
THE COURTS
Title 207—JUDICIAL

CONDUCT
PART IV. COURT OF JUDICIAL DISCIPLINE

[207 PA. CODE CH. 113]
Amendment to the Rules of Procedure; Doc. No. 1

JD 94

Per Curiam
Order

And Now, this 28th day of January, 1998, the Court,
pursuant to Article 5, Section 18(b)(4) of the Constitution
of Pennsylvania, having adopted a proposed amendment
to Rule of Procedure No. 113, as more specifically herein-
after set forth, It Is Hereby Ordered:

That Court Administrator Wanda W. Sweigart provide
for the publication of the Amendment in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin, and

That interested parties shall submit suggestions, com-
ments, or objections no later than thirty days from the
publication of this Order in that Bulletin.

Annex A
TITLE 207. JUDICIAL CONDUCT

PART IV. COURT OF JUDICIAL DISCIPLINE
ARTICLE I. PRELIMINARY PROVISIONS

CHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS
IN GENERAL

Rule 113. Lodging of Transcripts.
When the Court or a party direct the court reporter to

transcribe the notes of testimony taken at a hearing or
trial, the Clerk, upon receiving the transcript, shall notify
the parties that the transcript has been lodged with the
Court. The parties shall have [ 10 ] 30 days from the
date of notification to file objections to the transcript. The
parties shall serve copies of objections upon the other
party. The Court may conduct a hearing on the objections.
If no objections or exceptions are filed, the transcript will
be approved by the Court as of course.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 98-245. Filed for public inspection February 13, 1998, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 255—LOCAL COURT
RULES

BRADFORD COUNTY
Rule of Civil Procedure No. 1301

Order
And Now, this 28th day of January, 1998, the Court

hereby amends the following Bradford County Rule of
Civil Procedure, to be effective thirty (30) days after the
date of publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

It is further ordered that the District Court Administra-
tor shall file seven (7) certified copies of this Rule with
the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts, two (2)
certified copies to the Legislative Reference Bureau for
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin one (1) certified
copy to the Civil Procedural Rules Committee and one (1)
copy to the Bradford County Law Journal for publication
in the next issue of the Bradford County Law Journal.

It is further ordered that this local rule shall be kept
continuously available for public inspection and copying
in the Prothonotary’s Office.

By the Court
JEFFREY A. SMITH,

President Judge

Bradford County Rule of Civil Procedure 1301.

1301. Cases for Submission

A. Compulsory arbitration of matters as authorized by
Section 7361 of the Judicial Code, 42 Pa.C.S.A. Section
101, et seq, shall apply to all civil cases wherein the
amount in controversy, exclusive of interest and costs,
shall be [ sixteen thousand dollars ($16,000.00) ]
twenty thousand dollars ($20,000.00) or less, including
appeals from a civil judgment of a district justice, except
those involving title to real estate or actions in equity.
Such actions shall be submitted to and heard by a board
of arbitration consisting of three attorneys.

B. The amount in controversy generally will be deter-
mined by the pleadings or by an agreement of the
attorneys, however, the court, on its own motion or on the
motion of any party, may, based upon affidavits, deposi-
tions, stipulations of counsel or after hearing, determine
that the amount actually in controversy does not exceed
twenty thousand dollars ($20,000.00) and enter an order
certifying the case to a board of arbitration. In the event
that a case within the arbitration limits is consolidated
with a case involving more than the arbitration limits
after the former has been referred to a board of arbitra-
tors, the order of consolidation will remove the same from
the jurisdiction of the board of arbitrators.

C. A civil action will be referred to arbitration by order
of court when either party or its counsel files a praecipe
with the prothonotary.

D. Cases subject to compulsory arbitration will not be
scheduled for a pre-trial conference. Such cases will,
however, come under the caseflow control of the court
administrator.

1301.1 Agreement of Reference:

Cases, whether or not in litigation and regardless of the
amount in controversy, may be heard by a board of
arbitration upon agreement of counsel for all parties in
the case. Such agreement shall be evidenced by a writing
signed by counsel for all sides and shall be filed with the
prothonotary, who will forward a copy to the court
administrator. Said agreement shall define the issues
involved for determination by the board of arbitrators and
may contain stipulations with respect to facts.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 98-246. Filed for public inspection February 13, 1998, 9:00 a.m.]
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FAYETTE COUNTY

Rule 1018.1: Notice to Defend; No. 131 of 1998
G.D.

