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RULES AND REGULATIONS

Title 31—INSURANCE

INSURANCE DEPARTMENT
[31 PA. CODE CH. 62]
Motor Vehicle Physical Damage Appraisers

The Insurance Department (Department) amends
Chapter 62 (relating to motor vehicle physical damage
appraisers), to read as set forth in Annex A. The Depart-
ment is publishing the amendments as a final-form
rulemaking.

Statutory Authority

The final-form regulations are adopted under the au-
thority of sections 206, 506, 1501 and 1502 of The
Administrative Code of 1929 (71 P. S. 8§ 66, 186, 411 and
412); section 320 of The Insurance Department Act of
1921 (40 P.S. § 443); and the Motor Vehicle Physical
Damage Appraiser Act (act) (63 P. S. §8 851—863).

Comments and Response

A notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 29
Pa.B. 655 (February 6, 1999) with a 30-day comment
period ending March 8, 1999. During the 30-day comment
period, comments were received from Automotive Service
Association (ASA), Automotive Service Professionals of
Pennsylvania (ASP), Michael K. Burke, Crawford's Auto
Center, Inc. (Crawford's), Richard R. Diehl, Engle’'s Frame
& Body Service (Engle’s), Hedlund Glass Company
(Hedlund), The Insurance Federation of Pennsylvania,
Inc. (IFP), Pennsylvania Automotive Recycling Trade Soci-
ety (PARTS), the Pennsylvania Collision Trade Guild
(PCTG), Progressive Insurance Company (Progressive),
D.J. Rudolph, State Farm Insurance Company (State
Farm) and Sterling Autobody (Sterling). During its regu-
latory review, the Independent Regulatory Review Com-
mission (IRRC) submitted comments to the Department.
A separate comment and response document has been
prepared to address these comments and is available
upon request.

Affected Parties

The rulemaking applies to appraisers licensed to do the
business of appraising motor vehicles in this Common-
wealth.

Fiscal Impact
State Government

There will be no increase in cost to the Department due
to the amendments.

General Public
There will be no fiscal impact to the public.
Political Subdivisions

The rulemaking will not impose additional costs on
political subdivisions.

Private Sector

The rulemaking will not impose additional costs on
appraisers doing the business of appraising motor ve-
hicles in this Commonwealth.

Paperwork

The adoption of the rulemaking will not impose addi-
tional paperwork on the Department; however, new dis-
closure requirements will be required of the appraisal
industry.

Effectiveness/Sunset Date

This rulemaking becomes effective upon publication in
the Pennsylvania Bulletin. No sunset date has been
assigned.

Contact Person

Questions regarding this rulemaking should be directed
to Peter J. Salvatore, Regulatory Coordinator, Office of
Special Projects, 1326 Strawberry Square, Harrisburg, PA
17120, (717) 787-4429.

In addition, questions or comments may be e-mailed to
psalvato@ins.state.pa.us or faxed to (717) 705-3873.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)), on February 6, 1999, the Department
submitted a copy of this final-form rulemaking to the
Independent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) and
to the Chairpersons of the Senate Banking and Insurance
Committee and the House Insurance Committee. In addi-
tion to the submitted final-form rulemaking, the Depart-
ment has provided IRRC and the Committees with a copy
of a detailed Regulatory Analysis Form prepared by the
Department in compliance with Executive Order 1996-1,
“Regulatory Review and Promulgation.” A copy of that
material is available to the public upon request.

In preparing this final-form rulemaking, the Depart-
ment considered all comments received from IRRC, the
Committees and the public. This final-form rulemaking
was deemed approved by the Senate and House Commit-
tees on September 13, 1999. In accordance with section
5.1(d) of the Regulatory Review Act (71 P. S. § 745.5a(d)),
IRRC met on September 23, 1999, and approved the
final-form rulemaking in accordance with section 5.1(e) of
the Regulatory Review Act.

Findings
The Commissioner finds that:

(1) Public notice of intention to adopt this rulemaking
as amended by this order has been given under sections
201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968 (P. L. 769, No.
240) (45 P.S. 8§ 1201 and 1202) and the regulations
thereunder, 1 Pa. Code 8§88 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) The adoption of this rulemaking in the manner
provided in this order is necessary and appropriate for
the administration and enforcement of the authorizing
statutes.

