
THE COURTS
Title 234—RULES OF

CRIMINAL PROCEDURE
[ 234 PA. CODE CHS. 4 AND 7 ]

Order Adopting Rules 490 and 790 and Rescinding
Rule 722 of the Rules of Criminal Procedure; No.
394 Criminal Procedural Rules

Order
Per Curiam

And Now, this 22nd day of September, 2010, upon the
recommendation of the Criminal Procedural Rules Com-
mittee; the proposal having been published before adop-
tion at 39 Pa.B. 4332 (7/25/2009), and in the Atlantic
Reporter (Second Series Advance Sheets, Vol. 973), and a
Final Report to be published with this Order:

It Is Ordered pursuant to Article V, Section 10 of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania that Pennsylvania Rules of
Criminal Procedure 490 and 790 are adopted and Penn-
sylvania Rule of Criminal Procedure 722 is rescinded all
in the following form.

This Order shall be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(b), and shall be effective in 90 days.

Annex A

TITLE 234. RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE

CHAPTER 4. PROCEDURES IN SUMMARY CASES

PART H. Summary Case Expungement Procedures
490. Procedure for Obtaining Expungement in Summary Cases;

Expungement Order.

Rule 490. Procedure for Obtaining Expungement in
Summary Cases; Expungement Order.

(A) Petition for Expungement

(1) Except as provided in Rule 320, an individual who
satisfies the requirements of 18 Pa.C.S. § 9122 for
expungement of a summary case may request expunge-
ment by filing a petition with the clerk of the courts of
the judicial district in which the charges were disposed.

(2) The petition shall set forth:

(a) the petitioner’s name and any aliases that the
petitioner has used, address, date of birth, and social
security number;

(b) the name and address of the issuing authority who
accepted the guilty plea or heard the case;

(c) the name and mailing address of the affiant as
shown on the complaint or citation, if available;

(d) the magisterial district court number;

(e) the docket number;

(f) the date on the citation or complaint, or the date of
arrest, and, if available, the criminal justice agency that
made the arrest;

(g) the specific charges, as they appear on the charging
document, to be expunged;

(h) the disposition and, if the sentence includes a fine,
costs, or restitution, whether the amount due has been
paid;

(i) the reason(s) for expungement; and

(j) a verification by the petitioner that facts set forth in
the petition are true and correct to the best of the
petitioner’s personal knowledge or information and belief.
The verification may be by a sworn affidavit or by an
unsworn written statement that the facts are verified
subject to the penalties for unsworn falsification to au-
thorities under the Crimes Code § 4904, 18 Pa.C.S.
§ 4904.

Additional information shall not be required by local
rule or practice.

(3) A current copy of the petitioner’s Pennsylvania
State Police criminal record shall be attached to the
petition. The copy shall be obtained from the Pennsylva-
nia State Police within 60 days before filing the petition.

(4) A copy of the petition shall be served on the
attorney for the Commonwealth concurrently with filing.

(B) Objections; Hearing

(1) Within 30 days after service of the petition, the
attorney for the Commonwealth shall file a consent or
objection to the petition or take no action. The attorney
for the Commonwealth’s consent or objection shall be filed
with the clerk of courts, and copies shall be served on the
petitioner’s attorney, or the petitioner if unrepresented.

(2) Upon receipt of the attorney for the Common-
wealth’s response, or no later than 14 days after the
expiration of the 30-day period in paragraph (B)(1), the
judge shall grant or deny the petition or shall schedule a
hearing.

(3) At the hearing, if any, the parties shall be afforded
an opportunity to be heard. Following the hearing, the
judge promptly shall enter an order granting or denying
the petition.

(4) If the judge grants the petition for expungement,
the judge shall enter an order directing expungement.

(a) The order shall contain the information required in
paragraph (C).

(b) The order shall be stayed for 30 days pending an
appeal. If a timely notice of appeal is filed, the expunge-
ment order is stayed pending the disposition of the appeal
and further order of court.

(5) If the judge denies the petition for expungement,
the judge shall enter an order denying the petition and
stating the reasons for the denial.

(C) Order

(1) Every order for expungement shall include:

(a) the petitioner’s name and any aliases that the
petitioner has used, address, date of birth, and social
security number;

(b) the name and address of the issuing authority who
accepted the guilty plea or heard the case;

(c) the name and mailing address of the affiant as
shown on the complaint or citation, if available;

(d) the magisterial district court number;

(e) the docket number;

(f) the date on the citation or complaint, or the date of
arrest, and, if available, the criminal justice agency that
made the arrest;
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(g) the specific charges, as they appear on the charging
document, to be expunged;

(h) the disposition and, if the sentence includes a fine,
costs, or restitution, whether the amount due has been
paid;

(i) the reason(s) for expungement; and
(j) the criminal justice agencies upon which certified

copies of the order shall be served.
Additional information shall not be required by local

rule or practice.
(2) The clerk of courts shall serve a certified copy of the

Order to each criminal justice agency identified in the
court’s Order.

Comment
This rule, adopted in 2010, provides the procedures for

requesting and ordering expungement in summary cases.
Any case in which a summary offense is filed with a
misdemeanor, felony, or murder of the first, second, or
third degree is a court case (see Rule 103). The petition
for expungement of the summary offense in such a case
would proceed under Rule 790.

See also Rule 320 for the procedures for expungement
following the successful completion of an ARD program in
a summary case and Rule 790 for court case expunge-
ment procedures.

This rule sets forth the only information that is to be
included in every expungement petition and order.

Paragraph (A)(3) requires the petitioner to attach a
copy of his or her criminal record to the petition.

A form petition is to be designed and published by the
Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts in consulta-
tion with the Committee as provided in Rule 104.

‘‘Petition,’’ as used in this rule, is a ‘‘motion’’ for
purposes of Rules 575, 576, and 577.

The ‘‘reason for expungement’’ in paragraph (A)(2)(i)
and (C)(1)(i) means, for example, acquittal, arrest or
prosecution free for five years following the conviction for
that summary offense, or age.

For the procedures for filing and service of petitions,
see Rule 576.

For the procedures for filing and service of orders, see
Rule 114.

For purposes of this rule, ‘‘criminal justice agency’’
includes police departments, county detectives, and other
law enforcement agencies. See also 18 Pa.C.S. § 9102.

Concerning standing, see In Re Administrative Order
No. 1-MD-2003, 594 Pa. 346, 936 A.2d 1 (2007); Common-
wealth v. J.H., 563 Pa. 248, 759 A.2d 1269 (2000).

Official Note: Adopted September 22, 2010 effective in
90 days.
Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the September 22, 2010 pro-
mulgation of new Rule 490 providing the procedures for
expungements in summary cases published with the
Court’s Order at 40 Pa.B. 5740 (October 9, 2010).

CHAPTER 7. POST-TRIAL PROCEDURES IN
COURT CASES

PART B. Post-Sentence Procedures

Rule 722. [ Contents of Order for Expungement ]
Rescinded.

[ Every order for expungement shall include:

(1) the defendant’s name, date of birth, and social
security number;

(2) the OTN;

(3) the district justice docket number and the
magisterial district number, or the Municipal Court
docket number;

(4) the court of common pleas docket number, if
any;

(5) the specific charges, as they appear on the
charging document, to be expunged;

(6) the date of arrest and the criminal justice
agency which made the arrest;

(7) the disposition;

(8) the reason for expungement; and

(9) the criminal justice agencies upon which cer-
tified copies of the order shall be served.

Comment

This rule sets forth the information that must be
included in every expungement order, but is not
intended to be an exclusive list.

When a summons instead of an arrest warrant is
issued pursuant to Rule 518, the date of the sum-
mons constitutes the ‘‘date of arrest’’ for purposes
of paragraph (6).

For purposes of this rule, ‘‘criminal justice
agency’’ includes police departments, county detec-
tives, and other law enforcement agencies. See also
18 Pa.C.S. § 9102.

The ‘‘reason for expungement’’ in paragraph (8)
means, for example, acquittal, successful comple-
tion of ARD, or age. ]

Official Note: Rule 9017 adopted February 24, 1993,
effective July 1, 1993; renumbered Rule 722 and Com-
ment revised March 1, 2000, effective April 1, 2001;
rescinded September 22, 2010, effective in 90 days,
and replaced by new Rules 490(C) and 790(C).

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Report explaining the provisions of the new rule pub-
lished with the Court’s Order at 23 Pa.B. 1134 (March 13,
1993).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorganiza-
tion and renumbering of the rules published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. [ 1477 ] 1478 (March 18, 2000).

Final Report explaining the September 22, 2010
rescission of Rule 722 published with the Court’s
Order at 40 Pa.B. 5740 (October 9, 2010).

PART C. Court Case Expungement Procedures

Rule 790. Procedure for Obtaining Expungement in
Court Cases; Expungement Order.

(A) Petition for Expungement

(1) Except as provided in Rule 320 and 35 P. S. § 780-
119, an individual who satisfies the requirements for
expungement may request expungement by filing a peti-
tion with the clerk of the courts of the judicial district in
which the charges were disposed.
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(2) The petition shall set forth:
(a) the petitioner’s name and any aliases that the

petitioner has used, address, date of birth, and social
security number;

(b) the name and address of the judge of the court of
common pleas who accepted the guilty plea or heard the
case;

(c) the name and mailing address of the affiant as
shown on the complaint, if available;

(d) the Philadelphia Municipal Court docket number or
the court of common pleas docket number, whichever
applies;

(e) the offense tracking number (OTN);
(f) the date on the complaint, or the date of arrest, and,

if available, the criminal justice agency that made the
arrest;

(g) the specific charges, as they appear on the charging
document, to be expunged;

(h) the disposition and, if the sentence includes a fine,
costs, or restitution, whether the amount due has been
paid;

(i) the reason(s) for expungement; and
(j) a verification by the petitioner that facts set forth in

the petition are true and correct to the best of the
petitioner’s personal knowledge or information and belief.
The verification may be by a sworn affidavit or by an
unsworn written statement that the facts are verified
subject to the penalties for unsworn falsification to
authorities under the Crimes Code § 4904, 18 Pa.C.S.
§ 4904.

Additional information shall not be required by local
rule or practice.

(3) A current copy of the petitioner’s Pennsylvania
State Police criminal record shall be attached to the
petition. The copy shall be obtained from the Pennsylva-
nia State Police within 60 days before filing the petition.

(4) A copy of the petition shall be served on the
attorney for the Commonwealth concurrently with filing.

(B) Objections; Hearing
(1) Within 60 days after service of the petition, the

attorney for the Commonwealth shall file a consent or
objection to the petition or take no action. The attorney
for the Commonwealth’s consent or objection shall be filed
with the clerk of courts, and copies shall be served on the
petitioner’s attorney, or the petitioner if unrepresented.

(2) Upon receipt of the attorney for the Common-
wealth’s response, or no later than 14 days after the
expiration of the 60-day period in paragraph (B)(1), the
judge shall grant or deny the petition or shall schedule a
hearing.

(3) At the hearing, if any, the parties shall be afforded
an opportunity to be heard. Following the hearing, the
judge promptly shall enter an order granting or denying
the petition.

(4) If the judge grants the petition for expungement,
the judge shall enter an order directing expungement.

(a) The order shall contain the information required in
paragraph (C).

(b) The order shall be stayed for 30 days pending an
appeal. If a timely notice of appeal is filed, the expunge-
ment order is stayed pending the disposition of the appeal
and further order of court.

(5) If the judge denies the petition for expungement,
the judge shall enter an order denying the petition and
stating the reasons for the denial.

(C) Order

(1) Every order for expungement shall include:

(a) the petitioner’s name and any aliases that the
petitioner has used, address, date of birth, and social
security number;

(b) the name and address of the judge of the court of
common pleas who accepted the guilty plea or heard the
case;

(c) the name and mailing address of the affiant as
shown on the complaint, if available;

(d) the Philadelphia Municipal Court docket number or
the court of common pleas docket number, whichever
applies;

(e) the offense tracking number (OTN);

(f) the date on the complaint, or the date of arrest, and,
if available, the criminal justice agency that made the
arrest;

(g) the specific charges, as they appear on the charging
document, to be expunged;

(h) the disposition and, if the sentence includes a fine,
costs, or restitution, whether the amount due has been
paid;

(i) the reason(s) for expungement; and

(j) the criminal justice agencies upon which certified
copies of the order shall be served.

Additional information shall not be required by local
rule or practice.

(2) The clerk of courts shall serve a certified copy of the
Order to each criminal justice agency identified in the
court’s Order.

Comment

This rule, adopted in 2010, provides the procedures for
requesting and ordering expungement in court cases. Any
case in which a summary offense is filed with a misde-
meanor, felony, or murder of the first, second, or third
degree is a court case (see Rule 103). The petition for
expungement of the summary offense in such a case
would proceed under this rule.

See also Rule 320 for the procedures for expungement
following the successful completion of an ARD program in
a court case, Rule 490 for summary case expungement
procedures, and 35 P. S. § 780-119 for expungement
procedures under The Controlled Substance, Drug, De-
vice, and Cosmetic Act.

This rule sets forth the only information that must be
included in every expungement petition and order.

Paragraph (A)(3) requires the petitioner to attach a
copy of his or her criminal record to the petition.

An order for expungement under The Controlled Sub-
stance, Drug, Device, and Cosmetic Act, 35 P. S. § 780-
119, also must include the information in paragraph (C).

A form petition is to be designed and published by the
Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts in consulta-
tion with the Committee as provided in Rule 104.

‘‘Petition’’ as used in this rule is a ‘‘motion’’ for purposes
of Rules 575, 576, and 577.
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The ‘‘reason for expungement’’ in paragraph (A)(2)(i)
and (C)(1)(i) means, for example, acquittal or age.

For the procedures for filing and service of petitions,
see Rule 576.

For the procedures for filing and service of orders, see
Rule 114.

When a summons instead of an arrest warrant is
issued pursuant to Rule 519, the date of the summons
constitutes the ‘‘date of arrest’’ for purposes of paragraph
(A)(2)(f).

For purposes of this rule, ‘‘criminal justice agency’’
includes police departments, county detectives, and other
law enforcement agencies. See also 18 Pa.C.S. § 9102.

Concerning standing, see In Re Administrative Order
No. 1-MD-2003, 594 Pa. 346, 936 A.2d 1 (2007); Common-
wealth v. J.H., 563 Pa. 248, 759 A.2d 1269 (2000).

Official Note: Adopted September 22, 2010, effective
in 90 days.
Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the September 22, 2010 pro-
mulgation of new Rule 790 providing the procedures for
expungements in court cases published with the Court’s
Order at 40 Pa.B. 5740 (October 9, 2010).

FINAL REPORT1

New Pa.Rs.Crim.P. 490 and 790 and Rescission of
Pa.R.Crim.P. 722

Procedures for Requesting and Ordering
Expungement

On September 22, 2010, effective in 90 days, upon the
recommendation of the Criminal Procedural Rules Com-
mittee, the Court adopted new Rules of Criminal Proce-
dure 490 (Procedure for Obtaining Expungement in Sum-
mary Cases; Expungement Order) and 790 (Procedure for
Obtaining Expungement in Court Cases; Expungement
Order), and rescinded Pa.R.Crim.P. 722 (Contents of
Order for Expungement). These new rules establish uni-
form procedures for petitioning and ordering expunge-
ment in summary and court cases.
I. Background

The Committee undertook an examination of the issue
of providing in the rules the procedures for requesting
expungement after the enactment of Act 134 of 2008. Act
134 amends Section 9122 of the Criminal History Record
Information Act (18 Pa.C.S. § 9122) (‘‘CHRIA’’) by provid-
ing that a defendant’s summary offenses may be ex-
punged when the defendant ‘‘has been free of arrest or
prosecution for five years following the conviction for that
offense.’’

When Act 134 became effective, the Committee received
several communications asking us to consider rule
changes that would provide the procedures for requesting
expungement under the statute.2 The Committee was
cognizant that the current Rules of Criminal Procedure
only establish procedures for expungement following the
successful completion of an Accelerated Rehabilitation
Disposition (ARD) program (Rule 320) and provide the
contents of an expungement order (Rule 722). The mem-
bers also opined that many defendants in summary cases
likely will proceed pro se in seeking expungement. In

view of these considerations, and recognizing that without
a uniform statewide rule, the procedures may vary sig-
nificantly among the judicial districts, the members
agreed to explore statewide uniform procedures for re-
questing expungement.
II. Discussion

Initially, the Committee considered several options for
how to proceed. The members considered merely retaining
Rule 722 (Contents of Order for Expungement) and
adding a reference to the summary expungement provi-
sions in CHRIA in the Rule 722 Comment. The Commit-
tee also discussed adding to Rule 722 a section for
procedures for summary case expungements; establishing
a separate summary case expungement rule; or develop-
ing procedures for both summary and court case expunge-
ments. Ultimately, the Committee agreed (1) that the
provisions for expungement following completion of ARD
should continue to be handled separately under Rule 320;
(2) offenses entitled to expungement under 35 P. S.
§ 780-119 (‘‘Section 19’’) would continue to proceed under
the statute; and (3) there should be separate rules
establishing the procedures for summary case expunge-
ments and for court case expungements. By retaining the
separate procedures for ARD cases and for cases under
Section 19 and having separate new rules for all other
summary and court cases, it will be easier for the
members of the bench, bar, and the public to utilize the
correct procedures.

The next question the Committee considered was the
placement of the new rules. Because an expungement
request ordinarily will not occur until after sentencing,
the new summary case expungement rule has been placed
at the end of Chapter 4 as new Rule 490 and the new
court case expungement rule has been placed at the end
of Chapter 7 as new Rule 790. To distinguish both new
rules from the rules immediately preceding these new
rules, new subchapters have been added to Chapter 4 and
Chapter 7 governing expungement.

