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RULES AND REGULATIONS

Title 49—PROFESSIONAL
AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

STATE BOARD OF MEDICINE
[ 49 PA. CODE CHS. 16 AND 18]
Physician Assistants and Respiratory Therapists

The State Board of Medicine (Board) amends §§ 16.11,
16.13, 18.122, 18.145, 18.301, 18.302, 18.304—18.309,
18.309a, 18.309b and 18.310 and adds § 18.146 (relating
to professional liability insurance coverage for licensed
physician assistants) to read as set forth in Annex A.

Effective Date

This final-form rulemaking will be effective upon publi-
cation of the in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

Statutory Authority

The amendments are authorized under sections 8, 8.1,
13(c) and 13.1(c) of the Medical Practice Act of 1985 (act)
(63 P. S. §§ 422.8, 422.8a, 422.13(c) and 422.13a(c)).

Background and Need for the Amendment

The act of July 4, 2008 (P.L. 580, No. 45) (Act 45)
amended the act to change references to the “certification
of respiratory care practitioners” to the “licensure of
respiratory therapists” and revised the standards for
licensure as a respiratory therapist and for receipt of a
temporary practice permit. Act 45 also identified addi-
tional specific acts of practice for physician assistants and
required physician assistants to complete continuing edu-
cation and maintain professional liability insurance.

Summary of Comments to the Proposed Rulemaking and
the Board’s Response

The Board published a proposed rulemaking at 42
Pa.B. 2469 (May 2, 2012) with a 30-day public comment
period. The Board received public comments from the
Pennsylvania Society for Respiratory Care, Inc. (PSRC)
and three respiratory care practitioners. The Board also
received comments from the House Professional Licensure
Committee (HPLC) and the Independent Regulatory Re-
view Commission (IRRC) as part of their review under
the Regulatory Review Act (71 P.S. §§ 745.1—745.12).

Comments from Practitioners

The Board received three comments from practitioners,
two of which were a form letter. The form letter opposed
increasing the continuing education requirement for re-
spiratory therapists from 20 hours biennially to 30 hours
biennially, citing both financial challenge and lack of
courses that present new information. The third letter
also objected to the increased continuing education re-
quirement, citing financial challenge and insisting that
the PSRC and government officials are wrong in thinking
that quality of care is related to the amount of mandatory
continuing education credits an individual obtains. In
response, the Board notes that the increase in the
number of continuing education hours required biennially
was made by the General Assembly and the Board lacks
statutory authority to retain the 20-hour requirement.
Regarding the assertion that respiratory therapist con-
tinuing education seminars repeat the same topics, the

Board will work with the PSRC and other continuing
education providers to encourage a wider range of topics.

Comments from the PSRC

The PSRC sent the Board four comments on June 7,
2012. Regarding § 18.307(1)(i) (relating to criteria for
licensure as a respiratory therapist), the PSRC requested
that the Board identify the “credentialing examination” as
the examination for entry to practice rather than the
“CRTT.” IRRC agreed. In addition to making this change,
the Board clarified the examination in § 18.306(b) (relat-
ing to temporary permits), a necessary amendment noted
by the HPLC.

The PSRC also recommended that the Board delete
§ 18.306. The PSRC opined that temporary permits are
unnecessary because graduates may now schedule the
entry level examination immediately upon graduation.
Act 45 revised qualifications of applicants for a temporary
permit so that section 36.1(b) of the act (63 P.S.
§ 422.36a(b)) sets forth the criteria for the Board issuing
a temporary permit to individuals who have applied for
licensure and section 36.1(c) of the act sets forth the
duration and effect of temporary permits. These recent
amendments indicate that the General Assembly has
reaffirmed the viability of temporary permits for respira-
tory therapists and, accordingly, the Board believes that it
lacks statutory authority to eliminate temporary permits.

In addition, the Board believes there is some value to
retaining temporary permits. A temporary permit to
practice is valid for 12 months, unless the holder fails the
entry level credentialing examination. Upon notification
to the permit holder that the examination attempt was
not successful, the permit becomes null and void. An
applicant is not required to obtain a temporary permit,
but may apply for a temporary permit to allow practice
prior to the time the applicant takes the licensing
examination, while the applicant is waiting for the exami-
nation results or while the applicant’s application for
licensure is being processed. In short, a temporary permit
bridges a time gap that may occur between graduation
and licensure and allows graduates to become employed
without delay.

The PSRC also recommended changes to § 18.309a
(relating to requirement of continuing education). The
PSRC suggested that the provision, as drafted, was
confusing to new graduates. In response, the Board
rewrote subsection (b) for clarity to read: “An individual
applying for the first time for licensure in this Common-
wealth is exempt from completing the continuing educa-
tion requirements during the initial biennial renewal
period in which the license is issued.” This language
exempts the three types of applicants who may obtain
initial Pennsylvania licensure from the continuing educa-
tion requirement: 1) new graduates from this Common-
wealth; 2) new graduates from other states; and 3)
licensees in other states who are seeking licensure in this
Commonwealth.

The PSRC suggested eliminating the exemption for
licensees in other states who are seeking licensure in this
Commonwealth who are not “new graduates.” The Board
declines to make this change. Continuing education is
required for license renewal in the 48 states where
respiratory therapists are licensed. If a practicing respira-
tory therapist from another state applies for a license in
this Commonwealth and has not taken as many hours of
continuing education as now required in this Common-
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wealth, that individual will still have both experience and
knowledge gained while practicing in another state. The
exemption is applied to only the first biennial renewal
period for all of the allied health professionals licensed by
the Board. Finally, eliminating the exemption would be
time consuming and difficult for the Board to administer
because it would require the Board to distinguish be-
tween licensees whose initial license was granted in this
Commonwealth and licensees whose initial license was
granted by another state. For all of these reasons, the
Board maintains that the new language in § 18.309a(b)
clarifies this subsection and that further changes are not
necessary or warranted.

The PSRC asked the Board to approve advanced life
support courses accredited by the American Heart Asso-
ciation (AHA) or similar groups in § 18.309b(a) (relating
to approved educational courses). AHA advanced life
support courses are approved by the American Medical
Association (AMA). Section 18.309b(a) already provides
approval for AMA-approved continuing education pro-
grams. Therefore, AHA advanced life support courses are
already approved as continuing education for respiratory
therapists.

Comments from the HPLC

On June 13, 2012, the HPLC submitted two comments.
The first comment noted the Board’s timing for the
submission of this rulemaking as proposed. The Board
respectfully understands the HPLC’s comments and will
work to provide more timely proposed rulemakings in the
future.

Second, as noted previously, the HPLC suggested that
references to the “credentialing examination” should be
amended to references to the “entry level credentialing
examination.” The Board made this change to
§§ 18.306(b) and 18.307(1)(1).

Comments from IRRC

On July 11, 2012, IRRC submitted seven comments.
IRRC pointed out that the “Note” section of Act 45
requires the Board and the State Board of Osteopathic
Medicine to jointly promulgate these regulations. The act
and the Osteopathic Medical Practice Act (63 P.S.
§§ 271.1—271.18) authorize the Board and the State
Board of Osteopathic Medicine to license and regulate
only those who practice under each act, respectively. The
amendments to each act in Act 45 and the act of July 4,
2008 (P.L. 589, No. 46) do not change which board
licenses and regulates the professionals under the juris-
diction of each board. Likewise, the Board and the State
Board of Osteopathic Medicine do not jointly license or
regulate the professionals under the jurisdiction of each
board. The Board and the State Board of Osteopathic
Medicine proposed similar regulations and now adopt
substantially identical final-form rulemakings. By pro-
mulgating these regulations at the same time, the statu-
torily mandated changes will be effective at the same
time, regardless of which board has jurisdiction over an
individual practitioner. The Board believes this process
meets with the statutory intent.

With respect to Subchapter D (relating to physician
assistants), IRRC raised two issues. IRRC noted that
§ 18.145(c) (relating to biennial registration require-
ments; renewal of physician assistant license) requires
physician assistants to maintain National certification
and recommended that the final-form rulemaking should
identify the recertification mechanisms recognized by the
Board or identify how a physician assistant can access
this information. The Board adds to the first sentence of

this subsection a reference to the National Commission
on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) and
directs physician assistants to the NCCPA’s web site
(www.nccpa.net) to access the information.

IRRC recommended that the Board clarify where it will
publish any future recognition of an organization’s certifi-
cation of physician assistants. The Board addressed this
request at § 18.145(c), noting that any additional Na-
tional certification organization will be announced on the
Board’s web site.

IRRC’s remaining comments addressed Subchapter F
(relating to respiratory therapists). IRRC indicated some
confusion in § 18.306(a), which refers to an individual
“who is recognized as a credentialed respiratory thera-
pist. . ..” (Emphasis added by IRRC.) The Board amended
this subsection to clarify that an applicant for a tempo-
rary permit would not yet be a licensee of the Board. The
reference to a “credentialed respiratory therapist” is
intended to mean an individual who holds one of the
credentials issued by the National Board for Respiratory
Care.

IRRC echoed the suggestion made by the HPLC to
replace “credentialing examination” with “entry level
credentialing examination,” changes which were also
made to §§ 18.306(b) and 18.307(1)(i).

IRRC made two recommendations regarding § 18.309a.
IRRC recommended that the Board address in the Regu-
latory Analysis Form (RAF) any additional costs that the
increase in the minimum number of mandatory continu-
ing education hours will impose on the regulated commu-
nity. The Board added this analysis in the RAF. Many
courses are offered free of charge or at low cost through
the American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC)
free online courses. Most hospital respiratory therapy
departments sponsor lectures at their facilities for their
staff to attend at no charge and some offer “grand
rounds” in their intensive care units. Print publications
(such as Saxe Healthcare Communications at www.
saxetesting.com) are also offered online at no charge.
Because many courses are offered free of charge or at a
low price, the Board estimates a cost of $10 per credit
hour, for a total cost for the additional 10 hours of
continuing education of $100 per licensee during a bien-
nial renewal period or $50 per year. Respiratory thera-
pists may also receive free or low cost continuing educa-
tion by joining AARC at a cost of $90 annually. If one
assumes that a licensee joins AARC primarily to receive
low cost or free continuing education, then the total
estimated cost of the additional continuing education and
AARC membership is $140 a year.

IRRC recommended consistency between the Board’s
proposed elimination of the limit on the number of
continuing education hours that would be creditable for
biennial renewal from nontraditional continuing educa-
tion (prerecorded presentations, Internet-based presenta-
tions and journal review programs) and the State Board
of Osteopathic Medicine’s proposal that at least 10 hours
of continuing education be earned in traditional continu-
ing education (classroom lecture, clinical presentation,
real-time web-cast or other live sessions where a pre-
senter is involved). The Board and the State Board of
Osteopathic Medicine have agreed that at least 10 hours
of continuing education shall be taken from traditional
sources to ensure consistent standards between the two
boards.

IRRC also recommended that the Board define “practice
building” in § 18.309b(c). The Board defined the term in
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§ 18.302 (relating to definitions) as “marketing or any
other activity that has as its primary purpose increasing
the business volume or revenue of a licensee or the
licensee’s employer.”

IRRC suggested that the Board’s description of amend-
ments to the final-form rulemaking address first physi-
cian assistant provisions first, followed by the respiratory
therapist provisions. The Board has done so.

IRRC asked the Board to add Purdon’s citations to
§ 18.146(c) and (d) and § 18.305(b) (relating to functions
of respiratory therapists). The Board confirmed with the
Legislative Reference Bureau that the proposed rule-
making is correct. Purdon’s citations to a cross-referenced
statute are to appear only the first time the section of the
act is referenced within a particular section of a regula-
tion. The first citation applies to all subsequent refer-
ences of the same statutory section or any subsection or
paragraph of the same statutory section. Accordingly, the
Board did not make the requested additions to
§§ 18.146(c) and (d) and 13.305(b).

Description of Amendments to the Final-Form Rulemaking

In Chapter 16, the Board amended the paragraph
number in § 16.11(b) (relating to licenses, certificates and
registrations) that refers to the respiratory therapist
license, as the Board has already published a final-form
rulemaking regarding behavior specialists, athletic train-
ers and perfusionists in paragraphs (6)—(8), respectively.
Thus, the respiratory therapist license will appear in
paragraph (9).

In Chapter 18, the Board made amendments regarding
physician assistants in Subchapter D. In § 18.122 (relat-
ing to definitions), the Board further defined NCCPA as
the organization recognized by the Board to certify and
recertify physician assistants by requiring continuing
education and examination. In § 18.145, the Board di-
rected physician assistants to the NCCPA’s web site for
information regarding maintenance of certification and
clarified that it will publish recognition of additional
National organizations on the Board’s web site.

The remaining changes in the final-form rulemaking
appear in Subchapter F. The Board added at a definition
of “practice building” in § 18.302.

In § 18.306, the Board clarified that a temporary
permit will be issued to an applicant who is not yet a
licensee of the Board. Furthermore, as requested by the
PSRC, the HPLC and IRRC, the Board replaced CRTT
with “entry level credentialing examination” in
§§ 18.306(b) and 18.307(1)(1).

The Board amended § 18.309a(a)(3) to make the tradi-
tional and nontraditional continuing education require-
ments the same for both the Board and the State Board
of Osteopathic Medicine. The provision provides that
respiratory therapists shall complete at least 10 hours of
traditional continuing education such as classroom lec-
ture, clinical presentation, real-time web-case or other
sessions when a presenter is involved to meet the bien-
nial continuing education requirement. Prior to the statu-
tory increase to the total number of credits required
biennially, the Board had required 10 hours to be com-
pleted in traditional continuing education, but had pro-
posed elimination of this restriction. Upon agreement
with the State Board of Osteopathic Medicine, both
boards will both retain this requirement.

The Board amended § 18.309a(b) to clarify that new
licensees are exempt from the continuing education re-
quirement for the first biennial renewal period. The new

language states: “An individual applying for the first time
for licensure in this Commonwealth is exempt from
completing the continuing education requirements during
the initial biennial renewal period in which the license is
issued.”

Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

There are minimal fiscal impacts upon physician assis-
tants because they are already required to complete
continuing education to maintain National certification
and because virtually all physician assistants already
carry professional liability insurance, usually provided by
their employers. There will not be adverse fiscal impact
on the Commonwealth or its political subdivisions. Like-
wise, the amendments in this final-form rulemaking will
not impose additional paperwork requirements upon the
Commonwealth, political subdivisions or the private sec-
tor. The final-form rulemaking will have only a minor
fiscal impact on respiratory therapists who shall take an
additional 10 credit hours of continuing education during
a biennial period and may impact those small businesses
who pay continuing education costs for employed respira-
tory therapists.

Sunset Date

The Board continuously monitors its regulations. There-
fore, a sunset date has not been assigned.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)), on May 2, 2012, the Board submitted a
copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking, published at 42
Pa.B. 2469, to IRRC and the Chairpersons of the HPLC
and the State Consumer Protection and Professional
Licensure Committee (SCP/PLC) for review and comment.

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC,
the HPLC and the SCP/PLC were provided with copies of
the comments received during the public comment period,
as well as other documents when requested. In preparing
the final-form rulemaking, the Board has considered all
comments from IRRC, the HPLC, the SCP/PLC and the
public.

Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5a(j.2)), on December 11, 2013, the final-form
rulemaking was approved by the HPLC. On December 11,
2013, the final-form rulemaking was deemed approved by
the SCP/PLC. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regulatory
Review Act, IRRC met on December 12, 2013, and
approved the final-form rulemaking.

Findings
The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given
under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P.S. §§ 1201 and 1202) and the
regulations promulgated thereunder, 1 Pa.Code §§ 7.1
and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered.

(3) The amendments to the final-form rulemaking do
not enlarge the purpose of the proposed rulemaking
published at 42 Pa.B. 2469.

(4) This final-form rulemaking is necessary and appro-
priate for administering and enforcing the authorizing act
identified in this Preamble.

Order

The Board, acting under its authorizing statute, orders
that:
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(a) The regulations of the Board, 49 Pa. Code Chapters
16 and 18, are amended by adding § 18.146 and amend-
ing §§ 16.11, 16.13, 18.122, 18.145, 18.301, 18.302,
18.304—18.309, 18.309a, 18.309b and 18.310 are
amended to read as set forth in Annex A, with ellipses
referring to the existing text of the regulations.

(Editor’s Note: Section 18.122 was not included in the
proposed rulemaking published at 42 Pa.B. 2469.)

(b) The Board shall submit this order and Annex A to
the Office of General Counsel and the Office of Attorney
General as required by law.

(¢c) The Board shall certify this order and Annex A and
deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bureau as
required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect immediately upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

ANDREW J. BEHNKE, MD,
Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 43 Pa.B. 7606 (December 28, 2013).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 16A-4930 remains valid for
the final adoption of the subject regulations.

Annex A

TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

PART I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 16. STATE BOARD OF
MEDICINE—GENERAL PROVISIONS

Subchapter B. GENERAL LICENSE,
CERTIFICATION AND REGISTRATION
PROVISIONS

§ 16.11. Licenses, certificates and registrations.

(a) The following medical doctor licenses are issued by
the Board:

(1) License without restriction.
(2) Institutional license.

(3) Extraterritorial license.

(4) Graduate license.

(5) Temporary license.

(6) Interim limited license.

(b) The following nonmedical doctor licenses and cer-
tificates are issued by the Board:

(1) Nurse-midwife license.

(2) Nurse-midwife certificate of prescriptive authority.
(3) Physician assistant license.

(4) Acupuncturist license.

(5) Practitioner of Oriental medicine license.

(6) Behavior specialist license.

(7) Athletic trainer license.

(8) Perfusionist license.

(9) Respiratory therapist license.

(¢) The following registrations are issued by the Board:

(1) Registration as a supervising physician of a physi-
cian assistant.

(2) Biennial registration of a license without restric-
tion.

(3) Biennial registration of an extraterritorial license.
(4) Biennial registration of a midwife license.

(5) Biennial registration of a physician assistant li-
cense.

(6) Biennial registration of a drugless therapist license.

(7) Biennial registration of a limited license—perma-
nent.

(8) Biennial registration of an acupuncturist license.

(9) Biennial registration of a practitioner of Oriental
medicine license.

(10) Biennial registration of a behavior specialist li-
cense.

(11) Biennial registration of athletic trainer license.
(12) Biennial registration of a perfusionist license.

§ 16.13. Licensure, certification, examination and
registration fees.
* * % * %

(g) Respiratory Therapist License:

Application, temporary permit.................... $30
Application, initial certification ................... $30
Biennial renewal .......... $25
(h) Athletic Trainer License:

* * ES * ES

CHAPTER 18. STATE BOARD OF
MEDICINE—PRACTITIONERS OTHER THAN
MEDICAL DOCTORS

Subchapter D. PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS
GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 18.122. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
subchapter, have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

* * * & Ed

NCCPA—The National Commission on Certification of
Physician Assistants, the organization recognized by the
Board to certify and recertify physician assistants by
requiring continuing education and examination.

£ & & & *

LICENSURE OF PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS AND
REGISTRATION OF SUPERVISING PHYSICIANS

§ 18.145. Biennial registration requirements; re-
newal of physician assistant license.

(a) A physician assistant shall register biennially ac-
cording to the procedure in § 16.15 (relating to biennial
registration; inactive status and unregistered status).

(b) The fee for the biennial registration of a physician
assistant license is set forth in § 16.13 (relating to
licensure, certification, examination and registration
fees).

(¢c) To be eligible for renewal of a physician assistant
license, the physician assistant shall complete continuing
medical education as required by the NCCPA and main-
tain National certification by completing current recertifi-
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cation mechanisms available to the profession, identified
on the NCCPA’s web site as recognized by the Board. The
Board recognizes certification through the NCCPA and its
successor organizations and certification through any
other National organization for which the Board pub-
lishes recognition of the organization’s certification of
physician assistants on the Board’s web site.

(d) The Board will keep a current list of persons
licensed as physician assistants. The list will include:

(1) The name of each physician assistant.
(2) The place of residence.
(3) The current business address.

(4) The date of initial licensure, biennial renewal re-
cord and current supervising physician.

§ 18.146. Professional liability insurance coverage
for licensed physician assistants.

(a) A licensed physician assistant shall maintain a
level of professional liability insurance coverage as re-
quired under section 36(f) of the act (63 P. S. § 422.36(f)).

(b) Proof of professional liability insurance coverage
may include:

(1) A certificate of insurance or copy of the declaration
page from the applicable insurance policy setting forth
the effective date, expiration date and dollar amounts of
coverage.

(2) Evidence of a plan of self-insurance approved by the
Insurance Commissioner of the Commonwealth under
regulations of the Insurance Department in 31 Pa. Code
Chapter 243 (relating to medical malpractice and health-
related self-insurance plans).

(¢) A license that was issued in reliance upon a letter
from the applicant’s insurance carrier indicating that the
applicant will be covered against professional liability
effective upon the issuance of the applicant’s license as
permitted under section 36(f)(2) of the act will become
inactive as a matter of law 30 days after issuance of the
license if the licensee has not provided proof of profes-
sional liability insurance coverage and will remain inac-
tive until the licensee provides proof of insurance cover-
age.

(d) A licensee who does not have professional liability
insurance coverage as required under section 36(f) of the
act may not practice as a physician assistant in this
Commonwealth.

Subchapter F. RESPIRATORY THERAPISTS
§ 18.301. Purpose.

This subchapter implements sections 13.1 and 36.1 of
the act (63 P.S. §§ 422.13a and 422.36a), which were
added by section 3 of the act of July 2, 1993 (P. L. 424,
No. 60) to provide for the licensure of respiratory thera-
pists.

§ 18.302. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
subchapter, have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

AARC—American Association for Respiratory Care, an
organization which provides and approves continuing
professional development programs.

AMA—American Medical Association, an organization
which provides and approves continuing professional de-
velopment programs.

AOA—American Osteopathic Association, an organiza-
tion which provides and approves continuing professional
development programs.

Act—The Medical Practice Act of 1985 (63 P.S.
§§ 422.1—422.5(a).

CoARC—The Committee on Accreditation for Respira-
tory Care, an organization which accredits respiratory
care programs.

CSRT—Canadian Society of Respiratory Therapists, an
organization which provides and approves continuing
professional development programs.

Continuing education hour—Fifty minutes of continuing
education.

NBRC—The National Board for Respiratory Care, the
agency recognized by the Board to credential respiratory
therapists.

Practice building—Marketing or any other activity that
has as its primary purpose increasing the business vol-
ume or revenue of a licensee or the licensee’s employer.

Respiratory therapist—A person who has been licensed
in accordance with the act and this subchapter.

§ 18.304. Licensure of respiratory therapists; prac-
tice; exceptions.

(a) A person may not practice or hold himself out as
being able to practice as a respiratory therapist in this
Commonwealth unless the person holds a valid, current
temporary permit or license issued by the Board, or the
State Board of Osteopathic Medicine under Chapter 25
(relating to State Board of Osteopathic Medicine), or is
exempted under section 13.1(e) of the act (63 P.S.
§ 422.13a(e)) or section 10.1(e) of the Osteopathic Medical
Practice Act (63 P. S. § 271.10a(e)).

(b) A person may not use the words “licensed respira-
tory therapist” or “respiratory care practitioner,” the
letters “LRT,” “RT” or “RCP” or similar words and related
abbreviations to imply that respiratory care services are
being provided, unless the services are provided by a
respiratory therapist who holds a valid, current tempo-
rary permit or license issued by the Board or the State
Board of Osteopathic Medicine and only while working
under the supervision of a licensed physician.

§ 18.305. Functions of respiratory therapists.

(a) Under section 13.1(d) of the act (63 P.S.
§ 422.13a(d)), a respiratory therapist may implement
direct respiratory care to an individual being treated by
either a licensed medical doctor or a licensed doctor of
osteopathic medicine, upon prescription or referral by a
physician, certified registered nurse practitioner or physi-
cian assistant, or under medical direction and approval
consistent with standing orders or protocols of an institu-
tion or health care facility. This care may constitute
indirect services such as consultation or evaluation of an
individual and also includes, but is not limited to, the
following services:

(1) Administration of medical gases.

(2) Humidity and aerosol therapy.

(3) Administration of aerosolized medications.

(4) Intermittent positive pressure breathing.

(5) Incentive spirometry.

(6) Bronchopulmonary hygiene.

(7) Management and maintenance of natural airways.

(8) Maintenance and insertion of artificial airways.
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(9) Cardiopulmonary rehabilitation.

(10) Management and maintenance of mechanical ven-
tilation.

(11) Measurement of ventilatory flows, volumes and
pressures.

(12) Analysis of ventilatory gases and blood gases.

(b) Under section 13.1(d) of the act, a respiratory
therapist may perform the activities listed in subsection
(a) only upon prescription or referral by a physician,
certified registered nurse practitioner or physician assis-
tant, or while under medical direction consistent with
standing orders or protocols in an institution or health
care facility.

§ 18.306. Temporary permits.

(a) A temporary permit will be issued to an applicant,
who is not yet a licensee, who submits evidence satisfac-
tory to the Board, on forms supplied by the Board, that
the applicant has met one or more of the following
criteria:

(1) Has graduated from a respiratory care program
approved by the CoARC.

(2) Is enrolled in a respiratory care program approved
by the CoARC and expects to graduate within 30 days of
the date of application to the Board for a temporary
permit.

