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RULES AND REGULATIONS

Title 22—EDUCATION

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
[22 PA. CODE CH. 101]
Private Driver Training Schools

The Secretary of Education (Secretary) amends Chapter
101 (relating to private driver training schools) to read as
set forth in Annex A. These amendments are promulgated
under authority of the Private Driver Training Schools
Act (act) (24 P. S. §§ 2831—2931).

Scope and Purpose

Chapter 101 includes the requirement that a private
driver training school teacher contracted for driver safety
instruction in public schools meet the requirements in
section 1519(b) of the Public School Code of 1949 (24 P. S.
§ 15-1519(b)). A 5 year limit is placed on the time that a
private driver training school must maintain student
records. Also, driving schools will now be permitted to
advertise that they are licensed by the Department of
Education (Department) for the classroom or for behind-
the-wheel instruction, to offer discounts and other induce-
ments for the purpose of soliciting prospective students to
enroll, and to use private academic or trade school
buildings as classroom sites and public school buildings
as temporary classroom locations.

Furthermore, professional staff of private licensed
driver training schools may now be employed by more
than one driving school, and the holder of a valid
Pennsylvania Teaching Certificate, with certification in
Driver and Safety Education, is now exempted from the
theoretical and practical examinations to be licensed as a
driving school teacher. Finally, other changes brought
about by the revisions of Chapter 101 include the require-
ment that a driving school teacher must submit a Crimi-
nal History Background Check and a Pennsylvania Child
Abuse History Clearance prior to employment, and the
requirement that the owner or director of a driving school
have at least 2 years of successful driver education
teaching experience.

Comments

The Department received comments from one driving
school owner in response to publication of the proposed
rulemaking as well as from the Independent Regulatory
Review Commission (IRRC) and the House Education
Committee. The Secretary considered all public and Leg-
islative comments received and made some revisions to
Chapter 101.

IRRC recommended that the amendments include a
reference to section 1519 of the Public School Code of
1949 (24 P.S. § 15-1519) for situations when school
districts contract with private driver training schools to
instruct their students. This was raised due to a concern
that the Department would not be able to require private
driver training school teachers to have the proper amount
of college credits to be able to instruct in public schools
within this Commonwealth. However, under the Public
School Code of 1949, “[n]o person shall teach in a public
school in the Commonwealth unless he has met the
certification requirements as established by the State
Board of Education,” which certification requirements
include the requisite number of college credits. See 24
P.S. § 12-1252. Therefore, the Department decided not to

add specific wording that would require private driver
training school instructors to have 3-to-12 credits in
Driver and Safety Education to teach the classroom phase
of driver education in a private driver training school
setting. Instead, § 101.102(f) (relating to laws applicable
to driver training schools) has been added to list section
15-1519(b) of the Public School Code of 1949 as one of the
laws that are applicable to private driver training schools.

Secondly, IRRC questioned whether the Department
was authorized to license the agents of private driver
training schools. The Department has reviewed this issue
and concluded that the Department does have authority
to license agents under section 5 of the act (24 P.S.
§ 2835). Thus, no change was made in this regard.

Another concern raised by IRRC and the House Educa-
tion Committee was the 10-year recordkeeping require-
ment for student records. As a result, § 101.104 (relating
to records) has been changed to require schools keep
student records for only 5 years. IRRC had suggested that
a two-tier system be established whereby records of
students who are 16 years old are retained for a 7-year
period and the records of older students are maintained
for shorter periods of time. However, the Department
believes that this system would be too complex and would
defeat the purpose of an efficient and timely method of
student record disposal. The House Education Committee,
on the other hand, had recommended that the time period
for maintenance of records be reduced from 10 to 7 years.
After considering these recommendations, the Depart-
ment has concluded that the simplicity of the universal 5
year retention requirement best addresses both IRRC's
and the House Education Committee’s concerns that
private driver training schools are overburdened by
lengthy recordkeeping requirements.

Since the amendments provide for the ownership of a
driver training school by individuals 18 years of age or
older, the House Education Committee was concerned
with possible legal limitations on business ownership by
individuals under 21 years of age. After looking into this
matter, the Department concluded that the act of June
16, 1972 (P. L. 434, No. 130) which amended the act of
January 18, 1952 (P. L. (1951) 2128, No. 605) allows for
the ownership of a driver training school by an individual
18 years of age or older. Also, section 4(8)(a) of the act (24
P.S. § 2834(8)(a)) reflects this amendment and states
that the age requirement for ownership of a school is 18
years of age. Therefore, there is no need to list this
provision specifically in § 101.102 since it already makes
reference to section (8)(a) of the act.

In addition, the House Education Committee recom-
mended that the word “supervisor” be used in place of the
word “director” throughout the amendments due to the
connotation of a “supervisor” being an immediate supe-
rior, whereas the term “director” could be confused with
the owner of the school. To remain consistent with the
statute, however, the Department decided not to change
the terminology.

The House Education Committee commented that the
level of medical payment insurance coverage in the
proposed rulemaking was insufficient. The Department
consulted with the Private Driver Training School Advi-
sory Committee which suggested that the insurance
coverage be kept at the statutory minimum amount of
$5,000. Following this suggestion, no change was made.
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Finally, the following other changes were made in the
amendments as a result of the comments received:

* § 101.101 (relating to definitions) was changed to
include the statutory definition of “school,” as suggested
by IRRC.

* § 101.132 (relating to prohibited locations) was
changed to include the language of section 4(1)(a)(i) and
(i) of the act, as suggested by IRRC.

* § 101.114 (relating to fees) was changed to include
the entire schedule for license and renewal fees from
section 606-A of The Administrative Code of 1929 (71 P. S.
8 240.6A) and section 10 of the act (24 P. S. § 2840), as
suggested by IRRC.

* § 101.153 (relating to locations) was changed to
include the Department's address, as suggested by IRRC.

* § 101.181 (relating to outlines to Department) was
changed to include the language of section 4(4)(b) and (c),
as suggested by IRRC.

* The amendment were changed so that references of
“teachers,” “owners,” “directors,” and the like, were
changed from the plural to the singular, as suggested by
the House Education Committee.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. 8 745.5(a)), on March 26, 1997, the Department
submitted a copy of notice of proposed rulemaking, pub-
lished at 27 Pa.B. 1648 to IRRC and the Chairpersons of
the House and Senate Committees on Education for
review and comment.

