
RULES AND REGULATIONS
Title 49—PROFESSIONAL

AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
[ 49 PA. CODE CH. 21 ]

Clinical Nurse Specialists

The State Board of Nursing (Board) amends Chapter 21
by adding Subchapter H (relating to clinical nurse spe-
cialists) to read as set forth in Annex A.
Effective Date

The final-form rulemaking will be effective upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.
Statutory Authority

The final-form rulemaking is required under the act of
July 20, 2007 (P. L. 320, No. 49) (Act 49), which amended
The Professional Nursing Law (act) (63 P. S. §§ 211—
225.5) to authorize the Board to certify clinical nurse
specialists (CNSs) in accordance with statutory criteria,
to provide title protection for CNSs, to require CNSs to
complete continuing education to renew their certification
and to require CNSs to maintain professional liability
insurance.
Response to Comments

The proposed rulemaking was published at 38 Pa.B.
3246 (June 14, 2008). The Board received comments from
the Pennsylvania State Nurses Association (PSNA) and
the American Psychiatric Nurses Association of Pennsyl-
vania (APNA-PA). PSNA and APNA-PA suggested that
the Board should delete the reference to the National
Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) in
§ 21.811(1)(i) (relating to qualifications for initial certifi-
cation) and reference instead the National Organization
of Competency Assurance (NOCA). NOCA created the
National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) in
1987 as the organization that would bestow accreditation
under the NCCA’s Standards for the Accreditation of
Certification Programs. The Board rewrote proposed
§ 21.811 in this final-form rulemaking and deleted refer-
ences to certifying bodies.

The Board rewrote proposed § 21.811 in this final-form
rulemaking to make the section less convoluted and
easier to understand. The requirement that an applicant
hold a current, unrestricted registered nurse (RN) license
is consistent with requirements for certified registered
nurse practitioners (CRNPs). The requirement that an
applicant hold the appropriate degree is in section 8.5(a)
of the act (63 P. S. § 218.5(a)). These requirements are
now in subsections (a) and (b). Subsection (c) also applies
to applicants for whom current National certification is
available, mirroring section 8.5(a)(1) of the act. Subsec-
tion (c) also applies to an applicant who currently holds
National certification as a CNS. Subsection (d) applies to
applicants for whom National certification is not avail-
able, mirroring section 8.5(a)(2) of the act. As rewritten,
these applicants will be required to submit a letter from a
National certifying organization that demonstrates that
the applicant is not eligible to sit for a National certifica-
tion examination, a curriculum vitae, the employer’s job
description which evidences practice in the CNS role as

evaluated by the Board’s nursing practice advisors and a
letter verifying the applicant’s dates of employment to
show that the applicant has practiced at least 1,000 hours
in the CNS role in the past 5 years. Subsection (e)
mirrors section 8.5(a)(3) of the act.

Next, PSNA, APNA-PA and the National Association of
Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS) suggested that
§ 21.813(d)(1) (relating to application for certification)
does not take into consideration a CNS who does not have
access to official transcripts from the CNS’s educational
program. The Board understands that there may be a
rare exception of a CNS who does not have access to
official transcripts. In this case, the CNS may request a
waiver of this section under 1 Pa. Code § 35.18 (relating
to petitions for issuance, amendment, waiver or deletion
of regulations). The Board declines to specify this proce-
dure in this section, as it could be applicable to virtually
any provision of its regulations and it would be repetitive
to add a statement or cross reference to every provision to
which it might apply.

Third, the organizations recommended that CNSs be
given 18 months instead of 12 months to complete their
applications for certification under § 21.813(f). Every
other class of individuals licensed or certified by the
Board is subject to the 12-month limitation on completing
an application for licensure. The Board declines to set a
different time frame for completion of a CNS’s application
for certification.

Finally, APNA-PA recommended that § 21.813 should
not repeat section 8.6 of the act (63 P. S. § 218.6),
regarding scope of practice for a CNS, because the statute
is merely title recognition and does not confer scope of
practice on CNSs. Other organizations, specifically the
Pennsylvania Psychiatric Society (PPS) and Pennsylvania
Medical Society (PMS), commented that the statutory
section should be added to § 21.813. The Independent
Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) commented that
the final-form rulemaking ‘‘should include all require-
ments from the Act or justify why certain provisions are
being omitted.’’ Because the weight of comments sug-
gested including this statutory section, the Board decided
to add this language to the final-form rulemaking.

The Hospital and Healthsystem Association of Pennsyl-
vania (HAP) wrote in support of the overall direction
taken by the Board in the rulemaking. However, HAP
expressed concern that CNSs might be confused about the
different requirements for continuing education for RNs
and CNSs. Section 8.5(c)(2) of the act requires CNSs to
complete at least 30 hours of Board-approved continuing
education prior to biennial renewal of their certification.
The Board set forth its requirements for continuing
education in §§ 21.822—21.827. Because CNSs are edu-
cated at an advanced, master’s degree level, they are
more akin to CRNPs than RNs. Therefore, the Board
modeled the CNS continuing education provisions after
the existing CRNP continuing education provisions.

Specifically, HAP noted that the list of preapproved
courses for RNs is more expansive that those proposed for
CNSs. The list is equivalent to the list of preapproved
courses for CRNPs. HAP questioned whether a course
completed from the RN list that is not on the CNS list
would qualify for continuing education completed by the
CNS. Just as courses completed from the RN list that are
not on the CRNP list will not qualify for continuing
education completed by a CRNP, a course completed from
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the RN list that is not on the CNS list will not qualify for
continuing education completed by a CNS.

HAP next questioned why individual nurses or provid-
ers of RN continuing education shall submit their materi-
als to the Board 90 days prior to the beginning of the
activity but individual CNSs or providers of CNS continu-
ing education shall submit their materials to the Board
60 days prior to the beginning of the activity. There are
approximately 200,000 licensed RNs and the Board an-
ticipates only about 4,000 CNS licensees. The Board
allowed itself additional time to review requests for
approval regarding RN continuing education because
there is a higher likelihood that there will be substan-
tially more requests to consider for RN continuing educa-
tion than for CNS continuing education. Additionally, the
60-day time period is consistent with the time period
provided for individual CRNPs or providers of CRNP
continuing education.

HAP questioned why the RN continuing education
provisions allow for group or individual research but the
CNS provisions are silent regarding research. The Board
intended that research be creditable under § 21.825(e)
(relating to sources of continuing education) when the
research is published in a refereed journal or other
scholarly publication, similar to when research is credit-
able for CRNPs. Regarding this provision, HAP also noted
that the RN continuing education provisions do not allow
for publication in a refereed journal or other scholarly
publication. Again, the Board designed the CNS continu-
ing education regulations to be like the CRNP continuing
education regulations because CNSs and CRNPs are both
master’s prepared nurses. HAP recommended that the
Board clarify whether participation in a research project
is applicable to the CNS and CRNP. The Board deter-
mined that, as master’s prepared nurses, only published
research would be creditable.

HAP also noted the discrepancy between the CNS and
CRNP provisions with respect to the number of hours
that could be credited for service as a teacher or precep-
tor. The Board initially determined that CNS should be
able to obtain credit for more hours for these activities
because these activities are integral to the CNS role.
Upon consideration of HAP’s comment, and in a further
effort to coincide the CNS and CRNP provisions, the
Board amended § 21.825(e) to reduce the number of
hours that may be credited.

Finally, the Board notes that continuing education for
CNSs, like CRNPs, is well-developed because CNSs, like
CRNPS, complete extensive continuing education to main-
tain their National certification. For this additional rea-
son, the Board sought to draft similar regulations for
CNS and CRNP continuing education and to grant credit
consistent with the standards for continuing education for
maintenance of National certification.

NACNS suggested that the Board add a definition of
‘‘accepted’’ and amend its definition of ‘‘approved’’ to
indicate Board approval of offerings by entities in this
Commonwealth. Because ‘‘accepted’’ is not used in the
final-form rulemaking, it is not necessary to define the
term.

NACNS recommended phrasing ‘‘post-master’s degree
or certificate in nursing’’ in § 21.811(b) as ‘‘post-master’s
nursing degree.’’ Board staff has told the Board that
nursing schools may call what is awarded a post-master’s
certificate or a post-master’s degree. To ensure that all
eligible programs are included, the Board will retain the
post-master’s degree or certificate in nursing language.

NACNS recommended different language regarding
CNSs who are not eligible to take a National certification
examination or for whom no examination is available to
permit a CNS to ‘‘demonstrate eligibility through valida-
tion’’ by a credentialing organization. The Board believes
that the General Assembly intended, in this title protec-
tion legislation, to be as all-inclusive as possible and
permit master’s-prepared individuals who have been
working in the CNS role to continue to do so and to use
the title CNS. The Board has drafted equivalency qualifi-
cations that effectuate this intent.

NACNS recommended a new paragraph to permit a
CNS to demonstrate eligibility for certification by submit-
ting documents and a fee to a CNS program in this
Commonwealth for review and critique. The Board pre-
fers to have applicants submit information directly to the
Board, where it can be reviewed by Board staff and, if
necessary, the full Board.

NACNS next recommended that § 21.812 (relating to
qualifications for certification by endorsement; additional
certification) refer to the addition or change of specialty
area. The Board determined that the section should apply
to addition of specialty area because a CNS already
certified in one area does not change the area of specialty
even if the CNS decides to allow National or Board
certification in that specialty area lapse. The Board also
made amendments to improve the clarity of § 21.812 and
make the language more closely follow statutory lan-
guage.

NACNS proposed that the Board add a provision,
wherever appropriate, stating that a nurse will be eligible
to apply for Board certification for 2 years after the
publication of the final-form rulemaking. The Board
believes that nurses will be eligible to apply for Board
certification indefinitely after the publication of the final-
form rulemaking, whenever the nurses meet the qualifica-
tions for certification. This approach will allow for ongo-
ing certification of CNSs in new areas of practice for
which there is not a National certification examination,
notably genetics and forensics.

With response to continuing education, NACNS sug-
gested that the Board refer to ‘‘clock hours’’ rather than
‘‘hours.’’ The Board specifically did not refer to clock
hours, which means a 60-minute hour, to allow CNSs who
wish to receive continuing education credit for taking
additional nursing classes to do so. The vast majority of
academic institutions use the 50-minute academic hour
rather than the 60-minute clock hour. Moreover, because
the 50-minute period is a minimum, it will not preclude
CNSs from taking continuing education courses based on
the clock hour.

NACNS also suggested that the Board should specify,
in § 21.805 (relating to fees), that fees are nonrefundable.
This is not specified in the regulations for any other class
of licensees; however, it is specified on every application.
Therefore, the Board declines to make the amendment.
NACNS suggested that the fee for approval of continuing
education activity be for ‘‘each review of a proposal’’ of
continuing education activity in § 21.805(a). The Board
agrees and amended the language. NACNS suggested
that the Board add § 21.805(c), stating that an action
would not be taken until all documents and fees are
received. The Board believes this is implicit in its regula-
tions and applications and declines to add a subsection.
Finally, NACNS suggested that the regulation specify
that the application shall be completed within 12 months
‘‘from the first date of application.’’ The Board believes
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that this is also implicit in the language already and
declines to make the amendment.

The Board received identical comments from PMS and
PPS. These associations suggested that the regulation
should repeat section 8.6 of the act. The Board agrees
that some reference to section 8.6 of the act would
improve the regulation and amended § 21.821(a) (related
to CNS standards of conduct) to specify that a CNS may
perform only those services that comprise the practice of
professional nursing as defined in section 2(1) of the act
(63 P. S. § 212); amended § 21.831 (relating to penalties
for violations) to specify that a CNS may be disciplined
for engaging in medical diagnosis or the prescription of
medical therapeutic or corrective measures prohibited by
section 8.6(a) of the act; and amended § 21.831(2) to
specify that a CNS may be disciplined for performing a
service beyond the scope of practice of professional nurs-
ing.

Several commentators, including the House Profes-
sional Licensure Committee (HPLC), suggested that the
regulation should include a reference to the liability
insurance provisions in section 8.5(e) of the act. The
Board referenced section 8.5(e) of the act in § 21.813(f).