In determining what the procedures for summary and
court case expungements should be, the Committee
looked at the provisions for ARD expungements in Rule
320, the contents of the order set forth in Rule 722, the
expungement procedures set forth in local rules, and the
expungement procedures in other jurisdictions. Drawing
from these resources, the members recommended and the
Court agreed that the new rules should provide the
following:

• the petition should be filed with the clerk of courts
in the court of common pleas in which the offense was
disposed, and a copy must be served on the attorney for
the Commonwealth;

• the contents of the petition should include the
information that must be included in the order required
by Rule 722 and the verification language from Rule
575(2)(g);

• the attorney for the Commonwealth should have the
right to file objections to the petition;

• the court should conduct a hearing when there are
objections and the parties should have an opportunity to
respond;

• there should be a separate section in the rules for
the order that would require the judge to enter an order
and the order must include all the contents from Rule
722;

• the clerk of courts must serve copies of the expunge-
ment order on the criminal justice agencies specified in
the court’s order.

1 The Committee’s Final Reports should not be confused with the official Committee
Comments to the rules. Also note that the Supreme Court does not adopt the
Committee’s Comments or the contents of the Committee’s explanatory Final Reports.

2 The Committee received communications about summary case expungements from
John Heaton, Secretary to the Board of Pardons, Representative Thomas R.
Caltagirone, and private citizens.
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A. New Rule 490

New Rule 490 sets out the procedures for requesting
and ordering expungement in all summary cases.

Paragraph (A)(1) and the second paragraph of the
Comment make it clear that summary case ARD expunge-
ments are to proceed pursuant to Rule 320. Paragraph
(A)(1) also requires the expungement petition to be filed
with the clerk of courts in the judicial district in which
the offenses were disposed.3 Although the requested
expungement is of summary offenses that are within the
jurisdiction of the magisterial district judges, the Com-
mittee believes the CHRIA contemplates that the judges
of the courts of common pleas should order expunge-
ments, even though this is not spelled out specifically in
the CHRIA. Furthermore, the expungement proceedings
should be in the court of common pleas because (1) there
is not a rule-governed motion practice in the summary
case rules; and (2) the magisterial district courts are not
courts of record.4 As a matter of uniform procedure, the
term ‘‘motion’’ is used in the Criminal Rules whenever
feasible.5 However, for these new expungement proce-
dures, the term ‘‘petition’’ is used to avoid confusion
because this is the term used in the statute and in many
of the local rules providing expungement procedures. To
clarify this variation further, a provision has been added
to the Comment explaining that ‘‘petition’’ as used in this
rule is a ‘‘motion’’ for purposes of Rules 575, 576, and 577.

Paragraph (A)(2) sets forth the contents of the petition.
All the information required to be in the petition is
necessary to aid the attorney for the Commonwealth and
the court to identify accurately the defendant and the
offense(s) the defendant is asking to have expunged. The
contents are the mandatory contents and may not be
supplemented or modified by local rule or practice. This
prohibition against modification was added to the new
rules in response to points raised in the publication
responses concerning the importance of having uniformity
in the expungement procedures. The correspondents
noted that, if the counties are able to add to the
information required on the petition, defendants will be
hindered in their efforts to obtain expungement, and
preclude the use of a statewide uniform form of petition
that will be developed in conjunction with the adoption of
these new rules. This prohibition is made clear in the last
sentence of paragraph (A)(2).

Most of the required information is the same as the
information that was required under Rule 722 for the
expungement order. In paragaraph (A)(2)(a), the require-
ment of including ‘‘any aliases that the petitioner has
used’’ has been added as an additional identifier. Para-
graph (A)(2)(j) includes the requirement that the peti-
tioner verify the facts set forth in the petition, which is
consistent with all other motions. See Rule 575(2)(g).

Rule 722(1) required the defendant’s social security
number be included on the order for expungement. The
Committee debated at length whether the social security
number should be required on the petition and order in
the new expungement rules. The members are aware that
section 213.7 of the Court’s new Public Access Policy
governing the official case records of the magisterial
district courts direct parties and their attorneys to refrain
from including social security numbers on documents filed

with the court. We also noted many other governmental
agencies are taking the position that social security
numbers should not appear on public documents, al-
though as a compromise, some governmental agencies
will require only the last four digits of the social security
number. Furthermore, in their publication comments, the
AOPC’s automation staff reiterated the concerns about
including social security numbers on the expungement
petitions and orders.

Although the concerns about protecting a defendant’s
privacy and protecting the defendant from identity theft
and other misuse of the social security number are
legitimate concerns and worthy of consideration, in the
context of the criminal justice system, the social security
number continues to be a necessary identifier of defen-
dants. In fact, communications from the AOPC and the
Pennsylvania State Police indicate that the State Police
and the FBI require the full social security number for
purposes of ensuring accurate identification before these
criminal justice agencies are able to expunge a defen-
dant’s criminal record. After carefully weighing the need
to protect a defendant’s privacy and to protect the
defendant from misuse of the social security number
against the stated need of various criminal justice agen-
cies to continue to use the full social security number as
an identifier, it was determined that the full social
security number should be retained as an identifier in
expungement cases, at least in the immediate future until
such time as the social security number no longer is used
as an identifier.

Paragraph (A)(3) requires the defendant to attach to
the petition a copy of his or her Pennsylvania State Police
criminal record. Two of the publication respondents sug-
gested this addition because they believe providing the
court with a copy of the criminal record maintained by
the State Police will ensure the court has accurate
information concerning the offenses the defendant is
requesting be expunged. In addition, to ensure the infor-
mation on the criminal record is accurate, the rule
requires that the copy of the criminal record be obtained
by the defendant within 60 days before filing the petition.

Paragraph (A)(4) requires that the defendant serve a
copy of the petition on the attorney for the Common-
wealth concurrently with filing. This requirement is
consistent with Rule 576(B)(1). The requirement for con-
current service ensures the attorney for the Common-
wealth receives timely notice of the petition.

Paragraph (B) sets forth the procedures for the attor-
ney for the Commonwealth and the judge to follow after
the petition is filed and served. Paragraph (B)(1) provides
that after the attorney for the Commonwealth receives
the petition, he or she has 30 days within which to
exercise one of three options for how to proceed. Recogniz-
ing that most summary cases are not complicated and do
not have extensive court records to be reviewed, the
Committee reasoned a 30-day time period was an ad-
equate amount of time for the attorney for the Common-
wealth to determine if he or she is going to consent to or
object to a petition for summary case expungement. The
attorney for the Commonwealth, of course, may take
action in less than 30 days in a given case.

The attorney for the Commonwealth may file a consent
to the petition, file an objection to the petition, or take no
action. During its discussions, the Committee noted that
there will be cases in which the attorney for the Common-
wealth will agree with the defendant that the case should
be expunged. In these cases, the Committee reasoned the
attorney for the Commonwealth would want to move the

3 Pursuant to Rules 575 and 576, the petition must be filed with the clerk of courts
first rather than taking the petition to a judge or the court administrator before filing.

4 It should be noted, however, that under local procedures implementing Rules 300
and 301, some magisterial district judges may have the authority to expunge summary
ARD records after successful completion in the same manner as common pleas judges
under Rule 320.

5 See the Rule 103 definition of ‘‘motion.’’
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case along. Therefore, the ‘‘Commonwealth consents’’ lan-
guage in the rules makes it clear that the attorney for the
Commonwealth may affirmatively consent at any time
after he or she receives the petition rather than allowing
the full 30-day period to expire before proceeding. The
‘‘take no action’’ language also was added to the rule to
address those cases in which the attorney for the Com-
monwealth determines that he or she is taking no
position on the petition.

When the attorney for the Commonwealth takes action,
he or she is required to file the consent or the objections
with the clerk of courts. The attorney for the Common-
wealth also must serve copies of the consent or objections
on the petitioner’s attorney, or the petitioner if
unrepresented.

Paragraph (B)(2) sets forth the procedures the judge is
to follow in these cases. The judge is required to take
action upon receipt of the attorney for the Common-
wealth’s consent or objections, but in no case may the
judge act later than fourteen days after the expiration of
the 30-day time period in paragraph (B)(1). The issue of a
time limit on the judge’s action was raised in the
publication responses. The Committee debated at length
adding a time limit on the judge’s action. Some members
expressed concern that a time limit places too much of a
burden on the judge. Other members expressed concern
that without a time limit, these cases could languish.
They also noted that the judge will have received a copy
of the petition when the defendant files it, so the judge
will be aware of the petition for at least 30 days before
any time limit is applied. Ultimately, a 14-day time limit
was included in the rule.

The judge has the discretion to enter an order granting
the petition for expungement, to enter an order denying
the petition, or to schedule a hearing. Although, in most
cases, the judge will take action based on the petition and
any response from the attorney for the Commonwealth
without holding a hearing, the judge may identify issues
with the petition or the attorney for the Commonwealth’s
response that warrant holding a hearing to resolve.

Paragraph (B)(3) requires that, when a judge schedules
a hearing, the parties must be given an opportunity to be
heard. At the conclusion of the hearing, the judge is
required to enter an order granting or denying the
petition.

Paragraph (B)(4) addresses the procedures when the
judge grants the petition. The judge must enter an order
and the order must contain the contents required in
paragraph (C). Paragraph (B)(4)(b) provides for the stay
of the expungement order during the 30-day time period
within which the attorney for the Commonwealth may
file an appeal. If the attorney for the Commonwealth does
file an appeal, then the order will be stayed pending the
disposition of the appeal and further order of the court.
Although providing for the stay during the time for
taking an appeal will delay the defendant’s record being
expunged, the stay is necessary, because, once the defen-
dant’s records are expunged, the records cannot be re-
trieved.

Paragraph (B)(5) addresses the procedures when the
judge denies the petition. The judge is required to enter
an order denying the petition. The order must state the
judge’s reasons for denying the petition. The judge’s
reasons for the denial are necessary to make a record for
appeal.

Paragraph (C) sets forth the contents of the expunge-
ment order. As previously explained, the information

required in paragraph (C) is the same as the information
required in Rule 722. It should be noted that the judge is
required to name in the order the criminal justice agen-
cies upon which the certified copies of the order are to be
served. In addition, paragraph (C)(2) requires the clerk of
courts to serve the order on the criminal justice agencies
listed in the order. Although the practice in some judicial
districts is to require the defendant to provide the
criminal justice agencies’ information for the order and to
do the service of the order, this practice has been rejected
because these functions are court functions, and the
responsibility should not be placed on the defendant.6

The Comment provides further elaboration on the
provisions of the new rule, including emphasizing the
requirement in the rule that the list of information
required in the petition and the order may not be
modified by local rule or practice.

One of the concerns expressed to the Committee about
the new summary case expungements under the CHRIA
is that many defendants in summary cases will seek to
have their records expunged without the assistance of
counsel. Because of this, it was suggested that the new
rule include the form of the expungement petition. The
Committee, when considering this suggestion, noted that,
except in a few cases in which the Committee agreed the
identical form must be used in all judicial districts (e.g.
Rule 632—juror information questionnaire), the Commit-
tee has not included the actual forms in the rules since
the forms were deleted from the rules in 1985.7 The
members agreed petitions to expunge a record do not fit
into the category of forms that must be identical in all
judicial districts, and declined to devise a form and
include it in the rules. However, we did agree that having
a form available for the use of petitioners is a sound idea.
Accordingly, as explained in the Comment, the Adminis-
trative Office of Pennsylvania Courts will design a form,
in consultation with the Committee as provided in Rule
104, that incorporates the required contents that are set
forth in paragraph (A)(2). It is anticipated that this form
will be easily accessible for petitioners.

Addressing one of the issues raised in the publication
responses, the Comment includes a clarification about the
procedures for expungement when a summary offense is
joined with a misdemeanor or felony. Under the rules,
when a summary offense is joined with misdemeanor or
felony offenses, the case is a court case. Thus, in cases in
which the summary offense has been joined with misde-
meanor or felony charges, petitions to expunge these
summary offenses must proceed under new Rule 790.

The Committee also discussed whether the rule should
address standing to challenge expungement. The mem-
bers agreed this was not something that should be
addressed in the Criminal Rules, but thought it would be
helpful if the Comment included a cross-reference to the
cases on standing in the expungement context.
B. New Rule 790

Except when modification of language is necessary to
conform with procedures for court cases,8 the provisions
in paragraphs (A)(2), (A)(3), (A)(4), and (C) in new Rule
790 are the same as paragraphs (A)(2), (A)(3), (A)(4), and
(C) in new Rule 490 discussed above.

6 See also Rule 114(D) prohibiting local rules requiring a party to file or serve orders
and Rule 575(D) prohibiting any local rules requiring a party to attach a proposed
order to a motion.

7 The Committee’s Report explaining the deletion of the forms was published at 13
Pa.B. 3813 (December 10, 1983).

8 For example, in paragraph (A)(2)(b), the defendant is required to provide in the
petition the name of the judge of the court of common pleas rather than the
magisterial district judge, and paragraph (A)(2)(e) requires the OTN, a number not
assigned to summary cases.
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Paragraph (A)(1) of new Rule 790 and the second
paragraph of the Comment make it clear that court case
ARD expungements are to proceed pursuant to Rule 320,9
and expungements arising under 35 P. S. § 780-119 are to
proceed pursuant to that statute. Paragraph (A)(1) also
requires the expungement petition to be filed with the
clerk of courts in the judicial district in which the
offenses were disposed.10

Paragraph (B) sets forth the procedures in court cases
for the attorney for the Commonwealth to file a consent
to the petition to expunge, any objections to the petition
to expunge, and for the judge to take action. In court
cases, the attorney for the Commonwealth is given 60
days to decide whether to file a consent, file objections, or
to take no action on the petition. The attorney for the
Commonwealth is afforded additional time in court cases
because there may be more extensive records to review
and more complicated issues to address. Paragraphs
(B)(1) and (B)(2) incorporate the 60-day time period. In all
other respects, paragraph (B) is the same as paragraph
(B) in Rule 490 discussed above.

The Rule 790 Comment includes the same provisions
that are in the Rule 490 Comment discussed above. One
point the Committee discussed in the context of new Rule
790 is whether the order expunging a record under 35
P. S. § 780-119 must include the same contents as orders
issued pursuant to new Rule 790. The AOPC representa-
tive to the Committee pointed out that currently, under
Rule 722, these expungement orders do comply with Rule
722. Although cases under 35 P. S. § 780-119 are ex-
cluded from the application of the new rules, the Section
19 orders will continue to be required to include the same
information as all other court case expungements, that is,
the contents set forth in Rule 790(C) must be included in
the Section 19 expungement order. To make this clear, a
provision to that effect has been added to the fifth
paragraph of the Rule 790 Comment.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 10-1920. Filed for public inspection October 8, 2010, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 237—JUVENILE RULES
PART I. RULES

[ 237 PA. CODE CHS. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6,
11, 12, 13, 14, 15 AND 16 ]

Proposed Rules and Amendments for Procedures
Regarding Advanced Communication Technol-
ogy

The Juvenile Court Procedural Rules Committee is
planning to recommend to the Supreme Court of Pennsyl-
vania that the modification of Rules 120, 160, 242, 345,
394, 406, 512, 610, 1120, 1128, 1140, 1160, 1242, 1345,
1406, 1512, 1608; renumbering of Rules 130 to 136 and
1130 to 1136; and new Rules 129, 130, 1129 and 1130 be
adopted and prescribed. These proposed modifications set
forth the procedures regarding advanced communication
technology.

The following Explanatory Report highlights the intent
of these Rules. Please note that the Committee’s Reports
should not be confused with the official Committee Com-

ments to the Rules. Also note that the Supreme Court
does not adopt the Committee’s Comments or the con-
tents of the Explanatory Reports.

The Committee requests that interested persons submit
suggestions, comments, or objections concerning this pro-
posal to the Committee through counsel, Christine Riscili
at juvenilerules@pacourts.us. Email is the preferred
method for receiving comments in an effort to conserve
paper and expedite the distribution of comments to the
Committee. Emailed comments need not be reproduced
and sent via hard copy. The Committee will acknowledge
receipt of your comment.

For those who do not have access to email, comments
may be faxed to the Committee at 717-231-9541 or
written comments may be mailed to:

Christine Riscili, Esq., Counsel
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania
Juvenile Court Procedural Rules Committee
Pennsylvania Judicial Center
601 Commonwealth Ave., Suite 6200
P.O. Box 62635
Harrisburg, PA 17106-2635

All comments shall be received no later than Friday,
Nov. 5, 2010.
By the Juvenile Court Procedural Rules Committee

CYNTHIA K. STOLTZ, Esq.,
Chair

Annex A
TITLE 237. JUVENILE RULES

PART I. RULES

Subpart A. DELINQUENCY MATTERS

CHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

PART A. BUSINESS OF COURTS
Rule 120. Definitions.

ADVANCED COMMUNICATION TECHNOLOGY is
any communication equipment that is used as a
link between parties in physically separate loca-
tions and includes, but is not limited to, systems
providing for two-way simultaneous audio-visual
communication; closed circuit television; telephone
and facsimile equipment; and electronic mail.

ADULT is any person, other than a juvenile, eighteen
years old or older.

AFFIANT is any responsible person, capable of taking
an oath, who signs, swears to, affirms, or when permitted
by these rules, verifies a written allegation and appreci-
ates the nature and quality of that person’s act.

CLERK OF COURTS is that official in each judicial
district who has the responsibility and function under
state law or local practice to maintain the official court
record and docket, without regard to that person’s official
title.

COPY is an exact duplicate of an original docu-
ment, including any required signatures, produced
through mechanical or electronic means and in-
cludes, but is not limited to, copies reproduced by a
photocopier, transmission using facsimile equip-
ment, or by scanning into and printing out of a
computer.

COURT is the Court of Common Pleas, a court of
record, which is assigned to hear juvenile delinquency
matters. Court shall include masters when they are

9 This point also is addressed in the second paragraph of the proposed new Rule 490
Comment.

10 Pursuant to Rules 575 and 576, the petition must be filed with the clerk of courts
first rather than taking the petition to a judge or the court administrator before filing.
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permitted to hear cases under these rules and magisterial
district judges when issuing an arrest warrant pursuant
to Rule 210. Juvenile Court shall have the same meaning
as Court.

DETENTION FACILITY is any facility, privately or
publicly owned and operated, designated by the court and
approved by the Department of Public Welfare to detain a
juvenile temporarily. The term detention facility, when
used in these rules, shall include shelter-care.

DISPOSITION is a final determination made by the
court after an adjudication of delinquency or any determi-
nation that ceases juvenile court action on a case.

