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THE COURTS

Title 204—JUDICIAL
SYSTEM GENERAL
PROVISIONS

PART V. PROFESSIONAL ETHICS AND CONDUCT
[ 204 PA. CODE CHS. 81 AND 83]

Amendment of Rules 204, 205, 212, 216, 217, 218,
219, 401, 502 and 531 of the Rules of Disciplin-
ary Enforcement and Rule 1.15(u) of the Rules of
Professional Conduct; No. 112 Disciplinary
Rules Doc.

Order
Per Curiam

And Now, this 4th day of June, 2012, upon the
recommendation of the Disciplinary Board of the Supreme
Court of Pennsylvania; the proposal having been pub-
lished for public comment at 41 Pa.B. 2517 (May 21,
2011):

It Is Ordered pursuant to Article V, Section 10 of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania that Rules 204, 205, 212,
216, 217, 218, 219, 401, 502 and 531 of the Pennsylvania
Rules of Disciplinary Enforcement and Rule 1.15(u) of the
Pennsylvania Rules of Professional Conduct are amended
in the following form.

This Order shall be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(b), and shall be effective in 30 days.
The amendments to Pa.R.D.E. 219(f) relating to auto-
matic assessment of non-waivable late payment penalties
shall be applicable beginning with the 2013-2014 assess-
ment year.

Annex A

TITLE 204. JUDICIAL SYSTEM GENERAL
PROVISIONS

PART V. PROFESSIONAL ETHICS AND CONDUCT
Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY

CHAPTER 81. RULES OF PROFESSIONAL
CONDUCT

Subchapter A. RULES OF PROFESSIONAL
CONDUCT

§ 81.4. Rules of Professional Conduct.
The following are the Rules of Professional Conduct:
CLIENT-LAWYER RELATIONSHIP

& * & * &

Rule 1.15. Safekeeping Property.

ES * ES % %

(u) Every attorney who is required to pay an active
annual assessment under Rule 219 of the Pennsylvania
Rules of Disciplinary Enforcement (relating to [ periodic
assessment | annual registration of attorneys|; vol-
untary inactive status]) shall pay an additional an-
nual fee of $35.00 for use by the IOLTA Board. Such
additional assessment shall be added to, and collected
with and in the same manner as, the basic annual
assessment, but the statement mailed by the Attorney

Registration Office pursuant to Rule 219 shall separately
identify the additional assessment imposed pursuant to
this subdivision. All amounts received pursuant to this
subdivision shall be credited to the IOLTA Board.

* & * *k *

Subpart B. DISCIPLINARY ENFORCEMENT

CHAPTER 83. PENNSYLVANIA RULES OF
DISCIPLINARY ENFORCEMENT

Subchapter B. MISCONDUCT
Rule 204. Types of discipline.

* & * kS *

(c) A reference in these rules to disbarment, suspension,
temporary suspension, administrative suspension, or
transfer to or assumption of retired or inactive status
shall be deemed to mean, in the case of a respondent-
attorney who holds a Limited In-House Corporate Coun-
sel License, expiration of that license. A respondent-
attorney whose Limited In-House Corporate Counsel
License expires for any reason:

(1) shall be deemed to be a formerly admitted attorney
for purposes of Rule 217 (relating to formerly admitted
attorneys); and

(2) shall not be entitled to seek reinstatement under
Rule 218 (relating to reinstatement) or Rule 219 (relating

to [ periodic assessment] annual registration of
attorneys[ ; voluntary inactive status]) and instead
must reapply for a Limited In-House Corporate Counsel
License under Pennsylvania Bar Admission Rule 302.

Rule 205. The Disciplinary Board of the Supreme
Court of Pennsylvania.
* ES *k ES Ed

(c) The Board shall have the power and duty:

* & * kS &

(4) To assign as special masters three or more former
members of the Board or former or retired justices or
judges who are not in senior judge status. The expenses
and compensation of the special masters shall be paid as
a cost of disciplinary administration and enforcement. See
Enforcement Rule 219(a) (relating to [ periodic assess-
ment ]| annual registration of attorneys).

* & * kS *

Rule 212. Substituted service.

In the event a respondent-attorney cannot be located
and personally served with notices required under these
rules, such notices may be served upon the respondent-
attorney by addressing them to the address furnished by
the respondent-attorney in the last registration statement
filed by such person in accordance with Enforcement Rule
219(d) (relating to [ periodic assessment ] annual reg-
istration of attorneys) or, in the case of a foreign legal
consultant, by serving them pursuant to the designation
filed by the foreign legal consultant under Pennsylvania
Bar Admission Rule 341(b)(8).

Rule 216. Reciprocal discipline and disability.

(a) Upon receipt of a certified copy of a final adjudica-
tion of any court or any body authorized by law or by rule
of court to conduct disciplinary proceedings against attor-
neys by any state or territory of the United States or the
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District of Columbia, a United States court, or a federal
administrative agency or a military tribunal demonstrat-
ing that an attorney admitted to practice in this Com-
monwealth has been disciplined by suspension, disbar-
ment, or revocation of license or pro hac vice admission,
or has resigned from the bar or otherwise relinquished
his or her license to practice while under disciplinary
investigation in another jurisdiction or has been trans-
ferred to disability inactive status, the Supreme Court
shall forthwith issue a notice directed to the respondent-
attorney containing:

(1) a copy of the final adjudication described in para-
graph (a); and

(2) an order directing that the respondent-attorney
inform the Court within 30 days from service of the
notice, of any claim by the respondent-attorney that the
imposition of the identical or comparable discipline or
disability inactive status in this Commonwealth would be
unwarranted, and the reasons therefor.

The Board shall cause this notice to be served upon the
respondent-attorney by mailing it to the address fur-
nished by the respondent-attorney in the last registration
statement filed by such person in accordance with En-
forcement Rule 219(d) (relating to [ periodic assess-
ment ] annual registration of attorneys) or, in the case
of a foreign legal consultant, by serving it pursuant to the
designation filed by the foreign legal consultant under
Pennsylvania Bar Admission Rule 341(b)(8).

& * b * &

Rule 217. Formerly admitted attorneys.
% % % % %

(h) Within ten days after the effective date of an order
of disbarment or suspension for a period longer than one
year, the formerly admitted attorney shall surrender to
the Board the certificate issued by the Attorney Registra-
tion Office under Rule 219(e) (relating to [ periodic
assessment | annual registration of attorneys| ; vol-
untary inactive status]) for the current year, along
with any certificate of good standing issued under Penn-
sylvania Bar Admission Rule 201(d) (relating to certifica-
tion of good standing), certificate of admission issued
under Pennsylvania Bar Admission Rule 231(d)(3) (relat-
ing to action by Prothonotary), certificate of licensure
issued under Pennsylvania Bar Admission Rule 341(e)(3)
(relating to motion for licensure), Limited In-House Cor-
porate Counsel License issued under Pennsylvania Bar
Admission Rule 302 (relating to limited in-house corpo-
rate counsel license) or limited certificate of admission
issued under Pennsylvania Bar Admission Rule 303 (re-
lating to limited admission of military attorneys). The
Board may destroy the annual certificate issued under
Rule 219(e), but shall retain any other documents surren-
dered under this subdivision and shall return those
documents to the formerly admitted attorney in the event
that he or she is subsequently reinstated.

* * * * *
Rule 218. Reinstatement.

(a) An attorney may not resume practice until rein-
stated by order of the Supreme Court after petition
pursuant to this rule if the attorney was:

(1) suspended for a period exceeding one year;

(2) retired, on inactive status or on administrative
suspension [ for more than ] if the formerly admitted

attorney has not been on active status at any time
within the past three years;
£ & & & *

(d) The procedure for petitioning for reinstatement
from: retired status for more than three years[ , ]; inac-
tive status for more than three years [ or ]; administra-
tive suspension for more than three years[ , I; retired
status, inactive status or administrative suspension
if the formerly admitted attorney has not been on
active status at any time within the past three
years; or after transfer to inactive status as a result of
the sale of a law practice pursuant to Rule 1.17 of the
Pennsylvania Rules of Professional Conduct, is as follows:

* * * *k *

(g)(1) Upon the expiration of any term of suspension
not exceeding one year and upon the filing thereafter by
the formerly admitted attorney with the Board of a
verified statement showing compliance with all the terms
and conditions of the order of suspension and of Enforce-
ment Rule 217 (relating to formerly admitted attorneys),
the Board shall certify such fact to the Supreme Court,
which shall immediately enter an order reinstating the
formerly admitted attorney to active status, unless such
person is subject to another outstanding order of suspen-
sion or disbarment.

