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RULES AND REGULATIONS

Title 49—PROFESSIONAL
AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
[ 49 PA. CODE CH. 21]
Biennial Renewal Fees

The State Board of Nursing (Board) amends §§ 21.5,
21.147, 21.253 and 21.705. The final-form rulemaking
provides for a new biennial renewal fee for licensed
practical nurses (LPN), professional nurses (RN), certified
registered nurse practitioners (CRNP) and licensed
dietitian-nutritionists (LDN).

Effective Date

The final-form rulemaking will be effective upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

Statutory Authority

Section 11.2 of the Professional Nursing Law (63 P. S.
§ 221.2) and section 17.5 of the Practical Nurse Law (63
P.S. § 667.5) require the Board to set fees sufficient to
meet expenditures.

Response to Comments

The proposed rulemaking was published at 39 Pa.B.
7105 (December 19, 2009). The Board received comments
from the Pennsylvania Association of Nurse Anesthetists
(PANA), the Pennsylvania Health Care Association
(PHCA), Judith Giannuzzi, R. N., the House Professional
Licensure Committee (HPLC) and the Independent Regu-
latory Review Commission (IRRC). PANA wrote that it
did not have an objection to the proposed rulemaking.
PHCA, an organization representing approximately 324
long-term care and senior service providers, wrote in
opposition to the proposed increase in biennial renewal
fees. PHCA opined that the increase could create an
impediment for individuals seeking to become and to
work as nurses. Judith Giannuzzi objected to the pro-
posed increase and asked what obligations the Board
could not meet without the increase and whether other
cost-cutting options had been explored.

The HPLC submitted three comments. First, the HPLC
requested the rationale for the proposed 45%—50% in-
crease after 9 years without increases and after having
been notified of the need for increases in the fall of 2008.
Second, the HPLC recommended a duplicate listing of the
fee for examination and licensure be stricken. Third, the
HPLC recommended that web site references be checked
and questioned the wisdom of placing web site addresses
in a regulation. IRRC echoed the HPLC’s second com-
ment, recommended that the web site link be corrected
but remain in the regulation and requested that the
Board submit a “fee report form” for the increases in the
final-form rulemaking.

In determining that a fee increase was necessary, the
Board considered both its operational expenses and the
ability of its licensees to pay the increased fees. The
majority of the Board’s expenses arise from the investiga-
tion and prosecution of individuals who have violated the
nursing practice acts. Individuals who violate the nursing
practice acts place patients at risk. The Board’s obligation

to protect the public would be compromised if it did not
have the funds necessary to investigate and prosecute
violations of the nursing practice acts. The Department of
State and the Bureau of Professional and Occupational
Affairs have explored and implemented various cost-
cutting measures over the past several years.

The HPLC requested the rationale for the amount of
the increase after 9 years without increases and after
having been notified of the need for an increase in the fall
of 2008. The Board last increased biennial renewal fees in
November 2000. The Board anticipates that the first
implementation of the new fee will be in April 2011.

The Board is statutorily required to monitor revenues
and expenditures and to increase fees when it appears
that the Board’s revenues will not meet its expenditures
over a 2-year period. After monitoring revenues and
expenses on a biennial basis, the Department’s Bureau of
Finance and Operations informed the Board, in late fall
of 2008, that the Board’s revenues were not projected to
meet its expenses over a 2-year period. The Board began
drafting its proposed rulemaking and submitted a draft
for an incremental fee increase over the coming 10-year
period for internal review in January 2009. The incre-
mental increase was an approach that had been sug-
gested by the HPLC in its review of other board’s biennial
renewal fee regulations, but that had not previously been
adopted by another board.

Ongoing discussions ensued between the Board’s regu-
latory officers and the Bureau of Finance and Operations
regarding the uncertainty surrounding the approval of an
incremental fee increase and the urgency of the Board’s
need to balance its budget. The Board decided to propose
a traditional, one-time increase. The proposed rulemaking
was published at 39 Pa.B. 7105. In accordance with the
Regulatory Review Act (71 P. S. §§ 745.1—745.12), com-
ment periods were provided for the public, the HPLC, the
Senate Consumer Protection and Professional Licensure
Committee (SCP/PLC) and IRRC. The Board considered
the comments at its meeting on April 13, 2010, and
finalized a draft of the final-form rulemaking package
that day.

In determining the proposed biennial fee increases, the
Board also reviewed nursing salary data compiled by the
Department of Labor and Industry. This data shows the
average salary in this Commonwealth for an LPN is
$39,920, $61,390 for an RN and $44,420 for an LDN.
Data from the United States Department of Labor, Bu-
reau of Labor Statistics showed a median salary for
CRNPs in 2007 was $82,590. The increases proposed by
the Board would increase the licensure fees for LDNs,
LPNs and RNs by $10 per year to $32.50 per year. The
increase proposed by the Board would increase the
licensure fee for CRNPs by $12.50 per year to $37.50 per
year. These fees are significantly lower than the nurse
licensure fees charged in most of the surrounding states.
The Board does not anticipate that the increases will
place an undue burden on licensees or on employers who
pay the fees for their employees.

