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THE COURTS

Title 204—JUDICIAL
SYSTEM GENERAL
PROVISIONS

PART Il. GENERAL ADMINISTRATION
[ 204 PA. CODE CH. 29]

In Re: Promulgation of Financial Regulations Pur-
suant to 42 Pa.C.S. § 3502(a); No. 333 Judicial
Doc.

Order

Per Curiam:

And now, this 10th day of September, 2009 it is
Ordered pursuant to Article V, Section 10(c) of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania and Section 3502(a) of the
Judicial Code, 42 Pa.C.S. § 3502(a), that the Court
Administrator of Pennsylvania is authorized to promul-
gate the attached Financial Regulations. The fees out-
lined in the Financial Regulations are effective as of
January 1, 2010.

To the extent that notice of proposed rule-making may
be required by Pa.R.J.A. No0.103, the immediate promul-
gation of the regulations is hereby found to be in the
interests of efficient administration.

This Order is to be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(b) and is effective immediately.

Annex A

TITLE 204. JUDICIAL SYSTEM GENERAL
PROVISIONS

PART II. GENERAL SYSTEM PROVISIONS
CHAPTER 29. MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS

TITLE 42. JUDICIARY AND JUDICIAL
PROCEDURE

CHAPTER 35. BUDGET AND FINANCE

TITLE 42. JUDICIARY AND JUDICIAL
PROCEDURE

PART IV. FINANCIAL MATTERS
CHAPTER 17. GOVERNANCE OF THE SYSTEM
CHAPTER 35. BUDGET AND FINANCE
Subchapter A. General Provisions

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court, pursuant to Art. V,
§ 10 of the Pennsylvania Constitution, and 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 1721, has authorized the Court Administrator of Penn-
sylvania to promulgate regulations relating to the ac-
counting methods to be utilized in connection with the
collection of fees and costs charged and collected by
prothonotaries, and clerks of courts of all courts of

common pleas, or by any officials designated to perform
the functions thereof, as well as by the minor judiciary,
including magisterial district judges, Philadelphia Mu-
nicipal Court and Philadelphia Traffic Court.

Under authority of said Administrative Order and
pursuant to the authority vested in the governing author-
ity under Section 3502(a) of the Judicial Code, 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 3502(a), the following regulations are adopted to imple-
ment Act 113 of 2001, 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 1725.1(f) and
3571(c)(4)(as amended).

42 Pa.C.S. § 1725.1. Costs.

(a) Civil cases.—In calendar year 2010, the costs to
be charged by magisterial district judges in every civil
case, except as otherwise provided in this section, shall be
as follows:

(1) Actions involving $500 or less ............ $46.00
(2) Actions involving more than $500 but not

more than $2,000 ............. ... ... ... ... ..... $61.00
(3) Actions involving more than $2,000 but not

more than $4,000 ........... ... ... ... ... ... .... $76.50
(4) Actions involving more than $4,000 but not

more than $8,000 ............ .. ... ... ... ... .. $114.50
(5) Landlord-tenant actions involving less than

82,000 ..o $69.00
(6) Landlord-tenant actions involving more

than $2,000 but not more than $4,000 .......... $84.00
(7) Landlord-tenant actions involving more

than $4,000 but not more than $8,000 .......... $114.50
(8) Order of execution ...........oeeeeeunnn.. $34.50
(9) Objectiontolevy .............coovvinn... $15.50
(10) Reinstatement of complaint ............. $8.00
(11) Entering Transcript on Appeal or

CertioTari « . v vttt e e e $4.00

Said costs shall not include, however, the cost of
postage and registered mail which shall be borne by the
plaintiff.

(a.1) Custody cases.—In calendar year 2010, the cost
(in addition to the cost provided by general rule) to be
charged by the court of common pleas shall be as follows:

(1) Custody cases, except as provided in
section 1725(C)(2)(V) w vt $7.00

(b) Criminal cases.—In calendar year 2010, the costs
to be charged by the minor judiciary or by the court of
common pleas where appropriate in every criminal case,
except as otherwise provided in this section, shall be as
follows:

(1) Summary conviction, except motor vehicle

CASES .+ttt ettt e $43.50
(2) Summary conviction, motor vehicle cases,

other than paragraph (3) ....................... $34.50
(3) Summary conviction, motor vehicle cases,

hearing demanded ............................. $41.50
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(4) MisSdemeanor . ........ueeeeuneneeennn.. $50.00
(B) Felony .........cooiiiiiiiiiia... $57.50

Such costs shall not include, however, the cost of
postage and registered mail which shall be paid by the
defendant upon conviction.

(c) Unclassified costs or charges.—In calendar year
2010, the costs to be charged by the minor judiciary in
the following instances not readily classifiable shall be as
follows:

(1) Entering transcript of judgment from
another member of the minor judiciary ......... $8.00

(2) Marrying each couple, making record
thereof, and certificate to the parties............ $38.50

(3) Granting emergency relief pursuant to 23
Pa.C.S. Ch. 61 (relating to protection from

ADUSE) o e e et e e $15.50
(4) Issuing a search warrant (except as

provided in subsection (d)) ..................... $15.50
(5) Any other issuance not otherwise provided

in this subsection .............................. $15.50

42 Pa.C.S. § 3571. In calendar year 2010, Common-
wealth portion of fines, etc.

k ok ok

(2) Amounts payable to the Commonwealth:
(1) Summary conviction, except motor vehicle

CASES o ettt et e e $15.30
(i1) Summary conviction, motor vehicle cases

other than subparagraph Gii) ................... $15.30
(ii1) Summary conviction, motor vehicle cases,

hearing demanded ............................. $15.30
(iv) Misdemeanor ..................cccouu.... $20.00
(V) Felony .......cooiuiiiiiiiiiiiii... $30.70
(vi) Assumpsit or trespass involving:
(A) $500 0T 1€SS oo v v $19.20
(B) More than $500 but not more than $2,000 . $30.50
(C) More than $2,000 but not more than

$4,000 .. $45.90
(D) More than $4,000 but not more than

$8,000 . ... $76.35
(vii) Landlord-tenant proceeding involving:
(A) $2,000 0r1ess ......oiiiiiii $30.70
(B) More than $2,000 but not more than

$4,000 ... $38.15
(C) More than $4,000 but not more than

$8,000 ...\ttt $53.45
(viii) Objectiontolevy ....................... $7.75
(ix) Order of execution ..........coouveeeen... $23.00
(x) Issuing a search warrant (except as

provided in section 1725.1(d)(relating to costs)) .. $10.85
(xi) Order of possession ...................... $15.00

(xii) Custody cases (except as provided in
section 1725(c)(2)(V)) « v v $5.60

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 09-1768. Filed for public inspection September 25, 2009, 9:00 a.m.]

PART VII. ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF
PENNSYLVANIA COURTS

[ 204 PA. CODE 211 ]

Promulgation of Consumer Price Index Pursuant
to 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 1725.1(f) and 3571(c)(4) Doc.
No. 332

Order
Per Curiam:

And now, this 10th day of September, 2009, it Ordered
pursuant to Article V, Section 10(c) of the Constitution of
Pennsylvania and Section 3502(a) of the Judicial Code, 42
Pa.C.S. § 3502(a), that the Court Administrator of Penn-
sylvania is authorized to obtain and publish in the
Pennsylvania is authorized to obtain and publish in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin the percentage increase in the
Consumer Price index for calendar year 2008 as required
by Act 113 of 2001, 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 1725.1(f) and 3571(c)(4)
(as amended).

