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THE COURTS

Title 234—RULES OF
CRIMINAL PROCEDURE

[ 234 PA. CODE CH. 4]

Order Approving the Revisions to the Comments
to Rules 409, 414, 424, 454 and 455 of the Rules
of Criminal Procedure; No. 436 Criminal Proce-
dural Rules Doc.

Order
Per Curiam

And Now, this 17th day of July, 2013, upon the
recommendation of the Criminal Procedural Rules Com-
mittee; the proposal having been published before adop-
tion at 42 Pa.B. 6529 (October 13, 2012), and in the
Atlantic Reporter (Second Series Advance Sheets, Vol.
967), and a Final Report to be published with this Order:

It Is Ordered pursuant to Article V, Section 10 of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania that the revisions to the
Comments to Pennsylvania Rules of Criminal Procedure
409, 414, 424, 454, and 455 are approved in the following
form.

This Order shall be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(b), and shall be effective August 17,
2013.

Annex A
TITLE 234. RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE
CHAPTER 4. PROCEDURES IN SUMMARY CASES
PART B(1). Procedures When Citation Is Issued to

Defendant
Rule 409. Guilty Pleas.
ES * * ES *
Comment
* * * Ed *

[ When the defendant is under 18 years of age at
the time of the offense and appears as provided in
paragraph (C), if a mandatory sentence of imprison-
ment is prescribed by statute, the issuing authority
must foreward the case to the court of common
pleas for disposition. See the Juvenile Act, 42
Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and 6303. For the procedure upon

default in payment of fine or costs, see Rule 456. ]

When the defendant was under 18 years of age at
the time of the offense and is charged with a
summary offense that would otherwise carry a
mandatory sentence of imprisonment as prescribed
by statute, the issuing authority is required to
conduct the summary trial but may not sentence
the defendant to a term of imprisonment. See 42
Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and 6303 and 75 Pa.C.S. § 6303(b).

For the procedure upon default in payment of the fine
or costs, see Rule 456.

For appeal procedures in summary cases, see Rules
460, 461, and 462.

For procedures regarding arrest warrants, see Rules
430 and 431.

With regard to the defendant’s right to counsel and
waiver of counsel, see Rules 121 and 122.

Official Note: Previous Rule 59 adopted September
18, 1973, effective January 1, 1974; rescinded July 12,
1985, effective January 1, 1986, and replaced by present
Rule 430. Present Rule 59 adopted July 12, 1985, effec-
tive January 1, 1986; amended September 23, 1985,
effective January 1, 1986. The January 1, 1986 effective
dates are all extended to July 1, 1986; amended May 28,
1987, effective July 1, 1987; amended January 31, 1991,
effective July 1, 1991; renumbered Rule 409 and amended
March 1, 2000, effective April 1, 2001; Comment revised
August 7, 2003, effective July 1, 2004; amended January
26, 2007, effective February 1, 2008; Comment revised
July 17, 2013, effective August 17, 2013.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

* & * *k *

Final Report explaining the July 17, 2013 Com-
ment revision concerning mandatory incarceration
offenses and juveniles published with the Court’s
Order at 43 Pa.B. 4325 (August 3, 2013).

PART B(2). Procedures When Citation Filed
Rule 414. Guilty Pleas.

* * ES * ES
Comment
* * k * *

[ When the defendant is under 18 years of age at
the time of the offense and appears as provided in
paragraph (C), if a mandatory sentence of imprison-
ment is prescribed by the statute, the issuing au-
thority must foreward the case to the court of
common pleas for disposition. See the Juvenile Act,
42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and 6303. ]

When the defendant was under 18 years of age at
the time of the offense and is charged with a
summary offense that would otherwise carry a
mandatory sentence of imprisonment as prescribed
by statute, the issuing authority is required to
conduct the summary trial but may not sentence
the defendant to a term of imprisonment. See 42
Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and 6303 and 75 Pa.C.S. § 6303(b).

For the procedure upon default in payment of the fine
or costs, see Rule 456.

