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RULES AND REGULATIONS

Title 6—AGING

DEPARTMENT OF AGING
[6 PA. CODE CH. 15]
Protective Services For Older Adults

The Department of Aging (Department), to safeguard
more effectively the rights and protection of incapacitated
older adults, amends Chapter 15 (relating to protective
services for older adults), to read as set forth in Annex A.
The Department amends this chapter under the authority
of the Older Adults Protective Services Act (OAPSA) (35
P.S. 8§ 10225.101—10225.5102). Amendments clarify
definitions and operational elements to reflect the experi-
ence of protective services agencies (area agencies on
aging) over the past 13 years, and add sections to
implement the requirements of legislation requiring ap-
plicants and specified employees at specified care-
providing facilities to obtain criminal history record infor-
mation reports and requiring administrators and
employees at these facilities to report suspected abuse.
The Department amended the existing chapter sections to
update terms and practices, conform to recent legislation
or respond to comments. The Department added
88 15.141—15.147 and 15.151—15.159 (relating to crimi-
nal history record information reports; and employee
reporting of suspected abuse).

The Department published a notice of proposed rule-
making at 29 Pa.B. 6010 (November 27, 1999) and
provided a 30-day public comment period. The Depart-
ment received comments from seven area agencies on
aging, the Office of the Auditor General, the Pennsylvania
Health Law Project, Community Legal Services of Phila-
delphia, the Pennsylvania Association of Non-Profit
Homes for the Aging, Greenwich Services, staff of the
Senate and House Aging and Youth Committees, the
Center for Advocacy for the Rights and Interests of the
Elderly, the Pennsylvania Association of Home Health
Agencies, the AFL/CIO, the Pennsylvania Association of
Resources for People with Mental Retardation, the Phila-
delphia Coalition of Community MH/MR Centers, the
Independent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC), the
Department’s Office of the Long-Term Care Ombudsman
and one individual.

Summary

These amendments will more effectively safeguard the
rights and protections of incapacitated older adults, and
recipients of any age in specified facilities, by enhancing
the system of activities, resources and supports which
prevent, reduce or eliminate abuse, neglect, exploitation,
and abandonment, and by adding provisions for manda-
tory submission of criminal history record information
and mandatory reporting of suspected abuse.

Comment and Response Document

The comment and response document is available by
contacting Robert F. Hussar at (717) 783-6207 or the
Department’s website at www.state.pa.us: PA Keyword:
aging.

Fiscal Impact

Costs to the Commonwealth mandated by the OAPSA,
and associated with implementation of these final-form
regulations, result from the need to process Criminal
History Record Information (CHRI) reports. The Depart-

ment incurs the costs of processing the Federal Bureau of
Investigation (FBI) reports. The Pennsylvania State Po-
lice (PSP) incur the costs of processing the PSP CHRI
reports. The mandating of reports of suspected abuse in
the OAPSA-specified facilities has increased the number
of investigations and associated personnel requirements
for area agencies on aging, which serve as the local
protective services agency, 37 of which are under the
auspice of county government. Applicants for employment
at OAPSA-specified facilities, or, at their option, specified
care-providing facilities (domiciliary care homes, home
health care agencies, long-term care nursing facilities,
older adult daily living centers and personal care facil-
ities), and those at facilities defined as home health care
agencies by the Department of Public Welfare (community
residential rehabilitation services, community homes and
family living homes for individuals with mental retarda-
tion, intermediate care facilities for individuals with
mental retardation, including State and non-State oper-
ated facilities and homes, and State mental hospitals),
must bear the costs of obtaining mandatory CHRI re-
ports. The fee for the PSP CHRI report is $10; the fee for
the FBI CHRI report is $24. No additional costs are
imposed on members of the general public.

Paperwork Requirements

Applicants for employment will be required to obtain
CHRI reports; the PSP and the Department will be
required to process these reports; specified care-providing
facilities will be required to retain copies of these reports.
In addition, these facilities will be required to submit
written reports of suspected abuse to area agencies on
aging and, in some cases, to law enforcement officials;
area agencies will be required in some cases to send these
reports to the Department and county coroners; specified
facilities will be required to send individual supervision
or suspension plans to area agencies and licensing agen-
cies and to retain these reports. Area agencies will be
required to make reports of suspected abuse available to
specified persons and agencies. Specified facilities are
required to provide applicants with written explanation of
CHRI report requirements and to retain such reports.

Effective Date/Sunset Date

The final-form regulations will take effect on the date
of publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. No sunset
date has been established. The effectiveness of these
regulations will be evaluated as part of the Department’s
annual review of the protective services program.

Statutory Authority

The Department adopts these final-form regulations
under the authority of the OAPSA.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5(a)), on November 15, 1999, the Department
submitted a copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking,
published at 29 Pa.B. 6010, to IRRC and the Chairper-
sons of the House and Senate Committees on Aging and
Youth for review and comment.

In compliance with section 5(c) of the Regulatory
Review Act, the Department also provided IRRC and the
Committees with copies of the comments received, as well
as other documentation. In preparing these final-form
regulations, the Department has considered the com-
ments received from IRRC, the Committees and the
public.
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Under section 5.1(d) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5a(d)), these final-form regulations were ap-
proved by the House Committee on January 15, 2002, and
deemed approved by the Senate Committee on January
16, 2002. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regulatory Review
Act, IRRC met on January 24, 2002, and approved the
final-form regulations.

Contact Person

Questions regarding these final-form regulations may
be submitted to Robert F. Hussar, Regulatory Coordina-
tor, Office of Program Management, Department of Aging,
555 Walnut Street, 5th Floor, Harrisburg, PA 17101-1919,
(717) 783-6207. Persons with disabilities may submit
questions in alternative formats such as audio tape,
Braille or by using V/TT (717) 783-6514 for speech and/or
hearing impaired persons or the Pennsylvania AT&T
Relay Service at (800) 654-5984 [TT].

Findings
The Department finds that:

(1) Public notice of intention to adopt the final-form
regulations adopted by this order has been given under
sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968 (P. L. 769,
No. 240) (45 P. S. 8§ 1201 and 1202), and the regulations
thereunder, 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered.

(3) The adoption of final-form regulations in the man-
ner provided by this order is necessary and appropriate
for the administration of the authorizing statute.

Order

The Department, acting under the authorizing statute,
orders that:

(@) The regulations of the Department, 6 Pa. Code
Chapter 15, are amended by amending 8§ 15.1, 15.2,
15.11—15.13, 15.21—15.27, 15.41—15.46, 15.61, 15.62,
15.71, 15.81, 15.82, 15.91—15.96, 15.102, 15.103, 15.105,
15.111—15.113, 15.121—15.123 and 15.127; by deleting
§ 15.131; and by adding 8§ 15.141—15.147, 15.151—
15.159 and 15.161 to read as set forth in Annex A.

(b) The Secretary shall submit this order and Annex A
to the Office of General Counsel and the Office of
Attorney General for approval as required by law.

(¢) The Secretary shall submit this order and Annex A
to IRRC, the House Committee on Aging and Youth and
the Senate Committee on Aging and Youth for their
review and action as required by law.

(d) The Secretary shall certify this order and Annex A
and deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bureau
as required by law.

(e) This order shall take effect upon publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.

RICHARD BROWDIE,
Secretary

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
order, see 32 Pa.B. 848 (February 9, 2002).)

Fiscal Note: 1-17. (1) General Fund;

Department of
Aging General

State Police—General Government Government

Operations Operations
(2) Implementing Year 2001-02 is

$285,803 $99,117
(3) 1st Succeeding Year 2002-03 is

$293,495 $101,785

2nd Succeeding Year 2003-04 is

$301,930 $104,710

3rd Succeeding Year 2004-05 is

$310,662 $107,738

4th Succeeding Year 2005-06 is

$319,640 $110,850

5th Succeeding Year 2006-07 is

$328,875 $114,055

Department of
Aging General

Government
Operations
State Police—General Government  (Lottery Fund
Operations in 1998-99)
(4) 2000-01 Program—$136,043,000 $16.389 million
1999-00 Program—$129,433,000 $15.388 million
1998-99 Program—$124,980,000 $4.764 million

(8) recommends adoption.
Annex A
TITLE 6. AGING
PART |I. DEPARTMENT OF AGING

CHAPTER 15. PROTECTIVE SERVICES FOR
OLDER ADULTS

GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 15.1. Scope and authority.

(a) This chapter governs the administration and provi-
sion of protective services for older adults under the act,
the mandatory reporting of the abuse of recipients of care
and required criminal history record information reports
for applicants, employees and administrators of facilities.

(b) This chapter applies to the Department, area agen-
cies on aging, providers of protective services for older
adults, parties to the making and investigation of reports
of a need for protective services by older adults, subjects
of reports and investigations and the facilities defined in
this chapter.

(c) The Department will enforce this chapter and main-

tain responsibility for future revisions as the continuing
operation of the program requires.

§ 15.2. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

Abandonment—The desertion of an older adult by a
caretaker.

Abuse—
(i) The occurrence of one or more of the following acts:

(A) The infliction of injury, unreasonable confinement,
intimidation or punishment with resulting physical harm,
pain or mental anguish.

(B) The willful deprivation by a caretaker of goods or
services which are necessary to maintain physical or
mental health.
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(C) Sexual harassment, rape or abuse, as defined in 23
Pa.C.S. Chapter 61 (relating to Protection From Abuse
Act).

(i) No older adult will be found to be abused solely on
the grounds of environmental factors which are beyond
the control of the older adult or the caretaker, such as
inadequate housing, furnishings, income, clothing or med-
ical care.

Act—The Older Adults Protective Services Act (35 P. S.
88 10225.101—10225.5102).

Administrator—The person responsible for the adminis-
tration of a facility. The term includes a person respon-
sible for employment decisions or an independent contrac-
tor.

Agency—The local provider of protective services, which
is the area agency on aging or the agency designated by
the area agency on aging to provide protective services in
the area agency’s planning and service area.

Applicant—An individual who submits an application,
which is being considered for employment, to a facility.

Area agency on aging—The single local agency desig-
nated within a planning and service area by the Depart-
ment to develop and administer the delivery of a compre-
hensive and coordinated plan of social services and
activities for older adults.

Assessment—A determination based upon a comprehen-
sive review of a client’s social, physical and psychological
status along with a description of the person’s current
resources and needs using the instruments and proce-
dures established by the Department for this purpose.

Care—Services provided to meet a person’'s need for
personal care or health care.

(i) Services may include homemaker services, assist-
ance with activities of daily living, physical therapy,
occupational therapy, speech therapy, social services,
home-care aide services, companion-care services, private
duty nursing services, respiratory therapy, intravenous
therapy, in-home dialysis and durable medical equipment
services, which are routinely provided unsupervised and
which require interaction with the care-dependent person.

(if) The term does not include durable medical equip-
ment delivery.

Care-dependent individual—An adult who, due to
physical or cognitive disability or impairment, requires
assistance to meet needs for food, shelter, clothing, per-
sonal care or health care.

Caretaker—An individual or institution that has as-
sumed the responsibility for the provision of care needed
to maintain the physical or mental health of an older
adult. This responsibility may arise voluntarily, by con-
tract, by receipt of payment for care, as a result of family
relationship or by order of a court of competent jurisdic-
tion. It is not the intent of the act to impose responsibility
on an individual if the responsibility would not otherwise
exist in law.

Case file, case record or record—A complete record of
the information received and the actions taken by the
agency on each report of need received. When applicable,
it shall include the following elements:

(i) The report of need.

(i) Records of agency investigative activities including
related evidence and testimony.

(iii) Assessment.

(iv) Documentation of informed consent provided or
agency efforts to obtain consent.

(v) Notifications of older adults, alleged perpetrators,
police, agencies, organizations and individuals.

(vi) Records of court, intervention, petition or action.
(vii) Service plan.

Conflict of interest—The conflict which may exist when
the investigator of a report of the need for protective
services has a personal or financial interest in, is respon-
sible for, or is employed by others responsible for, the
delivery of services which may be needed by an older
adult to reduce or eliminate the need for protective
services. A conflict of interest may also exist if an
investigator has a specific personal or financial motiva-
tion to recommend services delivered by a specific agency
or to allow referrals or case dispositions to be inappropri-
ately influenced by the investigator’s knowledge of agency
staff, resource limitations or by agency constraints which
affect agency staff or resource allocations.

Consumer attendant—An individual who is recruited,
hired, trained, directed and supervised by the consumer
for whom personal care services and other support activi-
ties are being provided.

Court—A court of common pleas or a district magis-
trate, if applicable.

Criminal history report—

(i) For an applicant or employee who is a resident of
this Commonwealth, a State Police criminal history
record.

(i) For a nonresident applicant or employee, a State
Police criminal history record and a Federal criminal
history record.

Department—The Department of Aging of the Common-
wealth.

Desertion—The willful failure without just cause by the
responsible caretaker to provide for the care and protec-
tion of an older adult who is in need of protective
services.

Direct contact—Touching of a recipient by an employee
consistent with the professional responsibilities of the
employee.

Employee—Includes the following:
(i) An individual who is employed by a facility.

(if) A facility contract employee who has direct contact
with residents or unsupervised access to their living
quarters.

(iii) An individual who is employed by, or who enters
into a contractual relationship with, or who establishes
any other agreement or arrangement with a home health
care agency to provide care to a care-dependent person for
a fee, stipend or monetary consideration of any kind in
the person’s place of residence.

(iv) A student doing an internship or clinical rotation,
or any other individual, who has been granted access to
the facility to perform a clinical service for a fee.

(v) An individual, employed by an entity which sup-
plies, arranges for, or refers personnel to provide care to
care-dependent persons, who is employed to provide care
to care-dependent persons in facilities or their places of
residence.

Exploitation—An act or course of conduct by a care-
taker or other person against an older adult or an older
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adult’'s resources, without the informed consent of the
older adult or with consent obtained through misrepre-
sentation, coercion or threats of force, that results in
monetary, personal or other benefit, gain or profit for the
perpetrator or monetary or personal loss to the older
adult.

Facility—Any of the following:

(i) A domiciliary care home as defined in sections
2201-A—2212-A of The Administrative Code of 1929 (71
P.S. §§ 581-1—581-12).

(ii) A home health care agency.

(iif) A long-term care nursing facility as defined in the
Health Care Facilities Act (35 P.S. 8§ 448.101—
448.904b).

(iv) An older adult daily living center as defined in the
Older Adult Daily Living Centers Licensing Act (62 P. S.
88 1511.1—1511.22).

(v) A personal care home as defined in section 1001 of
the Public Welfare Code (62 P. S. § 1001).

Federal criminal history record—A report of Federal
criminal history record information under the Federal
Bureau of Investigation’s appropriation under the Depart-
ments of State, Justice, and Commerce, the Judiciary, and
Related Agencies Appropriation Act, 1973 (28 U.S.C.A.
§ 534).

Home health care agency—
(i) Any of the following:

(A) A home health care organization or agency licensed
by the Department of Health.

(B) A public or private agency or organization, or part
of an agency or organization, which provides care to a
care-dependent individual in the individual’'s place of
residence.

(i) The term includes private duty home care provid-
ers, homemaker/home health aide providers, companion
care providers, registry services or intravenous therapy
providers.

Incapacitated older adult—An older adult who, because
of one or more functional limitations, needs the assistance
of another person to perform or obtain services necessary
to maintain physical or mental health. The definition of
capacity or incapacity or competence or incompetence, as
defined in 20 Pa.C.S. 8§ 5501—5555 (relating to guard-
ianship), does not apply to this definition.

Informed consent—Consent obtained for a proposed
course of protective service provision. The consent shall
be based on a reasonable attempt to provide information
which conveys, at a minimum, the risks, alternatives and
outcomes of the various modes of protective service
provision available under the circumstances.

Intimidation—An act or omission by a person or entity
toward another person which is intended to, or with
knowledge that the act or omission will, obstruct, impede,
impair, prevent or interfere with the administration of
the act or any law intended to protect older adults from
mistreatment.

Investigation—A systematic inquiry conducted by the
agency to determine if allegations made in a report of
need for protective services can be substantiated, or if the
older adult referred to in the report of need is an older
adult in need of protective services, or both.

Law enforcement official—One of the following:

(i) A police officer.
(ii) A district attorney.
(iii) The State Police.

Least restrictive alternative—The appropriate course of
action on behalf of the older adult which least intrudes
upon the personal autonomy, rights and liberties of the
older adult in circumstances when an older adult lacks
the capacity to decide on matters and take actions
essential to maintaining physical and mental health.

Neglect—The failure to provide for oneself or the failure
of a caretaker to provide goods or services essential to
avoid a clear and serious threat to physical or mental
health. An older adult who does not consent to the
provision of protective services will not be found to be
neglected solely on the grounds of environmental factors
which are beyond the control of the older adult or the
caretaker, such as inadequate housing, furnishings, in-
come, clothing or medical care.

Older adult—A person within the jurisdiction of this
Commonwealth who is 60 years of age or older.

Older adult in need of protective services—An incapaci-
tated older adult who is unable to perform or obtain
services that are necessary to maintain physical or men-
tal health, for which there is no responsible caretaker and
who is at imminent risk of danger to his person or
property.

Operator—A person, society, corporation, governing au-
thority or partnership legally responsible for the adminis-
tration and operation of a facility. At licensed facilities,
the licensee is the operator.

Planning and service area—The geographic unit within
this Commonwealth, as designated by the Secretary, for
the allocation of funds for the delivery of social services to
older adults residing in that unit.

Police department—A public agency of the Common-
wealth or of a political subdivision having general police
powers and charged with making arrests in connection
with the enforcement of the criminal or traffic laws, or
both.

Police officer—A full-time or part-time employee of the
Commonwealth, a city, borough, town, township or county
police department assigned to criminal or traffic or
criminal and traffic law enforcement duties. The term
does not include persons employed to check parking
meters or to perform only administrative duties, auxiliary
and fire police.

Protective services—Activities, resources and supports
provided to older adults under the act to detect, prevent,
reduce or eliminate abuse, neglect, exploitation and aban-
donment.

Protective services caseworker—A protective services
agency employee, regardless of staff title, who meets the
minimum standards in 8§ 15.121—15.127 (relating to
staff training and experience standards) and is assigned
by the agency under § 15.13(c) (relating to organization
and structure of protective services functions) to perform
the following protective services functions:

(i) To receive reports of a need for protective services
when necessary.

(i) To investigate reports received under this chapter.

(iii) To assess the needs of protective services clients
under this chapter.
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(iv) To develop and coordinate the implementation of
service plans for protective services clients.

Protective setting—A setting chosen by the agency
where services can be provided in the least restrictive
environment to protect the physical and mental well-
being of the older adult.

Public or private entitlement or resource—A publicly or
privately funded health or human services program avail-
able either without charge or on a cost-sharing basis to
persons who qualify on the basis of one or more criteria,
such as age, need, income or condition.

(i) The term includes various established financial as-
sistance programs under public or private sponsorship.

(ii) The term does not include individual personal
income or financial assets.

Recipient—An individual of any age who receives care,
services or treatment in or from a facility.

Report or report of need—The written report of an older
adult in need of protective services received under
§ 15.23 (relating to receiving reports; general agency
responsibility) and recorded on the standardized protec-
tive services report form.

Responsible caretaker—A caretaker who is able and
willing to provide the basic care and protection necessary
to maintain the physical or mental health of an older
adult. A caretaker reported to have abused, neglected,
exploited or abandoned an older adult is presumed,
subject to an investigation under this chapter, to be
unable or unwilling to provide the necessary care and
protection.

Secretary—The Secretary of the Department.

Serious bodily injury—Injury which creates a substan-
tial risk of death or which causes serious permanent
disfigurement or protracted loss or impairment of the
function of a body member or organ.

Serious physical injury—An injury that does one of the
following:

(i) Causes a person severe pain.

(ii) Significantly impairs a person’s physical function-
ing, either temporarily or permanently.

Service plan—A written plan developed by the agency
on the basis of a comprehensive assessment of an older
adult's need which describes identified needs, goals to be
achieved and specific services to support goal attainment,
with regular follow-up and predetermined reassessment
of progress. Specific services to support goal attainment
may include homemaker services, home-delivered meals,
attendant care, other in-home services, emergency shelter
or food, legal aid services, transportation and other
services. Service plans are cooperatively developed by the
agency staff, the older adult or the older adult’s appointed
guardian and other family members when appropriate.
The plan shall also address, if applicable, special needs of
other members of the household unit as they may affect
the older adult's need for protective services.

Sexual abuse—Intentionally, knowingly or recklessly
causing or attempting to cause rape, involuntary deviate
sexual intercourse, sexual assault, statutory sexual as-
sault, aggravated indecent assault, indecent assault or
incest.

State-licensed facility—For all purposes involved in the
determination of whether an individual is an older adult
in need of protective services, a State licensed facility is
defined as an institution licensed by the Commonwealth

to provide temporary or permanent residence to persons
in need of personal care or medical care, including
nursing homes, personal care homes, hospitals, State
hospitals and mental retardation centers.

State Police—The Pennsylvania State Police.

State Police criminal history record—A report of crimi-
nal history record information from the State Police or a
statement from the State Police that their central reposi-
tory contains no information relating to that person.

Unsupervised access—Access to personal living quarters
of residents when not accompanied by or within direct
supervision of an employee of the facility.

PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION

§ 15.11. Administrative functions and responsibili-
ties of the Department.

(@) General responsibilities. The Department will estab-
lish and maintain a Statewide system of protective
services for older adults who need them. These services
will be available and accessible through local protective
services agencies. In maintaining this system of protec-
tive services, the Department’s functions and responsibili-
ties include the following:

(1) The review and approval of annual protective ser-
vices plans submitted by area agencies under § 15.12(b)
(relating to administrative functions and responsibilities
of area agencies on aging).

(2) The allocation of funds appropriated for the imple-
mentation of the act to area agencies on aging to
administer local protective services plans.

(3) The establishment of minimum standards of train-
ing and experience for protective services staff.

(4) The development and maintenance of a fiscal and
service data collection system to collect information on
local reports of a need for protective services, investiga-
tions, services provided and other relevant data on protec-
tive services activities.

(5) The monitoring of local protective services delivery
for compliance with this chapter and approved area
agency on aging protective services plans.

(6) The development and maintenance of an ongoing
program of public information and education to promote
general awareness of and informed responses to the needs
of older adults for protective services available under this
chapter.

(7) Ongoing coordination with State agencies.

(b) Local protective services plans. The Department will
review the annual protective services plan submitted
under § 15.12(b) by an area agency on aging and will
notify the area agency of approval or disapproval within
60 days.

(c) Staff training and experience. The minimum stan-
dards of training and experience of protective services
staff employed to carry out activities under this chapter
are set forth in 88 15.121—15.127 (relating to staff
training and experience standards).

(d) Public information and education. The Department
will develop and maintain a campaign of public informa-
tion and education about the needs for and availability of
protective services under this chapter. The target of this
campaign will be older adults and the general public, as
well as professionals and others employed in situations
where they are likely to have frequent contact with older
adults who need protective services. In designing and
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implementing the ongoing public awareness campaign,
the Department will consult with other Commonwealth
agencies and consider the concerns of area agencies on
aging and the local entities identified by area agencies as
having substantial contact with potential victims or per-
petrators of abuse, neglect, exploitation and abandon-
ment.

§ 15.12. Administrative functions and responsibili-
ties of area agencies on aging.

(a) General responsibilities. An area agency on aging
shall administer the delivery of protective services under
this chapter in its planning and service area. The func-
tions and responsibilities of the area agency on aging in
administering protective services include the following:

(1) The development and submission of a protective
services plan under subsection (b).

(2) The oversight of the delivery of protective services
for older adults, either directly or purchased under
contract with another agency, in compliance with the area
agency’s approved protective services plan, this chapter
and other applicable State and Federal regulations or
statutes. The plan shall assure that the agency will
provide for the receipt of reports of need for protective
services, the conduct of investigations of reports, the
assessment of need and the development of service plans
throughout the period covered by the plan. The plan shall
also describe sources for specific services that may be
required by older adults who have been assessed as
needing them, and policies pertaining to arranging for
specific services if and when needs for specific services
exceed supply.

(3) The coordination of the protective services related
activities of local agencies and organizations having sub-
stantial contact with potential victims or perpetrators of
abuse, neglect, exploitation and abandonment. These
agencies and organizations include the following:

(i) Local domestic violence agencies.

(if) County assistance offices.

(iti) Local mental health/mental retardation programs.
(iv) County offices of children and youth.

(v) Law enforcement agencies.

(vi) Legal services agencies.

(vii) Emergency medical service agencies, hospital
emergency rooms and social services staff.

(viii) Home health agencies.

(ix) Drug and alcohol prevention and treatment organi-
zations.

(x) Clergy associations and councils of churches.

(4) The local extension of the Department's ongoing
campaign of public information and education about the
need for, and availability of, protective services for older
adults.

(5) The collection and submission to the Department of
data on protective services activities. The data shall be
recorded and reports submitted as required by the De-
partment. At a minimum, the following information shall
be included:

(i) The number of substantiated and unsubstantiated
reports.

(ii) The number of reports made in various categories
of need for protective services, such as physical abuse,
financial exploitation, neglect, abandonment and the like.

(iii) The demographic information on persons reported
to be in need of protective services and on alleged
perpetrators of abuse, neglect, exploitation and abandon-
ment.

(iv) The origins of reports.
(v) The remedies and referrals.

(b) Protective services plan. The area agency on aging
shall submit, on an annual basis, its protective services
plan to the Department. The protective services plan
shall contain, at a minimum, the following information:

(1) An explanation of the organizational structure and
staffing of the area agency’s protective services functions,
including provisions for purchasing these services if appli-
cable. For the purpose of advising the agency on medi-
cally related issues encountered during assessment and
the development of service plans, the organizational
structure shall include the consultation services of a
registered nurse or physician licensed to practice in this
Commonwealth.

(2) An explanation of how the area agency’s organiza-
tional structure and staffing of protective services will
prevent a conflict of interest between the investigation of
reports received under this chapter and the area agency’s
service delivery functions. The explanation shall include
assurances that the minimum criteria required under
§ 15.13 (relating to organization and structure of protec-
tive services functions) will be met.

(3) A description of the local process for delivering
protective services to older adults who need them, includ-
ing the 24-hour capability to receive reports, the investi-
gation of reports and the necessary actions arising from
investigations. The description shall focus on the specific
local methodology to be implemented in activities for
which this chapter allows for local differences and flexibil-
ity. The description of the plan for investigating reports
shall include an explanation of steps to be taken to assure
the standby capability required under § 15.41(c) (relating
to reports required to be investigated). The description of
the plan for seeking emergency court orders shall include
the agency’s identification of the providers of legal assist-
ance who may be notified under § 15.71(b) (relating to
involuntary intervention by emergency court order) when
the agency petitions the court for emergency involuntary
intervention.

(4) A description of local funding for protective services
which has, at the discretion of a county or local agency,
been placed under the administrative control of the area
agency on aging. There is no requirement by the Depart-
ment that the area agency on aging obtain local funding
for its protective services plan budget.

(5) Documentation of applicable interagency relations,
interagency agreements, service referral mechanisms and
the locus of responsibility for cases with multi-service
needs. The documentation shall include assurances that
the area agency on aging has taken steps to avoid
unnecessary duplication of existing efforts by other agen-
cies which may carry responsibilities for some protective
services activities.

(6) A description of local methods to be used to assure
the privacy and confidentiality of older adults receiving
protective services as required under 8§ 15.101—15.105
(relating to confidentiality).

(7) A list of the entities, public and private, identified
by the area agency on aging as having substantial contact
with potential victims or perpetrators of abuse, neglect,
exploitation and abandonment.
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(c) Public awareness. The area agency on aging shall
conduct within its planning and service area an ongoing
campaign designed to inform and educate older adults,
professionals and the general public about the need for
and availability of protective services under this chapter.
This ongoing campaign shall utilize materials and meth-
odology developed by the Department and supplemented
by the area agency with relevant information on the local
protective services system. Special emphasis shall be
placed on informing the community on how to make
reports and request services.

(d) Department approval required. An area agency on
aging, which has not received the Department’'s approval
for its protective services plan may not provide services
under this chapter.

§ 15.13. Organization and structure of protective
services functions.

(a) General organization. The area agency on aging
may provide protective services directly or under a pur-
chase of services contract with another provider agency.
In either case, the area agency on aging is responsible for
the compliance of protective services activities with this
chapter. The area agency on aging shall assure that the
agency meets the minimum standards of organization and
structure set forth in this section.

(b) Protective services caseworkers.

(1) The agency shall designate as a protective services
caseworker at least one caseworker who meets the mini-
mum standards in 88 15.121—15.127 (relating to staff
training and experience standards).

(2) The agency shall assign protective services cases to
designated protective services caseworkers by allocating
the anticipated agency caseload in a manner consistent
with the agency’s plan for caseload distribution.

(3) The agency’s plan for caseload distribution shall be
described in the agency’s protective services plan and
shall include the following specific information:

(i) The rationale for the proposed caseload distribution.

(ii) How the subset of workers will be defined and
selected, including an estimate of the anticipated caseload
size to be assigned to each designated protective services
caseworker.

(iii) How the cases within a designated protective
services caseworker’s caseload will be prioritized.

(iv) How that prioritization system will be maintained.

(v) How the agency will develop and maintain the
necessary specialized expertise required to fulfill protec-
tive services responsibilities.

(4) A protective services caseworker may not serve as
the area agency on aging ombudsman on the same case.

(5) The protective services caseload assigned to a pro-
tective services caseworker may not be planned to exceed
30 ongoing protective services cases.

(6) The case assignment system of the agency shall
encourage the appropriate transfer of cases into and out
of protective services caseloads as provided under § 15.96
(relating to termination of protective services).

(c) Other staff. The immediate supervisor of a protec-
tive services caseworker is required to be trained as set
forth in 88 15.121—15.127. An intake worker of the
agency is permitted to discharge nonprotective service

duties. An intake worker who receives a report of the
need for protective services shall receive training as set
forth in §§ 15.121—15.127.

(d) Conflict of interest. The area agency on aging shall
describe in its protective services plan the steps it will
take to avoid or minimize the potential of a conflict of
interest between the investigative and service delivery
functions in the protective services caseload. The descrip-
tion shall identify points in the organization and struc-
ture of protective services delivery where a potential
conflict of interest may exist and explain the specific
organizational responses which the area agency on aging
will make to avoid or minimize that potential. The
responses may include provisions for assuring some sepa-
ration between the investigative and service delivery
functions. The description shall also include proposed
steps for addressing an actual conflict of interest if one
arises. Nothing in this chapter constitutes an absolute
bar to an area agency from delivering protective services
and other area agency on aging services itself or through
the same provider solely because of the potential exist-
ence of a conflict of interest.

(e) Depth of agency capacity. The agency shall require
sufficient staff of all categories to be trained under
88 15.121—15.127 to insure that routine staff absences
will not compromise the agency's ability to fulfill its
responsibilities under the act. Trained standby staff mem-
bers shall be available to provide protective services as
required, but are not required to be regularly assigned to
protective services duties.

REPORTING SUSPECTED ABUSE, NEGLECT,
ABANDONMENT OR EXPLOITATION

§ 15.21. General reporting provisions.

(@) A person who has reasonable cause to believe that
an older adult needs protective services may report this
to the local provider of protective services. An area agency
on aging shall publicize, on an ongoing basis, the name,
address and phone number of the agency when reports
are to be made.

(b) When applicable, reports shall comply with
8§ 15.151—15.157 (relating to reporting suspected
abuse).

§ 15.22. Safeguards for those who make or receive
reports.

(a) Protection from retaliation. Under the act, a person
or entity who takes discriminatory, retaliatory or disci-
plinary action against an employee or other person who
makes a report, against a person who cooperates with the
agency or the Department to provide testimony or other
information about a report, or against a victim of abuse,
commits a violation of the act. The person who takes the
discriminatory, retaliatory or disciplinary action is subject
to a civil lawsuit by the person who made the report, the
victim of abuse named in the report, or the person who
cooperated with the agency or the Department. If the
court which hears the lawsuit decides in favor of the
plaintiff, the plaintiff shall recover triple compensatory
damages, compensatory and punitive damages or $5,000,
whichever is greater, from the person or entity which
committed the violation.

(b) Immunity from liability. As provided under the act,
a person who participates in the making of a report or
completion of an investigation or who provides testimony
in an administrative or judicial proceeding arising out of
a report shall be immune from civil or criminal liability
because of these actions unless the person acted in bad
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faith or with malicious purpose. The act does not extend
this immunity to liability for acts of abuse, neglect,
exploitation or abandonment, even if the acts are the
subject of the report or testimony.

(¢) Intimidation; penalty. Any person, including the
victim, with knowledge sufficient to justify making a
report or cooperating with the agency, including possibly
providing testimony in any administrative or judicial
proceeding, shall be free from any intimidation by an
employer or by any other person or entity. Any person
who violates this subsection is subject to civil lawsuit by
the person intimidated or the victim wherein the person
intimidated or the victim shall recover treble compensa-
tory damages, compensatory and punitive damages or
$5,000, whichever is greater.

(d) Notification. The administrator of a facility shall
post notices in conspicuous and accessible locations and
use other appropriate means to notify employees, resi-
dents and other individuals of protections and obligations
under the act, and keep them informed of the protections
and obligations.

§ 15.23. Receiving reports; general agency responsi-
bility.

(a) Twenty-four hour capability. The agency shall be
capable of receiving reports of older adults in need of
protective services 24-hours-a-day, 7 days-a-week-
including holidays. This capability may include the use of
a local emergency response system or a crisis intervention
agency.

(b) Accessibility of professional staff. Regardless of the
arrangements made by the agency to receive reports
outside the normal business hours of the agency, the
agency shall provide 24-hours-a-day, 7 days-a-week—
including holidays-accessibility to a protective services
caseworker by a person receiving reports so that referrals
required under § 15.26(b) (relating to screening and
referral of reports received) may be made for immediate
attention. If this accessibility is provided by means of
telephone, telephone paging device or other alternatives
to direct physical presence, the protective services case-
worker shall be capable of returning the call within 30
minutes.

