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RULES AND REGULATIONS

Title 31—INSURANCE

INSURANCE DEPARTMENT
[31 PA. CODE CH. 118]
Discounting Medical Malpractice Loss Reserves

The Insurance Department (Department) amends
88 118.1—118.3 and 118.6 to read as set forth in Annex
A.

Statutory Authority

The final-form regulations are adopted under the au-
thority of The Insurance Company Law of 1921 (40 P. S.
88 341—999); The Insurance Department Act of 1921 (40
P. S. 88 1—321); and sections 206, 506, 1501 and 1502 of
The Administrative Code of 1929 (71 P. S. §§ 66, 186, 411
and 412).

Comments and Response

Notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 30
Pa.B. 5452 (October 21, 2000) with a 30-day comment
period. During the 30-day comment period, comments
were received from the Insurance Federation of Pennsyl-
vania, Inc. (IFP) and the Professional Insurance Agents
Association of Pennsylvania, Maryland and Delaware,
Inc. (P1A). During its regulatory review, the Independent
Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) submitted com-
ments to the Department. The following is a response to
those comments.

The IFP supported the rulemaking in its entirety.

The PIA asked how the Department determined that
there would be no fiscal impact. The PIA stated that it
“[. ..] has always understood that the Insurance Depart-
ment has always considered investment income during
the rate review process. This consideration thus reduced
the ultimate rate approved in accordance with the statu-
tory duty of the Commissioner that rates shall not be
excessive, inadequate or unfairly discriminatory. By not
permitting loss reserve discounting, it would appear that
rates would have to be adjusted upward to compensate in
the rate filing. That would produce higher premium rates
to policyholders, however, PIA recognizes that premiums
may remain the same.”

Discounting is a reflection of investment income, which
is one of many factors that insurance companies take into
account in setting rates. As a practical matter, the impact
that discounting may have on insurance rates is a
reflection of a particular insurance company’'s financial
strength. Currently, only one medical malpractice insurer
in this Commonwealth discounts its loss reserves. Be-
cause this company has more than adequate reserves, the
Department does not anticipate that its rates will in-
crease due to the amendments to this rulemaking. The
rulemaking should have no impact on the rates of the
remaining insurance carriers writing medical malpractice
insurance in this Commonwealth because none of these
insurers discount their loss reserves.

In addition, in January 2001, the National Association
of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) required all insurers
to follow the recently adopted Statements of Statutory
Accounting Principles which specifically prohibits dis-
counting of medical malpractice loss reserves unless the
insurer is allowed to do so by statute or regulation or
requests a permitted practice from the Department (or
other regulatory authority). Also, the majority of the

states do not permit discounting of loss reserves. There-
fore, the phase out of discounting in this Commonwealth
should have minimal impact on the insurers engaged in
the business of medical malpractice insurance.

During its 30-day review, IRRC questioned whether an
effective date of January 1, 2001, was feasible, as that
date has passed. IRRC recommended that § 118.3(4)
(relating to restrictions on discounting loss reserves) be
revised to apply prospectively to policies that become
effective after the date of publication of the final-form
regulations.

The Department has no objection to making this
change. Discounting will not be permitted on policies sold
on or after the effective date of the rulemaking.

Affected Parties

The rulemaking applies to insurance companies doing
the business of medical malpractice insurance in this
Commonwealth.

Fiscal Impact
State Government

There will be no increase in cost to the Department due
to the amendment of Chapter 118 (relating to discounting
of medical malpractice loss reserves).

General Public
There will be no fiscal impact to the public.
Political Subdivisions

The rulemaking will not impose additional costs on
political subdivisions.

Private Sector

The rulemaking will not impose additional costs of
insurance companies doing the business of medical mal-
practice insurance in this Commonwealth.

Paperwork

The adoption of the rulemaking will not impose addi-
tional paperwork on the Department or the insurance
industry.

Effectiveness/Sunset Date

This rulemaking becomes effective upon publication in
the Pennsylvania Bulletin. No sunset date has been
assigned.

Contact person

Any questions regarding this rulemaking should be
directed to Peter J. Salvatore, Regulatory Coordinator,
Office of Special Projects, 1326 Strawberry Square, Har-
risburg, PA 17120, (717) 787-4429. In addition, questions
may be e-mailed to psalvatore@state.pa.us or faxed to
(717) 772-1969.

Regulatory review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)), on October 11, 2000, the Department
submitted a copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking,
published at 30 Pa.B. 5452, to IRRC and to the Chairper-
sons of the Senate Committee on Banking and Insurance
and the House Committee on Insurance. In addition to
the submitted regulations, the Department has provided
IRRC and the Committees with a copy of a detailed
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Regulatory Analysis Form prepared by the agency in
compliance with Executive Order 1996-1, “Regulatory
Review and Promulgation.”

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, the
Department also provided IRRC and the Committees with
copies of the comments received. A copy of that material
is available to the public upon request.

Under section 5.1(d) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5a(d)), on May 9, 2001, these final-form
regulations were deemed approved by the House and
Senate Committees. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regula-
tory Review Act, IRRC met on May 17, 2001, and
approved the final-form regulations.

Findings
The Commissioner finds that:

(1) Public notice of intention to adopt this rulemaking
as amended by this order has been given under sections
201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968 (P.L. 769, No.
240) (45 P.S. 88 1201 and 1202) and the regulations
thereunder 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) The adoption of this rulemaking in the manner
provided in this order is necessary and appropriate for
the administration and enforcement of the authorizing
statutes.

Order

The Commissioner, acting under the authorizing stat-
utes, orders that:

(&) The regulations of the Department, 31 Pa. Code
Chapter 118, are amended by amending 8§ 118.1, 118.2
and 118.6 to read as set forth at 30 Pa.B. 5452 and by
amending § 118.3 to read as set forth in Annex A.

(b) The Commissioner shall submit this order, 30 Pa.B.
5452 and Annex A to the Office of General Counsel and
Office of Attorney General for approval as to form and
legality as required by law.

(¢) The Commissioner shall certify this order, 30 Pa.B.
5452 and Annex A and deposit them with the Legislative
Reference Bureau as required by law.

(d) The regulations adopted by this order shall take

effect upon final publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.
DIANE KOKEN,

Insurance Commissioner

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission, relating to this
document, see 31 Pa.B. 2855 (June 2, 2001).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 11-197 remains valid for the
final adoption of the subject regulations.

Annex A
TITLE 31. INSURANCE

PART VII. PROPERTY, FIRE AND CASUALTY
INSURANCE

CHAPTER 118. DISCOUNTING OF MEDICAL
MALPRACTICE LOSS RESERVES

§ 118.3. Restrictions on discounting loss reserves.

The discounting of loss reserves is subject to the
following limitations:

(1) The loss reserves discounted to present value in
accordance with this chapter may not be less than those
required in accordance with section 313(b) of the act (40
P. S. 8 112(b)).

(2) The maximum rate of interest which an insurer
may assume for purposes of discounting is 6%.

(3) An insurer may request an exception to the maxi-
mum interest rate in paragraph (2) if the insurer can
demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Commissioner that
its investment yield justifies a higher interest rate as-
sumption. The Commissioner may require the insurer to
submit additional documentation to support its request
for approval of a higher interest rate assumption. The
Commissioner will act upon requests for exceptions made
under this paragraph within 90 days of the date the
request is received by the Insurance Department.

(4) An insurer may not discount loss reserves or loss
adjustment expense reserves for policies with an effective
date on or after June 16, 2001.

(5) An insurer may not discount loss reserves or loss
adjustment expense reserves after December 31, 2010.
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 01-1039. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2001, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 37—LAW

CORONERS’ EDUCATION BOARD
[37 PA. CODE CH. 199]
Education Requirements

The Coroners’ Education Board (Board), housed in the
Office of Attorney General, by this order adds Chapter
199 (relating to duties of the Coroners’ Education Board)
to read as set forth in Annex A.

This final-form rulemaking was adopted by the Board
at its meetings of January 18, 2000, and November 13,
2000.

A. Effective Date

The rulemaking will be effective upon publication in
the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

B. Contact Persons

For further information contact Andrea F. McKenna,
Senior Deputy Attorney General, Office of Attorney
General, 16th floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg, PA
17120, (717) 787-6348, amckenna@attorneygeneral.gov or
Gwendolyn Casey, Executive Secretary to the Board,
Office of Attorney General, 16th Floor Strawberry Square,
Harrisburg, PA 17120, (717) 783-3014, gcasey@attorney
general.gov.

C. Statutory Authority

Final-form rulemaking is made under authority of
section 6 of the act of March 2, 1988 (P. L. 108, No. 22),
known as the Coroners’ Education Board Law (act) (16
P. S. §§ 9525.1—9525.6) and section 506 of The Adminis-
trative Code of 1929 (71 P. S. § 186).

D. Background and Purpose

Final-form rulemaking regulates the duties of the
Board as set forth in the act to establish a course of
instruction to be given to coroners upon first election to
office as well as to chief deputy and full-time deputy
coroners; to prepare a written examination to be given at
the conclusion of each course of instruction; to set tuition
for the courses of instruction; to determine what offerings
qualify for continuing education requirements; and to
notify the Governor or the appropriate county officer
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when persons bound by the act fail to comply with its
requirements. These regulations codify existing practices
of the Board in carrying out its statutory duties and
provides guidance to coroners and their deputies bound
by the provisions of the act.

E. Summary of Regulatory Requirements and Changes
from Proposed to Final

These regulations are the first regulations promulgated
by the Coroners’ Education Board. A summary of final-
form rulemaking follows:

Chapter 199. Coroners’ Education Board
§ 199.1. Definitions.

Section 199.1 defines terms used as words of art in the
regulation of activities of the Board, namely: “act,” “Basic
Education Course,” “Board,” “certification,” “continuing
education,” “examination,” “full-time deputy coroner” and
“just-cause.” Final rulemaking enlarges the definition of
“just-cause” to include “instances when an appointment to
fill a vacancy occurs prior to the next scheduled Basic
Education Course.”

§ 199.2. Application of act.

Section 191.2 designates the categories of persons sub-
ject to final-form rulemaking.

§ 199.3. Appeal.

Final-form rulemaking adds § 199.3 which provides
that any coroner or deputy aggrieved by a decision of the
Board has the right to appeal according to the provisions
of 2 Pa.C.S. (relating to administrative law and proce-
dure).

§ 199.11. Board chairperson.

This provision establishes how and when the Board will
elect its chairperson.

§ 199.12. Temporary chairperson.

This section describes the process by which a temporary
chairperson will be selected in the absence of the elected
chairperson. Final-form rulemaking clarifies that ap-
proval of the temporary chairperson is to come from the
majority of Board members present.

§ 199.13. Meeting schedule.

This provision establishes the number of times the
Board will meet yearly and establishes when the annual
meeting schedule is to be set.

§ 199.21. General requirement.

This section addresses the general requirement that all
newly elected coroners and newly appointed chief deputy
and full-time deputy coroners attend the Basic Education
Course and pass the examination. The provision states
the minimum hours of necessary instruction and the time
period in which the course will be offered. Final-form
rulemaking includes forensic autopsies among the topics
to be included in the course of instruction.

§ 199.22. Basic education costs.

Final-form rulemaking adds this section which provides
that costs for persons statutorily required to take the
Basic Education Course are to be the minimum necessary
to pay the cost of instruction and room and board and
provides that a list of cost options to attend the Basic
Education Course will be available from the Board.

