
THE COURTS
Title 237—JUVENILE RULES

PART I. RULES
[ 237 PA. CODE CH. 4 ]

Proposed Rule 405

The Juvenile Court Procedural Rules Committee is
soliciting public comment on proposed New Rule 405
before it considers any recommendations to the Supreme
Court of Pennsylvania. These proposed modifications ad-
dress the notice and demand requirements in presenta-
tion of a forensic lab report at an adjudicatory hearing
without the presence of a live witness while satisfying the
juvenile’s right to confront witnesses.

The Committee requests that interested persons submit
suggestions, comments, or objections concerning this pro-
posal to the Committee through counsel, Christine Riscili
at juvenilerules@pacourts.us. Email is the preferred
method for receiving comments in an effort to conserve
paper and expedite the distribution of comments to the
Committee. Emailed comments need not be reproduced
and sent via hard copy. The Committee will acknowledge
receipt of your comment.

For those who do not have access to email, comments
may be faxed to the Committee at 717-231-9541 or
written comments may be mailed to:

Christine Riscili, Esq.
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

Juvenile Court Procedural Rules Committee
Pennsylvania Judicial Center

601 Commonwealth Ave, Suite 6200
P. O. Box 62635

Harrisburg, PA 17106-2635.

All comments shall be received no later than Friday,
July 25, 2014.

By the Juvenile Court
Procedural Rules Committee

HONORABLE TODD A. HOOVER,
Chair

Annex A

TITLE 237. JUVENILE RULES

PART I. RULES

Subpart A. DELINQUENCY MATTERS

CHAPTER 4. ADJUDICATORY HEARING

Rule 405. Forensic Laboratory Report Certification.

A. Certification in lieu of expert testimony.

1) If the requirements of this rule have been met, the
attorney for the Commonwealth may seek to offer a
forensic laboratory report into evidence in lieu of testi-
mony in any adjudicatory hearing.

2) The report shall be supported by a certification, as
provided in paragraph (E), from the expert who drafted
the report and performed the analysis or examination.

B. Notice.

1) The attorney for the Commonwealth shall file and
serve written notice upon the juvenile’s attorney.

2) The notice shall include a statement informing the
juvenile that:

a) if no written demand for testimony as provided in
paragraph (C)(3) is made, the forensic laboratory report
and certification are admissible in evidence; and

b) the expert who drafted the report does not have to
testify.

3) Service shall occur no later than 20 days prior to the
adjudicatory hearing.

4) Once entered into evidence, the report and certifica-
tion shall qualify as if the expert had testified personally.

C. Demand.

1) Within 10 days of service of the notice, the juvenile’s
attorney may file and serve a written demand upon the
attorney for the Commonwealth requiring the expert to
testify at the adjudicatory hearing.

2) If a written demand is filed and served, the expert
must testify.

3) If no demand is filed and served as required by
paragraph (C)(1), the report and certification are admis-
sible in evidence without the expert’s testimony.

D. Extension. For cause shown, the judge may:

1) extend the time requirements of this rule; and/or

2) grant a continuance of the adjudicatory hearing.

E. Certification. The expert shall complete a certification
providing:

1) the education, training, and experience that qualify
the expert to perform the analysis or examination;

2) the entity by which the expert is employed and a
description of the expert’s regular duties;

3) the name and location of the laboratory where the
analysis or examination was performed;

4) any state, national, or international accreditations of
the laboratory at which the analysis or examination was
performed;

5) that the analysis or examination was performed
under industry-approved procedures or standards; and

6) the report accurately reflects the findings and opin-
ions of the expert.

Comment

This rule was adopted in 201- to create a uniform
procedure for delinquency proceedings similar to
Pa.R.Crim.P. 574, which was adopted to address the
issues raised by the U.S. Supreme Court’s decision in
Melendez-Diaz v. Massachusetts, 129 U.S. 2527 (2009). Its
decision held that the 6th Amendment’s confrontation
right precluded presentation of laboratory reports without
a live witness testifying at trial. In Melendez-Diaz, the
U.S. Supreme Court noted with approval the use of
‘‘notice and demand’’ procedures. These procedures allow
routine reports to be admitted without the expense of live
expert testimony while protecting a defendant’s confron-
tation rights.

Under the Pennsylvania Constitution, Art. 1, § 9, juve-
niles are to be afforded the same due process rights as
adult defendants, including the right to confront wit-
nesses. See In re Davis, 546 A.2d 1149 (Pa. Super. Ct.
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1988); Com. v. McNaughton, 381 A.2d 929 (Pa. Super. Ct.
1977). See also In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970) and In
re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967).

This rule provides a ‘‘notice and demand’’ procedure for
delinquency proceedings. Under this rule, the attorney for
the Commonwealth may seek to admit a forensic labora-
tory report as evidence without expert testimony if the
notice requirements are met and no demand for the
presence of the expert is made. If the juvenile makes such
a demand, the expert is required to testify before the
report can be admitted into evidence.

Nothing in this rule is intended to: 1) preclude a
stipulation agreed to by the parties for the admission of
the report without the expert’s presence; 2) prevent
further stipulation by the parties in light of the admission
of the report and certification; or 3) change the discovery
requirements pursuant to Rule 340.

Pursuant to paragraph (D), the court may permit filing
of the notice or demand after the time period required in
the rule if the party seeking the late filing shows cause
for the delay. In the situation where the judge permits
the late filing of the notice, the juvenile still has ten days
to make the demand for the live testimony of the expert.
This may necessitate a continuance of the adjudicatory
hearing.

The certification in paragraph (E) does not require a
description of the actual tests performed for the analysis.
This information more properly belongs in the report
itself. Because one of the goals of this rule is to permit
the juvenile to make an informed decision regarding
whether to demand the live testimony of the expert, the
report should provide information sufficient to describe
the methodology by which the results were determined.

For purposes of this rule, a laboratory is ‘‘accredited’’
when its management, personnel, quality system, opera-
tional and technical procedures, equipment, and physical
facilities meet standards established by a recognized
state, national, or international accrediting organization
such as the American Society of Crime Laboratory
Directors/Laboratory Accrediting Board (ASCLD/LAB) or
Forensic Quality Services—International (FQS-I).

See Rule 345 for filing and service requirements.

EXPLANATORY REPORT

The Juvenile Court Procedural Rules Committee (Com-
mittee) is seeking public comment on an entirely new
proposed Rule 405 regarding the notice and demand
requirements in presentation of a forensic lab report at
an adjudicatory hearing without the presence of a live
witness.

This rule is being proposed to create a uniform proce-
dure for delinquency proceedings similar to Pa.R.Crim.P.
574, which was adopted to address the issues raised by
the U.S. Supreme Court’s decision in Melendez-Diaz v.
Massachusetts, 129 U.S. 2527 (2009). Its decision held
that the 6th Amendment’s confrontation right precluded
presentation of laboratory reports without a live witness
testifying at trial. In Melendez-Diaz, the U.S. Supreme
Court noted with approval the use of ‘‘notice and demand’’
procedures. These procedures allow routine reports to be
admitted without the expense of live expert testimony
while protecting a defendant’s confrontation rights.

Under the Pennsylvania Constitution, Art. 1, § 9, juve-
niles are to be afforded the same due process rights as
adult defendants, including the right to confront wit-
nesses. See In re Davis, 546 A.2d 1149 (Pa. Super. Ct.

1988); Com. v. McNaughton, 381 A.2d 929 (Pa. Super. Ct.
1977). See also In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970) and In
re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967).

This rule provides a ‘‘notice and demand’’ procedure for
delinquency proceedings. Under this rule, the attorney for
the Commonwealth may seek to admit a forensic labora-
tory report as evidence without expert testimony if the
notice requirements are met and no demand for the
presence of the expert is made. If the juvenile makes such
a demand, the expert is required to testify before the
report can be admitted into evidence. See paragraph (B)
for notice requirements and paragraph (C) for demand
requirements.

An adjudicatory hearing may have to be continued if
the court permits the filing of the notice or demand after
the time period required if the party shows cause for the
delay pursuant to paragraph (D). The demand period will
run ten days from the date on the late filing of the notice.

Paragraph (E) provides for the requirements of the
certification.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 14-1190. Filed for public inspection June 6, 2014, 9:00 a.m.]

PART I. RULES
[ 237 PA. CODE CHS. 13, 15 AND 16 ]

Proposed Amendments to Rules 1302, 1515, 1608,
1610 and 1631

The Juvenile Court Procedural Rules Committee is
soliciting public comment on modifications to Rules 1302,
1515, 1608, 1610, and 1631 before it considers any
recommendations to the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania.
These proposed modifications address inter-county trans-
fer, docketing a change in custody, and clarifying the
timing of a transition plan hearing.

The Committee requests that interested persons submit
suggestions, comments, or objections concerning this pro-
posal to the Committee through counsel, Christine Riscili
at juvenilerules@pacourts.us. Email is the preferred
method for receiving comments in an effort to conserve
paper and expedite the distribution of comments to the
Committee. Emailed comments need not be reproduced
and sent via hard copy. The Committee will acknowledge
receipt of your comment.

For those who do not have access to email, comments
may be faxed to the Committee at 717-231-9541 or
written comments may be mailed to:

Christine Riscili, Esq.
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

Juvenile Court Procedural Rules Committee
Pennsylvania Judicial Center

601 Commonwealth Ave, Suite 6200
P. O. Box 62635

Harrisburg, PA 17106-2635.

