
PROPOSED RULEMAKING
LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

[40 PA. CODE CH. 5]
Responsible Alcohol Management

The Liquor Control Board (Board), under the authority
of section 207(i) of the Liquor Code (47 P. S. § 2-207(i)),
proposes to add Subchapter I (relating to responsible
alcohol management) to read as set forth in Annex A.

Purpose

The additional sections are necessary to supplement
legislative changes to the Liquor Code, specifically the
addition of section 471.1 (47 P. S. § 4-471.1) by the act of
December 20, 2000 (P. L. 992, No. 141) (Act 141), which
addresses responsible alcohol management. The proposed
rulemaking establishes guidelines for implementing a
responsible alcohol management program as required by
Act 141.

Summary of Proposed Rulemaking

The proposed rulemaking defines terms, outlines the
procedure for certification of providers of alcohol server
education, sets forth provider responsibilities, including
recordkeeping and penalties for prohibited conduct by a
provider or its instructors. The proposed rulemaking
explains new employee orientation, acceptable types of
signage and certification of licensees by the Board.

Affected Parties

This is a voluntary program for retail licensees includ-
ing: restaurants, retail dispenser eating places (beer-only
restaurants), clubs, catering clubs, public and private golf
courses, distributors and importing distributors and their
employees. The program would be mandatory for a licen-
see who is required to attend the Board’s responsible
alcohol management classes resulting from an adjudica-
tion by an administrative law judge.

Paperwork Requirements

The Board will be required to keep records of persons
trained in manager/owner and server/seller training for
the purpose of certifying licensees as being in compliance
with the responsible alcohol management program. The
Board will also keep records of providers and instructors
certified for the program. Participating licensees will be
required to keep records of employee orientation and
server/seller training. There is also an application re-
quirement for those licensees desiring to be certified as
being in compliance with the responsible alcohol manage-
ment program.

Fiscal Impact

The Board anticipates an annual interest that would
require costs of about $400,000 from the State Stores
Fund. Actual costs will be determined by the extent of
voluntary participation by licensees and to a lesser extent
when mandatory participation is part of an adjudication
in a citation proceeding. Greater participation could in-
crease costs beyond $400,000 and less participation would
reduce costs below $400,000. The $500 license fees for
providers and $100 license fees for instructors will defray
some of the Board’s administrative costs but will have
little or no impact on the cost of the program.

Effective Date/Sunset Date

This proposed rulemaking will become effective upon
final-form publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. No
sunset date has been assigned.

Public Comment/Contact Person

Written comments, suggestions or objections will be
accepted for 30 days after publication of the proposed
rulemaking in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. Comments
should be addressed to Jerry Danyluk, Regulatory Coordi-
nator, Liquor Control Board, Room 513, Northwest Office
Building, Harrisburg, PA 17124-0001.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5(a)), on October 30, 2002, the Board submit-
ted a copy of this proposed rulemaking to the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) and the
Chairpersons of the House Committee on Liquor Control
and the Senate Committee on Law and Justice. In
addition to submitting the proposed rulemaking, the
Board has provided IRRC and the Committees with a
copy of a detailed Regulatory Analysis Form prepared by
the Board in compliance with Executive Order 1996-1,
‘‘Regulatory Review and Promulgation.’’ A copy of this
material is available to the public upon request.

Under section 5(g) of the Regulatory Review Act, if
IRRC has objections to any portion of the proposed
rulemaking, it will notify the Board within 10 days of the
close of the Committees’ review period. The notification
shall specify the regulatory review criteria that have not
been met by the portion of the proposed rulemaking to
which an objection is made. The Regulatory Review Act
specifies detailed procedures for review, prior to final
publication of the rulemaking, by the Board, the General
Assembly and the Governor of objections raised.

JONATHAN H. NEWMAN,
Chairperson

Fiscal Note: 54-57. (1) State Store Fund; (2) Imple-
menting Year 2002-03 is $200,000 (half year); (3) 1st
Succeeding Year 2003-04 is $400,000; 2nd Succeeding
Year 2004-05 is $400,000; 3rd Succeeding Year 2005-06 is
$400,000; 4th Succeeding Year 2006-07 is $400,000; 5th
Succeeding Year 2007-08 is $400,000; (7) Executive Autho-
rization; (8) recommends adoption.