For appeal procedures in summary cases, see Rules
460, 461, and 462.

For arrest warrant procedures, see Rules 430 and 431.

With regard to the defendant’s right to counsel and
waiver of counsel, see Rules [ 122 and 121 ] 121 and
122.

Official Note: Previous rule, originally numbered Rule
136, adopted January 31, 1970, effective May 1, 1970;
renumbered Rule 64 September 18, 1973, effective Janu-
ary 1, 1974; rescinded July 12, 1985, effective January 1,
1986, and replaced by present Rule [ 455 ] 84. Present
Rule 64 adopted July 12, 1985, effective January 1, 1986;
amended September 23, 1985, effective January 1, 1986.
The January 1, 1986 effective dates all are extended to
July 1, 1986; amended May 28, 1987, effective July 1,
1987; amended January 31, 1991, effective July 1, 1991,
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renumbered Rule 414 and amended March 1, 2000,
effective April 1, 2001; Comment revised August 7, 2003,
effective July 1, 2004; amended January 26, 2007, effec-
tive February 1, 2008; Comment revised July 17, 2013,
effective August 17, 2013.

Committee Explanatory Reports:
& * & *k *
Final Report explaining the July 17, 2013 Com-
ment revision concerning mandatory incarceration

offenses and juveniles published with the Court’s
Order at 43 Pa.B. 4325 (August 3, 2013).

PART C. Procedures in Summary Cases When
Complaint Filed

Rule 424. Guilty Pleas.

* * * * *
Comment
* * * % *

[ When the defendant is under 18 years of age at
the time of the offense and appears as provided in
paragraph (C), if a mandatory sentence of imprison-
ment is prescribed by statute, the issuing authority
must foreward the case to the court of common
pleas for disposition. See the Juvenile Act, 42
Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and 6303. ]

When the defendant was under 18 years of age at
the time of the offense and is charged with a
summary offense that would otherwise carry a
mandatory sentence of imprisonment as prescribed
by statute, the issuing authority is required to
conduct the summary trial but may not sentence
the defendant to a term of imprisonment. See 42
Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and 6303 and 75 Pa.C.S. § 6303(b).

For the procedure upon default in payment of the fine
or costs, see Rule 456.

For appeal procedures in summary cases, see Rules
460, 461, and 462.

For procedures regarding arrest warrants, see Rules
430 and 431.

With regard to the defendant’s right to counsel and
waiver of counsel, see Rules [ 122 and 121 ] 121 and
122.

Official Note: Previous rule, originally numbered Rule
140, adopted January 31, 1970, effective May 1, 1970;
renumbered Rule 69 September 18, 1973, effective Janu-
ary 1, 1974; Comment revised January 28, 1983, effective
July 1, 1983; rescinded July 12, 1985, effective January 1,
1986, and not replaced in these rules. Present Rule 69
adopted July 12, 1985, effective January 1, 1986;
amended September 23, 1985, effective January 1, 1986.
The January 1, 1986 effective dates are all extended to
July 1, 1986; amended May 28, 1987, effective July 1,
1987; amended January 31, 1991, effective July 1, 1991,
renumbered Rule 424 and amended March 1, 2000,
effective April 1, 2001; Comment revised August 7, 2003,
effective July 1, 2004; amended January 26, 2007, effec-
tive February 1, 2008; Comment revised July 17, 2013,
effective August 17, 2013.

Committee Explanatory Reports:
* * *k * k

Final Report explaining the July 17, 2013 Com-
ment revision concerning mandatory incarceration
offenses and juveniles published with the Court’s
Order at 43 Pa.B. 4325 (August 3, 2013).

PART E. General Procedures in Summary Cases
Rule 454. Trial in Summary Cases.