All comments shall be received no later than Friday,
July 25, 2014.

By the Juvenile Court
Procedural Rules Committee

HONORABLE TODD A. HOOVER,
Chair
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Annex A
TITLE 237. JUVENILE RULES

PART I. RULES
Subpart B. DEPENDENCY MATTERS
CHAPTER 13. PRE-ADJUDICATORY

PROCEDURES
PART A. VENUE

Rule 1302. Inter-County Transfer.
A. Transfer. A court may transfer a case to another

county at any [ time ] stage of the dependency pro-
ceedings.

1) Prior to the transfer of the case, the transfer-
ring court and receiving court shall communicate
regarding jurisdiction of the case.

2) If there is an agreement to transfer the case:
a) the transferring court shall enter an order

transferring the case; and
b) the receiving court shall enter an order ac-

cepting jurisdiction and scheduling the next court
proceeding in accordance with these Rules.

B. Transmission of official court record. If the case is
transferred pursuant to paragraph (A):

1) the transferring court shall transfer certified copies
of all documents, reports, and summaries in the child’s
official court record to the receiving court; and

2) the county agency of the transferring court shall
transfer all its records to the county agency where
jurisdiction has been transferred.

Comment
Prior to the transferring of a case to another

judicial district, the judge of the transferring court
is to communicate with the judge of the receiving
court. See paragraph (A)(1). Communication is es-
sential to ensure all the details of the case are
conveyed and any issues are resolved. If there is an
agreement between the judges to transfer, each
judge is to issue an order. The transferring court is
to enter an order: 1) transferring the case to the
receiving court; and 2) ordering the official court
record and county agency records to be transferred
with the case. See paragraphs (A)(2)(a) & (B). Pur-
suant to paragraph (A)(2)(b), the receiving court
shall: 1) enter an order accepting jurisdiction of the
case; and 2) schedule the next court proceeding.

To ensure there is no interruption in services to
the child, the transferring county is to continue
services until the case has been transferred offi-
cially by the entrance of court orders pursuant to
paragraphs (A)(2)(a) & (b).

See 42 Pa.C.S. § 6321.
* * * * *

CHAPTER 15. DISPOSITIONAL HEARING

PART B. DISPOSITIONAL HEARING AND AIDS
Rule 1515. Dispositional Order.

* * * * *

Comment

See 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6310, 6351.

If the dispositional order changes custody of the
child, the order should be filed and docketed in

Juvenile Court and in any existing custody case in
Civil Court under the Domestic Relations docket.

When issuing a dispositional order, the court should
issue an order that is ‘‘best suited to the safety, protec-
tion, and physical, mental, and moral welfare of the
child.’’ 42 Pa.C.S. § 6351(a). See In re S.J., 906 A.2d 547,
551 (Pa. Super. Ct. 2006) (citing In re Tameka M., 525 Pa.
348, 580 A.2d 750 (1990)), for issues addressing a child’s
mental and moral welfare.

* * * * *

CHAPTER 16. POST-DISPOSITIONAL
PROCEDURES

PART B(2). PERMANENCY HEARING

Rule 1608. Permanency Hearing.

* * * * *

D. Court’s findings.

* * * * *

2) Additional findings for fifteen of last twenty-two
months. If the child has been in placement for fifteen of
the last twenty-two months, the court may direct the
county agency to file a petition to terminate parental
rights.

3) Transition plan for children eighteen years of
age or older.

a) A hearing shall be held at least ninety days
prior to the child turning eighteen years of age for
the purpose of approving a transition plan.

b) Prior to the hearing, the child shall have the
opportunity to make decisions about the transition
plan and confer with the county agency about the
details of the plan. The county agency shall provide
the transition plan to the court and the plan shall,
at a minimum, include:

i) the specific plans for housing;

ii) a description of the child’s source of income;

iii) the specific plans for pursuing educational or
vocational training goals;

iv) the child’s employment goals and whether the
child is employed;

v) a description of the health insurance plan that
the child is expected to obtain and any continued
health or behavioral health needs of the child;

vi) a description of any available programs that
would provide mentors or assistance in establish-
ing positive adult connections;

vii) verification that all vital identification docu-
ments and records have been provided to the child;

viii) a description of any other needed support
services; and

ix) notice to the child that the child can request
resumption of juvenile court jurisdiction until the
child turns twenty-one years of age if specific
conditions are met.

c) At the hearing, the court shall review the
transition plan for the child. If the court is not
satisfied that the requirements of paragraph
(D)(3)(b) have been met, a subsequent hearing shall
be scheduled.
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E. Advanced communication technology. Upon good
cause shown, a court may utilize advanced communica-
tion technology pursuant to Rule 1129.

* * * * *
Comment

* * * * *
The court is to move expeditiously towards permanency.

A goal change motion may be filed at any time.
Pursuant to paragraph (D)(3)(b), the county

agency is to assist the child and provide all the
support necessary in developing a transition plan.
See 42 U.S.C. § 675(5)(A)—(H).

Pursuant to paragraph (D)(3)(c), the court is to
approve a transition plan that is suitable for the
child and that has been personalized at the direc-
tion of the child.

In addition to the permanency hearing contemplated by
this rule, courts may also conduct additional and/or more
frequent intermittent review hearings or status confer-
ences, which address specific issues based on the circum-
stances of the case, and which assist the court in
ensuring timely permanency.

* * * * *
Rule 1610. Permanency Hearing for Children over

Eighteen.
A. Purpose and timing of hearing. For every case for

children over the age of eighteen, the court shall conduct
a permanency hearing at least every six months for
purposes of determining:

* * * * *
2) whether the transition plan of the child is consistent

with Rule [ 1631(E)(2) ] 1608(D)(3);

* * * * *
PART D. CESSATION OR RESUMPTION OF
COURT SUPERVISION OR JURISDICTION

Rule 1631. Termination of Court Supervision.
* * * * *

E. Children eighteen years of age or older.

[ 1) Before the court can terminate its supervi-
sion of a child who is eighteen years of age or older,
a hearing shall be held at least ninety days prior to
the child turning eighteen years of age.

2) Prior to the hearing, the child shall have the
opportunity to make decisions about the transition
plan and confer with the county agency about the
details of the plan. The county agency shall provide
the transition plan to the court and the plan shall,
at a minimum, include:

a) the specific plans for housing;
b) a description of the child’s source of income;
c) the specific plans for pursuing educational or

vocational training goals;
d) the child’s employment goals and whether the

child is employed;
e) a description of the health insurance plan that

the child is expected to obtain and any continued
health or behavioral health needs of the child;

f) a description of any available programs that
would provide mentors or assistance in establish-
ing positive adult connections;

g) verification that all vital identification docu-
ments and records have been provided to the child;

h) a description of any other needed support
services; and

i) notice to the child that the child can request
resumption of juvenile court jurisdiction until the
child turns twenty-one years of age if specific
conditions are met.

3) At the hearing, the court shall review the
transition plan for the child. If the court is not
satisfied that the requirements of paragraph (E)(2)
have been met, a subsequent hearing shall be
scheduled.

4) ] The court shall not terminate its supervision of the
child without approving an appropriate transition plan
pursuant to Rule 1608, unless the child, after an
appropriate transition plan has been offered, is unwilling
to consent to the supervision and the court determines
termination is warranted.

* * * * *
Comment

* * * * *
Pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S. § 6351(a)(2.1), a court may

transfer permanent legal custody to a person found by the
court to be qualified to receive and care for the child. 42
Pa.C.S. § 6351(a)(2.1). See also Justin S., 375 Pa.Super.
88, 543 A.2d 1192 (1988).

[ Pursuant to paragraph (E)(2), the county agency
is to assist the child and provide all the support
necessary in developing a transition plan. See 42
U.S.C. § 675(5)(A)—(H).

Pursuant to paragraph (E)(3), the court is to
approve a transition plan that is suitable for the
child and that has been personalized at the direc-
tion of the child. ]

If the court has resumed jurisdiction pursuant to Rule
1635, a new transition plan is to be developed for the
child. Before the court can terminate supervision, the
requirements of paragraph (E) are to be followed. In no
case is a juvenile over twenty-one to remain under
juvenile court supervision. See Rule 1635(E). See also
Rule 1635(E) for termination of juvenile court jurisdiction
if the court denies the motion for resumption of jurisdic-
tion.

* * * * *

EXPLANATORY REPORT
The Juvenile Court Procedural Rules Committee (Com-

mittee) is seeking public comment on modifications to
Rules 1302, 1515, 1608, 1610, and 1631. These proposed
modifications address inter-county transfer, docketing a
change in custody, and clarifying the timing of a transi-
tion plan hearing.
Rule 1302

There have been questions regarding the methodology
of transferring a case. These modifications seek to clarify
the procedure.

Judges should be communicating informally with each
other (e.g. telephone, email) to decide whether a case
should be transferred and whether the receiving court is
willing to agree to the transfer of the case. There is a
multitude of issues that may arise in transfer cases,
including where jurisdiction lies if a party has moved,
custody has changed to an outside county person, or
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another similar situation. There are also frequently many
issues in the case and a better understanding of those
issues can be relayed by a simple conversation.

After this communication, the judges decide together
whether a case will be transferred. If transfer will occur,
each judge must issue an order. The transferring court
will enter an order: 1) transferring the case to the
receiving court; and 2) ordering the official court record
and county agency records to be transferred to the
receiving court. At the same time, the receiving court will
issue an order: 1) accepting jurisdiction of the case; and 2)
scheduling the next court event.