(c) Toll-free public telephone access. To facilitate report-
ing of older adults in need of protective services, the
agency shall provide toll-free telephone access to persons
residing in the planning and service area served by the
agency. If possible, the agency shall utilize the same
telephone number everywhere in the planning and service
area at all times. This number shall be extensively
publicized throughout the planning and service area with
special emphasis on older adults and persons likely to be
in contact with victims or perpetrators of abuse, neglect,
exploitation and abandonment.

(d) Reports from outside the planning and service area.
The agency shall receive all reports made regardless of
their place of origin or the location in this Commonwealth
of the older adult in need of protective services. If the
older adult who is the subject of a report does not reside
in the planning and service area of the agency or, at that
time, is not in the planning and service area, the agency
shall notify the agency which provides protective services
in the planning and service area where the older adult is
located and relay to that agency the information received
in the report.

§ 15.24. Receiving reports; agency intake process.

() Personnel who may receive reports. A report shall be
received only by persons who have received training on

the minimum requirements and procedures for receiving,
recording, screening and referring reports under § 15.124
(relating to protective services intake training curricu-
lum). When the agency uses an answering service to
receive calls from persons reporting a need for protective
services, the agency shall have one of the following
options:

(1) To provide the training for intake workers required
under 8§ 15.124 to appropriate staff of the answering
service organization.

(2) To provide that all calls are forwarded directly to
designated protective services intake workers or case-
workers of the agency for completion of a report of need
form.

(b) Anonymity for reporters. A person who reports an
older adult in need of protective services may remain
anonymous, if desired. In an attempt to secure the
reporter’'s name if additional information or assistance is
needed for investigation or service provision, a person
who receives a report shall inform an anonymous reporter
of the statutory protection from retaliation and liability.

§ 15.25. Report form and content.

(@) Standardized reports. An initial report received
shall be committed to writing on the standardized report
form required by the Department. Information subse-
guently obtained through investigations may be reported
on other forms or sheets of paper for inclusion in the case
record.

(b) Handling oral reports. A report may be received in
writing or orally. A report received orally shall be commit-
ted immediately to writing on the standardized form.

(¢) Minimum contents. The person receiving a report
shall make every effort to obtain information necessary to
complete the standardized report form. At a minimum,
the completed report shall contain the following informa-
tion:

(1) The date and time of the report.

(2) The name, address and phone number of the person
making the report, unless withheld.

(3) The name, address and, if available, age and phone
number of the person reported to need protective services.

(4) The nature of the incident which precipitated the
report.

(5) The nature and extent of the need for protective
services. Indicate if the person is in a life threatening
situation.

(6) The physical and mental status of the person in
need, to the extent obtainable.

§ 15.26. Screening and referral of reports received.

(@) Screening. A person meeting the qualifications in
§ 15.121(c)(3) (relating to protective services staff qualifi-
cations) who receives a report shall screen the report
during and immediately following receipt of the report to
assign it to one of the following referral categories:

(1) Emergency.

(2) Priority.

(3) Nonpriority.

(4) Another planning and service area.
(5) No need for protective services.

(b) Referral categories and actions.
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(1) Emergency. A report placed in this category requires
immediate attention because specific details in the report
indicate the possibility that the older adult reported to
need protective services is at imminent risk of death or
serious physical harm. The person receiving an emer-
gency report shall immediately contact a protective ser-
vices caseworker designated under § 15.23(b) (relating to
receiving reports; general agency responsibility) and pro-
vide that caseworker with the information contained in
the report.

(2) Priority. A report placed in this category contains
details which clearly suggest that the need for protective
services is serious enough to require early intervention.
The person receiving a priority report shall immediately
contact a protective services caseworker designated under
§ 15.23(b) and provide that caseworker with the informa-
tion in the report.

(3) Nonpriority. A report shall be placed in this cat-
egory when it does not appropriately fall within the
emergency or priority categories and, therefore, does not
require immediate attention by the agency. A report in
this category shall be referred to a protective services
caseworker of the agency within the normal business
hours of the agency's current or next day of business
under the agency’s established procedures for referring
these reports.

(4) Another planning and service area. A report which
is covered under § 15.23(d) shall be placed in this
category. It shall be referred to the agency which has the
designated responsibility for protective services in the
planning and service area in which the older adult
reported to need protective services is located at the time
of the report. A report in this category will also meet the
criteria for placement in one of the other categories in
this subsection. The provisions for referral for the other
category shall apply to a referral to another planning and
service area.

(5) No need for protective services.

(i) A report shall be placed in this category when the
person reported to be in need of protective services meets
one or more of the following criteria:

(A) Is under 60 years of age.

(B) Has the capacity to perform or obtain, without
help, services necessary to maintain physical or mental
health.

(C) Has a responsible caretaker at the time of the
report.

(D) Is not at imminent risk of danger to his person or
property.

(i) A report in this category shall be referred to a
protective services caseworker of the agency within the
normal business hours of the agency’s current or next day
of business. The protective services caseworker shall
review the details of the report and take whatever steps
necessary to confirm or reject the categorization of no
need for protective services. If the caseworker confirms
the screening categorization, appropriate referrals shall
be made to the area agency on aging care management
system or, if concerning an adult under 60 years of age, to
another community agency. If the caseworker rejects the
categorization, the report shall be placed in the appropri-
ate category and be handled accordingly.

(iii) A report may not be placed in this category if the
older adult is temporarily relocated to a safe environment

and will return to the original abusive situation or to a
new location which has not been determined to be safe.

§ 15.27. Handling of completed reports.

(@) Reports to be signed. Completed report forms shall
be signed by the person who received the report.

(b) Appropriate routing of reports. A completed report
form shall be promptly routed to appropriate staff of the
agency under § 15.26(b) (relating to screening and refer-
ral of reports received), and shall be handled in a manner
which safeguards the confidentiality of information con-
tained in the report. Sections 15.103 and 15.104 (relating
to responsibilities of staff with access to confidential
information; and penalties for violation of confidentiality
requirements) also apply to staff of an emergency re-
sponse agency under contract with the agency to receive
reports during times when the agency is not open for
business.

(c) State licensed facility. A report involving a State-
licensed facility, and containing sufficient information to
begin an investigation, shall be provided to the appropri-
ate State licensing agency.

INVESTIGATING REPORTS OF NEED FOR
PROTECTIVE SERVICES

§ 15.41. Reports required to be investigated.

(@) General. The agency shall provide for an investiga-
tion of a report received under § 15.23 (relating to
receiving reports; general agency responsibility) and re-
ferred under § 15.26 (relating to screening and referral of
reports received) to determine if the report can be
substantiated and, if so, immediate steps that are neces-
sary to remove or reduce an imminent risk to person or
property. The investigation shall be initiated within 72
hours following the receipt of a report or sooner as
provided under § 15.42 (relating to standards for initiat-
ing and conducting investigations) and include sufficient
collateral information provided by interviews, documents,
reports or other methods to determine if the older adult is
in need of protective services. When applicable, reports
and investigations shall comply with 8§ 15.141—15.147
(relating to criminal history record information reports).

(b) Trained and identified investigators. Only a person
who has completed the minimum training required for
protective services caseworkers by the Department under
§ 15.121—15.127 (relating to staff training and experi-
ence standards) may conduct investigations under this
section. When, for reasons unexpected and beyond the
agency'’s control, a trained staff person is not available to
conduct investigations, the agency shall notify the De-
partment and seek the Department's approval for its
proposed plan for carrying out its investigation responsi-
bilities under this section. The agency shall provide each
investigator with official credentials which document the
identity of the investigator and the legal authority to
implement this chapter.

(c) Agency responsibility. The agency is responsible for
assuring that an investigation under this section can be
conducted whenever circumstances require it. This re-
sponsibility includes the provision of standby capability
for use if the agency’'s regularly assigned staff is not
available.

§ 15.42. Standards for initiating and conducting in-
vestigations.

(@) Requirements by report category.
(1) Emergency report.
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(i) The investigation of a report categorized as emer-
gency shall be initiated immediately following the referral
of the report. The protective services caseworker shall
make every attempt to ensure the immediate safety of the
older adult and to conduct a face to face visit as soon as
possible. The agency shall assure that reasonable at-
tempts will be made to conduct a face to face visit within
24 hours after the report is received.

(ii) When, after reasonable efforts to gain access to the
older adult, the protective services caseworker is denied
access, the caseworker shall document the efforts made
and take action, as appropriate, under § 15.61 or § 15.71
(relating to access to persons; and involuntary interven-
tion by emergency court order).

(2) Priority report. The investigation of a report catego-
rized as priority shall be initiated as soon as possible. The
agency shall assure that reasonable attempts to initiate
the investigation will be made within 24 hours after the
report is received. The investigation of a priority report is
initiated only by contact with the older adult reported to
need protective services. The protective services case-
worker shall make every attempt to visit with the older
adult face to face within the 24 hours provided. When,
after reasonable efforts to gain access to the older adult,
the caseworker is denied access, the caseworker shall
document the efforts made and take action, as appropri-
ate, under § 15.61 or § 15.71.

(3) Nonpriority report.

(i) The investigation of a report categorized as
nonpriority shall be initiated in a timely manner but
never later than 72 hours after the report was received.
At the discretion of the agency, the initiation of an
investigation of a nonpriority report shall include a visit
to the older adult reported to need protective services
when details in the report indicate a need to see and talk
with the older adult face to face to secure or verify facts
essential to the ongoing investigation.

(i) The investigation of a report categorized as
nonpriority shall include at least one visit to the older
adult reported to need protective services at an appropri-
ate point in the course of the investigation. Every attempt
shall be made to visit with the older adult face to face.
When, after reasonable efforts to gain access to the older
adult, the protective services caseworker is denied access,
the caseworker shall document the efforts made and,
when appropriate, take action under § 15.61 or § 15.71.

(4) No need report. The investigation of a report catego-
rized as no need for protective services shall consist of the
protective services caseworker's review of the report
categorization. If the caseworker agrees with the initial
categorization, appropriate referrals shall be made within
72 hours after the report was received, to the area agency
on aging service management system or, if concerning an
adult under 60 years of age to another community agency,
if available. If the caseworker does not agree with the
initial categorization, the report shall be placed in an-
other category in this subsection and addressed under the
applicable provisions for investigating a report in that
category.

(b) Reports involving county or area agency on aging
employees. If the agency is required to investigate a
report which alleges that abuse, neglect, exploitation or
abandonment has been perpetrated by an employee of the
county, the area agency on aging or its subcontractor, the
agency shall notify the Department as early as possible
during the current or next day of normal business hours.
The notification shall be made by phone to a person

designated by the Department and shall include the
pertinent details of the report. A copy of the completed
report of need shall be immediately forwarded by mail to
the Department. Copies of written records of investigative
activities shall also be forwarded to the Department for
review. The Department reserves the right to intervene in
the agency’s investigation of a report under this subsec-
tion if it is determined appropriate to assure a fully
objective investigation.

(c) Written records of investigative activities. The inves-
tigative activities, including home visits and other con-
tacts with the older adult or other persons or organiza-
tions needed to facilitate the investigation, shall be
documented in writing and placed in the case record.
Documentation may include dated and signed photo-
graphs and statements related to suspected abuse.

(d) Completing investigations of reports. The agency
shall make all reasonable efforts to complete an investiga-
tion of a report of need for protective services under this
section as soon as possible and, in cases of abuse and
neglect, at least within 20 days of the receipt of the
report. The investigation of the report is completed only
when the report has been determined to be substantiated
or unsubstantiated and, if substantiated, after necessary
steps have been taken to reduce an imminent risk to the
older adult’s person or property.

(e) Department conducting its own investigation. If the
Department determines that an agency is unable to
conduct, or has not conducted, what the Department
considers an acceptable protective services investigation,
the Department may intervene in the agency’s investiga-
tion, or conduct its own investigation.

§ 15.43. Resolution of unsubstantiated reports.

(&) When, upon investigation of a report, it is deter-
mined that there is no need for protective services, the
report shall be classified as unsubstantiated.

(b) A case opened by an unsubstantiated report shall
be closed and information identifying the person who
made the report and the alleged perpetrator of abuse, if
applicable, shall be immediately deleted from the case
record.

(c) For the purposes of substantiating a pattern of
abuse, neglect, exploitation or abandonment, the name of
the person reported to need protective services and other
information relevant to the circumstances which led to
the report may be maintained for 6 months in a separate
locked file accessible only to limited authorized staff for
review when it is necessary to establish that a previous
report was made. At the end of 6 months, case records
maintained under this subsection shall be destroyed
unless additional reports lead to their being reopened.

(d) When an older adult who is the subject of an
unsubstantiated report has needs for other services, the
older adult shall be informed of the availability of ser-
vices through the area agency on aging service manage-
ment system or another appropriate community agency.

§ 15.44. Resolution of substantiated reports.

(@) When an investigation confirms the details of a
report made under § 15.23 (relating to receiving reports;
general agency responsibility) or determines that the
subject of the report is an older adult in need of
protective services, the report shall be classified as sub-
stantiated.

(b) The agency shall provide for a timely assessment of
the need for protective services by the older adult who is
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the subject of a substantiated report if the older adult
gives informed consent to an assessment. If an older
adult found to need protective services does not consent
to an assessment, the agency may seek, when appropri-
ate, a court order under § 15.61 (relating to access to
persons).

(c) On the basis of the assessment, the agency shall
provide for the development of a service plan of recom-
mended actions which reflect the least restrictive alterna-
tives for removing or reducing imminent risk to person or
property and promote self-determination and continuity of
care being provided at the time of the agency’s interven-
tion. The service plan may include, when appropriate, the
pursuit of civil or criminal remedies.

(d) Developed service plans shall be put into effect
under § 15.94 (relating to service delivery).

§ 15.45. Situations involving State-licensed facil-
ities.
(@) General. The following apply to investigations of

reports concerning older adults who reside in State-
licensed facilities:

(1) The agency continues to maintain its general re-
sponsibility for protective services when a licensing
agency assumes the role of investigating a report received
by the agency.

(2) The response times provided in § 15.42(a) (relating
to standards for initiating and conducting investigations)
for initiating investigations of reports apply to initiating
investigations of reports under this section. The initiation
of the investigation under subsection (c) is accomplished
by the referral of the report to the appropriate adminis-
trative office.

(3) The supervisor of a protective services caseworker
who initiates an investigation under this section shall be
informed during the current day or next day of normal
agency operating hours concerning the report and shall
consult frequently with the caseworker about the progress
and findings of the investigation.

(4) The agency shall notify the area agency on aging
ombudsman of reports and investigations concerning
older adults residing in State licensed facilities for which
the area agency on aging provides ombudsman services.
In situations that ombudsman services, as established by
section 712(g) of the Older Americans Act of 1965 (42
U.S.C.A. § 3058g) and section 2207-A of The Administra-
tive Code of 1929 (71 P. S. § 581-7(d)), are determined to
be appropriate, the agency shall request those services
from the ombudsman.

(b) Agency coordination with the licensing agency.

(1) Except as provided under subsection (c), the agency
shall notify the appropriate licensing agency under proce-
dures developed by the Department, in consultation with
the licensing agency

(i) Notification shall identify the facility, the older adult
and the nature of the report.

(i) Notification shall be made immediately by tele-
phone or facsimile to the appropriate field office of the
Department of Health that an investigation has been
initiated in a facility licensed by the Department of
Health.

(iti) Notification shall be made immediately by tele-
phone or facsimile to the appropriate field office or
central office of the Department of Public Welfare that an
investigation has been initiated in a facility licensed by
the Department of Public Welfare.

(2) During the course of the investigation, the agency
shall coordinate its investigative activities and findings
with the licensing agency to avoid duplication of effort
and to foster jointly developed remedies to situations
requiring protective services intervention.

(c) State-operated mental health and mental retarda-
tion facilities. If the agency receives a report concerning
an older adult who resides in a facility operated by the
Department of Public Welfare under its Office of Mental
Health or its Office of Mental Retardation, the agency
shall provide for an investigation of that report as follows:

(1) The protective services caseworker or investigator
to whom the report is referred shall initiate the investiga-
tion by referring the report to the appropriate administra-
tive office under procedures jointly developed by the
Department and the Department of Public Welfare for
investigation under their patient rights program. The
jointly developed procedures provide for specific points of
contact between the agency and the Department of Public
Welfare and establish a system which assures that the
agency will be kept fully informed of the activities,
findings and results of investigations through written
records of the investigative activities and remedial actions
as they develop.

(2) The agency shall closely monitor an investigation
referred under paragraph (1) to determine that the
investigation is effectively implemented and that appro-
priate remedies have been effected to correct the situation
which led to the making of the report. The referral of an
investigation to the Office of Mental Health or Office of
Mental Retardation does not relieve the agency of its
mandated authority and responsibility to provide protec-
tive services. If the agency determines that an older
adult's need for protective services is not adequately
being met under paragraph (1), the agency shall inter-
vene and conduct its own investigation.

§ 15.46. Law enforcement agencies as available re-
sources.

(@) General. This chapter may not be interpreted to
deny an older adult who needs protective services access
to the normal protections available from the police and
other law enforcement agencies as appropriate.

(b) Interagency coordination. To facilitate the coopera-
tion of law enforcement officials with the provision of
protective services when necessary, the agency shall fulfill
the following minimum coordinating activities:

(1) Achieve specific coordination objectives with:
(i) Police departments in the planning and service area.
(i) The district attorney’s office.

(iii) State Police field installations for the planning and
service area.

(iv) Officials of the court system.
(v) Legal assistance agencies.

(2) Establish designated points of contact with law
enforcement agencies to facilitate access when necessary.

(3) Establish basic procedures to be followed when the
agency makes reports of criminal conduct or requests for
special assistance to law enforcement agencies and when
the law enforcement agencies report the need for protec-
tive services to the agency.

(4) Provide for the necessary exchange of information
about protective services for older adults and the role of
law enforcement in the provision of those services.

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 32, NO. 20, MAY 18, 2002



RULES AND REGULATIONS 2423

(¢) The role of law enforcement in protective services.
The agency’'s protective services workers shall receive
training as required under §§ 15.121—15.127 (relating to
staff training and experience standards) in applicable
sections of the criminal code and the role of law enforce-
ment officials when criminal conduct is encountered or
suspected.

(d) Legal options information. The agency shall take
steps to inform older adults who need protective services
of the various legal options, civil or criminal, available
through appropriate agencies as possible remedies to
situations of risk to person or property. If an older adult
reported to need protective services requests the agency
to contact a law enforcement agency, the agency shall
respond to that request in an appropriate and timely
manner.

(e) Police assistance to protective services worker. A
protective services worker may, as appropriate, request
the assistance of a police officer when investigating a
report which indicates a possible danger to the worker. As
provided under § 15.74 (relating to forcible entry), forc-
ible entry may be made only by a police officer or State
Trooper accompanied by a representative of the agency
after obtaining a court order.

(f) Simultaneous investigation. When both a report of
need for protective services and a police report have been
filed, the protective services investigation shall continue
simultaneously with the police investigation. The agency
may take steps to coordinate its investigation with the
police investigation and the investigation of the State
licensing agency and shall make available as provided
under § 15.105 (relating to limited access to records and
disclosure of information) relevant information from the
case record.

(g) Report of death. If the death of an older adult
reported to need protective services occurs prior to the
agency'’s investigation of the report, during the investiga-
tion or at any time prior to the closure of the protective
services case, when there is some nexus between the
death and the need for protective services, the agency
shall immediately report that death to the police and the
county coroner.

§ 15.47. Emergency medical services as available
resources.

This chapter may not be interpreted to deny an older
adult who needs protective services access to the normal
protections of the emergency medical services that would
be available to anyone, regardless of age, in similar
circumstances.

AGENCY ACCESS TO OLDER ADULTS AND
RECORDS

§ 15.61. Access to older adults.

(a) Access assured by law. The agency shall have access
to older adults who have been reported to need protective
services to:

(1) Investigate reports received under this chapter.

(2) Assess the older adult’'s need and develop a service
plan for addressing determined needs.

(3) Provide for the delivery of services by the agency or
other service provider arranged for under the service plan
developed by the agency.

(b) Access to older adults. Except in emergency or
priority protective services cases, access to older adults
shall be between the hours of 7 a.m. and 9 p.m.

(c) When access is denied. If the agency is denied access
to an older adult reported to need protective services and
access is necessary to complete the investigation or the
assessment and service plan, or the delivery of needed
services to prevent further abuse, neglect, exploitation or
abandonment of the older adult reported to need protec-
tive services, the protective services caseworker shall
make reasonable efforts to clearly inform the party
denying access of the legal authority for access in section
304 of the act (35 P.S. § 10225.304) and the available
recourse through a court order. If the party continues to
deny the agency access to the older adult, the agency may
petition the court for an order to require the appropriate
access when one of the following conditions applies:

(1) The caretaker or a third party has interfered with
the completion of the investigation, the assessment and
service plan or the delivery of services.

(2) The agency can demonstrate that the older adult
reported to need protective services is denying access
because of coercion, extortion or justifiable fear of future
abuse, neglect, or exploitation or abandonment.

§ 15.62. Access to records.

(&) Access assured by law. The agency shall have access
to records relevant to:

(1) Investigations of reports received under this chap-
ter.

(2) The assessment of need and the development of a
service plan when an older adult's need for protective
services has been or is being established.

(3) The delivery of services arranged for under the
service plan developed by the agency to respond to an
older adult’s assessed need for specific services.

(b) Access to records. Except in emergency or priority
protective services cases, access to records shall be be-
tween the hours of 7 a.m. and 9 p.m.

(c) When access to records is denied. If the agency is
denied access to records necessary for the completion of a
proper investigation of a report or an assessment and
service plan, or the delivery of needed services to prevent
further abuse, neglect, exploitation or abandonment of the
older adult reported to need protective services, the
protective services caseworker shall clearly inform the
party denying access to the records of the legal authority
for access as set forth in section 304 of the act (35 P. S.
§ 10225.304) by the agency and the available recourse
through a court order. If the party continues to deny
access to relevant records, the agency may petition the
court of common pleas for an order requiring the appro-
priate access when one of the following conditions applies:

(1) The older adult has provided written consent for
confidential records to be disclosed and the keeper of the
records denies access.

(2) The agency is able to demonstrate that the older
adult is denying access to records because of incompe-
tence, coercion, extortion or justifiable fear of future
abuse, neglect, exploitation or abandonment.

§ 15.63. Access by consent.

The agency's access to confidential records held by
other agencies or individuals and the agency’s access to
an older adult reported to need protective services shall
require the consent of the older adult or a court-appointed
guardian except as provided under § 15.61, § 15.62 or
§ 15.71 (relating to access to older adults; access to
records; and involuntary intervention by emergency court
order).
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EMERGENCY INTERVENTION

§ 15.71. Involuntary intervention by emergency
court order.

(a) General. When there is clear and convincing evi-
dence that, if protective services are not provided, the
older adult to be protected is at imminent risk of death or
serious physical harm, the agency may petition the court
for an emergency order to provide the necessary services.
The person to be protected shall be an older adult in need
of protective services as defined in this chapter. The
courts of common pleas of each judicial district shall
ensure that a judge or district magistrate is available on
a 24-hour-a-day, 365-day-a-year basis to accept and decide
on petitions for an emergency court order under this
section whenever the agency determines that delay until
normal court hours would significantly increase the dan-
ger the older adult faces. Only the agency, through its
official representative, may bring a petition for involun-
tary intervention by emergency court order.

(b) Legal representation. When the agency petitions the
court for emergency involuntary intervention, the agency
shall make sure the older adult has the opportunity to be
represented by counsel at all stages of the proceedings. If
the older adult has an attorney known to the agency, the
agency shall attempt to notify that attorney before it files
a petition for emergency involuntary intervention. If the
agency has no knowledge of an attorney who represents
the older adult, the agency shall attempt to notify the
legal services provider identified by the area agency on
aging in its protective services plan to provide legal
assistance under this chapter. The notification shall con-
tain enough information about the risk to the older adult
and the proposed remedy to enable counsel to determine
if representation is necessary at the emergency hearing.
Notification to counsel shall include a copy of the petition
with the affidavits attached as well as the time, date and
place of presentation of the petition except when
§ 15.72(b) (relating to petition) applies.

§ 15.72. Petition.

(a) Contents. The petition which the agency files for an
emergency court order of involuntary intervention shall
state the following information:

(1) The name, age and physical description of the older
adult insofar as these facts have been ascertained.

(2) The address or other location where the older adult
can be found.

(3) The name and relationship of a guardian, caregiver
or other responsible party residing with the older adult,
when applicable.

(4) A description of how the older adult is at imminent
risk of death or serious physical harm.

(5) The physical and mental status of the older adult,
to the extent known.

(6) The attempts made by the agency to obtain the
informed consent of the older adult, or the older adult’'s
court appointed guardian, when applicable, to the provi-
sion of protective services by the agency.

(7) The specific short-term, least restrictive, involun-
tary protective services which the agency is petitioning
the court for an order to provide.

(8) A description of how the proposed services would
remedy the situation or condition which presents an
imminent risk of death or serious physical harm.

(9) A statement showing why the proposed services are
not overbroad in extent or duration and why less restric-
tive alternatives as to their extent or duration are not
adequate.

(10) A statement that other voluntary protective ser-
vices have been offered, attempted or have failed to
remedy the situation.

(11) A statement that reasonable efforts have been
made to communicate with the older adult in a language
the older adult understands in the case of an older adult
who is hearing impaired or who does not understand the
English language.

(12) Other relevant information deemed appropriate by
the agency.

(b) Oral petitions. Nothing in this chapter precludes or
prohibits the oral presentation of a petition for emergency
involuntary intervention. When oral presentation is war-
ranted, the written petition shall be prepared, filed and
served on the older adult and counsel within 24 hours of
the entry of the emergency order or on the next business
day, when the 24-hour period would fall on a weekend or
legal holiday.

(c) Affidavits. Allegations which are not based upon
personal knowledge shall be supported by affidavits pro-
vided by persons having that knowledge. The affidavits
shall be attached to the petition.

(d) Emergency order duration. In the petition, the
agency shall request an emergency order of a specific
duration which may not exceed 72 hours from the time
the order is granted. The agency shall request the court
of common pleas to hold a hearing when the initial
emergency order expires to review the need for an
additional emergency court order or other continued court
and protective services involvement, or both. The issuance
of an emergency order is not evidence of the competency
or incompetency of the older adult.

§ 15.73. Court appointed counsel.

The act requires that an emergency order under this
section provides that the older adult has the right to legal
counsel. If no representation for the older adult is present
at the time the emergency order is requested, the agency
shall inform the court of its efforts to notify counsel under
§ 15.71(b) (relating to involuntary intervention by emer-
gency court order). If the older adult is unable to provide
for counsel, the court will appoint counsel as authorized
by the act at the time the emergency order is entered to
ensure that legal representation will be provided at the
time of the emergency protective services review hearing.

§ 15.74. Forcible entry.

When the agency requests a court order for forcible
entry to the premises where an older adult at imminent
risk of death or serious physical harm is located, the
agency shall request the court to direct that a local or
State police officer carry out the forcible entry accompa-
nied by a representative of the agency.

§ 15.75. Health and safety requirements.

The agency shall take reasonable steps to assure
protection of the older adult’s dependents and property
while the older adult is receiving services under an
emergency court order. The agency is not responsible for
the actual provision of all needed services but shall
coordinate professional linkage referrals and follow-up to
assure that the needed services and protections are being
provided and maintained.
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§ 15.76. Documentation.

The agency shall document in the case record emer-
gency intervention actions it takes.

INDIVIDUAL RIGHTS OF PARTIES INVOLVED
§ 15.81. Rights of protective services clients.

The agency shall observe the following minimum re-
quirements to safeguard the rights of an older adult who
is reported to need protective services:

(1) The agency shall discreetly notify the older adult
during the investigation that a report of need for protec-
tive services has been made and shall provide the older
adult with a brief summary of the nature of the report.
The protective services caseworker performing the inves-
tigation shall determine when and how this notification is
accomplished.

(2) If the older adult requests additional information
contained in the record, the agency shall provide the
information subject to the requirements in § 15.105
(relating to limited access to records and disclosure of
information).

(3) A denial of services by the Department or an
authorized agency under this chapter may be appealed
under Chapter 3 (relating to fair hearings and appeals).

(4) Nothing in this chapter limits the rights of an older
adult to file a petition under 23 Pa.C.S. Chapter 61
(relating to the Protection from Abuse Act).

(5) An older adult determined to need protective ser-
vices has the right to refuse protective services except as
provided under a court order. The agency shall obtain,
when possible, the older adult’'s signed statement refusing
protective services or document unsuccessful efforts to
obtain a signed statement.

(6) An older adult has the right to legal counsel when
the agency petitions the court for emergency or other
orders to provide protective services without the older
adult's consent. The act provides that if an older adult is
unable to provide for counsel, counsel shall be appointed
by the court. Under § 15.71 (relating to involuntary
intervention by emergency court order), the agency is
required to take steps to involve counsel when emergency
petitions are filed.

(7) As provided under 88 15.101—15.105 (relating to
confidentiality), an older adult has the right to the
confidentiality of information received and maintained by
the agency in reports, investigations, service plans and
other elements of a case record.

§ 15.82. Rights of alleged abusers.

An individual who, as a result of a protective services
investigation, is determined to be a perpetrator of the
abuse, neglect, exploitation or abandonment of an older
adult is entitled to the following if the report is substanti-
ated by the agency:

(1) The agency shall notify the alleged perpetrator at
the conclusion of the investigation of the report that
allegations have been made and shall provide the alleged
perpetrator with a brief summary of the allegations.

(2) As provided under 8§ 15.105 (relating to limited
access to records and disclosure of information), the
alleged perpetrator may request, and the agency shall
provide, additional information contained in the report.

(3) An alleged perpetrator is entitled to file an appeal
with the Department under 1 Pa. Code Part Il (relating
to General Rules of Administrative Practice and Proce-

dure) to challenge the agency’s finding resulting from the
investigation of a report made under this chapter. The
agency’s finding is that information, after an investiga-
tion is concluded, which substantiated the need for
protective services. The appeal process applicable to older
adults under Chapter 3 (relating to fair hearings and
appeals) also applies to alleged perpetrators of abuse,
neglect, exploitation or abandonment. This appeal shall
be in writing to the Secretary and be postmarked within
30 days from the date of notification by the agency
required under this section.

PROVISION OF SERVICES
§ 15.91. General.

(a) Protective services. Protective services are activities,
resources and supports provided to older adults under the
act after the initiation of an investigation to prevent,
reduce or eliminate abuse, neglect, exploitation and aban-
donment. Protective services activities include the follow-
ing:

(1) Administering protective services plans.

(2) Receiving and maintaining records of reports of
abuse.

(3) Conducting investigations of reported abuse.

(4) Conducting assessments and developing service
plans.

(5) Petitioning the court.
(6) Providing emergency involuntary intervention.

(7) Arranging for available services needed to fulfill
service plans, which may include, as appropriate, arrang-
ing for services for other household members to reduce,
correct or eliminate abuse, neglect, exploitation or aban-
donment of an older adult. A partial listing of the services
which may be made available to reduce, correct or
eliminate abuse, neglect, exploitation or abandonment of
an older adult is found in § 15.93(c) (relating to service
plan).

(8) Purchasing, on a temporary basis, as provided
under § 15.112 (relating to uses of funding authorized by
the act), services determined by a service plan to be
necessary to reduce, correct or eliminate abuse, neglect,
exploitation or abandonment of an older adult when the
services are not available within the existing resources of
the agency or other appropriate provider.

(b) Availability of protective services. The agency shall
offer protective services under one or more of the follow-
ing conditions:

(1) An older adult requests the services.

(2) Another interested person requests the services on
behalf of an older adult.

(3) If, after initiation of an investigation of a report,
the agency determines the older adult needs the services.

(c) Informed consent required. The agency shall provide
protective services only to older adults who give informed
consent to the services. The consent shall be in writing
when possible. If the older adult does not consent or, if
after consenting, withdraws the consent, protective ser-
vices may not be provided unless the provision of the
services is allowable as a consent exemption.

(d) Consent exemptions. Protective services may be
provided to older adults in need of protective services
without consent only in the following situations:
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(1) When ordered by a court under section 304 of the
act (35 P. S. § 10225.304).

(2) When requested by an older adult’s court-appointed
guardian.

(3) When provided under § 15.71 (relating to involun-
tary intervention by emergency court order).

(e) Interference with services. If a person interferes with
the provision of services or interferes with the right of an
older adult to consent to the provision of services, the
agency may petition the court for an order enjoining the
interference.

§ 15.92. Assessment.

(8) When a report is substantiated by the agency, or if
an assessment is necessary to determine whether or not
the report is substantiated, the agency shall, with the
consent of the older adult, provide for a timely assess-
ment. If the older adult does not consent, the agency may
apply § 15.61 or § 15.71 (relating to access to persons;
and involuntary intervention by emergency court order).

(b) The protective services caseworker shall make face-
to-face contact with the older adult to evaluate and
document information including the following:

(1) Personal appearance.
(2) Physical environment.
(3) Physical health.

(4) Mental functioning.

(5) Activities of daily living.
(6) Social environment.

(7) Economic status—including eligibility for public and
private entitlements or resources as defined under § 15.2
(relating to definitions).

(8) Nutrition.

(9) Recent experiences—losses, separations, major
changes in relationships or environments.

(10) The need for a formal medical or psychiatric
evaluation.

(¢) The assessment shall be written and include, when-
ever possible, older adult-given information for each area
of functioning.

(d) The assessment shall be written so that the reader
can determine which information came from the older
adult and which constitutes the worker’s judgment.

(e) The assessment shall be written in a standard
format as required by the Department. Data entries shall
be based on commonly accepted and defined nomenclature
to make the data more usable across and within agencies
and to ensure that older adults are evaluated uniformly
according to the standardized definitions.

§ 15.93. Service plan.

(@) Upon completion of the assessment and with the
consent of the older adult, a service plan shall be
prepared. The service plan shall be cooperatively devel-
oped by the agency staff, the older adult or his appointed
guardian, and other family members, if appropriate.
Protective services may not be provided under the act to
an older adult who does not consent to the services or
who, having consented, withdraws consent, unless the
services are ordered by a court, requested by a court-
appointed guardian of the older adult or provided under
§ 15.71 (relating to involuntary intervention by emer-
gency court order).

