
THE COURTS
Title 234—RULES OF

CRIMINAL PROCEDURE
[ 234 PA. CODE CH. 4 ]

Proposed Revision to the Comments to
Pa.Rs.Crim.P. 409, 414, 424, 454 and 455

The Criminal Procedural Rules Committee is planning
to recommend that the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania
revise the Comments to Rules 409, 414, 424, 454, and 455
to clarify that a magisterial district justice may conduct
the trial of a defendant who is under the age of 18 and is
charged with a violation of 75 Pa.C.S. § 1543(b) (driving
under a DUI-related suspended license) but the sentence
may not include incarceration. This proposal has not been
submitted for review by the Supreme Court of Pennsylva-
nia.

The following explanatory Report highlights the Com-
mittee’s considerations in formulating this proposal.
Please note that the Committee’s Reports should not be
confused with the official Committee Comments to the
rules. Also note that the Supreme Court does not adopt
the Committee’s Comments or the contents of the ex-
planatory Reports.

The text of the proposed Comment revisions to the
rules precedes the Report. Additions are shown in bold;
deletions are in bold and brackets.

We request that interested persons submit suggestions,
comments, or objections concerning this proposal in writ-
ing to the Committee through counsel,

Jeffrey M. Wasileski, Counsel
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

Criminal Procedural Rules Committee
601 Commonwealth Avenue, Suite 6200

Harrisburg, PA 17106-2635
fax: (717) 231-9521

e-mail: criminalrules@pacourts.us

no later than Friday, November 23, 2012.

By the Criminal Procedural
Rules Committee

PHILIP D. LAUER,
Chair

Annex A

TITLE 234. RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE

CHAPTER 4. PROCEDURES IN SUMMARY CASES

PART B(1). Procedures When Citation Is Issued to
Defendant

Rule 409. Guilty Pleas.

* * * * *

Comment

* * * * *

[ When the defendant is under 18 years of age at
the time of the offense and appears as provided in
paragraph (C), if a mandatory sentence of imprison-
ment is prescribed by statute, the issuing authority
must foreward the case to the court of common
pleas for disposition. See the Juvenile Act, 42

Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and 6303. For procedure upon de-
fault in payment of fine or costs, see Rule 456. ]

When the defendant was under 18 years of age at
the time of the offense and is charged with a
summary offense that would otherwise carry a
mandatory sentence of imprisonment as prescribed
by statute, the issuing authority shall conduct the
trial but the defendant shall not be sentenced to a
term of imprisonment. See 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and
6303 and 75 Pa.C.S. § 6303(b).

For procedure upon default in payment of the fine or
costs, see Rule 456.

For appeal procedures in summary cases, see Rules
460, 461, and 462.

For procedures regarding arrest warrants, see Rules
430 and 431.

With regard to the defendant’s right to counsel and
waiver of counsel, see Rules 121 and 122.

Official Note: Previous Rule 59 adopted September
18, 1973, effective January 1, 1974; rescinded July 12,
1985, effective January 1, 1986, and replaced by present
Rule [ 430 ] 75. Present Rule 59 adopted July 12, 1985,
effective January 1, 1986; amended September 23, 1985,
effective January 1, 1986. The January 1, 1986 effective
dates are all extended to July 1, 1986; amended May 28,
1987, effective July 1, 1987; amended January 31, 1991,
effective July 1, 1991; renumbered Rule 409 and amended
March 1, 2000, effective April 1, 2001; Comment revised
August 7, 2003, effective July 1, 2004; amended January
26, 2007, effective February 1, 2008; Comment re-
vised , 2012, effective , 2012.
Committee Explanatory Reports:

* * * * *

Report explaining the proposed Comment revi-
sion concerning mandatory incarceration offenses
and juveniles published for comment at 42 Pa.B.
6531 (October 13, 2012).

PART B(2). Procedures When Citation Filed
Rule 414. Guilty Pleas.

