
THE COURTS
Title 204—JUDICIAL
SYSTEM GENERAL

PROVISIONS
PART VII. ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF

PENNSYLVANIA COURTS
[204 PA. CODE CH. 211]

Promulgation of Consumer Price Index and Judi-
cial Salaries pursuant to Act 51 of 1995; No. 247
Judicial Administration; Doc. No. 1

Order
Per Curiam:

And Now, this 27th day of November, 2002, pursuant to
Article V, Section 10(c) of the Pennsylvania Constitution
and Section 1721 of the Judicial Code, 42 Pa.C.S. § 1721,
it is hereby Ordered that the Court Administrator of
Pennsylvania is authorized to obtain and publish in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin the percentage increase in the
Philadelphia-Wilmington-Atlantic City, PA-NJ-DE-MD,
Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U)
for the most recent 12-month period and the judicial
salary amounts effective January 1, 2003, as required by
Act 51 of 1995, amending the Public Official Compensa-
tion Law, Act of September 30, 1983 (P. L. 160, No. 39), 65
P. S. § 366.1 et seq.

Annex A
TITLE 204. JUDICIAL SYSTEM GENERAL

PROVISIONS
PART VII. ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF

PENNSYLVANIA COURTS
CHAPTER 211. CONSUMER PRICE INDEX

§ 211.1. Consumer Price Index.
Pursuant to Article V, Section 10(c) of the Pennsylvania

Constitution and Section 1721 of the Judicial Code, 42
Pa.C.S. § 1721, the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania has
authorized the Court Administrator to obtain and publish
in the Pennsylvania Bulletin the percentage increase in
the Consumer Price Index for the most recent 12-month
period and the judicial salaries effective January 1, 2003,
as required by Act 51 of 1995, amending the Public
Official Compensation Law, Act of September 30, 1983
(P. L. 160, No. 39), 65 P. S. § 366.1 et seq. See, No. 247
Judicial Administration Docket No. 1.

The Court Administrator of Pennsylvania reports that
the percentage of increase in the Philadelphia-
Wilmington-Atlantic City, PA-NJ-DE-MD, Consumer Price
Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U), for the 12-month
period ending October 2002, was 1.6 percent. (See, U.S.
Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Series
CUURA102SAO, Tuesday, November 19, 2002).

The Court Administrator of Pennsylvania also reports
that the following judicial salaries are adopted to imple-
ment Act 51 of 1995:
§ 211.2. Judicial salaries effective January 1, 2003.

(a) Supreme Court.—The annual salary of the Chief
Justice of the Supreme Court shall be $143,372 and the
annual salary of each of the other justices of the Supreme
Court shall be $139,585.

(b) Superior Court.—The annual salary of the Presi-
dent Judge of the Superior Court shall be $137,254 and
the annual salary of the other judges of the Superior
Court shall be $135,213.

(c) Commonwealth Court.—The annual salary of the
President Judge of the Commonwealth Court shall be
$137,254. The annual salary of each of the other judges of
the Commonwealth Court shall be $135,213.

(d) Courts of common pleas.—
(1) The annual salary of a president judge of a court of

common pleas shall be fixed in accordance with the
following schedule:

(i) Allegheny County, $123,557.
(ii) Philadelphia County, $124,140.
(iii) Judicial districts having six or more judges,

$122,392.
(iv) Judicial districts having three to five judges,

$121,809.
(v) Judicial districts having one or two judges,

$121,225.
(vi) Administrative judges of the divisions of the Court

of Common Pleas of Philadelphia County with divisions of
six or more judges, $122,392.

(vii) Administrative judges of the divisions of the Court
of Common Pleas of Philadelphia County with divisions of
five or less judges, $121,809.

(viii) Administrative judges of the divisions of the
Court of Common Pleas of Allegheny County with divi-
sions of six or more judges, $122,392.

(ix) Administrative judges of the divisions of the Court
of Common Pleas of Allegheny County with divisions of
five or less judges, $121,809.

(2) The other judges of the courts of common pleas
shall be paid an annual salary of $121,225.

(e) Philadelphia Municipal Court.—The President
Judge of the Philadelphia Municipal Court shall receive
an annual salary of $120,060. The annual salary for the
other judges of the Philadelphia Municipal Court shall be
$118,021.

(f) Philadelphia Traffic Court.—The President Judge of
the Philadelphia Traffic Court shall receive an annual
salary of $64,111. The annual salary for the other judges
of the Philadelphia Traffic Court shall be $63,529.

(g) District justices. —A district justice shall receive an
annual salary payable by the Commonwealth of $60,031.

(h) Senior judges.—The compensation of the senior
judges pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S. § 4121 (relating to assign-
ment of judges) shall be $371 per day. In any calendar
year the amount of compensation which a senior judge
shall be permitted to earn as a senior judge shall not
when added to retirement income paid by the Common-
wealth for such senior judge exceed the compensation
payable by the Commonwealth to a judge then in regular
active service on the court from which said senior judge
retired. A senior judge who so elects may serve without
being paid all or any portion of the compensation pro-
vided by this section.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 02-2211. Filed for public inspection December 13, 2002, 9:00 a.m.]
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Title 234—RULES OF
CRIMINAL PROCEDURE

[234 PA. CODE CH. 7]
Post-Sentence Motions: Time for Appeal; Court

Order; Reconsideration

The Criminal Procedural Rules Committee is planning
to recommend that the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania
amend Pa.R.Crim.P. 720 (Post-Sentence Procedures; Ap-
peal) to further clarify that (1) the time for an appeal
when a post-sentence motion is not timely filed is the
date of the imposition of sentence; (2) the judge’s order
denying a post-sentence motion must be entered promptly
and must contain the notice information required by the
rule; and (3) the judge may not vacate sentence. This
proposal has not been submitted for review by the
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania.

The following explanatory Report highlights the Com-
mittee’s considerations in formulating this proposal.
Please note that the Committee’s Report should not be
confused with the official Committee Comments to the
rules. Also note that the Supreme Court does not adopt
the Committee’s Comments or the contents of the ex-
planatory Reports.

We request that interested persons submit suggestions,
comments, or objections concerning this proposal in writ-
ing to the Committee through counsel,

Anne T. Panfil, Chief Staff Counsel
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania
Criminal Procedural Rules Committee
5035 Ritter Road, Suite 800
Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
fax: (717) 795-2106
e-mail: criminal.rules@supreme.court.state.pa.us

no later than Tuesday, January 21, 2003.
By the Criminal Procedural Rules Committee

JOHN J. DRISCOLL,
Chair

Annex A
TITLE 234. RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE

PART I. GENERAL
CHAPTER 7. POST-TRIAL PROCEDURES IN

COURT CASES
PART B. Post-Sentence Procedures

Rule 720. Post-Sentence Procedures; Appeal.
(A) TIMING.

* * * * *
(3) If the defendant does not file a timely post-

sentence motion, the defendant’s notice of appeal shall be
filed within 30 days of imposition of sentence, except as
provided in paragraph (A)(4).

(4) If the Commonwealth files a timely motion to
modify sentence pursuant to Rule 721, the defendant’s
notice of appeal shall be filed within 30 days of the entry
of the order disposing of the Commonwealth’s motion.

(B) OPTIONAL POST-SENTENCE MOTION.
* * * * *

(3) Time Limits for Decision on Motion.
* * * * *

(c) When a post-sentence motion is denied by operation
of law, the clerk of courts shall forthwith enter an order
on behalf of the court, and [ shall ], as provided in
Rule 114, forthwith [ furnish ] shall serve a copy of the
order [ by mail or personal delivery to ] on the
attorney for the Commonwealth, the defendant(s), and
defense counsel that the post-sentence motion is deemed
denied. This order is not subject to reconsideration.

(d) If the judge denies the post-sentence motion,
the judge promptly shall enter an order that shall
include the information required by paragraph
(B)(4), and the order shall be filed and served as
provided in Rule 114.

[ (d) ] (e) * * *

Comment

* * * * *
TIMING

* * * * *

If no timely post-sentence motion is filed, the defen-
dant’s appeal period runs from the date sentence is
imposed. See paragraph (A)(3). Under paragraph (A)(4),
however, when the defendant has not filed a post-
sentence motion but the Commonwealth files a timely
motion to modify sentence under Rule 721, it is the entry
of the order disposing of the Commonwealth’s motion that
commences the 30-day period during which the defen-
dant’s notice of appeal must be filed. See Rule
721(B)(2)(b).

* * * * *

DISPOSITION

* * * * *

If the trial judge decides the motion within the time
limits of this rule, the judge may [ reconsider that
decision ] grant reconsideration on the post-
sentence motion pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S. § 5505 or
Pa.R.A.P. 1701.1, but the judge may not vacate the
sentence pending reconsideration. Rule 720(B)(3). The
reconsideration period may not be used to extend the
timing requirements set forth in paragraph (B)(3) for
decision on the post-sentence motion: the time limits
imposed by paragraphs (B)(3)(a) and (B)(3)(b) continue to
run from the date the post-sentence motion was originally
filed. The trial judge’s reconsideration must therefore be
resolved within the 120-day decision period of paragraph
(B)(3)(a) or the 30-day extension period of paragraph
(B)(3)(b), whichever applies. If a decision on the reconsid-
eration is not reached within the appropriate period, the
post-sentence motion, including any issues raised for
reconsideration, will be denied pursuant to paragraph
(B)(3)(c).

* * * * *

Official Note: Previous Rule 1410, adopted May 22,
1978, effective as to cases in which sentence is imposed
on or after July 1, 1978; rescinded March 22, 1993,
effective as to cases in which the determination of guilt
occurs on or after January 1, 1994, and replaced by
present Rule 1410. Present Rule 1410 adopted March 22,
1993 and amended December 17, 1993, effective as to
cases in which the determination of guilt occurs on or
after January 1, 1994; amended September 13, 1995,
effective January 1, 1996. The January 1, 1996 effective
date extended to April 1, 1996; the April 1, 1996 effective
date extended to July 1, 1996. Comment revised Septem-
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ber 26, 1996, effective January 1, 1997; amended August
22, 1997, effective January 1, 1998; Comment revised
October 15, 1997, effective January 1, 1998; amended
July 9, 1999, effective January 1, 2000; renumbered Rule
720 and amended March 1, 2000, effective April 1, 2001;
amended , 2003, effective , 2003.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

* * * * *

Report explaining the proposed clarifying
changes to Rule 720 published at 32 Pa.B. 6077
(December 14, 2002).

REPORT

Proposed amendments to Rule 720
Post-Sentence Motions: Time For Appeal; Court Order;

Reconsideration

INTRODUCTION

The Committee has continued to monitor Rule 720
(Post-Sentence Procedures; Appeals) since its adoption in
1993. As a result of this monitoring, on several occasions
while reaffirming the Rule 720 procedures as adopted, the
Committee has recommended a few changes to clarify the
intent and purpose of the rule.1 Since the Court’s most
recent changes in 1999, two additional issues have been
raised with the Committee that we concluded necessitate
further clarification in Rule 720.2

First, there continues to be some confusion about the
time for appeal when a defendant files an untimely
post-sentence motion. Second, there is some confusion
about the content of the judge’s order denying a post-
sentence motion.

The Committee considered these issues and concluded
the post-sentence procedures in Rule 720 are meeting the
needs of the criminal justice system without unduly
burdening the courts. However, in an exercise of caution
and as an aid to the trial and appellate courts, as
explained below, the Committee is proposing a few addi-
tional changes to provide further clarification in the rule
and Comment with regard to the time for appeal and the
content of the judge’s order.

DISCUSSION

1. Untimely Post-Sentence Motions

An issue that has come up from time to time in the
case law concerns the time for appeal when a defendant
files a post-sentence motion beyond the 10-day time limit
of Rule 720(A)(1) and, notwithstanding the untimeliness
of the motion, the trial court disposes of the motion.
Although the appellate courts have determined in these
cases the time for appeal runs from the imposition of
sentence and quashed the appeals, in dicta and in some
concurring and dissenting opinions, some appellate court

judges have suggested Rule 720 should provide a mecha-
nism for the trial judge to decide these untimely mo-
tions.3

The Committee reviewed the case law and the Commit-
tee’s Rule 720 history,4 and concluded Rule 720 should
not be amended to permit the trial judge to dispose of the
untimely filed post-sentence motion. Post-sentence mo-
tions are optional, and the defendant has not lost the
opportunity for post-sentence review if the trial judge is
not authorized to dispose of untimely filed post-sentence
motions. The review just will occur in the Superior Court.
Furthermore, to permit the trial judge to vacate sentence
within the 30-day time period permitted by 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 5505 would be completely contrary to the purpose of
the rule, and would open the door for the potential
recurrence of the types of abuses the Court eliminated
with the adoption of Rule 720.