ELECTRONIC FILING is the electronic transmis-
sion of a document to the clerk of courts for filing
in a proceeding, including but not limited to, mo-
tions, proposed orders, requests, exhibits, and at-
tachments, by means other than facsimile transmis-
sion.

ELECTRONIC SERVICE is the electronic trans-
mission of a document to a party, attorney, or
representative under these rules.

GUARDIAN is any parent, custodian, or other person
who has legal custody of a juvenile, or person designated
by the court to be a temporary guardian for purposes of a
proceeding.

INTAKE STAFF is any responsible person taking cus-
tody of the juvenile on behalf of the court, detention
facility, or medical facility.

ISSUING AUTHORITY is any public official having the
power and authority of a magistrate, a Philadelphia bail
commissioner, or a Magisterial District Judge.

JUVENILE is a person who has attained ten years of
age and is not yet twenty-one years of age who is alleged
to have committed a delinquent act before reaching
eighteen years of age.

LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER is any person who is
by law given the power to enforce the law when acting
within the scope of that person’s employment.

MASTER is an attorney with delegated authority to
hear and make recommendations for juvenile delinquency
matters. Master has the same meaning as hearing officer.

MEDICAL FACILITY is any hospital, urgent care
facility, psychiatric or psychological ward, drug and alco-
hol detoxification or rehabilitation program, or any other
similar facility designed to treat a juvenile medically or
psychologically.

MINOR is any person, other than a juvenile, under the
age of eighteen.

OFFICIAL COURT RECORD is the juvenile court file
maintained by the clerk of courts which contains all court
orders, court notices, docket entries, filed documents,
evidence admitted into the record, and other court desig-
nated documents in each juvenile case.

ORDINANCE is a legislative enactment of a political
subdivision.

PARTIES are the juvenile and the Commonwealth.

PENAL LAWS include all statutes and embodiments of
the common law, which establish, create, or define crimes
or offenses, including any ordinances that may provide for
placement in a juvenile facility upon a finding of delin-
quency or upon failure to pay a fine or penalty.

PETITION is a formal document by which an attorney
for the Commonwealth or the juvenile probation officer
alleges a juvenile to be delinquent.

PETITIONER is an attorney for the Commonwealth or
a juvenile probation officer, who signs, swears to, affirms,
or verifies and files a petition.

PLACEMENT FACILITY is any facility, privately or
publicly owned and operated, that identifies itself either
by charter, articles of incorporation or program descrip-
tion, to receive delinquent juveniles as a case disposition.
Placement facilities include, but are not limited to, resi-
dential facilities, group homes, after-school programs, and
day programs, whether secure or non-secure.

POLICE OFFICER is any person, who is by law given
the power to arrest when acting within the scope of the
person’s employment.

POLITICAL SUBDIVISION shall mean county, city,
township, borough, or incorporated town or village having
legislative authority.

PROCEEDING is any stage in the juvenile delinquency
process occurring once a written allegation has been
submitted.

RECORDING is the means to provide a verbatim
account of a proceeding through the use of a court
stenographer, audio recording, audio-visual recording, or
other appropriate means.

VERIFICATION is a written statement made by a
person that the information provided is true and correct
to that person’s personal knowledge, information, or belief
and that any false statements are subject to the penalties
of the Crimes Code, 18 Pa.C.S. § 4904, relating to
unsworn falsification to authorities.

WRITTEN ALLEGATION is the document that is com-
pleted by a law enforcement officer or other person that is
necessary to allege a juvenile has committed an act of
delinquency.

Comment
‘‘Clerk of courts’’ is the person given the power under

state law or local practice to maintain the official court
record. See Rule 166 for additional responsibilities of the
clerk of courts.

Under the term ‘‘court,’’ to determine if masters are
permitted to hear cases, see Rule 187. See Rule 210 for
the power of magisterial district judges to issue arrest
warrants.

The term ‘‘disposition’’ includes all final determinations
made by the court. A disposition includes a response to an
adjudication of delinquency, such as sending the juvenile
to a placement facility or placing the juvenile on proba-
tion. It also includes other types of final determinations
made by the court. Other final determinations include a
finding that the juvenile did not commit a delinquent act
pursuant to Rule 408(B), a finding that the juvenile is not
in need of treatment, rehabilitation, or supervision pursu-
ant to Rule 409(A)(1), dismissing the case ‘‘with preju-
dice’’ prior to an adjudicatory hearing, or any other final
action by the court that closes or terminates the case.

The ‘‘official court record’’ is to contain all court orders,
court notices, docket entries, filed documents, evidence
admitted into the record, and other court designated
documents in each juvenile case. The court may also
designate any document to be a part of the record. It does
not include items contained in juvenile probation’s reports
and files unless they are made a part of the official record
by being filed with the clerk of courts.
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Neither the definition of ‘‘law enforcement officer’’ nor
the definition of ‘‘police officer’’ gives the power of arrest
to any person who is not otherwise given that power by
law.

A ‘‘petition’’ and a ‘‘written allegation’’ are two separate
documents and serve two distinct functions. A ‘‘written
allegation’’ is the document that initiates juvenile delin-
quency proceedings. Usually, the ‘‘written allegation’’ will
be filed by a law enforcement officer and will allege that
the juvenile has committed a delinquent act that comes
within the jurisdiction of the juvenile court. This docu-
ment may have been formerly known as a ‘‘probable cause
affidavit,’’ ‘‘complaint,’’ ‘‘police paper,’’ ‘‘charge form,’’ ‘‘alle-
gation of delinquency,’’ or the like. Once this document is
submitted, a preliminary determination of the juvenile
court’s jurisdiction is to be made. Informal adjustment
and other diversionary programs may be pursued. If the
attorney for the Commonwealth or the juvenile probation
officer determines that formal juvenile court action is
necessary, a petition is then filed.

For definition of ‘‘delinquent act,’’ see 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 6302.

Official Note: Rule 120 adopted April 1, 2005, effec-
tive October 1, 2005. Amended December 30, 2005, effec-
tive immediately. Amended March 23, 2007, effective
August 1, 2007. Amended February 26, 2008, effective
June 1, 2008. Amended July 28, 2009, effective immedi-
ately. Amended December 24, 2009, effective immediately.
Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the amendments to Rule 120
published with the Court’s Order at 36 Pa.B. 186 (Janu-
ary 14, 2006).

Final Report explaining the amendments to Rule 120
published with the Court’s Order at 37 Pa.B. 1483 (April
7, 2007).

Final Report explaining the amendments to Rule 120
published with the Court’s Order at 38 Pa.B. 1142 (March
8, 2008).

Final Report explaining the amendment to Rule 120
published with the Court’s Order at 39 Pa.B. 4743
(August 8, 2009).

Rule 129. [ Open Proceedings (Reserved) ] Appear-
ance by Advanced Communication Technology.

A. Generally. The juvenile or a witness may ap-
pear at a proceeding by utilizing advanced commu-
nication technology. At a minimum, the juvenile
shall appear in person at least once a year.

B. Requirements. Advanced communication tech-
nology shall be utilized only upon:

1) direction or approval of the court; and

2) good cause shown or by agreement of the
parties.

C. Counsel.

1) The juvenile shall be permitted to confer with
counsel before entering into an agreement under
paragraph (B)(2).

2) The juvenile shall be permitted to communi-
cate fully and confidentially with counsel immedi-
ately prior to and during the proceeding.

Comment

Paragraph (A) requires that every juvenile is to
appear in court at least once a year. This includes

juveniles who are not removed from their homes
but who are under the court’s supervision. See also
Rule 610 for requirements of dispositional and
commitment review hearings.

It is best practice to conduct hearings every three
months and for the judge to see the juvenile in
person every six months, especially if a long-term
disposition is anticipated.

This rule is not intended to compel the use of
advanced communication technology but rather
permit the use of appearance by telephone or by a
system providing two-way simultaneous audio-
visual communication. Advanced communication
technology may be utilized for the convenience of
witnesses; efficient use of resources; or when a
party or witness has an illness, is incarcerated, or
at a remote location.

Pursuant to paragraph (C)(2), the juvenile is to be
permitted to confer with counsel privately. The
juvenile is to be afforded all the same rights as if
the hearing was held with all parties present in the
courtroom.

Rule 130. [ Public Discussion by Court Personnel of
Pending Matters ] Court Fees Prohibited for Ad-
vanced Communication Technology.

[ All court personnel including, among others,
juvenile probation officers, court clerks, bailiffs,
tipstaffs, sheriffs, and court stenographers, are pro-
hibited from disclosing to any person, without au-
thorization from the court, information relating to
a pending juvenile case that is not part of the court
record otherwise available to the public or not part
of the record in an open proceeding. This rule
specifically prohibits the divulgence of information
concerning arguments and proceedings that are
closed proceedings, held in chambers, or otherwise
outside the presence of the public. ]

The court shall not impose any fees upon a party
or witness for utilizing advanced communication
technology.

Comment

See March 13, 2002 Order of the Supreme Court of
Pennsylvania (No. 241 Judicial Administration; Doc.
No. 1) which provides that no fees shall be imposed
against a defendant in a criminal proceeding for
the utilization of advanced communication technol-
ogy.

Rule 136. Public Discussion by Court Personnel of
Pending Matters.

All court personnel including, among others, juve-
nile probation officers, court clerks, bailiffs,
tipstaffs, sheriffs, and court stenographers, are pro-
hibited from disclosing to any person, without au-
thorization from the court, information relating to
a pending juvenile case that is not part of the court
record otherwise available to the public or not part
of the record in an open proceeding. This rule
specifically prohibits the divulgence of information
concerning arguments and proceedings that are
closed proceedings, held in chambers, or otherwise
outside the presence of the public.
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Rule 140. Bench Warrants for Failure to Appear at
Hearings.

A. Issuance of warrant.

1) Before a bench warrant may be issued by a judge,
the judge shall find that the subpoenaed or summoned
person received sufficient notice of the hearing and failed
to appear.

2) For the purpose of a bench warrant, a judge may not
find notice solely based on first-class mail service.

B. Entry of warrant information. Upon being notified
by the court, the juvenile probation officer or other court
designee shall enter or request that a law enforcement
officer enter the bench warrant in all appropriate regis-
tries.

C. Juvenile.

1) Where to take the juvenile.

a) When a juvenile is taken into custody pursuant to a
bench warrant, the juvenile shall be taken without
unnecessary delay to the judge who issued the warrant or
a judge designated by the President Judge to hear bench
warrants.

b) If the juvenile is not brought before a judge, the
juvenile shall be released unless:

i) the warrant specifically orders detention of the juve-
nile; or

ii) there are circumstances learned at the time of the
surrender or apprehension that warrant detention of the
juvenile.

c) If a juvenile is detained, the juvenile shall be
detained in a detention facility or other facility desig-
nated in the bench warrant by the judge pending a
hearing.

2) Prompt hearing.

a) If a juvenile is detained pursuant to a specific order
in the bench warrant, the juvenile shall be brought before
the judge who issued the warrant, a judge designated by
the President Judge to hear bench warrants, or an
out-of-county judge pursuant to paragraph (C)(4) within
seventy-two hours.

b) If the juvenile is not brought before a judge within
this time, the juvenile shall be released.

3) Notification of guardian. If a juvenile is taken into
custody pursuant to a bench warrant, the arresting officer
shall immediately notify the juvenile’s guardian of the
juvenile’s whereabouts and the reasons for the issuance of
the bench warrant.

4) Out-of-county custody.

a) If a juvenile is taken into custody pursuant to a
bench warrant in a county other than the county of
issuance, the county of issuance shall be notified immedi-
ately.

b) Arrangements to transport the juvenile shall be
made immediately.

c) If transportation cannot be arranged immediately,
then the juvenile shall be taken without unnecessary
delay to a judge of the county where the juvenile is found.

d) The judge will identify the juvenile as the subject of
the warrant, decide whether detention is warranted, and
order that arrangements be made to transport the juve-
nile to the county of issuance.

5) Time requirements. The time requirements of Rules
240, 391, 404, 510, and 605 shall be followed.

D. Witnesses.
1) Where to take the witness.
a) When a witness is taken into custody pursuant to a

bench warrant, the witness shall be taken without unnec-
essary delay to the judge who issued the warrant or a
judge designated by the President Judge to hear bench
warrants.

b) If the witness is not brought before a judge, the
witness shall be released unless the warrant specifically
orders detention of the witness.

c) A motion for detention as a witness may be filed
anytime before or after the issuance of a bench warrant.
The judge may order detention of the witness pending a
hearing.

1) Minor. If a detained witness is a minor, the witness
shall be detained in a detention facility.

2) Adult. If a detained witness is an adult, the witness
shall be detained at the county jail.

2) Prompt hearing.
a) If a witness is detained pursuant to paragraph

(D)(1)(c) or brought back to the county of issuance
pursuant to paragraph (D)(4)(f), the witness shall be
brought before the judge by the next business day.

b) If the witness is not brought before a judge within
this time, the witness shall be released.

3) Notification of guardian. If a witness who is taken
into custody pursuant to a bench warrant is a minor, the
arresting officer shall immediately notify the witness’s
guardian of the witness’s whereabouts and the reasons
for the issuance of the bench warrant.

4) Out-of-county custody.
a) If a witness is taken into custody pursuant to a

bench warrant in a county other than the county of
issuance, the county of issuance shall be notified immedi-
ately.

b) The witness shall be taken without unnecessary
delay and within the next business day to a judge of the
county where the witness is found.

c) The judge will identify the witness as the subject of
the warrant, decide whether detention as a witness is
warranted, and order that arrangements be made to
transport the witness to the county of issuance.

d) Arrangements to transport the witness shall be
made immediately.

e) If transportation cannot be arranged immediately,
the witness shall be released unless the warrant or other
order of court specifically orders detention of the witness.

i) Minor. If the witness is a minor, the witness may be
detained in an out-of-county detention facility.

ii) Adult. If the witness is an adult, the witness may be
detained in an out-of-county jail.

f) If detention is ordered, the witness shall be brought
back to the county of issuance within seventy-two hours
from the execution of the warrant.

g) If the time requirements of this paragraph are not
met, the witness shall be released.

E. Advanced Communication Technology. A juve-
nile or witness may appear by utilizing advanced
communication technology pursuant to Rule 129.
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F. Return and execution of the warrant for juveniles
and witnesses.

1) The bench warrant shall be executed without unnec-
essary delay.

2) The bench warrant shall be returned to the judge
who issued the warrant or to the judge designated by the
President Judge to hear bench warrants.

3) When the bench warrant is executed, the arresting
officer shall immediately execute a return of the warrant
with the judge.

4) Upon the return of the warrant, the judge shall
vacate the bench warrant.

5) Once the warrant is vacated, the juvenile probation
officer or other court designee shall remove or request
that a law enforcement officer remove the bench warrant
in all appropriate registries.

Comment

Pursuant to paragraph (A), the judge is to ensure that
the person received sufficient notice of the hearing and
failed to attend. The judge may order that the person be
served in-person or by certified mail, return receipt. The
judge may rely on first-class mail service if additional
evidence of sufficient notice is presented. For example,
testimony that the person was told in person about the
hearing is sufficient notice. Before issuing a bench war-
rant, the judge should determine if the guardian was
notified.

Under Rule 800, 42 Pa.C.S. § 6335(c) was suspended
only to the extent that it is inconsistent with this rule.
Under paragraph (A)(1), the judge is to find a subpoenaed
or summoned person failed to appear and sufficient notice
was given to issue a bench warrant. The fact that the
juvenile or witness may abscond or may not attend or be
brought to a hearing is not sufficient evidence for a bench
warrant. This rule, however, does not prohibit probation
from recommending detention for a juvenile. The normal
rules of procedure in these rules are to be followed if a
juvenile is detained. See Chapter Two, Part D.

Pursuant to paragraph (C), the ‘‘juvenile’’ is the subject
of the delinquency proceedings. When a witness is a child,
the witness is referred to as a ‘‘minor.’’ This distinction is
made to differentiate between children who are alleged
delinquents and children who are witnesses. See para-
graph (C) for alleged delinquents and paragraph (D) for
witnesses. See also Rule 120 for definition of ‘‘juvenile’’
and ‘‘minor.’’

Pursuant to paragraph (C)(1)(a), the juvenile is to be
taken immediately to the judge who issued the bench
warrant or a judge designated by the President Judge of
that county to hear bench warrants. Pursuant to para-
graph (C)(1)(b), if a bench warrant specifically provides
that the juvenile may be detained in a detention facility,
the juvenile may be detained without having to be
brought before the judge until a hearing within seventy-
two hours under paragraph (C)(2)(a). The juvenile is not
to languish in a detention facility. Pursuant to this
paragraph, if a hearing is not held promptly, the juvenile
is to be released. See paragraph (C)(2)(b).

Under paragraphs (C)(2) and (C)(4), a juvenile taken
into custody pursuant to a bench warrant is to have a
hearing within seventy-two hours regardless of where the
juvenile is found. See Rule 240(C).

Pursuant to paragraph (C)(4), the juvenile may be
detained out-of-county until transportation arrangements
can be made.

Pursuant to paragraph (C)(5), the time requirements of
all other rules are to apply to juveniles who are detained.
See, e.g., Rules 240, 391, 404, 510, and 605.

Pursuant to paragraph (D)(1)(a), the witness is to be
taken immediately to the judge who issued the bench
warrant or a judge designated by the President Judge of
that county to hear bench warrants. Pursuant to para-
graph (D)(1)(b), if the judge is not available, the witness
is to be released immediately unless the warrant specifi-
cally orders detention. Pursuant to paragraph (D)(1)(c), a
motion for detention as a witness may be filed. If the
witness is detained, a prompt hearing pursuant to para-
graph (D)(2) is to be held by the next business day or the
witness is to be released. See paragraph (D)(2)(b).

Pursuant to paragraph (D)(4)(b), a witness is to be
brought before an out-of-county judge by the next busi-
ness day unless the witness can be brought before the
judge who issued the bench warrant within this time.
When the witness is transported back to the county of
issuance within seventy-two hours of the execution of the
bench warrant, the witness is to be brought before the
judge who issued the bench warrant by the next business
day. See paragraph (D)(4)(f).

Pursuant to paragraph [ (E)(2) ] (F)(2), the bench
warrant is to be returned to the judge who issued the
warrant or to the judge designated by the President
Judge to hear warrants by the arresting officer executing
a return of warrant. See paragraph [ (E)(3) ] (F)(3).