Regarding the web addresses in regulations, licensing
boards within the Bureau began including web addresses
in regulations at the suggestion of IRRC. Although the
Board questioned, as does the HPLC, the advisability of
publishing web addresses, which are subject to change, in
regulations, the Board agreed with IRRC that its regula-
tions should provide as much information as possible to
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licensees. The Legislative Reference Bureau has agreed to
publish changes to web addresses without requiring the
Board to promulgate a rulemaking to effectuate a change.
On balance, therefore, it appears that the benefit to
including web and e-mail addresses outweighs the pos-
sible negative effects when these addresses are changed.
The Board corrected the web addresses for the Commis-
sion on Dietetic Registration and the Certification Board
for Nutrition Specialists in the final-form rulemaking.

The Board deleted the repetitious provision in the fee
schedule for RNs and provided the fee report forms as
requested by IRRC.

Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

The final-form rulemaking will have a fiscal impact on
nurses and LDNs in this Commonwealth in that the
final-form rulemaking increases the biennial licensure
renewal fees for these licensees. The final-form rule-
making will not otherwise have fiscal impact nor impose
additional paperwork on the private sector, the general
public, the Commonwealth or its political subdivisions.

Sunset Date

The Board continuously monitors the effectiveness of its
regulations. Therefore, a sunset date has not been as-
signed.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)), on December 7, 2009, the Board submit-
ted a copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking, published
at 39 Pa.B. 7105, to IRRC and the Chairpersons of the
HPLC and the SCP/PLC for review and comment.

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC,
the HPLC and the SCP/PLC were provided with copies of
the comments received during the public comment period,
as well as other documents when requested. In preparing
the final-form rulemaking, the Board has considered all
comments from IRRC, the HPLC, the SCP/PLC and the
public.

Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5a(j.2)), on June 23, 2010, the final-form
rulemaking was approved by the HPLC. On July 14,
2010, the final-form rulemaking was deemed approved by
the SCP/PLC. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regulatory
Review Act, IRRC met on July 15, 2010, and approved the
final-form rulemaking.

Additional Information

Additional information may be obtained by writing to
Ann Steffanic, Board Administrator, State Board of Nurs-
ing, P. O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649.

Findings
The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given
under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P.L. 769, No. 240) and the regulations promulgated
thereunder, 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered in drafting this
final-form rulemaking.

(3) The amendments made to the final-form rule-
making do not enlarge the purpose of the proposed
rulemaking as published under section 201 of the act of
July 31, 1968 (P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P. S. § 1201).

(4) The amendments to the regulations of the Board
are necessary and appropriate for the regulation of the
practice of RNs in this Commonwealth.

Order
The Board orders that:

(a) The regulations of the Board, 49 Pa. Code Chapter
21, are amended by amending §§ 21.147 and 21.253 to
read as set forth at 39 Pa.B. 7105 and by amending
§§ 21.5 and 21.705 to read as set forth in Annex A.

(b) The Board shall submit a copy of 39 Pa.B. 7105 and
Annex A to the Office of the Attorney General and the
Office of General Counsel for approval as required by law.

(¢) The Board shall certify this order, 39 Pa.B. 7105
and Annex A and deposit them with the Legislative
Reference Bureau as required by law.

(d) The final-form rulemaking shall take effect upon
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

ANN O’SULLIVAN, Ph.D., FAAN, CRNP,
Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 40 Pa.B. 4359 (July 31, 2010).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 16A-5136 remains valid for
the final adoption of the subject regulations.

Annex A

TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

PART I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 21. STATE BOARD OF NURSING
Subchapter A. REGISTERED NURSES
GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 21.5. Fees.

(a) The following fees are charged by the Board for
services provided to licensees:

Examination and licensure ......................... $35
Reexamination. . ......ue oo e $30
Licensure by endorsement......................... $100
Temporary permit. . ..........oouueeeeeiinneeeennnn. $35
Extension of temporary permit ..................... $60
Fee for review and challenge of RN exams ......... $170
Application fee for out-of-State graduates........... $100
Verification of licensure .............. ... ... ...... $15
Reactivation of license (after 5 years or longer) ...... $50
Restoration after suspension or revocation........... $50
Certification of scores ...........coviiiiiiiiiinnn.. $25
Certification of license history ...................... $40

(b) The following fees are charged by the Board to
support its operations:

Biennial renewal of license .. ....................... $65

(¢) The following fees are charged by the Board for
services provided to nursing education programs:

Application for approval of new nursing program ... $935

(d) The following fees related to continuing education
are charged by the Board:
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Request, under § 21.134(b) (relating to continuing edu-
cation sources) by a provider of a continuing education
activity not listed in § 21.134(a) or an individual seeking
credit for a continuing education activity not pre-
approved by the Board, for approval of each hour of
continuing education for which credit is requested ... $75

(e) In addition to the examination and licensure fee
prescribed in subsection (a), which is payable directly to
the Board, a candidate for the registered nurse licensing
examination shall also pay a fee to the National Council
of the State Board of Nursing (www.ncsbn.org) to cover
costs associated with the preparation and administration
of the registered nurse licensing examination.

Subchapter G. DIETITIAN-NUTRITIONISTS
GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 21.705. Fees.