The Committee agreed, however, as an aid to the bench
and bar, that Rule 720(A)(3) and (A)(4) should be
amended by the addition of ‘‘timely’’ before ‘‘post-sentence
motion.’’ Although we believe the rule is clear without
these proposed changes, adding ‘‘timely’’ will remove any
doubt about the intent of these provisions.

The Committee also is proposing a correlative revision
to the fourth paragraph of the ‘‘Disposition’’ section of the
Comment. We reviewed the rule and Comment, and the
Rule 720 history, in view of the suggestions by some
Superior Court judges that pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S. § 5505
the trial judge should be able to vacate sentence to decide
an untimely filed post-sentence motion, and the fact that
some trial judges have been using 42 Pa.C.S. § 5505 to
vacate sentence to extend the time for decision on the
post-sentence motion. We noted as part of the 1997
changes to Rule 720, which had been intended to provide
further clarification that the trial judge may not vacate
sentence under Rule 720, that the specific references to
42 Pa.C.S. § 5505 and Pa.R.A.P. 1701 were deleted. The
Committee agreed the rule would be clearer if these
references were again included in the Comment.
2. Judge’s Order

The other issue addressed by the Committee concerns
the content of the judge’s order denying a post-sentence
motion. Apparently, because Rule 720(B)(3) does not
address the trial judge issuing an order, there is some
confusion about the procedures for the entry, filing, and
service of the judges’ orders and the contents of the
orders. The Committee recognized that, in this area, it is
important to ensure the defendant receives notice of the
denial of the post-sentence motion as soon as possible in
view of the 30-day appeal period.5 We therefore agreed to
propose an amendment to Rule 720, adding a new
paragraph (B)(3)(d) that will make it clear that (1) the
trial judge must promptly enter his or her order, (2) the
order must include all the information required by para-
graph (B)(4), and (3) the order must be filed and served
as provided in Rule 114 (Notice and Docketing of Orders).
We also are proposing a correlative amendment to para-

1 For example, in 1997, the Court amended Rule 720, inter alia, to make it clear that
the judge may not vacate sentence, see Committee’s explanatory Final Report at 27
Pa.B. 4553 (9/6/97), and in 1999, amended the rule to clarify the procedures when a
defendant withdraws a post-sentence motion, see Committee’s explanatory Final
Report at 29 Pa.B. 3836 (7/24/99).

2 One issue the Committee declined to address concerns the ongoing problem with
obtaining trial transcripts in a timely manner, particularly when new counsel enters
the case after trial but before post-sentence motions or a notice of appeal are filed. The
Committee recognizes that there continues to be problems for the members of the bar
in obtaining trial transcripts and meeting the time requirements of the Rules of
Criminal and Appellate Procedure, but we do not think these are problems that can be
resolved by the Criminal Rules. See discussion in section (3)(b) (Transcript Prepara-
tion), 23 Pa.B. 1701, 1704 (4/10/93).

3 See, for example, Judge Popovich’s opinion in Commonwealth v. Felmlee, 2002 PA
Super 179 (June 7, 2002), footnote 2, and Judge Klein’s concurring and dissenting
opinion in Felmlee. (The Superior Court has withdrawn Felmlee and granted en banc
reconsideration.)

4 See Committee Final Reports explaining the provisions of new Rule 1410 (now Rule
720) and the 1997 amendments, in particular the explanation of the optional nature of
the post-sentence motion and the interplay of Rule 720 with 42 Pa.C.S. § 5505 and
Pa.R.A.P. 1701, at 23 Pa.B. 1699 (4/10/93), 24 Pa.B. 334 (1/15/94), and 27 Pa.B. 4553
(9/6/97).

5 The appeal period runs from the entry of the order, whether it is the judge’s order
denying the motion or the order entered by the clerk of courts denying the motion by
operation of law. See 24 Pa.B. 334 (1/15/94). The Comment refers to Pa.R.A.P. 108
(Date of Entry of Orders) that provides ‘‘in computing any period of time under these
rules involving the date of entry of an order . . ., the day of entry shall be the day the
clerk of court . . . mails or delivers copies of the order to the parties. . . .’’
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graph (B)(3)(c) to reference Rule 114 for the service
requirements for the order entered on behalf of the court
by the clerk of courts when a post-sentence motion is
denied by operation of law.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 02-2212. Filed for public inspection December 13, 2002, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 246—MINOR COURT
CIVIL RULES

PART I. GENERAL
[246 PA. CODE CH. 200]

Order Amending Rule 206 of the Rules of Conduct,
Office Standards and Civil Procedure for District
Justices; No. 138; Magisterial Doc. No. 1; Book
No. 2

The Minor Court Rules Committee has prepared a
Final Report explaining the amendments to Rule 206 of
the Rules of Conduct, Office Standards and Civil Proce-
dure for District Justices, effective January 1, 2003.
These rule changes clarify that a party who has been
allowed to proceed in forma pauperis pursuant to Rule
206 is not required to pay service costs. The changes also
provide for minor technical or ‘‘housekeeping’’ amend-
ments to the rule. The Final Report follows the Court’s
Order.

Order
Per Curiam:

And Now, this 25th day of November, 2002, upon the
recommendation of the Minor Court Rules Committee;
the proposal having been published before adoption at 31
Pa.B. 5793 (October 20, 2001), and a Final Report to be
published with this Order:

It Is Ordered pursuant to Article V, Section 10 of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania that Rule 206 of the Rules
of Conduct, Office Standards and Civil Procedure for
District Justices is amended in the following form.

This Order shall be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(b), and shall be effective January 1,
2003.

Annex A
TITLE 246. MINOR COURT CIVIL RULES

PART I. GENERAL

CHAPTER 200. RULES OF CONSTRUCTION;
GENERAL PROVISIONS

Rule 206. [ Fees. ] Costs; Proceedings In Forma
Pauperis.

A. Except as otherwise provided by law, the [ fees ]
costs for filing and service of the complaint shall be paid
at the time of filing.

B. Except as otherwise provided by subdivision C of
this rule, the prevailing party in district justice proceed-
ings shall be entitled to recover [ his ] taxable costs from
the unsuccessful [ litigant ] party. Such costs shall
consist of all filing, personal service, witness, and execu-
tion costs [ or fees ] authorized by [ law ] Act of
Assembly or general rule and paid by the prevailing
party.

C. Taxable costs on appeal or certiorari shall be paid
by the unsuccessful party, and a plaintiff who appeals
shall be considered an unsuccessful party if he or she
does not obtain on appeal a judgment more favorable
than that [ which he ] obtained in the district justice
proceeding. A defendant who prevails on certiorari pro-
ceedings brought by [ him ] the defendant or who
obtains a favorable judgment [ in his favor ] upon
appeal by either party shall not be liable for costs
incurred by the plaintiff in the preceding district justice
proceeding and may recover [ his ] taxable costs in that
proceeding from the plaintiff. A plaintiff who is unsuccess-
ful in the district justice proceeding may recover [ his ]
taxable costs in that proceeding from the defendant if
[ he ] the plaintiff is successful on appeal, and in that
event the defendant may not recover [ his ] costs in the
district justice proceeding from the plaintiff.

* * * * *

Official Note: ‘‘Execution’’ costs [ or fees ] include
those for executing an order for possession. The items
constituting taxable costs in appeal or certiorari proceed-
ings will be governed by law or general rule applicable in
the court of common pleas.

[ ‘‘Service ] Under subdivision B, “personal ser-
vice . . . [ costs or fees’’ refer ] costs” refers only to
personal service since mail costs are to be borne by the
plaintiff in all cases in accordance with Section 1725.1 of
the Judicial Code, 42 Pa.C.S. § 1725.1.

This rule does not provide for the assessment of
filing costs against an unsuccessful plaintiff who
has been permitted to proceed in forma pauperis
and who remains indigent. See Brady v. Ford, 451
Pa. Super. 363, 679 A.2d 837 (1996).

For special provisions governing [ proceedings in
forma pauperis, see Section ] actions pursuant to
the Protection From Abuse Act, see Sections 6106(b)
and (c) of the Domestic Relations Code, 23 Pa.C.S.[ ,
Section ] §§ 6106(b) and (c).

E. Proceedings In Forma Pauperis

* * * * *

(ii) Except as provided by [ subdivision ] subpara-
graph (iii), the party shall file a petition and affidavit in
the form prescribed by [ subdivision ] subparagraph
(vi). The petition may not be filed prior to the commence-
ment of the action, which action shall be accepted in the
first instance, without the payment of [ a ] filing [ fee ]
costs.

Except as prescribed by [ subdivision ] subpara-
graph (iii), the District Justice shall act promptly upon
the petition and shall enter [ an order ] a determina-
tion within five days from the date of the filing of the
petition. If the petition is denied, in whole or in part, the
District Justice shall briefly state the reasons therefor.
[ In this case the ] The unsuccessful petitioner may
proceed no further so long as such [ fee remains ] costs
remain unpaid.

(iii) If the party is represented by an attorney, the
District Justice shall allow the party to proceed in forma
pauperis upon the filing of a praecipe which contains a
certification by the attorney that [ he ] the attorney is
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providing free legal service to the party and [ that he ]
believes the party is unable to pay the costs.

(iv) A party permitted to proceed in forma pauperis
shall not be required to pay [ the filing fee ] any costs
imposed or authorized by Act of Assembly or general rule
which are payable to any court or any public
officer or employee.

[ Such ] The district justice shall inform a party
[ shall be informed ] permitted to proceed in forma
pauperis of the option to serve the complaint by mail in
the manner permitted by [ the Rules of Civil Proce-
dure Governing Actions And Proceedings Before
District Justices ] these rules.

A party permitted to proceed in forma pauperis
has a continuing obligation to inform the court of
improvement in the party’s financial circumstances
which will enable the party to pay costs.

(v) If there is a monetary recovery by judgment or
settlement in favor of the party permitted to proceed in
forma pauperis, the exonerated [ fees ] costs shall be
taxed as costs and paid to the District Justice by the
party paying the monetary recovery. In no event shall the
exonerated [ fee ] costs be paid to the indigent party.

(vi) The petition for leave to proceed in forma pauperis
and affidavit shall be substantially in the following form:

[Caption]

Petition

I hereby request that I be permitted to proceed in
forma pauperis (without payment of the filing [ fee ] and
service costs). In support of this I state the following:

1. I am the plaintiff in the above matter and because of
my financial condition am unable to pay the [ fee ] costs
for filing and service of this action.

2. I am unable to obtain funds from anyone, including
my family and associates, to pay the costs of litigation.

3. I represent that the information below relating to
my ability to pay the [ fees and ] costs is true and
correct:

* * * * *

[ Comment ]
Official Note: This Rule substantially follows

Pa.R.C.P. No. 240. Under subparagraph E(iv), ‘‘any
costs’’ includes all filing, service, witness, and ex-
ecution costs.

Adopted April 25, 1979, effective in 30 days. Amended
June 30, 1982, effective 30 days after July 17, 1982;
amended effective Sept. 18, 1990; amended March 27,
1992, effective June 25, 1992 [ The March 27, 1992,
Order provided in part: ‘‘In promulgating this Or-
der, the Court recognizes that the District Justice
Automation Project will be affected by said Rule
changes and that, therefore, those Rules which
affect the Project will become effective as the
District Justice offices are brought on-line.’’ ];
amended November 25, 2002, effective January 1,
2003.

FINAL REPORT1

Amendment to Pa. R.C.P.D.J. No. 206

AMENDMENT TO RULE 206 TO CLARIFY THAT A
PARTY WHO HAS BEEN ALLOWED TO PROCEED IN
FORMA PAUPERIS PURSUANT TO RULE 206 IS NOT

REQUIRED TO PAY SERVICE COSTS

On November 25, 2002, effective January 1, 2003, upon
the recommendation of the Minor Court Rules Commit-
tee,2 the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania amended Rule
206 of the Rules of Conduct, Office Standards and Civil
Procedure for District Justices.3

I. Background

The Committee undertook a review of Rule 206 in
response to an inquiry from the Administrative Office of
Pennsylvania Courts (AOPC). The AOPC asked the Com-
mittee to review the issue of whether a party who has
been allowed to proceed in forma pauperis as provided by
Rule 206 is required to pay constable (service) costs. The
AOPC noted that Rule 206E provides that a party who is
unable to pay the costs of litigation shall be entitled to
proceed in forma pauperis, and that the rule further
provides that a party permitted to proceed in forma
pauperis shall not be required to pay the filing fee
imposed or authorized by Act of Assembly or general rule.
The AOPC further noted that Rule 206 is silent as to
whether payment of service costs is required by a party
proceeding in forma pauperis. Upon review of the rule,
the Committee noted that the Note to Rule 206 states
that the rule ‘‘substantially follows Pa.R.C.P. No. 240,’’
which appears to specifically exempt all costs. Pa.R.C.P.
No. 240(f)(1) provides that ‘‘a party permitted to proceed
in forma pauperis shall not be required to pay any costs
or fee imposed or authorized by Act of Assembly or
general rule which is payable to any court or prothono-
tary or any public officer or employee.’’