(2) Paragraph (1) of this subdivision shall not be
applicable and a formerly admitted attorney shall be
subject instead to the other provisions of this rule
requiring the filing of a petition for reinstatement, if:

(i) other formal disciplinary proceedings are then pend-
ing or have been authorized against the formerly admit-
ted attorney;

(i1) the formerly admitted attorney has been on retired
status, inactive status or administrative suspension for
more than three years; [or]

(iii) the formerly admitted attorney has not been
on active status for more than three years due to a
combination of retired status, inactive status, ad-
ministrative suspension and/or a term of suspen-
sion not exceeding one year and had not been on
active status at any time within the three-year
period preceding the entry of the order; or

(iv) the order of suspension has been in effect for more
than three years.

(h) Attorneys who have been on inactive status, retired
status or administrative suspension for three years or
less may be reinstated to the roll of those classified as
active pursuant to Enforcement Rule 219(h), (1), G)[,
(k) ] or (m) (relating to [ periodic assessment ] annual
registration of attorneys) as appropriate. This subdivi-
sion (h) does not apply to [ an attorney J:

(1) a formerly admitted attorney who, on the date
of the filing of the request for reinstatement, had
not been on active status at any time within the
preceding three years; or

(2) an attorney who has sold his or her practice
pursuant to Rule 1.17 of the Pennsylvania Rules of
Professional Conduct.

£l & * & *

Rule 219. [ Periodic assessment ] Annual registra-
tion of attorneys| ; voluntary inactive status ].

(a) Every attorney admitted to practice law in this
Commonwealth shall pay an annual fee of $130.00 [ un-
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der this rule ] and file the annual fee form provided
for in this rule. The [ annual ] fee shall be collected
under the supervision of the Attorney Registration Office,
which shall send [ and receive, ] or cause to be sent
[ and received, the notices and forms provided for
in this rule ] to every attorney, except an attorney
who has elected to file the form electronically, the
annual fee form. The Attorney Registration Office
shall transmit to those attorneys who have elected
to file the form electronically a notice by e-mail to
register by July 1. Failure to receive the annual fee
form by mail or electronically shall not excuse
payment of the fee. The said fee shall be used to defray
the costs of disciplinary administration and enforcement
under these rules, and for such other purposes as the
Board shall, with the approval of the Supreme Court,
from time to time determine.
* * * * *

(¢c) On or before May 15 of each year the Attorney
Registration Office shall transmit [ by ordinary mail to
all persons ] to all attorneys required by this rule to
pay an annual fee, except those attorneys who have
elected electronic filing, a form required by subdivi-
sion (d) of this rule. On or before May 15 of each year
subsequent to the year in which an attorney elects
electronic filing, the Attorney Registration Office
shall transmit to such attorney a notice by e-mail to
register by July 1.

(d) On or before July 1 of each year all [ persons ]
attorneys required by this rule to pay an annual fee
shall file with the Attorney Registration Office a signed
or electronically endorsed form prescribed by the
Attorney Registration Office in accordance with the fol-
lowing procedures:

(1) The form shall set forth:

(i) The date on which the attorney was admitted to
practice, licensed as a foreign legal consultant, granted
limited admission as an attorney participant in defender
and legal services programs pursuant to Pa.B.A.R. 311, or
issued a Limited-In-House Corporate Counsel License,
and a list of all courts (except courts of this Common-
wealth) and jurisdictions in which the person has ever
been licensed to practice law, with the current status
thereof.

(i1)) The current residence and office addresses of the
attorney, each of which shall be an actual street address
or rural route box number, and the Attorney Registration
Office shall refuse to accept a form that sets forth only a
post office box number for either required address. A
preferred mailing address different from those addresses
may also be provided on the form and may be a post
office box number. The attorney shall indicate which
of the addresses, the residence, office or mailing address,
as well as telephone and fax number will be acces-
sible through the website of the Board (http:/www.
padisciplinaryboard.org/) and by written or oral request to
the Board. Upon an attorney’s written request sub-
mitted to the Attorney Registration Office and for
good cause shown, the contact information pro-
vided by the attorney will be nonpublic information
and will not be published on the Board’s website or
otherwise disclosed.

& * kS & &

(vi) Whether the attorney is covered by professional
liability insurance on the date of registration in the

minimum amounts required by Rule of Professional Con-
duct 1.4(c). Rule 1.4(c) does not apply to attorneys who do
not have any private clients, such as attorneys in full-
time government practice or employed as in-house corpo-
rate counsel.

Official Note: The Disciplinary Board will make the
information regarding insurance available to the public
upon written or oral request and on its web site. The
requirement of Rule 219(d)(3) that every attorney who
has filed an annual [ registration form ] fee form or
elects to file the form electronically must notify the
Attorney Registration Office [ in writing ] of any change
in the information previously submitted within 30 days
after such change will apply to the information regarding
insurance.

(vii) Such other information as the Attorney Registra-
tion Office may from time to time direct.

(2) Payment of the annual fee shall accompany the
form. IOLTA, trust, escrow and other fiduciary ac-
count checks tendered in payment of the annual fee
will not be accepted. [ Where ] If the form and
payment are incomplete or if a check in payment of
the annual fee has been returned to the Board unpaid,
the annual fee shall not be deemed to have been paid
until a collection fee, and one or both of the late
payment penalties prescribed in subdivision (f) of
this rule if assessed, shall also have been paid. The
amount of the collection fee shall be established by the
Board annually after giving due regard to the direct and
indirect costs incurred by the Board during the preceding
year for checks returned to the Board unpaid.

(3) Every [ person ] attorney who has filed [ such
a ] the form or elects to file the form electronically
shall notify the Attorney Registration Office [ in writ-
ing ] of any change in the information previously submit-
ted, including e-mail address, within 30 days after
such change.

(f) [ The Attorney Registration Office shall trans-
mit by ordinary mail to every attorney who fails to
timely file the form and pay the annual fee re-
quired by this rule, addressed to the last known
mailing address of the attorney, a notice stating:

(1) That unless the attorney shall comply with
the requirements of subdivision (d) of this rule
within 30 days after the date of the notice, such
failure to comply will be deemed a request to be
administratively suspended, and at the end of such
period the name of the attorney will be certified to
the Supreme Court, which will enter an order
administratively suspending the attorney.

(2) That upon the entry of an order of adminis-
trative suspension, the attorney shall comply with
Enforcement Rule 217 (relating to formerly admit-
ted attorneys), a copy of which shall be enclosed

with the notice. ]

Any attorney who fails to complete registration
by July 31 shall be automatically assessed a non-
waivable late payment penalty established by the
Board. A second, non-waivable late payment pen-
alty established by the Board shall be automatically
added to the delinquent account of any attorney
who has failed to complete registration by August
31, at which time the continued failure to comply
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with this rule shall be deemed a request to be
administratively suspended. Thereafter, the Attor-
ney Registration Office shall certify to the Supreme
Court the name of every attorney who has failed to
comply with the registration and payment require-
ments of this rule, and the Supreme Court shall
enter an order administratively suspending the
attorney. The Chief Justice may delegate the pro-
cessing and entry of orders under this subdivision
to the Prothonotary. Upon entry of an order of
administrative suspension, the Attorney Registra-
tion Office shall transmit by certified mail, ad-
dressed to the last known mailing address of the
attorney, or by electronic means, the order of ad-
ministrative suspension and a notice that the attor-
ney shall comply with Enforcement Rule 217 (relat-
ing to formerly admitted attorneys), a copy of
which shall be included with the notice.

For purposes of assessing the late payment penal-
ties prescribed by this subdivision (f), registration
shall not be deemed to be complete until the Attor-
ney Registration Office receives a completed an-
nual fee form and satisfactory payment of the
annual fee and of all outstanding collection fees
and late payment penalties. If a check in payment
of the delinquency has been returned to the Board
unpaid, a collection fee, as established by the Board
under subdivision (d)(2) of this rule, shall be added
to the attorney’s delinquent account and registra-
tion shall not be deemed to be complete until the
delinquent account has been paid in full.