Order

The Commissioner, acting under the authorizing stat-
utes, orders that:

(@) The regulations of the Department, 31 Pa. Code
Chapter 62, are amended by amending §§ 62.1—62.3,
and by deleting 8§ 62.4 to read as set forth in Annex A.

(b) The Commissioner shall submit this order and
Annex A to the Office of General Counsel and Office of
Attorney General for approval as to form and legality as
required by law.

(c) The Commissioner shall certify this order and An-
nex A and deposit them with the Legislative Reference
Bureau as required by law.
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(d) The regulations adopted by this order shall take
effect upon final publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

M. DIANE KOKEN,
Insurance Commissioner

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 29 Pa.B. 5357 (October 9, 1999).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 11-149 remains valid for the
final adoption of the subject regulations.

Annex A
TITLE 31. INSURANCE
PART Il. AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE

CHAPTER 62. MOTOR VEHICLE PHYSICAL
DAMAGE APPRAISERS

§ 62.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

Act—The Motor Vehicle Physical Damage Appraiser Act
(63 P. S. 88 851—863).

Aftermarket crash part—A nonoriginal equipment
manufacturer (non-OEM) replacement part, either new or
used, for any of the nonmechanical parts that generally
constitute the exterior of the motor vehicle, including
inner and outer panels.

Appraisal—

(i) A written monetary estimate of physical damage
sustained to a motor vehicle when the making of the
estimate is assigned in order to allow the return of the
vehicle to its predamaged condition.

(if) The term includes estimates made by the insurer,
its employes, its agents or related entities or individuals
or entities assigned to make the estimate.

Appraiser—A natural person in this Commonwealth
who makes appraisals of motor vehicle physical damage.

Commissioner—The Insurance Commissioner of the
Commonwealth.

Consumer—The owner of the motor vehicle which has
sustained damage or the owner’s representative.

Dealer—An individual licensed, active and knowledge-
able in the sale of used motor vehicles similar to that
being appraised.

Insurer—All companies, associations and exchanges en-
gaged in the insurance business of insurance companies
and self-insurers.

Motor vehicle—A motorized device, including a trailer
attached thereto, in, upon or by which a person or
property is or may be transported or drawn upon a public
highway.

Predamaged condition—The function and appearance of
the motor vehicle just prior to when the damage in
question was sustained.

§ 62.2. Experience and fitness requirements for li-
censing.

(a) In addition to the requirements in sections 3, 4, 8
and 11 of the act (63 P. S. 8§ 853, 854, 858 and 861), to
qualify to take the examination required for appraisers,
an applicant shall establish competency to fulfill the
responsibility of being an appraiser.

(1) Competency may be demonstrated by providing
written documentation of one of the following:

(i) A minimum of 6 months continuous experience
within the previous 3 years at an occupation, such as
body repair, that directly involves the estimation of
physical damage to motor vehicles.

(if) Successful completion of education or training re-
lated to appraising motor vehicle physical damage taken
within the previous 3 years.

(2) The applicant shall provide additional information
relating to experience, education or training to the Com-
missioner or a designee upon request.

(b) An application for a license may be denied for any
of the following:

(1) The applicant has provided incorrect, misleading or
incomplete answers to interrogatories on forms incidental
to applying for a license.

(2) The applicant has been denied a license or has had
an existing license revoked, suspended or not renewed by
the Department or a regulatory authority in another
state, territory or possession of the United States, or in
the District of Columbia, or the Canadian provinces.

(3) The applicant does not possess the professional
competence and trustworthiness required to engage in
conducting motor vehicle appraisals.

(4) An applicant has pleaded guilty, entered a plea of
nolo contendere or has been found guilty of a felony in a
court of competent jurisdiction, or has pleaded guilty,
entered a plea of nolo contendere or been found guilty of
criminal conduct which relates to the applicant’s suitabil-
ity to conduct motor vehicle appraisals.

(i) Examples of criminal violations which the Depart-
ment may consider related to the applicant’s suitability to
engage in the business of an appraiser include: unlawful
practices, embezzlement, obtaining money under false
pretenses, conspiracy to defraud, bribery or corrupt influ-
ence, perjury or false swearing, unlicensed activity or a
criminal offense involving moral turpitude or harm to
another.