(a) The following fees are charged by the Board for
services to licensees:

Application for licensure .................couii... $45
Reactivation of inactive or lapsed license ............ $50
License verification fee............ ... ... .. .. ..... $15
License certification fee . .......... ... .. .. .. .. ..... $25
Restoration after suspension or revocation........... $50

(b) The following fees are charged by the Board to
support its operations:

Biennial renewal of license .. ........ ... .. .. ....... $65

(¢) In addition to the application fee prescribed in
subsection (a), which is payable directly to the Board, a
candidate for the Registration Examination for Registered
Dietitians shall also pay an additional examination fee. A
candidate may contact the Commission on Dietetic Regis-
tration, 120 South Riverside Plaza, Suite 2000, Chicago,
IL 60606-6995, www.cdrnet.org for more information re-
garding the examination and examination fee.

(d) In addition to the application fee prescribed in
subsection (a), which is payable directly to the Board, a
candidate for the Certification Board for Nutrition Spe-
cialists examination for Certified Nutrition Specialists
shall also pay an additional examination fee. A candidate
may contact the Certification Board for Nutrition Special-
ists, 300 South Duncan Avenue, Suite 225, Clearwater,
FL 33755, www.cbns.org for more information regarding
the examination and examination fee.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 10-1519. Filed for public inspection August 20, 2010, 9:00 a.m.]

STATE BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE
[ 49 PA. CODE CH. 31]
Biennial Renewal Fees

The State Board of Veterinary Medicine (Board)
amends § 31.41 (relating to schedule of fees) to read as
set forth in Annex A. The final-form rulemaking increases
the Board’s biennial renewal fees for the upcoming re-
newal period beginning on December 1, 2010, and pro-
vides for an additional increase for the next biennial
renewal period. The Board’s original proposed rule-
making, which provided for a new fee for the initial
biennial period beginning on December 1, 2010, followed
by five incremental increases, was disapproved by the

Independent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) on
April 22, 2010, with delivery of the disapproval order on
April 28, 2010.

Effective Date

The final-form rulemaking will be effective upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. The new fees will be
instituted for the upcoming biennial renewal cycle, which
will begin on December 1, 2010. An incremental increase
will be instituted beginning with the December 1, 2012,
biennial renewal cycle.

Statutory Authority

Section 13(b) of the Veterinary Medicine Practice Act
(act) (63 P. S. § 485.13(b)) requires the Board to increase
fees by regulation to meet or exceed projected expendi-
tures if the revenues raised by fees, fines and -civil
penalties are not sufficient to meet Board expenditures.
In its 2007 and 2008 annual reports to the Board, the
Department’s Bureau of Finance and Operations (BFO)
reported significant anticipated deficits requiring an in-
crease in fees. In response to suggestions by the House
Professional Licensure Committee (HPLC), the Board
proposed to raise fees incrementally. The fees proposed by
the Board were based on estimates from the BFO and
were intended to ensure the continued operation of the
Board in accordance with its statutory mandate.

In its disapproval order, IRRC opined that the General
Assembly did not intend for the Board to set fees on an
incrementally increasing basis. The act specifies that the
Board may only increase fees so that its projected rev-
enues meet or exceed its projected expenditures. The act
directs the Board to consider its revenues and expendi-
tures on a biennial basis because fees are collected
biennially. In consideration of IRRC’s concerns, and the
concerns of the HPLC that licensees be subject to smaller,
incremental increases, the Board amended this final-form
rulemaking to provide for an initial increase to the
biennial renewal fee followed by one small increase to set
the new fee that will thereafter be applied. In addition,
based on more recent projections by the BFO, the fees
have been set at an amount lower than originally pro-
posed.

Summary of Comments and the Board’s Response

The Board received one comment from an individual
member of the public and a comment from the Pennsylva-
nia Veterinary Medical Association (PVMA). The indi-
vidual commented that he was opposed to the fee increase
because “many complaints and issues before the board
are based on disputes over fees and concern about paying
bills.” The Board does not have jurisdiction over fee
disputes and complaints regarding fees are closed at a
very early stage; therefore, costs associated with these
types of complaints are minimal. Rather, the Board
attributes the increases in expenditures to increased
regulatory efforts and an increase in practice-related
complaints.

The PVMA wrote to state that it did not have objections
to the proposed fee increases in light of the past deficits
and projected future deficits. The PVMA also noted its
willingness to work with the Board to educate the
veterinary profession and potentially help decrease the
number of complaints and, therefore, the need to raise
fees. The Board appreciates the PVMA’s demonstrated
willingness to educate the veterinary profession, particu-
larly with regard to the Board’s recent rulemakings
related to recordkeeping and professional conduct.

The HPLC questioned how the new projected expendi-
tures over the next six biennial renewal periods for
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veterinarians and veterinary technicians were determined
to assure that the fee increases will adequately meet
their intended goal. The BFO bases its calculations on
income and expenses for the past 3 years and also
considers particular items identified by the Board that
may alter the estimates. The Board’s expenses have risen
dramatically over the past 10 years, requiring several fee
increases. This historic trend was also considered. The
Board has had an increase in practice issue cases, which
require greater resources. The Board has also undertaken
a more ambitious regulatory agenda, including regula-
tions to effectuate section 27(a)(2) of the act (63 P.S.
§ 485.27(a)(2)), which requires the Board to inspect all
animal hospitals or veterinary establishments, including
mobile clinics, at least biennially. The BFO considered
this information when it proposed fees to the Board. The
Board, cognizant of the expense of repeatedly promulgat-
ing fee regulations and the disruption to licensees caused
by unpredictable fees, determined that it should round
the BFO’s proposals up slightly.