Annex A

TITLE 204. JUDICIAL SYSTEM GENERAL
PROVISIONS

PART VII. ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF
PENNSYLVANIA COURTS

CHAPTER 211. CONSUMER PRICE INDEX

Pursuant to Article V, Section 10 of the Pennsylvania
Constitution, and 42 Pa.C.S. § 1721, the Supreme Court
has authorized the Court Administrator of Pennsylvania
to obtain and publish in the Pennsylvania Bulletin on or
before November 30 the percentage increase in the Con-
sumer Price Index for calendar year 2008 as required by
Act 113 of 2001, 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 1725.1(f) and 3571(c)(4)(as
amended). See, No. 332 Judicial Administration Docket.

The Court Administrator of Pennsylvania reports that
the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index, All
Urban Consumers, U.S. City Average, for calendar year
2008 was .1% percent. (See, U.S. Department of Labor,
Bureau of Labor Statistics, Series CUUROOOOSAO, Feb-
ruary 26, 2009.)

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 09-1769. Filed for public inspection Sepember 25, 2009, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 207—JUDICIAL
DISCIPLINE

PART IV. COURT OF JUDICIAL DISCIPLINE
[ 207 PA. CODE CH. 5]

Amendment to the Rules of Procedure of the
Court of Judicial Discipline; Doc. No. 1 JD 94

Order
Per Curiam:

And Now, this 15th day of September, 2009, the Court,
pursuant to Article 5, Section 18(b)(4) of the Constitution
of Pennsylvania, having adopted amendments to Rule of
Procedure No. 502(D), as more specifically hereinafter set
forth, It Is Hereby Ordered:
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That the amendments to Rule 502(D) shall become
effectively immediately.

STEWART L. KURTZ,
President Judge

Annex A
TITLE 207. JUDICIAL CONDUCT
PART IV. COURT OF JUDICIAL DISCIPLINE

ARTICLE II. PROCEEDINGS BASED ON THE
FILING OF FORMAR CHARDGES

CHAPTER 5. TRIAL PROCEDRUES

Rule 502. Trial. Stipulations of Fact. Conclusions of
Law. Withdrawal of Complaints or Withdrawal of
Counts.

& * b * *

D. Stipulations of Fact.

(1) In lieu of a trial, the parties may submit to the
Court stipulations as to all facts necessary to a decision of
the issues in the case. The stipulations shall be binding
upon the parties and may be adopted by the Court as the
facts of the case upon which a decision shall be rendered.
When submitted, the stipulations shall be accompanied
by a signed waiver of any right to trial granted under the
Constitution and the Rules of this Court.

(2) The parties may submit stipulations as to issues of
fact, but which do not resolve all relevant issues in the
case. In this case, the parties shall be bound by the
stipulations and the Court may adopt them and proceed
to trial on all remaining factual issues.

(3) In the event the Court rejects stipulations submit-
ted under subsection (1) or (2) above, the Court shall
schedule a conference to determine whether the parties
shall be afforded the opportunity to submit revised stipu-
lations or whether the case should proceed to trial.

* * * * %

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 09-1770. Filed for public inspection September 25, 2009, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 237—JUVENILE RULES

PART I. RULES
[ 237 PA. CODE CHS. 1 AND 11]
In Re: Order Amending Rules 123 and 1123 of the

Rules of Juvenile Court Procedure; No. 479;
Supreme Court Rules Doc.

Order
Per Curiam

And Now, this 16th day of September, 2009, upon the
recommendation of the Juvenile Court Procedural Rules
Committee and an Explanatory Report to be published
with this Order:

It Is Ordered pursuant to Article V, Section 10 of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania that the modifications to
Rules 123 and 1123 are approved in the attached form.

This Order shall be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(b), and shall be effective immediately.

Annex A
TITLE 237. JUVENILE RULES
PART 1. RULES
Subpart A. DELINQUENCY MATTERS
CHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS
Rule 123. Subpoenas.
A. Contents. A subpoena in a delinquency case shall:

1) order the witness named to appear before the court
at the date, time, and place specified;

2) order the witness to bring any items identified or
described,;

3) state on whose behalf the witness is being ordered to
testify; and

4) state the identity, address, and phone number of the
person who applied for the subpoena.

B. Service.

1) Method of Service. A subpoena shall be served upon
a witness by:

a) in-person delivery;

b) registered or certified mail, return receipt requested,
or

¢) by first-class mail.

2) Proof of Service. The following shall be prima facie
evidence of service of the subpoena:

a) A completed return receipt;
b) Hand signed receipt of personal delivery; or

¢) Affidavit of in-person delivery signed by a process
server.

C. Duration. A subpoena shall remain in force until the
end of a proceeding.

D. Bench Warrant. If any subpoenaed person fails to
appear for the hearing and the court finds that sufficient
notice was given, the judge may issue a bench warrant
pursuant to Rule 140.

E. Parental notification.

1) Generally. If a witness is a minor, the witness’s
guardian shall be:

a) notified that the minor has been subpoenaed; and
b) provided with a copy of the subpoena.

2) Exception. Upon prior court approval and good
cause shown, a subpoena may be served upon a minor
without such notification to the guardian. If and when
necessary, request for such prior court approval may be
obtained ex parte.

Comment

Prior to issuing a bench warrant for a minor, the judge
should determine if the guardian of the witness was
served. Nothing in these rules gives the guardians of
witnesses legal standing in the matter being heard by the
court or creates a right for witnesses to have their
guardians present. In addition, lack of required notice to
the guardian does not prevent the minor witness from
testifying. See Rule 140 for procedures on bench war-
rants.

For power to compel attendance, see 42 Pa.C.S. § 6333.
Nothing in this rule prohibits the court from holding a
contempt hearing. See In re Crawford, 360 Pa.Super. 36,
519 A.2d 978 (1987) for punishing juveniles for contempt.

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 39, NO. 39, SEPTEMBER 26, 2009



THE COURTS 5545

Any person may file a motion to quash the subpoena for
a witness and/or for requested items. The court is to rule
on the motion prior to the production of the witness or
the items.

Official Note: Rule 123 adopted April 1, 2005, effec-
tive October 1, 2005. Amended February 26, 2008, effec-
tive June 1, 2008. Amended May 12, 2008, effective
immediately. Amended September 16, 2009, effective
immediately.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the provisions of Rule 123
published with the Court’s Order at 35 Pa.B. 2214 (April
16, 2005). Final Report explaining the amendments to
Rule 123 published with the Court’s Order at 38 Pa.B.
2360 (May 12, 2008). Final Report explaining the
amendments to Rule 123 published with the Court’s
Order at 39 Pa.B. 5544 (September 26, 2009).

Subpart B. DEPENDENCY MATTERS
Chapter 11. GENERAL
Rule 1123. Subpoenas.
A. Contents. A subpoena in a dependency case shall:

1) order the witness named to appear before the court
at the date, time, and place specified;

2) order the witness to bring any items identified or
described;

3) state on whose behalf the witness is being ordered to
testify; and

4) state the identity, address, and phone number of the
person who applied for the subpoena.

B. Service.

1) Method of Service. A subpoena shall be served upon
a witness by:

a) in-person delivery;

b) registered or certified mail, return receipt requested;
or

¢) first-class mail.