* * * * *

Comment

* * * * *

[ When the defendant is under 18 years of age at
the time of the offense and appears as provided in
paragraph (C), if a mandatory sentence of imprison-
ment is prescribed by the statute, the issuing au-
thority must foreward the case to the court of
common pleas for disposition. See the Juvenile Act,
42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and 6303. ]

When the defendant was under 18 years of age at
the time of the offense and is charged with a
summary offense that would otherwise carry a
mandatory sentence of imprisonment as prescribed
by statute, the issuing authority shall conduct the
trial but the defendant shall not be sentenced to a
term of imprisonment. See 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and
6303 and 75 Pa.C.S. § 6303(b).

For procedure upon default in payment of the fine or
costs, see Rule 456.
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For appeal procedures in summary cases, see Rules
460, 461, and 462.

For arrest warrant procedures, see Rules 430 and 431.
With regard to the defendant’s right to counsel and

waiver of counsel, see Rules [ 122 and 121 ] 121 and
122.

Official Note: Previous rule, originally numbered Rule
136, adopted January 31, 1970, effective May 1, 1970;
renumbered Rule 64 September 18, 1973, effective Janu-
ary 1, 1974; rescinded July 12, 1985, effective January 1,
1986, and replaced by present Rule [ 455 ] 84. Present
Rule 64 adopted July 12, 1985, effective January 1, 1986;
amended September 23, 1985, effective January 1, 1986.
The January 1, 1986 effective dates all are extended to
July 1, 1986; amended May 28, 1987, effective July 1,
1987; amended January 31, 1991, effective July 1, 1991;
renumbered Rule 414 and amended March 1, 2000,
effective April 1, 2001; Comment revised August 7, 2003,
effective July 1, 2004; amended January 26, 2007, effec-
tive February 1, 2008; Comment revised , 2012,
effective , 2012.
Committee Explanatory Reports:

* * * * *

Report explaining the proposed Comment revi-
sion concerning mandatory incarceration offenses
and juveniles published for comment at 42 Pa.B.
6531 (October 13, 2012).

PART C. Procedures in Summary Cases When
Complaint Filed

Rule 424. Guilty Pleas.

* * * * *

Comment

* * * * *

[ When the defendant is under 18 years of age at
the time of the offense and appears as provided in
paragraph (C), if a mandatory sentence of imprison-
ment is prescribed by statute, the issuing authority
must foreward the case to the court of common
pleas for disposition. See the Juvenile Act, 42
Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and 6303. ]

When the defendant was under 18 years of age at
the time of the offense and is charged with a
summary offense that would otherwise carry a
mandatory sentence of imprisonment as prescribed
by statute, the issuing authority shall conduct the
trial but the defendant shall not be sentenced to a
term of imprisonment. See 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and
6303 and 75 Pa.C.S. § 6303(b).

For the procedure upon default in payment of the fine
or costs, see Rule 456.

For appeal procedures in summary cases, see Rules
460, 461, and 462.

For procedures regarding arrest warrants, see Rules
430 and 431.

With regard to the defendant’s right to counsel and
waiver of counsel, see Rules [ 122 and 121 ] 121 and
122.

Official Note: Previous rule, originally numbered Rule
140, adopted January 31, 1970, effective May 1, 1970;
renumbered Rule 69 September 18, 1973, effective Janu-
ary 1, 1974; Comment revised January 28, 1983, effective

July 1, 1983; rescinded July 12, 1985, effective January 1,
1986, and not replaced in these rules. Present Rule 69
adopted July 12, 1985, effective January 1, 1986;
amended September 23, 1985, effective January 1, 1986.
The January 1, 1986 effective dates are all extended to
July 1, 1986; amended May 28, 1987, effective July 1,
1987; amended January 31, 1991, effective July 1, 1991;
renumbered Rule 424 and amended March 1, 2000,
effective April 1, 2001; Comment revised August 7, 2003,
effective July 1, 2004; amended January 26, 2007, effec-
tive February 1, 2008; Comment revised , 2012,
effective , 2012.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

* * * * *

Report explaining the proposed Comment revi-
sion concerning mandatory incarceration offenses
and juveniles published for comment at 42 Pa.B.
6531 (October 13, 2012).