The amount of the late payment penalties shall be
established by the Board annually pursuant to the
provisions of subdivision (h)(3) of this rule.

(g) [ The Attorney Registration Office shall certify
to the Supreme Court the names of every attorney
who has failed to respond to a notice issued pursu-
ant to subdivisions (f) and (1) of this rule within the
30-day period provided therein and the Court shall
enter an order administratively suspending the
attorney. A ] The Attorney Registration Office shall
provide to the Board Secretary a copy of any [ such ]
certification [ from ] filed by the Attorney Registration
Office [ to ] with the Supreme Court [ shall be given to
the Board Secretary ] pursuant to the provisions of
this rule. [ The Chief Justice may delegate the
processing and entry of orders under this subdivi-
sion to the Prothonotary. ]

(h) The procedure for reinstatement of an attorney who
has been administratively suspended pursuant to sub-

division (f) for three years or less [ pursuant to
subdivision (g) ] is as follows:

(1) The formerly admitted attorney shall submit to the
Attorney Registration Office the form required by subdivi-
sion (d)(1) along with payment of:

(1) the current annual fee;

(i1) the annual fee that was due in the year in which
the attorney was administratively suspended;

(iii) the late payment [ penalty ] penalties required
by paragraph (3);

(iv) any unpaid collection fee;
(v) a reinstatement fee of $300.00.

(2) Upon receipt of the annual fee form, a verified
statement showing compliance with Enforcement Rule
217 (relating to formerly admitted attorneys), and the
payments required by paragraph (1), the Attorney Regis-
tration Office shall so certify to the Board Secretary and
to the Supreme Court. Unless the formerly admitted
attorney is subject to another outstanding order of sus-
pension or disbarment or the order has been in effect for
more than three years, the filing of the certification from
the Attorney Registration Office with the Prothonotary of
the Supreme Court shall operate as an order reinstating
the person to active status.

Where a check in payment of the fees and late
payment penalties has been returned to the Board
unpaid, the Attorney Registration Office shall im-
mediately return the attorney to administrative
suspension, and the arrears shall not be deemed to
have been paid until a collection fee, as established
by the Board under subdivision (d)(2) of this rule,
shall also have been paid.

(8) A formerly admitted attorney who is administra-
tively suspended [ pursuant to subdivision (g) ] must
pay [ a] the late payment [ penalty with respect to

that year ] penalties incurred in the year in which
the formerly admitted attorney is transferred to
administrative suspension. The amount of the late
payment [ penalty ] penalties shall be established by
the Board annually after giving due regard to such
factors as it considers relevant, including the direct and
indirect costs incurred by the Board during the preceding
year in processing the records of attorneys who fail to
timely file the [ statement ] form required by subdivi-
sion (d) of this rule.

(i) Retired Status: An attorney who has retired shall
file with the Attorney Registration Office an application
for retirement. Upon the transmission of such application
from the Attorney Registration Office to the Supreme
Court, the Court shall enter an order transferring the
attorney to retired status, and the attorney shall no
longer be eligible to practice law. The retired attorney will
be relieved from the payment of the fee imposed by this
rule upon active practitioners and Enforcement Rule 217
(relating to formerly admitted attorneys) shall not be
applicable to the formerly admitted attorney unless or-
dered by the Court in connection with the entry of an
order of suspension or disbarment under another provi-
sion of these rules. An attorney on retired status for three
years or less may be reinstated in the same manner as an
inactive attorney, except that the retired attorney shall
pay the annual active fee for the three most recent years
or such shorter period in which the attorney was on
retired status instead of the amounts required to be paid
by an inactive attorney seeking reinstatement. The Chief
Justice may delegate the processing and entry of orders
under this subdivision to the Prothonotary.

() Inactive Status: An attorney who is not engaged in
practice in Pennsylvania, has sold his or her practice
pursuant to Rule 1.17 of the Pennsylvania Rules of
Professional Conduct, or is not required by virtue of his or
her practice elsewhere to maintain active licensure in the
Commonwealth may request [ voluntary ] inactive sta-
tus or continue that status once assumed. The attorney
shall be removed from the roll of those classified as active
until and unless such [ person requests] inactive
attorney makes a request under paragraph (2) of
this subdivision (j) for an administrative return to
active status and satisfies all conditions precedent
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to the grant of such request; or files a petition for
reinstatement under subdivision (d) of Enforcement
Rule 218 (relating to procedure for reinstatement of
an attorney who has been on inactive status for
more than three years, or who is on inactive status
and had not been on active status at any time
within the prior three years) and is granted reinstate-
ment [ to the active rolls ] pursuant to the provi-
sions of that Enforcement Rule.

(1) An inactive attorney under this subdivision (j) shall
continue to file the annual form required by subdivision
(d) and shall pay an annual fee of $70.00. Noncompliance
with this provision will result in the inactive attorney
incurring late payment penalties, incurring a col-
lection fee for any check in payment that has been
returned to the Board unpaid, and being placed on
administrative suspension [ after the Attorney Regis-
tration Office provides notice ], pursuant to and in
accordance with the provisions of [ paragraph (f) ]

subdivision (f) of this rule. [ An attorney who vol-
untarily assumed inactive status under former sub-
division (j) of this rule shall continue to file the
annual form required by subdivision (d) and pay an
annual fee of $70.00 commencing with the next
regular assessment year. Noncompliance with this
provision will result in the inactive attorney being
placed on administrative suspension after notice in
accordance with the provisions of paragraph (f). ]

(2) Administrative Change in Status from Inactive
Status to Active Status: An attorney on inactive
status may request resumption of active status on a
form provided by the Attorney Registration Office.
[ Reinstatement | Resumption of active status shall
be granted unless the inactive attorney is subject to an
outstanding order of suspension or disbarment [ or ],
unless the inactive attorney has sold his or her
practice pursuant to Rule 1.17 of the Pennsylvania
Rules of Professional Conduct (see Enforcement
Rule 218(h)), unless the inactive status has been in
effect for more than three years, or unless the inactive
attorney had not been on active status at any time
within the preceding three years (see Enforcement
Rule 218(h)), upon the payment of:

(i) the active fee for the assessment year in which the
application for resumption of active status is made or the
difference between the active fee and the inactive fee that
has been paid for that year[ , and any arrears accumu-
lated prior to the assumption of inactive status. ];
and

(ii) any collection fee or late payment penalty
that may have been assessed pursuant to subdivi-
sion (f), prior to the inactive attorney’s request for
resumption of active status.

Where a check in payment of fees and penalties
has been returned to the Board unpaid, the Attor-
ney Registration Office shall immediately return
the attorney to inactive status, and the arrears
shall not be deemed to have been paid until a
collection fee, as established by the Board under
subdivision (d)(2), shall also have been paid.

Official Note: Subdivisions (h), (i) and (j) of this
rule do not apply if, on the date of the filing of the
request for reinstatement, the formerly admitted
attorney has not been on active status at any time
within the preceding three years. See Enforcement
Rule 218(h)(1).

[ 3) In transmitting the annual fee form under
subdivision (¢) of this rule, the Attorney Registra-
tion Office shall include a notice of this subdivision
@-

Official Note: Under prior practice, an attorney
who was neither retiring nor selling his or her law
practice was given the option of assuming or con-
tinuing inactive status and ceasing the practice of
law in Pennsylvania, and no annual fee was re-
quired. Under new subdivision (j), payment of an
annual fee is required to assume and continue
inactive status, and failure to pay the annual fee
required by subdivision (j) and file the form re-
quired by subdivision (d) will result in an order
administratively suspending the attorney.

(k) On the effective date of this subdivision (k),
any attorney who is on inactive status:

(1) by order after having failed to pay the annual
fee or file the form required by subdivisions (a) and
(d) of this rule,

(2) by order pursuant to Rule 111(b), Pa.R.C.L.E.,
after having failed to satisfy the requirements of
the Pennsylvania Rules for Continuing Legal Edu-
cation,

(3) by order after having failed to pay any ex-
penses taxed pursuant to Enforcement Rule 208(g),
or

(4) by order after having failed to meet the re-
quirements for maintaining a limited law license as
a Limited In-House Corporate Counsel, a foreign
legal consultant, an attorney participant in de-
fender legal services programs pursuant to
Pa.B.A.R. 311, or a military attorney, shall have a
grace period of one year, commencing on July 1 of
the year in which the next annual form under
paragraph (d) is due, in which to request reinstate-
ment to active status under an applicable provision
of this rule, or to be reinstated to active status
under Rule 218(a), as the case may be. Failure to
achieve active status before the expiration of the
grace period shall be deemed a request to be
administratively suspended. An attorney who is on
inactive status by court order will not be eligible to
transfer to voluntary inactive status under subdivi-
sion (j) of this rule until the attorney first achieves
active status. During the grace period, the inactive
attorney shall remain ineligible to practice law. In
transmitting the annual form under subdivision (c)
of this rule, the Attorney Registration Office shall
include a notice of this subdivision (k).