Pursuant to paragraph [ (E)(4) ] (F)(4), the bench
warrant is to be vacated after the return of the warrant is
executed. ‘‘Vacated’’ is to denote that the bench warrant
has been served, dissolved, executed, dismissed, canceled,
returned, or any other similar language used by the judge
to terminate the warrant. The bench warrant is no longer
in effect once it has been vacated.

Pursuant to paragraph [ (E)(5) ] (F)(5), once the war-
rant is vacated, the juvenile probation officer, other court
designee, or law enforcement officer is to remove the
warrant from all appropriate registries so the juvenile is
not taken into custody on the same warrant if the
juvenile is released.

See 42 Pa.C.S. § 4132 for punishment of contempt for
juveniles and witnesses.

Rule 141. Bench Warrants for Absconders.

A. Issuance of warrant. The juvenile probation officer
shall immediately notify the court upon notification or
recognition that a juvenile has absconded from the super-
vision of the court. The court may issue a bench warrant
for the juvenile.

B. Entry of warrant information. Upon being notified
by the court, the juvenile probation officer or other court
designee shall enter or request that a law enforcement
officer enter the bench warrant in all appropriate regis-
tries.

C. Where to take the juvenile. The juvenile shall be
detained in a detention facility or other facility desig-
nated in the bench warrant pending a hearing pursuant
to paragraph (D).

D. Prompt hearing.

1) The juvenile shall have a detention hearing within
seventy-two hours of the placement in detention.

2) A juvenile may appear by utilizing advanced
communication technology pursuant to Rule 129.
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E. Time requirements. The time requirements of Rules
240, 391, 404, 510, and 605 shall be followed.

F. Notification of guardian. When the juvenile is taken
into custody pursuant to a bench warrant, the arresting
officer shall immediately notify the juvenile’s guardian of
the juvenile’s whereabouts and the reasons for the issu-
ance of the bench warrant.

G. Return and execution of the warrant.

1) The bench warrant shall be executed without unnec-
essary delay.

2) The bench warrant shall be returned to the judge
who issued the warrant or to the judge designated by the
President Judge to hear bench warrants.

3) When the bench warrant is executed, the arresting
officer shall immediately execute a return of the warrant
with the judge.

4) Upon the return of the warrant, the judge shall
vacate the bench warrant.

5) Once the warrant is vacated, the court shall order
the probation officer or other court designee to remove or
request that a law enforcement officer remove the war-
rant from all appropriate registries.

Comment

Pursuant to paragraph (A), when a juvenile: 1) escapes
from a placement facility, detention facility, shelter care
facility, foster-care, or other court-ordered program or
placement; 2) fails to report to juvenile probation; 3)
cannot be located by juvenile probation; or 4) otherwise
leaves the jurisdiction of the court, the court may issue a
warrant for the juvenile.

Pursuant to paragraph (B), the court is to notify the
juvenile probation officer or another court designee to
enter or request that a law enforcement officer enter the
bench warrant in all appropriate registries, such as
JNET, CLEAN, PCIC, and NCIC.

Pursuant to paragraph (C), the juvenile is to be de-
tained in a detention facility or any other facility desig-
nated in the bench warrant. If a juvenile is taken into
custody pursuant to the bench warrant in a county other
than the county of issuance, the juvenile is to be trans-
ported back to the county of issuance prior to the
seventy-two-hour detention hearing mandated pursuant
to paragraph (D)(1).

Pursuant to paragraphs (D)(1) and (E), the time re-
quirements of the Rules of Juvenile Court Procedure are
to apply, including the seventy-two hour detention hear-
ing. See, e.g., Rules 240, 391, 404, 510, and 605.

The arresting officer is to notify the juvenile’s guardian
of the arrest, the reasons for the arrest, and the juvenile’s
whereabouts under paragraph (F).

Pursuant to paragraph (G)(2), the bench warrant is to
be returned to the judge who issued the warrant or to the
judge designated by the President Judge to hear warrants
by the arresting officer executing a return of warrant. See
paragraph (G)(3).

Pursuant to paragraph (G)(4), the bench warrant is to
be vacated after the return of the warrant is executed.
‘‘Vacated’’ is to denote that the bench warrant has been
served, dissolved, executed, dismissed, canceled, returned,
or any other similar language used by the judge to
terminate the warrant. The bench warrant is no longer in
effect once it has been vacated.

Pursuant to paragraph (G)(5), once the warrant is
vacated, the juvenile probation officer or other court
designee is to remove the warrant or request that a law
enforcement officer remove the warrant from all appropri-
ate registries so the juvenile is not taken into custody on
the same warrant if the juvenile is released.

PART C. RECORDS

PART C(1). ACCESS TO JUVENILE RECORDS

Rule 160. Inspection of the Official Court Record.

A. General Rule. The official court record is only open
to inspection by:

1) the judges, masters, juvenile probation officers, and
staff of the court;

2) the attorney for the Commonwealth, the juvenile’s
attorney, and the juvenile, but the persons in this cat-
egory shall not be permitted to see reports revealing the
names of confidential sources of information, except at
the discretion of the court;

3) a public or private agency or institution providing
supervision or having custody of the juvenile under order
of the court;

4) a court, its probation officers, other officials or
professional staff, and the attorney for the defendant for
use in preparing a pre-sentence report in a criminal case
in which the defendant is convicted and the defendant
previously was adjudicated delinquent;

5) a judge or issuing authority for use in determining
bail, provided that such inspection is limited to orders of
delinquency adjudications and dispositions, orders result-
ing from dispositional review hearings, and histories of
bench warrants and escapes;

6) the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts;

7) the judges, juvenile probation officers, and staff of
courts of other jurisdictions when necessary for the
discharge of their official duties;

8) officials of the Department of Corrections, a state
correctional institution or other penal institution to which
an individual who was previously adjudicated delinquent
in a proceeding under the Juvenile Act has been commit-
ted, but the persons in this category shall not be permit-
ted to see reports revealing the names of confidential
sources of information contained in social reports, except
at the discretion of the court;

9) a parole board, court, or county probation official in
considering an individual who was previously adjudicated
delinquent in a proceeding under the Juvenile Act, but
the persons in this category shall not be permitted to see
reports revealing the names of confidential sources of
information contained in social reports, except at the
discretion of the court;

10) the State Sexual Offenders Assessment Board for
use in completing assessments; and

11) with leave of court, any other person, agency, or
institution having a legitimate interest in the proceedings
or in the work of the unified judicial system.

B. Public availability. Upon request, a public document
shall be created by the clerk of courts if the case is
designated eligible for public inspection pursuant to Rule
330 or 515.

1) For cases deemed eligible pursuant to Rule 330, the
public document shall contain only the following informa-
tion:
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a) the juvenile’s name;
b) the juvenile’s age;
c) the juvenile’s address; and
d) the offenses alleged in the juvenile’s petition.
2) For cases deemed eligible pursuant to Rule 515, the

public document shall contain only the following informa-
tion:

a) the juvenile’s name;
b) the juvenile’s age;

c) the juvenile’s address;

d) the offenses alleged in the juvenile’s petition;

e) the adjudication on each allegation; and

f) the disposition of the case.

C. Electronic records. Unless authorized by the
court, there shall be no public access to juvenile
case records maintained in electronic format in the
court information systems.

Comment

See the Juvenile Act, 42 Pa.C.S. § 6307, for the statu-
tory provisions on inspection of the juvenile’s file and 42
Pa.C.S. § 6352.1 for disclosure of treatment records.

See Rule 120 for definition of the ‘‘official court record.’’

This rule is meant to include the contents of the official
court record as described in Rule 166.

When delinquency proceedings are commenced pursu-
ant to Rule 200(4), the entire criminal court file is to be
transferred with the case to juvenile court. This criminal
case file is now the juvenile court file, which is the official
court record, and the disclosure requirements of this rule
apply.

Under paragraph (B), there is one document for each
eligible case that is open for public inspection. The public
document should be clearly marked for employees of the
clerks of courts’ office as the only document available for
inspection by the general public. All other information
contained in the official court record is not open for public
inspection but only open to inspection to the persons
enumerated in paragraph (A).

See Rule 330 for designation of public availability
status in the juvenile petition. See Rule 515 for designa-
tion of public availability status in the dispositional order.

CHAPTER 2. COMMENCEMENT OF
PROCEEDINGS, ARREST PROCEDURES,

WRITTEN ALLEGATION, AND
PRE-ADJUDICATORY DETENTION

PART D. PRE-ADJUDICATORY DETENTION
Rule 242. Detention Hearing.

A. Informing juvenile of rights. Upon commencement of
the hearing, the court shall:

1) provide a copy of the written allegation to the
juvenile and the juvenile’s guardian, if present;

2) inform the juvenile of the right to counsel and to
assigned counsel; and

3) inform the juvenile of the right to remain silent with
respect to any allegation of delinquency.

B. Manner of hearing.

1) Conduct. The hearing shall be conducted in an
informal but orderly manner.

2) Recording. If requested by the juvenile or the Com-
monwealth, or if ordered by the court, the hearing shall
be recorded by appropriate means. If not so recorded, full
minutes of the hearing shall be kept.

3) Testimony and evidence. All evidence helpful in
determining the questions presented, including oral or
written reports, may be received by the court and relied
upon to the extent of its probative value even though not
competent in the hearing on the petition. The juvenile’s
attorney, the juvenile, if unrepresented, and the attorney
for the Commonwealth shall be afforded an opportunity to
examine and controvert written reports so received.

4) Presence at hearing. The juvenile shall be present
at the detention hearing and the juvenile’s attorney or
the juvenile, if unrepresented, may:

a) cross-examine witnesses offered against the juvenile;
and

b) offer evidence or witnesses, if any, pertinent to the
probable cause or detention determination.

5) Advanced Communication Technology. A juve-
nile or witness may appear by utilizing advanced
communication technology pursuant to Rule 129.

C. Findings. The court shall determine whether:

1) there is probable cause that a delinquent act was
committed by the juvenile; and

2) detention of the juvenile is warranted.

D. Filing of petition. If a juvenile remains detained
after the hearing, a petition shall be filed with the clerk
of courts within twenty-four hours or the next court
business day.

Comment

A detention hearing consists of two stages. The first
stage of a detention hearing is a probable cause hearing.
If probable cause is not found, the juvenile is to be
released. If probable cause is found, then the court is to
proceed to the second stage.

The second stage of a detention hearing is a detention
determination hearing. The court should hear pertinent
evidence concerning the detention status of the juvenile,
review and consider all alternatives to secure detention,
and determine if the detention of the juvenile is war-
ranted.

The procedures of paragraph (D) deviate from the
procedures of the Juvenile Act. See 42 Pa.C.S. § 6331.
Under paragraph (D), a petition does not have to be filed
within twenty-four hours of the juvenile’s detention;
rather, the petition should be filed within twenty-four
hours of the conclusion of the detention hearing if the
juvenile is detained. See Rule 800. If the juvenile is not
detained, a petition may be filed at any time prior to the
adjudicatory hearing. However, the juvenile’s attorney
should have sufficient notice of the allegations prior to
the adjudicatory hearing to prepare for the defense of the
juvenile. See Rule 363 for time of service. See Rule 331 for
service of the petition. See Rule 330 for petition require-
ments.

See 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6332, 6336, and 6338 for the statu-
tory provisions concerning informal hearings and other
basic rights.
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CHAPTER 3. PRE-ADJUDICATORY PROCEDURES
PART D(1). MOTION PROCEDURES

Rule 345. Filing and Service.

A. [ Filings ] Generally.

1) [ Generally ] Filings. Except as otherwise provided
in these rules, all written motions, and any notice or
document for which filing is required, shall be filed with
the clerk of courts.

[ 2) ] a) Clerk of courts’ duties. Except as provided in
paragraph [ (A)(3) ] (A)(1)(b), the clerk of courts shall
docket a written motion, notice, or document when it is
received and record the time of filing in the docket. The
clerk of courts promptly shall transmit a copy of these
papers to such person as may be designated by the court.

[ 3) ] b) Filings by represented juveniles. In any case in
which a juvenile is represented by an attorney, if the
juvenile submits for filing a written motion, notice, or
document that has not been signed by the juvenile’s
attorney, the clerk of courts shall not file the motion,
notice, or document in the official court record or make a
docket entry, but shall forward it promptly to the juve-
nile’s attorney.

2) Service. The party filing the document shall
serve the other party concurrently with the filing.

3) Proof of service. All documents that are filed
and served pursuant to this rule shall include a
certificate of service.

B. By Paper.

[ 4) ] 1) Method of filing. Filing may be accomplished
by:

a) personal delivery to the clerk of courts; or
b) mail addressed to the clerk of courts, provided,

however, that filing by mail shall be timely only when
actually received by the clerk within the time fixed for
filing.

[ B. Service.

1) Generally. The party filing the document shall
serve the other party concurrently with the filing. ]

2) Method of service [ to parties ]. Service on the
parties shall be by:

a) personal delivery of a copy to a party’s attorney, or,
if unrepresented, the party; or

b) mailing a copy to a party’s attorney or leaving a
copy for the attorney at the attorney’s office; or

c) in those judicial districts that maintain in the
courthouse assigned boxes for counsel to receive service,
leaving a copy for the attorney in the attorney’s box; or

d) sending a copy to an unrepresented juvenile by first
class mail addressed to the juvenile’s place of residence,
detention, or placement.

C. [ Proof of service. All documents that are filed
and served pursuant to this rule shall include a
certificate of service. ] Local Rule. If a county has
promulgated a local rule regarding electronic fil-
ing, the local rule shall comply with Rule 121 and
include, at a minimum, provisions which address
the following:

1) whether the electronic filing system is permis-
sive or mandatory;

2) if a local rule provides that electronic filing is
mandatory, the necessary technical assistance that
will be provided to those parties lacking the capa-
bility to file documents electronically;

3) methods of accessing the electronic filing sys-
tems;

4) which proceedings and documents are subject
to the local rule;

5) the specified formats in which all documents
shall be submitted to the clerk of courts for filing;

6) the manner in which the clerk of courts will
acknowledge receipt, including date and time, of
the filed documents to the filing party;

7) the specific time deadline for making elec-
tronic filings;

8) the manner in which payment will occur and
the costs of the electronic filing;

9) procedures for sending filing status messages
to the filing party;

10) whether the clerk of courts will maintain an
electronic file only or an electronic file and a hard
copy file;

11) procedures for extending the filing time if
there is a failure in the county’s electronic filing
system;

12) back-up procedures if there is a prolonged
failure in the county’s electronic filing system; and

13) any additional procedures, if necessary, to
ensure the security of the website and electronic
files.

D. By Electronic Means or Facsimile Transmis-
sion. Documents may be filed or served by elec-
tronic means and/or facsimile transmission if a
county has promulgated a local rule permitting or
mandating such filings and service.

1) Electronic Fling. If a county has promulgated a
local rule pursuant to paragraph (C) and Rule 121,
electronic filing shall be permitted or mandated.

a) Any document that is submitted for electronic
filing shall be deemed the original document;

b) The electronic filing of a document constitutes
a certification by the filing party that a hard copy
was properly signed and, when applicable, verified;

c) The clerk of courts shall provide electronic
access at all times;

d) The clerk of courts shall provide, through the
electronic filing system, an acknowledgement of
receipt of a document, including the date and time
of receipt, in a form that can be printed for reten-
tion by the filing party;

e) If a document is not accepted for filing by the
clerk of courts or electronic filing system, the clerk
of courts or electronic filing system shall immedi-
ately notify the filing party of this fact and the
reason(s); and

f) Except when caused by the failure of a county’s
electronic filing system, the filing party shall be
responsible for any delay, disruption, interruption
of the electronic signals, and legibility of the docu-
ment that is electronically filed.
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2) Electronic service.

a) If a person has electronically filed a document,
then parties may be served by electronic service if
the parties agree and provide electronic mail ad-
dresses to the court.

b) Service by electronic transmission is complete
when a document is sent to:

i) the recipient’s electronic mail address; or

ii) to the county’s electronic filing system
website, which in return sends a message to the
recipient stating that the document has been filed
and is available for review on the system’s web site.

3) Facsimile Transmission.

a) A party may be served by facsimile transmis-
sion, if the parties agree and provide a telephone
number for the facsimile transmission to the court.

b) The facsimile cover sheet shall include the:

i) names, firms, addresses, telephone numbers,
facsimile telephone numbers of the party making
service and the party being served;

ii) title(s) of the document being served; and

iii) number of pages transmitted.

c) Service by facsimile transmission is complete
when a document is confirmed as sent.

Comment

See Rule 166 for maintaining records in the clerk of
courts.

Under paragraph [ (A)(2) ] (A)(1)(a), the court is to
designate a court official to process motions and other
matters for appropriate scheduling and resolution.

Under paragraph [ (B) ] (A)(2), the party filing a
document is required to serve the other party.

This rule does not affect court orders, which are to be
served upon each party’s attorney and the juvenile, if
unrepresented, by the clerk of courts as provided in Rule
167.

Pursuant to paragraph (C), a county may promul-
gate a local rule permitting or mandating elec-
tronic filing. The local rule is to provide specific
guidelines on every aspect of the procedure and a
means to accommodate those who may assistance
during the process.

Specific time requirements are to be set under
paragraph (C)(7). For example, the county is to
specify whether a document is due at the close of
the business day, listing the specific time, or
whether the document is due by the end of the
actual day at midnight.

Pursuant to paragraph (C)(12), the county is to
implement back-up procedures due to a system
failure.

Paragraph (D)(1) sets forth the requirements for
electronic filings. Pursuant to paragraph (D)(1)(e),
if the electronic filing system fails, the party is to
be notified immediately. This notification could be
an automatic transmission from the electronic fil-
ing system that the transmission failed or the clerk
of courts may relay this fact to the filing party as
soon as it is realized that there was a failure in the
system.

If there was not a failure in a county’s electronic
filing system, all delays, disruptions, interruptions
of electronic signals, and legibility of a document
are to be the sole responsibility of the filing party.
Any time requirements of these rules not met be-
cause of such errors are to be the sole responsibil-
ity of the filing party. The filing party should
ensure the receipt of electronic filing pursuant to
paragraph (D)(1)(d) to alleviate any concerns.