(b) The service plan shall be in writing and shall
include a recommended course of action which utilizes the
least restrictive alternative, encourages self-
determination and continuity of care. The recommended
course of action may also include pursuit of civil or
criminal remedies.

(c) The service plan shall describe the older adult's
identified needs, the goals to be achieved, the specific
services which will be used to support attainment of the
goals and the procedures to be followed with regard to
regular follow-up and assessment of progress. Specific
services which may be used to implement the service plan
include:

(1) Medical evaluations.

(2) Psychiatric or psychological evaluations.
(3) Legal services.

(4) Public or private entitlements or resources.
(5) Financial management.

(6) Personal or environmental safety.

(7) Emergency shelter.

(8) Transportation.

(9) Home delivered meals.

(10) Attendant care.

(11) Homemaker services.

(d) The service plan shall also address, if applicable,
special needs of other members of the household unit as
they may affect the older adult's need for protective
services. The identification in a service plan of service
needs of other members of the older adult’'s household
does not obligate the agency to pay the costs of the
services.

§ 15.94. Service delivery.

(@) The agency shall, with the consent of the older
adult, provide for implementation of the course of action
recommended in the service plan. The implementation
may be provided by direct provision of services by the
agency, purchase of services from another agency, referral
to another agency, provision of services by family and
friends or a combination of these or other methods.

(b) Protective services may not be provided under the
act to an older adult who does not consent to services or
who, having consented, withdraws consent, unless the
services are ordered by a court, requested by a guardian
of the older adult or provided under § 15.71 (relating to
involuntary intervention by emergency court order).

§ 15.95. Case management.

(@) Coordination of services. The protective services
caseworker is responsible for coordination of sources of
services being provided to the older adult who needs
protective services. The caseworker shall also take rea-
sonable steps to assure that services necessary to achieve
the goals in the service plan are being provided.

(b) Case records. A separate record shall be established
to contain information on protective services cases. The
protective service case record on an older adult shall be
separated from other records maintained by the agency
on that older adult. Confidentiality of the protective
services case record shall be maintained by the agency as
set forth in 8§ 15.101—15.105 (relating to confidential-
ity). The protective services case record includes the
following:

(1) The report of a need for protective services.
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(2) The record of investigation.
(3) The written findings of the assessment.
(4) The service plan.

(5) Notes of contact with the older adult and others
involved with the case.

(6) Court documents—for example, petitions, orders
and the like.

(7) Letters of notification—abused and abuser.

(c) Reassessment. Reassessment shall be done for pro-
tective service clients.

(1) Reassessment shall be written in the standardized
format established by the Department.

(2) Reassessment shall be done before a protective
services case is terminated, transferred, it is the agency’'s
judgment that a reassessment is appropriate or the older
adult’s condition has changed.

§ 15.96. Termination of protective services.

(@) The agency shall terminate protective services
when the older adult is no longer “an older adult in need
of protective services” under § 15.2 (relating to defini-
tions).

(b) Except when the older adult withdraws consent to
the delivery of protective services, the agency may termi-
nate protective services in one of the following ways:

(1) By closing the case when no further service inter-
vention is required by the older adult.

(2) By closing the case when a court order for services
has terminated and the older adult does not consent to
further service intervention.

(3) By transferring the older adult to the service
management system of the area agency.

(4) By transferring the older adult to another appropri-
ate agency.

(c) When the agency terminates protective services, the
agency shall inform the older adult and, if applicable,
responsible caretakers of this action and its rationale and
shall attempt to secure a signed statement of understand-
ing concerning the action. When the agency transfers a
protective services case, the case record shall reflect the
transfer of an older adult to another agency, the specific
agency of referral and the acceptance of the referral by
the other agency.

CONFIDENTIALITY
§ 15.101. General.

Information contained in the agency’s protective ser-
vices case files, as defined under § 15.2 (relating to
definitions), shall be considered confidential and shall be
maintained under this chapter.

§ 15.102. Maintenance of case records.

(a) Protective services case records shall be kept, when
not in use by authorized persons, in a locked container
and separate from other agency files. The report, the
record of investigation, notes of contact with the older
adult and others involved with the case, court documents
and letters of notification may not be transferred to, or
reprinted for, other agency files. The assessment and
service plan may be transferred to other agency case files
with assurance by the agency that an older adult's
complete protective services case record can be immedi-
ately produced.

(b) When an individual case record is removed from its
storage location for use by an authorized person, the
person shall sign for the record according to sign-out
procedures developed by the agency.

(c) Except as provided under § 15.105 (relating to
limited access to records and disclosure of information),
only staff with direct responsibility for protective services
functions may be authorized by the agency to have access
to the protective services case records. General access is
restricted to protective services supervisors, protective
services caseworkers and clerical staff assigned to type
and maintain case records.

(d) As provided under § 15.43 (relating to resolution of
unsubstantiated reports), when the agency cannot sub-
stantiate a report of a need for protective services, the
case opened by the unsubstantiated report shall be closed
and information identifying the person who made the
report and the alleged perpetrator of abuse, if applicable,
shall be immediately deleted from the case record.

(e) For the purposes of substantiating a pattern of
abuse, neglect, exploitation or abandonment, the name of
the older adult reported to be in need of protective
services and other information relevant to the circum-
stances which led to the report may be maintained for 6
months in a separate locked file accessible only to
authorized staff for review when necessary to establish
that a previous report was made. At the end of 6 months,
case records maintained under this subsection shall be
destroyed unless additional reports lead to their being
reopened.

(f) The agency shall develop written procedures for the
deletion or expungement of information in case records
and for the destruction of case records so that unautho-
rized persons are not able to gain access to information
from case records. The procedures shall be submitted to
the Department in the protective services plan required
under 8§ 15.12(b) (relating to administrative functions and
responsibilities of area agencies on aging).

§ 15.103. Responsibilities of staff with access to
confidential information.

(@) The agency shall assure that staff with access to
information contained, or to be contained, in a case record
are fully aware of the confidentiality provisions of this
chapter and of the local agency.

(b) A staff person who is authorized to have access to
information contained, or to be contained, in a case record
is required to take every possible step to safeguard the
confidentiality of that information. This requirement ex-
tends to known information related to a case but not
recorded in writing.

(c) A staff person who is to be authorized to have
access to confidential information related to protective
services cases shall sign a statement provided by the
Department, assuring knowledge of applicable confidenti-
ality requirements and the penalties for violating them.

§ 15.104. Penalties for violation of confidentiality
requirements.

(a) If a staff person who is authorized to have access to
confidential information under this chapter is strongly
suspected of violating the requirements in the signed
confidentiality statement under § 15.103(c) (relating to
responsibilities of staff with access to confidential infor-
mation), that person shall be immediately suspended
from protective services duties pending an investigation
and determination of culpability.
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(b) If a staff person who is authorized to have access to
confidential information under this chapter is determined
upon investigation to have violated the requirements in
the signed confidentiality statement under § 15.103(c),
that person shall be subject to the appropriate disciplin-
ary action in the confidentiality statement.

§ 15.105. Limited access to records and disclosure
of information.

Information in a protective services case record may not
be disclosed, except as provided in this section.

(1) Information may be disclosed to a court of compe-
tent jurisdiction or under a court order. The protective
service agency shall disclose case record information for
the purpose of in camera review by the court.

(2) If an investigation by the agency results in a report
of criminal conduct, law enforcement officials shall have
access to relevant records maintained by the agency or
the Department.

(3) In arranging specific services to effect service plans,
the agency may disclose to appropriate service providers
information necessary to initiate the delivery of services.

(4) A subject of a report, a court-appointed guardian or
an attorney providing legal services to the subject of the
report made under § 15.23 (relating to receiving reports;
general agency responsibility) may receive, upon written
request, information contained in the report except that
prohibited from being disclosed by paragraph (5).

(5) The release of information that would identify the
person who made a report of suspected abuse, neglect,
exploitation or abandonment or a person who cooperated
in a subsequent investigation, is prohibited unless the
Secretary can determine that the release will not be
detrimental to the safety of the person. Prior to releasing
information under this paragraph, the Secretary will
notify the person whose identity would be released that
the person has 45 days to advise the Secretary why this
anticipated release would be detrimental to the safety of
that person.

(6) When the Department is involved in the hearing of
an appeal by a subject of a report made under § 15.23,
the appropriate Department staff shall have access to
information in the case record relevant to the appeal.

(7) For the purposes of monitoring agency performance,
appropriate staff of the Department may have access to
agency protective services records.

(8) For the purposes of monitoring agency performance
and carrying out other administrative responsibilities,
individuals with local administrative authority over the
protective services program may have access to agency
protective services records.

FINANCIAL OBLIGATIONS
§ 15.111. Coordination of available resources.

(@) The agency shall insure that funding authorized
under the act is not used to supplant public and private
entitlements or resources as defined in § 15.2 (relating to
definitions) for which older adults are, or may be, eligible.

(b) The agency shall attempt to establish the older
adult's eligibility for appropriate public and private en-
titlements and resources and shall exhaust the eligibility
for benefits prior to the utilization of funds authorized by
the act for the provision of services.

(c) The agency is required to coordinate the utilization
of public and private entitlements and resources. This
chapter does not establish a means test for the provision

of protective services. A protective service client who
receives a service may not be required to pay a fee not
required of other older adults receiving the same service.

§ 15.112. Uses of funding authorized by the act.

The agency may utilize funding authorized by the act to
pay for activities, including the following:

(1) Administering protective services plans as described
in § 15.12(b) (relating to administrative functions and
responsibilities of area agencies on aging).

(2) Receiving reports and maintaining records of re-
ports as provided under 8§ 15.23 and 15.101—15.105
(relating to receiving reports; general agency responsibil-
ity; and confidentiality).

(3) Conducting investigations under 8§ 15.41—15.47
(relating to investigating reports of need for protective
services).

(4) Conducting assessments and developing service
plans under 88 15.92 and 15.93 (relating to assessment;
and service plan).

(5) Petitioning the court under 8§ 15.61—15.63 and
15.71—15.75 (relating to agency access to older persons
and records; and emergency intervention).

(6) Providing emergency involuntary intervention un-
der §§8 15.71—15.75.

(7) Arranging for available services needed to carry out
service plans, which may include, as appropriate, arrang-
ing for services for other household members to reduce,
correct or eliminate abuse, neglect, exploitation or aban-
donment of an older adult. The inclusion of services
needed by other household members in the service plan
will allow the agency to arrange for the provision of those
services through public and private entitlements or re-
sources for which the individuals are or may be eligible.
The inclusion does not obligate the agency to pay for the
services or to provide services which are not available
from another appropriate provider.

(8) Purchasing, on a temporary basis, services deter-
mined by the service plan to be necessary to reduce,
correct or eliminate abuse, neglect, exploitation or aban-
donment of an older adult when the services are not
available within the existing resources of the agency or
another appropriate provider. Funding authorized by the
act and expended under an area agency on aging protec-
tive services plan may not be used for the purchase of
services which are already financed through other State-
administered plans for local service delivery or through
local public and private resources under those plans
except with the specific prior approval of the Department.
The protective services plan shall identify the agency’'s
proposed expenditures for activities under this paragraph.
The agency shall insure that every attempt has been
made to provide the service through existing agency
resources, appropriate utilization of other providers and
the coordination of public and private entitlements and
resources prior to entering into the purchase of services
for a protective services client.

§ 15.113. Time limitation on service purchases.

(a) After exhausting available steps to provide neces-
sary services through existing agency resources, utiliza-
tion of other providers and the coordination of public and
private entitlements and resources, the agency may pur-
chase those services on a time-limited basis.

(b) The purchase of services under this section is
limited to a 30-day period which may be renewed only
with adequate justification. The agency shall consider the
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30-day period to be a maximum time limit for the
purchase of services and not a standard time allotment.
After the decision to purchase services has been made,
the agency shall continue the pursuit of alternate ways to
provide the services and terminate the purchase of ser-
vices as soon as possible.

(c) If at the end of 30 days of continuous service
purchase on behalf of an individual protective services
client, the services are still necessary and still available
only through purchase, complete justification of the need
for services and documentation of the unavailability of
the services shall be made a part of the record as
required by § 15.95(b) (relating to case management).

§ 15.114. Obligation of the Commonwealth and the
counties.

The obligation of the Commonwealth and the counties
to provide funds to the Department or an agency for
services provided under this chapter shall be entirely
discharged by the appropriations made to the Department
or an agency. If the agency has met its responsibility
under the law, no action at law or equity may be
instituted in a court to require the Department, an
agency, county or the Commonwealth to provide benefits
or services under the act for which appropriations from
the Commonwealth or counties are not available. The
responsibility of the area agency on aging, the county and
the Commonwealth to provide funding is met when
resources authorized by the act and provided under
approved area agency on aging plans have been ex-
pended.

STAFF TRAINING AND EXPERIENCE STANDARDS
§ 15.121. Protective services staff qualifications.

(a) General. The area agency on aging shall assure that
staff directly involved with the protective services
caseload meet the minimum standards of training and
experience in this chapter. The minimum standards apply
to staff assigned to protective services on a full-time
basis, a part-time basis or as standby staff. The minimum
standards apply to incumbent staff as well as those hired
after November 26, 1988.

(b) Criminal record. The protective services agency
shall require persons to be hired or to be assigned to
carry out responsibilities for protective services investiga-
tions, assessments and service planning and arrangement
to submit the following information:

(1) Under 18 Pa.C.S. 88 9101—9183 (relating to the
criminal history record information act), a report of
criminal history record information from the State Police
or a statement from the State Police that the State Police
Central Repository contains no information relating to
that person. The criminal history record information shall
be limited to that which is disseminated under 18 Pa.C.S.
§ 9121(b)(2) (relating to general regulations).

(2) If the applicant or assignee is not a resident of this
Commonwealth, a report of Federal criminal history
record information under the Federal Bureau of Investi-
gation appropriation of Title Il of the Act of October 25,
1972 (Pub. L. No. 92-544, 86 Stat. 1109).

(c) Staff training and experience requirements. The
minimum standards for protective services job functions
are as follows:

(1) Protective services supervisor. A protective services
supervisor shall:

(i) Have 3 years direct aging casework experience or an
equivalent combination of education and experience.

(ii) Complete the curriculum described in § 15.122
(relating to protective services casework training curricu-
lum).

(iii) Complete the curriculum described in § 15.123
(relating to protective services investigation training cur-
riculum) if the protective services supervisor will be
performing protective services investigations.

(iv) Complete written evaluations that assess compe-
tencies achieved by the learner.

(v) Undergo in-service training in protective services
annually as required by the Department.

(2) Protective services caseworker. A protective services
caseworker shall:

(i) Have 1 year direct aging casework experience.
(ii) Complete the curriculum described in § 15.122.
(iii) Complete the curriculum described in § 15.123.

(iv) Complete written evaluations that assess compe-
tencies achieved by the learner.

(v) Undergo in-service training in protective services
annually as required by the Department.

(3) Protective services intake workers. Staff persons
designated to receive reports of older adults who need
protective services shall complete the curriculum under
§ 15.124 (relating to protective services intake training
curriculum).

§ 15.122. Protective services casework training cur-
riculum.

The protective services casework training curriculum
shall consist of comprehensive training including the
following topics:

(1) An overview of abuse, neglect, exploitation and
abandonment.

(2) Laws and regulations of the Commonwealth relat-
ing to abuse, neglect, exploitation and abandonment of
older adults.

(3) Detection of abuse, neglect, exploitation and aban-
donment.

(4) Protective services case assessments.
(5) Provision of protective services.

(6) Interviewing skills.

(7) The resistant older adult.

(8) Utilization of local resources.

(9) Incompetence or incapacity.

(10) Relationships with other agencies.
(11) Confidentiality.

(12) Institutional investigations.

(13) Service options for victims of abuse, neglect, ex-
ploitation and abandonment.

(14) Informed consent.
(15) Self-neglect.
(16) Retaliation.

§ 15.123. Protective services investigation training
curriculum.

The protective services investigation training curricu-
lum shall consist of comprehensive training including the
following topics:
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(1) Laws and regulations of the Commonwealth related
to investigations and criminal procedures.

(2) The criminal justice system.

(3) Developing the investigative plan.

(4) Investigative techniques.

(5) Maintaining control of the interview.

(6) Interviewing reporters.

(7) Interviewing collateral sources.

(8) Interviewing victims.

(9) Observation techniques.

(10) Techniques to obtain documentary evidence.

(11) Techniques to gather and preserve physical evi-
dence.

(12) Closing the investigation.
(13) Presenting testimony in court.
(14) Coordination with other State agencies.

§ 15.124. Protective services intake training cur-
riculum.

The protective services intake training curriculum shall
consist of training including the following topics:

(1) Interviewing the reporter.
(2) Completion of the report form.

(3) Preliminary case status assessment to determine
report categories.

(4) Requirements for referral of the report to the
protective services staff.

(5) Emergency procedures.
(6) Confidentiality.
§ 15.125. Availability of training.

(a) The Department will provide for the development of
training curricula described in this section and will
require the training to be conducted on a timely and
recurring basis. The Department will also provide for
annual in-service training.

(b) The agency shall utilize staff meeting the require-
ments in § 15.121(c)(1) and (2) (relating to protective
services staff qualifications) to conduct training for pro-
tective services intake workers. The training shall be in
conformity with the curriculum for protective services
intake workers established by the Department.

§ 15.126. Training evaluation.

A person who completes the training set forth for each
job function in § 15.121 (relating to protective services
staff qualifications) shall complete written evaluations
that assess competencies achieved by the learner.

§ 15.127. In-service training.

(@) In addition to the required training set forth in
8§ 15.122 and 15.123 (relating to protective services
casework training curriculum; and protective services
investigation training curriculum), protective services su-
pervisors and protective services caseworkers shall par-
ticipate in in-service training in protective services as
required by the Department each year beginning with the
calendar year following completion of the required basic
protective services training set forth in § 15.122 (relating
to protective services casework training curriculum).

(b) Annual in-service training shall consist of a mini-
mum of 1 day of training and may include the following
topics:

(1) Update on laws and regulations relating to protec-
tive services.

(2) Technical assistance for common problems.
(3) Best practice presentations.

CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD INFORMATION
REPORTS

§ 15.131. (Reserved).
§ 15.141. Prospective facility personnel.

(@) General rule. A facility shall require applicants for
employment to submit applications with a criminal his-
tory report, obtained within 1 year immediately preceding
the date of application, or as in § 15.144 (relating to
procedures), as follows:

(1) State Police criminal history record. Facilities shall
require all applicants to submit a State Police criminal
history record.

(2) Federal criminal history record. If the applicant is
not and for the 2 years immediately preceding the date of
application has not been a resident of this Common-
wealth, the facility shall require the applicant to submit a
Federal criminal history record and a full set of finger-
prints to the Department which will be forwarded to the
Federal Bureau of Investigation.

(b) Proof of residency. Facilities may require an appli-
cant to furnish proof of residency, including, but not
limited to, any one of the following documents:

(1) Motor vehicle records, such as a valid driver's
license.

(2) Housing records, such as mortgage records, rent
receipts or certification of residency in a nursing home.

(3) Public utility records and receipts, such as electric
bills.

(4) Local tax records.

(5) A completed and signed, Federal, State or local
income tax return with the applicant's name and address
preprinted on it.

(6) Employment records, including records of unem-
ployment compensation.

§ 15.142. Employee requirements.

(@) The following employees are required to submit a
criminal history report:

(1) Administrators and operators who have direct con-
tact with clients and who began serving as administrators
and operators after July 1, 1998. Residents of this
Commonwealth shall comply within 30 days of employ-
ment and nonresidents shall comply within 90 days.

(2) Employees of a facility who were employed after
July 1, 1998. Residents of this Commonwealth shall
comply within 30 days of employment and nonresidents
shall comply within 90 days.

(3) Exceptions are as follows:

(i) Employees of the facility on July 1, 1998, who were
employed by the facility for a continuous period of at least
1 year prior to July 1, 1998.

(ii) Employees who have complied with this section
who transfer to another facility established or supervised,
or both, by the same operator.
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(iti) Employees who are employed by a new facility
solely through a transfer of ownership of that facility.

(iv) A consumer attendant.

(v) An individual providing care to a care-dependent
person, and employed by the care-dependent person, or by
another person designated by the care-dependent person,
and not by or through a home health care agency.

(vi) An individual, employed by an enterprise that
operates facilities and nonfacilities in the same physical
location, who has no employment responsibilities in the
facility (Example: An individual employed by a hospital
which also has within it a long-term care nursing unit.
The individual is employed to work in the hospital).

(vii) A contract employee who has neither direct con-
tact with residents in a facility nor unsupervised access.

(viii) An individual, employed by a home health agency
or other entity that supplies, arranges for, or refers
personnel to provide care to care-dependent persons, who
is employed for purposes other than providing care in a
facility or in a recipient’s place of residence (example: an
individual employed as a bookkeeper by an agency which
supplies homemaker/home health aides).

(ix) An individual functioning in a facility as a volun-
teer.

(b) Employees at facilities that supply, arrange for, or
refer their employees to provide care in other facilities
shall provide a criminal history report to the facility that
supplies, arranges for, or refers them and to the facility at
which they provide care. The exemptions of this section
are applicable to these employees. (Example: Employees
of a home health care staffing agency assigned by the
agency to provide care in a long-term care nursing facility
must provide a criminal history report to the staffing
agency and to the long-term care nursing facility.) The
staffing agency shall be responsible for notifying the
employee of criminal history report requirements.

(¢) Criminal history reports provided by the Depart-
ment of Education, under the Nurse Aide Resident Abuse
Prevention Training Act (63 P.S. 8§ 671—680), which
meet the criteria established in this chapter may be
accepted to satisfy the requirements of this chapter.

§ 15.143. Facility responsibilities.

(a) A facility may not hire an applicant nor retain an
employee required to submit a criminal history report if
the criminal history report reveals a felony conviction
under The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cos-
metic Act (35 P. S. 88 780-101—780-144).

(b) A facility may not hire an applicant nor retain any
employee required to submit a criminal history report if
the criminal history report reveals a conviction under one
or more of the following provisions of 18 Pa.C.S. (relating
to the Crimes Code):

(1) Chapter 25 (relating to criminal homicide).

(2) Section 2702 (relating to aggravated assault).

(3) Section 2901 (relating to kidnapping).

(4) Section 2902 (relating to unlawful restraint).

(5) Section 3121 (relating to rape).

(6) Section 3122.1 (relating to statutory sexual assault).

(7) Section 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual
intercourse).

(8) Section 3124.1 (relating to sexual assault).

(9) Section 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent as-
sault).

(10) Section 3126 (relating to indecent assault).
(11) Section 3127 (relating to indecent exposure).

(12) Section 3301 (relating to arson and related of-
fenses).

(13) Section 3502 (relating to burglary).
(14) Section 3701 (relating to robbery).

(15) A felony offense under Chapter 39 (relating to
theft and related offenses), or two or more misdemeanors
under Chapter 39.

(16) Section 4104 (relating to tampering with records
or identification).

(17) Section 4114 (relating to securing execution of
documents by deception).

(18) Section 4302 (relating to incest).
(19) Section 4303 (relating to concealing death of child).

(20) Section 4304 (relating to endangering welfare of
children).

(21) Section 4305 (relating to dealing in infant chil-
dren).

(22) Section 4952 (relating to intimidation of witnesses
or victims).

(23) Section 4953 (relating to retaliation against wit-
ness, victim or party).

(24) A felony offense under section 5902(b) (relating to
prostitution and related offenses).

(25) Section 5903(c) or (d) (relating to obscene and
other sexual materials and performances).

(26) Section 6301 (relating to corruption of minors).
(27) Section 6312 (relating to sexual abuse of children).

(c) A facility may not hire an applicant nor retain an
employee required to submit a report if the criminal
history report reveals conviction of a Federal or out-of-
State offense similar in nature, as determined by the
Department, to those listed in subsections (a) and (b).

(d) A facility shall ensure that applicant or employee
responsibility to obtain criminal history reports is ex-
plained to each applicant or employee orally and in
writing in a language understood by the applicant or
employee.

(e) Facilities shall maintain employment records which
include copies of completed request forms for criminal
history reports, State Police criminal history records and
Department letters of determination regarding Federal
criminal history records.

(f) An administrator shall assure that information ob-
tained from State Police criminal history records and
Department letters of determination regarding Federal
criminal history records remain confidential and are used
solely to determine an applicant’'s eligibility for employ-
ment or an employee’s eligibility for retention.

(g) If the decision not to hire or to terminate employ-
ment is based in whole or in part on State Police criminal
history records, Department letters of determination re-
garding Federal criminal history records, or both, facil-
ities shall provide applicants and employees with infor-
mation on how to appeal to the sources of criminal
history records if they believe the records are in error.
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§ 15.144. Procedure.

(a) Applicants and employees required to obtain a
criminal history report from the State Police may obtain
forms from a State Police facility.

(1) The State Police may charge a fee of not more than
$10. A facility’s check, cashier’s check, certified check or
money order shall accompany the request unless other
payment arrangements are made with the State Police.

(2) Facilities may at their option require applicants
and employees to return the form to a designated indi-
vidual for submission by the facility.

(b) Applicants and employees required to obtain a
Federal criminal history report shall obtain the informa-
tion packet from the facility or the Department.

(1) Applicants and employees shall return the Federal
Bureau of Investigation fingerprint card and forms, and a
cashier’s check, certified check or money order payable to
the Federal Bureau of Investigation in the exact amount
established by the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Upon
receipt, the Department will submit the request to the
State Police for transfer to the Federal Bureau of Investi-
gation.

(2) Upon receipt of the criminal history report from the
Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Department will
determine if the applicant is eligible for employment or if
the employee may be retained. The Department will
contact the applicant or employee with a written letter of
determination.

(c) Applicants and employees shall complete all neces-
sary forms. Facilities shall assist an applicant or em-
ployee to comply with this requirement if requested.

(d) Facility administrators may assume financial re-
sponsibility for the fees through a quarterly payment
system.

(e) Applicants and employees are responsible for re-
viewing their own criminal history reports for accuracy.

§ 15.145. Applicant or employee rights of review.

(@) An applicant or employee may review, challenge
and appeal the completeness or accuracy of the appli-
cant's or employee’s criminal history report under 18
Pa.C.S. 88 9125 and 9152—9183 or 28 CFR 16.34 (relat-
ing to procedure to obtain change, correction or updating
of identification records), or both.

(b) An applicant or employee may challenge the convic-
tion comparison interpretation of the Department involv-
ing the Federal criminal history record by filing an appeal
with the Department under 1 Pa. Code Chapter 35 (relat-
ing to formal proceedings in administrative practice and
procedure) and Chapter 3 (relating to fair hearings and
appeals). Appeals must be postmarked within 30 days
from receipt of the Department’s letter and be in writing
to the attention of the Secretary of the Department.

§ 15.146. Provisional hiring.

(a) Facilities may employ applicants on a provisional
basis for a single period not to exceed 30 days for
applicants requesting a State Police criminal history
record, and a single period not to exceed 90 days for
applicants requesting a Federal criminal history record, if
all of the following conditions are met:

(1) Applicants shall have applied for a criminal history
report and provided the facility with a copy of the
completed request forms.

(2) The facility shall have no knowledge about the
applicant that would disqualify the applicant from em-
ployment under 18 Pa.C.S. § 4911 (relating to tampering
with public record information).

(3) The applicant shall swear or affirm in writing that
the applicant is not disqualified from employment under
the act.

(4) The provisionally employed applicant shall receive
an orientation which provides information on policies,
procedures and laws which address standards of proper
care and recognition and reporting of abuse or neglect, or
both, of recipients.

(5) The facility shall regularly supervise the applicant
carrying out assigned duties. The results of the observa-
tions shall be documented in the employee personnel file.

(6) A home health care agency shall supervise the
applicant through random, direct observation and evalua-
tion of the applicant and care recipient by an employee
who has been employed by the home health agency for at
least 1 year. The results of the observations shall be
documented in the employee personnel file.

(7) A home health agency which has been in business
for less than 1 year shall supervise the applicant through
random, direct observation and evaluation of the appli-
cant and care recipient by an employee with prior
employment experience of at least 1 year with one or
more other home health care agencies. The results of the
observations shall be documented in the employee person-
nel file.

(b) If the information obtained from the criminal his-
tory report reveals that the applicant is disqualified from
employment in accordance with § 15.143 (relating to
facility responsibilities), the applicant shall be dismissed
immediately.

(¢) The administrator or designee shall review the
contents of the applicant’s personnel file on the 30th day
of provisional employment of a Pennsylvania resident
applicant or the 90th day of provisional employment of a
nonresident applicant to insure that the copy of the State
Police criminal history record, the letter of determination
issued by the Department, or both is physically present in
the folder along with correspondence from the State
Police advising that the applicant's employment may be
continued or must be terminated.

(d) Except as provided in subsection (e), if inspection of
the file reveals that the State Police criminal history
record, the letter of determination issued by the Depart-
ment, or both has not been provided to the employer, the
applicant’s employment shall be immediately suspended
or terminated.

(e) If the criminal history record report, the letter of
determination issued by the Department, or both, has not
been provided due to the inability of the State Police or
the Federal Bureau of Investigation to provide them
timely, the period of provisional employment shall be
extended until the facility receives the required reports.
During the extended provisional employment period, the
supervision and documentation requirements of this sec-
tion shall be continued.

§ 15.147. Violations.
(@) Administrative.

(1) An administrator or designee or facility owner-
operator who intentionally or willfully fails to comply or
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obstructs compliance with 8§ 15.141—15.146 commits a
violation of this chapter and shall be subject to an
administrative penalty.

(2) Violations and penalties shall be determined by the
Commonwealth agency that licenses the facility. The
Commonwealth agency may issue an order assessing a
civil penalty of not more than $2,500. An order issued
under this paragraph is subject to due process as set forth
in 2 Pa.C.S. 88 501—508 and 551—555 (relating to
practice and procedure of Commonwealth agencies; and
practice and procedure of local agencies) and judicial
review in 2 Pa.C.S. 88 701—704 and 751—754 (relating
to judicial review of Commonwealth agency action; and
judicial review of local agency action).

(3) Representatives of the Departments of Aging,
Health and Public Welfare who suspect violations of this
section shall report them to the appropriate Common-
wealth licensing agency under procedures developed by
the Department in consultation with the licensing agency.
The report shall be made in writing and include, at a
minimum, the facility, the administrator, owner, operator
or designee suspected of committing the violation and a
description of the suspected violation.

(b) Criminal. An administrator or designee or facility
owner who intentionally or willfully fails to comply or
obstructs compliance with 8§ 15.141—15.146 commits a
misdemeanor of the third degree and shall, upon convic-
tion, be sentenced to pay a fine of $2,500 or to imprison-
ment for not more than 1 year, or both.

REPORTING SUSPECTED ABUSE
§ 15.151. General requirements.

(a) Administrators or employees who have reasonable
cause to suspect that a recipient is a victim of abuse
shall:

(1) Immediately make an oral report to the agency.

(2) Make a written report to the agency within 48
hours.

(b) Employees making oral or written reports shall
immediately notify the administrator or designee of these
reports.

(c) Agencies shall notify administrators, or their desig-
nees, and State agencies with facility licensing responsi-
bilities immediately when written reports of abuse are
received.

(d) Employees required to report abuse may request
administrators or their designees to make, or assist the
employees to make, oral or written reports.

§ 15.152. Additional reporting requirements.

(a) Administrators or employees who have reasonable
cause to suspect that a recipient is the victim of sexual
abuse, serious physical injury or serious bodily injury, or
that a recipient’s death is suspicious, shall, in addition to
the reporting requirements in § 15.151(a):

(1) Immediately make an oral report to law enforce-
ment officials. An employee shall immediately notify the
facility administrator or a designee following a report to
law enforcement officials.

(2) Make an oral report to the Department during the
current business day or, if the incident occurs after
normal business hours, at the opening of the next busi-
ness day.

(3) Make a written report within 48 hours of making
the oral report, to law enforcement officials and the
agency.

(b) Law enforcement officials shall promptly notify
facility administrators or their designees that reports
have been made with them.

(c) Administrators or employees shall, in addition to
complying with these requirements, comply with report-
ing requirements of the Commonwealth licensing agency
that licenses or funds the facility.

§ 15.153. Contents of reports.

(@) Written reports under 88 15.151 and 15.152 (relat-
ing to general requirements; and additional reporting
requirements) shall be made on forms supplied or ap-
proved by the Department.

(b) The report shall include, at a minimum, the follow-
ing information:

(1) Name, age and address of recipient.

(2) Name, address of recipient’s guardian or next-of-
kin.

(3) Facility name and address.
(4) Description of the incident.
(5) Specific comments or observations.

§ 15.154. Reports to Department and coroner by
agencies.

(@) Department.

(1) Within 48 hours of receipt of a written report under
§ 15.152 (relating to additional reporting requirements)
involving sexual abuse, serious physical injury, serious
bodily injury or suspicious death, the agency shall trans-
mit a written report to the Department.

(2) A report under this subsection shall be made in a
manner and on forms prescribed by the Department. The
report shall include, at a minimum, the following infor-
mation.

(i) The name and address of the alleged victim.
(if) Where the suspected abuse occurred.

(iii) The age and sex of the alleged perpetrator and
victim.

(iv) The nature and extent of the suspected abuse,
including evidence of prior abuse.

(v) The name and relationship of the individual respon-
sible for causing the alleged abuse to the victim, if
known, and evidence of prior abuse by that individual.

(vi) The source of the report.

(vii) The individual making the report and where that
individual can be reached.

(viii) The actions taken by the reporting source, includ-
ing taking of photographs and X-rays, removal of recipi-
ent and notification under subsection (b).

(b) Coroner. For a report under § 15.152 which con-
cerns the death of a recipient, if there is reasonable cause
to suspect that the recipient died as a result of abuse, the
agency shall give the oral report and forward a copy of
the written report to the county coroner of the county
wherein the death occurred.

§ 15.155. Investigation.