PART E. General Procedures in Summary Cases

Rule 454. Trial in Summary Cases.

* * * * *

Comment

* * * * *

[ When the defendant was under 18 years of age
at the time of the offense, if a mandatory sentence
of imprisonment is prescribed by statute, the issu-
ing authority may not conduct the trial, but must
forward the case to the court of common pleas for
disposition. See the Juvenile Act, 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6302
and 6303. ]

When the defendant was under 18 years of age at
the time of the offense and is charged with a
summary offense that would otherwise carry a
mandatory sentence of imprisonment as prescribed
by statute, the issuing authority shall conduct the
trial but the defendant shall not be sentenced to a
term of imprisonment. See 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and
6303 and 75 Pa.C.S. § 6303(b).

Under paragraph (F)(2)(a), the issuing authority should
explain to the defendant that if an appeal is filed, any
sentence, including imprisonment, fines, or restitution,
will be stayed.

* * * * *

Official Note: Rule 83 adopted July 12, 1985, effective
January 1, 1986; amended September 23, 1985, effective
January 1, 1986; January 1, 1986 effective dates extended
to July 1, 1986; amended February 2, 1989, effective
March 1, 1989; amended October 28, 1994, effective as to
cases instituted on or after January 1, 1995; Comment
revised April 18, 1997, effective July 1, 1997; amended
October 1, 1997, effective October 1, 1998; Comment
revised February 13, 1998, effective July 1, 1998; renum-
bered Rule 454 and Comment revised March 1, 2000,
effective April 1, 2001; amended February 28, 2003,
effective July 1, 2003; Comment revised August 7, 2003,
effective July 1, 2004; amended March 26, 2004, effective
July 1, 2004; amended January 26, 2007, effective Febru-
ary 1, 2008; Comment revised , 2012, effec-
tive , 2012.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

* * * * *
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Report explaining the proposed Comment revi-
sion concerning mandatory incarceration offenses
and juveniles published for comment at 42 Pa.B.
6531 (October 13, 2012).

Rule 455. Trial in Defendant’s Absence.

* * * * *

Comment

In those cases in which the issuing authority deter-
mines that there is a likelihood that the sentence will be
imprisonment or that there is other good cause not to
conduct the trial in the defendant’s absence, the issuing
authority may issue a warrant for the arrest of the
defendant in order to have the defendant brought before
the issuing authority for the summary trial. See Rule
430(B). The trial would then be conducted with the
defendant present as provided in these rules. See Rule
454.

[ When the defendant was under 18 years of age
at the time of the offense, if a mandatory sentence
of imprisonment is prescribed by statute, the issu-
ing authority may not conduct the trial, but must
foreward the case to the court of common pleas for
disposition. See the Juvenile Act, 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6302
and 6303. ]

When the defendant was under 18 years of age at
the time of the offense and is charged with a
summary offense that would otherwise carry a
mandatory sentence of imprisonment as prescribed
by statute, the issuing authority shall conduct the
trial but the defendant shall not be sentenced to a
term of imprisonment. See 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and
6303 and 75 Pa.C.S. § 6303(b).

* * * * *

Official Note: Rule 84 adopted July 12, 1985, effective
January 1, 1986; January 1, 1986 effective date extended
to July 1, 1986; amended February 1, 1989, effective July
1, 1989; amended April 18, 1997, effective July 1, 1997;
amended October 1, 1997, effective October 1, 1998;
renumbered Rule 455 and Comment revised March 1,
2000, effective April 1, 2001; Comment revised August 7,
2003, effective July 1, 2004; Comment revised April 1,
2005, effective October 1, 2005; amended August 15, 2005
effective February 1, 2006; Comment revised ,
2012, effective , 2012.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

* * * * *

Report explaining the proposed Comment revi-
sion concerning mandatory incarceration offenses
and juveniles published for comment at 42 Pa.B.
6531 (October 13, 2012).