In compliance with section 5(c) of the Regulatory
Review Act, the Secretary also provided IRRC and the
Committees with copies of the comments received and
with a copy of a detailed Regulatory Analysis Form
prepared by the Department in compliance with Execu-
tive Order 1996-1. A copy of this material is available to
the public upon request.

In preparing these final-form regulations, the Secretary
considered the comments received from the House Educa-
tion Committee on May 14, 1997, from IRRC on June 5,
1997, and from the public during the official comment
period. These final-form regulations were approved by the
House and Senate Committees on March 9, 1998 and by
IRRC on March 12, 1998, in accordance with section
5.1(c) of the Regulatory Review Act.

Cost and Paperwork Estimates

It is estimated that the cost for background checks and
clearances for 150 licensed driving schools will total
$3,000 per year. There will be no new legal, accounting or
consulting procedures for local governments; therefore,
there are no additional costs for local governments.

The Department and the Department of Transportation
will experience a savings because teacher examinations
will no longer be administered to teachers who are
certified in driver and safety education. However, the
additional time involved in processing background checks
and clearances will offset the time saved in testing. As a
result, there will be no additional costs or savings to the
Commonwealth associated with the implementation of the
amendments.

Effective Date

These amendments will become effective upon final
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

Sunset Date

These amendments will be reviewed every 3 years from
the final publication date.

Contact Person

The official responsible for information on the Depart-
ment's process of promulgating these amendments is
Robert E. Roush, Jr., School Safety Education Advisor,
Department of Education, 333 Market Street, Harrisburg,
PA 17126-0333, (717) 783-6595.

Findings
The Secretary finds that:

(1) Public notice of the intention to adopt these regula-
tions was given under sections 201 and 202 of the act of
July 31, 1968 (P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P.S. 88 1201 and
1202) and the regulations promulgated thereunder at 1
Pa. Code 88 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered.

(3) The adoption of the amendments in the manner
provided by this order is necessary and appropriate for
administration of the authorizing statute.

Order
The Secretary orders that:

(@) The regulations of the Department, 22 Pa. Code
Chapter 101, are amended by deleting 8§ 101.1—101.3,
101.11—101.18, 101.21—101.25, 101.31—101.36, 101.41—
101.46, 101.51—101.55, 101.61—101.64, 101.71—101.76,
101.81 and 101.91—101.93; and by adding §§ 101.101—
101.105, 101.111—101.117, 101.131—101.137, 101.141—
101.147, 101.151—101.157, 101.161—101.164, 101.171—
101.176 and 101.181 to read as set forth in Annex A.

(b) The Secretary will submit this order and Annex A
to the Office of General Counsel and the Office of
Attorney General for review and approval as to legality
and form as required by law.

(c) The Secretary shall certify this order and Annex A
and deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bureau,
as required by law.

(d) This order will take effect upon publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.

EUGENE W. HICKOK,
Secretary
(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the
Independent Regulatory Review Commission relating to
this document, see 28 Pa.B. 1601 (March 28, 1998).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 6-257 remains valid for the
final adoption of the subject regulations.

Annex A
TITLE 22. EDUCATION

PART VI. BUREAU OF PRIVATE SCHOOLS AND
VETERANS EDUCATION

CHAPTER 101. PRIVATE DRIVER TRAINING
SCHOOLS

PRELIMINARY PROVISIONS

Sec.

101.101. Definitions.

101.102. Laws applicable to private driver training schools.
101.103. Correspondence.

101.104. Records.

101.105. Advertising.

APPLICATION FOR SCHOOL LICENSING

101.111. Application forms.
101.112. Additional application materials.
101.113. Certification under the Fictitious Names Act.
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101.114. Fees.

101.115. Changes in applications or school information.
101.116. Lost or destroyed license.

101.117. School license renewal applications.

SCHOOL PLANT

101.131. School licenses.

101.132. Prohibited locations.

101.133. Fire regulations.

101.134. Space allotment of indoor instruction areas.
101.135. Classroom equipment.

101.136. Lighting and seating arrangements.
101.137. Lavatory facilities.

PROFESSIONAL STAFF

101.141. Professional staff applications.
101.142. Additional staff application materials.
101.143. Driving records.

101.144. Owner and directors; experience.
101.145. Foreign agents.

101.146. Incomplete applications.

101.147. Professional staff renewal applications.

APPLICANT EXAMINATIONS

101.151. Prerequisite evidence.

101.152. Opportunities to pass.

101.153. Locations.

101.154. Identification cards.

101.155. Lost or destroyed identification cards.
101.156. Loss of operating privilege.

101.157. Time limits.

REEMPLOYMENT

101.161. Reemployment within 12 months.
101.162. Reemployment after 12 months.
101.163. Notice of employment.

101.164. Termination of employment.

VEHICLES AND INSURANCE

101.171. Insurance coverage for vehicles.

101.172. Vehicle identification card.

101.173. Age of vehicles.

101.174. Changes or additions to the fleet.

101.175. Vehicle identification card renewal applications.
101.176. Lost or destroyed vehicle identification cards.

PROGRAM OF INSTRUCTION
101.181. Outlines to Department.
PRELIMINARY PROVISIONS

§ 101.101. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise.

Act—The act of January 18, 1952 (P. L. (1951) 2128, No.
605) (24 P.S. 88§ 2831—2931), known as the Private
Driver Education or Training School Act.

Agent—A person, whether employed by a private driver
education or training school or operating in his own
behalf, or whether acting in behalf of a school located
within or outside of this Commonwealth, who personally
solicits an individual within this Commonwealth to enroll
in a school.

Department—The Department of Education of the Com-
monwealth.

Director—The supervisor or director of a private driver
education or training school.

Identification card—A card issued by the Department
to a private driver education or training school for a
teacher employed by the school.

Location—Either the business address for a specific
licensed private driver education or training school or the
address of the site of the school's theoretical or classroom
driver training area.

Owner—A person or business entity which owns a
private driver education or training school but does not
necessarily oversee the daily operation thereof.

Professional staff member—An agent, teacher or direc-
tor of a private driver education or training school.

School—A school maintained, classes conducted or in-
struction offered by an individual, association, partner-
ship or corporation, for a consideration, profit or tuition,
the purpose of which is to educate individuals, either
practically or theoretically, or both, to operate or drive a
motor vehicle.

Teacher—A person who provides classroom instruction
or practical behind-the-wheel instruction.

Vehicle—A car or truck weighing up to 11,000 pounds.

