
RULES AND REGULATIONS
Title 37—LAW

COMMISSION ON CRIME AND DELINQUENCY
[37 PA. CODE CHS. 191 AND 411]

Crime Victims Compensation

The Commission on Crime and Delinquency (Commis-
sion) deletes Chapter 191 (relating to general provisions)
and adopts Chapter 411 (relating to crime victims com-
pensation) to read as set forth in Annex A.

Purpose and Authority

This final-form rulemaking deletes Chapter 191 and
replaces it with regulations specific to the Office of
Victims’ Services (OVS). The new regulations will be
adjoining other regulations pertaining to the Commission
or its other offices. The final-form rulemaking reflects the
substantial statutory changes that have occurred since
1989 when regulations affecting the Crime Victims Com-
pensation Program were most recently amended. New
regulations are needed to conform to the new require-
ments of the section 312(13) of the Crime Victims Act
(act) (18 P. S. § 11.312(13)). The final-form rulemaking
will simplify or clarify many of the OVS’s claims process-
ing and determination and appeal procedures. In addi-
tion, this rulemaking incorporates the Schedule of Com-
pensation Limits and Reimbursement Rates (Schedule)
for the Crime Victims Compensation Program (Program)
published as a statement of policy at 32 Pa.B. 4489
(September 14, 2002).

This final-form rulemaking is adopted under the au-
thority of the act (18 P. S. §§ 11.101—11.5102). Section
312(3) of the act, empowers the OVS to ‘‘adopt, promul-
gate, amend and rescind suitable rules and regulations to
carry out the provisions and purposes of Chapter 7.’’
Section 312(13) of the act also empowers the OVS to
‘‘establish compensation limits and reimbursement rates
for the purpose of carrying out the provisions of Chapter
7.’’

Comments and Response

Notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 34
Pa.B. 5032 (September 11, 2004) with a 30-day comment
period. During the 30-day comment period, comments
were received from the Crime Victim Center of Erie
County, Inc; Victim Witness Services of South Philadel-
phia; Victim Services Division of the Cumberland County
District Attorney’s Office; Network of Victim Assistance
(Bucks County); Lancaster County Victim/Witness Ser-
vices; Pennsylvania Coalition Against Domestic Violence;
House Judiciary Committee (Committee); and the Inde-
pendent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC).

The Crime Victim Center of Erie County, Inc., wrote in
support of the proposed regulations in particular to the
definition of ‘‘immediate need’’ relative to relocation.

The Pennsylvania Coalition Against Domestic Violence
wrote in support of the proposed rulemaking highlighting
the following areas of 37 Pa. Code:

Section 411.11(g). Filing procedures. When a Protection
From Abuse (PFA) is withdrawn or denied—‘‘Although
victims of domestic violence file approximately 50,000
Protection From Abuse cases annually, we recognize that
many victims choose to withdraw their orders in order to
secure safety. Studies show that victims are most at risk

for retaliation or abuse when they separate from the
perpetrator of abuse. The Commission’s decision to in-
clude specific guidelines for justification of this safety
choice will help many survivors of domestic violence.’’

Section 411.15(h). Determining Primary Aggressor. ‘‘Un-
fortunately many victims of domestic violence are forced
to use physical means to protect themselves when a
perpetrator attacks them. These situations sometimes
result in a confusing situation for law enforcement to
assess. The aforementioned provision allowing for a deter-
mination of primary aggressor permits OVS to consider
factors that are relevant to many victims of domestic
violence. We applaud the inclusion of this section in the
proposed regulations.’’

Section 411.15(g). Failure to Cooperate. ‘‘Many victims
of domestic violence are forced to choose between their
future safety and cooperation with law enforcement when
a charge or complaint is filed. While this failure to
cooperate may seem arbitrary to law enforcement, it is
clear that these proposed regulations grant credibility to
victims who make the choice to protect themselves rather
than cooperate.’’

Section 411.42(f). Reimbursement for Relocation Ex-
penses. ‘‘There is a cost to safety. The cost of safety
includes relocation or acquiring temporary housing. The
meaningful and substantial resource that the proposed
regulations permit will save lives, encourage victims of
domestic violence to seek help and move our culture
closer to the goal of ending domestic violence. We are
grateful that the relocation expenses include both tempo-
rary and permanent relocation. This allows flexibility for
victims.’’

The Coalition supports this priority and general tone in
the proposed regulations that accepts the complex choices
and options victims of domestic violence face everyday.

Following is a summary of the comments and the
Commissions response to those comments:

§ 411.2 (relating to definitions)

Comment: IRRC recommended that the definition of
‘‘dependent child’’ be clarified by replacing ‘‘Eighteen
years of age or younger’’ with ‘‘Under 18 years of age’’ to
remain consistent with the act.

Response: The Commission concurs and revised the
definition. In addition, to remain consistent with the act,
‘‘19’’ was deleted and replaced with ‘‘18.’’

Comment: The Committee and IRRC expressed con-
cerns about the clarity of the proposed amendment
regarding the definitions of ‘‘loss of earnings,’’ ‘‘stolen
benefit cash’’ and ‘‘cash equivalent.’’

Response: The Commission concurs and deleted the
definition of ‘‘loss of earnings,’’ as it was already defined
in the act. The Commission deleted the definition and any
reference to ‘‘stolen benefit cash,’’ as it is an internal
processing term used to describe a specific type of claim.
The Commission also deleted the definition for ‘‘cash
equivalent,’’ as it was clarified in § 411.43 of this final-
rulemaking.

The statute references the ability to consider an award
when a victim of crime is unable to work as a result of
the injury versus a victim of crime who has had money
stolen or defrauded and whose primary source of income
is derived from a fixed source such as social security,
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pension, etc. This is delineated in the act under the
definition of loss of earning as well as section 707 of the
act (18 P. S. § 11.707). Since there are two different ways
for a crime victim to be compensated for lost income with
specific monetary limits for each, the Commission opined
it was important to delineate the different eligibility
requirements as well as the required documentation.

Under § 411.43(a) (relating to loss of earnings), the
Commission replaced the term ‘‘direct victim’’ with ‘‘vic-
tim’’ to be consistent with the statutory definition.

In addition, to provide clarity on the allowable reim-
bursement limit, the Commission added, ‘‘in no instance
would payment exceed the amount stolen.’’

Comment: Lancaster County Victim/Witness Services
and Victim Witness Services of South Philadelphia ex-
pressed concern that the definition of ‘‘immediate need’’
be changed to provide a longer period than 30 days from
the date of the crime or change in circumstance or
indicator of danger. It was suggested that this 30 day
time frame was not an adequate amount of time to
provide for the complications victims incur in those 30
days, which inhibit them from moving. These complica-
tions may include: the need to find a new place to live,
relocation of children who may be subject to custody
orders or school changes, pending legal proceedings, or
raising sufficient moneys to make the initial move. Many
victims can find a temporary hiding place with family or
friends, but when they find a place to seek a permanent
refuge, it may be too late to apply.

Response: The term ‘‘immediate need’’ is included under
the definition of ‘‘out-of-pocket loss’’ in the act. It states,
in part: ‘‘(4) expenses resulting from the temporary or
permanent relocation of a direct victim and individuals
residing in the household of the direct victim due to the
incident forming the basis of the victim’s claim when
there is an immediate need to protect the safety and
health of the victim and individuals residing in the
household, as verified by a medical provider, human
services provider or law enforcement.’’

The intent focused on victims whose lives were in
danger because of the crime, and had the desired result of
meeting the victim’s immediate needs to protect their
safety and health. Adding this benefit by statute was
never intended to cover or address all aspects of the need
for victims to relocate. OVS is cognizant of the unique
circumstances that victims face and has the authority to
consider delays past the 30-day time period. Specifically,
§ 411.42(f)(3) states that ‘‘OVS may consider a delay past
the prescribed immediate need time period to be justified
when the direct victim, intervenor or claimant is mentally
or physically incapacitated, there is a fear of retaliation,
or other circumstances where good cause is shown by the
claimant.’’

§ 411.11 (relating to filing procedures)

Comment: IRRC commented that this section does not
include time frames for filing claims for compensation
with OVS or time frames for reporting the crime to
proper authorities.

Response: The Commission concurs and included a
reference to the act that outlines requirements for timely
filing and reporting. See sections 702(b) and 707(a)(3) of
the act (18 P. S. §§ 11.702(b) and 11.707(a)(3)).

Comment: IRRC recommended that § 411.11(a) (relat-
ing to filing procedures) also reference § 411.3(a) (relating
to persons eligible for compensation)

Response: The Commission has revised this section to
add the suggested reference.

Comment: The Committee expressed concern that the
list contained in subsection (f)(1) may deter a direct
victim or intervenor with a legitimate claim from filing an
application for compensation. The Committee suggests
that this paragraph be amended to clearly indicate that
this list is not exclusive and that OVS retains the
authority to determine on a case-by-case basis, whether a
direct victim or intervenor reported the occurrence of the
crime to a ‘‘proper authority.’’

Response: The Commission reviewed this list and deter-
mined that the Commission does not require further
discretion in this area. However, the Commission has
included United States Postal Inspection Service, which is
the law enforcement arm of the postal service. As is with
the FBI, they investigate and refer cases to the United
States Attorney’s Office for possible prosecution.

Comment: The Committee suggested that a definition of
‘‘the occurrence of the crime’’ be included in the final-form
rulemaking so that the time period for filing does not
begin to run until the crime is actually discovered. The
Committee believes that a definition would be consistent
with the intent of the act, that is the restoration of crime
victims to their precrime status and a definition would
treat all eligible claimants in a uniform manner.

Response: On November 19, 2004, Governor Rendell
signed legislation H.B. 2396. This legislation became
effective on January 19, 2005, and amended the filing
time for a compensation claim. The amendment states in
part, ‘‘A claim must be filed no later than two years after
the discovery of the occurrence of the crime upon which
the claim is based.’’ OVS has incorporated this amend-
ment into § 411.11 (g) of the final rulemaking.

Comment: The Committee was concerned that the three
requirements for not utilizing an insurance plan for
medical or counseling may not suffice in all cases. The
Committee recommends that OVS retain the authority to
decide on a case-by-case basis whether a victim or
intervenor had legitimate justification for not utilizing
their insurance plan.

Response: The Commission concurs and has revised
§ 411.11(k)(1) and (5).

Comment: IRRC and the Committee suggest the Com-
mission add requirements that would justify a victim not
utilizing their homeowner’s or renter’s insurance.

Response: Claimants have a choice whether to access
their insurance. They do not have to provide written
justification to OVS as to why they did not access their
insurance. § 411.16(i) (relating to reductions, offsets and
limitations) states, ‘‘In claims involving stolen benefit
cash or crime scene clean-up, if a claimant chooses not to
access any of his homeowner’s or renter’s insurance, OVS
will apply as an offset any amount that the claimant
would have been paid by the insurance company.’’

Exceptions to insurance usage for financial decisions
are not supported by the OVS.

Comment: IRRC recommended that the Commission
clarify what information is required for a claimant who
witnesses the crime for the purpose of seeking reimburse-
ment for counseling expenses.

Response: The Commission has clarified the require-
ments under § 411.11(k)(5).

Under § 411.11(h) OVS has replaced ‘‘OVS will ask the
claimant to submit confirmation of the issuance of a final
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PFA order’’ with ‘‘OVS will confirm the disposition of a
final PFA order.’’ In some instances, the Commission has
the ability to access this information directly and would
not need to require this information from the claimant.

§ 411.12 (relating to review)

Comment: The Pennsylvania Coalition Against Domes-
tic Violence requested that § 411.12(d) be amended to
ensure that OVS will not request or review records or
files of domestic violence counselor/advocates. The term
‘‘domestic violence counsel/advocate’’ is limited to the
definition provided in 23 Pa.C.S. (relating to domestic
relations). As such, no subpoena or subpoena duces tecum
should be issued to any domestic violence counselor or
advocate.

Response: The Commission did not amend this section.
The Commission’s intent is to uphold any statutory
provisions that protect privileged and confidential infor-
mation for victims of crime. Section 709 of the act states
in part, ‘‘All reports, records or other information ob-
tained or produced by the bureau during the processing
or investigation of a claim shall be confidential and
privileged, shall not be subject to subpoena or discovery,
shall be used for no purpose other then the processing of
a claim.’’ In addition, domestic violence programs have
their own statutory privilege as outlined in 23 Pa.C.S.
§ 6116 (relating to confidentiality).

It is also important to note that OVS may not request
or review counseling notes of mental health service
providers. OVS will request an assessment from the
mental health service provider as to the extent the
service provided is needed as a direct result of the crime.
Counseling may only be considered as a reimbursable
expense when the service is provided by or under the
supervision of a psychiatrist, psychologist, licensed profes-
sional counselor or licensed social worker. OVS could not
provide reimbursement to domestic violence counselor/
advocates, therefore OVS would have no statutory author-
ity to request counseling records from them.

Comment: The Committee is of the opinion that the
intent of the statutory provision upon which § 411.12(a)
(relating to review) is based is to ensure that the OVS
conducts an examination of each claim and any support-
ing documentation to prevent fraud. The proposed regula-
tion and statute both state in relevant part that the OVS
investigation shall include ‘‘an examination of police,
court and official records and reports concerning the
crime and an examination of medical and hospital reports
relating to the injury upon which the claim is based.’’ The
Committee is of the opinion that it is not the legislative
intent of the statutory provision to require that an
investigation into every claim require that each of the
referenced items be examined, but rather that OVS
examine such records and reports as necessary in order to
ensure that a claim is legitimate. For example, it is the
opinion of the Committee that a claim based upon the
abuse of a child according to the official records of a
county child protective services agency as reported to
police should not be denied because the police department
who received the complaint has not provided OVS with a
copy of the police record or report further confirming the
complaint. The Committee suggests that this section
clarifies this point.

Response: The Commission has added language to
address this concern. It is the Commission’s intent, in the
case of a child or a vulnerable adult, to accept a crime
report to law enforcement or to a child or adult protective
services agency from a mandated reporter.

§ 411.13 (relating to closing of claims)
Comment: Bucks County indicated that the closing of

claims is confusing. Specifically, they asked if subsection
(e) overrides subsections (c) and (d)? In addition, they
indicated that the 5 year case closure for cases with no
out-of-pocket expenses is unrealistic for child sexual
assault and other PTSD cases, all of which may result in
counseling needs several years beyond the crime or
reporting of the crime.

Response: Section 411.13(e) does not override the dead-
line established in subsections (c) and (d). Rather, it
provides OVS with a mechanism to reopen claims when
additional information is received that would contradict a
prior decision.

The Commission concurs that eligible claims where no
verifiable out-of-pocket expense or loss has been received
by OVS within 5 years from the date of the filing of the
claim with no further right of appeal, is not appropriate
where the direct victim is a minor. Section 411.13(e) has
been added for clarification.
§ 411.14 (relating to determinations)

Comment: Bucks County, members of the Committee
and IRRC commented on the clarity and reasonableness
of subsection (a). This subsection states ‘‘a claimant may
provide additional information or clarification on the
claim post-marked no later than 30 days from the date of
OVS’s initial determination . . . .’’ Does this mean the date
on which the claimant receives notice of the initial
determination?

Response: It has been a long standing practice (for more
than 15 years) to use 30 days from the date of the
determination. It is fairly rare for a claimant to not be
able to file a request for reconsideration or a request for a
hearing within 30 days. However OVS did add justifica-
tion to accept a delay past the prescribed time frame
under §§ 411.31(b) and 411.32(d) (relating to reconsidera-
tion; and hearing).

Comment: Members of the Committee and IRRC com-
mented on subsection (c) which outlines a list of individu-
als that may receive a copy of OVS’s final determination.
It was suggested that the district attorney having juris-
diction where the crime occurred be added to this list.
Section 1106(c)(4) of the act (18 P. S. § 11.1106(c)(4))
requires district attorneys to make recommendations to
the sentencing court for the amount of restitution. Notice
from OVS regarding a claim determination will assist the
district attorney in meeting this requirement.

Response: The Commission has revised § 411.14(c) to
indicate that the prosecutor of the county where the
crime occurred may be copied on the final decision.
§ 411.15 (relating to actions affecting awards)

Comment: Bucks County and IRRC recommended that
this section be amended to more closely relate to the
conduct of the direct victim or intervenor. Both commen-
tors expressed concern with the standard that the direct
victim or intervenor used poor judgment resulting in the
placement of a situation likely to result in injury. It was
relayed that the term ‘‘poor judgment’’ is subjective and
open to broad interpretation.

Response: The Commission has deleted the term ‘‘poor
judgment’’ and revised § 411.15(a) and (f) providing clari-
fication in determining whether the conduct of a direct
victim or intervenor contributed to the injury.

Comment: IRRC recommended that the proposed lan-
guage of § 411.15(c) be revised to clarify intent.
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Response: The Commission has revised the language to
clarify the intent.

In addition, the Commission has revised the language
of § 411.15(f) to clarify the circumstances of OVS’s denial
of a claim for failure to fully cooperate with law enforce-
ment agencies. The claimant is required to cooperate with
law enforcement agencies throughout the entire proceed-
ing. OVS has discovered that in some instances, once a
claimant receives a payment from OVS they refuse to
assist the prosecution further in the case. In these
instances, OVS has a policy to deny future awards as well
as require repayment of a prior award. Accordingly, the
following language ‘‘will require repayment of a prior
award,’’ has been added in order to put all claimants on
notice of this practice and to codify existing practice.

Comment: IRRC requested clarification in that subsec-
tion (g) states OVS may consider a failure to cooperate
with law enforcement and OVS justified when a number
of situations occur. IRRC questioned if minors are able to
cooperate with OVS?

Response: The Commission has included language un-
der § 411.15(g) that ‘‘OVS may consider failure to cooper-
ate with law enforcement and OVS . . . when the victim is
a minor.’’ This type of decision would be made on a
case-by-case basis taking into consideration the circum-
stances of the crime and the age of the victim.

§ 411.16 (relating to reductions, offsets and limitations)

Comment: The Committee commented on § 411.16(a)
that any decision by OVS to reduce, offset or limit an
award to a claimant should only be made after first
considering the ability of the Board to exercise its right to
subrogation and restitution. IRRC agreed.

Response: The Commission concurs and has revised this
section.

Comment: IRRC recommends for clarity that the Com-
mission reference the sections that deal specifically with
Medicare reimbursement allowances as a result of a
motor vehicle incident under § 411.16(e).

Response: The Commission included the appropriate
cite.

Comment: The Victim Services Division, Cumberland
Co. District Attorney’s Office recommended that in the
cases of homicide, the survivors should not have to use
life insurance coverage before they can apply for compen-
sation.

Response: This would require an amendment to section
707(e) of the act.

Comment: Lancaster County Victim/Witness Services
requested that § 411.16(e) be clarified to consider the
payment to have the notice of the time and place of the
funeral listed in the paper.

Response: The Commission concurs and clarified this
subsection.

Comment: Lancaster County Victim/Witness Services
requested consideration to lower the amount of $10,000 to
$5,000 in the cases where the direct victim or intervenor
has no financial means to order needed services or
equipment. In these cases, OVS will assist the claimant
by evaluating the claim prior to purchase and make
information available to the potential providers.

Response: The Commission concurs and has revised
§ 411.16(h) to reduce the amount from $10,000 to $5,000.

§ 411.31 (relating to reconsideration)

Comment: IRRC expressed several concerns with sub-
section (a) which allows a claimant to contest OVS’s
determination ‘‘by submitting a written request for recon-
sideration postmarked no later than thirty (30) days from
the date of determination.’’

First, how will the claimant know when the 30 day
period began? Section 704(d) of the act requires OVS to
promptly notify the claimant of its final decision. IRRC
also noted that the 30 day period for judicial review
under section 705 of the act begins 30 days after the
claimant receives a copy. The regulation should specify
that the claimant has 30 days from receipt of OVS’
determination.

Second, the requirement of a postmark would limit the
method of filing. This subsection should be amended to be
similar to § 411.11(c), which allows several methods of
filing, including electronic means.

Response: It has been a long standing practice (more
than 15 years) to use 30 days from the date of the
determination. It is fairly rare for a claimant not to file a
request for reconsideration or a request for a hearing
within 30 days. However, OVS did add justification to
accept a delay past the prescribed time frame.

For clarification, the 30 day period for judicial review
under section 705 of the act refers to the final decision
prior to appealing to Commonwealth Court. The Commis-
sion inadvertently included a reference to the Common-
wealth Court under § 411.32(b) and has removed this
reference.

Also, the Commission has removed the reference to a
‘‘postmark’’ in §§ 411.14(a), 411.31(a) and 411.32(c), allow-
ing for several methods of filing, including electronic
means.

§ 411.32 (relating to hearings)

Comment: IRRC and the Committee suggested that
§ 411.32(h) be amended to clarify whether the submission
of a list of documentary exhibits will satisfy the require-
ments imposed, or if the actual documentary exhibits
must be provided. This section also requires that the
claimant must provide a list of witnesses and documen-
tary exhibits to OVS counsel and the hearing examiner.
The Committee suggests that this duplication of effort not
be required.

Response: The Commission has revised this section to
clarify the requirements of the claimant and also who the
claimant must respond to. The claimant will not need to
provide required information to OVS counsel and the
hearing examiner.

Comment: IRRC expressed concern that a hearing will
not be rescheduled more than once. IRRC questioned the
hearing examiners flexibility to review the reason the
claimant did not attend and, based on that information,
make a determination on whether another hearing should
be scheduled.

Response: The Commission has revised this section to
provide OVS with discretion to allow a hearing to be
rescheduled if there is a showing of good cause.

Comment: The Committee and IRRC recommended that
if it is the intent that a claimant may subpoena for the
attendance of witnesses or for the production of documen-
tary evidence, this subsection should clarify intent and
procedures for requesting and obtaining these subpoenas.
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Response: The Commission has revised this section to
clarify the claimants ability to subpoena for attendance of
witness or for the production of documentary evidence.
§ 411.33 (relating to final decision after hearing)

Comment: IRRC expressed concern that this section
does not contain any time frame for the hearing officer to
deliver the report or for OVS action on the report.

Response: Consistent with 1 Pa. Code § 35.202 (relating
to proceedings in which proposed reports are prepared)
and other Commonwealth agency regulations, OVS does
not see the need to add a time frame within which the
hearing officer must deliver the hearing report. While we
recognize there are at least three other agencies’ regula-
tions requiring a time frame, we are not inclined at this
time to add this requirement.
§ 411.41 (relating to amount)

Under § 411.41(2), OVS inadvertently revised what the
$1,000 limit includes. This section was revised to remain
consistent with the act and statement of policy.

Comment: Bucks County expressed a concern that the
limit on crime scene clean up is low for its geographical
area.

Response: The Commission conducted a comparison of
the amount of bills submitted for crime scene cleanup
versus the amount the OVS has paid. The analysis was
completed in the fall of 2004. OVS paid 13 claims since
the inception of this benefit. Of those claims, eight were
paid at 100%, three were paid at 75% or higher, one paid
between 25% and 49%, and one paid between 0% and
24%.

Also, of the 13 claims, only 5 requested more than
$500. Based on the review, OVS, at this time, cannot
justify increasing the cap for crime scene cleanup.

Comment: Victim Services Division of the Cumberland
County District Attorney’s Office expressed a concern that
the $200 amount for the loss of eyeglasses in
§ 411.42(d)(1) is too low. Crime victims should be able to
replace their exact glasses that they had at the time of
the crime and this might (in many cases) exceed the
$200.

Response: This limit applies to the replacement of
personal health-related items damaged or stolen as a
result of a crime. The $200 applies only to the frames.
Lenses are not a part of the $200 limit.

Comment: Bucks County expressed a concern that the
$35,000 limit is not realistic when medical bills and loss
of support or earnings are involved. Although the reim-
bursement reduction to 70% of medical costs certainly
helps, several Bucks County victims have lost work time
or support and had surgical procedures that have easily
totaled more than $35,000. This has become even more
prevalent with the astonishing increases in health care
costs in the past few years. IRRC noted that several
commentators have indicated that current monetary lim-
its, such as funeral expenses and the overall $35,000 cap
are not sufficient and that OVS should explain how the
dollar amounts were derived, and why they are reason-
able.

Response: There are several methods that may be
utilized to determine a monetary limit. The National
Association of Crime Victim Compensation Boards
(NACVCB) is a national repository for data provided by
the 50 member states, the District of Columbia, Puerto
Rico and the Virgin Islands. Through the NACVCB,
statistics such as funding sources, eligibility require-

ments, procedures, benefits and compensable costs are
available. Prior to considering a change, the NACVCB
data is factored into the equation to see how Pennsylva-
nia compares to other states. OVS has found this data
method to be reasonable and an accurate outlet for
comparison purposes. Also, OVS staff query data sets
from our existing DAVE System database to see, for
example, what the actual payouts for a particular benefit
type are during a set time period. Depending on the
situation, VCAP staff may also contact providers in
predetermined geographic areas of this Commonwealth to
determine what the ‘‘going rate’’ is for a particular service
to see if our method and amount of compensation is high,
low, or proper for the service rendered. In addition, the
solvency of the fund is always taken into consideration
when adding or amending a monetary limit.

Comment: Bucks County requested that this regulation
include preapproval of dental care, plastic surgery, vision
or eye care, prosthetics and pharmacy costs because
victims are denied nonemergency care when they cannot
guarantee payment. In addition, IRRC inquired whether
there was a way for a victim to demonstrate need for
nonemergency medical care before the procedure is done
and can a provider be paid directly?

Response: Section 411.16(g) allows OVS to assist the
claimant by evaluating the claim prior to purchase and
make information available to the potential providers
when a victim does not have the financial means to order
needed services or equipment that exceeds $5,000. In
addition, OVS must pay providers directly for services
rendered when the bill has not been paid by the claimant.

Comment: Bucks County expressed a concern that
dentists, orthodontists, optometrists and doctors of physi-
cal medicine rely on outside vendors to make glasses,
crowns and prosthetic devices, and the 70% reimburse-
ment is not acceptable to them. Therefore, in its experi-
ence, many victims go without this care.

Response: Section 708(b) of the act states in part,
‘‘Medical expenses, except as otherwise provided, shall be
paid to a hospital or other licensed health care provider
on behalf of the victim at a rate set by the Office of
Victims’ Services.’’

This final-form rulemaking defines ‘‘licensed health
care provider’’ to include any individual authorized by a
licensing board or agency of the Commonwealth or
equivalent governmental entity to practice the science
and skill of diagnosis and treatment of ailments of the
human body. The term includes ‘‘medical doctor,’’ ‘‘osteo-
pathic physician,’’ ‘‘chiropractor,’’ ‘‘dentist,’’ ‘‘registered
nurse,’’ ‘‘optometrist,’’ ‘‘pharmacist,’’ ‘‘physical therapist,’’
‘‘podiatrist,’’ ‘‘psychologist,’’ ‘‘licensed professional counse-
lor’’ and ‘‘licensed social worker.’’

If a provider of service was to be granted an exemption
to the 70% reduction, it would require an amendment to
the act.

Comment: The Committee commented that travel ex-
penses for funeral arrangements should be allowed as an
out-of-pocket loss, but should also be required to be
‘‘reasonable and necessary.’’ IRRC agreed with this com-
ment.

Response: The Commission concurs and has revised
§ 411.42(g).

Comment: Bucks County expressed concern that the
definitions on what constitutes crime scene clean up are
too restrictive. In a recent case, a bloody mattress was
covered for cleaning, but not for replacement. It would
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have been less expensive to replace the mattress and, as
the victim said, ‘‘who would want to keep the mattress
where someone had been stabbed?’’ In another case, a
wounded victim left his house and escaped in his car.
Though both needed cleaning, only the house was cov-
ered; this was hard to explain to the victim.

Response: Currently, the act does not allow for reim-
bursement of out-of-pocket losses for property damage,
except as otherwise provided within the law. Replacing
property that has been stained as a result of the crime
injury would require an amendment to act.

It is also important to note that the OVS receives 60%
reimbursement from the Federal government for each
State dollar spent for eligible reimbursements to victims
of crime. The Federal guidelines state that states may not
include property replacement or repair cost, except for
replacement of locks and windows, and replacement of
bedding and clothing held as evidence, in their annual
certification of payments. If a statutory change occurred
and OVS were to pay for replacement costs, the Crime
Victim’s Compensation Fund would bear 100% of cost.

In addition, the regulations could not include the clean
up of a car. Section 103 of the act (18 P. S. § 11.103)
under the definition of ‘‘out-of-pocket loss’’ specifically
states, ‘‘costs of cleaning the crime scene of a private
residence.’’ The cleaning of a car that has been stained as
a result of the crime injury would also require amend-
ment to the act.

Comment: The Committee and IRRC suggested that the
statutory definition of ‘‘cleaning’’ be included in the
regulations and that language be included in the regula-
tory definition to clarify for claimants the types of stains
for which compensation will be made to cover the cost of
their cleaning. The Committee believes that the intent of
the General Assembly in enacting the statutory authori-
zation to pay claims to cover the cost of crime scene clean
up was to ensure that payment may be made to cover the
cost associated with the clean up of blood and stains
caused by other bodily fluids as a direct result of the
crime, or other dirt and debris caused by the processing of
the crime scene. Stains deliberately caused by acts of
vandalism and other intentional acts are property dam-
age and are expressly excluded from the definition of ‘‘out
of pocket loss’’ contained in the act.

Response: The Commission has added language to
§ 411.42(h) specifically adding subparagraphs (iii) and
(iv) to clarify these concerns.

§ 411.43 (relating to loss of earnings)

Comment: Victim Witness Services of South Philadel-
phia acknowledged that the funeral expenses section is
wonderful and helps a number of families pay for a
funeral. However, this agency suggests that more can be
done for loss of earnings in the case of a homicide. At this
time, OVS only covers up to 1 week of loss of earnings per
claim. This Program has worked with a number of
parents whose children have been murdered, and they are
unable to return to work right away because of the
trauma. It is understood that there need to be limits, but
1 week is inadequate. If the claimants are able to show
documentation from a doctor that they are unable to
work, this should allow for additional time, with perhaps
a cap of up to 3 months. This would give parents, and
other family members, a chance to get back on their feet
without their finances being totally depleted. Loss of
earnings should also be made available to both parents.
In many cases, the parents of the slain child are not
living in the same household and may be supporting two

separate families. Loss of earnings should not be awarded
to one parent just because they filed their claim quicker
than the other. Both parents should be entitled to the
same funds.

Response: OVS recognized the inequity in allowing only
one individual to file for loss of earnings in homicide
cases. The final rule allows for each eligible claimant to
file for up to 2 weeks net loss of earnings in connection
with the death, not to exceed the average weekly wage, if
the claimant was not otherwise reimbursed for the loss.