ES * % * %
Comment
* * £ * %

[ When the defendant was under 18 years of age
at the time of the offense, if a mandatory sentence
of imprisonment is prescribed by statute, the issu-
ing authority may not conduct the trial, but must
forward the case to the court of common pleas for
disposition. See the Juvenile Act, 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6302

and 6303. ]

When the defendant was under 18 years of age at
the time of the offense and is charged with a
summary offense that would otherwise carry a
mandatory sentence of imprisonment as prescribed
by statute, the issuing authority is required to
conduct the summary trial but may not sentence
the defendant to a term of imprisonment. See 42
Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and 6303 and 75 Pa.C.S. § 6303(b).

Under paragraph (F)(2)(a), the issuing authority should
explain to the defendant that if an appeal is filed, any
sentence, including imprisonment, fines, or restitution,
will be stayed.

* & * *k *

For the statutory authority to sentence a defendant to
pay restitution, see 42 Pa.C.S. § 9721(c) and 18 Pa.C.S.
§ 1106(c). See also [ 18 Pa.C.S. § 1106(c)(2)(iv) ] 18
Pa.C.S. § 1106(c)(2)(iii), which prohibits the court from
ordering the incarceration of a defendant for failure to
pay restitution if the failure results from the defendant’s
inability to pay.

* ES Ed & Ed

Official Note: Rule 83 adopted July 12, 1985, effective
January 1, 1986; amended September 23, 1985, effective
January 1, 1986; January 1, 1986 effective dates extended
to July 1, 1986; amended February 2, 1989, effective
March 1, 1989; amended October 28, 1994, effective as to
cases instituted on or after January 1, 1995; Comment
revised April 18, 1997, effective July 1, 1997; amended
October 1, 1997, effective October 1, 1998; Comment
revised February 13, 1998, effective July 1, 1998; renum-
bered Rule 454 and Comment revised March 1, 2000,
effective April 1, 2001; amended February 28, 2003,
effective July 1, 2003; Comment revised August 7, 2003,
effective July 1, 2004; amended March 26, 2004, effective
July 1, 2004; amended January 26, 2007, effective Febru-
ary 1, 2008; Comment revised July 17, 2013, effective
August 17, 2013.

Committee Explanatory Reports:
£l & * & *

Final Report explaining the July 17, 2013 Com-
ment revision concerning mandatory incarceration
offenses and juveniles published with the Court’s
Order at 43 Pa.B. 4325 (August 3, 2013).
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Rule 455. Trial in Defendant’s Absence.

& * & * &

Comment

In those cases in which the issuing authority deter-
mines that there is a likelihood that the sentence will be
imprisonment or that there is other good cause not to
conduct the trial in the defendant’s absence, the issuing
authority may issue a warrant for the arrest of the
defendant in order to have the defendant brought before
the issuing authority for the summary trial. See Rule
430(B). The trial would then be conducted with the
defendant present as provided in these rules. See Rule
454.

[ When the defendant was under 18 years of age
at the time of the offense, if a mandatory sentence
of imprisonment is prescribed by statute, the issu-
ing authority may not conduct the trial, but must
forward the case to the court of common pleas for
disposition. See the Juvenile Act, 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6302
and 6303. ]

When the defendant was under 18 years of age at
the time of the offense and is charged with a
summary offense that would otherwise carry a
mandatory sentence of imprisonment as prescribed
by statute, the issuing authority is required to
conduct the summary trial but may not sentence
the defendant to a term of imprisonment. See 42
Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and 6303 and 75 Pa.C.S. § 6303(b).

Paragraph (D) provides notice to the defendant of
conviction and sentence after trial in absentia to alert the
defendant that the time for filing an appeal has begun to
run. See Rule 413(B)(3).

& * & * &

Official Note: Rule 84 adopted July 12, 1985, effective
January 1, 1986; January 1, 1986 effective date extended
to July 1, 1986; amended February 1, 1989, effective July
1, 1989; amended April 18, 1997, effective July 1, 1997,
amended October 1, 1997, effective October 1, 1998;
renumbered Rule 455 and Comment revised March 1,
2000, effective April 1, 2001; Comment revised August 7,
2003, effective July 1, 2004; Comment revised April 1,
2005, effective October 1, 2005; amended August 15, 2005,
effective February 1, 2006; Comment revised January 17,
2013, effective May 1, 2013; Comment revised July 17,
2013, effective August 17, 2013.

