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RULES AND REGULATIONS

Title 31—INSURANCE

INSURANCE DEPARTMENT
[31 PA. CODE CH. 115]
Public Adjuster Contracts and Licensing

The Insurance Department (Department) amends
Chapter 115 (relating to public adjuster contracts and
licensing requirements) to read as set forth in Annex A.

Statutory Authority

The final-form rulemaking is adopted under the author-
ity of sections 206, 506, 1501 and 1502 of The Administra-
tive Code of 1929 (71 P. S. 8§ 66, 186, 411 and 412); and
under the specific statutory authority of sections 1—8 of
the act of December 20, 1983 (P. L. 260, No. 72) (63 P. S.
88 1601—1608) (act).

Purpose

Chapter 115 was promulgated in 1980 under the au-
thority of a prior statute. The current authorizing statute
was enacted in 1983. The Department is amending
Chapter 115 for consistency with the current statute and
to more effectively regulate the licensing and conduct of
public adjusters and public adjuster solicitors.

Comments and Response

Notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 32
Pa.B. 609 (February 2, 2002) with a 30-day comment
period. During the 30-day comment period, comments
were received from the Insurance Federation of Pennsyl-
vania, Inc. (IFP), the Pennsylvania Association of Mutual
Insurance Companies (PAMIC) and the Pennsylvania
Association of Public Insurance Adjusters (PAPIA).

During its regulatory review, the Independent Regula-
tory Review Commission (IRRC) submitted comments to
the Department. The following is a response to those
comments.

General Comments

The IFP generally supported the Department's specifi-
cation of the licensing requirements for public adjusters
and public adjuster solicitors in 88 115.11—115.21 (relat-
ing to licensing requirements). However, the IFP recom-
mended that the chapter be amended to require specific
training and testing in estimating, general business prac-
tices, home and building construction, renovation, repairs,
repair contracting practices and conditions, appraisals of
real and personal property, knowledge of the restrictions
of the act and the contracting practices and prohibited
activities specified in the chapter.

The Department, in overseeing the licensure tests that
public adjusters and public adjuster solicitors are re-
quired to pass, considers the majority of the areas
mentioned by the IFP, including licensing requirements,
disciplinary actions, claim settlement law and regula-
tions, loss valuation, claims adjustment procedures and
general principles of all types of property and casualty
insurance. According to Experior, the Department's test-
ing provider, for the period of April 1, 2001, to December
31, 2001, a total of 189 examinations for public adjuster
and public adjuster solicitor were given to 131 candidates.
The first time pass ratio was 47.4 %, with an overall pass
ratio of 42.3%. These numbers are considerably lower
than the pass ratio for life and health insurance agents’

examinations and only slightly higher than the pass ratio
for property and casualty insurance agents’ examinations.
The Department believes that a passing grade on the
current examination is sufficient to demonstrate knowl-
edge in the areas mentioned by the IFP.

The IFP also suggested that there should be few, if any,
exceptions to the requirements for passing an examina-
tion. The IFP questioned the rationale under proposed
§ 115.12 (relating to waiver of examination for resident
applicants) for excusing someone whose license has ex-
pired from taking a new test. In addition, the IFP
opposed reciprocity under § 115.13 (relating to examina-
tion requirements for nonresident applicants) unless the
same degree of expertise is required under the other
state’s laws.

After considering the comments of the IFP, the Depart-
ment has deleted § 115.12 from the final-form rule-
making and has appropriately renumbered the sections
after § 115.12. The Department has not implemented the
IFP’s proposed restrictions on licensing nonresident pub-
lic adjusters. Section 2 of the act (63 P. S. § 1602(c)(1))
sets forth the conditions under which the Insurance
Commissioner may waive examination for nonresident
applicants. None of the exceptions permit the Commis-
sioner to examine whether the same degree of expertise is
required of applicants for licensure in the other state or
province. Reference to waiver of examination was deleted
in § 115.17(1) (no longer in § 115.16) and changed in
§ 115.17(2) (now § 115.16(1) (relating to general applica-
tion requirements)).

The IFP repeated the suggestion contained in its 1996
submission that the regulations impose a continuing
education requirement on public adjusters. The IFP be-
lieves that there are continuing developments in repair
techniques, building materials and changes in building
codes and restrictions, and that a continuing education
requirement would help protect the public from unknowl-
edgeable adjusters. In addition, the IFP stated that public
adjusters are not subject to the Commonwealth’'s bad
faith statute, 42 Pa.C.S. § 8371 (relating to actions on
insurance policies), that authorizes a court to award
interest, punitive damages, court costs and attorney fees
against an insurer. Therefore, an insured that uses a
public adjuster has no action for bad faith against the
public adjuster or the public adjusting firm.

The Department does not believe that any provision in
the act empowers the Department to require continuing
education. This is in contrast to other licensing statutes
located in Title 63 of the Purdons Statutes that do require
continuing education. See for example, 63 P.S.
§ 455.404a (real estate agents); 63 P. S. § 479.10 (funeral
directors); and 63 P. S. § 625.507 (chiropractors).

Both the IFP and the PAMIC, on behalf of their
members, suggested that the Department require that
contracts between public adjusters and insureds contain a
conspicuous fraud warning. The IFP suggested that the
fraud warning place an equal burden on public adjusters
and insureds and include the insurance fraud notice
language required by the Commonwealth’s insurance
fraud statute, 18 Pa.C.S. § 4117(a)(3) (relating to insur-
ance fraud).

The Department has not implemented this change
because it believes that this issue is better addressed to
the Attorney General's Office, Insurance Fraud Unit.
Further, the Department believes that any fraud commit-
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ted by public adjusters is sufficiently addressed in the
statute, which allows the Department to revoke, suspend
or impose civil penalties on a public adjuster who com-
mits fraudulent practices. See section 6 of the act (63 P. S.
§ 1606(a)(12)). Nothing in this final-form rulemaking
prohibits insurers from including a fraud warning in any
correspondence that they may send to either their insured
or a public adjuster.

The PAMIC suggested that § 115.3 (relating to addi-
tional procedures) be amended to require that a copy of
the public adjuster contract be supplied to the insurer at
the inception of the adjustment process. The PAMIC
believes that bilateral disclosure would put public adjust-
ers and insurers on the same footing because public
adjusters routinely request copies of all insurance policies
that may be pertinent to the claim being adjusted.

Under section 5 of the act (63 P.S. § 1605(a)), the
Department requires that public adjusters submit copies
of any contract forms for approval by the Department
prior to being used with insureds. Once the Department
approves a contract form, the public adjuster cannot
substantially alter the contract form in any way without
violating section 5 of the act. However, public adjusters
may change the percentage and amount that they charge
insureds on a case-by-case basis. The Department does
not believe that requiring that insurers be notified of the
terms and conditions of public adjuster contracts would
noticeably enhance the consumer protections already
mandated by the statute. Therefore, this suggested
change was not incorporated into the final-form rule-
making.

The PAMIC also questioned use of the term “verbally”
in 8§ 115.3(a)(1), believing that the term “orally” is more
clear and would prevent misunderstandings

The Department was cognizant of the difference in
meaning between “verbally” and “orally” in preparing the
final-form rulemaking. The Department believes that the
term “orally” does not adequately address situations when
speech cannot be used for communication, such as signing
to a hearing impaired person. The Department believes
that the term “verbally,” as used here, is stronger and
more accurate than the term “orally” suggested by the
PAMIC, and is leaving the term unchanged in the
preparation of the final-form rulemaking.

The IFP recommended that solicitation of clients by
public adjusters be addressed in two ways. First, the IFP
suggested that the Department extend that statutory 24
hour “cooling off period” to 72 hours to ensure that
consumers may make a more informed decision on
whether or not to retain a public adjuster. Second, the
IFP suggested that deceptive solicitations, solicitations
under false pretense (like employment offers), and solici-
tations initiated by unrelated third parties, being compen-
sated by public adjusters, be defined as activities which
demonstrate untrustworthiness for continued licensure
under section 6(a)(13) of the act.

As to extending the statutorily required “cooling off”
period, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court has ruled that
the 24-hour period required by statute, section 5(a) of the
act, is unconstitutional. See Insurance Adjustment Bureau
v. Insurance Com’r for Com. of Pa., 542 A.2d 1317 (Pa.
1988). Therefore, the Department believes that the 72-
hour period recommended by the IFP would not be lawful.
As to the specification of certain types of “deceptive”
solicitations as evidence of untrustworthiness, the De-
partment interprets the statute as requiring that public
adjusters take all actions in a competent and trustworthy

manner. See section 6(a)(13) of the act. If specific prob-
lems occur, the Department is prepared to review the
fitness of the public adjuster for continued licensure
through the Department’'s complaint process or through
an investigation by the Department’'s Bureau of Enforce-
ment. Therefore, these recommendations were not incor-
porated into the final-form rulemaking.

The IFP stated that its member companies have en-
countered public adjusters who restrict inspection of
damaged property to their own schedule, resulting in
significant delay and exposing insurers to potential bad
faith claims for untimely claims handling. The IFP
suggested that the final-form rulemaking should prohibit
this type of behavior and characterize it as incompetent
or untrustworthy. The IFP stated that prompt inspection
of property allegedly damaged or injured assures the
preservation of evidence and expedites the adjustment of
the claim to the insured’s benefit.

The Department does not believe that any provision in
the act empowers public adjusters to restrict insurers’
ability to inspect insured property at the earliest opportu-
nity. However, the insureds, who have engaged a public
adjuster to help settle their claims, may want that public
adjuster to be present at any inspection. This is the
insureds’ decision. The Department does, however, have
the authority to investigate any misconduct by public
adjusters in this regard and to take appropriate enforce-
ment action.