(3) Meets all applicable requirements and is recognized
as a credentialed respiratory therapist by the NBRC.

(b) A temporary permit is valid for 12 months and for
an additional period as the Board may, in each case,
specially determine except that a temporary permit ex-
pires if the holder fails the entry level credentialing
examination. An applicant who fails the entry level
credentialing examination may apply to retake it.

§ 18.307. Criteria for licensure as a respiratory
therapist.

The Board will approve for licensure as a respiratory
therapist an applicant who:

(1) Submits evidence satisfactory to the Board, on
forms supplied by the Board, that the applicant has met
one or more of the following criteria:

(i) Has graduated from a respiratory care program
approved by the CoARC and passed the entry level
credentialing examination as determined by the NBRC.

(i1) Holds a valid license, certificate or registration as a
respiratory therapist in another state, territory or the
District of Columbia which has been issued based on
requirements substantially the same as those required by
the Commonwealth, including the examination require-
ment.

(2) Has paid the appropriate fee in a form acceptable to
the Board.

§ 18.308. Change of name or address.

A licensee shall inform the Board in writing within 10
days of a change of name or mailing address.

§ 18.309. Renewal of licensure.

(a) A license issued under this subchapter expires on
December 31 of every even-numbered year unless re-
newed for the next biennium.

(b) Biennial renewal forms and other forms and litera-
ture to be distributed by the Board will be forwarded to
the last mailing address given to the Board.

(¢) To retain the right to engage in practice, the
licensee shall renew licensure in the manner prescribed
by the Board, complete the continuing education require-
ment set forth in § 18.309a (relating to requirement of
continuing education) and pay the required fee prior to
the expiration of the current biennium.

(d) When a license is renewed after December 31 of an
even-numbered year, a penalty fee of $5 for each month
or part of a month of practice beyond the renewal date
will be charged in addition to the renewal fee.

§ 18.309a. Requirement of continuing education.

(a) The following continuing education requirements
shall be completed each biennial cycle:

(1) An applicant for biennial renewal or reactivation of
licensure is required to complete, during the 2 years
preceding the application for renewal or reactivation, a
minimum of 30 hours of continuing education as set forth
in section 36.1(f)(2) of the act (63 P. S. § 422.36a(f)(2)).

(2) At least 10 continuing education hours shall be
obtained through classroom lecture, clinical presentation,
real-time web-cast or other live sessions where a pre-
senter is involved.

(3) At least 10 continuing education hours shall be
obtained through traditional continuing education such as
classroom lecture, clinical presentation, real-time web-
cast or other live sessions where a presenter is involved.
To qualify for credit, the provider shall make available
documented verification of completion of the course or
program.

(4) One continuing education hour shall be completed
in medical ethics, and 1 continuing education hour shall
be completed in patient safety.

(5) Credit will not be given for continuing education in
basic life support, including basic cardiac life support and
cardiopulmonary resuscitation. In any given biennial re-
newal period, a licensee may receive credit for no more
than 8 continuing education hours in advanced life
support, including advanced cardiac life support, neonatal
advanced life support/neonatal resuscitation and pediatric
advanced life support.

(6) A licensee will not receive continuing education
credit for participating in a continuing education activity
with objectives and content identical to those of another
continuing education activity within the same biennial
renewal period for which credit was granted.

(b) An individual applying for the first time for
licensure in this Commonwealth is exempt from complet-
ing the continuing education requirements during the
initial biennial renewal period in which the license is
issued.

(c) The Board may waive all or a portion of the
requirements of continuing education in cases of serious
illness, other demonstrated hardship or military service.
It shall be the duty of each licensee who seeks a waiver to
notify the Board in writing and request the waiver prior
to the end of the renewal period. The request must be
made in writing, with appropriate documentation, and
include a description of circumstances sufficient to show
why the licensee is unable to comply with the continuing
education requirement. The Board will grant, deny or
grant in part the request for waiver and will send the
licensee written notification of its approval or denial in
whole or in part of the request. A licensee who requests a
waiver may not practice as a respiratory therapist after
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the expiration of the licensee’s current license until the
Board grants the waiver request.

(d) A licensee shall maintain the information and docu-
mentation supporting completion of the hours of continu-
ing education required, or the waiver granted, for at least
2 years after the conclusion of the biennial renewal period
to which the continuing education or waiver applies, the
date of completion of the continuing education or grant of
the waiver, whichever is latest, and provide the informa-
tion and documentation to representatives of the Board
upon request.

§ 18.309b. Approved educational courses.

(a) The Board approves respiratory care continuing
education programs designated for professional develop-
ment credits by the AARC, the AMA, the AOA and the
CSRT. The courses, locations and instructors provided by
these organizations for continuing education in respira-
tory care are deemed approved by the Board. Qualifying
AMA continuing education programs shall be in AMA
PRA Category I as defined in § 16.1 (relating to defini-
tions) and qualifying AOA continuing education programs
shall be in Category 1A and 1B.

(b) Advanced course work in respiratory care success-
fully completed at a degree-granting institution of higher
education approved by the United States Department of
Education which offers academic credits is also approved
for continuing education credit by the Board. Advanced
course work is any course work beyond the academic
requirements necessary for licensure as a respiratory
therapist. Proof of completion of the academic credits
shall be submitted to the Board for determination of
number of continuing education hours completed.

(¢) The Board will not accept courses of study which do
not relate to the clinical aspects of respiratory care, such
as studies in office management or practice building.

§ 18.310. Inactive status.

(a) A licensee who does not intend to practice in this
Commonwealth and who does not desire to renew
licensure shall inform the Board in writing. Written
confirmation of inactive status will be forwarded to the
licensee.

(b) A licensee shall notify the Board, in writing, of the
licensee’s desire to reactivate the license.

(c) A licensee who is applying to return to active status
is required to pay fees which are due for the current
biennium and submit a sworn statement stating the
period of time during which the licensee was not engaged
in practice in this Commonwealth.

(d) The applicant for reactivation will not be assessed a
fee or penalty for preceding biennial periods in which the
applicant did not engage in practice in this Common-
wealth.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 14-234. Filed for public inspection January 31, 2014, 9:00 a.m.]

STATE BOARD OF OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE
[ 49 PA. CODE CH. 25]
Physician Assistants and Respiratory Therapists
The State Board of Osteopathic Medicine (Board)

amends §§ 25.141, 25.142, 25.161, 25.163, 25.176, 25.191,
25.192, 25.201, 25.215, 25.231, 25.501—25.509, 25.509a,

25.509b and 25.510 and adds § 25.164 (relating to profes-
sional liability insurance coverage for licensed physician
assistants) to read as set forth in Annex A.

Effective Date

This final-form rulemaking will be effective upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

Statutory Authority

The final-form rulemaking is authorized under sections
10(f) and (h), 10.1(c), 10.2(f) and 16 of the Osteopathic
Medical Practice Act (act) (63 P.S. §§ 271.10(f) and (h),
271.10a(c), 271.10b(f) and 271.16).

Background and Need for the Final-Form Rulemaking

The act of July 4, 2008 (P.L. 589, No. 46) (Act 46)
amended the act to change references to the “certification
of respiratory care practitioners” to “licensure of respira-
tory therapists” and revised the standards for licensure as
a respiratory therapist and for receipt of a temporary
practice permit. Act 46 also identified additional specific
acts of practice for physician assistants and required
physician assistants to complete continuing education and
maintain professional liability insurance. Additionally, the
act of July 2, 2004 (P. L. 486, No. 56) (Act 56) amended
section 10(f) of the act to provide that the Board shall
grant licensure, rather than certification, to physician
assistants. This final-form rulemaking amends the
Board’s regulations to implement these changes.

Summary of Comments to Proposed Rulemaking and the
Board’s Response

The Board published the proposed rulemaking at 42
Pa.B. 2474 (May 12, 2012) with a 30-day public comment
period. The Board received public comments from the
Pennsylvania Society for Respiratory Care, Inc. (PSRC).
The Board also received comments from the House Pro-
fessional Licensure Committee (HPLC) and the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) as part of
their review under the Regulatory Review Act (71 P.S.
§§ 745.1—745.12).

Comments from the PSRC

The PSRC sent the Board four comments on June 7,
2012. Regarding § 25.507(1)(1) (relating to criteria for
licensure as a respiratory therapist), the PSRC requested
the Board identify the “credentialing examination” as the
examination for entry to practice rather than the “CRTT.”
IRRC agreed. In addition to making this change, the
Board similarly clarified the examination in § 25.506(b)
(relating to temporary permits), a necessary amendment
noted by the HPLC.

The PSRC also recommended that the Board delete
§ 25.506. The PSRC opined that temporary permits are
unnecessary because graduates may now schedule the
entry level examination immediately upon graduation.
Act 46 revised qualifications of applicants for a temporary
permit so that section 10.2(b) of the act sets forth the
criteria for the Board issuing a temporary permit to
individuals who have applied for licensure and section
10.2(c) of the act sets forth the duration and effect of
temporary permits. These amendments indicate that the
General Assembly has reaffirmed the viability of tempo-
rary permits for respiratory therapists and, accordingly,
the Board believes that it lacks statutory authority to
eliminate temporary permits.

In addition, the Board believes there is some value to
retaining temporary permits. A temporary permit to
practice is valid for 12 months, unless the holder fails the
entry level credentialing examination. Upon notification
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to the permit holder that the examination attempt was
not successful, the permit becomes null and void. An
applicant is not required to obtain a temporary permit,
but may apply for a temporary permit to allow practice
prior to the time the applicant takes the licensing
examination, while the applicant is waiting for the exami-
nation results or while the applicant’s application for
licensure is being processed. In short, a temporary permit
bridges a time gap that may occur between graduation
and licensure and allows graduates to become employed
without delay.

The PSRC also recommended changes to § 25.509a
(relating to requirement of continuing education). The
PSRC questioned whether this subsection applied to new
graduates. In response, the Board rewrote subsection (b)
for clarity to read: “An individual applying for the first
time for licensure in this Commonwealth is exempt from
completing the continuing education requirements during
the initial biennial renewal period in which the license is
issued.” This language exempts from the continuing edu-
cation requirement the three types of applicants who may
obtain initial Pennsylvania licensure: 1) new graduates
from this Commonwealth; 2) new graduates from other
states; and 3) licensees in other states who are seeking
licensure in this Commonwealth.

The PSRC suggested eliminating the exemption for
licensees in other states who are seeking licensure in this
Commonwealth who are not “new graduates.” The Board
declines to make this change. Continuing education is
required for license renewal in the 48 states where
respiratory therapists are licensed. If a practicing respira-
tory therapist from another state applies for a license in
this Commonwealth and has not taken as many hours of
continuing education as now required in this Common-
wealth, that individual will still have both experience and
knowledge gained while practicing in another state. The
exemption is applied to only the first biennial renewal
period for the allied health professionals licensed by the
Board. Finally, eliminating the exemption would be time
consuming and difficult for the Board to administer
because it would require the Board to distinguish be-
tween licensees whose initial license was granted in this
Commonwealth and licensees whose initial license was
granted by another state. For these reasons, the Board
maintains that the new language it has added to
§ 25.509a(b) clarifies this subsection and that further
changes are not necessary or warranted.

The PSRC asked the Board to approve advanced life
support courses accredited by the American Heart Asso-
ciation (AHA) or similar groups in § 25.509b(a) (relating
to approved educational programs). AHA advanced life
support courses are approved by the American Medical
Association (AMA). Section 25.509b(a) already provides
approval for AMA-approved continuing education pro-
grams. Therefore, AHA advanced life support courses are
already approved as continuing education for respiratory
therapists.

Comments from the HPLC

On June 13, 2012, the HPLC submitted comments. The
first comment noted the Board’s timing for the submis-
sion of the proposed rulemaking. The Board respectfully
understands the Committee’s comments and will work to
provide more timely proposed rulemakings in the future.

Second, as noted previously, the HPLC suggested that
with the deletion of “CRTT” from § 25.502 (relating to
definitions), § 25.506(b) should be amended to refer to
the “credentialing examination.” The Board made this

change and also amended § 25.507(1)i) to add “entry
level” before “credentialing examination” to accurately
identify the required examination.

Comments from IRRC

On July 11, 2012, IRRC submitted seven comments.
IRRC pointed out that the “Note” section of Act 46
requires the Board and the State Board of Medicine to
jointly promulgate these regulations. The act and the
Medical Practice Act of 1985 (63 P. S. §§ 422.1—422.51a)
authorize each board to license and regulate only those
who practice under each act, respectively. The amend-
ments to each act in the act of July 4, 2008 (P. L. 580, No.
45) and Act 46 do not change which board licenses and
regulates the professionals under the jurisdiction of each
board. Likewise, the Board and the State Board of
Medicine do not jointly license or regulate the profession-
als under the jurisdiction of each board. The Board and
the State Board of Medicine promulgated similar pro-
posed rulemakings and now adopt substantially identical
final-form rulemakings. By promulgating the final-form
rulemakings at the same time, the statutorily mandated
changes will be effective at the same time, regardless of
which board has jurisdiction over an individual practi-
tioner. The Board believes this process meets with the
statutory intent.

With respect to Subchapter C (relating to physician
assistant provisions), IRRC raised two issues. IRRC noted
that § 25.163(c) (relating to approval and effect of
licensure; biennial renewal of physician assistants; regis-
tration of supervising physicians) requires physician as-
sistants to maintain National certification and recom-
mended that the final-form rulemaking should identify
the recertification mechanisms recognized by the Board or
identify how a physician assistant can access this infor-
mation. The Board adds to the first sentence of this
subsection a reference to the National Commission on
Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) and directs
physician assistants to the NCCPA’s web site (www.nccpa.
net) to access the information.

IRRC recommended that the Board clarify where it will
publish future recognition of an organization’s certifica-
tion of physician assistants. The Board addressed this
request in § 25.163(c), noting that additional National
certification of an organization will be announced on the
Board’s web site (www.dos.state.pa.us/ost).

IRRC’s remaining comments addressed Subchapter K
(relating to respiratory therapists). IRRC indicated some
confusion in § 25.506(a), which refers to an individual
“who is recognized as a credentialed respiratory thera-
pist. . ..” (Emphasis added by IRRC.) The Board amended
this subsection to clarify that an applicant for a tempo-
rary permit would not yet be a licensee of the Board. The
reference to a “credentialed respiratory therapist” is
intended to mean an individual who holds one of the
credentials issued by the National Board for Respiratory
Care.

Regarding § 25.506(b), IRRC echoed the suggestion
made by the HPLC to replace “CRTT” with “credentialing
examination.” The change has been made. IRRC also
agreed with the PSRC’s comment regarding replacing
“credentialing examination” with “entry level credential-
ing examination,” changes which were also made to
§ 25.507(1)@).

IRRC made two recommendations regarding § 25.509a.
IRRC recommended that the Board address in the Regu-
latory Analysis Form (RAF) additional costs that the
increase in the minimum number of mandatory continu-
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ing education hours will impose on the regulated commu-
nity. The Board added this analysis in the RAF. Many
courses are offered free of charge or at low cost through
the American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC).
Most hospital respiratory therapy departments sponsor
lectures at their facilities for their staff to attend at no
charge and some offer “grand rounds” in their intensive
care units. Print publications (such as Saxe Healthcare
Communications at www.saxetesting.com) are also offered
online at no charge. Because many courses are offered
free of charge or at a low price, the Board estimates a
cost of $10 per credit hour, for a total additional cost of
$100 per licensee during a biennial renewal period or $50
per year. Respiratory therapists may receive free or low
cost continuing education by joining the AARC at a cost of
$90 annually. If one assumes that a licensee joins AARC
primarily to receive low cost or free continuing education,
then the total estimated cost of continuing education and
AARC membership is $140 a year.

IRRC recommended consistency between the Board’s
proposal that no more than 10 hours of creditable con-
tinuing education may be earned through nontraditional
sources (prerecorded presentations, Internet-based pre-
sentations and journal review programs) and the State
Board of Medicine’s proposal that there be no restriction
on these hours. The Board and the State Board of
Medicine have agreed to identical language requiring at
least 10 hours of continuing education be earned in
traditional continuing education (classroom lecture, clin-
ical presentation, real-time web-cast or other live sessions
where a presenter is involved) to ensure consistent stan-
dards between the Board and the State Board of Medi-
cine.

IRRC also recommended that the Board define “practice
building.” The Board added the definition in § 25.502 as
“marketing or any other activity that has as its primary
purpose increasing the business volume or revenue of a
licensee or the licensee’s employer.”

IRRC suggested that the Board’s description of amend-
ments to the final-form rulemaking address first physi-
cian assistant provisions, followed by the respiratory
therapist provisions. The Board has done so.

IRRC asked the Board to add Purdon’s citations to
§ 25.164(c) and (d) and § 25.505(b) (relating to functions
of respiratory therapists). The Board confirmed with the
Legislative Reference Bureau that the proposed rule-
making is correct. Purdon’s citations to a cross-referenced
statute are to appear only the first time the section of the
act is referenced within a particular section of a regula-
tion. The first citation applies to all subsequent refer-
ences to the same statutory section or any subsection or
paragraph of the section. Accordingly, the Board did not
make the requested additions.

Description of Amendments to the Final-Form Rulemaking

The Board amended § 25.142 (relating to definitions) to
further define “NCCPA” as the organization recognized by
the Board to certify and recertify physician assistants by
requiring continuing education and examination. The
Board added information to § 25.163 to direct applicants
to NCCPA’s web site for information regarding maintain-
ing current certification with that organization and clari-
fied that it will publish recognition of additional National
organizations on the Board’s web site.

The remaining changes in the final-form rulemaking
are in Subchapter K. The Board added a definition of
“practice building” in § 25.502.

In § 25.506, the Board clarified that a temporary
permit will be issued to an applicant who is not yet
a licensee of the Board. Furthermore, as requested by
the PSRC, the HPLC and IRRC, the Board replaced
“CRTT” with “entry level credentialing examination” in
§§ 25.506(b) and 25.507(1)().

The Board amends § 25.509a(a)(3) to make the tradi-
tional and nontraditional continuing education require-
ments the same for both the Board and the State Board
of Medicine. The provision provides that respiratory
therapists shall complete at least 10 hours of traditional
continuing education such as classroom lecture, clinical
presentation, real-time web-case or other sessions where
a presenter is involved to meet the biennial continuing
education requirement.

The Board amended § 25.509a(b) to clarify that new
licensees are exempt from the continuing education re-
quirement for the first biennial renewal period. The new
language states: “An individual applying for the first time
for licensure in this Commonwealth is exempt from
completing the continuing education requirements during
the initial biennial renewal period in which the license is
issued.”

Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

There are minimal fiscal impacts upon physician assis-
tants because physician assistants are already required to
complete continuing education to maintain National certi-
fication and because virtually all physician assistants
already hold professional liability insurance. There will
not be adverse fiscal impact on the Commonwealth or its
political subdivisions. Likewise, the amendments in this
final-form rulemaking will not impose additional paper-
work requirements upon the Commonwealth, political
subdivisions or the private sector. The final-form rule-
making will have only a minor fiscal impact on respira-
tory therapists who shall take an additional 10 credit
hours of continuing education during a biennial period
and may impact those small businesses who pay continu-
ing education costs for employed respiratory therapists.

Sunset Date

The Board continuously monitors its regulations. There-
fore, a sunset date has not been assigned.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)), on May 2, 2012, the Board submitted a
copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking, published at 42
Pa.B. 2474, to IRRC and the Chairpersons of the HPLC
and the Senate Consumer Protection and Professional
Licensure Committee (SCP/PLC) for review and comment.

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC,
the HPLC and the SCP/PLC were provided with copies of
the comments received during the public comment period,
as well as other documents when requested. In preparing
the final-form rulemaking, the Board has considered all
comments from IRRC, the HPLC, the SCP/PLC and the
public.

Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5a(j.2)), on December 11, 2013, the final-form
rulemaking was approved by the HPLC. On December 11,
2013, the final-form rulemaking was deemed approved by
the SCP/PLC. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regulatory
Review Act, IRRC met on December 12, 2013, and
approved the final-form rulemaking.
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Findings
The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given
under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P. S. §§ 1201 and 1202) and the
regulations promulgated thereunder, 1 Pa.Code §§ 7.1
and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered.

(3) The amendments to the final-form rulemaking do
not enlarge the purpose of the proposed rulemaking
published at 42 Pa.B. 2474.

(4) This final-form rulemaking is necessary and appro-
priate for administering and enforcing the authorizing act
identified in this preamble.

Order

The Board, acting under its authorizing statute, orders
that:

(a) The regulations of the Board, 49 Pa. Code Chapter
25, are amended by adding § 25.164 and amending
§§ 25.141, 25.142, 25.161, 25.163, 25.176, 25.191, 25.192,
25.201, 25.215, 25.231, 25.501—25.509, 25.509a, 25.509b
and 25.510 are amended to read as set forth in Annex A,
with ellipses referring to the existing text of the regula-
tions.

(b) The Board shall submit this order and Annex A to
the Office of General Counsel and the Office of Attorney
General as required by law.

(¢) The Board shall certify this order and Annex A and
deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bureau as
required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect immediately upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

JEFFREY A. HEEBNER, DO,
Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 43 Pa.B. 7606 (December 28, 2013).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 16A-5321 remains valid for
the final adoption of the subject regulations.

Annex A

TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

PART I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 25. STATE BOARD OF OSTEOPATHIC
MEDICINE

Subchapter C. PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT
PROVISIONS

GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 25.141. Purpose.

The purpose of this subchapter is to implement the
provisions of the act which provide for the licensure of
physician assistants. The legislation provides for more
effective utilization of certain skills of osteopathic physi-
cians enabling them to delegate certain medical tasks to
qualified physician assistants when such delegation is
consistent with the patient’s health and welfare.

§ 25.142. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
subchapter, have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

Certification—The approval of a program by the Board
for the training and education of physician assistants.

Direct supervision—The physical presence of the super-
vising physician on the premises so that the supervising
physician is immediately available to the physician assis-
tant when needed. Where emergency rooms are con-
cerned, direct supervision requires the presence of the
supervising physician in the emergency room suite.

NCCPA—The National Commission on Certification of
Physician Assistants, the organization recognized by the
Board to certify and recertify physician assistants by
requiring continuing education and examination.

Protocol—Written treatment instructions prepared by
the supervising osteopathic physician for use by the
physician assistant, containing a detailed description of
the manner in which the physician assistant will assist
the physician in his practice, a list of functions to be
delegated to the physician assistant including the proce-
dures enumerated in § 25.171(a) (relating to generally)
and other specified delegated tasks, detailed instructions
for the use of the physician assistant in the performance
of delegated tasks, the method and frequency of supervi-
sion and the geographic location where the physician
assistant will serve.

Registration—The approval by the Board of an osteo-
pathic physician, licensed to practice osteopathic medicine
and surgery without restriction, to supervise and utilize a
specified physician assistant.

Satellite operations—An office or clinic separate and
apart from the office of the supervising physician estab-
lished by the physician and manned exclusively by a
physician assistant.

Supervising physician—A physician licensed to practice
osteopathic medicine and surgery in this Commonwealth
who registers with the Board and who accepts the
responsibility for the supervision of services rendered by
physician assistants.

Supervision—The opportunity or ability of the physi-
cian, or in his absence a substitute supervising physician,
to provide or exercise control and direction over the
services of physician assistants. Constant physical pres-
ence of the supervising physician on the premises is not
required so long as the supervising physician and the
physician assistant are or can easily be in contact with
each other by radio, telephone or telecommunication.
Supervision requires the availability of the supervising
physician to the physician assistant. An appropriate
degree of supervision includes:

(i) Active and continuing overview of the physician
assistant’s activities to determine that the physician’s
directions are being implemented.

(i1) Immediate availability of the supervising physician
to the physician assistant for necessary consultations.

(iii) Personal and regular—at least weekly—review by
the supervising physician of the patient records upon
which entries are made by the physician assistant.

(iv) Periodic—at least monthly—education and review
sessions held by the supervising physician for the physi-
cian assistant under his supervision for discussion of
specific conditions, protocols, procedures and specific pa-
tients.
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Written agreement—The agreement between the physi-
cian assistant and supervising physician, which satisfies
the requirements of § 25.162(a)(4) (relating to criteria for
registration as supervising physician).

LICENSURE OF PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS AND
REGISTRATION OF SUPERVISING PHYSICIANS

§ 25.161. Criteria for licensure as a physician assis-
tant.

(a) The Board has approved as a proficiency examina-
tion the national certification examination on primary
care developed by the NCCPA. The Board will maintain a
current register of approved proficiency examinations.
This register will list the full name of the examination,
the organization giving the examination, the mailing
address of the examination organization and the date the
proficiency examination received Board approval. This
register shall be available for public inspection.

(b) The clinical experience required by the Board is at
present identical to the clinical experience required by the
NCCPA for taking the NCCPA examination on primary
care. To qualify for an NCCPA proficiency examination,
the applicant’s employment history must be verified by
the NCCPA in cooperation with the Board and must be
evaluated by the NCCPA in relation to specific work
criteria.

(¢) The Board will approve for licensure as a physician
assistant an applicant who:

(1) Is of good moral character and reputation.

(2) Has graduated from a physician assistant training
program certified by the Board.

(3) Has submitted a completed application detailing his
education and work experience, together with the re-
quired fee.

(4) Has passed a proficiency examination approved by
the Board.