Annex A

TITLE 40. LIQUOR

PART I. LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

CHAPTER 5. DUTIES AND RIGHTS OF
LICENSEES

Subchapter I. RESPONSIBLE ALCOHOL
MANAGEMENT

GENERAL PROVISIONS

Sec.
5.201. Definitions.

PROVIDERS OF ALCOHOL SERVICE PERSONNEL TRAINING

5.211. Provider certification.
5.212. Provider responsibilities.
5.213. Penalties for prohibited conduct.

5664

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 32, NO. 46, NOVEMBER 16, 2002



NEW EMPLOYEE ORIENTATION, SIGNAGE, CERTIFICATION OF
COMPLIANCE

5.221. New employee orientation.
5.222. Signage.
5.223. Certification of compliance.

GENERAL PROVISIONS

§ 5.201. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
subchapter, have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

Alcohol service education provider or provider—An indi-
vidual or business entity certified by the Board who
employs instructors to administer responsible alcohol
management classes to alcohol service personnel.

Instructor/trainer—An individual employed by an alco-
hol service education provider who is certified by the
Board to instruct alcohol service personnel in responsible
alcohol management.

New employee orientation—The training of new employ-
ees on issues including, but not limited to, underage
drinking and visibly intoxicated patrons, in the manner
set forth in § 5.221 (relating to new employee orienta-
tion).

Responsible server practices—Methods utilized by alco-
hol service personnel to recognize and prevent attempted
illegal activity on the licensed premises including, but not
limited to, violations of sections 493—495 of the Liquor
Code (47 P. S. §§ 4-493—4-495) and 18 Pa.C.S. §§ 6307—
6310.3.

PROVIDERS OF ALCOHOL SERVICE PERSONNEL
TRAINING

§ 5.211. Provider certification.

(a) A person or entity desiring to become an alcohol
service education provider shall be Board certified. Certi-
fication shall be for a 2-year period. The Board may
certify a provider if it complies with the following:

(1) Files an application on forms to be provided by the
Board, and submits a $500 nonrefundable application
evaluation fee.

(2) Submits a curriculum to the Board that minimally
includes the following:

(i) Alcohol as a drug and its effects on the human body
and behavior, especially driving ability.

(ii) The effects of alcohol in combination with illegal
drugs as well as in combination with commonly used legal
prescription and over-the-counter drugs.

(iii) Laws dealing with liquor liability, drunk driving,
furnishing alcoholic beverages to minors, and visibly
intoxicated persons as well as penalties associated with
violations of these laws.

(iv) Standards and operating procedures for recognizing
and dealing with a customer who has had enough to
drink or a problem customer, such as cessation of service
and providing alternative means of transportation to get
the customer home safely.

(v) Techniques for determining the validity of age
identification through legally acceptable forms of identifi-
cation.

(vi) Policies regarding advertising, marketing and pro-
motion of safe and responsible drinking patterns.

(3) Employs Board certified instructors.

(b) Providers shall identify all program instructors on
provider Staff Certification Forms issued by the Board,
together with a $100 fee for each instructor.

(c) To qualify for Board certification as an instructor,
an applicant shall have a minimum of 2 years experience
as a full-time employee in any one or more of these fields:
education, law, law enforcement, substance abuse preven-
tion, the hospitality industry or alcohol service training.

(d) Both provider or instructor certification shall be
effective for 2 years from the date of issuance. Reapplica-
tion for provider and instructor certification, or both, may
be made 30 days prior to expiration of the current
certification.

(e) Termination of employment with the provider will
result in termination of instructor certification for that
employee.
§ 5.212. Provider responsibilities.

A provider shall:

(1) Be responsible for monitoring instructors, classes,
students and examinations as prescribed by the Board.

(2) Be responsible for maintaining instructor records
regarding attendance and test results.

(3) Keep, for 2 years, complete enrollment records, a
record of all students it certifies as having successfully
completed its course and the name and license number of
the licensee who employs each student at the time of
certification. A list consisting of the students each pro-
vider certifies and the licensee who employs them shall be
submitted to the Board within 5 days of certification.