The HPLC urged the Board to closely monitor its
expenses to determine the adequacy of the increase over
the proposed period and beyond so if a change in fees is
needed, it will be realized as soon as possible. The Board
has always monitored its budget on a fiscal and biennial
basis and will continue to do so, especially since the
proposed rulemaking has now been limited to the next
two biennial renewal periods. The Board will request
information from the groups that provide services to the
Board and will endeavor to ensure that expenses do not
increase unnecessarily.

Finally, the HPLC noted that it appreciated the gradu-
ated increase as being easier for the Board’s licensees.
The Board agrees that the graduated increase will be
easier for its licensees to plan for and manage their
budgets.

IRRC noted that while it did not question the policy
behind the incremental fee increases, it asked the Board
to explain how the increases conform to the intent of the
General Assembly and section 13 of the act. IRRC asked
the Board to explain its statutory authority for automatic
increases that may or may not be needed 10 years in the
future and asked if the financial condition of the Board
improves, would the fees be decreased accordingly? Sec-
tion 13(b) of the act requires the Board to increase its
biennial renewal fees if the Board’s revenues are not
sufficient to meet expenditures over a 2-year period. The
General Assembly references a 2-year period because
license renewal fees are collected biennially; therefore,
the Board can only accurately gauge its revenue and
expenses by looking at a given 2-year period. Section
13(b) of the act does not limit the Board to looking only 2
years into the future when projecting a budget surplus or
shortfall. It is simply a legislative mandate to increase
fees at the point that biennial revenue is inadequate to
fund the Board’s projected expenditures over a biennial
period to provide for the continued operations of the
Board. For this reason, the Board voted to continue with
its plan to incrementally increase biennial renewal fees,
albeit over only the next two renewal periods, adjusted to
reflect the BFO’s updated projections.

The HPLC approved the final-form rulemaking pack-
age. As previously noted, IRRC disapproved the final-form
rulemaking package. Following the disapproval, the
Board requested that representatives from the BFO ap-
pear at its May 6, 2010, meeting to update the Board on
its projected budget and to present alternatives to the
proposed rulemaking. The Board considered the informa-

tion presented by the BFO and adopted the BFO’s
proposed initial fee increase followed by an incremental
increase in the following biennial period. The Board
believes that this approach addresses IRRC’s concerns
about raising fees 10 years out, while still incorporating
the HPLC’s suggestion of smaller, more frequent changes
to the biennial renewal fees.

Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

The final-form rulemaking will increase the biennial
renewal fee to $345 for veterinarians and $85 for veteri-
nary technicians for the biennial period beginning Decem-
ber 1, 2010, and to $360 for veterinarians and $100 for
veterinary technicians beginning December 1, 2012. The
final-form rulemaking should not have other fiscal impact
on the private sector, the general public or political
subdivisions. The final-form rulemaking will require the
Board to alter some of its forms to reflect the new
biennial renewal fees; however, the final-form rulemaking
should not create additional paperwork for the private
sector.

Sunset Date

The Board continuously monitors its regulations. There-
fore, a sunset date has not been assigned.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5(a)), on September 2, 2009, the Board submit-
ted a copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking, published
at 39 Pa.B. 5436 (September 19, 2009), to IRRC and the
Chairpersons of the HPLC and the Senate Consumer
Protection and Professional Licensure Committee (SCP/
PLC) for review and comment.

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC,
the HPLC and the SCP/PLC were provided with copies of
the comments received during the public comment period,
as well as other documents when requested. In preparing
the final-form rulemaking, the Board has considered all
comments from IRRC, the HPLC, the SCP/PLC and the
public.

Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5a(;.2)), on March 24, 2010, the final-form
rulemaking was approved by the HPLC. On April 22,
2010, the final-form rulemaking was deemed approved by
the SCP/PLC. Under section 5.1(e¢) of the Regulatory
Review Act, IRRC met on April 22, 2010, and disapproved
the final-form rulemaking and delivered notice of its
disapproval on April 28, 2010.

Under section 7(c) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.7(c)), the Board amended its final rulemaking
package and submitted a report to IRRC and the Chair-
persons of the HPLC and the SCP/PLC. Following sub-
mission of the report, IRRC met on July 15, 2010, and
approved the amended final rulemaking. Under section
7(d) of the Regulatory Review Act (71 P.S. § 745.7(d)),
the amended final-form rulemaking was deemed approved
by the HPLC and the SCP/PLC on July 29, 2010.

Findings
The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given
under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P.L. 769, No. 240) and the regulations promulgated
thereunder, 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered.
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(3) This final-form rulemaking is necessary and appro-
priate for administering and enforcing the authorizing act
identified in this preamble.