Amended Order

And Now, this 21st day of January, 1998, the following
Fayette County Rule of Civil Procedure 1018.1 is hereby
promulgated and adopted for the conduct of business in
the Court of Common Pleas of Fayette County, Pennsylva-
nia. This Rule shall be effective thirty (30) days after
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin and shall apply
to actions pending on that date:

‘‘The organization and agency to be named in the
notices accompanying complaints and in the notice of
praecipe for entry of default judgment filed in the Court
of Common Pleas of Fayette County, shall be:

Pennsylvania Lawyer Referral Service
Pennsylvania Bar Association
100 South Street
P. O. Box 186
Harrisburg, PA 17108
Telephone: 1 (800) 692-7375.’’

The Prothonotary is directed to transmit copies of this
Order in compliance with Pennsylvania Rule of Civil
Procedure 239 forthwith.

By the Court
WILLIAM J. FRANKS,

President Judge
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 98-247. Filed for public inspection February 13, 1998, 9:00 a.m.]

FAYETTE COUNTY

Rule 1901: Actions Pursuant to the Protection
from Abuse Act; Civil Division; No. 123 of 1998,
G. D.

Order

And Now, this 20th day of January, 1998, it is hereby
Ordered that Fayette County Rule of Civil Procedure
1901 is hereby adopted as follows. This amendment shall
be effective 30 days after the publication in the Pennsyl-
vania Bulletin.

The Prothonotary of Fayette County is Ordered and
Directed to do the following:

(1) File seven (7) certified copies of this Order and
Amended Rule with the Administrative Office of Pennsyl-
vania Courts.

(2) File two (2) certified copies of this order and
Amended Rule with the Legislative Reference Bureau for
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

(3) File one (1) certified copy of this Order and
Amended Rule with the Pennsylvania Civil Rules Com-
mittee.

(4) Forward one (1) copy for publication in the Fayette
Legal Journal.

(5) Forward one (1) copy to the Fayette County Law
Library.

(6) Keep continuously available for public inspection
copies of this Order and Rule.
By the Court

WILLIAM J. FRANKS,
President Judge

Rule 1901.1-1. Actions Pursuant to the Protection
from Abuse Act.

Pursuant to the authority set forth in the Protection
from Abuse Act of December 19, 1990, P. L. 1240, as
amended, 23 Pa.C.S. Sec. 6101 et seq., the following
practices, procedures, and rules are promulgated.

It is the purpose and policy of the Court of Common
Pleas of Fayette County, Pennsylvania, to implement and
effectuate the Protection From Abuse Act and its amend-
ments to protect victims from abuse; to streamline and
facilitate enforcement; to establish duties upon the Pro-
thonotary, Sheriff, District Justices, Warden, Crime
Victim/Witness Coordinator, and police departments; and
to provide emergency relief.

Rule 1901.1-2. Commencement in Court.

(a) A petition for Protection From Abuse (PFA) shall be
presented to the Court as a routine motion in accordance
with Fayette County Rule 211 and assigned to the PFA
Judge who will schedule a hearing on the petition.

(b) If the petition seeks temporary relief for protection
from abuse and alleges immediate and present danger of
abuse to the plaintiff and/or minor children, the same
shall be presented directly to the PFA Judge on any
business day from 8:30 a.m. through 4:00 p.m.; the PFA
Judge will, at the earliest possible time consistent with
his schedule, conduct an ex parte proceeding. Thereafter,
the Court may enter such temporary order as it deems
necessary to protect the plaintiff and/or minor children
pending hearing on the petition.

(c) Assistance and advice to plaintiffs not represented
by counsel.

(1) Petition forms and written information referring
individuals to the local domestic violence program, South-
western Pennsylvania Legal Aid Society, and Fayette
County Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service shall be
provided by the Prothonotary.

(2) Clerical assistance in the preparation and filing of
the petition shall be provided by the Southwestern Penn-
sylvania Legal Aid Society.

Rule 1901.1-3. Emergency Relief by the Minor Judi-
ciary.

(a) From the close of business at 4:30 p.m. each day to
the resumption of business at 8:00 a.m. the next morning
and from 4:30 p.m. of the last day of the business week to
8:00 a.m. of the first day of the next business week, a
Petition for Protection from Abuse seeking ex parte
emergency relief based upon an allegation of immediate
and present danger of abuse to the plaintiff and/or minor
children shall be filed with the District Justice in the
district where the plaintiff lives or, when unavailable,
with the court ordered Duty District Justice, who may
grant relief in accordance with the Act.

(b) District Justice.

(1) The District Justice shall provide petition forms
and assist in the preparation thereof.

(2) If, following an ex parte proceeding, the District
Justice determines that emergency relief is warranted,
he/she shall issue an emergency order.
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(3) The District Justice shall certify the emergency
order issued and the petition to the Court.