Both the IFP and the PAMIC suggested that the
Department clarify the regulations to prohibit the unau-
thorized practice of law by public adjusters, including
citing legal precedent in communications, preventing in-
surers from speaking directly with insureds, dissuading
or attempting to dissuade insureds from speaking directly
with their insurers about the settlement or processing of
a claim or taking another action designed to interfere
with insurer/insured communication.

Commonwealth law already prohibits any person from
the unauthorized practice of law and authorizes the
imposition of criminal sanctions. See 42 Pa.C.S. § 2524
(relating to penalty for unauthorized practice of law). The
Department believes that the words “any person” in the
current statute are broad enough to cover public adjust-
ers. In Dauphin County Bar Ass'n v. Mazzacarro, 351
A.2d 229 (Pa. 1976), the Pennsylvania Supreme Court
held, under a previous version of the act, that a public
adjuster had committed the unauthorized practice of law.
The Department also believes that there is nothing in the
regulation or statute that permits a public adjuster to
practice law or to prevent or attempt to dissuade insureds
from speaking with their insurers directly. The changes
suggested by the PAMIC and the IFP were not incorpo-
rated into the final-form rulemaking.

The PAPIA raised concerns relating to the requirement
of a maximum fee of 50% in public adjuster contracts.
The PAPIA felt that the percentage was excessive and not
in the best interest of public adjusters or their clients.
The PAPIA stated that a cap of 20% would be fair and
equitable. The PAPIA also stated that notice of cancella-
tion in a bottom tear-off section should be sufficient
without reiterating the right to cancel language in the
body of the contract.

There appears to have been a misperception that the
Department limits the fees that public adjusters may
recover. The Department does not have this statutory
authority when it pertains to public adjusters. In the
past, many public adjusters have asked for a copy of a

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 33, NO. 3, JANUARY 18, 2003



348 RULES AND REGULATIONS

sample contract and the Department did provide a
sample that used the 50% figure as an example. Over the
years, many public adjusters have used this sample
contract verbatim and therefore an “unofficial” commis-
sion capping of 50% has evolved. More recently, the
Department has been using the sample form; however,
the basis for approval or disapproval of public adjuster
contracts is whether the contract complies with the act
and the regulations. The current regulation specifically
states in § 115.2(4) (relating to contents of public ad-
juster contracts, minimum standards) “All public adjuster
contracts shall contain the following minimum
information . . . the consideration, expressed as a percent-
age and as a maximum amount.” The Department has
clarified the language in this section to help clarify this
section. Also, the Department wants a notice for the
insured’s right to cancel to appear in the contract. It does
not matter if this is a tear off section on the bottom of the
contract, contained in the body of the contract, or at the
beginning of a contract. If the contract meets the condi-
tions stipulated in § 115.2, relating to contents of public
adjuster contracts, minimum standards, and has not
added ambiguous language or contradictory language to
the contract then the Department would consider the
contract to be in compliance with the regulation.

The IFP, the PAMIC and IRRC encouraged the Depart-
ment to strengthen the final-form rulemaking so as to
more completely fulfill its statutory responsibility to
regulate this activity. More specifically, IRRC stated that
first, commentators had suggested that the final-form
rulemaking should include specific provisions and proce-
dures for revocation or suspension of a license or for
imposition of fines. These provisions are contained in
section 6(a) of the act. For increased clarity, IRRC
suggested that the Department consider retaining § 115.7
(relating to penalties) and adding a similar section which
references the provisions of the act dealing with revoca-
tion and suspension.

IRRC also stated, that second, the Department has the
statutory authority based on section 6 of the act and
section 8 of the act (63 P.S. § 1608) to impose further
consumer protections on public adjusters. Therefore,
IRRC believes that the regulation’s consumer protection
could be enhanced by adding:

(1) A deadline for public adjusters to provide notifica-
tion to the insurer of the public adjuster’s representation
to facilitate the processing of claims.

(2) A set time frame of 3 business days for public
adjusters to communicate any settlement offers from an
insurer to an insured in writing within 3 business days so
that the insured is made aware of all of the options.

(3) A requirement that public adjusters should reply to
any written or oral communication from an insurer with
respect to a claim within 7 business days of receiving it if
the communication solicits a reply to ensure that the
claim process continues with limited interruptions.

(4) Criteria stating that public adjusters, who do not
respond to communications, should be deemed to be
demonstrating incompetency or untrustworthiness. This
is consistent with section 6(a)(13) of the act.

The Department has adopted, in large part, the sugges-
tions of IRRC, the PAMIC and the IFP in preparing the
final-form rulemaking. The Department has decided to
retain existing § 115.7. The Department has also added
references to the Unfair Insurance Practices Act (40 P. S.
88§ 1171.1—1171.15) to clarify that sanctions may be
imposed if a public adjuster engages in a pattern or

practice of unlawful conduct or commits a single flagrant
violation of the Unfair Insurance Practices Act. The
Department has also added new § 115.9 (relating to
additional consumer protections), additional consumer
protections. Under this section, the Department is allow-
ing 5 business days for a public adjuster to notify an
insurer of the public adjuster’s representation to facilitate
claims processing. The public adjuster will also be al-
lowed 5 business days to convey any settlement offers to
the insured and must reply within 5 business days to any
written communication from an insurer that requires a
response. A 5 day period is used throughout this section
for the sake of consistency. In addition, repeated failure to
respond within the specified time period in § 115.9(c)
could be considered a pattern or practice in determining
whether sanctions under § 115.7 are appropriate. Also, in
the definition section, the Department is not deleting the
term “business day.” As the Department is accepting that
business days are more appropriate than calendar days,
the Department believes that the term needs to remain in
the final-form rulemaking.

IRRC and the IFP wanted consistency with the Penn-
sylvania Bulletin. They stated that the version that was
printed in the Pennsylvania Bulletin was not the same as
the version submitted to IRRC and the committees. IRRC
wanted the Department to correct references in the text
of § 115.11 to “subsections (b) and (c)” and of § 115.12 to
“subsection (a).”

When the Department submitted the proposed rule-
making to IRRC and the committees of the Senate and
House, the licensing section was only one section with
many subsections. The Legislative Reference Bureau in
reformatting the long section into smaller sections created
a reference that was nonexistent. The Department has
made the appropriate corrections.

IRRC also wanted the Department to clarify the terms
“active office” and “active partner.” More specifically, the
phrase “who holds a current public adjuster license and”
appears in the text of both definitions. The act and
proposed 8§ 115.17 and 115.21 (relating to general appli-
cation requirements; and partnership or corporation ap-
plication procedures) contain the requirements for
licensure of active officers and active partners. Because
these individuals are required to obtain a license, IRRC
believed that the phrase noted should be deleted from
both definitions in the final-form rulemaking.

The Department has reviewed the suggestion and
agrees that the phrase “who holds a current public
adjuster license” is redundant. Accordingly, the Depart-
ment has eliminated the phrase from definitions of both
“active officer” and “active partner.” The Department has
further altered the definitions by replacing “a person”
with “an individual.” The Department did this to be
consistent with language that will be in the Producer
Licensing Model Act (currently SB 962). Also, the term
“person,” as defined in section 601 of The Insurance
Department Act of 1921 (40 P.S. § 231), includes “an
individual, corporation, partnership...” and the intent of
the Department is to only include individuals.

IRRC wanted clarification in § 115.2. More specifically,
subsection (a)(4) provides that the adjusters contract to
include “The consideration expressed as a percentage of
any payment to be received on the negotiated claim, and
as a maximum dollar amount.” (Emphasis added.) IRRC
and the PAPIA suggested that the word “and” be replaced
by the word “or.”

Also, subsection (b)(3) provides that the public adjuster
contract may not impose “unreasonable late fees or
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collection costs on the insured.” IRRC wanted the Depart-
ment to provide examples of what the Department consid-
ers “unreasonable” with regard to late fees or collection
cost.

The Department has modified § 115.2(a)(4) by substi-
tuting the term “or” for the term “and” in that subsection.
In regards to the term “unreasonable” found in
§ 115.2(b)(3), the Department concurs that this term is
subjective. Rather than muddying the regulation with
examples that remain subjective and may not give clear
guidance, the Department has deleted the term “unrea-
sonable.” This allows for greater consumer protection. The
Department also believes that when checks for claims are
issued in both the insured’'s name and the public adjust-
er's name, the issue of the proper amount of late fees or
collection costs becomes moot. This does not preclude a
public adjuster from collecting fees associated with rea-
sonable and necessary emergency out-of-pocket expenses
or services which were paid for or incurred by the public
adjuster to protect the interests of the insured during the
period preceding cancellation as described in
8§ 115.2(a)(7), relating to the notice of cancellation.

IRRC questioned whether “15 calendar days” after
receipt of the cancellation notice was a reasonable time
period for a public adjuster to fulfill the requirements
found in § 115.3.

The Department has determined, for consistency, to use
business days in lieu of calendar days. Section 115.3 has
been modified to now reflect “15 business days.” The term
“business days” is now used throughout the final-form
rulemaking.

IRRC also asked for clarity in § 115.11. IRRC stated
that this section requires applicants to “successfully
complete an examination, except as provided for in
subsections (b) and (c).” Applicants seeking a license shall
apply for examination directly to the testing facility. It is
not clear where the applicant may obtain an examination
or how the applicant will contact the testing facility. To
add clarity to this section, the Department could cross
reference § 115.15(5) (now § 115.14(5)), which provides
the pertinent information.