Committee Explanatory Reports:
* £l & * &

Final Report explaining the July 17, 2013 Com-
ment vision concerning mandatory incarceration
offenses and juveniles published with the Court’s
Order at 43 Pa.B. 4325 (August 3, 2013).

FINAL REPORT"

Revisions to the Comments to Pa.Rs.Crim.P. 409, 414,
424, 454, and 455

Juveniles and Mandatory Incarceration in
Summary Cases

On July 17, 2013, effective August 17, 2013, upon the
recommendation of the Criminal Procedural Rules Com-
mittee, the Court approved the revisions to the Com-
ments to Rules of Criminal Procedure 409, 414, 424, 454,

! The Committee’s Final Reports should not be confused with the official Committee
Comments to the rules. Also note that the Supreme Court does not adopt the
Committee’s Comments or the contents of the Committee’s explanatory Final Reports.

and 455. The revisions clarify that a magisterial district
judge (MDdJ) may conduct the trial of a defendant who is
under the age of 18 and is charged with a violation of 75
Pa.C.S. § 1543(b) (driving under a DUlI-related sus-
pended license) but the sentence may not include incar-
ceration.

The Committee examined a conflict between the Rule
454 Comment and provisions within the Juvenile Act
regarding the handling of summary offenses for which
there is a mandatory sentence of incarceration when the
defendant is a juvenile. The particular Comment lan-
guage in question states:

When the defendant was under 18 years of age at the
time of the offense, if a mandatory sentence of
imprisonment is prescribed by statute, the issuing
authority may not conduct the trial, but must for-
ward the case to the court of common pleas for
disposition. See the Juvenile Act, 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6302
and 6303.

This language was added as part of a package devel-
oped by the Committee that was adopted by the Court in
2004. The Comment language above addressed the provi-
sion in the Juvenile Act, 42 Pa.C.S. § 6303(b) that states:

(b) Minor judiciary.—No child shall be detained,
committed or sentenced to imprisonment by a magis-
terial district judge or a judge of the minor judiciary
unless the child is charged with an act set forth in
paragraph (2)(1), (i), (iii) or (v) of the definition of
“delinquent act” in section 6302 (relating to defini-
tions).

42 Pa.C.S. § 6302 excludes summary offenses from the
definition of “delinquent act.”

The language was added to the Rule 454 Comment to
provide guidance to magisterial district judges (MDdJs) on
how to dispose of summary cases involving juveniles
facing possible mandatory incarceration.? The Committee
believed that sending these cases to the common pleas
court created the least confusion while ensuring no
juvenile would be sentenced to imprisonment by a mem-
ber of the minor judiciary.

Shortly after these changes were adopted, the Legisla-
ture passed amendments to 75 Pa.C.S. § 6303 (Rights
and Liabilities of Minors), so that it now reads:

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b), any person
over the age of 16 years charged with the violation of
any provisions of this title constituting a summary
offense shall have all the rights of an adult and may
be prosecuted under the provisions of this title in the
same manner as an adult.

(b) No person shall be sentenced to a term of impris-
onment for a violation of any provisions of this title
constituting a summary offense committed while the
person was under the age of 18 years.

It came to the attention of the Committee that the
practice in some counties in cases in which the defendant
is a juvenile charged with violations of 75 Pa.C.S.
§ 1543(b) is for magisterial district judges (MDJs) to hold
the summary trial with the sentence for § 1543(b) of-
fenses being limited to fines only, and no sentence to
incarceration being imposed.

The problem was brought to light because the recently
redesigned Magisterial District Court System, relying on

2The only summary offense for which there was then, and is now, a sentence of
mandatory incarceration is driving under a DUI-related suspended license as provided
in 75 Pa.C.S. § 1543(b).
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the language in the Rule 454 Comment, will not permit
an MDJ to schedule the summary trial. However, when
the MDJs have tried to transfer these cases to the
common pleas juvenile court, the juvenile court has
rejected these cases because, as noted above, the Juvenile
Act excludes summary offenses from the definition of
“delinquent acts” and summary cases are not within the
jurisdiction of the juvenile court.