At no time should a child be without services while
transfer of a case is being discussed. The transferring
county must continue to provide services until both orders
have been issued.

Rule 1515

There are times when the judge in juvenile court issues
an order changing the custody of the child that could
affect an existing custody case. To ensure all parties are
notified properly, the order changing custody must be
docketed on both dockets: Juvenile Court and Civil Court.

Rule 1608, 1610, and 1631

Under the current Rules, the transition plan hearing is
in the Termination of Court Supervision rule. After
thoughtful consideration, the Committee believes it is
more appropriately placed in the permanency hearing
rule. The entire content of this procedure has been lifted
from Rule 1631 and placed into Rule 1608.

The purpose of this move is to ensure hearings occur
prior to the child’s eighteenth birthday and that the
county agency is prepared with achieving these require-
ments prior to that timeframe. In many instances, a
transition plan takes time for thoughtful discussion of the
available services with the child. Planning, making deci-
sions, and providing services must occur. If a county
agency waits until time of termination of a case, many
plans would fail for lack of ample time to complete the
plan. It is essential to consider thoughtfully all the details
necessary to achieve independence while giving the child
the time needed.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 14-1191. Filed for public inspection June 6, 2014, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 246—MINOR
COURT CIVIL RULES

PART I. GENERAL
[ 246 PA. CODE CH. 300 ]

Order Adopting Rule 320 of the Rules of Civil
Procedure Governing Actions and Proceedings
before Magisterial District Judges; No. 368 Mag-
isterial Doc.

Order

Per Curiam

And Now, this 19th day of May, 2014, upon the
recommendation of the Minor Court Rules Committee;
the proposal having been published for public comment at
43 Pa.B. 5701 (September 28, 2013):

It Is Ordered pursuant to Article V, Section 10 of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania that Rule 320 of the Penn-
sylvania Rules of Civil Procedure Governing Actions and
Proceedings before Magisterial District Judges is adopted
in the following form.

This Order shall be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(b), and shall be effective July 20, 2014.

Annex A
TITLE 246. MINOR COURT CIVIL RULES

PART I. GENERAL
CHAPTER 300. CIVIL ACTION

Rule 320. Request to Withdraw Complaint; Settle-
ment.
A(1) A plaintiff may withdraw the complaint prior to

the commencement of the hearing by filing a written
notice of withdrawal with the magisterial district court.
Upon receipt of such notice, the magisterial district court
shall note the withdrawal of the complaint on the docket,
cancel any scheduled hearing (except for a consolidated
hearing on a cross-complaint pursuant to Rule 315B), and
notify the parties in writing that the complaint has been
withdrawn.

(2) A withdrawal of the complaint filed prior to the
commencement of the hearing shall be deemed to be
without prejudice. The plaintiff may file a new complaint
on the same cause of action upon payment of all appli-
cable fees and costs.

B(1) The parties may file a written notice of settlement
of the complaint with the magisterial district court at any
time prior to the entry of judgment. Upon receipt of such
notice, the magisterial district court shall note the case
settled on the docket, cancel any scheduled hearing
(except for a consolidated hearing on a cross-complaint
pursuant to Rule 315B), and notify the parties in writing
that the complaint has been marked settled.

(2) Where the parties have filed a notice of settlement
with the magisterial district court and a subsequent
breach of the settlement agreement occurs, a party may
file a new complaint citing breach of the settlement
agreement as the cause of action.

C(1) The withdrawal or settlement of the plaintiff’s
complaint shall not affect the right of the defendant to
proceed with a cross-complaint filed pursuant to Rule
315A.

(2) The defendant may file a written notice of with-
drawal of the cross-complaint in the manner set forth in
subdivision A.

(3) The parties may file a written notice of settlement
of the cross-complaint in the manner set forth in subdivi-
sion B.

Official Note: A complaint filed pursuant to subpara-
graph A(2) or B(2) shall not be treated as a ‘‘reinstate-
ment’’ of the underlying action, and is subject to all
prescribed fees and costs for filing and service of a
complaint. Compare with Rule 314E, which provides for
reinstatement of the complaint under the limited circum-
stance of failure to make timely service.

This rule also applies to the withdrawal or settlement
of a cross-complaint. Moreover, a cross-complaint will
survive the withdrawal or settlement of the corresponding
complaint.

Prior Rule 320, addressing continuances, was rescinded
by Order of December 16, 2004, effective July 1, 2005,
and its provisions were added to Rule 209.
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FINAL REPORT1

Recommendation 1-2014, Minor Court Rules
Committee

Adoption of New Rule 320 of the Pennsylvania Rules
of Civil Procedure before Magisterial District

Judges

Procedures for Withdrawing the Complaint or
Settling An Action

On May 19, 2014, effective July 20, 2014, upon recom-
mendation of the Minor Court Rules Committee2, the
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania adopted new Rule 3203 of
the Pennsylvania Rules of Civil Procedure before Magiste-
rial District Judges.

I. Background and Discussion

The Minor Court Rules Committee (‘‘Committee’’) rec-
ommended adoption of new Rule 320 of the Pennsylvania
Rules of Civil Procedure before Magisterial District
Judges (‘‘Rules’’). The goal of this new rule is to establish
procedures for the withdrawal of complaints by plaintiffs,
for recording the settlement of actions by the parties, and
to clarify the effect of withdrawals and settlements on the
action and any cross-complaint filed pursuant to Rule
315A.

The Committee was advised of inconsistencies in state-
wide practice and uncertainty for litigants resulting from
the absence of a rule based practice in the magisterial
district courts for withdrawal of the complaint and re-
cording of a settlement of the action. The Committee
agreed that there should be a rule or rules providing for
the withdrawal of complaints and settlement of actions.
Additionally, the Committee thought it would be helpful
to clarify that civil actions ended by withdrawal of the
complaint or settlement by the parties are not eligible for
‘‘reinstatement’’, as that term is used in Rule 314E.4 The
Committee published a proposal at Volume 43, Pennsylva-
nia Bulletin, p. 5701 (43 Pa.B. 5701, September 28, 2013)
that included such procedures.

II. Approved Rule Changes

New Rule 320 establishes procedures for the with-
drawal of complaints by plaintiffs, and settlement of
actions by the parties. Rule 320A permits a plaintiff to
withdraw a complaint prior to the start of the hearing
upon written notice to the magisterial district court. Upon
receipt of such notice, the magisterial district court notes
the withdrawal on the docket, cancels the scheduled
hearing (if the defendant has not filed a cross-complaint),
and notifies the parties in writing. With respect to the
future rights of the parties, the withdrawal of a complaint
is deemed to be without prejudice, and a plaintiff may file
a new complaint upon payment of all applicable fees and
costs. Under no circumstances should a new complaint
filed pursuant to this rule be treated as a ‘‘reinstate-
ment’’, as that term is used in Rule 314E (i.e., the limited
circumstance of failure to make timely service of the
complaint).

Similarly, Rule 320B permits the parties to file a notice
of settlement with the magisterial district court at any
time prior to the entry of judgment. Upon receipt of such
notice, the magisterial district court notes the case settled
on the docket, cancels the scheduled hearing (if the
defendant has not filed a cross-complaint), and notifies
the parties in writing. If a subsequent breach of the
settlement agreement occurs, the party should file a new
complaint citing breach of the settlement agreement as
the cause of action, subject to all applicable fees and
costs. Under Rule 320B(2), the original complaint may
not be ‘‘reinstated.’’

Finally, Rule 320C addresses the effect of a withdrawal
or settlement of the complaint on a cross-complaint filed
by the defendant, and provides instruction on the method
of having a cross-complaint marked withdrawn or settled.
A cross-complaint filed pursuant to Rule 315A may be
‘‘any claim against the plaintiff that is within the jurisdic-
tion of a magisterial district judge.’’ Further, ‘‘[s]uch a
claim need not arise from the same transaction or
occurrence from which the plaintiff’s claim arose, nor
need it be the same type of claim.’’ See Rule 315A.
Therefore, the withdrawal or settlement of the underlying
complaint does not automatically terminate the cross-
complaint. Any scheduled hearing on a cross-complaint
should proceed, unless the defendant takes affirmative
action to withdraw the cross-complaint, or the court is
notified that the cross-complaint has been settled.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 14-1192. Filed for public inspection June 6, 2014, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 249—PHILADELPHIA
RULES

PHILADELPHIA COUNTY
Office of Judicial Records, Philadelphia Civil Rules

*204.1, *206.1(a), *1302, *1303, *1304, *1305 and
*1308; President Judge General Court Regula-
tion No. 2014-02

Order

And Now, this 23rd day of May, 2014, the Board of
Judges of Philadelphia County having voted at the Board
of Judges’ meeting held on May 15, 2014 to amend all
Philadelphia Local Civil Rules to reflect the name change
of the Office of the Prothonotary to the ‘‘Office of Judicial
Records’’ and to further amend the following Philadelphia
local civil rules: *204.1; *206.1(a); *1302; *1303; *1304;
*1305; and *1308,

It Is Hereby Ordered that any reference to the ‘‘Protho-
notary’’ in any Philadelphia local civil rule shall be
changed to the ‘‘Office of Judicial Records’’ and that
Philadelphia local civil rules *204.1; *206.1(a); *1302;
*1303; *1304; *1305; and *1308 are amended as follows.