Pursuant to paragraph (D)(2) & (3), a party may
be served by electronic service or facsimile trans-
mission. If the parties have agreed to electronic
service, the attorneys are to provide the court with
an electronic mail address or phone number for
facsimile transmission.

This rule is not intended to compel the use of
electronic filing. The purpose of this rule is not to
provide a comprehensive manual but, rather, a
framework upon which a local court can proceed
with the electronic filing and service of legal pa-
pers, while allowing the flexibility to adapt the
process on the basis of actual experience.

See Rule 121 for procedures of local rules.

For service of petitions, see Rule 331.

PART G. TRANSFER FOR CRIMINAL
PROSECUTION

Rule 394. Transfer Hearing.

A. Scheduling. The court shall conduct a transfer hear-
ing no earlier than three days after the notice of request
for transfer to criminal proceedings is served unless this
time requirement is waived.

B. Advanced Communication Technology. A juve-
nile or witness may appear by utilizing advanced
communication technology pursuant to Rule 129.

C. Findings. At the hearing, if the court finds:

1) the juvenile is fourteen years old or older at the time
of the alleged delinquent act;

2) notice has been given pursuant to Rule 390;

3) there is a prima facie showing of evidence that the
juvenile committed a felony delinquent act;

4) there are reasonable grounds to believe that transfer
of the case for criminal prosecution will serve the public
interest by considering all the relevant factors; and

5) there are reasonable grounds to believe that the
juvenile is not committable to an institution for the
mentally retarded or mentally ill,

[ Then ] then the court shall transfer the case to the
division or a judge of the court assigned to conduct
criminal proceedings for prosecution. Otherwise, the court
shall schedule an adjudicatory hearing.

Comment

The transfer hearing ordinarily has two phases. The
first phase of the transfer hearing is the ‘‘prima facie
phase.’’ The court should determine if there is a prima
facie showing of evidence that the juvenile committed a
delinquent act and if an adult committed the offense, it
would be considered a felony. If a prima facie showing of
evidence is found, the court proceeds to the second phase,
known as the ‘‘public interest phase.’’ During the ‘‘public
interest phase,’’ the court should determine if the juvenile
is amenable to treatment, supervision, or rehabilitation
as a juvenile and what is in the public’s interest.
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In determining public interest, the court should balance
the following factors: 1) the impact of the offense on the
victim or victims; 2) the impact of the offense on the
community; 3) the threat posed by the juvenile to the
safety of the public or any individual; 4) the nature and
circumstances of the offense allegedly committed by the
juvenile; 5) the degree of the juvenile’s culpability; 6) the
adequacy and duration of dispositional alternatives avail-
able under the Juvenile Act and in the adult criminal
justice system; and 7) whether the juvenile is amenable to
treatment, supervision, or rehabilitation as a juvenile by
considering the following factors: a) age; b) mental capac-
ity; c) maturity; d) the degree of criminal sophistication
exhibited by the juvenile; e) previous records, if any; f)
the nature and extent of any prior delinquent history,
including the success or failure of any previous attempt
by the juvenile court to rehabilitate the juvenile; g)
whether the juvenile can be rehabilitated prior to the
expiration of the juvenile court jurisdiction; h) probation
or institutional reports, if any; and 8) any other relevant
factors.

The burden of establishing by a preponderance of
evidence that the public interest is served by the transfer
of the case to criminal court and that the juvenile is not
amenable to treatment, supervision, or rehabilitation in
the juvenile system rests with the Commonwealth unless:
1) a deadly weapon as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 2301
(relating to definitions) was used and the juvenile was
fourteen years of age at the time of the offense; or the
juvenile was fifteen years of age or older at the time of
the offense and was previously adjudicated delinquent of
a crime that would be considered a felony if committed by
an adult; and 2) there is a prima facie case that the
juvenile committed a delinquent act that, if committed by
an adult, would be classified as rape, involuntary deviate
sexual intercourse, aggravated assault as defined in 18
Pa.C.S. § 2702(a)(1) or (2) (relating to aggravated as-
sault), robbery as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 3701(a)(1)(i), (ii)
or (iii)(relating to robbery), robbery of motor vehicle,
aggravated indecent assault, kidnapping, voluntary man-
slaughter, an attempt, conspiracy, or solicitation to com-
mit any of these crimes or an attempt to commit murder
as specified in paragraph (2)(ii) of the definition of
‘‘delinquent act’’ in 42 Pa.C.S. § 6302. If the preceding
criteria are met, then the burden of proof rests with the
juvenile. See 42 Pa.C.S. § 6355.

For detention time requirements for juveniles scheduled
for a transfer hearing, see Rule 391.

CHAPTER 4. ADJUDICATORY HEARING
Rule 406. Adjudicatory Hearing

A. Manner of hearing. The court shall conduct the
adjudicatory hearing without a jury, in an informal but
orderly manner.

B. Recording. The adjudicatory hearing shall be re-
corded. The recording shall be transcribed:

1) at the request of a party;

2) pursuant to a court order; or

3) when there is an appeal.

C. Advanced Communication Technology. A juve-
nile or witness may appear by utilizing advanced
communication technology pursuant to Rule 129.

Comment

Under paragraph (A), the juvenile does not have the
right to trial by jury. McKeiver v. Pennsylvania, 403 U.S.
528 (1971).

CHAPTER 5. DISPOSITIONAL HEARING
PART B. DISPOSITIONAL HEARING AND AIDS

Rule 512. Dispositional Hearing.
A. Manner of hearing. The court shall conduct the

dispositional hearing in an informal but orderly manner.
1) Evidence. The court shall receive any oral or written

evidence which is helpful in determining disposition,
including evidence that was not admissible at the
adjudicatory hearing.

2) Opportunity to be heard. Before deciding disposition,
the court shall give the juvenile and the victim an
opportunity to make a statement.

3) Advanced Communication Technology. A juve-
nile or witness may appear by utilizing advanced
communication technology pursuant to Rule 129.

B. Recording. The dispositional hearing shall be re-
corded. The recording shall be transcribed:

1) at the request of a party;

2) pursuant to a court order; or

3) when there is an appeal.

C. Duties of the court. The court shall determine on the
record that the juvenile has been advised of the following:

1) the right to file a post-dispositional motion;

2) the right to file an appeal;

3) the time limits for a post-dispositional motion and
appeal;

4) the right to counsel to prepare the motion and
appeal;

5) the time limits within which the post-dispositional
motion shall be decided; and

6) that issues raised before and during adjudication
shall be deemed preserved for appeal whether or not the
juvenile elects to file a post-dispositional motion.

Comment

Under paragraph (A)(2), for victim’s right to be heard,
see Victim’s Bill of Rights, 18 P. S. § 11.201 et seq.

To the extent practicable, the judge or master that
presided over the adjudicatory hearing for a juvenile
should preside over the dispositional hearing for the same
juvenile.

CHAPTER 6. POST-DISPOSITIONAL
PROCEDURES

PART B. MODIFICATIONS, REVIEWS, AND
APPEALS

Rule 610. Dispositional and Commitment Review.

A. Dispositional Review Hearing.

1) A court may schedule a review hearing at any time.

2) In all cases [ when the juvenile is removed from
the home ], the court shall [ hold ] conduct disposi-
tional review hearings at least every six months.

B. Change in dispositional order. Whenever there is a
request for a change in the dispositional order, other than
a motion to revoke probation as provided in Rule 612, the
court shall give the parties notice of the request and an
opportunity to be heard.

1) The juvenile may be detained pending a court
hearing.
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2) A detention hearing shall be held within seventy-two
hours of the juvenile’s detention, if detained.

3) The juvenile shall be given a statement of reasons
for the discharge from a placement facility or request for
change in the dispositional order.

4) A review hearing shall be held within twenty days of
the discharge from the placement facility or request for
change in the dispositional order.

C. Advanced Communication Technology. [ If the par-
ties agree, commitment and dispositional review
hearings may be held by teleconferencing, two-way
simultaneous audio-visual communication, or an-
other similar method when a juvenile is committed
to a placement facility. The juvenile shall be permit-
ted to communicate fully and confidentially with
the juvenile’s attorney immediately prior to and
during the proceeding ] A juvenile or witness may
appear by utilizing advanced communication tech-
nology pursuant to Rule 129.

Comment

Under paragraph (A), the court may hold a review
hearing at any time; however, [ if the juvenile is
removed from the home, ] the court is to conduct a
hearing at least every six months. See Rule 800.

Nothing in this rule is intended to prohibit the emer-
gency transfer of a juvenile from a placement facility to a
detention facility pending reconsideration of the disposi-
tional order and this rule is not intended to preclude a
motion for modification of a dispositional order after the
juvenile has been detained.

Some placement facilities are hours away from the
dispositional court. Paragraph (C) allows a hearing, when
a juvenile is in a placement facility, to be conducted via
teleconferencing, two-way simultaneous audio-visual com-
munication, or similar method. The juvenile is to be
afforded all the same rights and privileges as if the
hearing was held with all present in the courtroom.

Subpart B. DEPENDENCY MATTERS

CHAPTER 11. GENERAL PROVISIONS

PART A. BUSINESS OF COURTS

Rule 1120. Definitions.

ADVANCED COMMUNICATION TECHNOLOGY is
any communication equipment that is used as a
link between parties in physically separate loca-
tions and includes, but is not limited to, systems
providing for two-way simultaneous audio-visual
communication; closed circuit television; telephone
and facsimile equipment; and electronic mail.

ADULT is any person, other than a child, eighteen
years old or older.

AGGRAVATED CIRCUMSTANCES are those circum-
stances specifically defined pursuant to the Juvenile Act,
42 Pa.C.S. § 6302.

CHILD is a person who is under the age of eighteen
who is the subject of the dependency petition, or who was
adjudicated dependent before reaching the age of eighteen
years and who, while engaged in a course of instruction
or treatment, requests the court to retain jurisdiction
until the course has been completed, but in no event shall
remain in a course of instruction or treatment past the
age of twenty-one years.

CLERK OF COURTS is that official in each judicial
district who has the responsibility and function under
state law or local practice to maintain the official court
record and docket, without regard to that person’s official
title.

COPY is an exact duplicate of an original docu-
ment, including any required signatures, produced
through mechanical or electronic means and in-
cludes, but is not limited to, copies reproduced by
transmission using facsimile equipment, or by scan-
ning into and printing out of a computer.

COUNTY AGENCY is the county children and youth
social service agency established pursuant to the County
Institution District Law, 62 Pa.C.S. § 2305 or established
through the county commissioners in the judicial districts
where the County Institution District Law was abolished,
16 P. S. §§ 2161, 2168, and supervised by the Department
of Public Welfare pursuant to the Public Welfare Code, 62
Pa.C.S. § 901 et seq.

COURT is the Court of Common Pleas, a court of
record, which is assigned to hear dependency matters.
Court shall include masters when they are permitted to
hear cases under these rules. Juvenile court shall have
the same meaning as court.

ELECTRONIC FILING is the electronic transmis-
sion of a document filed in a proceeding, including
but not limited to, motions, proposed orders, re-
quests, exhibits, and attachments, by means other
than facsimile transmission.

ELECTRONIC SERVICE is the electronic trans-
mission of a document to a party, attorney, or
representative under these rules.

FAMILY SERVICE PLAN is the document in which the
county agency sets forth the service objectives for a
family and services to be provided to a family by the
county agency.

GUARDIAN is any parent, custodian, or other person
who has legal custody of a child, or person designated by
the court to be a temporary guardian for purposes of a
proceeding.

JUDGE is a judge of the Court of Common Pleas.

LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER is any person who is
by law given the power to enforce the law when acting
within the scope of that person’s employment.

MASTER is an attorney with delegated authority to
hear and make recommendations for dependency matters.
Master has the same meaning as hearing officer.

MEDICAL FACILITY is any hospital, urgent care
facility, psychiatric or psychological ward, drug and alco-
hol detoxification or rehabilitation program, or any other
similar facility designed to treat a child medically or
psychologically.

MINOR is any person under the age of eighteen.

OFFICIAL COURT RECORD is the juvenile court file
maintained by the clerk of courts which contains all court
orders, court notices, docket entries, filed documents,
evidence admitted into the record, and other court desig-
nated documents in each case.

PARTY is a person who is legally entitled to participate
in the proceedings but nothing in these Rules confers
standing upon a person.

PERMANENCY PLAN is a comprehensive plan that
will result in a permanent home for the child.
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PETITION is a formal document by which a child is
alleged to be dependent.

PETITIONER is any person, who signs or verifies, and
files a petition.

POLICE OFFICER is any person, who is by law given
the power to arrest when acting within the scope of that
person’s employment.

PROCEEDING is any stage in the dependency process
occurring once a shelter care application has been submit-
ted or a petition has been filed.

PROTECTIVE CUSTODY is when a child is taken into
custody for protection as an alleged dependent child
pursuant to the Juvenile Act, 42 Pa.C.S. § 6301 et seq. or
custody may be assumed pursuant to 23 Pa.C.S. § 6315.

RECORDING is the means to provide a verbatim
account of a proceeding through the use of a court
stenographer, audio recording, audio-visual recording, or
other appropriate means.

SHELTER CARE FACILITY is a physically unre-
stricted facility that provides temporary care of a child
and is approved by the Department of Public Welfare.

VERIFICATION is a written statement made by a
person that the information provided is true and correct
to that person’s personal knowledge, information, or belief
and that any false statements are subject to the penalties
of the Crimes Code, 18 Pa.C.S. § 4904, relating to
unsworn falsification to authorities.

Comment

The county agency is a party to the proceeding and
should not function as the ‘‘Clerk of Courts.’’

The definition of ‘‘clerk of courts’’ should not necessarily
be interpreted to mean the office of clerk of courts as set
forth in 42 Pa.C.S. § 102, but instead refers to that
official who maintains the official court record and docket
regardless of the person’s official title in each judicial
district. It is to be determined locally which official is to
maintain these records and the associated docket.

The county institution districts in counties of the
fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, and eighth classes were
abolished pursuant to 16 P. S. § 2161. It is the county
commissioners’ duties in the fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh,
and eighth classes to provide the children and youth
social service agency with the necessary services for the
agency to provide care for the child. See 16 P. S. § 2168.

Under the term ‘‘court,’’ to determine if masters are
permitted to hear cases, see Rule 1187.

For the family service plan, see 55 Pa. Code § 3130.61

The definition of ‘‘law enforcement officer’’ does not give
the power of arrest to any person who is not otherwise
given that power by law.

The ‘‘official court record’’ is to contain all court orders,
court notices, docket entries, filed documents, evidence
admitted into the record, and other court designated
documents in each case. The court may also designate
any document to be a part of the record. It does not
include items contained in county agency’s records unless
they are made a part of the official record by being filed
with the clerk of courts.

The term ‘‘petitioner’’ may include any person; however,
if the person is not the county agency, an application to
file a petition pursuant to Rule 1320 is to be made. If the
court, after a hearing, grants the application, the appli-
cant may file a petition.

Rule 1128. Presence at Proceedings.
A. General Rule. All parties shall be present at any

proceeding unless the exceptions of paragraph (B) apply.
B. Exceptions.
1) Absence from proceedings. The court may proceed in

the absence of a party upon good cause shown except that
in no case shall a hearing occur in the absence of a child’s
attorney. If a child has a guardian ad litem and legal
counsel, both attorneys shall be present.

2) Exclusion from proceedings. A party may be ex-
cluded from a proceeding only for good cause shown. If a
party is so excluded, counsel for the party shall be
permitted to be present.

C. Advanced Communication Technology. A child
or guardian may appear by utilizing advanced
communication technology pursuant to Rule 1129.

D. Order appearance. The court may order any person
having the physical custody or control of a child to bring
the child to any proceeding.

Comment
Under paragraph (B)(1), if a child is an infant, that

would qualify as good cause. In no case is a proceeding to
occur in the absence of the child’s attorney. The court has
discretion whether to proceed if the court finds that a
party received proper notice of the hearing and has
willfully failed to appear.

See In re Adoption of S.B.B. and E.P.R., 372 Pa.Super.
456, 539 A.2d 883 (1988).

Nothing in these rules creates a right of a child to have
his or her guardian present. See 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6310,
6335(b), 6336.1.

Official Note: Rule 1128 adopted August, 21, 2006,
effective February 1, 2007.
Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the provisions of Rule 1128
published with the Court’s Order at 36 Pa.B. 5599
(September 2, 2006).

Rule 1129. [ Open Proceedings (Reserved) ] Appear-
ance by Advanced Communication Technology.

A. Generally. The child, guardian, or a witness
may appear at a proceeding by utilizing advanced
communication technology.

B. Requirements. Advanced communication tech-
nology shall be utilized only upon:

1) direction or approval of the court; and

2) good cause shown or by agreement of the
parties.

C. Counsel.

1) The child or guardian shall be permitted to
confer with counsel before entering into an agree-
ment under paragraph (A)(2).

2) The child shall be permitted to communicate
fully and confidentially with counsel immediately
prior to and during the proceeding.

Comment

Paragraph (A) requires that every child is to
appear in court at least once a year. There may be
instances in which the child is excused from at-
tending pursuant to Rule 1128; for example, the
child is too young.
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It is best practice to conduct hearings every three
months and for the judge to see the child and
guardian in person every six months.

This rule is not intended to compel the use of
advanced communication technology but rather
permit the use of appearance by telephone or by a
system providing two-way simultaneous audio-
visual communication. Advanced communication
technology may be utilized for the convenience for
witnesses; efficient use of resources; or when a
party or witness has an illness, is incarcerated, or
at a remote location.

Pursuant to paragraph (C), the child or guardian
is to be given time to confer with counsel privately.
The child is to be afforded all the same rights as if
the hearing was held with all parties present in the
courtroom.

Rule 1130. [ Public Discussion by Court Personnel
of Pending Matters ] Court Fees Prohibited for
Advanced Communication Technology.