The Department has no problem with IRRC's sugges-
tion and has added “See § 115.14 (relating to administra-
tion of examination)” to the final-form rulemaking.

IRRC requested that the Department clarify what
documents or information the Department was willing to
accept for a nonresident applicant for a license to “pass
the appropriate examination if unable to produce docu-
mentation from the confirming regulatory authority...”
in § 115.13.

The Department has replaced the term “documentation”
with “a license or letter of certification of licensure” to
proposed § 115.13 (now § 115.12). This should clarify the
requirements.

IRRC wanted clarification to § 115.15 (relating to
administration of examination). IRRC stated that this
section requires an eligible delegatee to adhere to certain
standards. Paragraph (2) states “Testing may be con-
ducted in locations throughout this Commonwealth and
other designated locations.” IRRC had two concerns. First,
if the Department requires the eligible delegatee to offer
exams throughout this Commonwealth, then the word
“may” should be replaced with the word “shall.” Second,
what “other designated locations” would not be located in
this Commonwealth? The Department should provide
examples of “other designated locations” in the final-form
rulemaking or delete the phrase.

The Department also clarified that in proposed
§ 115.13 only a resident applicant needs to maintain a
business or legal address in this Commonwealth. As
previously written, this would have excluded a nonresi-
dent from applying if the nonresident is not able to meet
the requirements in final-form § 115.12.

The Department has changed the word “may” to “shall.”
The Department has also added to proposed § 115.15(2)
(now § 115.14(2)) the following language, “examples of
other designated locations include testing facilities that
the administrator of testing may have in other states, or
internet testing offered by the administrator.” The De-
partment has also added § 115.14(6) which states “loca-
tion of the testing facilities is available on the Depart-
ment's website at www.insurance.state.pa.us or upon
request from the Department.” The Department contracts
for the administration of testing using the Request for
Proposal method. As the administrator may change over a
period of time, and from contract to contract, this new
language alleviates any concern that applicants could
contact the wrong party to obtain information on where
testing facilities are located. The Department has also
changed the term “delegee” to the more appropriate
“delegatee.”

Affected Parties

The final-form rulemaking applies to public adjusters
and public adjuster solicitors doing the business of public
adjusting in this Commonwealth.

Fiscal Impact
State Government

There will be no increase in cost to the Department due
to the adoption of the Chapter 115.

General Public
There will be no fiscal impact to the public.
Political Subdivisions

The final-form rulemaking will not impose additional
costs on political subdivisions.

Private Sector

The final-form rulemaking will not impose additional
costs on public adjusters doing the business of public
adjusting in this Commonwealth.

Paperwork

The adoption of the final-form rulemaking will not
impose additional paperwork on the Department or the
insurance industry or the public adjusters.

Effectiveness/Sunset Date

The final-form rulemaking becomes effective upon pub-
lication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. No sunset date has
been assigned.

Contact person

Questions regarding this final-form rulemaking should
be directed to Peter J. Salvatore, Regulatory Coordinator,
Office of Special Projects, 1326 Strawberry Square, Har-
risburg, PA 17120, (717) 787-4429, fax (717) 772-1969,
psalvatore@state.pa.us

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)), on November 7, 2002, the Department
submitted a copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking,
published at 32 Pa.B. 609, to IRRC and to the Chairper-
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sons of the House Insurance Committee and the Senate
Banking and Insurance Committee for review and com-
ment.

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC
and the Committees were provided with copies of the
comments received during the public comment period, as
well as other documents when requested. In preparing
this final-form rulemaking, the Department has consid-
ered the comments received from IRRC, the Committees
and the public.

Under section 5.1(d) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5a(d)), on November 27, 2002, this final-form
rulemaking was deemed approved by the House and
Senate Committees. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regula-
tory Review Act, IRRC met on December 12, 2002, and
approved the final-form rulemaking.

Findings
The Commissioner finds that:

(1) Public notice of intention to adopt this final-form
rulemaking as amended by this order has been given
under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P. S. 88 1201 and 1202) and the
regulations thereunder, 1 Pa. Code 88 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) The adoption of this final-form rulemaking in the
manner provided in this order is necessary and appropri-
ate for the administration and enforcement of the autho-
rizing statutes.

Order

The Commissioner, acting under the authorizing stat-
utes, orders that:

(@) The regulations of the Department, 31 Pa. Code
Chapter 115, are amended by amending 88 115.1—115.3,
115.7 and 115.8; by deleting 8§ 115.5 and 115.6; and by
adding 8§ 115.11—115.21 to read as set forth in Annex A.

(b) The Commissioner shall submit this order and
Annex A to the Office of General Counsel and Office of
Attorney General for approval as to form and legality as
required by law.

(¢) The Commissioner shall certify this order and An-
nex A and deposit them with the Legislative Reference
Bureau as required by law.

(d) The rulemaking adopted by this order shall take
effect upon final-form publication in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin.

M. DIANE KOKEN,
Insurance Commissioner

(Editor's Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission, relating to this
document, see 32 Pa.B. 6428 (December 28, 2002).)

Fiscal Note: 11-146. No fiscal impact; (8) recommends
adoption.

Annex A
TITLE 31. INSURANCE

PART VII. PROPERTY, FIRE AND CASUALTY
INSURANCE

CHAPTER 115. PUBLIC ADJUSTER CONTRACTS
AND LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

GENERAL
§ 115.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

Act—The act of December 20, 1983 (P. L. 260, No. 72)
(63 P. S. 88 1601—1608).

Active officer—An individual designated by the corpora-
tion as an officer of record for the public adjuster agency
license.

Active partner—An individual designated by the part-
nership as a partner of record for the public adjuster
agency license.

Business day—A day other than a Saturday, Sunday or
holiday.

Commissioner—The Insurance Commissioner of the
Commonwealth.

Execution date—The date that a public adjuster con-
tract has been signed by all parties.

Insurance company—An insurance company, association
or exchange authorized to transact insurance business in
this Commonwealth.

Resident—A person whose business address or legal
residence is located in this Commonwealth.

§ 115.2. Contents of public adjuster contracts, mini-
mum standards.

(@) A public adjuster contract shall contain, at a mini-
mum, the following information:

(1) The title of the contract to read: Public Adjuster
Contract.

(2) The name, business name, address and telephone
number of the public adjuster.

(3) The name and address of the insured.

(4) The consideration expressed as a percentage of any
payments to be received on the negotiated claim, or as a
maximum dollar amount.

(5) A space provided for the execution date (month, day,
year) of the contract.

(6) A space provided for the signature of the insured
and the public adjuster.

(7) A provision setting forth the insured's right to
cancel, which shall be printed in prominent type on the
first page of the public adjuster contract in substantially
the following form:

Notice of Right to Cancel

You, the insured, may cancel this contract at any
time prior to midnight of the fourth business day
after the execution date of this contract. If you
exercise your right to cancel this contract, you will be
liable for reasonable and necessary emergency out-of-
pocket expenses or services which were paid for or
incurred by the public adjuster to protect the inter-
ests of the insured during the period preceding
cancellation.

If you cancel this contract, anything of value given
by you under the contract will be returned to you
within 15 business days following the receipt by the
public adjuster of your cancellation notice, and any
security interest arising out of the contract will be
cancelled.

To cancel this contract, mail, fax or deliver in
person a signed and dated copy of this notice or any
other written notice, indicating your intent to cancel
and the date thereof to (name of public adjuster) at
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(business address of public adjuster) not later than
midnight of (date).

I hereby cancel this contract.

(Date)

(Insured’s signature)

(b) A public adjuster contract may not contain any
contract term that:

(1) Allows the public adjuster’s fee to be collected when
money is due from an insurance company, but not paid, or
that allows a public adjuster to collect the entire fee from
the first check issued by an insurance company, rather
than as percentage of each check issued by an insurance
company.

(2) Requires the insured to authorize an insurance
company to issue a check only in the name of the public
adjuster.

(3) Imposes late fees or collection costs on the insured.
§ 115.3. Additional procedures.
(a) Each insured shall be:

(1) Verbally informed by the public adjuster at the time
of signing the contract of the right to cancel.

(2) Furnished with a copy of the executed public ad-
juster contract.

(b) Before furnishing the approved notice to the in-
sured setting forth the insured’s right to cancel the
contract, the notice shall be completed by entering the
name of the public adjuster; the address of the public
adjuster’s place of business; the execution date of the
contract; and the date, not earlier than the fourth
business day following the execution date of the contract,
by which the insured may give notice of cancellation.

(¢) The cancellation period provided for in this chapter
may not begin until the insured has been informed of the
insured’s right to cancel and has been provided with the
approved notice setting forth the insured’s right to cancel.

(d) Within 15 business days after the receipt of the
cancellation notice, the public adjuster shall:

(1) Refund payments made under the contract.

(2) Cancel and return negotiable instruments executed
by the insured in connection with the contract.

(3) Take action necessary or appropriate to promptly
terminate any security interest created under the con-
tract.

(e) A contract may not be negotiated, transferred, sold
or assigned by the public adjuster to a finance company
or other third party prior to midnight of the fifth business
day following the execution date of the contract.

(f) If an insured exercises the insured’s right to cancel
the contract, the insured shall be liable for reasonable
and necessary emergency out-of-pocket expenses or ser-
vices which were paid for or incurred by the public
adjuster during the period preceding cancellation.

§ 115.5. (Reserved).
§ 115.6. (Reserved).
§ 115.7. Penalties.

A violation of this chapter will be subject to penalties
set forth in:

(1) Section 6 of the act (40 P.S. § 1606), regarding
revocation, and the like, of license.