Official Note: Attorneys who voluntarily assumed
inactive status under former paragraph (j) of En-
forcement Rule 219 are governed by the provisions
of paragraph (j). Attorneys who were transferred to
inactive status by order after having failed to pay
any expenses taxed pursuant to Enforcement Rule
208(g) are governed by the provisions of paragraph

(m). ]

(k) Administrative Change in Status From Admin-
istrative Suspension to Inactive Status: An inactive
attorney who has been administratively suspended
for failure to file the annual form and pay the
annual fee required by subdivision ()(1) of this
rule, may request an administrative change in sta-
tus to inactive status. The Attorney Registration
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Office shall change the status of an attorney eli-
gible for inactive status under this subdivision
upon receipt of:

(1) the annual form required by subdivision (d);

(2) payment of the annual fee required by subdi-
vision (§)(1);

(3) payment of all collection fees and late pay-
ment penalties assessed under subdivisions (d)(2)
and (f); and

(4) payment of an administrative processing fee
of $100.00.

Where a check in payment of the fees and penal-
ties has been returned to the Board unpaid, the
Attorney Registration Office shall immediately re-
turn the attorney to administrative suspension, and
the arrears shall not be deemed to have been paid
until a collection fee, as established by the Board
under subdivision (d)(2), shall also have been paid.

An active attorney who has been administratively
suspended for failure to file the annual form and
pay the annual fee required by this rule must
comply with subdivision (h) before becoming eli-
gible to register as inactive or retired.

Official Note: Former subdivision (k), which was
adopted by Order dated April 16, 2009 (No. 75
Disciplinary Rules Docket No. 1, Supreme Court),
effective May 2, 2009, established a grace period of
one year commencing on July 1, 2009 in which any
attorney who was on inactive status by order of the
Supreme Court, could request and achieve rein-
statement to active status under Enforcement Rule
218 or another applicable subdivision of Enforce-
ment Rule 219 in order to avoid an automatic
change in status to administrative suspension. The
grace period was administratively extended to Au-
gust 31, 2010, and any involuntarily inactive attor-
ney who did not achieve active status by that date
was transferred to administrative suspension on
September 1, 2010.

(1) The Board shall transmit by certified mail, return
receipt requested, to every attorney who fails to pay any
expenses taxed pursuant to Enforcement Rule 208(g)
(relating to costs), addressed to the last known address of
the attorney, a notice stating:

(1) That unless the attorney shall pay all such ex-
penses within 30 days after the date of the notice, such
failure to pay will be deemed a request to be administra-
tively suspended, and at the end of such period the name
of the attorney will be certified to the Supreme Court,
which will enter an order administratively suspending
the attorney.

(2) That upon entry of the order of administrative
suspension, the attorney shall comply with Enforcement
Rule 217 (relating to formerly admitted attorneys), a copy
of which shall be enclosed with the notice.

& * & * *

Subchapter D. MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS
Rule 401. Expenses.

The salaries of the Secretary of the Board, Disciplinary
Counsel and staff, their expenses, administrative costs,
and the expenses of the members of the Board and of
hearing committees shall be paid by the Board out of the
funds collected under the provisions of Enforcement Rule
219 (relating to [ periodic assessment ] annual regis-

tration of attorneys). The Board shall annually obtain an
independent audit by a certified public accountant of the
funds entrusted to it and their disposition and shall file a
copy of such audit with the Court.

Subchapter E. PENNSYLVANIA LAWYERS FUND
FOR CLIENT SECURITY

GENERAL PROVISIONS

Rule 502. Pennsylvania Lawyers Fund for Client
Security.

* & & kS *

(b) Additional [ assessment ] fee. Every attorney who
is required to pay an active annual [ assessment ] fee
under Rule 219 (relating to [ periodic assessment ]
annual registration of attorneys| ; voluntary inactive
status ]) shall pay an additional annual fee of $35.00 for
use by the Fund. Such additional [ assessment] fee
shall be added to, and collected with and in the same
manner as, the basic annual [ assessment ] fee, but the

statement mailed by the Attorney Registration Office
pursuant to Rule 219 shall separately identify the addi-
tional [ assessment ] fee imposed pursuant to this sub-
division. All amounts received pursuant to this subdivi-
sion shall be credited to the Fund.

* & * kS *

REINSTATEMENT
Rule 531. Restitution a condition for reinstatement.

The Board shall file with the Supreme Court a list
containing the names of all formerly admitted attorneys
with respect to the Dishonest Conduct of which the Board
has made unrecovered disbursements from the Fund. No
person will be reinstated by the Supreme Court under
Rule 218 (relating to reinstatement), Rule 219 (relating to
[ periodic assessment ] annual registration of attor-
neys| ; voluntary inactive status ]), Rule 301(h) (relat-
ing to proceedings where an attorney is declared to be
incompetent or is alleged to be incapacitated), Pennsylva-
nia Rules of Continuing Legal Education, Rule 111(b)
(relating to noncompliance with continuing legal educa-
tion rules) or who has been suspended from the practice
of law for any period of time, including, but not limited to
suspensions under Rule 208(f) (relating to emergency
temporary suspension) and 219(f) (relating to administra-
tive suspension) until the Fund has been repaid in full,
plus 10% per annum interest, for all disbursements made
from the Fund with respect to the Dishonest Conduct of
such person.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 12-1075. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2012, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 252—ALLEGHENY
COUNTY RULES

ALLEGHENY COUNTY

Adult Probation Department Electronic Monitoring
Fees; No. AD-2012-119-CR

Order of Court

And Now, to-wit, this 11th day of May, 2012, the
following Electronic Monitoring Fee Schedule is hereby
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adopted by the Fifth Judicial District of Pennsylvania.
Further, the Adult Probation Department is hereby au-
thorized to promulgate policies and procedures consistent
with the following fee schedule. Said increase is to be
effective thirty days after publication in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin and applied only to offenders sentenced or
otherwise placed on pretrial electronic monitoring on or
after the publication requirement has been satisfied.

By the Court

DONNA JO McDANIEL,
President Judge

Electronic Monitoring Fee Schedule

Allegheny County Adult Probation Electronic Monitor-
ing fee schedule is based upon a sliding scale according to
an individual’s verifiable gross income. Any offender
ordered to Electronic Monitoring by a Common Pleas
Court Judge or Magisterial District Judge is subject to a
$100 initial installation fee. In addition, a $25.00 fee is
charged for any second & subsequent installation per
case.

The following program fees shall be applicable to all
individuals placed on Electronic Monitoring;

Financial
level Gross Income Per Diem
Level 5 $50,000 or Higher $25/day
Level 4 $40,000 to $49,999 $20/day
Level 3 $30,000 to $39,999 $15/day
Level 2 $20,000 to $29,999 $10/day
Level 1 $19,999 and under $5/day
Level 0 Supplemental Security $1.50/day
Income (SSI)
Social Security Disability
(SSD)
Social Security
Retirement (SSR)

An additional $2.00 per day fee will be assessed for the
use of any specialty device, i.e. Transdermal Alcohol
Detection (TAD), Global Positioning System (GPS)

Prior to installation, offenders must pay the $100
installation fee. In addition, any previous balances from
prior Electronic Monitoring cases must be paid in full or
payment arrangements made with the Allegheny County
Adult Probation Department. Probation officers’ are re-
sponsible for verifying gross income and assigning a
financial level for those offenders placed on Electronic
Monitoring. Before installation, offenders are advised of
the monthly cost of being on Electronic Monitoring and
then sign the income verification form. The offenders also
sign a payment agreement that describes the cost of the
program. Payments must be made in the form of check or
money order only, payable to Allegheny County. Payments
may be mailed to Allegheny County Adult Probation
Department or given in person to the assigned probation
officer. Probation officers are not permitted to accept cash
payments.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 12-1076. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2012, 9:00 a.m.]