§ 101.102. Laws applicable to private driver train-
ing schools.

In addition to the act, the following laws apply to
private driver training schools:

(1) Fictitious Names Act. 54 Pa.C.S. 88 301—322 which
states that an entity which either alone or in combination
with another entity conducts business in this Common-
wealth under or through a fictitious name shall register
the fictitious name by filing an application for the
registration of a fictitious name in the Department of
State.

(2) Untrue, false and misleading advertising. 18
Pa.C.S. 8§ 4107 which provides that it is unlawful for a
person to make, in the course of business, a false
statement in an advertisement for the purpose of promot-
ing the purchase or sale of property or services.

(3) Restraint of unlicensed activities. The act of April
18, 1949 (P. L. 482, No. 106) (71 P.S. § 1036.1) which
authorizes the Department to prohibit and restrain an
unlicensed person, association, partnership or corporation
from engaging in any activity for which a license is
required or issued.

(4) Cancellation of licenses. Section 811 of The Adminis-
trative Code of 1929 (71 P.S. 8§ 279.2) which authorizes
the cancellation of a certificate, license, permit or regis-
tration obtained through fraud or misrepresentation.

(5) Fire and panic regulations. The fire and panic
regulations drafted in accordance with the duties imposed
on the Department of Labor and Industry by the act of
April 27, 1927 (P.L. 465, No. 299) (35 P.S. §§ 1221—
1235.1) and pertain to Class | buildings as well as private
schools located in places other than Philadelphia, Pitts-
burgh and Scranton.

(6) The Public School Code of 1949, section 1519(b). A
private driver training school teacher contracted for
driver safety instruction in public schools shall meet the
requirements in section 1519(b) of the Public School Code
of 1949 (24 P. S. § 15-1519(b)).

§ 101.103. Correspondence.

(&) Inquiries and correspondences shall be directed to
Private Driver Training Schools, Department of Educa-
tion, 333 Market Street, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17126-
0333.

(b) The Department will assist persons in meeting the
requirements which underlie school and agent licensure
and relicensure.

§ 101.104. Records.

Every school shall maintain adequate records of stu-
dents, and shall maintain a permanent cumulative record
for 5 years after the student completes driver training.
The cumulative record shall include the number of clock
hours of instruction received by each student, and shall
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contain information on attendance, test scores, personal
characteristics, health and other information deemed
pertinent by the school. The records shall be current and
available for inspection by the representatives of the
Department during regular school hours.

§ 101.105. Advertising.

Licensed schools may advertise as “licensed for class-
room by the Pennsylvania Department of Education” or
“licensed for behind-the-wheel instruction by the Pennsyl-
vania Department of Education.”

APPLICATION FOR SCHOOL LICENSING
§ 101.111. Application forms.

(@) An application for a license to conduct a school
shall be made on forms furnished by the Department.

(b) An applicant for a school license shall certify,
through completion of the self-authenticating document
provided by the Department, its compliance with the act.

(c) An application shall be accompanied by a sworn
affidavit certifying the truth of the statements made in
the application. An application may not be submitted to
the Department by facsimile because of the required
notary public certification.

(d) The Department will provide its approval of appli-
cations either by mail or facsimile.

§ 101.112. Additional application materials.

At the time of application, the following materials shall
also be submitted:

(1) For each individual proprietor of a school, each
member of the partnership, association or company that
owns a school, and each officer or director of a corporation
that owns a school, who is directly connected with the
conduct and operation of the education program:

(i) A statement certifying that the applicant is of good
moral character and at least 18 years of age.

(ii) A list of names, addresses and telephone numbers
of three persons serving as character references, none of
whom are related to the applicant or are in any way
connected to the school.

(2) A statement certifying that persons employed by or
directly connected with the conduct and operation of
schools are not addicted to the use of alcoholic liquors,
morphine, cocaine or other drugs that have a similar
effect.

§ 101.113. Certification under the Fictitious Names
Act.

(&) An applicant for a license who is incorporated or
subject to 54 Pa.C.S. Chapter 3 (relating to Fictitious
Names Act) shall attach to the application a statement or
certification from the Department of State verifying that
the applicant has complied with the applicable statute.

(b) The application shall be filed under the fictitious
name of the school with the individual, partnership or
corporate name added thereto.

§ 101.114. Fees.

(@) The amount of all license fees and renewal fees are
as follows:

(1) School fees:

(i) Initial. ... $500
(i) Renewal . ....... ..o $300
(2) Instructor fees:

@) Initial. ... $30
(i) Renewal....... ... ... i $20
(3) Agent fees:

@) Initial. ... $5
(ii)y Renewal .......... .. ... ... $5
(4) Vehicle identification registration:

() Initial. ... $10
(i) Renewal/transfer...............ccoiiiiiiinnn, $5

(b) All license fees and renewal fees shall be paid by
money order or check, payable to the “Pennsylvania
Department of Revenue” and shall be attached to the
application for a license or license renewal.

§ 101.115. Changes in applications or school infor-
mation.

(a) If changes occur in the facts set forth in an original
application for licensure or an application for relicensure,
subsequent or supplemental information shall be filed
with the Department, and be approved prior to the date
the changes go into effect.

(b) The Department will accept changes in applications
in person, by mail or by facsimile.

(c) A school wishing to change its location or the
location of a practice private training area shall notify the
Department in writing or by facsimile prior to the actual
change.

(d) A change in a school’'s location or a change of
address of the residence of an owner, director, teacher or
agent shall be filed with the Department by mail or by
facsimile prior to the actual change.

§ 101.116. Lost or destroyed license.

If a license is lost, mutilated or destroyed, the Depart-
ment will replace the license without charge. To obtain a
replacement, the school shall surrender the mutilated
license or attest by affidavit that the license was lost or
destroyed.

§ 101.117. School license renewal applications.

(&) A license renewal shall be made on an application
furnished by the Department.

(b) An application for license renewal shall be filed
with the Department on or before April 30 of each year.
Applications filed after this date may result in the
issuance of licenses or teacher identification cards after
June 30.

(c) An incomplete application for license renewal may
be returned to the school. License renewal may be
delayed or denied when the full information requested is
not supplied.

SCHOOL PLANT
§ 101.131. School licenses.

An applicant for a school license shall certify, through
completion of the self-authenticating document issued by
the Department, its compliance with section 4(1)(a)(i) and
(ii) of the act (24 P. S. § 2834(1)(a)(i) and (ii)).