(2) Section 7 of the act (40 P.S. § 1607), regarding
violations.

(3) Section 8 of the act (40 P.S. § 1608), regarding
administration and enforcement.

(4) The Unfair Insurance Practices Act (40 P.S.
8§ 1171.1—1171.15), if the public adjuster:

(i) Demonstrates a pattern or practice of violating this
chapter.

(if) Commits a single violation of this chapter, that is
so flagrant in nature as to warrant sanctions.

§ 115.8. Filing and approval of contracts.

Applications for licensure and contract forms shall be
submitted to the Insurance Department, Bureau of Pro-
ducer Services, for filing and approval by the Commis-
sioner.

§ 115.9. Additional consumer protections.
A public adjuster shall:

(1) Notify the insurer, within 5 business days of the
execution date of the contract, of the public adjuster’s
representation to facilitate the processing of claims.

(2) Communicate in writing, to the insured, within 5
business days, all settlement offers from an insurer so
that the insured is made aware of all the options.

(3) Reply to written communications from an insurer,
with respect to a claim, in writing within 5 business days,
only if the communication from the insurer requires a
response.

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS
§ 115.11. Examination requirement.

Applicants for public adjuster and public adjuster solici-
tor licenses shall be required to successfully complete an
examination, except as provided for in 8§ 115.12 (relating
to examination requirements for nonresident applicants).
Applicants seeking a license shall apply for examination
directly to the testing facility. See § 115.14 (relating to
administration of examination).

§ 115.12. Examination requirements for nonresident
applicants.

A nonresident applicant for a license shall:

(1) Submit, along with the application, a letter or other
official document from the regulatory authority of the
jurisdiction where the applicant holds a license, confirm-
ing the applicant’s licensure in good standing for the
same type of license for which application is being made
with the Department, whether qualification is under a
written examination or whether licensure preceded the
requirement of a written examination.

(2) Be subject to reciprocal agreements between the
Department and the regulatory authority of the confirm-
ing jurisdiction.

(3) Be required to pass the appropriate examination if
unable to produce a license or letter of certification of
licensure from the confirming regulatory authority which
is satisfactory to the Department.

§ 115.13. Qualifications for examination.

An individual, or officer of a corporation, partner in a
partnership or member of an association, who is 18 years
of age or older, who can read and write in the English
language and, for a resident applicant, who maintains a
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bona fide business office or legal residence in this Com-
monwealth, may take a public adjuster/public adjuster
solicitor examination upon payment of the applicable fee
and submission of an application form.

§ 115.14. Administration of examination.

The Commissioner may delegate to a person or corpora-
tion, by contract, the authority for administering and
scoring examinations. An eligible delegatee shall guaran-
tee to adhere to the following standards:

(1) Examinations shall be offered at regular intervals
at least 12 times each year.

(2) Testing shall be conducted in locations throughout
this Commonwealth and other designated locations. Ex-
amples of other designated locations include testing facil-
ities that the administrator of testing may have in other
states, or Internet testing offered by the administrator.

(3) Test security shall be strictly maintained, and a set
of security rules shall be developed by the testing facility,
which shall be approved by the Commissioner.

(4) Bias or favoritism towards an applicant will not be
permitted by the testing facility.

(5) The testing facility shall develop a comprehensive
brochure describing, at a minimum, applicable fees, the
nature of examination questions and providing sample
questions. The brochure shall be distributed to an appli-
cant at the time of registration for examination or, upon
request, at any other reasonable time.

(6) The location of the testing facilities is available on
the Department’'s website at www.insurance.state.pa.us or
upon request from the Department.

§ 115.15. Scope of examination.

Examinations shall be designed by the testing facility
to test the adequacy of an applicant's knowledge of
general principles of insurance, insurance laws of the
Commonwealth and the business of adjusting losses.

§ 115.16. General application requirements.

Applicants for a license shall follow the following
procedures:

(1) An active officer of a corporation, active partner in
a partnership or member of an association shall be
required to take a written examination unless the re-
quirement is waived under § 115.12 (relating to examina-
tion requirements for nonresident applicants) or unless
the active officer, active partner or member is a currently
licensed public adjuster.

(2) Persons who have passed the examination may
apply to the Department for a license. The applicant shall
attach a certification from the testing facility attesting
that the applicant passed the examination. The certifica-
tion from the testing facility is not required if the testing
facility reports test scores directly to the Department.

(3) Test scores and results remain valid for 1 year from
the date of the examination. Applications received with
test results in excess of 1 year will be denied.

§ 115.17. Completion of application and renewal
application forms.

Public adjusters and public adjuster solicitors shall
complete application and renewal forms fully and accu-
rately, and shall submit the required fees. Those applica-
tions and renewal forms submitted to the Department
which are not complete and accurate or accompanied by
required fees, will be returned for correction together

with written notice of the reason for the return of the
applications or renewal forms.

§ 115.18. Application procedures for individual per-
sons.

(&) An individual shall complete the application for an
initial license. Accompanying the application shall be:

(1) The appropriate application fee.
(2) A bond as required by statute.

(3) A receipt from the surety stating that the premium
has been paid in full on the bond.

(4) A copy of the contract to be used in this Common-
wealth.

(b) An applicant for a public adjuster solicitor license
shall also obtain and present with the application a letter
of intent from a licensed public adjuster to employ the
applicant as a public adjuster solicitor.

(c) Applications shall be subscribed and sworn to before
a notary public.

(d) Applications executed more than 3 months prior to
the date of filing with the Department will not be
accepted.

(e) Making a false statement in an application may
constitute a ground for license denial or revocation.

(f) Initial licenses will be valid as of the date issued by
the Department until the expiration date stated on the
license, unless earlier revoked by the Commissioner.

(g) Before a license is granted, the applicant shall first
answer and submit, in writing and under oath, interroga-
tories on forms prepared by the Department.

(h) When the Commissioner is satisfied that the appli-
cant is worthy of a license, and that the applicant has
passed the examination or qualified for a waiver, and has
paid any appropriate fees, the Commissioner will issue a
license stating that the licensee has been authorized by
the Department to transact business as a public adjuster
or public adjuster solicitor within this Commonwealth.

§ 115.19. Denial of application.

The applicant may be denied a license for any of the
following reasons. The applicant:

(1) Has provided incorrect, misleading or incomplete
answers to interrogatories on forms incidental to applying
for a license.

(2) Has been denied a license or has had an existing
license revoked, suspended or not renewed by the Depart-
ment or a regulatory authority in another state, territory
or possession of the United States, or in the District of
Columbia, or the Canadian provinces.

(3) Does not possess the professional competence and
trustworthiness required to engage in the business of
being a public adjuster or public adjuster solicitor.

(4) Has pleaded guilty, entered a plea of nolo
contendere or has been found guilty of a felony in a court
of competent jurisdiction, or has pleaded guilty, entered a
plea of nolo contendere, or been found guilty of criminal
conduct which relates to the applicant's suitability to
engage in the business of being a public adjuster or public
adjuster solicitor.

(i) Examples of criminal violations which the Depart-
ment may consider related to the applicant’s suitability to
engage in the business of being a public adjuster or public
adjuster solicitor including unlawful practices as set forth
in sections 6(a)(1)—(3), (5)—(7) and (12) of the act (63
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P.S. § 1606(a)(1)—(3), (5)—(7) and (12)), embezzlement,
obtaining money under false pretenses, conspiracy to
defraud, bribery or corrupt influence, perjury or false
swearing, unlicensed activity or a criminal offense involv-
ing moral turpitude or harm to another.

(ii) Examples of violations or incidents which the De-
partment will not consider related to the applicant’s
suitability to engage in the business of being a public
adjuster or public adjuster solicitor are all summary
offenses, records of arrests if there is no conviction or a
crime based on the arrest, convictions which have been
annulled or expunged or convictions for which the appli-
cant has received a pardon from the Governor.

(5) Fails to comply with the insurance-related provi-
sions in sections 320 and 603(a) of the Violent Crime
Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994 (18 U.S.C.A.
88 1033 and 1034), if applicable.

(6) Has unpaid and overdue amounts, including fees
and civil penalties, owing to the Department.

§ 115.20. Partnership or corporation application
procedures.

Procedures for partnerships or corporations are as
follows:

(1) Partnerships or corporations shall apply for
licensure using the appropriate licensing application
form. The form shall be signed in the name of the
partnership or corporation by each active partner or
active officer, and be accompanied by the appropriate
licensing application form for each active partner or
active officer who is not currently licensed. Accompanying
the licensing application shall be:

(i) The appropriate application fee.
(if) A bond as required by statute.

(iii) A receipt from the surety stating the premium has
been paid in full on the bond.

(iv) A copy of the contract to be used in this Common-
wealth.

(v) A copy of the articles of incorporation as filed with
the Department of State, Corporation Bureau.

(vi) A copy of the public adjuster license of each active
partner or active officer, if applicable.

(2) Employees of partnerships and corporations who
apply for a license shall apply in their individual capacity.

(3) The worthiness of a partnership or corporation is
determined by the worthiness of the active partner or the
active officer.

(4) The application shall be subscribed and sworn to
before a notary public.

(5) Applications executed more than 3 months prior to
the date of filing with the Department will not be
accepted.

(6) Making a false statement in an application may
constitute a ground for license denial or revocation.

(7) Initial licenses will be valid as of the date issued by
the Department until the expiration date stated on the
license, unless earlier revoked by the Commissioner.