This General Court Regulation is issued in accordance
with Pa.R.C.P. No. 239 and shall be filed with the Office
of Judicial Records in a Docket maintained for General
Court Regulations issued by the President Judge of the
Court of Common Pleas of Philadelphia County. As
required by Pa.R.C.P. No. 239(c), two certified copies of
this General Court Regulation and amended local rules,

1 The Committee’s Final Report should not be confused with the Official Notes to the
Rules. Also, the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania does not adopt the Committee’s
Official Notes or the contents of the explanatory Final Reports.

2 Minor Court Rules Committee Recommendation 1-2014.
3 A prior Rule 320, addressing continuances, was rescinded by Order of December 16,

2004, effective July 1, 2005. The provisions of prior Rule 320 were added to Rule 209
in order to have one rule containing all provisions related to continuances. The
Committee recommended using number 320 for this new rule because it places the
new rule in the logical procedural sequence.

4 Rule 314E provides that ‘‘a complaint that has been dismissed without prejudice
for failure to make service pursuant to subdivision D of this rule may be reinstated at
any time and any number of times.’’

THE COURTS 3311

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 44, NO. 23, JUNE 7, 2014



as well as a copy on a computer diskette, shall be
distributed to the Legislative Reference Bureau for publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin, one certified copy
shall be submitted to the Administrative Office of Penn-
sylvania Courts, and one certified copy to the Supreme
Court Civil Procedural Rules Committee. The previously-
referenced rule changes shall become effective thirty (30)
days after publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. Cop-
ies of the General Court Regulation and rules shall also
be submitted to American Lawyer Media, The Legal
Intelligencer, Jenkins Memorial Law Library, and the
Law Library for the First Judicial District of Pennsylva-
nia, and shall be posted on the website of the First
Judicial District of Pennsylvania: http://courts.phila.gov/
regs.

By the Court
HONORABLE SHEILA WOODS-SKIPPER,

President Judge
Court of Common Pleas

AMENDMENTS TO THE PHILADELPHIA CIVIL
RULES

Adopted by the Board of Judges on 5-15-14

The Rules as Follows Contain the Amended
Language

Change the reference to ‘‘Prothonotary’’ in all Civil
Rules to ‘‘Office of Judicial Records.’’

Rule No. *204.1. Pleadings and other Legal Papers.
Format.

(a) In order to accommodate the filing of documents in
an electronic format as authorized by Philadelphia Civil
Rule *205.4, all ‘‘legal papers,’’ as defined in Pa.R.C.P. No.
205.4(a)(2), must conform to the following requirements:

(1) All files must be no larger than 5MB each. . . .

* * * * *

Rule No. *206.1(a). Designation of Petitions.

(1) In addition to petitions to open default judgment
and petitions to open judgment of non pros, the following
applications are designated ‘‘petitions’’ and are governed
by the procedures set forth in Pa.R.C.P. 206.1 et seq.:

(i) Petition to Appoint Arbitrator;

(ii) Petition to Appoint A Receiver;

(iii) Petition to Compel Arbitration;

(iv) Petition to Confirm Arbitration Award;

(v) Petition to Confirm Settlement;

(vi) Petition for Contempt;

(vii) Petition to Set Aside Arbitration Award;

(viii) Statutory Petitions; and

(ix) Petition to Appoint a Sequestrator.

Rule *1302. Appointment of Arbitrators.

(a) The Director of the Arbitration Center shall main-
tain an Arbitrator List of attorneys who have been
deemed to be qualified to sit as Arbitrators in the
Compulsory Arbitration Program of the Court of Common
Pleas of Philadelphia County.

(b) Minimum criteria for qualification includes mem-
bership of the Bar of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania,
active practice of law for a minimum of one year subse-
quent to admission to the Bar of the Supreme Court of

Pennsylvania for panelists and five years for Chairper-
sons, maintenance of a principal office in Philadelphia
County, attendance of a court-approved arbitration semi-
nar and trial of a civil case in any forum in the
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The Director of the
Arbitration Program shall make available an Application
for Initial Certification as Arbitration Panelist form,
substantially in the form set forth hereunder, requiring
the necessary information for determination of qualifica-
tions.

(c) Attorneys not currently enrolled on the Arbitration
List may request to be included thereon by completing
the Court supplied Application Form.

(d) The Director of the Arbitration Center from the
Court-approved Arbitration List panelists and chairperson
for assignment.

(e) Arbitrators no longer maintaining their principal
office in Philadelphia County are required to promptly
advise the Director of the Arbitration Center in writing.

(f) The Director of the Arbitration Center may, from
time to time, strike the name of an attorney from the
Arbitrator List in accordance with this rule.

(g) An issue concerning disqualification of an Arbitrator
from a particular case shall first be raised with the
Arbitration Panel and, if appropriate, with the Director of
the Arbitration Center.

Rule *1303. Scheduling of Arbitration Hearings.
Relistings. Consolidations.

* * * * *

(b) Deferred Status.

(1) To Obtain Deferred Status.

* * * * *

(ii) Other Than Initial Filing. Any party may seek
deferral of a case by filing a Miscellaneous Arbitration
Application substantially in the form set forth hereunder,
setting forth the reasons for the Deferral. Before filing
the Miscellaneous Arbitration Application with the Arbi-
tration Center, counsel shall comply with the instructions
set forth on said Form.

* * * * *

(2) Compulsory Arbitration Hearing Order

* * * * *

(ii) Other Deferred Cases. When any party advises the
Director of the Arbitration Center that the reasons for the
deferral are no longer applicable, or upon Order of Court,
the case shall be removed from Deferred Status and
appropriate action shall be taken.

(c) Continuances. All requests for continuances shall be
made as provided herein.

* * * * *

(2) Written Request. All requests for continuance of
Arbitration Hearings shall be in writing on a Continuance
& Deferral Application substantially in the form set forth
hereunder and shall be filed in accordance with President
Judge Administrative Order No. 2009-02. The Continu-
ance & Deferral Application shall set forth the specific
reasons for the continuance and the legal basis for the
continuance, as provided in Pa.R.C.P. 216 and this rule,
the position of all other counsel or unrepresented parties
and the date and time mutually convenient to all parties,
for the relisting of the Arbitration Hearing.
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(3) Procedure for Obtaining Continuance. A Continu-
ance & Deferral Application shall be filed with the
Arbitration Center and as may otherwise be provided in
the Application. A copy of the Continuance & Deferral
Application must be served, as required, on opposing
counsel and unrepresented parties contemporaneously
with its filing with the Arbitration Center. Upon receipt of
the Continuance & Deferral Application, the Director of
the Arbitration Center, or his/her designee, shall rule on
the request, and, in appropriate cases, may consult with
the Administrative Judge of the Trial Division or his/her
designee. There shall be no hearing or oral argument on
the request for continuance or a ruling thereon, and the
ruling is not subject to judicial scrutiny at the request of
any party.

* * * * *

(d) Advancement. A hearing date may be advanced by
filing a Continuance & Deferral Application with the
Director of the Arbitration Program which shall allege
that all parties agree to the advancement to a specific
date.

* * * * *

(i) Settlement Prior to Hearing Date. Counsel shall give
written notification to the Director of the Arbitration
Center of any settlement prior to the Arbitration Hearing
date and an appropriate Order will be issued. Failure to
provide written notice prior to the Arbitration Hearing
date will result in the entry of a judgment of non pros if
the parties fail to appear for the Call of the List and
hearing.

* * * * *

Rule *1304. Arbitration Facilities. Call of the List.

* * * * *

(b) Call of the List. There shall be a call of the list of
all cases scheduled for the same time. If all parties fail to
appear, without having previously obtained a continuance
or advised the Director of the Arbitration Center in
writing that the case has settled, the case shall be
non-prossed.

Rule *1305. Conduct of Arbitration Hearings.

(a) Rules of Evidence. Supervisory Authority. Hearings
shall be conducted in accordance with the established
rules of evidence, liberally construed to promote justice.
The Arbitration panel, which may seek the assistance of
the Director of the Arbitration Center, shall have the
general powers of a court including the power to deter-
mine the admissibility of evidence, to permit testimony to
be offered by depositions and to decide the law and the
facts of the case submitted to them. Provided, however,
that the Arbitration panel may not continue any case
assigned to it.

* * * * *

Rule *1308. Compensation of Arbitrators.

All arbitrators, whether panel members or chairper-
sons, shall be compensated at a rate of $225.00 per day or
$125.00 for one-half day of service, or as may otherwise
be established by the Administrative Judge of the Trial
Division.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 14-1193. Filed for public inspection June 6, 2014, 9:00 a.m.]

PHILADELPHIA COUNTY
Rescission of All Current Domestic Relations Lo-

cal Rules Pertaining to Protection from Abuse,
Support, Custody, and Divorce or Annulment;
Adoption of Domestic Relations Local Rule
1901.1, Rule 1901.2, Rule 1901.3, Rule 1901.9,
Rule 1901.10, Rule 1901.11, Rule 1901.12, Rule
1905.1, Rule 1920.1, Rule 1920.4, Rule 1920.42,
Rule 1920.51, and Rule 1930; President Judge
General Court Regulation No. 2014-01

Order

And Now, this 23rd day of May, 2014, the Board of
Judges of Philadelphia County having voted at the Board
of Judges’ meeting held on May 15, 2014 to rescind all
current Domestic Relations local rules pertaining to Pro-
tection from Abuse, Support, Custody, and Divorce or
Annulment, and having voted to adopt new Domestic
Relations local rules, as provided as follows,

It Is Hereby Ordered that all current Domestic Rela-
tions local rules pertaining to Protection from Abuse,
Support, Custody, and Divorce or Annulment are re-
scinded, and it is further Ordered that the following
Domestic Relations local rules are adopted: Rule 1901.1;
Rule 1901.2; Rule 1901.3; Rule 1901.9; Rule 1901.10; Rule
1901.11; Rule 1901.12; Rule 1905.1; Rule 1920.1; Rule
1920.4; Rule 1920.42; Rule 1920.51; and Rule 1930, as
follows.