(4) Keep and make available for review, all records
referenced in this section in the same manner prescribed
for the maintenance of business records by Board licens-
ees under section 493(12) of the Liquor Code (47 P. S.
§ 4-493(12)).

(5) Be responsible for reporting changes in ownership,
management, the employment status of instructors or
curriculum not later than 30 days after the change.
§ 5.213. Penalties for prohibited conduct.

(a) The Board may decertify a provider and its instruc-
tors or an individual instructor for violating any of the
provisions of this subchapter or engaging in the following
conduct:

(1) Discrimination or harassment based on age, race,
sex, disability, national origin or religion.

(2) An act in violation of the Liquor Code or this title.

(3) An act resulting in a misdemeanor or felony convic-
tion.

(4) An act resulting in admittance into an Accelerated
Rehabilitative Disposition Program if the underlying ac-
tivity is related to alcoholic beverages, narcotics or con-
trolled substances.

(5) Being under the influence of alcoholic beverages,
narcotics or controlled substances during course presenta-
tions, exams or breaks.

(6) Knowingly permitting students to be under the
influence of alcoholic beverages, narcotics or controlled
substances during course presentations, exams or breaks.

(7) Fraudulent activity relating to the conduct or re-
quirements of the training.

(b) Appeals from decertification shall be as set forth in
2 Pa.C.S. § 702 (relating to appeals). The Board will not
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consider application for recertification until 1 year has
passed from the date of decertification.

NEW EMPLOYEE ORIENTATION, SIGNAGE,
CERTIFICATION OF COMPLIANCE

§ 5.221. New employee orientation.

(a) Owners or managers who wish to or are ordered to
be in compliance with section 471.1 of the Liquor Code
(47 P. S. § 4-471.1) shall provide new employee orienta-
tion on or before the first day of the employee’s employ-
ment as a member of the licensee’s alcohol service
personnel staff. It is the sole responsibility of the licensee
to ensure that either the designated manager or owner
conducts the training. Licensees shall maintain new
employee orientation records consisting of the name of
the employee, date of hire, date of orientation and the
name of the individual who trained the employee. Records
shall be maintained in the same manner as other busi-
ness records under section 493(12) of the Liquor Code (47
P. S. § 4-493(12)).

(b) The Board will provide licensees with a checklist
and appropriate learning materials.

§ 5.222. Signage.

(a) Signage will be provided by the Board. A licensee
may use other signage provided that it is equivalent in
size, number and content to the Board’s signage. Signage
shall minimally include the following information:

(1) Acceptable forms of identification as described in
section 495(a) of the Liquor Code (47 P. S. § 4-495(a)).

(2) Refusal of service to minors and visibly intoxicated
patrons under the Liquor Code.

(b) Signage shall be prominently displayed in a con-
spicuous place that can be observed readily by patrons.
The signage shall be continuously posted commencing
with the date a licensee seeks to be certified as in
compliance with the responsible alcohol service program.
A licensee shall be responsible for the posting and
maintenance of the signage at all times.

§ 5.223. Certification of compliance.

(a) Licensees may be certified by the Board in compli-
ance with section 471.1 of the Liquor Code (47 P. S.
§ 4-471.1). Licensees shall file an application for compli-
ance certification to be provided by the Board. If the
requirements of section 471.1 of the Liquor Code are met,
a licensee will be issued a certificate of compliance.
Issuance of the certificate shall raise a presumption of
compliance from the application mailing date, unless
rebutted, in any subsequent legal proceeding in which
compliance with section 471.1 of the Liquor Code is at
issue. Compliance certification shall be valid for 2 years.
Licensees may apply for recertification of compliance at
least 60 days prior to expiration of current certification.

(b) If a licensee is found to be noncompliant with
section 471.1 of the Liquor Code or this subchapter the
Board may refuse or revoke certification. If certification is
revoked, the Board will not consider application for
recertification until 1 year has passed from the date of
revocation. Appeals shall be as set forth in 2 Pa.C.S.
§ 702 (relating to appeals).

(c) The Office of Administrative Law Judge will take
administrative notice of the Board’s records with regard
to questions of certification.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 02-2057. Filed for public inspection November 15, 2002, 9:00 a.m.]