ALLEGHENY COUNTY

Adult Probation and Parole Services Administra-
tive Fee; No. AD-2012-117-CR

Order of Court

And Now, to-wit, this 11th day of May 2012, pursuant
to 42 Pa.C.S.A. § 9728(g), the court hereby orders the
imposition of a monthly probation administrative fee of
twenty dollars ($20.00) per month assessed against all
offenders placed on probation, parole, accelerated reha-
bilitative disposition (ARD), probation without verdict
(PWYV), or intermediate punishment (IP). Said increase is
to be effective thirty days after publication in the Penn-
sylvania Bulletin and applied only to offenders sentenced
or placed on ARD on or after the publication requirement
has been satisfied.

In support of this order establishing a monthly proba-
tion administrative fee, the court finds as follows:

1. That pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S.A. § 9728(g), any costs
of the Adult Probation Department, including but not
limited to, any reasonable administrative costs associated
with the collection of restitution, reparation fees, costs,
and fines, shall be borne by the offender.

2. That, heretofore, the court never assessed a monthly
probation administrative fee against offenders sentenced
to probation, parole, ARD, PWYV, or IP.

3. That the Adult Probation Department expends sig-
nificant time and resources administering and collecting
restitution, reparation fees, costs, and fines from offend-
ers placed on probation, parole, ARD, PWV, and IP.

4. That the court, through the Adult Probation Depart-
ment, can no longer solely bear all of the costs of
collecting restitution from offenders placed on probation,
parole, ARD, PWV, and IP, and that it is fair and
reasonable to assess a monthly probation administrative
fee against offenders for this purpose.

The following guidelines shall be implemented in the
assessment and collection of the monthly probation ad-
ministrative fee:

1. All offenders placed on probation, parole, ARD, PWV,
and IP shall be assessed a monthly probation administra-
tive fee of twenty dollars ($20.00) for every month or
fraction thereof that an offender is under supervision.

2. Said monthly probation administrative fee shall be
considered a condition of probation, parole, ARD, PWYV,
and IP. Failure to pay monthly probation administrative
fees shall be considered by the court to be a technical
violation of an offender’s conditions of supervision and
may result in a revocation of a sentence of probation,
parole, ARD, PWYV, or IP.

3. The monthly probation administrative fee may be
paid by the offender at one time or on a monthly basis.

4. When an offender’s probation, parole, ARD, PWV, or
IP is transferred to Adult Probation from another jurisdic-
tion for supervision purposes, the monthly probation
administrative fee shall be established from the date the
case is accepted for supervision.

5. In those instances where an offender has multiple
active cases, the monthly probation administrative fee
shall be assessed on an offender only once, and the
Department of Court Records shall apportion the monthly
probation administrative fee accordingly.

6. Any offender committed to, remanded to, or detained
in a jail or prison for a violation of their probation, parole,
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ARD, PWYV, or IP shall have their monthly probation
administrative fee accrue until such time as the court
revokes said probation, parole, ARD, PWV, or IP. Upon
release, the monthly probation administrative fee shall be
re-assessed by the Department of Court Records if the
offender will be under the supervision of the Adult
Probation Department.

7. The funds collected pursuant to this administrative
order shall be deposited in a fund for the exclusive use by
the Fifth Judicial District of Pennsylvania. This fund
shall be used to support the operation of the court’s Adult
Probation Department, technology enhancement, and edu-
cation and training for Adult Probation officers and staff.
Expenditures from this account can be authorized only by
the President Judge and/or the District Court Administra-
tor of the Fifth Judicial District of Pennsylvania.

By the Court
DONNA JO McDANIEL,
President Judge
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 12-1077. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2012, 9:00 a.m.]

ALLEGHENY COUNTY
Drug Testing Fees; No. AD-2012-118-CR

Order of Court

And Now, to-wit, this 11th day of May, 2012, the court
hereby assesses the following confirmation drug testing
fees against offenders under the supervision of the Adult
Probation Department or the Pretrial Services Depart-
ment. Said fees are to be effective thirty days after
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin and applied only
to offenders sentenced, placed on ARD or otherwise under
pretrial supervision on or after the publication require-
ment has been satisfied.

1. Confirmation testing for a urine sample—eleven
dollars ($11.00)

2. Confirmation testing for an oral swab—thirty dollars
($30.00)

Upon notice by the Adult Probation Department or the
Pretrial Services Department, the Department of Court
Records shall tax the aforementioned confirmation drug
testing fees as costs on an offender’s case.

By the Court

DONNA JO McDANIEL,
President Judge
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 12-1078. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2012, 9:00 a.m.]

ALLEGHENY COUNTY

Increase of ARD Administration Fees; Administra-
tive Doc. No. 123 of 2012

Order of Court

And Now, to-wit, this 11th day of May, 2012, it is
hereby Ordered, Adjudged and Decreed that the following
local rule is adopted by and for the Fifth Judicial District:

Rule 316.1. ARD Administration Fee.

(a) Every person placed into the Accelerated Rehabili-
tative Disposition (“ARD”) program, shall, as a condition
of placement into the program, pay an administrative fee
of four hundred, fifty dollars ($450.00) per case.

(b) This fee shall be imposed to defray the expense of
the District Attorney in administering the program in the
amount of two hundred dollars ($200.00) per case, and to
defray the expense of the Pretrial Services Department in
administering the program in the amount of two hundred,
fifty dollars ($250.00) per case.

(¢c) This fee shall be in addition to the cost of prosecu-
tion, restitution, fees and other costs imposed as condi-
tions of placement into the program.

(d) The funds collected pursuant to this rule shall be
deposited into the General Fund of the County of Alle-
gheny, but shall be separately identified in the County’s
records so that the amounts collected may be readily
ascertained.

It is further Directed that the District Court Adminis-
trator for the Fifth Judicial District shall:

1. File the original of this Order of Court with the
Department of Court Records;

2. Distribute two (2) certified paper copies of Rule
316.1 to the Legislative Reference Bureau for publication
in the Pennsylvania Bulletin;

3. Distribute to the Legislative Reference Bureau a
copy of Rule 316.1 on a computer diskette or on a
CD-ROM, that complies with the requirements of 1
Pa. Code § 13.11(b);

4. File one (1) certified copy of Rule 316.1 with the
Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts; and

5. Publish a copy of Rule 316.1 on the Unified Judicial
System’s web site.

It is further Ordered, Adjudged and Decreed that Rule
316.1 shall take effect thirty (30) days after publication in
the Pennsylvania Bulletin and shall only apply to cases
that are filed on or after the effective date of this local
rule.

By the Court

DONNA JO McDANIEL,
President Judge
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 12-1079. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2012, 9:00 a.m.]

ALLEGHENY COUNTY
Offender Supervision Fees; No. AD-2012-120-CR

Order of Court

And Now, to-wit, this 11th day of May, 2012, pursuant
to 18 P.S. § 11.1102, the court hereby increases the
offender supervision fee from thirty-five dollars ($35.00)
per month to forty-five dollars ($45.00) per month, as-
sessed against all offenders placed on probation, parole,
accelerated rehabilitative disposition (ARD), probation
without verdict (PWV), or intermediate punishment (IP).
Said increase is to be effective thirty (30) days after
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin and applied only
to offenders sentenced or placed on ARD on or after the
date that the publication requirement has been satisfied.
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In support of this order increasing Offender Supervi-
sion Fees, the court finds as follows:

1. That pursuant to Act 35 of 1991, supervision fees
were created in Pennsylvania to support judicial districts
in the administration of adult probation services and to
support the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole
(PBPP). Moneys taxed and collected locally are divided
evenly between the collecting county and the PBPP.

2. That the court originally assessed twenty-five dollar
($25.00) per month for this fee. On September 19, 2001,
this fee was increased to thirty-five dollars ($35.00) per
month to support escalating costs to the court.

3. That since September 2001, costs have continued to
escalate for the court to provide effective supervision of
offenders sentenced to probation, parole, ARD, PWV, or
IP, and that the current fee of thirty-five dollars ($35.00)
per month has not kept pace with expenses.

The following guidelines shall be implemented in the
assessment and collection of the Offender Supervision
Fee:

1. All offenders placed on probation, parole, ARD, PWV,
or IP shall be assessed an offender supervision fee of
forty-five dollars ($45.00) for every month or fraction
thereof that an offender is under supervision.

