
THE COURTS
Title 204—JUDICIAL
SYSTEM GENERAL

PROVISIONS
PART II. GENERAL ADMINISTRATION

[204 PA. CODE CH. 29]
Promulgation of Financial Regulation under 42

Pa.C.S. § 3502(a); No. 177; Doc. No. 1

Order
Per Curiam:

And now, this 9th day of September, 1996, it is Ordered
pursuant to Article V, Section 10(c) of the Constitution of
Pennsylvania and Section 3502(a) of the Judicial Code, 42
Pa.C.S. § 3502(a), that the Court Administrator of Penn-
sylvania is authorized to promulgate the following Finan-
cial Regulation.

To the extent that notice of proposed rulemaking may
be required by Pa.R.J.A. 103, the immediate promulga-
tion of the regulation is hereby found to be in the
interests of efficient administration.

This Order is to be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. 103(b) and is effective immediately.

Annex A

TITLE 204. JUDICIAL SYSTEM GENERAL
PROVISIONS

PART II. GENERAL ADMINISTRATION

CHAPTER 29. MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS

Subchapter K. COSTS, FINES AND FEES
§ 29.401. Scope.

(a) The Pennsylvania Supreme Court, pursuant to Art.
5, § 10 of the Pennsylvania Constitution, and 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 1721, has authorized the Court Administrator of Penn-
sylvania to promulgate regulations relating to the ac-
counting methods to be utilized in connection with the
collection of fees and costs charged and collected by
prothonotaries, clerks of courts of all courts of common
pleas and recorders of deeds, or by any officials desig-
nated to perform the functions thereof, as well as by the
minor judiciary, including district justices, Philadelphia
Municipal Court, Philadelphia Traffic Court and Pitts-
burgh Magistrates Court.

(b) Under authority of said Administrative Order and
pursuant to the authority vested in the governing author-
ity under Section 3502(a) of the Judicial Code, 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 3502(a), the following regulations are adopted to imple-
ment Act 167 of 1992, 15 Pa.C.S. § 153(a)(8)(vii), 42
Pa.C.S. §§ 1725.1(f) and 3571(c)(4) (as amended).

§ 29.402. Costs under 42 Pa.C.S. § 1725.1.

(a) Civil cases.—In calendar year [ 1996 ] 1997, the
costs to be charged by district justices in every civil case,
except as otherwise provided in this section, shall be as
follows:

(1) Actions involving $500 or less . . . . [ $33.00 ] $33.50

(2) Actions involving more than $500 but not more
than $2,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $43.50 ] $45.00

(3) Actions involving more than $2,000 but not more
than $4,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $54.50 ] $56.00

(4) Actions involving more than $4,000 but not more
than $8,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $81.50 ] $83.50

(5) Landlord-tenant actions involving less than
$2,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $49.00 ] $50.50

(6) Landlord-tenant actions involving more than $2,000
but not more than $4,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $60.00 ] $61.50

(7) Landlord-tenant actions involving more than $4,000
but not more than $8,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $81.50 ] $83.50

(8) Order of execution. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $24.50 ] $25.50

(9) Objection to levy . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $11.00 ] $11.50

(10) Reinstatement of complaint . . . . . . . .[ $5.50 ] $6.00

(11) Entering Transcript on Appeal or Certiorari. .$3.00

(b) Criminal cases.—In calendar year [ 1996 ] 1997 the
costs to be charged by the minor judiciary or by the court
of common pleas where appropriate in every criminal
case, except as otherwise provided in this section, shall be
as follows:

(1) Summary conviction, except motor vehicle
cases. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $31.00 ] $32.00

(2) Summary conviction, motor vehicle cases, other
than paragraph (3). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $24.50 ] $25.50

(3) Summary conviction, motor vehicle cases, hearing
demanded . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $29.50 ] $30.50

(4) Misdemeanor . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $35.50 ] $36.50

(5) Felony. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $41.00 ] $42.00

(c) Unclassified costs or charges.—In calendar year
[ 1996 ] 1997, the costs to be charged by the minor
judiciary in the following instances not readily classifiable
shall be as follows:

(1) Entering transcript of judgment from another mem-
ber of the minor judiciary . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .[ $5.50 ] $6.00

(2) Marrying each couple, making record thereof, and
certificate to the parties . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $27.50 ] $28.00

(3) Granting emergency relief pursuant to 23
Pa.C.S. Ch. 61 (relating to protection from
abuse) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $11.00 ] $11.50

(4) Issuing a search warrant (except as provided in
subsection (d)) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $11.00 ] $11.50

(5) Any other issuance not otherwise provided in this
subsection . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $11.00 ] $11.50

§ 29.403. Fines under 42 Pa.C.S. § 3571.