IRRC next noted that several commentators suggested
the regulation should include a grandfather clause for
nurses that have a master’s degree in nursing and have
previously ‘‘demonstrated success’’ and effectiveness in
the role of CNS. IRRC stated: ‘‘The Board should consider
adding a grandfather clause for a CNS in this situation.
If the Board adds a grandfather clause, it should also
specify the criteria that must be met for a nurse to be
certified as a CNS under a grandfather clause.’’ The
Board provided for broad equivalence requirements which
will permit master’s-educated CNSs to continue using the
CNS title.

IRRC noted that the regulatory definition of a CNS is
not identical to the statutory definition of a CNS. The
regulation replaces the term ‘‘registered nurse’’ with the
definition in section 3 of the act (63 P. S. § 213) for
clarity. In addition, the regulation clarifies that the Board
may only certify a professional nurse as a CNS if the
professional nurse meets the requirements in the act. The
definition in the regulation is wholly consistent with the
statutory definition and the Board believes that the
definition is much clearer for the regulated community.

IRRC asked whether the Board intends to require
candidates to pay fees to the National certification or
credentialing organizations, and if so, asks what is the
Board’s authority to do so. Section 8.5(a) of the act
requires that a candidate either hold current National
certification or meet equivalence requirements. The Board
assumes that the General Assembly was aware that fees
are required to be paid to the National certification
organization and intended to require candidates to pay
these fees. Section 21.805 merely informs candidates that
there are fees associated with obtaining National certifi-
cation or meeting equivalence requirements and is consis-
tent with the Board’s regulations of other licensees who
are required to pay fees to entities other than the Board
associated with licensure. See §§ 21.5(b), 21.147(b) and
21.705(b) (relating to fees). It should be noted that
CRNPs, who under section 8.1(b)(1)(ii) of the act (63 P. S.
§ 218.1(b)(1)(ii)) shall also hold National certification,
also shall pay a fee to the National certification body that
confers National certification on CRNPs. In the past,
licensing boards have been advised to include in their
rulemakings the requirement that candidates pay fees to

organizations involved in certification or credentialing.
See 32 Pa.B. 1861 (April 13, 2002).

IRRC commented that §§ 21.811 and 21.813 should
specify what evidence shall be submitted by an applicant
for certification to demonstrate completion of a CNS
educational program, current National certification or
certification from a National nursing, nursing specialty or
credentialing organization. The Board declines to include
these specifics in its regulation for two main reasons.
First, because the regulation represents the initial certifi-
cation of CNSs in this Commonwealth, the Board does
not have extensive experience with all of the organiza-
tions involved in CNS credentialing and does not know
the proper titles of documents used by these organiza-
tions. To include the name of every organization’s
credentialing documents would be unwieldy and unneces-
sary in the regulations. Second, the Board believes that
certification to licensing boards will change in the next
several years with the advent of and increased use of
online verification programs, which would require rewrit-
ing and repromulgating the regulations, an unnecessary
expense. As with its other licensees, the Board intends to
provide details of the information applicants should sub-
mit directly on the application for certification. This
procedure has worked well for the Board for many years
with the licensure of RNs, LPNs, licensed dietitian-
nutritionists and CRNPs and the Board does not antici-
pate that following the same procedure for CNSs will
create confusion or difficulties.

IRRC also commented on other commentator’s remarks
about NOCA and NCSBN, about ‘‘change’’ or ‘‘addition’’ of
specialty area and about applicants who do not have
access to their official transcripts. The Board has previ-
ously addressed these comments.

Regarding § 21.813(f), which has been renumbered
§ 21.813(g), IRRC posited that the subsection allowed 12
months for CNSs to meet compliance standards and
asked how the Board determine that this was an appro-
priate time frame. The section does not provide a time
frame for candidates to meet compliance standards. The
section limits the lifespan of an application for certifica-
tion. Certification is not granted until the application is
complete, that is, until all supporting documentation has
been received. If supporting documentation is not received
within 12 months of the initial receipt of the application
for certification, this section provides that the application
will expire and the applicant will be required to file a
new application. The section does not give an applicant
12 months to meet compliance standards because the
certification is not granted until all standards have been
met.

IRRC next questioned § 21.821 and asked how the
Board would determine whether a CNS has the ‘‘neces-
sary knowledge, preparation, experience and competency’’
to properly execute a specific practice of procedure. A
virtually identical provision has been part of the RN
regulations for many years and the Board has not had
problems applying the provision. In accordance with 2
Pa.C.S. § 504 (relating to hearing and record), the Board
imposes discipline on its licensees only after licensees
have been afforded due process protections. Through the
legal process, and after hearing evidence presented at
hearing, the Board may make determinations regarding
whether a licensee has the ‘‘necessary knowledge, prepa-
ration, experience and competency’’ to properly execute a
specific practice of procedure.

In response to commentators, including IRRC, who
suggested that the Board should reference the scope of
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practice of CNSs in its final-form rulemaking, the Board
added § 21.821(b). The Board notes that the CNS en-
abling amendments to the act do not confer a scope of
practice on CNSs. Rather, Act 49 noted that the scope of
practice of a CNS is the same as the statutorily defined
scope of practice of the RN. The Board believes its
changes and the addition of § 21.821(b) meets the con-
cerns raised by commentators.

Regarding § 21.822 (relating to biennial renewal of
certification), IRRC suggested that the Board specify the
time when the Board will forward renewal notices to
licensees. The boards within the Bureau of Professional
and Occupational Affairs (Bureau) plan to send renewal
notices to licensees 90 days prior to the expiration date.
However, if this time frame were placed in regulations, it
is not clear what effect a delay in sending renewal notices
would have. Therefore, the Board declines to put a
specific time in its regulations. The expiration date is
printed on every license, so every licensee is aware of the
date by which they shall renew their license.

IRRC suggested that § 21.822(f) was misplaced. The
Board decided that the provision, which required identify-
ing information be submitted with correspondence, was
unnecessary.

Second, IRRC suggested that the Board should provide
circumstances for when it would waive the continuing
education requirement or provide a cross reference to
§ 21.823(b) (relating to CNS-level continuing education;
waiver; sanctions). The Board added the requested cross-
reference. Third, IRRC asked how the Board would
determine if a licensee met the continuing education
requirement and suggested that the regulation should
clarify how the Board makes this determination. The
Board is not aware of regulations of any board within the
Bureau that specify how the Board determines that its
licensees have met the continuing education requirement.
The Board intends to follow the same procedure it uses
for CRNP continuing education and that the State Board
of Medicine uses for physician continuing education—an
audit of licensees. Because the enforcement of the act and
regulations is a matter left to the administrative discre-
tion of the Board, and the methods the Board uses to
perform this function may change, the Board declines to
specify a single procedure that will be used to monitor
compliance with this or any other section of the act or
regulations.

Regarding § 21.823, IRRC requested that the Board
specify in what time frame the Board would grant, deny
or grant in part a request for waiver of continuing
education requirements. The Board’s time frame is deter-
mined by its meeting dates, which are set annually,
usually in October or November. The Board considers
matters at its earliest opportunity, but cannot specify a
time frame. If a request was timely made and the
inability of the Board to respond to the request resulted
in noncompliance, the Board would provide additional
time to meet the requirement before discipline would be
imposed.

IRRC submitted numerous comments regarding
§ 21.825. IRRC asked whether the Board considered
allowing CNSs to get credit for group or individual
research, as RNs may do. The Board did consider this and
determined that CNS continuing education should be
similar to CRNP continuing education because these two
groups of professional nurses have similar educational
backgrounds. IRRC asked how one would know that the
preapproved continuing education providers and
credentialing organizations agreed to abide by §§ 21.826

and 21.827 (relating to requirements for continuing edu-
cation courses; and continuing education course approval).
The Board amended § 21.825(a) to require providers to
comply with the provisions.

IRRC next asked what circumstances would result in a
reevaluation of approval given to a provider or credential-
ing organization and what circumstances would warrant
a rescission of approval. Reevaluation would result from
complaints filed with the Board. Failure to meet the
regulatory criteria for continuing education would war-
rant rescission.

IRRC asked why the time frame for submission of an
individual request for continuing education approval from
a CNS or CNS provider is different than for an RN or RN
provider. The reason is that the Board anticipates licens-
ing several thousand CNS, but licenses 200,000 RNs.
Additional time may be needed to process requests from
RNs.

IRRC asked how the Board determined that 15 credit
hours were sufficient for services such as teaching in a
nursing education program or precepting students in a
clinical setting. The Board originally thought that nurses
providing these services should be able to obtain half of
the requirement from the service. Since the rulemaking
was published as proposed, the Board has reconsidered.
The Board believes that continuing education should
advance the knowledge of the practitioner. The Board
cannot find that teaching in a nursing education program
or precepting students advances the practitioner’s knowl-
edge. Therefore, the Board determined that only 4 hours
should be credited toward the continuing education re-
quirement. This provision is consistent with § 21.334(e)
(relating to sources of continuing education) which limits
CRNPs to obtaining 4 hours of continuing education
through teaching or precepting activities.

IRRC next noted that ‘‘adequate’’ in § 21.826(2) is
nonregulatory language. The Board amended this para-
graph for clarity, requiring an adequate physical facility
and appropriate instructional materials to carry out the
continuing education course. A facility would be adequate
to carry out a course if it was adequately lit and
ventilated, of adequate temperature, had sufficient seat-
ing to accommodate the number of attendees, the attend-
ees were able to hear the presenters, and the like. The
regulated community did not express concern with under-
standing the provision.

Finally, regarding § 21.827, IRRC noted that it would
be impossible for an applicant to know what ‘‘other
information’’ the Board would want at the time of initial
submittal of the application and suggested that this
requirement should be in its own subsection. The Board
has made the requested change.

The Board received two comments from individuals.
The first commenter, Mr. Legg, inquired whether an
individual could be eligible for licensure by endorsement
if the individual was not Nationally certified. As
amended, section 7(c) of the act (63 P. S. § 217(c))
authorizes the Board to issue a certification to a CNS
licensed in another state, territory or possession or a
foreign country as deemed equivalent to the Common-
wealth’s certification requirements. Because the Common-
wealth’s certification requirements mandate National cer-
tification or its equivalent, applicants for licensure by
endorsement will be required to demonstrate National
certification or its equivalent just as will CNSs who are
currently practicing in this Commonwealth.
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Mr. Legg next asked about CNSs who received their
master’s degrees before the American Nurses Credential-
ing Center (ANCC) required 500 hours of supervised
clinical practice in CNS educational programs. This
is significant because only individuals who completed
programs with at least 500 hours of supervised clinical
practice are eligible to sit for ANCC National cert-
ification examinations. These individuals would be
able to obtain certification in this Commonwealth under
§ 21.811(2)(i)(B).

Next, Mr. Legg asked why National certification was
being required for initial CNS licensure when it was not
required for initial CRNP licensure. The General Assem-
bly made this determination when it enacted Act 59
granting title protection to CNSs. Mr. Legg also asked if
the Board had considered provisions for CRNPs who do
not practice as CRNPs, but whose practice more closely
reflects the CNS role; specifically inquiring whether a
CRNP could obtain a CNS license. Mr. Legg went on to
state that some CRNPs are considering surrendering
their CRNP certification because of the costs associated
with maintaining malpractice insurance. To Mr. Legg’s
first question, a CRNP cannot ‘‘become’’ a CNS through
application; to be certified as a CNS requires completion
of a CNS educational program and National certification
as a CNS. To Mr. Legg’s second remark, CNSs are also
required, under the statute, to maintain liability insur-
ance.

The Board also received comments from Ms. Allen. Ms.
Allen stated that she held a master’s degree in nursing
and believed that she had been prepared as a CNS, but
did ‘‘not have a confirmation that the accreditation fo-
cused on the CNS component.’’ Ms. Allen should contact
the director of her master’s degree program to determine
if the program prepared graduates to practice as a CNS.
Ms. Allen also expressed concerns about the National
certification requirement. Ms. Allen considers as her
specialty maternity nursing, for which she states that
there is not a National certification examination. Section
21.811(2) allows CNSs for whom there is not a certifica-
tion examination available in the specialty area to demon-
strate equivalency. If there is not a National certification
examination for which Ms. Allen is qualified to sit, Ms.
Allen may pursue certification under the equivalency
requirements.

Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

The final-form rulemaking will not have an adverse
fiscal impact on the Commonwealth or its political subdi-
visions because the costs of the Board’s activities are
supported by fees charged to licensees and others who
benefit from specific activities of the Board. The final-
form rulemaking will not impose additional paperwork
requirements upon the Commonwealth or political subdi-
visions.

Sunset Date

The Board continuously monitors the effectiveness of its
regulations. Therefore, no sunset date has been assigned.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5(a)), on June 4, 2008, the Board submitted a
copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking, published at 38
Pa.B. 3246, to IRRC and the Chairpersons of the HPLC
and the Senate Consumer Protection and Professional
Licensure Committee (SCP/PLC) for review and comment.

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC,
the HPLC and the SCP/PLC were provided with copies of
the comments received during the public comment period,
as well as other documents when requested. In preparing
the final-form rulemaking, the Board has considered all
comments from IRRC, the HPLC, the SCP/PLC and the
public.

Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5a(j.2)), on May 5, 2010, the final-form rule-
making was approved by the HPLC. On June 2, 2010, the
final-form rulemaking was deemed approved by the SCP/
PLC. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regulatory Review Act,
IRRC met on June 3, 2010, and approved the final-form
rulemaking.

Additional Information

Additional information may be obtained by writing to
Ann Steffanic, Board Administrator, State Board of Nurs-
ing, P. O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649.

Findings

The State Board of Nursing finds that:

(1) Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given
under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P. L. 769, No. 240) and the regulations promulgated
thereunder, 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered in drafting this
final-form rulemaking.

(3) The amendments to the final-form rulemaking do
not enlarge the original purpose of the proposed rule-
making as published under section 201 of the act of July
31, 1968 (P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P. S. § 1201).

(4) These amendments to the regulations of the Board
are necessary and appropriate for the regulation of the
practice of professional nurses in this Commonwealth.

Order

The Board orders that:

(a) The regulations of the Board, 49 Pa. Code Chapter
21, are amended by adding §§ 21.801—21.805, 21.811—
21.813, 21.821—21.828 and 21.831 to read as set forth in
Annex A.

(b) The Board shall submit a copy of Annex A to the
Office of the Attorney General and the Office of General
Counsel for approval as required by law.

(c) The Board shall certify this order and Annex A and
deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bureau as
required by law.

(d) The final-form rulemaking shall take effect immedi-
ately upon publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

ANN O’SULLIVAN, Ph.D., FAAN, CRNP,
Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 40 Pa.B. 3471 (June 19, 2010).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 16A-5133 remains valid for
the final adoption of the subject regulations.
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Annex A
TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL

STANDARDS
PART I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 21. STATE BOARD OF NURSING
Subchapter H. CLINICAL NURSE SPECIALISTS

GENERAL PROVISIONS

Sec.
21.801. Definitions.
21.802. Scope.
21.803. Applicability of rules relating to professional nurses.
21.804. Approved educational programs.
21.805. Fees.

CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

21.811. Qualifications for initial certification.
21.812. Qualifications for certification by endorsement; additional certi-

fication.
21.813. Application for certification.

MAINTENANCE OF CERTIFICATION

21.821. CNS standards of conduct.
21.822. Biennial renewal of certification.
21.823. CNS-level continuing education; waiver; sanctions.
21.824. Inactive status and reactivation.
21.825. Sources of continuing education.
21.826. Requirements for continuing education courses.
21.827. Continuing education course approval.
21.828. CNS responsibilities.

PENALTIES FOR VIOLATION

21.831. Penalties for violations.

GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 21.801. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
subchapter, have the following meanings, unless the
content clearly indicates otherwise:

Act—The Professional Nursing Law (63 P. S. §§ 211—
225.5), which provides for the certification of CNSs.

Approved—Approved by the Board.

Approved program—Those educational programs ac-
credited by the NLNAC or CCNE for preparing a profes-
sional nurse to practice as a CNS.

Board—The State Board of Nursing of the Common-
wealth.

Board-designated specialty—One of six patient popula-
tions, including neonatal, pediatrics, family/across the
lifespan, adult/gerontology, women’s health/gender-related
and psychiatric/mental health.

Board-recognized—The Board has determined that an
entity meets the Board’s quality standards to conduct an
activity and has named the entity on the Board’s web
site.

Certification—Certification as a CNS issued by the
Board.

CCNE—Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education—
The organization recognized by the United States Secre-
tary of Education as a National accreditation agency that
provides a nongovernmental peer review process in ac-
cordance with Nationally recognized standards estab-
lished for the practice of accreditation in the United
States.

CNS—Clinical nurse specialist—An individual licensed
in this Commonwealth to practice professional nursing
who meets the educational and examination or equiva-

lency requirements of the act and who is certified by the
Board as a clinical nurse specialist.

NLNAC—National League for Nursing Accrediting
Commission—The organization that is recognized as the
accrediting body for all types of nursing education pro-
grams by the United States Department of Education and
that is responsible for the specialized accreditation of
nursing education programs, both postsecondary and
higher degrees.

National certification—The credential awarded by a
Board-recognized organization evidencing that an indi-
vidual has passed a National certification examination
and has maintained current National certification in a
specialty as specified by the organization.

National certification organization—An organization
recognized by the Board and maintained on the approved
list on the Board’s website that has as one of its purposes
the examination of individuals who will practice as CNSs.

§ 21.802. Scope.

In this subchapter, the Board:

(1) Provides for certification of CNSs who meet the
qualifications set forth in the act.

(2) Administers the act by providing rules and regula-
tions relating to the issuance and renewal of CNS
certification.

(3) Provides rules and regulations for the conduct of
CNSs.

(4) Regulates the practice of CNSs.

§ 21.803. Applicability of rules relating to profes-
sional nurses.

Sections §§ 21.1—21.4a, 21.6 and 21.11—21.18a apply
to nurses certified under this subchapter.

§ 21.804. Approved educational programs.

(a) The Board will approve educational programs as set
forth in section 6.2(c) of the act (63 P. S. § 216.2(c)).

(b) The Board will maintain a list of approved educa-
tional programs on its web site as set forth in section
6.2(c)(2) of the act.

(c) Educational programs that prepare nurses to prac-
tice as CNSs created after March 20, 2008, shall submit
evidence that the program meets the criteria in section
6.2(c)(1) of the act to the Board for inclusion on the list of
approved programs.

§ 21.805. Fees.

(a) The following fees are charged by the Board:

Certification as a CNS . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $100

Biennial renewal fee . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $50

Restoration of certificate after sanction. . . . . . . . . . . . $50

Restoration of certificate after lapse of 5 years
or greater . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $50

Fee for verification of certification . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $15

Fee for certification of license history . . . . . . . . . . . . . $30

Application for approval of a CNS continuing
education activity . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $75

(b) In addition to the application fee prescribed in
subsection (a), which is payable directly to the Board, a
candidate for National certification will also pay an
additional fee to the certifying organization. A candidate
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may contact the certifying organization for more informa-
tion regarding the National certification examination and
examination fee.

CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

§ 21.811. Qualifications for initial certification.

The Board may certify an applicant for initial certifica-
tion who files an application on a form provided by the
Board and pays the application fee in § 21.805 (relating
to fees), in accordance with the following:

(1) RN license. The Board may certify an applicant who
has a current, unrestricted license to practice professional
nursing in this Commonwealth.

(2) Education. The Board may certify an applicant who
has a master’s degree, doctoral degree or post-master’s
degree or certificate in nursing from an educational
program that meets the requirements of section 6.2(c)(1)
of the act (63 P. S. § 216.2(c)(1)).

(3) Alternative education. An applicant for initial certi-
fication who completed an educational program in a
related discipline previously recognized for National certi-
fication as a CNS may be granted certification from the
Board in the area of the applicant’s current National
certification from the American Nurses Association or the
American Nurses Credentialing Center.

(4) National certification or equivalence.

(i) The Board may grant initial certification in a Board-
designated specialty or other pertinent specialty to an
applicant who demonstrates current National certification
by examination.

(ii) The Board may grant initial certification without
specialty to applicants who demonstrate that their educa-
tional program does not make them eligible to take a
National certification examination and who demonstrate
equivalence. For purposes of this section, the Board will
determine equivalence on a case-by-case basis after con-
sidering the information submitted by the applicant that
may include an official transcript, course descriptions,
current curriculum vitae, work history in the CNS role,
professional recommendations and additional advanced
nursing education and certification examinations.

§ 21.812. Qualifications for certification by endorse-
ment; additional certification.

(a) Certification by endorsement. An applicant for certi-
fication by the Board who holds an unrestricted license,
certificate or authorization to practice as a CNS from
another state, territory or possession of the United States
or a foreign country, who met initial certification require-
ments equivalent to the Board’s certification require-
ments and a current RN license in this Commonwealth
may be granted certification by endorsement.

(b) Additional certification. A CNS who is already
certified by the Board may apply for an additional
certification. To be granted an additional certification, the
CNS shall meet the educational and National certification
requirements for the additional certification.

§ 21.813. Application for certification.

(a) An applicant for certification shall submit an appli-
cation form provided by the Board to the Board for its
review and approval.

(b) An applicant for initial certification shall include
documentation satisfactory to the Board that the appli-
cant meets the qualifications in § 21.811 (relating to
qualifications for initial certification).

(c) In addition to the documentation in subsections (a)
and (b), an applicant for certification by endorsement
shall include documentation satisfactory to the Board
that the applicant meets the educational qualifications in
§ 21.812(a) (relating to qualifications for certification by
endorsement; additional certification) and the following:

(1) Verification of unrestricted licensure, certification or
authority to practice as a professional nurse and CNS
issued by the proper licensing authority of another state,
territory or possession of the United States or a foreign
country.

(2) A written statement from the out-of State licensing,
credentialing or authorizing entity setting forth the
licensure, certification or authorization to practice re-
quirements at the time the applicant was first licensed,
certified or authorized to practice by that entity.

(d) An applicant who holds certification from the Board
who is applying for an additional certification under
§ 21.812(b) shall submit, in addition to the documenta-
tion required under subsections (a) and (b), documenta-
tion of the following:

(1) Official transcript from the applicant’s CNS pro-
gram and any additional educational programs, including
degree awarded, demonstrating a concentration in the
specialty in which the applicant is seeking certification.

(2) Proof of current National certification as a CNS.
(e) An applicant shall remit the certification fee in

§ 21.805 (relating to fees).
(f) An applicant shall verify compliance with section

8.5(e) of the act (63 P. S. § 218.5(e)) on the application for
certification.

(g) An applicant shall submit additional information as
identified on the application or as requested in writing by
the Board. If supporting material is not provided within
12 months of the date of application, the applicant will be
required to file a new application and remit the certifica-
tion fee.

MAINTENANCE OF CERTIFICATION
§ 21.821. CNS standards of conduct.

(a) In addition to the standards of conduct for a
professional nurse set forth in § 21.18 (relating to stan-
dards of nursing conduct), a CNS shall perform only those
services that comprise the practice of professional nursing
as defined in section 2(1) of the act (63 P. S. § 212(1)).

(b) A CNS practicing in this Commonwealth shall
maintain a level of professional liability coverage as set
forth in section 8.5(e) of the act (63 P. S. § 218.5(e)).
§ 21.822. Biennial renewal of certification.

(a) The certification of a CNS will expire at the same
time as the CNS’s professional nursing license as pro-
vided in § 21.29 (relating to expiration and renewal of
license).

(b) Notice of application for renewal will be forwarded
biennially to each active CNS at the CNS’s address of
record with the Board prior to the expiration date of the
current biennial period.

(c) As a condition of biennial renewal, a CNS shall hold
a valid, unexpired and unrestricted professional nursing
license.

(d) As a condition of biennial renewal, a CNS shall
complete a minimum of 30 hours of Board-approved
continuing education in the 2 years prior to renewal as
required under section 8.5(c)(2) of the act (63 P. S.
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§ 218.5(c)(2)), unless the requirement is waived by the
Board under § 21.823(b) (relating to CNS-level continu-
ing education; waiver; sanctions) or the CNS’s certifica-
tion is on inactive status.

(e) The applicant shall remit the required renewal fee
in § 21.805 (relating to fees) with the applicant’s renewal
application forms. Upon approval of the renewal applica-
tion, the CNS will receive a certification for the current
renewal period.

§ 21.823. CNS-level continuing education; waiver;
sanctions.