REPORT

Proposed Revisions to the Comments to
Pa.Rs.Crim.P. 409, 414, 424, 454, and 455

Juveniles and Mandatory Incarceration In
Summary Cases

The Committee has recently examined a possible con-
flict between the Rule 454 Comment and provisions
within the Juvenile Act regarding the handling of sum-
mary offenses for which there is a mandatory sentence of
incarceration when the defendant is a juvenile.

The particular Comment language in question states:

When the defendant was under 18 years of age at
the time of the offense, if a mandatory sentence of
imprisonment is prescribed by statute, the issuing
authority may not conduct the trial, but must for-
ward the case to the court of common pleas for
disposition. See the Juvenile Act, 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6302
and 6303.

This language was added as part of a package devel-
oped by the Committee that was adopted by the Court in
2004. The Comment language above addressed the provi-
sion in the Juvenile Act, 42 Pa.C.S. § 6303(b) that states:

(b) Minor judiciary.—No child shall be detained,
committed or sentenced to imprisonment by a magis-
terial district judge or a judge of the minor judiciary
unless the child is charged with an act set forth in
paragraph (2)(i), (ii), (iii) or (v) of the definition of
‘‘delinquent act’’ in section 6302 (relating to defini-
tions).

42 Pa.C.S. § 6302 excludes summary offenses from the
definition of ‘‘delinquent act.’’

The language was added to the Rule 454 Comment to
provide guidance to magisterial district judges (MDJs) on
how to dispose of summary cases involving juveniles
facing possible mandatory incarceration.1 The Committee
believed that sending these cases to the common pleas
court created the least confusion while ensuring no
juvenile would be sentenced to imprisonment by a mem-
ber of the minor judiciary.

Shortly after these changes were adopted, the Legisla-
ture passed amendments to 75 Pa.C.S. § 6303 (Rights
and Liabilities of Minors), so that it now reads:

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b), any per-
son over the age of 16 years charged with the
violation of any provisions of this title constituting a
summary offense shall have all the rights of an adult
and may be prosecuted under the provisions of this
title in the same manner as an adult.

(b) No person shall be sentenced to a term of
imprisonment for a violation of any provisions of this
title constituting a summary offense committed while
the person was under the age of 18 years.

It has come to the attention of the Committee that the
practice in some counties in cases in which the defendant
is a juvenile charged with violations of 75 Pa.C.S.
§ 1543(b) is for magisterial district judges (MDJs) to hold
the summary trial with the sentence for § 1543(b) of-
fenses being limited to fines only, and no sentence to
incarceration being imposed.

The problem was brought to light because the recently
redesigned Magisterial District Court System, relying on
the language in the Rule 454 Comment, will not permit
an MDJ to schedule the summary trial. However, when
the MDJs have tried to transfer these cases to the
common pleas juvenile court, the juvenile court has
rejected these cases because, as noted above, the Juvenile
Act excludes summary offenses from the definition of
‘‘delinquent acts’’ and summary cases are not within the
jurisdiction of the juvenile court.

The Committee concluded that these cases should be
heard before the MDJs. Since the mandatory sentence
required by Section 1543(b) now cannot be imposed on a

1 The only summary offense for which there was then, and is now, a sentence of
mandatory incarceration is driving under a DUI-related suspended license as provided
in 75 Pa.C.S. § 1543(b).
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juvenile, there is no need for the case to be referred to the
court of common pleas and it can be treated in the same
manner as other summary charges against juveniles.

The Committee is proposing the revision to the Rule
454 Comment that would specifically state that the
magisterial district judge shall try the summary offense
but that no incarceration could be awarded to a defendant
under the age of 18. Although this question arose con-
cerning Rule 454, identical language is contained in Rule
409, 414, 424, and 455. Similar changes are proposed to
be made to the Comments to each of those rules.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 12-1987. Filed for public inspection October 12, 2012, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 255—LOCAL
COURT RULES

SCHUYLKILL COUNTY
Amend/Adopt Civil Rules of Procedure 1915.1(b);

1915.3(a), (a.1), (a.2); 1915.4(f.1); 1915.4-2(b.1),
(1)—(5); S-2092-12

Order of Court

And Now, this 27th day of September at 2:00 p.m.,
Schuylkill County Civil Rules of Procedure previously
stated are amended/adopted for use in the Court of
Common Pleas of Schuylkill County, Pennsylvania,
Twenty-First Judicial District, Commonwealth of Pennsyl-
vania, effective thirty days after publication in the Penn-
sylvania Bulletin.