§ 101.132. Prohibited locations.

(@) Only one school may be licensed for a particular
location.

(b) A public school building will not be approved as the
primary classroom site for a private driver training
school.
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(c) The situs of a school, branch school and practice
driver training area shall be a distance of at least 1,500
feet from an official examination point used by the
Department of Transportation for examining motor ve-
hicle operators, which distance shall be measured along
the public streets by the nearest route from the school,
branch school or private driver training area to the
official examination point.

(d) The outdoor area used during the first 3 hours of
practical instruction by persons who hold a learner’s
permit shall be one which is reasonably free of pedestrian
and vehicular traffic, and may not include primary traffic
arteries, main highway routes or other thoroughfares that
carry large amounts of traffic.

§ 101.133. Fire regulations.

(@) Indoor instruction areas will be approved by the
Department of Labor and Industry in accordance with the
fire and panic regulations cited in § 101.102(e) (relating
to laws applicable to private driver training schools).
Each applicant for a school license and each applicant for
a change of location of the indoor instructional area shall
submit a statement or certificate from the proper author-
ity certifying that the indoor instructional area has been
approved.

(b) The indoor instructional areas of schools located in
Philadelphia, Pittsburgh and Scranton, if occupied by five
or more students at the same time, shall be approved
from the standpoint of public safety by the respective fire
marshall or other officers having jurisdiction.

§ 101.134. Space allotment of indoor instruction ar-
eas.

The indoor area used for the theoretical instruction of a
group of five or more students shall provide a minimum
of 15 square feet of floor area per student and 120 cubic
feet of air space per pupil.

§ 101.135. Classroom equipment.

An applicant or licensee offering indoor group theoreti-
cal instruction to five or more students shall provide in
each classroom the following items:

(1) A desk or an equivalent work station and a chair
for each student in attendance.

(2) A writing board containing an area of at least 24
square feet.

§ 101.136. Lighting and seating arrangements.

A school or licensee may not use any seating plan or
arrangement in the indoor instructional areas which faces
the students toward a source of natural or artificial
illumination.

§ 101.137. Lavatory facilities.

A school offering theoretical instruction to a group of
five or more students shall provide lavatory and toilet
facilities which meet State or local requirements.

PROFESSIONAL STAFF
§ 101.141. Professional staff applications.

(a) Professional staff members who are initially em-
ployed by a school, or who were employed by one school
and obtain employment with another school after June 6,
1998, shall submit an application for approval to the
Department upon the form provided by the Department.

(b) The application of a teacher and a director shall
also serve as the application for the written theoretical
and practical examinations.

(c) A person who holds a valid Pennsylvania Teaching
Certificate, with certification in Driver and Safety Educa-
tion, will be exempted from the theoretical and practical
examinations. An exempted person shall apply for and
obtain a valid teacher identification card from the Depart-
ment prior to being employed by a private driver training
school. A person desiring to teach driver education for a
fee shall apply for a private driver training school license
and teacher identification card.

§ 101.142. Additional staff application materials.

A professional staff member shall submit the following
to the Department with the administrative and instruc-
tional staff application:

(1) A statement certifying that the applicant is of good
moral character, a citizen of the United States and at
least 18 years of age.

(2) A list of names, addresses and telephone numbers
of three persons serving as character references, none of
whom are related to the applicant or are in any way
connected to the school in which the applicant is seeking
employment.

(3) Criminal history background checks which comply
with section 111 of the Public School Code of 1949 (24
P. S. 88§ 1—111), known as Act 34 of 1985 and §§ 8.1—8.4
(relating to criminal history background checks).

(4) Official clearance statements which comply with 23
Pa.C.S. 8§ 6354—6358 (relating to background checks for
employment in schools).

§ 101.143. Driving records.

The following information shall also be submitted at
the time of the staff application:

(1) Driving experience. By one of the following methods,
a teacher and director shall produce evidence that he has
driven a minimum of 15,000 miles as a licensed operator,
under all kinds of weather conditions in both urban and
rural areas:

(i) Submitting statements from previous or current
employers, in affidavit form, that attest to the specified
requirements.

(if) Making certification on his own behalf, if never
employed to operate a motor vehicle, attesting to the
specified requirements.

(iii) Combining statements from previous or current
employers, in affidavit form, with a certification made on
his own behalf, all of which together attest to the
specified requirements.

(2) Accidents. A teacher and director shall provide a
3-year driving abstract obtained from the Bureau of
Driver Licensing, Department of Transportation. The
abstract shall establish that he has not had more than
one reportable accident resulting in a suspension or
revocation of his motor vehicle operator’'s license during
the 3-year period preceding the date of application for
approval for instructional service. A “reportable accident”
means any accident involving the injury or death of a
person, or damage to a vehicle to the extent that it cannot
be driven in a customary manner under its own power
without further damage or hazard to the vehicle, to other
traffic elements or to the roadway, and therefore requires
towing.

§ 101.144. Owners and directors; experience.

A private driver training school owner or director shall
submit documentary evidence of a minimum of 2 years of
successful driver education teaching experience in a pri-
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vate driver training school, private high school or public
high school. The documentary evidence shall set forth the
names of the schools or classes and the place, dates and
length of instructional service, including a statement from
the official head of the school or class certifying that the
teaching experience was successful and attesting to the
place, dates and length of the service.

§ 101.145. Foreign agents.

An individual who acts as an agent representing a
school located outside this Commonwealth shall, in addi-
tion to the professional staff application, provide evidence
clearly demonstrating that the owner of his school has
fulfilled all statutory requirements of the Commonwealth
relating to the registration of fictitious names, foreign
corporations and business activities carried on in this
Commonwealth by persons having commercial headquar-
ters elsewhere.

§ 101.146. Incomplete applications.

Prior to the day on which an applicant is scheduled for
examination, the applicant shall file with the Department
a completed school staff application together with the
required list of three references and the 3 year driving
abstract. Failure to do so will preclude an applicant from
taking the examination.

§ 101.147. Professional staff renewal applications.

() A professional staff license renewal shall be made
on an application furnished by the Department

(b) An application for a professional staff license re-
newal shall be filed with the Department on or before
April 30 of each year. Applications filed after this date
may result in the issuance of licenses or identification
cards after June 30.

(¢) An incomplete application for license renewal may
be returned to the school. License renewal may be
delayed or denied when the full information requested is
not supplied.

APPLICANT EXAMINATIONS
§ 101.151. Prerequisite evidence.