Order

The Board, acting under its authorizing statute, orders
that:

(a) The regulations of the Board, 49 Pa. Code Chapter
31, are amended by amending § 31.41 to read as set forth
in Annex A.

(b) The Board shall submit this order and Annex A to
the Office of General Counsel and the Office of Attorney
General as required by law.

(¢) The Board shall certify this order and Annex A and
deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bureau as
required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect immediately upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

ROBIN J. BERNSTEIN, Esq.,
Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 40 Pa.B. 4359 (July 31, 2010).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 16A-5723 remains valid for
the final adoption of the subject regulations.

Annex A

TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

PART I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 31. STATE BOARD OF VETERINARY
MEDICINE

FEES
§ 31.41. Schedule of fees.

An applicant for a license, certificate or service shall
submit a payment at the time of the request under the
following fee schedule:

Veterinarian fees for services:
Application to original, reactivated, reissued or

reciprocal license ............... ... ... . ... ... $35
Application for continuing education program

approval . ... .. $35
Verification of licensure .................. ...t $15
Certification of scores or hours ..................... $25
Temporary permit. ............o.ueeieiinneneeannn... $35
Late renewal fee per month or part of month......... $5

Veterinarian biennial renewal:

Biennial renewal fee for biennial period

December 1, 2010—November 30, 2012.......... $345
Biennial renewal fee for biennial period

December 1, 2012—November 30, 2014 .......... $360
Veterinary technician fees for services:
Application for certification......................... $35
Application for continuing education program

APPTOVAL o $35
Verification of certification.......................... $15
Certification of scores or hours ..................... $25

Late renewal fee per month or part of month......... $5
Veterinary technician biennial renewal:
Biennial renewal fee for biennial period

December 1, 2010—November 30, 2012 ........... $85
Biennial renewal fee for biennial period
December 1, 2012—November 30, 2014 .......... $100

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 10-1520. Filed for public inspection August 20, 2010, 9:00 a.m.]

STATE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION
[ 49 PA. CODE CH. 35]
Initial Licensure Fees

The State Real Estate Commission (Commission)
amends § 35.203 (relating to fees) to read as set forth in
Annex A.

Summary

The final-form rulemaking amends the current fees by
consolidating the initial licensure fee charged to new
applicants from a two-tiered structure to a one-tier
structure. Instead of charging applicants in the first year
of the licensure period 100% of the biennial renewal fee
and applicants who apply in the second year of the
licensure period 50% of the biennial renewal fee, the
final-form rulemaking consolidates these fees into one fee,
which represents 75% of the biennial renewal fee.

Statutory Authority

The final-form rulemaking is authorized under sections
404 and 407 of the Real Estate Licensing and Registra-
tion Act (act) (63 P. S. §§ 455.404 and 455.407).

Response to Comments

The proposed rulemaking was published at 39 Pa.B.
7109 (December 19, 2009). Publication was followed by a
30-day public comment period during which the Board
received a public comment from the Pennsylvania Asso-
ciation of Realtors, who remained neutral on the rule-
making. Following the close of the public comment period,
the Board received comments from the Independent
Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) and the House
Professional Licensure Committee (HPLC). The Senate
Consumer Protection and Professional Licensure Commit-
tee (SCP/PLC) did not comment.

IRRC recommended that the Commission add builder-
owner salesperson and time-share salesperson to the
categories of licensees required to pay biennial renewal
fees if those fees are currently being charged as the
initial licensure fees include those categories of licensees.
In that builder-owner salespersons and time-share sales-
persons pay biennial renewal fees, the Commission added
both categories of licensees in the final-form rulemaking.

The HPLC questioned which licensing boards within
the Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs are
able and unable to accept online applications. All boards,
except for the State Board of Cosmetology and the State
Board of Barber Examiners, are able to have initial
licensure applications processed electronically. However,
to date, only the State Board of Vehicle Manufactures,
Dealers and Salespersons, which accepts initial licensure
applications for salespersons and representatives, and the
State Board of Nursing, which accepts online applications
for temporary and examination applications for registered
and licensed professional nurses, are currently set up to
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accept online applications. The State Board of Cosmetol-
ogy and the State Board of Barber Examiners cannot use
this system because their initial licensure applications go
to their examination vendor by contract.

Compliance with Executive Order 1996-1, Regulatory Re-
view and Promulgation

The Board reviewed this final-form rulemaking and
considered its purpose and likely impact on the public
and the regulated population under the directives of
Executive Order 1996-1.

Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

The final-form rulemaking will not have adverse fiscal
impact or paperwork requirements on the Board, licens-
ees, the Commonwealth, its political subdivisions or the
public sector.

Sunset Date

The Board continually monitors the effectiveness of its
regulations through communication with the regulated
population; accordingly, a sunset date has not been set.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)), on December 7, 2009, the Committee
submitted a copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking,
published at 39 Pa.B. 7109, to IRRC and the Chairper-
sons of the HPLC and the SCP/PLC for review and
comment.

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC,
the HPLC and the SCP/PLC were provided with copies of
the comments received during the public comment period,
as well as other documents when requested. In preparing
the final-form rulemaking, the Board has considered all
comments from IRRC, the HPLC, the SCP/PLC and the
public.

Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5a(j.2)), on June 9, 2010, the final-form rule-
making was approved by the HPLC. On July 14, 2010,
the final-form rulemaking was deemed approved by the
SCP/PLC. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regulatory Review
Act, IRRC met on July 15, 2010, and approved the
final-form rulemaking.

Contact Person

Further information may be obtained by contacting
Patricia Ridley, Administrator, State Real Estate Commis-
sion, P. 0. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649, (717)
783-3658.

Findings
The Commission finds that:

(1) Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given
under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P.L. 769, No. 240) and the regulations promulgated
thereunder, 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered.

(3) The amendment made to the final-form rulemaking
does not enlarge the purpose of proposed rulemaking
published at 39 Pa.B. 7109.

(4) This final-form rulemaking is necessary and appro-
priate for administering and enforcing the act.

Order
The Commission, under the act, orders that:

(a) The regulations of the Commission, 49 Pa. Code
Chapter 35, are amended by amending § 35.203 to read
as set forth in Annex A.

(b) The Commission shall submit this order and Annex
A to the Office of General Counsel and the Office of
Attorney General as required by law.

(¢) The Commission shall certify this order and Annex
A and deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bu-
reau as required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect on publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.
JOSEPH TARANTINO, Jr.,

Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 40 Pa.B. 4359 (July 31, 2010).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 16A-5615 remains valid for
the final adoption of the subject regulation.

Annex A

TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

PART I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 35. STATE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION
Subchapter B. GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 35.203. Fees.
The following fees are charged by the Commission:

Review of qualifications of candidate for broker or
cemetery broker licensing examination .............. $40

Application for standard or reciprocal licensure of:

(i) Broker, cemetery broker or rental listing referral
AN . oo $75

(i) Branch office .......ovuie e $65

(iii) Associate broker, salesperson, cemetery associate
broker, builder-owner salesperson, time-share salesper-
son, campground membership salesperson, or broker of
record, partner or officer for a partnership, association or
COTPOration .. .......c.eeiiiiinr i $25

(iv) Cemetery salesperson........................ $20
Application for registration of cemetery company .. $25

Initial standard or reciprocal licensure for broker, cem-
etery broker, branch office, rental listing referral agent, or
broker of record, partner or officer for a partnership,
association or corporation ....................... $94.50

Initial standard or reciprocal registration for cemetery
company or initial standard or reciprocal licensure for
associate broker, salesperson, cemetery associate broker,
cemetery salesperson, builder-owner salesperson, time-
share salesperson or campground membership sales%er-
5T o 72
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Biennial renewal of standard or reciprocal license of
broker, cemetery broker, branch office, rental listing
referral agent or broker of record, partner or officer for a
partnership, association or corporation ............. $126

Biennial renewal of cemetery company registration or
standard or reciprocal license of associate broker, sales-
person, cemetery associate broker, cemetery salesperson
or campground membership salesperson............. $96

Biennial renewal of cemetery company registration or
standard or reciprocal license of associate broker, sales-
person, cemetery associate broker, cemetery salesperson,
campground membership salesperson, builder-owner

salesperson or time-share salesperson............... $64
Registration of promotional real estate........... $120
Annual renewal of registration of promotional real
ESEAbE . o et $113
Approval of real estate education provider........ $120

Reinspection of real estate education provider after first
failure ...t $65

Annual renewal of approval of real estate education
Provider.............oouuiiiiiiiiaaann. $375 plus $15
for each satellite

location, course and instructor

Change of name or office location of broker, cemetery
broker or rental listing referral agent ............... $75

Change of name or address for cemetery company or
change of employer, change of employer’s name or change
of employer’s address for associate broker, cemetery asso-
ciate broker, salesperson, cemetery salesperson, builder-
owner salesperson, time-share salesperson, campground
membership salesperson, or broker of record, partner or
officer for a partnership, association or corporation. .. $20

Reinspection after failure for change of name or office
location of broker, cemetery broker or rental listing
referral agent............. ... ... .. . ... $55

Change of ownership or directorship of real estate
education provider ............... ... ..., $75

Change of name of real estate education provider.. $45

Change of location of real estate education

PrOVIder. .. ...ttt $70
Addition of satellite location or instructor for real estate

education provider .............. .. ..., $20
Addition of course for real estate education

PrOVIder. . ...\ttt $25
Certification of current status of standard or reciprocal

licensure, registration or approval .................. $15
Certification of history of standard or reciprocal

licensure, registration or approval .................. $40
Duplicate standard or reciprocal license ............ $5

Late renewal of standard or reciprocal
license ..................... In addition to the prescribed
renewal fee, $5 for each
month or part of the month
beyond the renewal date
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 10-1521. Filed for public inspection August 20, 2010, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 58—RECREATION

PENNSYLVANIA GAMING CONTROL BOARD
[ 58 PA. CODE CHS. 401a AND 435a]
Definitions and Licensing Requirements

The Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board (Board), un-
der its general authority in 4 Pa.C.S. § 1202(b)(30)
(relating to general and specific powers) and the specific
authority in 4 Pa.C.S. §§ 1103, 1213, 1326 and 1603,
amends Chapters 401a and 435a (relating to preliminary
provisions; and employees) to read as set forth in Annex

A.
Omission of Proposed Rulemaking

The Board, under section 204(3) of the act of July 31,
1968 (P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P. S. § 1204(3)), known as
the Commonwealth Documents Law (CDL), and 1
Pa. Code § 7.4(3) (relating to omission of notice of pro-
posed rulemaking), finds that notice of proposed rule-
making under these circumstances is unnecessary and
impractical and therefore may be omitted. The Board’s
justification for utilizing the proposed rulemaking omitted
process is that the only changes being made in this
final-omitted rulemaking are those specifically required to
bring the Board’s regulations into conformity with the act
of January 7, 2010 (P. L. 1, No. 1) (Act 1).