Under § 411.43(c)(1) OVS inadvertently added ‘‘as cer-
tified by a physician or psychologist.’’ This reference is
misplaced. Section 411.11(f)(3) sufficiently delineates the
requirements to process a claim for loss of earnings.

Comment: Bucks County expressed concern with the
fact that the use of sick, vacation and personal time, often
occurs in the early aftermath of the crime when victims
are unaware of the availability of compensation. They are
then left with little or no paid time for an unrelated
illness or vacation. If they had taken the initial time to
deal with crime related matters as unpaid, they would
have been eligible for compensation. Many victims feel
this is unfair.

Response: In the calculation of loss of earnings, the
final rule requires OVS to offset the award by ‘‘other
benefits received’’ which include employer-paid-leave.

This requirement is mandated under section 707(b)(2)
of the act. It states in part, ‘‘an award made for loss of
earnings or support shall, unless reduced under other
provisions of this chapter, be in an amount equal to the
actual loss sustained.’’ If the victim utilizes another
source to compensate his time off from work, there would
be no actual loss that OVS could reimburse.

To clarify § 411.43(e)(3), OVS replaced ‘‘bereavement
pay’’ with ‘‘employer-paid-leave,’’ which is a more accurate
term when describing sources of leave available from an
employer.

Comment: Lancaster County Victim/Witness Services
expressed concern with § 411.43(a), specifically, the ratio-
nale to include any language concerning the average
weekly wage when there seems to be no correlation
between stolen benefit cash and the average weekly wage.
Since this provision is already limited by a 1 month
entitlement, regardless of the amount of the loss, it
should not further be limited by the average weekly
wage.

Response: This section has been reviewed and deleted
as a provision for further limiting the amount a crime
victim may be eligible to receive when the victim is on a
fixed income. A determination has been made that the
reference to the average weekly wage, as determined
annually by the Department of Labor and Industry
through its Unemployment Compensation Law (73 P. S.
§§ 751—914), is clearly referencing income or wages
earned by active employment for all persons covered by
this act. This reference should not be applied to victims
who are on a fixed income.

§ 411.44 (relating to loss of support)

Section 411.44(k) has been amended to correct a typo-
graphical error. The proposed rule making referenced a 3-
year or 5-year payment plan for the disbursement of loss
support payments. The final rulemaking states a 3-year
to 5-year payment plan.
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§ 411.51 (relating to subrogation)

Section 411.51(c) has been amended to charge OVS
with the discretion of removing the sole responsibility
from the Director.

In addition, in reviewing the areas of discretion af-
forded, OVS inadvertently omitted a long-standing prac-
tice wherein, in certain circumstances, it is fiscally pru-
dent to compromise a lien amount. There are
circumstances where victims suffer major traumatic inju-
ries and their expenses far exceed the amount that can be
reimbursed by the Program; when their expenses will
continue into the future and exceed the amount of the
civil settlement; and when an attorney will decline to
pursue civil remedies on behalf of a claimant unless OVS
is able to reduce its lien amount. An attorney may decline
to pursue a civil remedy because the settlement amount
offered would not sufficiently cover the attorney fees,
OVS awards, or future expenses incurred by the victim. It
is important for OVS to have discretion to negotiate a
settlement that is acceptable to all parties involved.

§ 411.53 (relating to prohibitions)

Under § 411.53(a), OVS inadvertently omitted the term
‘‘claimant.’’ The subsection should read: ‘‘Providers who
write off bills to a direct victim or intervenor may not at
any point following the write off seek reimbursement
from OVS, direct victim, claimant or intervenor.’’

Comment: IRRC has noted that there are several
sections in the proposed rulemaking that provide discre-
tion to allow OVS to consider other circumstances deemed
appropriate or other factors that OVS deems relevant.
What other circumstances or factors will OVS consider?

Response: The act is clear in its intent to allow for
discretion. Where the act implies this discretion, OVS
attempted to articulate the exceptions for why a claimant
may not be able to meet a specific requirement.

For example: Section 411.11(f) requires that the direct
victim or intervenor report the crime to proper authorities
within a prescribed time period. This section also pro-
vides that OVS may consider a delay to be justified when
one of the following circumstances exist: 1) the direct
victim, intervenor or the claimant is mentally or physi-
cally incapacitated; 2) the victim is a minor; 3) there is a
fear of retaliation; 4) the occurrence of the crime is not
readily apparent; or 5) other circumstances where good
cause is shown by the claimant.

These exceptions represent 98% of the reasons why a
direct victim or intervenor may not have reported within
the prescribed time frame. However, OVS didn’t want to
write it in a manner that would disallow an otherwise
eligible victim to be provided compensation. Discretion is
required for unusual circumstances which may include: a
direct victim whose child was hospitalized for an unre-
lated event and needed constant attention or a language
barrier that may exist with a tourist or possibly a crime
victim who is on a visa and is detained and unable to
meet the reporting requirement. Since victimization and
the circumstances surrounding the crime are unique to
each crime victim, OVS requires this discretion to ensure
that fairness and equity are part of the decision process
in easing the financial hardship imposed upon them.

Final Proposed Rulemaking

Affected Parties

Victims of crimes, as defined in the act, benefit by
having clear and up-to-date regulations regarding eligibil-
ity, compensation, and procedures. Additionally, the pro-

posed rulemaking is intended to provide further guidance
and direction to healthcare providers and hospitals in
regard to their eligibility and reimbursement under the
act.

Under the authority of act of June 28, 2002 (P. L. 496,
No. 85) (Act 85), there is now a 70% reimbursement rate
for medical expenses set by the OVS which may adversely
affect a variety of providers, because they will not receive
as much reimbursement as previously received, when
they were paid in full to the extent of the maximum of
$35,000 under the act. However, paying at 100% was the
exception to the rule, and the setting of a percentage
reimbursement rate has conformed to the practice of
other third-party payors.

Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Estimates

The final-form rulemaking provides guidance in imple-
menting a program that is already in effect, for which
funding has been appropriated. Therefore, there is no new
significant fiscal impact.

The fiscal impact to the Commission from all reim-
bursement rates set by the OVS under Act 85 will consist
of an estimated annual net savings of $664,888. This
calculation takes into account the savings to the Commis-
sion resulting from the Office’s setting of a 70% reim-
bursement rate to providers ($1,453,052) and the esti-
mated costs to the Commission from new or increased
benefits ($788,164).

The final-form rulemaking does not affect existing
reporting, recordkeeping or other paperwork require-
ments.

Effective Date

The final rulemaking will become effective upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

Sunset Date

No sunset date has been assigned.

Contact Person

The official responsible for information on the final
form rulemaking is Lynn Shiner, Manager of the Victims
Compensation Assistance Program, Office of Victims’ Ser-
vices, PCCD, P. O. Box 1167, Harrisburg, PA 17108, (717)
783-0551, Ext. 3210.

Regulatory Review

On August 26, 2004, copies of the proposed rulemaking
were delivered to IRRC and the Majority and Minority
Chairpersons of the House and Senate Judiciary Commit-
tees. Notice of the proposed rulemaking was published at
34 Pa.B. 5032 (September 11, 2004) It provided for a 30-
day public comment period. In compliance with section
5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act (71 P. S. § 745.5(c)),
OVS provided IRRC and the Committees with copies of
all comments received during the public comment period,
as well as other documents if requested. In preparing the
final-form rulemaking, OVS considered all comments
received from IRRC, the House Judiciary Committee and
the public.

Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. 745.5a(j.2)), this final-form rulemaking was deemed
approved by the House and Senate Judiciary Committees
on November 15, 2006. Under section 5.1a(e) of the

RULES AND REGULATIONS 7821

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 36, NO. 51, DECEMBER 23, 2006



Regulatory Review Act, IRRC approved the final-form
rulemaking on November 16, 2006. The Attorney General
approved the final form Rulemaking on December 4,
2006.

Findings

The Commission finds that:

(1) Public notice of the intention to adopt these regula-
tions has been given under sections 201 and 202 of the
act of July 31, 1968 (P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P. S. §§ 1201
and 1202) and the regulations promulgated thereunder, 1
Pa. Code §§ 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered and forwarded
to IRRC and the Senate and House Committees.

(3) The adoption of this final-form rulemaking in the
manner provided by this order is necessary and appropri-
ate for administration and enforcement of the authorizing
statute.

Order

The Commission, acting under the authorizing statutes,
orders that:

(a) The regulations of the Commission, 37 Pa. Code
Chapter 411 are amended, by deleting §§ 191.1—191.15
and adding §§ 411.1—411.3, 411.11—411.18, 411.31—
411.33, 411.41—411.44 and 411.51—411.53 to read as set
forth in Annex A.

(b) The Commission shall submit this order and Annex
A to the Office of General Counsel and the Office of
Attorney General for approval as required by law.

(c) The Commission shall submit this order, Annex A
and a Regulatory Analysis Form to IRRC and the House
and the Senate Committees for their review and action as
required by law.

(d) The Commission shall certify this order and Annex
A and deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bu-
reau as required by law.

(e) This order shall take effect immediately upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

MICHAEL J. KANE,
Executive Director

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Regula-
tory Review Commission relating to this document see 36
Pa.B. 7353 (December 2, 2006).)

Fiscal Note: 35-29. (1) Crime Victims Reimbursements
restricted revenue account within the General Fund; (2)
Implementing Year 2006-07 is $1,446,000; (3) 1st Succeed-
ing Year 2007-08 is $1,590,000; 2nd Succeeding Year
2008-09 is $1,590,000; 3rd Succeeding Year 2009-10 is
$1,590,000; 4th Succeeding Year 2010-11 is $1,590,000;
5th Succeeding Year 2011-12 is $1,590,000; (4) 2005-06
Program—$12,464,000; 2004-05 Program—$9,711,000;
2003-04 Program—$10,030,000; (7) Crime Victims Reim-
bursements; (8) recommends adoption. Federal reimburse-
ments are expected to cover a portion of the costs of these
services (approximately 60%). Savings generated from the
decrease in the medical reimbursement rate offset a
portion of the additional payments to crime victims.

Annex A
TITLE 37. LAW

PART III. AGENCIES AND OFFICES

Subpart J. [ Reserved ]
CHAPTER 191. [ Reserved ]

§§ 191.1—191.15. [ Reserved ].

PART VI. COMMISSION ON CRIME AND
DELINQUENCY

CHAPTER 411. CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION
GENERAL PROVISIONS

Sec.
411.1. Scope.
411.2. Definitions.
411.3. Persons eligible for compensation.

CLAIMS

411.11. Filing procedures.
411.12. Review.
411.13. Closing of claims.
411.14. Determinations.
411.15. Actions affecting awards.
411.16. Reductions, offsets and limitations.
411.17. Emergency awards.
411.18. Awards.

APPEALS

411.31. Reconsideration.
411.32 Hearing.
411.33. Final decision after hearing.

SCHEDULE OF REIMBURSEMENT RATES AND
COMPENSATION LIMITS

411.41. Amount.
411.42. Out-of-pocket loss.
411.43. Loss of earnings.
411.44. Loss of support.

MISCELLANEOUS

411.51. Subrogation.
411.52. Representation by attorney.
411.53. Prohibitions.

GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 411.1. Scope.

Except as otherwise provided, this chapter applies to
claims for compensation relating to crimes occurring on or
after August 27, 2002.
§ 411.2. Definitions.

(a) The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

Act—The Crime Victims Act (18 P. S. §§ 11.101—
11.5102).

Average weekly wage—The amount designated for per-
sons covered by Articles I and II of the Unemployment
Compensation Law (43 P. S. §§ 751—771) in this Com-
monwealth as determined periodically by the Department
of Labor and Industry.

Dependent child—The child of a direct victim or inter-
venor on whose behalf regular payments are received for
the purpose of whole or partial support and who is one of
the following:

(i) Under 18 years of age, including an unborn child for
the purposes of this chapter only as defined by 18 Pa.C.S.
§ 3203 (relating to definitions).

(ii) Eighteen years of age or older but under 23 years of
age and currently attending secondary school or is a
full-time student in a postsecondary educational institu-
tion.
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(iii) Eighteen years of age or older but unable to
provide for his own support due to a physical or mental
disability.

Final decision—An OVS determination of a claim that
may be appealed by the claimant as provided in 2 Pa.C.S.
Chapter 7, Subchapter A (relating to judicial review of
Commonwealth agency action).

Guardian—A person appointed by a court for the care
and management of a person or estate of a minor or
incapacitated person, or designated by a parent of a
minor to perform that role.

Health care provider—

(i) An individual authorized by a licensing board or
agency of the Commonwealth or equivalent governmental
entity to practice the science and skill of diagnosis and
treatment of ailments of the human body.

(ii) The term includes medical doctor, osteopathic phy-
sician, chiropractor, dentist, registered nurse, optometrist,
pharmacist, physical therapist, podiatrist, psychologist,
licensed professional counselor and licensed social worker.

Human services provider—Social workers, children and
youth caseworkers, Area Agency on Aging, victim service
providers (system and community based advocates) and
other social service professionals, including mental
health, substance abuse and medical social work.

Immediate need—Thirty days from the date of the
crime or 30 days from the date the victim is threatened
by any change of circumstance or indicator of danger and
a move or relocation is necessary to become or remain
safe.

Medical care—Diagnostic, treatment or rehabilitative
services performed in a health care facility regulated by
the Commonwealth or equivalent governmental entity or
performed by a health care provider or person under the
direct supervision of a health care provider.

OVS—The Office of Victims’ Services in the Pennsylva-
nia Commission on Crime and Delinquency.

PFA—Protection From Abuse Order issued under 23
Pa.C.S. Chapter 61 (relating to protection from abuse).

Pigeon drop—The act of approaching a person and
asking that person if he would like to share an amount of
found money. In order to share the money, the person
shows a good faith effort by willingly providing a specified
amount of money with the expectation of receiving part of
the ‘‘found’’ money.

Primary source of income—Fifty percent or more of the
direct victim’s gross annual income.

Principal support—Fifty percent or more of a claimant’s
living expenses.

Private residence—Includes a house, apartment, condo-
minium, mobile home or other personal living space.

(b) The definitions in section 103 of the act (18 P. S.
§ 11.103) are incorporated by reference.

§ 411.3. Persons eligible for compensation.

(a) General rule. Except as otherwise provided in the
act, the following persons are eligible for compensation:

(1) A direct victim.

(2) An intervenor.

(3) A surviving spouse, parent or child of a deceased
direct victim or intervenor.

(4) Other persons dependent for principal support upon
a deceased direct victim or intervenor.

(5) A person who assumes the obligation or who pays
for the crime scene cleanup, funeral or burial expenses
incurred as a direct result of the crime.

(6) Hospitals or other licensed health care providers.
(7) Persons eligible for counseling.
(b) Exception. A person who is criminally responsible

for the crime upon which a claim is based or an
accomplice of the person is not eligible to receive compen-
sation with respect to the claim. A member of the family
of the individual who committed the crime is not eligible
if the offender is living in the same household as the
direct victim and will substantially benefit from the
award. The Attorney General may at any time sue the
offender or the direct victim, or both, to recover the award
if the offender benefits from the award.

CLAIMS
§ 411.11. Filing procedures.

(a) A claim may be filed by a person eligible under the
act and § 411.3(a) (relating to persons eligible for com-
pensation).

(b) A claim shall be filed within the prescribed time
frame under section 702(b) of the act (18 P. S.
§ 11.702(b)).

(c) A claimant may request compensation by complet-
ing and submitting OVS’s official claim forms to OVS.

(d) A claim may be filed by mail, in person or electroni-
cally. If filed by mail, a claim is deemed filed on the date
it is postmarked. If filed by electronic means or in person,
it is deemed filed on the date received by OVS.

(e) When OVS receives a claim, a claim number is
assigned and the data is entered into OVS’s records.

(f) In determining whether the direct victim or interve-
nor complied with the act’s requirement of reporting the
crime to proper authorities within the prescribed time
period after the occurrence of the crime, the following
apply:

(1) Proper authorities may include a law enforcement
officer; district attorney or other applicable prosecutorial
authority; district justice; military police; campus police;
United States Postal Inspection Service; appropriate hos-
pital security; probation and parole officer; child protec-
tive services; adult protective services or, in the case of a
PFA order, the prothonotary or equivalent authority. If
the crime occurs in a foreign country, a proper authority
includes the United States consulate.

(2) OVS may consider a delay past the prescribed time
period to be justified when one of the following circum-
stances exist:

(i) The direct victim, intervenor or claimant is mentally
or physically incapacitated.

(ii) The victim is a minor.
(iii) There is a fear of retaliation.
(iv) The occurrence of the crime is not readily appar-

ent.
(v) Other circumstances when good cause is shown by

the claimant.

(g) In making the determinations discussed in subsec-
tions (b) and (f) for claims where the occurrence of the
crime is not readily apparent, OVS may deem the pre-
scribed time periods to begin to run on the date and time
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that the person with the obligation to report the crime or
file the claim has knowledge that a crime occurred.

(h) Claimants do not have to wait until a PFA becomes
final to file a claim. In the process of verifying a claim,
OVS will confirm the disposition of a final PFA order.

(i) If a temporary PFA order is issued and the claimant
chooses not to pursue a final order, OVS will consider the
PFA order withdrawn and deny the claim unless OVS
determines the withdrawal to be justified. OVS may
consider the withdrawal of a PFA justified when one of
the following circumstances exist:

(1) The direct victim, intervenor or the claimant is
mentally or physically incapacitated.

(2) There is a fear of retaliation.
(3) Other circumstances when good cause is shown by

the claimant.
(j) Subsections (h) and (i) only cover the filing of an

initial PFA. If there is a violation of a PFA involving an
otherwise eligible crime, the crime shall be reported
within the prescribed time frame shall set forth under
section 707(a)(3) of the act (18 P. S. § 11.707(a)(3)) in a
timely manner to the proper authorities, which may
include filing of a private criminal complaint, to be
considered for compensation payments.

(k) When requested by OVS, the claimant shall submit
copies of documents that are needed to process the
particular type of claim, which include the following:

(1) Medical treatment expenses.
(i) Itemized bills in the name of the claimant showing

the name, address and telephone number of the provider,
dates of service, type of service performed and the
amount charged for each service.

(ii) Insurance benefit statements indicating payments
or rejection.

(iii) Canceled checks, verification from a medical pro-
vider or receipts for any medical bills related to the injury
that were paid by the direct victim, intervenor or claim-
ant.

(iv) Written justification if the direct victim or interve-
nor is covered by an insurance plan or Medical Assist-
ance, but did not utilize the prescribed coverage, such as
that the direct victim or intervenor could not obtain the
required care, could not maintain ongoing care from a
previous provider, travel considerations or other circum-
stances when good cause is shown by the claimant.

(2) Funeral expenses.
(i) Certified death certificate.
(ii) Itemized funeral bills in the name of the claimant

for which the claimant is responsible.
(iii) Canceled checks, receipts or verification from a

provider for funeral bills relating to the death that were
paid by claimant.

(iv) Statements for benefits or payments received by
the claimant as a result of the death of the direct victim
or intervenor, such as life insurance or Social Security
death benefits.

(3) Loss of earnings.
(i) Stolen money.

(A) Statements for the month of the crime of payments
such as Social Security, retirement, pension, disability,
court-ordered child support or court-ordered spousal sup-
port.

(B) Federal tax returns as filed, including all schedules
if applicable, for the years requested or a signed state-
ment that the claimant is not required to file a tax
return.

(C) Documentation of the homeowner’s or renter’s in-
surance coverage.

(ii) Loss of wages.
(A) Pay stubs or other earnings records for periods

immediately prior to the loss. If not obtainable, withhold-
ing statements and Federal tax returns as filed, including
schedules, if applicable, for the years requested, or a
written statement that Federal tax returns were not filed.

(B) Full name and complete address of claimant’s
employer.

(C) Full name and complete address of a physician or
psychologist who will certify the existence, duration and
cause of the disability.

(4) Loss of support.
(i) Certified death certificate.
(ii) Full name and complete address of employer of the

deceased.
(iii) Federal tax returns as filed, including schedules, if

applicable, for the years requested, or a written state-
ment that Federal tax returns were not filed. If unavail-
able, pay stubs, withholding statements or other earnings
records for periods immediately prior to the injury.

(iv) Statements for benefits received as a result of the
death of the direct victim or intervenor, such as life
insurance, Social Security, veterans’ benefits or survivor
benefits.

(v) Documents that demonstrate financial dependency,
including birth certificates, support orders or Federal tax
returns as filed.

(vi) Guardianship papers, when applicable.
(5) Counseling expenses.
(i) Itemized bills in the name of the claimant showing

the name, address and telephone number of the provider,
dates of service and the amount charged.

(ii) Insurance benefit statements indicating payments
or rejection.

(iii) Canceled checks, verification from a provider or
receipts for any counseling bills related to the injury that
were paid by the direct victim, intervenor or claimant.

(iv) Written justification if the direct victim or interve-
nor is covered by an insurance plan or Medical Assist-
ance, but did not utilize the prescribed coverage, such as
that the direct victim or intervenor could not obtain the
required care, could not maintain ongoing care from a
previous provider, travel considerations or other circum-
stances where good cause is shown by the claimant.

(v) The following information establishing the claim-
ant’s relationship to the direct victim, the claimant
witnessing the crime or the claimant’s discovery of the
homicide victim:

(A) Witness. If the witness is not listed in the police
report obtained by OVS, a written statement provided by
someone who could substantiate that the witness was at
the scene, preferably written by someone named in the
police report.

(B) Relative of direct victim. A copy of a birth certifi-
cate, if applicable, or other identifiable information ac-
knowledging the relationship to the direct victim.

7824 RULES AND REGULATIONS

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 36, NO. 51, DECEMBER 23, 2006



(C) Individual engaged to the direct victim. An engage-
ment announcement or a copy of the application for a
marriage license. If either is unavailable, a written
statement from the engaged individual plus a written
statement from a family member acknowledging the
intent of the union.

(D) Shared household. A copy of a document, such as a
bill or lease or mortgage agreement that indicates the
same address for the direct victim and the victim or
claimant filing for counseling expenses.

(E) Individual who discovers homicide body. A police
report.

(F) Individual responsible for the direct victim’s wel-
fare. Foster parent documentation, guardianship papers
or other documentation showing that the claimant filing
for counseling is an individual responsible for the direct
victim’s welfare.

(6) Crime-scene cleanup expenses.

(i) Itemized bills and receipts in the name of the
claimant related to the crime scene cleanup for which the
claimant is responsible.

(ii) Cancelled checks, receipts or verification from a
provider for bills related to the crime scene cleanup.

(iii) Documentation of homeowner’s or renter’s insur-
ance coverage.

(7) Relocation expenses.

(i) Itemized bills and receipts related to the relocation
for which the claimant is responsible.

(ii) Cancelled checks, receipts or verification from a
provider for bills related to the relocation.

(iii) A verification letter from a human service agency,
law enforcement or medical provider explaining the im-
mediate need for relocation.

(8) Miscellaneous expenses.

(i) Itemized bills and receipts in the name of the
claimant for which the claimant is responsible related to
the miscellaneous expense.

(ii) Cancelled checks, receipts or verification from a
provider for bills related to the injury.

(l) The claimant shall provide OVS with information
pertaining to payments received or to be received by
another source as a result of the injury, including restitu-
tion payments, workers compensation, insurance benefits
or awards or settlements in a civil action.

(m) If a minor or incapacitated person has more than
one guardian, OVS will determine the appropriate party
for filing a claim on behalf of the minor or incapacitated
person.

(n) If the direct victim or intervenor dies while a
nonhomicide claim relating to that direct victim or inter-
venor is being processed, OVS may substitute the execu-
tor or administrator of the direct victim or intervenor and
complete the processing of the claim. A claim may not be
filed by the estate of a direct victim or intervenor.

(o) The claimant may request a supplemental award by
submitting additional out-of-pocket expenses or losses at
any time after the initial claim, provided that the claim-
ant has not received the maximum award payable by law.
OVS will verify out-of-pocket expenses and losses submit-
ted for a supplemental award to determine that they
directly relate to the original crime.

§ 411.12. Review.
(a) OVS will review the claim and supporting docu-

ments and investigate the validity of the claim. OVS will
conduct a comprehensive investigation of the claim in-
cluding, as necessary, an examination of police, court and
official records and reports concerning the crime and an
examination of medical and hospital reports relating to
the injury upon which the claim is based.

(b) If additional information is needed to determine the
eligibility or validity of a claim, or to substantiate the
degree of loss, OVS may ask the claimant for that
information or request it directly from outside entities to
the extent permitted by law.

(c) OVS may issue subpoenas and subpoenas duces
tecum, either on its own instance or upon written applica-
tion of a party. Subpoenas and subpoenas duces tecum
must comply with 231 Pa. Code (relating to rules of civil
procedure). Their issuance must depend upon a showing
of necessity. OVS, on its own motion or on the application
of the claimant, will, whenever necessary, and upon the
terms and conditions as OVS may determine, take or
cause to be taken affidavits and depositions of witnesses
residing within or outside this Commonwealth.

(d) OVS may not request or review counseling notes of
mental health service providers. OVS will request an
assessment from the mental health service provider as to
the extent the service provided is needed as a direct
result of the crime.

(e) OVS, at its expense, may direct an examination of
the direct victim or intervenor by a health care provider
designated by OVS. The direct victim or intervenor’s
failure to appear for the examination may result in OVS’s
denial of the applicable portion of the claimant’s request
for reimbursement.

(f) OVS will investigate and determine claims regard-
less of whether the alleged criminal has been appre-
hended, prosecuted or adjudicated for the criminal inci-
dent which is the basis for the claim.
§ 411.13. Closing of claims.

(a) OVS will close a claim when a determination has
been made and written notification has been given to the
claimant.

(b) When OVS has requested additional information
under § 411.12(b) (relating to review) and the informa-
tion is not provided within 60 days of the request, OVS
will close the claim file until the requested information is
received.

(c) If sufficient information is not provided to OVS to
determine eligibility within 2 years from the date of the
filing of the claim, the claim will be closed with no further
right of appeal. OVS will attempt to notify the claimant
in writing 6 months prior to the closing of the claim.

(d) Eligible claims in which no verifiable out-of-pocket
expense or loss has been received by OVS within 5 years
from the date of the filing of the claim will be closed with
no further right of appeal. OVS will attempt to notify the
claimant in writing 6 months prior to the closing of the
claim.

(e) Subsection (d) does not apply when the direct victim
was a minor at the time the crime was committed.

(f) OVS may reopen a claim at any time for further
investigation.
§ 411.14. Determinations.

(a) If OVS is able to make a determination that the
claim does not meet the basic eligibility requirements or
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the action of the direct victim, intervenor or claimant
affects the award, the claim will be denied in writing as a
statutory denial or denial for cause.

(b) OVS will determine whether to grant an award,
increase or decrease an award or deny the claim based on
the supporting documents, the report of the investigation
and staff recommendations.

(c) OVS will promptly notify the claimant of its deter-
mination in writing. OVS may also send a copy of the
determination to all appropriate individuals, including
the State Treasurer, court personnel, the prosecutor of the
county where the crime occurred, victim advocate or the
claimant’s attorney of record.

§ 411.15. Actions affecting awards.

(a) Except as provided in the act, OVS may deny a
claim or reduce the amount awarded if it finds that the
conduct of the direct victim or intervenor contributed to
the injury. The conduct of the direct victim or intervenor
will be deemed to have contributed to the injury if the
direct victim or intervenor did one of the following:

(1) Initiated, provoked or prolonged a verbal or physi-
cal confrontation with the offender.

(2) Participated in an illegal act that was causally
related to the injuries sustained.

(3) Acted in a manner that placed the direct victim or
intervenor into a situation likely to result in injury.

(4) Entered, knowingly and willingly, into a vehicle
driven by someone under the influence.

(5) Sought retaliation against the offender.

(6) Entered into a physical altercation by mutual con-
sent.

(7) Was charged by law enforcement with criminal
conduct as a result of the crime.

(b) In determining whether the conduct of a direct
victim or intervenor warrants a denial or reduction of the
award, OVS may consider evidence indicating that the
direct victim or intervenor was acting with legal justifica-
tion as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. (relating to the Crimes
Code) or other evidence of mitigation that the claimant
asks OVS to consider.

(c) OVS may assess a contribution amount or deny in
auto-related crimes when the victim is the driver of the
vehicle and the victim does not have a valid license or the
victim’s driver’s license has been revoked or was under
suspension at the time of the crime.

(d) OVS will assess a $5,000 contribution for an award
for medical expenses, or the current amount of medical
benefits coverage required under Pennsylvania law, if a
direct victim or intervenor was injured while driving his
own car without insurance.

(e) Stolen cash claims that are received and are eligible
for an award will have a minimum 10% contribution
assessed if they fall under the definition of ‘‘pigeon drop.’’

(f) OVS may deny a claim or reduce the amount
awarded or require repayment of a prior award if it finds
that a direct victim, intervenor or claimant has not
cooperated fully with law enforcement agencies or OVS.
Failure to cooperate includes one or more of the following:

(1) Failure to cooperate fully with a law enforcement
agency in the investigation of the crime on which the
claim is based.

(2) Failure to cooperate fully in the prosecution of the
alleged offender of the crime on which the claim is based.

(3) Failure to provide truthful, complete and accurate
information for OVS to determine the eligibility or valid-
ity of a claim or amount of an award.

(4) In crimes involving stolen or defrauded money,
failure to implement personal crime prevention tech-
niques recommended by the local police department,
victim service programs or crime prevention programs at
OVS’s request when crimes are similar in nature and
repeated.

(g) OVS may consider a failure to cooperate with law
enforcement and OVS to be justified when one of the
following circumstances exist:

(1) The direct victim, intervenor or the claimant is
mentally or physically incapacitated.

(2) There is a fear of retaliation.
(3) The victim is a minor.
(4) Other circumstances when good cause is shown by

the claimant.
(h) If the crime involved is related to domestic violence,

the conduct of the direct victim will not be considered
unless the direct victim was the primary aggressor. In
determining which party was the primary aggressor, OVS
will consider the following:

(1) Prior acts of domestic violence.
(2) The relative severity of the injuries inflicted upon

the persons involved in those prior acts of domestic
violence.

(3) The likelihood of future injury.
(4) Whether, during the prior acts, one of the parties

acted in self-defense.
(5) The totality of the circumstances surrounding the

crime.
§ 411.16. Reductions, offsets and limitations.

(a) Except as otherwise provided in the act, an award
made under the act and this chapter shall be reduced by
the amount of any payments received or to be received as
follows by the claimant as a result of the injury:

(1) From or on behalf of the individual who committed
the crime.

(2) Under insurance or health and welfare programs,
including those mandated by law.

(3) Under a contract of insurance wherein the claimant
is the beneficiary.

(4) From public funds.

(5) As an emergency award under section 706 of the
act (18 P. S. § 11.706).

(6) Under pension programs, including those providing
for disability or survivor’s benefits.