2. Said offender supervision fees shall be considered a
condition of probation, parole, ARD, PWV, or IP, and
failure to pay offender supervision fees shall be consid-
ered by the court to be a technical violation of an
offender’s conditions of supervision and may result in a
revocation of a sentence of probation, parole, ARD, PWYV,
or IP.

3. The offender may pay the offender supervision fees
either at one time or on a monthly basis.

4. At the time of sentencing, the current legal resi-
dence of the offender shall be established and made a
part of the sentencing order.

5. When an offender’s probation, parole, ARD, PWYV, or
IP is transferred to Adult Probation from another jurisdic-
tion for supervision purposes, offender supervision fees
shall be established from the date the case is accepted for
supervision.

6. In those instances where an offender has multiple
active cases, the offender supervision fee shall be as-
sessed on an offender only once, and the Department of
Court Records shall apportion the offender supervision fee
in accordance with its existing practices and procedures.

7. Any offender committed to, remanded to, or detained
in a jail or prison for a violation of his/her probation,
parole, ARD, PWV, or IP shall have his/her supervision
fees accrue until such time as the court revokes said
probation, parole, ARD, PWYV, or IP. Upon release, super-
vision fees shall be re-assessed by the Department of
Court Records if the offender will be under the supervi-
sion of the Adult Probation Department.

8. Upon an offender’s submission of credible documen-
tation demonstrating that one or more of the factors
enumerated in 18 P. S. § 11.1102(e)(2) exist, Petitions of
Hardship (inability to pay the assessed offender supervi-
sion fee) may be considered by the Director of Adult
Probation or a designee.

9. If the Director of Adult Probation or a designee
makes a finding of hardship pursuant to paragraph 8
above, it shall be the responsibility of the offender or
his/her legal counsel to petition the court for an order
waiving the offender supervision fee. The finding of

hardship made by the Director of Adult Probation or a
designee shall be attached to the petition requesting an
order waiving the offender supervision fee. A copy of the
petition requesting an order waiving the offender supervi-
sion fee shall be served upon the Director of Adult
Probation.

By the Court

DONNA JO McDANIEL,
President Judge
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 12-1080. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2012, 9:00 a.m.]

ALLEGHENY COUNTY

Pretrial Services Department Court Reporting Net-
work (CRN) Fee; No. AD-2012-121-CR

Order of Court

And Now, to-wit, this 11th day of May, 2012, the court
hereby orders an increase of the Court Network Report-
ing (CRN) fee from seventy-five dollars ($75.00) per
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) case to one hundred
dollars ($100.00) per DUI case assessed for offenders
convicted of DUI or permitted to enter the court’s Acceler-
ated Rehabilitation Disposition (ARD) program for a DUI
offense. Said increase in the CRN fee is to be effective
thirty days after publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin
and applied only to offenders sentenced or placed on ARD
on or after the publication requirement has been satis-

fied.

In support of this order increasing the CRN fee, the
court finds the following:

1. That pursuant to 75 Pa.C.S.A. § 3816(a), every
offender convicted of DUI or permitted to enter the court’s
ARD program for a DUI offense must receive a CRN
evaluation.

2. That the Pretrial Services Department employs four
full-time CRN evaluators and expends significant time
and resources administering CRN evaluations each year.

3. That the court, through the Pretrial Services De-
partment, can no longer sustain the costs of administer-
ing all of the required CRN evaluations at the current
fee, and that it is fair and reasonable to assess offenders
a CRN fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00) for the
purpose of defraying the costs of administering CRN
evaluations

The following guidelines shall be implemented in the
assessment and collection of the CRN fee:

1. All offenders shall be subject to a CRN evaluation
fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00) for every ARD case
resulting from a DUI arrest or non-ARD case resulting in
a DUI conviction.

2. Payment of said CRN evaluation fee shall be consid-
ered a condition of the offender’s ARD or probation
requirements, and failure to pay the CRN evaluation fee
shall be considered by the court to be a technical violation
of an offender’s conditions of ARD or probation and may
result in the revocation of an ARD or probation sentence.

By the Court

DONNA JO McDANIEL,
President Judge
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 12-1081. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2012, 9:00 a.m.]
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ALLEGHENY COUNTY

Pretrial Services Department Ignition Interlock
Fees; No. AD-2012-122-CR

Order of Court

And Now, to-wit, this 11th day of May, 2012, upon
review of the request to increase Ignition Interlock fees,
the court finds the following:

1. That the court established an ignition interlock
program in 2001.

2. That the ignition interlock program has not
amended its fees since the inception of the program in
2001.

3. That the Pretrial Services Department expends sig-
nificant time and resources administering its ignition
interlock program, and the costs associated with adminis-
tering this service have increased significantly. Examples
of rising costs include rent increases at the interlock
office and the addition of a full-time interlock program
coordinator.

4. That the ignition interlock program is a safe, cost-
effective alternative to other transportation methods for
offenders in Allegheny County, and said ignition interlock
program provides a significant benefit to those who utilize
the program.

5. That the court, through the Pretrial Services De-
partment, can no longer continue to administer the
ignition interlock program under the current fee struc-
ture, and that it is fair and reasonable to assess the
amended ignition interlock fees against offenders for the
purpose of more effectively defraying the costs of adminis-
tering the ignition interlock program.

It is, therefore, Ordered that the following ignition
interlock fee schedule be and is hereby adopted, and shall
be effective thirty days after publication in the Pennsylva-
nia Bulletin and applied only to offenders sentenced or
placed on ARD on or after the publication requirement
has been satisfied.

By the Court

DONNA JO McDANIEL,
President Judge
Pretrial Services
Ignition Interlock Fee Schedule

April 2012

Service New Fee

Total Installation Charge w/one Month
Service $165
Total Monthly Charge $110
Total Bi-Monthly Charge $190
Installation at Service Center $75
Monthly Lease Payment $80
Monthly Damage Protection $10
Office Charge Per Appointment $20
Lockout Reset at Service Center $50
Service Call $75
Unauthorized Bypass Activation $100
Early Termination of Program $75
De-Installation at Service Center $50

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 12-1082. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2012, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 255—LOCAL
COURT RULES

ERIE COUNTY

Revision and Restatement of the Rules of Civil
Procedure; No. 90014 Court Order 2012

Order

And Now, this 31st day of May, 2012, Rules 302, 303,
305, 311, 440, 1303 and 3136 of Local Rules of Civil
Procedure for the Court of Common Pleas of Erie County,
Pennsylvania are amended in the following form and they
shall be effective 30 days after publication in the Pennsyl-
vania Bulletin.

Rules 2951, 3304, 4009 and 4014 of the Local Rules of
Civil Procedure for the Court of Common Pleas of Erie
County, Pennsylvania are deleted and rescinded effective
30 days after publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

By the Court

ERNEST J. DiSANTIS, Jr.,
President Judge

ECBA Suggested Changes to Local Rules
May 22, 2012
Rule 302. Trial Division Judicial Assignment.

(a) Judicial assignment to a case will be made 60 days
after the filing of the complaint if not made sooner at the
request of a party. Counsel and unrepresented parties will
be sent notice of the assignment. All judicial assignments
will be noted in the electronic docketing system.

(b) If judicial attention is required prior to judicial
assignment pursuant to section (a) above, counsel shall
submit a request for judicial assignment with the Court
Administrator on a form substantially as contained
herein.

Rule 303. Motion Court and Other Motions and
Petitions—Civil.

(a) Civil Motion Court shall be held two (2) times per
week (Tuesday and Thursday) at 9:00 A.M. The only
motions presented shall pertain to cases in which no
judicial assignment has yet been made. (See Erie L.R.
208.2(c)—208.3(b), generally, for procedure in matters
where complaint has been filed.)

(b) The Court Administrator shall publish a schedule of
the judges assigned to hear motions in those civil cases
where no judicial assignment has yet been made.

(c)(1) The moving counsel desiring to have such sum-
mary determination of a motion or petition must notify
opposing counsel and any opposing unrepresented party
of his intention to argue the motion or petitions before
the Court at such time, in accordance with Erie LR 440.
The Court may refuse to hear argument on such motions
or petitions unless counsel for each side is present.

(2) The moving party shall attach to the motion or
petition the proposed order.

