2,000 or less, from person or by threat or in
breach of fiduciary obligation)

M1 3

3927 Theft by Failure to Make Required Disposition of Funds
Received ($200 to $2,000)

M1 3

3927 Theft by Failure to Make Required Disposition of Funds
Received ($50 to less than $200)

M2 2

3927 Theft by Failure to Make Required Disposition of Funds
Received (less than $50)

M3 1

3928 Unauthorized Use of Auto, during disaster F2 7
3928 Unauthorized Use of Auto M2 2
3929 Theft, Retail (during disaster) F2 7
3929 Theft, Retail (third or subsequent conviction) F3 3
3929 Theft, Retail (first or second offense, $150 or more) M1 2
3929 Theft, Retail (second offense, less than $150) M2 2
3929.1 Library Theft (3rd; subsequent offense) F3 5
3929.1 Library Theft (1st; 2nd over $150) M1 3
3929.1 Library Theft (2nd less than $150) M2 2
3930 Theft of Trade Secrets by Force, Violence, or Burglary F3 5
3930 Theft of Trade Secrets M1 3
3931 Theft of Unpublished Dramas and Musical Compositions

(over $2,000 or if the property is a firearm, automobile,
airplane, motorcycle, motorboat, or other motor-propelled
vehicle)

F3 5

3931 Theft of Unpublished Dramas and Musical Compositions
($2,000 or less, from person or by threat or in breach of
fiduciary obligation)

M1 3

3931 Theft of Unpublished Dramas and Musical Compositions
($200 to $2,000)

M1 3

3931 Theft of Unpublished Dramas and Musical Compositions
($50 to less than $200)

M2 2

3931 Theft of Unpublished Dramas and Musical Compositions
(less than $50)

M3 1

*These offenses have been subcategorized by the Commission. See Section 303.3(b).
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CRIMES CODE OFFENSES

Statutory Offense Gravity
18 Pa.C.S. § Offense Title Classification Score
3932* Theft of Leased Property (over $100,000) F3 [ 9 ] 8
3932* Theft of Leased Property (over $50,000 to $100,000) F3 [ 8 ] 7
3932* Theft of Leased Property (over $25,000 to $50,000) F3 [ 7 ] 6
3932* Theft of Leased Property (over $2,000 to $25,000, or if

property is a firearm, automobile, airplane, motorcycle,
motorboat, or other motor-propelled vehicle)

F3 5

3932 Theft of Leased Property ($2,000 or less from person or by
threat or in breach of fiduciary obligation)

M1 3

3932 Theft of Leased Property ($200 to $2,000) M1 3
3932 Theft of Leased Property ($50 to less than $200) M2 2
3932 Theft of Leased Property (less than $50) M3 1
3933 (a)(1) Unlawful Use of Computer F3 5
3933 (a)(2;3) Unlawful Use of Computer M1 3
4101 Forgery (money, stocks, etc.) F2 3
4101 Forgery (will, deed, etc.) F3 4
4101 Forgery (other) M1 3
4102 Simulating Antiques M1 3
4103 Fraudulent Destruction of Recordable Instruments F3 5
4104 (a) Tampering with Record or Identification M1 3
4105 Bad Checks M2 2
4106 Credit Cards (more than $500) F3 3
4106 Credit Cards ($50 or more but less than $500) M2 2
4107 Deceptive Business Practices M2 2
4107.1 Deception Relating to Kosher Foods M3 1
4107.2 Deception Relating to Certification of Minority Business

Enterprise or Women’s Business Enterprise
F3 4

4108 Commercial Bribery and Breach of Duty M2 2
4109 Rigging Public Contest M1 3
4110 Defrauding Secured Creditors M2 2
4111 Fraud in Insolvency M2 2
4112 Receiving Deposits; Failed Institution M2 2
4113 Misapplication of Entrusted Property (over $50) M2 2
4113 Misapplication of Entrusted Property ($50 or less) M3 1
4114 Securing Execution of Documents by Deception M2 2
4115 Falsely Impersonating Persons Privately Employed M2 2
4116 Copying; Recording Devices M1 3
4117 (a) Insurance Fraud F3 4
4117 (b) Insurance Fraud M1 3
4301 Bigamy M2 3
4302 Incest F2 7
4303 Concealing Death of Child [ M3 ] M1 3