§ 199.23. Postponement for just cause.

This provision establishes that the Board has discretion
to determine “just cause” to postpone compliance with any

provision of the act and establishes a time frame in which
persons seeking an exemption must initiate contact with
the Board.

§ 199.24. Exemption for qualified forensic pathologist.

This section derives from the Board's statutory author-
ity to exempt persons otherwise required to take the
Basic Education Course who are physicians licensed and
certified in this Commonwealth. This section sets stan-
dards for the exercise of that discretion.

§ 199.25. Exemptions for licensed professionals.

Taking into account comments informally received from
several physicians, and mindful of the specialized knowl-
edge required of coroners, this section establishes that no
licensed professionals, other than licensed forensic pa-
thologists, will be eligible for exemption from the require-
ment of attending the Basic Education Course and pass-
ing the examination.

§ 199.26. Eligibility for certification.

This provision addresses certification of both persons
statutorily required to take the Basic Education Course
and pass the examination and also persons who take the
course voluntarily.

§ 199.27. Failure of coroner to attend Basic Education
Course or to pass examination.

This section addresses the notification duties of the
Board when a person elected for the first time to the
office of coroner fails to attend the Basic Education
Course and pass the examination.

§ 199.28. Failure of chief deputy coroner to attend Basic
Education Course or to pass examination.

This provision addresses the notification duties of the
Board when a chief deputy coroner or full-time deputy
coroner fails to attend the Basic Education Course and
pass the examination.

§ 199.30. Appointments made more than 6 months prior
to course.

Section 199.30 addresses procedures for meeting basic
education requirements when an appointment to office is
made more than 6 months prior to the next scheduled
Basic Education Course.

§ 199.41. Continuing education.

This provision relates to the statutory requirement that
coroners and deputy coroners obtain a minimum of 8
hours of continuing education credits in each calendar
year. Final-form rulemaking adds the directive that con-
tinuing education credits be obtained in subject areas
relevant to the statutorily defined duties of coroners and
deputy coroners.

§ 199.42. Approval of course for continuing education
credit.

This provision sets out the procedure for obtaining
approval of a course for continuing education. Final-form
rulemaking changes the period in which approval must be
sought from 3 months to 90 days prior to the date of
instruction.

§ 199.43. Standards for course approval.

This provision establishes criteria to guide the Board's
discretion in approving a course for continuing education
credit. Final-form rulemaking enlarges the criteria to
include the education and relevant experience of the
course instructors.
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§ 199.44. Approval by chairperson.

Section 199.30 permits the Board chairperson to ap-
prove courses for continuing education credit subject to
ratification by the Board.

§ 199.45. Board ratification.

This section sets the schedule for Board ratification of
the chairperson’s approval of courses for continuing edu-
cation credit.

§ 199.46. Approval by simple majority.

This provision establishes the required vote for Board
ratification of the chairperson’s approval of a course for
continuing education credit.

§ 199.47. Unit of credit.

This section establishes what shall constitute a unit of
continuing education credit, limits the amount of continu-
ing education credit available in a calendar year and
establishes the amount of continuing education credit to
be awarded teachers of approved course.

§ 199.48. Continuing education for persons required to
attend Basic Education Course.

This provision states continuing education require-
ments for newly elected and newly appointed coroners
and deputies.

§ 199.49. Failure of coroner to meet continuing education
requirements.

This provision states the action the Board will take in
the event a coroner fails to meet yearly continuing
education requirements.

§ 199.50. Failure of chief deputy coroner or full-time
deputy coroner to meet continuing education require-
ments.

This provision states the action the Board will take in
the event a chief deputy coroner or full-time deputy
coroner fails to meet yearly continuing education require-
ments.

§ 199.61. Statement of Board approval.

This section informs continuing education course pro-
viders of the need to have written authorization from the
Board prior to representing that the course offering is
approved for continuing education credit.

§ 199.62. \erification of attendance.

The provision informs continuing education providers of
recordkeeping and notification requirements.

§ 199.63. Certificate of attendance.

This section informs continuing education providers of
requirements pertaining to certification of attendance.

§ 199.64. Notification to Board.

This provision informs course providers of requirements
for reporting attendance and credit hours to the Board.

§ 199.71. Board to maintain current list.

This section states the Board will keep a list of all
currently elected coroners.

§ 199.72. Coroners’ duty to notify Board.

This provision informs coroners of the responsibility to
provide the Board with the names of all chief deputy
coroners and full-time deputy coroners. Final-form rule-
making clarifies the relevant time period from 1 month to
30 days following appointment.

F. Summary of Comments and Responses on the Proposed
Rulemaking

Notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 30
Pa.B. 1871 (April 8, 2000). The Board received comments
only from the Independent Regulatory Review Commis-
sion (IRRC). All comments submitted to the Board were
duly considered and final-form rulemaking was revised to
reflect the commentators’ suggestions or objections on the
proposal.

The comments from IRRC focused on clarity of lan-
guage and consistency with the enabling statutes. The
Board, accordingly, made revisions in final-form rule-
making to comport with the suggestions of the IRRC. For
example, the Board has stricken proposed regulations
attaching consequences for failure to meet continuing
education requirements. This change was made because
there is no statutory authority for creating those conse-
guences. At the direction of IRRC, the Board has
amended the proposed rulemaking to include notice of the
right to appeal decisions of the Board in accordance with
provisions of administrative law and procedure. In re-
sponse to IRRC, the Board has included a proposed
regulation pertaining to the fixing of costs for those
statutorily required to attend the Basic Education Course.
Final-form rulemaking includes a more complete descrip-
tion of the Basic Education Course curriculum and more
fully describes standards for Board approval of courses
proposed for continuing education credit.

G. Benefits and Costs

Executive Order 1996-1 requires a cost/benefit analysis
of the final-form regulations.

(1) Benefits

In accordance with Executive Order 1996-1, Regulatory
Review and Promulgation, the Board has sought in
final-form rulemaking to achieve clear and, where pos-
sible, nontechnical language. Likewise, it has reviewed
and incorporated comments pertaining to clarity of lan-
guage received from IRRC.

(2) Costs

The final-form regulations will impose no new costs on
the private sector or on the general public.

(3) Paperwork requirements
The final-form regulations will not increase paperwork.
H. Sunset Date

The Board will continuously monitor its regulations;
therefore, no sunset date has been assigned.

I. Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. 8 745.5(a)), on March 23, 2000, the Board submitted
a copy of the proposed rulemaking, published at 30 Pa.B.
1871, to IRRC, the Office of the Budget and the chairper-
sons of the House and Senate Judiciary Committees. The
Board was later notified that the Senate Local Govern-
ment Committee was to receive proposed rulemaking, in
lieu of the Senate Judiciary Committee. This over-sight
was corrected and a copy of the proposed rulemaking
submitted to the Chairperson of the Senate Local Govern-
ment Committee in June of 2000. IRRC issued written
comments on July 24, 2000.

In preparing the final-form regulations, the Board has
considered all comments received from the Commission.
Neither the Committees nor the public provided com-
ments on the proposed rulemaking.
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Under section 5.1(d) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5a(d)), on April 23, 2001, these final-form
regulations were deemed approved by the House and
Senate Committees. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regula-
tory Review Act, IRRC met on May 3, 2001, and approved
the final-form regulations.

J. Findings
The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given
under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P. S. 88 1201 and 1202) and the
regulations promulgated thereunder in 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1
and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered.

(3) These amendments to proposed rulemaking do not

enlarge the purpose of proposed rulemaking published at
30 Pa. B. 1871.

(4) These regulations are necessary and appropriate for
administration and enforcement of the authorizing acts
identified in Part C of this order.

L. Order of the Board

The Board, acting under its authorizing statutes, orders
that:

(@) Title 37 of the Pa. Code is amended by adding
8§ 199.1—199.3, 199.11—199.13, 199.21—199.30,
199.41—199.51, 199.61—199.64, 199.71 and 199.72 to
read as set forth in Annex A.

(b) The Board shall submit this order and Annex A to
the Office of Attorney General as required by law.

(¢) The Board shall certify this order and Annex A and
deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bureau as
required by law.

(d) The order shall take effect on publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.

MICHAEL L. NORRIS,
Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: The addition of §§ 199.3 and 199.30
were not included in the proposal at 30 Pa.B. 1871. The
proposal to add § 199.52 has been withdrawn by the
Board. For the text of the order of the Independent
Regulatory Review Commission, relating to this docu-
ment, see 31 Pa.B. 2641 (May 19, 2001).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 59-7 remains valid for the
final adoption of the subject regulations.
Annex A
TITLE 37. LAW
PART IIl. AGENCIES AND OFFICES
Subpart M. CORONERS
CHAPTER 199. CORONERS’' EDUCATION BOARD
GENERAL

Sec.

199.1. Definitions.

199.2. Application of act.
199.3. Appeal procedure.

ORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD

199.11. Board chairperson.
199.12.  Temporary chairperson.
199.13.  Meeting schedule.

BASIC EDUCATION COURSE

199.21.  General requirement.
199.22. Basic Education Course costs.

199.23.  Postponement for just cause.

199.24.  Exemption for qualified forensic pathologists.

199.25.  Exemptions for licensed professionals.

199.26.  Eligibility for certification.

199.27.  Failure of coroner to attend Basic Education Course or to pass
examination.

199.28.  Failure of chief deputy coroner or full-time deputy coroner to
attend Basic Education Course or pass examination.

199.29.  Appointees’ basic education requirement.

199.30.  Appointments made more than 6 months prior to course.

CONTINUING EDUCATION

199.41.  Continuing education.

199.42.  Approval of course for continuing education credit.

199.43.  Standards for course approval.

199.44.  Approval by chairperson.

199.45.  Board ratification.

199.46.  Approval by simple majority.

199.47.  Unit of credit.

199.48. Continuing education for persons required to attend Basic
Education Course.

199.49.  Failure of coroner to meet continuing education requirements.

199.50.  Failure of chief deputy coroner or full-timer deputy coroner to
meet continuing education requirements.

199.51. Requirements for reappointees to vacancies.

RESPONSIBILITY OF EDUCATION PROVIDERS

199.61.  Statement of Board approval.
199.62.  \Verification of attendance.
199.63.  Certificate of attendance.
199.64.  Notification to Board.

REGISTRATION OF CORONERS AND DEPUTIES

199.71. Board to maintain current list.
199.72.  Coroners’ duty to notify Board.

GENERAL
§ 199.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

Act—The Act of March 2, 1988 (P. L. No. 1988—No. 22)
(16 P. S. 8§ 9525.1—9525.6).

Basic Education Course—The course of instruction re-
quired by the act to be given to coroners upon their first
election to office and to chief deputy and full-time deputy
coroners upon first being appointed to either position.

Board—The Coroners’ Education Board.

Certification—Documentation issued by the Board indi-
cating that education requirements have been met.

Continuing education—Yearly educational requirement
mandated by the act for every coroner, chief deputy
coroner and full-time deputy coroner.

Examination—The examination given at the conclusion
of the Basic Education Course.

Full-time deputy coroner—An individual employed by a
county and deemed by the county to be “full-time.”

Just-cause—Instances such as job-related emergencies,
or illness or accident suffered either by a person required
to meet basic education requirements or by the person’s
immediate family or death of the person’s immediate
family member or in instances when an appointment to
fill a vacancy occurs prior to the next scheduled Basic
Education Course.

§ 199.2. Application of act.