Rule 305. Duties of the Prothonotary.

(a)(1) The Prothonotary shall immediately stamp all
papers filed with the date and time of such filings and
make an appropriate entry for each filing in the docket
pursuant to applicable rules of procedure, statute or
Court Order. No entries shall be made in the docket
except at the direction of the Prothonotary.
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(2) The Prothontary, duly authorized court personnel,
and under the supervision of the Prothonotary, attorneys,
pro se litigants and members of the public shall be
permitted access to the files.

(3) No entries shall be made in the docket except at the
direction of the Prothonotary.

(b) The Prothonotary shall be responsible for the safe-
keeping of all records and papers belonging to that office.
The Prothonotary shall permit no papers to be taken from
the office without order of Court except for temporary
removal by an attorney for the purpose of conducting an
arbitration, for copying within the Court House or other
recognized Court purpose. Those removing papers from
the files of the Court shall sign them out on a form used
for that purpose and shall be responsible for damages
arising from any loss.

(¢) The Prothonotary shall not accept for filing any
paper filed by a person which shall not have endorsed
thereon the address and telephone number of the person
filing the paper. The Prothonotary shall consecutively
number the cases each year.

(d) In the litigation involving the validity of a munici-
pal lien, upon motion of either party, the matter shall be
transferred, from the municipal liens docket to the ap-
pearance docket and given a term and number by the
Prothonotary.

(e) In all appeals to the Court from a municipal zoning
board or municipalities, when said appeal has been
returned to said board or municipality by the Court,
should the matter then be returned to Court, it will
retain the same docket number as it had on the original
appeal.

Rule 311. Procedure in Statutory Appeals.

(a) Unless a contrary procedure is provided for other-
wise in Statute or general Rule of Court, this Rule shall
apply to all statutory appeals where this Court has
jurisdiction to review adjudications of School Districts,
municipalities or State Administrative Agencies or offices.
This Rule shall have no applicability to state Administra-
tive Agencies or officers or proceedings under the Uniform
Arbitration Act.

(b) In cases where the Court does not have the pre-
rogative of receiving evidence in lieu of or in supplement
to the record made in the administrative proceedings, or
in cases where no motion for additional evidence was filed
or granted pursuant to paragraph (d) herein, the disposi-
tion of appeals shall be by requesting a judge assignment
after twenty (20) days of the docketing of the record from
the administrative proceeding or after the denial of the
motion for additional evidence, whichever is later. In such
cases, all procedures otherwise applicable to the listing of
cases for argument, assignment to a Judge, briefs, etc.,
shall apply to appeals governed by this Rule.

(¢c) In cases where a party is entitled, as a matter of
right, to have either a de novo evidentiary hearing in this
Court, or to supplement the record made in the adminis-
trative proceedings, any party so entitled shall request,
within twenty (20) days of the docketing of the appeal,
judicial assignment and submit an appropriate motion to
the assigned judge for hearing. Such a motion shall set
forth with particularity the basis on which the movant
claims a right to submit further evidence and shall
contain a certificate that the motion has been served on
all other parties.

(d) In cases where the Court may receive evidence for
cause shown, or at the discretion of the Court, any party

wishing to request that the Court receive evidence, shall
file a request for judicial assignment with the trial court
administrator and present an appropriate motion to the
assigned judge within twenty (20) days after the docket-
ing of the record of the administrative proceeding being
reviewed. The motion shall state with particularity the
authority upon which movant relies and the particular
factors which he believes indicate that the receipt of
further evidence is justified. Where indicated by the
circumstances, the following factors may be considered by
the Court in acting upon such motions in addition to any
otherwise applicable standard governing the exercise of
the Court’s discretion:

(1) Whether movant was represented by counsel before
the administrative tribunal.

(2) Whether previously undisclosed or newly discovered
evidence exists which was not made available to the
administrative tribunal prior to its decision.

(3) The overall adequacy for the purpose of appellate
review of the record made before the administrative
tribunal.

(4) The apparent regularity and fundamental fairness
of the administrative proceedings, as disclosed by the
record.

(5) Such other factors as may be considered in the
interest of justice.

No motion contemplated by this section shall be acted
upon until all interested parties have been given an
opportunity to respond to the motion through argument.
If, after argument, the Court denies, in whole, a motion
under this section, the case shall proceed as provided in
section (b) above.

In granting the relief requested in motions contem-
plated by this section, the Court may, unless otherwise
indicated by applicable statues, limit the evidence it will
receive to matters which are not cumulative of material
already included in the record made before the adminis-
trative tribunal, or impose other reasonable restrictions
upon the scope or nature of the evidence to be received.
The Court may, in its discretion, at the request of any
party or on its own motion, require that any party
intending to offer evidence pursuant to this Rule file a
pre-hearing narrative statement fairly setting forth the
nature of the evidence to be offered such that all parties
may have adequate notice of the facts at issue prior to
hearing and the scope and nature of the evidentiary
proceeding.

(e) In cases in which evidence is received by the Court
pursuant to this Rule, all parties shall submit proposed
findings of fact to the Court, after the close of the
evidentiary proceedings, along with their respective briefs
on the merits of the appeal in accordance with a schedule
fixed by the hearing Judge. The hearing Judge shall
retain the case and make the final disposition of the
appeal, including the adoption of findings of fact, where
appropriate.

(f) No case shall be listed for argument and no motion
shall be filed requesting that a hearing be set until the
record of the administrative tribunal is docketed with the
Prothonotary. It shall be the duty of the administrative
agency involved to promptly notify all parties of the filing
of the record.

(g) Unless a different time is specified by statute, or
Rule of Court, it shall be the duty of the administrative
agency involved to docket the record of the proceedings
before it with the Prothonotary no later than thirty (30)

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 42, NO. 24, JUNE 16, 2012



3442 THE COURTS

days from service of the notice of appeal upon the
tribunal or agency. The record shall, in all cases, contain
at least a brief adjudication setting forth the findings and
conclusions of the administrative tribunal.

(h) In the event that any administrative tribunal fails
to comply with the provisions of this Rule, or of any
statute, relating to the time within which to transmit its
record to this Court, any party may, by motion, apply for
an order compelling the transmittal of a complete record.

(i) Unless otherwise required by statute, the order of a
single Judge of this Court which is dispositive of the
merits of the appeal shall constitute a final order of this
Court in all matters subject to this Rule. Neither the
filing of exceptions nor en banc proceedings shall be
required or permitted.

Rule 440. Service of Legal Papers Other Than
Original Process.

(a) Prior to the presentation to the Court of any motion
or petition requesting an immediate Order of Court,
(except for a motion or petition filed under Pa.R.C.P.
1531(a) or a Rule To Show Cause which grants no relief),
opposing counsel and unrepresented parties must be
given two (2) full business days’ notice by personal
delivery or facsimile transmission to each party or their
counsel’s office, or five (5) full business days’ notice if by
mail. The notice must give the date and time when the
motion or petition will be presented to the Court and
must accompany a copy of the proposed motion and order.
The motion or petition must contain a certificate signed
by counsel verifying that proper notice was given under
this Rule. Service by email is allowed if, pursuant to
Pa.R.C.P. 205.4(g), the parties have agreed to service by
electronic transmission or have provided an email address
in an appearance or other legal paper that has been filed
in that civil action.

(b) The Certificate of Notice shall be in the following
form:

CERTIFICATE OF NOTICE

I certify than on (Date of Notice) I gave notice to all
counsel of record and unrepresented parties, of my inten-
tion to present the within Petition/Motion to the Court on
(Date of Presentation) by

(a) first class mail

(b) facsimile transmission
(c) email

(d) hand delivery,

(Name of Counsel)

(b) The Court will not enter an order on a petition or
motion without the Certificate of Notice being attached
unless special cause be shown to the Court.

Official Rules Committee Comment:

The intention of this Rule is to provide opposing
counsel or parties with two (2) full business days’ notice
from the date of fax, email or personal delivery, and five
(5) full business days’ notice from the date of deposit in
the U.S. mail. For example, if a motion is to be presented
on Thursday at 9:00 a.m., the notice of intent to present
the motion must be delivered or faxed before 9:00 a.m. on
the preceding Tuesday. If notice is given by mail, it must
be postmarked no later than the Wednesday of the
preceding week.

Rule 1301. Scope.