4304 Endangering Welfare of Children M1 5
4304 Endangering Welfare of Children (course of conduct) F3 6
4305 Dealing in Infant Children M1 4
4701 Bribery, Official and Political Matters F3 5
4702 Threats, Official and Political Matters F3 5
4702 Threats, Official and Political Matters M2 2

*These offenses have been subcategorized by the Commission. See Section 303.3(b).
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CRIMES CODE OFFENSES

Statutory Offense Gravity
18 Pa.C.S. § Offense Title Classification Score
4703 Retaliation for Past Official Action M2 2
4902 Perjury F3 5
4903 (a) False Swearing M2 2
4903 (b) False Swearing M3 1
4904 (a) Unsworn Falsification to Authorities M2 2
4904 (b) Unsworn Falsification to Authorities M3 1
4905 False Alarms M1 3
4906 (a) False Reports to Law Enforcement Officials M2 2
4906 (b) False Reports to Law Enforcement Officials M3 1
4909 Witness Taking Bribe F3 5
4910 Tampering with Physical Evidence M2 2
4911 Tampering w/Public Records or Information F3 4
4911 Tampering w/Public Records or Information M2 2
4912 Impersonating a Public Servant M2 2
4952 Intimidation of Witnesses or Victims F3 [ 8 ] 7
4952 Intimidation of Witnesses or Victims M2 5
4953 Retaliation Against Witness or Victim F3 [ 9 ] 8
4953 Retaliation Against Witness or Victim M2 5
5101 Obstructing Justice M2 3
5102 Obstruction of Justice by Picketing M2 2
5103 Unlawfully Listening to Jury Deliberations M3 1
5104 Resisting Arrest M2 2
5105 Apprehension, Hindering (if conduct liable to be charged is

F1 or F2)
F3 4

5105 Apprehension, Hindering M2 2
5107 Aiding Consummation of Crime (of F1/F2) F3 5
5107 Aiding Consummation of Crime M2 2
5108 Compounding M2 2
5109 Barratry M3 1
5110 Contempt of General Assembly M3 1
5111 Dealing in Proceeds of Unlawful Activities F1 [ 9 ] 8
5121(d)(1)(i)
(ii)(iii)*

Escape (from a halfway house, pre- release center,
treatment center, work- release center, work-release, or by
failing to return from an authorized leave or furlough)

F3 5

5121(d)(1)(i)
(ii)(iii)*

Escape (all other escapes from this subsection) F3 6

5121(d)(2) Escape M2 3
5122(a)(1) Weapons, Providing to Inmate M1 [ 9 ] 8
5122(a)(2) Weapons, Possession by Inmate M1 4
5122(a)(3) Weapons or Implements for Escape (tools) M2 3
5123(a) Contraband (provide controlled substance to confined

person)
F2 7

5123(a)(2) Contraband (possession of controlled substance by
confined person)

M1 3

5123(b) Contraband (money) M3 1
5123(c) Contraband (other) M1 3
5124 Default in Required Appearance F3 4
5124 Default in Required Appearance M2 2

*These offenses have been subcategorized by the Commission. See Section 303.3(b).
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CRIMES CODE OFFENSES

Statutory Offense Gravity
18 Pa.C.S. § Offense Title Classification Score
5125 Absconding Witness M3 1
5126 Avoiding Apprehension F3 5
5126 Avoiding Apprehension M2 2
5301 Official Oppression M2 2
5302 Speculating on Official Action M2 2
5501 Riot F3 4
5502 Failure to Disperse M2 2
5503 Disorderly Conduct M3 1
5504 Harassment by Communication M3 1
5506 Loitering and Prowling M3 1
5507 Obstructing Highways M3 1
5508 Disrupting Meetings M3 1
5509 Desecration of Venerated Objects M2 2
5510 Abuse of Corpse M2 3
5511(a)(2) Cruelty to Animals F3 5
5511(a)(2.1)(i) Cruelty to Animals M2 3
5511(a)(2.1)(ii) Cruelty to Animals F3 5
5511(a)(1) Cruelty to Animals M2 3
5511 (h.1) Cruelty to Animals F3 5
5512 Lotteries M1 3
5513 Gambling Devices M1 3
5514 Pool Selling and Bookmaking M1 3
5515 Prohibiting Paramilitary Training M1 3
5703 Interception, Disclosure or Use of Wire or Oral