(7) Under a settlement or award made by or on behalf
of a party alleged to be responsible in whole or in part for
the injury, without regard to the party’s criminal culpabil-
ity.

(b) Any decision by OVS to reduce, offset or limit an
award to a claimant will only be made after first consid-
ering the ability of OVS to exercise its right to subroga-
tion and restitution.

(c) Charitable donations specifically designated for a
funeral expense or which appear on a funeral bill as a

7826 RULES AND REGULATIONS

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 36, NO. 51, DECEMBER 23, 2006



direct payment and charitable donations specifically des-
ignated for an eligible expense or which appear on any
bill as a direct payment will be used as an offset.

(d) In claims involving death or burial, OVS will
reimburse travel expenses for the transport of a body or
making funeral arrangements for no more than two
persons, including a person designated by the family or
person who pays for the funeral.

(e) In claims involving death or burial, reimbursement
will not be made for alcoholic beverages, postage, thank
you gifts and newspaper articles or paid advertisements
relating to the death or burial, other than the obituary
and notice of the time and place of the funeral or burial
services.

(f) When an injury is the result of a motor vehicle
incident and the injury is covered by liability or first
party benefits, including under/insured and uninsured
motorist coverages, a provider may not request payment
in excess of reimbursement allowances applicable in this
Commonwealth under the Medicare Program (see 75
Pa.C.S. § 1797(a) (relating to customary charges for
treatment)) or their usual and customary charge, which-
ever is less.

(g) Medical, rehabilitation or other devices, including
wheel chairs, chair lifts, ramps, van conversion equip-
ment, therapy spas or special needs home remodeling
that exceeds $5,000 will need to have two bids unless
good cause is shown. OVS will pay the lowest amount
unless good cause is shown justifying the higher amount.

(h) If the direct victim or intervenor has no financial
means to order the needed services or equipment that
exceed $5,000 listed in subsection (g), OVS will assist the
claimant by evaluating the claim prior to purchase and
make information available to the potential providers.

(i) In claims involving stolen money or crime scene
clean-up, if a claimant chooses not to access any of his
homeowner’s or renter’s insurance, OVS will apply as an
offset any amount that the claimant would have been
paid by the insurance company.

§ 411.17. Emergency awards.

(a) If it appears to OVS that the claimant has an
urgent financial need, OVS may make an emergency
award to the claimant as a determination on the claim.

(b) An emergency award is solely for a claimant who
incurs an undue hardship by paying medical expenses or
funeral expenses out of his own pocket, or who incurred
loss of earnings or support as a result of the crime
incident.

(c) The total amount of an emergency award will not
exceed $1,500 per claim.

(d) OVS will expeditiously determine that the eligibil-
ity requirements have been met, review submitted docu-
mentation and process the request.

(e) OVS may reconsider an emergency award as a
determination and may increase previous awards for
emergency compensation up to $1,500 per claim.

§ 411.18. Awards.

(a) If the losses payable by OVS for out-of-pocket loss
and loss of support or loss of earnings exceed the overall
monetary limitation in the act, or the overall limitation as
reduced by a contribution assessed by OVS under
§ 411.15 (relating to actions affecting awards), OVS will
allocate the award as follows:

(1) Out-of-pocket losses will be paid in full, followed by
as much of the loss of support or loss of earnings as
resources allow.

(2) If the total out-of-pocket losses exceed the overall
limitation in the act, OVS will attempt to pay unpaid
providers in full, followed by reimbursements to claim-
ants for expenses already paid. OVS will attempt to
satisfy the expenses of as many unpaid providers as
feasible, to minimize the number of creditors seeking
payment from the claimant.

(3) If more than one claimant files a claim for allow-
able expenses relating to the death of the victim or the
intervenor, the award will be divided proportionately
among the claimants when filed within the same time
frame. In all other cases, awards are considered in the
order that they are received.

(b) A claimant may not accept a portion of OVS’s
determination and reject another portion of the same
determination. If a claimant desires to contest a portion
of OVS’s determination, the claimant shall contest the
entire determination.

(c) OVS will reduce an award of compensation by the
amount of any other payments received or to be received
by the claimant as a result of the injury, as set forth in
the act and under § 411.16 (relating to reductions, offsets
and limitations).

(d) After OVS has made an award relating to an injury,
a person who receives any amounts paid by another
source as a result of the injury shall notify OVS about the
payments.

(e) If a court has ordered an offender to pay restitution
for the injury, but the order is not specific as to which
components of the claimant’s loss are to be reimbursed by
the restitution payments, OVS will deem the restitution
payments as being applied first to property losses inci-
dent to the crime that cannot be compensated under the
act. Only after the property losses are fully paid will OVS
use the restitution payments to offset for losses for which
OVS has awarded or may award compensation.

(f) OVS may make a supplemental award to a claimant
who previously received an award from OVS and who
subsequently incurs an additional loss that is attributable
to the original injury when the maximum award under
the law has not been exceeded.

(g) If a claimant is liable for a bill incurred for
out-of-pocket losses as a result of the crime injury but has
not paid the balance, OVS will order payment to be made
directly to the provider of the service.

(h) OVS may reimburse all medical copays and
deductibles.

(i) If OVS makes an error in the amount of an award,
OVS may seek repayment of the award.

(j) OVS retains the discretion to determine the priority
of awards.

(k) In determining whether an injury is a direct result
of a crime, OVS may consider a certification by a service
provider.

APPEALS

§ 411.31. Reconsideration

(a) A claimant may contest OVS’s determination by
submitting a written request for reconsideration no later
than 30 days from the date of the determination. If a
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request for reconsideration is not filed within the time
required, the determination becomes a final decision of
OVS.

(b) OVS may consider a delay past the prescribed time
period to be justified when one of the following circum-
stances exist:

(1) The direct victim, intervenor or the claimant is
mentally or physically incapacitated.

(2) Other circumstances when good cause is shown by
the claimant.

(c) If requesting reconsideration, the claimant shall
provide any additional information or clarification that
would assist OVS in conducting its reconsideration.

(d) Based on further review and additional information
or clarification that OVS receives, OVS will issue a
reconsidered determination that either reaffirms or modi-
fies the determination.

(e) OVS may issue the reconsidered determination as a
final decision of the agency if it determines that the facts
developed in the claims determination process establish
that a particular determination is warranted as a matter
of law.

§ 411.32. Hearing.

(a) If OVS is unable to determine if a claim is justified
based upon supporting documents, it may direct a hear-
ing before a hearing examiner designated by the OVS.

(b) Except for request for reconsideration falling under
§ 411.31(e) (relating to reconsideration), a claimant may
appeal the reconsidered determination by OVS by re-
questing a hearing.

(c) A claimant may submit a written request for a
hearing no later than 30 days after OVS issues its
reconsidered determination. If a claimant fails to file the
request for hearing within this time, the reconsideration
determination becomes a final decision of OVS.

(d) OVS may consider a delay past the prescribed time
period to be justified when one of the following circum-
stances exist:

(1) The direct victim, intervenor or the claimant is
mentally or physically incapacitated.

(2) Other circumstances when good cause is shown by
the claimant.

(e) If requesting a hearing, the claimant shall provide a
specific reason why the claimant asserts that OVS’s
determination is not correct.

(f) A hearing officer who has no previous involvement
in any aspect of the claim will be assigned by OVS.

(g) Title 1 of the Pennsylvania Code, Part II (relating to
the General Rules of Administrative Practice and Proce-
dures) governs a hearing to the extent that its provisions
are not inconsistent with this chapter.

(h) At least 30 days before the date of hearing, the
claimant, the claimant’s attorney and the victim’s advo-
cate will be provided written notice of the time, place and
purpose of the hearing.

(i) The claimant shall provide written confirmation to
OVS of the claimant’s intent to attend the hearing,
including documentary exhibits to be presented and a list
of witnesses which must be received by OVS at least 10
days prior to the hearing date.

(j) Failure to comply with the confirmation require-
ments in subsection (i) may result in cancellation of the
hearing.

(k) A cancelled hearing may be rescheduled if the
claimant shows good cause for failure to comply with
subsection (i). A hearing will not be rescheduled more
than once, unless OVS deems it necessary.

(l) The attorney representing OVS may submit a
prehearing memorandum to the hearing officer, with a
copy to the claimant, outlining the legal and factual
positions of OVS with respect to the claim and listing
witnesses and documentary exhibits to be presented at
the hearing. The attorney representing OVS may sub-
poena for attendance of witnesses or for production of
documentary evidence.

(m) The claimant may subpoena for attendance of
witnesses or for production of documentary evidence.

(n) Upon a showing of relevancy and materiality, the
hearing officer may issue subpoenas for both the OVS and
the claimant for attendance of witnesses or for the
production of documentary evidence.

(o) In conducting the hearing, the hearing officer will
liberally allow the admission of evidence that may not
conform to the strict rules of evidence under common law
or court rules. A stenographer or court reporter shall
record the proceedings. Witnesses shall testify under
oath.

(p) The claimant shall have the burden of proving
entitlement to compensation by a preponderance of the
evidence.

(q) Both OVS and the claimant may present testimony
in support of their respective positions and cross-examine
the opposing party’s witnesses.

(r) Hearings generally will be open to the public except
that the hearing may be held in camera in any of the
following instances:

(1) Prosecution against the alleged perpetrator of the
crime is pending.

(2) The welfare and safety of the direct victim, interve-
nor or his family or community may be adversely affected
by a public hearing.

(3) To protect the rights and interests of a minor.

(s) A claimant may have support persons or victim
advocates, or both, accompany him. The number of advo-
cates and support persons may be limited by the hearing
officer.

(t) Upon adjourning the hearing, the hearing officer
will offer the claimant and OVS’s attorney an opportunity
to file posthearing briefs, to be filed after the transcript is
issued, on a schedule to be determined by the hearing
officer.

(u) Upon receipt of the transcript from the stenogra-
pher, notification will be sent by certified mail to the
claimant that the transcript is available and can be
purchased at the claimant’s own expense.

(v) OVS will reimburse claimants $20 per day for
attendance at a hearing directed by OVS in connection
with the claim. Additional expenses will be reimbursed as
follows:

(1) Private vehicle usage at mileage rate currently paid
by the Commonwealth to its own employees for travel.

(2) Common carrier fares when preapproved by OVS.
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(3) Lodging the night before or the night after a
hearing session, to a daily maximum of $75, if the
claimant must travel at least 50 miles from home for the
hearing.

§ 411.33. Final decision after hearing.

(a) The hearing officer will issue a report and recom-
mendation which will be delivered to a designated Com-
mission official acting on behalf of OVS who has no
previous involvement in the claim.

(b) The designated Commission official will review the
report and recommendation, the hearing transcript and
the documentary exhibits. The designated Commission
official may not have access to information not in the
hearing record.

(c) The designated Commission official may not be
advised in the hearing process by an attorney or any OVS
staff member who has previous involvement with any
aspect of the claim that is being heard. The designated
Commission official may request the General Counsel of
the Commonwealth to appoint an attorney who has no
prior involvement to provide advice on the matter.

(d) Upon completing the review of the hearing officer’s
report and recommendation, the designated Commission
official will do one of the following on behalf of OVS:

(1) Adopt the hearing officer’s report and recommenda-
tion as written as a final decision.

(2) Modify the report and recommendation and issue
the modified document as the final decision.

(3) Reject the report and recommendation in its en-
tirety and prepare and issue a final decision for OVS.

(e) The designated Commission official will distribute
the final decision to the claimant, the claimant’s attorney,
the victim’s advocate and to OVS.

(f) The claimant shall have the right of further appeal
as set forth in the act or other applicable law.

SCHEDULE OF REIMBURSEMENT RATES AND
COMPENSATION LIMITS

§ 411.41. Amount.

An award made under the act and this chapter will be
in an amount not exceeding out-of-pocket loss, together
with loss of past, present or future earnings or support
resulting from the injury. The total amount of an award
may not exceed $35,000 except for payment of the
following:

(1) Counseling, the maximum amount of which must be
in accordance with section 707(b)(4.1) of the act. (18 P. S.
§ 11.707(b) (4.1))

(2) Forensic rape examination and medications directly
related to the sexual offense, the amount of which may
not exceed $1,000.

(3) Reasonable and necessary costs of cleaning the
crime scene of a private residence, the amount of which
may not exceed $500.

§ 411.42. Out-of-pocket loss.

(a) General. The following general provisions apply to
reimbursement for out-of-pocket loss.

(1) OVS may make a monetary award for an out-of-
pocket loss as it is defined in the act.

(2) OVS may pay the service provider directly or
reimburse the claimant for amounts paid, as applicable.

(b) Medical expenses. The following provisions for pay-
ment of medical expenses apply:

(1) OVS will pay a hospital or other licensed health
care provider at the rate of 70% of the usual and
customary charge for the service rendered.

(2) Forensic rape examinations.
(i) OVS will reimburse a maximum of $1,000 to a

hospital or other licensed health care provider, or both,
for a forensic rape examination and medications directly
related to the sexual offense.

(ii) The reimbursement will not include expenses for
analyzing collected evidence for DNA or presence of
Rohypnol or other similar drugs.

(iii) Claims shall be filed with OVS no later than 1
year after the date of the crime.

(c) Funeral expenses. Except as otherwise set forth in
this subsection, OVS will reimburse for expenses relating
to a funeral of a direct victim or intervenor. The total
reimbursement amount for funeral expenses will not
exceed $5,000. Additionally, within that $5,000 monetary
limitation, reimbursement will be subject to the following
limitations:

(1) Four thousand eight hundred dollars for funeral
services, including the following:

(i) Cremation.
(ii) Interment.
(iii) Body preparation including embalming.
(iv) Grave opening and closing.
(v) Cemetery plot, tent and chairs.
(vi) Mausoleum.
(vii) Viewing services and facilities.
(viii) Automotive equipment, such as the hearse, limou-

sine and flower car.
(ix) Death announcements, prayer cards, register book

and thank you cards.

(x) Casket.

(xi) Minister, pastor, rabbi or other member of the
clergy.

(xii) Other miscellaneous expenses, including organist,
programs, death certificates, obituary notice and notice of
the time and place of the funeral or burial services.

(2) Nine hundred dollars for a monument.

(3) Three hundred dollars for floral arrangements.

(4) Three hundred dollars for funeral or memorial
meal.

(5) One hundred and seventy-five dollars for clothing
purchased for the deceased for the funeral or interment.

(d) Replacement of personal health-related items dam-
aged or stolen as a result of a crime. Except as otherwise
set forth in this subsection, OVS will reimburse a claim-
ant for costs for the replacement of each prosthetic device,
wheelchair, cane, walker, hearing aid, eyeglasses or other
corrective lenses, dental device or prescription medica-
tions. Reimbursement will not exceed $1,000 and will be
subject to the following limitations:

(1) Two hundred dollars for eyeglass frames.

(2) One thousand dollars for replacement of all com-
bined prescription medications stolen or damaged in a
single crime incident.

RULES AND REGULATIONS 7829

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 36, NO. 51, DECEMBER 23, 2006



(3) One hundred dollars for replacement of canes.
(4) Two hundred fifty dollars for replacement for walk-

ers.
(e) Counseling. OVS will pay expenses of counseling

performed by or under the supervision of a psychiatrist,
psychologist, licensed professional counselor or licensed
social worker to claimants as follows:

(1) A maximum of $10,000 in total expenses of a direct
victim who was under 18 years of age upon the occur-
rence of the crime.

(2) A maximum of $5,000 in total expenses of a direct
victim who was 18 years of age or older upon the
occurrence of the crime.

(3) A maximum of $5,000 in total expenses of any of
the following individuals affected by the homicide of a
direct victim:

(i) An individual responsible for the welfare of the
direct victim, which includes legal guardians and foster
parents.

(ii) An individual related in the second degree of
consanguinity or affinity to the direct victim.

(iii) An individual residing in the same household with
the direct victim.

(iv) An individual engaged to be married to the direct
victim.

(4) A maximum of $2,500 in total expenses of any of
the individuals described in paragraph (3) affected by a
crime against a direct victim that is not a homicide.

(5) A maximum of $1,500 in total expenses of an
individual who:

(i) Is physically present at a crime scene and witnesses
a violent crime.

(ii) Discovers the body in a homicide.

(6) For counseling expenses relating to a homicide,
OVS may not reduce the amount of the award or deny the
reimbursement due to the conduct of the direct victim.

(f) Relocation expenses. OVS will reimburse for ex-
penses incurred by the temporary or permanent reloca-
tion of a direct victim and individuals residing in the
direct victim’s household when immediate relocation is
necessary to protect their health and safety. This reim-
bursement will not exceed $1,000 per household for each
crime incident for the following:

(1) Relocation expenses to be reimbursed are as fol-
lows:

(i) Lodging to a daily maximum of $75.

(ii) Rental of substitute living quarters.

(iii) Utility connection fees, which do not include cable.

(iv) Rental of a passenger vehicle for a total daily
maximum of $30.

(v) Private vehicle usage at mileage rate currently paid
by the Commonwealth to its own employees for travel.

(vi) Common carrier fares.

(vii) Moving company charges or van rental.

(viii) Tolls and parking expenses.

(ix) Rental of post office box.

(x) Charges for storage of personal belongings.

(xi) Child care expenses.

(2) Reimbursement will be made only when a medical
provider, human services provider or law enforcement
representative, which may include a district attorney or
other prosecutorial agency, verifies the immediate need
for relocation.

(3) OVS may consider a delay past the prescribed
immediate need time period to be justified when the
direct victim, intervenor or claimant is mentally or
physically incapacitated, there is a fear of retaliation or
other circumstances when good cause is shown by the
claimant.

(g) Travel expenses. OVS will reimburse expenses asso-
ciated with travel necessary and reasonable as deter-
mined by OVS to obtain medical care or counseling and,
in the case of an injury that results in death, for travel in
connection with making the funeral arrangements and
transport of the body as follows:

(1) Meals totaling no more than $28 per day, with no
more than $6 for breakfast, $6 for lunch and $16 for
dinner.

(2) Lodging to a daily maximum of $75.
(3) Private vehicle usage at mileage rate currently paid

by the Commonwealth to its own employees.
(4) Vehicle rental to a daily maximum of $30.
(5) Payment of a driver other than common carriers

needed as result of a crime at maximum hourly rate of
$8.

(6) Common carrier fares in full.
(7) Tolls and parking expenses.
(8) Meals and lodging reimbursement, limited to trips

of 50 miles or more from the eligible person’s home.

(9) Containers or other necessary requirements to
transport the body.

(10) In the case of an injury that results in death, for
travel in connection with the transport of the body and
making funeral arrangements not to exceed 5 days.

(h) Crime scene clean up. The cost of cleaning the crime
scene of a private residence up to a maximum of $500.

(1) Reimbursement will be limited to the cost of clean-
ing supplies purchased for the purpose of cleaning the
scene, the cost of any necessary equipment purchased or
rented and the cost of professional labor for the purpose
of cleaning the crime scene.

(2) Multiple private residences may each be considered
for crime scene cleanup if the sites are identified in the
police report. The maximum award amount for each
crime scene cleanup is $500.

(3) Cleaning means to remove or attempt to remove
blood and stains caused by other bodily fluids as a direct
result of the crime or other dirt or debris caused by the
processing of the crime scene.

(4) Stains deliberately caused by acts of vandalism and
other intentional acts are property damage which is
expressly excluded from the definition of ‘‘out of pocket
loss’’ contained in the act.

(i) Miscellaneous expenses. OVS may reimburse a
claimant for other services reasonably necessary, includ-
ing the following:

(1) The purchase or rental of nonmedical remedial care
or products that are needed to assist in normal, daily life
functions and are prescribed or recommended by a health
care provider, such as a wheel chair ramp, lifts or other
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special accommodations, including equipment or robotic
devices needed to assist in normal, daily life functions.

(2) The cost of obtaining services needed as a result of
the crime such as laundering, cleaning, child care, admin-
istration of medication, food shopping and meal prepara-
tion.

(i) Members of the family of the direct victim or
intervenor engaged to perform the services will be paid
their net loss of earnings not to exceed the average
weekly wage and if not otherwise reimbursed for the loss
of earnings.

(ii) Individuals engaged to perform services who are
not family members will be paid a maximum hourly rate
of $8.

(3) At the discretion of OVS, telephone and television
expenses incurred in connection with inpatient care of the
direct victim or intervenor due to the injury.

(4) At the discretion of OVS, charges incurred for
records, products or services including those for rehabili-
tation, rehabilitative occupational training, other reme-
dial treatment and care, tutors and interpreters.

§ 411.43. Loss of earnings.

(a) OVS may make an award for the loss of cash equal
to one month’s net worth of Social Security, railroad
retirement, pension plan, retirement plan, disability, vet-
eran’s retirement, court-ordered child support or court-
ordered spousal support payments if the payments are
the primary source of the victims income and the victim
is deprived of the money as a direct result of a crime. The
actual amount stolen must be indicated in the police
report. In no instance may payment exceed the amount
stolen. Changes or amendments to the amount stolen
must be made to the police within 2 weeks of the crime
and subsequently documented by the police.

(b) OVS may make an award within the monetary
limitations of the act to compensate a direct victim,
intervenor or claimant for loss of earnings attributable to
the injury not to exceed the average weekly wage if the
claimant was not otherwise reimbursed for the loss. A loss
of earnings must be definitely ascertainable at the time of
the injury and may not include a loss that is conditioned
upon future events.

(c) In claims involving the death of a direct victim or
intervenor, OVS may pay up to 2 week’s net loss of
earnings in connection with the death not to exceed the
average weekly wage if the claimant was not otherwise
reimbursed for the loss. The loss is limited to that
suffered by a claimant who incurred a loss of earnings as
a result of one of the following:

(1) Trauma.

(2) Making funeral arrangements.

(3) Accompanying the deceased to the place of inter-
ment.

(d) The following formula will be used to calculate
loss-of-earnings for wage earners:

Loss of Earnings = Gross Earnings � Estimated Tax
Obligations � Other Benefits Received

(e) For purposes of the formula in subsection (d), the
following apply:

(1) ‘‘Gross earnings’’ include taxable and nontaxable
income that was terminated or reduced as a result of
injury. Overtime may be included if the claimant demon-

strates a history of regular overtime pay or provides
verification that overtime is a condition of employment.

(2) Estimated tax obligations include Federal, State
and local taxes.

(3) ‘‘Other benefits received’’ include disability pay-
ments, employer paid leave, cash assistance, food stamps,
workers’ compensation, restitution or awards or settle-
ments from a civil action or insurance payment.

(f) In calculating gross earnings, OVS may use either a
time period immediately preceding the crime, the tax year
in which the crime occurred or the most recent tax year
that ended prior to the year of the crime.

(g) As a condition for continuing receipt of loss of
earnings benefits, OVS may require the claimant to file a
claim for and pursue other benefits to which the claimant
may be entitled and which could be an offset to the loss of
earnings award.

(h) For a claimant who is self-employed and who
continues to operate his business during the period of
disability, OVS may compensate the claimant for the
amount paid to other persons hired to perform the
services usually performed by the claimant.

(i) For a claimant whose unemployment compensation
benefits are suspended as a result of the injury, OVS may
make an award to replace the suspended benefits.

(j) If the claimant was unemployed at the time of the
injury and provides OVS with an affidavit from the
employer on company letterhead stating the beginning
date of employment, the hours per week to be worked,
and the pay rate along with the employer’s Federal
Identification Number (FID#) certifying that the claimant
was unable to begin because of the injury, OVS may
measure loss of earnings based on anticipated earnings
that would have been received in the new position.

(k) If the claimant was self-employed for less than a
year prior to the injury and the tax records consequently
provide a questionable measure of the claimant’s earning
potential, OVS may measure gross earnings by using the
claimant’s earnings as an employee for the period imme-
diately prior to the start of the claimant’s business.

(l) If a claimant is self-employed and is unable to fulfill
a contract negotiated and signed prior to the crime due to
the injury, OVS may consider the lost net income.

§ 411.44. Loss of support.

(a) OVS may make an award within the monetary
limitations of the act to compensate an eligible person or
persons who, as a consequence of the injury causing the
death of a direct victim or intervenor, is deprived of the
financial support that the direct victim or intervenor had
been required by court order to provide or had actually
been providing at the time of the injury that caused the
death. When a court-ordered support obligation is in
effect at the time of an injury causing the death, the
following formula will be used to calculate loss of support:

Loss of Support = Support � Other Benefits Received

(b) For purposes of the formula in subsection (a), the
following apply:

(1) ‘‘Support’’ includes annual support based on obliga-
tion specified in the order plus any amount in arrears due
to the claimant at time of death.

(2) ‘‘Other benefits received’’ include restitution, insur-
ance benefits, Social Security or pension benefits and
awards from civil actions.
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(c) When no court-ordered support obligation is in
effect at the time of an injury causing the death of a
direct victim or intervenor, the following formula will be
used to calculate loss of support:

Loss of Support = Support � Other Benefits Received

(d) For purposes of the formula in subsection (c), the
following apply:

(1) ‘‘Support’’ includes the gross earnings less estimated
tax obligations multiplied by 80%. Gross earnings include
all taxable and nontaxable income that terminated at
time of death such as wages, business income, retirement
payments, Social Security payments and other benefits.

(2) ‘‘Other benefits received’’ include restitution, insur-
ance benefits, Social Security or pension benefits and
awards from civil actions.

(3) Loss of support must be definitely ascertainable at
the time of the injury that caused the death and may not
include a loss that is conditioned upon future events.

(e) In applying the formula in subsection(c), the follow-
ing conditions apply:

(1) A surviving spouse or dependent child will be
allocated up to 80% of the net annual earnings of the
victim or intervenor.

(2) A surviving parent will be allocated the actual
amount of support provided by the direct victim or
intervenor, not to exceed 80% of the net annual earnings.

(3) Any other person dependent upon the direct victim
or intervenor for principal support will be allocated the
actual amount of support provided by the direct victim or
intervenor, not to exceed 80% of the net annual earnings.

(f) When calculating loss of support, OVS may consider
as applicable, the life expectancy or labor force participa-
tion expectancy of the direct victim or intervenor, or the
age of the dependent.

(g) In calculating gross earnings, OVS may use either a
time period immediately preceding the crime, the tax year
in which the crime occurred or the most recent tax year
that ended prior to the year of the crime.

(h) If the direct victim or intervenor was not employed
at the time of the crime, OVS may use employment
history up to the 3 years immediately preceding the crime
to estimate potential support that would have been
provided to an eligible person.

(i) If more than one person is eligible for a loss of
support award, OVS will allocate each a share of the total
annual amount based on OVS’s determination of fairness
and equity under the circumstances of the claim.

(j) If the total uncompensated loss of support for two or
more eligible persons exceeds the monetary limitations in
the act, the limited resources will be distributed at the
discretion of OVS proportionately among the eligible
persons.

(k) OVS may provide a lump sum or accelerated pay-
ments for loss of support. The calculated maximum can
be dispersed in one lump sum if extenuating circum-
stances necessitate, or under lesser conditions, paid out in
a 3-year to 5-year payment plan. Also, if the total
projected award is of a lesser amount, and extended
yearly payments are impractical, the award will be paid
in total in a single sum. In claims in which OVS make
protracted payments into the future, the claimant is
subject to a continuing obligation to provide information
that OVS requests. Failure to provide this information

when requested may result in the suspension of future,
payments or may require repayment of prior accelerated
payments.

(l) The claimant or the recipient of a loss of support
award has a continuing obligation to report to OVS any
change in circumstances, such as if the recipient obtains
a new source of support. In these circumstances, OVS
may terminate or reduce protracted payments made
under the original award.

(m) When an award for loss of support is paid to a
person for the benefit of another person, OVS may
require the payee to file a periodic accounting of OVS’s
payments or take other action as OVS may determine
necessary and appropriate for the benefit of the benefi-
ciary.

(n) As a condition for continuing receipt of loss of
support benefits, OVS may require the claimant to file a
claim for and pursue other benefits to which the claimant
may be entitled to offset the loss of support benefits.

(o) At any time, OVS may reconsider and modify a
future loss of support award previously issued or a
protracted payment if another eligible person qualifies for
a loss of support award.

(p) Gifts of property or money bestowed upon the
dependent on special occasions may not be considered in
making a determination of dependency.

MISCELLANEOUS

§ 411.51. Subrogation.

(a) Payment of an award made under the act shall
subrogate the Commonwealth, to the extent of any pay-
ment, to any right of action against any person accruing
to the claimant, the direct victim or the intervenor to
recover losses resulting from the crime with respect to
which the award is made. In such a case, the Common-
wealth will be entitled to bring an action against the
person causing or otherwise liable for the personal inju-
ries or death for which the payment was made. Money
recovered under this section shall be deposited in the
Crime Victim’s Compensation Fund established under the
act.

(b) If an amount greater than that paid under the act
is recovered and collected in such an action, the Common-
wealth will pay the balance to the claimant. The Attorney
General shall enforce any subrogation. A claimant who
fails to notify OVS of the receipt of funds from another
claim or award arising out of the crime shall forfeit and
pay to the Commonwealth an amount equal to all awards
paid by OVS to the claimant or on the claimant’s behalf.

(c) The OVS has the discretion to settle subrogation
claims for an amount less than the award. Unless good
cause is shown by the claimant or claimant’s attorney,
under no circumstances will OVS settle subrogation
claims for an amount that is less than 75% of the original
award to the claimant. OVS reserves the right to assert
further subrogation on additional recovery by the claim-
ant. If the direct victim or intervenor incurs additional
expenses related to the injury, the claimant must exhaust
the actual insurance or civil recovery as well as the
amount OVS reduced prior to receiving further payments
from OVS.

§ 411.52. Representation by attorney.

(a) Title 1 of the Pennsylvania Code, Part II (relating
to General Rules of Administrative Practice and Proce-
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dures) applies to the representation of a claimant by an
attorney before OVS or in a hearing related to a claim
submitted to OVS.

(b) If an attorney has filed a notice of appearance on
behalf of the claimant, the notice shall remain in effect
until one of the following occurs:

(1) The claimant files with OVS a written revocation of
the authority of the attorney.

(2) The attorney files with OVS a written statement of
withdrawal from the case.

(3) The attorney makes a statement of withdrawal
from the case on the record at a hearing.

(4) OVS receives notice of the license suspension or
revocation or the death of the attorney.

(c) During the period in which a notice of appearance
filed under this section remains in effect, OVS may
communicate with the attorney instead of the claimant.
Service upon the attorney shall be deemed effective
service upon the claimant.

(d) An attorney who represents a claimant before OVS
may receive a fee for that representation only under the
act. After OVS makes an award, the attorney may
request that OVS pay attorney’s fees and costs by filing
with OVS an affidavit of services, listing the nature of
each service rendered and the amount of time spent in
rendering the service, plus an itemized list of costs
incurred in the preparation, procuring and filing of record
papers regarding the claim.