(d) The physician assistant may amend information
regarding his education and work experience submitted
under the requirements of subsection (c)(3), by submitting
to the Board in writing additional detailed information.
No additional fee will be required. The file for each
physician assistant will be reviewed by the Board to
determine whether the physician assistant possesses the
necessary skills to perform the tasks that a physician,
applying for registration to supervise and utilize the
physician assistant, intends to delegate to him as set
forth in the protocol contained in the physician’s applica-
tion for registration.

(e) A person who has been licensed as a physician
assistant by the State Board of Medicine shall make a
separate application to the Board if he intends to provide
physician assistant services for a physician licensed to
practice osteopathic medicine and surgery without restric-
tion.

(f) An application for licensure as a physician assistant
by the Board may be obtained by writing to the Harris-
burg office of the Board.

§ 25.163. Approval and effect of licensure; biennial
renewal of physician assistants; registration of
supervising physicians.

(a) Upon approval of an application for licensure as a
physician assistant, the Board will issue a physician
assistant license which contains the licensee’s name,

license number and the date of issuance, after payment of
the fee required under § 25.231 (relating to schedule of
fees).

(b) A physician assistant’s right to continue practicing
is conditioned upon biennial renewal and the payment of
the fee required under § 25.231. Upon receipt of the form
provided to the physician assistant by the Board in
advance of the renewal period and the required fee, the
Board will issue the physician assistant a biennial re-
newal certificate containing the licensee’s name, license
number and the beginning and ending dates of the
biennial renewal period.

(c) To be eligible for renewal of a physician assistant
license, the physician assistant shall complete continuing
medical education as required by NCCPA and maintain
National certification by completing current certification
and recertification mechanisms available to the profes-
sion, identified on NCCPA’s web site and recognized by
the Board. The Board recognizes certification through
NCCPA and its successor organizations and certification
through any other National organization for which the
Board publishes recognition of the organization’s certifica-
tion of physician assistants on the Board’s web site.

(d) Upon approval of an application for registration as
a supervising physician, the Board will issue a supervis-
ing physician registration certificate which contains the
name of the supervising physician, his registration num-
ber and the name of the physician assistant that he is
authorized to supervise under that specific registration.
The registration is not subject to remnewal. When the
physician submits a request to modify a protocol with
respect to a physician assistant he is already registered to
utilize, no new registration certificate will be issued;
however, the physician will receive a letter from the
Board confirming its approval of the expanded utilization.

(e) Only a physician registered with the Board may use
the services of physician assistants. A physician assistant
shall have a clearly identified supervising physician who
is professionally and legally responsible for the physician
assistant’s services. Whenever a physician assistant is
employed by a professional corporation or partnership, an
individual physician must still register as the supervising
physician. Each member of a professional corporation or
partnership may register as a supervising physician.
When a physician assistant is employed by a professional
corporation or partnership, the registered supervising
physician is not relieved of the professional and legal
responsibility for the care and treatment of patients
attended by the physician assistant under his supervi-
sion.

(f) The Board will keep a current register of persons
licensed as physician assistants. This register will include
the name of each physician assistant, the physician
assistant’s mailing address of record, current business
address, the date of initial licensure, biennial renewal
record and current supervising physician. This register is
available for public inspection.

(g) The Board will keep a current register of approved
registered supervising physicians. This register will in-
clude the physician’s name, his mailing address of record,
his current business address, the date of his initial
registration, his satellite operation if applicable, the
names of current physician assistants under his supervi-
sion and the names of physicians willing to provide
substitute supervision in his absence. This register will be
available for public inspection.
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§ 25.164. Professional liability insurance coverage
for licensed physician assistants.

(a) A licensed physician assistant shall maintain a
level of professional liability insurance coverage as
required under section 10(g.3) of the act (63 P.S.
§ 271.10(g.3)).

(b) Proof of professional liability insurance coverage
may include:

(1) A certificate of insurance or copy of the declaration
page from the applicable insurance policy setting forth
the effective date, expiration date and dollar amounts of
coverage.

(2) Evidence of a plan of self-insurance approved by the
Insurance Commissioner of the Commonwealth under
regulations of the Insurance Department in 31 Pa. Code
Chapter 243 (relating to medical malpractice and health-
related self-insurance plans).

(c) A license that was issued in reliance upon a letter
from the applicant’s insurance carrier indicating that the
applicant will be covered against professional liability
effective upon the issuance of the applicant’s license as
permitted under section 10(g.3)(2) of the act will become
inactive as a matter of law 30 days after issuance of the
license if the licensee has not provided proof of profes-
sional liability insurance coverage and will remain inac-
tive until the licensee provides proof of insurance cover-
age.

(d) A licensee who does not have professional liability
insurance coverage as required under section 10(g.3) of
the act may not practice as a physician assistant in this
Commonwealth.

PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT UTILIZATION

§ 25.176. Monitoring and review of physician assis-
tant utilization.

(a) Designated representatives of the Board will be
authorized to make on-site visits to the office of registered
supervising physicians and medical care facilities utiliz-
ing physician assistants to review the following:

(1) Supervision of physician assistants.

(2) Maintenance of the protocols and compliance with
them.

(3) Utilization in conformity with the provisions of this
subchapter.

(4) Identification of physician assistants.

(5) Compliance with certification and registration re-
quirements.

(b) Reports shall be submitted to the Board and be-
come a permanent record under the supervising physi-
cian’s registration. Deficiencies reported shall be reviewed
by the Board and may provide a basis for disciplinary
action against the license of the physician assistant and
the license or registration, or both, of the supervising
physician.

(¢c) The Board reserves the right to review physician
assistant utilization and records associated therewith,
including patient records, without prior notice to either
the physician assistant or the registered supervising
physician. It will be considered a violation of this
subchapter for a supervising physician to refuse to un-
dergo a review by the Board.

PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT REQUIREMENTS IN
EMPLOYMENT

§ 25.191. Physician assistant identification.

(a) No physician assistant may render medical services
nor a permitted task as set forth in this chapter to a
patient until the patient has been informed of the
following:

(1) That the physician assistant is not a physician.

(2) That the physician assistant may perform the ser-
vices required as an employee of the physician and as
directed by the supervising physician.

(3) That the patient has the right not to be treated by
the physician assistant if he so desires.

(b) It shall be the supervising physician’s responsibility
to ensure that patients are apprised of subsection (a) and
it shall further be his responsibility to be alert to patient
complaints concerning the type or quality of services
provided by the physician assistant.

(¢) In the supervising physician’s office and a satellite
operation, a notice plainly visible to patients shall be
posted in a prominent place explaining the meaning of
the term “physician assistant.” The supervising physician
shall display his registration to supervise the office. The
physician assistant’s license shall be prominently dis-
played in all facilities in which he may function. Dupli-
cate certificates may be obtained from the Board if
required.

(d) The physician assistant shall wear an identification
tag which uses the term “Physician Assistant,” in 16 point
type or larger, conspicuously worn.

§ 25.192. Notification of termination of employ-
ment; change of address.

(a) The physician assistant is required to notify the
Board of a termination of employment or change of
mailing address within 15 days. Failure to notify the
Board, in writing, of change in mailing address may
result in failure to receive pertinent material distributed
by the Board.

(b) The supervising physician is required to notify the
Board of a termination of his supervision of a physician
assistant within 15 days.

(¢) Failure to notify the Board of a termination in the
physician/physician assistant relationship shall provide a
basis for disciplinary action against the physician assis-
tant’s license, the supervising physician’s license or regis-
tration as a supervising physician.

DISCIPLINARY ACTION AGAINST LICENSE OF
PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT

§ 25.201. Grounds for complaint.

(a) The bases upon which the Board may take disci-
plinary action against the license of a physician assistant
are set forth in section 15(b) of the act (63 P.S.
§ 271.15(b)). A complaint against a physician assistant
shall allege that the physician assistant is performing
tasks in violation of statute, regulation or good and
acceptable standards of practice of physician assistants.
The grounds include those specifically enumerated in
section 15(b) of the act. Unprofessional conduct shall
include, but is not limited to, the following:

(1) Misrepresentation or concealment of a material fact
in obtaining a license or a reinstatement thereof.
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(2) Commission of an offense under a statute of the
Commonwealth relating to the practice of physician assis-
tants or under this chapter.

(3) The commission of an act involving moral turpitude,
dishonesty or corruption when the act directly or indi-
rectly affects the health, welfare or safety of citizens of
the Commonwealth. If the act constitutes a crime, convic-
tion thereof in a criminal proceeding will not be a
condition precedent to disciplinary action.

(4) Conviction of a felony, defined as such under the
statute of the Commonwealth or under the laws of
another state, territory or country.

(5) Misconduct in his practice as a physician assistant
or performing a task fraudulently, beyond its authorized
scope, with incompetence or with negligence on a particu-
lar occasion or on repeated occasions.

(6) Performing tasks as a physician assistant while the
ability to do so is impaired by alcohol, drugs, physical
disability or mental instability.

(7) Impersonation of a licensed physician or another
licensed physician assistant.

(8) The offering, undertaking or agreeing to cure or
treat disease by a secret method, procedure, treatment or
medicine; the treating or prescribing for a human condi-
tion by a method, means or procedure which the physi-
cian assistant refuses to divulge upon demand of the
Board; or the use of methods or treatment which are not
in accordance with treatment processes accepted by a
reasonable segment of the medical profession.

(9) Violation of this chapter fixing a standard of profes-
sional conduct.

(b) Subsection (a) supplements 1 Pa. Code § 35.10 (re-
lating to form and content of formal complaints).

Subchapter D. MINIMUM STANDARDS OF
PRACTICE

§ 25.215. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
subchapter, have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

Board-regulated practitioner—An osteopathic physician,
perfusionist, physician assistant, respiratory therapist,
athletic trainer, acupuncturist or an applicant for a
license or certificate issued by the Board.

Immediate family member—A parent or guardian, child,
sibling, spouse or other family member, whether related
by blood or marriage, with whom a patient resides.

Sexual behavior—Any sexual conduct which is
nondiagnostic and nontherapeutic; it may be verbal or
physical and may include expressions of thoughts and
feelings or gestures that are sexual in nature or that
reasonably may be construed by a patient as sexual in
nature.

Sexual exploitation—Any sexual behavior that uses
trust, knowledge, emotions or influence derived from the
professional relationship.

Subchapter F. FEES
§ 25.231. Schedule of fees.

An applicant for a license, certificate, registration or
service shall pay the following fees at the time of
application:

* * * Ed *
Application for physician assistant license......... $30
* * * * *

Subchapter K. RESPIRATORY THERAPISTS
§ 25.501. Purpose.

This subchapter implements sections 10.1 and 10.2 of
the act (63 P.S. §§ 271.10a and 271.10b), which were
added by section 3 of the act of July 2, 1993 (P. L. 418,
No. 59) to provide for the licensure of respiratory thera-
pists.

§ 25.502. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
subchapter, have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

AARC—American Association for Respiratory Care, an
organization which provides continuing professional de-
velopment programs.

AMA—American Medical Association, an organization
which provides continuing professional development pro-
grams.

AOA—American Osteopathic Association, an organiza-
tion which provides continuing professional development
programs.

Act—The Osteopathic Medical Practice Act (63 P.S.
§§ 271.1—271.18).

CoARC—The Committee on Accreditation for Respira-
tory Care, an organization which accredits respiratory
care programs.

CSRT—Canadian Society of Respiratory Therapists, an
organization which provides continuing professional de-
velopment programs.

NBRC—The National Board for Respiratory Care, the
agency recognized by the Board to certify respiratory
therapists.

Practice building—Marketing or any other activity that
has as its primary purpose increasing the business vol-
ume or revenue of a licensee or the licensee’s employer.

Respiratory therapist—A person who has been licensed
in accordance with the act and this subchapter.

§ 25.503. Fees.

The following is the schedule of fees charged by the
Board:

(1) Temporary permit..............coovvvnueeo.... $30
(2) Initial license application ..................... $30
(3) Licensure examination....................... $100
(4) Reexamination ...........ouuuueeeeeinnnnan. $60
(5) Biennial renewal of licensure ................. $25

§ 25.504. Licensure of respiratory therapists; prac-
tice; exceptions.

(a) A person may not practice or hold himself out as
being able to practice as a respiratory therapist in this
Commonwealth unless the person holds a valid, current
temporary permit or license issued by the Board, or the
State Board of Medicine under Chapter 18 (relating to
State Board of Medicine—practitioners other than med-
ical doctors), or is exempted under section 10.1(e) of the
act (63 P. S. § 271.10a(e)) or section 13.1(e) of the Medical
Practice Act of 1985 (63 P. S. § 422.13a(e)).

(b) A person may not use the words “licensed respira-
tory therapist” or “respiratory care practitioner,” the
letters “LRT,” “RT” or “RCP” or similar words and related
abbreviations to imply that respiratory care services are
being provided, unless the services are provided by a
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respiratory therapist who holds a valid, current tempo-
rary permit or license issued by the Board or the State
Board of Medicine and only while working under the
supervision of a licensed physician.

§ 25.505. Functions of respiratory therapists.

(a) Under section 10.1(d) of the act (63 P.S.
§ 271.10a(d)), a respiratory therapist may implement
direct respiratory care to an individual being treated by
either a licensed medical doctor or a licensed doctor of
osteopathic medicine, upon prescription or referral by a
physician, certified registered nurse practitioner or physi-
cian assistant, or under medical direction and approval
consistent with standing orders or protocols of an institu-
tion or health care facility. This care may constitute
indirect services such as consultation or evaluation of an
individual and also includes, but is not limited to, the
following services:

(1) Administration of medical gases.

(2) Humidity and aerosol therapy.

(3) Administration of aerosolized medications.

(4) Intermittent positive pressure breathing.

(5) Incentive spirometry.

(6) Bronchopulmonary hygiene.

(7) Management and maintenance of natural airways.
(8) Maintenance and insertion of artificial airways.

(9) Cardiopulmonary rehabilitation.

(10) Management and maintenance of mechanical ven-
tilation.

(11) Measurement of ventilatory flows, volumes and
pressures.

(12) Analysis of ventilatory gases and blood gases.

(b) Under section 10.1(d) of the act, a respiratory
therapist may perform the activities listed in subsection
(a) only upon prescription or referral by a physician,
certified registered nurse practitioner or physician assis-
tant or while under medical direction consistent with
standing orders or protocols in an institution or health
care facility.

§ 25.506. Temporary permits.

(a) A temporary permit will be issued to an applicant,
who is not yet a licensee, who submits evidence satisfac-
tory to the Board, on forms supplied by the Board, that
the applicant has met one or more of the following
criteria:

(1) Has graduated from a respiratory care program
approved by the CoARC.

(2) Is enrolled in a respiratory care program approved
by the CoARC and expects to graduate within 30 days of
the date of application to the Board for a temporary
permit.

(3) Meets the applicable requirements and is recog-
nized as a credentialed respiratory therapist by the
NBRC.

(b) A temporary permit is valid for 12 months and for
an additional period as the Board may, in each case,
specially determine except that a temporary permit ex-
pires if the holder fails the entry level credentialing
examination. An applicant who fails the entry level
credentialing examination may apply to retake it.

§ 25.507. Criteria for licensure as a respiratory
therapist.

The Board will approve for licensure as a respiratory
therapist an applicant who:

(1) Submits evidence satisfactory to the Board, on
forms supplied by the Board, that the applicant has met
one or more of the following criteria:

(i) Has graduated from a respiratory care program
approved by the CoARC and passed the entry level
credentialing examination as determined by the NBRC.

(i1) Holds a valid license, certificate or registration as a
respiratory therapist in another state, territory or the
District of Columbia which has been issued based on
requirements substantially the same as those required by
the Commonwealth, including the examination require-
ment.

(2) Has paid the appropriate fee in a form acceptable to
the Board.

§ 25.508. Change of name or address.

A licensee shall inform the Board in writing within 10
days of a change of name or mailing address.

§ 25.509. Renewal of licensure.

(a) A license issued under this subchapter expires on
December 31 of every even-numbered year unless re-
newed for the next biennium.

(b) Biennial renewal forms and other forms and litera-
ture to be distributed by the Board will be forwarded to
the last mailing address given to the Board.

(¢) To retain the right to engage in practice, the
licensee shall renew licensure in the manner prescribed
by the Board, pay the required fee and comply with the
continuing education requirement of § 25.509a (relating
to requirement of continuing education), prior to the
expiration of the current biennium.

(d) When a license is renewed after December 31 of an
even-numbered year, a penalty fee of $5 for each month
or part of a month of practice beyond the renewal date
will be charged in addition to the renewal fee.

§ 25.509a. Requirement of continuing education.

(a) An applicant for biennial renewal or reactivation of
licensure is required to complete a minimum of 30 hours
of continuing education as set forth in section 10.2(f)(2) of
the act (63 P. S. § 271.10b(f)(2)) subject to the following:

(1) At least 10 continuing education hours shall be
obtained through traditional continuing education such as
classroom lecture, clinical presentation, real-time web-
cast or other live sessions where a presenter is involved.
For nontraditional continuing education such as prere-
corded presentations, Internet-based presentations and
journal review programs, to qualify for credit, the pro-
vider shall make available documented verification of
completion of the course or program.

(2) One hour must be completed in medical ethics, and
1 hour must be completed in patient safety.

(3) Credit will not be given for continuing education in
basic life support, including basic cardiac life support and
cardiopulmonary resuscitation. In any given biennial re-
newal period, a licensee may receive credit for no more
than 8 continuing education hours in advanced life
support, including advanced cardiac life support, neonatal
advanced life support/neonatal resuscitation and pediatric
advanced life support.
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(4) A licensee will not receive continuing education
credit for participating in a continuing education activity
with objectives and content identical to those of another
continuing education activity within the same biennial
renewal period for which credit was granted.

(b) An individual applying for the first time for
licensure in this Commonwealth is exempt from complet-
ing the continuing education requirements during the
initial biennial renewal period in which the license is
issued.

(c) The Board may waive all or a portion of the
requirements of continuing education in cases of serious
illness, undue hardship or military service. It shall be the
duty of each licensee who seeks a waiver to notify the
Board in writing and request the waiver prior to the end
of the renewal period. The request must be made in
writing, with appropriate documentation, and include a
description of circumstances sufficient to show why the
licensee is unable to comply with the continuing educa-
tion requirement. The Board will grant, deny or grant in
part the request for waiver and will send the licensee
written notification of its approval or denial of the waiver
request. A licensee who requests a waiver may not
practice as a respiratory therapist after the expiration of
the licensee’s current license until the Board grants the
waiver request.

(d) A licensee shall maintain the information and docu-
mentation concerning compliance with the continuing
education requirement or the waiver granted for a period
of at least 2 years after the end of the biennial renewal
period to which the continuing education or waiver
applies, the date of completion of the continuing educa-
tion or grant of the waiver, whichever is latest, and
provide the information and documentation to representa-
tives of the Board upon request.

§ 25.509b. Approved educational programs.

(a) The Board approves respiratory care continuing
education programs designated for professional develop-
ment credits by the AARC, the AMA, the AOA and the
CSRT.

(1) Qualifying AMA continuing education programs
must be in AMA PRA Category I credits, as defined in
§ 25.1 (relating to definitions).

(2) Qualifying AOA continuing education programs
must be in Category I-A or I-B credits, as defined in
§ 25.1.

(b) Advanced course work in respiratory care success-
fully completed at a degree-granting institution of higher
education approved by the United States Department of
Education which offers academic credits are also ap-
proved for continuing education credit by the Board.
Advanced course work is course work beyond the aca-
demic requirements necessary for licensure as a respira-
tory therapist.

(¢) The Board will not accept courses of study which do
not relate to the actual provision of respiratory care.
Examples of unacceptable courses are those in office
management or practice building.

§ 25.510. Inactive status.

(a) A licensee who does not intend to practice in this
Commonwealth and who does not desire to renew
licensure shall inform the Board in writing. Written
confirmation of inactive status will be forwarded to the
licensee.

(b) A licensee shall notify the Board, in writing, of the
licensee’s desire to reactivate the license.

(¢) A licensee who is applying to return to active status
is required to pay fees which are due for the current
biennium and submit a sworn statement stating the
period of time during which the licensee was not engaged
in practice in this Commonwealth.

(d) The applicant for reactivation will not be assessed a
fee or penalty for preceding biennal periods in which the
applicant did not engage in practice in this Common-
wealth.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 14-235. Filed for public inspection January 31, 2014, 9:00 a.m.]

BUREAU OF PROFESSIONAL AND
OCCUPATIONAL AFFAIRS

[ 49 PA. CODE CH. 43b ]
Corrective Amendment to 49 Pa. Code § 43b.4

The Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs
has discovered a discrepancy between the agency text of
49 Pa. Code § 43b.4 (relating to schedule of civil penal-
ties—barbers and barber shops) as deposited with the
Legislative Reference Bureau and the official text as
published at 36 Pa.B. 7833, 7836 (December 23, 2006)
and as currently appearing in the Pennsylvania Code.
The citation for a violation of section 7 of the act of June
19, 1931 (P. L. 589, No. 202) (63 P. S. § 557), “availability
of current license on premises,” was cited incorrectly.

Therefore, under 45 Pa.C.S. § 901: The Bureau of
Professional and Occupational Affairs has deposited with
the Legislative Reference Bureau a corrective amendment
to 49 Pa. Code § 43b.4. The corrective amendment to 49
Pa. Code § 43b.4 is effective December 23, 2006, the
effective date of adoption of the final-form rulemaking
amending this section.

The correct version of 49 Pa. Code § 43b.4 appears in
Annex A.
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Annex A

TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL STANDARDS
PART 1. DEPARTMENT OF STATE
Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL AFFAIRS
CHAPTER 43b. COMMISSIONER OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL AFFAIRS

SCHEDULE OF CIVIL PENALTIES, GUIDELINES FOR IMPOSITION OF CIVIL PENALTIES AND
PROCEDURES FOR APPEAL

§ 43b.4. Schedule of civil penalties—barbers and barber shops.
STATE BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS

Violation
under 35 P. S.

Section 637.6(a)(1)

Section 637.6(a)(2)

Section 637.6(a)(3)

Violation
under 63 P. S.
Section 551
Section 557

Section 558

Section 562(a)(2)

Section 559

Section 560
Section 560

Section 562

Section 560

Section 563(a)

Title/ Description

Failure of licensed barber shop or school to post
a sign as required under section 4 of the Clean
Indoor Air Act (35 P. S. § 637.4)

Barber shop permitting smoking in the barber
shop or barber school permitting smoking in
the barber school in violation of the Clean
Indoor Air Act (35 P. S. §§ 637.1—637.11)

Licensee of the Board smoking in a barber shop
or in a barber school in violation of the Clean
Indoor Air Act

Title/ Description
Practicing without a license
Availability of current license on premises

Practicing on a lapsed or expired license

Operating a business or facility on a lapsed or
expired permit or license

Failure to employ licensed persons

Opening shop for business before shop inspected
and approved

Failure to file application when taking over as
owner of existing shop

Operating an establishment without supervision
of designated manager barber or other
designated licensee

Operating a business or facility without a permit
or license

Licensee practicing in place other than licensed
shop

Civil Penalty

1st offense—$250

2nd offense (within 1 year of 1st offense)—$500

3rd offense (within 1 year of 2nd
offense)—$1,000

Subsequent offenses (within 1 year of previous
offense)—$1,000

1st offense—$250

2nd offense (within 1 year of 1st offense)—$500

3rd offense (within 1 year of 2nd
offense)—$1,000

Subsequent offenses (within 1 year of previous
offense)—$1,000

1st offense—$250

2nd offense (within 1 year of 1st offense)—$500

3rd offense (within 1 year of 2nd
offense)—$1,000

Subsequent offenses (within 1 year of previous
offense)—$1,000

Civil Penalty

1st offense—$500
2nd offense—Formal action

1st offense—$150

2nd offense—$500

1st offense—Up to 90 days—Warning; 90 days
to 1 year—$250; 1 year to 2 years—$500;
over 2 years—$1,000

2nd offense—Formal action

1st offense—Up to 90 days—Warning; 90 days
to 1 year—$250; from 1 year to 2
years—$500; over 2 years—$1,000

2nd offense—Formal action

1st offense—$500 for each individual
unlicensed barber
2nd offense—Formal action

1st offense—$200
2nd offense—Formal action

1st offense—$500
2nd offense—Formal action

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—Formal action

1st offense—$500
2nd offense—Formal action

1st offense—$500
2nd offense—Formal action
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Violation
under 49 Pa. Code
Chapter 3

Section 3.51(a)

Title/ Description

moves

Section 3.51(b) Failure to register trade name

Section 3.54
requirements

Section 3.55
sanitation requirements

Section 3.85

Section 3.86
not met

Section 3.89

Failure to obtain new shop license when shop

Failure to meet minimum equipment

Failure to meet minimum maintenance and

School equipment does not meet requirements

School advertising requirements not met

Civil Penalty

1st offense—$500
2nd offense—Formal action

1st offense—$100
2nd offense—Formal action

1st offense—$100
2nd offense—Formal action

1st offense—$100
2nd offense—Formal action

1st offense—$100
2nd offense—Formal action

School maintenance and sanitation requirements 1st offense—$250

2nd offense—Formal action

1st offense—$250
2nd offense—Formal action

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 14-236. Filed for public inspection January 31, 2014, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 58—RECREATION

PENNSYLVANIA GAMING CONTROL BOARD

[ 58 PA. CODE CHS. 461a, 463a, 464a, 465a,
607a, 627a, 629a, 631a AND 633a ]

Slot Machine and Table Game Device Testing and
Control; Possession of Slot Machines and Fully
Automated Electronic Gaming Tables; Slot Ma-
chine Tournaments; Accounting and Internal
Controls; Possession of Table Game and Table
Game Devices; Rules of Play

The Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board (Board), un-
der the general authority in 4 Pa.C.S. § 1202(b)(30)
(relating to general and specific powers) and the specific
authority in 4 Pa.C.S. §§ 1207(3), (6), (9) and (21) and
13A02(1), (2) and (4) (relating to regulatory authority of
board; and regulatory authority), amends Chapters 461a,
463a, 465a, 627a, 629a, 631a and 633a and adds Chap-
ters 464a and 607a (relating to slot machine tourna-
ments; and possession of table games and table game
devices) to read as set forth in Annex A.