Communications
F3 5

5705 Possession, Sale, Distribution, Manufacture or
Advertisement of Interception Devices

F3 5

5719 Unlawful Use of Intercepted Communications M2 2
5771 Pen Register and Trap and Trace Devices M3 1
5901 Open Lewdness M3 1
5902(a) Prostitution M3 1
5902 (a)(b)(e)
when (a.1);(c)(v)
or; (e.1) applies)

Prostitution and Related Offenses (HIV or Aids
related)

F3 5

5902(b)when
(c)(1)(i)(ii,i v)
applies

Prostitution and Related Offenses F3 5

5902(b) when
(c)(1)(iii) applies

Prostitution Involving Minors F3 [ 9 ] 8

5902 (b) Prostitution M2 3
5902(e) Patronizing Prostitutes [ (under age 16) ] M3 1

5903 Obscene Materials (subsequent offense) F3 5
5903 Obscene Materials M1 3
5904 Public Exhibition of Insane or Deformed Person M2 2
6105* [ Firearm, Possession or Ownership by Former

Convict (loaded or ammunition in possession or
control of defendant) ] Persons Not to Possess, Use,
Manufacture, Control, Sell or Transfer Firearms
(loaded)

M1 5

*These offenses have been subcategorized by the Commission. See Section 303.3(b).
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CRIMES CODE OFFENSES

Statutory Offense Gravity
18 Pa.C.S. § Offense Title Classification Score
6105* [ Firearm, Possession or Ownership by Former

Convict (loaded or ammunition in possession or
control of defendant) ] Persons Not to Possess, Use,
Manufacture, Control, Sell or Transfer Firearms
(unloaded)

M1 4

6106* Firearms, Not to be Carried Without a License (loaded or
ammunition in possession or control of defendant)

[ M1 ] F3 5

6106* Firearms, Not to be Carried Without a License (unloaded
and ammunition not in possession or control of defendant)

[ M1 ] F3 4

6107 Prohibited Conduct during Emergency M1 3
6108* Carrying Firearms on Public Streets or Public Property in

Philadelphia (loaded or ammunition in possession or
control of defendant)

M1 5

6108* Carrying Firearms on Public Streets or Public Property in
Philadelphia (unloaded and ammunition not in possession
or control of defendant)

M1 4

[ 6110* ] [ Persons to Whom Delivery Shall Not be Made
(loaded or ammunition in possession or control of
defendant) ]

[ M1 ] [ 5 ]

[ 6110* ] [ Persons to Whom Delivery Shall Not be Made
(unloaded or ammunition not in possession or
control of defendant) ]

[ M1 ] [ 4 ]

6110.1(a) Possession of Firearm by Minor M1 3
6110.1(c) Possession of Firearms by Minor (responsibility of

adult)
F3 7

[ 6111 ] [ Sale of Firearms ] [ M1 ] [ 4 ]
6111(g)(1) Sale or Transfer of Firearms M2 2
6111(g)(2)(3)(4) Sale or Transfer of Firearms (to ineligibles; unlawful

request for criminal history; false statements)
F3 5

6111(h) Sale or Transfer of Firearms (subsequent) F2 7
6112 Retail Dealer Required to be Licensed M1 3
6113 Licensing of Dealers M1 3
6115 Loans, Lending, Giving Firearms M1 3
6116 False Evidence of Identity M1 3
6117 Altering Marks of Identification [ M1 ] F2 [ 3 ] 7
6121 Certain Bullets Prohibited F3 5
6161 Carrying Explosives M2 3
6162 Shipping Explosives M3 3
6301* Corruption of Minors (when of a sexual nature) M1 5
6301* Corruption of Minors M1 4
6302 Sale or Lease of Weapons M1 4
6303 Sale of Starter Pistols M1 4
6304 Sale of Air Rifles M3 1
6306 Furnish Cigarettes to Minors (3rd and subsequent offenses) M3 1
6307 Misrepresentation of Age to Secure Alcohol (subsequent

offense)
M3 1

6309 Representing that Minor is of Age M3 1
6310 Inducement of Minors to Buy Liquor M3 1
6310.1 Selling Liquor to Minors M3 1
6310.2 Sale of False ID M2 2

*These offenses have been subcategorized by the Commission. See Section 303.3(b).