(e) In evaluating applications for attorney’s fees, OVS
will consider the following factors:

(1) The time and labor required.

(2) The novelty and difficulty of the questions.

(3) The skill needed to perform the legal service prop-
erly.

(4) Awards in similar claims.

(f) A payment for attorney’s fees shall be in addition to
the award made to the direct victim, claimant or interve-
nor, but may not exceed 15% of that award. OVS may not
reduce an award to a direct victim on account of payment
of attorney’s fees.

(g) OVS may award no more than $75 per hour to an
attorney in the preparation and presentation of a claim
that is awarded.

(h) It is unlawful for an attorney to contract for or
receive a sum larger than the amount allowed.

(i) OVS may deny or reduce an award for attorney’s
fees if an attorney asserts a false claim as to the time
spent on a matter concerning OVS or asserts a false claim
as to the services rendered to a claimant. OVS may refer
the matter to the Disciplinary Board of the Pennsylvania
Supreme Court, the Attorney General or other appropri-
ate authorities.

§ 411.53. Prohibitions.

(a) Providers who write off bills to a direct victim or
intervenor may not at any point following the write off
seek reimbursement from OVS, direct victim, claimant or
intervenor.

(b) A funeral director who assumes the obligation to
pay for funeral expenses may not seek reimbursement
from the direct victim or intervenor’s family.

(c) A person who assumes the obligation for crime
scene clean up may not seek reimbursement from the
direct victim or intervenor’s family.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 06-2509. Filed for public inspection December 22, 2006, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 49—PROFESSIONAL
AND VOCATIONAL

STANDARDS
BUREAU OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPA-

TIONAL AFFAIRS
[49 PA. CODE CH. 43b]

Schedule of Civil Penalties

The Commissioner of Professional and Occupational
Affairs (Commissioner) amends Chapter 43b (relating to
Commissioner of Professional and Occupational Affairs) to
read as set forth in Annex A.
A. Effective Date

The final-form rulemaking is effective upon publication
in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.
B. Statutory Authority

Section 5(a) of the act of July 2, 1993 (P. L. 345, No. 48)
(Act 48) (63 P. S. § 2205(a)) authorizes the Commissioner,
after consultation with licensing boards and commissions
in the Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs
(Bureau), to promulgate regulations setting forth a sched-
ule of civil penalties, guidelines for their imposition and
procedures for appeal for: (1) operating without a current
and valid license, registration, certificate or permit; and
(2) violating an act or regulation of a licensing board or
commission regarding the conduct or operation of a
business or facility licensed by a board or commission.

C. Background and Purpose

Act 48 authorizes agents of the Bureau to issue cita-
tions and impose civil penalties under schedules adopted
by the Commissioner in consultation with the Bureau’s
boards and commissions. Act 48 citations streamline the
disciplinary process by eliminating the need for formal
orders to show cause, answers, adjudications and orders,
and consent agreements. At the same time, licensees who
receive an Act 48 citation retain their due process right of
appeal prior to the imposition of discipline. The use of Act
48 citations has increased steadily since 1996, when the
program was first implemented. Act 48 citations have
become an important part of the Bureau’s enforcement
efforts, with approximately 30% of the sanctions imposed
by boards and commissions being accomplished through
the Act 48 citation process.

The final-form rulemaking sets forth amendments to
the civil penalty schedules of the State Board of Barber
Examiners (Barber Board), the State Real Estate Com-
mission (Commission), the State Board of Vehicle Manu-
facturers, Dealers and Salespersons and the State Archi-
tects Licensure Board (Architects Board).

D. Summary of Comments to Proposed Rulemaking and
the Commissioner’s Responses

Notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 34
Pa.B. 5552 (October 9, 2004). There was a 30-day public
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comment period, during which time the Commissioner
received comments from the Pennsylvania Association of
Realtors (PAR), the American Institute of Architects
Pennsylvania Chapter (AIAPA) and a licensee of the
Architects Board. Following the close of the public com-
ment period, the boards received comments from the
House Professional Licensure Committee (HPLC) and the
Independent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC). The
following summarizes the comments received and pro-
vides the boards’ responses.

No comments were received with respect to the sched-
ule of civil penalties for the Barber Board.

With respect to the schedule of civil penalties for the
Commission, the HPLC asked for the rationale behind
lowering the civil penalty for the offense of failing to
include the business name and phone number in at least
equal size on an advertisement. The Commission deter-
mined that the offense was a relatively minor one and
that the existing civil penalty was excessive when com-
pared with other offenses on the schedule. The HPLC and
IRRC also asked for a clarification as to what ‘‘in at least
equal size’’ means. Prior to amendments to § 35.305
(relating to business name on advertisements) in 2000,
the requirement was that the name and telephone num-
ber of the advertising licensee’s broker be given greater
prominence than the name of the advertising licensee in
the advertising. In 2000, this requirement was altered to
require the broker’s name and phone number to be at
least equal in size as the name and phone number of the
advertising licensee. See 30 Pa.B. 5954 (November 18,
2000). Therefore, this final-form rulemaking has been
amended to clarify this intent.

PAR commented that after careful review of the pro-
posed amendments to the schedule of civil penalties
regarding the Commission, PAR had no suggested modifi-
cations to the schedule of civil penalties, but encouraged
the Commission to continue employing due diligence
when preparing citations and levying penalties.

With respect to the schedule of civil penalties for the
State Board of Vehicle Manufacturers, Dealers and Sales-
persons, the HPLC and IRRC asked for an explanation
regarding the difference in the severity of the penalty for
an auction permitting an unlicensed, revoked or sus-
pended dealer to buy, sell or represent a vehicle at an
auction, and a dealer permitting a revoked or suspended
salesperson to buy, sell or represent a vehicle at an
auction. Although similarly worded, these are two differ-
ent violations. A dealer is subject to discipline for permit-
ting a revoked or suspended salesperson to represent the
dealership at an auto auction. Salespersons are licensed
to work for one, and only one, dealership. It is the
dealer’s responsibility to verify the licensure status of
salespersons representing the dealership at an auction.
On the other hand, an auction is subject to discipline for
permitting a revoked or suspended dealer to buy or sell at
the auction. The dealers are entirely independent from
the auctions. Due to the large number of dealerships
represented at any given auction, the State Board of
Vehicle Manufacturers, Dealers and Salespersons and the
Commissioner determined that the civil penalty schedules
should reflect this difference. Essentially, the schedules
give the auction one violation with a lesser civil penalty
before following the same schedule as that applied to
dealers.

With regard to the civil penalty schedules for the
Architects Board, the AIAPA raised several objections to
the civil penalty schedules. First, the AIAPA objected to
the imposition of a civil penalty against a firm for

untimely payment of the annual registration renewal fee.
The AIAPA pointed out that a disciplinary action,
whether it be through a civil penalty under Act 48 or
through formal disciplinary action, causes a ‘‘black mark’’
on a firm’s record that can severely affect a firm’s ability
to compete for public contracts. In response to this
comment, the Architects Board and the Commissioner
agreed to remove the proposed civil penalty from the
schedule.

The AIAPA also commented regarding the civil penalty
schedules regarding the unauthorized practice of architec-
ture. The AIAPA asked the Architects Board and the
Commissioner to consider whether the existing schedules
and the proposed rulemaking account for the critical
difference between untrained and unlicensed individuals
practicing architecture and architects who are practicing
on an expired license. The AIAPA pointed out that the
civil penalty schedules apply the same penalty to these
two vastly differing situations. In response to these
comments, the Architects Board and the Commissioner
have agreed to revise the civil penalty schedules to
provide for the maximum $1,000 civil penalty for practice
by wholly unlicensed individuals, while adopting a sched-
ule for practicing on an expired license based on the
length of the lapse. In addition, the schedules have been
revised to reflect the difference between an architect
practicing on a revoked or suspended license, as com-
pared to one practicing on an expired license. The
Architects Board and the Commissioner agree that prac-
ticing in the face of a lawful order of the Architects Board
suspending or revoking an architect’s license is a more
egregious violation than practicing after one’s license has
expired and the amended civil penalty schedules now
reflect that fact.

Throughout the months since the proposed rulemaking
was published, the Architects Board has spent a consider-
able amount of time working to develop schedules that
fairly reflect the severity of each infraction. The AIAPA
has provided welcomed input throughout this process.
With regard to the civil penalties regarding expired
licenses, it is the Board’s intent that these schedules
represent the exclusive action taken against an individual
for practicing architecture or impressing an architect’s
seal on documents during a lapse in license. However,
this does not prevent the Board from instituting disciplin-
ary action for any other violation of the act or regulations
of the Board that may occur during the period of lapse.

Robert J. Shusterman, a licensee of the Architects
Board, objected to imposing a penalty on a firm for failing
to submit its registration fee noting that it would place
firms in this Commonwealth at a disadvantage to out-of-
State individuals and firms. He also objected to the
imposition of a penalty for failing to obtain prior Archi-
tects Board approval for a firm name. The amendments
made to the final-form rulemaking should alleviate these
concerns. Mr. Shusterman also suggested that the Archi-
tects Board should defer consideration of these civil
penalty schedules and direct its attention to more press-
ing concerns of the profession including ‘‘electronic file
transfer versus plan stamping, multi-state practice, man-
datory continuing education and clarification of the scope
of the profession of architecture.’’ However, the Architects
Board believes that its disciplinary function and regula-
tory functions are equally important in protecting con-
sumers of architecture services in this Commonwealth.
These civil penalty schedules are a part of that effort.

E. Description of Amendments

State Board of Barber Examiners
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The final-form rulemaking amends the schedule of civil
penalties of the Barber Board in § 43b.4 (relating to
schedule of civil penalties—barbers and barber shops) by
increasing amount of the civil penalties across the board.
The Barber Board has participated in the Act 48 citation
program from its inception in 1996 and the civil penalties
have not increased since they were originally promul-
gated. The Barber Board has historically had the most
lenient civil penalty schedule and the Barber Board and
the Commissioner have determined that it is necessary to
increase the civil penalties to improve their deterrent
effects. In addition, the final-form rulemaking increases
the civil penalties for continuing violations based on the
length of the violation. For example, the penalty for
practicing on a lapsed or expired license would increase
depending on the length of the lapse. The final-form
rulemaking also amends the description of the violation
under section 562 of the Barber Law (63 P. S. § 562) to
track recent amendments made by the act of December
22, 2005 (P. L. 446, No. 84), which now require that a
barber shop must be supervised by a designated manager-
barber or other licensee in charge. In addition, technical
corrections have been made to the sections of the law
cited as authority for two of the violations.

State Real Estate Commission

The civil penalty schedule for the Commission in
§ 43b.8 (relating to schedule of civil penalties—real es-
tate and cemetery brokers, real estate schools) is
amended to add increased penalties for second offenses
and continuing violations. These amendments also add
civil penalties for violations of §§ 35.286(a), 35.292(a)(6),
35.305(b) and 35.334. Also, the amendments increase
certain existing civil penalties to enhance their deterrent
effect. The final-form rulemaking includes amendments
required to make the civil penalty schedules consistent
with recent amendments the Commission made to
§§ 35.245, 35.304 and 35.305 (relating to display of
licenses in office; and disclosure of licensure when adver-
tising own real estate).

State Board of Vehicle Manufacturers, Dealers and Sales-
persons

The final-form rulemaking amends the civil penalty
schedule in § 43b.9 (relating to schedule of civil penal-
ties—vehicle manufacturers, dealers and salespersons) to
add civil penalties for additional violations of the Board of
Vehicles Act (act) (63 P. S. § 818.1—818.37). Specifically,
the final-form rulemaking adds civil penalties to its
schedule for unlicensed practice violations by dealers,
auctions, manufacturers, distributors, factory representa-
tives and distributor representatives under section 5 of
the act (63 P. S. § 818.5). Additionally, owing to an
increasing number of complaints involving activities at
vehicle auctions within this Commonwealth, the final-
form rulemaking seeks to take advantage of the efficien-
cies of the citation process for violations of sections
19(29), (30) and (38) of the act (63 P. S. § 818.19 (29), (30)
and (38)), regarding vehicle auctions.

State Architects Licensure Board

The civil penalty schedule for the Architects Board in
§ 43b.11a (relating to schedule of civil penalties—
architects) is amended to delete the existing civil penalty
for an architect impressing a seal or knowingly permit-
ting it to be impressed on drawings, specifications or
other design documents which were not prepared by the
architect or under the architect’s personal supervision.
This violation does not lend itself to the Act 48 process
and, to the Board’s knowledge, has not served as the

basis of the issuance of any citations since its adoption.
As previously noted, the final-form rulemaking also de-
letes the violation for delinquent payment of annual
renewal fees by architecture firms. In addition, in the
final-form rulemaking a distinction has been made be-
tween improper use of an architect’s seal while the
architect’s license is expired, as compared to when the
license is suspended or revoked. The Board believes that
any type of practice on an expired license is a less
egregious violation than practicing while one’s license is
suspended or has been revoked by the Board. For that
reason, the civil penalty schedule for improper use of an
architect’s seal while the architect’s license is expired has
been adjusted to impose civil penalties that increase with
the length of the lapse. Similarly, a distinction has been
made in the final-form rulemaking between the civil
penalty to be imposed for practicing without ever having
received a license, and that for practicing on an expired
or lapsed license. Again, with regard to expired licenses,
the civil penalty has been adjusted to increase based on
the length of the lapse.
F. Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

The final-form rulemaking will have no adverse fiscal
impact on the Commonwealth or its political subdivisions
and will reduce the paperwork requirements of both the
Commonwealth and the regulated community by elimi-
nating the need for orders to show cause, answers,
consent agreements and adjudications/orders for viola-
tions subject to the Act 48 citation process.
G. Sunset Date

Professional licensure statutes require each board and
commission to be self-supporting. Therefore, boards and
commission continually monitor the effectiveness of regu-
lations affecting their operations. As a result, no sunset
date has been assigned.
H. Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5(a)), on September 29, 2004, the Board
submitted a copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking,
published at 34 Pa.B. 5552, to IRRC and the Chairper-
sons of the HPLC and the Senate Consumer Protection
and Professional Licensure Committee (SCP/PLC) for
review and comment.

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC,
the HPLC and the SCP/PLC were provided with copies of
the comments received during the public comment period,
as well as other documents when requested. In preparing
the final-form rulemaking, the Department has consid-
ered all comments from IRRC, the HPLC, the SCP/PLC
and the public.

Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5a(j.2)), on November 21, 2006, this final-form
rulemaking was approved by the HPLC. On November
29, 2006, the final-form rulemaking was deemed approved
by the SCP/PLC. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regulatory
Review Act, IRRC met on November 30, 2006, and
approved the final-form rulemaking.
I. Contact Person

Further information may be obtained by contacting
Cynthia K. Montgomery, Regulatory Counsel, Department
of State, P. O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649.
J. Findings

The Commissioner finds that:
(1) Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given

under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
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(P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P. S. §§ 1201 and 1202) and the
regulations promulgated thereunder, 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1
and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered.

(3) This final-form rulemaking does not enlarge the
purpose of proposed rulemaking published at 34 Pa.B.
5552.

(4) This final-form rulemaking is necessary and appro-
priate for administering and enforcing the authorizing act
identified in Part B of this preamble.
K. Order

The Commissioner, acting under section 5(a) of Act 48,
orders that:

(a) The civil penalty schedules promulgated by the
Commissioner, 49 Pa. Code Chapter 43b, are amended by
amending §§ 43b.3, 43b.4, 43b.8, 43b.9 and 43b.11a to
read as set forth in Annex A.

(b) The Commissioner shall submit this order and
Annex A to the Office of General Counsel and the Office
of Attorney General as required by law.

(c) The Commissioner shall certify this order and An-
nex A and deposit them with the Legislative Reference
Bureau as required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect on publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.

BASIL L. MERENDA,
Commissioner

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission, relating to this
document, see 36 Pa.B. 7777 (December 16, 2006).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 16-32 remains valid for the
final adoption of the subject regulations.

Annex A
TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL

STANDARDS
PART I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 43b. COMMISSIONER OF
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL AFFAIRS
SCHEDULE OF CIVIL PENALTIES, GUIDELINES

FOR IMPOSITION OF CIVIL PENALTIES AND
PROCEDURES FOR APPEAL

§ 43b.3. Procedures.
(a) Inspections/investigations. Authorized agents may

conduct inspections and investigations for the purpose of
ascertaining compliance with statutory provisions and

regulations of licensing boards and commissions relating
to required licensure and the conduct or operation of a
business or facility.

(b) Citations.
(1) If an inspection reveals a violation of a statute or a

regulation for which a civil penalty has been established
under the schedules in this chapter, the authorized agent
may prepare a citation indicating the violations found
and the penalties imposed. A copy of the citation will be
provided to the respondent.

(2) The citation shall be made on a form approved by
the Bureau.

(3) Within 10 days of the date of the issuance of the
citation, the respondent shall enter one of the following:

(i) A plea to admit to the violation and remit payment
of the civil penalty to the Bureau.

(ii) A plea to deny the violation and request a hearing
to contest the imposition of a civil penalty.

(4) Failure to respond to the citation in the manner
specified in paragraph (3) within 10 days will result in
the entry of a default judgment against the respondent
for the full amount of the civil penalty and may result in
additional disciplinary action.

(5) The civil penalties shall be paid by certified check
or cashier’s check or money order and made payable to
the ‘‘Commonwealth of Pennsylvania,’’ and mailed to:
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Department of State,
Complaints Office—Citations, Post Office Box 2649, Har-
risburg, Pennsylvania 17105-2649.

(c) Citation hearings.

(1) Citation hearings shall be conducted by a hearing
examiner in compliance with 2 Pa.C.S. §§ 501—508 and
701—704 (relating to Administrative Agency Law).

(2) If a violation is found, the hearing examiner shall
impose the full amount of the civil penalty as charged in
the citation and as authorized by the schedules in this
chapter.

(d) Appeals. A decision by a hearing examiner may be
appealed by any party by filing an application for review
with the appropriate licensing Board within 20 days of
the mailing date of the order. An application for review
shall set forth with specificity the grounds for appeal. The
Board will review the record established before the
hearing examiner and in its discretion receive additional
evidence.

(e) Miscellaneous. This section supplements 1 Pa. Code
Part II (relating to General Rules of Administrative
Practice and Procedures).

§ 43b.4. Schedule of civil penalties—barbers and
barber shops.

STATE BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS
Violation under

63 P. S. Title/Description Civil Penalty
Section 551 Practicing without a license 1st offense—$500

2nd offense—Formal action
Section 558 Availability of current license on premises 1st offense—$150

2nd offense—$500
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Violation under
63 P. S. Title/Description Civil Penalty

Section 558 Practicing on a lapsed or expired license 1st offense—Up to 90 days—Warning;
90 days to 1 year—$250; 1 year to 2
years—$500; over 2 years—$1,000
2nd offense—Formal action

Section 562(a)(2) Operating a business or facility on a lapsed or
expired permit or license

1st offense—Up to 90 days—Warning;
90 days to 1 year—$250; from 1 year
to 2 years—$500; over 2 years—$1,000
2nd offense—Formal action

Section 559 Failure to employ licensed persons 1st offense—$500 for each individual
unlicensed barber
2nd offense—Formal action

Section 560 Opening shop for business before shop inspected and
approved

1st offense—$200
2nd offense—Formal action

Section 560 Failure to file application when taking over as owner
of existing shop

1st offense—$500
2nd offense—Formal action

Section 562 Operating an establishment without supervision of
designated manager barber or other designated
licensee

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—Formal action

Section 560 Operating a business or facility without a permit or
license

1st offense—$500
2nd offense—Formal action

Section 563(a) Licensee practicing in place other than licensed shop 1st offense—$500
2nd offense—Formal action

Violation Under
49 Pa. Code
Chapter 3 Title/Description Civil Penalty

Section 3.51(a) Failure to obtain new shop license when shop moves 1st offense—$500
2nd offense—Formal action

Section 3.51(b) Failure to register trade name 1st offense—$100
2nd offense—Formal action

Section 3.54 Failure to meet minimum equipment requirements 1st offense—$100
2nd offense—Formal action

Section 3.55 Failure to meet minimum maintenance and
sanitation requirements

1st offense—$100
2nd offense—Formal action

Section 3.85 School equipment does not meet requirements 1st offense—$100
2nd offense—Formal action

Section 3.86 School maintenance and sanitation requirements
not met

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—Formal action

Section 3.89 School advertising requirements not met 1st offense—$250
2nd offense—Formal action

§ 43b.8. Schedule of civil penalties—real estate and cemetery brokers, real estate schools.
STATE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

Violation under
63 P. S. Title/Description Civil Penalty

Section 455.301 Acting in capacity of cemetery broker or cemetery
salesperson without a license

1st offense—$250 per violation
2nd offense—$500 per violation

Section 455.601(a) Failure of licensee to notify Commission of change of
location of office of broker or cemetery broker within
10 days

1st offense—$125
2nd offense—$250

Section 455.601(a) Failure of broker or cemetery broker to maintain sign
with licensed name outside office

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500

Section 455.603 Failure of licensee to notify Commission of change of
employing broker within 10 days

1st offense—$125
2nd offense—$250

Section 455.604(a)(4) Use of any trade name or insignia or membership in
any real estate association or organization of which
the licensee is not a member

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500

Section 455.604(a)(8) Placing a ‘‘for sale’’ or ‘‘for rent’’ sign or advertising
property without the written consent of the owner

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500
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Violation under
63 P. S. Title/Description Civil Penalty

Section 455.604(a)(16) Failure to exercise adequate supervision of licensed
salesperson or associate broker (when subordinate
violates § 455.601(a), 455.603 or 455.604(a)(21))

Same as penalty for underlying
offense by subordinate

Section 455.604(a)(21) Failure of licensee to have current license when
performing licensed activity

1st offense—$250 per month up to
$1,000
2nd offense—Formal action

Section 455.604(a)(26) Failure to include right-of-cancellation information
in a time share or campground membership

1st offense—$500
2nd offense—$1,000

Section 2205(b)(2) Aiding and abetting cemetery or real estate sales
activities by unlicensed individuals

1st offense—$250 per individual
2nd offense—$500 per individual

Violation Under
49 Pa. Code
Chapter 35 Title/Description Civil Penalty

Section 35.242(a) Failure of broker or cemetery broker to devote office
to transaction of real estate business in privacy

1st offense—$125
2nd offense—$250

Section 35.242(b) Failure of broker or cemetery broker to maintain separate
entrance to office located in private residence

1st offense—$125
2nd offense—$250

Section 35.242(c) Failure of broker or cemetery broker to display business name
prominently and in permanent fashion outside office

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500

Section 35.243(a) Failure of broker or cemetery broker to obtain license
before opening branch office

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500

Section 35.245(a) Failure of broker, cemetery broker or rental listing referral
agent to maintain the current license of employed or affiliated
licensees at main office

1st offense—$125
2nd offense—$250

Section 35.245(b) Failure of associate broker, salesperson, associate cemetery
broker or cemetery salesperson to conspicuously display current
license at office out of which licensee works

1st offense—$100
2nd offense—$250

Section 35.245(c) Failure of broker or cemetery broker to maintain a list of
licensees employed or affiliated with the broker or cemetery
broker at the branch office out of which each licensee works

1st offense—$125
2nd offense—$250

Section 35.285 Failure to provide Commission or its representative with
information regarding a franchisor, network or other parent real
estate company with which the licensee is or may become
affiliated

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500

Section 35.286(a) Failure of broker to retain a copy of the written estimate of
reasonably foreseeable expenses required under 49 Pa. Code
§ 35.334 (relating to statements of estimated cost and return)

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500

Section 35.286(a)(1) Failure of broker, associate broker or salesperson to retain a
copy of the acknowledgement portion of the Consumer Notice

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500

Section 35.286(b) Failure of a licensed entity other than an individual to produce
its corporate, partnership or association records for examination
by the Commission or its authorized representative

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500

Section 35.290(b) Failure of a licensee to notify the Commission of disciplinary
action taken against the licensee by the real estate licensing
authority of another jurisdiction within 30 days of receiving
notice of the disciplinary action

1st offense—$500
2nd offense—$1,000

Section 35.292(a)(6) Failure of broker, associate broker or salesperson to provide a
copy of the Consumer Notice as required under 63 P. S. § 455.608
(relating to information to be given at initial interview)

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500

Section 35.301(a) Advertising the sale or lease of real estate without the authority
of the seller or lessor or its agent

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500

Section 35.301(b) Publishing information about a rental property if the lessor or
property manager expressly stated that the property was not
to be included in lists prepared by rental listing referral agents

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500

Section 35.304 Failure of a licensee who sells or leases his own real estate to
disclose in ads for the property that he is a licensee

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500
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Violation Under
49 Pa. Code
Chapter 35 Title/Description Civil Penalty

Section 35.305(a) Failure of broker, cemetery broker or rental listing referral agent
to advertise or hold himself out to public under business name
designated on license

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500

Section 35.305(b) Advertising or using a nickname that has not been registered
with the Commission

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500

Section 35.305(c) Failure of salesperson or associate broker to include the business
name and telephone number of the broker in at least equal size
as the salesperson’s or associate broker’s name and telephone
number on an advertisement

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500

Section 35.334 Failure of broker to provide a written estimate of reasonably
foreseeable expenses

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500

Section 35.361(a) Failure of real estate school to prominently display certificate of
approval at main location and copy at satellite location

1st offense—$125
2nd offense—$250

Section 35.361(b) Failure of real estate school to prominently display school’s
approved name outside each school location

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500

Section 35.361(c) Failure of real estate school to prominently display school
director’s letter of approval at main location and copy at each
satellite location

1st offense—$125
2nd offense—$250

Section 35.361(d) Failure of real estate school to prominently display alphabetical
list of courses and instructors at each school location

1st offense—$125
2nd offense—$250

§ 43b.9. Schedule of civil penalties—vehicle manufacturers, dealers and salespersons.

STATE BOARD OF VEHICLE MANUFACTURERS, DEALERS AND SALESPERSONS
Violation under

63 P. S. Title/Description Civil Penalty
Section 818.5(a) Person or entity engaging in business of vehicle dealer,

auction, manufacturer or distributor without license or
acting as broker

Each offense—$1,000

Section 818.5(a) Person engaging in business as a factory
representative or distributor representative without
a license

1st offense—$100
2nd offense—$500
3rd offense—$1,000

Section 818.5(a) Individual working as unlicensed salesperson for
dealership

1st offense—$100
2nd offense—$500
3rd offense—Formal action

Section 818.5(c) Licensed salesperson working as salesperson for
dealership other than for whom salesperson is licensed

1st offense—$100
2nd offense—$500
3rd offense—Formal action

Section 818.5(d) Failure to display license in principal office 1st offense—$100
2nd offense—$500
3rd offense—Formal action

Section 818.5(h) Vehicle auction not posting list of revoked/suspended
licensees

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500
3rd offense—Formal action

Section 818.19(15) Licensed dealer employing unlicensed salesperson 1st offense—$500
2nd offense—$1,000
3rd offense—Formal action

Section 818.19(29) Wholesale auction permitting unlicensed or revoked or
currently suspended dealer or vehicle business to buy,
sell or represent vehicle at auction

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500
3rd offense—$1,000
Subsequent offense—Formal action

Section 818.19(30) Dealer permitting revoked or currently suspended
salesperson to sell, represent or purchase vehicle at
auction

1st offense—$500
2nd offense—$1000
3rd offense—Formal action

Sections 818.5(a) and
818.19(27)

Licensed dealer operating an unlicensed branch lot 1st offense—$1,000
2nd offense—Formal action

Sections 818.5(f)(5),
(g)(1) and 818.19(38)

Person with revoked or currently suspended dealer or
salesperson license physically present during
auctioning of vehicles

Each offense $1,000
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Violation under
63 P. S. Title/Description Civil Penalty

Section 818.19(34) Licensed dealer conducting its business under any
name other than its licensed name

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—$500
3rd offense—Formal action

Section 818.19(37) Licensed dealer failing to produce records to an
authorized agent of the Board

1st offense—$500
2nd offense—$1,000
3rd offense—Formal action

Violations under
40 Pa. Code
Chapter 19 Title/Description Civil Penalty

Section 19.17 Broker or dealer business identity combined with
other businesses

1st offense—$100
2nd offense—$500

Section 19.18(a)(1) Dealer does not have permanent enclosed building 1st offense—$100
2nd offense—$500

Section 19.18(a)(2) Dealership does not have private office 1st offense—$100
2nd offense—$500

Section 19.18(a)(3)(i) Dealer display area for five vehicles or 5,000 square
feet

1st offense—$100
2nd offense—$500

Section 19.18(a)(3)(ii) Display lot not graded and surfaced with required
material

1st offense—$100
2nd offense—$500

Section 19.18(a)(3)(iii) Display area separated from adjacent parking area 1st offense—$100
2nd offense—$500

Section 19.18(a)(3)(iv) Display area lighted if open evenings 1st offense—$100
2nd offense—$500

Section 19.18(a)(5) Dealer fails to maintain separate telephone line 1st offense—$100
2nd offense—$500

Section 19.18(a)(6) Business sign not permanent or visible to the public 1st offense—$100
2nd offense—$500

Section 19.18(a)(7) Dealership in violation of land use ordinances 1st offense—$100
2nd offense—$500

Section 19.18(a)(9) Failure to post business hours 1st offense—$100
2nd offense—$500

§ 43b.11a. Schedule of civil penalties—architects.

STATE ARCHITECTS LICENSURE BOARD

Violation under
63 P. S.

Violation under
49 Pa. Code
Chapter 9 Title/Description Civil Penalty

Section 34.12 N/A Anyone impressing an architect’s seal or knowingly
permitting it to be impressed on drawings,
specifications or other design documents after the
architect’s license has been revoked, annulled or
suspended.

1st offense—$1,000
2nd offense—Formal
action

Section 34.12 § 9.142(a) An architect whose license has expired impressing the
architect’s seal or knowingly permitting the architect’s
seal to be impressed on drawings, specifications or
other design documents after lapse or expiration of the
license.

0 to 6 months’
lapse—Warning
6 to 12 months’
lapse—$500
12 to 24 months’
lapse—$1,000
24 months’ or greater
lapse—Formal action

Section 34.13(j) § 9.163 Engaging in the practice of architecture as a
professional association, partnership, professional
corporation, limited liability company, limited liability
partnership or business corporation without first
receiving the written approval of the Board.

0 to 6 months—Warning
6 to 12 months—$500
12 to 24 months—$1,000
Over 24
months—Formal action
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Violation under
63 P. S.

Violation under
49 Pa. Code
Chapter 9 Title/Description Civil Penalty

Section 34.18(a) § 9.171 An individual engaging in the practice of architecture
or offering to engage in the practice of architecture in
this Commonwealth, or using any title, sign, card or
device implying that the individual is competent to
engage in the practice of architecture without ever
having obtained a license to practice architecture in
this Commonwealth.