Act 1 amended the definitions of “gaming employee”
and “key employee” in 4 Pa.C.S. § 1103 (relating to
definitions), amended 4 Pa.C.S. § 1213 (relating to li-
cense or permit prohibition) governing who may not be
issued a license or permit, amended 4 Pa.C.S. § 1326
(relating to license renewals) to set forth the time period
for the renewal of a license or permit and added 4 Pa.C.S.
Chapter 16 (relating to junkets) to require gaming junket
representatives to obtain an occupation permit. The
amendments in this final-omitted rulemaking these statu-
tory changes.

Purpose of the Final-Omitted Rulemaking

The final-omitted rulemaking amends the definitions of
“gaming employee” and “key employee” and makes other
amendments regarding licensing to bring the Board’s
regulations into conformity with the revisions made to 4
Pa.C.S. Part II (relating to gaming) by Act 1.

Explanation of Amendments to Chapters 401a and 435a

In § 401a.3 (relating to definitions), the terms “gaming
employee” and “key employee” have been amended to
conform to the revised statutory definitions. The principal
impact of this change, which has already been imple-
mented by the Bureau of Licensing, has been to reduce
the number of employees who are required to obtain a
key employee license. These former key employees now
fall under the “gaming employee” definition and are now
only required to obtain an occupation permit.

In § 435a.1 (relating to general provisions), subsections
(f) and (g) have been added to reflect the amendments to
4 Pa.C.S. § 1213, which prohibit anyone with a felony
conviction from receiving a principal or key employee
license and prohibit anyone with a misdemeanor gam-
bling offense from getting a principal or key employee
license unless at least 15 years has passed since the
conviction for the offense. Former subsection (f), now
subsection (h), has been amended to reflect the statutory
prohibition on the issuance of occupation permits to an
individual convicted of a felony or misdemeanor gambling
offense unless 15 years has passed since his conviction.
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Former subsection (g), now subsection (i), has also been
amended to make the language of this section consistent
with the statutory amendments. Finally, subsection (j)
has been added to mirror 4 Pa.C.S. § 1213(4), which
specifies what will be considered to be a felony.

In § 435a.4 (related to key employee license and occu-
pation permit term and renewal), the time period for
which a license or permit will be valid has been changed
from 1 to 3 years consistent with the change to 4 Pa.C.S.
§ 1326.

Affected Parties

Employees of slot machine licensees and applicants for
licenses and permits impacted by the amendments in Act
1 are similarly impacted by this final-omitted rulemaking.

Fiscal Impact
Commonuwealth

The Board does not anticipate that there will be costs
or savings to the Board or any other Commonwealth
agency as a result of this final-omitted rulemaking.

Political subdivisions

This final-omitted rulemaking will not have fiscal im-
pact on political subdivisions of this Commonwealth.

Private sector

As a result of the passage of Act 1, applicants for and
holders of licenses or permits will experience lower costs.
This final-omitted rulemaking, which mirrors the statu-
tory changes, will not result in additional costs or sav-
ings.

General public

This final-omitted rulemaking will not have fiscal im-
pact on the general public.

Paperwork Requirements

The reclassification of positions to gaming employee
from key employee and the extension of the time period
that a license or permit is valid from 1 year to 3 years
will result in fewer and in some cases shorter applications
for some applicants and individuals seeking renewals.

Effective Date

The final-omitted rulemaking will become effective
upon publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

Contact Person

The contact person for questions about this final-
omitted rulemaking is Susan Yocum, Assistant Chief
Counsel (717) 703-2971.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5.1(c) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5a(c)) on June 22, 2010, the Board submitted
a copy of the final-form regulations, proposed rulemaking
omitted, to the Independent Regulatory Review Commis-
sion (IRRC), the Senate Community, Economic and Recre-
ational Development Committee and the House Gaming
Oversight Committee (Committees) and the Attorney
General. In addition to submitting the final-omitted rule-
making, the Board also provided IRRC, the Committees
and the Attorney General with a copy of a detailed
Regulatory Analysis Form prepared by the Board.

Under section 5.1(j.1)—(.3) of the Regulatory Review
Act, this final-omitted rulemaking was deemed approved
by the Committees on August 4, 2010. IRRC met on
August 5, 2010, and approved the regulations in accord-
ance with section 5.1(e) of the Regulatory Review Act.