(a) Compulsory arbitration of matters as authorized by
the Judicial Code, 42 Pa. C.S. Section 7361 as amended,
shall apply to all cases at issue where the aggregate
amount in controversy shall be Fifty Thousand Dollars
($50,000.00), or less, regardless of the number of parties,
except those cases involving title to real estate or which
seek equitable or declaratory relief.

(b) In all cases where a party has obtained a judgment
by default under Pa. R.C.P. No. 1037, the party obtaining
said judgment by default may elect to have unliquidated
damages assessed at a trial by arbitration with the issues
limited to the amount of damages which shall not exceed
$50,000.00. The election to assess damages by arbitration
shall constitute a waiver by the party making such
election of any damages in excess of $50,000.00.

(¢) Discovery shall be allowed in all cases.
Rule 1303. Hearing. Notice.

(a)(1) The Chairman of the Board of Arbitrators shall
designate the time for hearing with written notice to each
of the members of the Arbitration panel and to each party
or their counsel in compliance with Pa. R.C.P. 1303.

(2) All hearings of the Board of Arbitrators shall be
held in the Erie County Court House in a hearing room
designated for that purpose or in a courtroom by leave of
Court.

(3) All hearings shall promptly commence at 9:30 a.m.
or 1:30 p.m., unless a different time shall specifically be
established by the Board of Arbitrators. In the event an
Arbitrator shall not be present at the time for the
swearing-in, then counsel for represented parties and any
unrepresented party who does in fact appear at the
scheduled hearing time, may, only if they agree unani-
mously

(A) have the remaining Arbitrators immediately select
a replacement from the list of Arbitrators; or

(B) themselves appoint any other eligible person to act
as a replacement Arbitrator; or

(C) use any other method of selection of an eligible
person to act as a replacement Arbitrator.

In the event that counsel for represented parties and
any unrepresented party, who does in fact appear at the
scheduled hearing time, are unable to unanimously agree
upon any of the foregoing options, then the replacement
Arbitrator shall be selected in accordance with Erie R.C.P.
1302(a)(1)(iii), governing selection of a sole Arbitrator.

(b) In no event, shall a scheduled arbitration be can-
celed or rescheduled without written authorization of the
Chairman or order of court obtained upon a showing of
good cause. If such authorization or order is not obtained,
the arbitration shall be held as scheduled.

(¢) In the event that a party or an arbitrator requests
that the hearing be rescheduled and if that request is
granted as provided herein, then that party or arbitrator
shall undertake the work needed to reschedule the hear-
ing, including contacting the Court Administrator to
obtain available dates and coordinating those dates with
all counsel, parties and arbitrators, as well as preparing
and dispatching all required written notices of the re-
scheduled hearing.
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ENFORCEMENT OF MONEY JUDGMENTS FOR
THE PAYMENT OF MONEY

Rule 3136. Distribution of Proceeds of Sale of Real
Property.

(a) Upon filing the proposed schedule of distribution,
the Sheriff shall immediately mail a copy of the proposed
schedule of distribution including a copy of the list of
liens, clearly indicating thereon the date on which the
proposed schedule of distribution was filed, to all parties
and lien creditors, as well as to any other persons in
interest as set forth in the Pa. R.C.P. No. 3129.1(b)
Affidavit.

(b) The Sheriff shall include with the copy of the
proposed schedule of distribution transmitted to the
Prothonotary a copy of the list of liens and a copy of the
certificate or guaranty required by Pa.R.C.P. 3136(c).

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 12-1083. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2012, 9:00 a.m.]

LACKAWANNA COUNTY

Rules of Civil Procedure and Rules of Civil Proce-
dure Governing District Justice Proceedings;
2012-CVv-1

Order

And Now, this 18th day of May, 2012, it is hereby
Ordered and Decreed that the following Lackawanna
County Rule of Civil Procedure is amended as follows:

1. Lacka.Co.R.C.P. 1920.51(d)(i) and (d)(ii) are amended
as reflected in the following Rule.

2. Pursuant to Pa.R.C.P. 239(c)(2)—(6), the following
Local Rule shall be disseminated and published in the
following manner:

a. Seven (7) certified copies of the following Local Rule
shall be filed with the Administrative Office of the
Pennsylvania Courts;

b. Two (2) certified copies of the following Local Rule
and a computer diskette containing the text of the
following Local Rule in Microsoft Word format and la-
beled with the court’s name and address and computer
file name shall be distributed to the Legislative Reference
Bureau for publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin,

c. One (1) certified copy of the following Local Rule
shall be filed with the Civil Procedural Rules Committee;

d. The following Local Rule shall be kept continuously
available for public inspection and copying in the Office of
the Clerk of Judicial Records, Civil Division, and upon
request and payment of reasonable costs of reproduction
and/or mailing, the Clerk of Judicial Records shall furnish
to any requesting person a copy of the requested Local
Rule(s);

e. A computer diskette containing the text of the
following Local Rule in Microsoft Word format and la-
beled with the court’s name and address and computer
file name shall be distributed to the Lackawanna Bar
Association for publication on the website of the
Lackawanna Bar Association.

f. The amendment of Lacka.Co.R.C.P. 1920.51(d)(i) and
(d)(ii) shall become effective thirty (30) days after the
date of its publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin
pursuant to Pa.R.C.P. 239 (d).

By the Court

THOMAS J. MUNLEY,
President Judge

Rule 1920.51 Pre-Trial Conference. Appointment of
Master.

(d) Appointment of Master/Master’s Fee

(i) For Appointment of a Master, counsel shall present
the Order and Motion for Appointment of Master in
Motion Court. Counsel shall then present the executed
Order to the Family Court Administrator who shall
thereafter assign a Master from a list of Permanent
Masters designated, approved and provided by the Presi-
dent Judge. Such assignment of a Permanent Master to a
case by the Family Court Administrator shall be on a
rotating basis.

(i) In all actions for which appointment of a Master is
sought, the party seeking appointment shall pay the sum
of Seven Hundred and Seventy ($770.00) Dollars at the
time of the appointment directly to the appointed Master
and serve the Master with a copy of the Order and
Motion for Appointment of Master. The Master shall not
commence action on the case until payment is received.
The Master shall be required to deposit the fee into his or
her escrow account until earned and billed. Master’s fees
shall be billed at a rate of One Hundred and Ten Dollars
($110.00) per hour. The Master may require additional
deposits of funds from either or both parties, if necessary.
The Master may enter such order concerning the alloca-
tion of Master’s fees and related costs as may appear just
and reasonable. Whenever the amount required to be
deposited is exhausted before the filing of the Master’s
Report and Recommendations, proceedings may be stayed
until the amount so directed shall be deposited.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 12-1084. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2012, 9:00 a.m.]

WASHINGTON COUNTY

Local Rules 1910.10-2—Alimony Pendente Lite
(Amended); L-1910.25.2—Civil Contempt. Office
Conference. Agreement. Alternative Procedures
upon Failure to Agree; No. 2012-1

Order

And Now, this 21st day of May, 2012; It Is Hereby
Ordered that the previously stated Washington County
Local Civil Rules for Support be adopted/amended as
follows.

These rules will become effective thirty days after
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

By the Court

DEBBIE O’'DELL SENECA,
President Judge

L-1910.10-2. Alimony Pendente Lite.

(a) If the parties to a support action have filed a
Complaint in Divorce in which a claim is raised for
alimony pendente lite, the Hearing Officer may hear the
alimony pendente lite claim at the request of either party.

(b) If the Hearing Officer proceeds under this Rule and
hears a claim for alimony pendente lite, the party moving
for hearing of this claim by the Hearing Officer shall file
with the Domestic Relations Section Docket Clerk a copy

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 42, NO. 24, JUNE 16, 2012



3444 THE COURTS

of the Complaint in Divorce raising the issue of alimony
pendente lite within three (3) days of the hearing before
the Hearing Officer. If the Complaint in Divorce is not
filed within this time, the Recommendation of the Hear-
ing Officer shall not be issued until a copy of the
Complaint is properly filed.

L-1910.25-2. Civil Contempt. Office Conference.
Agreement. Alternative Procedures Upon Failure
to Agree.

(d) The alternate hearing procedure of Pa.R.C.P.
1910.25-4 is adopted in all civil contempt actions for
support through the Domestic Relations Section.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 12-1085. Filed for public inspection June 15, 2012, 9:00 a.m.]
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