(8) Before a license is granted, the applicant shall first
answer and submit, in writing and under oath, interroga-
tories on forms prepared by the Department. When the
Commissioner is satisfied that the applicant is worthy of
a license and has paid any appropriate fees, the Commis-
sioner will issue a license stating that the licensee has

been authorized by the Department to transact business
as a public adjuster or public adjuster solicitor within this
Commonwealth.

§ 115.21. Renewal of license.
License renewal procedures are as follows:

(1) Mailing of a license renewal form to the last known
address of the licensee will satisfy the Department’s
obligation to provide the appropriate forms and notices.

(2) A license can be renewed only upon submission,
electronic or otherwise, of a completed renewal form,
payment of the required fees and an attestation or a
receipt from a surety stating the premium on the bond, as
required, has been paid in full.

(3) Licenses shall be renewed annually on the anniver-
sary of the effective date of the initial license.

(4) Corporations shall provide to the Department the
names of each active officer with the renewal form to be
eligible for license renewal. Partnerships shall provide to
the Department the names of each active partner with
the renewal form to be eligible for license renewal.

(5) Failure to complete and submit the renewal form
and required fee by the expiration date shall be deemed
voluntary termination by the public adjuster or public
adjuster solicitor. Failure to correct and resubmit applica-
tion renewal forms returned by the Department under
this section, prior to the expiration date of the license, or
within 15 days of the date the forms were mailed by the
Department, whichever is greater, will be deemed volun-
tary termination by the public adjuster or public adjuster
solicitor. Renewal forms received by the Department after
expiration will be denied; except that renewal forms
returned by the Department under this section and
resubmitted as instructed by the Department after expi-
ration but within 15 days of the date the incomplete
forms were mailed by the Department to the applicant
will be accepted.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 03-85. Filed for public inspection January 17, 2003, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 37—LAW

COMMISSION ON CRIME AND DELINQUENCY
[37 PA. CODE CH. 421]
Deputy Sheriffs’ Education and Training Board

The Deputy Sheriffs’ Education and Training Board
(Board), an advisory board within the Commission on
Crime and Delinquency (Commission), amends Chapter
421 (relating to Deputy Sheriffs’ Education and Training
Board) to read as set forth in Annex A.

A. Effective Date

The final-form rulemaking will be effective upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

B. Statutory Authority

The final-form rulemaking is authorized under the
Deputy Sheriffs’ Education and Training Act (act) (71 P. S.
8§ 2101—2109). Section 4(10) of the act (71 P.S.
§ 2104(10)) empowers the Board, with the review and
approval of the Commission, to “make rules and regula-
tions and perform other duties as may be reasonably
necessary or appropriate to administer the education and
training program for deputy sheriffs.”
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C. Background and Purpose

Legislation enacted in 1984 established the Board as an
advisory board to the Commission. See section 3(a) of the
act (71 P.S. § 2103(a)). Among other things, the act
mandates that a deputy sheriff be certified by the Board
as having met all of the act’'s requirements to receive
compensation for performing duties as a deputy sheriff.
See section 7(c) of the act (71 P.S. § 2107(c)). The act
originally directed the Board to set up a training program
consisting of a total of 160 hours, to be determined by
regulation. However, in 1998, the act was amended to
direct the Board to set up a program of “not less than 160
hours, which content and hours of instruction shall be
determined by the board subject to the review and
approval of the commission.” See section 5 of the act (71
P.S. § 2105). On July 8, 2000, the Board as an interim
step published a statement of policy at 30 Pa.B. 3472
(July 8, 2000) that set the number of hours of basic
training at 560 hours. With this rulemaking, the Board is
setting the number of hours at no more than 760 hours,
an expansion that will allow for the inclusion of addi-
tional topics to the basic training curriculum, including
motor vehicle code and enforcement.

D. Summary of Comments and Responses on Proposed
Rulemaking

Notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 31
Pa.B. 788 (February 10, 2001). Publication was followed
by a 30-day public comment period during which the
Board received comments from the Independent Regula-
tory Review Commission (IRRC) and three public com-
mentators: the Pennsylvania State Association of Town-
ship Supervisors (PSATS); Thomas Speers, Esquire,
Solicitor for the Montgomery County Sheriff; and the
Sheriffs’ Association of the Commonwealth of Pennsylva-
nia (Sheriffs’ Association).

General Comments

The Sheriffs’ Association submitted a comment in full
support of the proposed rulemaking.

Comments from the PSATS and the Montgomery
County Sheriff both challenged the statutory authority of
the Board to promulgate a rulemaking of this scope. The
PSATS noted that the Board was attempting to expand
the authority of deputy sheriffs by regulation instead of
legislation. According to the PSATS, this training could
result in deputy sheriffs acting as municipal police offic-
ers without specific statutory authority to do so. Notwith-
standing these comments, the Board is confident that
section 4(10) of the act provides suitable statutory author-
ity to expand the basic training curriculum to include the
listed topics. The Board also notes that the Supreme
Court of Pennsylvania has held that a deputy sheriff who
has received training equivalent to that of a municipal
police officer with respect to the motor vehicle code may
make a valid arrest for a vehicle code charge. Common-
wealth v. Kline, 741 A2d 1281 (Pa. 1999).

The Montgomery County Sheriff commented that the
expanded training as proposed by the Board would
burden counties financially because it would require new
deputy sheriffs from all counties to undergo the expanded
training, even those from counties that do not intend to
use deputy sheriffs for vehicle patrol duties. The commen-
tator suggested that the expanded training be made
optional at the choice of the individual county or sheriff,
rather than mandatory as proposed by the Board.

The Board acknowledges the added cost factors that
would result from expanded basic training. However, it

notes that the training itself and most related expenses
are being paid completely by the Board. Moreover, section
9 of the act (71 P. S. § 2109) requires the Commission to
reimburse counties for the regular salary of deputy
sheriffs in training at a 50% rate. Finally, due to other
training certifications held, a large percentage of new
deputies seeking Board certification are able to obtain
required training through the abbreviated waiver course
rather than the full basic training course. However, in
response to the concerns raised, the Board asked the
Commission to undertake a feasibility study regarding
whether projected revenues from surcharges assessed
under section 8 of the act (71 P. S. § 2108) could accom-
modate an increase of the 50% salary reimbursement
rate. That study culminated in action taken by the
Commission at its September 2001 meeting to endorse
legislative action to raise the reimbursement rate to
100%.

In response to these comments, the Board reexamined
its position on the issue of mandatory versus optional
training. Among other things, the Board conducted a
meeting on July 10, 2001, with the associations that had
submitted comments on the proposed rulemaking. With
its approval of this final-form rulemaking, the Board
signals its continuing commitment to the concept of
uniform training for all new deputies. A uniform standard
of training will generate a cadre of professionals who,
having undergone the expanded training, will share the
same set of enhanced skills. These enhanced skills will
provide each deputy with increased employment opportu-
nities, allowing a deputy to move to a county that uses
deputies for vehicle patrol even if the current employer
does not do so.

The Montgomery County Sheriff also noted concern
about the Board’s practices regarding newly-hired depu-
ties who were eligible for a partial waiver of basic
training based on previous completion of a municipal
public officers training program. At the time that the
proposed rulemaking was published, the Board was re-
quiring candidates for partial waiver to pass a Board
waiver test to be able to forego full basic training and
take an abbreviated waiver course instead. The commen-
tator pointed out that the additional 200 hours training
would be a particular burden for counties whose deputies
did not pass the Board’'s waiver test and, consequently,
would be required to take a 760 hour course instead of a
waiver course of approximately 100 hours. The sheriff's
concerns are no longer pertinent, however, because subse-
quent to the publication of the proposed rulemaking the
Board eliminated the test requirement as a condition for
entry into the waiver course.

Specific comments of IRRC

The Board received several comments from IRRC. The
Board will address IRRC's comments in the order in
which the regulatory sections appear.

§ 421.1. Definitions

In the proposed definition of “continuing education,”
IRRC considered the term “periodically” too vague to
describe the frequency of required training, and suggested
it be replaced with “2-years.” The Board sees merit in this
suggestion. However, rather than specifying the time
frame, the Board has chosen to redraft the definition by
making reference to the applicable statutory cite. The
same approach is being taken with the definition of “basic
training.” The proposed definitions of “school” and
“waiver” are being deleted for stylistic purposes and, in

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 33, NO. 3, JANUARY 18, 2003



RULES AND REGULATIONS 355

the case of “school,” a substantive provision is added to
§ 421.31(c) (relating to reimbursement to counties) that
accomplishes the purpose the Board had intended by the
definition in the proposed rulemaking.

§ 421.3. Training required.
Subsection (a)

The Board had increased the basic training require-
ment from its original 160 hours to its current level of
560 hours by publishing a statement of policy at 30 Pa.B.
3472. In the preamble for the proposed rulemaking, the
Board set forth its plan to add an additional 200 hours of
law enforcement-related topics, for a total of 760 hours,
but did not specify the number of hours in the proposed
Annex A. The Board’s intention had been to publish an
updated statement of policy setting forth the new total at
760 hours. IRRC suggested that the Board reconsider and
specify the number of hours in the final-form rulemaking.
(The PSATS also referenced the hours’ issue in its
comment.) IRRC stated that use of a statement of policy
might subject the 760-hour program to legal challenge,
whereas use of a regulation would set a binding norm
with the full force and effect of law. In response to these
comments, the Board adds language to this subsection
setting the course of study at “no more than 760 hours.”
This terminology will signify that the Board has no
intention to further expand the hours of basic training,
and will allow downward adjustment of the total number
of hours if necessary. Enactment of this final-form rule-
making will result in the deletion of § 421.102 (relating
to basic training).