STATE BOARD OF
NURSING

[49 PA. CODE CH. 21]
Continuing Education

The State Board of Nursing (Board) proposes to add
§§ 21.332—21.337 to read as set forth in Annex A.
Sections 21.332—21.337 detail the requirements of con-
tinuing education for certified registered nurse practitio-
ners (CRNPs) who are approved to prescribe and dispense
drugs in accordance with § 21.283(3) (relating to pre-
scribing and dispensing drugs)
Effective Date

The proposed rulemaking will be effective upon final-
form publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.
Statutory Authority

The proposed rulemaking is authorized under section
2.1(k) of the Professional Nursing Law (63 P. S.
§ 212.1(k)).
Background and Need for the Proposed Rulemaking

On November 17, 2000, the Board and the State Board
of Medicine jointly promulgated § 21.283 granting pre-
scriptive authority to CRNPs. Section 21.283(3) provides
that ‘‘[a] CRNP who has prescriptive authority shall
complete at least 16 hours of State Board of Nursing
approved continuing education in pharmacology in the 2
years prior to the biennial renewal date of the CRNP
certification. The CRNP shall show proof that the CRNP
completed the continuing education when submitting a
biennial renewal.’’

Because the Board was designated to approve the
continuing education, joint promulgation of the proposed
rulemaking is not required. The Board proposes the
rulemaking detailing the connection between certification
of CRNPs and their completion of continuing education
and explaining the processes for submission of proof of
completion and approval of programs, courses and provid-
ers.
Description of Proposed Rulemaking

Section 21.332 (relating to requirement of continuing
education) sets forth the regulatory authority for the
continuing education requirement and would provide that
CRNPs who are on inactive status need not complete the
continuing education requirements except for the biennial
period immediately preceding a request for reactivation to
active status. In addition, if a CRNP’s prescriptive au-
thority has been in inactive status for 3 years or longer,
prescriptive authority would only be reactivated by com-
pleting the requirements of § 21.283(2) or by demonstrat-
ing that the person has been practicing with prescriptive
authority in another jurisdiction for at least 1 of those 3
years. The other jurisdiction must have requirements for
initial approval and continuing education at least equiva-
lent to those in this Commonwealth and the continuing
education must have been completed within the last year.
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The proposed rulemaking also provides that CRNPs who
fail to meet the continuing education requirements may
be subject to discipline. Finally, the proposed rulemaking
provides that the Board may waive the requirements in
cases of certified illness or undue hardship.

Section 21.333 (relating to continuing education subject
matter) specifies the subject matter that will meet the
requirement in the jointly promulgated regulation that
CRNPs complete 16 hours in pharmacology. Section
21.333 provides that pharmacology courses must provide
CRNPs with the knowledge and skills to understand the
pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of broad drug
categories and to analyze the relationship between
pharmacologic agents and physiologic/pathologic re-
sponses.

Section 21.334(a) (relating to sources of continuing
education) contains a list of providers the Board has
determined qualify for approval for all continuing educa-
tion courses they offer. These providers will only be
preapproved, however, if they agree to comply with
§ 21.334(c), which requires the provider to provide
CRNPs who complete a course with a certificate of
completion that complies with § 21.337(a) (relating to
CRNP responsibilities) and agree to maintain records of
course attendance for a minimum of 5 years. The section
provides for credit for courses offered by other providers if
the course is prepproved by the Board. In addition,
CRNPs may apply on an individual basis, prior to
attendance at a course, for approval for that course.
Finally, the proposed rulemaking provides essential de-
tails regarding the continuing education requirement,
such as granting up to 4 hours credit for serving in a
teaching capacity, defining an hour as 50 clock minutes
and providing that the Board will determine the number
of hours approved for each course that is individually
approved by the Board.

Section 21.335 (relating to requirements for courses)
sets forth the standards that all courses must meet.
Every course must have an established mechanism to
measure the quality of the course, have established
criteria for selecting and evaluating faculty, have estab-
lished criteria for the evaluation of each participant who
completes the course, provide adequate facilities and
instructional materials and be offered by instructors who
have suitable qualifications. The qualifications of instruc-
tors are further addressed in § 21.336(c) (relating to
continuing education course approval).

Section 21.336 sets forth the procedure for approval of
continuing education courses offered by providers who are
not on the list of preapproved providers in § 21.334.