Purpose of the Final-Form Rulemaking

This final-form rulemaking amends the requirements
for the termination, transfer or modification of progres-
sive jackpots, requires operators to provide monthly table
game device master lists to the Bureau of Gaming
Laboratory Operations (Bureau), codifies Board policy on
slot machine tournaments and adds an additional side
wager to the Baccarat games.

§ 461a.1. Definitions

The definitions added in this section are moved from
§ 461a.12 (relating to progressive slot machines).

§ 461a.8. Gaming vouchers

Although operators are required to file a report with
the State Treasurer regarding old gaming vouchers that
will escheat to the Commonwealth, operators are no
longer required to submit a copy of that report to the
Board.

§ 461a.12. Progressive slot machines

The definitions of “progressive slot machine” and “wide
area progressive system” are moved from subsection (a) to
§ 461a.1 (relating to definitions) as these definitions are
applicable to all sections in the chapter. Subsections
(b)—(f) and (h) are amended for clarity.

Subsection (k) requires operators to receive written
approval from the Bureau prior to capping or transferring
a progressive jackpot. Additionally, operators may trans-
fer progressive jackpots to machines with the same or
similar probability of winning.

Subsection (k)(5) now states that if a transfer cannot be
made slot machine licensees may remove the progressive
functionality, change the game theme or permanently
remove the machine from the gaming floor. This section is
amended to ensure that progressive jackpots are not
taken off the gaming floor if they can be transferred and
not without prior approval from the Bureau. Additionally,
final-form subsection (1) ensures that progressive jackpots
that are removed are not simply returned to the gaming
floor with lower reset amounts within a short period of
time after removal. The remaining sections are renum-
bered.

$ 461a.26. Testing and software installation on the live
gaming floor

The Board adds four types of electronic devices that
require Bureau testing and approval prior to placement
on the live gaming floor.

Chapter 463a. Possession of slot machines and fully auto-
mated electronic gaming tables

This chapter addresses the requirements for the posses-
sion of slot machines in this Commonwealth. Fully auto-
mated electronic gaming tables, which are more similar to
slot machines that do not have a dealer than other types
of table games, are added to the requirements in this
chapter. Operators are required to include fully auto-
mated electronic gaming tables to the slot machine
master device list which operators are required to submit
to the Bureau monthly.

Chapter 464a. Slot machine tournaments

This chapter codifies a Board policy known to the
industry as § 461b.6. This policy was not published in the
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Pennsylvania Bulletin. The policy allowing operators to
conduct tournaments was submitted to the industry on
November 23, 2011, and was subsequently updated to
allow for the charging of fees. This chapter reflects the
current policy, submitted to the industry on March 21,
2012, without substantive revisions.

Operators shall submit a notice of intent to conduct a
tournament to the Board as well as the Department of
Revenue (Department) 10 days prior to the start of the
tournament. In accordance with statutory provisions,
operators may charge a fee to enter tournaments provided
that the revenue generated is reported to the Depart-
ment. Operators have discretion to establish rules of
entry and prize structures provided that the rules are
specified in the notice and provided to patrons who
participate in the tournament.

§ 465a.2. Internal control systems and audit protocols

A minor amendment updates the name of the form that
operators complete when submitting updated internal
controls. Additionally, the language regarding the submis-
sion of changes to internal controls to the Department is
deleted. The Department is sent only initial internal
control submissions prior to a casino opening.

$ 465a.19. Acceptance of tips or gratuities from patrons

Language is added in subsection (d) which allows
dealers to accept as a tip a winning wager that a patron
has identified as a tip prior to play provided, however,
that the tip shall be collected and deposited after the
round of play or after a roll of the dice in craps that
decides the outcome of the wager. A dealer is not allowed
to subsequently wager a winning tip.

§ 465a.33. Access to areas containing central control
computer equipment

A minor amendment was made to the key control
requirements for access to the central control computer
system.

Chapter 607a. Possession of table games and table game
devices

This chapter addresses the possession of table games
and table game devices. This chapter is similar to Chap-
ter 463a (relating to possession of slot machines and fully
automated electronic gaming tables). Section 607a.1
(relating to transportation of table games and table game
devices into, within and out of this Commonwealth)
requires persons transporting table games or table game
devices to notify the Bureau and the Bureau of Casino
Compliance that equipment is being shipped. Section
607a.2 (relating to table game device master list) requires
operators to provide a monthly table game master list
for certain table game equipment enumerated in subsec-
tion (a).

Section 607a.3 (relating to off premises storage of table
games and table game devices) requires operators to
obtain approval prior to storing table games or table
game devices in locations other than the licensed facility.
These provisions are consistent with the requirements
applicable to slot machines.

Chapter 627a. Minibaccarat
Chapter 629a. Midibaccarat
Chapter 631a. Baccarat

Panda 8, a new side wager, is added for the Baccarat
type games. The sections on layout, wager and payout
odds are amended accordingly.

§ 633a.13. Payout odds; payout limitation

The payout table applicable to the hit and run progres-
sive wager for Blackjack is corrected in subsection (I)(1).

Additional Revisions
§ 461a.5. Slot machine conversions

A minor revision was made in this section to reflect
that § 463a.6 is rescinded and the requirements were
moved and combined with § 463a.4 (relating to notice
and connection to the central control computer system).

$ 461a.12. Progressive slot machines

In subsection (b)(7), the proposed language regarding
progressive controllers that are not stored in a slot
machine was replaced. Operators should have greater
flexibility as to which departments will be responsible for
key control provided that slot operations controls one key.
Additionally, the licensee shall notify the Bureau if the
progressive controller not located in a machine is to be
accessed.

In subsection (k)(1), language was added stating that if
the operator is going to place a cap on the progressive
jackpot amount, the operator shall receive written ap-
proval from the Bureau prior to imposing the payout
limit. These approvals are done electronically, typically by
e-mail.

The proposed language in subsection (k)(5)(ii) was
amended for clarity.

Language in final-form subsection (n) was deleted. The
deleted language in this subsection is unnecessary as the
requirements for transfers is addressed in subsection

(k)(4).

§ 463a.1. Possession of slot machines and fully automated
electronic gaming tables generally

Language in subsection (d) regarding the time period
for Board approval of educational institutions, unlicensed
manufacturers/suppliers and other persons to possess slot
machines and electronic gaming tables was deleted. A
request to possess slots and tables by persons, other than
licensed entities, is treated like a petition. When a
petition is filed it is answered by the Office of Enforce-
ment Counsel within 30 days. Only after the Office of
Enforcement Counsel answers a petition is it ready for
the Board’s consideration at an upcoming public meeting.
Depending on the public meeting schedule, it may be
more than 60 days before the Board can act on a request.

Subsection (e) is amended to allow the Board’s designee
(the Executive Director) to approve an alternative loca-
tion to store slots and fully automated tables.

$ 463a.2. Transportation of slot machines and fully auto-
mated electronic gaming tables into, within and out of
this Commonwealth

Many slot machine licensees now have approved, off
premises storage locations for their extra slot machines
and fully automated tables. However, the language in this
section formerly only addressed movements from one
person to another person. An additional requirement was
added in subsection (b) to ensure that the Bureau and the
onsite Casino Compliance representatives are notified
when a shipment is coming in from or going out to an off
premises storage location operated by the slot machine
licensee. The same shipment notification requirement was
added in § 607a.1.

§ 463a.4. Notice and connection to the central control
computer system

The requirements in this section and formerly in
rescinded § 463a.6 related to each other and were there-

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 44, NO. 5, FEBRUARY 1, 2014



RULES AND REGULATIONS 601

fore combined into § 463a.4. Section 463a.6 is rescinded
in this final-form rulemaking.

§ 463a.7. Off premises storage of slot machines and fully
automated electronic gaming tables

Amendments were made to the information a slot
machine licensee is required to submit as part of its
request to store slots and tables in an off premises
storage location. Operators will no longer be required to
specify in the request the expected arrival and departure
dates for the machines stored in the off premises location.
This language was deleted as unnecessary since slots and
tables may move in and out of the storage location many
times depending on the business needs of the licensee.
Similar proposed language regarding table games was
deleted in § 607a.3.

§ 607a.1. Transportation of table games and table game
devices into, within and out of this Commonwealth

A minor revision was made in subsection (a) for
consistency with the title of the section and for consis-
tency with § 463a.2 (relating to transportation of slot
machines and fully automated electronic gaming tables
into, within and out of this Commonwealth).

§ 607a.2. Table game device master list

Language was added in subsection (b)(3) requiring that
operators include in their master list a notation if tables
on the gaming floor offer a progressive or linked progres-
sive. This is extremely important because table game
progressive jackpots are funded solely through player
wagers (minus any seed amount funded from the facility).
If a facility is going to remove a table that has a
progressive, the restrictions on removal in § 605a.7 (re-
lating to progressive table game systems) would be
applicable. Including the progressive in the master list is
another mechanism to ensure that all progressives are
accounted for on a monthly basis.

§ 633a.7. Procedure for dealing the cards; completion of
each round of play

A minor revision was made in subsection (0)(2)(ii)(B) to
reflect that the payout odds for the Hit and Run Progres-
sive Wager in § 633a.13(1)(1) (relating to payout odds;
payout limitation) were corrected.

Comment and Response Summary

Notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 42
Pa.B. 6761 (October 27, 2012). During the comment
period, the Board received comments from slot machine
licensee Greenwood Gaming and Entertainment, d/b/a
Parx Casino (Parx). The Board did not receive comments
from the Independent Regulatory Review Commission

(IRRC).
Public Comment

Parx commented on the proposed rulemaking and
requested clarification on the interplay between two
provisions regarding transfer and termination of progres-
sive jackpots in § 461a.12(k).

The current regulations provide operators with options
regarding the movement of progressive jackpots. Opera-
tors can cap the progressive amount at a certain level,
terminate the jackpot when a patron wins the jackpot
amount, remove several linked progressives as long as
one progressive remains on the floor, transfer the jackpot
amount or terminate the progressive. If an operator were
terminating a progressive jackpot, the current regulations
require operators to simply notify the Board, without
approval required, and post notice of the termination on
the machine.

Many operators have taken large numbers of progres-
sive jackpots off their gaming floors resulting in many
patron complaints to the Board. The Board therefore
believes it necessary to amend the process to terminate
progressive jackpots. The language added in the proposed
and final-form rulemakings in subsection (k)(5) will still
allow for the termination of jackpots in those instances in
which a transfer cannot otherwise be made or if there is
good cause to remove the jackpots. Operators will need
approval from Bureau staff prior to posting the 30-day
removal notice on a progressive slot machine. Requests
and subsequent approvals are typically handled electroni-
cally.

Lastly, former § 461a.12(k)(4) required that if operators
were to transfer a progressive jackpot, the jackpot
amount would have to be transferred in its entirety. Parx
requested clarification regarding what portion of the
jackpot amount would have to be transferred.

It was the intention of the Board to include only the
accrued amount on the meter minus the seed or reset
amount contributed by the licensee in the amount trans-
ferred to another jackpot. Clarifying language has been
added to this section.

Affected Parties

Slot machine licensees, persons transporting table
games and devices (typically licensed manufacturers) and
table games dealers will be impacted by this final-form
rulemaking.

Fiscal Impact

Commonwealth. It is not anticipated that this final-
form rulemaking will have a fiscal impact on the Board or
other Commonwealth agencies.

Political subdivisions. This final-form rulemaking will
not have fiscal impact on political subdivisions of this
Commonwealth.

Private sector. Slot machine licensees will be required to
provide notice of slot machine tournaments and a
monthly table game device master list. Additionally,
persons transporting table games and table game devices
(manufacturers, suppliers and slot machine licensees)
into, within and out of this Commonwealth will be
required to notify the Bureau and the Bureau of Casino
Compliance of the shipment. It is anticipated that the
fiscal impact on the private sector, to prepare notices,
would be negligible.

General public. This final-form rulemaking will not
have fiscal impact on the general public.

Paperwork Requirements

This final-form rulemaking will eliminate the need to
file with the Board copies of reports that are submitted to
the State Treasurer regarding gaming vouchers.

This final-form rulemaking will require operators to
submit a monthly table game device master lists for
tables and specified table game equipment. The monthly
list is an online submission.

Operators that would like to conduct slot machine
tournaments will be required to submit to the Board and
the Department a notice specifying the rules of entry and
the prize structure. This notice is also submitted online.

Effective Date

This final-form rulemaking will become effective upon
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.
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Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)), on September 17, 2012, the Board
submitted a copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking,
published at 42 Pa.B. 6761, to IRRC and the Chairper-
sons of the House Gaming Oversight Committee and the
Senate Community, Economic and Recreational Develop-
ment Committee for review and comment.

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC
and the House and Senate Committees were provided
with copies of the comments received during the public
comment period, as well as other documents when re-
quested. In preparing the final-form rulemaking, the
Department has considered all comments from IRRC, the
House and Senate Committees and the public.

Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5a(j.2)), on December 11, 2013, the final-form
rulemaking was deemed approved by the House and
Senate Committees. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regula-
tory Review Act, IRRC met on December 12, 2013, and
approved the final-form rulemaking.

Findings
The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of intention to adopt these amend-
ments was given under sections 201 and 202 of the act of
July 31, 1968 (P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P. S. §§ 1201 and
1202) and the regulations thereunder, 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1
and 7.2.

(2) The final-form rulemaking is necessary and appro-
priate for the administration and enforcement of
4 Pa.C.S. Part II (relating to gaming).

Order
The Board, acting under 4 Pa.C.S. Part II, orders that:

(a) The regulations of the Board, 58 Pa.Code, are
amended by adding §§ 464a.1, 464a.2 and 607a.1—
607a.3, by deleting § 463a.6 and by amending §§ 461a.1,
461a.5, 461a.8, 461a.12, 461a.13, 461a.26, 463a.1—
463a.5, 463a.7, 465a.2, 465a.19, 465a.33, 627a.1, 627a.2,
627a.7, 627a.11, 627a.12, 629a.1, 629a.2, 629a.7, 629a.11,
629a.12, 631a.1, 631a.2, 631a.8, 631a.12, 631a.13, 633a.7
and 633a.13 to read as set forth in Annex A, with ellipses
referring to the existing text of the regulations.

(Editor’s Note: Sections 46la.5 and 633a.7 were not
included in the proposed rulemaking published at 42
Pa.B. 6761. Section 463a.6, which was proposed to be
amended in the proposed rulemaking, is rescinded in
Annex A.)

(Editor’s Note: Final-form rulemaking 125-166 also
amends §§ 627a.2, 627a.7, 627a.12, 629a.2, 629a.7,
629a.12, 631a.2, 631a.8, 631a.13, 633a.7 and 633a.13. See
44 Pa.B. 619 (February 1, 2014).)

(b) The Chairperson of the Board shall certify this
order and Annex A and deposit them with the Legislative
Reference Bureau as required by law.

(c) This order shall take effect upon publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.
WILLIAM H. RYAN, Jr.,
Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 43 Pa.B. 7606 (December 28, 2013).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 125-162 remains valid for the
final adoption of the subject regulations.

Annex A
TITLE 58. RECREATION
PART VII. GAMING CONTROL BOARD

Subpart E. SLOT MACHINES AND ASSOCIATED
EQUIPMENT

CHAPTER 461a. SLOT MACHINE AND TABLE
GAME DEVICE TESTING AND CONTROL

§ 461a.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
subpart, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

* ES * kS ES

Progressive awards—The award to be paid out when
the event in the progressive game that triggered the
award occurs.

Progressive controller—A program or computer system,
other than an approved program that controls the opera-
tion of the slot machine, which controls, adjusts and
displays the amount of the progressive jackpot.

Progressive payout—A slot machine payout that in-
creases in a monetary amount based on the amounts
wagered in a progressive system.

Progressive slot machine—A slot machine that offers a
jackpot that may increase in value based upon the slot
machine wagers placed.

Pseudo random number generator—Software or hard-
ware, or both, that ensures the randomness of slot
machine outcomes.

* & * & *

Wide area progressive system—Progressive slot ma-
chines located at a licensed facility that are linked with
progressive slot machines at another licensed facility.

§ 461a.5. Slot machine conversions.
A slot machine licensee shall:

(1) Maintain complete and accurate records of all con-
versions.

(2) Give prior notice of a slot machine conversion to the
Bureau of Gaming Laboratory Operations in writing.

(3) Notice the Department in accordance with § 463a.4
(relating to notice and connection to the central control
computer system).

§ 461a.8. Gaming vouchers.
*® * % * %

(d) Prior to issuing a gaming voucher, a slot machine
licensee shall establish a system of internal controls for
the issuance and redemption of gaming vouchers. The
internal controls shall be submitted and approved by the
Board under § 465a.2 (relating to internal control sys-
tems and audit protocols) and address:

(1) Procedures for assigning a slot machine’s asset
number and identifying other redemption locations in the
system, and enabling and disabling voucher capabilities
for slot machines and redemption locations.

(2) Procedures for issuance, modification and termina-
tion of a unique system account for each user in accord-
ance with technical standards under § 461b.3.

(3) Procedures used to configure and maintain user
passwords in accordance with technical standards under
§ 461b.3.
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(4) Procedures for restricting special rights and privi-
leges, such as administrator and override capabilities, in
accordance with technical standards under § 461Db.3.

(5) The duties and responsibilities of the information
technology, internal audit, slot operations and finance
departments, respectively, and the level of access for each
position with regard to the gaming voucher system.

(6) A description of physical controls on all critical
hardware such as locks and surveillance, including the
location and security protocols applicable to each piece of
equipment.

(7) Procedures for the backup and timely recovery of
critical data in accordance with technical standards under
§ 461b.3.

(8) Logs used to document and maintain the details of
Board-approved hardware and software modifications
upon implementation.

(9) Procedures for the payment of the value of
unredeemed gaming vouchers, which individually or in
the aggregate equal $25 or more, to a patron whose
identity can be determined by the slot machine licensee
using the slot machine licensee’s player tracking system.

(10) Procedures for the retention, tracking and pay-
ment of the value of unredeemed gaming vouchers to the
State Treasurer as required by Article XIII.1 of The Fiscal
Code (72 P. S. §§ 1301.1—1301.28a) regarding the dispo-
sition of abandoned and unclaimed property.

(e) The system of internal controls required to be
submitted and approved by the Board under subsection
(d) must also include the procedures to be applied in the
following instances:

& * & * &

§ 461a.12. Progressive slot machines.

(a) A progressive slot machine may stand alone or be
linked with other progressive slot machines.

(b) Each slot machine that offers a progressive jackpot
must have:

(1) A progressive meter, visible from the front of the
slot machine, which may increase in value based upon
wagers, that advises the player of the amount which can
be won if the player receives the combination on the slot
machine that awards the progressive jackpot.

(2) A slot machine paid progressive payout meter in
accordance with § 461a.7(g) (relating to slot machine
minimum design standards).

(3) A slot attendant paid progressive payout meter in
accordance with § 461a.7(g).

(4) A cumulative progressive payout meter that con-
tinuously and automatically records the total value of
progressive jackpots paid directly by the slot machine or
by a slot attendant.

(5) A key and key switch or other reset mechanism to
reset the progressive meter or meters.

(6) A key locking the compartment housing the pro-
gressive meter or meters or other means by which to
preclude any unauthorized alterations to the progressive
meters. The key or alternative security method must be
different than the key or reset mechanism in paragraph

(5).

(7) If the progressive controller is not secured in a slot
machine, the progressive controller:

(i) Must be maintained in a secure area approved by
the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory Operations.

(i1) Must be dual key controlled with one key controlled
by the slot operations department and the other key
controlled by a different designated department with no
incompatible functions, as specified in the licensee’s inter-
nal controls.

(iii) May not be accessed until the Bureau of Gaming
Laboratory Operations is electronically notified.

(¢) In addition to the requirements in subsection (b), a
slot machine that is connected to a common progressive
meter for the purpose of offering the same progressive
jackpot on two or more slot machines must:

(1) Have the same probability of hitting the combina-
tion that will award the progressive jackpot as every
other slot machine linked to the common progressive
meter.

(2) Require that the same amount in wager be invested
to entitle the player to a chance at winning the progres-
sive jackpot and that each increase in wager increment
the progressive meter by the same rate of progression as
every other slot machine linked to the common progres-
sive meter.

(d) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (c),
two or more linked slot machines offering the same
progressive jackpot may be of different denominations or
have different wagers, or both, required to win the
progressive jackpot, provided that:

(1) The probability of winning the progressive jackpot
is directly proportional to the wager required to win that
jackpot.

(2) Notice indicating the proportional probability of
hitting the progressive jackpot on the linked progressive
system is conspicuously displayed on each linked slot
machine.

(e) A slot machine licensee seeking to utilize a linked
slot machine shall submit for approval in accordance with
§ 461a.4 (relating to submission for testing and approval)
the location and manner of installing any progressive
meter display mechanism.

(f) A slot machine that offers a progressive jackpot may
not be placed on the gaming floor until the slot machine
licensee or, as applicable, the slot system operator, has
submitted the following to the Bureau of Gaming Labora-
tory Operations for review and approval in accordance
with § 461a.4:

(1) The initial and reset amounts at which the progres-
sive meter or meters will be set.

(2) The proposed system for controlling the keys and
applicable logical access controls to the slot machines.

(3) The proposed rate of progression for each progres-
sive jackpot.

(4) The proposed limit for the progressive jackpot, if
any.

(5) The calculated probability of winning each progres-
sive jackpot. The probability may not exceed 50 million to
1. Notwithstanding the foregoing, this paragraph does not
apply to a jackpot with a probability that may exceed 50
million to 1 during the game cycle due solely to the
intervening occurrence of free play awards between the
activation of a play and the award of the jackpot.

(g) A slot machine that offers either a new progressive
jackpot or undergoes a modification or RAM clear of an
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existing progressive jackpot may not be made available
for play by the public until the slot machine has been
tested and certified by the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory
Operations. For purposes of this subsection, a modifica-
tion includes any change in the software, hardware,
including controllers, and any associated equipment that
relates to progressive functionality.

(h) Progressive jackpot meters may not be turned back
to a lesser amount unless one of the following occurs:

(1) The amount indicated has been actually paid to a
winning patron and the progressive jackpot amount has
been recorded in accordance with a system of internal
controls approved under § 465a.2 (relating to internal
control systems and audit protocols).

(2) With written approval, the progressive jackpot has
been transferred to another progressive slot machine or
wide area progressive system in accordance with subsec-
tion (k)(4).

(3) The change is necessitated by a slot machine or
meter malfunction. An explanation for the change shall be
entered on the progressive slot summary required under
this subpart and the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory
Operations shall be notified of the resetting in writing.

(i) Once an amount appears on a progressive meter, the
probability of hitting the combination that will award the
progressive jackpot may not be decreased unless the
progressive jackpot has been won by a patron, has been
transferred to another progressive slot machine or wide
area progressive system or has been removed in accord-
ance with subsection (k).

(j) When a slot machine has a progressive meter with
digital limitations on the meter, the slot machine licensee
shall set a limit on the progressive jackpot not to exceed
the display capability of the progressive meter.

(k) A slot machine licensee or, as applicable, a slot
system operator, may limit, transfer or terminate a
progressive jackpot offered on a gaming floor only under
the following circumstances:

(1) A slot machine licensee may establish a payout
limit for a progressive jackpot provided that the payout
limit is greater than the then current payout amount on
the progressive jackpot meter. The slot machine licensee
shall provide notice to and receive written approval from
the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory Operations prior to the
imposition of a payout limit on a progressive meter or a
modification thereto.

(2) A slot machine licensee may terminate a progres-
sive jackpot concurrent with the winning of the progres-
sive jackpot provided its slot machine program or progres-
sive controller was configured prior to the winning of the
progressive jackpot to establish a fixed reset amount with
no progressive increment.

(3) A slot machine licensee may immediately and per-
manently remove one or more linked slot machines from
a gaming floor, provided that:

(i) When the slot machine is part of a wide area
progressive system offered at multiple licensed facilities,
the slot machine licensee retains at least one linked slot
machine offering the same progressive jackpot on its
gaming floor.

(i1)) When the progressive jackpot is only offered in a
single licensed facility, at least two linked slot machines
offering the same progressive jackpot remain on the
gaming floor.