(a) In lieu of meeting the RN continuing education
requirements of section 12.1(b) of the act (63 P. S.
§ 222(b)), a CNS may submit proof of completion of the
CNS continuing education requirement set forth in sec-
tion 8.5(c)(2) of the act (63 P. S. § 218.5(c)(2)).

(b) The Board may waive the requirements of continu-
ing education in cases of illness or undue hardship. It is
the duty of each licensee who seeks a waiver to notify the
Board in writing and request the waiver at least 90 days
prior to the end of the renewal period. The Board will
grant, deny or grant in part the request for waiver.

(c) An individual failing to meet the continuing educa-
tion requirements for a biennial period will be sanctioned
in accordance with § 43b.18a (related to schedule of civil
penalties for nurses).

§ 21.824. Inactive status and reactivation.

A CNS who places the CNS’s certification on inactive
status is not required to meet the continuing education
requirements in section 8.5(c)(2) of the act (63 P. S.
§ 218.5(c)(2)) during the period the certification is on
inactive status. Upon application for reactivation of certi-
fication, the CNS shall provide the documentation in
§ 21.828(b) (relating to CNS responsibilities) to demon-
strate that the CNS has met the continuing education
requirements for the biennial period immediately preced-
ing the request for reactivation.

§ 21.825. Sources of continuing education.

(a) The following providers of continuing education and
credentialing organizations have currently met the stan-
dards for course approval for continuing education and,
provided that these providers and credentialing organiza-
tions comply with §§ 21.826 and 21.827 (relating to
requirements for continuing education courses; and con-
tinuing education course approval), they are preapproved
to offer creditable continuing education, subject to re-
evaluation as set forth in subsection (b):

(1) Board-approved CNS educational programs and
CNS educational programs approved by other state
boards of nursing or that hold current accreditation
issued by a National nursing accreditation organization.

(2) National and international nursing organizations
and their state and local affiliates.

(3) National and international medical and osteopathic
organizations and their state and local affiliates.

(4) National pharmaceutical organizations and their
state and local affiliates.

(5) National nursing specialty organizations and pro-
grams accredited by National nursing accrediting associa-
tions.

(6) Continuing education programs approved by other
state boards of nursing for advanced practice nurses or
CNSs.

(b) The approval given to the providers and credential-
ing organizations in subsection (a) is subject to reevalua-
tion. A rescission of provider or credentialing organization
approval will be made in accordance with 1 Pa. Code Part
II (relating to General Rules of Administrative Practice
and Procedure) or by amendment of this section.

(c) CNSs may obtain credit for continuing education
offered by providers not indicated in subsection (a) if the
provider obtains Board approval of the continuing educa-
tion prior to its implementation, or the CNS obtains
Board approval of the continuing education prior to
attending the continuing education. A continuing educa-
tion provider or CNS may obtain Board approval of
continuing education by submitting an application for
approval, the fee in § 21.805 (relating to fees) and the
supporting documentation in § 21.827(b) at least 90 days
prior to the course.

(d) CNSs may obtain credit for correspondence courses,
taped study courses, and other independent or online
study courses if the course is approved under subsection
(c).

(e) Up to 4 hours may be approved under subsection (c)
for service as a teacher in a nursing education program,
preceptor providing direct clinical supervision in a spe-
cialty area, lecturer or speaker and for publication in a
refereed journal or other scholarly publication relating to
the CNS’s area of practice.

(f) An hour for the purposes of CNS continuing educa-
tion is 50 minutes.

(g) The Board will apply § 21.132(b) (relating to con-
tinuing education hours) to determine the number of
hours awarded for academic coursework.

§ 21.826. Requirements for continuing education
courses.

Each course must have:

(1) An established mechanism to measure its quality,
established criteria for selecting and evaluating faculty,
and established criteria for the evaluation of each partici-
pant who completes the course.

(2) An adequate physical facility and appropriate in-
structional materials to carry out the continuing educa-
tion course.

(3) An instructor whose area of expertise is in the
subject matter being taught.

§ 21.827. Continuing education course approval.

(a) As a condition of approval, providers and
credentialing organizations are required to provide CNSs
who complete continuing education courses with a certifi-
cate of completion which contains the information in
§ 21.828(a) (relating to CNS responsibilities).

(b) Providers or CNSs requesting Board approval for
continuing education as set forth in § 21.825(c) (relating
to sources of continuing education) shall pay the fee in
§ 21.805 (relating to fees) and submit the following
information to the Board:

(1) The full name and address of the provider.

(2) The title of the program.

(3) The dates and location of the program.

(4) The faculty names, titles, affiliations, degrees and
areas of expertise.

RULES AND REGULATIONS 3951

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 40, NO. 29, JULY 17, 2010



(5) The schedule of the program—title of subject, lec-
turer and time allocated.

(6) The total number of hours requested.

(7) The method of certifying and assuring attendance,
and draft of certificate of attendance to be provided to
course participants.

(8) The course objectives.

(9) The target audience.

(10) The core subjects.

(11) The instruction and evaluation methods.

(c) Providers shall submit other information requested
by the Board.

(d) The provider shall provide CNSs who successfully
complete a course with a certificate of attendance.

(e) A separate application shall be submitted whenever
a change is made to any information submitted under
subsection (b), except for information related to a change
in date or location, or both.

§ 21.828. CNS responsibilities.

(a) A CNS is required to maintain documentation of
completion of continuing education, including:

(1) CNS’s name.

(2) Dates attended.

(3) Continuing education hours.

(4) Title of course.

(5) Course provider.

(6) Location of course.

(b) Primary responsibility for documenting completion
of the continuing education requirements rests with the
CNS. A CNS seeking to renew certification shall verify
compliance with continuing education requirements. Cer-
tificates of attendance and other documentation of
completion of continuing education requirements must be
maintained for 5 years. The Board approval letter sent to
the applicant will be considered acceptable documentation
of hours obtained through § 21.825(c) or (e) (relating to
sources of continuing education).

(c) Falsification of information required under this
section or failure to complete the continuing education
requirements by those who continue to practice as CNSs
may result in the institution of formal disciplinary action
under section 14(a)(3) of the act (63 P. S. § 221(a)(3)) and
§ 21.831(3) (relating to penalties for violations).

PENALTIES FOR VIOLATION

§ 21.831. Penalties for violations.

Certification as a CNS may be suspended, revoked or
otherwise restricted, and the Board may order remedial
measures when, after notice and opportunity to be heard,
the Board finds that:

(1) The CNS has engaged in medical diagnosis or the
prescription of medical therapeutic or corrective measures
prohibited under section 8.6(a) of the act (63 P. S.
§ 218.6(a)).

(2) The CNS has performed a service beyond the scope
of practice of professional nursing as defined in section
2(1) of the act (63 P. S. § 212(1)).

(3) The CNS has violated the act or this subchapter, or
engaged in any conduct prohibited for professional
nurses.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 10-1275. Filed for public inspection July 16, 2010, 9:00 a.m.]

STATE BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE
[ 49 PA. CODE CH. 31 ]

Responsibility to Clients and Patients

The State Board of Veterinary Medicine (Board)
amends § 31.21 (relating to Rules of Professional Conduct
for Veterinarians) to read as set forth in Annex A. The
final-form rulemaking amends Principle 7 (relating to
responsibility to clients and patients) to specify two
exceptions to the existing regulation that veterinarians
may choose whom they will serve. First, the final-form
rulemaking requires a veterinarian to provide euthanasia
to relieve the suffering of an animal physically presented
to the veterinarian’s facility during the veterinarian’s
business hours. Second, the final-form rulemaking re-
quires a veterinarian to provide notice and a reasonable
time to secure alternative services should a veterinarian
decide to discontinue treatment of an animal.

In addition, the final-form rulemaking clarifies an
existing provision regarding protecting the personal pri-
vacy of clients. The final-form rulemaking also requires
veterinarians to practice in accordance with current ad-
vancements in veterinary medicine and acceptable and
prevailing standards of care, including with respect to
drugs used by a veterinarian. Finally, the final-form
rulemaking requires veterinarians to utilize analgesic
drugs and therapies in accordance with current veteri-
nary medical knowledge and acceptable and prevailing
standards of practice.
Effective Date

The final-form rulemaking will be effective upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

Statutory Authority

Section 21(11) of the Veterinary Medicine Practice Act
(act) (63 P. S. § 485.21(11)) provides that the Board ‘‘shall
suspend or revoke’’ a licensee or certificateholder who
‘‘depart[s] from or fail[s] to conform to the standards of
acceptable and prevailing veterinary medical practice.’’
The Board’s amendments to subsections (d) and (f) are
consistent with this provision.

Section 21(12) of the act provides that the Board ‘‘shall
suspend or revoke’’ a licensee or certificate holder who is
found guilty of ‘‘[e]ngaging in practices in connection with
the practice of veterinary medicine which are in violation
of the standards of professional conduct as defined herein
or prescribed by the rules of the board.’’ Section 5(2) of
the act (63 P. S. § 485.5(2)) authorizes the Board to
‘‘[a]dopt rules and regulations of professional conduct
appropriate to establish and maintain a high standard of
integrity, skills and practice in the profession of veteri-
nary medicine.’’ The Board’s amendments to subsections
(a), (c) and (e) update the Board’s rules of professional
conduct and set forth standards to maintain high stan-
dards of integrity, skills and practice in the profession.

Summary of Comments and the Board’s Response

The Board received comments from Tom Garg, VMD,
and the Pennsylvania Veterinary Medical Association
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(PVMA). Dr. Garg opined that the proposed standards
were very reasonable; however, he voiced concern with
subsection (e). The first issue raised was whether a client
who gave oral consent for euthanasia of a pet being
treated at a veterinary facility would find it inappropriate
and insensitive for the veterinarian to later ask the client
to provide written consent. In addition, Dr. Garg ques-
tioned what would happen if the client later refused to
return the euthanasia consent form (if it was mailed to
the client) or refused to sign the consent form. The Board
agrees that many clients would find it insensitive to be
asked to provide written consent after a beloved pet had
been euthanized. The Board has replaced the proposed
requirement with a requirement that the veterinarian
document, in the patient’s veterinary medical record, a
client’s oral consent to euthanasia or other treatments
that have significant potential risks.

Second, Dr. Garg noted that in an emergency/critical
care practice where critically ill patients are continually
being reevaluated, it would not be feasible to obtain
written consent each time the treatment plan is revised,
as the animal’s owner is rarely present. Dr. Garg accu-
rately noted that the use of a broad consent form at the
outset of treatment would not be obtaining truly informed
consent. Section 31.21, Principle 7(e) was not intended to
stifle the provision of veterinary care to patients. The
Board added language to this subsection to indicate that
the subsection does not preclude a veterinarian from
obtaining general consent to treat that is effective when-
ever circumstances require veterinary medical interven-
tion in the best interests of the patient and within
parameters previously discussed with the client.

PVMA wrote in support of the requirement that veteri-
narians provide euthanasia to an animal that is physi-
cally presented to the veterinarian, noting that the
requirement was consistent with the American Veterinary
Medical Association’s professional veterinary medical eth-
ics and in the best interest of the welfare of suffering
animals. PVMA questioned how ‘‘reasonable attempts’’ to
contact an owner would be interpreted and who would
establish the definition. The Board added a definition for
both a ‘‘reasonable attempt’’ to determine the identity of
an animal’s owner and for a ‘‘reasonable attempt’’ to
contact the owner. Specifically, the new provision provides
that a reasonable attempt to contact the owner includes
telephoning or using another contact method found on the
animal’s tag or microchip.

PVMA next asked who defines what are ‘‘significant’’
potential risks of treatment options. The treating veteri-
narian would be responsible for determining the signifi-
cant potential risks that need to be explained to a client.
The adjective ‘‘significant’’ is intended to limit the list of
potential risks that shall be discussed to those that are
statistically significant either in frequency or severity. It
would be impossible for a health care provider to discuss
every potential risk of every treatment; the provision
requires veterinarian address with clients those risks that
are generally recognized by the veterinary medical com-
munity as significant risks. The Board added the words
‘‘reasonably anticipated’’ to further describe the signifi-
cant potential risks that must be explained to clients.