Subsection (b)

Using the same rationale as in subsection (a), IRRC
suggested that the Board include a specific number of
hours in the final-form rulemaking with respect to re-
quired continuing education. The 1998 amendment to the
act allowed the Board to set the number of hours at “not
less than 20 hours.” Although the Board sees merit in
using a more specific hourly reference than that con-
tained in the proposed rulemaking, it is reluctant to be
more specific than the phrase used in the 1998 amend-
ment. Accordingly, the Board is deleting the term “as
required by the act and by this chapter in the amount of
hours established by the Board” and adding the phrase
“of not less than 20 hours every 2 years.” Enactment of
this final-form rulemaking will result in the deletion of
§ 421.104 (relating to continuing education).

Subsection (c)

The Board did not specify in the proposed rulemaking
the minimum scores that must be attained on tests to
complete training courses. IRRC suggested that it do so.
However, this specificity would prevent the Board from
making adjustments as needed to what constitutes a
passing grade. Furthermore, the training incorporates
certain tests from outside entities, the passing scores for
which are beyond the Board's control. The test for the
module on cardio-pulmonary resuscitation is one example.
Because the outside entities might change the passing
scores for these tests without consulting the Board, a
regulation setting forth a specific passing score would be
problematical. Finally, the existing regulation contains no
reference to a specific numerical score. For all of these
reasons, the Board declines to implement IRRC’s sugges-
tion. However, the Board will notify trainees at the
beginning of each course what constitutes a passing score,
and has added language to the subsection to reflect this
change.

§ 421.4. Waiver of training.
Subsection (a)

The Board adopts IRRC’s suggestion that the phrase
“for cause shown” is vague and could benefit from specific
examples of what would constitute a reason for additional
time to be granted for a newly hired deputy sheriff to
fulfill the basic training requirements of the act. More-
over, the Board accepts IRRC's suggestion to insert a
maximum time period for a time extension.

Subsection (b)

IRRC suggested that the Board be specific about the
criteria to be used to make a determination whether prior
training and experience warrants a candidate to forego
full basic training. Accordingly, the Board sets forth in the
final-form rulemaking criteria relating to the waiver
program. Also, the Board adds language regarding the
number of hours of waiver training. Similar to language
added to § 421.3(c), the Board sets forth a mechanism to
notify the waiver trainee in advance of what constitutes a
passing score on a test. Enactment of this final-form
rulemaking will result in deletion of § 421.103 (relating
to waiver of basic training).

§ 421.5. Code of conduct.

The Board received no comments about this new sec-
tion. However, the Board sees a need to amend this
section to set forth that it will make the attendance and
conduct rules available to trainees prior to the start of
the course. Enactment of this final-form rulemaking will
result in deletion of § 421.102 (relating to basic training).

§ 421.12. Continuing education.

IRRC commented that the Board's proposal to deter-
mine the topics of continuing education “periodically” is
vague. The Board agrees with this comment and has
replaced that term with the phrase “every 2 years.” IRRC
also suggested that the Board provide additional explana-
tion in this preamble about the development and avail-
ability of continuing education. Accordingly, the Board
notes that it has implemented the requirements of the act
by requiring deputy sheriffs every 2 years to complete a
standard curriculum of courses of “not less than 20 hours”
in schools that contract with the Commission to provide
uniform training. Course content is reviewed every 2
years and, if necessary, adjusted to reflect changing needs
and emerging issues. IRRC also suggested that the
rulemaking would benefit from more specificity as to
where deputy sheriffs may obtain information on adjust-
ments to continuing education curriculum. Accordingly,
the Board has included language in this section stating
that, at least 14 days prior to the initial class in the
current cycle of continuing education, the Board will
make available to the public the list of topics to be taught
in the course.

§ 421.31. Reimbursement to counties.
Subsection (a)
The Board has made a style change.

Subsection (c)

IRRC suggested that the Board reword the cross-
reference to the definition of “school.” Instead, the Board
deletes the definition and adds substantive language to
this subsection to make clear that the Board will provide
reimbursement only for attendance at schools authorized
by the Board.
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Subsection (d)

IRRC suggested a language change to improve clarity.
The Board has adopted IRRC's suggestion.

Subsection (f)

The Board has adopted IRRC's suggestion that it
specify a time period for notifying the county about a
reimbursement request that does not meet the necessary
requirements. The Board also adopts the suggestion to
specify the mode of delivery of the notice.

E. Affected Persons

Those directly affected by the final-form rulemaking
will be the newly-hired deputy sheriffs who are required
to undergo mandated training. As of August 2002, the
Board had initially certified a total of 3,288 deputies as
having completed either basic training or waiver training
during the Board’s 18 year existence. During the calendar
year 2001, the Board trained a total of 275 new deputies.
Also affected will be the sheriffs’ offices and county
governments in each of the 67 counties, which send new
deputies to Board training and which, under section 9 of
the act, are responsible for half of the regular salary of
the applicable participants during the training.

F. Compliance with Executive Order 1996-1, “Regulatory
Review and Promulgation”

The Board reviewed this final-form rulemaking and
considered its purpose and likely impact upon the public
and the regulated population under the directives of
Executive Order 1996-1. The final-form rulemaking ad-
dresses a compelling public interest as described in this
Preamble and otherwise complies with Executive Order
1996-1.

G. Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

The final-form rulemaking will impose no additional
paperwork requirements upon the Commonwealth, politi-
cal subdivisions or the private sector. The final-form
rulemaking would have some fiscal impact on the Com-
monwealth and its political subdivisions. It will increase
training costs borne by the Commission. Moreover, it will
increase the number of hours that new deputies who take
full basic training will spend in that course. Although
section 9 of the act requires the Commission to reimburse
each county for all of the living and travel expenses
incurred by deputies at training, it requires Commission
reimbursement of 50% of the deputies’ regular salaries
while attending school. It is anticipated that some coun-
ties will need to incur additional overtime expenses to
cover for deputies away at training during the additional
200 hours. However, all of these fiscal impacts will be
lessened by the fact that a large proportion of the new
deputies certified each year by the Board obtain required
training through the abbreviated waiver course. In 2001,
136 deputies graduated from the full 560 hour basic
training course and 138 graduated from the waiver
course, which is less than 100 hours in duration.

H. Sunset Date

The Board continually monitors the effectiveness of its
regulations through communications with the regulated
population. Therefore, no sunset date has been set.

I. Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5(a)), on February 13, 2001, the Board submit-
ted a copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking, published
at 31 Pa.B. 788, to IRRC and to the Chairpersons of the
House Judiciary and the Senate Local Government Com-
mittees for review and comment.

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC
and the Committees were provided with copies of the
comments received during the public comment period, as
well as other documents when requested. In preparing
this final-form rulemaking, the Board has considered the
comments received from IRRC, the Committees and the
public.

Under section 5.1(d) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5a(d)), on November 27, 2002, this final-form
rulemaking was deemed approved by the House and
Senate Committees. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regula-
tory Review Act, IRRC met on December 12, 2002, and
approved the final-form rulemaking.

J. Contact Person

Further information may be obtained by contacting
Gerard M. Mackarevich, Chief Counsel, PCCD, P. O. Box
1167, Harrisburg, PA 17108-1167, (717) 705-0888 X 3034,
fax (717) 214-9585, gmackarevi@state.pa.us.

K. Findings
The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given
under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P.S. 88 1201 and 1202) and the
regulations thereunder, 1 Pa. Code 8§ 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered.

(3) This final-form rulemaking does not enlarge the
purpose of the proposed rulemaking published at 31 Pa.B.
788.

(4) This final-form rulemaking is necessary and appro-
priate for administration of the Board’s authorizing stat-
ute.

L. Order

The Board, acting under its authorizing statute, and
with the approval of the Commission, orders that:

(1) The regulations of the Board, 37 Pa. Code Chapter
421, are amended by amending 8§ 421.1, 421.3, 421.4,
421.11, 421.31 and 421.32; by adding 88 421.5 and
421.12; and by deleting 8§ 421.101—421.104 to read as
set forth in Annex A.

(2) The Board shall submit this order and Annex A to
the Office of General Counsel and to the Office of the
Attorney General as required by law.

(3) The Board will certify this order and Annex A and
deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bureau as
required by law.

(4) This order shall take effect upon publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.

THOMAS W. CORBETT, Jr., Esq.,
Chairperson
Commission on Crime and Delinquency

COMMANDER CARMEN DELUCA,
Chairperson
Deputy Sheriffs’ Education and Training Board

(Editor's Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission, relating to this
document, see 32 Pa.B. 6428 (December 28, 2002).)

Fiscal Note: 35-28. (1) General Fund; (2) Implement-
ing Year 2001-02 is $0; (3) 1st Succeeding Year 2002-03 is
$702,199; 2nd Succeeding Year 2003-04 is $716,243; 3rd
Succeeding Year 2004-05 is $730,568; 4th Succeeding Year
2005-06 is $745,179; 5th Succeeding Year 2006-07 is
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$760,083; (4) Fiscal Year 2001-02 $2,733,535; Fiscal Year
2000-01 $1,035,204; Fiscal Year 1999-00 $1,176,836; (7)
Deputy Sheriffs’ Education and Training Account; (8)
recommends adoption.

Annex A
TITLE 37. LAW

PART VI. COMMISSION ON CRIME AND
DELINQUENCY

CHAPTER 421. DEPUTY SHERIFFS' EDUCATION
AND TRAINING BOARD

GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 421.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

Act—The Deputy Sheriffs’ Education and Training Act
(71 P. S. 8§ 2101—2109).