1st offense—$1,000
2nd offense—Formal
action

Section 34.18(a) § 9.103 An individual engaging in the practice of architecture
or offering to engage in the practice of architecture in
this Commonwealth, or using any title, sign, card or
device implying that the individual is competent to
engage in the practice of architecture during a period
when the individual’s license issued by the Board is
lapsed or expired.

0 to 6 months’
lapse—Warning
6 to 12 months’
lapse—$500
12 to 48 months’
lapse—$1,000
48 months’ or greater
lapse—Formal action

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 06-2510. Filed for public inspection December 22, 2006, 9:00 a.m.]

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL WORKERS, MARRIAGE
AND FAMILY THERAPISTS AND PROFESSIONAL
COUNSELORS

[49 PA. CODE 47—49]
Continuing Education

The State Board of Social Workers, Marriage and
Family Therapists and Professional Counselors (Board)
amends §§ 47.32—47.37, 47.39 and 47.41 and adds
§§ 47.36a, 48.31—48.42 and 49.31—49.42 to read as set
forth in Annex A.
Effective Date

The final-form rulemaking is effective upon publication
in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.
Statutory Authority

Under section 18(a) of the Social Workers, Marriage
and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors Act
(act) (63 P. S. § 1918(a)), the Board is permitted to
require evidence of continuing education as a condition of
license renewal.

Background and Purpose

With the enactment of the act of December 21, 1998
(P. L. 1017, No. 136), the Board now licenses marriage
and family therapists, clinical social workers and profes-
sional counselors along with social workers. The Board’s
current regulations provide for continuing education as a
condition of biennial renewal of social workers and clin-
ical social workers. This final-form rulemaking amends
the provisions pertaining to continuing education for
social workers in Chapter 47 to recognize the two classes
of social work licenses, social worker and clinical social
worker, and adds similar provisions in Chapters 48 and
49 to include continuing education requirements for mar-
riage and family therapists and professional counselors,
respectively. The amendments to Chapters 48 and 49
require licensed marriage and family therapists and
professional counselors to complete 30 clock hours during
the preceding biennial period to renew a license. The
continuing education requirement will apply to renew a
license with the renewal period beginning March 1, 2009.

Summary of Comments and Responses on Proposed Rule-
making

Notice of the proposed rulemaking was published at 35
Pa.B. 2640 (April 30, 2005). The Board received com-
ments from the Independent Regulatory Review Commis-
sion (IRRC), the House Professional Licensure Committee
(HPLC), Fresenius Medical Care, Pennsylvania Society
for Clinical Social Work (PSCSW), Pennsylvania Alliance
of Counseling Professionals and the Pennsylvania Chap-
ter of the National Association of Social Workers (NASW).
The Board also received comments from 15 individuals.
The comments and the Board’s responses are as follows.

§§ 48.32 and 49.32. Requirement for biennial renewal.

IRRC and the HPLC expressed concern that licensees
who currently do not have a continuing education require-
ment may not have received adequate notice of the new
requirement and may have difficulty obtaining the re-
quirements for the 2007-09 renewal period. The Board
has revised the language to require that the continuing
education must be completed during the biennial renewal
period beginning March 1, 2007, to renew a license for
the March 1, 2009, renewal period.

§§ 47.33, 48.33 and 49.33. Acceptable continuing educa-
tion courses and programs.

The HPLC and the PSCSW commented that proposed
subsection (d) which would allow licensees to receive
credit for up to 20 of the 30 required hours by home
study, or 2/3 of the required hours, was too large. The
Board considered this concern but believes that home
study courses are as valuable as classroom courses. The
Board recognizes that home study is critical to licensees
in rural areas. The Board, therefore, has decided not to
decrease the number of allowable credits of home study.

The HPLC and IRRC noted an inconsistency in pro-
posed language in §§ 47.33(a), 48.33(a) and 49.33(a) in
that § 48.33(a) allowed a licensee to accrue up to 20 of
the required clock hours in home study courses offered by
approved providers if the home study course has specific
learning objectives which the provider evaluates to assure
that learning has taken place. Sections 47.33(a) and
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49.33(a) did not include the work ‘‘course.’’ The Board
noted the error and added the word ‘‘course’’ in both
subsections.

The HPLC noted that proposed §§ 47.33(a), 48.33(a)
and 49.33(a) stated ‘‘only courses or programs offered by
Board approved providers will be accepted for continuing
education credit’’ whereas §§ 47.36a, 48.37 and 49.37
(relating to other sources of continuing education) stated
that credit will be given on a case-by-case basis for other
experiences. The HPLC recommended that these provi-
sions be reconciled by adding the phrase ‘‘except as
otherwise provided’’ to §§ 47.33(a), 48.33(a) and 49.33(a).
The Board agreed and amended the language accordingly.

The HPLC and IRRC also recommended replacing the
phrase ‘‘practice building’’ with the phrase ‘‘marketing the
practice’’ in subsection (c). The Board agrees and has
changed the language accordingly.

Also, these proposed provisions allow licensees to ac-
crue credits using home study courses if the home study
course has specific learning objectives which the provider
evaluates to assure that learning has taken place. The
HPLC and IRRC asked how evaluations of home study
courses would be implemented and asked the Board to
provide examples. The Board, in response, notes that
many home study courses require the successful comple-
tion of an examination after the completion of the course.
The provider requires a particular percentage of correct
answers for the student to receive credit for completing
the course.

§ 47.36. Preapproved providers of continuing education
courses and programs for social workers and clinical
social workers.

§ 48.36. Preapproved providers of continuing education
courses and programs for marriage and family thera-
pists.

§ 49.36. Preapproved providers of continuing education
courses and programs for professional counselors.

Several individual commentators offered several addi-
tions or corrections to the lists of preapproved providers
in §§ 47.36(a), 48.36(a) and 49.36(a). The Board reviewed
these lists and made appropriate corrections and addi-
tions.

Many commentators also raised the concern that the
Board was deleting § 47.36(c), which allowed the Board
to approve participation in other continuing education
courses so long as the licensee submits, prior to atten-
dance, an application. The Board agreed that this provi-
sion should be retained. Accordingly, § 47.36(c) has been
retained in final-form rulemaking and similar provisions
have been added to Chapters 48 and 49. Many commenta-
tors also asked the Board to allow individuals to apply for
continuing education credit after attending a program.
The Board considered this comment but decided against
implementing this change because it would render prior
approval meaningless. In addition, allowing individuals to
apply for approval after already taking the course would
be inordinately time consuming and costly to the adminis-
tration of the Board and of little value to licensees who,
having paid for and taken a course in reliance on the
supposition that it would be approved, would have to find
a replacement once the course was disapproved. Also, the
Board notes that under subsection (c), a licensee will be
able to take a course not previously approved so long as
the licensee applies at least 1 day prior to taking the
course.

§§ 47.37, 48.38 and 49.38. Reporting by licensee of hours
spent in continuing education.

The HPLC and IRRC expressed confusion with the
proposed amendment to subsection (a) pertaining to
‘‘certified statement’’ which would delete the requirement
that an applicant use ‘‘forms approved by the Board.’’ The
Board agrees that the amendment could be confusing and
has added a sentence clarifying that the certification
statement will be provided on the Board’s application
form for renewal of licensure.

IRRC also noted that proposed subsection (b)(7) re-
quired the licensee to provide ‘‘the Board approval num-
ber assigned to the course or program’’ and asked
whether all preapproved organizations have an approval
number for each course or program. The Board recognizes
that not all preapproved organizations have an approval
number. Accordingly the Board has amended this subsec-
tion to require a Board approval number unless the
provider is preapproved.

§§ 47.36a, 48.37 and 49.37. Other sources of continuing
education.

IRRC noted that proposed subsection (a)(3) allowed
consideration of clock hours for publications of articles,
books and research regarding the practice of social work
or clinical social work and that the clock hours should be
related to the practice of marriage and family therapy
and professional counseling respectively. The Board
agrees and has made the appropriate changes to these
sections.

The HPLC noted a drafting error with respect to the
phrase ‘‘services as a teacher (first-time experience only)’’
in §§ 47.36a(a)(2), 48.37a(a)(2) and 49.37(a)(2) and recom-
mended that the phrases be rewritten to remove the
parentheses. The Board agreed and made the changes in
final-form rulemaking.

§§ 47.39, 48.40 and 49.40. Exemption and waiver.

The HPLC noted that §§ 47.39, 48.40 and 49.40 pro-
vide for waiver of continuing education for individuals
applying for licensure for the first time. The HPLC did
not object to these provisions, noting that there are sound
reasons to have these policies. However, the HPLC noted
that section 18 of the act does not expressly authorize the
Board to grant waivers or to exempt first time licensees
from the continuing education requirements. To resolve
this conundrum, the HPLC suggested that the Board
recommend to the Legislature that the act be amended to
authorize the Board to grant waivers and an exemption.
The Board will look into this suggestion.

The Pennsylvania Alliance of Counseling Professionals
asked that, in addition to granting a waiver of all or part
of a continuing education requirement, the Board allow
for the granting of time extensions for completing con-
tinuing education for good cause. The Board agrees with
this request and has amended §§ 47.39, 48.40 and 49.40
accordingly.

Miscellaneous issues

One commentator asked the Board to reduce the dead-
line for a sponsor to submit an application for approval as
provider of a course or program in § 47.34 (relating to
registration of continuing education providers who offer
one course or program) from 90 days to 60 days. However,
the Board and Board staff need 90 days to review
applications and request additional information if neces-
sary. Accordingly, the Board has determined that the
90-day deadline is necessary.
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A member of the Philadelphia Center for Psychoana-
lytic Education questioned whether it could become a
preapproved provider. The Board notes that under
§ 47.36(a)(6)(ix) (relating to preapproved providers of
continuing education courses and programs for social
workers and clinical social workers), it would be approved
under The American Psychological Association. The com-
mentator also asked if sponsors and participants could
apply for course approval on the Internet. The Board
decided against this suggestion because necessary sup-
porting documents could not be submitted on the
Internet.

Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

The final-form rulemaking will require the Board to
alter its license renewal forms to include data regarding
the licensee’s compliance with the continuing education
requirements and will also require licensees to maintain
their own records of continuing education credits. The
final-form rulemaking will not have additional adverse
fiscal impact on the Commonwealth or its political subdi-
visions. There will be a fiscal impact upon licensees who
will be required to pay for and complete continuing
education hours.

Sunset Date

The Board continuously monitors the cost effectiveness
of its regulations. Therefore, no sunset date has been
assigned.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5(a)), on April 20, 2005, the Board submitted a
copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking, published at 35
Pa.B. 2640, to IRRC and the Chairpersons of the HPLC
and the Senate Consumer Protection and Professional
Licensure Committee (SCP/PLC) for review and comment.

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC,
the HPLC and the SCP/PLC were provided with copies of
the comments received during the public comment period,
as well as other documents when requested. In preparing
the final-form rulemaking, the Department has consid-
ered all comments from IRRC, the HPLC and the public.

Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5a(j.2)), on November 21, 2006, the final-form
rulemaking was approved by the HPLC. On November
29, 2006, the final-form rulemaking was deemed approved
by SCP/PLC. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regulatory
Review Act, IRRC met on November 30, 2006, and
approved the final-form rulemaking.

Contact Person

Interested persons may obtain information regarding
the final-form rulemaking by contacting Beth Sender
Michlovitz, Board Counsel, State Board of Social Workers,
Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Coun-
selors, P. O. Box 2659, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649,
bmichlovit@state.pa.us.

Findings

The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of the proposed rulemaking was given
under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P. S. §§ 1201 and 1202) and the
regulations promulgated there under, 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1
and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered.

(3) The amendments to the final-form rulemaking do
not enlarge the purpose of the proposed rulemaking
published at 35 Pa.B. 2640.

(4) This final-form rulemaking is necessary and appro-
priate for administration and enforcement of the act.
Order

The Board orders that:
(a) The regulations of the Board, 49 Pa. Code Chapters

47—49, are amended by amending §§ 47.32—47.37, 47.39
and 47.41 and adding §§ 47.36a, 48.31—48.42 and
49.31—49.42 to read as set forth in Annex A.

(b) The Board shall submit this order and Annex A to
the Office of General Counsel and to the Office of
Attorney General as required by law.

(c) The Board shall certify this order and Annex A and
deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bureau as
required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect on publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.

RONALD HAYS,
Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission, relating to this
document, see 36 Pa.B. 7777 (December 16, 2006).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 16A-6912 remains valid for
the final adoption of the subject regulations.

Annex A
TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL

STANDARDS
PART I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 47. STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL
WORKERS, MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS

AND PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS
CONTINUING EDUCATION

§ 47.32. Requirement for biennial renewal.

(a) The Board requires, as a condition of biennial
renewal of a social worker’s license, the completion during
the preceding biennium of 30 clock hours of continuing
education in acceptable courses and programs in social
work offered by approved providers. Excess clock hours
may not be carried over to the next biennium. Effective
with the 2009 renewals and thereafter, at least 3 of the
required 30 clock hours must be related to ethical issues.

(b) The Board requires, as a condition of biennial
renewal of a clinical social worker’s license, the comple-
tion during the preceding biennium of 30 clock hours of
continuing education in acceptable courses and programs
in social work offered by approved providers. Effective
with the 2009 renewals and thereafter, at least 3 of the
required 30 clock hours must be in ethical issues. Excess
clock hours may not be carried over to the next biennium.

§ 47.33. Acceptable continuing education courses
and programs.

(a) Only courses or programs offered by Board ap-
proved providers will be accepted for continuing education
credit, except as provided in § 47.36a (relating to other
sources of continuing education).

(b) Continuing education courses and programs must
be appropriate for the master’s level practitioner and
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pertain to the practice of social work or clinical social
work as defined in section 3 of the act (63 P. S. § 1903).

(c) The Board will not approve courses or programs in
office management or in practice building.

(d) A licensee may accrue up to 20 of the required clock
hours in home study courses offered by approved provid-
ers if the home study course has specific learning objec-
tives which the provider evaluates to assure that learning
has taken place. Home study courses must be indicated
as such on the certificates of attendance.

§ 47.34. Registration of continuing education pro-
viders who offer one course or program.

(a) An agency, organization, institution, association,
center or individual seeking to offer one organized course
or program may apply to the Board as a provider.

(b) An applicant for Board approval as a provider of a
course or program shall submit an application, along with
a fee of $45, at least 90 days before the date the course or
program commences.

(c) The application must include the following informa-
tion:

(1) The full name and address of the applicant.

(2) The title of the course or program and core subjects
covered.

(3) The dates and location of the course or program.

(4) The instructors’ names, titles, affiliations and de-
grees.

(5) The schedule of the course or program-syllabus,
lecturer, time allocated and the like.

(6) The total number of clock hours requested.

(7) The method of certifying attendance.

(8) The objectives.

(9) The course or program coordinator.

(10) The instruction and evaluation methods.

(11) Evidence of meeting the standards in § 47.35
(relating to standards for courses and programs).

(d) Statements made in the application shall be sworn
to be true and correct to the best of the applicant’s
information, knowledge and belief.

(e) Upon approval as a qualified provider of a course or
program, a Board approval number will be assigned and
must be listed on the certificate of attendance. Approval
is limited to the biennial period in which the course is
given.

(f) The Board reserves the right to reject a submitted
course or program which is outside the scope of practice
of social work or clinical social work or is otherwise
unacceptable because of presentation, content or failure to
meet the criteria in § 47.35.

(g) Disapproval of a course or program will include a
statement setting forth reasons. Applicants may submit a
revised application within 10 days after receipt of disap-
proval. Revised applications must document alterations
made to meet Board requirements. Notification on revised
applications will occur as soon as possible within the
Board’s capability.

(h) The Board may withdraw approval of a course or
program for cause. The provider will be notified in
writing of the reasons for withdrawal of approval. With-

drawal of approval will be made in accordance with 1
Pa. Code Part II (relating to General Rules of Administra-
tive Practice and Procedure).
§ 47.35. Standards for courses and programs.

(a) A provider or licensee seeking Board approval of a
course or program shall present evidence that the course
or program is geared toward the master’s level practi-
tioner and has the following:

(1) Subject matter pertaining to the enhancement of
the social worker’s or clinical social worker’s knowledge
and practice skills related to helping people achieve
adequate and productive personal, interpersonal and so-
cial adjustments in their individual lives, in their families
and in their community.

(2) An established mechanism measuring the quality of
the course or program being offered.

(3) Established criteria for selecting and evaluating
faculty or source material.

(4) Established criteria for the evaluation of each
course or program upon completion.

(5) A minimum total duration of at least 2 clock hours;
however, the hours need not be contiguous.

(b) Providers shall comply with relevant Federal, State
and local laws related to serving people with disabilities
and shall provide adequate facilities and appropriate
instructional materials to carry out the continuing educa-
tion course or program.

(c) Providers shall insure that instructors have suitable
qualifications and are of good reputation and character.
§ 47.36. Preapproved providers of continuing edu-

cation courses and programs for social workers
and clinical social workers.
(a) In addition to providers approved under § 47.34

(relating to registration of continuing education providers
who offer one course or program), the Board finds the
following entities have currently met the standards in
§ 47.35 (relating to standards for courses and programs).
Accordingly, the following are approved providers:

(1) Graduate and undergraduate programs accredited
by the Council on Social Work Education.

(2) The Association of Social Work Boards.
(3) Accredited colleges and universities (graduate level

and continuing education programs).
(4) Graduate and postgraduate training programs ac-

credited by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage
and Family Therapy Education (COAMFTE).

(5) Graduate programs accredited by the Council for
Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Pro-
grams (CACREP).

(6) The following groups and the providers, courses or
workshops approved by them:

(i) The National Association of Social Workers (NASW)
and its state and local affiliates.

(ii) The Clinical Social Work Association (CSWA) and
its state and local affiliates.

(iii) The National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc.
(NBCC).

(iv) The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certi-
fication (CRCC).

(v) The Certification Board for Music Therapists
(CBMT).
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(vi) The American Art Therapy Association (AATA).
(vii) The American Dance Therapy Association (ADTA).
(viii) The National Association for Drama Therapy

(NADT).
(ix) The American Psychological Association (APA).
(x) The Approved Continuing Education (ACE) Pro-

gram developed by the Association of Social Work Boards.
(xi) The American Nurses Credentialing Center

(ANCC).
(7) The following groups and their regional, state and

local affiliates:
(i) The Child Welfare League of America.
(ii) The National Association of Black Social Workers.
(iii) The Family Service Association of America.
(iv) The Clinical Social Work Association (CSWA).
(v) The American Association for Marriage and Family

Therapy (AAMFT).
(vi) The American Family Therapy Association (AFTA).
(vii) The National Council on Family Relations

(NCFR).
(viii) The Council of Nephrology Social Workers.
(ix) The American Association of Sex Educators, Coun-

selors and Therapists (AASECT).

(x) The American Association of Pastoral Counselors
(AAPC).

(xi) The American School Counselor Association
(ASCA).

(xii) The American Counseling Association (ACA).

(xiii) The American Mental Health Counselors Associa-
tion (AMHCA).

(xiv) The National Rehabilitation Counseling Associa-
tion (NRCA).

(b) The Board will consider for approval, as preap-
proved providers, other organizations who offer multiple
courses and programs for social workers and clinical
social workers. The request for approval shall be submit-
ted to the Board in writing along with a rationale as to
why the organization should be included as a preapproved
provider.

(c) The approval given to providers is subject to re-
evaluation; however, a rescission of approval will be made
only in accordance with 1 Pa. Code Part II (relating to
General Rules of Administrative Practice and Procedure).

(d) The Board may approve participation in other
continuing education courses or programs for credit so
long as the licensee submits, prior to attendance, an
application for program approval and supporting docu-
mentation provided in § 47.35, and upon completion of
the course or program submits verification of attendance.
§ 47.36a. Other sources of continuing education.

(a) Clock hours may be granted on a case-by-case basis
for the following:

(1) Participation in clinical conferences, clinical rounds
or training under a preceptor provided through hospitals,
medical centers, schools and universities.

(2) First-time experience as a teacher.

(3) Publications of articles, books and research relating
to the practice of social work or clinical social work.

(4) Services as a preceptor, lecturer or speaker.

(b) A licensee who wishes to obtain clock hours for
credit under subsection (a)(1), (2) or (4) shall submit,
prior to participating in the event, an application for
approval along with a fee as provided by § 47.34(b)
(relating to registration of continuing education providers
who offer one course or program). A licensee seeking to
obtain clock hours for a publication under subsection
(a)(3), shall submit, after the publication of the article,
book or research, an application for approval along with a
fee as provided by § 47.34(b).

§ 47.37. Reporting by licensee of hours spent in
continuing education.

(a) Applicants for license renewal shall provide a
signed statement certifying that the continuing education
requirements have been met. The certification statement
will be included on the application form for renewal of
licensure.

(b) A licensee selected for audit shall provide informa-
tion to document the licensee’s certification, which infor-
mation shall include the following:

(1) The date attended.

(2) The clock hours claimed.

(3) The title of course or program and description of
content.

(4) The school, hospital, medical center or organization
which sponsored the course or program.

(5) The instructor.

(6) The location of course or program.

(7) The Board approval number assigned to the course
or program unless the provider is preapproved under
§ 47.36(a) (relating to preapproved providers of continu-
ing education courses and programs for social workers
and clinical social workers).

§ 47.39. Exemption and waiver.

(a) An individual applying for licensure in this Com-
monwealth for the first time shall be exempted from the
continuing education requirement for the biennial re-
newal period following initial licensure.

(b) The Board may waive or grant an extension of all
or a portion of the continuing education requirement for
biennial renewal upon request of a licensee. The request
must be made in writing, with appropriate documenta-
tion, and shall include a description of circumstances
sufficient to show why compliance is impossible. The
request for waiver or extension will be evaluated by the
Board on a case-by-case basis. Requests for waivers and
extensions may be granted for serious illness, military
service or other demonstrated hardship. The Board will
send written notification of its approval or denial of a
waiver or extension request.

§ 47.41. Disciplinary action authorized.

(a) A licensed social worker or clinical social worker
who submits fraudulent clock hour reports will be subject
to disciplinary action under section 11(a)(5) of the act (63
P. S. § 1911(a)(5)).

(b) The falsification of a clock hour report by a program
provider will result in revocation of approval by the Board
for further program offerings of that provider.
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CHAPTER 48. STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL
WORKERS, MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS
AND PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS—LICENSURE

OF MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS
CONTINUING EDUCATION

§ 48.31. Definitions.
The following words and terms, when used in

§§ 48.32—48.42, have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

Biennium—The period from March 1 of an odd-
numbered year to February 28 of the next odd-numbered
year.

Certification—A statement signed by the licensee certi-
fying that continuing education requirements have been
met along with information and documentation relative to
the course.

Clock hour—50 to 60 minutes of instruction or partici-
pation in an approved course or program.

Provider—An agency, organization, institution, associa-
tion, center or individual approved by the Board to offer
an organized course or program.
§ 48.32. Requirement for biennial renewal.

For 2009 renewals and thereafter, the Board will
require, as a condition of biennial renewal of a marriage
and family therapist’s license, the completion during the
preceding biennium of 30 clock hours of continuing
education in acceptable courses and programs offered by
approved providers which shall include at least 3 clock
hours in ethical issues. Up to 20 clock hours may be
obtained by home study. Excess clock hours may not be
carried over to the next biennium.
§ 48.33. Acceptable continuing education courses

and programs.
(a) Only courses or programs offered by Board ap-

proved providers will be accepted for continuing education
credit, except as provided in § 48.37 (relating to other
sources of continuing education).

(b) Continuing education courses and programs must
be appropriate for the master’s level practitioner and
pertain to the practice of marriage and family therapy as
defined in section 3 of the act (63 P. S. § 1903).

(c) The Board will not approve courses or programs in
office management or in practice building.

(d) A licensee may accrue up to 20 of the required clock
hours in home study courses offered by approved provid-
ers if the home study course has specific learning objec-
tives which the provider evaluates to assure that learning
has taken place. Home study courses must be indicated
as such on the certificates of attendance.
§ 48.34. Registration of continuing education pro-

viders who offer one course or program.
(a) An agency, organization, institution, association,

center or individual seeking to offer one organized course
or program may apply to the Board as a provider by filing
an application, along with a fee of $45, at least 90 days
before the date the course or program commences.

(b) The application must include the following informa-
tion:

(1) The full name and address of the applicant.
(2) The title of the course or program and core subjects

covered.

(3) The dates and location of the course or program.

(4) The instructors’ names, titles, affiliations and de-
grees.

(5) The schedule of the course or program-syllabus,
lecturer, time allocated, and the like.

(6) The total number of clock hours requested.

(7) The method of certifying attendance.

(8) The objectives.

(9) The course or program coordinator.

(10) The instruction and evaluation methods.

(11) Evidence of meeting the standards in § 48.35
(relating to standards for courses and programs).

(c) Statements made in the application must be sworn
to be true and correct to the best of the applicant’s
information, knowledge and belief.

(d) Upon approval as a qualified provider of a course or
program, a Board approval number will be assigned and
will be listed on the certificate of attendance. Approval is
limited to the biennial period in which the course is
given.

(e) The Board reserves the right to reject a submitted
course or program which is outside the scope of practice
of marriage and family therapy or is otherwise unaccept-
able because of presentation, content or failure to meet
the criteria in § 48.35.

(f) Disapproval of a course or program will include a
statement setting forth reasons. Applicants may submit a
revised application within 10 days after receipt of disap-
proval. Revised applications must document alterations
made to meet Board requirements. Notification on revised
applications will occur as soon as possible within the
Board’s capability.

(g) The Board may withdraw approval of a course or
program for cause. The provider will be notified in
writing of the reasons for withdrawal of approval. With-
drawal of approval will be made in accordance with 1
Pa. Code Part II (relating to General Rules of Administra-
tive Practice and Procedure).
§ 48.35. Standards for courses and programs.

(a) A provider or licensee seeking Board approval of a
course or program shall present evidence that the course
or program is appropriate for the master’s level practi-
tioner and has the following:

(1) Subject matter pertaining to the enhancement of
the marriage and family therapist’s knowledge and prac-
tice skills related to helping people achieve adequate and
productive personal, interpersonal and social adjustments
in their individual lives, in their families and in their
community.

(2) An established mechanism measuring the quality of
the course or program being offered.

(3) Established criteria for selecting and evaluating
faculty or source material.

(4) Established criteria for the evaluation of each
course or program upon completion.

(5) A minimum total duration of at least 2 clock hours;
however, the hours need not be contiguous.

(b) Providers shall comply with relevant Federal, State
and local laws related to serving people with disabilities
and provide adequate facilities and appropriate instruc-
tional materials to carry out the continuing education
course or program.

7846 RULES AND REGULATIONS

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 36, NO. 51, DECEMBER 23, 2006



(c) Providers shall insure that instructors have suitable
qualifications and are of good reputation and character.
§ 48.36. Preapproved providers of continuing edu-

cation courses and programs for marriage and
family therapists.
(a) In addition to providers approved under § 48.34

(relating to registration of continuing education providers
who offer one course or program), the Board finds the
following entities have currently met the standards in
§ 48.35 (relating to standards for courses and programs).
Accordingly, the following are approved providers:

(1) Graduate and undergraduate programs accredited
by the Council on Social Work Education.

(2) The Association of Social Work Boards.
(3) Accredited colleges and universities (graduate level

courses and continuing education programs).

(4) Graduate and postgraduate training programs ac-
credited by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage
and Family Therapy Education (COAMFTE).

(5) Graduate programs accredited by the Council for
Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Pro-
grams (CACREP).

(6) The following groups and the providers, courses or
workshops approved by them:

(i) The National Association of Social Workers (NASW)
and its state and local affiliates.

(ii) The Clinical Social Work Association (CSWA) and
its state and local affiliates.

(iii) The National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc.
(NBCC).

(iv) The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certi-
fication (CRCC).

(v) The Certification Board for Music Therapists
(CBMT).

(vi) The American Art Therapy Association (AATA).

(vii) The American Dance Therapy Association (ADTA).

(viii) The National Association for Drama Therapy
(NADT).

(ix) The American Psychological Association (APA).

(x) The Approved Continuing Education (ACE) Pro-
gram developed by the Association of Social Work Boards.

(xi) The American Nurses Credentialing Center
(ANCC).

(7) The following groups and their regional, state and
local affiliates:

(i) The Child Welfare League of America.

(ii) The National Association of Black Social Workers.

(iii) The Family Service Association of America.

(iv) The Clinical Social Work Association (CSWA).

(v) The American Association for Marriage and Family
Therapy (AAMFT).

(vi) The American Family Therapy Association (AFTA).

(vii) The National Council on Family Relations
(NCFR).

(viii) The Council of Nephrology Social Workers.

(ix) The American Association of Sex Educators, Coun-
selors and Therapists (AASECT).

(x) The American Association of Pastoral Counselors
(AAPC).

(xi) The American School Counselor Association
(ASCA).

(xii) The American Counseling Association (ACA).
(xiii) The American Mental Health Counselors Associa-

tion (AMHCA).
(xiv) The National Rehabilitation Counseling Associa-

tion (NRCA).
(b) The Board will consider for approval, as preap-

proved providers, other organizations who offer multiple
courses and programs for marriage and family therapists.
The request for approval shall be submitted to the Board
in writing along with a rationale as to why the organiza-
tion should be included as a preapproved provider.

(c) The approval given to providers is subject to re-
evaluation; however, a rescission of approval will be made
only in accordance with 1 Pa. Code Part II (relating to
General Rules of Administrative Practice and Procedure).

(d) The Board may approve participation in other
continuing education courses or programs for credit so
long as the licensee submits, prior to attendance, an
application for program approval and supporting docu-
mentation provided in § 48.35, and upon completion of
the course or program submits verification of attendance.
§ 48.37. Other sources of continuing education.

(a) Clock hours may be granted on a case-by-case basis
for the following:

(1) Participation in clinical conferences, clinical rounds
or training under a preceptor provided through hospitals,
medical centers, schools and universities.

(2) First-time experience as a teacher.

(3) Publications of articles, books and research relating
to the practice of marriage and family therapy.

(4) Services as a preceptor, lecturer or speaker.

(b) A licensee who wishes to obtain clock hours for
credit under subsection (a)(1), (2) or (4) shall submit,
prior to participating in the event, an application for
approval along with a fee of $45 as provided by § 48.34(a)
(relating to registration of continuing education providers
who offer one course or program). A licensee seeking to
obtain clock hours for a publication under subsection
(a)(3) shall submit, after the publication of the article,
book or research, an application for approval along with a
fee of $45 as provided by § 48.34(a).
§ 48.38. Reporting by licensee of hours spent in

continuing education.