(@) Agency response. Upon receipt of a report under
88 15.151 and 15.152 (relating to general requirements;
and additional reporting requirements), the agency shall
respond as follows:
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(1) If the victim or recipient is 60 years of age or older,
the agency shall conduct an investigation to determine if
the subject of the report is in need of protective services.
The investigation by the agency shall be conducted as set
forth at § 15.41—15.47 (relating to investigating reports
of need for protective services).

(2) If the victim or recipient is under 60 years of age,
the agency may not conduct an investigation. The investi-
gation of the reports shall be conducted by the State
agency, if any, that licensed the facility.

(3) If the victim or recipient is under 18 years of age,
the agency shall notify and forward reports to the
regional office of the Department of Public Welfare, Office
of Children, Youth and Families or the State “ChildLine”
and the county office of child protective services.

(4) If the victim or recipient resides in a nursing home
or is receiving home health services, the agency shall
notify and forward reports to the Department of Health
office with facility licensing responsibilities and the re-
gional office of the Department of Health.

(5) If the victim or recipient resides in a personal care
home, the agency shall notify and forward reports to the
Department of Public Welfare regional office with facility
licensing responsibilities.

(6) If the victim or recipient resides in a domiciliary
care home or receives services from an adult daily living
center, the agency shall notify and forward reports to the
Department.

(7) If the agency has knowledge or believes that the
victim or recipient has mental retardation or a mental
health condition, the agency shall notify the Department
of Public Welfare office with facility licensing responsibili-
ties and the county MH/MR office in addition to making
other reports required by this subsection.

(b) Cooperation. To the fullest extent possible, law
enforcement officials, the facility, the Commonwealth
agency that licensed the facility and the agency shall
coordinate their respective investigations, and shall ad-
vise each other and provide applicable additional informa-
tion on an ongoing basis.

§ 15.156. Restrictions on employees.

(a) Upon notification that an employee is alleged to
have committed abuse, the facility shall immediately
develop and implement an individual plan of supervision
or, when appropriate, suspension of the employee. The
facility shall submit to the agency and the Common-
wealth agency with regulatory authority over the facility
a copy of the employee’s individual plan of supervision for
approval within the agencies’ accepted time frames.

(b) Following approval of an individual plan of supervi-
sion by the agency and Commonwealth agency, the
facility shall follow the plan. Changes to the plan must be
approved by the agency and the Commonwealth agency
with regulatory authority over the facility prior to their
implementation.

(¢) The individual plan of supervision established by a
home health care agency shall, in addition to the require-
ments of this section, include periodic, random direct
observation and evaluation of the employee and care
recipient by an individual continuously employed by the
home health care agency for at least 1 year. For a home
health agency in business for less than 1 year, supervi-
sion shall include random, direct observation. An evalua-
tion by an employee with prior employment experience of
at least 1 year with one or more other home health care
agencies.

(d) Upon being notified by law enforcement officials of
a decision to file criminal charges against an employee, as
a result of a report made in compliance with § 15.152
(relating to additional reporting requirements), the facil-
ity shall inform the Commonwealth agency that licenses
the facility. The Commonwealth licensing agency shall
order the facility to immediately deny the employee
access to recipients at the facility. If the employee is a
director, operator, administrator or supervisor, the em-
ployee shall be subject to restrictions by the Common-
wealth licensing agency to assure the safety of recipients
at the facility.

§ 15.157. Confidentiality of and access to confiden-
tial reports.

(@) General rule. Except as provided in subsection (b)
and § 15.105 (relating to limited access to records and
disclosure of information), all information concerning a
report under this chapter shall be confidential.

(b) Exceptions. Relevant information concerning a re-
port under this chapter shall be made available to the
following:

(1) An employee of the Department or of an agency in
the course of official duties in connection with responsi-
bilities under this chapter, including the long term care
ombudsman.

(2) An employee of the Department of Health or the
Department of Public Welfare in the course of official
duties.

(3) An employee of an agency of another state that
performs protective services similar to those under this
chapter.

(4) A practitioner of the healing arts who is examining
or treating a recipient and who suspects that the recipi-
ent is in need of protection under this chapter.

(5) The director, or an individual specifically designated
in writing by the director, of a hospital or other medical
institution where the victim is being treated if the
director or designee suspects the recipient is in need of
protection under this chapter.

(6) The recipient or the guardian of the recipient.

(7) A court of competent jurisdiction under a court
order.

(8) The Attorney General.

(9) Law enforcement officials of any jurisdiction as long
as the information is relevant in the course of investigat-
ing cases of abuse.

(10) A mandated reporter who made a report of sus-
pected abuse. Information released under this paragraph
shall be limited to the following:

(i) The final status of the report following the investi-
gation.

(i) Services provided or to be provided by the agency.

(c) Excision of certain names. The name of the person
suspected of committing the abuse shall be excised from a
report made available under subsection (b)(4), (5) and
(10).

(d) Release of information to alleged perpetrator and
victim. Upon written request, the alleged perpetrator and
victim may receive a copy of all information, except that
prohibited from being disclosed by subsection (e).

(e) Protecting identity of person making report. Except
for reports to law enforcement officials, the release of
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data that would identify the individual who made a
report under this chapter or an individual who cooperated
in a subsequent investigation is prohibited. Law enforce-
ment officials shall treat all reporting sources as confiden-
tial information.

§ 15.158. Penalties.
(&) Administrative.

(1) An administrator or a designee or facility owner
who intentionally or willfully fails to comply or obstructs
compliance with 8§ 15.151—15.157 or who intimidates or
commits a retaliatory act against an employee who
complies in good faith with this chapter commits a
violation of this chapter and shall be subject to an
administrative penalty.

(2) Violations and penalties shall be determined by the
Commonwealth agency that regulates the facility. The
Commonwealth agency may issue an order assessing a
civil penalty of not more than $2,500. An order issued
under this paragraph is subject to due process as set forth
in 2 Pa.C.S. 88 501—508 and 551—555 (relating to
practice and procedure of Commonwealth agencies; and
practice and procedure of local agencies) and judicial
review in 2 Pa.C.S. 88 701—704 and 751—754 (relating
to judicial review of Commonwealth agency action; and
judicial review of local agency action).

(3) Representatives of the Departments of Aging,
Health and Welfare who suspect violations of this section
will report them to the appropriate Commonwealth li-
censing agency under procedures developed by the De-
partment in consultation with the licensing agency. The
report shall be made in writing and include, at a
minimum, the facility, the administrator, owner, operator
or designee suspected of committing the violation and a
description of the suspected violation.

(b) Criminal. An administrator or a designee or facility
owner who intentionally or willfully fails to comply, or
obstructs compliance, with §§ 15.151—15.157 commits a
misdemeanor of the third degree and shall, upon convic-
tion, be sentenced to pay a fine of $2,500 or to imprison-
ment for not more than 1 year, or both.

(c) Penalties for failure to report. A person required to
report a case of suspected abuse under 8§ 15.151—15.157
and who willfully fails to do so commits a summary
offense for the first violation and a misdemeanor of the
third degree for a second or subsequent violation. If the
agency learns of a refusal to complete all reporting
requirements, the agency shall notify the police within 72
hours.

§ 15.159. Immunity.

An administrator or a facility will not be held civilly
liable for any action directly related to good faith compli-
ance with this chapter.

OTHER ADMINISTRATIVE PROVISIONS
§ 15.161. Waivers.

(@) The Department may, at its discretion and for
justifiable reason, grant exceptions to and departures
from this chapter to an area agency on aging when the
area agency on aging can, by clear and convincing
evidence, demonstrate that compliance would cause an
unreasonable and undue hardship upon the area agency
on aging and that an exception would not impair the
health, safety or welfare of older adults or otherwise
compromise the intent of this chapter. The Department
cannot, however, waive statutory requirements in the act.

(b) A waiver request shall be made in writing to the
Secretary. A request shall specifically identify and explain
the burden created by the requirement for which the
exception is being sought, the alternative method for
fulfilling the basic intent of the requirement and evidence
of the steps to be taken to assure that the health, safety
and welfare of older adults will not be compromised.

(c) An exception granted under this chapter may be
revoked by the Department at its discretion for a justifi-
able reason. Notice of revocation will be in writing and
will include the reason for the action of the Department
and a specific date upon which the exception will be
terminated.

(d) In revoking an exception, the Department will
provide for a reasonable time between the date of written
notice of revocation and the date of termination of an
exception for the agency to come into compliance with the
applicable regulations.

(e) If an agency wishes to request a reconsideration of
a denial or revocation of an exception, it shall do so in
writing to the Secretary within 15 days of receipt of the
adverse notification.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 02-887. Filed for public inspection May 17, 2002, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 28—HEALTH
AND SAFETY

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
[28 PA. CODE CHS. 27, 28 AND 501]

Newborn Disease Screening and Follow-Up
Program

The Department of Health (Department), with the
approval of the State Advisory Health Board (Board),
adopts amendments to Chapter 28 (relating to screening
and follow-up for diseases of the newborn). The Depart-
ment also adopts amendments to specific sections of
Chapters 27 and 501 (relating to communicable and
noncommunicable diseases; and birth centers), as made
necessary by the amendments to Chapter 28. The amend-
ments are set forth in Annex A.

I. Purpose of the Final-Form Rulemaking

This final-form rulemaking incorporates changes to the
Newborn Screening and Follow-Up Program (Program)
required as a result of amendments to the Newborn Child
Testing Act (act) (35 P. S. 88 621—625), made by the act
of July 9, 1992 (P. L. 398, No. 86). The amendments to
the act add maple syrup urine disease (MSUD) and
sickle-cell hemoglobinopathies (disease and trait) to the
list of diseases for which routine screening of newborns is
conducted, provide for the addition to the list by regula-
tion of any other disease approved for inclusion by the
Department and the Board, and require a screening and
follow-up program to identify and treat newborn children
with one of the diseases listed in the act or identified by
regulation. See section 3 of the act (35 P. S. § 623). The
Department is given the authority under the act to
promulgate regulations, with the approval of the Board,
to carry out these requirements. See section 5 of the act
(35 P.S. 8 625). The regulations require screening for
galactosemia and congenital adrenal hyperplasia (CAH)
under the Department’'s authority to add to the list of
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diseases for which routine screening of newborns is to be
conducted, by regulation, any other disease approved for
inclusion by the Department and the Board. Further, the
final-form rulemaking requires screening for
hemoglobinopathies (hemoglobin diseases) other than
sickle cell hemoglobinopathies because the detection of
other hemoglobin diseases, some of which may be life
threatening, is unavoidable with the testing methodology
currently available.

This final-form rulemaking also makes minor changes
to Chapters 27 and 501. Both sets of minor revisions are
necessary to ensure that no inconsistencies exist between
the updated requirements of the expanded Program and
other Department regulations.

Notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 31
Pa.B. 2271 (April 28, 2001) and provided a 30-day public
comment period. The Department received three public
comments to the proposed rulemaking and additional
comments from Independent Regulatory Review Commis-
sion (IRRC). The Department's responses to these com-
ments appear in the summary of this Preamble.

Il. Summary

One commentator, the Pennsylvania Chapter of the
American Academy of Pediatrics, stated that it was
pleased to endorse the proposed rulemaking and offered
its support in providing any necessary education to
pediatricians once the regulations were finalized.

Another commentator believed that the Department
should clarify the definition of “hemoglobin diseases.” The
Department had used the term “V” in that definition to
indicate a variant. However, as there is no hemoglobin
named “V,” the commentator believed that the use of this
term could be confusing. IRRC also raised this issue. The
Department agrees with the commentator and the defini-
tion in § 28.1 (relating to definitions) was changed to use
the word “variant” instead of the letter “V.”

The final public commentator, the Hospital and
Healthsystem Association of Pennsylvania (HAP), raised
two concerns. The first concern was that the proposed
rulemaking did not clearly state the process by which
additions to the list of newborn disease screening are
made and how public and clinical input will be sought.
HAP suggested that this information be included in the
final-form rulemaking. Further, HAP suggested that the
Department should clearly articulate the clinical rationale
and societal benefits for adding the two particular condi-
tions (presumably CAH and galactosemia) included in
these regulations. The Department does not believe that
it is necessary to include in the regulations the process by
which conditions are selected for screening. The process of
selecting conditions for newborn screening testing is
consistent with recommendations from the August 2000
National Newborn Screening Task Force Report issued by
the Health Resources Services Administration. Determi-
nations are made based on recommendations by the
Newborn Screening Technical Advisory Committee, a
Department-organized committee which provides both
public and clinical input. Committee members include
medical professionals in the pediatric field who specialize
in endocrinology and metabolic disorders, as well as
parents of affected children. The Department’s Board
must then approve the selection of conditions for screen-
ing. Criteria used in selecting conditions for screening
include: reliable, valid and accurate testing methodologies
must be available; there must be effective treatment that
will benefit the newborn; follow-up systems must be in
place to ensure access to appropriate care; properly

trained professionals must be accessible; and the popula-
tion demographics must support the cost effectiveness of
testing.

The selection of CAH and galactosemia as conditions
for which newborns are screened was the result of
following the previously described procedure. The clinical
rationale for and societal benefit derived from screening
for these two conditions were set forth in the preamble to
the proposed rulemaking. However, for clarification, the
Department will elaborate further. CAH is a complex
family of disorders arising from specific defects in the
enzymes of the adrenal cortex necessary for the
biosynthesis of steroids. Dehydration, shock and even
death can occur, with high mortality from “adrenal crisis.”
As severe forms of CAH can be rapidly fatal, quick
diagnosis and intervention in the newborn are critical.
Proper early intervention and medical treatment resets
the abnormal balance of hormones and permits near
normal development. Incidence is one case per 12,000
births. Approximately 25 other states screen for CAH.

Galactosemia is a genetic metabolic condition, which
affects the body’s ability to utilize certain sugars. Babies
born with this condition cannot break down lactose or
galactose. These are simple sugars found in breast milk,
many formulas and milk products. The most common
forms of galactosemia may result in death from sepsis
within the first weeks of life or mental retardation in
those who survive. Prompt diagnosis and intervention can
prevent further damage. Treatment consists of special
galactose and lactose-free milk substitutes and foods. One
newborn in 60,000 is identified with classical
galactosemia. When other forms of galactosemia are
included, such as Duarte and Los Angeles, the rate
increases to one newborn in 16,000 identified with a form
of galactosemia. Forty-seven other states screen for
galactosemia.

The second concern voiced by HAP is that the regula-
tions have shifted the responsibility for follow-up notifica-
tion and counseling to health care providers. The respon-
sibility for follow-up has not been shifted from the
Department to health care providers through these regu-
lations. The act mandates physicians, hospitals and other
institutions to test infants for PKU and other metabolic
diseases.

Section 3 of the act specifically addresses the establish-
ment of the Program by the Department, to assist health
care providers to determine whether treatment or other
services are necessary to avert mental retardation, per-
manent disabilities or death. Section 4 of the act (35 P. S.
§ 624) addresses the procurement of specimens by health
care providers and states that health care providers shall
cause to be procured blood specimens of newborn children
for required screening and confirmatory tests. If the
initial specimen is an unacceptable specimen or as other-
wise required by the Department by regulation, the act
requires that the health care provider collect a repeat
specimen for screening and confirmatory tests.

The act is clear in terms of assignment of responsibility.
The Department’s regulations follow the act and more
clearly describe the responsibilities of health care provid-
ers and the Department.

IRRC also raised two concerns related to § 28.21
(relating to responsibility for collecting and testing initial
and repeat specimens). First, IRRC commented that the
section does not specify what qualifications the newborn
screening coordinator must have. IRRC commented that
paragraph (1) states that the newborn screening coordina-
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tor must “ensure that a specimen collection form contains
correct and complete information” and asks, “What level
of medical training does the newborn screening coordina-
tor need to ensure the information is “correct?”

It is not the Department’s intent to regulate the level of
training. The Department believes that no specific level of
medical training is necessary to ensure that the informa-
tion is correct. However, the newborn screening coordina-
tor must have access to the medical record to verify that
information on the specimen collection form is consistent
with information on the medical record. Filling in the
required information on the specimen collection form
merely entails taking information from entries in the
medical record and transcribing it on to the form. In some
hospitals this may be performed by a nurse, medical
technologist or medical secretary with access to the
medical record.

IRRC's second concern regarding § 28.21 is that para-
graph (7) is vague. IRRC asked what is the intent of the
Department in requiring the newborn screening coordina-
tor to assist the Department in follow-up of an abnormal
or presumptive abnormal test result.

The intent of the Department is to minimize delays in
notifying the parents of the test result due to inaccurate
or missing demographic information on the newborn
screening filter paper. A nurse who is a member of the
Department’s Program staff receives the test result from
the Department's testing laboratory. If the result is
abnormal, that nurse will contact the provider's newborn
screening coordinator to verify the information from the
filter paper. The nurse also informs the coordinator that
the Department will contact the newborn’s physician. The
Department then contacts the physician (by phone and
fax) and discusses the need for a referral of the newborn
to a treatment center or recommends a consultation with
a pediatric endocrinologist depending on the condition.

It is the responsibility of the health care providers to
contact the parents of the newborn to inform them of the
abnormal test result. This is not a new requirement.
Under the regulations prior to these amendments,
§ 28.27 (relating to abnormal screening test results)
stated that “[i]f the results of any filter paper are
presumptive positive, the health care provider or practi-
tioner to whom the results were reported shall promptly
notify the parents or guardian and arrange for follow-up
and shall enter the report of the result into the patient’s
medical record.” The Department has amended this sec-
tion merely to make the language consistent with the rest
of the regulations and to clarify the procedure.

The proposed rulemaking proposed changes to Chapter
27. However, that chapter was in the process of being
amended at that time and the amendments to Chapter 27
have now been published as final (see 32 Pa.B. 491
(January 26, 2002)). Consequently, the language no longer
exists in some of the Chapter 27 regulations to which the
Department had proposed amendments to correlate with
the proposed Chapter 28 newborn screening programs
amendments. The revisions proposed to Chapter 28 in 31
Pa.B. 2271 were reevaluated in light of the new language
of Chapter 27 and necessary changes have been incorpo-
rated into this final-form rulemaking.

At 31 Pa.B. 2271, changes were proposed to § 27.2
(relating to specific identified reportable diseases, infec-
tions and conditions), as that section existed on April 28,
2001. As a result of changes published in 32 Pa.B. 491,
the changes proposed in 31 Pa.B. 2271 are no longer
necessary.

There were no changes to § 27.4 (relating to reporting
cases) proposed at 31 Pa.B. 2271. However, organizational
changes in the Department since that time have necessi-
tated minor changes to reflect the correct name of the
Division in which the Program is located.

The changes to Chapter 27 that were published at 32
Pa.B. 491 added § 27.21a (relating to reporting of cases
by health care practitioners and health care facilities).
Now, additional changes to this section are needed to
ensure that all of the conditions for which newborns are
screened under Chapter 28 are reportable by health care
practitioners and health care facilities.

At 31 Pa.B. 2271, changes were proposed to § 27.22
(relating to reporting of cases by clinical laboratories) as
that section existed on April 28, 2001. As a result of
changes to this section that were published at 32 Pa.B.
491, additional changes are necessary to ensure that all
of the conditions for which newborns are screened under
Chapter 28 are reportable by clinical laboratories.

At 31 Pa.B. 2271, changes were proposed to § 27.30
(relating to reporting of certain diseases in the newborn
child) as that section existed on April 28, 2001. As a
result of changes to this section that were published at 32
Pa.B. 491, additional changes are necessary to ensure
that all of the conditions for which newborns are screened
under Chapter 28 are reported to the Division in which
the Program is located.

The proposed rulemaking proposed minor changes to
Chapter 501. The final-form rulemaking make only one
additional change to § 501.49 (relating to newborn infant
care policies and procedures) so that the terminology used
is consistent with that used in Chapter 28.

I11. Affected Persons

This final-form rulemaking affects all health care pro-
viders providing care to pregnant women and newborn
children in this Commonwealth, as well as the treatment
centers and any laboratory with which the Department
contracts to provide the screening services. Health care
providers are required to collect blood filter paper speci-
mens in accordance with updated procedures, assist the
Department with follow-up of certain test results and
forward data on specimen collection semiannually to the
Department. Sickle cell and MSUD treatment centers are
required to provide services to an increased number of
children identified through the expanded Program. Treat-
ment centers for galactosemia have been identified and
are in place for Statewide screening for that condition.
CAH will be dealt with in a similar fashion as primary
congenital hypothyroidism, through referral to an endocri-
nologist. The laboratory with which the Department
contracts is required to perform testing for MSUD, hemo-
globin disease, galactosemia and CAH, in addition to
PKU and primary congenital hypothyroidism. These regu-
lations also generally affect all infants born in this
Commonwealth, and, in particular, children born in popu-
lations at greatest risk for certain diseases (such as,
MSUD and hemoglobin diseases).

IV. Cost And Paperwork Estimate
A. Cost

Statutorily mandated expansion of the Program to
include testing for MSUD and sickle cell hemoglo-
binopathies (hemoglobin disease) will result in increased
cost to the Commonwealth and, on a lesser scale, to
health care providers. Annual costs of the Program are
expected to increase by approximately $1.3 million to
cover testing and follow-up for MSUD, hemoglobin dis-
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ease, galactosemia and CAH. This amount will be funded
entirely by State funds. The total annual budget for the
expanded Program includes testing of 150,000 specimens
for each of the six diseases (PKU, primary congenital
hypothyroidism, MSUD, hemoglobin disease, galactosemia
and CAH), additional personnel, new and replacement
equipment for the Bureau of Laboratories and the testing
laboratory and follow-up of children who are identified
with one of the six diseases listed.

The cost to the private sector will be the cost incurred
by health care providers in connection with providing the
necessary follow-up to abnormal test results. The Depart-
ment currently does not charge hospitals or parents for
the costs of laboratory screening.

Expansion of the Program to include screening for
MSUD, hemoglobin disease, galactosemia and CAH, how-
ever, will result in long-term savings as well. The total
cost of screening all newborn children in this Common-
wealth, including follow-up and some treatment for PKU,
primary congenital hypothyroidism, MSUD, sickle cell
disease, CAH and galactosemia is estimated at approxi-
mately $32 per child.

B. Additional Paperwork

The testing laboratory and health care providers will
have additional reporting responsibilities resulting from
the addition of diseases to the list of diseases for which
screening is required. The increase in paperwork require-
ments will be minimal, however, because the specimens
necessary for screening for MSUD, hemoglobin disease,
galactosemia and CAH will be collected on the same
specimen collection form currently used solely for PKU
and primary congenital hypothyroidism screening. Fur-
thermore, the testing laboratory will report screening test
results for the newly added diseases on the same report
form currently used solely for PKU and primary congeni-
tal hypothyroidism. The regulations require health care
providers to submit data regarding specimen collection to
the Department semiannually. Paperwork requirements
within the Department will not change significantly
except to the extent that the addition of MSUD, hemoglo-
bin disease, galactosemia and CAH will result in more
instances in which follow-up of abnormal results will be
required.

The expanded program for screening for sickle cell
hemoglobinopathies (hemoglobin disease) and MSUD was
mandated by statute in 1992, and has, in fact, been
operating since that time. As has been stated, screening
for sickle cell hemoglobinopathies (hemoglobin disease)
began in September 1992, and for MSUD began in March
1993. Screening for galactosemia and CAH began on a
voluntary basis in State fiscal year 2000/2001. The regu-
lations will not add to the paperwork currently being
done by providers of their own volition, nor will they, for
the most part, increase costs currently incurred as screen-
ing mandated by the act is carried out.

V. Effectiveness/Sunset Dates

The regulations will become effective upon final publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. No sunset date has
been established; the Department will continually review
and monitor the effectiveness of the Program.

VI. Statutory Authority

The Department obtains its authority to promulgate
these regulations from several sources. The Disease Pre-
vention and Control Law of 1955 (35 P.S. §§ 521.1—
521.21) provides the Board with the authority to issue
rules and regulations on a variety of issues relating to

communicable and noncommunicable diseases, including
the methods of reporting diseases, the contents of those
reports and the health authorities to whom diseases are
to be reported. See 35 P. S. § 521.16(a). Section 16(b) of
the Disease Prevention and Control Law of 1955 (35 P. S.
§ 521.16(b)) gives the Secretary of Health (Secretary) the
authority to review existing regulations and make recom-
mendations to the Board for changes the Secretary
considers to be desirable.

The Department also finds general authority for the
promulgation of its regulations in section 2102(g) of The
Administrative Code of 1929 (71 P.S. § 532(g)) which
gives the Department the authority to promulgate its
rules and regulations. Section 2111(b) of The Administra-
tive Code of 1929 (71 P.S. § 541(b)) provides the Board
with additional authority to promulgate regulations
deemed by the Board to be necessary for the prevention of
disease, and for the protection of the lives and the health
of the people of this Commonwealth. That section further
provides that the regulations of the Board shall become
the regulations of the Department.

The Department's specific authority for promulgating
the regulations relating to newborn screening and
follow-up is found in the act. Section 5 of the act provides
the Department, with the approval of the Board, the
authority to promulgate regulations for the implementa-
tion and administration of the act. Section 3(b) of the act
provides the Department, with the approval of the Board,
the authority to establish by regulation those diseases for
which newborn children shall be tested and the methods
for testing and disseminating test results. Section 4(b) of
the act provides the Department with the authority to
establish by regulation the methods of procurement of
blood specimens of newborn children by health care
providers.

VII. Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)), on April 18, 2001, the Department
submitted copies of the notice of proposed rulemaking
published at 31 Pa.B. 2271 to IRRC and to the Chairper-
sons of the House Health and Human Services Committee
and the Senate Public Health and Welfare Committee for
review and comment.

In compliance with section 5(c) of the Regulatory
Review Act, the Department also provided IRRC and the
Committees with copies of all comments received. In
addition, the Department provided IRRC and the Com-
mittees with information pertaining to commentators and
a copy of the detailed regulatory analysis form prepared
by the Department in compliance with Executive Order
1996-1, “Regulatory Review and Promulgation.” A copy of
this material is available to the public upon request. In
preparing the final-form regulations, the Department has
considered all comments received from IRRC and the
public.

Under section 5.1(d) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5a(d)), these final-form regulations were
deemed approved by the House and Senate Committees
on February 28, 2002. IRRC met on April 4, 2002, and
approved the final-form regulations in accordance with
section 5.1(e) of the Regulatory Review Act. The Attorney
General approved the final-form regulations on April 29,
2002.

VIIIl. Contact Person

Questions regarding these final-form regulations may
be submitted to: Joann Adair, Director, Division of New-
born Disease Prevention and ldentification, Bureau of
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Family Health, Department of Health, P. 0. Box 90,
Harrisburg, PA 17108, (717) 783-8143. Persons with
disabilities may submit questions to Joann Adair in
alternative formats, such as by audio tape, Braille or
using ITT (717) 705-5494. Persons with disabilities who
would like to obtain this document in an alternative
format (such as, large print, audio tape, Braille) should
contact Joann Adair so that she may make the necessary
arrangements.

Findings

The Department, with the approval of the Board, finds
that:

(1) Public notice of the intention to adopt the amend-
ments adopted by this order has been given under
sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968 (P. L. 769,
No. 240) (45 P. S. 8§ 1201 and 1202), and the regulations
thereunder, 1 Pa. Code 88 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered.

(3) The adoption of this final-form rulemaking in the
manner provided by this order is necessary and appropri-
ate for the administration of the authorizing statutes.

Order

The Department, with the approval of the Board, acting
under the authorizing statutes, orders that:

(@) The regulations of the Department, 28 Pa. Code
Chapters 27, 28 and 501, are amended by adding § 28.5;
by amending 88 27.4, 27.21a, 27.22, 27.30, 28.1—28.2,
28.11, 28.12, 28.21—28.28, 28.41, 501.3 and 501.49; and
by deleting 88 28.3, 28.4 and 28.29—28.31 as set forth in
Annex A, with ellipses referring to the existing text of the
regulations.

(b) The Secretary shall submit this order and Annex A
to the Office of General Counsel and the Office of
Attorney General for approval as required by law.

(c) The Secretary shall submit this order, Annex A and
a Regulatory Analysis Form to IRRC, the House Commit-
tee on Health and Human Services and the Senate
Committee on Public Health and Welfare for their review
and action as required by law.

(d) The Secretary shall certify this order and Annex A
and deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bureau
as required by law.

(e) This order shall take effect upon publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.

ROBERT S. ZIMMERMAN, Jr.,
Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission, relating to this
document, see 32 Pa.B. 2041 (April 20, 2002).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 10-137 remains valid for the
final adoption of the subject regulations.

Annex A
TITLE 28. HEALTH AND SAFETY
PART I1l. PREVENTION OF DISEASE

CHAPTER 27. COMMUNICABLE AND
NONCOMMUNICABLE DISEASES

Subchapter A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 27.4. Reporting cases.

(a) Except for reporting by a clinical laboratory, a case
is to be reported to the LMRO serving the area in which

a case is diagnosed or identified unless another provision
of this chapter directs that a particular type of case is to
be reported elsewhere. A clinical laboratory shall make
reports to the appropriate office of the Department.

(b) Upon the Department’'s implementation of its elec-
tronic disease surveillance system for certain types of
case reports, persons who make those reports shall do so
electronically using an application and reporting format
provided by the Department. At least 6 months in
advance of requiring a type of case report to be reported
electronically, the Department will publish a notice in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin announcing when electronic report-
ing is to begin.

(c) This section does not prohibit a reporter from
making an initial report of a case to the Department or
an LMRO by telephone. The reporter will be instructed
on how to make a complete case report at the time of the
telephone call.

(d) Department offices to which this chapter requires
specified case reports to be filed are as follows:

(1) Cancer Registry, Division of Health Statistics, Bu-
reau of Health Statistics and Research.

(2) Division of Infectious Disease Epidemiology, Bureau
of Epidemiology.

(3) HIV/AIDS Epidemiology Section, Division of Infec-
tious Disease Epidemiology, Bureau of Epidemiology.

(4) Division of Newborn Disease Prevention and Identi-
fication, Bureau of Family Health.

(e) A case shall be reported using the appropriate case
report format. Information solicited by the case report
form shall be provided by the reporter, irrespective of
whether the report is made by submitting the form
directly in hard copy or by telecommunication or elec-
tronic submission. An appropriate case report form or
format may be procured from the office to which the type
of case is reportable.

Subchapter B. REPORTING OF DISEASES,
INFECTIONS AND CONDITIONS

GENERAL

§ 27.21a. Reporting of cases by health care practi-
tioners and health care facilities.

* * * * *

(b) The following diseases, infections and conditions in
humans are reportable by health care practitioners and
health care facilities within the specified time periods and
as otherwise required by this chapter:

* * * * *

(2) The following diseases, infections and conditions are
reportable within 5 work days after being identified by
symptoms, appearance or diagnosis:

* * * * *

Congenital adrenal hyperplasia (CAH) in children un-
der 5 years of age.

* * * * *

Galactosemia in children under 5 years of age.

* * * * *

Sickle cell disease in children under 5 years of age.

* * * * *

§ 27.22. Reporting of cases by clinical laboratories.

* * * * *
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(b) The diseases, infections and conditions to be re-
ported include the following:

* * * * *

Congenital adrenal hyperplasia (CAH) in children un-
der 5 years of age.

* * * * *

Galactosemia in children under 5 years of age.

* * * * *

Sickle cell disease in children under 5 years of age.

* * * * *

(e) Reports made on paper shall be made to the LMRO
where the case is diagnosed or identified. Reports made
electronically shall be submitted to the Division of Infec-
tious Disease Epidemiology, Bureau of Epidemiology. Re-
ports of CAH, galactosemia, maple syrup urine disease,
phenylketonuria, primary congenital hypothyroidism,
sickle cell disease, cancer and lead poisoning shall be
reported to the location specifically designated in this
subchapter. See 8§ 27.30, 27.31 and 27.34 (relating to
reporting cases of certain diseases in the newborn child,;
reporting cases of cancer; and reporting cases of lead
poisoning).

* * * * *

DISEASES AND CONDITIONS REQUIRING
SPECIAL REPORTING

§ 27.30. Reporting cases of certain diseases in the
newborn child.

Reports of congenital adrenal hyperplasia (CAH),
galactosemia, maple syrup urine disease, phenylketo-
nuria, primary congenital hypothyroidism and sickle cell
disease shall be made to the Division of Newborn Disease
Prevention and ldentification, Bureau of Family Health,
as specified in Chapter 28 (relating to screening and
follow-up for diseases of the newborn) and those provi-
sions of § 27.4 (relating to reporting cases) consistent
with Chapter 28 and this section.

CHAPTER 28. SCREENING AND FOLLOW-UP FOR
DISEASES OF THE NEWBORN

GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 28.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

Abnormal confirmatory test result—A test result ob-
tained from a specimen of blood, serum or plasma which
is diagnostic of the newborn disease under investigation.

Abnormal screening test result—A test result obtained
from a specimen collected on a specimen collection form
which is outside the parameters for a normal test result
according to testing criteria applicable to the screening
test result.

Admission—The formal acceptance of custody or care
by a birth center or hospital of a newborn child who is
provided with bassinet or incubator, nutrition and con-
tinuous nursing service.

Birth center—As defined in section 802a of the Health
Care Facilities Act (35 P. S. § 448.802a).

Days of age—The measurement of age of the newborn
child in 24-hour periods so that a newborn child is one
day of age 24 hours after the hour of birth.

Department—The Department of Health of the Com-
monwealth.

Discharge—The release of the newborn child from care
and custody within and by birth center or hospital to the
care and custody of the parent or guardian.

Health care practitioner—A licensed physician or a
practitioner licensed to deliver and care for pregnant
women and newborn children.

Health care provider—A birth center, hospital or health
care practitioner.

Hemoglobin diseases—Sickle cell (SS, SC, S + other
variant, S B Thalassemia, S O Arab) disease or trait or
other clinically significant hemoglobin (CC, EE, F, H)
disease or trait.

Hospital—As defined in section 802a of the Health Care
Facilities Act.

Inconclusive screening test result—A test result ob-
tained from a specimen collected on a specimen collection
form that is equivocal according to criteria applicable to
the screening test result and which indicates the need for
a repeat specimen and repeat testing.