PVMA next commented on subsection (f), stating that
the ‘‘ ‘acceptable and prevailing standards of veterinary
medical practice’ can vary from region to region, general
vs. specialty practice, [and so forth]. These terms should
be spelled out to prevent subject interpretation.’’ The
Board disagrees that the acceptable and prevailing stan-
dards of veterinary medical practice, as this phrase is

used in the act and Chapter 31, can vary from region to
region or type of practice. The General Assembly created
only one Statewide Board and the act provides for only
one standard of practice that is acceptable and prevailing
across this Commonwealth. Every practitioner of the
healing arts—whether veterinarian, physician, dentist or
podiatrist—is required to maintain current knowledge of
the generally accepted treatments and precautions within
their fields. It is impossible for any licensing board to
‘‘spell out’’ the acceptable and prevailing standards of
practice in the healing professions for two primary rea-
sons: first, the standards are too extensive; and second,
because the acceptable and prevailing standard is, by
definition, always changing.

Regarding subsection (g), PVMA questioned what would
be a ‘‘reasonable period of time.’’ The Board added an
explanatory statement that the reasonableness of the
time period will be based on the nature of the animal’s
condition and the transfer shall be sufficiently timely to
accommodate the animal’s veterinary medical needs.
Thus, if the animal were in critical condition, the veteri-
narian should fax the records immediately; however, if
the animal is well and stable, a longer time, up to the
3-day period for release of records to clients, would be
acceptable.

Finally, PVMA questioned whether a client shall pro-
vide a written release for medical records as currently
required under § 31.22 (relating to recordkeeping). Sec-
tion 31.22(8) requires a veterinarian to release records to
an animal owner within 3 business days of receipt of the
client’s written request. Subsection (h) refers to a transfer
of the records from one veterinarian to another veterinar-
ian; this request may be oral.

PVMA also raised the following concerns: (1) what is
the protocol when a person adopts an animal and the
original owner cannot be located or does not respond to
contact attempts; (2) what protection does the veterinar-
ian have when releasing those records; and (3) what
recourse does the new owner have in obtaining the
records. As to the first inquiry, the Board is not clear how
an animal could be adopted if the animal’s owner cannot
be located or does not respond to contact attempts. If an
animal is abandoned at a veterinary facility, the veteri-
narian shall follow the abandonment provisions in section
601(c) of the Dog Law (3 P. S. § 459-610(c)). In this case,
ownership of the animal would be asserted by the hu-
mane society. In some cases, by agreement with the
humane society, the veterinarian retains possession of the
animal and the humane society transfers ownership of
the animal to the veterinarian. In this case, the veterinar-
ian either releases the records to the humane society or, if
the veterinarian becomes the animal’s owner, may release
the animal’s records to a new adopter. Regarding the
second inquiry, the abandonment provisions in section
601(c) of the Dog Law provide the protection. The third
question appears to be answered in the response to the
first question.

The House Professional Licensure Committee (HPLC)
submitted two comments. First, the HPLC requested an
explanation ‘‘as to how to reconcile the conflict between
the need of a veterinarian to obtain oral consent or a
signature of an owner to perform humane euthanasia for
an animal and the lack of need for client consent for
euthanasia when a client cannot be contacted.’’ The Board
does not view the provision that requires a veterinarian
to obtain an owner’s consent for treatment as conflicting
with the provision that allows a veterinarian to provide
treatment without an owner’s consent if the owner cannot
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be identified or contacted. There is not a conflict because,
in the latter case, there is effectively no owner from
whom to obtain consent to treatment.

In the vast majority of cases, the animal’s owner brings
the animal to a veterinarian for treatment. Euthanasia is
a treatment that may be provided by a veterinarian in
certain cases. Owner consent is required for treatment;
however, an animal may urgently require care in some
cases when the owner is unknown or cannot be contacted.
The Board’s provision allows veterinarians to provide care
in these limited cases and sets forth guidelines for the
provision of care in these cases. A case such as this might
arise when a law enforcement officer or good Samaritan
brings an injured animal to a veterinarian. The Board’s
provision requires the veterinarian to check the animal
for tags, a tattoo and to scan for a microchip to attempt to
identify the animal’s owner and obtain consent for treat-
ment (which may include euthanasia). In some cases the
animal does not have identification and an owner cannot
be determined, or if an owner is identified, the owner
cannot be contacted to obtain consent to treatment. In
this case, Principle 7(b), which requires veterinarians to
‘‘consider first the welfare of the animal for the purpose of
relieving suffering and disability while causing a mini-
mum of pain or fright’’ would guide the veterinarian’s
actions. Principle 7(a)(1) authorizes the veterinarian to
provide treatment to the animal without the owner’s
consent. The veterinarian is bound by the standards of
acceptable and prevailing veterinary medical practice in
the type of treatment that the veterinarian shall provide.
In cases when euthanasia is medically necessary to
relieve an animal’s suffering, the provision allows a
veterinarian to provide euthanasia.

Second, the HPLC inquired as to how standards that
veterinarians are to follow are determined to be ‘‘accept-
able and prevailing.’’ The standards are identified
through expert testimony, learned treatises, textbooks
and peer-reviewed professional journals, just as they are
determined in other fields of the healing arts.

The Independent Regulatory Review Commission
(IRRC) also submitted comments. IRRC asked the Board
to submit information regarding the widespread accep-
tance that the use of analgesia is the acceptable and
prevailing standard of care, which had been detached
from the Regulatory Analysis Form prior to submission of
the proposed rulemaking. This information is being pro-
vided to IRRC as an attachment to the Regulatory
Analysis Form.

Regarding subsection (a)(1), IRRC recommended using
either ‘‘humane euthanasia’’ or ‘‘euthanasia’’ throughout
the final-form rulemaking. As the concept of humane is
integral to ‘‘euthanasia,’’ the Board deleted the repetitive
word from subsection (a)(1). IRRC next recommended
that the Board provide a clear standard for what a
‘‘reasonable attempt’’ would be in subsection (a)(1). The
Board added language to address the concern. IRRC also
inquired as to the meaning of ‘‘proper veterinary medical
judgment’’ as used in subsection (a)(1) and (2). The Board
intended that veterinarians act in accordance with the
acceptable and prevailing standards of veterinary medical
practice, as is required by the act.

Next, regarding subsection (a)(2), IRRC asked what
type of notice would be required to be given to a client
prior to terminating the veterinarian-client-patient rela-
tionship and suggested that the notice be in writing. The
Board adopted the suggestion.

Regarding subsection (c), IRRC questioned under what
circumstances a veterinarian would obtain or need a

person’s Social Security number or confidential health
information and requested an explanation of why it would
be necessary for a veterinarian to request, possess and
document a person’s Social Security number, sensitive
financial information or confidential health information.
Subsection (c) does not require a veterinarian to request,
possess or document this information; rather, subsection
(c) requires a veterinarian who does have this information
to protect it. By way of further answer, a veterinarian
may have a client’s Social Security number if the client
applies for Care Credit through the veterinarian. A
veterinarian may have confidential health information
about a client if the veterinarian is caring for an emo-
tional support animal or assistance animal. Finally, a
veterinarian may have sensitive financial information,
such as a client’s credit card information, if the client has
provided this information to pay for services.

IRRC echoed PVMA’s questions about defining the
acceptable and prevailing standard of veterinary medical
practice in subsections (d) and (f). Section 21(11) of the
act authorizes the Board to discipline a licensee for the
‘‘departure from, or failure to conform to, the standards of
acceptable and prevailing veterinary medical practice, in
which case actual injury need not be established.’’ Virtu-
ally identical language exists in nearly every healthcare
profession’s practice act. For example, section 7(a)(10) of
the Optometric Practice and Licensure Act (63 P. S.
§ 244.7(a)(10)) states that the State Board of Optometry
may discipline a licensee for the ‘‘[f]ailure to conform to,
the acceptable and prevailing standards of optometric
practice in rendering professional service to a patient.
Actual injury to a patient need not be established’’;
section 15(a)(8) of the Osteopathic Medical Practice Act
(63 P. S. § 271.15(a)(8)) states that the State Board of
Osteopathic Medicine may discipline a licensee for ‘‘any
departure from, or the failure to conform to, the stan-
dards of acceptable and prevailing osteopathic medical
practice. Actual injury to a patient need not be estab-
lished’’); section 5(a)(12) of the Pharmacy Act (63 P. S.
§ 390-5(a)(12)) states that the State Board of Pharmacy
may discipline a licensee for ‘‘the departure from, or
failure to conform to, the standards of acceptable and
prevailing pharmacy practice, in which case actual injury
need not be established’’; and section 41(8) of the Medical
Practice Act of 1985 (63 P. S. § 422.41(8)) states that the
State Board of Medicine may discipline a licensee for
‘‘departure from or failing to conform to an ethical or
quality standard of the profession . . . actual injury to a
patient need not be established.’’ Section 41(8)(i) of the
Medical Practice Act of 1985 further explains the devia-
tion from a standard of the profession by stating that ‘‘the
accepted standard of care for a practitioner is that which
would normally be exercised by the average professional
of the same kind in this Commonwealth under the
circumstances.’’ The Board has already further defined
the ‘‘acceptable and prevailing standards of care’’ as
used in subsection (d) by stating that abiding by these
standards ‘‘includ[es] using current proven techniques,
drugs and scientific research that may affect treat-
ment decisions’’ and to ‘‘practice in accordance
with . . . pharmacologic properties, indications and
contraindications of drugs and biologics.’’ The Board
believes these provisions further clarify the statutory
phrase.

Next, IRRC raised issues with subsection (e). First,
IRRC suggested deleting the word ‘‘significant’’ from the
phrase ‘‘significant potential risks,’’ stating that the word
‘‘significant’’ was vague. The Board intended the word
‘‘significant’’ to modify and limit the word ‘‘risks,’’ thus
adding clarity to the vague term ‘‘risks.’’ Veterinarians are
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required to conform their professional conduct to the
acceptable and prevailing standards of practice; this
requirement extends to veterinarians’ conversations with
clients regarding treatment options. Potential risks are
significant and shall be disclosed to clients if the risks are
generally accepted in the veterinary medical community
to be significant and if a majority of practitioners acting
on this generally accepted knowledge would disclose the
risks to clients. Second, IRRC questioned the requirement
for written consent to euthanasia, particularly if oral
consent is first obtained. IRRC agreed with commentators
that to request a signature after an animal had been
euthanized was unrealistic and awkward. As previously
discussed, the Board deleted this provision.

Regarding subsection (g), IRRC asked who determines
what is a reasonable period of time to forward records to
a new veterinarian and suggested that the final-form
rulemaking set a finite time limit. The Board declines to
set a finite time limit because the time is wholly depen-
dent on the condition of the animal. As an outside period,
the Board believes that guidance is already found in
§ 31.22, which gives a veterinarian a maximum of 3
business days to provide copies of records to a client. The
Board added a provision regarding this maximum time
period.

Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

The final-form rulemaking should not have financial
impact on licensees, the Board or any other State entity.
The final-form rulemaking will not have fiscal impact on
the public. There are not additional paperwork require-
ments associated with the final-form rulemaking.

Sunset Date

The Board continuously monitors its regulations. There-
fore, a sunset date has not been assigned.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5(a)), on September 2, 2009, the Board submit-
ted a copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking, published
at 39 Pa.B. 5438 (September 19, 2009), to IRRC and to
the HPLC and the Senate Consumer Protection and
Professional Licensure Committee (SCP/PLC) for review
and comment.

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC,
the HPLC and the SCP/PLC were provided with copies of
the comments received during the public comment period,
as well as other documents when requested. In preparing
the final-form rulemaking, the Board has considered all
comments from IRRC, the HPLC, the SCP/PLC and the
public.

Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5a(j.2)), on May 5, 2010, the final-form rule-
making was approved by the HPLC. On June 2, 2010, the
final-form rulemaking was deemed approved by the SCP/
PLC. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regulatory Review Act,
IRRC met on June 3, 2010, and approved the final-form
rulemaking.

Findings

The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given
under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P. L. 769, No. 240) and the regulations promulgated
thereunder, 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered.

(3) This final-form rulemaking is necessary and appro-
priate for administering and enforcing the authorizing act
identified in this preamble.
Order

The Board, acting under its authorizing statute, orders
that:

(a) The regulations of the Board, 49 Pa. Code Chapter
31, are amended by amending § 31.21 to read as set forth
in Annex A, with ellipses referring to the existing text of
the regulation.