To qualify as a teacher in a private driver training
school, an applicant shall successfully complete written
and practical examinations. Prior to testing, an applicant
shall obtain a valid Pennsylvania Class A, B or C driver's
license, file a completed school staff application with the
Department and submit written evidence that the appli-
cant has done one of the following:

(1) Secured employment in an established, licensed
private driver training school.

(2) Filed an application for a license to conduct a
private driver training school.

(3) Is a prospective employe of a school not yet licensed
but whose application for an original license has been
properly filed with the Department.

§ 101.152. Opportunities to pass.

For each original staff application filed with the De-
partment, the applicant will be granted three opportuni-
ties to pass the written examination and three opportuni-
ties to pass the practical examination after passing the
written examination.

§ 101.153. Locations.

Examinations shall be given at various stipulated loca-
tions throughout this Commonwealth. Times and places
may be ascertained by contacting the Department at

Private Driver Training Schools; Department of Educa-
tion; 333 Market Street; Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17126-
0333.

§ 101.154. Identification cards.

(@) After an applicant has passed the written and
practical examinations, the Department will issue a valid
identification card to the school for each teacher. An
Instructor’'s Examination Permit bearing the stamp of the
Department of Transportation may serve as a temporary
identification card for 45 days from the date that the
driving examination was passed.

(b) A teacher shall hold a valid identification card
made out in the name of the school employing the teacher
and issued to that school by the Department.

(c) A teacher or director who gives practical driver
training shall carry an identification card on his person.

(d) Upon terminating a teacher's employment, the
school shall file a termination of employment form and
return the teacher identification card to the Department.

(e) To teach classroom or behind-the-wheel instruction
for more than one private driver training school, a
teacher shall obtain separate cards from the Department
by completing the proper applications.

§ 101.155. Lost or destroyed identification cards.

If an identification card is lost, mutilated or destroyed,
the Department will replace the card without charge. To
receive replacements for lost, stolen or destroyed identifi-
cation cards, the teacher shall surrender the mutilated
identification card or attest by affidavit that it was lost or
destroyed.

§ 101.156. Loss of operating privilege.

A teacher who loses his privilege to operate a motor
vehicle in this Commonwealth shall immediately surren-
der his identification card to the Department. A teacher
shall also give written notification to his employer and to
the Department of the violations, all pertinent facts and
the dates upon which the behind-the-wheel instructional
activities ceased.

§ 101.157. Time limits.

Applications for teacher identification cards and vehicle
identification cards filed after April 30 will be valid until
June 30 of the following year.

REEMPLOYMENT
§ 101.161. Reemployment within 12 months.

A teacher changing employment to another school
within 12 months of employment shall complete an
instructional staff application and submit a criminal
history background check to secure a valid identification
card.

§ 101.162. Reemployment after 12 months.

When a continuous period of 12 months or more has
elapsed without employment as a driver training teacher,
the applicant shall comply with the requirements stated
in 88 101.141—101.143 (relating to professional staff;
additional staff application materials; and driving
records).

§ 101.163. Notice of employment.

A school, upon the employment of a new teacher or the
reinstatement of a former employe, shall immediately
notify the Department of the dates that the employes
were employed.
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§ 101.164. Termination of employment.

A school shall immediately notify the Department upon
terminating the employment of a teacher, stating the
starting date of employment and the termination date.
This information shall be supplied on the forms provided
by the Department.

VEHICLES AND INSURANCE
§ 101.171. Insurance coverage for vehicles.

(a) Each school shall provide and maintain insurance
on all vehicles used in practical driver training and file a
current, valid certificate of insurance for each vehicle
with the Department.

(b) The minimum required insurance coverage on each
vehicle is: $50,000—$100,000, public liability; $5,000,
property damage; and $5,000, medical payment.

(c) A certificate of insurance shall set forth the year,
make and serial number of the vehicle covered, the
expiration date of the coverage, and the amounts of
medical payment, property damage and public liability
coverage carried under that certificate.

(d) A licensee shall immediately notify the Department
when any of the required insurance is cancelled.

§ 101.172. Vehicle identification card.

Each vehicle used for practical driver training shall
carry an identification card issued by the Department. It
shall be affixed to the right sun visor or in a manner that
makes the identification visible to the vehicle’s occupants.

§ 101.173. Age of vehicles.

(@) A vehicle used for practical driver training may not
be more than 5 years old or have more than 50,000 miles,
whichever occurs later.

(b) The date appearing on the face of the original
certificate of title shall be used as the date the vehicle
was placed in service. Five years from that date will
determine the permissible period of operation.

§ 101.174. Changes or additions to the fleet.

A school shall immediately report changes or additions
to the teaching fleet to the Department prior to the
vehicle being placed in service. Each vehicle added to the
school fleet shall be registered with the Department by
filing a current, valid insurance certificate containing the
required information and an affidavit setting forth the
year, make, serial number and registration plate of the
new vehicle and the fact that the vehicles are equipped
with:

(1) An operable extra brake pedal, and in the case of
vehicles equipped with standard transmission an operable
extra clutch pedal.

(2) A defroster and heater in working order.

(3) A rear-view mirror placed on the inside of the car in
the vicinity of the cowl and two outside rear-view mirrors,
one on each side of the vehicle.

(4) Cushions for the proper seating of the student.

§ 101.175. Vehicle identification card renewal appli-
cations.

(@) A vehicle identification card renewal shall be made
on an application furnished by the Department.

(b) An application for a vehicle identification card
renewal shall be filed with the Department on or before

April 30 of each year. Applications filed after this date
may result in the issuance of vehicle identification cards
after June 30.

(c) An incomplete application for vehicle identification
card renewal may be returned to the school. Vehicle
identification card renewal may be delayed or denied
when the full information requested is not supplied.

§ 101.176. Lost or destroyed vehicle identification
cards.

If a vehicle identification card is lost, mutilated or
destroyed, the Department will replace the card without
charge. To receive replacements for lost, stolen or de-
stroyed vehicle identification cards, the licensee shall
surrender the mutilated identification card or attest by
affidavit that it was lost or destroyed.

PROGRAM OF INSTRUCTION
§ 101.181. Outlines to Department.

(@) In addition to the requirements in 88 101.111—
101.115, an applicant for an original license shall provide
the Department with an outline for the theoretical and
practical instruction in driver education.