Initial specimen—The first sample of blood collected
from the newborn child and submitted for testing pur-
poses on a specimen collection form.

Newborn child—An infant less than 28 days of age.

Newborn screening program—The association of the
Department, the testing laboratory and the health care
provider to ensure that every newborn child born in this
Commonwealth has a blood specimen collected and
screened for the newborn diseases in § 28.2 (relating to
newborn diseases listed).

Presumptive abnormal test result—An abnormal screen-
ing test result which is sufficiently abnormal to indicate
the probable presence of a newborn disease listed in
§ 28.2.

Repeat specimen—A specimen collected from a newborn
child on a specimen collection form after the initial
specimen.

Repeat test—The laboratory testing performed on a
repeat specimen.

Specimen collection form—The official newborn screen-
ing program specimen form that includes both a
multipart section for providing required information
about the newborn child and a filter paper tab for
application of blood.

Testing laboratory—The licensed clinical laboratory un-
der contract with the Department to perform testing for
the newborn diseases listed in § 28.2.

Transfer—The release of the newborn child from care
and custody within and by a birth center or hospital and
subsequent admission to another hospital.

Treatment center—A center under contract with the
Department to provide expert consultation, diagnosis and
treatment for children with a presumptive abnormal test
result.

Unacceptable specimen—A blood specimen collected
from a newborn child on a specimen collection form which
is found to be unsuitable for testing in accordance with
accepted laboratory testing standards as determined by
the Department.

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 32, NO. 20, MAY 18, 2002



RULES AND REGULATIONS 2441

§ 28.2. Newborn diseases listed.

A newborn child born in this Commonwealth shall be
screened for the following diseases which may cause
mental retardation, physical defects or death if not
detected and treated soon after birth:

(1) Congenital adrenal hyperplasia (CAH).
(2) Galactosemia.
(3) Hemoglobin diseases.
(4) Maple syrup urine disease (MSUD).
(5) Phenylketonuria (PKU).
(6) Primary congenital hypothyroidism.

§ 28.3. (Reserved).

§ 28.4. (Reserved).

§ 28.5. Confidentiality.

(&) A health care provider, testing laboratory, the De-
partment or any other entity involved in the newborn
screening program may not release any identifying infor-
mation relating to any newborn child screened in the
newborn screening program to anyone other than a
parent or guardian of the newborn child or the health
care provider for the newborn child designated by a
parent or the guardian except as follows:

(1) As may be necessary to provide services to the
newborn child.

(2) With the consent of the newborn child’s parent or
guardian.

(3) With the child’s consent when the child is 18 years
of age or older, has graduated from high school, has
married or has been pregnant.

(b) Only the Department will have the authority to
release or authorize the release of nonidentifying informa-
tion concerning the newborn screening program.

PURPOSE AND ADMINISTRATION OF TESTS
§ 28.11. Informing the parent or guardian.

Prior to specimen collection, the health care provider
shall provide the pregnant woman, prior to the infant's
birth, or the mother or guardian, after the infant's birth,
with a pamphlet supplied by the Department to explain
the nature of the newborn screening blood tests for the
diseases in § 28.2 (relating to newborn diseases listed).

§ 28.12. Religious objections.

(&) A health care provider may not collect or cause to
be collected, a specimen from a newborn child if the
parent or guardian of the newborn child objects on the
ground that the specimen collection conflicts with reli-
gious beliefs or practices held by the parent or guardian.

(b) If the parent or guardian of the newborn child
objects to the collection of the specimen for screening on
the ground that the specimen collection conflicts with
religious beliefs or practices held by the parent or guard-
ian, the health care provider shall ensure that the
recorded objection of the parent or guardian is entered
into the medical record of the newborn child. The entry
shall include a written statement of the objection signed
by the parent or guardian.

SPECIMEN COLLECTION AND FOLLOW-UP

§ 28.21. Responsibility for collecting and testing
initial and repeat specimens.

(@) A birth center or hospital shall collect or cause to be
collected from each newborn child delivered in that birth

center or hospital, in accordance with instructions for
newborn screening specimen collection in subsection (d),
the initial and repeat specimens necessary to conduct the
tests necessary for the detection of the newborn diseases
specified in § 28.2 (relating to newborn diseases listed).

(b) When a newborn child is delivered other than in a
birth center or hospital, the health care practitioner who
delivered the newborn child shall collect or cause to be
collected from the newborn child, in accordance with
instructions for newborn screening specimen collection in
subsection (d), the initial and repeat specimens necessary
to conduct the tests necessary for the detection of the
newborn diseases specified in § 28.2.

(c) The health care provider shall designate a newborn
screening coordinator to do the following:

(1) Ensure that a specimen collection form contains
correct and complete information.

(2) Ensure that the individual who collected the speci-
men records that act in the newborn child's medical
record.

(3) Send all specimens collected by first class mail to
the testing laboratory within 24 hours of collection.

(4) Record the laboratory screening results in the new-
born child’'s medical records.

(5) Check each newborn child’'s record prior to dis-
charge or release to ensure that a specimen has been
collected.

(6) Ensure, in the event of transfer of the newborn
child prior to 48 hours of age, that the receiving health
care provider has been notified that it has the responsibil-
ity to collect the initial specimen.

(7) Assist the Department in follow-up of an abnormal
or presumptive abnormal test result.

(8) Follow-up inconclusive test results.

(9) Receive notification from the testing laboratory or
from the Department of the need for a repeat specimen.

(d) The health care provider shall ensure that the
individual responsible for specimen collection shall collect
the specimen necessary to conduct tests in accordance
with consensus standards developed by the National
Committee for Clinical Laboratory Standards (NCCLS)
and accepted by the Department. The Department will
publish these standards, and any revisions thereto, in a
notice in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

§ 28.22. Timing of initial specimen collection by
birth centers or hospitals.

(&) A birth center or hospital shall collect the initial
specimen from each newborn child regardless of feeding
history or medical condition, as close to 48 hours of age as
possible but not later than 72 hours of age unless the
newborn child falls into one of the following categories:

(1) Transfer. If the newborn child is transferred to
another hospital for continuing care prior to 48 hours of
age, the hospital to which the newborn child has been
transferred shall collect a specimen from the newborn
child, regardless of feeding history or medical condition,
as close to 48 hours of age as possible but not later than
72 hours of age.

(2) Exchange transfusion. If the newborn child is to
undergo an exchange transfusion, the birth center or
hospital shall collect the initial specimen for testing
immediately prior to the exchange transfusion.
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(3) Early discharge. If the newborn child is discharged
from the birth center or hospital before 24 hours of age,
the birth center or hospital shall collect the initial
specimen from the newborn child as close to the time of
discharge as is practicable, regardless of feeding history
or medical condition. The birth center or hospital shall
give the parent or guardian in whose care and custody
the newborn child is discharged written notification of the
need for a repeat specimen and shall also provide instruc-
tions to the parent or guardian for obtaining a repeat
specimen from the newborn child as described in § 28.26
(relating to timing of repeat specimen collection).

(b) When a newborn child, who was delivered other
than in a birth center or hospital, is admitted to a
hospital within the first 27 days of age and the hospital
has received no record of results of an approved screening
test for the newborn diseases in § 28.2 (relating to
newborn diseases listed), the hospital to which the new-
born child is admitted shall collect the initial specimen
within 48 hours of admission to the hospital and shall
send the specimen to the testing laboratory specified by
the Department within 24 hours of collection.

§ 28.23. Timing of initial specimen collection by
health care practitioners.

A health care practitioner who delivers a newborn child
other than in a birth center or hospital shall collect or
cause to be collected the initial specimen from the
newborn child, regardless of feeding history or medical
condition, as close to 48 hours as possible but not later
than 72 hours of age.

§ 28.24. Normal test results.

(a) Within 7-calendar days following the day when the
testing laboratory obtains the normal test results, the
testing laboratory shall send those results to the health
care provider that collected the specimen from the new-
born child.

(b) The health care provider to whom the normal test
results are reported shall record the test results in the
medical record of the newborn child.

§ 28.25. Circumstances requiring repeat specimens.

(8) The health care provider responsible for collecting
the initial specimen shall collect or cause to be collected
and submit for testing a repeat specimen if the initial
specimen collected is either of the following:

(1) Unacceptable for testing.
(2) Yields an inconclusive screening test result.

(b) If a birth center or hospital collects the initial
specimen from a newborn child prior to 24 hours of age
because the newborn child is discharged from the birth
center or hospital prior to 24 hours of age, the birth
center or hospital shall collect or cause to be collected a
repeat specimen.

(c) If the initial specimen collected yields an abnormal
screening test result, the Department may require the
health care provider responsible for collecting the initial
specimen to collect a repeat specimen.

§ 28.26. Timing of repeat specimen collection.

(@) When the newborn child has been discharged from
a birth center or hospital before 24 hours of age, the birth
center or hospital shall collect or cause to be collected a
repeat specimen from the newborn child, regardless of
feeding history or medical condition, as close to 48 hours
of age as possible but not later than 72 hours of age.

(b) When the initial specimen is unacceptable or when
the initial specimen yields an inconclusive screening test
result, the Department or testing laboratory will notify
the health care provider that collected the initial speci-
men. Within 72 hours of receipt of notice from the
Department or testing laboratory, the health care pro-
vider that collected the initial specimen shall collect or
cause to be collected from the newborn child a repeat
specimen.

(c) If the health care provider cannot locate a parent or
guardian of the newborn child within 4 days of notifica-
tion of need for a repeat specimen, the health care
provider shall contact the Department for consultation
regarding additional means for locating a parent or
guardian.

§ 28.27. Abnormal screening test results.

(@) When testing of the initial or repeat specimen
yields an abnormal screening test result, the Department
will notify the health care provider that collected the
specimen. The health care provider shall promptly notify
a parent or guardian of the newborn child.

(b) If the health care provider cannot locate the new-
born child’'s parent or guardian within 48 hours of
receiving notice from the Department, the health care
provider shall contact the Department for consultation
regarding additional means for locating a parent or
guardian.

(c) The Department will assist the health care provider
with and make available confirmatory testing.

(d) If the result of the confirmatory test is abnormal,
the Department will assist with referral for diagnosis,
treatment, and other follow-up services for the newborn
child through designated treatment centers or clinical
specialists.

§ 28.28. Follow-up of symptoms consistent with
newborn diseases.

When a sick child exhibits symptoms suggestive of a
newborn disease listed in § 28.2 (relating to newborn
diseases listed) and has not already been determined to
have one of those newborn diseases, the health care
provider to whom care of the sick child has been en-
trusted by the parent or guardian shall collect and submit
a blood specimen for newborn disease testing in accord-
ance with standard diagnostic procedures.

88 28.29—28.31. (Reserved).
RECORDS
§ 28.41. Recordkeeping requirements.

A health care provider offering maternity and newborn
services shall collect and forward data semiannually to
the Department on the number of patients for whom
specimens for newborn disease testing have been collected
and the number of patients for whom the specimens have
not been collected, together with the reason in each
instance for the failure to collect.

PART IV. HEALTH FACILITIES
CHAPTER 501. BIRTH CENTERS
GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 501.3. Reports/contact person.

(@) The facility shall report regularly to the Depart-
ment, on forms issued by the Department, statistical
information that the Department may request and shall
comply with the requirements for recordkeeping in
§ 28.41 (relating to recordkeeping requirements).
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(b) Data that could lead to the disclosure of the
identity of individuals involved will be considered confi-
dential and may not be released without prior authoriza-
tion of the legal parent, guardian or newborn infant upon
obtaining the age of 18.

(¢) Questions concerning reports required should be
addressed to Director, Division of Primary Care and
Home Health Services, Department of Health, Post Office
Box 90, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17108.

§ 501.49. Newborn infant care policies and proce-
dures.

The newborn infant care policies, protocols and proce-
dures shall include the following:

(1) Resuscitation equipment for newborn infant care
management of short-term assisted ventilation shall in-
clude bag and mask or bag and endotracheal tube, with
oxygen supply available.

(2) Medication approved by the Department in § 27.98
(relating to prophylactic treatment of newborns), shall be
instilled in the eyes of the newborn infant according to
statute. If the parent or guardian of the newborn child
objects on the ground that the prophylactic treatment
conflicts with the parent's religious beliefs or practices,
prophylactic treatment will be withheld, and an entry in
the child's record indicating the reason for withholding
treatment shall be made and signed by the Physician
Director of Medical Affairs and the parent or guardian of
the newborn infant.

(3) Before discharge from the center, the newborn
infant shall be examined by a midwife or a physician, and
the results shall be entered in the health record. An
infant with identified abnormalities shall be referred for
appropriate follow-up, in accordance with the birth center
policies.

(4) The birth center shall explain to the mother the
purpose and nature of the screening tests for diseases of
the newborn, required by Chapter 28 (relating to screen-
ing and follow-up for diseases of the newborn), give her
an informational pamphlet provided by the Department,
inform her of her right to refuse the tests because of
religious beliefs or practices, and see that the recorded
written objection is entered into the medical record of the
newborn child and signed by the parent or guardian, if
screening is refused.

(5) The birth center shall comply with the require-
ments for specimen collection, testing and follow-up in
88§ 28.21—21.28 (relating to specimen collection and fol-
lowup).

(6) Policies and other criteria, which govern discharge
of newborn infants, shall be in accordance with birth
center policies.

(7) The birth center shall communicate with the pediat-
ric care provider and transfer birth and newborn records
to the pediatric care provider.

(8) The birth center shall provide a list of available
counselors and counseling services, compiled under 23
Pa.C.S. § 2505 (relating to counseling), to mothers who
are known to be considering relinquishing or termination
of parental rights under 23 Pa.C.S. 8§ 2101—2909 (relat-
ing to the Adoption Act).

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 02-888. Filed for public inspection May 17, 2002, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 58—RECREATION

STATE ATHLETIC COMMISSION

[58 PA. CODE CHS. 1, 3, 5, 9, 11, 13,
21, 23, 25, 27, 31 AND 33]

Boxing and Wrestling

The State Athletic Commission (SAC) amends all but
two chapters of its regulations in Part | (relating to State
Athletic Commission) to read as set forth in Annex A. The
amendments are adopted as final-form under 5 Pa.C.S.
88 101—2110 (relating to the Athletic Code) (code). The
code was renumbered and revised under the act of May
13, 1992 (P.L. 180, No. 32) (Act 32). The statutory
changes also require a comprehensive revision of most
regulations.

I. Statutory Authority

SAC has the authority to promulgate regulations under
section 103(b)(1) of the code (relating to duties of commis-
sion).

Il. Responses to Comments

The notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 30
Pa.B. 2611 (May 27, 2000) and was subject to a 30-day
public comment period. SAC received no public comments
and no comments from the House and Senate State
Government Committees. The Independent Regulatory
Review Commission (IRRC) filed its comments with SAC
on May 4, 2000. Because the preamble for the proposed
rulemaking was previously printed in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin, this preamble will address the amendments SAC
made as a result of the comments that IRRC provided.

The comments made by IRRC related to clarity, consis-
tency with the statute, statutory authority and implemen-
tation procedure. In addition to the specific revisions
discussed in detail in Part Il of this Preamble, IRRC
made general comments on three issues regarding clarity
that pertain to numerous sections throughout the pro-
posed rulemaking.

First, IRRC commented that the proposed rulemaking
used a general reference to the entire code and recom-
mended that SAC refer to specific statutory sections or
subsections that pertain to particular regulatory provi-
sions. Second, IRRC asked that SAC clarify what it
meant in the proposed rulemaking when it referred to
“the Commission (SAC) or Executive Director” or to “the
Commission.” At times, a commissioner or the Executive
Director will attend an event and act on behalf of SAC.
When appropriate throughout the final-form rulemaking,
SAC substituted the terms “a commissioner or the Execu-
tive Director” for the term “Commission,” as suggested by
IRRC. Finally, IRRC suggested that because reference is
made in several places throughout the final-form regula-
tions to forms, manuals and procedures published by
SAC, the final-form regulations should include informa-
tion on how copies of these forms, manuals and proce-
dures may be obtained. SAC included this IRRC recom-
mendation in final-form rulemaking as a new subsection
(b) to § 1.2 (relating to Commission offices). Other com-
ments are noted in specific final-form regulations, refer-
enced as follows.

Purpose

The final-form regulations revise, with limited excep-
tions, all of the regulations administered by SAC to
conform to the code found in 5 Pa.C.S. 8§ 101—2110 and
current SAC policies adopted thereunder. A description of
the revisions and changes appears as follows.
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I11. Description of Revisions
Subpart A (relating to general provisions)

Subpart A sets forth eight chapters which include
general provisions regarding appointed officials; tickets,
postponements and cancellations; recognition of suspen-
sions, disqualifications and retirements imposed by other
authorities; relations with affiliates; safety of event pre-
mises; bonds and fees; and permitted drug testing. SAC
made revisions and amendments to all chapters, except
Chapters 7 and 15 (relating to recognition of suspensions,
disqualifications and retirements imposed by other au-
thorities; and prohibited drug testing).

Chapter 1 (relating to preliminary provisions)
Section 1.1 (relating to definitions)

Section 1.1(a) includes a definition of the term “commis-
sioner” in accordance with IRRC'’s suggestion to refer to a
commissioner rather than the entire SAC when SAC
believes that only one member is required to take a
specific action. In defining “commissioner,” SAC added a
reference to the specific section of the code, as IRRC had
suggested in its first general recommendation. IRRC
found that SAC had used the terms “bout” or “main bout”
throughout the final-form amendments without defining
those terms. In final-form rulemaking, SAC replaced the
term “bout” with “contest,” which is defined in section 302
of the code (relating to definitions). SAC then added a
definition of “main contest.” The term “event,” as defined
in the proposed rulemaking, includes one or more con-
tests. Furthermore, SAC added definitions of the terms
“licensee” and “second” to § 1.1 at the suggestion of IRRC.
As IRRC suggested, SAC deleted a portion of the defini-
tion of “Commission credentials” to eliminate unnecessary
language. Finally, SAC defined the term “licensee” for
clarity, as the term appears in several places throughout
the final-form amendments, in 88 3.1(e), 3.2(e)(6), 3.3(g).
21.1(n) and 21.4(Kk).

SAC divided subsection (b) into subsections (b) and (c),
which both include specific references to the appropriate
sections of the code pertaining to boxing and wrestling as
well as distinguish those sections from each other, as
IRRC suggested.

Section 1.2

Section 1.2(b) was added informing any interested
parties where they may obtain forms, manuals and
additional information from SAC, as IRRC suggested in
its third general comment.

Chapter 3 (relating to appointed officials)
Section 3.1 (relating to Executive Director)

To provide for increased clarity, § 3.1(a) includes the
citation to the applicable statutory provision outlining the
powers and duties of the Executive Director, as IRRC
suggested in its first general comment.

The current 8§ 3.1(b) requires the Executive Director to
attend a representative number of events throughout this
Commonwealth to monitor operations of inspectors and
officials. On proposed rulemaking, IRRC suggested that
SAC specify what constitutes a representative number of
events that the Executive Director must attend. SAC
considered the IRRC suggestion and decided to delete any
reference that the Executive Director attend a representa-
tive number of events. Although the Executive Director
now regularly attends most events, SAC and the Depart-
ment found it difficult to specify a number or percentage
of events that the Executive Director would be required,
by regulation, to attend.

In reviewing the duties and responsibilities of the
Executive Director, SAC added a provision in § 3.1(g)
that allows the Secretary of the Commonwealth or the
Executive Director to designate SAC or Department of
State staff to act on the Executive Director’'s behalf. The
Secretary of the Commonwealth is responsible for the
actions and day-to-day activities of the Executive Direc-
tor. Likewise, the Executive Director may designate SAC
or Department of State staff to act on the Executive
Director’s behalf.

IRRC suggested that § 3.1(h) should clearly state the
criteria of each boxer that the Executive Director uses in
deciding whether to approve or prohibit a match and
include references to the relevant statutory requirements.
In final-form rulemaking, SAC added four criteria that
the Executive Director uses and the specific statutory
citations.

For clarity, 8§ 3.1(i) and (j) have been reversed. At the
suggestion of IRRC, SAC provided clarification at former
§ 3.1(i), now 3.1(j), that circumstances that are not
addressed in the regulations or the code that relate to the
duties of SAC shall be ruled on by the Executive Director.

At former § 3.1(j), now § 3.1(i), SAC made two changes
to final-form rulemaking suggested by IRRC. First, to
comply with IRRC's second general suggestion, SAC
clarified that the Executive Director, a commissioner or
SAC may use a videotape to review actions relating to a
contest. Secondly, SAC replaced the word “bout” with the
word “contest,” as explained previously in § 1.1(a). The
changes from “bout” to “contest” occur throughout this
final-form rulemaking.

Finally, at the suggestion of IRRC, SAC clarified its
appeal procedures in § 3.1(k) and included an explana-
tion of the two-tier appeal process, which includes both
an informal review and the right to a formal appeal.

Section 3.2 (relating to inspectors)

SAC amended § 3.2(a) to clarify that the inspectors are
nominated by a commissioner or Executive Director and
approved by the Secretary. The precise section of the code
is also cited, as suggested by IRRC in its first general
comment.

In § 3.2(d), SAC deleted the reference to the Depart-
ment of Revenue as IRRC suggested because the Depart-
ment of Revenue has the authority to appoint its own
agents to collect taxes in section 210 of the Fiscal Code
(72 P. S. § 210). In addition, SAC added the appropriate
reference to the code that addresses the ability of inspec-
tors appointed by SAC to collect revenue. Other clarifica-
tions occur in 8§ 3.1(e)—(h) to refer to the authority of the
Executive Director, to change “bout” to “contest,” and to
specify that an inspector may file a written report on any
portion of the code.

Section 3.3 (relating to physicians)

Subsection (a) provides the citation to the code sections
pertaining to the licensure of physicians, while subsection
(b) provides a reference to the SAC Medical/Safety
Manual. Subsection (c) changes “designee” to “inspector,”
as IRRC suggested for clarity and specificity. SAC added
language suggested by IRRC to clarify that SAC would
prescribe the form a physician uses for a post-fight check
in subsection (h).

Section 3.4 (relating to announcers)

Subsection (i) clarifies that only the Executive Director
or a commissioner may authorize another person, other
than the announcer, to make announcements from the
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ring, as IRRC requested. The term “bout” is changed to
“contest” in subsections (h) and (j) to comply with IRRC’s
suggestion discussed previously under § 1.1(a). Finally, in
subsection (j), SAC changed “designee” to “inspector,” as
suggested by IRRC with respect to subsection (c).

Chapter 5 (relating to tickets, postponements and cancella-
tions)

Section 5.1 (relating to tickets)

At the suggestion of IRRC, SAC placed the responsibil-
ity to collect tickets upon the promoter, who is a licensee,
at subsection (e). In this final-form rulemaking, the
agents of the promoters may collect the tickets; however,
the promoters themselves are required to make the ticket
stubs available to the Executive Director or a commis-
sioner. SAC also added a specific citation to the code, as
IRRC suggested in its first general request.

Section 5.2 (relating to postponements and cancellations)

SAC changed “bout” to “contest” in subsections (c) and
(d), as IRRC had suggested in § 1.1(a). In subsection (e),
IRRC suggested clarification of the procedures that SAC
will use to handle ticket refunds. Because ticket refunds
are specifically addressed at section 1113 of the code
(relating to ticket refund), SAC made a reference to
section 1113 of the code in § 5.2(e).

Chapter 11 (relating to safety of event premises)

Section 11.1 (relating to ventilation, fire exits and fire
escapes)

SAC made changes to this section, including deleting
some portions, to clarify language.

Chapter 13 (relating to bonds and fees)

Section 13.1 (relating to professional boxing bonds and
bond filing fees)

Section 13.1(a) changes “bouts” to “contests” and pro-
vides clarification that the surety bond shall be filed on a
form prescribed by SAC.

Section 13.3 (relating to additional license fees)

SAC changed the term “promotion” to “event” at the
suggestion of IRRC because the term “promotion” was not
a defined term.

Subpart B (relating to professional boxing)

The four chapters comprising Subpart B govern profes-
sional boxing, amateur boxing, professional kickboxing
and amateur kickboxing. SAC made revisions and amend-
ments to all four chapters of Subpart B.

Chapter 21 (relating to boxing)
Section 21.1 (relating to contracts)

As suggested by IRRC, § 21.1(d) substitutes the provi-
sion “commission member” to “commissioner or the Ex-
ecutive Director” for increased clarity. Also at IRRC's
suggestion, § 21.1(m) clarifies that a promoter may not
attempt to enter a contract with a manager or boxer
under suspension or disqualification by SAC without the
written consent of the Executive Director or a commis-
sioner. Likewise, at the suggestion of IRRC, SAC clarified
in § 21.1(n) that a promoter or other licensee may not
advertise a contest or exhibition until the Executive
Director has approved the contest or exhibition. As also
suggested by IRRC, in § 21.1(n), SAC added a cross
reference to § 3.1(h).

Section 21.3 (relating to ring and ring equipment)

On proposed rulemaking, IRRC questioned why the
language describing the type of illumination was being

deleted. SAC reinstated the language in § 21.3(a)(7)
describing the type of illumination required and provided
that the determination on the lighting should be made by
the Executive Director or a commissioner.

Section 21.4 (relating to conduct of contests)

At the suggestion of IRRC, SAC changed “bouts” to
“contests” in the heading of this section, as well as
throughout the section.

Section 21.4(b)(1) and (3) provides that a boxer shall
appear before a commissioner or the Executive Director
for a preliminary physical examination, and, at the
discretion of a commissioner or the Executive Director,
remove all clothing at the weigh-in. Likewise, § 21.4(b)(4)
allows a commissioner or the Executive Director to re-
quire an additional weigh-in and physical examination if
an event is postponed for more than 24 hours. These
final-form amendments afford increased flexibility in that
the Executive Director need not be at every examination
or weigh-in.

IRRC suggested that SAC move the clothing and glove
requirements in § 21.4(c) and (e) to § 21.8 (relating to
boxers). In the final-form rulemaking, § 21.4(c) and (e)
appear in 8 21.8(m)(4) and (5), respectively. As IRRC had
requested, SAC inserted the requirement in § 21.4(c) that
only seconds, trainers and managers are authorized to be
in the boxer's corner, as noted in § 21.10 (relating to
seconds or trainers).

Section 21.5 (relating to scoring system)

To clarify the particular type of foul the subsections
describe, § 21.5(d) and (e) adds the term “accidental”
before the phrase “low-blow foul” throughout the provi-
sions.

Section 21.7 (relating to matchmakers)

For clarity, SAC changed § 21.7(b) to require match-
makers to take notice of suspensions issued by any
commission, including those in other jurisdictions.

Section 21.8

In § 21.8(e), SAC made a reference to forms available
in SAC's Medical/Safety Manual regarding a general
physical examination required for applicants for a boxing
license who never competed in a professional contest, as
IRRC suggested. Section 21.8(f) contains a reference to
those portions of the code that refer to a contract between
a boxer and a promoter. At the suggestion of IRRC,
§ 21.8(m)(4) and (5) contains the provisions relating to a
boxer’s clothing and gear previously contained in § 21.4
(c) and (e).

On final-form rulemaking, the Commission made a
technical change to § 21.8(d)(3) for clarity. On proposed
rulemaking, the Commission divided § 21.8(d) into three
subsections. Upon publication of the proposed rule-
making, however, the phrase “The Commission may sus-
pend a” was inadvertently placed in § 21.8(d)(2), when it
should have been placed in § 21.8(d)(3) and then removed
from that subsection. Therefore, on final-form rule-
making, the Commission placed that phrase in
§ 21.8(d)(3).

Section 21.9 (relating to managers)

SAC clarified in § 21.9(h) that the Commission may
impound the purse of a boxer, pending a final determina-
tion, not only at the request of managers who are licensed
by SAC, but also for managers properly licensed in
another jurisdiction that is recognized by SAC. This
position is consistent with that adopted by the Association
of Boxing commissioners (ABC), of which the Common-
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wealth is a member. These final-form amendments would
provide SAC with flexibility in impounding purses for
managers licensed by SAC or for managers licensed in
another jurisdiction that is recognized by SAC.

Section 21.10

SAC changed the heading of this section to seconds or
trainers to clarify that trainers are also subject to this
section. This is consistent with the definition of the term
“second” in § 1.1, which specifically includes a trainer.
For consistency, SAC made the same change to the
heading of § 23.5 (relating to seconds or trainers).

IRRC made four recommendations regarding this sec-
tion. First, IRRC suggested that SAC clarify who “another
person” would be who is allowed in a boxer’'s corner.
Second, IRRC suggested that SAC address in other
sections of the final-form amendments the possibility that
a spectator or ticket holder may disrupt a contest. Third,
IRRC suggested clarification of what constitutes “ample
warnings” in § 21.10(j). Finally, IRRC suggested that
SAC clarify what constitutes “offending conduct” in
§ 21.10(j).

To address IRRC's four suggestions, SAC moved the
requirements in § 21.10(j) to other sections. In § 21.4(c),
SAC inserted the requirement that only seconds, trainers
and managers are authorized to be in the boxer’s corner.
In 8§ 21.11(c)(4) (relating to referees), the referee has the
authority to remove other persons from a boxer’'s corner,
in addition to seconds, trainers and managers, who
interfere with the conduct of the contest. In addition,
§ 21.11(c)(4) also allows the referee to deduct points from
the boxer for conduct of any individual in the boxer’s
corner. Furthermore, SAC may suspend or fine the man-
ager, second or trainer for conduct. In response to IRRC's
third suggestion, SAC deleted the requirement for ample
warnings, as found in former § 21.10(j), and added
manager and trainer to the categories of individuals that
the referee could remove from the ring in § 21.11(c)(4).
SAC decided to leave the discretion to make these
decisions with the referee and not bind the referee with
issuing warnings when the behavior in question inter-
feres with the conduct of the contest. In response to
IRRC's final suggestion that SAC clarify what constitutes
“offending conduct” as used in former § 21.10(j), SAC
used the language in § 21.11(c)(4) that set the criteria as
interfering with the conduct of the contest.

Section 21.11

Section 21.11(b)(1) substitutes the phrase “character
and reputation” for “repute” in describing the requisite
moral fitness of a referee to make this requirement
consistent with the description in other sections. SAC also
changed “Commission” to “Executive Director” because
the Executive Director makes the initial determination
regarding qualifications for referees. The decision of the
Executive Director may be appealed to SAC.

In addition to the changes in § 21.10 regarding
changes to § 21.11(c)(4), SAC removed the words “and
shall” from this subsection and added the word “to” to
provide for parallel structure grammatically.

As IRRC suggested, SAC provided a cross reference in
§ 21.11(c)(7) to the activities that constitute a foul, as
described in § 21.16(b) (relating to safety code). In
§ 21.11(c)(8), SAC provided a citation to Subpart B of the
code (relating to boxing) and a reference to the Referee's
Manual. SAC changed “bout” to “contest” in § 21.11(c)(10)
and (13) and clarified § 21.11(c)(11) that the Executive
Director or an inspector could receive the official score
cards from the referee after each round.

Section 21.12 (relating to judges)

In § 21.12(c), SAC replaced the phrase “the generally
recognized rules of boxing” as IRRC suggested with a
reference to the Judge’s Manual. Also, SAC cited to
Subpart B of the code to add greater specificity, as IRRC
had suggested in its first general recommendation.

Section 21.16

SAC replaced “men” with “individuals” throughout
§ 21.16(a), making it gender neutral. In addition, SAC
included references to the relevant section of the code in
§ 21.16(k) regarding suspension and revocation for inju-
ries as well as a reference to 2 Pa.C.S. §§ 501—508
regarding requests for hearings to review SAC’s actions.

Chapter 23 (relating to amateur boxing)

Section 23.1 (relating to relations with amateur athletic
associations)

SAC made the phrase “amateur athletic association”
lower case and plural so that it would reflect the
existence of multiple associations throughout this Com-
monwealth. The change was made not only in this
section, but also throughout the final-form rulemaking
where appropriate.

Section 23.6 (relating to referees)

In § 23.6(a), SAC clarified that referees may be re-
moved from their position by a commissioner, the Execu-
tive Director or an inspector if deemed incompetent. This
subsection also tracks the language in § 23.7(a) (relating
to judges).

Section 23.10 (relating to age of participation)

SAC changed the heading of this section to accurately
reflect that the section now deals with the age of
participation of boxers due to the elimination of former
§ 23.10(a).

Chapter 25 (relating to professional kickboxing)
Section 25.3 (relating to conduct of contests)

At the suggestion of IRRC, SAC changed “bouts” to
“contests” in the heading of this section, as well as
throughout this section. Section 25.3(h) includes a refer-
ence to § 21.16(e) that describes the manner in which a
contestant’'s gloves should be wiped free of foreign sub-
stances.

Section 25.9 (relating to ringside officials)

Final-form § 25.9(c) substitutes the phrase “character
and reputation” for “repute” in describing the requisite
moral fitness of a referee or judge. SAC also changed
“Commission” to “Executive Director” in this subsection
because the Executive Director makes the initial determi-
nation regarding qualifications for referees and judges.
The decision of the Executive Director may be appealed to
SAC. These final-form amendments are consistent with
those previously noted in § 21.11(b)(1).

I11. Compliance with Executive Order 1996-1

In accordance with Executive Order 1996-1, “Regula-
tory Review and Promulgation,” SAC invited comments
from the regulated community and interested parties. In
drafting the proposed rulemaking, SAC had extensive
consultations with, and input from the ABC, the World
Boxing Council, the International Female Boxing Associa-
tion, the Women'’s International Boxing Federation, the
World Wrestling Federation and the Nevada, New Jersey
and New York State Athletic Commissions. When the
rulemaking was proposed, SAC received no public com-
ments.
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V. Fiscal Impact

All individuals licensed by SAC will be impacted to
some degree by the extensive revisions to the regulations
administered by SAC. Other impacts are set forth in the
costs and benefits section.

Costs and Benefits

All licensees will benefit when the regulations are
updated to reflect current provisions of the code by
reducing the potential for confusion as to their obliga-
tions. The safety of participants is increased by providing
for heavier gloves, eliminating the standing eight-count
and three-knockdown rule and requiring individually
fitted mouthpieces. These provisions for each class of
licensees are set forth in more detail as follows.