* * * * *

(2) Amounts payable to the Commonwealth:

(i) Summary conviction, except motor vehicle
cases. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $10.88 ] $11.24

(ii) Summary conviction, motor vehicle cases other than
subparagraph (iii). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $10.88 ] $11.24
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(iii) Summary conviction, motor vehicle cases, hearing
demand . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $10.88 ] $11.24

(iv) Misdemeanor . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $14.20 ] $14.60

(v) Felony. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $21.86 ] $22.40

(vi) Assumpsit or trespass involving:

(A) $500 or less . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $13.75 ] $13.96

(B) More than $500 but not more than
$2,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $21.76 ] $22.50

(C) More than $2,000 but not more than
$4,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $32.70 ] $33.60

(D) More than $4,000 but not more than
$8,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $54.33 ] $55.66

(vii) Landlord-tenant proceeding involving:

(A) $2,000 or less. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $21.78 ] $22.44

(B) More than $2,000 but not more than
$4,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $27.27 ] $27.96

(C) More than $4,000 but not more than
$8,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $38.04 ] $38.97

(viii) Objection to levy . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .[ $5.50 ] $5.75

(ix) Order of execution . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [ $16.34 ] $17.00

(x) Issuing a search warrant (except as provided in
section 1725.1(d) (relating to costs). . . . . . . .[ $7.70 ] $8.05

(Editor’s Note: Ellipses refer to the text of 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 3571).

§ 29.404. Fee schedule under 15 Pa.C.S. § 153.

(a) General rule.—The fees of the Corporation Bureau
of the Department of State, including fees for the public
acts and transactions of the Secretary of the Common-
wealth administered through the bureau, and of county
filing officers under Title 13 (relating to commercial code),
shall be as follows:

* * * * *

(8) Uniform Commercial Code:

(i) Financing statement—per debtor name:

(A) Fee charged by Department of State . . . . . . . $12.00

(B) Fee charged by County . . . . . . . . . . [ $52.50 ] $53.50

Amount payable to Commonwealth . . [ $39.35 ] $40.10

Amount payable to County . . . . . . . . . . [ $13.15 ] $13.40

(ii) Each ancillary transaction:

(A) Fee charged by Department of State . . . . . . . $12.00

(B) Fee charged by County . . . . . . . . . . [ $52.50 ] $53.50

Amount payable to Commonwealth . . [ $39.35 ] $40.10

Amount payable to County . . . . . . . . . . [ $13.15 ] $13.40

(iii) Search—per debtor name:

(A) Fee charged by Department of State . . . . . . . $12.00

(B) Fee charged by County . . . . . . . . . . [ $52.50 ] $53.50

Amount payable to Commonwealth . . [ $39.35 ] $40.10

Amount payable to County . . . . . . . . . . [ $13.15 ] $13.40

(iv) Additional fee for each financing statement found
and for each statement of assignment reported therein:

(A) Fee charged by Department of State . . . . . . . . .$1.00

(B) Fee charged by County . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$4.50

Amount payable to Commonwealth . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$3.35

Amount payable to County . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$1.15

(v) For each financing statement or ancillary transac-
tion not filed on standard forms approved by the Depart-
ment of State, in addition to the fee provided above, there
shall be charged a per filing fee of:

(A) Fee charged by Department of State . . . . . . . $28.00

(B) Fee charged by County . . . . . . . . [ $122.00 ] $125.00

Amount payable to Commonwealth . . [ $91.50 ] $93.75

Amount payable to County . . . . . . . . . . [ $30.50 ] $31.25

* * * * *

(Editor’s Note: Ellipses refer to text of 15 Pa.C.S.
§ 153.)

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 96-1624. Filed for public inspection September 27, 1996, 9:00 a.m.]

PART IV. ADMISSION TO PRACTICE OF LAW
[204 PA. CODE CH. 71]

Amendment of the Pennsylvania Bar Admission
Rules: Hearings Before the Board; No. 163; Doc.
No. 1

Order

Per Curiam:

And Now, this 9th day of September, 1996, Rule 213 of
the Pennsylvania Bar Admission Rules is amended to
read as follows.