Basic training—A course of training administered by
the Deputy Sheriffs’ Education and Training Board under
section 5 of the act (71 P. S. § 2105).

Board—The Deputy Sheriffs’ Education and Training
Board.

Continuing education—A course of training adminis-
tered by the Board under section 6 of the act (71 P. S.
§ 2106).

Deputy sheriff—A person, whether full-time or part-
time, who is titled, sworn-in or authorized to act as a
deputy sheriff or who performs the duties of a deputy
sheriff.

§ 421.3. Training required.

(&) A newly-hired deputy sheriff is required to undergo
basic training of not more than 760 hours.

(b) A deputy sheriff holding Board certification is re-
quired to undergo continuing education of at least 20
hours every 2 years.

(c) To successfully complete basic training or continu-
ing education, a deputy sheriff shall attain at least a
minimum score established by the Board on each written
test and shall demonstrate proficiency in all practical
skills. Prior to the commencement of instruction for which
a test will be administered, the Board will notify the
deputy sheriff of the minimum score required.

§ 421.4. Waiver of training.

(@) The Board upon request and for cause shown may
extend the time up to 1 year for a newly-hired deputy
sheriff to fulfill the basic training requirements of the act.
Examples of good cause are:

(1) A medical problem.
(2) A family crisis or obligation.
(3) A conflict with other employment.

(b) The Board upon request may grant a deputy sheriff
a reduction in the hours of basic training generally
required. The determination will be based upon the
Board's evaluation of the prior education, training or
experience of the deputy sheriff under the following
criteria:

(1) The Board will grant a full waiver of basic training
upon application by a deputy sheriff who has served a
full, 4-year term as sheriff within this Commonwealth.

(2) A deputy sheriff in one or more of the following
categories may apply for a partial waiver of basic train-
ing:

(i) Trained by the State Police and previously employed
as a member of the State Police.

(i) Certified as a municipal police officer in this Com-
monwealth.

(iii) Graduated from a course of basic training ap-
proved by the Municipal Police Officers’ Education and
Training Commission.

(3) The Board will grant a partial waiver of basic
training to a deputy sheriff in one or more of the
categories in paragraph (2) who holds current certifica-
tions in basic first aid or its equivalent, adult/child/infant
cardio-pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and police firearms
range qualification.

(4) A deputy sheriff who has been granted a partial
waiver of basic training shall be required to attend a
waiver course of not more than 100 hours administered
by the Board, attain at least a minimum score established
by the Board on each written test and demonstrate
proficiency in all practical skills. Prior to the commence-
ment of instruction for which a test will be administered,
the Board will notify the deputy sheriff of the minimum
score required.

§ 421.5. Code of conduct.

(@) The Board or school may establish reasonable rules
governing attendance and conduct expected of a deputy
sheriff who is attending training required under the act.
The Board will provide each deputy sheriff with a copy of
any rules of attendance and conduct no later than 14
days prior to the start of instruction.

(b) Violations of attendance policy or departures from
the expected standards of conduct may result in the
Board's imposition of disciplinary sanctions, which may
include expulsion from the training or denying or with-
drawing certification.

CURRICULUM
§ 421.11. Basic training.

The Board will determine the curriculum for basic
training, which will include at least the following topics:

(1) Civil law and procedure.

(2) Communications.

(3) Control and defensive tactics.

(4) Courtroom security.

(5) Crimes Code and criminal procedure.

(6) Criminal investigation.

(7) Criminal justice system and law enforcement.
(8) Crisis intervention.

(9) Cultural diversity and ethnic intimidation.
(10) Emergency management.

(11) Emergency vehicle operation.

(12) Ethics and professional development.

(13) Families in crisis and domestic violence.
(14) Firearms.

(15) First aid and cardio-pulmonary resuscitation.
(16) Motor vehicle code and enforcement.

(17) Patrol procedures and operations.
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(18) Physical conditioning.
(19) Physical and judicial security.
(20) Prisoner transportation.
(21) Related social sciences.
(22) Related legal issues.
(23) Special needs groups.
(24) Unified court system.
§ 421.12. Continuing education.

Continuing education will consist of topics to be deter-
mined every 2 years by the Board. The Board will make
available to the public the list of course topics no later
than 14 days prior to the commencement of course
instruction.

REIMBURSEMENT OF EXPENSES
§ 421.31. Reimbursement to counties.

(@) A county shall initially pay the deputy sheriff's
ordinary and necessary living and travel expenses in
connection with training, except for those items that the
Board provides directly to a deputy sheriff.

(b) Upon application by a county, the Commission will
provide reimbursement as set forth in section 9 of the act
(71 P. S. § 2109) for items paid by the county.

(¢) The Commission will provide reimbursement only in
connection with a deputy sheriff's attendance at a school
authorized by the Board to provide basic training or
continuing education.

(d) The county may apply to the Commission for
reimbursement, on a form to be supplied by the Commis-
sion, at the conclusion of the required training for each
deputy sheriff who has attended basic training or continu-
ing education.

(e) Reimbursement will be limited to the following:
(1) Tuition. Tuition will be provided by the Board.

(2) Living expenses. Allowable subsistence and lodging
shall be provided for a deputy sheriff who is not commut-
ing to and from school. A deputy sheriff who is commut-
ing will be allowed reimbursement only for lunch.

(3) Travel expenses. A commuter is entitled to claim
mileage costs for each day the commuter is required to
attend the approved training course. The mileage allow-
ance, whether commuter or noncommuter, will only be
allowed to the training school from the deputy sheriff's
place of employment.

(4) Determination of expenses. The determination of
ordinary and necessary living and travel expenses will be
governed by 4 Pa. Code Chapter 40 (relating to travel and
subsistence).

(f) If the Commission determines that the application
and request for reimbursement do not meet the require-
ments of the act and this chapter, the Commission’s
Executive Director or a designee will send written notifi-
cation within 10 business days to the county by regular
mail and, if feasible, electronic mail. The notification will
set forth the reasons upon which the adverse determina-
tion is based.

§ 421.32. Restrictions on reimbursement.

(a) If a deputy sheriff has successfully completed the
certified basic training course and if reimbursement for
the deputy is claimed by or paid to a county, the deputy

may not again be claimed for reimbursement for repeti-
tion of the basic training course regardless of reemploy-
ment by another county.

(b) If a deputy sheriff does not successfully complete
the certified basic training course and if reimbursement
for the deputy is claimed by or paid to a county, the
county is not eligible for further reimbursement on behalf
of the deputy in the event that the deputy subsequently
attends another basic training course.

(c) A county will be reimbursed once, for each deputy
sheriff attending a certified continuing education course
within a 2-year period.

8§ 421.101—421.104. (Reserved).
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 03-86. Filed for public inspection January 17, 2003, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 49—PROFESSIONAL
AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

[49 PA. CODE CH. 36]
Fees for Board Services

The State Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers
(Board) amends § 36.6 (relating to fees) to read as set
forth in Annex A.

The final-form rulemaking raises Board fees for appli-
cation for certification as a real estate appraiser (whether
on the basis of reciprocity or nonreciprocity), application
for temporary practice registration, verification of certifi-
cation or registration status and certification of examina-
tion scores. The final-form rulemaking also adds a new
fee for application for approval as a continuing education
provider and makes changes to the descriptions of certain
fees and to the order in which they appear in the fee
schedule.

Summary of Comments and Responses to Proposed Rule-
making

The Board published a notice of proposed rulemaking
at 30 Pa.B. 5290 (October 14, 2000), with a 30-day public
comment period. The Board received comments from the
Pennsylvania Association of Realtors (PAR).

The Board received comments from the Independent
Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) and the House
Professional Licensure Committee (House Committee) as
part of their review of the proposed rulemaking under the
Regulatory Review Act (71 P.S. 8§ 745.1—745.15). The
Board did not receive comments from the Senate Commit-
tee on Consumer Protection and Professional Licensure
(Senate Committee), which also reviewed the amend-
ments in proposed form under the Regulatory Review Act.

PAR questioned whether the additional revenues gener-
ated by the fees (approximately $32,900 during each fiscal
biennium) would be applied toward providing services to
certificateholders and not toward adding further “bureau-
cratic levels” to the Board’'s operations. The fees are
intended to recoup the Board's actual costs of providing
specific services to individual certificateholders and appli-
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cants; they are not intended to fund new regulatory
initiatives or increases in staffing. By increasing fees to
reflect the actual costs of providing the services covered
by the fees, the Board ensures that the costs of providing
individualized services are borne by the individuals who
use those services rather than by the entire regulated
community.

PAR also raised concern that the increase in the
application fee for appraiser certification by examina-
tion—from $55 to $235—could serve as an economic
“barrier” to entry into the real estate appraising profes-
sion. The Board has no evidence that an increase of $180
in the application fee is likely to dissuade persons from
considering a career in real estate appraising; no ap-
praiser trainee or prospective applicant has raised objec-
tions to the fee increase. The Board notes that its
application fee is still less than the appraiser application
fees in neighboring states such as New York ($250), New
Jersey ($225—250) and West Virginia ($175—$325).