THE COURTS 3425

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 26, NO. 29, JULY 20, 1996



CRIMES CODE OFFENSES

Statutory Offense Gravity
18 Pa.C.S. § Offense Title Classification Score
6310.3 Carrying False ID (subsequent offense) M3 1
6311 Tattooing (a minor) M3 1
6312(b) Sexual Abuse of Children (taking photos) F2 7
6312(c) Sexual Abuse of Children (selling photos) F3 6
6312(d) Possession of Child Pornography F3 5
6501(a)(3) Scattering Rubbish (2nd; subsequent offense) M1 3
6501(a)(2) Scattering Rubbish (1st. offense) M2 2
6501 (a)(1)(2) Scattering Rubbish (2nd; subsequent offense) M3 1
6504 Public Nuisances M2 2
6703 Military Decorations M3 1
6707 False Registration of Domestic Animals M3 1
6709 Use of Union Labels M3 1
6901 Extension of Water Line M3 1
6910 Unauthorized Sale of Tickets M3 1
7102 Drugs to Race Horses M1 3
7103 Horse Racing M3 1
7104 Fortune Telling M3 1
7107 Unlawful Actions by Athlete Agents M1 3
7302(a) Sale of Solidified Alcohol M2 2
7302(b) Labeling of Solidified Alcohol M1 3
7303 Sale or Illegal Use of Solvents M3 1
7306 Incendiary Devices M1 3
7307 Out of State Convict Made Goods M2 2
7308 Unlawful Advertising of Insurance Business M2 2
7309 Unlawful Coercion in Contracting Insurance M1 3
7310 Furnishing Free Insurance M3 1
7311 Unlawful Collection Agency Practices M3 1
7312 Debt Pooling M3 1
7313 Buying Food Stamps (� $1,000) [ M3 ] F3 [ 1 ] 5
7313 Buying Food Stamps (�$1,000) [ M3 ] M1 [ 1 ] 3
7314 Fraudulent traffic in food orders (� $1,000) F3 5
7314 Fraudulent traffic in food orders (�$1,000) M1 3
7316 Keeping Bucket-Shop M3 1
7317 Accessories, Bucket-Shop M3 1
7318 Maintaining Bucket-Shop Premises M3 1
7319 Bucket-Shop Contracts M3 1
7321 Lie Detector Tests M2 2
7322 Demanding Property to Secure Employment M3 1
7323 Discrimination on Account of Uniform M2 2
7324 Unlawful Sale of Dissertations, Thesis, Term Papers M3 1
7326 Disclosure of Confidential Tax Information M3 1
7328 Operation of Certain Establishments M3 1
7503 Interest of Certain Architects in Public Works Contracts M3 1
7504 Appointment of Special Police M3 1
7507 Breach of Privacy M2 2
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DRUG OFFENSES

Crime 35 P. S. Offense
§ 780-113(a) Description Grade Gravity Score

(1) Manufacture/Sale/Delivery of Adulterated Drug M 4
(2) Adulteration of Controlled Substance M 4
(3) False Advertisement M 4
(4) Removal of Detained Substance M 5
(5) Adulteration of Sellable Controlled Substance M 4
(6) Forging ID Under Act M 5
(7) Defraud Trademark M 5
(8) Selling Defrauded Trademark M 5
(9) Having Equipment to Defraud M 5
(10) Illegal Sale of Nonproprietary Drug M 4
(11) Illegal Pharmacy Operations M 5
(12) Acquisition of Controlled Substance by Fraud:

Narcotics of Schedule I and II, Cocaine, PCP,
Methamphetamine (� 1,000g)

F [ 12 ] 13

Narcotics of Schedule I and II, Cocaine, PCP,
Methamphetamine ([ � ] 100g to 1000g)

F 11

Narcotics of Schedule I and II, Cocaine, PCP,
Methamphetamine ([ � ] 50g to � 100g)

F 10

Narcotics of Schedule I and II, Cocaine, PCP,
Methamphetamine ([ � ] 10g to � 50g)

F [ 9 ] 8

Narcotics of Schedule I and II, Cocaine, PCP,
Methamphetamine (2.5g to � 10g)

F [ 8 ] 7

Narcotics of Schedule I and II, Cocaine, PCP,
Methamphetamine (� 2.5g)

F 6

Marijuana ([ � ] 50 lbs. or greater or [ � 50 ] 51 or
more live plants)

F [ 9 ] 8

Marijuana ([ � ]10 lbs. to � 50 lbs. or [ � ] 21 to [ 50 ]
� 51 live plants)