(if) Examples of violations or incidents which the De-
partment will not consider related to the applicant’s
suitability to engage in the business of an appraiser are
all summary offenses, records of arrests if there is no
conviction of a crime based on the arrest, convictions
which have been annulled or expunged or convictions for
which the applicant has received a pardon from the
Governor.

(5) If applicable, applicants shall also comply with the
insurance-related provisions in sections 320 and 603(a) of
the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of
1994 (18 U.S.C.A. 88 1033 and 1034).

(6) The applicant has unpaid any overdue amounts,
including, fees and civil penalties, owing to the Depart-
ment.

§ 62.3. Applicable standards for appraisal.
(@) The appraisal:

(1) Shall be signed by the appraiser before the ap-
praisal is submitted to the insurer, the consumer or
another involved party. The appraiser may utilize an
electronic signature.

(2) May not use abbreviations or symbols to describe
work to be done or parts to be repaired or replaced unless
an explanation of the abbreviations and symbols is in-
cluded.
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(b) In addition to the requirements in the act, the
appraisal shall contain a written disclosure which in-
cludes the following:

(1) The dollar amount of the appraisal.

(2) A statement that costs above the appraised amount
may be the responsibility of the vehicle owner.

(3) A statement that there is no requirement to use any
specified repair shop.

(4) A statement informing the consumer that informa-
tion regarding repair facilities which will be able to repair
the vehicle for the appraised amount is available from the
insurer. If the consumer receives information from the
insurer, the information shall include disclosure that
there is no requirement to use any specified repair shop.

(5) A description of repairs, known at the time of
appraisal, necessary to return the vehicle to its predam-
aged condition, including labor involved, cost of all parts,
necessary painting or refinishing and all sublet work to
be done.

(6) Incidental charges, known at the time of appraisal,
including towing, protective care, custody, storage, depre-
ciation, battery and tire replacement.

(7) Applicable sales tax.

(8) The date, if any, after which an insurer will not be
responsible for any related towing services or storage
charges, known at the time of appraisal, and after which
the charges will be the responsibility of the consumer.

(9) The location where the listed parts are available in
a condition equivalent to, or better than, the condition of
the replaced parts prior to the accident.

(10) If the appraisal includes aftermarket crash parts,
a statement that the appraisal has been prepared based
on the use of aftermarket crash parts, and that if the use
of an aftermarket crash part voids the existing warranty
on the part being replaced or any other part, the
aftermarket crash part shall have a warranty equal to or
better than the remainder of the existing warranty.

(12) Identification of all aftermarket crash parts and a
definition of aftermarket crash parts consistent with
§ 62.1 (relating to definitions), if these parts are used.

(c) An appraisal for the repair of the motor vehicle
shall be made in the amount necessary to return the
motor vehicle to its predamaged condition. If the con-
sumer wishes to repair the motor vehicle to a condition
better than the predamaged condition, the appraisal need
only specify the cost of repairing the vehicle to its
predamaged condition.

(d) In the appraisal of salvage value, the following
standard shall be used:

(1) If the salvage value of the vehicle being appraised
is known or could reasonably be determined, the ap-
praiser shall disclose to the consumer in writing:

(i) The salvage value.

(i) The provisions of 75 Pa.C.S. § 1117(a) (relating to
vehicle destroyed, dismantled, salvaged or recycled), re-
quiring the filing of an application for certificate of
salvage with the Department of Transportation. See 75
P.S. § 1117.

(iti) Additional charges for towing services or storage
chargeable against the motor vehicle as of the date of the
appraisal.

(2) If the salvage value is listed, the appraiser shall
disclose to the consumer in writing:

(i) The name and address of each salvage bidder.
(i) The amount.
(iii) The expiration date of each salvage bid known.

(3) If the ownership and possession of the damaged
motor vehicle is not retained by the owner or the owner’s
representative, this subsection dealing with salvage value
is inapplicable.

(e) The appraised value of the loss shall be the replace-
ment value of the motor vehicle if the cost of repairing a
motor vehicle exceeds its appraised value less salvage
value, or the motor vehicle cannot be repaired to its
predamaged condition.

(1) Under this subsection, replacement value under the
policy provisions covering the total loss of a motor vehicle
including an unrecovered motor vehicle shall be deter-
mined by one of the following methods:

(i) Guide source method. The appraiser shall calculate
the average of two figures reflecting the retail book value
of a vehicle of like kind and condition, as provided by
guide sources approved by the Commissioner. A listing of
approved guide sources will be published once a year in
the Pennsylvania Bulletin. The appraised value shall be
adjusted for equipment and mileage, less the cost of
repair of damage which preexisted the accident in ques-
tion. No other deductions may be taken except for salvage
and then only if the owner elects to retain the vehicle.