(4) A slot machine licensee may transfer a progressive
jackpot amount on a stand alone slot machine or the
common progressive jackpot on an entire link of slot
machines with a common progressive meter, including a
wide area progressive system, from a gaming floor pro-
vided the slot machine licensee receives written approval
from the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory Operations prior
to the transfer and the accrued amount minus the seed
amount of the progressive jackpot is:

(1) Transferred in its entirety.
(i1) Transferred to one of the following:

(A) The progressive meter for a slot machine or wide
area progressive system with the same or similar prob-
ability of winning the progressive jackpot, the same or
lower wager requirement to be eligible to win the progres-
sive jackpot, and the same type of progressive jackpot
(cash, annuity, annuity/cash option or a combination/
alternate jackpot).

(B) The progressive meters of two separate slot ma-
chines or wide area progressive systems, provided that
each slot machine or wide area progressive system to
which the jackpot is transferred individually satisfies the
requirements of clause (A).

(ii1) Notice of intent to transfer the progressive jackpot
is conspicuously displayed on the front of each slot
machine for at least 30 days.

(5) If a transfer cannot be made in accordance with
subsection (k)(4) or with good cause shown, a slot ma-
chine licensee may remove progressive functionality,
change the game theme or permanently remove a stand
alone progressive slot machine, an entire link of slot
machines with a common progressive jackpot or an entire
wide area progressive system from a gaming floor, pro-
vided:

(i) Notice of intent to remove the progressive slot
machines or wide area progressive systems is conspicu-
ously displayed on the front of each slot machine for at
least 30 days.

(i) Prior to posting the notice of intent required under
subsection (k)(5)(1), the slot machine licensee receives
written approval from the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory
Operations to remove the progressive slot machines or
wide area progressive systems.

(1) Progressive slot machines and wide area progressive
systems removed from the gaming floor in accordance
with subsection (k)(5) may not be returned to the gaming
floor for 90 days.

(m) The amount indicated on the progressive meter or
meters and coin in meter on each slot machine governed
by subsection (b) shall be recorded on a progressive slot
summary report at least once every 7 calendar days and
each report shall be signed by the preparer. If not
prepared by the finance department, the progressive slot
summary report shall be forwarded to the finance depart-
ment by the end of the gaming day on which it is
prepared. A representative of the finance department
shall be responsible for calculating the correct amount
that should appear on a progressive meter. If an adjust-
ment to the progressive meters is necessary, the adjust-
ment shall be made by a member of the slot operations
department as follows:

(1) Supporting documentation shall be maintained to
explain any addition or reduction in the registered
amount on the progressive meter. The documentation
must include the date, asset number of the slot machine,
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the amount of the adjustment and the signatures of the
finance department member requesting the adjustment
and of the slot operations department member making
the adjustment.

(2) The adjustment must be effectuated within 48
hours of the meter reading.

(n) Except as otherwise authorized by this section, a
slot machine offering a progressive jackpot that is tempo-
rarily removed from the gaming floor shall be returned to
active play or replaced on the gaming floor within 5
gaming days. The amount on the progressive meter or
meters on the returned or replacement slot machine may
not be less than the amount on the progressive meter or
meters at the time of removal. This subsection does not
apply to the temporary removal by a slot machine
licensee, for a period not to exceed 30 days, of all linked
slot machines that are part of a particular wide area
progressive system, provided that the progressive jackpot
offered by the temporarily removed slot machines re-
mains available on slot machines that are part of the
same wide area progressive system in another licensed
facility.

(o) When a slot machine is located adjacent to a slot
machine offering a progressive jackpot, the slot machine
licensee shall conspicuously display a notice advising
patrons that the slot machine is not participating in the
progressive jackpot of the adjacent slot machine.

§ 461a.13. Wide area progressive systems.

(a) Two or more slot machine licensees may, with the
prior written approval of the Board as required under
subsection (c), operate a wide area progressive system.

& * & * &

§ 461a.26. Testing and software installation on the
live gaming floor.

(a) Prior to the testing of slot machines, table game
devices as described in § 461a.4(c)(12) (relating to sub-
mission for testing and approval), associated equipment
and displays on a live gaming floor during a slot machine
licensee’s normal hours of operation, the slot machine
licensee shall notify the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory
Operations and the Bureau of Casino Compliance in
writing at least 72 hours prior to the test date and
receive the required approvals from the Bureau of Gam-
ing Laboratory Operations prior to beginning testing. The
notification must include the following:

(1) A detailed narrative description of the type of
testing to be conducted, including the reason for the
testing, a list of individuals conducting the testing and
the slot machine licensee’s procedures for conducting the
testing.

(2) The date, time and approximate duration of the
testing.

(3) The model, slot machine location number and asset
number of the slot machine or machines or table game
device to be tested.

(4) The location within the licensed facility where the
testing will occur.

(b) A slot machine licensee shall notify the Bureau of
Gaming Laboratory Operations and the Bureau of Casino
Compliance at least 72 hours prior to the installation of
any new software or the installation of any change in
previously approved software and receive the required
approvals prior to the installation of:

(1) Automated gaming voucher and coupon redemption
machines.

(2) Wide area progressive systems.

(3) Slot monitoring systems.

(4) Casino management systems.

(5) Player tracking systems.

(6) External bonusing systems.

(7) Cashless funds transfer systems.

(8) Server supported slot systems.

(9) Server based slot systems.

(10) Automated jackpot payout machines.
(11) Electronic gaming tables.

(12) Fully automated electronic gaming tables.
(13) Progressive table game systems.
(14) Electronic wagering systems.

(15) Additional automated bill breaker machines, auto-
mated gaming voucher and coupon redemption machines,
automated jackpot payout machines and automated teller
machines on the gaming floor.

(16) Gaming voucher systems.
(17) Server supported slot systems.
(18) Server based slot systems.

(¢) The notification required under subsection (b) must
include:

(1) A description of the reasons for the new installation
or change in previously approved software.

(2) A list of the current computer components, software
identifications or versions that are to be modified or
replaced.

(3) A list of the proposed computer components, soft-
ware identifications or versions that will modify or re-
place the existing components or software.

(4) The method to be used to complete the proposed
installation.

(5) The date and time that the proposed modification
will be installed and the estimated time for completion.

(6) The name, title and employer of the persons per-
forming the installation.

(7) The plan to handle disruptions, if any, to the
gaming floor.

(8) The approximate length of time the gaming floor or
systems will be disrupted.

(9) Plans for system backup prior to any proposed
installation.

CHAPTER 463a. POSSESSION OF SLOT
MACHINES AND FULLY AUTOMATED
ELECTRONIC GAMING TABLES

§ 463a.1. Possession of slot machines and fully au-
tomated electronic gaming tables generally.

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this section and 18
Pa.C.S. § 5513 (relating to gambling devices, gambling,
etc.), a person may not possess any slot machine or fully
automated electronic gaming table within this Common-
wealth that may be used for gambling activity.

(b) The following persons and any employee or agent
acting on their behalf may possess slot machines or fully
automated electronic gaming tables in this Common-

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 44, NO. 5, FEBRUARY 1, 2014



606 RULES AND REGULATIONS

wealth for the purposes described herein provided that
slot machines or fully automated electronic gaming tables
located outside of a licensed facility may not be used for
gambling activity:

(1) A slot machine licensee, for the purpose of main-
taining for use, training or operating slot machines in a
licensed facility.

(2) The holder of a manufacturer license for the pur-
pose of manufacturing, exhibiting, demonstrating, train-
ing or preparing for transfer to a manufacturer designee
licensee, supplier licensee or slot machine licensee.

(3) The holder of a manufacturer designee license or
supplier license for the purpose of distributing, repairing,
servicing, exhibiting or demonstrating slot machines or
fully automated electronic gaming tables and any training
with regard thereto.

(4) An educational institution for the purpose of teach-
ing slot machine design, operation, repair or servicing.

(5) A manufacturer, manufacturer designee or supplier
of slot machines not licensed within this Commonwealth
for the limited purpose of temporary exhibition or demon-
stration.

(6) A common carrier, for the purpose of transporting
slot machines or fully automated electronic gaming tables
in accordance with § 463a.2 (relating to transportation of
slot machines and fully automated electronic gaming
tables into, within and out of this Commonwealth).

(7) An employee or agent of the Board, the Depart-
ment, the Pennsylvania State Police or any law enforce-
ment agency of this Commonwealth for the purpose of
fulfilling official duties or responsibilities.

(8) Other persons upon a finding that the possession of
slot machines or fully automated electronic gaming tables
by those persons in this Commonwealth is not contrary to
the goals and objectives of the act.

(c) Persons seeking to possess slot machines or fully
automated electronic gaming tables under subsection
(b)(4), (5) and (8) shall submit a petition to the Board as
required under § 493a.4 (relating to petitions generally).
The petition to the Board must contain:

(1) The purpose for having the slot machines or fully
automated electronic gaming tables.

(2) The proposed location of the slot machines or fully
automated electronic gaming tables.

(3) The time period for which the slot machines or fully
automated electronic gaming tables will be kept.

(4) How the slot machines or fully automated electronic
gaming tables will be secured.

(d) Requests approved by the Board may be subject to
specific terms and conditions imposed by the Board.

(e) A person authorized to possess slot machines or
fully automated electronic gaming tables under subsec-
tion (d) that desires to store the slot machines or fully
automated electronic gaming tables at a location other
than the location specified in subsection (c)(2) shall obtain
approval from the Board’s Executive Director prior to
storing the slot machines or fully automated electronic
gaming tables at the other location.

§ 463a.2. Transportation of slot machines and fully
automated electronic gaming tables into, within
and out of this Commonwealth.

(a) In furtherance of section 1511 of the act (relating to
declaration of exemption from Federal laws prohibiting

slot machines), prior to the transport or movement of a
slot machine or fully automated electronic gaming table
into, within or out of this Commonwealth, from one
person authorized to possess slot machines or fully auto-
mated electronic gaming tables under § 463a.1 (relating
to possession of slot machines and fully automated elec-
tronic gaming tables generally) to another person, the
persons causing the slot machine or fully automated
electronic gaming table to be transported or moved shall
notify the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory Operations and
the Bureau of Casino Compliance in writing or in an
electronic format approved by the Bureau of Gaming
Laboratory Operations. The notice shall be submitted no
later than the day the slot machine or fully automated
electronic gaming table is transported and include the
following information:

(1) The name and address of the person shipping or
moving the slot machine or fully automated electronic
gaming table.

(2) The name and address of the person who owns the
slot machine or fully automated electronic gaming table,
if different from the person shipping or moving the
machine.

(3) The name and address of a new owner if ownership
is being changed in conjunction with the shipment or
movement.

(4) The method of shipment or movement and the
name and address of the common carrier or carriers, if
applicable.

(5) The name and address of the person to whom the
slot machine or fully automated electronic gaming table is
being sent and the destination of the slot machine or fully
automated electronic gaming table, if different from that
address.

(6) The quantity of slot machines or fully automated
electronic gaming tables being shipped or moved and the
manufacturer’s serial number of each machine.

(7) The expected date and time of delivery to, or
removal from, any authorized location within this Com-
monwealth.

(8) The port of entry, or exit, if any, of the slot machine
or fully automated electronic gaming table if the origin or
destination of the slot machine or fully automated elec-
tronic gaming table is outside the continental United
States.

(9) The reason for transporting or moving the slot
machine or fully automated electronic gaming table.

(b) In addition to the requirements in subsection (a), if
a slot machine licensee is shipping slot machines or fully
automated electronic gaming tables to or from the slot
machine licensee’s approved, off-premises storage loca-
tion, the slot machine licensee shall comply with the
requirements in subsection (a) and record the movement
in the licensee’s movement log as required under
§ 463a.5(e) (relating to slot machine and fully automated
electronic gaming table master lists). If a slot machine or
fully automated electronic gaming table is being trans-
ported to the licensed facility from the licensee’s ap-
proved, off-premises storage location, the licensee shall
specify in the notice required under subsection (a)
whether the slot machine or fully automated electronic
gaming table will be placed directly onto the gaming floor
or stored off the gaming floor in a restricted area within
the licensed facility.
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§ 463a.3. Slot machine and fully automated elec-
tronic gaming table location on the gaming floor.

(a) A gaming floor must consist of one or more areas
within a licensed facility approved by the Board or
Executive Director under § 467a.1 (relating to gaming
floor plan) for the placement and operation of slot ma-
chines or fully automated electronic gaming tables.

(b) A slot machine or fully automated electronic gaming
table on a gaming floor shall be placed at a location,
which location may contain no more than one slot ma-
chine or fully automated electronic gaming table, identi-
fied by number on a gaming floor plan approved by the
Board or Executive Director under section 1322 of the act
(relating to slot machine accounting controls and audits)
and § 467a.1 and shall also be identified by this slot
machine or fully automated electronic gaming table loca-
tion number and an asset number on the Gaming Floor
Slot Machine and Fully Automated Electronic Gaming
Table Master List.

§ 463a.4. Notice and connection to the central con-
trol computer system.

(a) Prior to utilization for gambling activity, a slot
machine or fully automated electronic gaming table on a
gaming floor shall be connected or linked to a central
control computer system having the capabilities and in
compliance with the terms of section 1323 of the act
(relating to central control computer system).

(b) To ensure activation or disabling, as appropriate, in
the central control computer system and the retrieval of
real time meter information from the slot machine or
fully automated electronic gaming table in conjunction
with the movement of a slot machine or fully automated
electronic gaming table, the slot machine licensee shall
provide the Department with written notice of the slot or
fully automated electronic gaming table movement, prior
to any of the following:

(1) Placement of a slot machine or fully automated
electronic gaming table on the gaming floor.

(2) Movement of a slot machine or fully automated
electronic gaming table between slot machine or fully
automated electronic gaming table locations on the gam-
ing floor.

(3) Removal of a slot machine or fully automated
electronic gaming table from the gaming floor.

§ 463a.5. Slot machine and fully automated elec-
tronic gaming table master lists.

(a) Prior to the commencement of operations at a
licensed facility, a slot machine licensee shall file the
following with the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory Opera-
tions and the Bureau of Casino Compliance, in an
electronic format approved by the Bureau of Gaming
Laboratory Operations:

(1) Gaming Floor Slot Machine and Fully Automated
Electronic Gaming Table Master List.

(2) Restricted Area/Off Premises Slot Machine and
Fully Automated Electronic Gaming Table Master List.

(b) A Gaming Floor Slot Machine and Fully Automated
Electronic Gaming Table Master List must list all slot
machines and fully automated electronic gaming tables
located on the gaming floor in consecutive order by the
slot machine location number under § 463a.3 (relating to
slot machine and fully automated electronic gaming table
location on the gaming floor) and contain the following:

(1) The date the list was prepared.

(2) A description of each slot machine or fully auto-
mated electronic gaming table which includes:

(1) The zone/location number.
(i1) The asset number.
(iii) The manufacturer’s serial number.

(iv) The base denomination, or if configured for mul-
tiple denominations, a list of the denominations.

(v) The game software/program ID.
(vi) The operating system/base ROM.
(vii) The manufacturer.

(viii) The slot machine or fully automated electronic
gaming table model.

(ix) The model type (reel or video).

(x) The game theme/description.

(xi) The minimum payout percentage.

(xii) The machine displayed payout percentage.
(xiii) The paytable ID.

(xiv) Whether the slot machine or fully automated
electronic gaming table is in a smoking area.

(xv) If the slot machine or fully automated electronic
gaming table is a progressive, the type of progressive, the
progressive controller type and the progressive software.

(xvi) The fund transfer/voucher system software.

() If a slot machine or fully automated electronic
gaming table is configured to allow a patron to select
from multiple game themes, each game theme, minimum
and machine displayed payout percentages and paytable
ID must be listed in the Gaming Floor Slot Machine and
Fully Automated Electronic Gaming Table Master List.
Instead of listing each game theme, minimum and ma-
chine displayed payout percentage and paytable ID for a
slot machine or fully automated electronic gaming table
configured to offer multiple game themes with the slot
machine or fully automated electronic gaming table, a slot
machine licensee may use a unique generic code for the
game theme and attach an appendix which lists the game
themes, minimum and machine displayed payout percent-
ages and paytable IDs that correspond to each unique
generic game theme code.

(d) A Restricted Area/Off Premises Slot Machine and
Fully Automated Electronic Gaming Table Master List
must include all slot machines and fully automated
electronic gaming tables located off the gaming floor in a
restricted area within the licensed facility approved under
§ 465a.8(b) (relating to licensed facility), or in storage
locations in this Commonwealth off the premises of the
licensed facility approved under § 463a.7 (relating to off
premises storage of slot machines and fully automated
electronic gaming tables) grouped by the location where
the slot machines or fully automated electronic gaming
tables are located. A Restricted Area/Off Premises Slot
Machine and Fully Automated Electronic Gaming Table
Master List must include the following information:

(1) The date the list was prepared.

(2) A description of each slot machine and fully auto-
mated electronic gaming table which includes:

(1) The location of the slot machine or fully automated
electronic gaming table.

(i1) The asset number.

(111) The manufacturer’s serial number.
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(iv) The game software/program ID.
(v) The operating system/base ROM.
(vi) The game theme/description.
(vii) The manufacturer.

(viii) The slot machine or fully automated electronic
gaming table model.

(ix) The model type (reel or video).

(e) Once a slot machine or fully automated electronic
gaming table has been placed in an authorized location on
the gaming floor, stored in a restricted area off the
gaming floor but within the licensed facility approved
under § 465a.8 or in a location in this Commonwealth off
the premises of the licensed facility approved under
§ 463a.7, all subsequent movements of that slot machine
or fully automated electronic gaming table shall be
recorded by a slot department member in a slot machine
movement log which includes the following:

(1) The asset number and model and manufacturer’s
serial number of the moved slot machine or fully auto-
mated electronic gaming table.

(2) The date and time of movement.

(3) The location from which the slot machine or fully
automated electronic gaming table was moved.

(4) The location to which the slot machine or fully
automated electronic gaming table was moved.

(5) The date and time of any required notice to the
Department in connection with activation or disabling of
the slot machine or fully automated electronic gaming
table in the central control computer system.

(6) The signature of the slot shift manager and the
lead technician verifying the movement of the slot ma-
chine or fully automated electronic gaming table in
compliance with this section.

(f) Documentation summarizing slot machine or fully
automated electronic gaming table movements, as de-
scribed in subsection (e), shall be submitted to the
Bureau of Gaming Laboratory Operations and the Bureau
of Casino Compliance, in an electronic format approved
by the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory Operations, on a
daily basis.

(g) On the first Tuesday of each month a slot machine
licensee shall file an updated Gaming Floor Slot Machine
and Fully Automated Electronic Gaming Table Master
List and an updated Restricted Area/Off Premises Slot
Machine and Fully Automated Electronic Gaming Table
Master List containing the information required under
subsections (b)—(d). The Gaming Floor Slot Machine and
Fully Automated Electronic Gaming Table Master List
and the Restricted Area/Off Premises Slot Machine and
Fully Automated Electronic Gaming Table Master List
shall be filed in an electronic format with the Bureau of
Gaming Laboratory Operations.

(h) Persons authorized by the Board to possess slot
machines or fully automated electronic gaming tables
under § 463a.1(c) (relating to possession of slot machines
and fully automated electronic gaming tables generally)
shall file with the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory Opera-
tions, in an electronic format approved by the Bureau of
Gaming Laboratory Operations, a complete list of slot
machines or fully automated electronic gaming table
possessed by the person. The list shall:

(1) Be denoted as a Slot Machine and Fully Automated
Electronic Gaming Table Master List.

(2) Be filed within 3 business days of the initial receipt
of slot machines or fully automated electronic gaming
tables.

(3) Contain the following information:
(1) The date on which the list was prepared.

(i) A description of each slot machine or fully auto-
mated electronic gaming table including:

(A) The manufacturer.
(B) The manufacturer’s serial number.

(C) The slot machine or fully automated electronic
gaming table model.

(D) The model type (reel or video).

(E) Whether or not the slot machine or fully automated
electronic gaming table is a progressive, and if it is, the
type of progressive.

(i) On the first Tuesday of each month following the
initial filing of a Slot Machine and Fully Automated
Electronic Gaming Table Master List, those persons enu-
merated in subsection (h) shall file with the Bureau of
Gaming Laboratory Operations, in an electronic format
approved by the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory Opera-
tions, an updated Slot Machine and Fully Automated
Electronic Gaming Table Master List containing the
information required in subsection (h).

§ 463a.6. (Reserved).

§ 463a.7. Off premises storage of slot machines and
fully automated electronic gaming tables.

(a) A slot machine licensee may not store slot machines
or fully automated electronic gaming tables off the prem-
ises of a licensed facility without prior approval from the
Board’s Executive Director.

(b) A slot machine licensee seeking to store slot ma-
chines off the premises of a licensed facility shall submit
a written request to the Bureau of Gaming Operations for
off premise storage. The written request must include:

(1) The location and a physical description of the
proposed storage facility.

(2) A description of the type of surveillance system that
has been or will be installed at the proposed storage
facility.

(8) The plan to provide 24 hour, 7 day a week security
at the proposed storage facility.

(4) The anticipated number of slot machines or fully
automated electronic gaming tables that may be stored at
the proposed storage facility.

(c) Before the Board’s Executive Director will act on a
request for off premise storage of slot machines, the
Director of Casino Compliance will inspect the proposed
storage facility.

(d) The Board’s Executive Director will approve or
disapprove requests within 60 days. Requests approved
by the Board’s Executive Director may be subject to
specific terms and conditions imposed by the Board’s
Executive Director.
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CHAPTER 464a. SLOT MACHINE TOURNAMENTS

Sec.
464a.1.  Definitions.
464a.2.  Conduct of a slot machine tournament.

§ 464a.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

Points—Noncash equivalent electronic instrument uti-
lized for slot machine tournament play only, the total of
which determines the winners of a slot machine tourna-
ment.

Slot machine tournament—A contest whereby individu-
als engage in competitive slot machine play against other
individuals utilizing points.

§ 464a.2. Conduct of a slot machine tournament.

(a) Slot machine tournaments may not be played with
cash, value chips, plaques, gaming vouchers or other cash
equivalents.

(b) A slot machine licensee may charge an entry fee to
participate in a slot machine tournament. A slot machine
licensee that charges an entry fee shall submit electroni-
cally to the Department of Revenue a Slot Tournament
Revenue Report by 10 a.m. on the day following the
conclusion of the tournament.

(¢) A slot machine licensee that wishes to conduct a slot
machine tournament shall submit for Executive Director
approval notice of intent to conduct a slot machine
tournament at least 10 days prior to the start of the
tournament. The notice must be submitted electronically
to the Bureau of Gaming Operations using the Internal
Controls & Table Games Submission Form, which is
posted on the Board’s web site, and include the following:

(1) A general description of how the slot machine
tournament will be conducted and a copy of the rules
governing play.

(2) The dates and times that the tournament will be
conducted.

(3) Participation eligibility requirements including:

(i) Who is eligible to participate.

(ii) The minimum and maximum number of partici-
pants.

(iii) Entry fees charged.
(4) The criteria used to determine the winners.

(5) The monetary amount or description of the prizes to
be awarded.

(6) The details of when and how the prizes will be
awarded.

(7) The asset and gaming floor plan location numbers
of the slot machines that will be used to conduct the slot
machine tournament.

(8) How the slot machine tournament area will be
segregated from patrons who are not participating in the
slot machine tournament.

(d) In addition to filing a notice required under subsec-
tion (c), a slot machine licensee shall submit a copy of the
notice to the casino compliance representatives at the
licensed facility, the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory Opera-
tions and the Department of Revenue.

(e) Advertising to promote a slot machine tournament
must, at a minimum:

(1) Comply with the advertising requirements in Chap-
ter 421b (relating to advertising guidelines—statement of
policy) and § 421a.6 (relating to advertising).

(2) Contain information on who is eligible to partici-
pate.

(3) Include a copy of the slot machine tournament rules
or state how a copy of the rules may be obtained.

(f) A slot machine used for a slot machine tournament
must:

(1) Use tournament software authorized by the Bureau
of Gaming Laboratory Operations in accordance with
§ 461la.4 (relating to submission for testing and ap-
proval).

(2) Maintain connectivity with the Central Control
Computer System (CCS).

(3) Have the functionality of the bill validator, ticket
printer and electronic funds transfer meters disabled
during the slot machine tournament so that the slot
machine does not accept cash or credits or make payouts
during tournament play.

(g) A slot machine used in a slot machine tournament
may not be made available for play to individuals entered
in the tournament until the Bureau of Gaming Labora-
tory Operations has completed an initial test of the
tournament software and has authorized the slot machine
for tournament play.

(h) Before and after slot machine tournament, the slot
machine licensee shall:

(1) Receive approval from the onsite CCR to place the
slot machine in and take it out of tournament mode.

(2) Ensure that the CCS has recorded all meter set-
tings on all slot machines used in the tournament.

(i) A slot machine licensee shall maintain records re-
lated to the conduct of a slot machine tournament in
accordance with § 465a.6(c) (relating to retention, storage
and destruction of books, records and documents). These
records shall be made available to Board staff, the
Department and the Pennsylvania State Police upon
request and must include:

(1) A copy of the notice required under subsection (d).

(2) The names and addresses of all prize winners and
the prize each winner was awarded.

CHAPTER 465a. ACCOUNTING AND INTERNAL
CONTROLS

§ 465a.2. Internal control systems and audit proto-
cols.