F [ 8 ] 7

Marijuana (1 lb. to � 10 lbs. or 10 to � 21 live plants) F 5
Marijuana (� 1 lb. or � 10 live plants) F 3
Prescription Pills (� 100 pills) F 10
Prescription Pills (21-100 pills) F [ 9 ] 8
Prescription Pills (10-20 pills) F 7
Prescription Pills (1-9 pills) F 5
Schedule I, II, III drugs not listed F 5
Schedule IV F 5
Schedule V M 1

(13) Dispense of Drugs to Drug Dependent Person M 4
(14) Delivery by Practitioner:

Narcotics of Schedule I and II, Cocaine, PCP,
Methamphetamine (� 1,000g)

F [ 12 ] 13

Narcotics of Schedule I and II, Cocaine, PCP,
Methamphetamine ([ � ] 100g to 1000g)

F 11

Narcotics of Schedule I and II, Cocaine, PCP,
Methamphetamine ([ � ] 50g to � 100g)

F 10

Narcotics of Schedule I and II, Cocaine, PCP,
Methamphetamine ([ � ] 10g to � 50g)

F [ 9 ] 8

Narcotics of Schedule I and II, Cocaine, PCP,
Methamphetamine (2.5g to � 10g)

F [ 8 ] 7
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DRUG OFFENSES

Crime 35 P. S. Offense
§ 780-113(a) Description Grade Gravity Score

Narcotics of Schedule I and II, Cocaine, PCP,
Methamphetamine (� 2.5g)

F 6

Marijuana ([ � ] 50 lbs. or greater or [ � 50 ] 51 or
more live plants)

F [ 9 ] 8

Marijuana ([ � ]10 lbs. to � 50 lbs. or [ � ] 21 to [ 50 ]
�51 live plants)

F [ 8 ] 7

Marijuana (1 lb. to � 10 lbs. or 10 to � 21 live plants) F 5
Marijuana (� 1 lb. or � 10 live plants) F 3
Schedule I, II, III drugs not listed F 5
Schedule IV F 5
Schedule V M 1

(15) Illegal Retail Sale M 4
(16) Simple Possession M 3
(17) Dispensing of Drugs Without Label M 4
(18) Illegal Sale Container M 4
(19) Intentional Unauthorized Purchase M 5
(20) Divulging Trade Secret M 4
(21) Failure to Keep Records M 2
(22) Refusal of Inspection M 2
(23) Unauthorized Removal of Seals M 5
(24) Failure to Obtain License M 2
(25) Manufacture by Unauthorized Party M 5
(26) Distribution by Registrant of Controlled Substance M 5
(27) Use of Fictitious Registration Number M 5
(28) False Application Material M 5
(29) Production of Counterfeit Trademarks M 5
(30) Possession With Intent to Deliver (PWID):

Narcotics of Schedule I and II, Cocaine, PCP,
Methamphetamine (� 1,000g)

F [ 12 ] 13

Narcotics of Schedule I and II, Cocaine, PCP,
Methamphetamine ([ � ] 100g to 1000g)

F 11

Narcotics of Schedule I and II, Cocaine, PCP,
Methamphetamine ([ � ] 50g to � 100g)

F 10

Narcotics of Schedule I and II, Cocaine, PCP,
Methamphetamine ([ � ] 10g to � 50g)

F [ 9 ] 8

Narcotics of Schedule I and II, Cocaine, PCP,
Methamphetamine (2.5g to � 10g)

F [ 8 ] 7

Narcotics of Schedule I and II, Cocaine, PCP,
Methamphetamine (� 2.5g)

F 6

Marijuana ([ � ] 50 lbs. or greater or [ � 50 ] 51 or
more live plants)

F [ 9 ] 8

Marijuana ([ � ]10 lbs. to � 50 lbs. or[ � ] 21 to [ 50 ] �
51 live plants)

F [ 8 ] 7

Marijuana (1 lb. to � 10 lbs. or 10 to � 21 live plants) F 5
Marijuana (� 1 lb. or � 10 live plants) F 3
Schedule I, II, III drugs not listed F 5
Schedule IV F 5
Schedule V M 1

(31) Small Amount of Marijuana M 1
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DRUG OFFENSES

Crime 35 P. S. Offense
§ 780-113(a) Description Grade Gravity Score

(32) Possession of Paraphernalia M 1
(33) PWID Paraphernalia (no minor) M 3
(33) PWID Paraphernalia (minor w/Conditions) M2 4
(34) Ad for Drug Paraphernalia M 1
(35) Illegal Sale of Non controlled Substance F 6
(36) Designer Drugs F 5
(37) Possession of Steroids M 4