(a) Applicants for license renewal shall provide a
signed statement certifying that the continuing education
requirements have been met. The certification statement
will be included on the application form for renewal of
licensure.

(b) A licensee selected for audit shall provide informa-
tion to document the licensee’s certification. The informa-
tion must include the following:

(1) The date attended.

(2) The clock hours claimed.

(3) The title of course or program and description of
content.

(4) The school, hospital, medical center or organization
which sponsored the course or program.
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(5) The instructor.

(6) The location of course or program.

(7) The Board approval number assigned to the course
or program unless the provider is preapproved under
§ 48.36(a) (relating to preapproved providers of continu-
ing education courses and programs for marriage and
family therapists).

§ 48.39. Retention of records.

The licensee shall retain documentation of completion
of the prescribed number of clock hours for 4 years
following the certification which shall be produced upon
request by the Board or its auditing agents. The Board
will utilize a random audit of renewals to determine
compliance with the continuing education requirement.

§ 48.40. Exemption and waiver.

(a) An individual applying for licensure in this Com-
monwealth for the first time shall be exempted from the
continuing education requirement for the biennial re-
newal period following initial licensure.

(b) The Board may grant an extension or waive all or a
portion of the continuing education requirement for bien-
nial renewal upon request of a licensee. The request must
be made in writing, with appropriate documentation, and
shall include a description of circumstances sufficient to
show why compliance is impossible. A waiver or extension
request will be evaluated by the Board on a case-by-case
basis. Waivers and extensions may be granted for serious
illness, military service or other demonstrated hardship.
The Board will send written notification of its approval or
denial of a waiver or extension request.

§ 48.41. Continuing education requirement for bien-
nial renewal of inactive and lapsed licenses.

A licensee seeking to reinstate an inactive or lapsed
license shall show proof of compliance with the continuing
education requirement for the preceding biennium.

§ 48.42. Disciplinary action authorized.

(a) A licensed marriage and family therapist who sub-
mits fraudulent clock hour reports will be subject to
disciplinary action under section 11(a)(5) of the act (63
P. S. § 1911(a)(5)).

(b) The falsification of a clock hour report by a program
provider will result in revocation of approval by the Board
for further program offerings of that provider.

CHAPTER 49. STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL
WORKERS, MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS
AND PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS—LICENSURE

OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS

CONTINUING EDUCATION

§ 49.31. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in
§§ 49.32—49.42, have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

Biennium—The period from March 1 of an odd-
numbered year to February 28 of the next odd-numbered
year.

Certification—A statement signed by the licensee certi-
fying that continuing education requirements have been
met along with information and documentation relative to
the course.

Clock hour—50 to 60 minutes of instruction or partici-
pation in an approved course or program.

Provider—An agency, organization, institution, associa-
tion, center or individual approved by the Board to offer
an organized course or program.
§ 49.32. Requirement for biennial renewal.

For 2009 renewals and thereafter, the Board will
require, as a condition of biennial renewal of a profes-
sional counselor’s license, the completion during the
preceding biennium of 30 clock hours of continuing
education in acceptable courses and programs offered by
approved providers which shall include at least 3 clock
hours in ethical issues. Up to 20 clock hours may be
obtained by home study. Excess clock hours may not be
carried over to the next biennium.
§ 49.33. Acceptable continuing education courses

and programs.
(a) Only courses or programs offered by Board ap-

proved providers will be accepted for continuing education
credit except as provided in § 49.37 (relating to other
sources of continuing education).

(b) Continuing education courses and programs must
be appropriate for the master’s level practitioner and
pertain to the practice of professional counseling as
defined in section 3 of the act (63 P. S. § 1903).

(c) The Board will not approve courses or programs in
office management or in practice building.

(d) A licensee may accrue up to 20 of the required clock
hours in home study courses offered by approved provid-
ers if the home study course has specific learning objec-
tives which the provider evaluates to assure that learning
has taken place. Home study courses must be indicated
as such on the certificates of attendance.
§ 49.34. Registration of continuing education pro-

viders who offer one course or program.

(a) An agency, organization, institution, association,
center or individual seeking to offer one organized course
or program may apply to the Board as a provider by filing
an application, along with a fee of $45, at least 90 days
before the date the course or program commences.

(b) The application must include the following informa-
tion:

(1) The full name and address of the applicant.

(2) The title of the course or program and core subjects
covered.

(3) The dates and location of the course or program.

(4) The instructors’ names, titles, affiliations and de-
grees.

(5) The schedule of the course or program-syllabus,
lecturer, time allocated and the like.

(6) The total number of clock hours requested.

(7) The method of certifying attendance.

(8) The objectives.

(9) The course or program coordinator.

(10) The instruction and evaluation methods.

(11) Evidence of meeting the standards in § 49.35
(relating to standards for courses and programs).

(c) Statements made in the application must be sworn
to be true and correct to the best of the applicant’s
information, knowledge and belief.

(d) Upon approval as a qualified provider of a course or
program, a Board approval number will be assigned and
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will be listed on the certificate of attendance. Approval is
limited to the biennial period in which the course is
given.

(e) The Board reserves the right to reject a submitted
course or program which is outside the scope of practice
of professional counseling or is otherwise unacceptable
because of presentation, content or failure to meet the
criteria in § 49.35.

(f) Disapproval of a course or program will include a
statement setting forth reasons. Applicants may submit a
revised application within 10 days after receipt of disap-
proval. Revised applications must document alterations
made to meet Board requirements. Notification on revised
applications will occur as soon as possible within the
Board’s capability.

(g) The Board may withdraw approval of a course or
program for cause. The provider will be notified in
writing of the reasons for withdrawal of approval. With-
drawal of approval will be made in accordance with 1
Pa. Code Part II (relating to General Rules of Administra-
tive Practice and Procedure).

§ 49.35. Standards for courses and programs.

(a) A provider or licensee seeking Board approval of a
course or program shall present evidence that the course
or program is geared toward the master’s level practi-
tioner and has the following:

(1) Subject matter pertaining to the enhancement of
the professional counselor’s knowledge and practice skills
related to helping people achieve adequate and productive
personal, interpersonal and social adjustments in their
individual lives, in their families and in their community.

(2) An established mechanism measuring the quality of
the course or program being offered.

(3) Established criteria for selecting and evaluating
faculty or source material.

(4) Established criteria for the evaluation of each
course or program upon completion.

(5) A minimum total duration of at least 2 clock hours;
however, the hours need not be contiguous.

(b) Providers shall comply with relevant Federal, State
and local laws related to serving people with disabilities
and provide adequate facilities and appropriate instruc-
tional materials to carry out the continuing education
course or program.

(c) Providers shall insure that instructors have suitable
qualifications and are of good reputation and character.

§ 49.36. Preapproved providers of continuing edu-
cation courses and programs for professional
counselors.

(a) In addition to providers approved under § 49.34
(relating to registration of continuing education providers
who offer one course or program), the Board finds the
following entities have currently met the standards in
§ 49.35 (relating to standards for courses and programs).
Accordingly, the following are approved providers:

(1) Graduate and undergraduate programs accredited
by the Council on Social Work Education.

(2) The Association of Social Work Boards.

(3) Accredited colleges and universities (graduate level
courses and continuing education programs).

(4) Graduate and postgraduate training programs ac-
credited by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage
and Family Therapy Education (COAMFTE).

(5) Graduate programs accredited by the Council for
Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Pro-
grams (CACREP).

(6) The following groups and the providers, courses or
workshops approved by them:

(i) The National Association of Social Workers (NASW)
and its state and local affiliates.

(ii) The Clinical Social Work Association (CSWA) and
its state and local affiliates.

(iii) The National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc.
(NBCC).

(iv) The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certi-
fication (CRCC).

(v) The Certification Board for Music Therapists
(CBMT).

(vi) The American Art Therapy Association (AATA).
(vii) The American Dance Therapy Association (ADTA).
(viii) The National Association for Drama Therapy

(NADT).
(ix) The American Psychological Association (APA).
(x) The Approved Continuing Education (ACE) Pro-

gram developed by the Association of Social Work Boards.
(xi) The American Nurses Credentialing Center

(ANCC).
(7) The following groups and their regional, state, and

local affiliates:

(i) The Child Welfare League of America.

(ii) The National Association of Black Social Workers.

(iii) The Family Service Association of America.

(iv) The Clinical Social Work Association (CSWA).

(v) The American Association for Marriage and Family
Therapy (AAMFT).

(vi) The American Family Therapy Association (AFTA).

(vii) The National Council on Family Relations
(NCFR).

(viii) The Council of Nephrology Social Workers.

(ix) The American Association of Sex Educators, Coun-
selors and Therapists (AASECT).

(x) The American Association of Pastoral Counselors
(AAPC).

(xi) The American School Counselor Association (ASCA)

(xii) The American Counseling Association (ACA).

(xiii) The American Mental Health Counselors Associa-
tion (AMHCA).

(xiv) The National Rehabilitation Counseling Associa-
tion (NRCA).

(b) The Board will consider for approval, as preap-
proved providers, other organizations who offer multiple
courses and programs for professional counselors. The
request for approval shall be submitted to the Board in
writing along with a rationale as to why the organization
should be included as a preapproved provider.

(c) The approval given to providers is subject to re-
evaluation; however, a rescission of approval will be made
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only in accordance with 1 Pa. Code Part II (relating to
General Rules of Administrative Practice and Procedure).

(d) The Board may approve participation in other
continuing education courses or programs for credit so
long as the licensee submits, prior to attendance, an
application for program approval and supporting docu-
mentation provided in § 49.35, and upon completion of
the course or program submits verification of attendance.
§ 49.37. Other sources of continuing education.

(a) Clock hours may be granted on a case-by-case basis
for the following:

(1) Participation in clinical conferences, clinical rounds
or training under a preceptor provided through hospitals,
medical centers, schools and universities.

(2) First-time experience as a teacher.
(3) Publications of articles, books and research relating

to the practice of professional counseling.
(4) Services as a preceptor, lecturer or speaker.
(b) A licensee who wishes to obtain clock hours for

credit under subsection (a)(1), (2) or (4) shall submit,
prior to participating in the event, an application for
approval along with a fee of $45 as provided by § 49.34(a)
(relating to registration of continuing education providers
who offer one course or program). A licensee seeking to
obtain clock hours for a publication under subsection
(a)(3), shall submit, after the publication of the article,
book or research, an application for approval along with a
fee of $45 as provided by § 49.34(a).
§ 49.38. Reporting by licensee of hours spent in

continuing education.
(a) Applicants for license renewal shall provide a

signed statement certifying that the continuing education
requirements have been met. The certification statement
will be included on the application form for renewal of
licensure.

(b) A licensee selected for audit shall provide informa-
tion to document the licensee’s certification. The informa-
tion must include the following:

(1) The date attended.
(2) The clock hours claimed.
(3) The title of course or program and description of

content.
(4) The school, hospital, medical center or organization

which sponsored the course or program.
(5) The instructor.
(6) The location of course or program.
(7) The Board approval number assigned to the course

or program unless the provider is preapproved under
§ 49.36(a) (relating to preapproved providers of continu-
ing education courses and programs for professional
counselors).
§ 49.39. Retention of records.

The licensee shall retain documentation of completion
of the prescribed number of clock hours for 4 years
following the certification which shall be produced upon
request by the Board or its auditing agents. The Board
will utilize a random audit of renewals to determine
compliance with the continuing education requirement.

§ 49.40. Exemption and waiver.

(a) An individual applying for licensure in this Com-
monwealth for the first time shall be exempted from the

continuing education requirement for the biennial re-
newal period following initial licensure.

(b) The Board may grant an extension or waive all or a
portion of the continuing education requirement for bien-
nial renewal upon request of a licensee. The request must
be made in writing, with appropriate documentation, and
shall include a description of circumstances sufficient to
show why compliance is impossible. A waiver or extension
request will be evaluated by the Board on a case-by-case
basis. Waivers and extensions may be granted for serious
illness, military service or other demonstrated hardship.
The Board will send written notification of its approval or
denial of a waiver or extension request.

§ 49.41. Continuing education requirement for bien-
nial renewal of inactive and lapsed licenses.

A licensee seeking to reinstate an inactive or lapsed
license shall show proof of compliance with the continuing
education requirement for the preceding biennium.

§ 49.42. Disciplinary action authorized.

(a) A licensed professional counselor who submits
fraudulent clock hour reports will be subject to disciplin-
ary action under section 11(a)(5) of the act (63 P. S.
§ 1911(a)(5)).

(b) The falsification of a clock hour report by a program
provider will result in revocation of approval by the Board
for further program offerings of that provider.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 06-2511. Filed for public inspection December 22, 2006, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 58—RECREATION
FISH AND BOAT COMMISSION

[58 PA. CODE CHS. 53, 63, 77 AND 79]
General Provisions; Fishing

The Fish and Boat Commission (Commission) amends
Chapters 53 and 63 (relating to Commission property;
and general fishing regulations), deletes Chapter 77 and
adds Chapter 79 (relating to reptiles and amphibians).
The Commission is publishing this final-form rulemaking
under the authority of 30 Pa.C.S. (relating to the Fish
and Boat Code) (code). The final-form rulemaking updates
and improves the regulation of reptiles and amphibians to
provide greater protection of these resources.

A. Effective Date

The final-form rulemaking goes into effect on January
1, 2007.

B. Contact Person

For further information on the final-form rulemaking,
contact Laurie E. Shepler, Esq., P. O. Box 67000, Harris-
burg, PA 17106-7000, (717) 705-7810. This final-form
rulemaking is available on the Commission’s website at
www.fish.state.pa.us.

C. Statutory Authority

The amendments to §§ 53.7 and 63.7 (relating to use of
firearms; and exceptions to limitations on devices) and
§§ 79.1—79.3 and 79.8—79.13 are published under the
statutory authority of section 2102 of the code (relating to
rules and regulations). Sections 79.4—79.7 are published
under the statutory authority of section 2102 of the code
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and section 2904 of the code (relating to permits for
protection and management of particular fish).
D. Purpose and Background

The final-form rulemaking is designed to improve,
enhance and update the Commission’s reptile and am-
phibian regulations. The specific purpose of this final-
form rulemaking is described in more detail under the
summary of changes.

The Commission published proposed rulemakings solic-
iting public comments regarding its proposed reptile and
amphibian regulations on three occasions. At its April
2005 meeting, the Commission approved the publication
of the first proposed rulemaking containing extensive
amendments to the regulations. The Commission also
directed staff to solicit public comments for a period of at
least 90 days and to assemble a workgroup of interested
parties and stakeholders. A proposed rulemaking was
published at 35 Pa.B. 5683 (October 15, 2005). As directed
by the Commission, the staff assembled a diverse
workgroup comprised of captive breeders, hobbyists,
snake hunters, snake hunt sponsors, conservationists and
academics. The workgroup met on three occasions, in
August 2005, November 2005 and May 2006, and pro-
vided tremendous input on a variety of issues.

As a result of the August and November 2005 meetings
of the workgroup, the Commission made numerous revi-
sions and additions to the original proposed rulemaking
published at 35 Pa.B. 5683. The Commission, at its
January 2006 meeting, approved the publication of a
second proposed rulemaking containing those changes
and directed staff to solicit public comments for a period
of 60 days. The second proposed rulemaking was pub-
lished at 36 Pa.B. 1220 (March 18, 2006).

Upon closer review of the proposed rulemaking, the
Commission determined that several issues required addi-
tional clarification. Those issues were artificial propaga-
tion and dealers of live reptiles and amphibians, introduc-
tion of native species and color morphs. At its April 2006
meeting, the Commission approved the publication of a
third proposed rulemaking that contained provisions per-
taining to those issues. The third proposed rulemaking
was published at 36 Pa.B. 2724 (June 3, 2006).
E. Summary of Changes

The final-form rulemaking deletes Chapter 77 and adds
Chapter 79 in its place. It also amends § 63.7 to change a
reference from Chapter 77 to Chapter 79. Chapter 79
contains the following provisions:

(1) Section 79.1. Among the organizational changes is
the inclusion § 79.1 (relating to definitions). The Commis-
sion adopted a more explicit definition of ‘‘hunt’’ and
added definitions for ‘‘hunt,’’ ‘‘native species,’’ ‘‘snake
hooks or tongs,’’ ‘‘subcaudal scale’’ and ‘‘turtle hooks.’’ The
definitions in § 77.2 for ‘‘organized reptile and amphibian
hunt’’ and ‘‘sacking contest,’’ for the most part, were not
changed and are included in § 79.1.

On final-form rulemaking, the Commission adopted
§ 79.1 to read as set forth in Annex A. A minor modifica-
tion was made to the second proposed rulemaking to the
definition of ‘‘organized reptile and amphibian hunt’’ so
that it says ‘‘When one or more of the following factors
are present, an event will be considered an organized
reptile and amphibian hunt as the term is used in this
chapter’’ instead of ‘‘may be considered.’’

(2) Section 79.2. The Commission combined various
provisions pertaining to the taking of reptiles and am-
phibians that were found throughout Chapter 77 and

placed them in § 79.2 (relating to taking reptiles or
amphibians). This section describes the means and the
devices by which reptiles and amphibians may be lawfully
taken and enumerates unlawful practices. It also makes
it unlawful to take, catch or kill a reptile or amphibian
through use of a firearm. For consistency, the Commission
amended § 53.7 to remove the provision allowing the use
of .22 caliber rimfire weapons with shotshell to take frogs
during the open season unless otherwise posted on Com-
mission owned or controlled property.

On final-form rulemaking, the Commission adopted
§ 79.2 to read as set forth in Annex A. An additional
provision was added to the second proposed rulemaking
making it unlawful, while hunting reptiles and amphib-
ians, to possess chemicals, explosives, winches, jacks or
other devices or materials that may disrupt, damage or
destroy dens and their immediate surroundings.

(3) Section 79.3. This section pertains to season and
daily possession limits addressed in § 77.6. Under Chap-
ter 77, a sponsor of an organized reptile/amphibian hunt
was permitted to possess more than the daily limit of
timber rattlesnakes if the total number of timber rattle-
snakes held in possession during each hunt and for not
more than 48 hours thereafter did not exceed the daily
limit for timber rattlesnakes times twice the number of
persons engaged in the hunt. The final-form rulemaking
reduces the number from two times the number of
persons engaged in the hunt to one.

In addition, the final-form rulemaking reduces the daily
and possession limits in § 77.6 for both bullfrogs and
green frogs from 15 and 30 to 10 and 20, respectively. The
new section also includes a prohibition against the taking
of 23 species of reptiles and amphibians that are consid-
ered to be rare, declining or ‘‘at risk’’ by the Commission’s
Amphibian and Reptile Technical/Advisory Committee.
These species have limited ranges in this Commonwealth,
are threatened by development and collection pressure
and are currently being studied by the Commission. Until
these species are considered for formal listing as threat-
ened or endangered species, the Commission has adopted
a ‘‘no collection’’ approach (that is, no open season and
daily and possession limits of 0) as a means of protecting
them. Status assessment studies are underway for these
species, which could lead to future management decisions.

The Commission adopted additional restrictions with
regard to timber rattlesnakes. Under Chapter 77, a
person was permitted to take, catch or kill one timber
rattlesnake per calendar year and to possess one timber
rattlesnake at a time. Under § 79.3 (relating to season
and daily possession limits), it is unlawful for a person to
take, catch, kill or possess a timber rattlesnake that is
less than 42 inches in length, measured lengthwise along
the dorsal surface from the snout to the tail, excluding
the rattle, and that possesses less than 21 subcaudal
scales. This section further prohibits a person to hunt
timber rattlesnakes from the South Mountain population
(west of Route 15 and south of Interstate 81 to the
Maryland line), where there is no open season.

The timber rattlesnake is currently listed as a candi-
date species in this Commonwealth and it is listed as a
protected species (threatened or endangered) or species of
concern in neighboring states. Unlike most amphibians
and reptiles in this Commonwealth, the timber rattle-
snake is sought by hunters as a game species. Reptile
collectors collect them for their variable coloration, large
size and unique nature. People have been known to
wantonly kill timber rattlesnakes due to their perceived
threat to humankind. Despite former tightening of the
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regulations on the collection of this animal (reduced to
one possession limit in 1993, and one annual limit in
1996), preliminary results of the Commission’s timber
rattlesnake population study (2003—present) suggest that
the timber rattlesnake is declining in the peripheral parts
of its range in this Commonwealth due to development
pressure, wanton killing and collecting. Adult female
timber rattlesnakes need 8—10 years to reach reproduc-
tive maturity. Therefore, taking females out of the popula-
tion is a threat to local populations and the larger
Statewide population. A minimum length limit and mini-
mum number of subcaudal scales were adopted to limit
timber rattlesnake hunters interested in take/collection to
favor collection of mature adult male snakes. This new
regulation will help to protect adult and gravid (pregnant)
females and enable their progeny to reach reproductive
maturity. In addition, the Commission made the South
Mountain population (portions of Adams, Cumberland,
Franklin and York Counties) of timber rattlesnakes off-
limits to hunting due to the documented decline in
numbers in this specific area from hunting and human
encroachment pressure and apparent isolation with the
North Mountain and Maryland timber rattlesnake popu-
lations.

The final-form rulemaking further places a season and
catch and possession limits on the northern copperhead.
These regulations are needed because the status of the
northern copperhead is uncertain. Although no compre-
hensive population studies have been conducted on this
species, there is a consensus among herpetologists that
the northern copperhead is declining across its range and
in this Commonwealth. The Commission also adopted a
permit requirement for northern copperheads similar to
the timber rattlesnake permit requirement. The specifics
of this permit requirement is discussed in paragraph (6).
The permit requirement will enable the Commission to
collect locational and harvest information to be used to
assess the possible decline of northern copperheads in
this Commonwealth. Ultimately, this information will be
used for future management of the northern copperhead.

Finally, the final-form rulemaking reduces the daily
and possession limits in § 77.6 for native species not
listed in the regulation from two to one.

On final-form rulemaking, the Commission adopted
§ 79.3 to read as set forth in Annex A. The following
changes were made to the second proposed rulemaking.
Subsection (e) was added to clarify that the possession
limits do not apply to animals that are artificially propa-
gated in accordance with the Commission’s regulations
and are in the possession of registered artificial propaga-
tors and dealers. Instead of the minimum size limit of 38
inches for timber rattlesnakes that was in the second
proposed rulemaking, the Commission adopted a mini-
mum size limit of 42 inches. The Commission further
clarified that the daily and possession limits of one snake
do not apply to holders of provisional permits issued
under § 79.7(f) and made minor housekeeping revisions
to change the words ‘‘amphibians and reptiles’’ to ‘‘reptiles
and amphibians’’ so that the language is consistent
throughout § 79.3.

(4) Section 79.4. The Commission adopted § 79.4 (relat-
ing to possession permits for native species) as a result of
the reductions in the daily and possession limits of some
species. This section provides a ‘‘grandfathering’’ mecha-
nism for persons possessing herptiles where daily and
possession limits have been reduced. Specifically, this
section creates a new possession permit that will ‘‘grand-
father’’ animals possessed as of January 1, 2007, that
meet possession limits in effect on December 31, 2006.

The permit will be required for the continued posses-
sion of the animal and will be required for the possession
of native species regardless of origin. It will be a one-time
permit and will cost $10. Individuals must apply by June
30, 2007. If the permitholder gives the animal to another
person, the permit may be transferred to the new owner
upon completion of an application, surrender of the
original permit and payment of a $10 fee. There are
exceptions to the permit requirement. Possession permits
will not be required for animals that are covered by other
permissions (such as the written permission of the Execu-
tive Director for zoos, educational institutions, rehabilita-
tors, and the like) and that are covered by other permits
(such as snake permits or scientific collector’s permits).

On final-form rulemaking, the Commission adopted
§ 79.4 to read as set forth in Annex A. Subsection (e) of
the second proposed rulemaking was changed so that a
possession permit is not required for animals covered by
permissions and other permits issued under Subpart B
(relating to fishing). The second proposed rulemaking was
limited to permissions and other permits issued under
Chapter 79, which would not have included, for example,
scientific collector’s permits and special permits for the
collection of threatened and endangered species.

(5) Section 79.5. In this section, the Commission
adopted a new permit requirement for the taking of
common snapping turtles by persons who intend to sell,
barter or trade them. In many states across its range, the
common snapping turtle is declining. The new permit will
facilitate a better understanding of the numbers of turtles
that are being taken for commercial use, where the
hunting pressure exists and who is engaged in the
activity. Information gleaned from the permit system will
enable the Commission to make well-informed decisions
about the future management of the snapping turtle.

On final-form rulemaking, the Commission adopted
§ 79.5 (relating to snapping turtle permits) to read as set
forth in Annex A.

(6) Section 79.6. Section 79.6 (relating to venomous
snake permits) addresses permit requirements for both
the timber rattlesnake and the northern copperhead,
making it unlawful to hunt, take, catch, kill or possess
them without first procuring the necessary permit. The
cost of the timber rattlesnake permit has remained at $5
for the past 14 years. In the final-form rulemaking, the
Commission increased the permit fee to $25 for residents
and $50 for nonresidents to offset costs due to inflation
and the costs of permit issuance, processing and data
compilation. Fees collected from this permit can also be
used as matching funds to obtain grants to perform
additional management activities.

In this section, the Commission also included new
tagging requirements for persons who hunt, take, catch,
kill or possess timber rattlesnakes. Currently, the Com-
mission issues well over 1,000 individual timber rattle-
snake permits per year (1,181 permits issued in 2004 and
1,080 in 2005) and permit requests have increased ap-
proximately 200—300 each year since 1998. Approxi-
mately 15% of the hunters are reporting ‘‘take’’ (for
harvest or as pets) of snakes. There is evidence to suggest
that even more snakes are being taken than are being
reported. The Commission adopted a tagging system to
provide better accountability of hunters that decide to
take timber rattlesnakes alive or dead. The information
collected in this program will assist the Commission in
the development of management units and associated bag
limits for timber rattlesnakes.
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On final-form rulemaking, the Commission adopted
§ 79.6 to read as set forth in Annex A. A clarification was
made to the second proposed rulemaking so that the
prohibition against hunting timber rattlesnakes after the
possession tag has been detached from this permit does
not apply to holders of provisional snake permits issued
under § 79.7(f) (relating to organized reptile and amphib-
ian hunt permits).

(7) Section 79.7. This section pertains to organized
reptile and amphibian hunt permits previously addressed
in § 77.2. Among the changes is an increase in the fee
from $25 to $100. This increase was adopted to offset the
changes in inflation, including the permit review and
processing costs, and monitoring/permit compliance of
hunts. Also adopted were reporting requirements and a
provisional hunting permit. The provisional permit will
allow permitholders to take, catch or possess one timber
rattlesnake without tagging the snake during an organ-
ized snake hunt so long as the snake is returned un-
harmed to the point of capture following the event. The
Commission will continue with its current practice of
banning sacking contests utilizing native species and of
allowing the use of nonnative species lawfully imported
from other jurisdictions.

On final-form rulemaking, the Commission adopted
§ 79.7 to read as set forth in Annex A. No changes were
made to the second proposed rulemaking with the excep-
tion of subsection (f) that deals with provisional hunt
permits and allows permitholders to take, catch or pos-
sess one timber rattlesnake without tagging the snake
during an organized snake hunt so long as the snake is
returned unharmed to the point of capture following the
event. The subsection, as proposed, placed the onus for
returning the snake to the point of capture on the hunt
sponsor. On final-form rulemaking, the Commission modi-
fied this subsection to place the burden on the individual
hunter. The workgroup strongly endorsed this change.
The Commission also modified the section to clarify that a
snake entered into a hunt is the responsibility of the hunt
sponsor until the snake is returned to the individual
hunter, to clarify that a snake must be returned by the
provisional permitholder to the point of capture by no
later than sunset of the last day of the hunt, and to
clarify that a provisional permitholder who wishes to
retain possession of a snake caught under a provisional
permit must tag the snake.

(8) Section 79.8. When 3 Pa.C.S. Chapter 42 (relating
to the Aquaculture Development Law) (act) was enacted
in 1998, responsibility for registering artificial propaga-
tors and dealers of live bait fish, fish bait and other live
fish was transferred from the Commission to the Depart-
ment of Agriculture (Department). The Department has
been registering artificial propagators and dealers of
several fish species and two frog species for several years.
Propagation is limited to species of fish that have been
approved for propagation by the Commission and each
year the Commission provides the Department with an
updated list.

Despite the fact that the definition of ‘‘fish’’ in the act
mirrors the definition in the code and specifically includes
‘‘reptiles and amphibians,’’ artificial propagators (except
those raising Northern green frogs and bullfrogs) have
not been registering with the Department. Commission
staff met with Department staff and the agencies agree
that the act covers reptiles and amphibians. They also
agree that artificial propagators of reptiles and amphib-
ians (except hobby breeders and pet stores) must register
with the Department and propagation is limited to those
species approved for propagation by the Commission.

Section 79.8 (relating to artificial propagation and
dealers of live reptiles and amphibians) provides that
except for hobby breeders and pet stores, it is unlawful to
artificially propagate reptiles and amphibians without
being registered with the Department. It further provides
that the Commission will maintain two lists of species of
reptiles and amphibians that are approved for artificial
propagation: one containing species approved for open
systems and another containing species approved for
closed systems. Currently, bullfrogs and green frogs are
on the list of species approved for open system propaga-
tion under Chapter 71 (relating to propagation and
introduction of fish into Commonwealth waters) and will
be approved for open system propagation under Chapter
79. Commission staff do not intend to recommend other
native species of reptiles and amphibians for open system
propagation. A list of species approved for closed system
propagation will include all nonnative species except
those specifically prohibited by the Commission and color
morphs of certain native species. The list of color morphs
will be developed with input from commercial propagators
and hobby breeders.

On final-form rulemaking, the Commission adopted
§ 79.8 to read as set forth in Annex A. This final-form
rulemaking adopts the third proposed rulemaking with
changes to the subsection dealing with closed systems.
The Commission modified this subsection to address the
concerns of the workgroup that the definition of a closed
system is inappropriate for certain reptiles and that the
restrictions on waters discharged from closed systems are
not reasonable for ‘‘nonfish.’’ The workgroup commented
that the provisions in the third proposed rulemaking
appeared to have been written for fish and could conflict
with accepted husbandry practices for reptiles and am-
phibians.

(9) Section 79.9. Section 79.9 (relating to sale of native
species) addresses the sale of reptiles and amphibians
previously in § 77.3. The Commission clarified this sec-
tion to reflect the intent of the Commission to protect the
native herptiles of this Commonwealth and their progeny.
The demand for both wild caught and captive bred
reptiles and amphibians, including several native to this
Commonwealth, has increased considerably over the past
several years. While the Commission’s waterways conser-
vation officers go through intense training on the identifi-
cation of this Commonwealth’s native species, it can be
almost impossible to tell whether an individual animal is
captive bred or wild caught. This is especially true for
hatchling or juvenile animals, the preferred product for
reptile and amphibian dealers. This section helps to
eliminate the profit motive for both collection and sale of
native species in this Commonwealth and the collection of
animals in this Commonwealth for breeding stock for
commercial propagation programs.