Coroners, whether elected or appointed, and their depu-
ties, are subject to the act and of this chapter.

§ 199.3. Appeal procedure.

A coroner or deputy aggrieved by a decision of the
Board has the right to appeal in accordance with 2
Pa.C.S. (relating to administrative law and procedure).
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ORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD
§ 199.11. Board chairperson.

The Board members will elect a chairperson from the
Board membership at the first regularly scheduled meet-
ing of each calendar year.

§ 199.12. Temporary chairperson.

In the absence of the elected chairperson, any Board
member may serve as temporary chairperson with the
approval of a majority of the Board members present.

§ 199.13. Meeting schedule.

The Board will schedule six regular meetings per
calendar year, with the meeting dates to be set at or
before the first meeting of the calendar year.

BASIC EDUCATION COURSE
§ 199.21. General requirement.

Newly elected coroners and newly appointed chief
deputy and full-time deputy coroners shall attend the
Basic Education Course and pass the examination.

(1) The Basic Education Course is a minimum 32 hours
of instruction given between the date of each municipal
election and December 31 of that year.

(2) The course of instruction includes subjects such
crime-scene investigation, toxicology, forensic autopsies
and the legal duties of a coroner.

(3) A written examination is given at the conclusion of
the course.

§ 199.22. Basic Education Course costs.

Costs for those persons statutorily required to attend
the Basic Education Course will be the minimum neces-
sary to pay the cost of instruction, required course
materials, and room and board. A schedule of cost options
to attend the Basic Education Course is available upon
request from the Board.

§ 199.23. Postponement for just cause.

The determination of the existence of just cause to
postpone attendance at the Basic Education Course or
completion of the examination, will be at the discretion of
the Board. The person seeking exemption bears the
responsibility of initiating contact with the Board within
30 days of the event asserted as just cause.

§ 199.24. Exemption for qualified forensic patholo-
gists.

A licensed forensic pathologist may be exempt from the
requirement of attendance at the Basic Education Course
and completion of the examination. The Board will deter-
mine eligibility for exemption. Based upon the applicant’s
ability to demonstrate active, current involvement in the
practice of forensic pathology.

§ 199.25. Exemptions for licensed professionals.

With the exception of § 199.23 (relating to exemption
for qualified forensic pathologists), exemptions from
§ 199.21 (relating to general requirement) will not be
permitted based on other types of education or experi-
ence.

§ 199.26. Eligibility for certification.

(a) Persons statutorily required to complete the Basic
Education Course and pass the examination will receive
certification from the Board.

(b) Persons who are under no statutory obligation to do
so, but who register for the Basic Education Course

through the Board, attend the course and pass the
examination, will receive certification. Certification will
expire in 1 year, unless the Board receives evidence of
yearly compliance with the continuing education require-
ment.

§ 199.27. Failure of coroner to attend Basic Educa-
tion Course or to pass examination.

When a person elected for the first time to the office of
coroner fails to attend the Basic Education Course and
pass the examination, the Board will notify the Governor,
following the last Board meeting of the year, unless the
Board has postponed compliance for just cause.

§ 199.28. Failure of chief deputy coroner or full-
time deputy coroner to attend Basic Education
Course or pass examination.

When a chief deputy coroner or full-time deputy coroner
fails to attend the Basic Education Course and pass the
examination, the Board will notify the coroner of the
appropriate county and the county commissioners or
county executive, as appropriate, unless the Board has
postponed compliance for just cause. The notification will
be made in writing within 30 days of the examination.

§ 199.29. Appointees’ basic education requirement.

A person appointed to fill a vacancy in the office of
coroner who has never taken the Basic Education Course
and passed the examination shall attend the next sched-
uled course and pass the examination given at its conclu-
sion. The failure to meet the basic education requirement
will result in a vacancy in the office.

§ 199.30. Appointments made more than 6 months
prior to course.

When a chief deputy coroner or full-time deputy is
appointed more than 6 months before the next scheduled
Basic Education Course, the coroner making the appoint-
ment shall apply to the Board for an extension of time in
which the deputy may take the required course.

CONTINUING EDUCATION
§ 199.41. Continuing education.

Coroners and deputy coroners are required to obtain a
minimum of 8 hours of continuing education credits in
each calendar year. Continuing education credits are to be
obtained in subject areas relevant to the statutorily
defined duties of coroners and deputy coroners.

§ 199.42. Approval of course for continuing educa-
tion credit.

Persons seeking to have a course approved for continu-
ing education credit shall submit a course approval
application form to the chairperson of the Board at least
90 days prior to the date of instruction. Approval will not
be given retroactively.

§ 199.43. Standards for course approval.

In evaluating the suitability of a course proposed for
continuing education credit, the chairperson and the
Board shall consider factors such as the relevancy of the
course content to the duties of the coroner and the
qualifications of the course instructors, including educa-
tion and experience in the subject matter of the course.

§ 199.44. Approval by chairperson.

The chairperson of the Board has the right to approve
courses for continuing education credits subject to ratifi-
cation by the Board.
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§ 199.45. Board ratification.

Continuing education courses approved by the chairper-
son of the Board will be proposed for Board ratification at
the next regularly scheduled Board meeting.

§ 199.46. Approval by simple majority.

Concurrence by a simple majority of the Board is
needed to ratify the chairperson’s approval of a course for
continuing education.

§ 199.47. Unit of credit.

(a) Attendees at approved continuing education courses
will be granted 1 hour of continuing education credit for 1
hour of instruction. Credit in excess of 8 hours will not be
given.

(b) Teachers at an approved continuing education
course will be granted 1 hour of continuing education
credit for each hour of instruction. Credit in excess of 8
hours will not be given.

§ 199.48. Continuing education for persons re-
quired to attend Basic Education Course.

Within the first year of election or appointment, per-
sons required to complete the Basic Education Course
shall also obtain 8 hours of continuing education.

§ 199.49. Failure of coroner to meet continuing
education requirements.

When a person holding the office of coroner fails to
meet yearly continuing education requirements, the
Board will notify the Governor, in writing, following the
last Board meeting of the calendar year.

§ 199.50. Failure of chief deputy coroner or full-
time deputy coroner to meet continuing educa-
tion requirements.

When a chief deputy coroner or full-time deputy coroner
fails to meet yearly continuing education requirements,
the Board will notify the coroner of the proper county and
the county commissioners or county executive, as appro-
priate. The notification will be made in writing following
the last Board meeting of the year.

§ 199.51. Requirements for reappointees to vacan-
cies.

If a coroner reappoints a chief deputy or full-time
deputy to a vacancy created by that individual’s failure to
meet the yearly continuing education requirement, the
Board will deem that individual to be newly appointed
and subject to § 199.21 (relating to general requirement).

RESPONSIBILITY OF EDUCATION PROVIDERS
§ 199.61. Statement of Board approval.

Course providers may not represent that a course has
been approved for continuing education requirements
unless written authorization has been received from the
Board.

§ 199.62. Verification of attendance.

Course providers are responsible for taking attendance,
verifying attendance upon Board request and notifying
course attendees of approved hours of credit.

§ 199.63. Certificate of attendance.

Course providers are responsible for providing a written
certificate of attendance to the attendee indicating course

title and date, the name of course provider and the
number of hours of approved credit earned.

§ 199.64. Notification to Board.

Course providers shall submit to the Board a list of all
course attendees with the number of credit hours earned,
within 60 days of completion of the course.

REGISTRATION OF CORONERS AND DEPUTIES
§ 199.71. Board to maintain current list.

The Board will maintain a list of all currently elected
coroners.

§ 199.72. Coroners’ duty to notify Board.

Coroners shall provide the Board with the names of all
chief deputy coroners and full-time deputy coroners
within 30 days of their appointment. Coroners shall notify
the Board within 30 days of the departure of chief deputy
and full-time deputy coroners. Notification shall be made
in writing addressed to Chairperson, Coroners’ Education
Board, c/o Office of Attorney General, 16th Floor Straw-
berry Square, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 01-1040. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2001, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 55—PUBLIC WELFARE

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WELFARE
[55 PA. CODE CHS. 140 AND 178]

Special MA Eligibility Provisions; Resource Provi-
sions for Categorically Needy NMP-MA and
MNO-MA

The Department of Public Welfare (Department), by
this order, adopts the amendments to read as set forth in
Annex A under the authority of sections 201(2) and 403(b)
of the Public Welfare Code (act) (62 P. S. 88 201(2) and
403(b)) which, respectively, authorize the Department to
promulgate regulations which will increase Federal fund-
ing in joint State/Federal welfare programs and delegate
to the Department the power to adopt regulations setting
rules and standards for eligibility for welfare programs. A
notice of rule change (NORC) was published at 23 Pa.B.
2878 (June 19, 1993) effective June 1, 1993.

Notice of proposed rulemaking is omitted in accordance
with section 204(1)(iv) of the act of July 31, 1968 (P. L.
769, No. 240) (45 P.S. § 1204(1)(iv)), known as the
Commonwealth Documents Law (CDL) and 1 Pa. Code
§ 7.4(1)(iv) (relating to omission of notice of proposed
rulemaking) because the administrative regulations relate
to Commonwealth grants and benefits. Additionally, no-
tice of proposed rulemaking is omitted for good cause as
unnecessary, under section 204(3) of the CDL and 1
Pa. Code § 7.4(3) because these regulations eliminate the
resource standards when determining Medical Assistance
(MA) eligibility for low-income children under 21 years of
age and low-income families with children under 21 years
of age. Notice of proposed rulemaking is omitted as
impracticable because these amendments are already in
effect and issuance of proposed rulemaking would unnec-
essarily delay this beneficial policy. These amendments
have been implemented under the NORC effective June 1,
1993, and no public comments have been received by the
Department.
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Section 1902(r)(2) of the Social Security Act (42
U.S.C.A. 8§ 1396(r)(2)) permits states to adopt a less
restrictive methodology for the Federally-funded catego-
ries of MA when determining resource eligibility. The
Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA) approved
the Commonwealth’s amendment to its Title XIX Medic-
aid State Plan based on a less restrictive resource
methodology. The amendment applies to the Federally-
funded categories of MA and will also be applied to the
General Assistance (GA)-related MA categories with chil-
dren under 21.

Purpose

The purpose of these amendments is to eliminate the
resource standards used when determining MA eligibility
for low-income children under 21 years of age and
low-income families with children under 21 years of age.
By applying a uniform standard, the MA application and
eligibility determination process will be simplified. A
child’s immediate family includes the child, the biological
or adoptive parent of the child under 21 years of age, the
spouse of the parent, the child’s relatives under 21 years
of age and includes the brother, sister, step-brother,
step-sister, half-brother or half-sister who are under 21
years of age who also live with this child. The resource
exclusion also applies to the resources of a caretaker with
whom the child is living if the caretaker is not an
immediate family member and is exercising care and
control of the child under 21 years of age.

Background

The elimination of the different resource standards
used in the MA eligibility determination process assures
that all low-income children under 21 years of age and
low-income families with children under 21 years of age
will be treated in an equitable manner.

Need for Amendments

These amendments are needed to codify into the De-
partment’s regulations the Medicaid State Plan Amend-
ment approved by HCFA and implemented by the Depart-
ment by the NORC published at 23 Pa.B. 2878 effective
June 1, 1993. The codification of the less restrictive
resource methodology for MA eligibility determinations
for low-income children and their families assures the
continued access of Federal funding.