To the extent that notice of proposed rulemaking would
be required by Pennsylvania Rule of Judicial Administra-
tion No. 103 or otherwise, the immediate amendment of
Rule 213 is hereby found to be required in the interest of
justice and efficient administration.

This Order shall be processed in accordance with
Pennsylvania Rule of Judicial Administration No. 103(b)
and shall be effective immediately.

Annex A

TITLE 204. JUDICIAL SYSTEM GENERAL
PROVISIONS

PART IV. ADMISSION TO PRACTICE OF LAW

CHAPTER 71. PENNSYLVANIA BAR ADMISSION
RULES

Subchapter B. ADMISSION TO THE BAR
GENERALLY

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE BOARD

Rule 213. Hearings before the Board.

(a) General Rule. If, upon an initial review of an
application filed under these rules and of any other
related information available to the Board, the Board,
through the Executive Director, finds that the applicant
does not appear to possess the fitness and general
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qualifications (other than scholastic) requisite for a mem-
ber of the bar of the Commonwealth, the Executive
Director shall forthwith give the applicant notice of such
finding in the manner prescribed by Board rule, and of
the right of the applicant to request in writing, within
thirty (30) days of the denial, a hearing before the Board.

(b) Hearing. Within 30 days after receipt of the request
of an applicant for a hearing under this Rule the Board
shall hold a hearing at which the applicant shall be
present. The applicant may be represented by counsel at
the hearing. [ The applicant and Counsel of the
Board may subpoena and examine witnesses and
offer ] The Board shall not be bound by the formal
rules of evidence and such relevant evidence may be
introduced at the hearing as may be necessary for the
Board to make a final determination upon the applica-
tion. The burden of proof shall be on the applicant
to establish that he or she possesses the character,
fitness and general qualifications that are compat-
ible with the standards expected to be observed by
a member of the Bar of this Commonwealth. The
applicant may call and examine witnesses, cross-
examine adverse witnesses and present such evi-
dence as is relevant to the issue before the Board.
At any such hearing [ Counsel of the Board shall
present in full the facts upon which the initial
adverse finding was based and shall make available
to ] the applicant and his or her counsel shall be
permitted [ for inspection ] to inspect such portion of
the record of the applicant bearing upon the issues before
the Board as does not constitute confidential information.
[ or work product of the Executive Director or
Counsel of the Board. If requested by the appli-
cant, ] A stenographic or other verbatim record shall be
made of any such hearing, but hearings before the Board
shall not be open to the public. The Board shall have
the power to issue subpoenas for the attendance of
witnesses and for the production of documentary
evidence at the hearing.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 96-1625. Filed for public inspection September 27, 1996, 9:00 a.m.]

PART VII. ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF
PENNSYLVANIA COURTS
[204 PA. CODE CH. 211]

Promulgation of Consumer Price Index under 15
Pa.C.S. § 153(a)(8)(vii), 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 1725.1(f)
and 3571(c)(4); No. 176; Doc. No. 1

Order

Per Curiam:

And now, this 9th day of September, 1996, it is Ordered
pursuant to Article V, Section 10(c) of the Constitution of
Pennsylvania and Section 3502(a) of the Judicial Code, 42
Pa.C.S. § 3502(a), that the Court Administrator of Penn-
sylvania is authorized to obtain and publish in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin on or before November 30 the
percentage of increase in the Consumer Price Index for
the immediately preceding calendar year as required by

Act 167 of 1992, 15 Pa.C.S. § 153(a)(8)(vii), 42 Pa.C.S.
§§ 1725.1(f) and 3571(c)(4) (as amended).

Annex A

TITLE 204. JUDICIAL SYSTEM PROVISIONS

PART VII. ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF
PENNSYLVANIA COURTS

CHAPTER 211. CONSUMER PRICE INDEX

§ 211.1. Consumer Price Index.

(a) Pursuant to Article 5, Section 10 of the Pennsylva-
nia Constitution, and 42 Pa.C.S. § 1721, the Supreme
Court has authorized the Court Administrator of Pennsyl-
vania to obtain and publish in the Pennsylvania Bulletin
on or before November 30 the percentage of increase in
the Consumer Price Index for the immediate preceding
calendar year as required by Act 167 of 1992, 15 Pa.C.S.
§ 153(a)(8)(vii), 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 1725.1(f) and 3571(c)(4) (as
amended). See, No. 176 Judicial Administrative Docket
No. 1.