After review and discussion, the Committee agreed that
Rule 206 is inconsistent with Pa.R.C.P. No. 240 in that
Rule 206 refers only to filing fees and is silent as to the
payment of service costs by parties who are permitted to
proceed in forma pauperis. Further, the Committee
agreed that it is well settled that such parties should not
be required to pay service costs. Accordingly, the Commit-
tee recommended that Rule 206 be amended to make this
clarification and to more closely mirror Pa.R.C.P. No. 240.

In conjunction with the amendment to the rule de-
scribed above, the Committee also recognized the need for
several technical or ‘‘housekeeping’’ amendments to this
rule.

II. Discussion of Rule Changes

First, as noted above, the Committee recommended
that Rule 206E(iv) be amended to closely resemble
Pa.R.C.P. No. 240(f)(1), thereby clarifying that a party
permitted to proceed in forma pauperis shall not be
required to pay ‘‘any costs’’ including filing, service,
witness, and execution costs.

Also, the Committee recommended a further amend-
ment to Rule 206E(iv) to include a provision similar to
Pa.R.C.P. No. 240(e) to make clear that a party permitted
to proceed in forma pauperis has a continuing obligation
to inform the court of improvement in the party’s finan-
cial circumstances which would enable the party to pay
costs. The Committee noted that such a provision is
included in the in forma pauperis petition form (Rule
206E(vi)), but is not specified in the rule itself.

1 The Committee’s Final Report should not be confused with the official Committee
Notes to the Rules. Also, the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania does not adopt the
Committee’s Notes or the contents of the Committee’s explanatory Final Reports.

2 Recommendation No. 3 Minor Court Rules 2002.
3 Supreme Court of Pennsylvania Order No. 138, Magisterial Docket No. 1, Book No.

2 (November 25, 2002).
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The Committee also recommended a revision to the
Note to clarify that the rule does not provide for the
assessment of filing costs against an unsuccessful plain-
tiff who has been permitted to proceed in forma pauperis
and who remains indigent. As authority for this, the
Committee recommended that a reference to Brady v.
Ford, 679 A.2d 837 (Pa. Super. Ct. 1996), be added to the
Note.

Finally, in conjunction with the amendments and revi-
sions described above, the Committee also recognized the
need for minor changes to the rule and its Note to make
other minor clarifications, to address gender neutrality
issues, to correct citation form, and to conform with
modern drafting style.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 02-2213. Filed for public inspection December 13, 2002, 9:00 a.m.]

PART I. GENERAL
[246 PA. CODE CH. 200]

Order Adopting New Rule 212 of the Rules of
Conduct, Office Standards and Civil Procedure
for District Justices; No. 139; Magisterial Doc.
No. 1; Book No. 2

The Minor Court Rules Committee has prepared a
Final Report explaining the new Rule 212 of the Rules of
Conduct, Office Standards and Civil Procedure for Dis-
trict Justices, effective January 1, 2003. This new rule
provides for the design of forms. The Final Report follows
the Court’s Order.

Order

Per Curiam:

And Now, this 25th day of November, 2002, upon the
recommendation of the Minor Court Rules Committee;
the proposal having been published before adoption at 31
Pa.B. 7028 (December 29, 2001), and a Final Report to be
published with this Order:

It Is Ordered pursuant to Article V, Section 10 of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania that new Rule 212 of the
Rules of Conduct, Office Standards and Civil Procedure
for District Justices is adopted in the following form.

This Order shall be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(b), and shall be effective January 1,
2003.

Annex A

TITLE 246. MINOR COURT CIVIL RULES

PART I. GENERAL

CHAPTER 200. RULES OF CONSTRUCTION;
GENERAL PROVISIONS

Rule 212. Design of Forms.

The Court Administrator of Pennsylvania, in consulta-
tion with the Minor Court Rules Committee, shall design
and publish forms necessary to implement these rules.

Adopted November 25, 2002, effective January 1, 2003.

FINAL REPORT1

New Pa. R.C.P.D.J. No. 212

DESIGN OF FORMS

On November 25, 2002, effective January 1, 2003, upon
the recommendation of the Minor Court Rules Commit-
tee,2 the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania adopted new
Rule 212 of the Rules of Conduct, Office Standards and
Civil Procedure for District Justices.3

Proceedings in district justice courts, more so than in
other courts, rely heavily on the use of preprinted stan-
dard forms. Forms are used for basic pleadings, notices,
and virtually all other case-related documents. Most
forms used in district justice proceedings are computer
generated, produced by the District Justice Automated
System (DJS). Traditionally, when individual rules have
specified that a form is to be used for a certain document,
the rules have made reference to ‘‘a form prescribed by
the State Court Administrator.’’ In drafting proposed new
rules and amendments to existing rules, the Committee
has decided that the use of this language in individual
rules is cumbersome and unnecessary.

As an alternative, the Committee recommended an
entirely new Pa.R.C.P.D.J. No. 212 to be a general rule
regarding the design of forms. In recommending such a
rule, the Committee contemplated that references to
forms in individual rules could be eliminated, except
where the content of a form is to be expressly dictated by
the rule.

The new rule, which is modeled after Pa.R.Crim.P. 104,
provides that ‘‘[t]he Court Administrator of Pennsylvania,
in consultation with the Minor Court Rules Committee,
shall design and publish forms necessary to implement
these rules.’’

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 02-2214. Filed for public inspection December 13, 2002, 9:00 a.m.]

PART I. GENERAL
[246 PA. CODE CH. 500]

Order Amending Rule 512 and Revising the Note
to Rule 514 of the Rules of Conduct, Office
Standards and Civil Procedure for District Jus-
tices; No. 140; Magisterial Doc. No. 1; Book No.
2

The Minor Court Rules Committee has prepared a
Final Report explaining the amendments and revisions to
the Notes to Rules 512 and 514 of the Rules of Conduct,
Office Standards and Civil Procedure for District Justices,
effective July 1, 2003. These rule changes clarify that the
plaintiff/landlord in a landlord and tenant case must
appear at the hearing and give testimony, and that a
district justice may not enter a default judgment in a
landlord and tenant case. The changes also provide for
minor technical or ‘‘housekeeping’’ amendments to these
rules. The Final Report follows the Court’s Order.

Order

Per Curiam:
1 The Committee’s Final Report should not be confused with the official Committee

Notes to the Rules. Also, the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania does not adopt the
Committee’s Notes or the contents of the Committee’s explanatory Final Reports.

2 Recommendation No. 2 Minor Court Rules 2002.
3 Supreme Court of Pennsylvania Order No. 139, Magisterial Docket No. 1, Book No.

2 (November 25, 2002).
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And Now, this 25th day of November, 2002, upon the
recommendation of the Minor Court Rules Committee;
the proposal having been published before adoption at 30
Pa.B. 6547 (December 23, 2000), and a Final Report to be
published with this Order:

It Is Ordered pursuant to Article V, Section 10 of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania that Rule 512 of the Rules
of Conduct, Office Standards and Civil Procedure for
District Justices is amended, and the Note to Rule 514 of
the Rules of Conduct, Office Standards and Civil Proce-
dure for District Justices is revised, in the following form.

This Order shall be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(b), and shall be effective July 1, 2003.

Annex A

TITLE 246. MINOR COURT CIVIL RULES

PART I. GENERAL

CHAPTER 500. ACTIONS FOR THE RECOVERY OF
POSSESSION OF REAL PROPERTY

Rule 512. Hearings and Evidence.

A. The plaintiff must appear at the hearing and
present testimony in an action for the recovery of
possession of real property.

B. The district justice shall be bound by the rules of
evidence, except that a bill, estimate, receipt or statement
of account which appears to have been made in the
regular course of business may be introduced in evidence
by any party without affidavit or other evidence of its
truth, accuracy or authenticity.

Official Note: Subdivision A of this rule is in-
tended to make clear that the district justice may
not enter a default judgment in a possessory action,
including a judgment for money only. The plaintiff
must appear and give testimony to prove the com-
plaint even when the defendant fails to appear for
the hearing. See Rule 514A and Note. See also
Section 503(a) of The Landlord and Tenant Act of
1951, 68 P. S. § 250.503(a). When the plaintiff fails to
appear at the hearing, the district justice may
continue the hearing for cause or dismiss the com-
plaint without prejudice.

[ This ] Subdivision B of this rule is the same as
Rule 321 of the [ trespass and assumpsit ] civil action
rules.

Amended June 30, 1982, effective 30 days after July 17,
1982; amended November 25, 2002, effective July 1,
2003.

Rule 514. Judgment.

* * * * *

Official Note: Subdivision A of this rule requires
that the plaintiff appear and give testimony to
prove the complaint before the district justice can
enter judgment against the defendant, even when
the defendant fails to appear for the hearing. The
district justice may not enter a default judgment in
a possessory action, including a judgment for
money only. See Rule 512A and Note. The various
issues that the district justice must determine at
the hearing include: whether notice to quit was
given to the defendant in accordance with law or
that no notice was required under the terms of the
lease; the amount of rent due, if any; damages to
the leasehold premises, if any; the amount found to

constitute the monthly rental, and; the amount of
the security deposit held by the landlord, if any.

As to the notice to quit requirement, see Section
501 of The Landlord and Tenant Act of 1951, 68 P. S.
§ 250.501. See also Patrycia Bros., Inc. v. McKeefrey,
38 Pa. D. & C.2d 149 (Delaware County C.P. 1966).

The separate entries provided in Subdivision A are
made necessary as a result of the rental deposit provi-
sions for appeal or certiorari contained in
[ Pa. R.C.P.D.J. Nos. 1008.B. and 1013.B. ] Rules
1008B and 1013B, as well as the wage attachment
provisions contained in [ Act 5 of 1996 ] Section 8127
of the Judicial Code, 42 Pa.C.S. § 8127.

* * * * *

Amended April 25, 1979, effective in 30 days; June 30,
1982, effective 30 days after July 17, 1982; amended
effective Dec. 1, 1983; amended March 27, 1992, effective
June 25, 1992 [ The March 27, 1992, Order provided
in part: ‘‘In promulgating this Order, the Court
recognizes that the District Justice Automation
Project will be affected by said Rule changes and
that, therefore, those Rules which affect the Project
will become effective as the District Justice offices
are brought on-line.’’ ]; March 28, 1996, effective March
29, 1996; Note revised November 25, 2002, effective
July 1, 2003.

FINAL REPORT1

Amendments and Revisions to the Notes to Pa. R.C.P.D.J.
Nos. 512 and 514

DEFAULT JUDGMENT PROHIBITED IN ACTIONS
FOR THE RECOVERY OF POSSESSION OF REAL

PROPERTY (‘‘LANDLORD/TENANT’’ ACTIONS)

On November 25, 2002, effective July 1, 2003, upon the
recommendation of the Minor Court Rules Committee,2
the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania amended or revised
the Notes to Rules 512 and 514 of the Rules of Conduct,
Office Standards and Civil Procedure for District Jus-
tices.3

I. Background

The Committee undertook a review of the issue of the
entry of default judgments in landlord/tenant actions on
its own initiative, recognizing a need for clarification in
the rules that default judgments should be prohibited in
these cases. The prohibition against default judgments in
landlord/tenant cases has for some time been referred to
in the Note to Rule 504, but the Committee felt that the
prohibition should be more prominently announced in the
rules. The Committee noted that the statewide district
justice computer system (DJS) does permit the entry of a
disposition of default judgment in landlord/tenant actions,
and that many district courts routinely enter this disposi-
tion when a defendant fails to appear for a landlord/
tenant hearing. The Committee learned that many such
dispositions are entered in the DJS every year. Accord-
ingly, the Committee recommended amendments or revi-
sions to the Notes to Rules 512 and 514 as described
below.

In considering how to clarify the prohibition of default
judgments in landlord/tenant actions, the Committee first

1 The Committee’s Final Report should not be confused with the official Committee
Notes to the Rules. Also, the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania does not adopt the
Committee’s Notes or the contents of the Committee’s explanatory Final Reports.

2 Recommendation No. 1 Minor Court Rules 2002.
3 Supreme Court of Pennsylvania Order No. 140, Magisterial Docket No. 1, Book No.