Summary of Amendments
A. Definition (88 140.2, 140.202 and 178.2)

The term “immediate family” is added to these sections
and is defined as the child, the biological or adoptive
parent of a child under 21 years of age, the spouse of the
parent and the brother, sister, step-brother, step-sister,
half-brother or half-sister who are under 21 years of age
and who are living together.

B. Resources of Children Under 21 years of age and
Families with Children Under 21 years of age
(8 140.100)

This section is added to specify that the resources of
the Healthy Beginnings child under 21 years of age and
the Healthy Beginnings applicant/recipient with children
under 21 years of age are excluded. The resource exclu-
sion also applies to the resources of a caretaker with
whom the child is living if the caretaker is not an

immediate family member and is exercising care and
control of the child under age 21 years of age.

C. Resources of Children Under 21 years of age and
Families with Children Under 21 vyears of age
(8 140.305)

This section is added to specify that the resources of
the Healthy Horizons child under 21 years of age and the
Healthy Horizons applicant/recipient with children under
21 years of age are excluded. The resource exclusion also
applies to the resources of a caretaker with whom the
child is living if the caretaker is not an immediate family
member and is exercising care and control of the child
under age 21 years of age.

D. Resources of Children Under 21 years of age and
Families with Children Under 21 vyears of age
(8 178.84)

This section is added to specify that the resources of
the blind and disabled Supplemental Security Income
(SSl)-related child under 21 years of age and the aged,
blind and disabled SSl-related applicant/recipient with
children under 21 years of age are excluded when deter-
mining MA resource eligibility for Categorically Needy
Nonmoney Payment (NMP) and Medically Needy Only
(MNO) MA. The resource exclusion also applies to the
resources of a caretaker with whom the child is living if
the caretaker is not an immediate family member and is
exercising care and control of the child under 21 years of
age.

E. Resources of Children Under 21 years of age and
Families with Children Under 21 vyears of age
(8 178.163)

This section is added to specify that the resources of
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) and
GA-related children under 21 years of age and TANF-
related and GA-related families with children under 21
years of age are excluded when determining resource
eligibility for NMP and MNO-MA. The resource exclusion
also applies to the resources of a caretaker with whom
the child is living if the caretaker is not an immediate
family member and is exercising care and control of the
child under age 21 years of age.

Affected Persons and Organizations

These regulations apply to children under 21 years of
age and immediate families with children under 21 years
of age who are applying for, or receiving, MA. The
regulations also exclude the resources of a caretaker with
whom the child is living if the caretaker is not an
immediate family member and is exercising care and
control of the child under age 21 years of age.

Accomplishments/Benefits

These regulations will have a positive benefit for all
low-income children under 21 years of age and families
with children under 21 years of age who have, or receive,
resources. The regulations will also benefit the caretaker
who exercises care and control of a child.

Fiscal Impact
Commonwealth:

This change in requirements is effective retroactive to
June 1, 1993, and is estimated to cost the Department
$9.515 million ($4.408 million in State funds) during
Fiscal Year 1998-1999. However, since this policy change
was procedurally implemented on June 1, 1993, these
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increased costs are implicitly included in the Depart-
ment’s budget projections for Fiscal Year 1998-1999.

Public Sector:

There will be no costs or savings incurred by the public
sector.

Private Sector:

There will be no costs or savings incurred by the
private sector.

Paperwork Requirements

These regulations require no additional forms or re-
ports.

Effective Date

Upon publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin, these
regulations are effective as final rulemaking retroactive
to June 1, 1993.

Sunset Date

No sunset date is applicable. The Department continu-
ously reviews the MA Program and regulations through
the Federally-monitored Quality Control process. HCFA
staff conduct audits periodically on specific aspects of the
MA Program.

Public Comments

Although these regulations are being adopted without
prior notice, interested persons are invited to submit
written comments within 30 days from the date of this
publication for consideration by the Department as to
whether the regulations should be revised. Comments
should be sent to the Department of Public Welfare,
Edward J. Zogby, Acting Director, Bureau of Policy, Room
431, Health and Welfare Building, Harrisburg, PA 17120,
(717) 787-4081.

Persons with a disability may use the AT&T Relay
Service by calling (800) 654-5984 (TDD users) or (800)
654-5886 (Voice users).

Regulatory Review Act

Under section 5.1(c) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. 88 745.5a(c)), on April 25, 2001, the Department
submitted copies of these final-omitted regulations to the
Independent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) and
to the Chairpersons of the House Committee on Health
and Human Services and the Senate Committee on Public
Health and Welfare. On the same date, the final-omitted
regulations were submitted to the Office of the Attorney
General for review and approval under the Common-
wealth Attorneys Act (71 P. S. §§ 732-101—732-506).

Under section 5.1(d) of the Regulatory Review Act, on
May 15, 2001, these final-omitted regulations were
deemed approved by the House and Senate Committees.
Under section 5.1(e) of the Regulatory Review Act, on
May 17, 2001, IRRC met and approved the final-omitted
regulations.

Findings
The Department finds that:

(1) Public notice of intention to amend the administra-
tive regulations amended by this order is omitted in
accordance with section 204(1)(iv) of the CDL and 1
Pa. Code § 7.4(1)(iv) because administrative regulations
relate to Commonwealth grants and benefits. Addition-
ally, the procedures in sections 201 and 202 of the CDL
(45 P.S. 88 1201 and 1202) are unnecessary because
these amendments eliminate the resource standards
when determining MA eligibility for low-income children

under 21 years of age and low-income families with
children under 21 years of age. These amendments are
based on the HCFA's approval of an amendment to the
Commonwealth’s Title XIX Medicaid State Plan excluding
from the eligibility determination process, the resources
of low-income children under 21 years of age and low-
income families with children under 21 years of age.
Furthermore, notice of proposed rulemaking is omitted as
impracticable because these amendments are already in
effect and issuance of proposed rulemaking would unnec-
essarily delay this beneficial policy. These amendments
have been implemented under a NORC effective June 1,
1993, and no public comments have been received by the
Department.

(2) The adoption of these amendments in the manner
provided in this order is necessary and appropriate for
the administration and enforcement of the act.

Order
The Department, acting under the act, orders that:

(@) The regulations of the Department, 55 Pa. Code
Chapters 140 and 178, are amended by amending
8§ 140.2, 140.202 and 178.2 and by adding 8§ 140.100,
140.305, 178.84 and 178.163 to read as set forth in Annex
A, with ellipses referring to the existing text of the
regulations.

(b) The Secretary of the Department shall submit this
order and Annex A to the Office of Attorney General and
the Office of General Counsel for approval as to legality
and form as required by law.

(c) The Secretary of the Department shall certify this
order and Annex A and deposit them with the Legislative
Reference Bureau as required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect upon publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin and apply retroactively to June 1,
1993.

FEATHER O. HOUSTOUN,
Secretary

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission, relating to this
document, see 31 Pa.B. 2855 (June 2, 2001).)

Fiscal Note: 14-449. (1) General Fund;
MA—OQutpatient MA—Inpatient

(2) Implementing $1.283 million  $3.125 million
Year 1998-99 is

(3) 1st Succeeding $1.445 million  $3.522 million
Year 1999-00 is

2nd Succeeding Year $1.663 million  $3.978 million
2000-01 is

3rd Succeeding Year  $1.845 million  $4.495 million
2001-02 is

4th Succeeding Year  $2.085 million  $5.079 million
2002-03 is

5th Succeeding Year  $2.356 million  $5.739 million
2003-04 is

MA—Outpatient MA—Inpatient

1997-98 $792 million $452 million
1996-97 $799 million $437 million
1995-96 $663 million $428 million

(8) recommends adoption. Funds are included in the
1998-99 budget for this purpose.
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Annex A
TITLE 55. PUBLIC WELFARE
PART Il. PUBLIC ASSISTANCE MANUAL
Subpart C. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

CHAPTER 140. SPECIAL MA ELIGIBILITY
PROVISIONS

Subchapter A. THE CATEGORICALLY NEEDY
HEALTHY BEGINNINGS PROGRAM FOR
PREGNANT WOMEN AND QUALIFIED CHILDREN

GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 140.2. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

Applicant—A pregnant woman or qualified child, or an
individual applying on their behalf.

Budget group—A pregnant woman or qualified child.

Earned income—Money or other compensation received
in return for services rendered.

Emancipated—An individual, under the age of 19,
whether residing in or out of the parental household, who
is no longer under the care and control of the parent.

Family—Parents, spouses and their children under the
age of 21, when living together.

Immediate family—The child, the biological or adoptive
parent of a child under 21 years of age, the spouse of the
parent, and the brother, sister, step-brother, step-sister,
half-brother or half-sister who are under 21 years of age.
The immediate family members must be living together.

LRR—Legally Responsible Relative—The spouse of a
pregnant woman, or the biological or adoptive parent of
an unemancipated child under the age of 19.

Nonrecurring income—Income that is received in a
single payment and not expected to continue.

Qualified child—A child who meets the age standards
in section 1902 of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C.A. §
1396a).

Qualified provider—An MA provider designated by the
Department for the purpose of determining presumptive
eligibility.

Restricted income—Income limited by the payer for the
use of a specified person.

Unearned income—Money or other compensation re-
ceived for which a service is not rendered.

RESOURCE EXCLUSIONS

§ 140.100. Resources of children under 21 years of
age and families with children under 21 years of
age.

The resources of the Healthy Beginnings child under 21
years of age and the Healthy Beginnings applicant/
recipient immediate families with children under 21 years
of age are excluded. If the child who is under 21 years of
age is living with a caretaker who is not immediate
family as defined in § 140.2 (relating to definitions) and
who exercises care and control of the child, the resources
of the caretaker are excluded.

Subchapter B. ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS FOR
THE HEALTHY HORIZONS PROGRAM FOR THE
ELDERLY/DISABLED

GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 140.202. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
subchapter, have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

Applicant/recipient—A person who is applying for, or
receiving, benefits under the Healthy Horizons Program.

Calendar quarter—A period of 3-full calendar months
beginning with January, April, July or October.

Countable net income—Income counted in determining
income eligibility for Healthy Horizons, less appropriate
exemptions, deductions and disregards.

Earned income—Money or other compensation received
in return for services rendered.

Immediate family—The child, the biological or adoptive
parent of a child under 21 years of age, the spouse of the
parent, and the brother, sister, step-brother, step-sister,
half-brother or half-sister who are under 21 years of age.
The immediate family members must be living together.

Infrequent income—Income that is received not more
than once in a calendar quarter.

Irregular income—Income that is not subject to sched-
uling or is unpredictable.

Legal guardian—A person who is court appointed as
the legal guardian.

Personal property—Privately owned possessions which
are not real property. The term includes cash, bank
accounts, stocks, bonds, mortgages, cash value of life
insurance policies, household furnishings, personal ef-
fects, motor vehicles, boats and Federal, State and local
tax refunds.

QI—Qualifying individual—An individual who is en-
rolled in Medicare hospital insurance under Part A and
meets the income requirements in § 140.231(c) or (d)
(relating to income eligibility limitations) and resource
requirements in § 140.301 (relating to resource eligibility
limitations).

QIl-1s—Qualifying Individual-1s—A qualifying indi-
vidual who meets the income requirements in
§ 140.231(c). Eligibility for Medicaid benefits is limited to
full payment of Medicare Part B premiums.