[ All court personnel including, among others,
court clerks, bailiffs, tipstaffs, sheriffs, and court
stenographers, are prohibited from disclosing to
any person, without authorization from the court,
information relating to a pending dependency case
that is not part of the court record otherwise
available to the public or not part of the record in
an open proceeding. This rule specifically prohibits
the divulgence of information concerning argu-
ments and proceedings that are closed proceedings,
held in chambers, or otherwise outside the pres-
ence of the public. ]

The court shall not impose any fees upon any
party or witness for utilizing advanced communica-
tion technology.

Comment
See March 13, 2002 Order of the Supreme Court of

Pennsylvania (No. 241 Judicial Administration; Doc.
No. 1) which provides that no fees shall be imposed
against a defendant in a criminal proceeding for
the utilization of advanced communication technol-
ogy.
Rule 1136. Public Discussion by Court Personnel of

Pending Matters.
All court personnel including, among others,

court clerks, bailiffs, tipstaffs, sheriffs, and court
stenographers, are prohibited from disclosing to
any person, without authorization from the court,
information relating to a pending dependency case
that is not part of the court record otherwise
available to the public or not part of the record in
an open proceeding. This rule specifically prohibits
the divulgence of information concerning argu-
ments and proceedings that are closed proceedings,
held in chambers, or otherwise outside the pres-
ence of the public.
Rule 1140. Bench Warrants for Failure to Appear.

A. Issuance of warrant.

1) Before a bench warrant may be issued by a judge,
the judge shall find that the subpoenaed or summoned
person received sufficient notice of the hearing and failed
to appear.

2) For the purpose of a bench warrant, a judge may not
find notice solely based on first-class mail service.

B. Party.

1) Where to take the party.

a) When a party is taken into custody pursuant to a
bench warrant, the party shall be taken without unneces-
sary delay to the judge who issued the warrant or a judge
designated by the President Judge to hear bench war-
rants.

b) If the party is not brought before a judge, the party
shall be released unless the warrant specifically orders
detention of the party.

c) If the warrant specifically orders detention of a
party, the party shall be detained pending a hearing.

i) Minor. If the party is a minor, the party shall be
detained in a shelter-care facility or other placement as
deemed appropriate by the judge.

ii) Adult. If the party is an adult, the witness shall be
detained at the county jail.

2) Prompt hearing.

a) If a party is detained pursuant to a specific order in
the bench warrant, the party shall be brought before the
judge who issued the warrant, a judge designated by the
President Judge to hear bench warrants, or an out-of-
county judge pursuant to paragraph (B)(4) within
seventy-two hours.

b) If the party is not brought before a judge within this
time, the party shall be released.

3) Notification of guardian. If a party is a child and is
taken into custody pursuant to a bench warrant, the
arresting officer shall immediately notify the child’s
guardian of the child’s whereabouts and the reasons for
the issuance of the bench warrant.

4) Out-of-county custody.

a) If a party is taken into custody pursuant to a bench
warrant in a county other than the county of issuance,
the county of issuance shall be notified immediately.

b) Arrangements to transport the party shall be made
immediately.

c) If transportation cannot be arranged immediately,
then the party shall be taken without unnecessary delay
to a judge of the county where the party is found.

d) The judge will identify the party as the subject of
the warrant, decide whether detention is warranted, and
order that arrangements be made to transport the party
to the county of issuance.

5) Time requirements. The time requirements of Rules
1242, 1404, 1510, and 1607 shall be followed.

C. Witnesses.

1) Where to take the witness.

a) When a witness is taken into custody pursuant to a
bench warrant, the witness shall be taken without unnec-
essary delay to the judge who issued the warrant or a
judge designated by the President Judge to hear bench
warrants.

b) If the witness is not brought before a judge, the
witness shall be released unless the warrant specifically
orders detention of the witness.

c) A motion for detention as a witness may be filed
anytime before or after the issuance of a bench warrant.
The judge may order detention of the witness pending a
hearing.
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i) Minor. If a detained witness is a minor, the witness
shall be detained in a shelter-care facility or other
placement as deemed appropriate by the judge.

ii) Adult. If a detained witness is an adult, the witness
shall be detained at the county jail.

2) Prompt hearing.

a) If a witness is detained pursuant to paragraph
(C)(1)(c) or brought back to the county of issuance
pursuant to paragraph (C)(4)(f), the witness shall be
brought before the judge by the next business day.

b) If the witness is not brought before a judge within
this time, the witness shall be released.

3) Notification of guardian. If a witness who is taken
into custody pursuant to a bench warrant is a minor, the
arresting officer shall immediately notify the witness’s
guardian of the witness’s whereabouts and the reasons
for the issuance of the bench warrant.

4) Out-of-county custody.

a) If a witness is taken into custody pursuant to a
bench warrant in a county other than the county of
issuance, the county of issuance shall be notified immedi-
ately.

b) The witness shall be taken without unnecessary
delay and within the next business day to a judge of the
county where the witness is found.

c) The judge will identify the witness as the subject of
the warrant, decide whether detention as a witness is
warranted, and order that arrangements be made to
transport the witness to the county of issuance.

d) Arrangements to transport the witness shall be
made immediately.

e) If transportation cannot be arranged immediately,
the witness shall be released unless the warrant or other
order of court specifically orders detention of the witness.

i) Minor. If the witness is a minor, the witness may be
detained in an out-of-county shelter-care facility or other
placement as deemed appropriate by the judge.

ii) Adult. If the witness is an adult, the witness may be
detained in an out-of-county jail.

f) If detention is ordered, the witness shall be brought
back to the county of issuance within seventy-two hours
from the execution of the warrant.

g) If the time requirements of this paragraph are not
met, the witness shall be released.

D. Advanced Communication Technology. A child,
guardian, or witness may appear by utilizing ad-
vanced communication technology pursuant to
Rule 1129.

E. Return & execution of the warrant for parties and
witnesses.

1) The bench warrant shall be executed without unnec-
essary delay.

2) The bench warrant shall be returned to the judge
who issued the warrant or to the judge designated by the
President Judge to hear bench warrants.

3) When the bench warrant is executed, the arresting
officer shall immediately execute a return of the warrant
with the judge.

4) Upon the return of the warrant, the judge shall
vacate the bench warrant.

Comment

Pursuant to paragraph (A), the judge is to ensure that
the person received sufficient notice of the hearing and
failed to attend. The judge may order that the person be
served in-person or by certified mail, return receipt. The
judge may rely on first-class mail service if additional
evidence of sufficient notice is presented. For example,
testimony that the person was told in person about the
hearing is sufficient notice. Before issuing a bench war-
rant, the judge should determine if the guardian was
notified.

Under Rule 1800, 42 Pa.C.S. § 6335(c) was suspended
only to the extent that it is inconsistent with this rule.
Under paragraph (A)(1), the judge is to find a subpoenaed
or summoned person failed to appear and sufficient notice
was given to issue a bench warrant. The fact that the
party or witness may abscond or may not attend or be
brought to a hearing is not sufficient evidence for a bench
warrant. The normal rules of procedure in these rules are
to be followed if a child is detained. See Chapter Twelve,
Part D.

Pursuant to paragraph (B)(1)(a), the party is to be
taken immediately to the judge who issued the bench
warrant or a judge designated by the President Judge of
that county to hear bench warrants. Pursuant to para-
graph (B)(1)(b), if a bench warrant specifically provides
that the party may be detained, the party may be
detained without having to be brought before the judge
until a hearing within seventy-two hours under para-
graph (B)(2)(a). Pursuant to this paragraph, if a hearing
is not held promptly, the party is to be released. See
paragraph (B)(2)(b).

In paragraphs (B)(1)(c)(i), (C)(1)(c)(i), & (C)(4)(e)(i),
‘‘other placement as deemed appropriate by the judge’’
does not include a detention facility if a child is only
alleged to be dependent because the use of detention
facilities for dependent children is strictly prohibited. See
42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 & 6327(e).

Under paragraphs (B)(2) and (B)(4), a party taken into
custody pursuant to a bench warrant is to have a hearing
within seventy-two hours regardless of where the party is
found. See Rule 1242(D).

Pursuant to paragraph (B)(4), the party may be de-
tained out-of-county until transportation arrangements
can be made.

Pursuant to paragraph (B)(5), the time requirements of
all other rules are to apply to children who are detained.
See, e.g., Rules 1242, 1404, 1510, and 1607.

Pursuant to paragraph (C)(1)(a), the witness is to be
taken immediately to the judge who issued the bench
warrant or a judge designated by the President Judge of
that county to hear bench warrants. Pursuant to para-
graph (C)(1)(b), if the judge is not available, the witness
is to be released immediately unless the warrant specifi-
cally orders detention. Pursuant to paragraph (C)(1)(c), a
motion for detention as a witness may be filed. If the
witness is detained, a prompt hearing pursuant to para-
graph (C)(2) is to be held by the next business day or the
witness is to be released. See paragraph (C)(2)(b).

Pursuant to paragraph (C)(4)(b), a witness is to be
brought before an out-of-county judge by the next busi-
ness day unless the witness can be brought before the
judge who issued the bench warrant within this time.
When the witness is transported back to the county of
issuance within seventy-two hours of the execution of the
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bench warrant, the witness is to be brought before the
judge who issued the bench warrant by the next business
day. See paragraph (C)(4)(f).

Pursuant to paragraph [ (D)(2) ] (E)(2), the bench
warrant is to be returned to the judge who issued the
warrant or to the judge designated by the President
Judge to hear warrants by the arresting officer executing
a return of warrant. See paragraph [ (D)(3) ] (E)(3).

Pursuant to paragraph [ (D)(4) ] (E)(4), the bench
warrant is to be vacated after the return of the warrant is
executed so the party or witness is not taken into custody
on the same warrant if the party or witness is released.
‘‘Vacated’’ is to denote that the bench warrant has been
served, dissolved, executed, dismissed, canceled, returned,
or any other similar language used by the judge to
terminate the warrant. The bench warrant is no longer in
effect once it has been vacated.

See 42 Pa.C.S. § 4132 for punishment of contempt for
children and witnesses.

Throughout these rules, the ‘‘child’’ is the subject of the
dependency proceedings. When a witness or another party
is under the age of eighteen, the witness or party is
referred to as a ‘‘minor.’’ When ‘‘minor’’ is used, it may
include a child. This distinction is made to differentiate
between children who are alleged dependants and other
minors who are witnesses. See also Rule 1120 for the
definitions of ‘‘child’’ and ‘‘minor.’’

PART C. RECORDS

PART C(1). ACCESS TO JUVENILE COURT
RECORDS

Rule 1160. Inspection of the Official Court Record.

A. General Rule. The official court record is only open
to inspection by:

1) The judges, officers, and professional staff of the
court;

2) The parties to the proceeding and their counsel and
representatives, but the persons in this category shall not
be permitted to see reports revealing the names of
confidential sources of information contained in social
reports, except at the discretion of the court;

3) A public or private agency or institution providing
supervision or having custody of the child under order of
the court;

4) A court, its probation officers, other officials or
professional staff and the attorney for the defendant for
use in preparing a presentence report in a criminal case
in which the defendant is convicted and who prior thereto
had been a party to a proceeding under the Juvenile Act,
42 Pa.C.S. § 6301 et seq.;

5) The Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts;

6) The judges, officers and professional staff of courts
of other jurisdictions when necessary for the discharge of
their official duties;

7) Officials of the Department of Corrections or a State
Correctional Institution or other penal institution to
which an individual who was previously adjudicated
delinquent in a proceeding under the Juvenile Act, 42
Pa.C.S. § 6301 et seq., has been committed, but the
persons in this category shall not be permitted to see
reports revealing the names of confidential sources of
information contained in social reports, except at the
discretion of the court;

8) A parole board, court or county probation official in
considering an individual’s parole or in exercising super-
vision over any individual who was previously adjudi-
cated delinquent in a proceeding under the Juvenile Act,
42 Pa.C.S. § 6301 et seq., but the persons in this category
shall not be permitted to see reports revealing the names
of confidential sources of information contained in social
reports, except at the discretion of the court.

9) The State Sexual Offenders Assessment Board for
use in completing assessments; and

10) With leave of court, any other person or agency or
institution having a legitimate interest in the proceedings
or in the work of the unified judicial system.

B. Electronic records. Unless authorized by the
court, there shall be no public access to juvenile
case records maintained in electronic format in the
court information systems.

Comment
See the Juvenile Act, 42 Pa.C.S. § 6307, for the statu-

tory provisions on inspection of all files and records of the
court in a proceeding.

Persons specified in 23 Pa.C.S. § 6340 as having access
to reports may qualify as persons having a legitimate
interest in the proceedings under paragraph (10). See 23
Pa.C.S. § 6340.

This rule is meant to include the contents of the official
court record as described in Rule 1166, which does not
include agency records.

Official Note: Rule 1160 adopted August, 21, 2006,
effective February 1, 2007. Amended December 24, 2009,
effective immediately.
Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the provisions of Rule 1160
published with the Court’s Order at 36 Pa.B. [ 5571 ]
5599 (September 2, 2006).

Final Report explaining the amendments to Rule 1160
published with the Court’s Order at 40 Pa.B. 222 (Janu-
ary 9, 2010).

CHAPTER 12. COMMENCEMENT OF
PROCEEDINGS, EMERGENCY CUSTODY, AND

PRE-ADJUDICATORY PLACEMENT
PART C. SHELTER CARE

Rule 1242. General Conduct of Shelter Care Hear-
ing.

A. Informing of rights. Upon commencement of the
hearing, the court shall ensure that:

1) a copy of the shelter care application is provided to
the parties; and

2) all parties are informed of the right to counsel.

B. Manner of hearing.

1) Conduct. The hearing shall be conducted in an
informal but orderly manner.

2) Recording. If requested, or if ordered by the court,
the hearing shall be recorded by appropriate means. If
not so recorded, full minutes of the hearing shall be kept.

3) Testimony and evidence. All evidence helpful in
determining the questions presented, including oral or
written reports, may be received by the court and relied
upon to the extent of its probative value even though not
competent in the hearing on the petition. The child’s
attorney, the guardian, if unrepresented, and the attorney
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for the guardian shall be afforded an opportunity to
examine and controvert written reports so received.

4) Advanced Communication Technology. A child,
guardian, or witness may appear by utilizing ad-
vanced communication technology pursuant to
Rule 1129.

C. Findings. The court shall determine whether:

1) there are sufficient facts in support of the shelter
care application;

2) custody of the child is warranted;

3) a) remaining in the home would be contrary to the
welfare and best interests of the child;

b) reasonable efforts were made by the county agency
to prevent the child’s placement; or

c) in the case of an emergency placement where ser-
vices were not offered, whether the lack of efforts were
reasonable; and

4) if a shelter care application is submitted by a person
other than the county agency, the court shall make a
determination if the person is a party to the proceedings.

D. Prompt hearing. The court shall conduct a hearing
within seventy-two hours of taking the child into protec-
tive custody.

E. Court order. At the conclusion of the shelter care
hearing, the court shall enter a written order as to the
following:

1) its findings pursuant to paragraph (C);

2) any conditions placed upon any party;

3) any orders for placement or temporary care of the
child; and

4) any orders of visitation.

Comment

Under paragraph (C)(4), the court is to determine
whether or not a person is a proper party to the
proceedings. Regardless of the court’s findings on the
party status, the court is to determine if the application is
supported by sufficient evidence.

Under paragraph (D), the court is to ensure a timely
hearing.

Under paragraph (E), the court is to include in its order
specific findings that: 1) there are sufficient facts in
support of the dependency petition; 2) custody of the child
is warranted; and 3) remaining in the home would be
contrary to the welfare and best interests of the child, or
reasonable efforts were made by the county agency to
prevent the child’s placement, or in the case of an
emergency placement where services were not offered,
whether the lack of efforts were reasonable.

See 42 Pa.C.S. § 6332.

Nothing in this rule prohibits informal conferences,
narrowing of issues, if necessary, and the court making
appropriate orders to expedite the case through court.
The shelter care hearing may be used as a vehicle to
discuss the matters needed and narrow the issues. The
court is to insure a timely adjudicatory hearing is held.

See 42 Pa.C.S. § 6339 for orders of physical and mental
examinations and treatment.

See Rule 1330(A) for filing of a petition.

CHAPTER 13. PRE-ADJUDICATORY
PROCEDURES

PART D(1). MOTION PROCEDURES
Rule 1345. Filing and Service.

A. [ Filings ] Generally.

1) [ Generally ] Filings. Except as otherwise provided
in these rules, all written motions, and any notice or
document for which filing is required, shall be filed with
the clerk of courts.

[ 2) ] a) Clerk of courts’ duties. Except as provided in
paragraph [ (A)(3) ] (A)(1)(b), the clerk of courts shall
docket a written motion, notice, or document when it is
received and record the time of filing in the docket. The
clerk of courts promptly shall transmit a copy of these
papers to such person as may be designated by the court.

[ 3) ] b) Filings by represented parties. In any case in
which a party is represented by an attorney, if the party
submits for filing a written motion, notice, or document
that has not been signed by the party’s attorney, the clerk
of courts shall not file the motion, notice, or document in
the child’s official court record or make a docket entry,
but shall forward it promptly to the party’s attorney.

2) Service. The party filing the document shall
serve the other party(s) concurrently with the fil-
ing.

3) Proof of service. All documents that are filed
and served pursuant to this rule shall include a
certificate of service.

B. By Paper.

[ 4) ] 1) Method of filing. Filing may be accomplished
by:

a) personal delivery to the clerk of courts; or
b) mail addressed to the clerk of courts, provided,

however, that filing by mail shall be timely only when
actually received by the clerk within the time fixed for
filing.

[ B. Service.

1) Generally. The party filing the document shall
serve the other party concurrently with the filing. ]

2) Method of service [ to parties ]. Service on the
parties shall be by:

a) personal delivery of a copy to a party’s attorney, or,
if unrepresented, the party; or

b) mailing a copy to a party’s attorney or leaving a
copy for the attorney at the attorney’s office; or

c) in those judicial districts that maintain in the
courthouse assigned boxes for counsel to receive service,
leaving a copy for the attorney in the attorney’s box; or

d) sending a copy to an unrepresented party by first
class mail addressed to the party’s place of residence.