VEHICLE OFFENSES

75 Pa. Statutory Offense
C.S.§ Offense Title Classification Gravity Score
3712 Abandonment/Stripping of Vehicles M3 1
3731 Driving Under the Influence (3rd; subs) M1 [ See § 303.14 ] 3

3731 [ * ] Driving Under the Influence (1st, 2nd) M2 [ See § 303.14 ] 2
3732* Homicide by Vehicle (when there is also a conviction for DUI

arising from the same transaction)
M1 8

3732* Homicide by Vehicle (when there is not a conviction for DUI
arising from the same transaction)

M1 [ 7 ]6

3735 Homicide by Vehicle while DUI [ F3 ] F2 [ See § 303.14 ] 8
3735.1 Aggravated Assault by Vehicle while DUI F2 7
3742 Accident Involving Death or Injury (contributes to death) F3 5
3742 Accident Involving Death or Injury (involves SBI/ or death;

contributes to SBI)
M1 3

3742 Accident Involving Death or Injury (failure to stop) M3 1
7102 Falsify Vehicle Identification M1 3
7102 Falsify Vehicle Identification M3 1
7103 Deal in Vehicles with Removed Identification F3 5
7103 Deal in Vehicles with Removed Identification M3 1
7111 Deal in Stolen Plates M1 3
7112 False Report of Theft or Vehicle Conversion M3 1
7121 False Application for Title/Registration M1 3
7122 Altered or Forged Title or Plates M1 3
7132 Prohibited Activities Related to Odometers (subsequent) M1 3
7132 Prohibited Activities Related to Odometers (1st. offense) M3 1
7133 Permissible Activities Related to Odometers (subsequent of-

fense)
M1 3

7133 Permissible Activities Related to Odometers (1st. offense) M3 1
7134 Odometer Disclosure Requirement (subsequent offense) M1 3
7134 Odometer Disclosure Requirements (1st. offense) M3 1
7752(b) Unauthorized Disposition of Forms M3 1
8306(b) Willful Violations M3 1
8306(c) Subsequent Willful Violations M2 2

*These offers have been subcategorized by the Commission. See Section 303.3(b).
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ENVIRONMENTAL OFFENSES

SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT ACT
CRIME 35 P. S. § OFFENSE TITLE GRADE OGS
6018.101-6018.1002 Knowingly Transports, etc. Hazardous Waste Without

Permit
F1 9

6018.101-6018.1002 Transports, etc. Hazardous Without Permit F2 7
6018.101-6018.1002 Violation of Act; [ DER ] DEP Order, etc. M2 2

6018.101-6018.1002 Violation of Act; [ DER ] DEP Order, etc. M3 1

CLEAN STREAMS LAW CRIME
SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT ACT

CRIME 35 P. S. § OFFENSE TITLE GRADE OGS
691.1-691.1001 Violation of Act; [ DER ] DEP Order M2 2

691.1-691.1001 Violation of Act; [ DER ] DEP Order M3 1

AIR POLLUTION CONTROL ACT
CRIME 35 P. S. § OFFENSE TITLE GRADE OGS
4001-4015 Knowingly Releases Hazardous Air Pollutant F1 9
4001-4015 Violation of Act; [ DER ] DEP Order M2 2

4001-4015 Negligently Releases Hazardous Air Pollution M3 1
SAFE DRINKING WATER ACT

CRIME 35 P. S. § OFFENSE TITLE GRADE OGS
721.1-721.17 Knowingly Introduces Contaminant Into Public Water M1 3
721.1-721.17 Violation of Act; [ DER ] DEP Order M3 1

§ 303.16. Standard range chart.

The standard sentence recommendations are as follows:

(Editor’s Note: The Standard Range table that appears at 204 Pa. Code page 303-38 (serial page (190436)) is being
replaced in its entirety by the following chart:
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Level OGS Example Offenses 0 1 2 3 4 5 RFEL REVOC
AGG/
MIT

LEVEL
4

State
Incar

14 Murder 3
Drug Del. Resulting
in Death

72-120 84-132 96-144 108-156 120-168 144-204 168-240 240 +/- 12

13 Inchoate Murder/
SBI
PWID Cocaine, etc.
(�1,000 gms)

60-78 66-84 72-90 78-96 84-102 96-114 108-126 240 +/- 12

12 Rape
IDSI
Inchoate Murder/no
SBI

48-66 54-72 60-78 66-84 72-90 84-102 96-114 120 +/- 12

11 Agg Asslt (SBI)
Robbery (SBI)
Robbery/car (SBI)
Voluntary Man-
slaughter
Sexual Assault
PWID Cocaine, etc.
(100-1,000 gms)