(b) The Board shall submit this order and Annex A to
the Office of General Counsel and the Office of Attorney
General as required by law.

(c) The Board shall certify this order and Annex A and
deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bureau as
required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect immediately upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

ROBIN J. BERNSTEIN, Esq.,
Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 40 Pa.B. 3471 (June 19, 2010).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 16A-5722 remains valid for
the final adoption of the subject regulation.

Annex A
TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL

STANDARDS
PART I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 31. STATE BOARD OF VETERINARY
MEDICINE

PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT
§ 31.21. Rules of Professional Conduct for Veteri-

narians.
* * * * *

Principle 7. Responsibility to clients and patients.

(a) Except as provided in this subsection, veterinarians
may choose whom they will serve, but may not neglect an
animal with which the veterinarian has an established
veterinarian/client/patient relationship.

(1) During a veterinarian’s regular business hours, a
veterinarian may not refuse to provide euthanasia to
relieve the suffering of an animal that is physically
presented to the veterinarian at the veterinarian’s facility.
A veterinarian may provide euthanasia for an animal
under this paragraph without a veterinarian/client/
patient relationship if the owner is unknown or cannot be
contacted. If the owner is unknown, the veterinarian shall
make a reasonable attempt to determine the identity of
the animal’s owner, including, at a minimum, checking
the animal for a tag, tattoo or microchip. If the owner is
known or identified, the veterinarian shall make a rea-
sonable attempt to contact the owner, including, at a
minimum, telephoning or using another contact method
found on the animal’s tag or microchip, and obtain
consent to euthanasia or treatment. If the owner cannot
be identified or cannot be contacted, the veterinarian
shall exercise proper veterinary medical judgment to
determine whether to provide euthanasia or other veteri-
nary medical care to the animal.
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(2) If a veterinarian deems it necessary to discontinue
the treatment of an animal with which the veterinarian
has a veterinarian/client/patient relationship, the veteri-
narian shall give written notice to the client of his
intention to withdraw and provide reasonable time, based
on the condition of the animal and the availability of
alternative veterinary medical services, to allow the client
to obtain necessary veterinary care for the animal.

(b) Veterinarians shall consider first the welfare of the
animal for the purpose of relieving suffering and disabil-
ity while causing a minimum of pain or fright.

(c) Veterinarians and their staffs shall protect the
personal privacy of clients, unless the veterinarians are
required by law to reveal the confidences or it becomes
necessary to reveal the confidences to protect the health
and welfare of an individual, the animal or others whose
health and welfare may be endangered. Personal informa-
tion that should be protected under this section includes a
client’s Social Security number and sensitive financial
information and confidential health information about the
client. Veterinary medical records of a client’s animals
shall be released to the Board or its agents upon demand,
as set forth in section 27.1(b)(1) of the act (63 P. S.
§ 485.27a(b)(1)). Any portion of a veterinary medical
record relevant to public health shall be released to public
health or law enforcement officials upon demand. Veteri-
nary medical records shall be released to the general
public only with the written consent of the client, sub-
poena or court order.

(d) Veterinarians shall practice in accordance with cur-
rent advancements and acceptable and prevailing stan-
dards of care in veterinary medicine, including using
current proven techniques, drugs and scientific research
that may affect treatment decisions. Veterinarians shall
practice in accordance with advancements and acceptable
and prevailing standards of veterinary medical practice in
this Commonwealth related to the pharmacologic proper-
ties, indications and contraindications of drugs and
biologics.

(e) Veterinarians shall explain the benefits and reason-
ably anticipated significant potential risks of treatment
options to clients. When the client or client’s agent is
present, veterinarians shall document, by signature, the
client’s consent for euthanasia and other treatments that
have significant potential risks. If the client is not
present to provide a signature, veterinarians shall at-
tempt to contact the owner by telephone or other estab-
lished means to obtain oral consent and shall document
the oral consent in the animal’s veterinary medical
record. This subsection does not preclude a veterinarian
from obtaining general consent to treat that is effective
whenever circumstances require veterinary medical inter-
vention in the best interests of the patient within param-
eters previously discussed with the client.

(f) Veterinarians shall serve as patient advocates espe-
cially regarding the alleviation of pain and suffering,
consistent with the acceptable and prevailing standards
of veterinary medical practice. Veterinarians shall utilize
analgesic drugs, dosages, treatment intervals and combi-
nation therapies proven to be safe and effective in
different species and in various conditions of age, illness
or injury in accordance with current veterinary medical
knowledge and acceptable and prevailing standards of
veterinary medical practice in this Commonwealth.

(g) If a client desires to consult with another veterinar-
ian about the same case, the first veterinarian shall
readily withdraw from the case, indicating the circum-

stances on the veterinary medical record of the animal,
and shall forward copies of the animal’s veterinary med-
ical records in a reasonable period of time to other
veterinarians who request them. For purposes of this
subsection and subsection (h), the reasonableness of the
period of time shall be based on the nature of the
animal’s condition and the transfer shall be sufficiently
timely to accommodate the animal’s veterinary medical
needs, but may not be longer than 3 business days after
the client makes the request.

(h) If a client requests referral to another veterinarian
or veterinary hospital, the attending veterinarian shall
honor the request and facilitate the necessary arrange-
ments, which includes forwarding copies of the veterinary
medical records of the animal in a reasonable period of
time to the other veterinarian or veterinary hospital.

* * * * *
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 10-1276. Filed for public inspection July 16, 2010, 9:00 a.m.]

STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

[ 49 PA. CODE CH. 36 ]
Appraiser Trainees; Initial and Continuing Educa-

tion; Supervised Experience; Practice Standards

The State Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers
(Board) amends Chapter 36 (relating to State Board of
Certified Real Estate Appraisal) to read as set forth in
Annex A.

The final-form rulemaking accomplishes the following:
(1) establishes a regulatory scheme for the appraiser
trainee license, which was added to the Real Estate
Appraisers Certification Act (REACA) (63 P. S. §§ 457.1—
457.19) by the act of July 8, 2008 (P. L. 833, No. 59) and
the act of October 9, 2008 (P. L. 1380, No. 103); (2)
amends and clarifies initial education, continuing educa-
tion and supervised experience requirements for certified
appraisers, consistent with Federal criteria that are
binding on the Board under the Financial Institutions
Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act of 1989 (FIRREA)
(Pub. L. No. 101-173, 103 Stat. 183); (3) clarifies ap-
praiser practice standards regarding supervision and use
of titles; and (4) harmonizes requirements for certified
Pennsylvania evaluators with those for certified apprais-
ers.

Summary of Comments, Responses and Changes to Pro-
posed Rulemaking

The Board published a notice of proposed rulemaking
at 39 Pa.B. 5423 (September 19, 2009) with a 30-day
public comment period. The Board received a general
comment in support of the proposed rulemaking from the
Pennsylvania Association of Realtors.

The Board received comments from the Independent
Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) and the House
Professional Licensure Committee (HPLC) as part of the
review of the proposed rulemaking under the Regulatory
Review Act (71 P. S. §§ 745.1—745.12). The Board did not
receive comments from the Senate Consumer Protection
and Professional Licensure Committee (SCP/PLC) as part
of its review of the proposed rulemaking under the
Regulatory Review Act.
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§ 36.2. Application process
Section 36.2 establishes the procedure for applying for

certification as a residential or general real estate ap-
praiser. Section 36.2(e) provides that, except as otherwise
stated in §§ 36.11 and 36.12 (relating to qualifications for
certification as residential real estate appraiser; and
qualifications for certification as general real estate ap-
praiser), an applicant shall comply with increased educa-
tion or experience requirements that take effect between
the applicant’s initial filing of an application and the
applicant’s passing the certification examination.

The final-form rulemaking amends § 36.2 to include
the procedure for applying for licensure as an appraiser
trainee. One of the amendments to § 36.2(e) provided
that an applicant for licensure as an appraiser trainee
shall comply with increased education requirements that
take effect between the applicant’s filing of an application
that is disapproved and the applicant’s filing of a new
application.

IRRC questioned the intent of this amendment to
§ 36.2(e), which was not specifically discussed in the
preamble of the proposed rulemaking. IRRC also asked
how or when increased education requirements would
take effect; how the Board would notify applicants of
increased requirements; and whether increased require-
ments would be implemented through future rulemaking.

The intent of the amendment is to clarify that an
applicant for an appraiser trainee license shall meet the
education requirements that are in effect at the time of
licensure. This is consistent with the general rule appli-
cable to applicants for residential and general appraiser
certification. Increased education requirements for ap-
praiser trainees would be implemented by the Board
through rulemaking. The impetus for future rulemaking
would be if the requirements adopted by this final-form
rulemaking should prove to be inadequate. The Board
would publicize pending changes in trainee qualifications
in its online newsletter and in special mailings to residen-
tial and general appraisers and to individuals who had
previously submitted nonqualifying applications for
licensure.
§ 36.11. Qualifications for certification as residential real

estate appraiser
§ 36.12. Qualifications for certification as general real

estate appraiser

Sections 36.11 and 36.12 are identically structured
sections that set forth the qualifications for certification
as a residential and general appraiser, respectively. Sec-
tions 36.11 and 36.12 were last amended on July 21,
2007, to implement new education and experience re-
quirements prescribed by the Appraiser Qualifications
Board (AQB), an independent body charged under the
FIRREA with establishing the minimum initial education,
continuing education, experience and examination re-
quirements for state-credentialed real estate appraisers.
The AQB’s new education requirements took effect Janu-
ary 1, 2008.

Sections 36.11(b) and 36.12(b) provide that effective
January 1, 2008, an applicant for residential or general
appraiser certification, respectively, shall have completed
200 or 300 classroom hours, respectively, in a prescribed
appraisal curriculum, while §§ 36.11(d) and 36.12(d) pro-
vide that effective January 1, 2008, an applicant for
residential or general appraiser certification, respectively,
shall possess at least an associate’s degree or a bachelor’s
degree, respectively, or an equivalent number of college
credits. These sections exempt from the new education

requirements an applicant who had satisfied, before
January 1, 2008, the former 120-classroom hour require-
ment for residential appraiser certification or the former
180-classroom hour requirement for general appraiser
certification.

The exception to the new education requirements for an
applicant who satisfied the former education require-
ments before January 1, 2008, reflects a segmented
approach, rather than a firm date approach, to implemen-
tation of the AQB’s new education requirements. Under
the firm date approach, an appraiser certificate would not
be issued to an applicant on or after January 1, 2008,
unless the applicant satisfied the increased classroom
hour requirement. The AQB allowed states the option of
implementing the new education requirements through
either the firm date approach or the segmented approach.
In promulgating the new requirements in 2007, the Board
opted for the segmented approach to minimize the poten-
tial disruption to the career plans of those persons who,
at the time of the adoption of new regulations, were then
taking steps to satisfy the education and experience
requirements for appraiser certification.

The final-form rulemaking amends §§ 36.11(b) and
36.12(b) to provide that the increased classroom hour
requirement does not apply to an applicant who submits
an otherwise qualifying application before January 1,
2012, that includes evidence of the applicant’s having
satisfied the former classroom hour requirement before
January 1, 2008. The purpose is to establish a reasonable
period of time after January 1, 2008, during which an
applicant who satisfied the former classroom hour re-
quirement may qualify for appraiser certification without
having to complete the increased classroom hour require-
ment. The Board determined that placing a 4-year limit
on the grandfathering effect of the segmented approach to
implementation of the increased classroom hour require-
ment is desirable because it eliminates the possibility
that persons could be credentialed as residential or
general appraisers in the distant future who lack the
level of appraisal education that users of appraisal ser-
vices would have come to expect of newly credentialed
appraisers.

IRRC questioned whether the proposed 4-year time
frame for a grandfathered applicant is too generous,
considering that the experience requirement for residen-
tial and general appraiser certification can be completed
in as little as 24 months and 30 months, respectively, and
that experience can be acquired contemporaneously with
classroom hours after a minimum of 75 classroom hours
have been completed. The Board regards 4 years as an
appropriate time frame because it takes into account the
fact that many apprentice appraisers acquire their quali-
fying experience on a part-time basis, depending on the
availability of appraisal assignments from their supervis-
ing appraisers.