QIl-2s—Qualifying Individual-2s—A qualifying indi-
vidual who meets the income requirements in
§ 140.231(d). Eligibility for Medicaid benefits is limited to
partial payment of Medicare Part B premiums.

QMB—~Qualified Medicare beneficiary—An individual
who is entitled to, or voluntarily enrolled in, Medicare
hospital insurance under Part A.

Real property—Land, buildings, mobile homes and im-
provements thereto.

SLMB—Specified low-income Medicare beneficiary—An
individual who meets the eligibility requirements for
QMB status except for income in excess of the QMB
income limit, but not exceeding the limits specified in
§ 140.231.

SSI—Supplemental Security Income—The benefit
amount paid to an eligible person or to an eligible person
and the eligible spouse under Title XVI of the Social
Security Act (42 U.S.C.A. §8§ 1381—1383c).
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Spouse—A person who is married to another by legal
ceremony or by common-law.

RESOURCES EXCLUSIONS

§ 140.305. Resources of children under 21 years of
age and families with children under 21 years of
age.

The resources of the Healthy Horizons child under 21
years of age and the Healthy Horizons applicant/recipient
immediate families with children under 21 years of age
are excluded. If the child who is under 21 years of age is
living with a care-taker who is not immediate family as
defined in § 140.202 (relating to definitions) and who
exercises care and control of the child, the resources of
the caretaker are excluded.

Subpart D. DETERMINATION OF NEED AND
AMOUNT OF ASSISTANCE

CHAPTER 178. RESOURCE PROVISIONS FOR
CATEGORICALLY NEEDY NMP-MA AND MNO-MA

Subchapter A. GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR MA
RESOURCES COMMON TO ALL CATEGORIES OF
MA

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR MA RESOURCES
§ 178.2. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

* * * * *

Immediate family—The child, the biological or adoptive
parent of a child under 21 years of age, the spouse of the
parent, and the brother, sister, step-brother, step-sister,
half-brother or half-sister who are under 21 years of age.
The immediate family members must be living together.

* * * * *

Subchapter B. AGED, BLIND AND DISABLED
CATEGORIES OF MA

RESOURCE EXCLUSIONS FOR THE AGED, BLIND
AND DISABLED CATEGORIES OF MA

§ 178.84. Resources of children under 21 years of
age and families with children under 21 years of
age.

The resources of the SSl-related child under 21 years of
age and SSl-related applicant/recipient immediate fami-
lies with children under 21 years of age are excluded. If
the child who is under 21 years of age is living with a
caretaker who is not immediate family as defined in
§ 178.2 (relating to definitions) and who exercises care
and control of the child, the resources of the caretaker are
excluded.

Subchapter C. TANF-RELATED AND GA-RELATED
CATEGORIES OF MA

RESOURCE EXCLUSIONS FOR THE
TANF-RELATED AND GA-RELATED CATEGORIES
OF MA

§ 178.163. Resources of children under 21 years of
age and families with children under 21 years of
age.

The resources of the TANF-related and GA-related
child under 21 years of age and TANF-related and
GA-related immediate families with children under 21
years of age are excluded. If the child who is under 21
years of age is living with a caretaker who is not
immediate family as defined in 8§ 178.2 (relating to

definitions) and who exercises care and control of the
child, the resources of the caretaker are excluded.
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 01-1041. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2001, 9:00 a.m.]

[55 PA. CODE CH. 181]
Medical Assistance Income

The Department of Public Welfare (Department), by
this order, adopts the amendments to read as set forth in
Annex A under the authority of sections 201(2) and 403(b)
of the Public Welfare Code (act) (62 P.S. 8§ 201(2) and
403(b)). Section 201(2) of the act provides that the
Department has the authority to promulgate regulations
with approval of the Governor. Section 403(b) of the act
provides that the Department establish rules, regulations
and standards consistent with law.

Notice of proposed rulemaking is omitted in accordance
with section 204(1)(iv) of the act of July 31, 1968 (P. L.
769, No. 240) (45 P.S. § 1204(1)(iv)), known as the
Commonwealth Documents Law (CDL), and 1 Pa. Code
§ 7.4(1)(iv) (relating to omission of notice of proposed
rulemaking) because the administrative regulation relates
to Commonwealth grants and benefits. The Health Care
Financing Administration (HCFA) has determined that
under the nursing home reform provisions of the Omni-
bus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987 (OBRA 87), the
Commonwealth is required to consider compensable drugs
as a covered service for Medically Needy Only-Medical
Assistance (MNO-MA) recipients receiving nursing facil-
ity services. Additionally, notice of proposed rulemaking is
omitted for good cause as unnecessary and contrary to the
public interest under section 204(3) of the CDL and 1
Pa. Code § 7.4(3).

The inclusion of compensable drugs for MNO-MA re-
cipients receiving nursing facility services permits the
Commonwealth to receive Federal Financial Participation
for providing compensable drugs. Previously, MNO-MA
recipients in nursing facilities received compensable
drugs through a State-funded pharmaceutical program.
This amendment is beneficial to MNO-MA recipients
receiving nursing facility services. Therefore, the Depart-
ment finds proposed rulemaking is unnecessary because
this amendment eliminates the requirement for recipients
to enroll in the Pharmaceutical Assistance Contract for
the Elderly (PACE) Program and codifies existing prac-
tice.

Purpose

The purpose of this amendment is to eliminate the
requirement that an MA recipient receiving nursing
facility services must meet the enrollment requirements
for the PACE Program in determining the MA recipient’s
expected contribution toward the cost of nursing facility
services.

Background

HCFA determined that under the nursing home reform
provisions of OBRA 87, states are required to reimburse
incurred costs of drugs provided to all MA recipients
receiving nursing facility services. Section
1919(b)(4)(A)(iii) of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C.A.
88 1396r(b)(4)(A)(iii)) requires nursing facilities as a con-
dition of participation in the Medicaid Program to provide
pharmaceuticals to the extent necessary to fulfill each
resident’s plan of care. Section 1902(a)(13) of the Social
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Security Act found in (42 U.S.C.A. § 1396(a)(13)) requires
states to pay nursing facilities through the use of rates
which take into account the cost of complying with
Medicaid participation requirements.

As the provision of drugs is a Medicaid nursing facility
participation requirement, the Federal mandate requires
that the Commonwealth reimburse the incurred costs of
drugs provided to all MA eligible nursing facility resi-
dents. Federal law requires the Commonwealth to con-
sider compensable drugs as a covered service for
MNO-MA recipients receiving nursing facility services.

The Office of Medical Assistance Programs (OMAP)
amended its regulations in § 1121.22 (relating to scope of
benefits for the medically needy) to include coverage of
pharmaceuticals for MNO-MA recipients receiving nurs-
ing facility services effective June 1, 1994. Medical Assist-
ance Bulletin Number 1121-94-01 issued June 24, 1994,
with an effective date of June 1, 1994, and Notice of Rule
Change published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin at 24
Pa.B. 3760 (July 30, 1994) with an effective date of June
1, 1994, informed pharmacies and licensed prescribers
that the Department is including the coverage of pharma-
ceuticals for MNO-MA recipients receiving nursing facil-
ity services.

This change necessitates a revision to the Office of
Income Maintenance eligibility regulation in
§ 181.452(d)(5)(ii)(B) and (iii) (relating to posteligibility
determination of income available from an MA eligible
person toward the person’s cost of care) requiring that an
MA recipient enroll in the PACE Program. Current
regulations allow for the deduction from income of the full
prescription costs depending upon whether an MA recipi-
ent has met the enrollment requirements for the PACE
Program. The inclusion of prescription drugs as a covered
service for MNO-MA recipients in nursing facilities elimi-
nates the need for the recipients to enroll in the PACE
Program.

TANF-related (Temporary Assistance for Needy Fami-
lies) recipients referenced in § 181.542(d) (relating to
categories of MNO-MA) in Annex A include persons who
qualify for MA under the pre-TANF (Aid to Families with
Dependent Children) eligibility rules. See section 1931 of
the Social Security act (42 U.S.C.A. § 1396u-1).

These amendments are a benefit to MNO-MA recipients
who are receiving nursing facility services. Effective June
1, 1994, OMAP included pharmaceuticals as a covered
service for MNO-MA recipients receiving nursing facility
services.

Need for Amendment

The amendment is needed to remove the requirements
to enroll in the PACE Program currently in
§ 181.452(d)(5)(ii)(A) and (B) and (iii). The inclusion of
prescription drugs as a covered service for MNO-MA
recipients eliminates the need for recipients to enroll in
the PACE Program.

Summary

The subparagraph has been revised and the clauses
have been eliminated from § 181.452(d)(5)(ii)(A) and (B)
and (iii) to remove the enrollment requirement for the
PACE Program. The inclusion of prescription drugs as a
covered service for MNO-MA recipients in nursing facil-
ities eliminates the need for the recipients to enroll in the
PACE Program.

Affected Persons and Organizations

This amendment will affect persons applying for, or
receiving, MNO-MA who are receiving nursing facility

services. This includes recipients who reside in Intermedi-
ate Care FacilitiessfMental Retardation facilities and
county and private nursing facilities.

Accomplishments/Benefits

This amendment will benefit MNO-MA recipients re-
ceiving nursing facility services. This change eliminates
the requirement for recipients to enroll in the PACE
Program and eliminates one additional procedure the
recipient was required to fulfill in obtaining prescriptions.

The amendment is consistent with section
1919(b)(4)(A)(iii) of the Social Security Act which requires
prescription drugs as a covered service for MA recipients
in nursing facilities.

Fiscal Impact

The net impact to the Department is anticipated to be
$1.994 million ($0.924 million in State funds) during
Fiscal Year 1998-1999. This cost will be offset by antici-
pated savings to the Commonwealth’'s PACE Program.

Paperwork Requirements
This regulation requires no additional forms or reports.
Effective Date

This amendment is effective upon publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin as final-form rulemaking retroac-
tive to June 1, 1994,

Sunset Date

No sunset date is applicable. The Department continu-
ously reviews the MA Program and regulations through
the Federally-monitored Quality Control process. HCFA
staff conduct audits periodically on specific aspects of the
MA Program.

Public Comment Period

Although this amendment is being adopted without
prior notice, interested persons are invited to submit their
written comments, suggestions or objections to Edward J.
Zogby, Director, Bureau of Policy, Department of Public
Welfare, Room 431, Health and Welfare Building, Harris-
burg, PA 17120, (717) 787-4081, within 30 days from the
date of this publication for consideration by the Depart-
ment as to whether the regulation should be revised.

Persons with a disability may use the AT&T Relay
Service by calling (800) 654-5984 (TDD users) or (800)
654-5988 (Voice users).

Regulatory Review Act

Under section 5.1(c) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5a(c)), on April 25, 2001, the Department
submitted a copy of this final-omitted regulation to the
Independent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) and
to the Chairpersons of the House Committee on Health
and Human Services and the Senate Committee on Public
Health and Welfare. On the same date, the final-omitted
regulation was submitted to the Office of the Attorney
General for review and approval under the Common-
wealth Attorneys Act (71 P. S. §§ 732-101—732-506).

Under section 5.1(d) of the Regulatory Review Act, on
May 15, 2001, this final-omitted regulation was approved
by the House and Senate Committees. Under section
5.1(e) of the Regulatory Review Act, on May 17, 2001,
IRRC met and approved the final-omitted regulations.