36-54 42-60 48-66 54-72 60-78 72-90 84-102 120 +/- 12

LEVEL
4a

State
Incar/

RIP trade

10 Kidnapping
Arson (person inside)
Agg Asslt (att. SBI)
Robbery (threat. SBI)
Agg. Indecent. Asslt
Causing Catastrophe
(F1)
PWID Cocaine, etc.
(50-�100 gms)

24-36 30-42 36-48 42-54 48-60 60-72 72-84 120 +/- 12

9 Robbery/car (no
SBI)
Robbery (F1/F2)
Burglary (home/
person)
Arson (no person)

12-24
*

18-30
*

24-36 30-42 36-48 48-60 60-72 120 +/- 12

Level OGS Example Offenses 0 1 2 3 4 5 RFEL REVOC AGG/
MIT
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Level OGS Example Offenses 0 1 2 3 4 5 RFEL REVOC
AGG/
MIT

LEVEL
3

State/
Cnty
Incar

RIP trade

8
F1

Agg Asslt (BI w/DW)
Agg Asslt (att. Bl
w/DW)
Invol. Mansl. (when
DUI)
Hom. by Vehicle
(when DUI)
Theft (�$100,000)
PWID Cocaine, etc.
(10-�50 gms)

9-16
*

12-18
*

15-21
*

18-24
*

21-27
*

27-33 33-39 NA +/-6

7
F2

Robbery (inflicts/
threatens BI)
Burglary (home/no
person)
Statutory Sexual As-
sault
Theft (�$50,000-
$100,000)
Arson (no person)
PWID Cocaine, etc.
(2.5-�10 gms)

6-14
*

9-16
*

12-18
*

15-21
*

18-24 24-30 30-36 NA +/-6

6 Invol. Mansl. (when
no DUI)
Hom. by Vehicle
(when no DUI)
Burglary (not home/
person)
Theft (�$25,000-
$50,000)
Arson (property)
PWID Cocaine etc.
(�2.5 gms)

3-12
*

6-14
*

9-16
*

12-18
*

15-21
*

21-27
*

27-33 NA +/-6

LEVEL
2

Cnty
Incar
RIP
RS

5
F3

Burglary (not
home/no person)
Corruption of Minors
Robbery (prop by
force)
Firearms (loaded)
Theft (�$2000-
$25,000)
PWID (1-�10 lb of
marij)

RS-9 1-12
*

3-14
*

6-16
*

9-16
*

12-18
*

24-36 NA +/-3

4 Indecent Assault
Forgery (will, deed)
Firearms (unloaded)
Crim Trespass
(breaks in)

RS-3 RS-9 RS-12
*

3-14
*

6-16
*

9-16
*

21-30
*

NA +/-3

3
M1

Simple Assault
Terr. Threats
Theft ($200-$2000)
Retail Theft (3rd)
Drug Poss.

RS-1 RS-6 RS-9 RS-12
*

3-14
*

6-16
*

12-18
*

NA +/-3

LEVEL
1

RS

2
M2

Theft ($50-�$200)
Retail Theft (1st,
2nd)
Bad Checks

RS RS-2 RS-3 RS-4 RS-6 1-9 6-�12 NA +/-3

1
M3

Most Misd. 3’s; Theft
(�$50)
Drug Paraph.
Poss. Small Amount
Marij.

RS RS-1 RS-2 RS-3 RS-4 RS-6 3-6 NA +/-3
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1. Shaded areas of the matrix indicate restrictive intermediate punishments may be imposed as a substitute for
incarceration.
2. When restrictive intermediate punishments are appropriate, the duration of the restrictive intermediate punishment
program shall not exceed the guideline ranges.
3. When the range is RS through a number of months (e.g. RS-6), RIP may be appropriate.
4. Offenses in italics are the ‘3-strikes’ offenses.