C. Duration. A subpoena shall remain in force until the
end of a proceeding.

D. Bench Warrant. If any subpoenaed person fails to
appear for the hearing and the court finds that sufficient
notice was given, the judge may issue a bench warrant
pursuant to Rule 1140.

E. Parental notification.

1) Generally. If a witness is a minor, the witness’s
guardian shall be:

a) notified that the minor has been subpoenaed; and
b) provided with a copy of the subpoena.

2) Exception. Upon prior court approval and good cause
shown, a subpoena may be served upon a minor without
such notification to the guardian. If and when necessary,
request for such prior court approval may be obtained ex
parte.

Comment

A subpoena is used to order a witness to appear and a
summons is issued to bring a party to the proceeding.

A subpoena duces tecum is to set forth with particular-
ity, the documents, records, or other papers to be pro-
duced at the hearing. The items sought are to be relevant
to the proceedings. See Rule 1340 on discovery, In re J.C.,
412 Pa.Super. 369, 603 A.2d 627 (1992), and In re A.H.,
763 A.2d 873 (Pa. Super. Ct. 2000) for production of
documents necessary to prepare for a hearing.

Prior to issuing a bench warrant for a minor, the judge
should determine if the guardian of the witness was
served. Nothing in these rules gives the guardians of
witnesses legal standing in the matter being heard by the
court or creates a right for witnesses to have their
guardians present. In addition, lack of required notice to
the guardian does not prevent the minor witness from
testifying. See Rule 1140 for procedures on bench war-
rants.

For power to compel attendance, see 42 Pa.C.S. § 6333.
Nothing in this rule prohibits the court from holding a
contempt hearing. See In re Crawford, 360 Pa. Super. 36,
519 A.2d 978 (1987) for punishment of contempt (chil-
dren). See also In re Griffin, 456 Pa.Super. 440, 690 A.2d
1192 (1997) (foster parents), Janet D. v. Carros, 240
Pa.Super. 291, 362 A.2d 1060 (1976) (county agency), and
In re Rose, 161 Pa.Super. 204, 54 A.2d 297 (1947)
(parents) for additional guidance on contempt for other
parties.

Any person may file a motion to quash the subpoena for
a witness and/or for requested items. The court is to rule
on the motion prior to the production of the witness or
the items.

Official Note: Rule 1123 adopted August, 21, 20086,
effective February 1, 2007. Amended May 12, 2008,
effective immediately. Amended March 19, 2009, effective
June 1, 2009. Amended September 16, 2009, effective
immediately.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the provisions of Rule 1123
published with the Court’s Order at 36 Pa.B. 5599
(September 2, 2006). Final Report explaining the amend-
ments to Rule 1123 published with the Court’s Order at
38 Pa.B. 2360 (May 12, 2008). Final Report explaining
the amendments to Rule 1123 published with the Court’s
Order at 39 Pa.B. 1614 (April 4, 2009). Final Report
explaining the amendments to Rule 1123 published
with the Court’s Order at 39 Pa.B. 5544 (September
26, 2009).

Introduction

The Supreme Court of Pennsylvania has adopted the
proposed changes to Rules 123 & 1123. The changes are
effective immediately.

Explanatory Report September 2009

Act 98 of 2008 amended § 6333 of the Juvenile Act
requiring that parents receive copies of their children’s
subpoenas.
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The amendments to these rules reflect this change in
the Juvenile Act by requiring that the guardian be given
a copy of the subpoena.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 09-1771. Filed for public inspection September 25, 2009, 9:00 a.m.]

PART I. RULES
[ 237 PA. CODE CHS. 16 AND 18]

In re: Order Amending Rules 1607 and 1800 of the
Rules of Juvenile Court Procedure; No. 480;
Supreme Court Rules; Doc.

Order
Per Curiam

And Now, this 16th day of September the proposal
having been published for public comment before adop-
tion at 39 Pa.B. 9 (January 3, 2009), in the Atlantic
Reporter (Second Series Advance Sheets, Vol. 960, No. 2,
January 9, 2009), and on the Supreme Court’s web-page,
and an Explanatory Report to be published with this
Order:

It Is Ordered pursuant to Article V, Section 10 of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania that the modifications to
Rules 1607 and 1800 are approved in the attached form.

This Order shall be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(b), and shall be effective immediately.

Annex A
TITLE 237. JUVENILE RULES

CHAPTER 16. POST-DISPOSITIONAL
PROCEDURES

PART B. PERMANENCY HEARING

Rule 1607. Regular Scheduling of Permanency
Hearings.

A. Thirty days. The court shall conduct permanency
hearings within thirty days of:

1) an adjudication of dependency at which the court
determined that aggravated circumstances exist and that
reasonable efforts to prevent or eliminate the need to
remove the child from the child’s guardian or to preserve
and reunify the family need not be made or continue to be
made;

2) a permanency hearing at which the court deter-
mined that aggravated circumstances exist and that
reasonable efforts to prevent or eliminate the need to
remove the child from the child’s guardian or to preserve
and reunify the family need not be made or continue to be
made and the permanency plan for the child is incomplete
or inconsistent with the court’s determination;

3) an allegation that aggravated circumstances exist
regarding a child who has been adjudicated dependent; or

4) a motion alleging that the hearing is necessary to
protect the safety or physical, mental, or moral welfare of
a dependent child.

B. Six months. The court shall conduct a permanency
hearing within six months of:

1) the date of the child’s removal from the child’s
guardian for placement pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6324 or
6332, or pursuant to a transfer of legal custody, or other
disposition pursuant to Rule 1515, whichever is earliest;

or 2) each previous permanency hearing until the child is
[returned to the child’s guardian or] removed from the
jurisdiction of the court pursuant to Rule 1613.

Comment
See 42 Pa.C.S. § 6351(e)(3).

Paragraph (A) provides when permanency hear-
ings are to be held within thirty days. If the
requirements of paragraph (A) do not apply, the
court is to hold a permanency hearing every six
months in every case until the child is removed
from the jurisdiction of the court pursuant to
paragraph (B). This includes cases when the child
is not removed from the home or the child was
removed and subsequently returned to the guard-
ian, but the child is under the court’s supervision.

See Rule 1800(11).

Official Note: Rule 1607 adopted August[ , ] 21, 2006,
effective February 1, 2007. Amended September 16, 2009,
effective immediately.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the provisions of Rule 1607
published with the Court’s Order at 36 Pa.B. 5599
(September 2, 2006). Final Report explaining the amend-
ments to Rule 1607 published with the Court’s Order at
39 Pa.B. (September 23, 2009).

CHAPTER 18. SUSPENSIONS
Rule 1800. Suspensions of Acts of Assembly.

This rule provides for the suspension of the following
Acts of Assembly that apply to dependency proceedings
only:

1) The Act of July 9, 1976, P. L. 586, No. 142, § 2, 42
Pa.C.S. § 6335(c), which provides for the issuance of
arrest warrants if the child may abscond or may not
attend or be brought to a hearing, is suspended only
insofar as the Act is inconsistent with Rule 1124, which
requires a summoned person to fail to appear and the
court to find that sufficient notice was given.

2) The Act of July 9, 1976, P. L. 586, No. 142, § 2, 42
Pa.C.S. § 6336(c), which provides that if a proceeding is
not recorded, full minutes shall be kept by the court, is
suspended only insofar as the Act is inconsistent with
Rules 1127(A) & 1242(B)(2), which requires all proceed-
ings to be recorded, except for shelter care hearings.