Findings
The Department finds that:

(1) Public notice of intention to adopt the administra-
tive regulation adopted by this order may be omitted as
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this rulemaking relates to Commonwealth grants and
benefits and is unnecessary and contrary to the public
interest under section 204(1)(iv) and (3) of the CDL and
the regulation thereunder, 1 Pa. Code § 7.4(1)(iv) and (3).

(2) The adoption of this amendment in the manner
provided in this order is necessary and appropriate for
the administration and enforcement of the act.

Order
The Department, acting under act, orders that:

(a) The regulations of the Department, 55 Pa. Code
Chapter 181, are amended by amending § 181.452 to
read as set forth in Annex A, with ellipses referring to the
existing text of the regulation.

(b) The Secretary of the Department shall submit this
order and Annex A to the Office of Attorney General and
the Office of General Counsel for approval as to legality
and form as required by law.

(c) The Secretary of the Department shall certify this
order and Annex A and deposit them with the Legislative
Reference Bureau as required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect upon publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin as final-form rulemaking retroac-
tive to June 1, 1994.

FEATHER O. HOUSTOUN,
Secretary

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission, relating to this
document, see 31 Pa.B. 2855 (June 2, 2001).)

Fiscal Note: 14-461. (1) General Fund; (2) Implement-
ing Year 1999-00 is $9.615 million; (3) 1st Succeeding
Year 2000-01 is $10.681 million; 2nd Succeeding Year
2001-02 is $11.865 million; 3rd Succeeding Year 2002-03
is $13.180 million; 4th Succeeding Year 2003-04 is
$14.641 million; 5th Succeeding Year 2004-05 is $16.251
million; (4) 1998-99 Program—$738.340 million; 1997-98
Program—3$622.740 million; 1996-97—%$798.836 million;
(7) Medical Assistance-Outpatient; (8) recommends adop-
tion. Savings in Medical Assistance-Long Term Care are
expected to offset a portion of the cost increase in Medical
Assistance-Outpatient. Funds are available in the Depart-
ment’s budget to cover any remaining cost.

Annex A
TITLE 55. PUBLIC WELFARE
PART Il. PUBLIC ASSISTANCE MANUAL

Subpart D. DETERMINATION OF NEED AND
AMOUNT OF ASSISTANCE

CHAPTER 181. INCOME PROVISIONS FOR
CATEGORICALLY NEEDY NMP-MA AND MNO-MA

Subchapter D. POSTELIGIBILITY
DETERMINATION OF ELIGIBILITY FOR MA
PAYMENT TOWARD COST OF CARE IN
INSTITUTIONS

POSTELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION
PROVISIONS

§ 181.452. Posteligibility determination of income
available from an MA eligible person toward his
cost of care.

* * * * *

(d) The following amounts are deducted from the MA
eligible person’s total gross income identified in subsec-
tion (a) for persons in the aged, blind and disabled-related
categories, or subsection (b) for persons in the TANF-

related or GA-related categories and adjusted as appli-
cable by the treatment of Veterans Administration ben-
efits under subsection (c) for all MA eligible persons in
the following order:

* * * * *

(5) The following medical expenses which are not sub-
ject to payment by a third party are deducted in the
calendar month the medical expenses are paid.

(i) Medicare and other health insurance premiums,
including enrollment fees, deductibles or coinsurance
charges incurred by the MA eligible person.

(ii) Copayments or deductibles, including the amount
an applicant/recipient participating in the Copayment
Program is required to pay by the Department subject to
the Department’s established copayment limit.

(iii) Expenses paid by the MA eligible person for neces-
sary medical or remedial care recognized under State
statutes or regulations but not covered under the MA
Program.

(6) An amount for maintenance of a single MA eligible
person’s home if a physician has certified that he is likely
to return to his home within a 6-month period from the
date he entered the facility. When this deduction is given,
it may not be deducted for more than one 6-consecutive
month period. The maintenance need amount for the
single person is the MA income limit for one person in
Appendix A. A home is defined as the residence main-
tained by the MA eligible person before he entered the
facility and to which he plans to return. If a person is
discharged and subsequently returns to a facility, the
single MA eligible person is eligible for a new 6 consecu-
tive month period for this deduction if a physician
certifies that the person is likely to return to his home
within a 6-month period from the date of admittance to
the facility.

(e) The amount that the MA eligible person is expected
to pay toward the cost of care is the amount that remains
and as adjusted under subsection (c), if applicable, and
after the deductions in subsection (d) are applied to the
person’s total gross income as determined under subsec-
tions (a) and (b).

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 01-1042. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2001, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 58—RECREATION

FISH AND BOAT COMMISSION
[58 PA. CODE CH. 53]

Permits for Unpowered Boats Using Commission
Lakes and Access Areas

The Fish and Boat Commission (Commission) by this
order amends Chapter 53 (relating to Commission prop-
erty). The Commission is publishing these amendments
under the authority of 30 Pa.C.S. (relating to the Fish
and Boat Code) (code). The amendments relate to permits
for unpowered boats using Commission lakes and access
areas.

A. Effective Date

The amendments will go into effect upon publication of
this order in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. However, the
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Commission will not issue use permits under § 53.27
(relating to use permits for unpowered boats) until De-
cember 1, 2001.

B. Contact Person

For further information on the amendments, contact
Laurie E. Shepler, Assistant Counsel, P. O. Box 67000,
Harrisburg, PA 17106-7000, (717) 705-7815. This final-
form rulemaking is available electronically through the
Commission’s website http://www.fish.state.pa.us.

C. Statutory Authority

The amendments are published under the statutory
authority of section 742(e) of the code (relating to use of

property).
D. Purpose and Background

The amendments are designed to update, modify and
improve the Commission’s regulations pertaining to
unpowered boats using Commission lakes and access
areas. The specific purpose of the amendments is de-
scribed in more detail under the summary of changes.

E. Summary of Changes

On December 20, 2000, Governor Ridge signed Senate
Bill 1117 into law as Act 115 of 2000, effective immedi-
ately. Act 115 of 2000 amends the code by adding
subsection (e) to section 742. The amendment provides
that the Commission shall, by regulations adopted within
1 year after the effective date of the section, provide for
issuance of use permits, valid for 1 or 2 vyears, for
unpowered boats that are not registered in accordance
with law, to use Commission property. The amendment
also provides that on and after the effective date of the
regulations promulgated by the Commission, the owner of
an unpowered boat that uses Commission property shall
have the option of registering the boat or purchasing a
use permit. The amendment further provides that the
Commission shall establish fees for use permits and that
these fees may not exceed the fees charged by the
Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
(DCNR) for boat launch permits for State parks lakes.
Last, the amendment provides that the Commission shall,
in cooperation with DCNR, provide for reciprocal or joint
use/launch permits for unpowered boats to use both
Commission and State parks lakes and access areas.

This amendment addresses an issue that has been of
some concern to unpowered boat owners for several years.
It allows the Commission to issue use permits for boats
that use Commission property in lieu of registration. To
move forward with timely implementation of this new
law, the Commission has adopted regulatory amendments
that address the following:

(1) Extending reciprocity with the DCNR launch per-
mits. DCNR already extends reciprocity to unpowered
boats registered by the Commission. It is expected that
DCNR will amend its regulations to extend this reciproc-
ity to Commission use permits. Since DCNR already
recognizes the Commission’s registrations, it was unnec-
essary to condition the effective date of this reciprocity on
changes to DCNR regulations.

(2) Eliminating the exception for out-of-State boats. The
Commission changed its regulations, effective February
19, 2000, to provide that out-of-State unpowered boats
are in compliance with the Commission’s requirements if
they comply with the registration requirements of their
state of principal use. This change had the effect of
exempting most out-of-State unpowered boats from hav-
ing to register their boats to use Commission property. It

was designed to deal with the anomaly whereby out-of-
State boats could not use Commission access areas unless
they were registered. It would not have been appropriate
to require such a boat to register in this Commonwealth
since this Commonwealth was not the state of principal
use. With the new Commission use permit and reciprocity
with DCNR launch permits, owners of out-of-State boats
that want to use Commission lakes and access areas have
several options and do not have to register their boats.
Accordingly, the exception for out-of-State boats is no
longer required.

(3) New use permits. The fees for the use permit are set
at the same level as that for DCNR resident launch
permits: currently, $10 per year; $18 for 2 years. A 1-year
permit expires at the end of the calendar year for which it
was issued, and a 2-year permit expires at the end of the
calendar year following the year for which it was issued.
Although it is conceivable that the Commission could
issue permits valid for 12 or 24 months from the date of
issuance, the process involves somewhat more adminis-
trative complications. The new regulation permits the
Executive Director to adjust the fees whenever DCNR
does so. The new permits are designed to be easy to issue.
The information required for issuance of a use permit is
considerably less than required for registration of a boat.
The Commission will issue use permits on or after
December 1, 2001, for 2002 and subsequent years.

On final-form rulemaking, the Commission adopted the
amendments as proposed with one change to § 53.27. As
proposed, this section required an applicant for a use
permit to provide certain information, including the name
and address of the owner of the boat if different from the
name and address of the applicant. However, the name
and address of the boat's owner may not always be
readily available to the applicant, and it is the Commis-
sion’s understanding that DCNR currently does not col-
lect this information when issuing launch permits. The
Commission, accordingly, determined that applicants
should not be required to provide this information. In
addition, technical changes were made to the organization
of § 53.8(h) (relating to boats) that do not affect the
substance of the amendment adopted by the Commission
on final-form rulemaking.

F. Paperwork

The amendments will increase paperwork and create
new paperwork requirements because individuals who
wish to purchase a use permit for their unpowered boats
will have to complete a brief application form. However,
the information that they will be required to provide is
less than that which is required to register a boat.

G. Fiscal Impact

The amendments will not have an adverse fiscal impact
on the Commonwealth or its political subdivisions. It is
anticipated that the Commission and its agents will issue
approximately 5,000 use permits during the first year of
implementation and that these revenues will offset any
program costs. The amendments will impose new costs on
those members of the general public who wish to use
their unpowered boats on Commission lakes and access
areas and who wish to purchase a use permit as opposed
to registering their unpowered boats. Although the
amendments impose a fee for this new permit ($10 for 1
year and $18 for 2 years), this charge should be viewed in
light of the current biennial registration fee of $10 for
unpowered boats. The amendments will impose no new
costs on the private sector.
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H. Public Involvement

A notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 31
Pa.B. 1461 (March 17, 2001). During the public comment
period, the Commission received one comment from the
Pennsylvania Association of Auto License Brokers, Inc.
indicating that its ability to issue the proposed use
permits from its member offices would serve as a conve-
nience for both the boating/fishing public as well as the
Commission itself. Copies of all public comments have
been provided to the Commissioners.

Findings
The Commission finds that:

(1) Public notice of intention to adopt the amendments
adopted by this order has been given under sections 201
and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968 (P. L. 769, No. 240) (45
P. S. 8§ 1201 and 1202) and the regulations promulgated
thereunder in 1 Pa. Code 8§ 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided, and all
comments that were received were considered.

(3) The adoption of the amendments of the Commission
in the manner provided in this order is necessary and
appropriate for administration and enforcement of the
authorizing statute.

Order

The Commission, acting under the authorizing statute,
orders that:

(A) The regulations of the Commission, 58 Pa. Code
Chapter 53, are amended by amending § 53.8 and adding
§ 53.27 to read as set forth in Annex A, with ellipses
referring to the existing text of the regulations.

(B) The Executive Director will submit this order and
Annex A to the Office of Attorney General for approval as
to legality as required by law.