(i) Actual cost method. The appraiser shall determine
the actual cost of purchase of an available motor vehicle
of like kind and quality in condition similar to or better
than the motor vehicle being appraised in its predamaged
condition. The appraiser shall specify, in writing, the
location of the vehicle of like kind and quality.

(iii) Dealer quotation method. The appraiser shall con-
sult with dealers or other persons knowledgeable in the
field to secure quotations as to the value of the motor
vehicle being appraised. At least two quotations shall be
secured. The figures thus secured shall be averaged.

(2) If the motor vehicle is listed in at least two guide
sources approved by the Commissioner, the replacement
value shall be calculated by the guide source method or
by the actual cost method, as described in paragraph
(2)(i) and (ii). If the actual cost method is used, and the
owner of the damaged vehicle shows that the replacement
vehicle is not of the same kind and quality, both calcula-
tions referenced in this paragraph shall be made, and the
higher of the values obtained shall be offered in settle-
ment.

(3) If the motor vehicle is not listed in at least two of
the sources authorized by paragraph (1)(i), or if the
vehicle differs materially from the average vehicle be-
cause of factors not considered in the guide sources, for
example, antique or classic cars, vehicles no longer manu-
factured and unique vehicles, the replacement value shall
be calculated by the actual cost method or by the dealer
guotation method, as described in paragraph (1)(ii) and
(iii). If the dealer quotation method is used, both calcula-
tions referenced in this paragraph shall be made, and the
higher of the values obtained shall be offered in settle-
ment.

(4) Applicable sales tax on the replacement cost of a
motor vehicle shall be included as part of the replacement
value.
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(5) The licensed appraiser’s total loss evaluation report
shall contain the names and addresses of those persons
from whom quotations were secured, the date secured,
and whether or not a similar vehicle was available.

(6) The licensed appraiser’s file shall show the method
used to determine the replacement value in a given
locality.

(7) The appraiser is responsible for ensuring that a
copy of the total loss evaluation report be sent within 5
working days to the consumer by the appraiser after the
appraisal is completed. If a settlement offer is extended
before the consumer receives the total loss evaluation
report, the consumer shall be advised of the total loss
evaluation report's contents and of the consumer’s right
to be sent a copy within 5 days after its completion.

(f) In addition to the requirements in section 11 of the
act (63 P. S. § 861), an appraiser

(1) May not have a conflict of interest in the making of
an appraisal. This chapter and the act, and this section in
particular, shall be strictly interpreted to protect the
interest of the consumer and place the burden upon the
appraiser to eliminate any conflict of interest in the
making of an appraisal.

(2) Shall obtain the consumer’s consent before autho-
rizing the removal of a motor vehicle from one location to
another.

(i) The consent of the consumer is not necessary for
initial removal of the motor vehicle from the scene of an
accident.

(ii) An appraiser authorizing removal of a motor ve-
hicle by a vehicle salvage dealer shall inform the vehicle
salvage dealer in writing that possession is merely for
safe-keeping purposes and that the vehicle salvage dealer
does not have any ownership rights to the motor vehicle,
its parts or accessories, until a certificate of title or
certificate of salvage is received indicating that ownership
has been transferred.

(3) Shall review the appraisal with an authorized
representative of the repair shop which is selected by the
consumer or with any other person reasonably necessary
to demonstrate that the actual costs of repairs are
adequately covered in the appraisal.

(4) May not mention the name of any repair shop,
unless the appraiser includes disclosure that there is no
requirement to use any specified repair shop.

(g) There are no provisions of the act or this chapter
which shall be construed as intended in any way to
prohibit or limit the subsequent appraisal or reappraisal
of damage by different licensed appraisers, if desired by
any of the involved parties.

(h) The penalties for violating provisions of the act and
this chapter are set forth in sections 5, 6 and 9 of the act
(63 P. S. 8§ 855, 856 and 859).

§ 62.4. (Reserved).
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 99-1793. Filed for public inspection October 22, 1999, 9:00 a.m.]

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 29, NO. 43, OCTOBER 23, 1999