3) The Act of July 9, 1976, P. L. 586, No. 142, § 2, 42
Pa.C.S. § 6311(b)(9), which provide that there is not a
conflict of interest for the guardian ad litem in communi-
cating the child’s wishes and the recommendation relat-
ing to the appropriateness and safety of the child’s
placement and services necessary to address the child’s
needs and safety, is suspended only insofar as the Act is
inconsistent with Rule 1151, which allows for appoint-
ment of separate legal counsel and a guardian ad litem
when the guardian ad litem determines there is a conflict
of interest between the child’s legal interest and best
interest.

4) The Act of July 9, 1976, P. L. 586, No. 142, § 2, 42
Pa.C.S. § 6337, which provides that counsel must be
provided unless the guardian is present and waives
counsel for the child, is suspended only insofar as the Act
is inconsistent with Rule 1152, which does not allow a
guardian to waive the child’s right to counsel and a child
may not waive the right to a guardian ad litem.
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5) The Act of July 9, 1976, P. L. 586, No. 142, § 2, 42
Pa.C.S. § 6305(b), which provides that the court may
direct hearings in any case or classes of cases be con-
ducted by the master, is suspended only insofar as the Act
is inconsistent with Rule 1187, which allows masters to
hear only specific classes of cases.

6) The Act of July 9, 1976, P. L. 586, No. 142, § 2, 42
Pa.C.S. § 6324, which authorizes law enforcement officers
to take a child into custody, is suspended only insofar as
the Act is inconsistent with Rule 1202, which provides for
police officers taking a child into custody.

7) The Act of July 9, 1976, P. L. 586, No. 142, § 2, 42
Pa.C.S. § 6331, which provides for the filing of a petition
with the court within twenty-four hours or the next
business day of the admission of the child to shelter care,
is suspended only insofar as the Act is inconsistent with
the filing of a petition within twenty-four hours or the
next business day from the shelter care hearing if the
child is in protective custody under Rules 1242 and
1330(A).

8) The Act of July 9, 1976, P. L. 586, No. 142, § 2, 42
Pa.C.S. § 6334, which provides that any person may
bring a petition, is suspended only insofar as the Act is
inconsistent with Rules 1320, 1321, and 1330, which
provide that the county agency may file a petition and
any other person shall file an application to file a
petition.

9) The Act of December 19, 1990, P. L. 1240, No. 206,
§ 2, 23 Pa.C.S. § 6339, which provides for the confidenti-
ality of reports made pursuant to the Child Protective
Services Law, 23 Pa.C.S. § 6301 et seq., is suspended only
insofar as the Law is inconsistent with Rule 1340(B)(1)(e),
which provides for the disclosure of such reports if the
reports are going to be used as evidence in a hearing to
prove dependency of a child.

10) The Act of July 9, 1976, P. L. 586, No. 142, § 2, 42
Pa.C.S. § 6335, which provides that a copy of the petition
is to accompany a summons, is suspended only insofar as
the Act is inconsistent with Rule 1360, which provides
that the summons is to include a copy of the petition
unless the petition has been previously served.

11) The Act of July 9, 1976, P. L. 586, No. 142, § 2,
42 Pa.C.S. § 6351(e)(3)(i)(B), which provides for per-
manency hearings within six months of each previ-
ous permanency hearing until the child is returned
home or removed from the jurisdiction of the court,
is suspended only insofar as the Act is inconsistent
with Rule 1607, which requires permanency hear-
ings in all cases until the child is removed from the
jurisdiction of the court.

Comment

The authority for suspension of Acts of Assembly is
granted to the Supreme Court by Article V § 10(c) of the
Pennsylvania Constitution. See also Rule 1102.

Official Note: Rule 1800 adopted August[ , 121, 2006,
effective February 1, 2007. Amended September 16,
2009, effective immediately.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the provisions of Rule 1800
published with the Court’s Order at 36 Pa.B. 5599
(September 2, 2006). Final Report explaining the
amendments to Rule 1800 published with the
Court’s Order at 39 Pa.B. ( , 2009).

Introduction

The Supreme Court of Pennsylvania has adopted the
proposed changes to Rules 1607 and 1800. The changes
are effective immediately.

EXPLANATORY REPORT
September 2009

It was brought to the Committee’s attention that courts
are not reviewing cases in which the child either was not
removed from the home or the child was removed and
subsequently returned to the guardian, but the depen-
dency case has not been terminated pursuant to Rule
1613.

Although the Juvenile Act provides for hearings in
these cases, some counties disputed whether they were
required to conduct such hearings.

Section 6351(e)(3)(1)(B) provides that the court shall
conduct permanency hearings within six months of each
previous permanency hearing until the child is returned
to the child’s guardian or removed from the jurisdiction of
the court. See 42 Pa.C.S. § 6351(e)(3)(1)(B).

The adopted modifications to Rule 1607 provides for
permanency hearings every six months in every case.
This change of language clearly sets forth the standard
for hearings in all cases so it is not confusing to the court
or practitioner. If a child is under the court’s supervision
and living at home, the court shall review those cases to
determine whether the situation that brought the child
under the court’s supervision has been resolved, whether
the goals of the permanency plan are being met, and
whether supervision continues to be necessary.

It was never intended that the court could have
children under its supervision and not review those cases.
If the court does not need to supervise the case, then the
case should be closed pursuant to Rule 1613.

When the child has been removed from the home, the
court shall continue to conduct permanency hearings and
make findings consistent with 42 Pa.C.S. § 6351(f) &
(f.1).

To ensure compliance with this change, Rule 1800 (11)
suspends the Juvenile Act only insofar as it is inconsis-
tent with this rule change.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 09-1772. Filed for public inspection September 25, 2009, 9:00 a.m.]

DISCIPLINARY BOARD OF
THE SUPREME COURT

Notice of Administrative Suspension

Notice is hereby given that the following attorneys have
been Administratively Suspended by Order of the Su-
preme Court of Pennsylvania dated August 6, 2009, under
Rule 111(b) Pa.R.C.L.E., which requires that every active
lawyer shall annually complete, during the compliance
period for which they are assigned, the continuing legal
education required by the Continuing Legal Education
Board. The Order became effective September 5, 2009, for
Compliance Group 3 due December 31, 2008.

Notice with respect to attorneys having Pennsylvania
registration addresses, which have been transferred to
inactive status by said Order, was published in the
appropriate county legal journal.
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Allen, David Alexander
Oak Brook, IL

Bendall, Jennifer L.
Middletown, VA

Bishow, Lauren Estee
Los Angeles, CA

Bohn, Theodore R.
New York, NY

Bounds, Bruce M.
Miami, FL

Carter, Michelle Alicia
Troy, MI

Chernosky, David Joseph
Westlake, OH

Cindrich Jr., Frank John
Arlington, VA

Cohen, Philice Krevolin
Skillman, NJ

Console, Richard P.
Mount Laurel, NJ
D’Arrigo, Cristen Philip
Bridgeton, NJ

Daitz, Jeffrey Michael
River Edge, NJ

DeSumma, Shannon Dawn
Mount Laurel, NJ
Degnan, Philip J.
Pennsauken, NJ

Evans, Mechelle
Morristown, NJ

Gandhi, Samir R.
Metuchen, NJ

Gibson, Christopher R.
Haddonfield, NJ

Glason, Joyce E.
Saint Croix, Virgin Islands

Hally, Jennifer Leigh
Florham Park, NJ

Hauck, Bryan Glen
New Castle, DE

Healey, William Henry
Rumson, NJ

Hemming, Keith Robert
Newark, NJ

Holt, Jason
East Orange, NJ

Ivery, Nicole Thompson
Columbia, SC

Johnston, Nancy Babick
San Diego, CA

Latsko, John M.