C. [ Proof of service. All documents that are filed
and served pursuant to this rule shall include a
certificate of service. ] Local Rule. If a county has
promulgated a local rule regarding electronic fil-
ing, the local rule shall comply with Rule 121 and
include, at a minimum, provisions which include
the following:

1) whether the electronic filing system is permis-
sive or mandatory;
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2) if a local rule provides that electronic filing is
mandatory, the necessary technical assistance that
will be provided to those parties lacking the capa-
bility to file documents electronically;

3) methods of accessing the electronic filing sys-
tems;

4) which proceedings and documents are subject
to the local rule;

5) the specified formats in which all documents
shall be submitted to the clerk of courts for filing;

6) the manner in which the clerk of courts will
acknowledge receipt, including date and time, of
the filed documents to the filing party;

7) the specific time deadline for making elec-
tronic filings;

8) the manner in which payment will occur and
the costs of the electronic filing;

9) procedures for sending filing status messages
to the filing party;

10) whether the clerk of courts will maintain an
electronic file only or an electronic file and a hard
copy file;

11) procedures for extending the filing time if
there is a failure in the county’s electronic filing
system;

12) back-up procedures if there is a prolonged
failure in the county’s electronic filing system; and

13) any additional procedures, if necessary, to
ensure the security of the website and electronic
files.

D. By Electronic Means or Facsimile Transmis-
sion. Documents may be filed or served by elec-
tronic means and/or facsimile transmission if a
county has promulgated a local rule permitting or
mandating such filings and service.

1) Electronic Fling. If a county has promulgated a
local rule pursuant to paragraph (C) and Rule 1121,
electronic filing shall be permitted or mandated.

a) Any document that is submitted for electronic
filing shall be deemed the original document;

b) The electronic filing of a document constitutes
a certification by the filing party that a hard copy
was properly signed and, when applicable, verified;

c) The clerk of courts shall provide electronic
access at all times;

d) The clerk of courts shall provide, through the
electronic filing system, an acknowledgement of
receipt of a document, including the date and time
of receipt, in a form that can be printed for reten-
tion by the filing party;

e) If a document is not accepted for filing by the
clerk of courts or electronic filing system, the clerk
of courts or electronic filing system shall immedi-
ately notify the filing party of this fact and the
reason(s); and

f) Except when caused by the failure of a county’s
electronic filing system, the filing party shall be
responsible for any delay, disruption, interruption
of the electronic signals, and legibility of the docu-
ment that is electronically filed.

2) Electronic service.

a) If a person has electronically filed a document,
then parties may be served by electronic service if
the parties agree and provide electronic mail ad-
dresses to the court.

b) Service by electronic transmission is complete
when a document is sent to:

i) the recipient’s electronic mail address; or

ii) to the county’s electronic filing system
website, which in return sends a message to the
recipient stating that the document has been filed
and is available for review on the system’s website.

3) Facsimile Transmission.

a) A party may be served by facsimile transmis-
sion, if the parties agree and provide a telephone
number for the facsimile transmission to the court.

b) The facsimile cover sheet shall include the:

i) the names, firms, addresses, telephone num-
bers, facsimile telephone numbers of the party
making service and the party being served;

ii) the title(s) of the document being served; and

iii) the number of pages transmitted.

c) Service by facsimile transmission is complete
when a document is confirmed as sent.

Comment

See Rule 1166 for maintaining records in the clerk of
courts.

Under paragraph [ (A)(2) ] (A)(1)(a), the court is to
designate a court official to process motions and other
matters for appropriate scheduling and resolution.

Under paragraph [ (B)(1) ] (A)(2), the party filing a
document is required to serve the other party.

This rule does not affect court orders, which are to be
served upon each party’s attorney and the guardian, if
unrepresented, by the clerk of courts as provided in Rule
1167.

Pursuant to paragraph (C), a county may promul-
gate a local rule permitting or mandating elec-
tronic filing. The local rule is to provide specific
guidelines on every aspect of the procedure and a
means to accommodate those who may assistance
during the process.

Specific time requirement are to be set under
paragraph (C)(7). For example, the county is to
specify whether a document is due at the close of
the business day, listing the specific time, or
whether the document is due by the end of the
actual day at midnight.

Pursuant to paragraph (C)(12), the county is to
implement back-up procedures due to a system
failure.

Paragraph (D)(1) sets forth the requirements for
electronic filings. Pursuant to paragraph (D)(1)(e),
if the electronic filing system fails, the party is to
be notified immediately. This notification could be
an automatic transmission from the electronic fil-
ing system that the transmission failed or the clerk
of courts may relay this fact to the filing party as
soon as it is realized that there was a failure in the
system.
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If there was not a failure in a county’s electronic
filing system, all delays, disruptions, interruptions
of electronic signals, and legibility of a document
are to be the sole responsibility of the filing party.
Any time requirements of these rules not met be-
cause of such errors are to be the sole responsibil-
ity of the filing party. The filing party should
ensure the receipt of electronic filing pursuant to
paragraph (D)(1)(d) to alleviate any concerns.

Pursuant to paragraph (D)(2) & (3), a party may
be served by electronic service or facsimile trans-
mission. If the parties have agreed to electronic
service, the attorneys are to provide the court with
an electronic mail address or phone number for
facsimile transmission.

This rule is not intended to compel the use of
electronic filing. The purpose of this rule is not to
provide a comprehensive manual but, rather, a
framework upon which a local court can proceed
with the electronic filing and service of legal pa-
pers, while allowing the flexibility to adapt the
process on the basis of actual experience.

See Rule 1121 for procedures of local rules.
For service of petitions, see Rule 1331.

CHAPTER 14. ADJUDICATORY HEARING
Rule 1406. Adjudicatory Hearing.

A. Manner of hearing. The court shall conduct the
adjudicatory hearing in an informal but orderly manner.

1) Notification. Prior to commencing the proceedings,
the court shall ascertain:

[ 1) ] a) whether notice requirements pursuant to
Rules 1360 and 1361 have been met; and

[ 2) ] b) whether unrepresented parties have been in-
formed of the right to counsel pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 6337.

2) Advanced Communication Technology. A child,
guardian, or witness may appear by utilizing ad-
vanced communication technology pursuant to
Rule 1129.

B. Recording. The adjudicatory hearing shall be re-
corded. The recording shall be transcribed:

1) pursuant to a court order; or
2) when there is an appeal.
C. Evidence. Each party shall be given the opportunity

to:
1) introduce evidence;

2) present testimony; and

3) to cross-examine any witness.

D. Ex parte Communication.

1) Except as provided by these rules, no person shall
communicate with the court in any way.

2) If the court receives any ex parte communication, the
court shall inform all parties of the communication and
its content.

Comment

Due process requires that the litigants receive notice of
the issues before the court and an opportunity to present
their case in relation to those issues. In re M.B., 356
Pa.Super. 257, 514 A.2d 599 (1986), aff’d, 517 Pa. 459,
538 A.2d 495 (1988).

A full record of the hearing is to be kept. In re J.H., 788
A.2d 1006 (Pa. Super. Ct. 2001). See also 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 6336.

Under paragraph (B), notes of testimony should be
provided to counsel for a party upon good cause shown.
The court may place conditions of release on the notes of
testimony. Under paragraph (B)(2), when an appeal is
taken, the record is to be transcribed pursuant to
Pa.R.A.P. 1922. See Pa.R.A.P. 1911 for request of tran-
script.

Under paragraph (C), the court is to receive evidence
from all interested parties and from objective, disinter-
ested witnesses. The judge’s findings should be supported
by a full discussion of the evidence. See In Re Clouse, 244
Pa.Super. 396, 368 A.2d 780 (1976).

For application of the Rules of Evidence, see Pa.R.E.
101.

Under paragraph (D), no ex parte communications
regarding the facts and merits of the case with the court
are to occur. Attorneys and judges understand the impro-
priety of ex parte communications but many participants
are not attorneys or judges. This rule ensures that all
parties have received the same information that is being
presented to the court so that it may be challenged or
supplemented. Normal methods of practice and procedure
such as motions, scheduling, communications with court
personnel, are not considered ex parte communications.
See Pa.R.P.C. Rules 3.5. 3.3(d), and 8.3(a) and the Code of
Judicial Conduct, Canons 1, 2, and 3.

CHAPTER 15. DISPOSITIONAL HEARING

PART B. DISPOSITIONAL HEARING AND AIDS

Rule 1512. Dispositional Hearing.

A. Manner of hearing. The court shall conduct the
dispositional hearing in an informal but orderly manner.

1) Evidence. The court shall receive any oral or written
evidence which is helpful in determining disposition,
including evidence that was not admissible at the
adjudicatory hearing.

2) Opportunity to be heard. Before deciding disposition,
the court shall give the parent, child’s foster parent,
preadoptive parent, relative providing care for the child
and court appointed special advocate, if assigned, an
opportunity to make a statement.

3) Advanced Communication Technology. A child,
guardian, or witness may appear by utilizing ad-
vanced communication technology pursuant to
Rule 1129.

B. Recording. The dispositional hearing shall be re-
corded. The recording shall be transcribed:

1) pursuant to a court order; or

2) when there is an appeal.

C. Ex parte Communication.

1) Except as provided by these rules, no person shall
communicate with the court in any way.

2) If the court receives any ex parte communication, the
court shall inform all parties of the communication and
its content.
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Comment

To the extent practicable, the judge or master that
presided over the adjudicatory hearing for a child should
preside over the dispositional hearing for the same child.

Paragraph (A)(2) does not infringe on the right to call
witnesses to testify, in addition to those specified indi-
viduals. See Rule 1123 for subpoenaing a witness.

For transcription of the record under paragraph (B), see
also Rule 1127.

Under paragraph (C), no ex parte communications with
the court are to occur. Attorneys and judges understand
the impropriety of ex parte communications but many
participants are not attorneys or judges. This rule en-
sures that all parties have received the same information
that is being presented to the court so that it may be
challenged or supplemented. Normal methods of practice
and procedure such as motions, scheduling, communica-
tions with court personnel, are not considered ex parte
communications.

CHAPTER 16. POST-DISPOSITIONAL
PROCEDURES

PART B. PERMANENCY HEARING

Rule 1608. Permanency Hearing.

A. Purpose of hearing. For every case, the court shall
conduct a permanency hearing for purposes of determin-
ing or reviewing:

1) the permanency plan of the child;

2) the date by which the goal of permanency for the
child might be achieved; and

3) whether the placement continues to be best suited to
the safety, protection, and physical, mental, and moral
welfare of the child.

B. Court’s findings. At the permanency hearing, the
court shall making findings consistent with 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 6351(f).

C. Recording. The permanency hearing shall be re-
corded. The recording shall be transcribed:

1) pursuant to a court order; or

2) when there is an appeal.

D. Evidence.

1) Any evidence helpful in determining the appropriate
course of action, including evidence that was not admis-
sible at the adjudicatory hearing, shall be presented to
the court.

2) If a report was submitted pursuant to Rule 1604,
the court shall review and consider the report as it would
consider all other evidence.

E. Advanced Communication Technology. A child,
guardian, or witness may appear by utilizing ad-
vanced communication technology pursuant to
Rule 1129.

F. Family Service Plan or Permanency Plan. The
county agency shall review the family service plan or
permanency plan at least every six months. If the plan is
modified, the county agency shall provide all parties and
when requested, the court, with the modified plan at least
fifteen days prior to the permanency hearing.

Comment

See 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6341, 6351.

Permanency planning is a concept whereby children are
not relegated to the limbo of spending their childhood in
foster homes, but instead, dedicated effort is made by the
court and the county agency to rehabilitate and reunite
the family in a reasonable time, and failing in this, to free
the child for adoption. In re M.B., 449 Pa.Super. 507, 674
A.2d 702 (1996) quoting In re Quick, 384 Pa.Super. 412,
559 A.2d 42 (1989).

To the extent practicable, the judge or master that
presided over the adjudicatory and original dispositional
hearing for a child should preside over the permanency
hearing for the same child.

Under paragraph (B), the court is to make a finding
consistent with 42 Pa.C.S. § 6351(f), in that the court is
to determine all of the following: 1) the continuing
necessity for and appropriateness of the placement; 2) the
appropriateness, feasibility, and extent of compliance with
the permanency plan developed for the child; 3) the
extent of progress made toward alleviating the circum-
stances which necessitated the original placement; 4) the
appropriateness and feasibility of the current placement
goal for the child; 5) the likely date by which the
placement goal for the child might be achieved; 6)
whether reasonable efforts were made to finalize the
permanency plan in effect; 7) whether the child is safe; 8)
if the child has been placed outside the Commonwealth,
whether the placement continues to be best suited to the
safety, protection, and physical, mental, and moral wel-
fare of the child; 9) the services needed to assist a child
who is sixteen years of age or older to make the
transition to independent living; and 10) if the child has
been in placement for at least fifteen of the last twenty-
two months or the court has determined that aggravated
circumstances exist and that reasonable efforts to prevent
or eliminate the need to remove the child from the child’s
guardian or to preserve and reunify the family need not
be made or continue to be made, whether the county
agency has filed or sought to join a motion to terminate
parental rights and to identify, recruit, process, and
approve a qualified family to adopt the child unless: a)
the child is being cared for by a relative best suited to the
physical, mental, and moral welfare of the child; b) the
county agency has documented a compelling reason for
determining that filing a motion to terminate parental
rights would not serve the needs and welfare of the child;
or c) the child’s family has not been provided with
necessary services to achieve the safe return to the child’s
guardian within the time frames set forth in the perma-
nency plan.

For family service plan requirements, see 55 Pa. Code
§§ 3130.61 and 3130.63.

Explanatory Report

‘‘The future is here.’’ This statement has been used
widely in the last decade by several companies to describe
their state-of-the-art products and new technologies in-
vented by their technical gurus.

As advanced technologies emerge while budgets con-
tinue to shrink, courts are increasingly utilizing new
technologies to help manage their court systems, and to
help reduce costs. However, costs are not the only benefit
to new technology.

Witnesses, parents, and others, who could not previ-
ously attend a hearing, may now participate in the court
process. In past years, a non-custodial parent in a remote
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state prison would not participate in his or her child’s
hearing. Technology now allows a parent inmate to
appear via video conference and participate in the pro-
ceedings. Expert witnesses, who otherwise were unavail-
able, can testify from across the world without any need
for travel or waiting in courthouses for their cases to be
called.

These proposed Rule additions and modifications begin
to address the use of advanced communication technology
in juvenile court and the procedures that must be fol-
lowed when utilizing advanced communication technology.

These Rules provide that a juvenile, child, guardian, or
witness may appear at a proceeding via advanced commu-
nication technology. However, pursuant to proposed Rules
129(B) and 1129(B), advanced communication technology
may only be utilized upon: 1) direction of the court; and
2) good cause shown or by agreement of the parties. If a
person wishes to appear in person, the court may not
require participation via advanced communication tech-
nology.

Prior to agreeing to a hearing utilizing advanced com-
munication technology, a juvenile or child must be permit-
ted to consult with his or her attorney. In addition, the
juvenile shall communicate fully with his or her attorney
prior to and during the proceedings.

Many judicial districts are allowing attorneys to use
their cell phones to speak privately with their client
during a hearing. In other districts, the hearing room is
being vacated so the juvenile or child can communicate
with counsel.

In addition, courts across the country are developing
techniques for allowing parties, including the juvenile or
child, to speak in private with their attorneys during the
proceedings. Judicial districts are encouraged generally to
be creative in utilizing advanced communication technol-
ogy; however, courts may not impose fees for the use of
that technology. See new Rules 130 and 1130.

In addition, there shall be no public access to electronic
juvenile case records. See Rules 160(C) and 1160(B). Once
the public is given access to a case record through
electronic means, it is impossible for the court to control
the information and to retrieve it, when necessary.

Finally, Rules 345(C) and 1345(C) permit electronic
filing if a judicial district has promulgated a local rule.
See Rules 345 and 1345(C)(1)—(13). Rules 345(D) and
1345(D) set forth the procedures for electronic filing and
service.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 10-1921. Filed for public inspection October 8, 2010, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 255—LOCAL
COURT RULES

FRANKLIN COUNTY
39th Judicial District Rule of Criminal Procedure

Rule 1000; Administrative Doc. 6-2010

Order of Court

Now This 15th day of September 2010 it appearing that
a ‘‘County-wide Booking Center Plan’’ has been adopted

by the County and the Criminal Justice Advisory Board
pursuant to Section 1725.6 of the Judicial Code, 42
Pa.C.S.A. 1725.6,

It Is Hereby Ordered pursuant to Section 1725.5 of the
Judicial Code that the Clerk of Courts shall assess in
addition to any other fines, penalties or costs imposed by
law, $150.00 Booking Center Fund Fee against any
person who is processed at any Booking Center in
Franklin County on or after December 1, 2010 if the
person is:

1. placed on probation without verdict pursuant to
section 17 of the act of April 14, 1972 (P. L. 233, No. 64),
known as The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device or
Cosmetic Act; or

2. receives Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition for,
pleads guilty to or nolo contendere to or is convicted of a
crime under the following:

a. 18 Pa.C.S. § 106(a) (relating to classes of offenses)
b. 75 Pa.C.S. § 3735 (relating to homicide by vehicle

while driving under influence)
c. 75 Pa.C.S. § 3802 (relating to driving under influ-

ence of alcohol or controlled substance)
d. A violation of The Controlled Substance, Drug, De-

vice and Cosmetic Act.
The Booking Center Fee shall be paid to Franklin

County Clerk of Courts or the Payment Division of the
Franklin County Adult Probation Department and depos-
ited into a special booking center fund established by the
Franklin County Criminal Justice Advisory Board. Mon-
eys in the fund shall be disbursed, pursuant to proce-
dures promulgated by the Franklin County Criminal
Justice Advisory Board and used solely for the implemen-
tation of a ‘‘County-wide Booking Center Plan’’ and the
start-up, operation or maintenance of the regional book-
ing centers.

The District Court Administrator will make appropriate
distribution of this Order.
By the Court

DOUGLAS W. HERMAN,
President Judge

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 10-1922. Filed for public inspection October 8, 2010, 9:00 a.m.]

FRANKLIN AND FULTON COUNTIES
In the Matter of the Adoption and Amendment of

Local Rules of Civil Procedure; Misc. Doc. 2010-
4218

September 20th, 2010, It Is Hereby Ordered that the
following Rules of the Court of Common Pleas of the 39th
Judicial District of Pennsylvania, Franklin and Fulton
County Branches, Civil Division, are amended, rescinded
or adopted as indicated this date, to be effective thirty
(30) days after publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin:

Local Rule of Civil Procedure 212.7 is amended and
shall now read as follows.