The Prothonotary of Schuylkill County is Ordered and
Directed to do the following:

1) File one (1) certified copy of this Order and Rule
with the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts.

2) Forward two (2) certified copies of this Order and
Rule and a computer diskette containing the text of the
local rules to the Legislative Reference Bureau.

3) Forward one (1) certified copy of this Order and
Rule with the Civil Procedural Rules Committee of the
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania.

4) Forward one (1) copy to the Law Library of Schuyl-
kill County for publication in the Schuylkill Legal Record.

5) Copies shall be kept continuously available for pub-
lic inspection in the Office of the Schuylkill County
Prothonotary and the Schuylkill County Law Library.

It is further Ordered that said rule as it existed prior to
the amendment is hereby repealed and annulled on the
effective date of said rule as amended, but no right
acquired thereunder shall be disturbed.

By the Court
WILLIAM E. BALDWIN,

President Judge

CUSTODY PROCEDURE

Rule 1915.1(b). Definitions.

These rules shall govern all actions for custody, partial
custody and visitation, including original actions, peti-
tions for relocation, petitions to modify decrees, registra-
tion of foreign decrees and petitions for contempt. The

rules shall be interpreted as supplementing the Rules of
Civil Procedure governing custody actions Pa.R.C.P.
1915.1 et seq.

Rule 1915.3. Commencement of Action. Complaint.
Order.

(a) Other than pleadings related to relocation, the
moving party shall file in the office of the Prothonotary
an original and one (1) copy of all pleadings involving
custody issues, including complaints, petitions for modifi-
cations, special relief or contempt and preliminary objec-
tions. The filing shall be accompanied by the payment of
the designated filing and administrative fees. The Protho-
notary shall immediately transmit the original and copy
to the Civil Court Administrator for assignment and
scheduling. The Court Administrator will return the
original to the Prothonotary and give the copy to the
Conciliation Office, which will send to the moving party a
copy of the scheduling order and a conciliation question-
naire. The moving party shall be responsible for service of
a copy of the pleading, scheduling order and conciliation
questionnaire upon all other parties pursuant to Pa.R.C.P.
402.

(a.1) Relocation—A party filing a counter-affidavit re-
garding relocation shall file in the office of the Prothono-
tary an original and one (1) copy of the counter-affidavit,
accompanied by the payment of the designated filing and
administrative fees. Upon receipt of service of the
counter-affidavit, the relocating party shall expeditiously
file in the office of the Prothonotary an original and one
(1) copy of the notice of the proposed relocation that was
served on the non-relocating party, accompanied by pay-
ment of the designated filing and administrative fees,
which shall include a custody conciliation conference fee.
The relocating party shall attach to this filing a copy of
any existing order(s) of Court affecting the custody of the
subject child(ren). The Prothonotary shall, immediately
after filing, transmit the original and copy of each filing
to the Civil Court Administrator for scheduling. The
Court Administrator will hold the counter-affidavit of the
non-relocating party until the relocating party files the
notice of the proposed relocation and pays the required
fees, after which the Court Administrator will return the
originals to the Prothonotary and give the copies to the
Conciliation Office, which shall schedule a conciliation
conference within fourteen (14) days and send to all
parties a copy of the scheduling order and a conciliation
questionnaire.

(a.2) If there is no existing order of Court awarding
any of the parties primary custody of the subject chil-
d(ren), a party seeking primary custody of the child(ren)
shall file a complaint for custody before the case will be
assigned for disposition.

Rule 1915.4. Prompt Disposition of Custody Cases.

(f.1) Relocation—If at the conclusion of the conciliation
conference, a custody relocation case remains contested,
the Custody Conciliation Officer shall determine if a
party is seeking a change in primary custody, partial
custody, or visitation. Where primary custody is in dis-
pute, the case shall be transferred to the Civil Court
Administrator for assignment to a Judge to be expedi-
tiously heard. Where partial custody or visitation is in
dispute, the case shall be transferred to a hearing officer.