Sections 36.11(b) and (d) and 36.12(b) and (d) reference
an applicant’s obligation to provide evidence of having
completed the requisite classroom hours in appraisal
subjects. IRRC recommended that the final-form rule-
making clarify what the Board considers appropriate
documentation of classroom hours. The Board does not
believe a clarification is necessary for these sections. The
Board’s application for residential or general appraiser
certification, which can be downloaded from the Board’s
web site, provides detailed instructions to prospective
applicants about the acceptable forms of documentation
needed to establish their compliance with education and
experience requirements for certification.
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Sections 36.11(b) and (d) and 36.12(b) and (d) also
reference an applicant’s obligation to complete the 15-
hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Ap-
praisal Practice (USPAP) Course ‘‘or equivalent course.’’
IRRC recommended that the final-form rulemaking
clarify how the Board will determine what course is
equivalent to the 15-hour National USPAP Course. The
AQB, which developed the 15-hour National USPAP
Course, determines what is an acceptable equivalent. The
final-form rulemaking revises §§ 36.11(b) and (d) and
36.12(b) and (d) to reflect this clarification.

The HPLC noted that the proposed rulemaking inad-
vertently misplaced two brackets in §§ 36.11(b) and
36.12(b) that identified material for elimination. The
Legislative Reference Bureau corrected the errors before
the proposed rulemaking was published in the Pennsylva-
nia Bulletin.

§ 36.12a. Qualifications for licensure as appraiser trainee

The final-form rulemaking adds § 36.12a, which sets
forth the requirements for licensure as an appraiser
trainee. Section 36.12a(b)(2) provides that with respect to
each of the three courses that comprise the 75-hour
education requirement for licensure, an appraiser trainee
candidate shall have passed ‘‘an examination pertinent to
the course.’’ IRRC recommended that the Board clarify
what is meant by ‘‘an examination pertinent to the
course.’’ The Board does not believe a clarification of the
phrase is necessary because its meaning is not likely to
be misunderstood by trainee candidates. Identical lan-
guage applies to residential and general appraiser candi-
dates in §§ 36.11(b)(1) and 36.12(b)(1), respectively. The
usage was derived from the AQB’s education criteria,
which provides that an individual seeking credit for
classroom hours in an appraisal subject shall have passed
‘‘an examination pertinent to that educational offering.’’

Section 36.12a(b)(4) permits a trainee candidate to
utilize a distance education course if the course that
meets the following criteria: (1) is approved by the Board;
(2) is presented either by an accredited college or univer-
sity that offers distance education courses in other disci-
plines or by a course provider that has received approval
of course content from the Board or the AQB through its
Course Approval Program and approval of course design
and delivery mechanism from the International Distance
Education Certification Center; (3) requires completion of
a written examination proctored by an official approved
by the college, university or other course provider; and (4)
meets the course content and classroom hour require-
ments prescribed by the Board. These distance education
requirements are the same as those applicable to residen-
tial and general appraiser candidates in §§ 36.11(b)(4)
and 36.12(b)(4), respectively.

The HPLC asked whether there is a limit on the
number of classroom hours that can be obtained through
distance education. There is not a limit, either for
appraiser trainee candidates or for residential and gen-
eral appraiser candidates. The HPLC also asked how a
written examination for a distance education course is
proctored. The proctoring standard, established by the
AQB, requires that the proctor be physically present to
administer the written examination.

Section 36.12a(d) provides that an appraiser trainee
license may not be biennially renewed more than four
times unless the Board, for good cause shown and on a
case-by-case basis, should determine that one or more
additional renewals is warranted. IRRC asked when the
Board would consider additional renewals appropriate

and whether there would be a limit on the number of
additional renewals. IRRC also asked what the Board
considers good cause for an additional renewal and what
procedures a trainee would have to follow to request an
additional renewal.

Section 36.12a(d) expressly restricts the Board’s author-
ity to grant a trainee more than four renewals to those
circumstances establishing good cause. While not suscep-
tible of precise definition, ‘‘good cause’’ would apply to
circumstances in which a relaxation of the four-renewal
limit is necessary to avoid an unjust result. Among the
possible circumstances that might give rise to a bona fide
claim of good cause are military service, lack of appren-
ticeship opportunities, and serious, extended illness. The
Board is not limited in the number of additional renewals
that it may grant to a trainee who establishes good cause.
The Board does not consider it necessary to prescribe by
regulation specific procedures for a trainee to follow in
requesting one or more additional renewals; if the Board
should determine that a request needs to be made in a
particular format, it can develop an application or request
form that a trainee can download from the Board’s web
site for submission.

§ 36.13. Experience options for preparation of appraisal
reports

Section 36.13 sets forth the standards by which the
Board evaluates experience acquired in the preparation of
appraisal reports by a candidate for certification as a
residential or general appraiser. The final-form rule-
making amends § 36.13(a) to establish July 1, 2010, as
the date by which an appraisal assistant shall be licensed
as an appraiser trainee to continue acquiring qualifying
experience in the preparation of appraisal reports. Be-
cause publication of final-form rulemaking will not occur
until July 2010, the final-form rulemaking revises
§ 36.13(a) to extend the deadline by which an appraisal
assistant must obtain an appraiser trainee license to
October 1, 2010. The extended deadline will allow the
Board sufficient time to process license applications from
persons currently employed as appraisal assistants so
that their acquisition of qualifying experience may con-
tinue without interruption.

§ 36.52. Use of certificate number and title

Section 36.52 requires a certified appraiser to place his
name, signature and certificate number immediately adja-
cent to or immediately below the appraiser’s title on each
appraisal report and appraisal agreement. Section 36.52
references the titles of ‘‘Pennsylvania certified general
real estate appraiser,’’ ‘‘Pennsylvania certified residential
real estate appraiser’’ and ‘‘Pennsylvania certified broker/
appraiser’’ and provides an example of how these titles,
together with the other required information, should
appear on an appraisal report or appraisal agreement.
The final-form rulemaking amends § 36.52 to permit
‘‘substantially similar’’ titles to be substituted for those
referenced in the section. IRRC asked why an appraiser
would need to use a ‘‘substantially similar’’ title given the
list of titles already in § 36.52. IRRC also asked what the
Board considers a ‘‘substantially similar’’ title.

The current regulation sets forth a separate title for
use by each of the three classes of certified appraiser, that
is, broker/appraiser, residential appraiser and general
appraiser. The titles are not interchangeable among the
certification classes. As stated in the proposed rule-
making, the need to allow appraisers to use a substan-
tially similar version of their titles arises from the fact
that some of the commercial software and templates that
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appraisers use to prepare appraisal reports cannot be
easily modified to accommodate their titles. A substan-
tially similar title would likely be a shortened or abbrevi-
ated version of the prescribed title that provides enough
information to identify the certification class of the user.

§ 36.54. Duties of supervisory appraiser

Section 36.54 sets forth the supervisory duties of a
residential or general appraiser when utilizing the ser-
vices of an appraisal assistant, an appraiser trainee or
another appraiser. Consistent with the amendment to
§ 36.13(a) (relating to experience options for preparation
of appraisal reports) regarding the revised deadline by
which an appraisal assistant shall obtain an appraiser
trainee license, the final-form rulemaking extends the
deadline by which a residential or general appraiser must
cease utilizing the services of an appraisal assistant from
July 1, 2010, to October 1, 2010.

Statutory Authority

Section 5(2) of the REACA (63 P. S. § 457.5(2)) and
section 3 of the Assessors Certification Act (ACA) (63 P. S.
§ 458.3) authorize the Board to promulgate regulations
as necessary to carry out the provisions of the REACA
and the ACA, respectively. Additionally, section 9(a) of the
REACA (63 P. S. § 457.9(a)) authorizes the Board to
establish fees for its operations by regulation.

Fiscal Impact

The final-form rulemaking requires applicants for
licensure as appraiser trainees to pay an application fee
of $75 to the Board. The fee will generate approximately
$30,000 in biennial revenues for the Board, based on
projections that the Board will receive approximately 400
license applications biennially. The final-form rulemaking
also requires those seeking to become licensed as ap-
praiser trainees to incur costs in obtaining qualifying
education for licensure. Although these costs cannot be
quantified, they do not add to the overall cost of becoming
credentialed as a residential or general appraiser because
the coursework that is necessary for licensure as an
appraiser trainee is part of the coursework that is
necessary for certification as a residential or general
appraiser.

The final-form rulemaking does not have a direct fiscal
impact on the public or on other agencies and political
subdivisions of this Commonwealth.

Paperwork Requirements

The final-form rulemaking requires each prospective
appraiser trainee to file a license application with the
Board and, once licensed, to file a biennial renewal
application to retain the right to practice as a trainee.
The Board is required to develop application forms for
initial licensure and biennial renewal of licensure as well
as an appraiser trainee checklist for use by trainees and
their supervisory real estate appraisers in documenting
the nature of trainees’ work in the preparation of ap-
praisal reports. The final-form rulemaking does not create
additional paperwork for residential and general apprais-
ers because they are already required to use checklists to
document the experience acquired by appraisal assistants
in their employ. The final-form rulemaking does not
create additional paperwork for the general public or the
Commonwealth and its political subdivisions.

Effective Date

The final-form rulemaking will be effective upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5(a)), on September 9, 2009, the Board submit-
ted a copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking, published
at 39 Pa.B. 5423, to IRRC and to the HPLC and the
SCP/PLC for review and comment.

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC,
the HPLC and the SCP/PLC were provided with copies of
the comments received during the public comment period,
as well as other documents when requested. In preparing
the final-form rulemaking, the Board has considered all
comments from IRRC, the HPLC, the SCP/PLC and the
public.

Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5a(j.2)), on May 5, 2010, the final-form rule-
making was approved by the HPLC. On June 2, 2010, the
final-form rulemaking was deemed approved by the SCP/
PLC. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regulatory Review Act,
IRRC met on June 3, 2007, and approved the final-form
rulemaking.

Additional Information

Persons who require additional information about the
final-form rulemaking should submit inquiries to Heidy
M. Weirich, Administrator, State Board of Certified Real
Estate Appraisers, P. O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-
2649, (717) 783-4866, ST-APPRAISE@state.pa.us.

Findings

The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given
under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P. S. §§ 1201 and 1202) and the
regulations promulgated thereunder, 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1
and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered.

(3) The amendments to the final-form rulemaking do
not enlarge the original purpose of the proposed rule-
making.

(4) The final-form rulemaking adopted by this order is
necessary and appropriate for the administration of the
REACA and the ACA.

Order

The Board, acting under the REACA and the ACA,
orders that:

(a) The regulations of the Board, 49 Pa. Code Chapter
36, are amended by amending §§ 36.1—36.3, 36.6, 36.42,
36.51, 36.52 and 36.262 and by adding § 36.12a to read
as set forth at 39 Pa.B. 5423; and by amending
§§ 36.11—36.13 and 36.54 to read as set forth in Annex
A, with ellipses referring to the existing text of the
regulations.

(b) The Board shall submit this order and Annex A to
the Office of Attorney General and the Office of General
Counsel for approval as required by law.

(c) The Board shall certify this order and Annex A and
deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bureau as
required by law.

(d) The final-form rulemaking shall take effect upon
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

DANIEL A. BRADLEY,
Chairperson
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(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 40 Pa.B. 3471 (June 19, 2010).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 16A-7015 remains valid for
the final adoption of the subject regulations.

Annex A

TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

PART I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 36. STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

Subchapter A. GENERAL PROVISIONS

QUALIFICATIONS FOR
CERTIFICATION OR LICENSURE

§ 36.11. Qualifications for certification as residen-
tial real estate appraiser.

* * * * *

(b) Appraisal classroom hours. Effective January 1,
2008, an applicant shall submit evidence to the Board of
having completed 200 classroom hours in the appraisal
curriculum set forth in subsection (c)(2). This requirement
does not apply to an applicant who submits an otherwise
qualifying application before January 1, 2012, that shows
evidence of the applicant’s having completed 120 class-
room hours of courses related to real estate appraisal,
including the 15-hour National USPAP Course or equiva-
lent course approved by the AQB, together with coverage
of the topics listed in subsection (c)(1), before January 1,
2008.