(C) The Executive Director shall certify this order and
Annex A and deposit them with the Legislative Reference
Bureau as required by law.

(D) This order shall take effect immediately upon
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. However, the
Commission will not issue use permits under § 53.27
until December 1, 2001.

PETER A. COLANGELDO,
Executive Director

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 48A-116 remains valid for the
final adoption of the subject regulation.

Annex A
TITLE 58. RECREATION
PART Il. FISH AND BOAT COMMISSION
Subpart A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
CHAPTER 53. COMMISSION PROPERTY
§ 53.8. Boats.

* * * * *

(h) A boat using a Commission lake or access area
shall be registered and display the official registration
number and current validation stickers described under
Subpart C and Part 111 of the code.

(1) This subsection does not apply to:

(i) Unpowered boats that display an official and valid
use permit issued by the Commission under § 53.27
(relating to use permits for unpowered boats) or that

display an official and valid watercraft launch or mooring
permit issued by the Department of Conservation and
Natural Resources for use of launch or mooring facilities
at this Commonwealth’s State parks and forests.

(if) Noncommercial users of access areas on the Dela-
ware River and West Branch of the Delaware River
bounded by the State of New York.

(iii) Public service boats as defined under section
5302(a)(3) of the code (relating to exemptions from regis-
tration).

(iv) Unpowered boats participating in events autho-
rized under § 109.6 (relating to special marine events).

(2) Registered unpowered kayaks, sculls, sailboards
and other low volume boats of similar design are exempt
from displaying registration numbers but shall display a
current validation sticker.

§ 53.27. Use permits for unpowered boats.

(@) The Commission and issuing agents designated by
the Commission will issue use permits for unpowered
boats when their owners choose not to register them to
use Commission lakes and access areas.

(b) Use permits will be issued in the form of decals,
showing the expiration date. Decals shall be displayed
above the waterline on both sides of the bow of the boat
for which the permit is issued.

(c) An applicant for a use permit shall provide the
following information:

(1) The name, address and telephone number of the
applicant.

(2) A description of the boat (make, model, year).

(3) The Hull Identification Number (HIN) of the boat
(if readily available).

(d) A use permit is issued for a specific boat. It is
unlawful to transfer a use permit issued for a specific
boat to another boat. A use permit remains effective for
the boat for which it is issued even if ownership of the
boat is changed during the term of the permit.

(e) Use permits are valid for 1 or 2 years. The expira-
tion date of a 1-year use permit is December 31 of the
year for which it is issued. The expiration date of a 2-year
use permit is December 31 of the second year for which it
was issued.

(f) The initial fees for the use permits are $10 for a
1-year permit and $18 for a 2-year permit. The Executive
Director may, by notice published in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin, adjust these fees so that they remain the same
as the resident price for 1-year and 2-year boat launching
permits as established in the schedule of fees published,
and from time-to-time revised, by the Department of
Conservation and Natural Resources for State parks and
forests. Whenever a use permit authorized by this section
is issued by an issuing agent other than the Commission
or the Department of Conservation and Natural Re-
sources, the issuing agent may charge an issuing agent
fee not to exceed $1 per transaction for issuing the
permit.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 01-1043. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2001, 9:00 a.m.]
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[58 PA. CODE CHS. 61 AND 69]

Seasons, Sizes and Creel Limits; Fishing in Lake
Erie and Boundary Lakes

The Fish and Boat Commission (Commission) by this
orders amends Chapters 61 and 69 (relating to seasons,
sizes and creel limits; and fishing in Lake Erie and
boundary lakes). The Commission is publishing these
amendments under the authority of 30 Pa.C.S. (relating
to the Fish and Boat Code) (code). The amendments
relate to fishing.

A. Effective Date
The amendments will go into effect on January 1, 2002.
B. Contact Person

For further information on the amendments, contact
Laurie E. Shepler, Assistant Counsel, (717) 705-7815,
P. O. Box 67000, Harrisburg, PA 17106-7000. This final
rulemaking is available electronically on the Commis-
sion’s website (http://www.fish.state.pa.us).

C. Statutory Authority

The amendments to §§ 61.2, 61.3 and 69.12 (relating to
Delaware River and River Estuary; Pymatuning Reser-
voir; and seasons, sizes and creel limits—Lake Erie) are
published under the statutory authority of section 2102 of
the code (relating to rules and regulations). The amend-
ment to § 69.33 (relating to use of trap nets) is published
under the statutory authority 2903 of the code (relating to
boats and net licenses for boundary lakes).

D. Purpose and Background

The amendments are designed to update, modify and
improve the Commission’s regulations pertaining to fish-
ing. The specific purpose of the amendments is described
in more detail under the summary of changes.

E. Summary of Changes

(1) Section 61.2 (relating to Delaware River and River
Estuary). Management of Delaware River and Estuary
striped bass is complicated given that this water borders
with the states of New York and New Jersey. Also, the
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission (ASMFC) is
involved because the striped bass stock is a migratory
one. Federal mandates place migratory East Coast striped
bass under the purview of the ASMFC having a member-
ship of all Atlantic Coast states as well as the District of
Columbia and the Potomac River Fisheries Commission.
The existing ASMFC striped bass management plan
requires jurisdictions to adhere to a set standard of
minimum length and creel limits. Harvest ceilings apply
in some fisheries. However, jurisdictions are able to
deviate from standard regulations if that the alternative
seasons, length limits, creel limits, gear restrictions, and
the like, provide a conservation equivalency. State man-
agement plans undergo review by the ASMFC Striped
Bass Technical Committee before being considered by the
Striped Bass Management Board, both of which include
representation from the Commonwealth.

The recovery of East Coast striped bass stocks has
permitted the liberalization of regulations so anglers,
both recreational and commercial, can once again enjoy
fishing over an abundance of striped bass. Various stock
abundance and harvest indices as well as actual harvest
counts/estimates are used to determine stock status and
to set the tone for regulations for each fishing season.
Unfortunately, the process often results in jurisdictions
not being able to implement regulatory changes in a

timely fashion given the timing of Striped Bass Board
action and rulemaking processes in the jurisdictions.

Since the early 1980s when ASMFC striped bass man-
agement action began in earnest to rebuild seriously
depleted stocks, the Commonwealth has worked in con-
cert with neighboring jurisdictions regarding regulations
for Delaware River and Estuary striped bass. Previously,
Commission regulations provided for a 28 inch minimum
length limit, a 2 fish daily possession limit and a year
'round harvest season except for a closed season from
January through February and April through May from
the Pennsylvania/Delaware state line upstream to Tren-
ton Falls. Delaware and New Jersey, as part of fine-
tuning their statewide striped bass regulations including
marine fisheries, are making or recently have made
changes. New Jersey, in particular, is considering regula-
tions that provide for one fish that is in the 24 to less
than 28-inch size range and one fish that is 28 inches and
over. In fact, this package applied to the Delaware River
from Trenton Falls downstream during much of the 2000
season. The Commission believes that it is desirable to
have its regulations be consistent with the New Jersey
package, particularly if that state applies the regulations
to the freshwater portion of the Delaware River. Accord-
ingly, the Commission has amended § 61.2 to implement
a new size and daily creel limit for the Delaware River
and Estuary striped bass. Under the amended regulation,
one striped bass may be in the 24 to less than 28-inch
range, and one striped bass may be 28 inches in length or
greater.

(2) Section 61.3 (relating to Pymatuning Reservoir).
Pymatuning Reservoir is a 14,000-plus acre flood control
and augmentation impoundment in Crawford County,
Pennsylvania and Ashtabula County, Ohio. The fishery is
jointly managed by the Ohio Department of Natural
Resources (Ohio DNR) and the Commission. Representa-
tives from the two agencies meet annually to discuss
management issues and plans. In recent years, Ohio DNR
changed statewide bass regulations as a result of ongoing
studies. The daily creel limit component of the statewide
regulations was reduced to five. The Commission was
approached about reducing the daily creel limit at
Pymatuning Reservoir to five to be consistent with Ohio.
Previously, a 12 inch minimum length limit and an eight
bass daily limit applied to black bass at Pymatuning,
while the statewide limit in this Commonwealth is six.

The Commission has reduced the creel limit in the
Pymatuning to five fish to be consistent with statewide
regulations in Ohio. The Commission believes that it is
unlikely that the three fish reduction will have any
impact on the bass population or anglers seeking bass.
Creel surveys conducted jointly by both agencies consis-
tently have indicated less than 5% of all anglers were
fishing for black bass. Since regulations in Ohio run from
March through February while those in this Common-
wealth are on a calendar year basis, the regulations will
not be congruent for 2 months during the first year of
implementation. The Commission, however, believes that
this will not be a problem.

(3) Sections 69.12, 69.31 and 69.33 (relating to seasons,
sizes and creel limits—Lake Erie; seasons; and use of trap
nets). Prior sport fish regulations concerning the harvest
of walleye included a daily limit of 6 fish and a 15-inch
minimum size limit. The commercial trap net fishery, on
the other hand, was regulated by a 15-inch minimum size
and an annual total allowable harvest (in pounds) set at
the onset of each fishing year. There was no closed season
for the sport fishery.
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Since the mid 1980's, there has been an inexorable
decline in walleye abundance throughout Lake Erie.
Walleye presently are only 14% of their 1993 population
size. In Commonwealth waters, a similar, continuous
trend has been observed. Since 1988, walleye numbers
have declined over 80%. Accordingly, the annual esti-
mated number of walleye harvested in this Common-
wealth has declined from nearly 250,000 during the late
1980's to 77,000 in year 2000. Explanations for these
population decreases are: (1) decreases in overall lake
productivity; (2) weaker recruitment patterns and smaller
year classes; and (3) gradual increases in exploitation
(fishing) rates.

To reverse the downward trend in walleye abundance,
it is necessary to increase walleye survival lake-wide and
that is expected to increase walleye reproductive poten-
tial. While this Commonwealth is not a major source of
increased fishing rates, this Commonwealth needs to do
its part to insure the walleye’s reproductive potential. In
this Commonwealth, this can be achieved by restricting
fishing during the spawning period. A closed season from
mid-March to early May is expected to reserve up to 20%
of the potential commercial walleye catch and 1% of the
angler catch for conservation purposes as well as limiting
the potential to target future increases in early spring
walleye spawning populations. This will affect both com-
mercial and recreational fisheries where they occur on
Lake Erie, Presque Isle Bay and peninsular waters.
Accordingly, the Commission has amended 8§ 69.12,
69.31 and 69.33 to include a Lake Erie closed season for
walleye from March 15 (12:01) to the first Friday in May
(12 midnight).

F. Paperwork

The amendments will not increase paperwork and will
create no new paperwork requirements.

G. Fiscal Impact

The amendments will have no adverse fiscal impact on
the Commonwealth or its political subdivisions. The
amendments will impose no new costs on the private
sector or the general public.

H. Public Involvement

A notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 31
Pa.B. 1373 (March 10, 2001). Regarding the proposed
changes to 88 61.2 and 61.3, the Commission did not
receive any public comments. The Commission received
two comments concerning the proposed Lake Erie closed
season for walleye. One of the comments asked several
questions about the proposal; the other expressed concern
that the Commonwealth will make the same “mistake”
that New York made when setting its closed season.
Copies of all public comments were provided to the
Commissioners. In addition, the Commission held a pub-
lic information meeting on March 19, 2001, in Erie.
Comments offered at the meeting were generally support-
ive of the proposed change.