Dublin, OH

Manesis, Dennis J.
Chicago, IL

Markey, Nancy Pennington
White Plains, NY

McKinley, Karen Marie
Washington, DC

THE COURTS

Mitchell, Suzanne M.
Austin, TX

Moores, Elizabeth C.
Arlington, VA
Moubry, James Grant
Saint Louis, MO

Nappen, Evan Feit
Eatontown, NdJ

Pacheco, Beatrice
Arlington, VA
Peery II, Gordon F.
Boston, MA

Quigley, Marissa Lenore
Princeton, NJ

Rich, Archie Leon
Washington, DC

Scott, Mark Edward
Alpharetta, GA

Suber, Elke Flores
Redmond, WA

Viggiano, Monica Michelle
Haddonfield, NJ

Walker, Stephen Mitchell
Chattanooga, TN

West Jr., Thomas C.
Washington, DC

White, Francine Monique
Marlton, NJ

Woods, Wendy Zoe
Arlington, VA

SUZANNE E. PRICE,
Attorney Registrar
The Disciplinary Board of the
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 09-1773. Filed for public inspection September 25, 2009, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 255—LOCAL
COURT RULES

BUTLER COUNTY

Local Rules of Court; MsD No. 09-40249; Adminis-
trative Order of Court

Administrative Order of Court

And Now, this 9th day of September, 2009, it is hereby
ordered and decreed that Local Rules of Court listed
below pertaining to Family Court, adopted February 1,
2007 are hereby amended:

¢ L1915.4-1—Continuances of Conciliation Conferences
or Custody Hearings, Refunds, Unexcused Failure to
attend Conference.

¢ L1915.7—Custody Conciliation Conference Consents
and Recommendations.

¢ 1.1915.10—Request for Pretrial Conference. Pretrial
Conference. Decision.
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These amendments are effective thirty days after publi-
cation of this notice and the within Amendments to Local
Rules in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

It is further ordered and directed new Local Rules
L1915.11, L1915.18 and L1930.2 are hereby Adopted.
These Local Rules shall be effective thirty days after
publication of this notice and the within Local Rules of
Civil Procedure in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

The Court directs the Court Administrator to:

1. File seven (7) certified copies of the Administrative
Order and the within Local Rules of Civil Procedure with
the Administrative Office of the Pennsylvania Courts.

2. File two (2) certified copies of this Administrative
Order and the within Local Rules of Civil Procedure and
one (1) diskette with the Legislative Reference Bureau for
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

3. File one (1) certified copy of this Administrative
Order and the within Local Rules of Civil Procedure with
the Domestic Relations Procedural Rules Committee.

4. Forward one (1) copy of this Administrative Order
and the within Local Rules of Civil Procedure to the
Administrative Order of the Butler County Legal Journal
for publication.

5. Forward one (1) copy of this Administrative Order
and the within Local Rules of Civil Procedure to the
Butler County Law Library.

6. Keep continuously available for public inspection
copies of this Administrative Order of Court and the
within Local Rules of Court in the Office of the Butler
County Prothonotary, the Butler County Domestic Rela-
tions Section and the Office of the Court Administrator.

By the Court

THOMAS J. DOERR,
President Judge

Explanatory Comment—2009 Amendments
Children’s Fast Track Appeals

On January 13, 2009, the Supreme Court amended the
appellate court rules, designating special procedures and
compressed deadlines in appeals from any order involving
dependency, termination of parental rights, adoptions,
custody or paternity. Such appeals are now known as
“children’s fast track appeals.”

As the term implies, children’s fast track appeals are to
be processed more quickly than other appeals. A compre-
hensive recitation of all of the shortened deadlines associ-
ated with children’s fast track appeals is beyond the scope
of this comment. However, one of the rule changes invites
a local rule response, specifically, that the Certified
Record is to be transmitted to the appellate court within
30 days after the appeal is filed, instead of the normal 60
days.

This change places a premium on rapid transcription of
the trial testimony. Pa.R.A.P. 904(c) already requires that
an Order for Transcript accompany the filing of the
Appeal, and that the Order for Transcript be served on
the court reporter by the appellant. Rule of Judicial
Administration 5006 authorizes court reporters to require
deposits towards the estimated cost of transcription, and
specifically authorizes the adoption of local rules specify-
ing the recipients of those deposits. Court reporters are
authorized to retain completed transcripts until payment
is fully made or adequate security for payment posted.

At this time, the court chooses to exercise its local rule
making authority in an effort to abet the intention of the
children’s fast track appeal rule changes, to insure timely
payment of transcription expenses in such cases, and to
clarify for the bar the appropriate procedure to be
followed when ordering transcripts for children’s fast
track appeals in Butler County.

The new appellate rules relating to children’s fast track
appeals apply to a variety of cases outside the context of
existing local rules, such as dependency and termination
of parental rights. Rather than set up additional rule sets
for each type of matter affected, and separately amending
each set of existing rules affected, the decision was made
to add a single Local Rule 1930.2 which would have
global effect in all matters affecting children, including
those encompassed within the definition of children’s fast
track appeals.

Custody Rule Changes

For some years there has been a trend toward requir-
ing courts to dispose of custody matters efficiently, albeit
with due regard for the need to conduct a searching
inquiry into the facts. One aspect of that inquiry which
the court invariably finds helpful is the input of court
appointed evaluators. The local rules adopted in 2006
attempted to insure that evaluator’s reports would be
available to the parties in time for the pretrial conference.
This has not always occurred because the evaluators have
not always been informed of the pretrial conference date
in a timely fashion. A simple rule change requiring notice
by the prothonotary, to the evaluator, of the date of the
pre-trial conference addresses this problem. The protho-
notary is also charged with sending the evaluator any
order scheduling a custody trial.

Another “housekeeping” change involves requests for
refunds of conciliator fees, when the parties settle prior to
conciliation. Although refunds are not required by rule or
law, they have been customarily granted as a matter of
course; however, there comes a point in time when too
long delayed refunds adversely affect budgeting consider-
ations within the judicial system and related consider-
ations within the county budget office. Therefore, the
court elects to impose a time limit within which a party
seeking a refund of the conciliator’s fees must apply for
that refund.

A new rule provides that if the moving party to a
custody action fails to appear at a conciliation conference,
the conciliator will so report, and the action will be
dismissed of record.

Another new rule clarifies the court’s ability to require
deposits from time to time to insure that guardian’s ad
litem are paid in a timely fashion and without the
necessity for collection procedures.

The conciliator’s office and the court have received
questions from custody evaluators concerning fee arrange-
ments for in-court testimony, refunds or partial refunds
when the case settles before the testimony is given, and
the availability of the evaluators to counsel for the
parties, both during the evaluations and between the
release of the evaluator’s report and trial. The court is
somewhat reluctant to address such matters by hard and
fast rules, as the circumstances often vary significantly
from case to case, and different evaluators have different
preferences. However, certain principles do apply.