The Committee concluded that these cases should be
heard before the MDJs. Since the mandatory sentence
required by Section 1543(b) now cannot be imposed on a
juvenile, there is no need for the case to be referred to the
court of common pleas and it can be treated in the same
manner as other summary charges against juveniles.

Therefore, the Rule 454 Comment has been revised to
state that the magisterial district judge shall try the
summary offense but that no incarceration could be
awarded to a defendant under the age of 18. Although
this question initially arose concerning Rule 454, identical
language is contained in Rules 409, 414, 424, and 455.
Similar changes have been made to the Comments to
each of those rules.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 13-1435. Filed for public inspection August 2, 2013, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 255—LOCAL
COURT RULES

ADAMS COUNTY

Rule of Civil Procedure 230; Administrative Order
No. 59 of 2013

Order of Court

And Now, this 18th day of July, 2013, It Is Hereby
Ordered that the Adams County Rules of Civil Procedure
are amended to include the following rules:

Rule 230.2. Termination of Inactive Cases.

A. The Adams County Prothonotary shall annually
review cases pending in the Prothonotary’s Office and
shall compile a list of cases in which there has been no
docket activity for a period of two (2) years or more. The
list shall be prepared on or before the first day of
September and shall include all cases in which there has
been no activity of record for the prior 22 months.

B. On or before the 15th day of September, the Protho-
notary shall serve notice on counsel of record, or on the
party if not represented, of the proposed termination of
the case on the 30th day of November. The notice shall be
served in compliance with Pennsylvania Rule of Civil
Procedure 440. If the mailed notice is returned, notice
shall be served by advertising the same in the legal
publication designated by the Court for the publication of
legal notices or in one newspaper of general circulation
within the county as directed by the Court.

C. If no statement of intention to proceed is filed, the
Prothonotary shall enter an Order as of course terminat-
ing the matter with prejudice for failure to prosecute. If a
statement of intention to proceed is filed, the same shall
be promptly forwarded to the Court for purposes of the
setting of a scheduling conference or other action deemed
appropriate by the Court.

Rule 230.3. Aged Litigation/Scheduling of Confer-
ences.

A. On or before the first day of each month, the Adams
County Prothonotary shall forward to the Judge desig-
nated to conduct scheduling conferences a list of all cases
pending in the Prothonotary’s Office for a period of 30
months regardless of whether docket activity has oc-
curred.

B. Upon receipt of the list identified in paragraph A
above, the Court shall review the case and conduct a
scheduling conference or take other action as appropriate
for the prompt resolution of the litigation.

This rule shall become effective thirty (30) days after
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. It Is Further
Directed that:

A. This Order shall be filed in the Office of the
Prothonotary of Adams County and a copy thereof shall
be filed with the Adams County Clerk of Courts Office
and the Adams County Law Library for inspection and
copying;

B. One (1) certified copy of this Order shall be for-
warded to the Administrative Office of the Pennsylvania

Courts for distribution in accordance with the provisions
of Pa.R.C.P. No. 239(c)(2);

C. Two (2) certified copies of this Order together with a
computer diskette that complies with the requirement of
1 Pa. Code § 13.11(b), or other compliant format per 1
Pa. Code § 13.11(d), containing the test of the local
rule(s) adopted hereby shall be distributed to the Legisla-
tive Reference Bureau for publication in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin; and

D. One (1) certified copy of this Order shall be for-
warded to the Civil Procedural Rules Committee in
accordance with the provisions of Pa.R.C.P. No. 239(c)(4).

By the Court

MICHAEL A. GEORGE,
President Judge
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 13-1436. Filed for public inspection August 2, 2013, 9:00 a.m.]