2 (November 25, 2002).
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considered whether such a prohibition is necessary and
whether it is appropriately pronounced by procedural
rule. The question was raised as to why it is necessary to
hold a perfunctory hearing when the defendant fails to
appear. The Committee acknowledged that if a plaintiff/
landlord seeks a only money judgment the matter would
be filed as a regular civil action, and not as a landlord/
tenant action. As such, if the defendant fails to appear,
there would be no need for a hearing, the plaintiff/
landlord need not appear, and the district justice may
enter judgment by default against the defendant/tenant.
It is the Committee’s opinion, however, that where the
landlord seeks possession of real property there are
certain determinations that the district justice must
make, as discussed below, requiring a hearing and the
presence of the landlord, regardless of whether or not the
tenant appears. The Committee wishes to stress that
such a hearing is often informal in nature, and can be
held even if the tenant does not appear. In stating that
there may be no default judgment in landlord/tenant
cases, it is not the Committee’s intent to suggest that the
defendant must be present before judgment may be
entered; rather, only that the landlord must appear and
give testimony before judgment may be entered.

In its analysis, the Committee reviewed the Landlord
and Tenant Act of 1951 and the existing rules to conclude
that a hearing is necessary. First, the Committee looked
to the statutory language of the Landlord and Tenant Act
of 1951, 68 P. S. § 250.101 et seq. Section 503(a) of the
Act states, inter alia:

(a) On the day and at the time appointed or on a day
to which the case may be adjourned, the justice of the
peace shall proceed to hear the case. If it appears that
the complaint has been sufficiently proven, the justice
of the peace shall enter judgment against the ten-
ant: . . . .

68 P. S. § 250.503(a) (emphasis added). This statutory
language suggests that a hearing is necessary for the
plaintiff to sufficiently prove the landlord/tenant com-
plaint.

Secondly, Rule 514 contains language similar to that
found in 68 P. S. § 250.503(a). Rule 514A states, inter
alia:

A. If it appears at the hearing that the complaint has
been proven, the district justice shall enter judgment
against the defendant that the real property be
delivered up to the plaintiff and shall enter judgment
by separate entries: . . . .

Pa. R.C.P.D.J. No. 514 (emphasis added). The language of
this rule, like that in the statute, suggests that a hearing
is necessary for the plaintiff to sufficiently prove the
landlord/tenant complaint.

As mentioned above, when a landlord seeks possession
of real property, existing Rule 514 requires that the
district justice make and record certain determinations on
the transcript or the notice of judgment. These determi-
nations include:

• a determination of the amount of rent due, if any, as
of the date of the hearing;

• a determination of the amount of damages for unjust
detention and physical damages to the property, if any,
and;

• the monthly rent amount, as is needed by the
common pleas prothonotary to properly process an appeal.

Also, the district justice must determine:

• whether notice to quit was given to the tenant in
accordance with law or that no notice was required under
the terms of the lease, because without proper notice to
quit or waiver thereof the district justice lacks jurisdic-
tion over the landlord/tenant action;4

• whether possession is sought because of non-payment
of rent or because of some other breach of the lease, so as
to determine whether the provisions of Pa.R.C.P.D.J. No.
5185 apply to the case, and;

• a determination of the security deposit amount, as is
needed to properly establish the money portion of the
judgment.

The determinations listed above cannot necessarily be
ascertained from the face of the complaint, and therefore
can be made only after hearing testimony from the
landlord. The Committee notes that if the district justice
does not hold a hearing to take testimony from the
landlord as needed to make these determinations, court
staff may be preparing notices of judgment with no
judicial determination of these issues.

Further, the Committee notes that landlords are re-
quired to appear for all landlord/tenant hearings anyway,
since there is no requirement that tenants give notice of
their intention to defend as in regular civil actions.6 As
such, these amendments do not place any additional
burden on the landlord.

Finally, the Committee noted that the recommended
amendments are intended to simply clarify and insert
existing practice into the rules. Again, the Committee
notes that the Note to Rule 504 already states ‘‘there can
be no default judgment in these possessory actions . . . .’’
Pa. R.C.P.D.J. No. 504, Note.
II. Discussion of Rule Changes
A. Default Judgments in Landlord/Tenant Actions

Having concluded that a hearing is required before a
district justice can enter judgment for the plaintiff in a
possessory action, and therefore that default judgment
should be prohibited, the Committee went on to discuss
the most appropriate way in which to incorporate this
into the rules. As previously stated, the Note to Rule 504
already states that ‘‘. . . there can be no default judgment
in these possessory actions . . . .’’ Pa. R.C.P.D.J. No. 504,
Note. The Committee considered an amendment to Rule
504, but ultimately focused its attention on Rule 512,
relating to hearings and evidence. The Committee decided
that Rule 512 should be divided into two parts. Subdivi-
sion A will now read, ‘‘The plaintiff must appear at the
hearing and present testimony in an action for the
recovery of possession of real property.’’ Subdivision B will
contain the existing language of the rule. A sentence has
also been added to the Note to clarify that the district
justice may not enter a default judgment, including a
judgment for money only.

The Committee also decided that the Note to Rule 514,
relating to judgment, should be revised to make clear that

4 In support of this, the Committee recommended that Section 501 of the Landlord
and Tenant Act of 1951, 68 P. S. § 250.501, and Patrycia Bros., Inc. v. McKeefrey, 38
Pa. D. & C.2d 149 (Delaware County C.P. 1966), be cited in the Note to Rule 514.

5 Rule 518 provides, ‘‘[a]t any time before actual delivery of the real property is made
in execution of the order for possession, the defendant may, in a case for the recovery of
possession solely because of failure to pay rent, satisfy the order for possession by
paying to the executing officer the rent actually in arrears and the costs of the
proceedings.’’ Pa.R.C.P.D.J. No. 518 (Emphasis added).

6 Pa.R.C.P.D.J. No. 305(4), relating to regular civil actions, provides for a notice to
the defendant that states, inter alia, ‘‘(a) If you [the defendant] intend to enter a
defense to the complaint, you should so notify this office immediately. . . . (c) YOU
MUST APPEAR AT THE HEARING AND PRESENT YOUR DEFENSE. UNLESS
YOU DO, JUDGMENT MAY BE ENTERED AGAINST YOU BY DEFAULT.’’ Rule 504,
relating to landlord/tenant actions, also provides for a notice to the defendant, but
requires no notice of intent to defend, and does not expressly refer to judgment by
default.
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default judgments are not permitted, and to cross refer-
ence Rule 512 with regard to this prohibition. Also, in the
Note to Rule 514, the Committee recommended a new
first paragraph to not only clarify that the plaintiff must
appear and give testimony, but also to clarify the various
issues that the district justice must determine, at the
hearing, before the district justice can enter judgment for
the plaintiff. With regard to the notice to quit require-
ment, the Committee recommended that a cross reference
to Section 501 of the Landlord and Tenant Act, and a
reference to Patrycia Bros., Inc. v. McKeefrey, 38 Pa. D. &
C.2d 149 (Delaware County C.P. 1966), be added.
B. Clarification Regarding Failure of Plaintiff to Appear

for Landlord/Tenant Hearing
In the Note to Rule 512, the Committee recommended a

revision to clarify the proper procedure when the plaintiff
fails to appear at a landlord/tenant hearing. While this
procedure is made clear in civil actions by Rule 319,
relating to failure of a party to appear at the hearing,
there is no analogous rule in the 500 Series, nor did the
Committee believe that such a rule would be necessary.
The recommended revision to the Note, however, would
simply clarify that when the plaintiff fails to appear at
the hearing, the district justice may continue the hearing
for cause or dismiss the complaint without prejudice.
C. Technical and ‘‘Housekeeping’’ Amendments

In conjunction with the substantive changes discussed
above, the Committee identified a number of technical
and ‘‘housekeeping’’ amendments needed in Rules 512 and
514. In the notes to both rules, the Committee recom-
mended minor changes to correct citation form and to
make references to other rules more consistent.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 02-2215. Filed for public inspection December 13, 2002, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 255—LOCAL
COURT RULES

CARBON COUNTY
Amendment of Local Rules of Civil Procedure

L1915.3, L1915.4 and L1915.4-1; No. 01-1115

Administrative Order 15-2002
And Now, this 26th day of November, 2002, in order to

streamline the procedure and provide efficient and consis-
tent filing procedures, it is hereby

Ordered and Decreed that effective January 1, 2003, the
Carbon County Court of Common Pleas hereby Amends
Local Rules of Civil Procedure L1915.3 governing the
procedure for Prosecution of Action, L1915.4 governing
the procedure for Prompt Disposition of Custody Cases
and Mandatory Education Program for Parents in Cus-
tody Cases, and L1915.4-1 governing Alternative Hearing
Procedures for Partial Custody or Visitation Cases.

The Carbon County District Court Administrator is
Ordered and Directed to do the following:

1. File seven (7) certified copies of this Administrative
Order with the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania
Courts.

2. File two (2) certified copies and one (1) diskette with
the Legislative Reference Bureau for publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.

3. File one (1) certified copy with the Pennsylvania
Civil Procedural Rules Committee.

4. Forward one (1) copy for publication in the Carbon
County Law Journal.

5. Forward one (1) copy to the Carbon County Law
Library.

6. Keep continuously available for public inspection a
copy of the Order in the Prothonotary’s Office.
By the Court

RICHARD W. WEBB,
President Judge

Rule L1915.3—Prosecution of Action.

When a claim for custody, partial custody or visitation
is made in a complaint, petition, or counterclaim, such
pleading shall comply with Pa.R.C.P. 1915.15(a) or (b) and
shall have attached an Order of the Court referring the
claim to the Hearing Officer for an initial conference and
a Pre-trial Conciliation Information Form which will be
substantially in the same form as ‘‘Form A’’ and ‘‘Form B’’
following this rule. A second order shall be attached to
the front of the complaint/petition as required by Local
Rule L1915.4 Exhibit—‘‘1’’ and L1915.4-1—Exhibit ‘‘1.’’
The moving party shall follow the Motion practice as set
forth in L206.1(2) in the filing and service of the custody
pleading.

‘‘FORM A’’

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF CARBON
COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA

CIVIL ACTION—LAW
:
:

vs. : NO.
: CUSTODY
:

ORDER OF COURT

You, , Defendant, have been sued in
Court to obtain custody, partial custody or visitation of
the child(ren), .

Pursuant to Carbon County Rule L1915.4 and
L1915.4-1, you are ordered to appear in person at the
First Floor Conference Room, Carbon County Courthouse,
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, 18229, on ,
20 , at 8:30 A.M./1:00 P.M., prevailing time, for an
INITIAL CONCILIATION or MEDIATION CONFER-
ENCE before Carbon County Custody Conference
Officer .

If you fail to appear as provided by this Order, the
Court or Custody Conference Officer may grant leave to
the party who appears to present testimony and the
Court may proceed to enter an Order for Custody, Partial
Custody or Visitation based solely upon such testimony or
the Court may issue a warrant for your arrest. No
stenographic record shall be made of this conference.

YOU SHOULD TAKE THIS PAPER TO YOUR LAW-
YER AT ONCE. IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A LAWYER OR
CANNOT AFFORD ONE, GO TO OR TELEPHONE THE
OFFICE SET FORTH BELOW TO FIND OUT WHERE
YOU CAN GET LEGAL HELP.

North Penn Legal Services
122-124 Iron Street
Lehighton, PA 18235
(610) 377-5400
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BY THE COURT:
DATED:

J.
‘‘FORM B’’

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF CARBON
COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA

CIVIL ACTION—LAW
:
:

vs. : NO.
: CUSTODY
:

PRE-TRIAL CONCILIATION INFORMATION
(To be submitted at conciliation conference)

GENERAL INFORMATION:
1. Names, addresses, ages and employment of parents:

FATHER MOTHER

2. Names and ages of all children involved; state with
whom living:

3. Names and addresses of other parties involved (if
any—children’s services, grandparents, foster parents,
etc.)

4. Status of current custody orders or custody arrange-
ments:

5. Addresses of children for past 5 years; state who had
custody at each location:

Position of Party Submitting Memorandum:

1. State what living arrangements you consider to be in
child(ren)’s best interests (i.e. where children should
spend weekdays, weekends, holidays, vacation, attend
school, matters of that sort):

2. State kind of environment you can provide under
above arrangement (home, school, other children in neigh-
borhood, your availability at various times):

3. Other factors you consider relevant to resolution of
dispute:

4. Efforts at mediation, conciliation, counseling:

TRIAL INFORMATION:

1. List of witnesses you would intend to call:

Fact Witnesses:

Experts: (attach copies of any reports currently available
to the memorandum):

2. Issues for resolution: (e.g., suitability of physical envi-
ronment, suitability of parent, unusual opportunities for
enrichment, particular skills of availability of one parent
as opposed to another):

3. Remarks:

Counsel for

COPIES TO BE SENT TO: Court
Opposing Counsel

Rule L1915.4—Prompt Disposition of Custody
Cases. Mandatory Education Program for Parents
in Custody Matters.

1. Upon the filing of any claim for custody, the moving
party shall deposit with the Prothonotary the sum of
$300.00 unless excused by the Court.