Promoters

Many provisions are streamlined to afford promoters
greater flexibility in conducting events, resulting in indi-
rect savings. Promoters will incur additional costs due to
increased fees paid to referees, judges, announcers and
timekeepers officiating at televised events. Referees are
paid $50 per event more while judges, announcers and
timekeepers are paid $10 more. These increases in fees
may be offset because promoters’ profits are generally
higher for televised events.

Managers

Managers’ costs will increase because the license fee for
managers is raised from $40 to $60. The regulations also
increase the minimum sum to be guaranteed annually to
a boxer under contract with a manager from $750 to
$1,000 and decrease the percentage of earnings that a
boxer must pay the manager under a contract.

Referees

Under § 13.7 (relating to professional boxing officials
fee), referees will be paid $50 more for officiating at
televised events. Other benefits to referees will accrue
from changes in scoring and the elimination of barriers to
entry as a referee.

Judges, Announcers and Timekeepers

Under § 13.7, judges, announcers and timekeepers will
be paid $10 more for officiating at televised events. Other
benefits to judges, announcers and timekeepers will ac-
crue from changes in scoring and the elimination of
barriers to entry as a judge, announcer or timekeeper.

Boxers

Boxers will benefit from the final-form rulemaking
directly because the minimum sum guaranteed to a boxer
under contract with a manager will be increased from
$750 to $1,000. Other benefits relate to clarifications of
the procedures when a boxer has not made the contracted
for-weight at weigh-in, requiring an individually fitted
mouthpiece, resulting in safety improvements and other
improvements in the safety code. They will also benefit
through a clarification of the scoring of accidental and
intentional fouls. The proposed changes also benefit box-
ers by expressly providing for expenses to a boxer when a
contest has been canceled. The maximum percentage of
earnings a boxer is obligated to pay managers under
contract is reduced from 50% to 40%.

Matchmakers

Matchmakers will benefit from the revisions that would
permit matchmakers to deal with unlicensed managers or
boxers, allowing them to more effectively plan for future
contests.

Kickboxing licensees

Similar changes, tracking those previously set forth,
have been made in Chapter 25. These include: clarifying
the scoring system; permitting greater flexibility in de-
ducting points for fouls; requiring an individually fitted
mouthpiece; and providing for heavier gloves. Judges will
also benefit from the fees being increased. Other changes
that benefit amateur kickboxers are set forth in Chapter
27 (relating to amateur kickboxing) and include: age
requirements; the wearing of shin protectors; and a
maximum of three 2-minute rounds.

VI. Paperwork Requirements

Paperwork requirements will not be substantially al-
tered as a result of the amended regulations. Minor
changes will have to be made to forms used by SAC.

VIl. Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)), on May 12, 2000, SAC submitted a copy
of the notice of proposed rulemaking published at 30
Pa.B. 2611, to IRRC and to the Chairpersons of the House
State Government and the Senate State Government
Committees for review and comment.

In addition to submitting the proposed amendments,
SAC provided IRRC and the Committees with a copy of a
detailed regulatory analysis form prepared by SAC in
conformance with Executive Order 1996-1, (regulatory
review and promulgation).

Under section 5.1(d) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5a(d)), on March 25, 2002, this final-form
rulemaking was deemed approved by the House and
Senate Committees. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regula-
tory Review Act, IRRC met on April 4, 2002, and ap-
proved the final-form rulemaking.

VIIIl. Contact Person

Further information may be obtained by contacting
Gregory Sirb, Executive Director, State Athletic Commis-
sion, Department of State, 302 North Office Building,
Harrisburg, PA 17120-0029. Information is also available
at SAC’'s website http://www.dos.state.pa.us/sac/sac.html.

IX. Findings
SAC finds that:

(1) Public notice proposed rulemaking was given under
sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968 (P. L. 769,
No. 240) (45 P. S. 8§ 1201 and 1202) and the regulations
promulgated thereunder, 1 Pa. Code 88 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered.

(3) This rulemaking does not enlarge the purpose of
proposed rulemaking published at 30 Pa.B. 2611.

(4) This rulemaking is necessary and appropriate for
administering and enforcing the authorizing acts.

X. Order
SAC, acting under its authorizing statutes, orders that:

(@) The regulations of SAC, 58 Pa. Code Chapters 1, 3,
5, 9, 11, 13, 21, 23, 25, 27, 31 and 33, are amended by
amending 88 1.1—1.3, 3.1—3.4, 5.1, 5.2, 9.1, 9.2, 11.1,
13.1—13.8, 21.1—21.16, 23.1, 23.2, 23.4—23.10, 25.3—
25.6, 25.8, 25.9, 27.2 and 27.3; adding 8§ 31.21—31.24
and deleting 88 11.2, 31.1—31.14 and 33.1—33.12 to read
as set forth in Annex A.
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(b) SAC shall submit this order and Annex A to the
Office of General Counsel and the Office of Attorney
General as required by law.

(c) SAC shall certify this order and Annex A and
deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bureau as
required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect upon final-form publica-
tion in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

CHARLES BEDNARIK,
Chairperson

(Editor's Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission, relating to this
document, see 32 Pa.B. 2041 (April 20, 2002).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 16-17 remains valid for the
final adoption of the subject regulations.

Annex A
TITLE 58. RECREATION
PART I. STATE ATHLETIC COMMISSION
Subpart A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
CHAPTER 1. PRELIMINARY PROVISIONS
§ 1.1. Definitions.

(@) The following words and terms, when used in this
part, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

Athletic Code—5 Pa.C.S. §§ 101—2110.

Commission—The State Athletic Commission of the
Commonwealth.

Commission credentials—Documents issued by the
Commission to individuals approved by the Commission
granting them the authority to attend a specific event,
without payment of an entry fee, on behalf of the
Commission.

Commissioner—A member of the Commission, as de-
fined in section 101 of the code (relating to definitions).

Event—One or more contests, as defined in section 302
of the code (relating to definitions), conducted at the same
location on the same day.

Knockdown—When any part of a boxer’s body, except
the feet, touch the ring canvass, at the hand of the
opponent, as determined by the referee.

Licensee—A person licensed by the Commission to
perform duties in relation to an event.

Main contest—The most important contest during an
event for which the public interest is the greatest.

Second—An individual licensed by the Commission to
work in a professional boxer’'s corner during an event, as
provided in section 716 of the Athletic Code (relating to
seconds). The term also includes a trainer.

(b) The definitions in section 302 of the Athletic Code
(relating to definitions) are incorporated for the regula-
tory provisions relating to boxing which include this
subpart and Subpart B (relating to boxing).

(¢) The definitions in section 1902 of the Athletic Code
(relating to definitions) are incorporated for the regula-
tory provisions relating to wrestling, which include this
subpart and Subpart C (relating to wrestling).

§ 1.2. Commission offices.

(@) The offices of the Commission are located as fol-
lows:

(1) 116 Pine Street, Third Floor, Harrisburg, Pennsyl-
vania 17101.

(2) 1103 State Office Building, Broad and Spring Gar-
den Streets, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19030.

(3) 805A State Office Building, 300 Liberty Avenue,
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15222.

(4) Scranton State Office Building, Third Floor,
Scranton, Pennsylvania 18503.

(b) All forms, manuals and additional information may
be obtained by contacting the Harrisburg office at the
address listed in subsection (a)(1) or calling the Harris-
burg office at (717) 787-5720.

§ 1.3. Applicability of general rules.

Under 1 Pa. Code § 31.1 (relating to scope of part), 1
Pa. Code Part Il (relating to general rules of administra-
tive practice and procedure) applies to the activities of
and proceedings before the Commission.

CHAPTER 3. APPOINTED OFFICIALS
§ 3.1. Executive Director.

(&) An Executive Director shall be appointed by the
Secretary of the Commonwealth to act as the administra-
tive officer to the Commission and have powers and
duties provided in section 105 of the Athletic Code
(relating to powers and duties of executive director).

(b) The Executive Director shall establish and maintain
standard operating procedures for offices, ensure adher-
ence to procedures and monitor operations of inspectors
and officials.

(c) The Executive Director shall prepare, justify and
administer the Commission budget.

(d) The Executive Director shall solicit items and pre-
pare agendas for scheduled Commission meetings as well
as attend the meetings, and shall also schedule and notify
commissioners of the meetings.

(e) The Executive Director shall organize periodic
training programs for judges, referees, inspectors and
other licensees.

(f) The Executive Director shall disseminate to commis-
sioners, inspectors and officials changes in the Commis-
sion’s policies and procedures, personnel changes and
other information pertinent to current operations.

(g) The Executive Director shall supervise and direct
Commission staff, direct the issuance of Commission
credentials and perform other duties as directed by the
Commission. The Secretary of the Commonwealth or the
Executive Director may designate Commission or Depart-
ment staff to act on behalf of the Executive Director at
events under the jurisdiction of the Commission.

(h) The Executive Director shall have the authority to
approve or prohibit each proposed matching of boxers
within this Commonwealth. Based upon the following
criteria of each boxer:

(1) Win/loss record.
(2) Current boxing activity.
(3) Overall boxing experience.

(4) General health and safety, including, but not lim-
ited to, the following statutory provisions:

(i) Sections 708 of the Athletic Code (relating to sus-
pension and revocation for injuries).

(i) Section 711 of the Athletic Code (relating to limita-
tion on difference in weights).
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(i) The Executive Director, a commissioner or the Com-
mission may use a videotape of a contest to review
actions taken relating to a contest.

(i) The Executive Director shall rule on circumstances
arising that are not addressed by this part and are not
otherwise addressed in the Athletic Code that relate to
the Commission’s duties.

(k) The Executive Director will handle and decide
initial complaints informally. If an individual is not
satisfied with the remedy provided by the Executive
Director, the individual may appeal the matter to the
Commission. Appeals of decisions pertaining to a suspen-
sion of a permit or license shall be handled in accordance
with sections 1301—1305 of the Athletic Code (relating to
enforcement). Decisions of the Commission may be ap-
pealed in accordance with 2 Pa.C.S. 8§ 501—508 (relating
to practice and procedure of Commonwealth agencies) and
1 Pa. Code Chapter 35 (relating to formal proceedings).

§ 3.2. Inspectors.

(a) Inspectors shall be nominated by a commissioner or
the Executive Director and approved by the Secretary.
Inspectors shall be assigned by the Executive Director for
the performance of duties under section 105(3) of the
Athletic Code (relating to powers and duties of executive
director).

(b) An inspector shall be empowered to act on behalf of
the Commission only when specifically authorized by a
commissioner or the Executive Director.

(c) The Executive Director will assign to each event
under the Commission’s jurisdiction as many inspectors
as necessary for the proper regulation of the event and
may designate a chief inspector.

(d) An inspector or the chief inspector in charge of an
event shall be the official representative of the Commis-
sion and shall be responsible only to the Commission or
the Executive Director. It is his duty and he shall have
the authority to enforce the Athletic Code; and this part.
It is his duty and he shall have the authority to enforce
legislative and regulatory provisions pertaining to the
collection of revenues that are due the Commonwealth, as
outlined in section 916 of the Athletic Code (relating to
gross receipts taxes).

(e) Subject only to the direction of a commissioner or
the Executive Director, an inspector will have authority
over the following:

(1) All phases of the weigh-in.

(2) Entrances to the site of the event, including the
following:

(i) Press and pass entrances.

(if) Entrances for participants, officials, Commission
credential holders and employees.

(3) The ring and ringside, including the following:
(i) Press accommodations.

(if) Radio accommodations.

(iii) Television accommodations.

(4) Dressing rooms of participants and officials.

(5) The counting and accounting for tickets, passes and
credentials issued to individuals to attend specified
events including the following:

(i) Working press passes.
(if) Complimentary tickets.

(iii) Tickets of participants.
(vi) Commission credentials.
(vii) Promoter passes.

(6) The collection of insurance premiums due and
payable on participants, and the documenting and report-
ing of accidents, injuries and illness of a licensee.

(7) The collection of fees, including the following:
(i) License fees.
(i) Other moneys due the Commonwealth.

(8) The payment of purses and other moneys due
participants and fees due officials.

(9) Matters generally under the jurisdiction of the
Commission.

(f) Inspectors shall file with the Commission an official
report of attendance, gross receipts, net receipts, fees and
other moneys collected, names and pairings of partici-
pants, names of officials and results of contests as
determined by official decision after each event under the
jurisdiction of the Commission.

(9) An inspector shall file a detailed written report
with the recommendations deemed appropriate, in the
case of a violation or alleged violation of the Athletic
Code.

(h) In case of the termination of a contest under the
jurisdiction of the Commission by disqualification of one
or more of the participants, and in other circumstances,
upon recommendation and approval of the Commission or
Executive Director, the inspector shall have the authority
to impound moneys due the alleged offending parties
pending action on the matter by the Commission.

(i) Inspectors may not remove, replace or interfere with
the duties of a ringside official unless authorized to do so
by the Executive Director.

(J) Inspectors shall report for duty promptly in accord-
ance with their assignments and remain on duty until
excused by the Executive Director. Only inspectors actu-
ally assigned or credentialed by the Executive Director to
a given event shall by virtue of office be admitted,
without charge, to that event.

§ 3.3. Physicians.

(@) A physician licensed to practice in this Common-
wealth will be assigned by the Executive Director to every
contest, weigh-in and exhibition. A physician so assigned
in the case of professional events shall also be licensed by
the Commission under sections 905(a) and 910 of the
Athletic Code (relating to other licenses required; and
standards for issuance of licenses and permits). In emer-
gencies or unusual circumstances, the Commission may
waive the requirement that the physician assigned be
licensed under sections 905(a) and 910 of the Athletic
Code. Physicians are not required to be licensed under
the Athletic Code in the case of amateur events.

(b) The physician assigned to the weigh-in shall file a
complete written report on each person examined upon a
form prescribed by the Commission. Examinations shall
be conducted in accordance with procedures prescribed by
the Commission as approved by the Medical Advisory
Board of the Commonwealth, which are set forth in the
Medical/Safety Manual published by the Commission.
Each boxer shall be so examined before the start of each
event in which he is scheduled to participate, and may
not participate if pronounced physically unfit by the
examining physician.
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(c) The physician assigned to an event shall be seated
at the immediate ringside throughout the event and may
not leave the ring untended while the event is in
progress. An event may not commence or continue with-
out an assigned physician in attendance. An assigned
physician may not leave the premises of the event
without notice to and approval of a commissioner, the
Executive Director or an inspector. The physician shall
remain on the premises after the event until satisfied
that no further need of medical service remains.

(d) While on duty at an event, the assigned physician
shall render emergency assistance inside and outside the
ring to persons under the jurisdiction of the Commission
and shall be especially prepared to minister to the
injuries and illnesses that are to be anticipated under the
circumstances of the event.

(e) The attending physician shall have full authority to
determine and to pass upon the physical condition of
participants and officials in the ring. For that purpose he
shall have access to the ring at all times and shall be
empowered to direct the referee to interrupt action pend-
ing determination of and decision upon the physical
condition of a participant or official apparently in need of
attention because of injury. The decision of the physician
in attendance with respect to the ability of a participant
or an official to continue in action shall be conclusive and
shall be enforced by the referee in all cases. The attend-
ing physician shall be empowered to direct the referee to
terminate action when a participant is evidently in
jeopardy from exhaustion or punishment. In case of
termination, there may be no resumption of action there-
after.

(f) In case of injury to a participant covered by insur-
ance, the attending physician shall execute and file with
the Commission the appropriate form of report for the
injury to the insurance carrier on the form prescribed by
the insurance carrier.

(9) When injury to or illness of a person occurs under
the jurisdiction of the Commission, the attending physi-
cian shall have complete charge of the person while on
the premises and shall be accorded the full cooperation of
Commission personnel and licensees present.

(h) When a knockout or technical knockout of a boxer
occurs, the attending physician shall follow up ministra-
tion in the ring, at ringside or in the dressing room and
shall take measures and give instructions that may be
appropriate. After the event, the attending physician
shall complete a post-fight check on each boxer who
competed in the event on the form prescribed by the
Commission in the Medical/Safety Manual.

(i) The attending physician is empowered to inspect
and pass upon first aid and safety equipment provided for
the event and to inspect and pass upon equipment
intended to be used by seconds in ministering to boxers.

(1) When it appears to a ringside physician that a boxer
or referee is no longer safely able to continue competitive
or official activity, the physician shall immediately so
report to the Commission and recommend the temporary
or the permanent retirement of the person if appropriate.

§ 3.4. Announcers.

(&) The Commission will license announcers of events
under its jurisdiction, except that in emergencies and in
the case of amateur events, competent unlicensed an-
nouncers may be used. The promoter or sponsor of the
event shall assign announcers to events.

(b) Announcers shall be responsible to the Commission
in the discharge of their duties and shall accept directions
only from a commissioner or the Executive Director.

(¢) The Commission will set fees payable to announcers
assigned to serve at events. The promoters of professional
events and the sponsors of amateur events shall pay the
fees.

(d) An announcer assigned to an event shall remain at
ringside while the event is in progress, shall maintain
close liaison with a commissioner or the Executive Direc-
tor during the period, and shall carefully follow the
directions of a commissioner or the Executive Director at
all times.

(e) Announcers shall be neatly and appropriately
dressed while discharging their duties.

(f) Announcers shall display strict impartiality in word
and action while serving at events under Commission
jurisdiction.

(g) Announcers shall make neither special announce-
ments nor introductions of persons other than partici-
pants and officials without first obtaining the approval of
a commissioner or the Executive Director.

(h) The announcer shall announce from the ring at
each event under the jurisdiction of the Commission the
fact of jurisdiction, the names of the officials assigned to
the event, the name and official weight before each
contest of each participant and other pertinent informa-
tion as directed by a commissioner or the Executive
Director.

(i) Only an assigned announcer may make an an-
nouncement from the ring unless another person is
specifically authorized by a commissioner or the Execu-
tive Director.

(J) The announcer shall promptly collect the official
score card from the Executive Director or an inspector at
the conclusion of each contest. The announcer shall
announce the scoring by each official and the final
decision reached. The announcer shall announce whether
the decision is unanimous, a split decision or a draw at
the end of contests other than the main events. In the
event of a knockout or a technical knockout, the an-
nouncer shall announce the result and the time and the
round of the termination of the contest.

CHAPTER 5. TICKETS, POSTPONEMENTS AND
CANCELLATIONS

§ 5.1. Tickets.

(a) Tickets of admission to each event under the juris-
diction of the Commission shall be of the stub type and
consecutively numbered. Tickets shall have the following
information:

(1) The identity of the promoter or sponsor.
(2) The nature, date, time and place of the event.

(3) The established price of the ticket including taxes
thereon.

(4) The precise seat location if the ticket entitles the
holder to a reserved seat.

(5) The rain date, if any, of the event.

(b) A promoter or sponsor may not offer tickets for sale
or distribution to an event under the jurisdiction of the
Commission, which are not in compliance with subsection

().
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(c) Complimentary tickets shall be clearly marked com-
plimentary. Complimentary tickets may not be sold by a
promoter, sponsor or other person or agency.

(d) Distribution of tickets of employees and tickets of
participants shall be limited strictly to persons in these
classifications and the tickets may not be transferable by
distributees.

(e) Ticket holders to events under the jurisdiction of
the Commission shall surrender their tickets or the
appropriate stubs, which will be collected by the agents of
the promoter at the admission gates. The promoter shall
make the tickets or stubs available to the Executive
Director or a commissioner, and comply with section
916(d) of the Athletic Code (relating to gross receipts tax).

§ 5.2. Postponements and cancellations.

(@) An event under the jurisdiction of the Commission
may not be postponed or canceled after it has been
approved and scheduled without written notice to and
approval by the Executive Director.

(b) If a scheduled event is postponed because of unfa-
vorable weather, it shall be rescheduled upon its desig-
nated rain date, if it has been previously set. If no rain
date has been previously set, the event shall be resched-
uled as soon as may be fairly and reasonably done after
consultation with and approval by the Executive Director.

(c) The Executive Director may rearrange the contest
in case of threatened weather to assure, if possible, the
presentation of the main contest.

(d) If, because of unfavorable weather or other emer-
gency after the start of the program but before the
beginning of the main contest, it is deemed necessary to
declare a postponement, the event shall be rescheduled as
provided in subsection (b). If unfavorable weather or
other emergency occurs during the progress of the main
contest, the contest shall be continued to its conclusion,
except that if the existing condition presents actual
danger to the participants or others present, a commis-
sioner or the Executive Director will interrupt the contest
until the danger is passed, and the contest shall be
resumed from the point of interruption and continued to
conclusion. If it is deemed impossible to resume the
contest because of continued danger, a postponement
shall be declared and the event shall be rescheduled as
provided in subsection (b).

(e) Ticket holders shall be entitled to the refund of the
entire purchase price of their tickets in cases of postpone-
ment or cancellation of the main event or the entire
program of contests or exhibitions under the conditions of
time, place and procedure that a commissioner or the
Executive Director approves and announces in each in-
stance, as specified in section 1113(a) of the Athletic Code
(relating to ticket refunds) and 8§ 21.4(h) (relating to
conduct of contests).

(f) In case of postponement prior to the opening of the
admission gates to the event, tickets for the original date
shall be honored for admission on the date to which the
event shall be postponed.

(g) The Commission will determine the rights of af-
fected parties to payment for services and reimbursement
for expenses in each case of postponement or cancellation
if boxers have fulfilled their performance contracts prior
to postponement or cancellation.

CHAPTER 9. RELATIONS WITH AFFILIATES
§ 9.1. No sovereignty compromise.

The Commission may enter into, maintain or withdraw
from association with groups devoted to the interests of

any sport regulated by the Commission, but it may not
compromise the sovereignty of the Commonwealth or the
primary and immediate responsibility of the Commission.

§ 9.2. Fair cooperation.

The restrictions imposed by § 9.1 (relating to no sover-
eignty compromise) may not be construed to prevent the
Commission from fair and reasonable collaboration and
cooperation with the authorities of other governmental
bodies or with organizations of private individuals dedi-
cated to objectives similar to those of the Commission.

CHAPTER 11. SAFETY OF EVENT PREMISES
§ 11.1. Ventilation, fire exits and fire escapes.

Buildings or structures used, or intended to be used for
contests, shall be properly ventilated and contain proper
fire exits and fire escapes. In addition, buildings shall
conform to the laws, ordinances and regulations pertain-
ing to buildings in the municipality where situated.

§ 11.2. (Reserved).
CHAPTER 13. BONDS AND FEES

§ 13.1. Professional boxing bonds and bond filing
fees.

(@) In the case of professional boxing promoters or
foreign copromoters holding contests in a place where the
seating capacity is less than 10,000, the professional
boxing promoters or foreign copromoters are required to
execute and file a surety bond with the Commission in
the sum of $7,500 on the form prescribed by the Commis-
sion. If the seating capacity is more than 10,000, the bond
shall be in the sum of $25,000.

(b) In lieu of the surety bond required by subsection
(a), the promoter or foreign copromoter may deposit with
the Commission cash, a certified check, a letter of credit
or direct or indirect obligations of the United States or
the Commonwealth acceptable to the Commission in an
equivalent amount as set forth in subsection (a) and
subject to the same conditions. The security will not be
returned to the promoter until 1 year after the date on
which it was deposited with the Commission, unless a
surety bond is substituted for the security. Upon the
expiration of 1 year from the date on which the security
was deposited, it shall be returned to the depositor if no
claim against the deposit is outstanding.

(c) A filing fee of $25 shall accompany each bond filed
or cash or security deposited in lieu of the bond.

§ 13.2. Ticket tally.

The authorized representative of a licensed promoter
holding a contest or exhibition shall submit in writing to
the Commission within 48 hours after the close of the
contest or exhibition, a promoter’s ticket report showing
the number of each class of ticket sold, unsold or unused,
and permit the Commission to examine sold, unsold or
unused tickets, stub coupons, the financial records of the
event and investigate other matters relating to the
receipts and conduct of the box office and ticket takers.
The ticket tally shall conform to the manifest issued by
the printer on the printer's statement, and shall be
signed by the promoter.

§ 13.3. Additional license fees.

Promoters shall submit a check or money order for the
payment of license fees or taxes due the Commonwealth
within a maximum of 48 hours after each event. Failure
of a promoter to submit the required funds will result in
forfeiture of all or a portion of the promoter's bond or
funds on deposit with the Commission.
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§ 13.4. Professional boxing license fees.

The following annual nonrefundable license fees shall
accompany each application for a license or the renewal of
a license:

Promoter's license ................coviiiiiain.. $100
Matchmaker's license ................ ..., $ 50
Physician's license ...............coooiiiiii... $ 40
Referee’s license ..., $ 35
Manager's license. ..., $ 60
Judge's license. ............. ... oo $ 35
Timekeeper's license ........................... $ 25
Announcerslicense................ ... $ 20
Professional boxer's license ..................... $ 22
Trainer's license ............co ... $ 20
Second’'s LiCENSE . ... ..ot $ 20

§ 13.5. Professional boxing permit fees.

The following nonrefundable permit fees, based upon
the seating capacity of the premises where the program is
to be presented, shall accompany each application filed by
a professional boxing promoter or foreign copromoter for a
permit to present a program of professional contests or
exhibitions:

Seating capacity Fee

Less than 2,000 $ 25
2,001 to 5,000 $ 35
5,001 to 10,000 $ 75
Over 10,001 $150

§ 13.6. Professional boxing physician fee.

A fee of $200 shall be paid to the physician assigned to
the weigh-in who conducts the precontest or preexhibition
physicals and who also serves at ringside of the contest or
exhibition. A fee of $150 shall be paid to the physician
assigned only to the contest or exhibition. A fee of $100
shall be paid to the physician assigned only to conduct
the precontest or preexhibition physicals. The fees shall
be paid by the promoter.

8 13.7. Professional boxing officials fee.

(a) Subject to the exception for televised events in
subsection (b), the fees for professional contests or exhibi-
tion officials, paid by the promoter, are as follows:

Official Fee
Referee $100, each
Judges $ 75, each
Announcer $ 75
Timekeeper $ 75

(b) The fees for televised events, either broadcasted or
by cable transmission, are as follows:

Official Fee

Referee $150, each
Judges $ 85, each
Announcer $ 85, each
Timekeeper $ 85, each

§ 13.8. Return check fee.

An additional $50 processing fee will be charged for
each dishonored check.

Subpart B. BOXING
CHAPTER 21. PROFESSIONAL BOXING
§ 21.1. Contracts.

(a) Contracts under the Commission’s jurisdiction be-
tween managers and professional boxers; promoters and
professional boxers; and foreign copromoters and profes-

sional boxers shall be signed on Commission-approved
forms. Contracts shall contain a provision stating their
subjection to the laws of the Commonwealth and this
part. Contracts shall contain the provisions required by
sections 1102 and 1103 of the Athletic Code (relating to
notice clause; and provisions in contracts between manag-
ers and professional boxers). The contracts shall be signed
by the parties under their true legal names. Contracts
shall be void unless signed by parties to the contracts.

(b) Parties to the contracts shall be currently licensed
by the Commission.

(c) Parties to the contracts shall completely fulfill their
contractual obligations or be subject to disciplinary action
by the Commission. Parties to the contracts shall be
subject to, but not limited to, the disciplinary provisions
in Chapter 13 of the Athletic Code (relating to enforce-
ment).

(d) Each contract between a manager and boxer shall
be subject to Commission approval, sworn to and affirmed
by both parties, and signed in the presence of a commis-
sioner or the Executive Director. A fully conformed and
executed copy of the contract shall be filed with the
Commission.

(e) It shall be the duty of the manager to assure the
satisfactory performance of boxers with whom the man-
ager has contractual agreements.

(f) A contract exceeding 3 years between a manager
and A boxer will not be approved by the Commission
except by unanimous vote of the commissioners.

(9) A manager may not enter into a contract purporting
to bind a boxer under his management to perform
services after the termination of the manager-boxer rela-
tionship between them. A boxer, while under contract to a
manager, may not enter into a commitment, written or
oral, to perform services without written consent of both
parties involved and approval of the Executive Director.

(h) No assignment of an interest in a boxer's or
manager’'s contract, filed and approved by the Commis-
sion, will be permitted without the approval of the
Commission, and the consent to assign will not be
granted unless a copy of the proposed assignment is
submitted to the Commission for its approval.

(i) A manager may not enter into a contract that does
not guarantee the boxer a minimum annual income for
completion of contractual agreements of $1,000.

(j) Contracts to which a minor is a party, shall be
executed on behalf of the minor by the proper legal
guardian of the minor.

(k) If a manager or boxer is to be prevented from
acting or performing professionally within this Common-
wealth due to the revocation of his license, the contract
between the manager and boxer shall be terminated as
provided by section 1103(b) of the Athletic Code. If the
license of either party is suspended, the contract will not
be binding upon the other party during the period of the
suspension.

() A copy of a fully conformed and executed contract
between a promoter and a manager or boxer, or both,
shall be filed with the Commission by the promoter
immediately after its execution

(m) A promoter licensed by the Commission may not
attempt to contract, for a contest, with a manager or
boxer under suspension or disqualification by the Com-
mission, except with the written consent of the Executive
Director or a commissioner.
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(n) A promoter or other licensee of the Commission
may not publicly advertise or announce that a contest or
exhibition will take place until the contest or exhibition
has been approved by the Executive Director under
§ 3.1(h) (relating to executive director) and binding
agreements have been entered into by all parties.

§ 21.2. Weight classes.

(&) The weight classes of professional boxers and the
maximum weight in each class shall be as follows:

(1) Flyweight—112 pounds.

(2) Bantamweight—118 pounds.

(3) Featherweight—126 pounds.

(4) Junior lightweight—130 pounds.
(5) Lightweight—135 pounds.

(6) Junior welterweight—140 pounds.
(7) Welterweight—147 pounds.

(8) Junior middleweight—154 pounds.
(9) Middleweight—160 pounds.

(10) Super middleweight—168 pounds.
(11) Light heavyweight—175 pounds.
(12) Cruiserweight—190 pounds.

(13) Heavyweight—over 190 pounds.

(b) Sections 710 and 711 of the Athletic Code (relating
to weights and classes; and limitation on difference in
weights) are incorporated by reference.

§ 21.3. Ring and ring equipment.

(&) The boxing ring may not be less than 16 feet square
nor more than 24 feet square within the ring ropes except
with the written consent of the Commission. The ring
floor or apron shall extend beyond the ring ropes on all
sides for at least 2 feet, unless alternative satisfactory
safety precautions are taken and approved by the Com-
mission.

(1) The ring floor shall be elevated no more than 4 feet,
be completely padded both inside and outside the ropes to
the thickness of at least 2 inches with soft felt, foam
rubber, felt matting or other soft material approved by
the Commission and shall be covered over the padding
with canvas stretched taut and laced tightly to the ring
platform.

(2) The ring posts shall be four in number, shall extend
above the ring floor no more than 5 feet, and shall be at
least 18 inches distant from the ring ropes, which shall be
attached to the posts by means of adjustable turnbuckles.

(3) Post tops and turnbuckles shall be suitably padded.

(4) Steps shall lead to the ring floor at two diagonally
opposite corners of the ring platform.

(5) The ring ropes shall be four in humber, may not be
less than 1 inch in diameter, and shall be either covered
with smooth plastic or wrapped with soft material.

(6) The ropes shall be readily adjustable and shall be
kept at a proper and safe degree of tautness.

(7) The ring shall be amply illuminated by overhead
lights, which shall be arranged so that shadow is elimi-
nated and discomfort from heat and glare minimized for
persons in and near the ring, if needed, as determined by
a commissioner or the Executive Director.

(b) It is the responsibility of the promoter to have an
attendant available at all times during the event capable

of making any type of emergency repairs, corrections and
adjustments to the ring, the lights and other necessary
fixtures. The promoter shall supply the following items,
which shall be available on the premises for use as
needed:

(1) A public address system in good working order.

(2) Chairs for Commission personnel, officials and
Commission credential holders. Chairs for judges shall be
elevated sufficiently to assure an unobstructed view of
the ring and the ring floor.

(3) A gong or bell of size and resonance sufficient to be
clearly audible by participants, officials and spectators
when struck by the hammer of the timekeeper.

(4) A stool or chair, a clean water bucket and clean
water bottle for the corner of each boxer.

(5) A complete set of numbered round cards clearly
legible from all parts of the arena containing no advertis-
ing or other printed matter unless approved by the
Commission.

(6) An ambulance, together with emergency equipment.

(7) A portable resuscitator with oxygen and appropriate
endotracheal tubes and a qualified operator.

§ 21.4. Conduct of contests.

(a) At each professional contest or exhibition, except an
exhibition held solely for training purposes, there shall be
two referees, one physician, three judges, an announcer
and a timekeeper in attendance, all of whom will be
licensed by the Commission. The Executive Director will
assign all officials except the announcer. The Executive
Director may also appoint a knockdown timekeeper. A
promoter or an employee of a promoter or an officer,
director or stockholder of a corporation holding the license
of a promoter may not be appointed or permitted to
officiate in any capacity at a professional contest under
the jurisdiction of the Commission.

(b) The Executive Director will determine the time and
place of the weigh-in for each professional event under
the Commission’s jurisdiction, and boxers under contract
to participate in the event shall appear promptly at the
appointed place to be officially weighed by a representa-
tive of the Commission on Commission approved scales
and examined by the attending physician.

(1) A boxer being weighed shall remove all clothing at
the discretion of a commissioner or the Executive Direc-
tor.

(2) A boxer shall weigh-in no more than 24 hours prior
to the contracted time of the contests. Under extenuating
circumstances and with the permission of the Executive
Director, the boxer may be allowed to weigh-in no more
than 30 hours prior to the contracted time of the contest.
If a boxer is deemed overweight by the Executive Direc-
tor, another weigh-in shall be scheduled for no more than
3 hours from the time that he first stepped onto the scale
to determine that the boxer weighs no more than the
weight for which he has contracted. Boxers may lose no
more than 3 pounds in this 3-hour period. If after 3 hours
the boxer cannot achieve the weight, the boxer shall be
disqualified and may be subject to disciplinary action as
the Commission may determine.