IRRC asked the Board to provide a more detailed
explanation of the reason for the increase in the applica-
tion fee for appraiser certification by examination. The
original fee of $55 has not been increased since its
adoption in 1991. Because the Board had just begun
operations at the time the original fee was adopted, the
cost calculations underlying the original fee were based
on estimates rather than on historical cost data. As stated
in the notice of proposed rulemaking, a recent systems
audit of the Board's operations conducted by the Revenue
Office of the Bureau of Professional and Occupational
Affairs (BPOA) determined that the $55 application fee
did not cover the Board's actual cost of processing an
application. The actual cost was calculated by multiplying
the hourly compensation rate of Board personnel who
review an application times the average number of
minutes in the review process, plus a proportionate share
of the administrative overhead. The actual costs are
broken out as follows:

Board staff (10 hours by credentials evaluator) $212.09
Averaged Board member review $ 4.00
Administrative overhead $ 19.45
Total Cost $235.54

To be admitted to the appraiser certification examina-
tion, an applicant must establish compliance with Feder-
ally mandated education and experience qualifications.
The credentials evaluators on the Board’'s administrative
staff review and evaluate the course transcripts submit-
ted by the applicant’'s education providers and, as neces-
sary, contact the providers for additional information to
verify the eligibility of the course offerings for education
credit. The credentials evaluators also review a detailed
log prepared by the applicant of the applicant's experi-
ence as an appraisal assistant. The credentials evaluators
select from the applicant’s experience log a representative
sampling of transactions for further scrutiny; for each
transaction selected, the credentials evaluators review the
appraisal report that the applicant assisted in preparing
as well as an appraisal assistant checklist completed by
the applicant’'s supervising appraiser. The credentials
evaluators may seek additional verification of experience
by contacting the applicant, the applicant’'s supervising

appraiser and lenders and other appraisal clients who
have had dealings with the applicant.

In a small number of cases, the direct involvement of
Board members is required to ascertain whether the
applicant has satisfied the education and experience
requirements for admittance to the certification examina-
tion. Individual Board members may review the applica-
tion file and interview the applicant; on occasion it may
be necessary for the full Board to conduct an evidentiary
hearing on the applicant’s qualifications.

IRRC also questioned the rationale for the proposed
increase—from $55 to $235—in the application fee for
certification as a certified Pennsylvania evaluator under
the Assessors Certification Act (63 P. S. 88 458.1—458.16)
Upon rechecking the results of the BPOA's systems audit
of the its operations, the Board has determined that the
proposed increase in the application fee for certification
as a certified Pennsylvania evaluator was submitted in
error. Accordingly, the Board has deleted the proposed
increase from the final-form rulemaking.

IRRC also noted an error in the text of the proposed
rulemaking regarding the amount of the new fee for
approval of a continuing education provider. The pre-
amble of the notice of proposed rulemaking and the fee
report form identified the amount of the fee as $85, while
the text of the proposed regulation listed the fee as $55.
The final-form rulemaking reflects the correct fee of $85.
Noting that the Board's fee schedule lists both “examina-
tion fees” and “application fees,” the House Committee
and IRRC commented that the nomenclature of the
application fees for certified appraisers—"“application by
examination” and “application by reciprocity”—is confus-
ing because it gives the false impression that there are
actually two examination fees. The House Committee and
IRRC recommended that the application fees for certified
appraisers be renamed “licensure application fee” and
“licensure by reciprocity.” The Board does not favor the
term “licensure” because the appraiser credential issued
by the Board under the Real Estate Appraisers Certifica-
tion Act (REACA) (63 P. S. 88 457.1—457.19) is a certifi-
cate rather than a license. To avoid the confusion cited by
the House Committee and IRRC, the Board has renamed
the application fees for certified appraisers as “application
(nonreciprocity)” and “application (reciprocity).”

At the suggestion of IRRC, the Board has made the
category of “continuing education provider” in the fee
schedule plural to be consistent with the other fee
categories.

Statutory Authority

Section 5(6) of the REACA (63 P.S. § 457.5(6)) autho-
rizes the Board to establish fees for its operations. Section
9 of the REACA (63 P. S. § 457.9) requires the Board to
establish fees by regulation and to ensure that revenues
derived from fees are adequate to cover the Board's
expenditures over a biennial period.

Fiscal Impact

The Board projects that the final-form rulemaking will
generate additional fee revenues totaling approximately
$32,900 during each fiscal biennium. The additional
biennial revenues are broken down as follows:

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 33, NO. 3, JANUARY 18, 2003



360 RULES AND REGULATIONS

Service Estimated Additional Cost Additional

Fee-Payers Revenues
Application for Certification as 150 x $180 = $27,000
Appraiser (Nonreciprocity)
Application for Certification as 10 x $15 = $150
Appraiser (Reciprocity)
Application for Temporary Practice 75 x $5 = $375
Registration
Application for Approval as 25 x $85 = $2,125
Continuing Education Provider
Certification of Examination 200 x $10 = $2,000
Scores
Verification of Certification 250 X $5 = $1,250
or Registration Status

Total $32,900

Paperwork Requirements

The final-form rulemaking will require the Board to
change certain forms to reflect the revised schedule of
user fees. The final-form rulemaking will not create
additional paperwork requirements for the regulated com-
munity.

Compliance with Executive Order 1996-1

In accordance with Executive Order 1996-1, “Regula-
tory Review and Promulgation,” the Board, in drafting
and promulgating the final-form rulemaking, considered
the least restrictive alternative to regulatory costs for
services requested by individual certificate holders and
applicants.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5(a)), on October 4, 2000, the Board submitted
a copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking, published at
30 Pa.B. 5290, to IRRC and to the Chairpersons of the
House and Senate Committees for review and comment.

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC
and the Committees were provided with copies of the
comments received during the public comment period, as
well as other documents when requested. In preparing
this final-form rulemaking, the Board has considered the
comments received from IRRC, the Committees and the
public.

Under section 5.1(d) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5a(d)), on November 13, 2002, this final-form
rulemaking was deemed approved by the House and
Senate Committees. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regula-
tory Review Act, IRRC met on November 21, 2002, and
approved the final-form rulemaking.

Additional Information

For additional information concerning the final-form
rulemaking, contact Michelle T. DeMerice, Administrator,
State Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers, P. O. Box
2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649, (717) 783-4866,
appraise@pados.dos.state.pa.us.

Findings
The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given
under sections 201 and 202 of the July 31, 1968 (P.L.

469, No. 240) (45 P.S. 88 1201 and 1202) and the
regulations thereunder, 1 Pa. Code 8§ 7.1 and 7.2

(2) The final-form rulemaking adopted by this order is
necessary and appropriate for the administration of the
REACA.

Order

The Board, acting under its authorizing statute, orders
that:

(@) The regulations of the Board, 49 Pa. Code Chapter
36, are amended by amending § 36.6 to read as set forth
in Annex A.

(b) The Board shall submit this order and Annex A to
the Office of Attorney General and the Office of General
Counsel for approval as required by law.

(c) The Board shall certify this order and Annex A and
deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bureau as
required by law.

(d) The final-form rulemaking shall take effect upon
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

GEORGE D. SINCLAIR,
Chairperson

(Editor's Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission, relating to this
document, see 32 Pa.B. 6016 (December 7, 2002).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 16A-7011 remains valid for
the final adoption of the subject regulation.

Annex A

TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

PART |I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 36. STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

Subchapter A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 36.6. Fees.

The following is the schedule of fees charged by the
Board:
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Certification of scores .......................... $25

Verification of certification or registration. .. ..... $15
Certified Real Estate Appraisers

Application (nonreciprocity)..................... $235

Application (reciprocity) ................o ... $40

Temporary practice registration................. $30

Examination fee ..., $100

Initial certification (if certified on or after 7/1 of
odd-numbered years or on or before 6/30 of
even-numbered years)...............oiiiii... $90

Initial certification (if certified between 7/1 of
even-numbered years and 6/30 of
odd-numbered years. ......................... $45

Biennial renewal fee .................. ... ..., $105
Certified Broker/Appraisers
Application (for application period of 9/3/96 to

93/98) .ot $40
Initial certification (if certified between 7/1/97
and 6/30/98) .. ... $90

Initial certification (if certified between 9/3/96
and 6/30/97 or if certified on or after 7/1/98, if
the application for initial certification was

submitted by 9/3/98) ......................... $45
Certified Pennsylvania Evaluators
Application............... .. $55

Initial certification (if certified on or after 7/1 of
odd-numbered years or on or before 6/30 of
even-numbered years)............. ..., $90

Initial certification (if certified between 7/1 of
even-numbered years and 6/30 of

odd-numbered years) ..., $45
Biennial renewal fee ........... ... ... ... ... ... $105
Examination...............coiiiiiiiiiina.. $200

Continuing Education Providers

Application for continuing education provider
approval ... $85

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 03-87. Filed for public inspection January 17, 2003, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 55—PUBLIC WELFARE

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WELFARE
[55 PA. CODE CH. 1101]

[Correction]

Invoicing for Services

An error occurred in the preamble to the document
which appeared at 32 Pa.B. 6364 (December 28, 2002).

The correct version of the fifth paragraph of the
preamble is as follows:

Under the 180-day rule, an MA provider must
submit a correct original invoice to be received by the
Department within 180 days of the date the provider
renders service to an eligible MA recipient. If a
provider other than a long-term care provider sub-
mits an invoice within the 180-day time frame, but
the invoice is pended or is rejected by the Depart-
ment as incorrectly completed, the provider may
resubmit the claim or submit a corrected claim so
long as the resubmission is received by the Depart-
ment within 365 days of the date of service. See
§ 1101.68(b)(3). The current regulation gives long-
term care providers less time than other providers to
submit a “clean claim.” Section 1101.68 specifies that
a long-term care provider must submit its original
invoice and any resubmissions to be received by the
Department within 180 days of the last day of the
month in which service was provided. 1d.?

FEATHER O. HOUSTOUN,
Secretary

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 02-2312. Filed for public inspection December 27, 2002, 9:00 a.m.]

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 33, NO. 3, JANUARY 18, 2003