(b) Theoretical instruction in driver education shall
include subject matter relating to rules and regulations of
the road, safe driving practices, pedestrian safety, care
and mechanics of motor vehicles, driver responsibility,
theory of driving, types of automobile insurance and the
use of automobile safety devices.

(c) Practical instruction in driver education shall in-
clude the demonstration of and actual instruction in
starting, stopping, shifting, turning, backing, parking and
steering in a training vehicle.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 98-887. Filed for public inspection June 5, 1998, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 49—PROFESSIONAL
AND VOCATIONAL AFFAIRS

STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY
[49 PA. CODE CH. 23]
Therapeutic Drugs

The State Board of Optometry (Board) amends Chapter
23 (relating to State Board of Optometry) by: (1) adding a
new definition in § 23.1 (relating to definitions); (2)
amending § 23.82 (relating to continuing education hour
requirements); and (3) adding 8§ 23.201 and 23.202
(relating to qualifications for certification; and application
procedure) to read as set forth in Annex A.

A. Effective Date

The amendments will be effective upon publication in
the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

B. Statutory Authority

The amendments are authorized under sections 3(b)(14)
and 4.1 of the Optometric Practice and Licensure Act (act)
(63 P. S. 8§ 244.3(b)(14) and 244 .4a).

C. Background and Purpose

The amendments implement the act of October 30,
1996 (P. L. 719, No. 129) (Act 130). Act 130 amends the
act (63 P. S. 88 244.1—244.12), to require the certification

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 28, NO. 23, JUNE 6, 1998



RULES AND REGULATIONS 2587

and regulation of the prescription and administration by
optometrists of pharmaceutical agents for therapeutic
purposes (therapeutic drugs). The Board is required to
certify eligible optometrists in two categories. The first
requires an applicant to have: (1) graduated from an
accredited school of optometry where a condition for
graduation is or was the successful completion of a
minimum of 100 hours in therapeutic drugs; and (2)
passed a licensure examination to practice optometry
which included therapeutic drugs. The second requires an
applicant to have: (1) completed a Board-approved course
of a minimum of 100 hours in therapeutic drugs; and (2)
passed an examination in therapeutic drugs prepared and
administered by a qualified and approved professional
testing organization.

New provisions also require optometrists to obtain 30
hours of approved continuing optometric education every
2 years beginning with license renewals in 1998. For
optometrists certified in therapeutic drugs, 6 of those
hours must concern the prescription and administration
of these drugs. Prior law required a minimum of 24 hours
of continuing education every 2 years.

Finally, Act 130 empowers the Secretary of Health to
approve the drugs which a Board-certified optometrist
may use. The approved therapeutic drug list will be
established in separate rulemaking by the Department of
Health.

D. Summary of Comments on Proposed Rulemaking and
Board Responses

Notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 27
Pa. B. 4466 (August 30, 1997). The Board received com-
ments from 97 public commentators, including the Penn-
sylvania Optometric Association, the Pennsylvania Col-
lege of Optometry, individual optometrists, Legislators, a
physician and an attorney. The House Professional
Licensure Committee and the Independent Regulatory
Review Commission (IRRC) also provided comments and
recommendations which the Board has considered in
preparing final rulemaking.

The vast majority of commentators expressed concern
that the proposed amendments treated optometrists who
graduated from optometric school prior to April of 1993
differently from those who graduated after April of 1993.
In particular, the commentators objected to the require-
ment that those who graduated prior to April of 1993 take
a 100-hour course in therapeutic drugs offered subse-
quent to October 30, 1996, as well as passing the
Treatment and Management of Ocular Disease (TMOD)
examination subsequent to completing the course. Both
the House Committee and IRRC suggested that the
Legislative intent of mandating current training and
testing would be achieved by requiring optometrists who
graduated prior to April of 1993 to have completed a
100-hour course in therapeutic drugs and passed the
TMOD after April of 1993. Additionally, IRRC recom-
mended that a date certain, that is, April 1, 1993, be used
as the transition date.

In response to these comments and recommendations,
the Board has in final rulemaking applied the April 1,
1993, transition date to all applicants for certification.
Accordingly, optometrists who graduated on or after April
1, 1993, will be certified to prescribe and administer
therapeutic drugs upon proof of graduation from an
accredited school of optometry where a condition for
graduation is or was the successful completion of a
minimum of 100-hours in therapeutic drugs and success-
ful passage of a licensure examination to practice optom-

etry which included therapeutic drugs. Optometrists who
graduated prior to April 1, 1993, will be required to
complete a Board-approved course of 100 hours in thera-
peutic drugs offered on or after April 1, 1993, and pass
the TMOD on or after April 1, 1993. The foregoing would
apply to applicants for licensure by examination or by
reciprocity.

In this final rulemaking, the Board has also removed
the language requiring that the TMOD be passed after
completion of the 100-hour course. In this way, the Board
has resolved the concerns expressed by certain commenta-
tors that they would be required to retake the TMOD
examination which they had already passed on or after
April 1, 1993.

A number of commentators suggested that optometrists
in neighboring states who were authorized by those
states’ licensure laws and who have been prescribing and
administering therapeutic drugs in those states should be
certified in this Commonwealth without having to meet
additional requirements. IRRC also suggested that sec-
tion 6(c) of the act (63 P.S. 8 244.6(c)) provides the
necessary statutory authority for the Board to issue
therapeutic drug certification based on the licensure and
experience of optometrists in other states.

In reviewing this suggestion, the Board carefully exam-
ined Act 130's amendments to its licensure law. The
Board observed that section 6(c) of the act authorizes the
Board to issue a license without examination to an
applicant who has practiced in another state for a
minimum of 4 years preceding application. The section
does not, the Board observed, reference therapeutic drug
certification, which the act identifies as a separate certifi-
cation obtainable by licensed optometrists who have
fulfilled the further requirements of section 4.1 of the act.

The Board further noted that IRRC's suggestion ap-
pears to run counter to the Legislative intent expressed
by the House Committee. Likewise, permitting out-of-
State optometrists to avoid the certification requirements
of section 4.1 of the act imposed on in-State practitioners
may implicate constitutional equal protection concerns.

Several commentators also suggested that the Board
review individual credentials on a case-by-case basis to
determine competency in the prescription and administra-
tion of therapeutic drugs. The act does not, however,
provide exceptions to the certification requirements of
section 4.1 of the act, nor does it authorize the Board to
do case-by-case credentialing.