This General Court Regulation is issued in accordance
with Pa.R.C.P. No. 239 and shall be filed with the Office
of Judicial Records in a Docket maintained for General
Court Regulations issued by the President Judge of the
Court of Common Pleas of Philadelphia County. As
required by Pa.R.C.P. No. 239(c), two certified copies of
this Administrative Order and amended local rule as well
as a copy on a computer diskette shall be distributed to
the Legislative Reference Bureau for publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin, one certified copy shall be submit-
ted to the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts,
and one certified copy to the Domestic Relations Proce-
dural Rules Committee. The previously-referenced rule
changes shall become effective thirty (30) days after
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. Copies of the
General Court Regulation and rules shall also be submit-
ted to American Lawyer Media, The Legal Intelligencer,
Jenkins Memorial Law Library, and the Law Library for
the First Judicial District of Pennsylvania, and shall be
posted on the website of the First Judicial District of
Pennsylvania: http://courts.phila.gov/regs.

By the Court
HONORABLE SHEILA WOODS-SKIPPER,

President Judge
Court of Common Pleas

Rescissions and Adoptions of Court of Common
Pleas, Family Court Division, Domestic Relations

Section, Local Rules
May 15, 2014 Board of Judges’ Meeting

# LOCAL RULES
All current Domestic Relations Local Rules
pertaining to Protection from Abuse, Support,
Custody and Divorce or Annulment are rescinded
The Following Local Rules are Adopted:
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# LOCAL RULES
Protection from Abuse

1 Rule 1901.1 - Scope
2 Rule 1901.2 - Scheduling. Continuances
3 Rule 1901.3 - Emergency Orders. Master for

Emergency Relief
4 Rule 1901.9 - Presence of Domestic Violence

Counselor/Advocate in Proceedings
5 Rule 1901.10 - Evidence. Medical Records,

Affidavits of Repair, Statements of Lost Earnings
6 Rule 1901.11 - Order by Consent. Consent

Agreement
7 Rule 1901.12 - Order by Default. Bench Warrant
8 Rule 1905.1 - Bilingual Forms

Divorce and Annulment
9 Rule 1920.1- Scope
10 Rule 1920.4- Service
11 Rule 1920.42- Documents required to be filed in

Divorce Actions under Section 3301(c) and Section
3301(d) of the Divorce Code.

12 Rule 1920.51- Proceedings before Master in
Divorce

Domestic Relations Matters Generally
13 Rule 1930

The rules of this chapter shall govern all civil
actions or proceedings brought in the Court of
Common Pleas for Philadelphia County in
Divorce, Support, Custody, and Protection From
Abuse under the Domestic Relations Code, and
shall be cited as ‘‘Phila.DR.R.’’

Proposed Philadelphia County Local Rules
Pursuant to the Protection From Abuse Act

Rule 1901.1. Scope.

The rules of this chapter shall govern all civil actions or
proceedings brought in the Court of Common Pleas for
Philadelphia County under the Protection from Abuse
Act. 23 Pa.C.S. § 6101 et seq., and shall be cited as
‘‘Phila.DR.R.’’

Rule 1901.2. Scheduling. Continuances.

Cases shall be scheduled consistent with Pa.R.C.P.
1901.2. Upon application of any party or by agreement of
the parties, the Court may grant a continuance for good
cause shown. Upon the granting of a continuance, the
temporary order shall remain in effect unless otherwise
ordered.

Rule 1901.3. Emergency Orders. Master for Emer-
gency Relief.

(a) A party may seek emergency relief pursuant to 23
Pa.C.S. § 6110 by filing a petition with the Emergency
Hearing Master presiding at the Justice Juanita Kidd
Stout Center for Criminal Justice, 1301 Filbert Street,
Philadelphia, PA whenever the Court of Common Pleas is
unavailable.

(b) For the purposes of this Rule, the Court of Common
Pleas is unavailable from the close of business at the end

of each day to the resumption of business the next
morning or from the end of the business week to the
beginning of the next business week.

(c) Emergency Protection from Abuse Unit staff shall
assist the plaintiff in filling out the necessary forms.

(d) The Emergency Hearing Master on duty shall re-
view the petition for emergency relief and, when appro-
priate, grant an emergency order.

(e) The Emergency Hearing Master shall advise the
plaintiff that the emergency order will automatically be
certified to the Family Division of the Court of Common
Pleas for a hearing before the assigned Court of Common
Pleas Judge.

(f) When an emergency order is certified, the case shall
be scheduled for hearing before the assigned Court of
Common Pleas Judge within ten business days from the
date on which the petition was filed.

(g) All certified emergency orders shall continue in
effect until review by the assigned Court of Common
Pleas Judge on the next business day.

(h) At the beginning of the next business day, all
certified emergency orders and accompanying petitions
shall be delivered to the Domestic Violence Unit, Family
Division, which shall arrange for docketing and delivery
to the assigned Court of Common Pleas Judge for prompt
review. After review, the Judge shall enter temporary
orders where necessary to protect the plaintiff and/or
minor children until the scheduled hearing.

(i) The Philadelphia Police Department shall assist the
plaintiff or any other competent adult in serving the
petition and emergency order on the defendant. The
notice to defend which shall accompany the petition for
an emergency order shall advise the parties of how they
may learn whether a temporary order has been issued
and if so how they may obtain a copy of that order.
Rule 1901.9. Presence of Domestic Violence Counselor/

Advocate in Proceedings.
(a) Upon request of a plaintiff, the Court shall allow a

domestic violence counselor/advocate who has accompa-
nied the plaintiff to Court to be present in the courtroom
throughout the proceedings.

(b) Where a plaintiff is unrepresented by counsel, the
domestic violence counselor/advocate may provide assist-
ance to the plaintiff in his or her presentation of the facts
relevant to the action.

(c) A domestic violence counselor/advocate is an indi-
vidual who is engaged in a domestic violence program,
who provides services to victims of domestic violence, who
has undergone 40 hours of training and who is under the
control of a direct services supervisor of a domestic
violence program, the primary purpose of which is the
rendering of counseling or assistance to victims of domes-
tic violence.
Rule 1901.10. Evidence. Medical Records, Affidavits

of Repair, Statements of Lost Earnings.
The Court shall receive into evidence without further

proof copies of bills, hospital and physician reports, and
all other records of licensed health care providers which
are offered to substantiate claims of personal injury
stemming from domestic abuse. The Court shall also
receive into evidence without further proof copies of bills,
records, reports, affidavits of repair, estimates of value,
statements of lost earnings and similar documentation
offered to substantiate any other reasonable losses suf-
fered as a result of the abuse. Upon a proper showing, the
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Court may continue the hearing to allow any other party
to subpoena the person whose testimony is waived by this
rule to appear at a later hearing at which time any
adverse party may cross-examine him/her as to the
document as if he/she were a witness for the party
offering the document.

Rule 1901.11. Order by Consent. Consent Agreement.

(a) The parties may agree to the entry of a final order
by consent.

(b) The consent agreement shall contain only those
terms directly related to Protection From Abuse Act
issues which are properly before the Court of Common
Pleas.

(c) A consent agreement shall be signed by both par-
ties. If the parties are represented, counsel shall witness
their signatures.

(d) The signed consent agreement may be submitted to
the Court at the hearing.

Rule 1901.12. Order by Default. Bench Warrant.

If a defendant who was properly served fails to appear
in Court at the time of the hearing, the Court, in its
discretion, may issue a bench warrant for the arrest of
the defendant, or it may enter a final order by default,
granting the plaintiff such relief as is proper under the
Act.

Rule 1905.1. Bilingual Forms.

Bilingual forms shall be made available to litigants
with limited English proficiency in the Spanish language,
and in other languages, as the need arises.

Proposed Philadelphia County Local Rules
Actions for Divorce and Annulment of Marriage

Rule 1920.1. Scope.

The rules of this chapter shall govern all civil actions or
proceedings brought in the Court of Common Pleas for
Philadelphia County under the Divorce Code 23 Pa.C.S.
§ 3101 et seq., and shall be cited as ‘‘Phila.DR.R.’’

Rule 1920.4. Service.

(a) Upon good cause shown, the Court may enter a
special order directing service by ordinary mail directed
to defendant’s last known residence or other address.

(b) The requirements of good cause shall be satisfied
upon the filing of an affidavit by plaintiff setting forth the
extent of unsuccessful efforts to make service if the
address is known, or the nature and extent of a good faith
investigation made to ascertain the present residence and
whereabouts of a defendant whose whereabouts are un-
known.

(1) Such affidavit shall set forth the following informa-
tion:

(i) the time and place at which the parties last resided
together as spouses;

(ii) the last time the parties were in contact with each
other, and the defendant’s address and telephone number
at that time;

(iii) the name and address of the last employer of the
defendant either during the time the parties resided
together or at a later time, if known to the plaintiff;

(iv) the names and addresses and relationship to defen-
dant of those relatives known to be close to the defen-
dant;

(v) proof that inquiry has been made of applicable voter
registration records in an effort to ascertain the address
of the defendant;

(vi) any other information which could furnish a fruit-
ful basis for one truly bent on learning the present
whereabouts of the defendant;

(vii) such affidavit should detail the particular efforts
made to ascertain the defendant’s present address and to
effect service.