(3) The Commission will require a boxer under contract
for a contest under its jurisdiction to appear before a
commissioner or the Executive Director for a preliminary
physical examination within 2 hours prior to the contest,
as required by section 709(a) of the Athletic Code (relat-
ing to medical examination). The weight of the boxer
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shall be one of several factors included in this physical
examination by the attending physician to determine
whether the boxer is physically or mentally fit to proceed.
Physically unfit shall include, but not be limited to, a
determination by the attending physician that a boxer
has gained or lost so much weight since the time of the
weigh-in that the boxer could harm himself or the
opponent. Except as provided by section 711 of the
Athletic Code (relating to limitation on difference in
weights), the weight of one boxer may not exceed the
weight of that boxer’s opponent by 10 pounds.

(4) If an event is postponed for more than 24 hours, a
commissioner or the Executive Director may require an
additional weigh-in and physical examination of the
participating boxers on the day to which the event is
postponed.

(5) Each boxer in a contest under the jurisdiction of the
Commission shall submit to the Executive Director the
names of the boxer's seconds for approval, and no person
other than the boxer’s approved seconds may be permit-
ted to assist in the boxer’s corner during the contest.

(6) A boxer under contract to participate in an event
under jurisdiction of the Commission shall report in the
dressing room at a time set by the Executive Director and
shall remain in that area until ordered to the ring by an
authorized representative of the Commission.

(¢) The referee shall call the participants and their
chief seconds to the center of the ring for final instruc-
tions before each contest. During an event, only licensed
seconds, trainers and managers are authorized to be in
the boxer’s corner. After the announcement of the decision
at the end of a contest, the participants and their seconds
shall leave the ring without undue delay and retire to the
dressing quarters. Participants, seconds and managers
may not manifest to officials or to spectators an opinion
as to the outcome of the contest nor may they be
disrespectful or exhibit improper conduct toward a Com-
mission official or toward the spectators before or after
the announcement of the decision.

(d) The promoter shall have immediately available for
use adequate medical emergency first aid supplies and
equipment during each event under his promotion, which
will be subject to examination and approval by the
Commission. An individual will not be permitted to
examine or treat a participant during an event unless the
individual is wearing disposable latex hygienic gloves.
The gloves shall be paid for and provided by the pro-
moter. Exceptions will be permitted when an emergency
treatment or examination makes the wearing of the
gloves impractical. The promoter shall also have available
for each event under his promotion an ample supply of
conventional boxing gloves including at least one new set
of gloves for use in the main contest. Gloves for use in the
event shall be in good condition and will be subject to
inspection and approval by the referee, a commissioner,
the Executive Director and an inspector before and
during use. If a glove bursts or is otherwise seriously
damaged during the progress of a contest, the referee
shall interrupt the contest and require that the glove be
replaced before the resumption of the contest.

(e) Persons other than boxers, managers, seconds and
Commission representatives may not have access to the
dressing quarters at an event under the jurisdiction of
the Commission except by special permission of the
Commission. The Commission may issue nontransferable
written passes to the dressing quarters if circumstances
warrant, and then only holders of the passes shall be

admitted except by special permission of the Commission.
An inspector shall be on duty in the dressing quarters
from the opening until the closing and shall be respon-
sible for the maintenance of order and the enforcement of
the Athletic Code and this part.

(f) The ring platform shall be kept clean and clear of
obstructions throughout each contest. Buckets, stools,
bottles and other corner equipment shall be removed
before the start of each contest and again between rounds
immediately upon the sounding of the 10-second warning
signal of the timekeeper. Care shall be exerted by boxers
and their seconds to keep corners dry. Excessive spraying
or throwing of water on boxers is forbidden.

(g) Unless otherwise authorized by the Executive Di-
rector, a professional event may not be scheduled for a
total of less than 28 or more than 40 rounds, each of
which shall be of the maximum duration of 3 minutes for
male boxers and 2 minutes for female boxers with a rest
period of 1 minute between the end of each round and the
start of the next. Professional contests under the jurisdic-
tion of the Commission shall be scheduled for four, six,
eight or ten rounds unless otherwise specifically autho-
rized by the Executive Director in the case of a world
championship, State championship or other especially
significant contests when contests may be scheduled for
12 or 15 rounds for male boxers as the Commission
deems appropriate. The maximum number of rounds for
female boxers is ten rounds. A contest of the scheduled
duration of more than 15 rounds may not be permitted in
this Commonwealth. The Executive Director may permit,
and will have the discretion to place on the program, and
to determine the length of, one scheduled intermission
between contests of a professional event.

(h) A promoter shall notify the Executive Director of a
proposed change in the composition of any contest under
his promotion immediately upon the arising of need or
decision for change. An announcement or advertisement
of the proposed change may not be made by the promoter
or a person connected with the promotion unless approval
of a commissioner or the Executive Director has been
granted. If the change is made and approved, immediate
widespread public announcement shall be made through
available communications media and written notice shall
be posted conspicuously at ticket agencies and at en-
trances and ticket windows at the site of the event. Upon
postponement or cancellation of the main event or the
entire program of contests or exhibitions, the promoter
shall refund the full price of each ticket to any person
who presents the entire ticket for a refund within 10 days
after the event. The promoter shall announce the post-
ponement or cancellation at the beginning of the program
and at other times during the event as the Commission
may prescribe and shall notify the ticket holders in each
announcement that they may present their ticket stubs
for a refund of the purchase price during the program.

(i) The promoter of a professional event under the
jurisdiction of the Commission shall make payment of the
purse and other money due a participating boxer to the
boxer personally unless a prior arrangement has been
made and approved by the Commission. A promoter may
not make payment to a boxer, to a manager or to an
agent of either of them except in the presence of a
commissioner or the Executive Director. There may be no
variance from the procedure in this subsection except by
explicit written direction by the Commission to the
promoter.

(i) Each professional contest under the jurisdiction of
the Commission shall be designated a contest or an
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exhibition according to its true and correct character and
having been so designated, it shall be announced and
advertised explicitly as such. An exhibition may not be
announced or advertised either directly or by inference as
a championship match.

(k) A boxer or a licensee may not strike, molest or
abuse physically or verbally a spectator, ring official or
representative of the Commission under penalty of sum-
mary disqualification, suspension or fine, or any combina-
tion of these penalties.

(I) A professional event or individual match may not be
publicly announced or advertised until approved by the
Commission.

(m) If a boxer refuses to continue a contest while
physically able to do so, the referee shall rule the contest
a technical knockout (TKO) and award the contest to the
opposing boxer. The purse of the losing boxer, or any part
thereof, may be impounded by the Commission.

§ 21.5. Scoring system.

(&) The scoring in professional contests shall be on the
basis of the ten points must system.

(1) Each judge in reaching a finding on each round of a
contest shall award to the winning boxer ten points and
to the losing boxer nine points or less and shall so
inscribe the official score card immediately upon conclu-
sion of the round.

(2) In the case of an even round, the judge shall award
ten points to each boxer.

(3) At the conclusion of each round which has not been
terminated by a knockout, a technical knockout or the
disqualification of either boxer, the Executive Director or
an inspector shall tally the points for each boxer and
mark these scores on the official score card.

(4) If each boxer has been awarded the same total
number of points, the vote of the judge shall be recorded
as a draw.

(5) Each judge shall sign his name to his score cards.

(6) A boxer shall be declared the winner of a contest if
he has received the winning votes of two or all of the
judges.

(7) A contest shall be declared a draw if the votes of
two or all of the judges shall so state, or if each boxer
receives the winning vote of one judge and the vote of the
third judge shall be for a draw.

(b) Examples of ten point scoring are as follows:

(1) 10-10. Indicates an even round. Neither boxer dis-
tinguished himself as being more effective than the other.
In addition, the boxers appeared equal in the areas that
may be used to break an even round, such as opponent
control, ring strategy and overall conditioning and abili-
ties as a complete boxer, with emphasis on overall ability.

(2) 10-9. Indicates one boxer distinguished himself as
more effective during the round, as described in para-
graph (1). This score is the most often used, and allows
for a slight to considerable margin between the boxers.
One boxer may have been only slightly better than the
other or the boxer may have dominated the round
without really stunning the other boxer, with no
knockdowns.

(3) 10-8. Indicates a round in which one boxer was in
constant control, and unquestionably outclassed his oppo-
nent. The boxer may also have obviously stunned his
opponent, usually including at least one knockdown. If

there were no knockdowns, there shall still have been
enough contact done to indicate that at least one of these
occurrences was imminent.

(c) Subject to the foul rule in subsection (d), if in a
round a boxer is adjudged guilty by the referee of a foul
or of a technical violation of the Athletic Code, the referee
may penalize the offending boxer one point for each foul
or technical violation. The referee shall immediately stop
the contest and notify the judges of the number of points
being deducted and provide for the innocent boxer to be
examined by the ringside physician, if warranted. In each
round when points are being deducted, judges shall score
the round in a normal manner and mark next to the score
the number of points being deducted for that boxer for
the foul as indicated by the referee. If a boxer persists in
the employment of foul tactics or in technical violations of
the Athletic Code or if the boxer inflicts, by foul means, a
crippling injury upon his opponent so that the latter is
adjudged incapable of continuing the contest, the referee
shall disqualify the offending boxer and shall award the
contest to the innocent boxer. In determining the scoring
of a round, a judge shall consider the following:

(1) Aggressiveness.

(2) Clean hitting.

(3) Cleverness.

(4) Defensive skill.

(5) Effectiveness of blows.

(6) Fouls and technical violations.
(7) Knockdowns.

(d) If a boxer in a contest scheduled for more than four
rounds receives an accidental foul that renders the boxer
immediately unable to continue and less than four rounds
have been completed, the referee shall rule the decision a
“no contest.” This rule does not apply in the case of
accidental low-blow fouls as referenced in subsection (I). If
at least four rounds have been completed, the boxer
ahead on the scorecards shall be awarded the decision. If
neither boxer is ahead on points, the contest shall be
ruled a draw. The round shall be considered complete
when the bell is sounded ending the round. Partial
rounds shall be scored when at least four rounds have
been completed.

(e) If a boxer in a contest scheduled for four rounds
receives an accidental foul that renders the boxer immedi-
ately unable to continue and less than three rounds have
been completed, the referee shall rule the decision a
“no-contest.” This rule does not apply in the case of
accidental low-blow fouls as referenced in subsection (I). If
at least three rounds have been completed, the boxer
ahead on the scorecards shall be awarded the decision. If
neither boxer is ahead on points, the contest shall be
ruled a draw. The partial fourth round shall be scored.

(f) If a boxer receives an intentional foul, the referee
shall stop the contest and shall deduct one or more points
from the offender. Point deductions shall be at the
discretion of the referee based upon the severity of the
foul. If the boxer who received the intentional foul is
unable to continue the round in which the foul occurred,
as determined by the referee or ringside physician, the
referee shall stop the contest and the injured boxer shall
have up to 5 minutes of recovery time. If after these 5
minutes the injured boxer cannot continue, the referee
shall disqualify the offender. Point deductions and dis-
qualifications are at the discretion of the referee.
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(g) The referee shall have the authority to determine
whether the foul is accidental or intentional and shall
make his ruling known immediately after the foul has
been committed. The referee shall notify the judges,
Commission personnel and both boxers of his ruling.

(h) If an injury inflicted by an accidental foul later
becomes aggravated by fair blows and the contest must be
stopped in a round other than the one in which the foul
occurred, the outcome will be determined by the scoring
of all partial and completed rounds if at least four rounds
have been completed. If less than four rounds have been
completed, the outcome shall be ruled a “no-contest.”

(i) If an injury inflicted by an intentional foul later
becomes aggravated by fair blows and the contest must be
stopped in a round other than the one in which the foul
occurred (See subsection (e)), the injured boxer will win
by a technical decision if he is ahead in the scoring.

(1) The contest shall be ruled a technical draw if the
injured boxer is behind or even in the scoring.

(2) If a boxer injures himself while attempting to
intentionally foul his opponent, the referee shall take no
action in his favor, and this injury shall be treated the
same as one produced by a fair blow.

(i) In a round when a boxer has been knocked down
and that boxer has not risen at the end of the round, the
count of the timekeeper shall be continued and, if the
fallen contestant shall fail to rise before the count of ten,
he shall be considered to have lost the contest by a
knockout in the round just concluded. If the boxer does
rise and the round has already ended, the timekeeper
shall immediately ring the bell signifying the end of the
round.

(k) The referee shall signal for a time-out when a boxer
is knocked down as a result of an accidental foul or
accident, as ruled by the referee. The boxer shall have up
to 5 minutes of recovery time. If the boxer cannot
continue after 5 minutes and four rounds or more have
been completed, the winner of the contest shall be
determined by the scores indicated for completed rounds
on the scorecards. Partial rounds shall be scored when at
least four rounds have been completed. If less than four
rounds have been completed, the contest shall be ruled a
technical draw.

() In the case of an accidental low-blow foul, the same
procedures in subsection (k) shall be followed, except that
if the boxer who is unable to continue is ahead on points,
the contest shall be ruled a technical draw. If his
opponent is ahead on points, he shall be awarded the
decision.

(m) If a boxer is disqualified by the referee and that
boxer is behind on points at the time of his disqualifica-
tion, regardless of the round, that boxer shall lose by
technical knockout (TKO).

§ 21.6. Promoters.

(a) Promoters of professional events under the jurisdic-
tion of the Commission shall be licensed by the Commis-
sion and shall be responsible for the observance of the
Athletic Code and this part, as far as the Athletic Code
and this part apply to them and their activities during
and after events under their promotion.

(b) Each promoter shall file with the Commission fully
conformed and executed copies of contracts between the
promoter and managers and boxers committed to partici-
pation in events under his promotion. Each contract filed
shall set forth the exact and complete agreement between

the parties. Undisclosed additional or collateral written or
oral agreements or understandings pertaining to the
subject matter of the original contract or the event are
prohibited and void. Promoters may not contract or
negotiate with a matchmaker, manager or boxer who is
under suspension by the Commission, except with the
written permission of the Executive Director.

(c) The promoter is responsible for the maintenance of
order and the safety of persons present at each event
under his promotion, and he shall provide ample security.

(d) A promoter who shall be adjudged guilty of an
offense of violence or of conduct reflecting discreditably
upon boxing shall be liable to suspension or revocation of
license or both, by the Commission.

(e) Unless otherwise directed by a commissioner or the
Executive Director, each promoter shall pay out all boxing
purses immediately after the contest but no later than 24
hours after an event.

(f) A promoter may distribute passes to his staff or
other individuals helping in the promotion of an event to
permit them to enter the event. The number of passes
may not exceed 50 or more than 1% of the total seating
capacity of the facility, whichever is less, unless otherwise
approved by a commissioner or the Executive Director.
Passes shall be visibly displayed and are not subject to
the Commission’s gross receipts tax.

(9) The promoters of a contest between female boxers
shall provide them with adequate and separate dressing
rooms from male boxers.

§ 21.7. Matchmakers.

(@) Matchmakers shall be licensed by the Commission
and shall be employed only by licensed promoters. Match-
makers shall be familiar and comply with the Athletic
Code and this part with special reference to contracts, the
giving of advance notice, the advertising of events and the
due observance of legal weight differentials between
opponents.

(b) Matchmakers shall be familiar with the records, the
abilities and the physical condition of boxers for whose
services they negotiate. Matchmakers shall take notice of
suspensions issued by any commission, including those in
other jurisdictions, and may neither contract nor negoti-
ate with unlicensed managers or boxers or those who are
under suspension, except by written permission of a
commissioner or the Executive Director.

(c) The matchmaker for each event for which he has
been engaged shall submit to the Commission at least 5
days prior to the event the true legal names, the ring
names and the correct legal addresses of boxers under
contract to participate unless this has been done by the
promoter. This requirement will be waived by a commis-
sioner or the Executive Director only for sufficient reason.
The matchmaker shall advise managers and boxers under
contract for an event of the time and place of the official
weigh-in and of the time and place of their appearance for
the actual event.

§ 21.8. Boxers.

(a) Professional boxers shall be licensed by the Com-
mission. The Commission will not license or renew the
license of a professional boxer unless the license applica-
tion is accompanied by a report from a Department of
Health facility, a laboratory possessing a permit from the
Department of Health under 28 Pa. Code § 5.11 (relating
to permit, requirements, application and conditions) or a
report from a laboratory licensed in another jurisdiction

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 32, NO. 20, MAY 18, 2002



RULES AND REGULATIONS 2457

that meets the requirements to be issued a permit under
28 Pa. Code § 5.11 and is acceptable to the Commission,
which indicates that the applicant has been tested for any
virus, antibody, antigen or etiologic agent determined to
cause or indicate the presence of human im-
munodeficiency virus, and the results of those tests were
negative. The tests shall have been initiated no more
than 60 days prior to the date of filing the application. A
boxer whose application for license has been denied has
the right to a hearing before the Commission under 2
Pa.C.S. 88 501—508 (relating to practice and procedure
of Commonwealth agencies). The applicant shall apply, in
writing, to the Commission requesting a hearing. The
Commission will conduct a hearing within 10 business
days from the receipt of the written request.

(b) The Commission will require each professional
boxer under contract to appear in a contest under its
jurisdiction to be properly licensed and to be examined
and certified by a physician appointed by the Executive
Director to be physically sound before being permitted to
engage in the contest. A commissioner, the Executive
Director or the ringside physician, upon the individual's
own initiative as a safety precaution, may require a
professional boxer under the jurisdiction of the Commis-
sion to undergo a general or an ad hoc physical or mental
examination, or both, for the purpose of determining
whether or not the boxer is fit to continue actively in the
profession of boxing.

(c) Whenever a professional boxer considers himself
unable by reason of illness or injury to participate in a
contest for which he is under contract within the jurisdic-
tion of the Commission, he, or his manager in his behalf,
shall promptly notify both the Executive Director and the
promoter of the event of the alleged condition of the
boxer. The boxer shall immediately submit written med-
ical verification to the Executive Director who may, if he
deems fit, require the boxer at his own expense to
undergo examination by a physician selected by the
Executive Director for further substantiation of the aver-
ment of disability. If a contest to which a professional
boxer is under contract has been canceled and no suitable
opponent, as determined by the Executive Director, can
be located, the boxer shall be entitled to reasonable
expenses as determined by the Executive Director.

(d) A boxer shall be considered to have been knocked
out in a contest if he is counted out and he may incur a
suspension of up to 90 days. A suspension under this
section shall be mandatory if the boxer has been knocked
unconscious or has received a concussion. This mandatory
suspension shall be removed only after the boxer has
been pronounced fit after undergoing medical examina-
tion by a physician.

(1) A boxer may incur a suspension of up to 30 days if
he experiences a technical knockout without head inju-
ries.

(2) A boxer may incur additional suspension time upon
recommendation of the ringside physician or the Commis-
sion’s Medical Advisory Board.

(3) A professional boxer who is defeated in six consecu-
tive contests, either within or outside the jurisdiction of
the Commission shall be required to undergo a medical
examination by a physician approved by the Commission,
pending inquiry by the Commission to determine the
physical and mental ability of the boxer to continue safely
in the boxing profession.

() The Commission will not license as a professional
boxer an applicant under 18 years of age and the

Commission will require conclusive proof of age of a boxer
applying for the first time to be so licensed with the
Commonwealth. An applicant for a boxing license who
has never competed in a professional contest shall attach
to his license application the results of a complete general
physical on a form supplied by the Commission in the
Medical/Safety Manual. The Commission will not license
as a professional boxer an applicant over 36 years of age
except by special action by the Commission. An applicant
for a boxing license over 36 years of age shall attach to
his license application the results of the following:

(1) A complete general physical on a form supplied by
the Commission.

(2) An electrocardiogram (EKG).
(3) A stress echo test.
(4) An eye exam.

(f) The Commission will not permit a professional boxer
to participate in a contest under its jurisdiction without
first having signed with a licensed promoter a contract
covering the participation that meets the requirements of
sections 1101—1104 of the Athletic Code (relating to
contracts) and this part. If the boxer is under contract to
a manager, the manager is also required to sign the
contract unless excused by the Commission. This does not
mean that a boxer is not contractually bound by a
commitment made in his behalf by his legally constituted
manager even though the boxer may not have personally
executed the instrument purporting to commit him.

(g) A boxer under the jurisdiction of the Commission
may not be under contract to more than one manager at
the same time without express approval of the Commis-
sion. A boxer under the jurisdiction of the Commission
may not enter into a contract with a manager or combina-
tion of managers in which the boxer is obligated to the
payment of more than the total of 40% of his earnings
under the manager or combination of managers.

(h) A boxer whose manager has been suspended by the
Commission or whose suspension in another jurisdiction
is recognized by the Commission may box in this Com-
monwealth, independently of his managerial contract at
the discretion of the Commission and will be permitted to
contract individually under the circumstances and to
collect the full amount of a purse or other moneys due to
him; no part of the sum may be held or reserved for the
suspended manager.

(i) Professional contests between boxers under contract
to the same manager are prohibited without exception.

(J) The Commission may require either or both of the
participants in a professional contest to guarantee ap-
pearance or the making of agreed weight, or both, by
stipulated monetary forfeit to be posted with the Commis-
sion in cash or by certified check by a stated time prior to
the contest under appropriate circumstances. The Com-
mission may declare the sum posted by him forfeited in
whole or in part if a boxer fails to appear or make the
agreed weight, and the forfeited amount shall be distrib-
uted, as the Commission, in its discretion, will decide.

(k) A professional boxer who fails to appear promptly
at the time and place set by the Executive Director for
the official weigh-in for a contest in which he is under
contract to participate shall be subject to a disciplinary
action the Commission sees fit to impose. A professional
boxer who fails to appear for a contest in which he is
under contract to participate or having appeared, refuses
to participate in a contest may be subject to a fine,
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suspension, revocation of license or one or all of these
penalties at the discretion of the Commission.

() If either or both of the participants in a professional
contest fail to satisfactorily put forth serious effort during
the contest or persist in foul tactics in the judgment of
the referee, the referee shall stop the contest after
reasonable warning, disqualify the offending boxer and
award the decision to the boxer making the serious effort.
The Commission may impound moneys due to the offend-
ing boxer pending the outcome of a hearing, which the
Commission will arrange.

(m) Participants in professional contests under the
jurisdiction of the Commission shall:

(1) Be shaven clean except that the Commission may
sanction the wearing of closely cropped mustaches or
beards, or both, at its discretion.

(2) Wear their hair secured so that it does not interfere
with the vision or safety of either contestant.

(3) Use no facial cosmetics.

(4) Wear conventional boxing trunks, smoothsole shoes,
a foolproof abdominal guard or cup and an individually
fitted mouthpiece, which shall be subject to examination
and approval by the Commission. Female boxers shall
also wear a chest protector, body shirt and blouse and
comply with 8§ 21.8(n) (relating to boxers). Female boxers
are also required to follow all other general requirements
applicable to male boxers.

(5) Adhere to the following requirements for gloves.
Each glove used in a professional boxing contest under
the jurisdiction of the Commission shall weigh at least 8
ounces of which no more than 1 ounce shall be in the
wrist padding of the glove. At all times, boxers competing
against each other shall wear gloves of the same weight.
For boxers weighing 160 pounds or less, the boxing gloves
cannot weigh less than 8 ounces each. For boxers weigh-
ing over 160 pounds, the boxing gloves shall weigh at
least 10 ounces each.

(i) The gloves of each boxer shall be adjusted in the
dressing quarters of the event under the supervision of a
Commission representative and in the presence of a
second of the opposing boxer, if the latter so desires.
Gloves of the participants in the main contest may also
be adjusted in the ring by the referee.

(i) The ends of the lace of each glove shall be tied and
knotted on the back of the wrist of the glove and a single
strip of adhesive tape 1 inch in width shall be carefully
and smoothly placed around the wrist of the glove over
the lace and the knot.

(iili) The bandage for use on each hand and wrist shall
be soft bandage or gauze not more than 2 inches in width
and 10 yards in length, except that the bandage for the
hand of a light heavyweight or heavyweight boxer may be
12 yards in length. The bandage shall be wrapped
smoothly and evenly on each hand and shall be held in
place by adhesive tape 1 inch in width around the wrist
with overlap of not more than 1 inch to clinch the ends.
Tape, cotton or a substance other than the approved
bandage may not be used between the fingers or over the
knuckles of the hand. Bandaging of the hands of a boxer
shall be done in the dressing quarters under the supervi-
sion and subject to the inspection and approval of a
Commission representative and in the presence of a
second of the opposing boxer, if the latter so desires.

(n) A female boxer:
(1) May not engage in a contest with a male boxer.

(2) Shall provide the Commission with a negative
pregnancy test result taken not more than 24 hours prior
to the scheduled contest.

(0) A male boxer may not engage in a contest with a
female boxer.

§ 21.9. Managers.

(@) The Commission will license managers of profes-
sional boxers after being satisfied as to their good charac-
ter, reputation and qualifications.

(b) A contract or negotiation entered into by a manager
not licensed by the Commission may be upheld as valid
by the Commission if the manager is licensed in another
jurisdiction.

(c) A person may not be permitted to enter into a
contract to manage a professional boxer without first
being so licensed. If his license is revoked or allowed to
expire, a contractual relationship, which he has with a
boxer, will become void as required by section 1103(b) of
the Athletic Code (relating to provisions in contracts
between managers and professional boxers).

(d) A manager of a professional boxer may not sell,
assign, transfer or encumber, or attempt to sell, assign,
transfer or encumber an interest, in whole or in part,
which he may hold in a contract for the services of the
boxer without notice to and written consent of the boxer
and of the Commission.

(e) A licensed manager of a professional boxer may act
as second to the boxer in a contest under the jurisdiction
of the Commission.

(f) A manager of boxers who is adjudged responsible for
an offense of violence or conduct reflecting discreditably
upon boxing may be subject to suspension or revocation of
license, or both, by the Commission.

(9) A manager of boxers who has been suspended by
the Commission or whose suspension in another jurisdic-
tion is recognized in this Commonwealth will be prohib-
ited from carrying on managerial activity and from acting
as a second within the jurisdiction of the Commission.

(h) When a contest occurs in this Commonwealth, and
a dispute arises between a manager and his boxer, the
Commission may impound for a manager who is licensed
in this Commonwealth or in another jurisdiction recog-
nized by the Commission, upon the request of the man-
ager, the proper portion of the purse of a boxer under
contract to him pending final determination of the merits
of the matter. If a boxer engages in a contest without the
consent of his manager, the Commission may, at the
request of a manager licensed in this Commonwealth or
in another jurisdiction recognized by the Commission,
impound the proper portion of the purse of a boxer under
contract pending final determination of the merits of the
matter.

§ 21.10. Seconds or trainers.

(&) The Commission will license professional boxing
seconds after being satisfied of their good character,
reputation and qualifications.

(b) Unless he is licensed also as a manager of profes-
sional boxers, a second may not act or attempt to act in a
managerial capacity.

(¢) The number of seconds attending a professional
boxer in his ring corner shall be limited to a maximum of
four.
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(d) Seconds attending a professional boxer shall be
neatly and cleanly attired in a manner subject to the
approval of the Commission.

(e) First aid and other ring equipment of a second shall
before, during and after use be subject to inspection by
the attending physician and Commission personnel whose
decision as to the propriety of its use is final.

(f) Seconds may not enter the ring during a round, and
they shall leave the ring promptly, with stools, buckets
and other obstructive equipment upon the sounding 10-
second warning signal of the timekeeper for the start of
the next round.

(g) Seconds shall remain seated at ringside and may
not rise or lean upon the ring platform during rounds nor
may they heckle the participants or the officials during
the event.

(h) Seconds may not attempt to render aid to a fallen
or otherwise injured boxer in the ring until the attending
physician has examined the boxer and indicated that his
seconds may minister to him. However, a second may
remove the protective mouthpiece of the boxer without
awaiting direction.

(i) The designated chief second shall be the only
spokesman of a boxer to the referee and other officials
while the boxer is in the ring.

(J) A second who is under suspension by the Commis-
sion or whose suspension in another jurisdiction is recog-
nized in this Commonwealth will be prohibited from
acting as a second within the jurisdiction of the Commis-
sion.

(k) A second will not be permitted to act as such during
an event unless the second is wearing disposable latex
hygienic gloves. Gloves shall be paid for and provided by
the promoter.

§ 21.11. Referees.

(a) Professional boxing referees shall be licensed by the
Commission and will be appointed by the Executive
Director to officiate in each professional contest and
exhibition under the jurisdiction of the Commission ex-
cept exhibitions conducted solely for training or instruc-
tion purposes.

(b) To qualify as a professional boxing referee and to
obtain a license in that capacity, an applicant shall
conform to the following requirements:

(1) Be at least 21 years of age, of good moral character
and reputation, of sound physical health and of a level of
intelligence and degree of attainment as a student of
boxing satisfactory to the Executive Director.

(2) Serve an apprenticeship of at least 3 months during
which he shall diligently study the Athletic Code and this
part, especially the portions that pertain to boxing and to
the duties of boxing referees, and shall work with and
undergo instruction under the direction of licensed offi-
cials under conditions and occasions the Commission
designates.

(c) The powers and duties of a professional boxing
referee shall be as follows:

(1) To exercise immediate authority, direction and con-
trol over each contest and exhibition to which he is
appointed.

(2) To submit to physical examination at the discretion
of the Executive Director.

(3) To wear in the ring apparel of a type, style and
color approved by the Commission.

(4) To determine the identity of the chief seconds of the
respective boxers and to give final instructions to the
boxers and to their seconds as he deems appropriate
before the start of each contest and exhibition under his
direction; to hold the chief seconds responsible for their
own conduct and for the conduct of their respective
assistant seconds in all matters pertaining to the contest;
and to remove or cause to be removed from the ring or
the vicinity a manager, second, trainer or other person
who interferes with the conduct of the contest. In addition
to ejecting the individual, a referee may also deduct
points from a boxer during a contest. Furthermore, the
Commission may suspend or fine the manager, second or
trainer or impose both a suspension and a fine.

(5) To check the gloves, equipment and persons of the
boxers before the start of each contest and exhibition and
as he sees fit throughout to assure that no unsafe or
improper condition exists.

(6) To observe carefully and continually the physical
condition of the participants and have full and final
responsibility either at his own discretion, or upon direc-
tion from the attending physician, for the immediate
halting of a contest when the safety of a boxer would be,
for any reason, jeopardized by continuance.

(7) To exercise his full authority to interrupt the
progress of a round in the event of injury to a participant
by directing the timekeeper to stop the clock and calling
the attending physician into the ring to examine and rule
upon the condition of the injured boxer. If the physician
determines that the boxer is fit to continue, the referee
shall direct the timekeeper to start the clock and resume
the round from the point of interruption. When an injury
has resulted from an accidental or intentional foul by the
opposing boxer, as listed in § 21.16(b) (relating to Safety
Code), the referee upon advice of the attending physician
may order a rest period not to exceed 5 minutes.

(8) To enforce the rules of professional boxing in Sub-
part B of the Athletic Code (relating to boxing), the
referee’s manual and this part.

(9) To take away points from the score of the boxer in
the event of foul tactics by the boxer at any time during a
round in which the foul tactics have occurred. When he
has taken action, he shall inform the judges, a Commis-
sioner or the Executive Director and the chief seconds of
the participants.

(10) To disqualify either or both participants in a
contest for failure to perform according to due standards
of effort, ability or conduct and to recommend the with-
holding of compensation otherwise payable to the dis-
qualified boxer or the imposition of a fine, suspension or
other penalties, or one or all of these penalties, as he
deems appropriate.

(11) To collect and deliver the completed, signed, offi-
cial scorecard of each judge to the Executive Director or
an inspector after each round.

(12) To decide whether or not a boxer has been knocked
down during the course of a round and indicate that
decision to the timekeeper, whose count shall be accord-
ingly continued or discontinued. If the count is to be
continued, the referee shall pick it up verbally and by
gesture after first making sure that the opponent of the
fallen boxer has retreated to the neutral corner of the
ring.
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(13) To confirm the official result and whether it has
been reached by decision on points, by knockout, by
technical knockout or by disqualification to the Commis-
sion at the conclusion of each contest under his direction.

(d) A referee while officiating shall wear disposable
latex hygienic gloves to be paid for and provided by the
promoter.

§ 21.12. Judges.

(a) Professional boxing judges shall be licensed by the
Commission. Three licensed judges shall be appointed by
the Executive Director to officiate in each professional
contest under the jurisdiction of the Commission. A
licensed boxing referee may be appointed at any time to
officiate in the capacity of boxing judge.

(b) To qualify as a professional boxing judge and to
obtain a license in that capacity, an applicant shall
conform to the following requirements:

(1) Be at least 21 years of age, of good moral character
and reputation and of a level of intelligence and degree of
attainment as a student of boxing satisfactory to the
Executive Director.

(2) Serve an apprenticeship of at least 3 months,
during which the applicantshall diligently study the
Athletic Code and this part, especially the portions that
pertain to boxing and to the duties of boxing judges, and
shall work with and undergo instruction under the direc-
tion of the Executive Director.

(3) Have the intention to be qualified for duty as a
professional boxing judge after undergoing observation
and written or oral examination, or both, on the tech-
nigues and requirements of the position at the discretion
of the Commission.

(4) Attend at least one seminar per year as directed by
the Commission.

(c) It shall be the duty of a professional boxing judge to
observe carefully and expertly the performance of the
boxers in each contest to which he is appointed; to
appraise the performances fairly and accurately in the
light of Subpart B of the Athletic Code (relating to
boxing), the judge’'s manual and this part; to inscribe the
results of the appraisal after each round on the official
scorecard according to the scoring system adopted by the
Commission; and at the conclusion of each round to
complete and sign each official scorecard and deliver the
completed, signed scorecard to the referee.

§ 21.13. Timekeepers.

(a) Timekeepers shall be licensed by the Commission
and shall be appointed by the Executive Director to serve
at professional contests and exhibitions.