(b) The Court Administrator of Pennsylvania reports
that the percentage of increase in the Consumer Price
Index, All Urban Consumers, U. S. City Average, for
calendar year 1995, was 2.5 percent. (See, U. S. Depart-
ment of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Series
CUUROOOOSAO, Thursday, February 1, 1996.)

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 96-1626. Filed for public inspection September 27, 1996, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 231—RULES OF
CIVIL PROCEDURE

PART I. GENERAL
[231 PA. CODE CH. 2950]

Amendment of Rules Governing Confession of
Judgment for Money; No. 256; Doc. No. 5

Amendatory Order

Per Curiam:

And Now, this 13th day of September, 1996, Order No.
256, Civil Procedural Rules Docket No. 5, dated April 1,
1996 is amended to read as follows.

This Order shall be effective immediately and shall be
processed in accordance with Rule of Judicial Administra-
tion 103(b).

Annex A

TITLE 231. RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE

PART I. GENERAL

CHAPTER 2950. CONFESSION OF JUDGMENT
FOR MONEY

I. The second sentence of the second paragraph of the
note to Rule 2956.1(c)(2) is revised to read as follows:

Rule 2956.1. Execution upon a judgment entered by
confession.

* * * * *

(c) ***
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(2) ***

Official Note: ***

Notice prior to execution under Rule 2958.1 may be
given in all cases. However, the notice served with the
notice of sale of real property under Rule 2958.2 is
limited to execution upon real property or real property
and personal property subject to Section 9501(d) of the
[ Judicial Code ] Uniform Commercial Code. The
notice served with the writ of execution under Rule
2958.3 is limited to an execution upon personal property
or personal and real property.

* * * * *

II. Clauses (c) and (d) of the certification set forth in
Rule 2963 are revised to read as follows:

Rule 2963. Praecipe for Writ of Execution. Certifi-
cation. Form.

* * * * *

Certification

I certify that

* * * * *

(c) Notice will be served [ with the writ of execu-
tion ] at least thirty days prior to the date of the
sheriff’s sale of real property pursuant to Rule 2958.2.

(d) Notice will be served [ at least thirty days prior
to the date of the sheriff’s sale of real property ]
with the writ of execution pursuant to Rule 2958.3.

* * * * *
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 96-1627. Filed for public inspection September 27, 1996, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 255—LOCAL
COURT RULES

BEAVER COUNTY
Amended Rule of Civil Procedure: Argument List—

Procedure and Briefs; No. 951R000066

Order

Now, this 20th day of May, 1996, the court hereby
adopts the following Beaver County Rule of Civil Proce-
dure, to be effective thirty (30) days after the date of
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

It is further ordered that the District Court Administra-
tor shall file seven (7) certified copies of this Rule with
the Administrative Office of the Pennsylvania Courts, two
(2) certified copies to the Legislative Reference Bureau for
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin, one (1) certified
copy to the Civil Procedure Rules Committee and one (1)
copy to the Beaver County Law Journal for publication in
the next issue of the Beaver County Law Journal.

It is further ordered that this local rule shall be kept
continuously available for public inspection and copying
in the Prothonotary’s Office.

By the Court
ROBERT C. REED,

President Judge

Rule L211C. Argument List—Procedure and Briefs.

(1) Argument lists shall include all matters to be
argued before the court. Such matters shall be placed on
the argument list by praecipe filed with the Prothonotary
and the Court Administrator at least one (1) month before
the requested argument court date, with notice in writing
to the opposing party or counsel and to all other parties
of record or their counsel. In addition, the Court Adminis-
trator will place on the argument list without praecipe
any matters continued from previous argument lists.

(2) Where a moving party files a praecipe for argu-
ment, that party shall, at the same time, file a brief with
the Court Administrator and serve it. The case will not be
listed for argument until the moving party’s brief has
been filed.

When the moving party’s brief has been filed and the
case listed, any responding party shall file a reply brief at
least ten (10) days before the argument date. The court,
in its discretion, may prohibit a responding party which
has not filed a timely brief from presenting oral argu-
ment, or it may impose other sanctions.

Any issue which has not been raised and discussed in a
timely-filed brief may be deemed absolutely to have been
waived.