Key:
CNTY = county
INCAR = incarceration
PWID = possession with intent to deliver
REVOC = repeat violent offender category
RFEL = repeat felony 1 and felony 11 offender category
RIP = restrictive intermediate punishments
RS = restorative sanctions
� = less than
� = greater than
* = potential boot camp candidate

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 96-1159. Filed for public inspection July 19, 1996, 9:00 a.m.]
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Title 255—LOCAL COURT
RULES

CUMBERLAND COUNTY
Rules of the Court of Common Pleas; No. 96-1335

Civil Term

Order of Court
And Now, this 24th day of June, 1996, the following

Rules of the Court of Common Pleas of Cumberland
County, Pennsylvania, are hereby promulgated and
adopted for use, effective August 1, 1996, or thirty (30)
days after publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

Pursuant to Pa.R.C.P. 239, the Prothonotary is directed
to forward seven (7) certified copies of this order to the
Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts, two (2)
certified copies to the Legislative Reference Bureau for
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin together with a
diskette, formatted in MS DOS reflecting the text in the
hard copy version, one (1) copy to the Supreme Court
Civil Procedural Rules Committee and/or the Supreme
Court Domestic Relations Committee, and one (1) copy to
the Cumberland Law Journal.
By the Court

HAROLD E. SHEELY,
President Judge

Petitions and Answers
Rule 205-1. Hybrid Representation. Where a litigant is

represented by any attorney before the court and the
litigant submits for filing a motion, petition, brief or any
other type of pleading in the matter, it shall not be acted
upon by the Judge, but forwarded to the counsel of record
for such purposes as counsel may deem appropriate on
behalf of his or her client.

Adopted May 28, 1996; effective August 1, 1996
Non-Jury Trials

Rule 215-1. At any time a civil non-jury case is at
issue and is above the arbitration limit, any party may
file a praecipe with the Prothonotary to assign the case to
a trial judge. The Prothonotary shall immediately forward
the praecipe to the Court Administrator who shall assign
the case. A trial and or pretrial conference shall then be
scheduled by the Judge.

Adopted May 28, 1996; effective August 1, 1996
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 96-1160. Filed for public inspection July 19, 1996, 9:00 a.m.]

WESTMORELAND COUNTY
Duties and Powers of the Pretrial Services Unit of

the Adult Probation and Parole Department

Order of Court
And Now, to wit, this 1st day of July, 1996, It Is Hereby

Ordered, Adjudged, and Decreed that Rule WC4010 is
adopted. The effective date of this Order is 30 days after
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.
By the Court

BERNARD F. SCHERER,
President Judge

WC 4010. Duties and Powers of the Pretrial Ser-
vices Unit of the Westmoreland County Adult
Probation and Parole Department.

(a) The Pretrial Services Unit of the Westmoreland
County Adult Probation and Parole Department shall
monitor and assist defendants released on bail. The
duties and powers of the Unit shall include the following:

(1) gathering information about defendants relevant to
bail decisions;

(2) making recommendations to the bail authorities
concerning the types of release and the conditions of
release on bail for individual defendants;

(3) supervising defendants when so designated by the
bail authority;

(4) making reasonable rules and regulations to imple-
ment the bail agency’s functions.

(b) The representative of the Unit who obtains informa-
tion from the defendant shall, both orally and in writing,
advise the defendant that anything said to the Unit
representative may be used against the defendant.

(c) The Pretrial Services Unit shall disclose information
obtained from or concerning the defendant only to the
defendant, counsel for the defendant, the issuing author-
ity or judge setting bail, the attorney for the Common-
wealth, and the Westmoreland County Department of
Adult Probation and Parole. This information may be
used in preparing an intermediate punishment screening,
in a presentence report, in a prosecution based on the
falsity of the information, or for impeachment purposes to
the extent permitted by law.

(d) The Unit is authorized to assess reasonable fees for
the use of any electronic monitoring equipment utilized in
the course of supervision. The fee shall be assessed based
upon the financial ability to pay.

(e) The Unit is authorized to initiate bond revocation
proceedings when warranted.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 96-1161. Filed for public inspection July 19, 1996, 9:00 a.m.]

DISCIPLINARY BOARD OF
THE SUPREME COURT

Notice of Suspension

Notice is hereby given that on July 1, 1996, pursuant to
Rule 214(d) of the Pa.R.D.E., Kent Edward Conshafter
has been placed on Temporary Suspension by the Su-
preme Court of Pennsylvania, pending final disposition of
proceedings before the Disciplinary Board and further
Order of the Court.

ELAINE M. BIXLER,
Secretary

The Disciplinary Board of the Supreme Court of
Pennsylvania

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 96-1162. Filed for public inspection July 19, 1996, 9:00 a.m.]
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