(2) A petition seeking such relief shall be filed with the
Court requesting entry of a special order for service. The
proposed order accompanying such Petition shall set forth
the specific address at which counsel or unrepresented
party will serve process on the defendant by regular mail.
No hearing shall be held on such Petition unless the
Court directs otherwise.

(c) When service of the Complaint in Divorce is made
by registered mail, or by Acceptance of Service pursuant
to Pa.R.C.P. 402(b), service shall not be deemed complete
unless (1) the signature on the return receipt or on the
Acceptance of Service form is identified to be that of the
defendant by affidavit or verification of the plaintiff or
other person familiar with said signature, or (2) where
service is accepted by an unauthorized agent of the
defendant, an affidavit or verification as to the identity of
the agent and his or her relationship to the defendant.
Rule 1920.42. Documents required to be filed in

Divorce Actions under Section 3301(c) and Sec-
tion 3301(d) of the Divorce Code.
(a) Unless previously filed of record, the following

documents shall be filed along with the Praecipe to
Transmit Record after all economic claims of record have
been resolved or withdrawn:

(1) if the action is brought under Section 3301(c), the
Affidavits required under Pa.R.C.P. 1920.42(a)(1);

(2) if the action is brought under Section 3301(d), the
Affidavit required under Pa.R.C.P. 1920.42(a)(2);

(3) an Affidavit of Service as to the Complaint;
(4) in the case of actions brought under Section

3301(d), an Affidavit of Service as to the Affidavit re-
quired under Pa.R.C.P. 1920.42(a)(2);

(5) a proposed Final Decree in Divorce;

(6) if the proposed Final Decree in Divorce purports to
incorporate a written agreement between the parties, a
true and correct copy of the fully executed agreement;

(7) a stamped pre-addressed envelope addressed to the
counsel of each represented party or, if unrepresented, to
each unrepresented party;

(8) if the Defendant has failed to appear or has not
filed an Affidavit of Consent in the action, an Affidavit of
Non-Military Service;

(9) a copy of the Notice of Intent to File Praecipe that
was earlier sent to the opposing party or to his or her
counsel of record; and

(10) current docket entries.

(b) The aforesaid procedure is only applicable in all
cases under Section 3301(c) and Section 3301(d) where all
issues between the parties have been resolved. The party
filing the Praecipe may withdraw a claim by so noting on
the Praecipe to Transmit Record. Any outstanding claims
by the opposing party may only be withdrawn by a
separate Praecipe signed by that party or his attorney of
record. If any claims are not specifically withdrawn or
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resolved by attached written agreement, the case must be
referred to a Master for disposition (unless bifurcated by
Order of Court).

(c) If a Praecipe to Transmit is defective, the Clerk of
the Family Court may require that a corrected Praecipe
be filed, preceded by notification to the opposing party. No
additional filing fee need be paid when the corrected
Praecipe is filed.

(d) In a case proceeding under Section 3301(c), if any
objection is filed to the Praecipe to Transmit Record, the
following procedure shall be followed:

(1) The Clerk of the Family Court shall place any case
wherein an objection has been filed on the next available
list for the Family Court Motions Judge. All parties or
their counsel shall be given at least ten (10) days notice
prior to the listing date for the Court to determine
whether the objection should be sustained or dismissed.

(2) If the Family Court Motions Judge determines that
an objection should be sustained, an Order shall be
entered which shall provide one of the following:

(i) require the filing of additional pleadings;

(ii) refer the case to the Permanent Master in Divorce,
subject to the requirements set forth in Rule 1920.51;

(iii) enter a Decree in Divorce with jurisdiction re-
served over certain claims;

(iv) grant such other relief as the Court deems neces-
sary.

(3) If the Family Court Motion Judge determines that
an objection should be dismissed, that Judge shall enter a
Final Decree in Divorce.

(e) In any case where a Section 3301(d) Counter-
affidavit is filed, the matter will be promptly listed before
the Permanent Master in Divorce for purposes of a
hearing on all non-economic issues raised therein. The
written notice of said hearing shall clearly state that
failure of the non-moving party to appear at the sched-
uled time will result in the dismissal of all objections and
claims raised in the Counter-affidavit and the entry of a
Final Decree in Divorce without additional notice to that
party.

(1) If the non-moving party fails to appear for the
scheduled listing of the case, the Master shall there upon
file a summary Report or Proposed Order recommending
dismissal of the Counter-affidavit. If no exceptions are
filed to the Report or Proposed Order within twenty days,
then the Report or Proposed Order shall forthwith be
presented to a Judge for approval and entry of an Order
dismissing the Counter-affidavit. A Final Decree pursuant
to Section 3301(d) or Order approving grounds for Divorce
may then be entered following judicial review of the file.

(2) If both parties appear for the listing of the case, the
Permanent Master in Divorce shall then conduct a confer-
ence to ascertain what issues are actually in dispute.
Following conclusion of the conference, the Master may
immediately proceed with a record hearing to dispose of
any contest as to grounds, or he may defer the matter to
another listing, for which notice shall be given while the
parties are in attendance.

(i) After the completion of testimony relating to
Grounds under Section 3301(d), the Permanent Master
shall expeditiously prepare and file a Report which
contains his or her findings as to whether the prerequi-

sites under that Section have been met. Copies of said
Report shall be served on counsel and any unrepresented
parties.

(ii) Within twenty (20) days after the date of the
Report by the Permanent Master, any party may file
written exceptions thereto. Any such exceptions shall
thereafter be listed for argument before a Judge of the
Family Court who shall dispose of the same on the basis
of the record compiled before the Permanent Master. In
the absence of exceptions within said twenty (20) day
period, the Report shall be transmitted to a Judge for
approval and entry of an Order consistent with the
Master’s recommendation as to Grounds for a Section
3301(d) Divorce. If no economic issues remain outstanding
in the case, a Final Decree pursuant to Section 3301(d)
may then be entered following judicial review of the file.

(iii) If economic issues are raised in a case for the first
time through a Counter-affidavit, the Permanent Master
shall submit a proposed Order to the Court whereby a
deadline is set for the defendant to perfect his/her claims
for economic relief through the filing of a Counterclaim or
petition pursuant to Pa.R.C.P. 1920.15. If the defendant
subsequently fails to comply with such Order, the Clerk of
the Family Court, upon praecipe of the plaintiff, shall
submit the file to a Judge for entry of a Final Decree.

(iv) If economic issues were raised in a case prior to the
filing of a Counter-affidavit, or if the defendant perfects
his/her claims for economic relief under the preceding
paragraph, it shall be the responsibility of the parties to
dispose of such issues through the filing of a Certification
for Hearing pursuant to Pa.R.C.P. 1920.51.

Rule 1920.51. Proceedings before Master in Divorce.

(a) As used in this section, ‘‘Master’’ means a Perma-
nent Master in Divorce who has been authorized by the
Court to hear:

(1) matters relating to grounds for Divorce under Sec-
tions 3301(a), 3301(b), and 3301(d)(1)(ii), and for Annul-
ment under Sections 3303, 3304 and 3305 of the Divorce
Code;

(2) economic issues, including claims for equitable dis-
tribution of property, alimony, counsel fees, costs and
expenses.

(b) Procedure for Divorce under Sections 3301(a) and
3301(b), and for Annulment:

(1) When a party wishes to proceed under fault
grounds for Divorce or an Annulment, said party shall file
a ‘‘Motion for Divorce Hearing on Fault Grounds or for
Annulment’’ accompanied by a certification of service and
a proposed Order of assignment setting forth the issues to
be referred by the Court to the Master.

(2) Within ten (10) days following service of a Motion
for Divorce Hearing on Fault Grounds or for Annulment,
a party may file an Answer thereto for purposes of
objecting to the proposed assignment of the case to a
Master. It shall not constitute grounds for objection that
discovery on economic issues has not been completed.

(3) The Motion for Divorce Hearing on Fault Grounds
or for Annulment may be filed by either party as soon as
twenty (20) days have elapsed following service of the
complaint.

(4) Thirty (30) days advance notice of the hearing shall
be given to the attorneys of record and any unrepresented
parties. All parties shall be prepared to proceed at that
time on the case,
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(5) Unless otherwise ordered by the Court, an official
Court interpreter of the Court of Common Pleas shall be
utilized where a party or witness is unable to communi-
cate in the English language.

(6) In uncontested proceedings, the moving party shall
be prepared to present the following to the Master on the
day of the hearing:

(i) an Affidavit setting forth jurisdictional facts;

(ii) a separate narrative Affidavit setting forth the
specific facts relied upon as the basis for the fault
allegations in the case, or where an Annulment is re-
quested, the facts establishing grounds for such relief
under Sections 3304 or 3305;

(iii) in cases where no appearance of record has been
entered for the defendant, an Affidavit of Non-Military
Service as required by the Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Civil
Relief Act; and

(iv) in actions for Indignities under Section 3301(a)(6),
a Certification of Counseling Notice.

(7) In contested cases, all testimony before the Master
shall be recorded. Upon request of a party or on the
Master’s own motion, the attendance of witnesses before
the Master may be secured through the issuance of a
subpoena from the Clerk of Family Court.