Section 21.337 lists the responsibilities of CRNPs in
maintaining documentation of their completion of re-
quired continuing education, places the onus on CRNPs to
document their completion of continuing education and
provides that falsification of the documentation or pre-
scribing or dispensing drugs without completing the
requirements of § 21.332 may result in the withdrawal of
prescriptive authority approval, the suspension or revoca-
tion of certification as a CRNP, the suspension or revoca-
tion of any nursing license and the imposition of a civil
penalty.

The Board received four comments when it sent the
proposed rulemaking to nursing organizations for
predraft comment. The Pennsylvania Coalition of Nurse
Practitioners (Coalition) commented that it found the
draft proposed rulemaking ‘‘to be equitable and consistent
with the current rules for prescribing CRNPs . . . [and]

consistent with those of other states.’’ The Coalition noted
that the Board might want to address its turnaround
time for approving courses under § 21.334. The Board
will not set a specific turnaround time in the proposed
rulemaking. However, the Board notes that it will appoint
a committee to meet monthly and review requests for
course approval. The committee will then make a recom-
mendation to the Board on whether to approve the
course, reject the course or ask the provider for additional
information. As the requests for approval will be reviewed
on a monthly basis, the Board anticipates the approval
process will proceed in a timely fashion.

The Albert Einstein Medical Center commented that
the draft proposed rulemaking ‘‘[i]n general is very clear
and complete.’’ The Albert Einstein Medical Center sug-
gested that the list of preapproved providers be expanded
to include CRNP programs accredited by state boards of
nursing in surrounding states. The list of preapproved
providers already includes National associations and Na-
tional credentialing organizations, which are likely to
sponsor continuing education programs offered in mul-
tiple states. Therefore, the Board does not believe it is
necessary to preapprove courses approved by other state
boards.

The Pennsylvania State Nurses Association (Associa-
tion) commented that, overall, it supported the draft
proposed rulemaking. The Association made four specific
comments. First, the Association noted that the American
Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) did not ‘‘offer’’
courses because it merely credentialed courses, and sug-
gested the language of § 21.334(a) reflect that some of
the preapproved providers were actually providers and
others were credentialing organizations. The Board
adopted this suggestion. Second, the Association com-
mented that the procedure for CRNPs to obtain approval
for up to 4 hours for service as a teacher, speaker and the
like, seemed ‘‘cumbersome for individuals and the State
Board of Nursing’’ and suggested that the CRNPs simply
submit documentation of the 4 hours at the same time
they submitted their total of 16 hours at biennial re-
newal. The Board declines to adopt this suggestion. The
proposed rulemaking requires that CRNPs who wish to
receive up to 4 credits for this service apply to the Board
for approval and that the Board may determine the
number of credits it will grant for the service. To permit
CRNPs to simply assume that their service would receive
credit, and credit for 4 hours, would do a disservice to the
CRNP who might find, after the biennial period had
expired, that the Board would not accept 4 credits for the
CRNP’s teaching service. Third, the Association noted
that the Board had failed to define an ‘‘hour.’’ The Board
addressed this issue in § 21.334 by defining an hour as
50 minutes. This is the time period used by the ANCC
and most universities. Fourth, the Association asked
whether CRNPs who had been on inactive status for 3
years or longer could reactivate their certification to
prescribe by taking 45 hours of continuing education. The
Board clarified the language in § 21.332(a)(2) to reference
the 45-hour course required for initial certification in
§ 21.283(2), which requires the 45 hours to be taken in
an approved CRNP education program or, if outside the
program, in a program or programs approved by the
Board and the State Board of Medicine. It is unlikely that
a continuing education course would be approved for 45
hours; however, if a course met the requirements of the
initial credentialing course, the Board and the State
Board of Medicine could approve the course.