Additional commentators suggested that optometrist
educators who have been teaching approved courses in
therapeutic drugs at accredited optometric institutions be
exempt from the certification requirements. The act does
not, however, as the Board has noted, exempt educators
or others who may otherwise be qualified to prescribe and
administer therapeutic drugs.

Several commentators also suggested that prohibitions
in Act 130 regarding the treatment of glaucoma and the
use of steroids fail to recognize the education of optom-
etrists in these areas. The Board cannot address these
concerns because they relate solely to the Legislation and
not to the Board's implementing regulations.

The Board does find merit in numerous commentators’
contention that additional training and examination re-
guirements are unnecessary for three groups of pre-1993
graduates. Those groups involve optometrists who have:
(1) been prescribing therapeutic drugs in surrounding
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states where drug authorization is broader; (2) success-
fully completed more than 100 hours in therapeutic drugs
both in school and through continuing education since the
1980's; or (3) passed the TMOD which has remained
basically unchanged since its first administration in 1985.
The final rulemaking, however, is designed to track the
Legislative intent expressed by a unanimous House Com-
mittee.

E. Compliance with Executive Order 1996-1

In accordance with the requirements of Executive Or-
der 1996-1 (February 6, 1996), in drafting and promulgat-
ing the amendments the Board solicited input from the
regulated community as well as the Secretary of Health,
the Pennsylvania Optometric Association, the Pennsylva-
nia College of Optometry and the Pennsylvania Academy
of Ophthalmology. The Board reviewed and incorporated
many of the comments of the various individuals and
professional organizations in the amendments.

F. Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

The amendments will have no fiscal impact on the
Commonwealth or its political subdivisions. Applicants for
certification in therapeutic drugs will be required to pay a
small fee to cover the costs of certification. Similarly, the
applicants may be required to pay additional costs for
specified therapeutic drug training and examinations. The
public may benefit from reduced costs of health care in
that optometrists will be permitted to treat minor eye
diseases and conditions without multiple examinations by
various health care providers.

G. Sunset Date

The Board continuously monitors its regulations. There-
fore, no sunset date has been assigned.

H. Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5(a)), on August 30, 1997, the Board submitted
a copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking, published at
27 Pa.B. 4466 to IRRC and the Chairpersons of the House
Professional Licensure Committee and the Senate Con-
sumer Protection and Professional Licensure Committee
for review and comment. In compliance with section 5(c)
of the Regulatory Review Act, the Board also provided
IRRC and the Committees with copies of all comments
received, as well as other documentation.

In preparing these final-form regulations, the Board
has considered all comments received from IRRC, the
Committees and the public.

Under section 5.1(d) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5a(d)), these final-form regulations were ap-
proved by the House Committee on April 22, 1998, and
deemed approved by the Senate Committee on April 26,
1998. IRRC met on May 7, 1998, and approved the
final-form regulations in accordance with section 5.1(e) of
the Regulatory Review Act.

I. Public Information

Interested persons may obtain information regarding
the amendments by writing to Deborah L. Smith, Board
Administrator, State Board of Optometry, P. O. Box 2649,
116 Pine Street, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649.

J. Findings
The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given
under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P. L. 769, No. 240) 45 P. S. 88 1201 and 1202) and the
regulations promulgated thereunder at 1 Pa. Code 8§ 7.1
and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered.

(3) These amendments do not enlarge the purpose of
proposed rulemaking published at 27 Pa.B. 4466.

(4) These amendments are necessary and appropriate
for administration and enforcement of the authorizing act
identified in Part B of this Preamble.

K. Order

The Board, acting under its authorizing statute, orders
that:

(@) The regulations of the Board, 49 Pa. Code Chapter
23, are amended by amending 88 23.1 and 23.82 to read
as set forth at 27 Pa.B. 4466 and by adding 8§ 23.201
and 23.202 to read as set forth in Annex A.

(b) The Board shall submit this order, 27 Pa.B. 4466
and Annex A to the Office of General Counsel and to the
Office of Attorney General as required by law.

(c) The Board shall certify this order, 27 Pa.B. 4466
and Annex A and deposit them with the Legislative
Reference Bureau as required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect on publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.

JAY B. TANNER, O.D.,
Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 28 Pa.B. 2463 (May 23, 1998).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 16A-525 remains valid for the
final adoption of the subject regulations.

Annex A

TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

PART |I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 23. STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

CERTIFICATION IN PHARMACEUTICAL AGENTS
FOR THERAPEUTIC PURPOSES

§ 23.201. Qualifications for certification.

(a) Category 1. To obtain certification to prescribe and
administer pharmaceutical agents for therapeutic pur-
poses, an applicant licensed by examination to practice
optometry in this Commonwealth or another jurisdiction
on or after April 1, 1993, shall meet the following
requirements:

(1) Graduation from an accredited optometric educa-
tional institution in the United States or Canada where a
condition for graduation at the time the applicant gradu-
ated was the successful completion of a minimum of 100
hours in the prescription and administration of pharma-
ceutical agents for therapeutic purposes.

(2) A passing score on one of the following examina-
tions taken on or after April 1, 1993:
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(i) The TMOD portion of Part Il (Clinical Sciences) of
the National Board Examination.

(ii) The TMOD.

(iti) An examination for licensure in another jurisdic-
tion which required passing scores on the prescription
and administration of pharmaceutical agents for thera-
peutic purposes.

(b) Category 2. To obtain certification to prescribe and
administer pharmaceutical agents for therapeutic pur-
poses, an applicant licensed by examination to practice
optometry in this Commonwealth or another jurisdiction
before April 1, 1993, shall meet the following require-
ments:

(1) Successful completion of a course offered on or after
April 1, 1993, consisting of a minimum of 100 hours in
the prescription and administration of pharmaceutical
agents for therapeutic purposes offered by an accredited
optometric educational institution in the United States or
Canada.

(2) A passing score as determined by the NBEO on the
TMOD taken on or after April 1, 1993.

§ 23.202. Application procedure.

(@) An applicant for certification under Category 1
shall submit the following to the Board:

(1) A completed application obtained from the Board
together with the certification fee required by § 23.91
(relating to fees).

(2) Certification on a form provided by the Board from
an accredited optometric educational institution in the
United States or Canada that the applicant graduated
from the institution and that a condition for the appli-
cant's graduation was the successful completion of a
minimum of 100 hours in the prescription and adminis-
tration of pharmaceutical agents for therapeutic purposes.