Counsel should not initiate contact with an evaluator
after the evaluation is ordered for any purpose which
could be construed as attempting to influence the course
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or outcome of the evaluation. Any such contact should be
reported to the conciliator’s office, and by the conciliator
to the court.

Evaluators should provide the conciliator’s office with a
schedule of fees for the evaluation and for trial testimony.
Such fees should provide a daily rate and a half day rate
and the time, prior to trial, by which payment will be
required to secure the evaluator’s availability in court.
Both the daily rate and half day rate should include time
for a 1 hour telephone or in-person preparation session
with counsel who will be a proponent of the evaluator’s
report at trial. The cost of additional preparation time, if
needed, is a contractual matter between the evaluator
and counsel. Advance preparation of the evaluator’s direct
testimony does assist the court by insuring a well thought
out presentation. The evaluator’s cancellation and refund
policies should also be stated in the fee schedule provided
to the conciliator’s office.

Although the amended rules insure that the evaluator
will be notified by the prothonotary of the scheduling of a
trial, it remains the responsibility of the party advocating
on behalf of the report to arrange for the evaluator’s
testimony at trial at the earliest possible date. The
evaluator is not expected to assume, merely because
he/she is notified of a trial date that his/her expert
testimony will be required.

The evaluator is not obligated to discuss the case with
the party or counsel who will not be advocating on behalf
of the report at trial; however, the evaluator may elect to
do so at least 10 days before trial, for a fee to be agreed
between the evaluator and the non-advocating party. In
such event, the evaluator should promptly provide an oral
summary of said conference to counsel for the party (or
the party, if unrepresented) advocating on behalf of the
report, at no additional charge to that party. If the
evaluator does not agree to speak with the party or
attorney opposing the evaluator’s report, or refuses to
read correspondence from either of them, such refusal will
not support an inference that the evaluator is biased
against such party or is uncertain of his/her conclusions
and opinions.

Finally, while it is legal to secure the attendance of any
witness, including an evaluator, through the compulsion
of a subpoena, to do so is essentially fruitless in terms of
compelling the witness to testify to the conclusions and
opinions set forth in the report. The witness can only be
required to state legally admissible facts—his/her expert
opinions cannot be compelled. Accordingly, potential pay-
ment problems should be addressed frankly and in ad-
vance with the evaluator so that, if possible, arrange-
ments can be made to secure his/her expert testimony at
trial. Counsel is encouraged to extend the professional
courtesy of granting as much time as possible to the
evaluator to ensure that the evaluator’s schedule can be
set to allow for testimony before the court. It remains
within the discretion of the trial court to determine if
sufficient notice has been provided to the evaluator to
permit appearance at trial.

L1915.4-1. Continuances of Conciliation Confer-
ences or Custody Hearings, Refunds, Unexcused
Failure to Attend Conference.

(a) Custody matters scheduled before the court, or in
the custody conciliators office shall be continued only by
leave of court, with good cause shown. General continu-
ances will not be granted. A date certain for the resched-
uled conference will be included in every order continuing
a conciliation conference. For a request for a continuance

to be considered, the motion shall be filed with the court
in accordance with local civil motions practice/procedure.

(b) Except in the case of a documented medical emer-
gency, or upon consent of both parties, motions to con-
tinue, cancel or withdraw a custody conciliation confer-
ence must be presented at least 10 days prior to the
scheduled conciliation.

(¢c) If the case is withdrawn from the conciliators
consideration prior to any conciliation conference occur-
ring, and the party paying the initial conciliators fee
seeks a refund thereof, he/she shall present a motion
requesting a refund not later than 10 days after the last
scheduled conciliation conference.*

(d) If the party seeking the imposition of an initial
custody order, or the modification of a custody order
already in existence, i.e. the moving party, fails to appear
at a scheduled custody conference, the court will dismiss
the case, and the conciliator’s fee will not be refunded.

Comment: Requests for refund presented more than
10 days after the conciliation conference will not be
granted. The intent of this rule is to process refunds in a
timely manner consistent with budgeting and accounting
needs of the judicial system and the county.

Comment: Butler County motions practice is described
in Rule L208.3(a).

L1915.7. Custody Conciliation Conference Consents
and Recommendations.

(a) All parties named in an action for custody shall be
present at the custody conciliation conference unless
excused by the custody conciliator. Failure of a party to
appear at the conference may result in the entry of a
custody or visitation order by the court on the recommen-
dation of the conciliator in the absence of that party.
Unless ordered by the court for good cause shown,
children shall not be brought to the conciliation and shall
not be heard on the issues by the conciliator.”®

(b) To facilitate the conciliation process and to encour-
age frank, open and meaningful exchanges between the
parties and their respective counsel, statements made by
the parties or their attorneys at the conference shall not
be admissible as evidence at a later custody hearing. The
custody conciliator shall not be a witness for or against
any party.

(¢) The court-appointed custody conciliator shall en-
courage consent agreements on the custody issues pend-
ing between/among the parties. If agreements are
reached, they shall be reduced to writing and submitted
to the court for adoption as an order. The parties will also
be encouraged to equitably divide the custody administra-
tive fee.

(d) If no consent agreement is reached, the conciliator
shall file a report with the court within five days of the
conference which may contain the following:

(1) recommendations that custody investigations, such
as physical or mental evaluations, home studies, drug and

5The previous Rule required children nine or older to attend the conference. The
children were not usually part of the mainstream conciliation process. Participation
was marginal and infrequent. School was missed. Only when both parties agreed to be
bound by a child’s stated preference did children’s participation become meaningful.
Bringing children to court, even the conciliator’s office, invited parties to lobby the
children for support at the expense of the other parent, often before the parents have
attended the educational seminar which discourages such conduct. Lobbying also
suggests to the children that their views may be more dispositive of the ultimate
custody determination than is in fact the case, and does little to promote agreements
or the orderly process of advancing those cases which are not resolved by agreement.
On balance, under the new Rule, the court has chosen to excuse children from most
conferences. If a party feels strongly that his/her child(ren) should attend, he/she may
present a motion setting forth the basis of that belief and requesting an order for
attendance.
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alcohol evaluations, counseling, and education seminars
be undertaken, as well as equitable division of the fees for
same. In order to ensure that all studies and evaluations
ordered, expert testimony supplied, and seminar atten-
dance occur without delay, the Order directing such
activities shall provide that each parties share of the
relevant fees be paid as allocated in the Order, subject to
reallocation at a later stage of the case as provided in
Rule L1915.4(c). A non-paying or non-participating party
shall be subject to the contempt powers of the court;

(2) conciliator’s review of jurisdiction, venue, standing
and relocation issues;

(3) progress, if any, on issues before the conciliator, as
well as any recommendations for temporary custody/
visitation orders, including the need for an expedited
hearing in emergency cases.

(4) recommendations concerning an equitable division
of the custody administrative fee among the parties.

) (5) recommendations that a case be diverted to counsel-
ing.

(6) scheduling of pre-trial conferences, or requesting
trial dates.