Finally, the Board received comments from an indi-
vidual CRNP who raised four concerns. First, the CRNP
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inquired why an individual who wished to reactivate a
license had to complete 16 hours of continuing education
within 1 year prior to the request to reactivate when
CRNPs with active licenses have 2 years to complete the
16 hour biennial requirement. The Board purposefully
made this distinction to reflect the fact that CRNPs in
active practice are continuously learning and updating
their knowledge while CRNPs on inactive or retired
status do not have the educational benefit of being in
active practice. Second, the CRNP noted a typographical
error that has been corrected. Third, the CRNP com-
mented that there should be additions made to the list of
preapproved continuing education providers and
credentialing organizations. The Board finds that its list
already includes the major providers and organizations
and believes other providers have been given a feasible
method for obtaining Board approval. Fourth, the CRNP
was concerned that the Board would not have time to
approve individual courses submitted by a CRNP. The
Board will appoint a committee to meet monthly and
review requests for continuing education credit. The
Board is confident that CRNPs can submit their requests
in advance of the program being offered and the Board
will have time to act on requests that are timely submit-
ted.

Compliance with Executive Order 1996-1, ‘‘Regulatory
Review and Promulgation’’

The Board sent this proposed rulemaking to numerous
nursing associations and hospital systems as required
under the directives of Executive Order 1996-1. These
organizations were: American Association of Neuroscience
Nurses, Emergency Nurses Association, GPC—Oncology
Nursing Society, The Hospital and Healthsystem Associa-
tion of Pennsylvania, Intravenous Nurse Society, Licensed
Practical Nurses Association of Pennsylvania, Pennsylva-
nia Association of Home Health Agencies, Pennsylvania
Association of Private School Administrators, Pennsylva-
nia Association of Non-Profit Homes for the Aging, Penn-
sylvania Association of Nurse Anesthetists, Pennsylvania
Association of Practical Nursing Program Administrators,
Pennsylvania Coalition of Nurse Practitioners, Pennsylva-
nia College of Associate Degree Nursing, Pennsylvania
Council of Operating Room Nurses, Pennsylvania Depart-
ment of Health—Bureau of CH Systems, Pennsylvania
Health Care Association, Pennsylvania Higher Education
Nursing Schools Association, Pennsylvania League for
Nursing, Inc., Pennsylvania Organization of Nurse Lead-
ers, Pennsylvania Society of Gastroenterology Nurses and
Associates, Pennsylvania State Nurses Association, School
Nurse Section, Southwestern Pennsylvania Organization
for Nurse Leaders, Pennsylvania Medical Society, Nurses
of Pennsylvania, Pennsylvania Association of School
Nurses and Practitioners, Pennsylvania Nurses Associa-
tion and Professional Nursing Resources, Inc. In addition,
the Board considered the impact the proposed rulemaking
would have on the regulated community and on public
safety and welfare. The Board finds that the proposed
rulemaking addresses a compelling public interest as
described in this Preamble and otherwise complies with
Executive Order 1996-1.

Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

The proposed rulemaking will have no adverse fiscal
impact on the Commonwealth or its political subdivisions.
The proposed rulemaking will impose no additional pa-
perwork requirements upon the Commonwealth, political
subdivisions or the private sector.

Sunset Date
The Board continuously monitors the cost effectiveness

of its regulations. Therefore, no sunset date has been
assigned.
Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5(a)), on October 31, 2002, the Board submit-
ted a copy of this proposed rulemaking to the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) and the
Chairpersons of the Senate Consumer Protection and
Professional Licensure Committee and the House Profes-
sional Licensure Committee. In addition to submitting the
proposed rulemaking, the Board has provided IRRC and
the Committees with a copy of a detailed Regulatory
Analysis Form prepared by the Board in compliance with
Executive Order 1996-1. A copy of this material is
available to the public upon request.

Under section 5(g) of the Regulatory Review Act, if
IRRC has objections to any portion of the proposed
rulemaking, it will notify the Board within 10 days of the
close of the Committees’ review period. The notification
shall specify the regulatory review criteria that have not
been met by the portion of the proposed rulemaking to
which an objection is made. The Regulatory Review Act
specifies detailed procedures for review, prior to final
publication of the rulemaking, by the Board, the General
Assembly and the Governor of objections raised.
Public Comment

Interested persons are invited to submit written com-
ments, suggestions or objections regarding this proposed
rulemaking to Ann Steffanic, Board Administrator, State
Board of Nursing, P. O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-
2649, www.dos.state.pa.us, within 30 days following publi-
cation of this proposed rulemaking in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin.