(3) Certification from the NBEO that the applicant
obtained a passing score on the TMOD portion of Part 11
(Clinical Sciences) of the National Board Examination
taken on or after April 1, 1993, or a passing score on the
TMOD taken on or after April 1, 1993, or certification on
a form provided by the Board from the appropriate
licensing authority of another jurisdiction that the appli-
cant obtained a passing score on a licensing examination
in that jurisdiction taken on or after April 1, 1993, which
required a passing score on the prescription and adminis-
tration of pharmaceutical agents for therapeutic purposes
at the time the applicant passed the examination.

(b) An applicant for certification under Category 2
shall submit the following to the Board:

(1) A completed application obtained from the Board
together with the certification fee required by § 23.91
(relating to fees).

(2) Certification on a form provided by the Board from
an accredited optometric educational institution in the
United States or Canada that the applicant has success-
fully completed its course offered on or after April 1,
1993, consisting of a minimum of 100 hours in the
prescription and administration of pharmaceutical agents
for therapeutic purposes.

(3) Certification from the NBEO that the applicant has
obtained a passing score on the TMOD taken on or after
April 1, 1993.

(¢) On and after June 6, 1998, applicants for licensure
as optometrists by examination who meet the qualifica-
tions, including a passing score on the TMOD portion of

Part Il (Clinical Sciences) of the National Board Exami-
nation and graduation from an accredited optometric
educational institution in the United States or Canada
shall be certified to prescribe and administer pharmaceu-
tical agents for therapeutic purposes without further
application.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 98-888. Filed for public inspection June 5, 1998, 9:00 a.m.]

STATE BOARD OF DENTISTRY
[49 PA. CODE CH. 33]

Fees

The State Board of Dentistry (Board) amends § 33.3
(relating to fees) to read as set forth at 27 Pa.B. 1577
(March 29, 1997).

A. Effective Date

The amendment will be effective upon publication in
the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

B. Statutory Authority

Sections 4(a) and 11.7(b) of the Dental Law (act) (63
P. S. 88 123(a) and 130h(b)) require the Board to fix the
fees for licenses, certificates and temporary permits by
regulation.

C. Background and Purpose

This amendment establishes application, temporary
permit, verification and renewal fees for expanded func-
tion dental assistants (EFDASs) and increases the applica-
tion fees for dentists and dental hygienists. The fees
offset the identifiable costs incurred by the Board to
process the documents and defray a portion of the Board’s
overhead.

The act of December 27, 1994 (P.L. 1361, No. 160)
amended the act throughout to require the certification
and regulation of EFDAs. In accordance with section 11.7
of the act, the Board issued temporary permits to quali-
fied EFDA applicants. To date, approximately 1,700 tem-
porary permits have been issued but no fee has been
charged.

In processing the temporary permit applications, the
clerical staff spends approximately 15 minutes on each
application. The applications are reviewed for complete-
ness, the education and experience are verified and the
applicants are requested to provide missing information.
If the application is acceptable, it is processed through
the computer and the applicant is notified. Applications
deemed deficient on their face are forwarded to a Com-
mittee of the Board for review. If necessary, additional
information is requested and reviewed, and the applicant
is notified of the final action. The $15 fee is a combination
of these processing costs and the administrative overhead.

The biennial renewal, criteria approval, verification and
certification fees for EFDAs match those charged to
dentists and dental hygienists. These fees are based upon
the average biennial regulatory expense per certificate
holder added to the average biennial regulatory expense
per certificate holder.

The application fee for dentists and dental hygienists
has also been increased from $15 to $20 to cover process-
ing costs.

D. Summary of Comments and Responses on Proposed
Rulemaking
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Notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 27
Pa.B. 1577. The Board received no public comment.

E. Compliance with Executive Order 1996-1

In accordance with the requirements of Executive Or-
der 1996-1 (February 6, 1996), in drafting and promulgat-
ing the amendment, the Board solicited input and sugges-
tions from the regulated community by providing drafts
to organizations and entities which represent the profes-
sionals.

F. Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

The amendment requires dentists, dental hygienists
and EFDAs who wish to practice in this Commonwealth
to pay for the Board's expenses in processing their
applications for licenses, certificates or temporary per-
mits. There is no fiscal impact on the private sector, the
general public or the political subdivisions.

The only additional paperwork requirement will be on
the Board which will have to alter its application forms to
reflect the new fees.

G. Sunset Date

The Board continuously monitors its regulations. There-
fore, no sunset date has been assigned.

H. Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5(a)), on March 29, 1997, the Board submitted
a copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking, published at
27 Pa.B. 1577 to the Independent Regulatory Review
Commission (IRRC) and the Chairpersons of the House
Professional Licensure Committee and the Senate Con-
sumer Protection and Professional Licensure Committee.
In compliance with section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review
Act, the Board also provided IRRC and the Committees
with copies of the comments received, as well as other
documentation.

In preparing this final-form regulation, the Board has
considered all comments received from IRRC, the Com-
mittees and the public.

This final-form regulation was approved by the House
Committee on April 22, 1998, and deemed approved by
the Senate Committee on May 3, 1998. IRRC met on May
7, 1998, and approved the amendment in accordance with
section 5.1(e) of the Regulatory Review Act (71 P.S.
§ 745.5a).

I. Public Information

Interested persons may obtain information regarding
the amendment by writing to June L. Barner, Board
Administrator, State Board of Dentistry, 116 Pine Street,
Post Office Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649.

J. Findings
The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given
under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P. S. §§ 1201 and 1202)) and the
regulations promulgated thereunder at 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1
and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered.

(3) This amendment does not enlarge the purpose of
proposed rulemaking published at 27 Pa.B. 1577.

(4) This amendment is necessary and appropriate for
administration and enforcement of the authorizing acts
identified in Part B of this Preamble.

K. Order

The Board, acting under its authorizing statutes, orders
that:

(@) The regulations of the Board, 49 Pa. Code Chapter
33, are amended by amending § 33.3 to read as set forth
at 27 Pa.B. 1577.

(b) The Board shall submit this order and 27 Pa.B.
1577 to the Office of General Counsel and to the Office of
Attorney General as required by law.

(¢) The Board shall certify this order and 27 Pa.B. 1577
and deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bureau
as required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect upon publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.

EDWIN F. WEAVER, IlI, D.D.S,,
Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 28 Pa.B. 2463 (May 23, 1998).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 16A-463 remains valid for the
final adoption of the subject regulation.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 98-889. Filed for public inspection June 5, 1998, 9:00 a.m.]
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