* & * & *

(f) If a slot machine licensee intends to make a change
or amendment to its system of internal controls, it shall
submit the change or amendment electronically to the
Bureau of Gaming Operations using the Internal Controls
& Table Games Submission Form posted on the Board’s
web site. A request for a change or amendment must
include electronic copies of the attestations required
under subsection (b)(1) and (2). The slot machine licensee
may implement the change or amendment on the 30th
calendar day following the filing of a complete submission
unless the slot machine licensee receives written notice
tolling the change or amendment in accordance with
subsection (g) or written notice from the Board’s Execu-
tive Director rejecting the change or amendment.

* * * *k *
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§ 465a.19. Acceptance of tips or gratuities from pa-
trons.

& * b * *

(d) A patron may identify a wager as a tip wager. A tip
wager placed at the table shall be played separately from
the player’s other wagers. A winning tip wager shall be
collected and deposited in the tip box after each round of
play or after a roll of the dice which decides the outcome
of the wager. A winning tip wager or part of a winning tip
wager may not be wagered again. Upon receipt from a
patron of a tip or gratuity, a dealer shall extend his arm
in an overt motion, and deposit the tip or gratuity in the
locked box reserved for tips and gratuities.

& * b * *

§ 465a.33. Access to areas containing central con-
trol computer equipment.

A slot machine licensee shall develop and submit to the
Board and the Department, as part of the submission
required under § 465a.2 (relating to internal control
systems and audit protocols), procedures for safeguarding
and limiting access to the central control computer (CCC)
equipment housed within the licensed facility. At a mini-
mum, these procedures must include the following re-
quirements:

(1) The area containing CCC equipment must:

(i) Be secured with a manual key lock system, the keys
to which must be different from any other keys used in
the licensed facility.

(ii) Have a door that when opened audibly signals the
surveillance monitoring room.

(iii) Have adequate surveillance camera coverage to
record all activity in the area.

(2) Access to the area containing the CCC system
equipment may not be permitted unless prior arrange-
ments have been made with the Department and the
operator of the CCC system.

(3) All keys which access the area containing CCC
equipment shall be maintained by the slot machine
licensee’s security department. The keys may only be
signed out by a security supervisor or above to employees
of the Department or the operator of the CCC system who
are on the authorized access list. The authorized access
list shall be obtained from the Department and made
available to the casino compliance representatives and
the director of security at the licensed facility. A verbal
notification shall be made to the surveillance monitoring
room, the operator of the CCC system and the casino
compliance representatives at the licensed facility prior to
signing out the keys.

(4) The slot machine licensee shall maintain an access
log for the area containing CCC equipment. The log shall
be maintained in a book with bound numbered pages that
cannot be readily removed and placed in close proximity
to the CCC equipment. Casino compliance representatives
at the licensed facility may review the log upon request to
the Department and the operator of the CCC system. The
log shall be stored and retained in accordance with
§ 465a.6 (relating to retention, storage and destruction of
books, records and documents). The following information
shall be recorded in a log:

(i) The date and time of each entry.

(i1)) The entering individual’s name, Board-issued cre-
dential number and department or affiliation.

(iii)) The reason for entering the area containing CCC
equipment.

(iv) The name of the individual authorizing entry into
the area containing CCC equipment.

(v) The date and time of exiting the area containing
the CCC equipment.

(5) Individuals who are not authorized to have access
to the area containing CCC equipment may only be
granted access for emergency situations requiring envi-
ronmental adjustments, such as electrical, plumbing or
HVAC malfunctions, with a security escort. When emer-
gency access is granted, the slot machine licensee shall
provide notice immediately to the Department, the opera-
tor of the CCC system and the casino compliance repre-
sentatives at the licensed facility prior to permitting
entry to the area containing CCC equipment.

Subpart K. TABLE GAMES

CHAPTER 607a. POSSESSION OF TABLE GAMES
AND TABLE GAME DEVICES

Sec.

607a.1.  Transportation of table games and table game devices into,
within and out of this Commonwealth.

607a.2.  Table game device master list.

607a.3.  Off premises storage of table games and table game devices.

§ 607a.1. Transportation of table games and table
game devices into, within and out of this Com-
monwealth.

(a) Prior to the transport or movement of table games
and table game devices into, within or out of this
Commonwealth, the persons causing the table games and
table game devices to be transported or moved shall
notify the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory Operations and
the Bureau of Casino Compliance in writing or in an
electronic format approved by Board staff. The notice
shall be submitted no later than the day the table games
or table game devices are transported and must include
the following:

(1) The name and address of the person shipping or
moving the table games or table game devices.

(2) The name and address of the person who owns the
table games or table game devices if different from the
person shipping or moving table games or table game
devices.

(3) The name and address of the new owner if owner-
ship is being changed in conjunction with the shipment or
movement.

(4) The method of shipment or movement and the
name and address of the common carrier, if applicable.

(5) The name and address of the person to whom the
table games or table game devices are being sent and the
destination of the table games or table game devices, if
different from that address.

(6) The quantity of table games or table game devices
being shipped or moved and the manufacturer’s serial
number, if applicable, for each table game or table game
device.

(7) The expected date and time of delivery to, or
removal from, an authorized location within this Com-
monwealth.

(8) The port of entry or exit, if any, of the table games
or table game devices if the origin or destination of the
table games or table game devices is outside of the
continental United States.
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(9) The reason for transporting or moving the table
games or table game devices.

(b) In addition to the requirements in subsection (a), if
a certificate holder is shipping table games or table game
devices to or from the certificate holder’s off-premises
storage location, the certificate holder shall comply with
the requirements in subsection (a). If a table game or
table game device is being transported to the licensed
facility from the certificate holder’s office-premises stor-
age location, the certificate holder shall specify in the
notice required under subsection (a) whether the table
game or table game device will be placed directly onto the
gaming floor or stored off the gaming floor in a restricted
area within the licensed facility.

§ 607a.2. Table game device master list.

(a) Prior to commencement of table game operations at
a licensed facility, a table games certificate holder shall
file with the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory Operations
and the Bureau of Casino Compliance, in an electronic
format approved by the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory
Operations, a Gaming Floor Table Game Device Master
List and a Restricted Area/Off Premises Table Game
Device Master List for the following table game devices:

(1) Electronic gaming tables as described in § 605a.4
(relating to electronic gaming tables).

(2) Progressive table game systems as described in
§ 605a.7 (relating to progressive table game systems).

(3) Automated card shuffling devices as described in
§ 603a.17 (relating to dealing shoes; automated card
shuffling devices).

(4) Electronic dealing shoes as described in § 603a.17.

(5) Electronic wagering systems as described in
§ 605a.2 (relating to electronic wagering systems)

(6) Any other mechanical, electrical or computerized
contrivance, terminal or machine required to be submit-
ted to the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory Operators for
testing and approval in accordance with Chapter 461a
(relating to slot machine and table game device testing
and control).

(b) The Gaming Floor Table Game Device Master List
and the Restricted Area/Off Premises Table Game Device
Master List must contain the following information:

(1) The date the list was prepared.

(2) A description of each table game device listed in
subsection (a) which includes:

(i) The pit number or location on the gaming floor,
restricted area of the licensed facility or other approved
storage location.

(i) The asset number or table game type, or both, that
the device is connected to.

(iii)) The manufacturer.

(iv) The manufacturer’s serial number.

(v) The software/program identification.

(vi) If the device is a progressive:

(A) The name of the progressive controller type.

(B) The name and version of the progressive software.

(3) Identify if the fully automated, electronic or live
gaming table on the gaming floor utilizes a progressive
table game system in accordance with § 605a.7 to offer a
progressive jackpot and, if so, identify all other tables
that are linked to the same progressive jackpot.

(¢) In conjunction with the Gaming Floor and Re-
stricted Area/Off Premises Slot Machine and Fully Auto-
mated Electronic Gaming Table Master List filed in
accordance with § 463a.5(g) (relating to slot machine and
fully automated electronic gaming table master lists), on
the first Tuesday of each month, a certificate holder shall
file with the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory Operations an
updated Gaming Floor Table Game Device Master List
and Restricted Area/Off Premises Table Game Device
Master List containing the information required under
subsection (b). The Gaming Floor Table Game Device
Master List and the Restricted Area/Off Premises Table
Game Device Master List shall be filed in an electronic
format with the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory Opera-
tions.

§ 607a.3. Off premises storage of table games and
table game devices.

(a) A certificate holder may not store table games or
table game devices off the premises of a licensed facility
without prior approval from the Board’s Executive Direc-
tor.

(b) A slot machine licensee seeking to store table games
and table game devices off the premises of a licensed
facility shall submit a written request to the Bureau of
Gaming Operations for off premise storage. The written
request must include:

(1) The location and a physical description of the
proposed storage facility.

(2) A description of the type of surveillance system that
has been or will be installed at the proposed storage
facility.

(3) The plan to provide 24-hour, 7-day a week security
at the proposed storage facility.

(4) The anticipated number of table games or table
game devices that may be stored at the proposed storage
facility.

(c) Before the Board’s Executive Director will act on a
request for off premise storage of table games or table
game devices, the Director of Casino Compliance will
inspect the proposed storage facility.

(d) The Board’s Executive Director will approve or
disapprove requests within 60 days. Approved requests
may be subject to specific terms and conditions imposed
by the Board’s Executive Director.

CHAPTER 627a. MINIBACCARAT
§ 627a.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

Dragon 7—A Banker’s Hand which has a Point Count
of 7 with a total of three cards dealt and the Player’s
Hand which has a Point Count of less than 7.

EZ Baccarat—A variation of Minibaccarat in which
vigorish is not collected.

Natural—A hand which has a Point Count of 8 or 9 on
the first two cards dealt.

Panda 8—A Player’s Hand which has a Point Count of
8 with a total of three cards dealt and the Banker’s Hand
which has a Point Count of less than 8.
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§ 627a.2. Minibaccarat table physical characteris-
tics.

(a) Minibaccarat shall be played on a table having
numbered positions for no more than nine seated players
on one side of the table and a place for the dealer on the
opposite side of the table.

(b) The layout for a Minibaccarat table shall be submit-
ted to the Bureau of Gaming Operations and approved in
accordance with § 601a.10(a) (relating to approval of
table game layouts, signage and equipment) and contain,
at a minimum:

(1) The name or logo of the certificate holder.

(2) Separate areas designated for the placement of
wagers on the Banker’s Hand, Player’s Hand and Tie
Hand for each player.

(3) The payout odds for all permissible wagers offered
by the certificate holder. If the payout odds are not
inscribed on the layout, a sign identifying the payout odds
shall be posted at each Minibaccarat table.

(4) An area designated for the placement of cards for
the Player’s Hand and Banker’s Hand.

(5) If a certificate holder offers the Dragon Bonus
Wager authorized under § 627a.7(a)(4) (relating to wa-
gers), separate areas designated for the placement of the
Dragon Bonus Wager for each player.

(6) If a certificate holder offers EZ Baccarat in which
vigorish is not collected:

(i) Separate areas designated for the placement of the
Dragon 7 Insurance Wager, authorized under § 627a.7(a)(5),
for each player.

(i1) Inscriptions that advise patrons that a wager on
the Banker’s Hand that results in a Dragon 7 shall push
and be returned to the player. If the information is not
inscribed on the layout, a sign containing the information
shall be posted at each Minibaccarat table.

(iii) Separate areas designated for the placement of the
Panda 8 Insurance Wager, authorized under § 627a.7(a)(6),
for each player.

(7) If a certificate holder offers the House Money
Wager, authorized under § 627a.7(a)(7), separate areas
designated for the placement of the House Money Wager
for each player.

(8) Numbered areas that correspond to the seat num-
bers for the purpose of marking vigorish unless the
dealer, in accordance with the option selected in the
certificate holder’s Rules Submission under § 601a.2 (re-
lating to table games Rules Submissions), collects the
vigorish from a player at the time the winning payout is
made or the table is designated for play as an EZ
Baccarat table in which vigorish is not collected.

(¢) If marker buttons are used for the purpose of
marking vigorish, the marker buttons shall be placed in
the table inventory container or in a separate rack
designed for the purpose of storing marker buttons. If a
separate rack is used, the rack shall be placed in front of
the table inventory container during gaming activity.

(d) Each Minibaccarat table must have a drop box and
a tip box attached on the same side of the gaming table
as, but on opposite sides of, the dealer, as approved by the
Bureau of Casino Compliance in accordance with
§ 601a.10(g). The Bureau of Casino Compliance may
approve an alternative location for the tip box when a
card shuffling device or other table game equipment

prevents the placement of the drop box and tip box on the
same side of the gaming table as, but on opposite sides of,
the dealer.

(e) Each Minibaccarat table must have a discard rack
securely attached to the top of the dealer’s side of the
table.

§ 627a.7. Wagers.

(a) The following are permissible wagers in the game of
Minibaccarat:

(1) A wager on the Banker’s Hand which shall:

(1) Win if the Banker’s Hand has a Point Count higher
than that of the Player’s Hand unless EZ Baccarat is
being played and the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand
and the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7.

(i1) Lose if the Banker’s Hand has a Point Count lower
than that of the Player’s Hand.

(iii) Tie and be returned to the player if the Banker’s
Hand and the Player’s Hand have the same Point Count
or if EZ Baccarat is being played and the Point Counts of
the Banker’s Hand and the Player’s Hand result in a
Dragon 7.

(2) A wager on the Player’s Hand which shall:

(i) Win if the Player’s Hand has a Point Count higher
than that of the Banker’s Hand and if EZ Baccarat is
being played and the Point Counts of the Player’s Hand
and the Dealer’s Hand result in a Panda 8.

(ii) Lose if the Player’s Hand has a Point Count lower
than that of the Banker’s Hand or if EZ Baccarat is being
played and the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7.

(iii) Tie and be returned to the player if the Point
Counts of the Banker’s Hand and the Player’s Hand are
equal.

(3) A Tie Wager which shall:

(1) Win if the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand are equal.

(i1) Lose if Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and the
Player’s Hand are not equal.

(4) If offered by a certificate holder, a Dragon Bonus
Wager on the Player’s Hand or Banker’s Hand, or both,
which shall:

(1) Win if the selected hand is:
(A) A Natural and the other hand is not a Natural.
(B) A Natural 9 and the other hand is a Natural 8.

(C) Not a Natural and has a Point Count that exceeds
the Point Count of the other hand by four or more points.

(i1) Lose if the selected hand is:
(A) A Natural 8 and the other hand is a Natural 9.

(B) Not a Natural and has a Point Count less than or
equal to the Point Count of the other hand.

(C) Not a Natural and has a Point Count that exceeds
the Point Count of the other hand by less than four
points.

(iii) Tie and be returned to the player if the selected
hand is a Natural and the other hand is a Natural of
equal Point Count.

(5) A Dragon 7 Insurance Wager, if the table is desig-
nated for play as an EZ Baccarat table, which shall:
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(i) Win if the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7.

(i1) Lose if the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand do not result in a Dragon 7.

(6) A Panda 8 Insurance Wager, if the table is desig-
nated for play as an EZ Baccarat table, which shall:

(i) Win if the Point Counts of the Player’s Hand and
the Dealer’s Hand result in a Panda 8.

(i1) Lose if the Point Counts of the Player’s Hand and
the Dealer’s Hand do not result in a Panda 8.

(7) If offered by a certificate holder, a House Money
Wager which shall:

(i) Win if the first two cards of either the Player’s Hand
or Banker’s Hand, or both, are a pair. For purposes of the
House Money Wager, a pair must be of same rank (two
queens, for example), regardless of suit.

(i) Lose if in the first two cards dealt to the player’s
hand and the banker’s hand, neither the player’s hand
nor the banker’s hand contains a pair.

(b) Wagers at Minibaccarat shall be made by placing
value chips or plaques on the appropriate areas of the
Minibaccarat layout. Verbal wagers accompanied by cash
may be accepted provided that they are confirmed by the
dealer and the cash is expeditiously converted into value
chips or plaques.

(¢) A wager may not be made, increased or withdrawn
after the dealer has announced “no more bets.”

§ 627a.11. Announcement of result of round; pay-
ment and collection of wagers.

(a) After each hand has received all the cards to which
it is entitled under §§ 627a.8, 627a.9 and 627a.10 (relat-
ing to hands of player and banker; procedure for dealing
initial two cards to each hand; procedure for dealing a
third card; and rules for determining whether a third
card shall be dealt), the dealer shall announce the final
Point Count of each hand indicating which hand has won
the round. If two hands have equal Point Counts, the
dealer shall announce “tie hand.” If the table is desig-
nated for play as an EZ Baccarat table and the Point
Counts of the Banker’s Hand and the Player’s Hand
result in a Dragon 7 or a Panda 8, the dealer shall
announce “Dragon 7” or “Panda 8.”

(b) After the result of the round is announced, the
dealer shall first collect each losing wager. After the
losing wagers are collected, the dealer shall, starting at
the highest numbered player position at which a winning
wager is located, mark or collect the vigorish owed by
that player, unless the table is designated for play as an
EZ Baccarat table in which vigorish is not collected.
Immediately thereafter, the dealer shall pay that player’s
winning wager and then, proceeding in descending order
to the next highest numbered player position at which a
winning wager is located, repeat this procedure until the
vigorish owed by each player is either marked or collected
and each winning wager is paid.

(c) At the conclusion of a round of play, the dealer shall
remove all cards from the table and place them in the
discard rack in a manner that permits the reconstruction
of each hand in the event of a question or dispute.

§ 627a.12. Payout odds; vigorish.

(a) A winning wager made on the Player’s Hand shall
be paid at odds of 1 to 1.

(b) A winning Tie Wager shall be paid at odds of at
least 8 to 1.

(¢) A winning wager made on the Banker’s Hand shall
be paid at odds of 1 to 1, except that the certificate holder
shall extract a vigorish from the winning players in an
amount equal to 5% of the amount won unless the
certificate holder is offering EZ Baccarat in which vigor-
ish is not collected. When collecting the vigorish, the
certificate holder may round off the vigorish to 25¢ or the
next highest multiple of 25¢.

(d) A dealer shall collect the vigorish from a player in
accordance with one of the following procedures selected
by the certificate holder in its Rules Submission under
§ 601a.2 (relating to table games Rules Submissions):

(1) At the time the winning payout is made.
(2) At a later time, provided that:

(i) The outstanding vigorish shall be collected prior to
the reshuffling of the cards in a dealing shoe or when the
player leaves the gaming table, whichever occurs first.

(ii)) The amount of the vigorish shall be tracked by
placing a coin or marker button, which contains the
amount of the vigorish owed, in the rectangular space on
the layout that is imprinted with the number of the
player owing the vigorish.

(iii) The coin or marker button may not be removed
from the layout until the vigorish owed is collected.

(e) If a certificate holder offers the Dragon Bonus
Wager, in accordance with § 627a.7(a)(4) (relating to
wagers), a vigorish may not be extracted on a winning
Dragon Bonus Wager. Winning Dragon Bonus Wagers
shall be paid out at the odds in one of the following
paytables selected by the certificate holder in its Rules
Submission filed in accordance with § 601a.2:

Hand Paytable A Paytable B Paytable C
Win by 9 points 30to1 20to 1 30to 1
Win by 8 points 10to 1 8tol 10to 1
Win by 7 points 6tol 7tol 4tol
Win by 6 points 4tol 4to 1l 4tol
Win by 5 points 2tol 3tol 2tol
Win by 4 points 1tol 1tol 2to 1
Natural winner 1to1l 1to1l l1tol
Natural tie Push Push Push

(f) A winning Dragon 7 Insurance Wager, as described
in § 627a.7(a)(5), shall be paid at odds of 40 to 1.

(g) A winning Panda 8 Insurance Wager, as described
in § 627a.7(a)(6), shall be paid at odds of 25 to 1.

(h) If a certificate holder offers the House Money
Wager and the player elects to take the payout, the
player shall be paid in accordance with the following
paytable:

Hand Odds

Player and Banker Pair 15to 1
Player or Banker Pair 3tol

CHAPTER 629a. MIDIBACCARAT
§ 629a.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

Dragon 7—A Banker’s Hand which has a Point Count
of 7 with a total of three cards dealt and the Player’s
Hand which has a Point Count of less than 7.
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EZ Baccarat—A variation of Midibaccarat in which
vigorish is not collected.

Natural—A hand which has a Point Count of 8 or 9 on
the first two cards dealt.

Panda 8—A Player’s Hand which has a Point Count of
8 with a total of three cards dealt and the Banker’s Hand
which has a Point Count of less than 8.

§ 629a.2. Midibaccarat table physical characteris-
tics.

(a) Midibaccarat shall be played on a table having
numbered positions for no more than nine seated players
on one side of the table and a place for the dealer on the
opposite side of the table.

(b) The layout for a Midibaccarat table shall be submit-
ted to the Bureau of Gaming Operations and approved in
accordance with § 601a.10(a) (relating to approval of
table game layouts, signage and equipment) and contain,
at a minimum:

(1) The name or logo of the certificate holder.

(2) Separate areas designated for the placement of
wagers on the Banker’s Hand, Player’s Hand and Tie
Hand for each player.

(3) The payout odds for all permissible wagers offered
by the certificate holder. If the payout odds are not
inscribed on the layout, a sign identifying the payout odds
shall be posted at each Midibaccarat table.

(4) An area designated for the placement of cards for
the Player’s Hand and Banker’s Hand.

(5) If a certificate holder offers the Dragon Bonus
Wager, authorized under § 629a.7(a)(4) (relating to wa-
gers), separate areas designated for the placement of the
Dragon Bonus Wager for each player.

(6) If a certificate holder offers EZ Baccarat in which
vigorish is not collected:

(i) Separate areas designated for the placement of the
Dragon 7 Insurance Wager, authorized under § 629a.7(a)(5),
for each player.

(i1) Inscriptions that advise patrons that a wager on
the Banker’s Hand that results in a Dragon 7 shall push
and be returned to the player. If the information is not
inscribed on the layout, a sign containing the information
shall be posted at each Midibaccarat table.

(iii) Separate areas designated for the placement of the
Panda 8 Insurance Wager, authorized under § 629a.7(a)(6),
for each player.

(7) If a certificate holder offers the House Money
Wager, authorized under § 629a.7(a)(7), separate areas
designated for the placement of the House Money Wager
for each player.

(8) Numbered areas that correspond to the seat num-
bers for the purpose of marking vigorish unless the
dealer, in accordance with the option selected in the
certificate holder’s Rules Submission under § 601a.2 (re-
lating to table games Rules Submissions), collects the
vigorish from a player at the time the winning payout is
made or the table is designated for play as an EZ
Baccarat table in which vigorish is not collected.

(¢) If marker buttons are used for the purpose of
marking vigorish, the marker buttons shall be placed in
the table inventory container or in a separate rack
designed for the purpose of storing marker buttons. If a
separate rack is used, the rack shall be placed in front of
the table inventory container during gaming activity.

(d) Each Midibaccarat table must have a drop box and
a tip box attached on the same side of the gaming table
as, but on opposite sides of, the dealer, as approved by the
Bureau of Casino Compliance in accordance with
§ 601a.10(g). The Bureau of Casino Compliance may
approve an alternative location for the tip box when a
card shuffling device or other table game equipment
prevents the placement of the drop box and tip box on the
same side of the gaming table as, but on opposite sides of,
the dealer.

(e) Each Midibaccarat table must have a discard
bucket on the dealer’s side of the table.

§ 629a.7. Wagers.

(a) The following are permissible wagers in the game of
Midibaccarat:

(1) A wager on the Banker’s Hand which shall:

(1) Win if the Banker’s Hand has a Point Count higher
than that of the Player’s Hand unless EZ Baccarat is
being played and the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand
and the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7.

(i1) Lose if the Banker’s Hand has a Point Count lower
than that of the Player’s Hand.

(iii) Tie and be returned to the player if the Banker’s
Hand and the Player’s Hand have the same Point Count
or if EZ Baccarat is being played and the Point Counts of
the Banker’s Hand and the Player’s Hand result in a
Dragon 7.

(2) A wager on the Player’s Hand which shall:

(i) Win if the Player’s Hand has a Point Count higher
than that of the Banker’s Hand and if EZ Baccarat is
being played and the Point Counts of the Player’s Hand
and the Dealer’s Hand result in a Panda 8.

(ii) Lose if the Player’s Hand has a Point Count lower
than that of the Banker’s Hand or if EZ Baccarat is being
played and the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7.

(iii) Tie and be returned to the player if the Point
Counts of the Banker’s Hand and the Player’s Hand are
equal.

(3) A Tie Wager which shall:

(1) Win if the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand are equal.

(i) Lose if Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and the
Player’s Hand are not equal.

(4) If offered by a certificate holder, a Dragon Bonus
Wager on the Player’s Hand or Banker’s Hand, or both,
which shall:

(1) Win if the selected hand is:
(A) A Natural and the other hand is not a Natural.
(B) A Natural 9 and the other hand is a Natural 8.

(C) Not a Natural and has a Point Count that exceeds
the Point Count of the other hand by four or more points.

(i1) Lose if the selected hand is:
(A) A Natural 8 and the other hand is a Natural 9.

(B) Not a Natural and has a Point Count less than or
equal to the Point Count of the other hand.