(4) The District Justice shall advise the plaintiff that
the emergency order will expire at 4:30 p.m. on the next
business day of Court.

(5) The District Justice shall advise the plaintiff that
the plaintiff is responsible for obtaining the certified
record from the District Justice and for filing the certified
record with the Prothonotary on the next business day of
Court.

(c) Prothonotary.

(1) The Prothonotary shall accept the certified record
from the plaintiff for filing, without the payment of fees.

(2) The Prothonotary shall provide the plaintiff with a
verified statement form which must be completed by the
plaintiff setting forth the abuse by the defendant, if the
abuse has not already been set forth in the Petition for
Emergency Order.

(3) The Prothonotary shall provide the plaintiff with a
copy of the petition, verified statement and emergency
order and advise the plaintiff to present same to the PFA
Judge for ex parte proceedings as provided for in 1901.1-
2(b).

Rule 1901.1-4. Service of Petition and Order.

(a) The plaintiff shall ensure that the petition and
order are promptly served upon the defendant and that
the order is served upon the police department with
appropriate jurisdiction to enforce the order.

(b) Where the plaintiff avers that service cannot be
safely effectuated by an adult individual other than a law
enforcement officer, the Sheriff of Fayette County shall
serve the petition and order on the defendant. The Sheriff
shall advise the Court that service has been effectuated
as well as the cost therefor.

(c) Where the plaintiff avers that service of an emer-
gency order cannot be safely effectuated by an adult
individual other than a law enforcement officer, the
District Justice issuing the order shall have the same
served by a constable at the initial expense of the county.
The constable shall file a return of service as well as the
cost therefor.

Rule 1901.1-5. Arrest for Violation of Order.

(a) Upon arrest for violation of a PFA order or court
approved consent agreement, the defendant shall be
taken, without unnecessary delay, to the District Justice
in the district where the alleged violation occurred, or if
unavailable, to the court ordered Duty District Justice for
preliminary arraignment and bail pursuant to the Penn-
sylvania Rules of Criminal Procedure.

At the preliminary arraignment the defendant shall be
notified:

(1) that he is charged with indirect criminal contempt
for violation of a PFA order or court approved consent
order; and

(2) that he is entitled to be represented by counsel and,
if unable to afford counsel and otherwise qualifies, a
Public Defender will be appointed.

(b) Immediately following the preliminary arraignment,
the District Justice shall provide the arresting officer and
the defendant with written notice of the time and date for
hearing on the charge. The written notice shall be signed
by each.

(c) It shall be the duty of the arresting officer to notify
the plaintiff of the time and date for hearing.

(d) The District Justice shall cause the following com-
pleted forms to be delivered to the Clerk of Courts prior
to the scheduled hearing:

(1) criminal complaint;
(2) probable cause affidavit, if any;
(3) warrant of arrest, if any;
(4) certificate of bail, if required, and discharge of

commitment; and
(5) receipts for notice of hearing.
(e) When the defendant has been arrested without a

warrant for a PFA violation, a criminal complaint shall be
filed against the defendant prior to the preliminary
arraignment.

(f) Where the police officer has been unsuccessful in his
attempts to locate the defendant, the officer shall file a
criminal complaint and affidavit of probable cause with
the District Justice where the alleged violation occurred,
or if unavailable, with the court ordered Duty District
Justice who shall issue a warrant of arrest for the
defendant.
Rule 1901.1-6. Private Criminal Complaint for Vio-

lation of Order or Agreement.
(a) A private criminal complaint shall be filed with the

District Justice in the district where the alleged abuse
occurred, or if unavailable, with the court ordered Duty
District Justice.

(b) The approval of the District Attorney is not re-
quired prior to the filing of a criminal complaint under
this section.

(c) The procedure for filing a private criminal com-
plaint for indirect criminal contempt for violation of a
non-economic provision of an order or court approved
consent agreement pursuant to Section 6113.1 of the Act
is as follows:
Rule 1901.1-7. Out of County Orders.

(a) A PFA order issued by a District Justice or Court in
another judicial district within the Commonwealth or
PFA order issued by a comparable court in another state
shall be enforced in the same manner as a PFA order
entered by a Fayette County Court, provided however,
that such order has been properly recorded in the Regis-
try of the Pennsylvania State Police, or until a Pennsylva-
nia State Police Registry has been established, has been
properly registered with the Prothonotary of Fayette
County.

(b) Until the Pennsylvania State Police Registry is
established and fully operational, the Prothonotary shall
maintain a Registry in which shall be entered certified
copies of protection from abuse orders issued by a court in
another judicial district within the Commonwealth or a
comparable court in another state.