2. All actions commenced under these rules shall be
scheduled for an initial conference. The initial conference
shall be held to focus on issues of fact and law and to
explore the possibility of a negotiated settlement and
consent order.
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3. A continuance of the initial conference may be
granted by the Court upon good cause shown.

4. If the parties agree on a custodial arrangement, two
hundred dollars shall be refunded to the depositing party
and a consent order shall be entered in substantially the
same form as set forth in ‘‘Form A’’ following Carbon
County Local Rule L1915.7.

5. If the parties are unable to agree, the hearing officer
shall immediately schedule a hearing.

6. At the conclusion of the pre-hearing conference, the
hearing officer shall prepare a recommended Interim
Order which said officer believes is in the best interest of
the child(ren) and forward it to the Court within 10 days
of the pre-hearing conference. The Interim Order shall
require the parties to file a Pre-Trial Memorandum with
the Prothonotary’s Office within five (5) days prior to
hearing, and shall contain the following:

(A) A clear concise statement of the principal custody
issues to be resolved by the Court;

(B) Principles of law to be applied;

(C) List of witnesses to be called and exhibits;

(D) Listing of any evidentiary disputes; and Legal
Argument.

(E) Proposed Findings of Fact

(F) Proposed Custody Order.

7. In all custody proceedings where the interests of
children under the age of eighteen (18) are involved, the
parties shall attend and complete one 4-hour session
entitled ‘‘Education Program for Divided Families,’’ re-
ferred to in these local rules as ‘‘Program.’’

8. In all custody proceedings, each complaint or peti-
tion shall be in compliance with Local Rule L206.1 or
Local Rule L205.3.

9. At the time of the filing of the Complaint/Petition,
the Attorney or unrepresented party shall attach the
Court Order requiring attendance at the Program as set
forth in Exhibit ‘‘1,’’ a registration form, and Program
description.

10. The parties shall register BY MAIL for the Pro-
gram within fifteen (15) days after he or she is served
with the Court Order. NO RESERVATIONS WILL BE
TAKEN OVER THE TELEPHONE.

11. Every party shall attend the Program within sixty
(60) days from the date of the Order requiring atten-
dance. Any request for an extension of time to complete
the Program shall be made to the Court.

12. The fee for the Program is $35.00 per party and
must be submitted with the registration form. Certified
check or money order will be accepted for payment.
Checks and money orders shall be made payable to the
Kathryn James. NOTE: NO PERSONAL CHECKS OR
CASH WILL BE ACCEPTED. NO REFUNDS GIVEN.

13. No final hearing shall be held or final order entered
until all parties have attended and completed the Pro-
gram, unless the Court waives the requirement upon
petition filed for good cause shown. Refusal of the non-
moving party to attend the Program shall be considered
good cause by the Court. Failure to comply with the
Order may result in the dismissal of the action, striking
of pleadings, or other appropriate action, including sanc-
tions for contempt.

14. Upon filing of the Certificate of Completion, the
Prothonotary shall provide a copy to Court Administra-
tion.

15. Copies of this Rule, Program Registration Form,
and Program Description shall be available in the Protho-
notary’s Office of the Court of Common Pleas of Carbon
County.

Exhibit ‘‘1’’

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF CARBON
COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA

CIVIL ACTION—LAW
:
:

vs. : NO.
: CUSTODY
:
:

ORDER OF COURT

You are ORDERED to attend a program entitled ‘‘Edu-
cation Program for Divided Families’’ in connection with
the above-captioned custody action. You must register for
the Program using the registration form attached within
fifteen (15) days of the date that you receive this Order.
Further, you must attend and complete the Program
within sixty (60) days from the date of this Order.

FAILURE TO ATTEND AND COMPLETE THE PRO-
GRAM IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE INSTRUCTIONS
ATTACHED TO THIS ORDER WILL BE BROUGHT TO
THE ATTENTION OF THE COURT AND MAY RESULT
IN A FINDING OF CONTEMPT AND THE IMPOSITION
OF SANCTIONS BY THE COURT.

No final hearing shall be held or final order entered
where there are children under the age of eighteen (18)
until all parties have attended the Program or by leave of
Court.

YOU SHOULD TAKE THIS PAPER TO YOUR LAW-
YER AT ONCE. IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A LAWYER OR
CANNOT AFFORD ONE, GO TO OR TELEPHONE THE
OFFICE SET FORTH BELOW TO FIND OUT WHERE
YOU CAN GET LEGAL HELP.

North Penn Legal Services
122-124 Iron Street

Lehighton, PA 18235
(610) 377-5400

www.northpennlegal.org

AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT OF 1990

The Court of Common Pleas of Carbon County is
required by law to comply with the Americans with
Disabilities Act of 1990. For information about accessible
facilities and reasonable accommodations available to
disabled individuals having business before the Court,
please contact the District Court Administrator’s Office at
(570) 325-8556. All arrangements must be made at least
seventy-two (72) hours prior to any hearing or business
before the Court. You must attend the scheduled Pro-
gram.

BY THE COURT:

DATED:
J.

EDUCATION PROGRAM FOR DIVIDED FAMILIES

In cases involving custody of minor children, mandatory
attendance at one 4-hour session entitled ‘‘Education
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Program for Divided Families’’ is required. MINOR CHIL-
DREN SHALL NOT BE BROUGHT TO THE PROGRAM.

PROGRAM CONTENT

The Program focuses on the impact of divorce on
parents and children, with an emphasis on fostering a
child’s emotional health and well being during the periods
of stress. The program is informative, supportive, and
directs people desiring additional information or help to
appropriate resources.

The Program addresses the following items:

A. Impact of Divorce on Parents and Children: tasks
adults face; tasks children face; common reactions of
children of different ages; and do’s and don’ts of parent-
ing.

B. Identifying and dealing with feelings such as anger
toward your children, from your children, and toward
your ex-spouse, as well as the healing process.

C. Open Discussion: explaining divorce, visitation prob-
lems, new relationships, parents at war with co-parent,
etc.

WHO

Kathryn M. James
Masters In Education

Family Living Educator
P. O. Box 184

Brodheadsville, PA 18322
Telephone: (570) 992-2027

WHEN

The Program is offered every month on one (1) Satur-
day from 9:00 A.M. until 1:00 P.M.

WHERE

The Program will be presented at the Carbon County
Conservation District building located at 5664 Inter-
change Road, Lehighton, PA 18235 (located next to the
Pennsylvania State Police Barracks on Route 209 North—
building is between Gensis Day Care and the PA State
Police Barracks). Directions: From the south (Palmerton,
Lehighton), take 209 North (about 5 miles past the
Turnpike entrance); From the northwest (Jim Thorpe,
Lansford, Summit Hill) take 209 North; and from the
north (Weatherly, Beaver Meadows) take 93 South to 209
North.

ATTENDANCE

Attendance at the Program is required of parties in a
custody case where the interests of children under the
age of eighteen (18) years are involved and is ordered by
the Court. Additional interested persons may attend the
seminar upon prior approval of the provider with the
payment of ten ($10.00) dollars.

PRESENTERS

A qualified counselor selected by the Court of Common
Pleas of Carbon County will present the program.

NOTIFICATION

A copy of the Order requiring the parties to attend the
Program, a Registration Form, and Program Description
will be provided to the parties by the Attorney or
unrepresented party upon filing of a custody action.

FEES

A fee of $35.00 per party is required and will be used to
cover all program costs. The fee must be submitted with

the registration form directly to the Provider. Certified
check or money order will be accepted as payment. NO
PERSONAL CHECKS OR CASH WILL BE ACCEPTED.
NO REFUNDS GIVEN.

REGISTRATION

Register by MAIL, only. The provider must receive the
registration form and program fee at least seven (7) days
prior to the selected date. Each party shall attend the
Program without further notification by the Court. Any
changes in scheduling must be arranged through the
provider.

VERIFICATION OF ATTENDANCE

Upon presentation of photo identification, the provider
will record the party as ‘‘present’’ and shall provide to the
Prothonotary of Carbon County a Certificate of Comple-
tion, which shall be filed of record. The Provider will give
a Certificate of Attendance to each person who success-
fully completes the Program.

EVALUATION

Each participant shall complete a written evaluation of
the Program upon the conclusion of the session. Said
evaluation forms shall be presented to the Court upon
request.

Kathryn M. James
Masters In Education

Family Living Educator
P. O. Box 184

Brodheadsville, PA 18322
Telephone: (570) 992-2027

REGISTER BY MAIL, ONLY: Choose the date you want
to attend, complete the attached form, and send it with
your certified check or bank money order payable to
Kathryn James to:

Kathryn M. James
P. O. Box 184

Brodheadsville, PA 18322

If you have any questions regarding the program or
scheduling, call: (570) 992-2027.

2001 Registration Form—Education Program
for Divided Families

Carbon County, Pennsylvania

The Program is held at the Carbon County Conserva-
tion District building located at 5664 Interchange Road,
Lehighton, PA 18235 (located next to the Pennsylvania
State Police Barracks on Route 209 North- building is
between Gensis Day Care and the PA State Police
Barracks).

You are required to attend one 4-hour Saturday session.
The cost of the Program is $35.00 per party.

Other guests can attend for an additional $10.00 fee.

Photo identification is required.

Parking is available on site.

Register at least seven (7) days prior to the date you
want. IF TEN (10) PARTICIPANTS ARE NOT REGIS-
TERED, THE CLASS WILL BE CANCELLED AND YOU
WILL NEED TO RE-SCHEDULE. CONFIRMATIONS
ARE NOT SENT. Come to the program you choose, unless
notified that the class is full. Class may be cancelled due
to bad weather. You will be informed of this cancellation
by telephone and given a new class date. Class dates are
subject to change.

6086 THE COURTS

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 32, NO. 50, DECEMBER 14, 2002



If you cannot attend the class you registered and paid
for, you must call Kathryn James at (570) 992-2027 to let
her know of the change in plans. If the cancellation is
made a week prior to the scheduled date, you may attend
the next scheduled class at no additional charge. IF NO
NOTICE OF CANCELLATION IS GIVEN OR IT IS NOT
MADE ONE WEEK PRIOR TO CLASS, YOU MUST PAY
AN ADDITIONAL $10.00 TO TAKE THE NEXT CLASS.

Children SHALL NOT be brought to the Program.
Please be prompt. Latecomers are not admitted and

must reschedule.
In case of a snowstorm, listen to the radio and/or

television for cancellations—WYNS 11.60 A.M., WLSH
14.10 A.M., or TV WYOU-News 22. Call (570) 992-2027 to
reschedule.

Docket Number: of custody case Docket
Number MUST be filled in for attendance credit. Please
indicate County of jurisdiction:

Your Name:

Guest:
(Name and Relationship to Child)

Your Address:

City: State: Zip:

Telephone
Number: (Home) (Work)

SATURDAYS—9:00 A.M.
TO 1:00 P.M.

Jan. 4, 2003
Feb. 1, 2003
March 1, 2003
April 5, 2003
May 3, 2003
June 7, 2003
July 5, 2003
August 2, 2003
Sept. 6, 2003
Oct. 4, 2003
Nov. 1, 2003
Dec. 6, 2003

Send completed registration form and fee by certified
check or money order payable to Kathryn James to:

Kathryn M. James
P. O. Box 184

Brodheadsville, PA 18322
Telephone: (570) 992-2027

NO PERSONAL CHECKS OR CASH WILL BE AC-
CEPTED. NO REFUNDS GIVEN.
Rule L1915.4-1—Alternative Hearing Procedures for

Partial Custody or Visitation Cases.
1. Upon the filing of any claim for partial custody or

visitation, the moving party shall deposit with the Protho-
notary the sum of $300.00 unless excused by the Court.

2. All actions commenced under these rules shall be
scheduled for an initial conference. The initial conference
shall be held to focus on issues of fact and law and to
explore the possibility of a negotiated settlement and
consent order.

3. A continuance of the initial conference may be
granted by the Court upon good cause shown.

4. If the parties agree on a custodial arrangement, two
hundred dollars shall be refunded to the depositing party
and a consent order shall be entered in substantially the
same form as set forth in ‘‘Form A’’ following Carbon
County Local Rule L1915.7.

5. If the parties are unable to agree, the hearing officer
shall immediately schedule a hearing.

6. The moving party shall be responsible to secure the
services/attendance of an outside court reporter for said
hearing and shall be responsible for the payment of said
outside court reporter unless the Court places the pay-
ment responsibility on the other party.

7. Within 10 days of the conclusion of the hearing, the
hearing officer shall file and serve a copy upon all parties
a report stating the reasons for the recommendation
along with a proposed order including a specific schedule
of partial custody or visitation.