Rule 1915.4-2. Office Conference. Hearing. Record.
Exceptions. Order.

(b.1) Relocation

6532 THE COURTS

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 42, NO. 41, OCTOBER 13, 2012



(1) In cases of relocation where primary custody is not
in dispute, the hearing officer shall schedule a hearing
within fourteen days after the case is assigned for
hearing.

(2) Within seven days of the conclusion of the hearing,
the hearing officer shall file with the court and serve
upon all parties a report in conformance with P.R.C.P. No.
1915.4-2(b)(3).

(3) Exceptions to the hearing officer’s report, with an
accompanying brief, shall be filed by any party excepting
to the hearing officer’s report within fourteen days after
the report is mailed. A party who opposes exceptions filed
by another party shall file an opposing brief within ten
days after service of the exceptions.

(4) When exceptions are filed to the hearing officer’s
report, the Custody Office shall immediately notify the
stenographer, who shall complete and file the transcript
of the proceedings before the hearing officer within
twenty days. Unless granted leave by the court to proceed
in forma pauperis, the party filing exceptions shall pay
the cost of transcription. If exceptions are filed by more
than one party, the transcription costs shall be shared by
the excepting parties on a pro rata basis. The transcrip-
tion costs shall be paid within twenty days of the date of
filing exceptions. If the costs are not timely paid, the
stenographer shall so notify the court after which the
exceptions of the non-paying party may be dismissed.

(5) Exceptions to the hearing officer’s report shall be
decided on the parties’ briefs unless oral argument is
requested by praecipe of one of the parties.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 12-1988. Filed for public inspection October 12, 2012, 9:00 a.m.]

SCHUYLKILL COUNTY
Amend Civil Rule of Procedure 1915.15 Form of

Complaint; S-2093-12

Order of Court

And Now, this 27th day of September at 2:00 p.m.,
Schuylkill County Civil Rule of Procedure No. 1915.15,
Form of Complaint, is amended for use in the Court of
Common Pleas of Schuylkill County, Pennsylvania,
Twenty-First Judicial District, Commonwealth of Pennsyl-
vania, effective thirty days after publication in the Penn-
sylvania Bulletin.

The Prothonotary of Schuylkill County is Ordered and
Directed to do the following:

1) File one (1) certified copy of this Order and Rule
with the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts.

2) Forward two (2) certified copies of this Order and
Rule and a computer diskette containing the text of the
local rules to the Legislative Reference Bureau.

3) Forward one (1) certified copy of this Order and
Rule with the Civil Procedural Rules Committee of the
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania.

4) Forward one (1) copy to the Law Library of Schuyl-
kill County for publication in the Schuylkill Legal Record.

5) Copies shall be kept continuously available for pub-
lic inspection in the Office of the Schuylkill County
Prothonotary and the Schuylkill County Law Library.

It is further Ordered that said rule as it existed prior to
the amendment is hereby repealed and annulled on the
effective date of said rule as amended, but no right
acquired thereunder shall be disturbed.
By the Court

WILLIAM E. BALDWIN,
President Judge

THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF
SCHUYLKILL COUNTY

TWENTY-FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT OF
PENNSYLVANIA

:
Plaintiff : No: S-

:
vs. : Custody

:
:

Defendant :
ORDER OF COURT

AND NOW, this day of , 20 , at
o’clock .m.; you are hereby ORDERED to appear as
follows:

You have been sued in Court to obtain Custody or
Partial Custody of the child(ren) named in the Complaint.

I. PARENT EDUCATION PROGRAM
1. ALL PARTIES NAMED ABOVE SHALL ATTEND

AND COMPLETE THE ‘‘KIDS FIRST’’ PROGRAM. THE
PROGRAM IS REQUIRED FOR ALL PARTIES PARTICI-
PATING IN A CUSTODY ACTION. PARTICIPATION IS
REQUIRED WHETHER OR NOT AN AGREEMENT IS
SUBMITTED.