It Is Further Ordered that The District Court Adminis-
trator shall

1. Distribute two (2) certified paper copies and one (1)
computer diskette or CD-ROM copy to the Legislative
Reference Bureau for publication in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin.
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2. File one (1) certified copy of the local rule changes
with the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts.

3. Provide one (1) certified copy of the local rule
changes to the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania Civil
Procedural Rules Committee.

4. Publish a copy of the local rule changes as required
on the Unified Judicial System’s web site at http://
ujsportal.pacourts.us/localrules/ruleselection.aspx.

5. Provide one (1) certified copy of the Local Rule
changes to the Franklin County Law Library and one (1)
certified copy to the Fulton County Law Library.

6. Keep such local rule changes, as well as all local
civil rules, continuously available for public inspection
and copying in the Office of the Prothonotary of Franklin
County and the Office or the Prothonotary of Fulton
County. Upon request and payment of reasonable costs of
reproduction and mailing, the Prothonotary shall furnish
to any person a copy of any local rule.

7. Arrange to have the local rule changes published
on the Franklin County Bar Association web site at
www.franklinbar.org.

By the Court
DOUGLAS W. HERMAN,

President Judge

Local Rule 39-212.7. Scheduling Conference and
Case Management.

(a) This Rule shall be applicable to all civil actions
other than family law matters governed by Pa.R.C.P. 1901
through 1940.9, credit card collection cases, cases for and
appeals from compulsory arbitration, administrative
agency appeals, appeals from labor arbitration, landlord-
tenant appeals, appeals from boards of view, mortgage
foreclosures and cases in which judgment has been
entered.

(b) In all cases to which this rule is applicable, the
plaintiff shall, not later than sixty (60) days after service
of the complaint upon defendant(s), file and transmit to
the assigned judge a proposed order of court in substan-
tially the following form:

Order of Court

(Date), the Complaint filed in this case having
been served upon the Defendant(s),

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the Plaintiff shall
initiate discussion among all parties who shall make a
good faith effort to agree upon a proposed Joint Case
Management Order which shall be submitted to the
assigned judge not later than . In the event
that the parties cannot agree upon a proposed Joint Case
Management Order, they shall submit separate proposed
Case Management Orders to the assigned judge in cham-
bers not later than the foregoing date. After the foregoing
date, the assigned judge may enter a Case Management
Order or may schedule a Case Management Conference.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that in considering joint
or separate proposed Case Management Orders, counsel
and the parties shall be guided by the Court’s guidelines
set forth in the Note to Local Rule 212.7 and be prepared
to support any requested deviation from such guidelines.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the parties shall
begin engaging in discovery pending the entry of a Case
Management Order if they have not already done so; and
that the Plaintiff promptly serve copies of this order upon
all other parties.

By the Court,

J.
(c) Not later than 14 days after the deadline for the

completion of discovery pursuant to any Case Manage-
ment Order, Plaintiff’s counsel shall arrange with the
chambers of the assigned judge for a telephone conference
between the Court and counsel for all parties for the
express purpose of [1] making a good faith estimate as to
the number of trial days—excluding jury selection date—
that will be required for trial; [2] securing trial dates; and
[3] considering mediation as a settlement tool.

NOTE: The purpose of the Court in adopting this
Rule providing for case management is to better
assure the progress of cases through the judicial
system without unreasonable delay by fixing dead-
lines for completion of the various stages of cases.
Deadlines, for example, for completion of discovery,
the filing of expert reports, and the filing of disposi-
tive motions, will be set at the scheduling conference.
Thereafter, a party seeking extension of a deadline
will have the burden of establishing good cause for
such extension.
The following are guidelines for various types of cases:

CASE EVENT SIMPE CASE
(e.g. admitted liability,
minimal discovery)

STANDARD
(e.g. motor vehicle,
contracts, some equity)

COMPLEX
(e.g. product liability,
some equity, extensive
discovery)

MEDICAL
MALPRACTICE

Discovery Completion 5 months 9 months 12 months 12 months
Plaintiff Expert

Reports
6 months 10 months 13 months 13 months

Defense Expert
Reports

7 months 11 months 14 months 14 months

Dispositive Motions 8 months 12 months 15 months 15 months
Pretrial Conference 10 months 14 months 17 months 17 months

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 10-1923. Filed for public inspection October 8, 2010, 9:00 a.m.]
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FRANKLIN AND FULTON COUNTIES
In the Matter of the Adoption and Amendment of

Local Rules of Civil Procedure; Misc. Doc. 2010-
4219

September 20, 2010, It Is Hereby Ordered that the
following Rules of the Court of Common Pleas of the 39th
Judicial District of Pennsylvania, Franklin and Fulton
County Branches, Civil Division, are amended, rescinded
or adopted as indicated this date, to be effective thirty
(30) days after publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin:

Local Rule of Civil Procedure 205.1.2 is rescinded and
Rule 205.1(a) is adopted.

Local Rule of Civil Procedure 205.2(a) is adopted.
Local Rule of Civil Procedure 206.1(a) is amended and

shall now read as follows.

Local Rule of Civil Procedure 206.4(c) is amended and
shall now read as follows.

Local Rule of Civil Procedure 208.2 is amended and
shall now read as follows.

Local Rule of Civil Procedure 208.3 is amended and
shall now read as follows.

Local Rule of Civil Procedure 211 is amended and shall
now read as follows.

It Is Further Ordered that The District Court Adminis-
trator shall

1. Distribute two (2) certified paper copies and one (1)
computer diskette or CD-ROM copy to the Legislative
Reference Bureau for publication in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin.

2. File one (1) certified copy of the local rule changes
with the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts.

3. Provide one (1) certified copy of the local rule
changes to the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania Civil
Procedural Rules Committee.

4. Publish a copy of the local rule changes as required
on the Unified Judicial System’s web site at http://
ujsportal.pacourts.us/localrules/ruleselection.aspx.

5. Provide one (1) certified copy of the Local Rule
changes to the Franklin County Law Library and one (1)
certified copy to the Fulton County Law Library.

6. Keep such local rule changes, as well as all local
civil rules, continuously available for public inspection
and copying in the Office of the Prothonotary of Franklin
County and the Office or the Prothonotary of Fulton
County. Upon request and payment of reasonable costs of
reproduction and mailing, the Prothonotary shall furnish
to any person a copy of any local rule.

7. Arrange to have the local rule changes published on
the Franklin County Bar Association web site at www.
franklinbar.org.
By the Court

DOUGLAS W. HERMAN,
President Judge

Local Rule 211. Oral Arguments.

39-211.1 Except as otherwise provided by the Court,
arguments in the Franklin County Branch shall be held
on the first Thursday of each month excluding August,
except when that Thursday is a legal holiday, in which
case the argument shall be held on as scheduled by the
Court; and in the Fulton County Branch, arguments shall

be held on days as established by the annual Court
calendar or as scheduled by the Court.

39-211.2 In the Franklin County Branch, causes for
argument shall be listed in the Prothonotary’s office in a
docket to be provided for that purpose, on or before the
Thursday which is six (6) weeks preceding the day for
argument. Any party may list a cause by filing a Praecipe
directing the Prothonotary to list the cause for argument.
In the Fulton County Branch, causes for argument may
be listed in the Prothonotary’s office in a docket to be
provided for that purpose upon Praecipe of a party filed
at least six (6) weeks before the argument is to be
scheduled before the assigned judge. The party entering a
cause for argument shall forthwith, by ordinary mail,
notify all other parties that the cause has been listed for
argument; and shall file proof of service of such notice.
Failure to give such notice shall be grounds for striking
the cause from the list upon Motion.

39-211.3 The parties may agree in writing to add a
cause to the argument list at any time so long as service
of briefs may be made in accordance with the time
requirements of Rule 39-211.7. The Court may order a
cause listed for argument at the next scheduled argument
court or on such other day as it may direct and, in that
event, it may set the time for service of briefs.

39-211.4 When the ascertainment of facts is necessary
for the proper disposition of a cause listed for argument,
such facts may be determined by deposition or as other-
wise provided in the Pennsylvania Rules of Civil Proce-
dure.

39-211.5 The person seeking the order applied for
shall argue first, and may also argue in rebuttal, if
permitted by the Court, but such rebuttal shall be limited
to answering arguments advanced by the opposing party.
In causes where there is more than one responding party,
the order of argument by the responding parties shall be
as directed by the Court.

39-211.6 Each party shall furnish to every other party
a typewritten brief in the form set forth in Local Rule
210, Form and content of Briefs.

39-211.7 When a case is listed for argument, the
moving party shall file and serve a copy of his brief upon
all other parties in the manner set forth in Pa.R.C.P.
440(a) to insure receipt by the responding party not later
than the thirty-fifth (35th) day preceding the day sched-
uled for argument. The responding party shall, in return,
serve a copy of his brief upon the moving party in the
manner set forth in Pa.R.C.P. 440(a) to insure receipt by
the moving party not later than the twenty-eighth (28th)
day preceding the day scheduled for argument. At the
time each party serves his brief, he shall furnish two
copies thereof to the assigned judge.

39-211.8 Unless the time for filing and serving briefs
is extended by the Court for cause shown, where briefs
have not been timely filed and served as required by Rule
39-211.7, the Court may upon its own motion or upon
request of a party:

(1) Deny the relief requested where the moving party
has failed to comply;

(2) Grant the requested relief where the responding
party has failed to comply;

(3) Permit oral argument, but only by the complying
party;

(4) Grant such other relief or impose such other sanc-
tions as it shall deem proper.
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39-211.9 With the approval of the Court, oral argu-
ment may be dispensed with by agreement of the parties
and the matter shall be submitted to the Court on briefs
filed.

39-211.10 Cases shall be continued or stricken from
the argument list only pursuant to order of Court. A party
may request such an order of Court by petition setting
forth the basis for the request. Such petition must include
certification regarding concurrence or non-concurrence of
all other parties as required by Local Rule 39-206.1.
Local Rule 205.1(a). Filing Legal Papers. Presenta-

tion to the Court.
A legal paper requiring the signature of, or action by a

Judge may be filed, delivered or mailed to the Prothono-
tary as in Pa.R.C.P. 205.1. When such paper is received
by the Prothonotary it shall be marked filed and then
delivered to the Court Administrator for distribution to
the appropriate Judge’s Law Clerk for judicial consider-
ation.
Local Rule 205.2(a). Assignment to Judge upon Fil-

ing of Complaint.

Upon the filing of a complaint, the Prothonotary shall
assign the case to a specific judge and shall indicate the
name of the particular judge assigned in the caption. The
name of the judge to whom the case is assigned shall be
noted in the caption of each service copy of the complaint.

(i) All pleadings and papers filed subsequent to the
complaint shall have the name of the judge to whom the
case is assigned noted in the caption.

(ii) Subsequent to the filing of a complaint, motions
and petitions shall be directed to the assigned judge for
disposition unless such judge is unavailable.
Local Rule 206.1(a). Purpose and Designation.

The procedure after issuance of rules to show cause
shall be as set forth in Pa.R.C.P. 206.7. If argument is
ordered by the Court, the case shall be listed, briefed and
decided as set forth in the Court’s order. All applications
for which the procedure for the relief sought is not
otherwise specifically addressed elsewhere in the rules
and which require the assertion of facts not of record are
hereby designated as petitions. A petition, generally
speaking, is a request for relief ancillary to a given cause
of action. Each petition shall be accompanied by a
verification or affidavit verifying the facts stated in the
petition. Every petition shall contain a certification noting
whether it is contested or uncontested or, if the petition-
ing party is unable to so indicate, a description of the
efforts which have been made to determine the position of
the responding party. References to phone calls and
emails shall include date and time.

Local Rule 206.4(c). Petition with Issuance of Rule
to Show Cause.

(1) Rules to show cause shall be issued at the discre-
tion of the Court pursuant to the procedure set forth in
Pa.R.C.P. 206.5. The petition for the rule to show cause
may be filed, delivered or mailed to the Prothonotary as
set forth in Pa.R.C.P. 205.1. Upon receipt, the Prothono-
tary shall mark it filed and deliver it to the Court
Administrator. In the alternative, a petition for a rule to
show cause may be presented to the court at any open
session, or to the assigned judge’s law clerk or to the
assigned judge in chambers at such time as the court may
set.

(2) The procedure after issuance of the rule to show
cause shall be as set forth in Pa.R.C.P. 206.7. If hearing

or argument is ordered by the court the case shall be
listed, briefed and decided as set forth in Local Rule 211
et seq.

(3) The Rule to Show Cause shall be substantially in
the following form:

RULE TO SHOW CAUSE

AND NOW, this day of , 20 , upon con-
sideration of the foregoing petition, it is hereby ordered
that

1. A rule is issued upon the respondent to show cause
why the petitioner is not entitled to the relief requested;

2. The respondent shall file a verified Answer to the
Petition within days of service upon the respondent;

3. The Petition shall be decided under Pa.R.C.P. No.
206.7;

4. Depositions shall be completed within days of
service upon petitioner of the Answer;

5. Hearing and/or argument, if any, shall be held on
, , 20 , at o’clock .m. in the

assigned Courtroom of the Franklin/Fulton County Court-
house, Chambersburg/McConnellsburg, PA;

6. If Items 4 and 5 above are left blank, depositions
and/or argument or hearing will be considered upon the
request of any party; and

7. Notice of entry of this order shall be provided to all
parties by the petitioner.

8. In the case of Preliminary Objections [Local Rule
1028(a)], Motions for Judgment on the Pleadings [Local
Rule 1034(a)] and Motions for Summary Judgment [Local
Rule 1035(a)], parties shall follow the procedures for
disposition set forth in those rules.

By the Court,
Committee Comment:

No applications are designated as ‘‘petitions’’ other than
applications to open a default judgment or a judgment of
non pros as required by Pa.R.C.P. 206.1(a)(1). The issu-
ance of a rule to show cause shall be discretionary with
the court as provided in Pa.R.C.P. 206.5. A petitioner
seeking the issuance of a rule to show cause shall attach
to the petition a Rule in the form designated by this rule
and a proposed order granting the relief sought. Under
Pa.R.C.P. 206.7, the issue raised in the petition may be
decided without the necessity of argument. However, if
the court orders argument on the petition, the matter
shall be listed for argument, briefed and decided pursuant
to Local Rule 211, et seq.

Local Rule 208.2. Motions.

Local Rule 208.2(c). A motion shall include a brief
statement of the applicable authority, including reference
to any applicable local or state rule or statute; or shall be
accompanied by a brief at the time of filing.

Local Rule 208.2(d). Every motion shall contain a
certification noting whether it is contested or uncontested
or, if the moving party is unable to so indicate, a
description of the efforts which have been made to
determine the position of the responding party. Refer-
ences to phone calls shall include date and time.

Local Rule 208.2(e). Every motion relating to discovery
shall attach a certificate, signed by counsel for the
moving party, certifying that counsel has conferred or
attempted to confer with all interested parties in order to
resolve the matter without court action. The attached
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certificate shall detail the efforts made by the moving
party, detailing time, place and manner of conversations
and shall include copies of any related correspondence.

Local Rule 208.3(a)(i). A motion or answer may be filed,
delivered or mailed to the Prothonotary as set forth in
Pa.R.C.P. 205.1. Upon receipt, the Prothonotary shall
mark it filed and deliver it to the Court Administrator.
Alternatively, a motion may be presented to the court at
any open session, or to the assigned judge’s law clerk or
to the assigned judge in chambers at such time as the
court may set.

(ii) Emergency motions in cases already assigned to a
specific judge should be filed and then delivered directly
to Court Administration or to the assigned judge’s cham-
bers for handling and, in cases not already assigned,
should be directed to the Court Administrator for assign-
ment.

(iii) Unless permitted by the court to be made or taken
orally, all motions shall be in writing and shall be verified
if the facts do not appear on the face of the record.

(iv) The proper order to be made by the court upon a
motion shall be prepared by counsel and attached to the
motion at the time of filing. Any order signed by the court
shall be promptly filed.

(v) All motions other than those made at trial shall be
served, along with any order entered or any order
proposed to be entered, upon all other parties in accord-
ance with Pa.R.C.P. 440(a). All such service shall be
evidenced by either a certificate of service attached at the
time of filing or by an affidavit of service filed separately.

(vi) Motions may be decided with out without oral
argument. For those Motions for which a party requests
argument of for which the Court requires argument, the
Court may issue an order scheduling argument or the
motion may be argued by following the procedure set
forth in Local Rule 211 et seq.
Local Rule 208.3. Answers to Motions.

Local Rule 208.3(b). Except for those Motions which are
uncontested by their terms, each responding party shall

file an Answer which shall contain supporting authority
for the relief sought or which shall be accompanied by a
brief at the time of filing. Each Answer shall also have
attached at the time of filing the order which is sought by
the answering party. Answers other than those to Motions
for Summary Judgment shall be filed not later than 20
days after the date of service of the Motion as evidenced
by a certificate or affidavit of service unless the time for
filing is modified by court order; or unless earlier required
in the interests of justice; or as soon as possible in the
case of emergency motions.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 10-1924. Filed for public inspection October 8, 2010, 9:00 a.m.]

DISCIPLINARY BOARD OF
THE SUPREME COURT

Notice of Hearing

A Petition for Reinstatement to the active practice of
law has been filed by Brian P. Raney and will be the
subject of a hearing on November 16, 2010, before a
hearing committee designated by the Board. Anyone
wishing to be heard in reference to this matter should
contact the District I Office of the Disciplinary Board of
the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, 16th Floor, Seven
Penn Center, 1635 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA
19103, (215) 560-6296, on or before November 5, 2010. In
accordance with Board Rule § 89.274(b), since this for-
merly admitted attorney resides outside of the Common-
wealth of Pennsylvania, this notice is published in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.

ELAINE M. BIXLER,
Secretary

The Disciplinary Board of the
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 10-1925. Filed for public inspection October 8, 2010, 9:00 a.m.]

5766 THE COURTS

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 40, NO. 41, OCTOBER 9, 2010