Findings

The Board finds that the final-omitted rulemaking is
necessary and appropriate for the administration and
enforcement of the authorizing statute. Under section 204
of the CDL, the Board also finds that the proposed
rulemaking procedures in sections 201 and 202 of the
CDL (45 P. S. §§ 1201 and 1202) are unnecessary because
it is in the public interest to expedite this final-omitted
rulemaking.

Order
The Board, acting under 4 Pa.C.S. Part II, orders that:

(a) The regulations of the Board, 58 Pa. Code Chapters
401a and 435a, are amended by amending §§ 401a.3,
435a.1 and 435a.4 to read as set forth in Annex A, with
ellipses referring to the existing text of the regulations.

(b) The Chairperson of the Board shall certify this
order and Annex A and deposit them with the Legislative
Reference Bureau as required by law.

(¢c) This order shall become effective upon publication
in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

GREGORY C. FAJT,
Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 40 Pa.B. 4814 (August 21, 2010).)

Fiscal Note: 125-127. No fiscal impact; (8) recom-
mends adoption.

Annex A
TITLE 58. RECREATION
PART VII. GAMING CONTROL BOARD
Subpart A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
CHAPTER 401a. PRELIMINARY PROVISIONS
§ 401a.3. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this part,
have the following meanings, unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

* & * & *k
Gaming employee—
(i) An employee of a slot machine licensee, including:
(A) Cashiers.
(B) Change personnel.
(C) Count room personnel.
(D) Slot attendants.
(E) Dealers or croupiers.

(F) Machine mechanics, computer machine technicians
or table game device technicians.

(G) Security personnel.
(H) Surveillance personnel.

(I) Personnel with SLOTS Link security administrator
access and responsibilities.

(J) Hosts or other individuals authorized to extend
complimentary services, including employees performing
functions similar to those performed by a gaming junket
representative.

(K) Promotional play supervisors, credit supervisors,
pit supervisors, cashier supervisors, shift supervisors,
table game managers and assistant managers and other
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supervisors and managers, except for those specifically
identified in this part as key employees.

(L) Boxpersons.
(M) Floorpersons.
(N) Personnel authorized to issue promotional play.

(O) Personnel authorized to issue credit.
* * * % *

(iii) Employees of a registered or certified gaming
service provider, licensed manufacturer or manufacturer
designee whose duties require the employee’s presence on
the gaming floor or in a restricted area of a licensed
facility.

(iv) Gaming junket representatives.
* * * * &

Key employee—An individual who is:

(i) Employed in a director or department head capacity
and who is empowered to make discretionary decisions
that regulate slot machine or table game operations in
this Commonwealth, including the general manager and
assistant manager of the licensed facility, director of slot
operations, director of table games operations, director of
cage operations, director of credit operations, director of
surveillance, director of marketing, director of manage-
ment information systems, director of security, director of
human resources, comptroller and any employee who is
not otherwise designated as a gaming employee and who
supervises the operations of these departments or to
whom these department directors or department heads
report.

& * & * &

Subpart B. LICENSING, PERMITTING,
CERTIFICATION AND REGISTRATION

CHAPTER 435a. EMPLOYEES

§ 435a.1. General provisions.
ES * ES Ed *

(f) A principal or key employee license will not be
issued to an individual who has been convicted of a felony
offense in any jurisdiction.

(g) A principal or key employee license will not be
issued to an individual who has been convicted of a
misdemeanor gambling offense in any jurisdiction, unless
15 years have elapsed from the date of conviction for the
offense.

(h) A permit will not be issued to an individual who
has been convicted of a felony offence or misdemeanor
gambling offense in any jurisdiction, unless 15 years have
elapsed from the date of conviction for the offense.

(1) When considering an application for a registration
from an individual who has been convicted of a felony or
misdemeanor gaming offense in any jurisdiction, an appli-
cation for a permit from an individual who has been
convicted of a felony or misdemeanor gaming offense in
any jurisdiction when 15 years have elapsed from the
date of the conviction for the offense, or an application for
a license from an individual who has been convicted of a
misdemeanor gaming offense in any jurisdiction when 15
years have elapsed from the date of the conviction for the
offense, the Board will consider:

* & * & *

(j) For purposes of this section, a felony offense is any
of the following:

(1) An offense punishable under the laws of this Com-
monwealth by imprisonment for more than 5 years.

(2) An offense which, under the laws of another juris-
diction, is either:

(1) Classified as a felony.
(i) Punishable by imprisonment for more than 5 years.

(3) An offense under the laws of another jurisdiction
which, if committed in this Commonwealth, would be
subject to imprisonment for more than 5 years.

£ * & & *

§ 435a.4. Key employee license and occupation per-
mit term and renewal.

(a) A key employee license or occupation permit issued
under this chapter shall be valid for 3 years from the date
of Board approval.

(b) A renewal application shall be submitted to the
Board at least 60 days prior to the expiration of a key
employee license or occupation permit.

(¢) A key employee license or occupation permit for
which a completed renewal application and fee has been
received by the Board will continue in effect until the
Board sends written notification to the holder of the key
employee license or occupation permit that the Board has
approved or denied the key employee license or occupa-
tion permit.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 10-1522. Filed for public inspection August 20, 2010, 9:00 a.m.]
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