(1) A valid PFA order may be registered by the plaintiff
by obtaining a certified copy of the order of the issuing
court endorsed by the Prothonotary of that court and by
presenting that certified order to the Prothonotary or
Clerk of Fayette County for filing.

(2) Upon receiving a certified order for registration and
upon completion of filing and registration, the Prothono-
tary shall provide the plaintiff with a copy bearing proof
of registration, which copy shall then be filed by the
plaintiff with the appropriate law enforcement agency.
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(3) No costs shall be assessed for registration of an
order.

(4) Registration of PFA orders shall not be required
upon the establishment and operation of the Pennsylva-
nia State Police Registry.

Rule 1901.1-8. Civil Contempt.

(a) A plaintiff may file a petition for civil contempt
alleging that a defendant has violated any provision of an
order or a court-approved consent agreement.

(b) A petition for civil contempt shall be presented to
the court as a routine motion in accordance with Fayette
County Rule 211 and assigned to the issuing judge who
will schedule a hearing on the petition.

Rule 1901.1-9. Notification upon Release.

(a) The Warden of the Fayette County Prison shall use
all reasonable means to notify the plaintiff sufficiently in
advance of the release of the defendant from any incar-
ceration imposed as a result of a finding of contempt.

(b) Notification shall be required for work release,
furlough, medical leave, community service, discharge,
escape and recapture. Notification shall include terms
and conditions imposed on any temporary release from
custody. The plaintiff shall keep the Warden of the
Fayette County Prison and Crime Victim/Witness Coordi-
nator advised of contact information; failure to do so will
constitute a waiver of any rights to notification under
these provisions.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 98-248. Filed for public inspection February 13, 1998, 9:00 a.m.]

GREENE COUNTY
Consolidated Rules of Court; Amendments to

Rules of Procedure G2 and G211; C.A. No. 5 of
1992

Order

And Now, this 28th day of January, 1998, it is Ordered
that Greene County, Pennsylvania, Local Rule G2: ‘‘Ses-
sions of Court’’ is rescinded and Rule G211: ‘‘Argument
Court,’’ ‘‘subparagraph a’’ is amended as follows; to be
effective thirty (30) days after publication in the Pennsyl-
vania Bulletin.

By the Court
H. TERRY GRIMES,

President Judge

Rule G211: Argument Court.
a. Argument Court shall be held monthly for all divi-

sions at a time and date set by the Court Administrator.
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 98-249. Filed for public inspection February 13, 1998, 9:00 a.m.]

POTTER COUNTY

No. 7 of 1998; Miscellaneous Division

Order
And Now, this 26th day of January 1998, the Court

adopts the following Local Rules 100 A and 100 B, and
direct that they will be processed in accordance with
Pennsylvania Rule of Criminal Procedure No. 6. Both
Rules will be effective 30 days after publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin. In the meantime, however, the
content of said Rules will be enforceable as a general
Order of this Court.
By the Court

JOHN B. LEETE,
President Judge

Rule 100A. Approval of Search Warrant Applica-
tions by Attorney for the Commonwealth.
The District Attorney of Potter County, having filed a

certification pursuant to Rule 2002-A of the Pennsylvania
Rules of Criminal Procedure, search warrants requested
by officers of the Coudersport Borough Police Department
and the Galeton Borough Police Department shall not
hereafter be issued by a judicial officer unless the search
warrant has the approval of an attorney for the Common-
wealth prior to filing.
Rule 100B. Approval of Police Complaints and Ar-

rest Warrant Affidavits by that Attorney for the
Commonwealth.
The District Attorney of Potter County having filed a

Certificate pursuant to Pennsylvania Rule of Criminal
Procedure 107, criminal complaints and arrest warrant
affidavits by police officers of the Borough of Coudersport
Police Department and the Borough of Galeton charging
crimes of Criminal Homicide; Homicide by Motor Vehicles;
Homicide by Motor Vehicle While Driving Under the
Influence of Alcohol; Armed Robbery; Rape; Statutory
Sexual Assault; Involuntary Deviate Sexual Intercourse;
Sexual Assault; Aggravated Indecent Assault; Aggravated
Assault; Felony Offenses Under the Controlled Substance
Drug Devise & Cosmetic Act; or an Attempt Conspiracy or
Solicitation to commit any of these crimes shall not
hereafter by any judicial officer unless the complaint and
affidavit has the approval of the attorney for the Com-
monwealth prior to filing.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 98-250. Filed for public inspection February 13, 1998, 9:00 a.m.]
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