Findings

The Commission finds that:

(1) Public notice of intention to adopt the amendments
adopted by this order has been given under sections 201
and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968 (P. L. 769, No. 240) (45

P. S. 8§ 1201 and 1202) and the regulations promulgated
thereunder in 1 Pa. Code 8§ 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided, and all
comments that were received were considered.

(3) The adoption of the amendments of the Commission
in the manner provided in this order is necessary and
appropriate for administration and enforcement of the
authorizing statutes.

Order

The Commission, acting under the authorizing statutes,
orders that:

(@) The regulations of the Commission, 58 Pa. Code
Chapters 61 and 69, are amended by amending §§ 61.2,
61.3, 69.12, 69.31 and 69.33 to read as set forth in 31
Pa.B. 1373.

(b) The Executive Director will submit this order and
31 Pa.B. 1373 to the Office of Attorney General for
approval as to legality as required by law.

(c) The Executive Director shall certify this order and
31 Pa.B. 1373 and deposit the same with the Legislative
Reference Bureau as required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect January 1, 2002.

PETER A. COLANGELDO,
Executive Director

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 48A-115 remains valid for the
final adoption of the subject regulations.
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 01-1044. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2001, 9:00 a.m.]

[58 PA. CODE CHS. 91 AND 111]

Boating Safety Education Certificates; Special
Regulations Counties

The Fish and Boat Commission (Commission) by this
order amends Chapters 91 and 111 (relating to general
provisions; and special regulations counties). The Com-
mission is publishing these amendments under the au-
thority of 30 Pa.C.S. (relating to the Fish and Boat Code)
(code). The amendments relate to boating.

A. Effective Date

The amendments will go into effect upon publication of
this order in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

B. Contact Person

For further information on the amendments, contact
Laurie E. Shepler, Assistant Counsel, (717) 705-7815,
P. O. Box 67000, Harrisburg, PA 17106-7000. This final-
form rulemaking is available electronically on the Com-
mission’s website (http://www.fish.state.pa.us).

C. Statutory Authority

The amendment to § 91.6 (relating to Boating Safety
Education Certificates) is published under the statutory
authority of section 5123 of the code (relating to general
boating regulations). The amendments to §§ 111.45,
111.48 and 111.52 (relating to Monroe County; North-
ampton County; and Pike County) are published under
the statutory authority of section 5124 of the code
(relating to particular areas of water).

D. Purpose and Background

The amendments are designed to update, modify and
improve the Commission’s regulations pertaining to boat-
ing. The specific purpose of the amendments is described
in more detail under the summary of proposal. The
Commission’s Boating Advisory Board considered the
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proposal prior to the publication of the notice of proposed
rulemaking containing the amendment and recommended
publication.

E. Summary of Proposal

(1) Section 91.6 (relating to Boating Safety Education
Certificates). The Commission’s regulations require that
operators of personal watercraft and children who are
operating certain boats obtain and carry a Boating Safety
Education Certificate. It is the intent of the regulation
that the operator receive instruction in boating safety and
show competence in the boating regulations and proce-
dures. Carrying the certificate is incidental to this
overarching requirement, and the requirement to carry it
is intended to help the law enforcement officer ensure
that the operator has fulfilled his obligations. It is
reasonable to assume that some operators have obtained
the requisite certificate but have forgotten it or misplaced
it. Citations usually are not issued when the officer can
reasonably assume that the certificate is likely available,
just not onboard.

The Commission’s regulation provides a mail-in proce-
dure for persons who are caught fishing without display-
ing a license or boating without the boat registration card
onboard. This procedure has been very successful and has
resulted in greater efficiency and use of officer time.
Therefore, the Commission has implemented a similar
program for Boating Safety Education Certificates by
amending § 91.6 as proposed.

(2) Sections 111.45, 111.48 and 111.52 (relating to Mon-
roe County; Northampton County; and Pike County). The
Commission has received notification that the Superin-
tendent of the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation
Area has taken action to prohibit the operation of per-
sonal watercraft within the boundaries of the area under
the jurisdiction of the National Park Service (NPS). The
Commission has been asked to amend its regulations to
assist in the enforcement of this ban.

The Commission always has had a cooperative relation-
ship with NPS and has attempted to have consistent
regulations to help enforcement personnel effectively and
uniformly enforce boating safety regulations. Accordingly,
the Commission has amended these special boating regu-
lations, as proposed, to be consistent with the new NPS
restrictions. In addition, a minor technical change has
been made to clarify the numbering of § 111.52(j). This
change does not affect the substance of the amendment
adopted by the Commission on final rulemaking.

F. Paperwork

The amendment to § 91.6 will slightly increase paper-
work and will create a few new paperwork requirements
because boat operators, who are required by regulation to
have a Boating Safety Education Certificate onboard and
do not have one in their possession, will have the option
of mailing the original certificate to the apprehending
officer. If the officer permits the operator to mail the
original certificate to the officer, the officer will provide
the operator with a receipt or other documentation that
will allow the continued operation of the boat during the
period that the original certificate is not in possession.
The amendments to 8§ 111.45, 111.48 and 111.52 will not
increase paperwork and will create no new paperwork
requirements.

G. Fiscal Impact

The amendments will have no adverse fiscal impact on
the Commonwealth or its political subdivisions, and they
will impose no new costs on the private sector. The

amendment to § 91.6 will impose only nominal costs on
those members of the general public who mail the
original certificate to the apprehending officer. The
amendments to 8§ 111.45, 111.48 and 111.52 will impose
no new costs on the general public.

H. Public Involvement

A notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 31
Pa.B. 1375 (March 10, 2001). The Commission did not
receive any public comments concerning the proposals.

Findings
The Commission finds that:

(1) Public notice of intention to adopt these amend-
ments was given under sections 201 and 202 of the act of
July 31, 1968 (P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P. S. 88 1201 and
1202) and the regulations promulgated thereunder in 1
Pa. Code 88 7 .1 and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided, and no
comments were received.

(3) The adoption of these amendments in the manner
provided in this order is necessary and appropriate for
administration and enforcement of the authorizing stat-
utes.

Order

The Commission, acting under the authorizing statutes,
orders that:

(@) The regulations of the Commission, 58 Pa. Code
Chapters 91 and 111, are amended by amending 88 91.6,
111.45 and 111.48 to read as set forth at 31 Pa.B. 1375
and by amending § 111.52 to read as set forth in Annex
A, with ellipses referring to the existing text of the
regulation.

(b) The Executive Director will submit this order, An-
nex A and 31 Pa.B. 1375 to the Office of Attorney General
for approval as to legality as required by law.

(c) The Executive Director shall certify this order,
Annex A and 31 Pa.B. 1375 and deposit the same with
the Legislative Reference Bureau as required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect immediately upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

PETER A. COLANGELDO,
Executive Director

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 48A-113 remains valid for the
final adoption of the subject regulations.

Annex A
TITLE 58. RECREATION
PART Il. FISH AND BOAT COMMISSION
Subpart C. BOATING
CHAPTER 111. SPECIAL REGULATIONS

COUNTIES
§ 111.52. Pike County.
* * * * *

(i) Delaware River. The operation of personal watercraft
is prohibited in the following areas:

(1) Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River (up-
stream from mile 258.4).
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(2) The Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area
(downstream from mile 250).
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 01-1045. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2001, 9:00 a.m.]

[58 PA. CODE CH. 105]
Unacceptable Boating Practices

The Fish and Boat Commission (Commission) by this
order amends Chapter 105 (relating to operational condi-
tions). The Commission is publishing this amendment
under the authority of 30 Pa.C.S. (relating to the Fish
and Boat Code) (code). The amendment relates to boating.

A. Effective Date
The amendment will go into effect on January 1, 2002.
B. Contact Person

For further information on the amendment, contact
Laurie E. Shepler, Assistant Counsel, (717) 705-7815,
P. O. Box 67000, Harrisburg, PA 17106-7000. This final-
form rulemaking is available electronically on the Com-
mission’s website (http://www.fish.state.pa.us).

C. Statutory Authority

The amendment is published under the statutory au-
thority of section 5123 of the code (relating to general
boating regulations).

D. Purpose and Background

The amendment is designed to update, modify and
improve the Commission’s regulations pertaining to boat-
ing. The specific purpose of the amendment is described
in more detail under the summary of changes. The
Commission’'s Boating Advisory Board considered the
proposal prior to the publication of the notice of proposed
rulemaking containing the amendment and recommended
publication.

E. Summary of Changes

Under the code, negligent operation of watercraft repre-
sents a deviation from the ordinary standard of care that
a reasonable operator would observe under the circum-
stances. Reckless operation adds the component of willful-
ness and wanton disregard for the safety of persons or
property. The Commission's regulation in § 105.3 (relat-
ing to unacceptable boating practices) contains a lesser
offense defined as “unacceptable boating practices.” This
section lists operations that, while unsafe, do not always
fall within the definition of negligent or reckless opera-
tion.

Section 105.3(1) prohibits the operation of a boat not
equipped with railings or other safeguards at a speed of
greater than slow minimum height swell speed when any
person is riding on the bow, decking, gunwales, transom
or motor cover. While this definition has served the safety
of boaters well, recent court cases indicate a need to
further define this regulation. The majority of boats are
equipped with railings intended to keep the occupants of
the boats within the confines of the boat. A person riding
in a bow rider is on the inside of the railings and in the
cockpit of the boat. A person riding on a sailboat deck is
within the area encompassed by the railings. The most

prevalent exception to this general boat construction is
the pontoon boat. Quite often, the railings of the pontoon
boat do not entirely encompass the bow deck of the boat.
Frequently, 3 or 4 feet of deck remain outside the
railings. This is to facilitate docking and to keep passen-
gers back from the bow to help balance the boat while
underway. Certain courts have interpreted § 105.3 to
mean that there is no requirement that persons must
remain behind safety rails. The Commission therefore has
amended this section as proposed.

F. Paperwork

The amendment will not increase paperwork and will
create no new paperwork requirements.

G. Fiscal Impact

The amendment will have no adverse fiscal impact on
the Commonwealth or its political subdivisions. The
amendment will impose no new costs on the private
sector or the general public.

H. Public Involvement

A notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 31
Pa.B. 1379 (March 10, 2001). The Commission did not
receive any public comments concerning this proposal.

Findings
The Commission finds that:

(1) Public notice of intention to adopt the amendment
adopted by this order has been given under sections 201
and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968 (P. L. 769, No. 240) (45
P. S. 8§ 1201 and 1202) and the regulations promulgated
thereunder in 1 Pa. Code 8§ 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided, and no
comments were received.

(3) The adoption of the amendment of the Commission
in the manner provided in this order is necessary and
appropriate for administration and enforcement of the
authorizing statutes.

Order

The Commission, acting under the authorizing statutes,
orders that:

(@) The regulations of the Commission, 58 Pa. Code
Chapter 105, are amended by amending § 105.3 to read
as set forth in 31 Pa.B. 1379.

(b) The Executive Director will submit this order and
31 Pa.B. 1379 to the Office of Attorney General for
approval as to legality as required by law.

(c) The Executive Director shall certify this order and
31 Pa.B. 1379 and deposit the same with the Legislative
Reference Bureau as required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect January 1, 2002.

PETER A. COLANGELDO,
Executive Director
Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 48A-114 remains valid for the
final adoption of the subject regulation.
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 01-1046. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2001, 9:00 a.m.]
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