K. STEPHEN ANDERSON, CRNA,
Chairperson

Fiscal Note: 16A-5117. No fiscal impact; (8) recom-
mends adoption.

Annex A
TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL

STANDARDS
PART I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 21. STATE BOARD OF NURSING
Subchapter C. CERTIFIED REGISTERED NURSE

PRACTITIONERS
CONTINUING EDUCATION

§ 21.332. Requirement of continuing education.
(a) A certified registered nurse practitioner approved to

prescribe and dispense drugs under §§ 21.283—21.287
and §§ 18.53—18.57 shall comply with this section and
§§ 21.333—21.337.

(1) An individual who places his license and certifica-
tion on inactive status, or who notifies the Board that all
collaborative agreements have expired, is not required to
meet the continuing education requirements as outlined
in this section and §§ 21.333—21.337, except to the
extent that, upon application for reactivation of the
license and certification and authorization to prescribe
and dispense, the individual shall be required to show
proof of continuing education for the biennial period
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immediately preceding the request for reactivation of the
certification and authority to prescribe and dispense
drugs.

(2) An individual whose prescriptive authority approval
has been in an inactive status for 3 years or longer may
reactivate the prescriptive authority approval by meeting
one of the following conditions:

(i) Complete the requirement in § 21.283(2) (relating to
prescribing and dispensing drugs) by taking at least 45
hours of course work in advanced pharmacology.

(ii) Provide evidence to the Board that the applicant
has practiced as a certified registered nurse practitioner
with prescriptive authority in another jurisdiction which
prescriptive authority is equivalent to that in this Com-
monwealth for at least 1 of the last 3 years, and, as a
condition for continued practice in that jurisdiction, has
completed continuing education that is substantially
equivalent to the requirements of § 21.283(3), within 1
year prior to the request for reactivation of prescriptive
authority.

(b) Continuing education requirements shall be com-
pleted each biennial cycle.

(1) An applicant for biennial renewal or reactivation of
prescriptive authority approval is required to complete,
during the 2 years preceding renewal or reactivation, a
minimum of 16 hours of continuing education in pharma-
cology. Completion of a course described in § 21.283(2)
shall satisfy the continuing education requirement for the
biennial renewal period in which it is completed.

(2) A person failing to meet the continuing education
requirements for a biennial renewal period will have his
prescriptive authority approval withdrawn and will be
prohibited from prescribing and dispensing drugs until
the educational criteria are met, prescriptive authority
approval is renewed and any fees and penalties are
properly paid.

(3) The Board may waive the requirements of continu-
ing education in cases of illness or undue hardship. It is
the duty of each licensee who seeks a waiver to notify the
Board in writing and request the waiver prior to the end
of the renewal period. The Board will grant, deny, or
grant in part the request for waiver. An individual who
requests a waiver may not prescribe or dispense drugs
after the expiration of his current prescriptive authority
and until the Board grants the waiver request.

§ 21.333. Continuing education subject matter.

Pharmacology continuing education courses shall pro-
vide the knowledge and skills to understand the
pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of broad catego-
ries of drugs and to analyze the relationship between
pharmacologic agents and physiologic/pathologic re-
sponses.

§ 21.334. Sources of continuing education.

(a) As a condition of approval, providers and
credentialing organizations are required to provide
CRNPs who complete continuing education courses with a
certificate of completion which contains the information
in § 21.337(a) (relating to CRNP responsibilities). Provid-
ers and credentialing organizations shall maintain
records of course attendance for at least 5 years.

(b) The Board finds that the following providers of
continuing education and credentialing organizations
have currently met the standards for course approval for
pharmacology continuing education.

(1) Accordingly, provided that these providers agree to
abide by subsection (a), the courses offered or approved
by the following providers or credentialing organizations
are approved:

(i) Board-approved CRNP programs.
(ii) The American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Com-

mission on Accreditation (ANCC).
(iii) The American Academy of Nurse Practitioners

(AANP).
(iv) The National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practi-

tioners (NAPNP).
(v) The American Medical Association (AMA).
(2) The approval given to the providers and credential-

ing organizations in paragraph (1) is subject to reevalua-
tion. A rescission of provider or credentialing organization
approval will be made only in accordance with 1 Pa. Code
Part II (relating to General Rules of Administrative
Practice and Procedure) or by amendment of this section.