(C) Not a Natural and has a Point Count that exceeds
the Point Count of the other hand by less than four
points.
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(iii)) Tie and be returned to the player if the selected
hand is a Natural and the other hand is a Natural of
equal Point Count.

(5) A Dragon 7 Insurance Wager, if the table is desig-
nated for play as an EZ Baccarat table, which shall:

(1) Win if the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7.

(i1) Lose if the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand do not result in a Dragon 7.

(6) A Panda 8 Insurance Wager, if the table is desig-
nated for play as an EZ Baccarat table, which shall:

(i) Win if the Point Counts of the Player’s Hand and
the Dealer’s Hand result in a Panda 8.

(i) Lose if the Point Counts of the Player’s Hand and
the Dealer’s Hand do not result in a Panda 8.

(7) If offered by a certificate holder, a House Money
Wager which shall:

(i) Win if the first two cards of either the Player’s Hand
or Banker’s Hand, or both, are a pair. For purposes of the
House Money Wager, a pair must be of same rank (two
queens, for example), regardless of suit.

(ii) Lose if in the first two cards dealt to the player’s
hand and the banker’s hand, neither the player’s hand
nor the banker’s hand contains a pair.

(b) Wagers at Midibaccarat shall be made by placing
value chips or plaques on the appropriate areas of the
Midibaccarat layout. Verbal wagers accompanied by cash
may be accepted provided that the verbal wagers are
confirmed by the dealer and the cash is expeditiously
converted into value chips or plaques.

(¢) A wager may not be made, increased or withdrawn
after the dealer has announced “no more bets.”

§ 629a.11. Announcement of result of round; pay-
ment and collection of wagers.

(a) After each hand has received all the cards to which
it is entitled under §§ 629a.8, 629a.9 and 629a.10 (relat-
ing to hands of player and banker; procedure for dealing
initial two cards to each hand; procedure for dealing a
third card; and rules for determining whether a third
card shall be dealt), the dealer shall announce the final
Point Count of each hand indicating which hand has won
the round. If two hands have equal Point Counts, the
dealer shall announce “tie hand.” If the table is desig-
nated for play as an EZ Baccarat table and the Point
Counts of the Banker’s Hand and the Player’s Hand
result in a Dragon 7 or a Panda 8, the dealer shall
announce “Dragon 7” or “Panda 8.”

(b) After the result of the round is announced, the
dealer shall first collect each losing wager. After the
losing wagers are collected, the dealer shall, starting at
the highest numbered player position at which a winning
wager is located, mark or collect the vigorish owed by
that player, unless the table is designated for play as an
EZ Baccarat table in which vigorish is not collected.
Immediately thereafter, the dealer shall pay that player’s
winning wager and then, proceeding in descending order
to the next highest numbered player position at which a
winning wager is located, repeat this procedure until the
vigorish owed by each player is either marked or collected
and each winning wager is paid.

(¢) At the conclusion of a round of play, the dealer shall
remove all cards from the table and place the cards in the
discard bucket.

§ 629a.12. Payout odds; vigorish.

(a) A winning wager made on the Player’s Hand shall
be paid at odds of 1 to 1.

(b) A winning Tie Wager shall be paid at odds of at
least 8 to 1.

(¢) A winning wager made on the Banker’s Hand shall
be paid at odds of 1 to 1, except that the certificate holder
shall extract a vigorish from the winning players in an
amount equal to 5% of the amount won unless the
certificate holder is offering EZ Baccarat in which vigor-
ish is not collected. When collecting the vigorish, the
certificate holder may round off the vigorish to 25¢ or the
next highest multiple of 25¢.

(d) A dealer shall collect the vigorish from a player in
accordance with one of the following procedures selected
by the certificate holder in its Rules Submission under
§ 601a.2 (relating to table games Rules Submissions):

(1) At the time the winning payout is made.
(2) At a later time, provided that:

(i) The outstanding vigorish shall be collected prior to
beginning play with a new dealing shoe of cards or when
the player leaves the gaming table, whichever occurs
first.

(i1)) The amount of the vigorish shall be tracked by
placing a coin or marker button, which contains the
amount of the vigorish owed, in the rectangular space on
the layout that is imprinted with the number of the
player owing the vigorish.

(iii) The coin or marker button may not be removed
from the layout until the vigorish owed is collected.

(e) If a certificate holder offers the Dragon Bonus
Wager, in accordance with § 629a.7(a)(4) (relating to
wagers), a vigorish may not be extracted on a winning
Dragon Bonus Wager. Winning Dragon Bonus Wagers
shall be paid out at the odds in one of the following
paytables selected by the certificate holder in its Rules
Submission filed in accordance with § 601a.2:

Hand Paytable A Paytable B Paytable C
Win by 9 points 30to 1 20to 1 30to 1
Win by 8 points 10to 1 8tol 10to 1
Win by 7 points 6tol 7Ttol 4to1l
Win by 6 points 4tol 4tol 4tol
Win by 5 points 2to 1 3tol 2to 1
Win by 4 points l1tol 1to1l 2tol
Natural winner 1to1l 1to1l 1tol

Natural tie Push Push Push

(f) A winning Dragon 7 Insurance Wager, as described
in § 629a.7(a)(5), shall be paid at odds of 40 to 1.

(g) A winning Panda 8 Insurance Wager, as described
in § 629a.7(a)(6), shall be paid at odds of 25 to 1.

(h) If a certificate holder offers the House Money
Wager and the player elects to take the payout, the
player shall be paid in accordance with the following
paytable:

Hand Odds
Player and Banker Pair 15to 1
Player or Banker Pair 3tol

CHAPTER 631a. BACCARAT
§ 631a.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:
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Curator—The player who accepts the dealing shoe and
who is responsible for dealing the cards in accordance
with this chapter and the instructions of the dealer
calling the game.

Dragon 7—A Banker’s Hand which has a Point Count
of 7 with a total of three cards dealt and the Player’s
Hand which has a Point Count of less than 7.

EZ Baccarat—A variation of Baccarat in which vigorish
is not collected.

Natural—A hand which has a Point Count of 8 or 9 on
the first two cards dealt.

Panda 8—A Player’s Hand which has a Point Count of
8 with a total of three cards dealt and the Banker’s Hand
which has a Point Count of less than 8.

§ 631a.2. Baccarat table physical characteristics.

(a) Baccarat shall be played on a table having num-
bered positions for 10 to 14 seated players.

(b) The layout for a Baccarat table shall be submitted
to the Bureau of Gaming Operations and approved in
accordance with § 601a.10(a) (relating to approval of
table layouts, signage and equipment) and contain, at a
minimum:

(1) The name or logo of the certificate holder.

(2) Separate areas designated for the placement of
wagers on the Banker’s Hand, Player’s Hand and Tie
Hand for each player.

(3) The payout odds for all permissible wagers offered
by the certificate holder. If the payout odds are not
inscribed on the layout, a sign identifying the payout odds
shall be posted at each Baccarat table.

(4) An area designated for the placement of cards for
the Player’s Hand and Banker’s Hand.

(5) If a certificate holder offers the Dragon Bonus
Wager, authorized under § 631a.8(a)(4) (relating to wa-
gers), separate areas designated for the placement of the
Dragon Bonus Wager for each player.

(6) If a certificate holder offers EZ Baccarat:

(i) Separate areas designated for the placement of the
Dragon 7 Insurance Wager, authorized under § 631a.8(a)(5),
for each player.

(i1) Inscriptions that advise patrons that a wager on
the Banker’s Hand that results in a Dragon 7 shall push
and be returned to the player. If the information is not
inscribed on the layout, a sign containing the information
must be posted at each Baccarat table.

(iii) Separate areas designated for the placement of the
Panda 8 Insurance Wager, authorized under § 631a.8(a)(6),
for each player.

(7) If a certificate holder offers the House Money
Wager, authorized under § 631a.8(a)(7), separate areas
designated for the placement of the House Money Wager
for each player.

(8) Numbered areas that correspond to the seat num-
bers for the purpose of marking vigorish unless the
dealer, in accordance with the option selected in the
certificate holder’s Rules Submission under § 601a.2 (re-
lating to table games Rules Submissions), collects the
vigorish from a player at the time the winning payout is
made or the table is designated for play as an EZ
Baccarat table in which vigorish is not collected.

(¢) If marker buttons are used for the purpose of
marking vigorish, the marker buttons shall be placed in
the table inventory container or in a separate rack
designed for the purpose of storing marker buttons. If a
separate rack is used, the rack shall be placed in front of
the table inventory container during gaming activity.

(d) Each Baccarat table must have a drop box and a tip
box attached on the same side of the gaming table as, but
on opposite sides of, the dealer, as approved by the
Bureau of Casino Compliance in accordance with
§ 601a.10(g). The Bureau of Casino Compliance may
approve an alternative location for the tip box when a
card shuffling device or other table game equipment
prevents the placement of the drop box and tip box on the
same side of the gaming table as, but on opposite sides of,
the dealer.

(e) Each Baccarat table must have a discard bucket on
dealer’s side of the table.

§ 631a.8. Wagers.

(a) The following are permissible wagers in the game of
Baccarat:

(1) A wager on the Banker’s Hand which shall:

(i) Win if the Banker’s Hand has a Point Count higher
than that of the Player’s Hand unless EZ Baccarat is
being played and the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand
and the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7.

(i1) Lose if the Banker’s Hand has a Point Count lower
than that of the Player’s Hand.

(iii) Tie and be returned to the player if the Banker’s
Hand and the Player’s Hand have the same Point Count
or if EZ Baccarat is being played and the Point Counts of
the Banker’s Hand and the Player’s Hand result in a
Dragon 7.

(2) A wager on the Player’s Hand which shall:

(i) Win if the Player’s Hand has a Point Count higher
than that of the Banker’s Hand and if EZ Baccarat is
being played and the Point Counts of the Player’s Hand
and the Dealer’s Hand result in a Panda 8.

(i1) Lose if the Player’s Hand has a Point Count lower
than that of the Banker’s Hand or if EZ Baccarat is being
played and the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7.

(iii) Tie and be returned to the player if the Point
Counts of the Banker’s Hand and the Player’s Hand are
equal.

(3) A Tie Wager which shall:

(1) Win if the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand are equal.

(i) Lose if Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and the
Player’s Hand are not equal.

(4) If offered by a certificate holder, a Dragon Bonus
Wager on the Player’s Hand or Banker’s Hand, or both,
which shall:

(1) Win if the selected hand is:
(A) A Natural and the other hand is not a Natural.
(B) A Natural 9 and the other hand is a Natural 8.

(C) Not a Natural and has a Point Count that exceeds
the Point Count of the other hand by four or more points.

(i1) Lose if the selected hand is:
(A) A Natural 8 and the other hand is a Natural 9.
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(B) Not a Natural and has a Point Count less than or
equal to the Point Count of the other hand.

(C) Not a Natural and has a Point Count that exceeds
the Point Count of the other hand by less than four
points.

(iii)) Tie and be returned to the player if the selected
hand is a Natural and the other hand is a Natural of
equal Point Count.

(5) A Dragon 7 Insurance Wager, if the table is desig-
nated for play as an EZ Baccarat table, which shall:

(i) Win if the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7.

(i1) Lose if the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand do not result in a Dragon 7.

(6) A Panda 8 Insurance Wager, if the table is desig-
nated for play as an EZ Baccarat table, which shall:

(i) Win if the Point Counts of the Player’s Hand and
the Dealer’s Hand result in a Panda 8.

(i1) Lose if the Point Counts of the Player’s Hand and
the Dealer’s Hand do not result in a Panda 8.

(7) If offered by a certificate holder, a House Money
Wager which shall:

(i) Win if the first two cards of either the Player’s Hand
or Banker’s Hand, or both, are a pair. For purposes of the
House Money Wager, a pair must be of the same rank
(two queens, for example), regardless of suit.

(i1) Lose if in the first two cards dealt to the player’s
hand and the banker’s hand, neither the player’s hand
nor the banker’s hand contains a pair.

(b) Wagers at Baccarat shall be made by placing value
chips or plaques on the appropriate areas of the Baccarat
layout. Verbal wagers accompanied by cash may be
accepted provided that the verbal wagers are confirmed
by the dealer and the cash is expeditiously converted into
value chips or plaques.

(c) A wager may not be made, increased or withdrawn
after the dealer has announced “no more bets.”

§ 631a.12. Announcement of result of round; pay-
ment and collection of wagers.

(a) After each hand has received all the cards to which
it is entitled under §§ 631a.9, 631a.10 and 63la.ll
(relating to hands of player and banker; procedure for
dealing initial two cards to each hand; procedure for
dealing a third card; and rules for determining whether a
third card shall be dealt), the dealer calling the game
shall announce the final Point Count of each hand
indicating which hand has won the round. If the two
hands have equal Point Counts, the dealer shall an-
nounce “tie hand.” If the table is designated for play as an
EZ Baccarat table and the Point Counts of the Banker’s
Hand and the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7 or a
Panda 8, the dealer shall announce “Dragon 7” or “Panda
8'”

(b) After the result of the round is announced, the
dealer or dealers responsible for the wagers on the table
shall first collect each losing wager. After the losing
wagers are collected, the dealer or dealers responsible for
the wagers on the table shall, starting at the highest
numbered player position at which a winning wager is
located, pay that player’s winning wager and immediately
thereafter mark or collect the vigorish owed by that
player unless the table is designated for play as an EZ

Baccarat table in which vigorish is not collected. The
dealer shall then proceed in descending order to the next
highest numbered player position at which a winning
wager is located and repeat this procedure until each
winning wager is paid and the vigorish owed by each
player, if any, is either marked or collected.

(¢) At the conclusion of a round of play, the dealer shall
remove all cards from the table and place the cards in the
discard bucket.

§ 631a.13. Payout odds; vigorish.

(a) A winning wager made on the Player’s Hand shall
be paid at odds of 1 to 1.

(b) A winning Tie Wager shall be paid at odds of at
least 8 to 1.

(¢) A winning wager made on the Banker’s Hand shall
be paid at odds of 1 to 1, except that the certificate holder
shall extract a vigorish from the winning players in an
amount equal to 5% of the amount won, unless the
certificate holder is offering EZ Baccarat in which vigor-
ish is not collected. When collecting the vigorish, the
certificate holder may round off the vigorish to 25¢ or the
next highest multiple of 25¢.

(d) A dealer shall collect the vigorish from a player in
accordance with one of the following procedures selected
by the certificate holder in its Rules Submission under
§ 601a.2 (relating to table games Rules Submissions):

(1) At the time the winning payout is made.
(2) At a later time, provided that:

(i) The outstanding vigorish shall be collected prior to
beginning play with a new dealing shoe of cards or when
the player leaves the gaming table, whichever occurs
first.

(i1)) The amount of the vigorish shall be tracked by
placing a coin or marker button, which contains the
amount of the vigorish owed, in the rectangular space on
the layout that is imprinted with the number of the
player owing the vigorish.

(iii) The coin or marker button may not be removed
from the layout until the vigorish owed is collected.

(e) If a certificate holder offers the Dragon Bonus
Wager, in accordance with § 631a.8(a)(4) (relating to
wagers), a vigorish may not be extracted on a winning
Dragon Bonus Wager. Winning Dragon Bonus Wagers
shall be paid out at the odds in one of the following
paytables selected by the certificate holder in its Rules
Submission filed in accordance with § 601a.2:

Hand Paytable A Paytable B Paytable C
Win by 9 points 30to 1 20 to 1 30to 1
Win by 8 points 10to 1 8tol 10to 1
Win by 7 points 6tol 7tol 4tol
Win by 6 points 4to1l 4to 1l 4tol
Win by 5 points 2tol 3tol 2tol
Win by 4 points 1tol 1tol 2to 1
Natural winner 1to1l 1to1l l1tol
Natural tie Push Push Push

(f) A winning Dragon 7 Insurance Wager, as described
in § 631a.8(a)(5), shall be paid out at odds of 40 to 1.

(g) A winning Panda 8 Insurance Wager, as described
in § 631a.8(a)(6), shall be paid at odds of 25 to 1.
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(h) If a certificate holder offers the House Money
Wager and the player elects to take the payout, the
player shall be paid in accordance with the following
paytable:

Hand Odds
Player and Banker Pair 15to 1
Player or Banker Pair Jtol

CHAPTER 633a. BLACKJACK

§ 633a.7. Procedure for dealing the cards; comple-
tion of each round of play.
* * * % *

(o) After all additional cards have been dealt to the
players and the dealer, the dealer shall, starting with the
player farthest to the dealer’s right and continuing
around the table in a counterclockwise direction, settle
the remaining optional wagers by collecting all losing
wagers and paying all winning wagers as follows:

ES * ES * *

(2) If a player placed a Hit and Run Progressive Wager:

(i) A player shall win if the dealer has Blackjack or the
dealer’s hand has five or more cards inclusive of any card
which would give the dealer’s hand a total point count of
greater than 21. For example, if the dealer’s hand has a
total point count of 14 with five cards drawn and the
dealer draws an additional card resulting in a total point
count of 23, the dealer’s sixth card shall also count
toward the Hit and Run Progressive payout.

(ii) If a player has won the Hit and Run Progressive
Wager, the dealer shall:

(A) Verify that the hand is a winning hand.

(B) Have a floorperson or above verify any Hit and Run
Progressive payout with odds of 200 for 1 or greater in
accordance with approved internal control procedures
submitted under § 465a.2.

(C) Pay the player the winning Hit and Run Progres-
sive Wager in accordance with § 633a.13(1). If a player
has won a progressive payout that is 100% of the jackpot
amount on the progressive meter, the progressive payout
may not be paid from the table inventory container. If a
player has won a progressive payout that is not being
paid from the table inventory container, the cards of the
player must remain on the table until the necessary
documentation has been completed. If more than one
player at the table has won a progressive payout that is
100% of the jackpot amount on the progressive meter,
each player shall share the maximum amount equally.

& * & & &

§ 633a.13. Payout odds; payout limitation.

& * & * *

(1) If the certificate holder offers the Hit and Run
Progressive Wager:

(1) The certificate holder shall pay out winning Hit and
Run Progressive Wagers at the odds in the following
paytable:

Hand

Dealer has:
Eight or more cards

Payout

100% of meter

Seven cards 200 for 1
Six cards 25 for 1
Five cards 8 for 1
Blackjack 4 for 1

(2) The rate of progression for the meter used for the
Hit and Run Progressive Wager must be specified in the
certificate holder’s Rules Submission filed in accordance
with § 601a.2. The initial and reset amounts must also
be in the Rules Submission and at least $1,000.

(m) If the certificate holder offers the Straight Jack
Progressive Wager:

(1) The certificate holder shall pay out winning
Straight Jack Progressive Wagers at the odds in the
following paytable:

Hand Payout
Player has:
Six-card straight with an ace of 100% of meter
spades and 200 to 1
Six-card straight with an ace of 10% of meter
diamonds, clubs or hearts and 200 to 1
Five-card straight 200 to 1
Four-card straight 50to 1
Three-card straight 15to 1
Two-card straight 3tol

(2) The rate of progression for the meter used for the
Straight Jack Progressive Wager must be specified in the
certificate holder’s Rules Submission filed in accordance
with § 601a.2. The initial and reset amounts must also
be in the Rules Submission and be at least $5,000.

(n) If a certificate holder offers the House Money
Wager and the player elects to take the payout, the
player shall be paid in accordance with the following
paytable:

(1) If a single deck of cards is being used:

Hand Odds
Ace-king suited 9to 1
Two-card straight flush 5to1

Pair 3tol

Two-card straight 1tol
(2) If multiple decks of cards are being used:

Hand Odds

Ace-king suited 9to 1

Two-card straight flush 4tol

Pair 3tol
Two-card straight 1tol

(o) Notwithstanding the payout odds in subsections (b)
and (g), a certificate holder may, in its Rules Submission
under § 601a.2, establish a maximum amount that is
payable to a player with a queen of hearts pair and
dealer Blackjack or king of spades pair and dealer
Blackjack that is payable to all winning hands in the
aggregate on a single round of play. The maximum payout
amount shall be at least $25,000 or the maximum amount
that one patron could win per round when betting the
maximum possible wager, whichever is greater. If a
certificate holder establishes a maximum payout, and
more than one player at a table has a winning hand of
queen of hearts pair and dealer Blackjack or king of
spades pair and dealer Blackjack, each player shall share
the maximum payout amount proportionately to the
amount of the player’s respective wager. Any maximum
payout limit established by the certificate holder shall
apply only to payouts of Royal Match 21 Wagers and
King’s Bounty Wagers.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 14-237. Filed for public inspection January 31, 2014, 9:00 a.m.]
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PENNSYLVANIA GAMING CONTROL BOARD

[ 58 PA. CODE CHS. 461a, 465a, 525, 575, 577, 579,
603a, 609a, 623a, 627a, 629a, 631a, 633a, 635a,
637a, 649a, 659a, 661a, 663a AND 665a ]

Slot Machines and Table Game Controls, Equip-
ment, Credit and Rules

The Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board (Board), un-
der the general authority in 4 Pa.C.S. § 1202(b)(30)
(relating to general and specific powers) and the specific
authority in 4 Pa.C.S. §§ 1207(3) and (9) and 13A02(1),
(2) and (4) (relating to regulatory authority of board; and
regulatory authority), amends Chapters 461a, 465a, 603a,
609a, 623a, 627a, 629a, 631a, 633a, 635a, 637a and 649a,
rescinds Chapters 525, 575, 577 and 579 and adds
Chapters 659a, 661a, 663a and 665a.

Purpose of the Final-Form Rulemaking

This final-form rulemaking transitions the require-
ments for Match Play Coupons and the game rules for
Asia Poker, Three Dice Football and Five Card Hi-Lo
from temporary to final-form regulations. This final-form
rulemaking contains a new game, Double Attack Black-
jack, and optional side wagers.

Explanation of Revisions

The heading of § 461a.9 (relating to coupons utilized in
slot machine gaming) is amended to specify that the
section refers to coupons utilized in slot machine gaming.
The coupons used in table games, Match Play Coupons,
are described in §§ 603a.20 and 603a.21 (relating to
Match Play Coupons; physical characteristics and issu-
ance; and Match Play Coupon use). The retention period
for Match Play Coupons is added in § 465a.6 (relating to
retention, storage and destruction of books, records and
documents) and is consistent with the retention periods
for coupons used in slot machine gaming.

In §§ 465a.9(c)(2) and 465a.35 (relating to surveillance
system; surveillance department control; surveillance de-
partment restrictions; and personnel assigned to the
operation and conduct of table games), the camera cover-
age requirements and the personnel assigned to Three
Dice Football are added. The requirements are consistent
with those established in the temporary regulations.
Additionally, the inspection requirements for the dice
utilized in Three Dice Football are added in
§ 603a.13(f)(1) and (2) (relating to dice; receipt, storage,
inspection and removal from use).

In § 603a.1 (relating to definitions), the definition of
“Match Play Coupon” is added. In § 603a.10 (relating to
permissible wagering; exchange and redemption of gam-
ing chips and plaques), a Match Play Coupon is added as
a permissible wager. The requirements for the design,
internal controls and distribution of promotional Match
Play Coupons are in § 603a.20. Match Play Coupons are
to be controlled by the finance department and distrib-
uted to patrons by the marketing department. Certificate
holders are required to file a quarterly report with the
Bureau of Casino Compliance listing the total value of
Match Play Coupons redeemed by patrons.

Section 603a.21 specifies that a promotional Match
Play Coupon shall be used with an equal value of gaming
chips. The value of the Match Play Coupon is added to
the gaming chips wagered by the patron. If the wager
wins, it is paid in accordance with the terms and
conditions of the Match Play Coupon. Irrespective of

whether the Match Play Coupon wins or loses, it is
deposited into the table game drop box at the conclusion
of each round of play.

Section 603a.13(f)(3) is added as an alternative dice
inspection and distribution procedure. This alternative
was previously available when the equipment chapter
were temporary regulations but was inadvertently not
transitioned when the final-form regulations were prom-
ulgated. One operator requested to continue utilizing the
procedures in this subsection.

Amendments to § 603a.13(c)(3) allow the finance de-
partment to issue the manual Counter Checkbook to the
table games department provided that adequate internal
controls are submitted to Board staff for approval.

A new series of side wagers, Bonus Craps, are added to
the game of Craps. The layout requirements are in
§ 623a.2(d)(5) (relating to Craps and Mini-Craps tables;
physical characteristics) and a description of the side
wagers is added to § 623a.3(a)(43) (relating to wagers)
with the payout odds in § 623a.5(h) (relating to payout
odds). The additional procedures regarding Bonus Craps
are in § 623a.12 (relating to additional procedures and
rules for Bonus Craps).

A new side wager, the House Money Wager, is added in
the three Baccarat style games in Chapters 627a, 629a
and 63la (relating to Minibaccarat; Midibaccarat; and
Baccarat). The amendments to the games include layout
requirements, the description of the wager, dealing proce-
dure and the payout odds.

Two additional side wagers, the Straight Jack Progres-
sive Wager and the House Money Wager, are added in
Chapter 633a (relating to Blackjack). The layout require-
ments are added in § 633a.2(b) (relating to Blackjack
table; card reader device; physical characteristics; inspec-
tions), a description of the wagers are added in
§ 633a.6(e) (relating to wagers), the dealing procedures
are added to § 633a.7(g) and (o) (relating to procedure for
dealing the cards; completion of each round of play) and
the payout odds are added in § 633a.13(m) and (n)
(relating to payout odds; payout limitation).