8. If exceptions are filed, no exceptions shall be argued
before the Court unless written briefs have been filed.
The moving party shall file three (3) copies of a brief and
exceptions with the Prothonotary’s Office no later than
ten (10) days after filing of the hearing officer’s report,
and forthwith serve one (1) copy of the brief upon each
adverse party or counsel of record. Each adverse party or
his counsel of record shall file in the appropriate filing
office three (3) copies of a brief in answer, not later than
five (5) days after receipt of moving party’s brief and
forthwith serve a copy thereof upon all opposing parties
or their counsel of record. All briefs shall be prepared in
conformity with Local Rule L210. Transcription of the
proceedings shall be filed of record by the party raising
the objections. The cost of transcription shall be borne by
the party filing the original exceptions unless otherwise
ordered by the Court.

9. Argument shall be held within 45 days of the date
that the last party files exceptions.

10. In all custody proceedings where the interests of
children under the age of eighteen (18) are involved, the
parties shall attend and complete one 4-hour session
entitled ‘‘Education Program for Divided Families,’’ re-
ferred to in these local rules as ‘‘Program.’’

11. In all custody proceedings, each complaint or peti-
tion shall be in compliance with Local Rule L206.1 or
Local Rule L205.3.

12. At the time of the filing of the Complaint/Petition,
the attorney and/or unrepresented party shall attached to
the Complaint/Petition and provide all parties with the
Court Order requiring attendance at the Program as set
forth in Exhibit ‘‘1,’’ a registration form, and Program
description.

13. The parties shall register BY MAIL for the Pro-
gram within fifteen (15) days after he or she is served
with the Court Order. NO RESERVATIONS WILL BE
TAKEN OVER THE TELEPHONE.

14. Every party shall attend the Program within sixty
(60) days from the date of the Order requiring atten-
dance. Any request for an extension of time to complete
the Program shall be made to the Court.

15. The fee for the Program is $35.00 per party and
must be submitted with the registration form. Certified
check or money order will be accepted for payment.
Checks and money orders shall be made payable to the
Kathryn James. NOTE: NO PERSONAL CHECKS OR
CASH WILL BE ACCEPTED. NO REFUNDS GIVEN.
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16. No final hearing shall be held or final order entered
until all parties have attended and completed the Pro-
gram, except by leave of Court. Refusal of the non-moving
party to attend the Program shall be considered good
cause by the Court. Failure to comply with the Order may
result in the dismissal of the action, striking of pleadings,
or other appropriate action, including sanctions for con-
tempt.

17. Upon filing of the Certificate of Completion, the
Prothonotary shall provide a copy to Court Administra-
tion.

18. Copies of this Rule, Program Registration Form,
and Program Description shall be available in the Protho-
notary’s Office of the Court of Common Pleas of Carbon
County.

Exhibit ‘‘1’’

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF CARBON
COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA

CIVIL ACTION—LAW
:
:

vs. : NO.
: CUSTODY
:
:

ORDER OF COURT

You are ORDERED to attend a program entitled ‘‘Edu-
cation Program for Divided Families’’ in connection with
the above-captioned custody action. You must register for
the Program using the registration form attached within
fifteen (15) days of the date that you receive this Order.
Further, you must attend and complete the Program
within sixty (60) days from the date of this Order.

FAILURE TO ATTEND AND COMPLETE THE PRO-
GRAM IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE INSTRUCTIONS
ATTACHED TO THIS ORDER WILL BE BROUGHT TO
THE ATTENTION OF THE COURT AND MAY RESULT
IN A FINDING OF CONTEMPT AND THE IMPOSITION
OF SANCTIONS BY THE COURT.

No final hearing shall be held or final order entered
where there are children under the age of eighteen (18)
until all parties have attended the Program or by leave of
Court.

YOU SHOULD TAKE THIS PAPER TO YOUR LAW-
YER AT ONCE. IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A LAWYER OR
CANNOT AFFORD ONE, GO TO OR TELEPHONE THE
OFFICE SET FORTH BELOW TO FIND OUT WHERE
YOU CAN GET LEGAL HELP.

North Penn Legal Services
122-124 Iron Street

Lehighton, PA 18235
(610) 377-5400

www.northpennlegal.org

AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT OF 1990

The Court of Common Pleas of Carbon County is
required by law to comply with the Americans with
Disabilities Act of 1990. For information about accessible
facilities and reasonable accommodations available to
disabled individuals having business before the Court,
please contact the District Court Administrator’s Office at
(570) 325-8556. All arrangements must be made at least
seventy-two (72) hours prior to any hearing or business
before the Court. You must attend the scheduled Pro-
gram.

BY THE COURT:

DATED:
J.

EDUCATION PROGRAM FOR DIVIDED FAMILIES

In cases involving custody of minor children, mandatory
attendance at one 4-hour session entitled ‘‘Education
Program for Divided Families’’ is required. MINOR CHIL-
DREN SHALL NOT BE BROUGHT TO THE PROGRAM.

PROGRAM CONTENT

The Program focuses on the impact of divorce on
parents and children, with an emphasis on fostering a
child’s emotional health and well being during the periods
of stress. The program is informative, supportive, and
directs people desiring additional information or help to
appropriate resources.

The Program addresses the following items:

A. Impact of Divorce on Parents and Children: tasks
adults face; tasks children face; common reactions of
children of different ages; and do’s and don’ts of parent-
ing.

B. Identifying and dealing with feelings such as anger
toward your children, from your children, and toward
your ex-spouse, as well as the healing process.

C. Open Discussion: explaining divorce, visitation prob-
lems, new relationships, parents at war with co-parent,
etc.

WHO

Kathryn M. James
Masters In Education

Family Living Educator
P. O. Box 184

Brodheadsville, PA 18322
Telephone: (570) 992-2027

WHEN

The Program is offered every month on one (1) Satur-
day from 9:00 A.M. until 1:00 P.M.

WHERE

The Program will be presented at the Carbon County
Conservation District building located at 5664 Inter-
change Road, Lehighton, PA 18235 (located next to the
Pennsylvania State Police Barracks on Route 209 North—
building is between Gensis Day Care and the PA State
Police Barracks). Directions: From the south (Palmerton,
Lehighton), take 209 North (about 5 miles past the
Turnpike entrance); From the northwest (Jim Thorpe,
Lansford, Summit Hill) take 209 North; and from the
north (Weatherly, Beaver Meadows) take 93 South to 209
North.

ATTENDANCE

Attendance at the Program is required of parties in a
custody case where the interests of children under the
age of eighteen (18) years are involved and is ordered by
the Court. Additional interested persons may attend the
seminar upon prior approval of the provider with the
payment of ten ($10.00) dollars.

PRESENTERS

A qualified counselor selected by the Court of Common
Pleas of Carbon County will present the program.
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NOTIFICATION
A copy of the Order requiring the parties to attend the

Program, a Registration Form, and Program Description
will be provided to the parties by the Attorney or
unrepresented party upon filing of a custody action.

FEES
A fee of $35.00 per party is required and will be used to

cover all program costs. The fee must be submitted with
the registration form directly to the Provider. Certified
check or money order will be accepted as payment. NO
PERSONAL CHECKS OR CASH WILL BE ACCEPTED.
NO REFUNDS GIVEN.

REGISTRATION
Register by MAIL, only. The provider must receive the

registration form and program fee at least seven (7) days
prior to the selected date. Each party shall attend the
Program without further notification by the Court. Any
changes in scheduling must be arranged through the
provider.

VERIFICATION OF ATTENDANCE
Upon presentation of photo identification, the provider

will record the party as ‘‘present’’ and shall provide to the
Prothonotary of Carbon County a Certificate of Comple-
tion, which shall be filed of record. The Provider will give
a Certificate of Attendance to each person who success-
fully completes the Program.

EVALUATION
Each participant shall complete a written evaluation of

the Program upon the conclusion of the session. Said
evaluation forms shall be presented to the Court upon
request.

Kathryn M. James
Masters In Education

Family Living Educator
P. O. Box 184

Brodheadsville, PA 18322
Telephone: (570) 992-2027

REGISTER BY MAIL, ONLY: Choose the date you want
to attend, complete the attached form, and send it with
your certified check or bank money order payable to
Kathryn James to:

Kathryn M. James
P. O. Box 184

Brodheadsville, PA 18322
If you have any questions regarding the program or

scheduling, call: (570) 992-2027.
2001 Registration Form—Education Program for

Divided Families
Carbon County, Pennsylvania

The Program is held at the Carbon County Conserva-
tion District building located at 5664 Interchange Road,
Lehighton, PA 18235 (located next to the Pennsylvania
State Police Barracks on Route 209 North- building is
between Gensis Day Care and the PA State Police
Barracks).

You are required to attend one 4-hour Saturday session.
The cost of the Program is $35.00 per party.

Other guests can attend for an additional $10.00 fee.
Photo identification is required.
Parking is available on site.

Register at least seven (7) days prior to the date you
want. IF TEN (10) PARTICIPANTS ARE NOT REGIS-

TERED, THE CLASS WILL BE CANCELLED AND YOU
WILL NEED TO RE-SCHEDULE. CONFIRMATIONS
ARE NOT SENT. Come to the program you choose, unless
notified that the class is full. Class may be cancelled due
to bad weather. You will be informed of this cancellation
by telephone and given a new class date. Class dates are
subject to change.

If you cannot attend the class you registered and paid
for, you must call Kathryn James at (570) 992-2027 to let
her know of the change in plans. If the cancellation is
made a week prior to the scheduled date, you may attend
the next scheduled class at no additional charge. IF NO
NOTICE OF CANCELLATION IS GIVEN OR IT IS NOT
MADE ONE WEEK PRIOR TO CLASS, YOU MUST PAY
AN ADDITIONAL $10.00 TO TAKE THE NEXT CLASS.

Children SHALL NOT be brought to the Program.

Please be prompt. Latecomers are not admitted and
must reschedule.

In case of a snowstorm, listen to the radio and/or
television for cancellations—WYNS 11.60 A.M., WLSH
14.10 A.M., or TV WYOU-News 22. Call (570) 992-2027 to
reschedule.

Docket Number: of custody case Docket
Number MUST be filled in for attendance credit. Please
indicate County of jurisdiction:

Your Name:

Guest:
(Name and Relationship to Child)

Your Address:

City: State: Zip:

Telephone
Number: (Home) (Work)

SATURDAYS—9:00 A.M.
TO 1:00 P.M.

Jan. 4, 2003
Feb. 1, 2003
March 1, 2003
April 5, 2003
May 3, 2003
June 7, 2003
July 5, 2003
August 2, 2003
Sept. 6, 2003
Oct. 4, 2003
Nov. 1, 2003
Dec. 6, 2003

Send completed registration form and fee by certified
check or money order payable to Kathryn James to:

Kathryn M. James
P. O. Box 184

Brodheadsville, PA 18322
Telephone: (570) 992-2027

NO PERSONAL CHECKS OR CASH WILL BE AC-
CEPTED. NO REFUNDS GIVEN.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 02-2216. Filed for public inspection December 13, 2002, 9:00 a.m.]
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SOMERSET COUNTY
Consolidated Rules of Court; No. 76 Misc. 2002

Adopting Order
And Now, this 21st day of November, 2002, it is hereby

Ordered:
1. Somerset County Rule of Civil Procedure 1910.12

(Som.R.C.P. 1910.12), Office Conference. Hearing. Excep-
tions, is amended to read in its entirety, as reflected in
revised Som.R.C.P. 1910.12, following hereto, effective
thirty (30) days after publication in The Pennsylvania
Bulletin.

2. The Somerset County Court Administrator is di-
rected to:

A. File seven (7) certified copies of this Order and the
attached Rule with the Administrative Office of Pennsyl-
vania Courts.

B. Distribute two (2) certified copies of this Order and
the attached Rule to the Legislative Reference Bureau for
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

C. File one (1) certified copy of this Order and the
following Rule with the Pennsylvania Civil Procedural
Rules Committee and one (1) certified copy of this Order
and the following Rule with the Pennsylvania Domestic
Relations Procedural Rules Committee.

D. File proof of compliance with this Order in the
docket for these Rules, which shall include a copy of each
transmittal letter.
By the Court

EUGENE E. FIKE, II,
President Judge

RULES OF COURT
Support.
Som. R.C.P. 1910.12. Office Conference. Hearing. Excep-

tions.

A. Promptly upon the filing of any complaint or request
for modification or termination, the Domestic Relations
Section shall schedule a conference, issue a scheduling
order, and distribute a copy thereof to all counsel of
record, and to all parties, whether or not represented by
counsel of record.

B. The Domestic Relations Section may continue and
reschedule the conference as may be necessary or conve-
nient according to the needs and available facilities of the
Section and as may be fair and reasonable to the parties,
provided, however, that no more than two continuances
for each party and no more than three continuances in
the aggregate, shall be granted, unless Court approval is
first obtained. If Court approval is required, a written
Motion for Continuance, specifying the reasons therefor,
shall be presented to the Motions Judge. Continuances
requiring Court approval will be granted only in extraor-
dinary circumstances.