(c) CRNPs may obtain credit for courses offered by
providers not indicated in subsection (b)(1) if the provider
receives approval of the course under § 21.336 (relating
to continuing education course approval) prior to its
implementation.

(d) CRNPs may obtain credit for continuing education
hours on an individual basis if the CRNP, prior to
attendance at the course, obtains Board approval by
submitting a request for course approval and supporting
documentation listed in § 21.336(a).

(e) CRNPs may obtain credit for correspondence
courses, taped study courses and other independent study
courses if the course is Board approved.

(f) Up to 4 hours will be credited for service as a
teacher, preceptor, lecturer or speaker and for publication
in a refereed journal or other scholarly publication relat-
ing to pharmacology. Application shall be made prior to
the service or within 90 days of the publication to assure
that the Board will approve the service or publication and
to allow the Board to determine the number of contact
hours that will be granted.

(g) An hour for purposes of nurse practitioner continu-
ing education is 50 minutes.
§ 21.335. Requirements for courses.

Each course shall have:
(1) An established mechanism to measure its quality,

established criteria for selecting and evaluating faculty
and established criteria for the evaluation of each partici-
pant who completes the course.

(2) Adequate facilities with appropriate instructional
materials to carry out continuing education programs.

(3) Instructors who have suitable qualifications as de-
tailed in § 21.336(c) (relating to continuing education
course approval).
§ 21.336. Continuing education course approval.

(a) Providers referenced in § 21.334(c) (relating to
sources of continuing education) or CRNPs applying for
individual approval in § 21.334(d), when seeking Board
approval of a continuing education course shall pay the
required fee (see § 21.253 (relating to fees)) and complete
and submit an application for course approval, which
shall include the following information:

(1) Full name and address of the provider.

(2) Title of the program.
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(3) Dates and location of the program.
(4) Faculty names, titles, affiliations, degrees and areas

of expertise.
(5) Schedule of program—title of subject, lecturer and

time allocated.
(6) Total number of hours requested.
(7) Method of certifying and assuring attendance, and

draft of certificate of attendance to be provided to course
participants.

(8) Course objectives.
(9) Target audience.
(10) Core subjects.
(11) Program coordinator.
(12) Instruction and evaluation methods.
(13) Other information requested by the Board.
(b) Upon approval of a course, the Board will assign a

course number and determine the number of hours
awarded. The provider shall place the course number on
the certificate of attendance and shall provide CRNPs
who successfully complete a course with a certificate of
attendance.

(c) Courses will be approved only in the instructor’s
demonstrated areas of expertise. Expertise may be dem-
onstrated by the instructor’s certification in the specialty
area to be presented.

(d) A separate application shall be submitted whenever
a change is made to any information submitted under
subsection (a), except for information related to a change
in date or location, or both, of the program submitted
under subsection (a)(3).
§ 21.337. CRNP responsibilities.

(a) A CRNP with prescriptive authority is required to

maintain documentation of completion of continuing edu-
cation, including:

(1) CRNP name.

(2) Dates attended.

(3) Continuing education hours.

(4) Title of course.

(5) Course provider.

(6) Location of course.

(7) Course number.

(b) Primary responsibility for documenting completion
of the continuing education requirements rests with the
CRNP. Documentation shall be submitted with the bien-
nial renewal application by those CRNPs with prescrip-
tive authority seeking to renew their prescriptive author-
ity. The evidence to support fulfillment of those
requirements shall be maintained for 5 years after the
completion of educational courses. The certificate issued
by the course provider under § 21.334(b), (c) or (e)
(relating to sources of continuing education) shall be
acceptable documentation. Acceptable documentation of
hours obtained through § 21.334(d) or (f) shall be the
Board approval letter sent to the applicant.

(c) Falsification of information required under this
section or failure to complete the requirements of
§ 21.332 (relating to requirement of continuing educa-
tion) by those who continue to prescribe, may result in
the withdrawal of prescriptive authority, the suspension
or revocation of certification as a nurse practitioner, the
suspension or revocation of any nursing license held by
the licensee, and the imposition of a civil penalty.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 02-2058. Filed for public inspection November 15, 2002, 9:00 a.m.]
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