On final-form rulemaking, the Commission adopted
§ 79.9 to read as set forth in Annex A.

(10) Section 79.10. Section 79.10 (relating to transpor-
tation and importation of native species) makes it illegal
to transport or import into or within this Commonwealth
a native species as defined in Chapter 79 from another
jurisdiction. It also makes it unlawful to receive a native
species that was transported or imported into or within
this Commonwealth from another jurisdiction. The sec-
tion, however, does not apply to zoos or other accredited
institutions that transport and import native species for
scientific, educational or research purposes and
Commission-recognized rehabilitators provided that they
have received the written permission of the Executive
Director or a designee under § 79.3(c).
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On final-form rulemaking, the Commission adopted
§ 79.10 to read as set forth in Annex A.

(11) Section 79.11. Section 79.11 (relating to introduc-
tion) restates the provisions of § 77.7 and addresses the
introduction of native species. Like propagation, introduc-
tion of native species is already addressed in the broad
context of Chapter 71. However, for purposes of complete-
ness, the Commission included provisions dealing with
the introduction of native species of reptiles and amphib-
ians in Chapter 79. This section provides that as a
general rule, it is unlawful to reintroduce a native species
taken from the wild into the natural environment of this
Commonwealth except when certain enumerated condi-
tions are met. The section further provides that it is
unlawful to introduce or facilitate the introduction of a
native species that has been artificially propagated except
when certain enumerated conditions are met.

On final-form rulemaking, the Commission adopted
§ 79.11 to read as set forth in Annex A. The Commission
revised this section to simplify the provisions dealing
with the introduction of nonnative species and to clarify
the provisions dealing with the introduction of native
species. As a result of the workgroup’s recommendations,
the Commission modified the subsection regarding native
species to extend the time period for acceptable release
from May 1 to Labor Day to May 1 to September 30 and
to prohibit the release of reptiles and amphibians that
have been in physical contact with other reptiles or
amphibians while in captivity. In addition, the Commis-
sion removed the provisions allowing Commission-
recognized rehabilitators to release animals to a location
other than the point of capture or to release them more
than 30 days after capture. Both of these changes are the
result of the workgroup’s recommendations.

(12) Section 79.12. Section 79.12 (relating to color
morphs of native species) addresses color morphs that are
defined in § 79.1 as being ‘‘a distinct color variant form of
a reptile or amphibian.’’ For purposes of this section, the
Commission has presumed that color morphs of certain
native species that are held in captivity were not taken
from the wild. The new section provides that the Commis-
sion will designate these color morphs by publishing a
notice in the Pennsylvania Bulletin and certain provisions
will apply to color morphs on the list provided they are
not taken from the wild. Color morphs on the list will not
be subject to possession limits, may be artificially propa-
gated as long as they are propagated in a closed system
meeting the requirements of § 79.8 and may be sold by
registered artificial propagators and dealers. Commission
staff intend to develop a list of color morphs with input
from the workgroup.

On final-form rulemaking, the Commission adopted
§ 79.12 to read as set forth in Annex A. The third
proposed rulemaking was modified to recognize that the
captive breeding of color morphs approved for propagation
may result in animals that have a normal color appear-
ance (typical phenotype). The amended language allows
for the sale of typical phenotype progeny of color morphs
to be sold when certain conditions are met. These provi-
sions were added largely to address the concerns of
captive breeders.

(13) Section 79.13. Section 79.13 (relating to natural
areas) restates the provisions in § 77.1. On final-form
rulemaking, the Commission adopted § 79.13 to read as
set forth in Annex A.
F. Paperwork

The final-form rulemaking increases paperwork and
creates new paperwork requirements in that persons who

possess a live reptile or amphibian as of January 1, 2007,
in compliance with the possession limits in effect on
December 31, 2006, but not in compliance with the
possession limits in effect on January 1, 2007, will be
required to have a permit for the continued possession of
the animal for the remainder of its life. Those persons
will have to complete an application, and, if approved, the
Commission will issue a possession permit. If a
permitholder subsequently gives the animal to another
person, the permit may be transferred to the new owner
upon completion of an application, surrender of the
original permit and issuance of a new permit by the
Commission.

The final-form rulemaking also increases paperwork
and creates new paperwork requirements in that persons
who wish to hunt, take, catch or kill snapping turtles for
the purpose of sale, barter or trade will be required to
complete an application. If approved, the Commission will
issue a permit to those persons. Holders of snapping
turtle permits also will be required to furnish annual
reports on a form prescribed by the Commission.

The final-form rulemaking may increase paperwork by
requiring individuals who wish to hunt, take, catch or kill
northern copperheads as well as timber rattlesnakes to
apply for a permit. The Commission’s prior permit cov-
ered timber rattlesnakes only and the Commission may
receive additional applications from those individuals
wishing to hunt northern copperheads. However, the
Commission believes that the number of venomous snake
permits that it will issue may actually decrease because
of the increased fee. In addition, the final-form rule-
making may slightly increase paperwork in that timber
rattlesnake and northern copperhead permittees will be
required to meet annual reporting requirements by com-
pleting a form prescribed by the Commission. Timber
rattlesnake permittees previously had to file catch reports
each year. The final-form rulemaking also requires per-
sons who take, catch, kill or possess a timber rattlesnake
to complete a possession tag that is attached to the
permit. This is a new requirement.

With regard to the organized reptile and amphibian
hunt permit, the Commission does not expect an increase
in paperwork or new paperwork requirements in that the
Commission already requires a permit for organized
hunts. Holders of these permits will continue to be
required to furnish reports. These reports must be sub-
mitted on the form prescribed by the Commission.

The final-form rulemaking increases paperwork slightly
in that the Commission will maintain two separate lists
of species of reptiles and amphibians that are approved
for artificial propagation: one containing species approved
for open systems and another containing species approved
for closed systems. The Commission already maintains a
list of species approved for open system propagation
under Chapter 71, which contains two frog species. The
Commission may maintain separate lists for reptiles and
amphibians.

The final-form rulemaking creates no new paperwork
requirements for artificial propagators or dealers of live
reptiles and amphibians in that the requirement for
registration with the Department as an artificial propaga-
tor or as a dealer of live aquatic animals is contained in
the act, not the Commission’s regulations. Under section
4220 of the act (relating to registration for artificial
propagation), the Department may register applicants for
artificial propagation upon receipt of a written application
and payment of a registration fee of $150. Section 4222 of
the act (relating to registration for dealers of live aquatic
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animals) provides that the Department may register
applicants wishing to become dealers of live aquatic
animals upon receipt of a written application and pay-
ment of a registration fee of $50.

The final-form rulemaking, however, increases paper-
work and creates new paperwork requirements for regis-
tered propagators and dealers that wish to sell typical
phenotype progeny of color morphs. Under the final-form
rulemaking, artificial propagators and dealers that intend
to sell them must file an initial inventory on the form
prescribed by the Commission that contains the numbers
in possession as of December 31, 2006, and other informa-
tion that the Commission requires. Artificial propagators
and dealers selling them also must maintain a current
inventory on the form prescribed by the Commission,
showing their origin, numbers and other information that
the Commission requires. Last, these artificial propaga-
tors and dealers must submit an annual report on the
form prescribed by the Commission that includes changes
in the numbers possessed (for example, gains and losses
to the inventory) and other information that the Commis-
sion requires.

G. Fiscal Impact

The final-form rulemaking will have no adverse fiscal
impact on the Commonwealth or its political subdivisions.
Some of the costs to the Commission that are associated
with the new or revised permit programs will be offset by
the fees. The costs to the Commission that are associated
with developing the forms for the initial inventory, cur-
rent inventory and annual report for artificial propaga-
tors and dealers that sell typical phenotype progeny of
color morphs are nominal. Similarly, the costs associated
with the reviewing and compiling initial inventories and
annual reports will be nominal.

The final-form rulemaking imposes new costs on the
private sector and the general public in that the new
possession permit fee is $10. This is a one-time fee only
and the final-form rulemaking requires affected persons
to apply by June 30, 2007. The Commission estimates
that it will issue approximately 2,500 possession permits
during 2007, the first year that the permit is available.
After the first year, the Commission expects that applica-
tions will level off and, for the most part, the persons who
will apply will be new owners seeking to have a permit
transferred to them. The fee to transfer a permit is also
$10.

The final-form rulemaking imposes new costs on the
private sector and the general public in that the new
snapping turtle permit has a fee of $50 for residents and
$100 for nonresidents. The Commission estimates that it
will issue approximately 200 snapping turtle permits
during the first year that the permit requirement is in
effect with the expectation that the number will increase
each year thereafter.

The final-form rulemaking also imposes new costs in
that the venomous snake permit will cost residents $25
and nonresidents $50. The cost of a timber rattlesnake
permit has remained at $5 for the past 14 years. The
Commission issues well over 1,000 individual timber
rattlesnake permits per year (1,181 permits issued in
2004 and 1,080 in 2005), and permit requests have
increased approximately 200-300 each year since 1998.
The Commission believes that it may issue fewer venom-
ous snake permits annually because of the increase in the
price of the permit.

In addition, the final-form rulemaking imposes addi-
tional costs on individuals wishing to obtain an organized

reptile and amphibian hunt permit. The Commission
increased the fee associated with this permit from $25 to
$100. The Commission issues approximately 10 organized
hunt permits each year. The Commission estimates that
it will continue to issue a similar number of organized
hunt permits in the future.

With regard to the four permit types, the Commission
will utilize the fees to offset the costs associated with
permit issuance and processing and data compilation. The
Commission hopes that in some instances it will be able
to utilize fees that are collected as matching funds to
obtain grants to perform additional management activi-
ties.
H. Public Involvement

As previously noted, the Commission published three
separate proposed rulemaking regarding its revisions to
its reptile and amphibian regulations. As a result of the
proposed rulemakings, the Commission received over
1,300 public comments. The Commission prepared a
summary of those public comments and a copy of the
summary is available upon request. Copies of the public
comments were provided to the Commissioners.

Also, as previously noted, the Commission convened a
workgroup of interested parties and stakeholders to offer
recommendations regarding the Commission’s proposed
rulemakings. That workgroup met on three occasions.
Findings

The Commission finds that:
(1) Public notice of intention to adopt the amendments

adopted by this order has been given under sections 201
and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968 (P. L. 769, No. 240) (45
P. S. §§ 1201 and 1202) and the regulations promulgated
thereunder, 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided and the
comments that were received were considered.

(3) The adoption of the amendments of the Commission
in the manner provided in this order is necessary and
appropriate for administration and enforcement of the
authorizing statutes.
Order

The Commission, acting under the authorizing statutes,
orders that:

(a) The regulations of the Commission, 58 Pa. Code
Chapters 53, 63, 77 and 79, are amended by amending
§§ 53.7 and 63.7, deleting §§ 77.1—77.8 and adding
§§ 79.1—79.13 to read as set forth in Annex A.

(b) The Executive Director will submit this order and
Annex A to the Office of Attorney General for approval as
to legality as required by law.

(c) The Executive Director shall certify this order and
Annex A and deposit them with the Legislative Reference
Bureau as required by law.

(d) This order takes effect on January 1, 2007.
DOUGLAS J. AUSTEN, Ph. D.,

Executive Director

Fiscal Note: 48A-179. (1) Fish Fund; (2) Implementing
Year 2006-07 is $76,580; (3) 1st Succeeding Year 2007-08
is $10,250; 2nd Succeeding Year 2008-09 is $10,250; 3rd
Succeeding Year 2009-10 is $11,500; 4th Succeeding Year
2010-11 is $12,750; 5th Succeeding Year 2011-12 is
$12,750; (4) 2005-06 Program—$27,000*; 2004-05 Pro-
gram—$29,525*; 2003-04 Program—$25,000*; (7) General
Government Operations; (8) recommends adoption. It is
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anticipated that a portion of the increased administrative
costs to the Fish Fund would be offset by the fees
collected.

*Timber rattlesnake permit.
Annex A

TITLE 58. RECREATION
PART II. FISH AND BOAT COMMISSION

Subpart A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
CHAPTER 53. COMMISSION PROPERTY

§ 53.7. Use of firearms.
It is unlawful for any person to carry or use firearms on

Commission owned or controlled properties except for
persons:

(1) Engaged in lawful hunting and trapping under
§ 53.5 (relating to hunting and trapping).

(2) Licensed to carry firearms under 18 Pa.C.S. § 6109
(relating to licenses) or authorized to do so in conform-
ance with 18 Pa.C.S. § 6106 (relating to firearms not to
be carried without a license).

Subpart B. FISHING
CHAPTER 63. GENERAL FISHING REGULATIONS

§ 63.7. Exceptions to limitations on devices.
The limitations on fishing devices contained in this

chapter do not:
(1) Prohibit the use of a gaff or landing net to assist in

landing fish caught by a lawful device.
(2) Limit devices by which holders of artificial propaga-

tion licenses may remove artificially propagated fish at
the licensed premises.

(3) Limit the means or devices by which fish may be
taken under special permits issued under Chapter 29 of
the code (relating to special licenses and permits), except
trout/salmon permits.

(4) Apply to the taking, catching or killing of amphib-
ians and reptiles—See Chapter 79 (relating to reptiles
and amphibians).

(5) Apply to taking, catching or killing of blue crabs—
See § 63.18 (relating to blue crabs—prohibited acts).

CHAPTER 77. (Reserved)
§§ 77.1—77.8. (Reserved).

CHAPTER 79. REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS
Sec.
79.1. Definitions.
79.2. Taking reptiles or amphibians.
79.3. Season and daily possession limits.
79.4. Possession permits for native species.
79.5. Snapping turtle permits.
79.6. Venomous snake permits.
79.7. Organized reptile and amphibian hunt permits.
79.8. Artificial propagation and dealers of live reptiles and amphib-

ians.
79.9. Sale of native species.
79.10. Transportation and importation of native species.
79.11. Introduction.
79.12. Color morphs of native species.
79.13. Natural areas.

§ 79.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

Color morph—A distinct color variant form of a reptile
or amphibian.

Hunt—The act of pursuing reptiles or amphibians in an
attempt to catch, take, kill or remove them, or to catch,
take, kill or remove any reptile or amphibian from any
waters of this Commonwealth or other areas within this
Commonwealth by any means or method for any purpose
whatsoever.

Native species—A reptile or amphibian species or sub-
species, where applicable, that has not been introduced
into this Commonwealth and occurs historically within
the boundaries of this Commonwealth. The Commission
will from time to time publish in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin a list of reptile and amphibian species and
subspecies, where applicable, that it has determined are
native species.

Organized reptile and amphibian hunt—A hunt for
reptiles or amphibians involving two or more persons
acting in concert to seek, pursue, catch, take, kill or
remove native species of reptiles or amphibians at an
event where the reptiles or amphibians are hunted on a
competitive basis. When one or more of the following
factors are present, an event will be considered an
organized reptile and amphibian hunt as the term is used
in this chapter:

(i) The event is sponsored or promoted by a person or
organization.

(ii) The event involves the award of trophies, prizes or
other recognition to persons or groups for catching rep-
tiles or amphibians.

(iii) The sponsors of the events or others publicize the
event to encourage attendance of spectators.

(iv) The sponsors or organizers of the event have their
own rules for the conduct of the hunt.

Sacking contest—A competition where participants
place reptiles or amphibians in a sack, bag or similar
container in a timed event.

Snake hooks or tongs—Implements used to grasp or lift
snakes with minimal risk of injury to the animal.

Subcaudal scale—Large flat scales that are located on
the rear ventral portion (underside) of a timber rattle-
snake between the vent (anal scale) and the base of the
rattle.

Turtle hooks—Hooks used for taking turtles that are at
least 3 1/2 inches in total length with at least a 1 inch
space between the point and the shank.

§ 79.2. Taking reptiles or amphibians.

(a) General.

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, rep-
tiles and amphibians may only be taken by hand, hook
and line, snake hooks or tongs, turtle hooks, traps and
nets less than 4 feet square or 4 feet in diameter.

(2) It is unlawful to take, catch or kill a reptile or
amphibian through use of a firearm.

(3) It is unlawful to take, catch or kill a reptile or
amphibian through the use of chemicals, smoke, explo-
sives, winches, jacks or other devices or materials or
manually in a manner that may disrupt, damage or
destroy dens or the immediate surroundings thereof.
While hunting reptiles and amphibians, it is unlawful to
possess chemicals, explosives, winches, jacks or other
devices or materials that may disrupt, damage or destroy
dens and their immediate surroundings. It is unlawful to
alter or destroy habitat in the pursuit of a reptile or
amphibian.
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(4) It is unlawful to damage or disrupt the nest or eggs
of a reptile or to gather, take or possess the eggs of any
reptile.

(b) Turtles.
(1) It is unlawful to take, catch or kill a turtle by

means of a hook other than a turtle hook as defined in
§ 79.1 (relating to definitions).

(2) It is unlawful for a person to leave a set line, turtle
trap or other device for catching turtles unattended
unless the device has attached a tag or other means of
identification containing the name, address and telephone
number of the owner or user of the device. Traps, nets or
devices used for catching turtles must be of a floating or
partially submerged design so as to allow for the release
of untargeted turtles unharmed.

(c) Frogs.
(1) Frogs may be taken with long bows and arrow,

including compound bows, crossbows, spears or gigs.
Spears or gigs may not be mechanically propelled, may
not have more than five barbed points and may not be
used in approved trout waters.

(2) It is unlawful to take, catch or kill a frog by use of
artificial light at night.
§ 79.3. Season and daily possession limits.

(a) Except as otherwise provided in subsections (b)—
(e), it is unlawful for a person to take, catch or kill more
than the daily limit specified in subsection (h) in 1
calendar day or to have in possession more than the
possession limit, dead or alive, in whole or in parts,
specified in subsection (g) or to hunt, take, catch or kill
reptiles or amphibians during the closed season. A reptile
or amphibian will not be considered to be in the posses-
sion of a person if, after it is taken or caught, it is
immediately released unharmed to the exact location
from which it was taken and is not confined to a sack,
bag or other container.

(b) This section does not prohibit the sponsors of an
organized reptile/amphibian hunt conducted under a per-
mit issued under § 79.7 (relating to organized reptile and
amphibian hunt permits) from possessing more than the
daily limit of the species of reptiles or amphibians hunted
if the total number of reptiles and amphibians held in
possession during each hunt does not exceed the daily
limit for the species hunted times the number of regis-
tered participants in the organized hunt. This subsection
applies to possession limits only. It does not permit the
sponsors of a hunt or individual hunters to take, catch or
kill any number of reptiles and amphibians in excess of
the daily limits.

(c) This section does not prohibit possession of numbers
of reptiles and amphibians in excess of possession limits
by zoos and other accredited institutions for scientific,
educational or research purposes or licensed taxidermists
for the purpose of mounting for properly permitted cus-
tomers, Commission-recognized rehabilitators or licensed
pest control agents with the written permission of the
Executive Director or a designee. These persons and
institutions shall maintain a current open inventory of
and report annually changes in the number of reptiles
and amphibians possessed. The Executive Director may
limit the number of reptiles and amphibians that a
person or institution may possess when the Executive
Director or a designee issues permission under this
subsection.

(d) This section does not prohibit possession of num-
bers of reptiles and amphibians in excess of possession
limits by persons who have obtained a permit under
§ 79.4 (relating to possession permits for native species).

(e) This section does not prohibit possession of numbers
of reptiles and amphibians artificially propagated in
accordance with this chapter in excess of the possession
limits by artificial propagators and dealers of live reptiles
and amphibians registered with the Department of Agri-
culture in accordance with 3 Pa.C.S. Chapter 42 (relating
to aquaculture development).

(f) In prosecutions for violations of the possession lim-
its, when venomous reptiles have been killed in apparent
violation of the limits, it shall be a defense that the
person who killed the venomous reptiles acted under a
reasonable apprehension of immediate death or bodily
harm to himself or other persons in his immediate
vicinity, if no more venomous reptiles are killed than
necessary to protect life and limb and if the person
reported the kills in writing to the Natural Diversity
Section Chief, Division of Environmental Services, 450
Robinson Lane, Bellefonte, Pennsylvania 16823-9616,
within 5 business days after the kill. It is unlawful for a
person to possess a venomous reptile, in whole or in
parts, that was killed under this subsection.

(g) When season or annual limits apply, a season or
annual limit has been reached once a reptile or amphib-
ian, dead or alive, in whole or in parts, has not been
immediately released to the exact location from which
taken and is in the possession of a person.

(h) The following seasons, sizes, catch and possession
limits apply to reptiles and amphibians except endan-
gered and threatened species:

SPECIES SEASON DAILY LIMIT POSSESSION LIMIT
Bullfrog (Rana catesbeiana) July 1 to October 31 10 (combined species) 20 (combined species)
Green frog (Rana clamitans) July 1 to October 31 10 (combined species) 20 (combined species)
Common snapping turtle (Chelydra serpentina) July 1 to October 31 15 30
Blanding’s turtle (Emys blandingii) No open season 0 0
Spotted turtle (Clemmys guttata) No open season 0 0
Wood turtle (Glyptemys insculpta) No open season 0 0
Eastern box turtle (Terrapene carolina carolina) No open season 0 0
Broadhead skink (Eumeces laticeps) No open season 0 0
Northern coal skink (Eumeces anthracinus) No open season 0 0
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SPECIES SEASON DAILY LIMIT POSSESSION LIMIT
Mudpuppy (Necturus maculosus) No open season 0 0
Eastern hellbender (Cryptobranchus
alleganiensis alleganiensis)

No open season 0 0

Marbled salamander (Ambystoma opacum) No open season 0 0
Jefferson salamander (Ambystoma
jeffersonianum)

No open season 0 0

Four-toed salamander (Hemidactylium
scutatum)

No open season 0 0

Ravine salamander (Plethodon richmondi) No open season 0 0
Northern cricket frog (Acris crepitans crepitans) No open season 0 0
Mountain chorus frog (Pseudacris brachyphona) No open season 0 0
Striped chorus frog complex (Pseudacris
feriarum feriarum, P. feriarum triseriata)

No open season 0 0

Northern fence lizard (Sceloporus undulatus) No open season 0 0
Queen snake (Regina septemvittata) No open season 0 0
Shorthead garter snake (Thamnophis
brachystoma)

No open season 0 0

Eastern ribbon snake (Thamnophis sauritus) No open season 0 0
Mountain earth snake (Virginia pulchra) No open season 0 0
Smooth earth snake (Virginia valeriae) No open season 0 0
Smooth green snake (Liochlorophis vernalis) No open season 0 0
Eastern hognose snake (Heterodon platirhinos) No open season 0 0
Eastern worm snake (Carphophis amoenus) No open season 0 0
Amphibian eggs and tadpoles No closed season 15 (combined species) 15 (combined species)
Timber rattlesnake (Crotalus horridus) Second Saturday in

June to July 31*
1 annual limit** (must be at least 42 inches in
length, measured lengthwise along the dorsal
surface from the snout to the tail, excluding the
rattle, and must possess 21 or more subcaudal
scales.)

Northern copperhead (Agkistrodon contortrix) Second Saturday in June to July 31 1 annual limit**
Native species not listed in this subsection No closed season 1 1

*It is unlawful for a person to hunt, take, catch or kill timber rattlesnakes west of Route 15 and south of Interstate 81 to
the Maryland line where there is no open season.
**It is unlawful for a person to take, catch or kill more than one timber rattlesnake or northern copperhead per calendar
year except as provided in § 79.7(f) (relating to organized reptile and amphibian hunt permits). It is unlawful for a
person to possess more than one timber rattlesnake or northern copperhead at any time except as provided in § 79.7(f).

§ 79.4. Possession permits for native species.

(a) Application. The Commission finds, under section
2904 of the code (relating to permits for the protection
and management of particular fish), that it is necessary
for persons who possess a live reptile or amphibian as of
January 1, 2007, in compliance with the possession limits
in effect on December 31, 2006, but not in compliance
with the possession limits in effect on January 1, 2007, to
have a permit for the continued possession of the reptile
or amphibian for the remainder of the animal’s life.
Application for a one-time permit under this section must
be made on a form prescribed by the Commission, must
be accompanied by the appropriate fee and must be made
by no later than June 30, 2007. Permits may be obtained
by applying to: Bureau of Law Enforcement, 1601
Elmerton Avenue, Post Office Box 67000, Harrisburg,
Pennsylvania 17106-7000. The fee is $10.

(b) Transfer. If a permittee gives a reptile or amphibian
covered by a permit under this section to another person,
the permit may be transferred to the new owner upon

completion of an application on the form provided by the
Commission, surrender of the original permit and pay-
ment of the appropriate fee. The new owner shall apply
for transfer of the permit prior to taking possession of the
animal. The fee to transfer a permit under this section is
$10.

(c) Denial. The denial of a permit under this section is
appealable in the manner provided by §§ 51.41—51.46
(relating to permit procedures). A person who is denied a
permit under this section shall surrender the reptile or
amphibian to an officer authorized to enforce the code or
provide proof that the animal was humanely euthanized
or given to a person or organization that can lawfully
possess it. Under no circumstances may a person who is
denied a permit under this section release the animal into
the wild.

(d) Required permit. It is unlawful to retain possession
of a live reptile or amphibian possessed as of January 1,
2007, that is in compliance with the possession limits in
effect on December 31, 2006, but not in compliance with
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the possession limits in effect on January 1, 2007,
without the required permit from the Commission. A
permit is required for continued possession regardless of
the animal’s origin. A separate permit shall be obtained
for each reptile or amphibian and shall be kept at the
location where the animal is held. Upon request, the
permit shall be presented to an officer authorized to
enforce the code. Permittees shall comply with the terms
and conditions of the permit. It is unlawful to alter,
borrow or lend a permit under this section.

(e) Exceptions. This section does not apply to the
possession of reptiles and amphibians that are covered by
permissions and other permits issued under this subpart.
§ 79.5. Snapping turtle permits.

(a) The Commission finds, under section 2904 of the
code (relating to permits for protection and management
of particular fish), that it is necessary for the proper
protection and management of the common snapping
turtle (Chelydra serpentina) that persons who hunt, take,
catch or kill this species for the purpose of sale, barter or
trade have an annual permit for the activity. Application
for a permit must be made on a form prescribed by the
Commission and must be accompanied by the appropriate
fee. Permits may be obtained by applying to: Natural
Diversity Section Chief, Division of Environmental Ser-
vices, 450 Robinson Lane, Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
16823-9616. The fee for residents is $50 per year; the fee
for nonresidents is $100 per year. The denial of a permit
under this section is appealable in the manner provided
by Chapter 51, Subchapter E (relating to permit proce-
dures).

(b) It is unlawful to hunt, take, catch, kill or possess
the common snapping turtle for purposes of sale, barter
or trade without first procuring the required permit. The
required permit shall be in possession of the permittee at
all times while hunting. Permittees shall comply with the
terms and conditions of the permit and furnish the
reports required thereby. It is unlawful to alter, borrow,
lend or transfer a permit under this section.

(c) It is unlawful to sell, barter, trade or offer for sale a
common snapping turtle, dead or alive, in whole or in
parts, taken from lands or waters of this Commonwealth
without first procuring the permit required under this
section.
§ 79.6. Venomous snake permits.

(a) Application. The Commission finds, under section
2904 of the code (relating to permits for protection and
management of particular fish), that it is necessary for
the proper protection and management of the timber
rattlesnake (Crotalus horridus) and northern copperhead
(Agkistrodon contortrix) that persons who hunt, take,
catch or kill these species have a permit for the activity.
Application for a permit must be made on a form
prescribed by the Commission and accompanied by the
appropriate fee. Permits may be obtained by applying to:
Natural Diversity Section Chief, Division of Environmen-
tal Services, 450 Robinson Lane, Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
16823-9616. The fee for residents is $25 per year; the fee
for nonresidents is $50 per year. The denial of a permit
under this section is appealable in the manner provided
by Chapter 51, Subchapter E (relating to permit proce-
dures).

(b) Required permit. It is unlawful to hunt, take, catch,
kill or possess a timber rattlesnake or northern copper-
head, in whole or in parts, without first procuring the
required permit from the Commission. The required
permit shall be in the possession of the permittee at all

times while hunting. Permittees shall comply with the
terms and conditions of the permit and furnish the
reports required thereby. It is unlawful to alter, borrow,
lend or transfer a permit under this section.

(c) Reporting. Within 10 business days following the
capture or kill, or if no snake is captured or killed, within
10 days of the conclusion of the season, the permittee
shall complete a report on the form prescribed by the
Commission and shall mail the report to the Commis-
sion’s Natural Diversity Section, 450 Robinson Lane,
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania 16823.

(d) Tagging of timber rattlesnakes.

(1) A person who takes, catches, kills or possesses a
timber rattlesnake shall immediately complete the pos-
session tag that is attached to his permit and detach the
tag from the permit in the field. The possession tag shall
be completed in accordance with the instructions printed
on the tag, and the information to be provided includes,
but is not limited to, the municipality and county where
the snake was captured or killed, the date of capture or
kill and a description of the snake, including color phase,
sex, number of subcaudal scales and length in inches. The
possession tag shall be kept in a safe location so that it
can be presented along with the timber rattlesnake to
which it pertains upon the request of an officer autho-
rized to enforce the code.

(2) After the possession tag is detached from the
permit, it is unlawful to take, catch, kill or possess
another timber rattlesnake except as otherwise provided
in this chapter.

(3) It is unlawful to alter, borrow, lend or transfer
possession tags under this section.

(4) When presenting a timber rattlesnake to a taxider-
mist for mounting, the tag must remain with the rattle-
snake while in the possession of the taxidermist.

(e) Field dressing of timber rattlesnakes. A permittee
may field dress a timber rattlesnake so long as the head
and tail remain intact.

(f) Measurement of timber rattlesnakes. Upon the re-
quest of an officer authorized to enforce the code, a
permittee shall measure a timber rattlesnake to deter-
mine its length. If the permittee is unable to measure the
timber rattlesnake, the officer may seize the snake so
that a measurement may be taken at another location.

§ 79.7. Organized reptile and amphibian hunt per-
mits.

(a) Application. The Commission finds, under section
2904 of the code (relating to permits for protection and
management of fish), that it is necessary for the proper
protection and management of reptiles and amphibians in
this Commonwealth that organized reptile and amphibian
hunts be conducted under permits issued under this
section. The sponsor of an organized reptile and amphib-
ian hunt shall apply for a permit by no earlier than
January 1 and no later than March 1 of the year for
which the hunt is proposed. Application for a permit must
be made on a form prescribed by the Commission and
must be accompanied by the appropriate fee. Permits may
be obtained by applying to: Natural Diversity Section
Chief, Division of Environmental Services, 450 Robinson
Lane, Bellefonte, Pennsylvania 16823-9616. The fee for
the permit is $100. The denial of a permit under this
section is appealable in a manner provided by Chapter
51, Subchapter E (relating to permit procedures).
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(b) Permit issuance.