(b) The timekeeper shall keep time by means of an
accurate stop clock or stopwatch, and it shall be his
responsibility to assure that the instrument is in good
working order when it is to be used. The timekeeper shall
sound the gong to begin and to end each round, and shall
count for knockdowns by striking the floor of the ring or a
suitable strikingboard with a hammer or wooden mallet.
The timekeeper shall give warning to seconds of boxers to
leave the ring between rounds by sounding a whistle
signal 10 seconds before the end of the rest period, and
shall give warning of the end of a round by striking a
hammer on a strikingboard 10 seconds before striking the
gong. The timekeeper may give no other signal or other
information on the progress of a round.

(c) If a boxer falls to the floor of the ring or leaves the
ring during the progress of a round, the timekeeper shall

immediately begin the official count as set forth in
subsection (a) and shall continue to the count of ten at
the rate of one stroke per second unless the referee rules
no knockdown and direct that the count be suspended.

(d) If a boxing bout terminates before completion of the
final scheduled round, the timekeeper shall record the
exact time of termination and shall inform the announcer
and shall report to the Commission the exact duration of
the bout.

(e) If a boxing bout terminates between rounds by
direction of the referee or at the request of the chief
second of one of the boxers, the timekeeper shall strike
the gong to begin the succeeding round and the bout shall
be ruled to have ended in the succeeding round by any
decision the referee made.

§ 21.14. Insurance.

(a) Boxers engaged in professional contests and exhibi-
tions under the jurisdiction of the Commission shall for
their financial protection be covered by the most advanta-
geous life and accident insurance contract available
through negotiation and agreement by the Commission
with a private insurance company approved by the Insur-
ance Department to do business within this Common-
wealth.

(b) The promoter of each professional event under the
jurisdiction of the Commission shall deduct from the
purse paid to the manager of the boxer the cost of the
insurance for the boxer and shall pay to the Commission
the full amount due in accordance with the current
premium schedule. Failure to make immediate payment
of insurance premiums as provided shall render the
defaulting promoter eligible for suspension and license
revocation.

(c) It shall be the responsibility of a boxer who suffers
injury covered by insurance to report the injury promptly
to the examining physician assigned to the event. The
responsibility shall extend to the chief second of the
injured boxer, as well as to other persons officially
attached to the boxer. Failure to report to the examining
physician or, if for any reason he is not readily available,
to the constitute grounds for suspension and license
revocation.

(d) Upon receipt of notice of injury to a boxer, the
examining physician shall make examination and investi-
gation and shall promptly report pertinent findings to the
Commission upon the official form provided for that
purpose in the Medical/Safety Manual.

§ 21.15. State championships.

(@) The Commission will establish State boxing cham-
pionships in the recognized weight classes.

(b) Contenders for championships shall have been bona
fide residents of this Commonwealth for at least 6 months
prior to engaging in competition for State championships.

(¢) The Commission may fill a vacancy in the champi-
onships by designating the best available match between
leading contenders in the weight class, as determined by
the Commission’s ranking of boxers, and recognizing the
winner as champion.

(d) A boxer who is recognized as a State champion
shall defend his title against a Commission-approved
challenger at least once each year or the Commission may
declare the title to be vacated.

(e) If a boxer, having contracted to engage in a champi-
onship contest, fails or refuses the Commission’s drug test
or violates a section of the Athletic Code in the course of
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the championship event, as determined by the Commis-
sion, the opponent in the contest will be declared the
winner by default.

(f) A contest may not be advertised as a State champi-
onship without the written approval of the Commission,
and a boxer may not be advertised as State champion
unless so designated by the Commission.

(g) State championship contests shall be of 12 rounds
scheduled duration unless otherwise determined by the
Commission.

(h) Subject to § 21.4(b) (relating to conduct of con-
tests), if the champion makes weight and the challenger
does not, the fight may go on, subject to the approval of a
commissioner or the Executive Director. The champion
will retain the belt, regardless of the outcome of the
contest. If the champion is overweight and the challenger
makes weight, the contest may go on, subject to the
approval of a commissioner or the Executive Director. The
champion shall vacate the title regardless of the outcome,
and the challenger will win the title only if he wins the
contest. If both boxers are overweight the contest may go
on as a nontitle contest, subject to the approval of a
commissioner or the Executive Director, unless approval
is given by both boxers and a commissioner or the
Executive Director to box for the title.

§ 21.16. Safety Code.

(&) The Commission, referees, all other ring officials
and participating athletes, managers and seconds shall be
aware of the safety provisions in the Athletic Code, its
amendments and this part. In addition, they shall be
constantly alert to every reasonable consideration of
humanity and common sense which indicate and govern
the actions of prudent individuals to minimize the risks
inherent in boxing. The primary, inescapable responsibil-
ity of the Commission will be the protection of the
athletes under its jurisdiction, and under no circum-
stances will this concern be subordinated to an interest of
gain, sentiment or convenience. Parties involved in imple-
menting this basic program shall be dedicated not only to
the letter of the Athletic Code, its amendments and this
part but at least equally to the exercise of initiative,
resource, decision and unstinted effort in those unprec-
edented, unpredictable and unprovided emergencies
which challenge the best in individuals at the brink of
safety or tragedy, life or death.

(b) The following fouls and other unsportsmanlike
practices are prohibited in boxing contests in this Com-
monwealth:

(1) Hitting below the belt.

(2) Tripping.

(3) Kicking.

(4) Butting.

(5) Kneeing.

(6) Throttling.

(7) Elbowing.

(8) Striking with the head, shoulder or forearm.

(9) Hitting with open glove, or the inside, side or wrist
of the glove.

(10) Hitting on the back, especially the kidneys or back
of the neck.

(11) Pivot blows.

(12) Pressing the face of an opponent with arm or
elbow.

(13) Attacking while holding the ropes and making use
of the ropes in any other unfair way for attack purposes.

(14) Pressing the head of an opponent over the ropes or
against the turnbuckles or ring posts.

(15) Wrestling, lying on and throwing while in a clinch.
(16) Attacking a fallen opponent.

(17) Clinching, holding or locking the arms or head of
an opponent, pushing a stiff arm underneath an arm of
the opponent, holding and hitting.

(18) Pulling and hitting.
(19) Hitting on the break after a clinch.
(20) Ducking low to up-end an incoming opponent.

(21) Thumbing and gouging the eyes of an opponent,
rubbing the face of an opponent with laces, adhesive tape
or abrasive area of or substance on the gloves.

(22) Use of an ointment, powder or other substance
intended or likely to cause danger or discomfort to an
opponent.

(23) Biting.

(c) A commissioner or the Executive Director will
strictly enforce the requirements with respect to the
bandaging of hands of boxers, the purpose of the bandag-
ing being at all times confined to the protection of the
hands and never the enhancement of the effect of blows.
A boxing glove in which the padding has been displaced
or broken may not be used in a contest under the
jurisdiction of the Commission.

(d) A boxer may not engage in a contest without
wearing an abdominal guard or cup. A female boxer shall
also wear a chest protector approved by the Commission.
A boxer may not wear shoes with hard soles, hard or
sharp edged heels, spikes, cleats or abrasive surfaces.

(e) If the gloves of a boxer touch the floor of the ring
during a contest, the referee shall cleanse them of resin,
grit and dirt by wiping them on his shirt or, if necessary,
with a towel before allowing the action to continue.

(f) A commissioner or the Executive Director has au-
thority to enter and inspect training quarters of boxers
under the jurisdiction of the Commission to observe the
conduct, facilities and cleanliness of the quarters and to
appraise the activities and the physical condition of
boxers during training.

(g) Every boxer under the jurisdiction of the Commis-
sion in undertaking to engage in a contest within this
Commonwealth shall certify to the Commission that he is
in sound physical condition and is not concealing an
illness, injury or disability. This certification shall be set
forth in a contract entered into with a promoter for a
contest whether by the boxer in his own behalf or by a
manager acting for him. If the boxer incurs an illness,
injury or disability prior to the contest, he and his
manager, if any, shall be strictly responsible for prompt
and complete disclosure to the Commission.

(h) The mandatory eight-count rule shall be in effect in
boxing contests within this Commonwealth. If the referee
rules that a boxer has been knocked down, action may
not be resumed until the referee has counted to eight
even though the fallen boxer meanwhile has regained his
feet. During this eight-count, the referee or ringside
physician may terminate the contest if a boxer appears to
be in physical danger.
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(i) The three knockdown rule will not be in effect in
boxing contests within this Commonwealth.

(j) If a boxer is knocked out, his consequent suspension
prohibits him not only from boxing in actual competition,
but also from sparring as a part of his training exercises.
If a boxer is knocked unconscious during a contest, his
seconds may not minister to him, except to remove his
mouth protector, until the attending physician has exam-
ined him and given appropriate instructions for his
further care. If a boxer receives a concussion, the boxer
may not be permitted to box, even after the expiration of
the medical suspension, until the boxer has been thor-
oughly examined and approved by a physician, who may
be designated by the Commission.

(k) If a boxer has been a victim of repeated knockouts
or the recipient of sustained severe punishment, or both,
the Commission may revoke, suspend or refuse to renew
his license after the boxer undergoes a medical examina-
tion by a physician under section 708 of the Athletic Code
(relating to suspension and revocation for injuries). The
Commission will notify a boxer in writing of its action. A
boxer may request a hearing before the Commission to
review the Commission’s action, under 2 Pa.C.S. 8§ 501—
508 (relating to practice and procedure of Commonwealth
agencies). The Commission will give full force and recog-
nition within this Commonwealth to medical suspensions
and retirements imposed upon boxers in other jurisdic-
tions subject to the right of appeal of affected boxers to
the Commission which shall seek and, if possible, obtain
a complete record of the matter from the authority which
imposed the original suspension or retirement before
rendering a decision in any given case.

() If a boxer is legally knocked or falls from the ring
during a contest, the boxer shall be allowed a maximum
of 20 seconds to return within the ropes unassisted.

(m) If a boxer rises within the count of ten after being
knocked down and then falls without being struck again,
the referee shall resume the count at the point where it
was stopped when the boxer rose.

(n) A protective regulation in this section or elsewhere
in the Athletic Code or this part will not be waived or
relaxed in any degree by a Commission official for a
boxing contest in this Commonwealth. Championship
contests will not fall within this prohibition.

CHAPTER 23. AMATEUR BOXING

§ 23.1. Relations with amateur athletic associa-
tions.

(@) The Commission may collaborate through the local
amateur athletic associations in the conduct of amateur
events in this Commonwealth, at its discretion. At no
time may the authority of the Commission or the respon-
sibility of the Commission to enforce the Athletic Code be
relinquished, delegated or impaired, by or through the
processes of collaboration.

(b) When the Commission collaborates with an ama-
teur athletic association in the conduct of an amateur
event, the rules and regulations of the amateur athletic
association relating to weight classes, ring and ring
equipment, conduct of contests and scoring system shall
be in effect. However, if a controversy arises in connection
with a subject which is not covered by the express
provisions of this chapter, the Commission will reserve
the right to finally pass upon the matter and to make
whatever decision it deems to be fair and equitable under
the circumstances. The decision will be final.

§ 23.2. Amateur events.

(@) An amateur event under the jurisdiction of the
Commission may not be held without a permit for the
event having been first secured by the sponsor from the
Commission. Permits for amateur events shall be issued
only to those sponsors approved by the Commission.

(b) The sponsor shall be responsible for the mainte-
nance of order and the safety of persons present at each
event under its sponsorship and it shall provide ample
and effective police and fire protection at each event.

§ 23.4. Boxers.

(@) The Commission will require each amateur boxer
scheduled to appear in a contest under its jurisdiction to
be examined by a physician.

(b) The Commission may suspend an amateur boxer
who the Commission determines cannot safely defend
himself or whose actions are deemed detrimental to the
sport of boxing.

(c) Participants in amateur events under the jurisdic-
tion of the Commission shall conform to the regulations
set forth by the local amateur athletic associations.

(d) When deemed appropriate by the Commission, the
provisions for professional boxers in 8§ 21.4(c) and (h),
21.6(g), 21.8(m)—(0) and 21.16 apply to amateur boxers.

§ 23.5. Seconds or trainers.

(@) The Commission will permit amateur boxing sec-
onds to function only after they have been approved by
the local amateur athletic associations. However, the
Commission may designate a second if no second ap-
proved by the amateur athletic associations is available.

(b) The Commission may remove a second who displays
improper conduct in the course of an event.

(c) First aid and other ring equipment of a second shall
in all cases and at all times, before, during and after use,
be subject to inspection by the attending physician and
Commission personnel. Any decision as to the propriety of
its use shall be final.

§ 23.6. Referees.

(&) Amateur boxing referees shall be appointed by the
amateur athletic associations with the approval of the
Commission. Referees may be removed by a commis-
sioner, the Executive Director or an inspector at any time
if deemed incompetent.

(b) A referee appointed under this section shall be 21
years of age or older, of good moral character and
reputation, of sound physical health and approved by the
amateur athletic association overseeing the event.

(c) The powers and duties of an amateur boxing referee
shall be the same as those for professional boxing referees
in § 21.11(a) (relating to referees), except that the referee
shall enforce the rules of amateur boxing as set forth in
the Athletic Code and this part as well as those rules
adopted and promulgated by the amateur athletic associa-
tions.

(d) The Commission will determine the amount of the
compensation of amateur boxing referees in accordance
with reason and equity in the circumstances of the
respective events to which they are appointed, and the
compensation shall be paid in full in each case by the
sponsor of the event.

§ 23.7. Judges.

(@) An amateur boxing judge shall be appointed by the
amateur athletic association with the approval of the
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Commission. A judge may be removed by a commissioner,
the Executive Director or an inspector at any time if
deemed incompetent.

(b) An amateur boxing judge shall be 21 years of age or
older, and of good moral character and reputation.

(c) It shall be the duty of an amateur boxing judge to
observe carefully and expertly the performances of the
boxers in each contest to which he is appointed and to
appraise the performances fairly and accurately.

§ 23.8. Timekeepers.

(a) Timekeepers for amateur events may be appointed
by the amateur athletic association with the approval of
the Commission.

(b) The duties and responsibilities of timekeepers for
amateur boxing events shall be the same as of timekeep-
ers for professional contests in § 21.13 (relating to time-
keepers).

§ 23.9. Insurance.

(&) The sponsor of each amateur event shall ensure
that all participants are covered by insurance. Costs
associated with the insurance shall be the responsibility
of the sponsor.

(b) Responsibilities with respect to the reporting, ex-
amination and investigation of injuries to amateur boxers
shall be the same as those in § 21.14(c) and (d) (relating
to insurance). However, when the requirements of these
subsections are violated by unlicensed persons, the delin-
quent persons shall be eligible for disbarment from
further connection with amateur and professional events
under the jurisdiction of the Commission.

§ 23.10. Age of participation.

(@) A person between 12 and 17 years of age may
participate in amateur contests or exhibitions after ob-
taining written permission from a parent or legal guard-
ian, and the consent of the Executive Director.

(b) A person 12 to 16 years of age may not participate
in a contest against an opponent who is more than 1 year
older.

(c) The limitations in subsections (a) and (b) do not
apply to sanctioned events for the Junior Olympics under
the direction of a National governing organization certi-
fied by the Commission.

(1) For the purposes of the Junior Olympic events,
participants, with the written permission of a parent or
legal guardian, may box only in the following age divi-
sions:

(i) Ten and eleven years of age.
(if) Twelve and thirteen years of age.
(iti) Fourteen and fifteen years of age.

(2) A participant may not take part in any event
outside of the approved division for that age group.

CHAPTER 25. PROFESSIONAL KICKBOXING
§ 25.3. Conduct of contests.

(@) A contestant will be given a physical examination
by a Commission licensed physician at least 2 hours
before the event. The results of the examinations shall be
set forth in writing on Commission approved forms. If, in
the opinion of the physician, a boxer is physically or
mentally unfit to proceed, the physician shall notify the
person in charge, who shall immediately cancel the
contest or exhibition.

(b) A contest may not exceed 12, 3-minute rounds, with
a minute rest period between rounds.

(c) A contestant intentionally avoiding physical contact
with an opponent will receive a warning. If a contestant
continues to avoid physical contact with the opponent
after receiving a warning during that round, the contes-
tant will be declared the loser of that round. If a
contestant continues to avoid physical contact either in
the same round or in the following rounds, the contestant
may be subject to the same penalties and procedures as a
contestant using foul tactics. (See § 25.6 (relating to
fouls).)

(d) If a contestant refuses to continue a contest while
physically able to do so, the referee shall disqualify the
contestant, award the contest to the opposing contestant
and report the incident to the Commission. The purse of
the disqualified contestant may be impounded by the
Commission pending a hearing on the disposition thereof.

(e) As soon as a contestant has been knocked down, the
official timekeeper shall begin calling the count from 1 to
10. The referee shall direct the opponent to a neutral
corner. Regardless of whether the boxer rises before the
count of 10 is reached, a boxer who has been knocked
down is required to take a mandatory count of 8 before
the contest may continue.

(f) If a contestant who is down rises before the count of
10 is reached and immediately goes down again without
being struck, the referee shall resume the count where it
was left off.

(g) If both contestants go down at the same time,
counting will be continued as long as one of them is
down. If one contestant rises before the count of 10, and
the other contestant remains down after the count of 10,
the first contestant to rise shall be declared the winner by
knockout. If both contestants rise before the count of 10,
the clock shall be stopped until an examination is com-
pleted. If both contestants stay down for a count of 10,
the contest will be stopped and the decision will be a
technical draw.

(h) Before a fallen contestant can resume fighting after
having slipped, fallen or been knocked to the floor, the
referee shall wipe the contestant’s gloves free of foreign
substances, in the manner articulated in § 21.16(e) (relat-
ing to safety code).

(i) If a contestant has been wrestled, pushed or has
fallen through the ropes during a contest, the referee
shall call time-out and allow the contestant to return to
the ring. If there is a question of a contestant’s ability to
return to the ring, the referee shall ask the ringside
physician to examine the contestant. The physician shall
decide if the contestant is able to continue. If the
contestant is able to continue, the contestant may be
assisted up into the ring by his chief second only. The
chief second is not permitted to perform other tasks at
this time.

§ 25.4. Judging and scoring system.

(@) Each event, except those held solely for training
purposes, shall be scored by three judges. The three
judges of an event shall each select a winner of each
round at the end of each round, marking their ballots
accordingly. Ballots will be supplied by the promoter.
These ballots will be collected by the referee and tabu-
lated at the end of each round by the scorekeeper.
Fractions of a point may not be given. Once the ballots
have been marked by the respective judges, changes to
the ballots will not be allowed.
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(b) Judges shall score rounds by recording a score of
ten points for the winner of each round and nine points or
less to the loser of the round. Judges may score a round
as even and thus shall mark their scorecards with ten
points for each boxer.

(c) Examples of ten-point scoring are as follows:

(1) 10-10 Indicates an even round. Neither contestant
distinguished himself as being more effective than the
other. In addition, the contestants appeared equal in the
areas that may be used to break an even round, such as
opponent control, ring strategy and overall conditioning
and abilities as a complete kickboxing contestant, with
emphasis on kicking ability.

(2) 10-9 Indicates one contestant distinguished himself
as the more effective contestant during the round, as
described in this section. This score is the most often
used, and allows for a slight to considerable margin
between the contestants. One contestant may have been
only slightly better than the other or he may have
dominated the round without really stunning the other
contestant.

(3) 10-8 Used sparingly, but indicates a round in which
one contestant was in constant control, and unquestion-
ably outclassed his opponent. This contestant shall also
have obviously stunned his opponent, usually including at
least one knockdown or standing eight-count. If there
were no knockdowns or standing eight-counts, one of
these occurrences shall have been imminent.

(d) Points shall be totaled on each judge’s scorecard to
determine that judge’s selection of a winner. Each judge’s
selection will count as one vote towards determining the
overall winner of the contest. If two judges have an equal
number of points for both contestants, the contest will be
declared a draw. If one judge has an equal number of
points for both contestants and the scores of the other
judges each favor a different contestant, the contest shall
be declared a draw. If the scores of two judges favor one
contestant and the third judge's score favors the other
contestant, the contestant receiving the two votes shall be
declared the winner, by split decision. If the scores of all
three judges favor one contestant, that contestant will be
declared the winner by unanimous decision.

§ 25.5. Minimum kick requirement.

(a) Each contestant shall execute a minimum of eight
kicking techniques during the course of each round,
unless otherwise agreed to by both boxers and a commis-
sioner or the Executive Director. The kicks shall be clear
attempts to make contact with the opponent above the
waist to qualify. If a contestant does not execute his
minimum Kicks per round (MKRS), the contestant then
shall make up the kicks in the next round, and if he does
not, he will have a one point deduction.

(b) An example of minimum Kick technique scoring is
as follows: First round contestant only executes six kicks.
In the second round this contestant shall make up his
two kicks from round one plus his eight minimum kicks
for round two for a total of ten kicks. If a contestant fails
to make the minimum number of kicks in one round, and
then fails to make up the kicks in the following round,
that contestant will then be penalized one point. A
contestant who fails to meet their MKRS in three con-
secutive rounds shall be disqualified and the victory
awarded to his opponent.

(¢) The public address announcer will inform the audi-
ence of minimum kicking requirement (MKR) violations.
The Commission will apply these MKRS rules or the

MKRS rules of a Nationally recognized kickboxing council
or association for a particular contest, subject to the
written approval of the Commission.

(d) One MKR official shall be assigned to each contes-
tant in a contest. The official shall be positioned at
ringside and is responsible to count, in order, the number
of qualifying kicks executed by the contestant. The MKR
official assigned to contestant A will sit opposite contes-
tant A’s corner, and the MKR official assigned to contes-
tant B will sit opposite contestant B’s corner. Both
officials will keep track of the number of kicks executed
by their assigned contestant with hand held cards. If a
contestant executes less than the minimum number of
required kicks in one round, the MKR official for that
contestant will immediately notify the referee of the
number of kicks thrown.

(e) At the end of each round the referee will take the
judges’ ballot slips and deliver them to a commissioner or
the Executive Director for tabulation of the results onto a
master scorecard.

§ 25.6. Fouls.

(@) The referee shall determine all fouls based on the
severity of the foul, the intent of the contestant commit-
ting the foul and the result of the foul. At the time of the
infraction, the referee shall indicate to the judges the
number of points that are to be subtracted from each
boxer. The referee may simply issue a warning to the
contestant, and no points will be subtracted.

(b) Accidental or intentional fouls will be governed
under the regulations regarding accidental or intentional
fouls in professional contests in § 21.5(d), (e) and (F)
(relating to scoring system). The following actions are
considered to be fouls:

(1) Striking with the elbow.

(2) striking or kicking to the groin or any area below
the waist.

(3) Attacking with a knee.

(4) Intentional striking or kicking to the back of the
neck or throat.

(5) Striking to the face with a part of the arm other
than the gloved hand.

(6) Linear, or straight-in, striking or kicking to the
spine.

(7) Kicking to the legs.

(8) Punching or kicking of the contestant when he is
down. A contestant is knocked down when any part of the
contestant’s body other than the feet touches the floor. If
a contestant is on his way to the floor, the opponent may
continue the attack until the contestant has touched the
floor with any part of his body other than the feet.

(9) Takedowns.

(10) Intentionally pushing, shoving or wrestling an
opponent out of the ring with any part of the body.

(11) Illegal sweeping—a kick in which the leg is swept
in a roundhouse motion.

(12) Attacking on the break when both contestants
have been ordered to take one step back by the referee.

(13) Attacking after the bell has sounded to end the
round.

(14) Holding and hitting; such as holding with one
hand, especially behind the neck, and hitting with the
other.
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(15) Grabbing or holding onto an opponent’s foot or leg,
followed by a takedown, strike or kick.

(16) Holding the ropes with one hand while kicking,
punching or defending with the other hand or the legs.

(17) Leg checking by extending the leg to check an
opponent’s leg to prevent him from kicking. The checked
kick will be counted by the minimum kicking requirement
(MKR) official as an attempted kick.

(18) Purposely going down without being hit. This will
result in the referee automatically administering an
eight-count, as specified in the rule on knockdown.

(19) The use of abusive language in the ring or corner,
as determined by the referee.

(20) Hitting or flicking with an open glove.
(21) Intentionally evading contact.

(22) Clinching, holding or otherwise tying up an oppo-
nent's arms to prohibit him from punching for two
seconds or more, or repeatedly tying up the opponent’s
arm.

(23) Biting.

(c) If the contest ends in a knockout or a technical
knockout, the Commission will enter the exact time of the
knockout or technical knockout on the master scorecard.

(d) The Commission will make the final tallies and
verify the accuracy of the scores.

§ 25.8. Equipment.

(a) Contestants shall wear foot protectors, an individu-
ally fitted mouthpiece, a foul proof groin protector, a
plastic cup with athletic supporter or preferably, an
abdominal guard. Other equipment, such as hockey shin
guards, elbow or forearm pads are not permitted. Loose or
untied clothing is not permitted. Kickboxers may not
wear rings or other jewelry.

(b) Contestants shall wear a uniform which shall in-
clude long pants that reach the ankle. The uniform shall
be clean and not torn or frayed. Only black belts will be
permitted to be worn in the ring. Loose or untied clothing
is not permitted. Uniforms are subject to inspection by
the referee and the Commission.

(¢) In contests or exhibitions when the contestants
weigh 150 pounds or under, boxing gloves weighing at
least 8 ounces each shall be used. In contests or exhibi-
tions when the contestants weigh over 150 pounds, boxing
gloves weighing at least 10 ounces each shall be used.
Gloves shall be supplied by the promoter and be in good
condition without tears or wrinkles.

(d) The wrapping of the hands is mandatory. Hands
shall be wrapped with soft, surgical gauze no more than 2
inches wide and not longer than 10 yards. Tape is not
allowed between fingers. Each hand is allowed only one
cross (X) across the back of the hand and two wraps
around the wrist.

(e) Contestants are required to wear foot protectors.
Only two windings of tape are permitted around the foot
to hold the foot protector in place. Ankle supporters may
be secured to the foot with no more than four windings of
surgeon’s adhesive tape. Hand and foot wraps are subject
to Commission inspection and approval.

§ 25.9. Ringside officials.

(a) At kickboxing events except those held solely for
training purposes, there shall be a referee, three judges, a
timekeeper, a scorekeeper, two minimum kicking require-

ment (MKR) officials and a physician in attendance.
Officials shall be approved and licensed by the Commis-
sion. The promoter shall supply the Executive Director
with a complete list of ringside officials at least 5 days
before the scheduled event.

(b) Professional MKR officials and scorekeepers shall
be licensed by the Commission as judges. The amount of
compensation for these officials shall be determined and
paid by the promoter of the event.

(c) Referees and judges shall be approved and licensed
by the Commission and be at least 21 years of age, of
good moral character and reputation, of sound physical
health and of a level of intelligence and knowledge of
kickboxing satisfactory to the Executive Director.

(d) Kickboxing referees shall be paid a minimum of
$100 for each event by the promoter. Judges shall be paid
a minimum of $75 for each event by the promoter.

(e) The amount of compensation for timekeepers will be
determined and paid by the promoter of the event.

(f) There shall be at least one physician at all kickbox-
ing events. This physician, who shall be seated at ring-
side, shall be licensed by the Commission.

(9) Physicians shall be paid a minimum of $100 per
event by the promoter.

CHAPTER 27. AMATEUR KICKBOXING
§ 27.2. Licensing and age requirements.

(@) Amateur contestants and amateur officials need not
be licensed.

(b) A person between 12 and 17 years of age may
participate in amateur contests or exhibitions after ob-
taining written permission from a parent or legal guard-
ian, and the consent of the Executive Director.

(c) A person 12 to 16 years of age may only participate
in these contests with a person not more than 1 year
older.

(d) The limitations in subsections (a) and (b) do not
apply to sanctioned events for the Junior Olympics under
the direction of a National governing organization certi-
fied by the Commission.

(1) For the purposes of the Junior Olympic events,
participants, with the written permission of a parent or
legal guardian, may box only in the following age divi-
sions:

(i) Ten and eleven years of age.

(ii) Twelve and thirteen years of age.

(iii) Fourteen and fifteen years of age.

(2) A participant may not take part in any event
outside of the approved division for that age group.

§ 27.3. Conduct of contests.

(@) Amateur contestants shall wear headgear and ap-
propriate shin protectors.

(b) Each amateur contestant shall execute a minimum
of six Kicking techniques during the course of each round.

(c) Amateur contests shall consist of a maximum of
three 2-minute rounds unless approved in advance by the
Commission.

Subpart C. WRESTLING
CHAPTER 31. PROFESSIONAL WRESTLING
88 31.1—31.14. (Reserved).
§ 31.21. Conduct of contests.

(a) Before a professional wrestling contest or exhibition
can take place the following requirements shall be met:
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(1) A physician shall be present at all times and seated
at ringside to observe the physical condition of all partici-
pants. The physician’s fee shall be paid by the promoter
of the event.

(2) An ambulance or paramedical unit shall be present
at the event unless the ambulance or paramedical unit is
located within 5 miles of the arena and these units have
been notified, by the promoter, that an event is taking
place.

(3) Adequate security shall be employed to control the
public. The size of the security force is at the discretion of
the promoter and the owner or operator of the arena.

(b) The following represent prohibited acts:

(1) The owner or operator of an arena where a profes-
sional wrestling event takes place may not destroy a
ticket or ticket stub until 3 months after the date of the
event.

(2) Wrestlers may not deliberately cut or otherwise
mutilate themselves.

§ 31.22. Promoters.

(@) Promoters of professional wrestling events shall be
licensed by the Commission prior to promoting any type
of wrestling contest or exhibition. Licenses expire on
December 31 of the year of issue. The Commission will
not issue or renew a promoter’s license to a person who
has been convicted, pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to
an offense in section 2101 of the Athletic Code (relating to
promoter’s license), during the 10 years preceding the
application date.

(b) Promoters shall file with the Commission a bond of
at least $10,000 prior to promoting or advertising any
type of wrestling contest or exhibition. Bonds shall be on
forms supplied by the Commission and shall be accompa-
nied by a filing fee of $25.

(c) At least 10 days before the date of a wrestling
contest or exhibition, the promoter shall notify the Com-
mission, in writing, of the date, time and location of the
event.

(d) Upon conviction of a promoter for a violation of
Chapter 21 of the Athletic Code (relating to regulation of
professional wrestling contests and exhibitions), the Com-
mission will suspend the promoter’s license in accordance
with the Athletic Code.

(e) A promoter may not employ as a participant in a
wrestling contest or exhibition an individual under 18
years of age.

§ 31.23. Enforcement.

The Executive Director may send an inspector to any
professional wrestling event or exhibition to be admitted
by the promoter without fee to ensure compliance with
this subpart and Subpart C of the Athletic Code (relating
to Wrestling Act). The promoter shall pay a fee of $100 to
the Commission within 10 days after the event for each
wrestling event to which an inspector is sent.

§ 31.24. Gross receipts taxes.

(a) Every promoter shall pay a tax of 5% on the face
value of all tickets sold to any wrestling contest or
exhibition.

(b) This tax shall be paid within 10 days after the
event and shall be accompanied by a gross receipts tax
form, prescribed by the Commission, setting forth all
taxable receipts received from the event and any other
information the Commission may require. Payment not

received by the Commission within the 10-day period
shall be subject to a late fee of $100.

CHAPTER 33. (Reserved)

88 33.1—33.12. (Reserved).
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 02-889. Filed for public inspection May 17, 2002, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 67—TRANSPORTATION

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
[67 PA. CODE CH. 211]
Corrective Amendment to 67 Pa. Code § 211.1072(c)

The Department of Transportation has discovered a
discrepancy between the agency text of 67 Pa. Code
§ 211.1072(c) (relating to speed limit sign beacon) as
published in the Pennsylvania Code Reporter (Master
Transmittal Sheet No. 258) and as currently appearing in
the Pennsylvania Code. Subsection (c) contained two
typographical errors.

Therefore, under 45 Pa.C.S. § 901: The Department of
Transportation has deposited with the Legislative Refer-
ence Bureau a corrective amendment to 67 Pa. Code
§ 211.1072(c). The corrective amendment to 67 Pa. Code
§ 211.1072(c) is effective as of May 4, 1996, the date the
defective official text was announced in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin.

The correct version of 67 Pa. Code § 211.1072(c) ap-
pears in Annex A.

Annex A
TITLE 67. TRANSPORTATION
PART I. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Subpart A. VEHICLE CODE PROVISIONS

ARTICLE VIII. ADMINISTRATION AND
ENFORCEMENT

CHAPTER 211. OFFICIAL TRAFFIC CONTROL
DEVICES

Subchapter J. TRAFFIC SIGNALS
OTHER HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SIGNALS
§ 211.1072. Speed limit sign beacon.

(@) General. A speed limit sign beacon is two circular
yellow lens sections mounted vertically and flashed alter-
nately. Typical installations include:

(1) A blankout school speed limit sign beacon shall
have lenses with a visible diameter of not less than 6
inches and shall be located within the border of the sign.

(2) Any other speed limit sign beacon, including a
school speed limit sign beacon other than the blankout
sign, shall have lenses with a visible diameter of not less
than 8 inches and be mounted outside the border of the
sign with the center of the lens in line with the vertical
centerline of the sign. These beacons shall be mounted
with the closest part of the housing 12 inches above the
top and below the bottom of the sign. The bottom of the
housing of the lower beacon shall be at least 5 feet above
the roadway surface or sidewalk.

(b) Use. A speed limit sign beacon is intended for use
with a fixed or variable speed limit sign. When appli-
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cable, a flashing speed limit beacon, with an appropriate
accompanying sign, may be used to indicate the speed
limit shown is in effect—variable message speed limit
signs or school speed limit.

(c) School speed limit sign beacons. All school speed
limit sign beacons shall be controlled by a time clock. The
time of operation shall be indicated on the permit, and
they shall be limited as much as possible in order not to
destroy the effectiveness of the sign. In general, the
arrival and departure times can be covered by allowing
the sign to operate for 1/2 hour for each period. The

noontime movements should be covered by two 1/2 hour
periods, but may require a longer period which should not
exceed 1 1/2 hours. All times should be shorter, if at all
possible. The signs should not be used when a small
portion of the student body is moving about, such as only
a minor percentage of the pupils leaving school for lunch.
They may not be flashed at night, on school holidays,
during vacation or on nonschool days.
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 02-890. Filed for public inspection May 17, 2002, 9:00 a.m.]
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