ADAMS COUNTY

Rule of Judicial Administration 160; Administrative
Order No. 61 of 2013

Order of Court

And Now, this 18th day of July, 2013, It Is Hereby
Ordered that Adams County Rule of Judicial Administra-
tion 160, Termination of Inactive Cases, is rescinded in its
entirety.

[ 160. Termination of Inactive Cases.

A. The Clerk of Courts, the Prothonotary, and
each Magisterial District Judge shall annually re-
view cases pending in his/her respective office on
or before the first day in July. The Officer shall
compile a list of cases in which there has been no
docket activity for a period of two (2) years or
more. The Officer shall, at least sixty (60) days
prior to September 15, give notice to the parties
and counsel either (a) in person, (b) by regular mail
addressed to the last address of record, or (¢) by
publication when notice by mail cannot be given or
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has been returned undelivered, that after that date
the case will be considered by the Court for dis-
missal. The notice shall comply with the provisions
of Pa. Rules of Judicial Administration 1901 and Pa.
Rule of Civil Procedure 230.2.

B. If no statement of intention to proceed is
made, the Court will summarily dismiss the case
any time after September 15 or sixty (60) days after
service of the notice, whichever is later. If a state-
ment of intention to proceed is made, the Court
may either schedule a hearing or continue the case
on active status for a period of one (1) year.

C. Magisterial District Judges shall have the
same powers and duties as the Court. Either party
shall have the right to appeal to the Court from any
decision, as in other cases in which judgment is
entered by a Magisterial District Judge.

D. Officers shall certify to the Court that the
proper notice has been given pursuant to this rule.

E. Notice by publication shall be published once
in a newspaper of general circulation in the Adams
County area or once in the Adams County Legal
Journal. ]

This rule shall become effective thirty (30) days after
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. It Is Further
Directed that:

A. This Order shall be filed in the Office of the
Prothonotary of Adams County and a copy thereof shall
be filed with the Adams County Clerk of Courts Office
and the Adams County Law Library for inspection and
copying;

B. Seven (7) certified copies of this Order shall be
forwarded to the Administrative Office of the Pennsylva-

nia Courts for distribution in accordance with the provi-
sions of Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(c)(2); and

C. Two (2) certified copies of this Order together with a
computer diskette that complies with the requirement of
1 Pa. Code § 13.11(b), or other compliant format per 1
Pa. Code § 13.11(d), containing the test of the local
rule(s) adopted hereby shall be distributed to the Legisla-
tive Reference Bureau for publication in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin.

By the Court

MICHAEL A. GEORGE,
President Judge
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 13-1437. Filed for public inspection August 2, 2013, 9:00 a.m.]

ADAMS COUNTY

Rules of Civil Procedure 206 and 212; Administra-
tive Order No. 60 of 2013

Order of Court

And Now, this 18th day of July, 2013, It Is Hereby
Ordered that Adams County Rules of Civil Procedure 206
and 212 are amended as follows:

Rule 206.1(a). Petitions. Definition.
A. Additional Petitions

In addition to the definition set forth in Pa.R.C.P. No.
206.1(a)(1), the following documents are defined as peti-
tions:

1. An application to withdraw an appearance as attor-
ney of record pursuant to Pa.R.C.P. No. 1012(c) [ and
Adams C.Civ.R. No. 1012 ].

Rule 212. Pre-Trial Procedure.

(A) [ Procedure.] When an action is at issue and
discovery has been substantially completed, any party
may, by praecipe filed with the Prothonotary, request a
pre-trial conference. The praecipe shall state whether the
case is to be tried before a jury or by bench trial.

(B) [ Bench Trial. The Prothonotary shall refer
bench trial listings to the Civil Business Judge
designated by the President Judge. The judge to
whom the case is referred shall then schedule a
pre-trial conference at a time convenient to the
Court, counsel and/or the parties. A pretrial memo-
randum shall be filed within the time period and in
substantially the form set forth in Adams C. Civ. R.
No. 212.2.] The Prothonotary shall forward the
praecipe for pre-trial conference to the Judge des-
ignated to conduct pre-trial conferences by the
President Judge. The Judge to whom the case is
referred shall enter court order scheduling a pre-
trial conference at a time designated by the Court.
The order scheduling pre-trial conference shall be
served by the Prothonotary on counsel of record or
on the parties in the event the parties are not
represented by counsel. Service of the order shall
be noted in the docket.