(3) Where a responding party files a praecipe for
argument, or if the court places a matter on the argu-
ment list, the moving party shall file a brief with the
Court Administrator and serve it at least twenty (20)
days before the argument date. If the moving party fails
to file a timely brief, the court may, on its own motion,
deny the relief which the moving party has sought or
impose other sanctions.

Where the responding party has listed the case and the
moving party has filed and served a timely brief, the
responding party shall file a reply brief with the Court
Administrator, and serve it, at least ten (10) days before
the argument date. If the responding party fails to file a
timely brief, the court in its discretion may prohibit that
party from presenting oral argument on the date of
argument or it may impose other sanctions.

(4) The Court Administrator shall, immediately after
the last day for filing a praecipe for the next argument
list, prepare a list of all cases to be included on the next
argument list. The Court Administrator shall schedule all
cases for argument and cause the list and schedule to be
published in the Beaver County Legal Journal. Copies of
the list and schedule shall be made available to counsel
and any unrepresented parties.

(5) Two (2) copies of any brief shall be filed with the
Court Administrator, unless the case is before the court
en banc, in which four (4) copies shall be filed.

(6) Each party will be allowed fifteen (15) minutes to
present oral argument. The time allowed for-argument
shall be subject to extension or limitation in the discre-
tion of the court.

(7) No argument will be continued except by order of
court for cause shown, after notice and motion pursuant
to Local Rule L206.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 96-1628. Filed for public inspection September 27, 1996, 9:00 a.m.]
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MONTGOMERY COUNTY
Amendment to Rule of Civil Procedure: Seminar

for Separated and Divorced Parents; No. 96-
00001-3

Order
And Now, this 10th day of September, 1996, the Court

approves and adopts the following amendment to Mont-
gomery County Local Rule of Civil Procedure 1915.3*—
Seminar for Separated and Divorced Parents. This
Amendment shall become effective thirty (30) days from
the date of publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

The Court Administrator is directed to publish this
Order once in the Montgomery County Law Reporter and
in the Legal Intelligencer. In conformity with Pa.R.C.P.
239, seven (7) certified copies of the within Order shall be
filed by the Court Administrator with the Administrative
Office of Pennsylvania Courts. Two (2) certified copies
shall be distributed to the Legislative Reference Bureau
for publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. One (1)
certified copy shall be filed with the Domestic Relations
Committee. One (1) copy shall be filed with the Prothono-
tary, one (1) copy with the Clerk of Courts, and (1) copy
with the Court Administrator of Montgomery County, one
(1) copy with the Law Library of Montgomery County and
one (1) copy with each Judge of this Court.
By the Court

WILLIAM T. NICHOLAS,
President Judge

Rule 1915.3*. Seminar for Separated and Divorced
Parents.
(a) In an action for custody, partial custody or visita-

tion, if a case is not resolved by the custody conciliator
and must therefore proceed to a hearing before a Judge,
both parents shall attend an approved education seminar
on the general responsibilities of separated and divorced
parents.

(b) Seminars shall be conducted by seminar providers
as approved by the President Judge. Seminars shall be
conducted in the Montgomery County Courthouse or at
such other location as approved by the President Judge.
Each parent will be responsible to register for a seminar
and for payment of the seminar costs; however, the costs
may be waived by the Court for any party qualifying to
proceed in forma pauperis.

(c) Seminar attendance may also be required upon
motion of either party, by agreement of the parties, upon
recommendation by the Custody Conciliator or upon the
Court’s own motion, in connection with any petition to
modify custody, any petition for contempt of a custody
order or any other matter relating to child custody or
visitation.

(d) A Certificate of Attendance shall be filed by the
seminar provider with the Prothonotary’s Office reflecting
that attendance was fulfilled by the parent.

(e) For good cause shown, the Court may waive the
requirement of seminar attendance in a particular case.

(f) Upon a party’s failure to attend a required seminar,
the Court may impose sanctions, including but not lim-
ited to a finding of contempt. A hearing on a custody
petition shall not be delayed by a party’s refusal or delay
in completing the seminar.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 96-1629. Filed for public inspection September 27, 1996, 9:00 a.m.]

SCHUYLKILL COUNTY
Tax Assessment Appeals

And Now, this 11th day of September, 1996 at 1:30
p.m., Schuylkill County Civil Rule of Procedure No. 14A
is adopted for use in the Court of Common Pleas of
Schuylkill County, Pennsylvania (21st Judicial District)
effective immediately, as per Schuylkill County Court of
Common Pleas Order, RE: Tax Assessment Appeal, issued
September 11th, 1996.