(1) The Executive Director will issue permits to appli-
cants who demonstrate that they are responsible and
qualified to conduct an organized reptile and amphibian
hunt. In determining the qualifications of an applicant,
the Executive Director, or a designee, may consider
factors as deemed appropriate, including, but not limited
to, the experience of the applicant in conducting the
events, the responsiveness of the applicant to reporting
requirements, the safety record of the applicant, the
ability of the applicant to conduct educational programs,
the context of the event and competing applications.

(2) The Executive Director may limit the number of
organized reptile and amphibian hunt permits to be
issued for a particular vicinity and time proximity. In
general, permits will be issued to qualified applicants no
earlier than March 15 of the year in which the applica-
tion is submitted. If the Commission is aware of events
scheduled in the vicinity of one another within 4 weeks,
and the Executive Director determines that all events
cannot be permitted consistent with resource manage-
ment and protection, the Executive Director may desig-
nate the applicants as competing applications. If compet-
ing applications are designated, the Executive Director
may, if the parties cannot agree on the withdrawal of one
or more applications, award a permit on a random basis,
an alternate year basis or some other rational basis as
the interests of fairness may dictate.

(c) Required permit. It is unlawful to engage in organ-
ized reptile and amphibian hunts unless the sponsors of
the hunts have first procured the required permit for
each hunt. The required permits shall be held in posses-
sion of the sponsor at all times during each hunt.
Permittees shall comply with the terms and conditions of
each permit and furnish reports required thereby.

(d) Reporting. At the location of the hunt, the permit-
tee shall complete a report on the form prescribed by the
Commission that will include, at a minimum, the location
of the hunt; the names of the registered participants; the
species name of the reptile or amphibian that was
captured or killed; a description of the reptile or amphib-
ian that was captured or killed; the date and time the
reptile or amphibian was brought to the hunt and the
permit number of the person who captured or killed the
reptile or amphibian. The permittee shall complete the
form as registered participants deliver their reptiles or
amphibians for entry into the competition. This form
shall be presented upon the request of an officer autho-
rized to enforce the code. Within 10 days following the
conclusion of the event, the permittee shall submit the
form to the Commission.

(e) Season. It is unlawful to conduct an organized
reptile or amphibian hunt for any species of reptile or
amphibian except during the open season for the reptile
or amphibian as specified in § 79.3 (relating to season
and daily possession limits).

(f) Provisional timber rattlesnake permits.

(1) Conditions. A permitted sponsor of an organized
hunt may issue provisional permits on the form pre-
scribed by the Commission subject to the following condi-
tions:

(i) A provisional permit allows the holder thereof to
take, catch or possess one timber rattlesnake without
tagging the snake as required by § 79.6(d) (relating to
venomous snake permits).

(ii) Provisional permits will be issued only in connec-
tion with an organized hunt and will be valid only during
the period of the organized hunt as stated in the permit.

(iii) Provisional permits will only be issued to holders
of permits under § 79.6 who are registered participants
in the organized hunt.

(iv) A snake caught under a provisional permit shall be
entered into the hunt and shall become the possession of
the permitted sponsor of the organized hunt until the
permitted sponsor returns the snake to the holder of the
provisional permit.

(v) The holder of a provisional permit shall be respon-
sible for returning a snake caught under a provisional
permit unharmed to the site from which it was taken by
sunset of the last day of the organized hunt.

(vi) Provisional permits in no way allow the holders
thereof to possess a snake beyond the period of the
organized hunt. The holder of a provisional permit who
wishes to retain possession of a snake caught under a
provisional permit shall tag the snake in accordance with
§ 79.6(d).

(2) Prohibited acts. The following acts are unlawful:

(i) A permitted sponsor of an organized hunt issues a
provisional permit in violation of this subsection.

(ii) The holder of a provisional permit violates the
terms and conditions of the provisional permit.

(iii) The holder of the provisional permit possesses a
snake beyond the period of the organized hunt.

(iv) The holder of a provisional permit releases the
snake to a site other than the site from which it was
taken.

(g) Sacking contests. Sacking contests of native species
regardless of origin are prohibited. It is unlawful to
import timber rattlesnakes or any subspecies, hybrid or
variety of Crotalus horridus, into this Commonwealth for
use in connection with a sacking contest.

(h) Treatment of reptiles and amphibians. Reptiles and
amphibians held in connection with an organized hunt
may not be confined without water or shade or otherwise
physically abused or handled roughly. Free-handling of
native, venomous reptiles in an organized hunt is prohib-
ited. At the conclusion of the organized hunt, the sponsor
shall return the snakes to the registered participants who
entered the snakes in the event.

§ 79.8. Artificial propagation and dealers of live
reptiles and amphibians.

(a) General. Except for hobby breeders and pet stores
as defined in 3 Pa.C.S. Chapter 42 (relating to
aquaculture development), it is unlawful to artificially
propagate or deal in live reptiles and amphibians without
being registered with the Department of Agriculture
(Department) under 3 Pa.C.S. Chapter 42. It is unlawful
for anyone, regardless of whether or not registered, to
artificially propagate reptiles and amphibians except
those species, subspecies and color morphs that the
Commission has approved for artificial propagation in
this Commonwealth in accordance with this section.

(b) Approved lists. The Bureau of Fisheries will main-
tain lists of species, subspecies and color morphs for
which the Department may issue registrations for artifi-
cial propagation and registrations for dealers of live
reptiles and amphibians. The Bureau of Fisheries will
maintain two separate lists—one that the Commission
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has approved for artificial propagation in an open system
and one that the Commission has approved for artificial
propagation in a closed system. The Director of the
Bureau of Fisheries may update or modify the lists of
approved species, subspecies and color morphs by adding
species, subspecies or color morphs to or deleting species,
subspecies or color morphs from the lists as necessary for
the protection and management of reptiles and amphib-
ians in this Commonwealth. The Commission will provide
the lists to the Department on or before January 31 each
year and whenever the Commission updates or modifies
the lists. Copies of the lists of approved species, subspe-
cies and color morphs are available upon request from the
Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission, Bureau of
Fisheries, 450 Robinson Lane, Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
16823.

(c) Open systems. Reptiles and amphibians may be
artificially propagated or held by dealers in an open
system only when the Commission has approved the
species, subspecies or color morphs for artificial propaga-
tion in an open system.

(d) Closed systems.

(1) Reptiles and amphibians may be artificially propa-
gated or held by dealers in a closed system that meets the
requirements of this subsection only when the Commis-
sion has approved the species, subspecies or color morphs
for artificial propagation in a closed system.

(2) To artificially propagate or deal in live reptiles and
amphibians in a closed system, an applicant for registra-
tion shall certify that the following conditions are met:

(i) The closed system will be constructed and operated
in a manner that prevents the escape or liberation of live
animals. Typically, a closed system will be housed indoors
in a structure enclosed by solid walls, floor and roof. For
purposes of this paragraph, a wall, floor or roof will be
considered ‘‘solid’’ if it is constructed and maintained to
prevent unauthorized human or animal intrusions into
the closed system facility and to prevent release or escape
of live reptiles or amphibians from the closed system.
Other types of housing structures will be considered
closed if they are appropriate for the species being held
and prevent their escape or liberation onto the lands or
into the waters of this Commonwealth.

(ii) If water will be used in the propagator’s or dealer’s
normal operations, discharge or disposal of the water will
be in a manner that prevents the escape or liberation of
live animals onto the lands or into the waters of this
Commonwealth.

(iii) No live reptiles or amphibians or live reptile or
amphibian eggs will be permitted to escape. Accidental
escape, spillage or loss of live reptiles or amphibians
including their eggs will be contained within the facility
in a manner that prevents the reptiles and amphibians or
their eggs from escaping onto the lands or into the waters
of this Commonwealth.

(3) The Commission may request from the Department
a list of registered propagators and dealers that hold
reptiles and amphibians in closed systems. The Commis-
sion, in its discretion, may inspect the closed systems to
ensure that they are designed and constructed in a
manner to prevent escape of live reptiles or amphibians
or their live eggs onto lands or into the waters of this
Commonwealth. In addition, the Commission, in its dis-
cretion, may inspect the closed systems at any time to
ensure compliance with this subsection, and the Commis-
sion may issue an order to suspend operations of any of

these systems when an inspection discloses that it is not
in compliance with this subsection.

(4) The Commission will invite the Department’s
Aquaculture Advisory Committee or a subcommittee
thereof to draft and periodically update construction
guidelines for closed system propagators and dealers to
help them ensure closed systems prevent escape of rep-
tiles and amphibians onto the lands or into the waters of
this Commonwealth. These guidelines will assist regis-
tered propagators and dealers in the design, construction
and maintenance of closed systems and will assist the
Commission in inspecting these systems.

(5) It is unlawful for an operator of a closed system to
liberate or allow live reptiles or amphibians to escape
onto lands or into the waters of this Commonwealth.

(6) A registered operator of a closed system shall
develop, maintain and make available for immediate
inspection by the Commission and the Department upon
request a written plan for containing or recovering es-
caped or liberated live reptiles and amphibians in the
event of a closed system failure.

(7) A registered operator of a closed system shall notify
both the Commission’s Director of the Bureau of Fisheries
and the Department’s Aquaculture Coordinator immedi-
ately in the event of an escape or liberation of live
reptiles and amphibians.
§ 79.9. Sale of native species.

Except as otherwise provided in the code or this
chapter, it is unlawful to take, catch, kill or possess for
purposes of selling or offering for sale or to sell, offer for
sale, import or export for consideration, trade or barter, or
purchase an amphibian or reptile that was taken from
lands or waters wholly within this Commonwealth, and
its progeny, whether dead or alive, in whole or in parts,
including eggs or any life stage.
§ 79.10. Transportation and importation of native

species.
(a) It is unlawful to transport or import into or within

this Commonwealth a native species from another juris-
diction.

(b) It is unlawful to receive a native species that was
transported or imported into or within this Common-
wealth from another jurisdiction.

(c) This section does not apply to zoos or other accred-
ited institutions that transport and import native species
for scientific, educational or research purposes and
Commission-recognized rehabilitators provided that they
have received the written permission of the Executive
Director or a designee under § 79.3(c) (relating to season
and daily possession limits).
§ 79.11. Introduction.

(a) Nonnative species. It is unlawful to introduce a
nonnative species into the natural environment of this
Commonwealth. Persons who import nonnative reptiles or
amphibians into this Commonwealth shall institute ap-
propriate safeguards to prevent their introduction into
the natural environment of this Commonwealth.

(b) Native species.

(1) General rule. It is unlawful to reintroduce a native
species taken from the wild into the natural environment
of this Commonwealth except when the following condi-
tions are met:

(i) The reptile or amphibian is released to the point of
capture.
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(ii) The reptile or amphibian is released within 30 days
of capture.

(iii) The reptile or amphibian is released during the
period, May 1 through September 31.

(iv) The reptile or amphibian is in good health.
(v) The reptile or amphibian has not been in physical

contact with another reptile or amphibian while in captiv-
ity.

(2) Artificially propagated animals. It is unlawful to
introduce or facilitate the introduction of a native species
that has been artificially propagated except when the
following conditions are met:

(i) The Commission has approved the native species for
artificial propagation in an open system in accordance
with § 79.8 (relating to artificial propagation and dealers
of live reptiles and amphibians).

(ii) The native species has been propagated by a propa-
gator registered by the Department of Agriculture in
accordance with 3 Pa.C.S. Chapter 42 (relating to
aquaculture development).
§ 79.12. Color morphs of native species.

(a) For purposes of this chapter, it is presumed that
color morphs of certain native species that are held in
captivity were not taken from the wild. Therefore, the
Commission has determined that color morphs of certain
native species are exempt from the requirements of this
chapter as provided in this section. The Commission will
publish in the Pennsylvania Bulletin a list of color
morphs of native species to which the following provisions
apply:

(1) Color morphs of native species designated by the
Commission are not subject to the possession limits of
§ 79.3 (relating to season and daily possession limits)
provided they are not taken from the wild.

(2) Color morphs of native species designated by the
Commission may be artificially propagated provided they
are not taken from the wild and they are propagated in a
closed system meeting the requirements of § 79.8 (relat-
ing to artificial propagation and dealers of live reptiles
and amphibians).

(3) Color morphs of native species designated by the
Commission may be sold by artificial propagators and
dealers registered in accordance with 3 Pa.C.S. Chapter
42 (relating to aquaculture development) provided they
are not taken from the wild.

(b) The Commission recognizes that the captive breed-
ing of color morphs approved for propagation by the
Commission in this section may result in animals that
have a normal color appearance (typical phenotype). The
typical phenotype progeny of these color morphs may be
sold provided that the following conditions are met:

(1) They are sold by an artificial propagator or dealer
registered in accordance with 3 Pa.C.S. Chapter 42.

(2) They were propagated in a closed system meeting
the requirements of § 79.8 by a registered propagator.

(3) The artificial propagator or dealer that intends to
sell them shall file an initial inventory on the form
prescribed by the Commission that contains the numbers
in possession as of December 31, 2006, and other informa-
tion that the Commission requires. The artificial propaga-
tor or dealer shall submit the inventory to the Commis-
sion’s Natural Diversity Section Chief, Division of
Environmental Services, 450 Robinson Lane, Bellefonte,
Pennsylvania 16823 by no later than January 31, 2007.

(4) The artificial propagator or dealer selling them
shall maintain a current inventory on a form prescribed
by the Commission, showing their origin, numbers and
other information that the Commission requires. Artificial
propagators or dealers shall maintain the inventory at
their place of business and shall have the inventory in
their possession when selling them. The inventory shall
be presented upon the request of an officer authorized to
enforce the code.

(5) The artificial propagator or dealer selling them
shall submit an annual report on the form prescribed by
the Commission that includes changes in the numbers
possessed (for example, gains and losses to the inventory)
and other information that the Commission requires. The
artificial propagator or dealer shall submit the report to
the Commission’s Natural Diversity Section Chief, Divi-
sion of Environmental Services, 450 Robinson Lane,
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania 16823 by no later than January
31 of the following year.

§ 79.13. Natural areas.

(a) This chapter applies to all native species occurring
naturally within the boundaries of selected Natural Areas
of the Department of Conservation and Natural Re-
sources.

(b) The taking, catching, killing or possession of indi-
viduals of any native species occurring naturally within
the boundaries of designated natural areas by persons
other than those possessing a valid scientific collector’s
permit is prohibited.

(c) Notice of this section will be posted at parking lots
or access areas on the fringe of each designated natural
area.

(d) Subsections (a) and (b) apply to natural areas
within State Forests posted in accordance with subsection
(c).

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 06-2512. Filed for public inspection December 22, 2006, 9:00 a.m.]

PENNSYLVANIA GAMING CONTROL BOARD
[58 PA. CODE CH. 492]
Hearings and Appeals

Under the Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board’s
(Board) Resolution No. 2006-4 REG, the Board has the
authority to amend the temporary regulations adopted on
March 16, 2006, as it deems necessary in accordance with
the purpose of 4 Pa.C.S. Part II (relating to gaming) (Act
71) and to further the intent of Act 71. The Board has
decided to make changes to the temporary regulations,
dated March 16, 2006, as deposited with the Legislative
Reference Bureau (Bureau) and published at 36 Pa.B.
1578 (April 1, 2006).

Therefore, the Board has deposited with the Bureau
amendment to Chapter 492. The amendment is effective
as of December 4, 2006.

The temporary regulation of the Board in Chapter 492
are amended by amending § 492.6(a) and (j) (relating to
hearings generally) to read as set forth in Annex A.

Order

The Board, acting under the authorizing statute, orders
that:

7862 RULES AND REGULATIONS

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 36, NO. 51, DECEMBER 23, 2006



(a) Acting under the authority of the Act 71, the
amendment to the temporary regulations adopted by
resolution at the December 4, 2006, public meeting are
adopted. The amendment to the temporary regulations
pertains to hearings and appeals.

(b) The temporary regulations of the Board, 58 Pa.
Code Chapter 492, are amended by amending § 492.6 to
read as set forth in Annex A, with ellipses referring to the
existing regulation.

(c) The amendment is effective December 4, 2006.

(d) The amendment to the temporary regulations shall
be posted in its entirety on the Board’s website and
published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

(e) The Chairperson of the Board shall certify this
order and deposit the amendment to the temporary
regulations with the Bureau as required by law.

THOMAS A. DECKER,
Chairperson

Fiscal Note: 125-55. No fiscal impact; (8) recommends
adoption.

Annex A

TITLE 58. RECREATION

PART VII. GAMING CONTROL BOARD

Subpart H. PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE

CHAPTER 492. HEARINGS AND APPEALS

§ 492.6. Hearings generally.

(a) Unless the Board elects to hear a matter directly,
all matters, except for hearings under § 441.19 (relating
to licensing hearings for slot machine licenses), shall be
assigned to the OHA. The Board may, in its discretion,
designate a member of the Board, or other qualified
person to serve as presiding officer in a particular matter.

* * * * *

(j) Hearings will be scheduled by the OHA, except for
hearings under § 441.19 (relating to licensing hearings
for slot machine licenses) which will be scheduled as the
Board may direct. Hearings for violations of the act will
be scheduled within 90 days of the initiation of action by
the Bureau.

* * * * *
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 06-2513. Filed for public inspection December 22, 2006, 9:00 a.m.]

PENNSYLVANIA GAMING CONTROL BOARD
[58 PA. CODE CH. 503]

Self Exclusion

Under the Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board’s
(Board) Resolution No. 2006-8-REG, the Board has the
authority to amend the temporary regulations adopted on
May 19, 2006, as it deems necessary in accordance with
the purpose of 4 Pa.C.S. Part II (relating to gaming) (Act
71) and to further the intent of Act 71. To respond to
changes in the Board’s self-exclusion program, the Board
has decided to make changes to the temporary regula-
tions, dated May 19, 2006, as deposited with the Legisla-
tive Reference Bureau (Bureau) and published at 36 Pa.B.
2902 (June 10, 2006).

Therefore, the Board has deposited amendments to
Chapter 503 (relating to self exclusion) with the Bureau.
The amendments are effective as of December 4, 2006.

The temporary regulations of the Board in Chapter 503
are amended by amending Chapter 503 to read as set
forth in Annex A.
Order

The Board, acting under the authorizing statute, orders
that:

(a) Acting under the authority of Act 71, the amend-
ments to the temporary regulations adopted by resolution
at the December 4, 2006, public meeting are adopted. The
amendments to the temporary regulations pertain to self
exclusion.

(b) The temporary regulations of the Board, 58
Pa. Code Chapter 503, are amended by amending
§§ 503.1 and 503.3—503.6; by deleting § 503.2 and by
adding § 503.7 to read as set forth in Annex A.

(c) The amendments are effective December 4, 2006.

(d) The amendments to the temporary regulations shall
be posted in their entirety on the Board’s website and
published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

(e) The Chairperson of the Board shall certify this
order and deposit the amendments to the temporary
regulations with the Bureau as required by law.

THOMAS A. DECKER,
Chairperson

Fiscal Note: 125-52. (1) State Gaming Fund; (2)
Implementing Year 2006-07 is $188,000; (3) 1st Succeed-
ing Year 2007-08 is $108,000; 2nd Succeeding Year
2008-09 is $112,000; 3rd Succeeding Year 2009-10 is
$116,000; 4th Succeeding Year 2010-11 is $121,000; 5th
Succeeding Year 2011-12 is $126,000; (4) 2005-06 Pro-
gram—$26,400,000; 2004-05 Program—$13,200,000;
2003-04 Program—$2,900,000; (7) Board Budget; (8) rec-
ommends adoption. Funds from the administrative ac-
counts within the State Gaming Fund will be used to
cover the costs of these regulations.

Annex A

TITLE 58. RECREATION

PART VII. GAMING CONTROL BOARD

Subpart I. COMPULSIVE AND PROBLEM
GAMBLING

CHAPTER 503. SELF EXCLUSION

§ 503.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

Fully executed gaming transaction—An activity involv-
ing a slot machine or associated equipment which occurs
on the gaming floor of a licensed facility and which
results in an individual obtaining any money or thing of
value from, or being owed any money or thing of value by,
a slot machine licensee.

Self-excluded person—A person whose name is included,
at the person’s own request, on the self-exclusion list
maintained by the Board.

Self-exclusion list—A list of names of persons who,
under this chapter, have voluntarily agreed to be ex-
cluded from the gaming floor and all gaming activities at
a licensed facility and to be prohibited from collecting any
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winnings, recovering any losses or accepting complimen-
tary gifts or services or any other thing of value at a
licensed facility.

Winnings—Any money or thing of value received from,
or being owed by a slot machine licensee as a result of a
fully executed gaming transaction.
§ 503.2. (Reserved).
§ 503.3. Request for self exclusion.

(a) A person may have the person’s name placed on the
self-exclusion list by submitting a request for self exclu-
sion in the form and manner required by the Board.

(b) A person requesting placement on the self-exclusion
list shall submit, in person, a completed request for self
exclusion to the Board. The Board will designate locations
for submission of completed requests for self exclusion in
accordance with this chapter.

(c) A request for self exclusion must include the follow-
ing identifying information:

(1) Name, including any aliases or nicknames.
(2) Date of birth.
(3) Address of current residence.
(4) Telephone number of current residence.
(5) Social Security number, when voluntarily provided

in accordance with section 7 of the Privacy Act of 1974
(5 U.S.C.A. § 552a).

(6) Physical description of the person, including height,
weight, gender, hair color, eye color and any other
physical characteristic that may assist in the identifica-
tion of the person.

(7) Government issued photo identification such as
driver’s license or passport.

(d) The information provided in subsection (c) shall be
updated by the self-excluded person within 30 days of a
change.

(e) The length of self exclusion requested by the person
may be one of the following:

(1) One year (12 months).
(2) Five years.

(3) Lifetime.

(f) A request for self exclusion must include a signed
release which:

(1) Acknowledges that the request for self exclusion
has been made voluntarily.

(2) Certifies that the information provided in the re-
quest for self exclusion is true and accurate.

(3) Acknowledges that the individual requesting self
exclusion is a problem gambler.

(4) Acknowledges that if the individual is found on the
gaming floor or engaging in gaming activities at any
licensed facility, that the individual will be subject to
removal and may be subject to arrest for criminal tres-
pass under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3503 (relating to criminal tres-
pass).

(5) Releases, indemnifies, holds harmless and forever
discharges the Commonwealth, the Board, and all slot
machine licensees from any claims, damages, losses,
expenses or liability arising out of, by reason of or
relating to the self-excluded person or to any other party
for any harm, monetary or otherwise, which may arise as
a result of one or more of the following:

(i) The failure of a slot machine licensee to withhold
gaming privileges from or restore gaming privileges to a
self-excluded person.

(ii) Otherwise permitting or not permitting a self-
excluded person to engage in gaming activity in a licensed
facility while on the list of self-excluded persons.

(iii) Disclosure by a slot machine licensee of informa-
tion regarding a self-excluded person to any person or
group who is not affiliated with the slot machine licensee.

(iv) Disclosure of information regarding a self-excluded
person by the Board.

(g) Self exclusions for 1 or 5 years remain in effect
until the self-excluded person requests removal from the
Board’s self-exclusion list under § 503.6 (relating to
removal from self-exclusion list).

(h) A person submitting a self-exclusion request shall
be required to present a government-issued photo identifi-
cation containing the person’s signature and photograph
when the person submits the request.

(i) A person requesting self exclusion under this chap-
ter shall be required to have a photograph taken by the
Board, or agent thereof, upon the Board’s acceptance of
the request to be on the list.
§ 503.4. Self-exclusion list.

(a) The Board will maintain the official self-exclusion
list and notify each slot machine licensee of any additions
to or deletions from the list by first class mail or by
transmitting a notice by electronic means directly to each
slot machine licensee.

(b) The notice provided to slot machine licensees by the
Board will include the following information concerning a
person who has been added to the self-exclusion list:

(1) Name, including any aliases or nicknames.
(2) Date of birth.
(3) Address of current residence.
(4) Telephone number of current residence.
(5) Social Security number, when voluntarily provided

by the person requesting self exclusion under section 7 of
the Privacy Act of 1974 (5 U.S.C.A. § 552a).

(6) Physical description of the person, including height,
weight, gender, hair color, eye color and any other
physical characteristic that may assist in the identifica-
tion of the person.

(7) A copy of the photograph taken by the Board under
§ 503.3(i) (relating to request for self exclusion).

(c) The notice provided to slot machine licensees by the
Board concerning a person whose name has been removed
from the self-exclusion list will include the name and date
of birth of the person.

(d) A slot machine licensee shall maintain a copy of the
self-exclusion list and establish procedures to ensure that
the copy of the self-exclusion list is updated and that all
appropriate employees and agents of the slot machine
licensee are notified of any addition to or deletion from
the list within 5 business days after the day notice is
mailed to each slot machine licensee or transmitted
electronically under subsection (a).

(e) Information furnished to or obtained by the Board
under this chapter will be deemed confidential and will
not be disclosed except in accordance with this chapter.

(f) Slot machine licensees, employees or agents thereof
may not disclose the name of, or any information about, a
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person who has requested self exclusion to anyone other
than employees and agents of the slot machine licensee
whose duties and functions require access to the informa-
tion. Notwithstanding the foregoing, a slot machine licen-
see may disclose the identity of a self-excluded person to
appropriate employees of other slot machine licensees in
this Commonwealth or affiliated gaming entities in other
jurisdictions from disclosing the identity of persons self
excluded to other affiliated gaming entities in this Com-
monwealth or other jurisdictions for the limited purpose
of assisting in the proper administration of responsible
gaming programs operated by affiliated licensed gaming
entities.

(g) A self-excluded person may not collect in any
manner or in any proceeding any winnings or recover any
losses arising as a result of any gaming activity for the
entire period of time that the person is on the Board’s
self-exclusion list.

(h) Any winnings incurred by a self-excluded person
shall be remitted to the Board and deposited into the
Compulsive and Problem Gambling Treatment Fund.

(i) For the purposes of this section, any winnings
issued to, found on or about, or redeemed by a self-
excluded person shall be presumed to constitute winnings
subject to remittance to the Board.

§ 503.5. Duties of slot machine licensees.

(a) A slot machine licensee shall train its employees
and establish procedures that are designed to:

(1) Identify a self-excluded person when present in a
licensed facility and, upon identification, notify the follow-
ing persons:

(i) Employees of the slot machine licensee whose duties
include the identification and removal of self-excluded
persons.

(ii) Designated representatives of the Board.

(2) Notify the Pennsylvania State Police when a self-
excluded person is found on the gaming floor or engaging
in gaming activities.

(3) Refuse wagers from and deny gaming privileges to
a self-excluded person.

(4) Deny check cashing privileges, player club member-
ship, complimentary goods and services, junket participa-
tion and other similar privileges and benefits to any
self-excluded person.

(5) Ensure that self-excluded persons do not receive,
either from the slot machine licensee or any agent
thereof, junket solicitations, targeted mailings, tele-
marketing promotions, player club materials or other
promotional materials relating to gaming activities at its
licensed facility.

(6) Comply with § 503.4(d) (relating to self-exclusion
list).

(7) Disseminate written materials to patrons explain-
ing the self-exclusion program.

(b) A slot machine licensee shall submit a copy of its
procedures and training materials established under sub-
section (a) to the Board 30 days prior to initiation of
gaming activities at the licensed facility. Amendments to
these procedures shall be submitted to the Board at least
10 business days prior to their implementation. If the
Board does not object to the procedures or amendments
thereto, the procedures or amendments shall be deemed
to be approved.

(c) A slot machine licensee shall post signs at all
entrances to a licensed facility indicating that a person
who is on the self-exclusion list may be subject to arrest
for trespassing under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3503 if the person is
on the gaming floor or engaging in gaming activities.

(d) The list of self-excluded persons is confidential, and
any distribution of the list to an unauthorized source
constitutes a violation of the act and subjects the disclos-
ing party to sanctions the Board deems appropriate.

(e) Under section 1516 of the act (relating to list of
persons self excluded from gaming activities), slot ma-
chine licensees and employees thereof may not be liable
for damages in any civil action, which is based on the
following:

(1) Failure to withhold gaming privileges from or re-
store gaming privileges to a self-excluded person.

(2) Permitting or not permitting a self-excluded person
to gamble.

(3) Good faith disclosure of the identity of a self-
excluded person to someone, other than those authorized
by this chapter, for the purpose of complying with this
chapter.

(f) A slot machine licensee shall report the discovery of
a self-excluded person on the gaming floor or engaging in
gaming activities to the Board within 3 days in a form
and manner prescribed by the Board.
§ 503.6. Removal from self-exclusion list.

(a) A self-excluded person may, upon the expiration of
the period of self exclusion, request removal of the
person’s name from the self-exclusion list by submitting a
completed request for removal as required by subsections
(b) and (c).

(b) A request for removal from the self-exclusion list
must be in a form prescribed by the Board. The form
must include:

(1) The identifying information specified in § 503.3(c)
(1)—(7) (relating to request for self exclusion).

(2) The signature of the person requesting removal
from the self-exclusion list indicating acknowledgment of
the following statement:

‘‘I certify that the information that I have provided
above is true and accurate. I am aware that my
signature below constitutes a revocation of my previ-
ous request for self exclusion, and I authorize the
Board to permit all slot machine licensees of the
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania to reinstate my gam-
ing privileges at licensed facilities.’’
(c) The request shall be submitted to a location desig-

nated by the Board. A person submitting a request for
removal from the self-exclusion list shall be required to
present a valid government-issued photo identification
containing the person’s signature when the request is
submitted. No sooner than 5 business days after the
request is submitted, the person submitting the request
shall:

(1) Return to the Board office where the request was
filed.

(2) Present a valid government-issued photo identifica-
tion containing the person’s signature.

(3) Sign the request a second time.
(d) Within 5 business days after the request is signed

for a second time, the Board will delete the name of the
person requesting removal from the self-exclusion list and
notify each slot machine licensee of the removal.
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§ 503.7. Exceptions to the prohibition from being on
the gaming floor for individuals on the self-
exclusion list.

The prohibition against allowing self-excluded persons
to be on the gaming floor does not apply to an individual
who is on the self-exclusion list if all of the following
apply:

(1) The individual is carrying out the duties of employ-
ment or incidental activities related to employment.

(2) The slot machine licensee’s security department and
the Board’s office located at the licensed facility have
received prior notice.

(3) Access to the gaming floor is limited to the time
necessary to complete the individual’s assigned duties.

(4) The individual does not otherwise engage in any
gaming activities.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 06-2514. Filed for public inspection December 22, 2006, 9:00 a.m.]
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