2. EACH OF YOU SHALL CONTACT ‘‘KIDS FIRST’’
WITHIN TEN (10) DAYS OF RECEIVING THIS ORDER
TO REGISTER AND ATTEND THE NEXT AVAILABLE
PROGRAM. IF YOU FAIL TO COMPLY WITH THE
PROVISIONS OF THIS ORDER, CONTEMPT CHARGES
AGAINST YOU SHALL BE FILED WITH THE COURT.

TO SCHEDULE AND REGISTER FOR THE ‘‘KIDS
FIRST’’ PROGRAM CONTACT ANTHONY LIBASSI BY
ONE OF THE FOLLOWING:

(a) internet: WWW.LIBASSIMEDIATION.COM
(b) telephone: 570-558-1002

888-215-7445 (toll free)
(c) mail: ANTHONY LIBASSI

200 Adams Avenue, First Floor
Scranton, PA 18503

YOU ARE EACH REQUIRED TO PAY A FEE OF
FORTY DOLLARS ($40.00) DIRECTLY TO THE ‘‘KIDS
FIRST’’ PROGRAM AT THE TIME OF REGISTRTAION.

3. LOCATION OF ‘KIDS FIRST’’ PROGRAMS:
SCHUYLKILL COUNTY COURTHOUSE
401 N. 2ND STREET
POTTSVILLE, PA 17901

FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THE TERMS OF THIS
ORDER MAY RESULT IN FINES, IMPRISONMENT OR
OTHER SANCTIONS.

II. CUSTODY CONCILIATION CONFERENCE
You are ORDERED to appear in person at the Custody

Conciliation Office, of the Schuylkill County Courthouse
on , for a Custody Conciliation
Conference.
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You are further ORDERED to bring with you the fully
completed conciliation questionnaire provided by the
Court.

If you fail to appear as provided by the Order, an Order
of Custody or Partial Custody may be entered against you
or the Court may issue a Warrant for your arrest.

III. GENERAL PROVISIONS

YOU SHOULD TAKE THIS PAPER (and the attached
papers) TO YOUR LAWYER AT ONCE. IF YOU DO NOT
HAVE A LAWYER OR CANNOT AFFORD ONE, GO TO
OR TELEPHONE THE OFFICE SET FORTH BELOW
TO FIND OUT WHERE YOU CAN GET LEGAL HELP.

Pennsylvania Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service
100 South Street, P. O. Box 186, Harrisburg, PA 17108

1-800-692-7375

Counsel and pro se litigants without counsel are Or-
dered to immediately consult their schedules for conflicts
and to promptly request a continuance where necessary
because of a prior attachment or emergency situation. All
requests for a continuance of a Custody Conciliation
Conference must be made on the APPLICATION FOR
CONTINUANCE form available from the offices of the
Court Administrator, Custody Conciliator or Prothonotary
in the Schuylkill County Courthouse. The application
must be filed in the Prothonotary Office. A continuance
will be granted only upon good cause shown.

The moving party shall immediately serve on all inter-
ested parties a copy of the original pleading, this order,
‘‘Kids First’’ registration and information, and a custody
conciliation questionnaire; and shall further file an affida-
vit verifying service.

Americans With Disabilities Act of 1990: The court of
Common Pleas of Schuylkill County is required by law to
comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.
For information about accessible facilities and reasonable
accommodations available to disabled individuals having
business before the court, please contact our office. All
arrangements must be made at least 72 hours prior to
any hearing or business before the court. You must attend
the scheduled conference or hearing.