The Prothonotary of Schuylkill County is Ordered and
Directed to do the following:

1) File ten (10) certified copies of this Order and Rule
with the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts.

2) File two (2) certified copies of this Order and Rule
with the Legislative Reference Bureau for publication in
the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

3) File one (1) certified copy of this Order and Rule
with the Pennsylvania Civil Procedural Rules Committee.

4) Forward one (1) copy to the Schuylkill County Law
Library for publication in the Schuylkill Legal Record.

5) Keep continuously available for public inspection
copies of this Order and Rule.

Order of Court

And Now, this 11th day of September, 1996, at 1:30
p.m., it is hereby Ordered that effective immediately,
Schuylkill County Civil Rule of Procedure No. 14A is
hereby adopted for use in the Court of Common Pleas of
Schuylkill County, Pennsylvania (21st Judicial District).

JOSEPH F. MCCLOSKEY,
President Judge

Rule 14A. Tax Assessment Appeals.
I. Real Estate Tax Assessment Appeal

(a) An appeal from a decision of the Schuylkill County
Board of Assessment Appeals (‘‘Board’’) shall be captioned
‘‘Real Estate Tax Assessment Appeal’’ and shall be filed
with the Prothonotary within the time prescribed by
statute.

(b) The Real Estate Tax Assessment Appeal shall con-
tain the following:

(1) Caption designating the named party taking the
appeal as Appellant, the Board as Appellee, and if
Appellant is a taxing authority it shall join the owner of
the real estate involved as of course as a party in the
assessment appeal by designating such named owner in
the caption as Respondent (‘‘Respondent’’).

(2) A brief description of the subject real estate, its
location, the name and address of the owner and the
municipality and the school district wherein the real
estate is located.

(3) The nature of and reasons for the appeal.

(4) A copy of the Board’s Notice of Final Determination
and Order shall be attached as an exhibit.

(5) A verification.

(c) Appellant shall serve a copy of the Real Estate Tax
Assessment Appeal by certified mail upon the Board
addressed to 401 North Second Street, Pottsville, Penn-
sylvania, 17901 and upon the Respondent at such per-
son’s last known mailing address.

(d) Appellant shall file a Certificate of Service with the
Prothonotary within five (5) days of the filing of the Real
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Estate Tax Assessment Appeal, certifying that the appeal
was served in accordance with the provisions of (c) above.

(e) No response to the appeal need be made by either
the Appellee or the Respondent.
II. Intervention

(a) The County of Schuylkill and the municipality and
school district wherein the real estate is located may
intervene as of course during pendency of the appeal by
filing a Notice of Intervention with the Prothonotary.

(b) Notice of Intervention shall contain the name of the
intervening party as an additional party designated as
Intervenor in the caption, and shall set forth that such
identified party is intervening.

(c) Intervenor shall serve copies of the Notice of Inter-
vention by certified mail upon Appellant, Appellee, and
Respondent and any other intervening parties of record.

(d) Intervenor shall file a Certificate of Service with
the Prothonotary within five (5) days of the filing of
Notice of Intervention, certifying that the Notice of
Intervention was served in accordance with (c) above.

(e) No response is required to be made by any party
served with a copy of a Notice of Intervention.
III. Discovery

(a) Depositions and Discovery shall be applicable to
real estate tax assessment appeals only as permitted by
the Court.

IV. Pretrial Conference

(a) The Court, upon application of a party, may sched-
ule a pretrial conference.

(b) The attorney attending a pretrial conference shall
be the trial attorney, and such attorney, or a party in
attendance without counsel, shall be prepared to discuss
the status of the case as well as any stipulations that
may be reasonably agreed to by the parties.

(c) In the event of unexcused failure of trial counsel or
a party without counsel to attend a pretrial conference,
the conference may nevertheless be held and the presid-
ing judge may impose such sanctions as deemed appropri-
ate.

V. Class Actions

(a) Pa.R.C.P. 1701, et seq. and Sch.R.C.P. 1703, et seq.
shall be applicable to real estate tax assessment appeals.

VI. Post-Trial Relief

(a) Post-trial motions shall not be filed in Real Estate
Tax Assessment Appeals. The decision of the trial court in
all such cases is a final, appealable order.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 96-1630. Filed for public inspection September 27, 1996, 9:00 a.m.]
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