C. With the approval of the Domestic Relations Sec-
tion, the parties or counsel may waive notice and agree to
a date and time for conference.

D. If an agreement for support is reached at the
conference, the written Order and recommendation re-
ferred to in Som. R.C.P. 1910.11(d) shall be transmitted to
the Court in accordance with established assignment and
Motions Judge practice. Upon receipt of the written Order
and recommendation, the Judge shall either approve the
recommendation and enter the Order, or disapprove the

recommendation. Upon approval, the Domestic Relations
Section shall promptly distribute a copy of the Order to
each party and counsel.

E. If the parties do not reach agreement at the confer-
ence, or if the responding party does not appear at the
conference, the Conference Officer shall submit to the
Court, in accordance with established assignment and
Motions Judge practice, a recommended Interim Order, to
be entered by the Court as required by Pa.R.C.P. 1910.12,
and if a party confirms that hearing is desired, and if the
fee is paid as required by subparagraph F. of this Rule,
the case shall be scheduled for a hearing before the
Hearing Officer.

F. The hearing before the Hearing Officer will be
scheduled only upon payment by the party desiring a
hearing of a fee of $25.00 within ten (10) days after the
date of mailing of the Interim Order, as provided for in
subparagraphs 1. and 2., unless excused for cause by
further court order. If the fee is not paid or waived within
the required ten (10) day period, hearing will not be
scheduled and the Interim Order will become the final
order.

1. After the conference is completed, the Conference
Officer will advise the parties present that a hearing
before the Hearing Officer will be scheduled, if desired,
upon payment of a fee of $25.00 by the party desiring the
hearing, that the fee must be paid within ten (10) days
after the date of mailing of the Interim Order, and that if
not paid within the required ten (10) day period, hearing
will not be scheduled and the Interim Order will become
the final order.

2. If a responding party does not appear at the confer-
ence, the Conference Officer will mail with the Interim
Order, a notice to the absent party that a hearing before
the Hearing Officer will be scheduled, if desired, upon the
payment of a $25.00 fee by the party desiring the
hearing, that the fee must be paid within ten (10) days of
the date of mailing of the Interim Order and notice, and
that if the fee is not paid within the required ten (10) day
period, a hearing will not be scheduled and the Interim
Order will become the final order.

3. Payment shall be made to the Somerset County
Domestic Relations Section and shall be clearly identified
as ‘‘HEARING FEE.’’

G. When a hearing is to be scheduled before the
Hearing Officer, the Domestic Relations Section shall
schedule the hearing, issue a scheduling order, and
distribute a copy thereof to all parties and counsel.

H. The Hearing Officer shall conduct the hearing and
proceed otherwise as provided in Pa.R.C.P. 1910.12.

I. If exceptions are filed pursuant to the provisions of
Pa.R.C.P. 1910.12(f), the Domestic Relations Section shall
provide a copy of the exceptions to opposing counsel and
unrepresented parties.

1. In addition to any other required fee, and unless
otherwise ordered, a party filing exceptions shall pay a
filing fee of $30.00 to the Domestic Relations Section at
the time the exceptions are filed.

2. Unless otherwise ordered, or unless certification is
submitted pursuant to subparagraph H.4.(ii) of this Rule,
a party filing exceptions shall also present to the Domes-
tic Relations Section, at the time the exceptions are filed,
a check or money order in the amount of $25.00, made
payable to the stenographer, as a non-refundable advance
payment toward record transcription.
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3. Upon presentation of the check or money order
pursuant to the requirements of the foregoing subpara-
graph H.1. of this Rule, or timely presentation of Order
excusing payment, the Domestic Relations Section will
transmit to the stenographer, the check or money order, if
any, or a copy of the Order excusing payment.

a. If payment has been excused, the stenographer will
immediately commence transcribing the record.

b. If payment has not been excused, upon receipt of the
advance payment, the stenographer shall provide to the
excepting party or parties a statement of the balance due
for transcription. Within ten (10) days of the mailing of
the stenographer’s statement, the excepting party shall
pay the balance due directly to the stenographer. Where
both parties have filed exceptions, each party shall pay
an amount equal to one-half of the balance of the costs
due. If the stenographer does not receive payment of the
balance due within the time limit required by this Rule,
the stenographer shall immediately notify the Domestic
Relations Section.

c. If only one party has filed exceptions and that party
has failed to make the advance payment or other
amounts due for the cost of transcription within the
required time limit, no transcript will be prepared.

d. If both parties file exceptions and one of the parties
fails to make a required payment within the time limits
required by this Rule, the transcript shall be prepared,
with the total cost to be paid by the non-defaulting party
prior to the date set for argument. A party who fails to
make payment within the time limits required by this
Rule will not be permitted to rely on the transcript in
support of the exceptions.

4. A party filing exceptions will be excused from paying
for a transcript only if (i) a Motion To Proceed In Forma
Pauperis is presented to, and approved by, the Court
within the ten (10) day period allowed for filing of
exceptions; or (ii) a certification is filed within the ten
(10) day period allowed for filing of exceptions, certifying
that the record is not necessary for disposition of the
exceptions.

5. Exceptions, when filed, shall contain, or have at-
tached, a written certification that the required deposit
has been paid, or that payment is not required by Court
Order or because a transcript is not necessary for disposi-
tion of the exceptions. A copy of the Court Order or
certification shall be attached to the exceptions. If the
certification and attachments are not filed as required, no
transcript will be prepared.

6. Any party requesting reallocation of the cost of
transcription shall raise the matter specifically before the
Court at argument on the exceptions, or the issue of
reallocation shall be deemed waived by that party.

7. Advance payment of the transcript costs within the
time limits required by this Rule shall be mandatory,
unless a party is permitted to proceed in forma pauperis
after petition to the Court, or unless otherwise excused by
the provisions of this Rule. If the costs are not paid
within the time limits required by this Rule, no transcript
will be prepared.

J. Upon filing of exceptions, the Domestic Relations
Section shall notify the Court Administrator, who shall
schedule the same for argument, sec. reg. Upon issuance
of the order listing the case for argument, the Domestic
Relations Section shall notify counsel and parties of the
date, time, and place of the argument.

K. Following argument on the exceptions, the Court
will enter an appropriate final order in the case, copy of
which shall be distributed by the Domestic Relations
Section to counsel and unrepresented parties.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 02-2217. Filed for public inspection December 13, 2002, 9:00 a.m.]

YORK COUNTY
Amendment of Local Civil Rules of the Court of

Common Pleas Concerning Divorce, Filing Fees,
Procedures Before a Master, Exceptions from
Master’s Report and Mediation Fees; No. 2002
M.I. 00424

Administrative Order
And Now, this 19th day of November, 2002, It Is

Ordered that the following Local Rules of Civil Procedure
for the Court of Common Pleas of York County are added,
deleted, or amended as noted.

Additionally, It Is Hereby Ordered that the fee for
mediation conducted pursuant to custody pre-trial pro-
ceedings shall be increased to a total of $180, the amount
to be shared proportionally among the litigants as di-
rected.

The additions, deletions and amendments to rules, and
the other procedures in this order shall become effective
thirty (30) days after the date of publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin, or on January 1, 2003, whichever
occurs later, and shall apply to all cases pending on that
date and to all new cases filed thereafter.

It Is Further Ordered, that in accordance with
Pa.R.Civ.P. 239, the District Court Administrator shall:

1. File seven certified copies hereof with the Adminis-
trative Office of the Pennsylvania Courts;

2. Distribute two certified copies hereof to the Legisla-
tive Reference Bureau for publication in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin;

3. File one certified copy hereof with the Domestic
Relations Procedural Rules Committee;

4. Cause a copy hereof to be published in the York
Legal Record at the expense of the County of York; and

5. Supervise the distribution hereof to the Prothono-
tary of York County, who shall maintain a copy continu-
ously available for public inspection and copying upon
payment of reasonable costs, to all Judges, Divorce
Masters, and custody mediators, the current list of which
shall be supplied to the Court.
By the Court,

JOHN H. CHRONISTER,
President Judge

Changes to Local Rules of Civil Procedure on Di-
vorce and Annulment; Rule 1920.1. et seq.
The following Local Rules shall be deleted:

Rule 1920.31 Income and Expense Statement—
Sanctions.

Rule 1920.33 Inventory and Appraisement—Sanc-
tions.

Rule 1920.45 Counseling.
The following Local Rules shall be amended to read as

set forth as follows:
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Rule 1920.51 Divorce Hearing Masters Proceedings

(a) Qualifications and duties of divorce masters. The
Divorce Masters Office shall be responsible for scheduling
and conducting all proceedings involving a master ap-
pointed pursuant to Pa.R.C.P. 1920.51, et seq. The court
shall employ permanent salaried masters who shall not
engage in any private domestic relation matters and who
shall serve at the pleasure of the court. Their qualifica-
tions and duties shall be as follows:

(1) The Director of the Divorce Masters Office. The
Director shall be a full-time salaried employee of the
County of York and shall serve at the pleasure of the
court. The Director shall be a member of the Bar of York
County and shall have at least five (5) years experience of
practice in the field of Divorce and Family Law. The
Director shall be responsible for the operation of the
Divorce Masters Office, including supervision of the em-
ployees of the office and the other masters employed by
the court. The Director shall assign cases to other
masters employed by the court and shall conduct proceed-
ings in cases not assigned to other masters. The Director
shall report directly to the judge presiding over the
Family Court Division.

(2) Masters. The court may also employ part-time or
full-time masters to work under the supervision of the
Director. Such additional masters shall be members of the
Bar of York County, shall be employees of the County of
York, and shall serve at the pleasure of the court. The
part-time masters shall be available at least twenty (20)
hours per week to fulfill their assigned duties.

(3) Special Masters. In cases where the Divorce Mas-
ters Office is not able to conduct proceedings pursuant to
Pa.R.C.P. 1920.51, et seq. due to a conflict or extraordi-
nary circumstance, the court may appoint a member of
the Bar of York County to sit as a special master in any
particular case. Such special master shall serve at the
pleasure of the court and shall be an independent con-
tractor of the County of York, with compensation set by
the court on a case-by-case basis.

(4) General Duties. In each case in which a master is
appointed, the master shall preside over all conferences
and hearings necessary for the preparation of a final or
interim report and recommendation, as appropriate. The
master may schedule conferences with counsel, with or
without the parties present.

(b) Appointment of a master.

(1) Fee certification. The Motion for the Appointment of
a Master for divorce, annulment or any related claim
shall be made on the form prescribed by the Divorce
Masters Office. The Motion shall be presented first to the
Prothonotary, who shall certify thereon that the fees have
been paid. The moving party shall serve a copy of the
Motion upon the opposing party or counsel.

(2) Counsel to present Motion to Divorce Masters Office.
The original Motion and three copies shall then be
presented at the Divorce Masters Office for the issuance
of an order appointing a master and scheduling such
further proceedings as may be necessary.

(3) Divorce Masters Office to file and to serve. The
Divorce Masters Office shall file the original Motion and
scheduling Order with the Prothonotary and provide a
copy of each to both the moving party and the responding
party.

(c) Filing fees. The designated parties shall pay to the
Prothonotary the following fees, at the times indicated.

(1) Prothonotary’s fees. In every action of divorce or
annulment initiated by a party, the moving party shall
pay to the Prothonotary’s Office the required filing fees,
as published in the Prothonotary’s Office fee schedule.

(2) Fees to appoint a master. Upon the presentation of a
Motion to Appoint a Master, the moving party shall pay
to the Prothonotary, in addition to the fees set forth in
subsection (1) of this provision, the following fees, to
bring these claims before the master:

[a] Divorce or annulment, equitable distribution, ali-
mony, counsel fees, costs and/or expenses. The moving
party shall pay a fee of three hundred dollars ($300.00)
for a Motion to Appoint a Master including all or one of
the following: divorce, annulment, equitable distribution
of marital property, alimony, counsel fees, costs and
expenses. A moving party filing an Amended Motion to
add one or more of these issues to the Appointment shall
not be required to pay an additional fee. For additional
provisions concerning alimony, see subsection [c], below.

[b] Alimony pendente lite. The moving party shall pay a
fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) for a Motion to Appoint a
Master for alimony pendente lite. For additional provi-
sions, see subsection (e) Alimony pendente lite—
additional provisions, below.

[c] Modification of alimony. The moving party shall pay
a fee of two hundred dollars ($200.00) for a Motion to
Appoint a Master for the modification of a final alimony
order.

[d] Modification of alimony pendente lite. The moving
party shall pay a fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) for a Motion
to Appoint a Master for the modification of a prior award
of alimony pendente lite.

[e] Additional fees. If more than two full days of
hearings are necessary to resolve the case, then the
parties shall pay an additional fee of one hundred fifty
dollars ($150) for each additional day of testimony or part
thereof. The master shall not proceed beyond the second
full day of hearings until these additional fees have been
paid.