IV. INMATE PROVISIONS

YOU ARE A NAMED PARTY IN AN ACTION SEEK-
ING CUSTODIAL RIGHTS REGARDING YOUR CHIL-
D(REN). THE SCHUYLKILL COUNTY CUSTODY CON-
CILIATION OFFICE WILL AFFORD YOU THE
OPPORTUNITY TO HAVE INPUT VIA TELEPHONE AT
THE CONFERENCE WITH THE CUSTODY CONCILIA-
TOR. YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR ARRANGING THE
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE THROUGH THE APPRO-
PRIATE PRISON PERSONNEL ONCE YOU ARE NOTI-
FIED OF THE DAY AND TIME OF THE CONFER-
ENCE. YOU MUST PROVIDE THE CUSTODY
CONCILIATION OFFICE WITH A TELEPHONE NUM-
BER AND A CONTACT PERSON SO THAT THE CUS-
TODY CONCILIATION OFFICE CAN CONTACT THE
PERSON AT THE SCHEDULED TIME FOR THE CUS-
TODY CONFERENCE.

IN THE EVENT THAT YOU ELECT TO PARTICI-
PATE IN THE CONFERENCE VIA TELEPHONE CON-
FERENCE YOU MUST NOTIFY OUR OFFICE WITH
THE APPROPRIATE CONTACT INFORMATION AT
LEAST FORTY-EIGHT (48) HOURS PRIOR TO THE
SCHEDULED CONFERENCE.

IN ADDITION YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO FILE A
WRIT OF HABEAS CORPUS AD TESTIFICANDUM.

IF YOU ELECT NEITHER APPROACH, YOU MAY
SUBMIT AN INFORMAL BRIEF AT LEAST TWENTY-
FOUR (24) HOURS PRIOR TO THE SCHEDULED CON-
FERENCE THAT SETS FORTH YOUR PROPOSAL RE-
GARDING THE CUSTODIAL ISSUES REGARDING
YOUR CHILD(REN). YOUR BRIEF WILL BE CONSID-
ERED AT THE TIME OF THE SCHEDULED CONFER-
ENCE.

BY THE COURT,

Date:
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 12-1989. Filed for public inspection October 12, 2012, 9:00 a.m.]

WESTMORELAND COUNTY
Adoption of Rule of Judicial Administration

WJ110; No. 3 of 2012

Order

And Now This 18th day of September, 2012 It Is Hereby
Ordered that this Court’s Order of August 23, 2012
adopting Westmoreland County Rule of Judicial Adminis-
tration WJ110 is rescinded.

It Is Further Ordered that Westmoreland County Rule
of Judicial Administration WJ110 is hereby adopted.

By the Court
GARY P. CARUSO,

President Judge

Rule WJ110. Oaths and Acknowledgments.

All court assistants, whether full-time, part-time or
temporary, and all court reporters are authorized to
administer oaths and affirmations and to take acknowl-
edgments pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S.A. § 327.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 12-1990. Filed for public inspection October 12, 2012, 9:00 a.m.]

DISCIPLINARY BOARD OF
THE SUPREME COURT

Notice of Disbarment

Notice is hereby given that Layne Scott Gordon, having
been disbarred from the practice of law in the State of
New Jersey by Order of the Supreme Court of New Jersey
dated September 6, 2011, the Supreme Court of Pennsyl-
vania issued an Order on September 28, 2012, disbarring
Layne Scott Gordon from the Bar of this Commonwealth,
effective October 28, 2012. In accordance with Rule 217(f),
Pa.R.D.E., since this formerly admitted attorney resides
outside of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, this notice
is published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

ELAINE M. BIXLER,
Secretary

The Disciplinary Board of the
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 12-1991. Filed for public inspection October 12, 2012, 9:00 a.m.]
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Notice of Suspension

Notice is hereby given that Arleen Caballero Gonzalez
having been suspended from the practice of law in the
State of New Jersey for a period of 3 months by Order of
the Supreme Court of New Jersey dated December 6,
2011, the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania issued an
Order dated September 28, 2012 suspending Arleen Ca-
ballero Gonzalez from the practice of law in this Com-
monwealth for a period of 3 months, effective October 28,
2012. In accordance with Rule 217(f), Pa.R.D.E., since
this formerly admitted attorney resides outside the Com-
monwealth of Pennsylvania, this notice is published in
the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

ELAINE M. BIXLER,
Secretary

The Disciplinary Board of the
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 12-1992. Filed for public inspection October 12, 2012, 9:00 a.m.]
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