(1) Length of classroom hour requirement. Credit to-
ward the classroom hour requirement will only be
granted when the length of the course is at least 15
hours, and the applicant successfully completes an exami-
nation pertinent to the course. A classroom hour is
defined as 50 minutes out of each 60 minute segment.

(2) Providers of appraisal courses. Credit for the class-
room hour requirement may be obtained from accredited
colleges or universities and community or junior colleges.
Subject to Board approval under § 36.31 (relating to
provider registration/appraisal courses), credit for the
classroom hour requirement may also be obtained from
real estate appraisal or real estate related organizations,
State or Federal agencies or commissions, proprietary
schools and other providers.

(3) Distance education. A distance education course is
acceptable to meet the classroom hour requirement if the
course is approved by the Board and meets the following
conditions:

(i) The course is presented by one of the following:

(A) An accredited (Commission on Colleges or a re-
gional accreditation association) college or university that
offers distance education programs in other disciplines.

(B) A course provider that has received approval for
course design and delivery mechanism from the IDECC
and approval for course content from the Board or from
the AQB through its Course Approval Program.

(ii) The applicant successfully completes a written ex-
amination proctored by an official approved by the col-
lege, university or other course provider.

(iii) The length and content of the course meet the
requirements of paragraph (1) and subsection (c), respec-
tively.

(c) Content of appraisal education. The content of an
applicant’s appraisal education must be as follows:

* * * * *

(d) Postsecondary education.

(1) Effective January 1, 2008, an applicant shall sub-
mit evidence to the Board of having satisfied one of the
following requirements:

(i) Possession of an associate’s degree, or higher, from
an accredited college or university.

(ii) Completion of 21 semester credit hours in the
following college-level subjects at an accredited college or
university:

(A) English composition.

(B) Principles of economics (micro or macro).

(C) Finance.

(D) Algebra, geometry or higher mathematics.

(E) Statistics.

(F) Computer science.

(G) Business or real estate law.

(2) This requirement does not apply to an applicant
who submits an otherwise qualifying application before
January 1, 2012, that shows evidence of the applicant’s
having completed 120 classroom hours of courses related
to real estate appraisal, including the 15-hour National
USPAP Course or equivalent course approved by the
AQB, together with coverage of the topics listed in
subsection (c)(1), before January 1, 2008.

* * * * *
§ 36.12. Qualifications for certification as general

real estate appraiser.

* * * * *

(b) Appraisal classroom hours. Effective January 1,
2008, an applicant shall submit evidence to the Board of
having completed 300 classroom hours in the appraisal
curriculum set forth in subsection (c)(2). This requirement
does not apply to an applicant who submits an otherwise
qualifying application before January 1, 2012, that shows
evidence of the applicant’s having completed 180 class-
room hours of courses related to real estate appraisal,
including the 15-hour National USPAP Course or equiva-
lent course approved by the AQB, together with coverage
of the topics listed in subsection (c)(1), before January 1,
2008.

(1) Length of classroom hour requirement. Credit to-
ward the classroom hour requirement will only be
granted when the length of the course is at least 15
hours, and the applicant successfully completes an exami-
nation pertinent to the course. A classroom hour is
defined as 50 minutes out of each 60 minute segment.

(2) Providers of appraisal courses. Credit for the class-
room hour requirement may be obtained from accredited
colleges or universities and community or junior colleges.
Subject to Board approval under § 36.31 (relating to
provider registration/appraisal courses), credit for the
classroom hour requirement may also be obtained from
real estate appraisal or real estate related organizations,
State or Federal agencies or commissions, proprietary
schools and other providers.
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(3) Distance education. A distance education course is
acceptable to meet the classroom hour requirement if the
course is approved by the Board and meets the following
conditions:

(i) The course is presented by one of the following:

(A) An accredited (Commission on Colleges or a re-
gional accreditation association) college or university that
offers distance education programs in other disciplines.

(B) A course provider that has received approval for
course design and delivery mechanism from the IDECC
and approval for course content from the Board or from
the AQB through its Course Approval Program.

(ii) The applicant successfully completes a written ex-
amination proctored by an official approved by the col-
lege, university or other course provider.

(iii) The length and content of the course meet the
requirements of paragraph (1) and subsection (c), respec-
tively.

(c) Content of appraisal education. The content of an
applicant’s appraisal education must be as follows:

* * * * *

(d) Postsecondary education.

(1) Effective January 1, 2008, an applicant shall sub-
mit evidence to the Board of having satisfied one of the
following requirements:

(i) Possession of a bachelor’s degree, or higher, from an
accredited college or university.

(ii) Completion of 30 semester credit hours in the
following college-level subjects at an accredited college or
university:

(A) English composition.

(B) Macroeconomics.

(C) Microeconomics.

(D) Finance.

(E) Algebra, geometry or higher mathematics.

(F) Statistics.

(G) Computer science.

(H) Business or real estate law.

(I) Two elective courses in accounting, geography, ag-
economics, business management or real estate.

(2) This requirement does not apply to an applicant
who submits an otherwise qualifying application before
January 1, 2012, that shows evidence of the applicant’s
having completed 180 classroom hours of courses related
to real estate appraisal, including the 15-hour National
USPAP Course or equivalent course approved by the
AQB, together with coverage of the topics listed in
subsection (c)(1), before January 1, 2008.

* * * * *

§ 36.13. Experience options for preparation of ap-
praisal reports.

(a) An applicant for certification as a residential real
estate appraiser or a general real estate appraiser under
§§ 36.11 and 36.12 (relating to qualifications for certifica-
tion as residential real estate appraiser; and qualifica-
tions for certification as general real estate appraiser)
shall have acquired experience in the preparation of
appraisal reports in one or more of the following:

(1) Prior to September 3, 1998:

(i) As a licensed real estate broker under the Real
Estate Licensing and Registration Act (63 P. S.
§§ 455.101—455.902) and Chapter 35 (relating to State
Real Estate Commission).

(ii) As an elected officer, director or employee of a
banking institution, savings institution, savings bank,
credit union or trust company operating under applicable
Federal or State laws, when acting on behalf of the
institution in connection with a loan transaction.

(iii) As a certified broker/appraiser.

(iv) As an assistant to a certified residential real estate
appraiser or certified general real estate appraiser, pro-
vided the assistant satisfies the requirements of subsec-
tion (b).

(v) As a certified residential real estate appraiser as-
sisting a certified general real estate appraiser in an
appraisal of nonresidential property or an appraisal of
residential property of more than four dwelling units,
provided the residential appraiser satisfies the require-
ments of subsection (d).

(2) On or after September 3, 1998:

(i) As a certified broker/appraiser.

(ii) As an assistant to a certified residential real estate
appraiser or certified general real estate appraiser, pro-
vided the experience is acquired before October 1, 2010,
and the assistant satisfies the requirements of subsection
(b).

(iii) As a licensed appraiser trainee assisting a certified
residential real estate appraiser or certified general real
estate appraiser, provided the trainee satisfies the re-
quirements of subsection (c).

(iv) As a certified residential real estate appraiser
assisting a general real estate appraiser in an appraisal
of nonresidential property or an appraisal of residential
property of more than four dwelling units, provided the
residential appraiser satisfies the requirements of subsec-
tion (d).

(b) An assistant to a certified general real estate
appraiser or certified residential real estate appraiser
shall observe the following requirements when preparing
an appraisal report:

(1) The assistant shall perform an inspection of the
interior and exterior of the property.

(2) The assistant may not arrive at an independent
determination of value.

(3) The assistant shall comply with USPAP.

(4) The assistant shall complete and co-sign a Board-
approved appraisal assistant checklist that relates to the
assistant’s work on the appraisal report.

(5) Unless the appraisal assistant checklist is made
part of the appraisal report, the assistant shall co-sign
the appraisal report as ‘‘assistant to the certified real
estate appraiser’’ or be referenced in the certification
section of the appraisal report, or in an addendum to the
appraisal report, as having provided significant real
property appraisal assistance.

(c) A licensed appraiser trainee shall observe the fol-
lowing requirements when preparing an appraisal report
for a certified general real estate appraiser or certified
residential real estate appraiser:
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(1) The trainee may not be supervised by more than
one residential or general appraiser on each appraisal
assignment.

(2) The trainee shall perform an inspection of the
interior and exterior of the property.

(3) The trainee may not arrive at an independent
determination of value.

(4) The trainee shall comply with USPAP.
(5) The trainee shall complete and co-sign a Board-

approved appraiser trainee checklist that relates to the
trainee’s work on the appraisal report and that is made
part of the appraisal report submitted to the client.

(d) A certified residential real estate appraiser shall
observe the following requirements when preparing an
appraisal report for a certified general real estate ap-
praiser:

(1) The residential appraiser shall perform an inspec-
tion of the interior and exterior of the property.

(2) The residential appraiser may not arrive at an
independent determination of value.

(3) The residential appraiser shall comply with USPAP.
(4) The residential appraiser shall co-sign the appraisal

report as set forth in § 36.52 (relating to use of certificate
number and title) and ensure that the nature of his
significant real property appraisal assistance is specified
in the report.

STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL
APPRAISAL PRACTICE

§ 36.54. Duties of supervisory appraiser.
(a) A certified residential real estate appraiser or certi-

fied general real estate appraiser who utilizes an ap-
praisal assistant before October 1, 2010, shall:

(1) Provide written notification to the Board of the
name and address of the assistant when the assistant
begins work for the appraiser.

(2) Directly supervise and control the assistant’s work,
assuming total responsibility for the contents of the
appraisal report, including all value conclusions.

(3) Accompany the assistant during the physical in-
spection of the property until the assistant has logged 300
hours of appraisal experience or until the supervising
appraiser determines the assistant is competent under
USPAP to perform the physical inspection unaccompa-
nied, whichever is the longer period.

(4) Co-sign the appraisal report as a certified real
estate appraiser under § 36.52 (relating to use of certifi-
cate number and title) and, unless the appraisal assistant
checklist referenced in paragraph (5) is made part of the
appraisal report submitted to the client, either have the
assistant sign the appraisal report as assistant to the
certified real estate appraiser or identify the assistant in
the certification section of the appraisal report, or in
addendum to the appraisal report, as having provided
significant real property appraisal assistance.

(5) Co-sign a Board-approved appraisal assistant
checklist that has been completed by the assistant and
relates to the assistant’s work on the appraisal report.

(6) Provide a current or former assistant who is apply-
ing for appraiser certification with copies of designated
appraisal reports and appraisal assistant checklists re-
quested by the Board to verify the assistant’s experience.

(b) A certified residential real estate appraiser or certi-
fied general real estate appraiser who utilizes a licensed
appraiser trainee shall:

(1) Have at least 5 years’ experience as a residential or
general appraiser.

(2) Supervise no more than three trainees at one time.
(3) Directly supervise and control the trainee’s work,

assuming total responsibility for the contents of the
appraisal report, including all value conclusions.

(4) Accompany the trainee during the physical inspec-
tion of the property until the trainee has logged 300
hours of appraisal experience or until the supervising
appraiser determines the trainee is competent under
USPAP to perform the physical inspection unaccompa-
nied, whichever is the longer period.

(5) Co-sign a Board-approved appraiser trainee check-
list that has been completed by the trainee, relates to the
trainee’s work on the appraisal report and is made part of
the appraisal report submitted to the client.

(6) Provide a current or former trainee who is applying
for appraiser certification with copies of designated ap-
praisal reports requested by the Board to verify the
trainee’s experience.

(c) A certified general real estate appraiser who utilizes
a certified residential real estate appraiser as an assis-
tant for an appraisal of nonresidential property or an
appraisal of residential property of more than four dwell-
ing units shall:

(1) Directly supervise and control the residential ap-
praiser’s work, assuming total responsibility for the con-
tents of the appraisal report, including all value conclu-
sions.

(2) Accompany the residential appraiser during the
physical inspection of the property until the general
appraiser determines the residential appraiser is compe-
tent under USPAP to perform the physical inspection
unaccompanied.

(3) Co-sign the appraisal report as set forth in § 36.52
and specify in the appraisal report the nature of the
significant real property appraisal assistance rendered by
the residential appraiser.

(4) Provide the residential appraiser, at the time of
application for general appraiser certification, with copies
of designated appraisal reports requested by the Board to
verify the residential appraiser’s experience.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 10-1277. Filed for public inspection July 16, 2010, 9:00 a.m.]
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