(3) Fee changes. The fees stated in this subsection are
subject to change by publication.

(4) Award of costs. The fees set forth in subsection
(c)(2) shall be regarded as costs of the case, and the
master may recommend that either party bear those costs
or reimburse the other party in full or in part for those
costs.

(5) Request for return of appointment fees. In any action
where the appointment of a master is withdrawn after
the appointment has been made by the court, the party
who paid the fees specified in subsection (c)(2) may
petition the court for the return of part of the fees in
accordance with the following provisions:

[a] Refund of appointment fees. Only in those cases
where no preliminary hearing or conference has been held
and written notice of discontinuance or revocation of the
appointment of a master has been delivered to the
Divorce Masters Office no less than fifteen (15) days in
advance of the first originally scheduled proceeding, the
fees may be remitted in full, less fifty dollars ($50.00).

[b] Master’s consent. The petition for remission of fees
will not be approved by the court unless endorsed by the
master appointed to hear the case in question.

(d) Filing of income and expense statements and inven-
tories.
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(1) Moving party’s filing of Income and Expense State-
ment. When a Motion for the Appointment of a Master for
any claim, set forth in Pa.R.C.P. 1920.31, is presented to
the Divorce Masters Office as set forth in subsection
(b)(2), above, it shall be accompanied by a copy of the
moving party’s Income and Expense Statement that has
been filed with the Prothonotary. The Income and Ex-
pense Statement shall be in the form required by
Pa.R.C.P. 1910.27, and shall be substantially complete.

(2) Moving party’s filing of Inventory. When a Motion
for the Appointment of a Master for equitable distribution
is presented to the Divorce Masters Office as set forth in
subsection (b)(2) above, it shall be accompanied by a copy
of the moving party’s Inventory that has been filed with
the Prothonotary. The Inventory, as required by Pa.R.C.P.
1920.33, shall be substantially complete.

(3) Respondent’s Income and Expense Statement.
Within thirty (30) days after receiving notice that a
master has been appointed to hear any claim, other than
divorce or annulment, the responding party shall present
to the Divorce Masters Office a copy of that party’s
Income and Expense Statement that has been filed with
the Prothonotary. The Income and Expense Statement
shall be in the form required by Pa.R.C.P. 1910.27, and
shall be substantially complete.

(4) Respondent’s Inventory. Within thirty (30) days af-
ter receiving notice that a master has been appointed to
hear a claim for equitable distribution, the responding
party shall present to the Divorce Masters Office a copy
of that party’s Inventory that has been filed with the
Prothonotary. The Inventory, as required by Pa.R.C.P.
1920.33, shall be substantially complete.

(5) Sanctions for failure to file. Parties failing to com-
ply with the requirements of this subsection (d) shall be
subject to Court Ordered sanctions and may be subject to
sanctions imposed by the master, sua sponte, as permit-
ted by subsection (f)(9), below.

(e) Alimony pendente lite—additional provisions.

(1) Additional documents required. When a Motion for
Appointment of a Master is presented to the Divorce
Masters Office with respect to a claim for alimony
pendente lite, the moving party shall also present the
following additional documents to the Divorce Masters
Office:

[a] A time stamped copy of the initial pleading, filed
with the Prothonotary, in which the claim for alimony
pendente lite was raised.

[b] The original and two copies of the ‘‘Background for
APL’’ form as prescribed by the Divorce Masters Office.

[c] The original and two copies of the ‘‘Petition for
Alimony Pendente Lite’’ form as prescribed by the Divorce
Masters Office.

[d] The Prothonotary’s payment receipt.

(2) APL referred to DRO. A Motion for the Appointment
of a Master solely on the issue of alimony pendente lite
may be referred by the Divorce Masters Office to the
Domestic Relations Office for a conference pursuant to
Pa.R.C.P. 1910.11. Any party aggrieved by the order
entered as the result of such conference may request a
hearing de novo which may be conducted by a judge.
However, the court, in its sole discretion, may refer it
back to the Divorce Masters Office for a hearing of record
pursuant to Pa.R.C.P. 1920.54.

(f) Preliminary proceedings.
(1) Notice of preliminary conference. Upon appointment,

the Divorce Masters Office shall give counsel or the
parties not less than ten (10) days written notice of a
preliminary conference to be conducted by the master.

(2) Scheduling of additional proceedings. At the close of
the preliminary conference, the master may schedule
additional proceedings, including one or more settlement
conferences.

(3) Notice of other conferences and hearings. The Di-
vorce Masters Office shall give counsel or the parties not
less than ten (10) days written notice of any subsequent
conference or hearing.

(4) Continuance requests. All requests for continuances
are to be submitted on the Court’s ‘‘Application for
Continuance’’ form and shall include the response of
opposing counsel. Requests for continuances shall be
submitted to the Divorce Masters Office. The master shall
rule on all requests for continuances. Any party aggrieved
by the master’s ruling may seek relief by filing a Motion
for Continuance in Current Business Court.

(5) Attendance at conferences. Both parties and their
counsel shall attend all conferences unless excused in
advance by the master. Parties may participate by
speaker telephone, but only with the prior consent of the
master and the adverse party or by order of court. A
request for a party to be excused or for a party to
participate by speaker telephone must be made in writing
and delivered to opposing counsel and to the Divorce
Masters Office no less five (5) days in advance of the
scheduled conference.

(6) Failure to appear. If any party fails to appear at
any conference or hearing, either in person or by counsel,
the master may proceed with the conference or hearing
without the participation of that party provided that
written notice of the conference or hearing has been given
as set forth above.

(7) Good faith effort to settle. The parties, with the aid
of their counsel and the appropriate assistance of the
master, should make a good faith effort to resolve con-
tested matters, including the marital property division,
and shall determine those items which are contested and
upon which testimony shall be taken at a scheduled
hearing.

(8) Master’s conference memoranda. During the initial
conference or any subsequent conference, the master shall
determine what discovery shall be provided by the parties
and shall include a description of this discovery in a
conference memorandum, which shall be provided to the
parties shortly after the conference. In addition to other
matters contained within it, the conference memorandum
shall set a date by which all of the identified discovery
shall be produced.

(9) Sanctions by masters. If either party fails to comply
with the discovery deadlines established by the master in
the prehearing statement or otherwise, the master, on
motion of the adverse party or sua sponte, may impose
any or all of the following sanctions:

[a] The matter may be continued until discovery is
complete.

[b] The master, in his or her discretion may apply any
of the sanctions set out in Pa.R.C.P. 4019(c)(1), (2), (3), or
(5).

(10) Actions to compel discovery. If either party fails to
comply with the discovery deadlines established by the
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master, the adverse party may elect to file a motion in
current business court to compel discovery in accordance
with the master’s directive.

(11) Notice of Master’s hearings. When the case is ready
to proceed, the master shall establish the time and place
for the formal hearing and shall give no less than ten (10)
days notice thereof by mail to counsel. If either party does
not have counsel, then the ten (10) day notice shall be
mailed directly to that party at the address noted on the
records of the Prothonotary or such other address as the
party may have provided in writing to the Divorce
Masters Office after service of the Complaint.

(g) Stenographic record.
(1) Hearings of record. All hearings before a master

shall be conducted on the record. Transcripts may be
produced by either an official reporter or by electronic
recording devices, in the Court’s sole discretion.

(2) Preparation of transcript. At the conclusion of the
hearing or any portion thereof, the master may direct
that a transcript be prepared for use by the master in
preparing the master’s report and recommendation. Such
transcript may be on paper or may be reproduced elec-
tronically by the reporter.

[a] In the case of paper transcripts or electronic media
containing the full text of paper transcripts, the parties or
their counsel may obtain copies at their own expense
from the court reporter.

[b] In the case of electronic transcripts, the master may
request a ‘‘real time’’ copy of the court reporter’s notes.
‘‘Real time’’ copies of the court reporter’s notes are not
available to the parties or their counsel, but are only
available for use by the court at a reduced cost to the
parties. Therefore, if the parties or their counsel wish to
have a transcript of the proceedings, they must request a
paper transcript or electronic media containing the full
text of the paper transcript from the court reporter and
must pay the fees imposed by the court reporter.

(3) Master’s report without transcript. The master may
elect to prepare a report and recommendation without the
benefit of a transcript of the proceedings.

(4) Parties to pay transcript costs. The master shall
direct the manner in which the costs of the transcript
shall be paid. If the master orders the transcript, then
both parties shall pay the assessed transcript costs within
fifteen (15) days of the notice sent by the court reporter(s)
of the amount due.

(5) Assessment of costs. These costs shall be treated in
the same manner as those set forth in subsection (c)(4),
above.

(6) Sanctions for failure to pay. In the event a party
fails to pay the transcript cost, as directed by the master,
the compliant party may file a motion with the Court to
compel payment. The Court shall order that a judgement
be entered against the non-compliant party for the sum of
their portion of the transcript cost plus counsel fees in an
amount not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00).
Rule 1920.55 Masters Reports and Exceptions

(a) Masters reports and recommendations.
(1) Effective date for alimony pendente lite and alimony.

All reports from the masters recommending an award of
alimony pendente lite or alimony shall contain a recom-
mendation for the effective date of that order. All reports
from the masters recommending an award of interim
counsel fees shall contain a recommendation for a date by
which the award must be paid.

(2) Draft court orders. In all cases, the master’s report
and recommendation shall be accompanied by one or
more draft orders setting forth the master’s recommended
resolution of the case.

(3) Assessment of costs and expenses. In any case, the
master may assess any costs or expense in the case
against either party. The master may recommend that the
party pay these costs before the granting of the divorce or
the enforcement of any economic decree; PROVIDED,
HOWEVER, that the master must first consider the
effects of staying the granting of a divorce or the enforce-
ment of any economic decree upon the other party. The
master’s recommended assessment of costs and expenses
shall be binding on the parties unless specific exceptions
are filed with respect to this recommended assessment.

(b) Filing Exceptions.

(1) Filing of exceptions. Exceptions to the master’s
report, filed pursuant to Pa. R.C.P. 1920.55, shall be filed
in the Office of the Prothonotary, with copies provided to
the Divorce Masters Office and to the opposing party.

(2) Time for filing exceptions. Regardless of whether a
transcript has been filed, a party must file any Excep-
tions to the master’s report and recommendation within
ten (10) days after the notice of the filing of said report
has been mailed. A party filing Exceptions shall also file a
certification that the transcript has been requested in
accordance with Local Rules.

(3) Request of transcript. In the event no transcript has
been filed by the court reporter prior to the time that a
party files Exceptions, the party filing Exceptions shall
make a written request to the court reporter for the
preparation and filing of the transcript. This request
must be made within ten (10) days after the date of the
notice from the Divorce Masters Office that the report
and recommendation has been filed. Any party requesting
a transcript shall pay the costs of such transcript to the
court reporter, within fifteen (15) days of the written
notice from the court reporter that the transcript has
been transcribed. In the event such party fails to pay the
transcript cost within the fifteen (15) days allowed, then
that party is deemed to have waived the right to file
amended Exceptions, as set forth in this subsection and
that party’s briefing schedule commences, as set forth in
subsection (6), below.

(4) Amended Exceptions. If a party wishes to file
additional Exceptions after reviewing the transcript, the
party may do so by filing amended Exceptions within ten
(10) days after the court reporter filed the transcript,
provided that the party has timely paid the transcription
costs.

(5) Briefs to reference transcript. The moving party’s
brief shall direct the Court to the specific page or pages of
the transcript of the notes of testimony that support the
moving party’s position on all issues raised by the
Exceptions. The responding party’s brief shall direct the
Court to the specific page or pages the transcript of the
notes of testimony that support the responding party’s
position on all issues raised by the Exceptions.

(6) Filing and service of briefs.

[a] Moving party. In Rule 1920.55 proceedings on the
Exceptions to a master’s report, the party filing the
Exceptions shall file a brief in support thereof within
twenty (20) days from the filing of the transcript.

[b] Opposing party. Within fifteen (15) days after the
service of the moving party’s brief, all other parties
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desiring to oppose the issue raised by such proceeding
shall file a brief in opposition.

[c] Reply. Any moving party may file a reply brief
within five (5) days after the service of the brief in
opposition.

[d] Listing and disposition. See Rule 6031(b).
[e] Sanctions. See Rule 6031(c).
(g) Transmittal of the record. If no Exceptions are filed

within ten (10) days of the notice of the filing of the

master’s report and recommendation, or if Exceptions
have been filed but addressed by the court, then either
party may move for the entry of a Final Order of Court
by filing a ‘‘Praecipe to Transmit Record’’ with the
Prothonotary. The Divorce Masters Office shall not be
responsible for preparing or filing this Praecipe.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 02-2218. Filed for public inspection December 13, 2002, 9:00 a.m.]
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