(8) Copies of the Master’s Report in Fault Grounds or
Annulment cases shall be mailed to counsel of record and
to any unrepresented parties. Such copies shall be accom-
panied by a proposed Decree and notice informing the
parties that either side may file exceptions to the Report
within twenty (20) days of the date said Report is filed.

(c) Procedure on Economic Issues.

(1) No hearing shall be scheduled before the Perma-
nent Master to dispose of economic issues in a case unless
one of the following has occurred:

(i) a Master’s Report has been filed recommending a
divorce under Section 3301(a), 3301(b) or 3301(d)(1)(ii) in
a case where economic issues have been raised by a
pleading. If no exceptions have been filed to said Report,
or after exceptions thereto have been dismissed, the
Court shall enter an Order in the following form:

ORDER APPROVING GROUNDS FOR DIVORCE

AND NOW, this day of , 20 ,
pursuant to the Report of the Master in Divorce, it is
hereby Ordered that a Decree in Divorce shall hereaf-
ter be entered following resolution by the Permanent
Master of all claims of record relating to equitable
distribution of marital property, alimony, counsel fees,
costs and expenses, and related claims under Divorce
Code of 1980, as amended;

(ii) A Praecipe to Transmit Record has been filed
pursuant to Section 3301(c) or Section 3301(d)(i) in a case
where economic claims have been raised of record. Said
Praecipe to Transmit Record and the Notice of Intent that
shall precede it shall be accompanied by all other docu-
ments required by Rule 1920.42. After any objection to
said Praecipe has been dismissed, the Court shall enter
an Order in the following form:

ORDER APPROVING GROUNDS FOR DIVORCE

AND NOW, this day of , 20 ,
upon receipt of the record setting forth a cause of
action under Section 3301(c) or Section 3301(d), a
Decree in Divorce shall hereafter be entered following

resolution by the Master of all claims of record
relating to equitable distribution of marital property,
alimony, counsel fees, costs and expenses, and related
claims under Divorce Code of 1980, as amended;

(iii) A bifurcated Decree In Divorce has been entered by
the Court.

(2) A Master’s hearing may only be scheduled on
economic issues after one of the parties or their attorney
of record has certified that:

(i) an Order Approving Grounds for Divorce or a Bifur-
cated Decree has been entered;

(ii) all discovery has been completed; and

(iii) there are no motions or petitions outstanding in
the case.

(3) All such Certifications for Hearing before the Mas-
ter in Divorce shall be filed in the Office of the Clerk of
the Family Court following payment of the required fee;
provided, however, that no additional fee shall be re-
quired where fault grounds have been established pursu-
ant to a hearing before the Permanent Master. At the
time of filing the Certification, the attorney for the
moving party shall also file with the Clerk of Family
Court a verification that a copy of said Certification was
served on the opposing attorney of record, or on the
opposing party, if unrepresented.

(4) Within ten (10) days following the date of filing a
Certification for Hearing before the Permanent Master,
opposing counsel or the unrepresented party may file
objections to the same in the Office of the Clerk of the
Family Court. Any such objections shall state with par-
ticularity the basis for denying the representations in the
Certification. All objections to Certifications for Hearing
before the Permanent Master will be promptly listed for
hearing before the Family Court Motions Judge.

(5) If no objections are filed to the Certification for
Hearing pursuant to subsection (4) hereof, the case shall
be scheduled for a hearing before a Permanent Master.
Thirty (30) days advance notice of any such hearing shall
be given to counsel and any unrepresented party, unless
otherwise ordered by the Court.

(6) At least ten (10) days prior to the scheduled
hearing before the Permanent Master, each party shall
file a mandatory pre-trial memorandum in accordance
with Pa.R.C.P. 1920.33(b). The pre-trial memorandum
shall be filed with the Clerk of Family Court and a copy
of the same shall be mailed or personally served on the
same day to opposing counsel or any unrepresented party.

(7) The Master shall take non-record testimony from
the parties only, unless, at the sole discretion of the
Master, additional non-record testimony is required. The
parties may offer into evidence, without formal proof,
documentary evidence in the nature of appraisals, pen-
sion evaluations, statements from financial institutions,
official or certified records of any governmental or judicial
body, and other reports, bills and records relating to real
estate, personal property, counsel fees and costs, provided
that true and correct copies of all such evidence is
provided to all parties or counsel of record at least ten
(10) days prior to the hearing.

(8) Within thirty (30) days after conclusion of the final
hearing on economic issues, the Permanent Master shall
file with the Court a report containing findings of fact
and conclusions of law along with a recommendation and
proposed Decree and/or Order disposing of all issues of
record. Copies of said findings and order shall be mailed
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to the counsel of record, or unrepresented parties, to-
gether with a notice explaining the procedure for request-
ing a trial de novo by the Court.

(9) Within twenty (20) days after the mailing date of
the Master’s Report and proposed Decree, either party
may file with the Clerk of Family Court a Praecipe for a
trial de novo before a Judge. Time stamped copies of any
such Praecipe shall forthwith be served on the opposing
counsel of record or unrepresented party, and on the
Master who heard the matter. The case thereafter shall
be listed before a Judge for a full evidentiary hearing.

(10) In the event there is no demand for a trial filed
within twenty (20) days following mailing of the Report
and proposed Decree, such Report and proposed Decree
shall be submitted to the Court for approval and entry of
a Decree.

(11) Any willful violation of this Rule including a
failure to comply with filing requirements, failing to
provide the required pre-trial memorandum, not provid-
ing all parties or counsel copies of documentary evidence
to be introduced at the hearing before the Master, or not
attending a hearing, shall be grounds for contempt of
Court and imposition of sanctions. The Master is empow-
ered to recommend that anyone not complying with this
Rule be cited for contempt of Court.

Proposed Philadelphia County Local Rules
Rules Relating to Domestic Relations Matters

Generally
Rule 1930.

The rules of this chapter shall govern all civil actions or
proceedings brought in the Court of Common Pleas for
Philadelphia County in Divorce, Support, Custody, and
Protection From Abuse under the Domestic Relations
Code, and shall be cited as ‘‘Phila.DR.R.’’

(a) The following shall be filed with the office of the
Clerk of Family Court:

(1) the entry of appearance by an attorney on behalf of
a party, which shall be substantially in the following
form:

See Form on Page 14
(2) the entry of an appearance by a self-represented

party pursuant to Pa.R.C.P.1930.8; which shall be sub-
stantially in the following form:

See Form on Page 15
(3) the original and four copies of all complaints,

petitions, motions, mandatory filings, and all other plead-
ings and documents in the nature of pleadings.

(b) All local forms shall be posted on the First Judicial
District’s website: http://courts.phila.gov/forms.

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF PHILADELPHIA COUNTY
FAMILY DIVISION

:
: DOCKET NO.
:

vs. :
:
: PACSES No.
:

ATTORNEY’S ENTRY / WITHDRAWAL OF APPEARANCE

PLEASE ENTER/WITHDRAW OF RECORD MY APPEARANCE FOR:

CLIENT’S NAME

ATTORNEY’S NAME

ATTORNEY’S ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE

ATTORNEY’S TELEPHONE NUMBER

ATTORNEY’S EMAIL ADDRESS

ATTORNEY’S ID NO. SIGNATURE OF ATTORNEY

DATE

Entry of Appearance Self Represented Party
: IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS
: OF PHILADELPHIA COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA

PLAINTIFF : DOMESTIC RELATIONS SECTION
VS. :

: DOCKET
DEFENDANT : PACSES CASE ID
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TO THE DOCKETING DIVISION OF THE DOMESTIC RELATIONS SECTION:
I am the plaintiff defendant in the above captioned support custody divorce

annulment protection from abuse case.
I intend to represent myself in upcoming legal proceedings at the Philadelphia County Domestic

Relations Section. Remove the counsel of record from my case, if applicable.
Papers may be served at the address set forth below:

Address

City, State, Zip Code

Home Phone Number Mobile Phone Number

Fax Number Email Address
For Self Represented Party:

Print Name Signature
Pursuant to Pa.R.C.P. 1930.8(b) a self-represented party is under a continuing obligation to provide current contact

information to the court, to other self-represented parties, and to attorneys of record.
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 14-1194. Filed for public inspection June 6, 2014, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 255—LOCAL
COURT RULES

CUMBERLAND COUNTY
Administrative Order; CP-21-MD-559-2014

Administrative Order

And Now, this 21st day of May, 2014, the creation of a
Constable Review Board is hereby authorized in accord-
ance with the following standards and procedures:

I. Definitions

a. ‘‘Constable.’’ Any elected or appointed constable or
deputy constable performing judicial duties for the Cum-
berland County Court of Common Pleas or any magiste-
rial district court within the Ninth Judicial District.

b. ‘‘Judicial Duties.’’ Services performed pursuant to 44
Pa.C.S.A. §§ 7161—7161.1 and further defined by the
Pennsylvania Unified Judicial System’s Constable Poli-
cies, Procedures and Standards of Conduct published by
the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts.

II. Scope

a. Constables are elected and perform numerous func-
tions at the municipal level, apart from the services
performed as independent contractors for the judiciary.
The Constable Review Board’s jurisdiction extends only to
constables in the performance of judicial duties.

b. Consistent with the Pennsylvania Unified Judicial
System’s Constable Policies, Procedures and Standards of
Conduct, the Constable Review Board may receive com-
plaints by or against constables regarding:

1. the performance of judicial duties;

2. financial/payment disputes; or

3. other matters relevant to a constable’s judicial du-
ties.

c. The Constable Review Board does not have the
authority to revise the Constable Policies, Procedures and
Standards of Conduct issued by the Administrative Office
of Pennsylvania Courts.

d. Nothing herein shall preclude any person or surety
of a constable from filing a verified petition in accordance
with 44 Pa.C.S. § 7172 alleging that a constable is
incompetent to discharge official duties.