(e) As part of the order resulting from the initial
conciliation conference, custody cases will ordinarily® be
scheduled for a pre-trial within 120 days after service of
the initial pleading, in those cases when evaluations are
ordered by which time the evaluations are expected to be
completed and available. The initial conciliation order
shall also provide that the costs of any evaluations, home
studies or tests, including the cost of in-court testimony
needed to authenticate and explain expert reports of the
results thereof, shall be shared by the parties, initially as
allocated by the court in the post-conciliation order, but
subject to reallocation as part of the pre-trial conference
order and the final order in the case as the equities in the
case may dictate. In cases where no agreement is
reached, and no evaluations are ordered, and the case is
not diverted to counseling on the Conciliator’s recommen-
dation, either party may request a Pretrial Conference
within 30 days. See Rule L 1915.10, infra. A copy of the
order scheduling the pre-trial conference shall be mailed
to the custody evaluator by the prothonotary, to insure
that the evaluator’s report is available to counsel for the
parties at least 15 days prior to the pre-trial conference.*

(f) At the request of either party, the report under
subsection (d) shall be filed with the court before the
judge assigned to that case and presented at his/her
motion court. The parties and/or the attorneys shall be
informed at the conclusion of the conference of the date of
the applicable motion court session.

(g) Upon receipt of evaluation reports, the conciliator’s
office will make the same available to counsel of record,
or pro se litigants where applicable.”

6 Delays may occur for various reasons, most commonly the untimely submission of
court ordered custody evaluations. Custody evaluation reports are delayed for many
reasons, some of which include deliberate delay in scheduling or postponing meetings
with the evaluator or delay in the payment needed to secure release of the report, by a
party perceiving him/herself to benefit from the status quo. Other reasons for delay are
wholly innocent and beyond the control of either party, such as the press of other
duties upon the custody evaluator. The court firmly believes that delay in resolving
custody cases perpetuates stress on the parties and children involved, is harmful, and
is to be eliminated. Consequently, the parties are charged with the knowledge that a
finding of deliberate and unexcused conduct by him or her, which significantly delays
the trial of the case may adversely affect that party’s position in the litigation, because
dilatory conduct is itself harmful to the children.

The mandatory second conciliation contemplated in the prior rules is abandoned in
favor of more judicial involvement in the form of a pre-trial conference. The pre-trial
judge will determine if a second conciliation is likely to be helpful in resolving the case,
in which case he/she may direct one, or if the matter should proceed to trial.

Comment: The 2006 rule is restated here in its en-
tirety. The only change effected by the 2009 amendment
is the addition of the language in bold print added to
subsection (e).

L1915.10. Request for Custody Pretrial Conference.
Pretrial Conference. Decision.

(a) A party may request a Custody Pretrial Conference
anytime within 30 days after service of a Custody Order
issued as a result of a Conciliation Conference, in cases
where a comprehensive agreement is not reached at the
Conference. The moving party shall deliver the Request
to the chambers of the assigned judge for the scheduling
of a Pretrial Conference. Said request shall be served on
the opposing party, or counsel, if represented.® The
assigned Judge will transmit the completed Pretrial
Scheduling Order to the prothonotary for filing and
service.”

(b) The Request for Custody Pretrial Conference and
Scheduling Order shall be substantially as follows:
Caption

REQUEST FOR CUSTODY
PRETRIAL CONFERENCE

I, , hereby request a pretrial conference before the
Court of Common Pleas. This Request is being filed
within 30 days of the date of Service of the Custody
Order.

The issues to be considered are:

Relocation
Time/Length/Number of Visits
Primary Residence

Other:

VERIFICATION

I verify that the statements made in this request are
true and correct. I understand that false statements
herein are made subject to the penalties of 18 Pa.C.S.A.
§ 4904 relating to unsworn falsifications to authorities.

Date Signature of Petitioner or
Petitioner’s Counsel

Printed Name

Address

Telephone Number

Caption
SCHEDULING ORDER*

The above named parties and trial counsel are hereby
ordered to appear in person on , 20 at .m.
before the Honorable , in Courtroom in
the Butler County Government Center, for a Pretrial
Conference. Counsel or the parties, if unrepresented,
shall file a Pretrial Narrative at least seven days prior to
the Pretrial Conference. The parties are required to
attend the Pretrial Conference pursuant to Butler County
L 1915.10(d).

Seven days prior to the Pretrial Conference, each party
or counsel shall file and submit a Pretrial Narrative to
the chambers of the assigned judge. Copies shall be
served on all parties. If no Pretrial Narrative is filed, the
offending party may be fined or otherwise sanctioned by
the Court. The Pretrial Narrative shall include:

8 The requirement of service is a matter of courtesy. The “Request” contemplated by
the rule is in the nature of a Praecipe, requesting a ministerial act. The Court will not
entertain argument as to the propriety of a scheduling order. If an opposing party
believes that a Pretrial Conference is not appropriate, that party may present a motion
to vacate the scheduling order, at which time the issue may be argued.

Pursuant to Rule 1915.7(e) when Custody Evaluations have been ordered, a
Pretrial Conference is automatically scheduled and a Request need not be filed.
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(1) Names and addresses of all witnesses, including
experts;

(2) Summary of each witness’s anticipated testimony;
(3) Copies of all exhibits;
(4) Proposed custody arrangement;
(5) Requested stipulation of facts.
BY THE COURT:
Date: J.

(c) All parties and trial counsel shall be present at the
Pretrial Conference unless otherwise provided by Order of
Court. Failure of a party to appear at the Pretrial
Conference may result in the entry of a custody/visitation
order by the Court.

(d) Any agreement reached at the Pretrial Conference
shall be reduced to writing and entered as an order of
Court.

(e) The Court will enter an order scheduling a trial if
the case is not resolved at the Pre-trial Conference. The
prothonotary shall mail a copy of the trial scheduling
order to the evaluator appointed in the case.*

Comment: The language of the Scheduling Order will
also be found as part of the Order following conciliations
which result in evaluations.

Comment: The 2006 rule is restated here in its en-
tirety. The only change effected by the 2009 amendment
is the addition of the language in bold print added as
subsection (e).

L1915.11. Fees for Guardian ad litem.

(a) If the court imposes the cost of a guardian ad litem
against one or both of the parties, the court shall specify
an amount the responsible part(ies) shall pay to the
prothonotary as a deposit to cover the anticipated cost of
the guardian’s initial investigation of the case. The court
shall also specify the time within which such deposit is
due. A guardian ad litem may from time to time request
additional deposits by motion, presented in motions court.

L1915.18. Custody Evaluator’s Fee Schedules and
Communication Restrictions.

Every court appointed custody evaluator shall maintain
with the Butler County conciliator’s office a fee schedule
for in-court testimony, indicating at least %2 day and full
day fees. The evaluator’s advance deposit requirements
and cancellation/refund policies shall also be clearly
stated. Such fee schedule and policies may be amended
from time to time at the discretion of the evaluator.

Both before and after the submission of the evaluator’s
written report, counsel for the parties shall not be
permitted to communicate with the evaluator as to any
substantive issues, without the consent or direct partici-
pation of counsel for the other party. This prohibition
shall not prevent the evaluator from communicating with
counsel for the purpose of preparing to present the
evaluator’s in-court testimony in support of the evalu-
ator’s report.

L1930.2. Procedure for Fast Track Appeals.

Each party filing a children’s fast track appeal as
defined in Pa.R.A.P. 102 shall:

(A) Attach an Order for Transcript to the Notice of
Appeal; and

(B) Serve a copy of the Order for Transcript on the
court reporter(s) involved; and

(C) Within 3 days after written notice from the court
reporter of the estimated cost of transcript preparation,
post with the court reporter one half of the estimated
cost, unless proceeding in forma pauperis; and

(D) Within 3 days after written notice from the court
reporter that the transcript has been completed, pay to
the court reporter the full amount due for the costs of
preparation, or post security for payment in a form and
amount approved by the court, unless proceeding in
forma pauperis.