(C) [ Jury Trial. The Prothonotary shall maintain
a schedule for pre-trial conferences for cases to be
tried by a jury. Conferences will be scheduled to
begin on the hour during Pre-Trial Conference
Days listed on the annual Court Calendar. The
party requesting the conference shall state the time
and date preferred for the conference; however, the
Prothonotary shall retain scheduling authority.
Conferences shall not be scheduled prior to 9:00
a.m., at noon, or after 3:00 p.m. except by special
order of court. The Prothonotary shall notify all
counsel and pro se parties of the time and date of
the conference. The notice shall advise the parties
of the requirement to comply with Adams C. Civ. R.
No. 202.2. All pre-trial conferences shall be held by
the Judge designated by the President Judge. ] All
parties to a pre-trial conference shall prepare and
file a pre-trial memorandum within the time period
and in substantially the form set forth in Adams C.
Civ. R. No. 212.2.

(D) Unless excused by the Court in advance, the
attorney or party who intends to try the case shall attend
the pre-trial conference. In the absence of excuse, the
Court may require the attending attorney or party to try
the case. If an attorney or party fails to appear for the
pre-trial conference, the Court may proceed in his/her
absence and enter binding rulings regarding any matter,
including the admissibility of evidence or dismissal of
the case for failure to prosecute.

(E) The conference Judge may sua sponte, or on the
motion of any party, dispense with the need for a pre-trial
conference, or in the alternative, authorize that a pre-
trial conference be conducted telephonically. In the event
that a party or counsel is granted permission to partici-
pate telephonically, the parties shall be responsible for
making all the arrangements for telephonic participation
and shall pay all costs related thereto. A party participat-
ing in a telephonic conference is not relieved from
compliance with Adams C. Civ. R. No. 212.2.

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 43, NO. 31, AUGUST 3, 2013



4328 THE COURTS

(F) Although it is not necessary for the parties repre-
sented by counsel to appear, counsel must appear with
authority to bind the client. Parties, or their authorized
representatives, must be available by telephone during
the pre-trial conference.

(G) At the conclusion of the pre-trial conference, the
assigned Judge shall issue an Order setting forth the date
of bench trials, or in the event of a jury trial, setting the
case for a specific term. The Court Order shall designate
a date certain upon which the case will be called to
determine trial readiness. The parties may answer the
call formally by appearance, or informally by telephone or
correspondence to the Court Administrator’s Office prior
to the call date. Failure to answer the call may result in
the case being stricken from the trial list. The Order shall
also set forth when appropriate any other action taken at
the pre-trial conference including the scheduling of all
matters to be completed before trial.

This rule shall become effective thirty (30) days after
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. It Is Further
Directed that:

A. This Order shall be filed in the Office of the
Prothonotary of Adams County and a copy thereof shall

be filed with the Adams County Clerk of Courts Office
and the Adams County Law Library for inspection and
copying;

B. One (1) certified copy of this Order shall be for-
warded to the Administrative Office of the Pennsylvania

Courts for distribution in accordance with the provisions
of Pa.R.C.P. No. 239(c)(2);

C. Two (2) certified copies of this Order together with a
computer diskette that complies with the requirement of
1 Pa. Code § 13.11(b), or other compliant format per 1
Pa. Code § 13.11(d), containing the test of the local
rule(s) adopted hereby shall be distributed to the Legisla-
tive Reference Bureau for publication in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin; and

D. One (1) certified copy of this Order shall be for-
warded to the Civil Procedural Rules Committee in
accordance with the provisions of Pa.R.C.P. No. 239(c)(4).

By the Court

MICHAEL A. GEORGE,
President Judge
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 13-1438. Filed for public inspection August 2, 2013, 9:00 a.m.]
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