III. Authority

a. The Constable Review Board may make recommen-
dations to the President Judge with respect to practices
and procedures as they relate to constables generally and
make recommendation regarding the judiciary’s continued
use of a constable’s services.

b. If a matter involves a financial dispute or other
matter within Cumberland County’s control, the Con-
stable Review Board may make recommendations to the
Cumberland County Controller regarding payment for
services.

c. The Constable Review Board shall forward any
findings of suspected criminal activity to the Cumberland
County District Attorney.

d. The President Judge remains the ultimate authority
with regard to a constable’s performance of judicial duties
within the Ninth Judicial District. In that respect, the
President Judge may, at any time, temporarily place a
moratorium on the use of a particular constable pending
review and recommendation of the Constable Review
Board on any pending complaint.

IV. Membership of the Constable Review Board

a. A judge of the Court of Common Pleas;

b. A Magisterial District Judge;

c. The Court Administrator or her designee;

d. A Constable and an alternate; and

e. The County Controller or his designee.
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V. Filing a Complaint

a. The complaint shall be in writing, signed by the
complainant, and contain a statement of the alleged
misconduct, financial dispute, or other matter related to
the performance of judicial duties.

b. The complaint may be submitted by mail, e-mail,
fax, or any other electronic means by which a paper copy
may be generated. The contact information for filing the
complaint is as follows:

Court Administrator
Cumberland County Courthouse
One Courthouse Square
Carlisle, PA 17013
FAX: 717-240-6460
Email: courtadmin@ccpa.net

c. The written complaint shall substantially conform to
the form set forth at VIII herein.

d. The complaint shall initially be forwarded to the
Court Administrator. Upon receipt of a complaint, the
Court Administrator shall:

1. Note the date of receipt on the complaint.

2. Create a file to contain the complaint and all
subsequent communications regarding the complaint.

3. Within three (3) business days, the Court Adminis-
trator shall forward a copy of the complaint to the
respondent constable, if the complaint is against a con-
stable or to any other respondent if the complaint is by a
constable.

4. At the same time as the transmission of the copy of
the complaint to the constable/or respondent, the Court
Administrator shall provide written notice to the
constable/respondent that he or she must provide to the
Court Administrator a written response to the complaint
within twenty (20) days, or less if the President Judge so
orders, from the date of such notice. The notice shall
further provide that if a constable/respondent fails to
respond, such failure may result in a decision by the
judiciary based on the information available for review.

VI. Constable Review Board Action

a. Upon receipt of a respondent’s written response, or
expiration of the response period, whichever comes first,
the Court Administrator shall, within three (3) business
days forward a copy of the complaint, response, and all
corroborating documentation to each Constable Review
Board member for review.

b. Within thirty (30) days of receipt of the file informa-
tion, the Constable Review Board shall:

1. in matters falling outside the Constable Review
Board’s authority, forward the complaint file to the
President Judge with written notification to the President
Judge, and the complainant, that the complaint falls
outside the scope of the Board’s authority and list the
reason(s) for that finding.

2. in matters involving payment and/or possible termi-
nation or suspension of the Court’s use of a constable,
interview the complainant, the constable and all other
relevant witnesses. If scheduling conflicts prevent the
Board from meeting to conduct interviews before the
Board as a whole, the Board may request the President
Judge to select two Board members to conduct interviews
who shall prepare and submit a report to the Board.

Unless the President Judge grants an extension of time,
interviews shall be completed and a recommendation to
the President Judge shall be made within the thirty
(30)-day time period.

3. in all other matters, the Constable Review Board
may conduct interviews or make a recommendation to the
President Judge based exclusively upon the complaint,
response, and all other written documentation submitted.

VII. Notice by President Judge

a. Within thirty (30) days of receipt of the Constable
Review Board’s recommendation, the President Judge
shall issue a written notice to the complainant and any
constable of the Court’s decision.

VIII. Form Complaint

CONSTABLE REVIEW BOARD FOR THE NINTH
JUDICIAL DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

COMPLAINT

A. COMPLAINANT:

Your Name:

Address:

Telephone #

B. CONSTABLE COMPLAINED OF:

Name:

Contact Info (if known):

C. STATEMENT OF COMPLAINT: PLEASE BE SPE-
CIFIC—relevant dates, names of witnesses and any
relevant documents. Explain the conduct or practice
complained of, the date(s), names of witnesses and
attach copies of relevant documents. You may attach
as many additional pages as necessary to fully set
forth your complaint.

Date: Signature:

The Complaint may be e-mailed, faxed, or mailed to the
following:

Court Administrator
Cumberland County Courthouse
One Courthouse Square
Carlisle, PA 17013
FAX: 717-240-6460
Email: courtadmin@ccpa.net

This order shall take effect June 1, 2014, or thirty (30)
days from the date of publication in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin.

By the Court
KEVIN A. HESS,

President Judge
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 14-1195. Filed for public inspection June 6, 2014, 9:00 a.m.]
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MONTGOMERY COUNTY
Adoption of Local Rule of Civil Procedure

1920.73(c); Notice of Intention to Request Entry
of Divorce Decree; Praecipe to Transmit Record;
Motion for Entry of Grounds Order and Appoint-
ment of Equitable Distribution Master; Forms

Order
And Now, this 20th day of May, 2014, the Court hereby

Adopts Montgomery County Local Rule of Civil Procedure
1920.73(c). Notice of Intention to Request Entry of Di-
vorce Decree. Praecipe to Transmit Record. Motion for
Entry of Grounds Order and Appointment of Equitable
Distribution Master. Forms. This Rule shall become effec-
tive thirty (30) days after publication in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin.

The Court Administrator is directed to publish this
Order once in the Montgomery County Law Reporter and
in The Legal Intelligencer. In conformity with Pa.R.C.P.
239, one (1) certified copy of this Order shall be filed with
the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts. Two (2)
certified copies shall be distributed to the Legislative
Reference Bureau for publication in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin, and one (1) certified copy shall be filed with the
Domestic Relations Procedural Rules Committee. One (1)
copy shall be filed with the Law Library of Montgomery
County, and one (1) copy with each Judge of this Court.
By the Court

WILLIAM J. FURBER, Jr.,
President Judge

Rule 1920.73(c). Notice of Intention to Request En-
try of Divorce Decree. Praecipe to Transmit Re-
cord. Motion for Entry of Grounds Order and
Appointment of Equitable Distribution Master.
Forms.
(1) A Praecipe to Transmit the Record to request a final

Decree in Divorce shall be filed where:
(a) there have been no claims for equitable distribution

of marital property, alimony or counsel fees, costs, and
expenses raised in the pleadings, or

(b) all claims have been withdrawn and grounds for
divorce have been established, and the Moving party is
seeking a final decree in divorce, or

(c) the parties have reached a written agreement,
which resolves all issues of equitable distribution of
marital property, alimony and counsel fees, costs, and
expenses, and grounds for divorce have been established,
and the Moving party is seeking a final decree in divorce
which incorporates the written agreement.

See Form Praecipe to Transmit the Record
(2) A Motion for Entry of Grounds Order and Appoint-

ment of Equitable Distribution Master shall be filed
where:

(a) there are pending claims for equitable distribution
of marital property, alimony or counsel fees raised in the
pleadings, and

(b) no written agreement has been reached by the
parties; and

(c) grounds for divorce exist and can be established.

See Form Motion for Entry of Grounds Order
andAppointment of Equitable Distribution Master

(3) The Moving party, filing the Motion for Entry of
Grounds Order and Appointment of Equitable Distribu-
tion Master, upon filing said Motion shall:

(a) pay a required fee to the Prothonotary at the time
of filing the Motion; and

(b) certify in the Motion that discovery is complete by
including a listing of all assets and liabilities, including
values as of the date of filing of the Motion; and

(c) attach to the Motion the Moving party’s Initial
Hearing Statement, which shall include a completed
Inventory and Appraisal, pursuant to Local Rule
1920.33(f); and

(d) the Motion and Initial Hearing/Inventory State-
ment, pursuant to Local Rule 1920.33(f), shall be filed
with the Court and served upon the Non-Moving party,
and a Certificate of Service of same shall be filed with the
Court.

(4) The Non-Moving party shall have forty-five (45)
days from the date of service of the Moving party’s
Motion and Initial Hearing/Inventory Statement in which
to complete all discovery, and provide the same certifica-
tion to the Court and the Moving party, that the Non-
Moving party’s discovery is complete and includes a
listing of all assets and liabilities, including values as of
the date of filing of the certification by the Non-Moving
party:

(a) the listing of all assets and liabilities shall be in the
form of an Initial Hearing/Inventory Statement, pursuant
to Local Rule 1920.33(f), and shall be filed with the Court
and served upon the Moving party, and a Certificate of
Service of same shall be filed with the Court.

(5) The failure of either party to comply with any
provisions of this Rule may result in Sanctions to that
non-compliant party and/or the barring of the non-
compliant party’s testimony or introduction/admission of
evidence at the time of the equitable distribution proceed-
ings.

Comment: the forms referenced in this rule are avail-
able online at www.montcopa.org/prothonotary.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 14-1196. Filed for public inspection June 6, 2014, 9:00 a.m.]
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