Upon payment of all costs for preparation of the
transcript (except in in forma pauperis cases), the court
reporter shall immediately file the transcript of testi-
mony. In in forma pauperis cases the transcript shall be
filed immediately upon its completion.

When cross-appeals are filed in children’s fast track
appeal cases, the court may allocate the transcript prepa-
ration costs between the parties, upon Motion of the first
appellant; however, the first appellant shall remain fully
responsible to timely pay all transcription costs unless
and until a ruling by the court allocates (or retroactively
reallocates) such costs between the parties.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 09-1774. Filed for public inspection September 25, 2009, 9:00 a.m.]

CHESTER COUNTY

In Re: Partial Payment Processing Fee for Sum-
mary Cases Filed in the Magisterial District
Courts of the Fifteenth Judicial District; No.
5-2009

Administrative Order

And Now, this 9th day of September, 2009, it is
Ordered, pursuant to the provisions of 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 1725.1(c)(5), relating to unclassified costs, a fifteen
dollars and fifty cents ($15.50) partial payment processing
fee to cover administrative costs related to such process-
ing, is hereby imposed for all summary cases within the
Magisterial District Courts of the Fifteenth Judicial Dis-
trict when the defendant in the summary case requests
and is permitted to make installment payments as pro-
vided in Pa.R.Crim.P. 409(C)(5), 414(C)(5), 424(C)(5),
454(F)(1) and 456(C)(3)(a).

It is Further Ordered that the assessed fee shall
increase annually based upon the increase of the Con-
sumer Price Index as provided for in Act 113 of 2001
which renews and extends authorization for annual court
costs and fee increases and was first provided for by Act
167 of 1992. The fee shall be rounded to the next fifty
cents ($.50) for purposes of accounting and operational
efficiency.

This Order shall take effect thirty (30) days after it’s
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin and shall apply
to all installment payment plans issued on or after the
effective date.

It is Further Ordered that:

One (1) certified copy of this Order shall be filed by the
Court Administrator of Chester County with the Adminis-
trative Office of Pennsylvania Courts;

Two (2) certified copies and a computer diskette shall
be filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau for publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin;
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And a copy shall be posted on the Unified Judicial
System’s web site.

By the Court

PAULA FRANCISCO OTT,
President Judge
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 09-1775. Filed for public inspection September 25, 2009, 9:00 a.m.]

ERIE COUNTY

In the Matter of the Revision and Restatement of
the Erie County Orphans’ Court Rules

Motion

And Now, this 18th day of August, 2009, comes the
Orphans’ Court Rules Committee of the Erie County Bar
Association, by and through its Chairperson, Raymond A.
Pagliari, Esq., and hereby moves this Honorable Court to
approve, adopt and promulgate the attached proposed and
recommended revisions and amendments to the Local
Orphans’ Court Rules of the Erie County Court of
Common Pleas, Sixth Judicial District, Erie, Pennsylva-
nia.

Respectfully Submitted,

RAYMOND A. PAGLIARI Jr., ESQ.,
Chairperson

Order

And Now, this 20th day of, August, 2009, upon consid-
eration of the foregoing Motion, it is hereby Ordered,
Adjudged and Decreed, that the Local Orphans’ Court
Rules of the Erie County Court of Common Pleas, Sixth
Judicial District, Erie, Pennsylvania are hereby Amended
and Revised in accordance with the annexed Motion.

Amended Rules are: Rules 6.10.1(g) and 6.14.
New Rule is: Rule 5.6.2.

Petitioner shall take all steps necessary to publish
these amendments in accordance with the applicable law.
Such amendments shall become effective thirty (30) days
after publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

ELIZABETH K. KELLY,
President Judge

RULE 6
ACCOUNTS AND DISTRIBUTIONS

6.10.1 Objections to Account, Audit Statement or
Statement of Proposed Distribution. Form, Notice
and Time.

(g) Within twenty days of filing an objection, the
objecting party or his/her attorney shall schedule a
hearing thereon pursuant to Erie L.R. 304 allowing ample
time for the objection to be heard. The accountant or
his/her attorney may (but is not required to) schedule a
hearing during the same period pursuant to the same
procedure. The party scheduling the hearing shall notify
all other parties and the Orphans’ Court Auditor of the
date and time thereof. Upon the failure of the objecting
party or his/her attorney to schedule a hearing within the
required time period and in the absence of the scheduling
of a hearing by the accountant or his/her attorney within
that same period then the accountant (or the court) may
(after issuance of “Notice of Default By Reason of Failure
to Schedule Hearing” and service thereof by delivery or

mail upon the objecting party or his/her attorney not less
than ten days prior) file a praecipe (or an order if the
notice was issued by the Court or at its direction) with
the Clerk of the Orphans’ Court to enter judgment of non
pros if a hearing has not been scheduled during the
ten-day period allowed in the Notice. Upon the entry of
such judgment the audit of the account shall proceed as if
the objection had not been filed. The Notice shall conform
to that provided under Pa.R.C.P. Rule 237.1 except that
the phrase “...you have failed to schedule a hearing
upon your objection...” shall be substituted for the
phrase “. ..you have failed to file a complaint...” and
the heading for the said notice shall be as stated above.
The Court’s Auditor may periodically identify accounts for
which objections have been filed and no hearing sched-
uled to the Court and send the Notice if so directed by the
Court.

6.14 Receipts for Disbursements.

Disbursement receipts or canceled checks of one thou-
sand dollars ($1,000.00), or more, or reproduced copies of
either, shall be presented with the account; except corpo-
rate fiduciaries in lieu thereof may file copies of their
ledger sheets showing disbursements. In the case of
inheritance taxes, bequests and distributive shares, all
receipts or canceled checks or reproduced copies of either
shall be filed with the account without regard to the
amount thereof.

If counsel for the fiduciary certifies that a receipt or
cancelled check executed by the distributee is not avail-
able despite good faith efforts to obtain same, a photocopy
of the front of the check accompanied by evidence of
payment by the bank shall be acceptable or alternative
verification at the discretion of the Orphans’ Court Audi-
tor.

With respect to deposits, expenses, purchases, and sales
made through an investment account with a broker,
insurance company, trust company, or similar entity, a
copy of the periodic statements furnished by said entity
shall constitute an acceptable evidence of such transac-
tions.

RULE 5
NOTICE

5.6.2 Procedures for Scheduling Hearings Upon Ob-
jections to Accounts and Dismissal of Objections
for Which No Hearing is Scheduled.

In the event that a decedent had attained the age of
fifty-five (55) years prior to his death, the Personal
Representative shall, not later than the last date for
service of notice required pursuant to State Rule 5.6,
serve notice upon the Department of Public Welfare
pursuant to 55 Pa. Code Chapter 258 “Medical Assistance
Estate Recovery” in accordance with the requirements of
the Code. Not later than ten days after the expiration of
the period for response under the regulations, the Fidu-
ciary shall file a Certificate of Service setting forth:

(a) The content of the notice by a copy thereof;
(b) The method of service;

(c) The date of service;

(d) A copy of any response received; or

(e) A statement of no response.
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