In Chapter 635a (relating to Spanish 21), the provision
on when a patron may double down is expanded to allow
patrons to double down on two or more cards dealt
instead of only the first two cards dealt to the patron.
Additionally, § 635a.8(e) (relating to Insurance Wager) is
deleted as unnecessary. If a player has Blackjack, the
player shall win even if the dealer also has a Blackjack.

A new variation and several new games are added to
Chapter 637a (relating to Poker). Operators may now
offer the Super Seven-card Stud High Low Split Eight or
Better, Five-card Omaha, Triple Draw 2-7, Triple Draw
A-5, Triple Draw Badeucey, Triple Draw Badacey and
Badugi. The new variation of seven-card stud is added in
§ 637a.10 (relating to Seven-card Stud Poker; procedures
for dealing the cards; completion of each round of play)
and the new games are added in §§ 637a.19—637a.21
(relating to Five-card Omaha Poker; procedures for deal-
ing the cards; completion of each round of play; Triple
Draw Poker; procedures for dealing the cards; completion
of each round of play; and Badugi Poker; procedures for
dealing the cards; completion of each round of play).

In Three Card Poker, a new hand ranking, a mini-royal
flush, is added in § 649a.6(e) (relating to Three Card
Poker rankings) and the corresponding payout is added in
§ 649a.12(g) (relating to payout odds; Envy Bonus; rate of
progression). This payout was, at one time, available
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when the regulation was temporary but was not
transitioned when the final-form regulation was promul-
gated.

Three games that were in temporary form are in this
final-form rulemaking including Asia Poker, Three Dice
Football and Five Card Hi-Lo. Chapters 659a, 661a and
663a (relating to Asia Poker; Three Dice Football; and
Five Card Hi-Lo) contain the table layout requirements,
dealing procedures, permissible wagers and payout odds
for all permissible wagers.

Chapter 665a (relating to Double Attack Blackjack) is
added. This is a variation on Blackjack in which a player
may place an additional wager after seeing the dealer’s
up card and may surrender even after taking additional
cards. Table layout requirements, the dealing procedures,
permissible wagers and payout odds are included in this
chapter.

Comment and Response Summary

Notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 43
Pa.B. 834 (February 9, 2013). The Board did not receive
comments from the public or the regulated community.
On April 10, 2013, the Board received comments from the
Independent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) on
the rulemaking.

Chapter 627a, 629a and 631a

IRRC requested that the Board clarify when a House
Money Wager would win and when it would lose. The
Board did not add additional language regarding when a
House Money Wager would win but has amended the
language regarding losing wagers. A House Money Wager
in Baccarat style games will lose if in the first two cards
dealt to the player’s hand or banker’s hand, neither hand
contains a pair. This amendment was made to
§§ 627a.7(a)(7)(ii), 629a.7(a)(7)(ii) and 631a.8(a)(7)(ii) (re-
lating to wagers).

Chapter 659

IRRC requested that the Board clarify § 659a.6(b)(2)—
(6) (relating to Asia Poker rankings) regarding when a
joker may be used. The rules regarding the use of the
joker are in subsection (a). For consistency among the
paragraphs in subsection (b), the reference to the joker
was deleted from paragraph (1).

The same rules regarding the use of the joker are also
applicable to subsection (d) with the exception of para-
graphs (4) and (5) which either specifically include or
exclude the use of a joker.

IRRC commented that § 659a.10(a)(2) (relating to pro-
cedures for dealing the cards from an automated dealing
shoe) is redundant with the requirements in subsection
(a)(1). The Board agrees and amended the language
accordingly.

Chapter 663a

The Board added corrective language to § 663a.6(a)
(relating to Five Card Hi-Lo rankings) regarding the
point value of nonface cards.

IRRC commented that § 663a.11(j) (relating to proce-
dures for completion of each round of play) was unclear
as to when a player’s Tie Wager would win or lose. IRRC
requested that the Board clarify the language. Subsection
(G)(1)i) was amended to reflect that if neither the high
hand nor the low hand of the player is identical in point
value to the high and low hands of the dealer, the Tie
Wager will be collected as a losing wager.

Affected Parties

Slot machine licensees will be impacted by this final-
form rulemaking as operators will have a greater number
of table games and side wagers to offer at their facilities.

Fiscal Impact

Commonuwealth. The Board does not expect that this
final-form rulemaking will have fiscal impact on the
Board or other Commonwealth agencies. Internal control
procedures submitted by certificate holders regarding
table games Rules Submissions and Match Play Coupons
will be reviewed by existing Board staff.

Promotional Match Play Coupons have been utilized by
the licensed facilities to increase the amount of table
game play and the overall revenue to the facilities and
the tax collected for the Commonwealth. Match Play
Coupons are neither included in nor deducted from gross
table game revenue.

Political subdivisions. This proposed rulemaking will
not have fiscal impact on political subdivisions of this
Commonwealth. Host municipalities and counties will
benefit from the local share funding that is mandated by
the act of January 7, 2010 (P. L. 1, No. 1).

Private sector. Slot machine licensees that decide to
offer the new games, variations or side wagers will be
required to comply with the requirements in this final-
form rulemaking and will be required to submit updated
Rules Submission forms and internal controls to reflect
additions. Costs incurred to purchase equipment and
train employees should be offset by the proceeds of
gaming.

General public. This final-form rulemaking will not
have fiscal impact on the general public.

Paperwork Requirements

If a certificate holder selects different options for the
play of table games, the certificate holder will be required
to update its gaming guide and submit an updated Rules
Submission reflecting the changes. These forms are avail-
able and submitted to the Board electronically. If a
certificate holder elects to offer Match Play Coupons to
patrons, the certificate holder will have to submit up-
dated internal controls for approval and will have to
submit a quarterly report listing the total value of Match
Play Coupons given to patrons.

Effective Date

This final-form rulemaking will become effective upon
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)), on January 29, 2013, the Board submit-
ted a copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking, published
at 43 Pa.B. 834, to IRRC and the Chairpersons of the
House Gaming Oversight Committee and the Senate
Community, Economic and Recreational Development
Committee for review and comment.

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC
and the House and Senate Committees were provided
with copies of the comments received during the public
comment period, as well as other documents when re-
quested. In preparing the final-form rulemaking, the
Department has considered all comments from IRRC, the
House and Senate Committees and the public.

Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5a(j.2)), on December 11, 2013, the final-form
rulemaking was deemed approved by the House and
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Senate Committees. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regula-
tory Review Act, IRRC met on December 12, 2013, and
approved the final-form rulemaking.

Findings
The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of intention to adopt these amend-
ments was given under sections 201 and 202 of the act of
July 31, 1968 (P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P. S. §§ 1201 and
1202) and the regulations thereunder, 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1
and 7.2.

(2) The final-form rulemaking is necessary and appro-
priate for the administration and enforcement of 4
Pa.C.S. Part II (relating to gaming).

Order
The Board, acting under 4 Pa.C.S. Part II, orders that:

(a) The regulations of the Board, 58 Pa.Code, are
amended by:

Adding §§ 603a.20, 603a.21, 623a.12, 637a.19, 637a.20
and 661a.1—661a.8, deleting §§ 525.21, 525.22, 575.1—
575.13, 577.1—577.9 and 579.1—579.13 and amending
§§ 461a.9, 465a.6, 465a.9, 465a.35, 603a.1, 603a.10,
603a.13, 609a.13, 623a.2, 623a.3, 623a.4, 623a.5, 633a.1,
633a.2, 633a.6, 635a.10, 637a.6, 649a.6 and 649a.12 to
read as set forth at 43 Pa.B. 834.

Adding §§ 637a.21, 659a.1—659a.13, 663a.1—663a.13
and 665a.1—665a.13 and amending §§ 627a.2, 627a.7,
627a.8, 627a.12, 629a.2, 629a.7, 629a.8, 629a.12, 631a.2,
631a.8, 631a.9, 631a.13, 633a.7, 633a.13, 635a.8 and
637a.10 to read as set forth in Annex A, with ellipses
referring to the existing text of the regulations.

(Editor’s Note: Sections 635a.8 and 637a.10 were not
included in the proposed rulemaking published at 43
Pa.B. 834.)

(Editor’s Note: Final-form rulemaking 125-162 also
amends §§ 627a.2, 627a.7, 627a.12, 629a.2, 629a.7,
629a.12, 631a.2, 631a.8, 631a.13, 633a.7 and 633a.13. See
44 Pa.B. 599 (February 1, 2014).)

(b) The Chairperson of the Board shall certify this
order, 43 Pa.B. 834 and Annex A and deposit them with
the Legislative Reference Bureau as required by law.

(c) This order shall take effect upon publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.
WILLIAM H. RYAN, Jr.,
Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 43 Pa.B. 7606 (December 28, 2013).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 125-166 remains valid for the
final adoption of the subject regulations.

Annex A
TITLE 58. RECREATION
PART VII. GAMING CONTROL BOARD
Subpart K. TABLE GAMES
CHAPTER 627a. MINIBACCARAT

§ 627a.2. Minibaccarat table physical characteris-
tics.

(a) Minibaccarat shall be played on a table having
numbered positions for no more than nine seated players
on one side of the table and a place for the dealer on the
opposite side of the table.

(b) The layout for a Minibaccarat table shall be submit-
ted to the Bureau of Gaming Operations and approved in
accordance with § 601a.10(a) (relating to approval of
table game layouts, signage and equipment) and contain,
at a minimum:

(1) The name or logo of the certificate holder.

(2) Separate areas designated for the placement of
wagers on the Banker’s Hand, Player’s Hand and Tie
Hand for each player.

(3) The payout odds for all permissible wagers offered
by the certificate holder. If the payout odds are not
inscribed on the layout, a sign identifying the payout odds
shall be posted at each Minibaccarat table.

(4) An area designated for the placement of cards for
the Player’s Hand and Banker’s Hand.

(5) If a certificate holder offers the Dragon Bonus
Wager authorized under § 627a.7(a)(4) (relating to wa-
gers), separate areas designated for the placement of the
Dragon Bonus Wager for each player.

(6) If a certificate holder offers EZ Baccarat in which
vigorish is not collected:

(i) Separate areas designated for the placement of the
Dragon 7 Insurance Wager, authorized under § 627a.7(a)(5),
for each player.

(i1) Inscriptions that advise patrons that a wager on
the Banker’s Hand that results in a Dragon 7 shall push
and be returned to the player. If the information is not
inscribed on the layout, a sign containing the information
shall be posted at each Minibaccarat table.

(iii) Separate areas designated for the placement of the
Panda 8 Insurance Wager, authorized under § 627a.7(a)(6),
for each player.

(7) If a certificate holder offers the House Money
Wager, authorized under § 627a.7(a)(7), separate areas
designated for the placement of the House Money Wager
for each player.

(8) Numbered areas that correspond to the seat num-
bers for the purpose of marking vigorish unless the
dealer, in accordance with the option selected in the
certificate holder’s Rules Submission under § 601a.2 (re-
lating to table games Rules Submissions), collects the
vigorish from a player at the time the winning payout is
made or the table is designated for play as an EZ
Baccarat table in which vigorish is not collected.

(¢) If marker buttons are used for the purpose of
marking vigorish, the marker buttons shall be placed in
the table inventory container or in a separate rack
designed for the purpose of storing marker buttons. If a
separate rack is used, the rack shall be placed in front of
the table inventory container during gaming activity.

(d) Each Minibaccarat table must have a drop box and
a tip box attached on the same side of the gaming table
as, but on opposite sides of, the dealer, as approved by the
Bureau of Casino Compliance in accordance with
§ 601a.10(g). The Bureau of Casino Compliance may
approve an alternative location for the tip box when a
card shuffling device or other table game equipment
prevents the placement of the drop box and tip box on the
same side of the gaming table as, but on opposite sides of,
the dealer.

(e) Each Minibaccarat table must have a discard rack
securely attached to the top of the dealer’s side of the
table.
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§ 627a.7. Wagers.

(a) The following are permissible wagers in the game of
Minibaccarat:

(1) A wager on the Banker’s Hand which shall:

(i) Win if the Banker’s Hand has a Point Count higher
than that of the Player’s Hand unless EZ Baccarat is
being played and the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand
and the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7.

(i1) Lose if the Banker’s Hand has a Point Count lower
than that of the Player’s Hand.

(iii) Tie and be returned to the player if the Banker’s
Hand and the Player’s Hand have the same Point Count
or if EZ Baccarat is being played and the Point Counts of
the Banker’s Hand and the Player’s Hand result in a
Dragon 7.

(2) A wager on the Player’s Hand which shall:

(i) Win if the Player’s Hand has a Point Count higher
than that of the Banker’s Hand and if EZ Baccarat is
being played and the Point Counts of the Player’s Hand
and the Dealer’s Hand result in a Panda 8.

(i1) Lose if the Player’s Hand has a Point Count lower
than that of the Banker’s Hand or if EZ Baccarat is being
played and the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7.

(iii) Tie and be returned to the player if the Point
Counts of the Banker’s Hand and the Player’s Hand are
equal.

(3) A Tie Wager which shall:

(1) Win if the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand are equal.

(i1) Lose if Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and the
Player’s Hand are not equal.

(4) If offered by a certificate holder, a Dragon Bonus
Wager on the Player’s Hand or Banker’s Hand, or both,
which shall:

(1) Win if the selected hand is:
(A) A Natural and the other hand is not a Natural.
(B) A Natural 9 and the other hand is a Natural 8.

(C) Not a Natural and has a Point Count that exceeds
the Point Count of the other hand by four or more points.

(i1) Lose if the selected hand is:
(A) A Natural 8 and the other hand is a Natural 9.

(B) Not a Natural and has a Point Count less than or
equal to the Point Count of the other hand.

(C) Not a Natural and has a Point Count that exceeds
the Point Count of the other hand by less than four
points.

(iii)) Tie and be returned to the player if the selected
hand is a Natural and the other hand is a Natural of
equal Point Count.

(5) A Dragon 7 Insurance Wager, if the table is desig-
nated for play as an EZ Baccarat table, which shall:

(i) Win if the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7.

(i1) Lose if the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand do not result in a Dragon 7.

(6) A Panda 8 Insurance Wager, if the table is desig-
nated for play as an EZ Baccarat table, which shall:

(i) Win if the Point Counts of the Player’s Hand and
the Dealer’s Hand result in a Panda 8.

(i) Lose if the Point Counts of the Player’s Hand and
the Dealer’s Hand do not result in a Panda 8.

(7) If offered by a certificate holder, a House Money
Wager which shall:

(1) Win if the first two cards of either the Player’s Hand
or Banker’s Hand, or both, are a pair. For purposes of the
House Money Wager, a pair must be of same rank (two
queens, for example), regardless of suit.

(i1) Lose if in the first two cards dealt to the player’s
hand and the banker’s hand, neither the player’s hand
nor the banker’s hand contains a pair.

(b) Wagers at Minibaccarat shall be made by placing
value chips or plaques on the appropriate areas of the
Minibaccarat layout. Verbal wagers accompanied by cash
may be accepted provided that they are confirmed by the
dealer and the cash is expeditiously converted into value
chips or plaques.

(¢) A wager may not be made, increased or withdrawn
after the dealer has announced “no more bets.”

§ 627a.8. Hands of player and banker; procedure
for dealing initial two cards to each hand.

(a) There shall be two hands dealt in the game of
Minibaccarat, one of which shall be designated the Play-
er's Hand and the other designated the Banker’s Hand.

(b) Prior to dealing any cards, the dealer shall an-
nounce “no more bets.”

(¢) The dealer shall then deal an initial four cards from
the dealing shoe in accordance with one of the following
options selected by the certificate holder in its Rules
Submission under § 601a.2 (relating to table games Rules
Submissions):

(1) The dealer shall remove cards from the dealing
shoe with his left hand and place them face up on the
appropriate area of the layout with his right hand. The
first and third cards dealt shall constitute the first and
second cards of the Player’s Hand and placed on the area
designated for the Player’s Hand. The second and fourth
cards dealt shall constitute the first and second cards of
the Banker’s Hand and placed on the area designated for
the Banker’s Hand.

(2) The dealer shall remove cards from the dealing
shoe with his left hand and place them face down on the
layout. The first and third cards dealt shall constitute the
first and second cards of the Player’s Hand and placed on
the area designated for the Player’s Hand. The second
and fourth cards dealt shall constitute the first and
second cards of the Banker’s Hand and placed under-
neath the right corner of the dealing shoe until the
Player’s Hand is called as provided in § 627a.9 (relating
to procedure for dealing a third card). The second and
fourth cards shall then be turned face up and placed on
the area designated for the Banker’s Hand.

(d) Prior to dealing a third card to the Player’s or
Banker’s Hand, the dealer shall settle all House Money
Wagers as follows:

(1) If a player placed a House Money Wager, beginning
from the dealer’s right and moving counterclockwise
around the table, the dealer shall collect all losing House
Money Wagers and pay all winning wagers in accordance
with § 627a.12(h) (relating to payout odds; vigorish)
provided that, at a player’s discretion, the player may add
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the winning House Money payout to the player’s original
wager on the Player’s or Banker’s Hand in accordance
with the following:

(i) All of the winning House Money payout or, if
specified in the certificate holder’s Rules Submission filed
in accordance with § 601a.2, only a specified portion of
the winning House Money payout shall be added to the
area designated for the placement of the player’s original
wager on the Player’s or Banker’s Hand. The player’s
original wager and the House Money payout which was
added to the player’s original wager shall be settled based
on the outcome of the player’s wager on the Player’s or
Banker’s Hand.

(i) A player may not touch the winning House Money
payout. The dealer shall either hand the entire winning
House Money payout to the player or place all or a
portion thereof, as authorized by the certificate holder, on
the area designated for the placement of the player’s
wager on the Player’s or Banker’s Hand.

(2) After settling the House Money Wagers, the game
shall resume by dealing any third cards that are required
to be dealt in accordance with § 627a.9.

(e) Players may not touch, handle, remove or alter any
cards used to play Minibaccarat.

§ 627a.12. Payout odds; vigorish.

(a) A winning wager made on the Player’s Hand shall
be paid at odds of 1 to 1.

(b) A winning Tie Wager shall be paid at odds of at
least 8 to 1.

(c) A winning wager made on the Banker’s Hand shall
be paid at odds of 1 to 1, except that the certificate holder
shall extract a vigorish from the winning players in an
amount equal to 5% of the amount won unless the
certificate holder is offering EZ Baccarat in which vigor-
ish is not collected. When collecting the vigorish, the
certificate holder may round off the vigorish to 25¢ or the
next highest multiple of 25¢.

(d) A dealer shall collect the vigorish from a player in
accordance with one of the following procedures selected
by the certificate holder in its Rules Submission under
§ 601a.2 (relating to table games Rules Submissions):

(1) At the time the winning payout is made.
(2) At a later time, provided that:

(i) The outstanding vigorish shall be collected prior to
the reshuffling of the cards in a dealing shoe or when the
player leaves the gaming table, whichever occurs first.

(i) The amount of the vigorish shall be tracked by
placing a coin or marker button, which contains the
amount of the vigorish owed, in the rectangular space on
the layout that is imprinted with the number of the
player owing the vigorish.

(iii) The coin or marker button may not be removed
from the layout until the vigorish owed is collected.

(e) If a certificate holder offers the Dragon Bonus
Wager, in accordance with § 627a.7(a)(4) (relating to
wagers), a vigorish may not be extracted on a winning
Dragon Bonus Wager. Winning Dragon Bonus Wagers
shall be paid out at the odds in one of the following

paytables selected by the certificate holder in its Rules
Submission filed in accordance with § 601a.2:

Hand Paytable A Paytable B Paytable C
Win by 9 points 30to 1 20to 1 30to 1
Win by 8 points 10to 1 8tol 10to 1
Win by 7 points 6tol 7to1l 4to1
Win by 6 points 4tol 4to1l 4to1
Win by 5 points 2to 1 3tol 2to 1
Win by 4 points 1tol l1tol 2to1
Natural winner 1to1l 1to1l 1to1l

Natural tie Push Push Push

(f) A winning Dragon 7 Insurance Wager, as described
in § 627a.7(a)(5), shall be paid at odds of 40 to 1.

(g) A winning Panda 8 Insurance Wager, as described
in § 627a.7(a)(6), shall be paid at odds of 25 to 1.

(h) If a certificate holder offers the House Money
Wager and the player elects to take the payout, the
player shall be paid in accordance with the following
paytable:

Hand Odds
Player and Banker Pair 15to 1
Player or Banker Pair 3tol

CHAPTER 629a. MIDIBACCARAT

§ 629a.2. Midibaccarat table physical characteris-
tics.

(a) Midibaccarat shall be played on a table having
numbered positions for no more than nine seated players
on one side of the table and a place for the dealer on the
opposite side of the table.

(b) The layout for a Midibaccarat table shall be submit-
ted to the Bureau of Gaming Operations and approved in
accordance with § 601a.10(a) (relating to approval of
table game layouts, signage and equipment) and contain,
at a minimum:

(1) The name or logo of the certificate holder.

(2) Separate areas designated for the placement of
wagers on the Banker’s Hand, Player’s Hand and Tie
Hand for each player.

(3) The payout odds for all permissible wagers offered
by the certificate holder. If the payout odds are not
inscribed on the layout, a sign identifying the payout odds
shall be posted at each Midibaccarat table.

(4) An area designated for the placement of cards for
the Player’s Hand and Banker’s Hand.

(5) If a certificate holder offers the Dragon Bonus
Wager, authorized under § 629a.7(a)(4) (relating to wa-
gers), separate areas designated for the placement of the
Dragon Bonus Wager for each player.

(6) If a certificate holder offers EZ Baccarat in which
vigorish is not collected:

(i) Separate areas designated for the placement of the
Dragon 7 Insurance Wager, authorized under § 629a.7(a)(5),
for each player.

(i) Inscriptions that advise patrons that a wager on
the Banker’s Hand that results in a Dragon 7 shall push
and be returned to the player. If the information is not
inscribed on the layout, a sign containing the information
shall be posted at each Midibaccarat table.

(iii) Separate areas designated for the placement of the
Panda 8 Insurance Wager, authorized under § 629a.7(a)(6),
for each player.
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(7) If a certificate holder offers the House Money
Wager, authorized under § 629a.7(a)(7), separate areas
designated for the placement of the House Money Wager
for each player.

(8) Numbered areas that correspond to the seat num-
bers for the purpose of marking vigorish unless the
dealer, in accordance with the option selected in the
certificate holder’s Rules Submission under § 601a.2 (re-
lating to table games Rules Submissions), collects the
vigorish from a player at the time the winning payout is
made or the table is designated for play as an EZ
Baccarat table in which vigorish is not collected.

(¢) If marker buttons are used for the purpose of
marking vigorish, the marker buttons shall be placed in
the table inventory container or in a separate rack
designed for the purpose of storing marker buttons. If a
separate rack is used, the rack shall be placed in front of
the table inventory container during gaming activity.

(d) Each Midibaccarat table must have a drop box and
a tip box attached on the same side of the gaming table
as, but on opposite sides of, the dealer, as approved by the
Bureau of Casino Compliance in accordance with
§ 601a.10(g). The Bureau of Casino Compliance may
approve an alternative location for the tip box when a
card shuffling device or other table game equipment
prevents the placement of the drop box and tip box on the
same side of the gaming table as, but on opposite sides of,
the dealer.

(e) Each Midibaccarat table must have a discard
bucket on the dealer’s side of the table.

§ 629a.7. Wagers.

(a) The following are permissible wagers in the game of
Midibaccarat:

(1) A wager on the Banker’s Hand which shall:

(i) Win if the Banker’s Hand has a Point Count higher
than that of the Player’s Hand unless EZ Baccarat is
being played and the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand
and the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7.

(i1) Lose if the Banker’s Hand has a Point Count lower
than that of the Player’s Hand.

(iii)) Tie and be returned to the player if the Banker’s
Hand and the Player’s Hand have the same Point Count
or if EZ Baccarat is being played and the Point Counts of
the Banker’s Hand and the Player’s Hand result in a
Dragon 7.

(2) A wager on the Player’s Hand which shall:

(i) Win if the Player’s Hand has a Point Count higher
than that of the Banker’s Hand and if EZ Baccarat is
being played and the Point Counts of the Player’s Hand
and the Dealer’s Hand result in a Panda 8.

(ii) Lose if the Player’s Hand has a Point Count lower
than that of the Banker’s Hand or if EZ Baccarat is being
played and the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7.

(iii) Tie and be returned to the player if the Point
Counts of the Banker’s Hand and the Player’s Hand are
equal.

(3) A Tie Wager which shall:

(1) Win if the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand are equal.

(i1) Lose if Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and the
Player’s Hand are not equal.

(4) If offered by a certificate holder, a Dragon Bonus
Wager on the Player’s Hand or Banker’s Hand, or both,
which shall:

(1) Win if the selected hand is:
(A) A Natural and the other hand is not a Natural.
(B) A Natural 9 and the other hand is a Natural 8.

(C) Not a Natural and has a Point Count that exceeds
the Point Count of the other hand by four or more points.

(i1) Lose if the selected hand is:
(A) A Natural 8 and the other hand is a Natural 9.

(B) Not a Natural and has a Point Count less than or
equal to the Point Count of the other hand.

(C) Not a Natural and has a Point Count that exceeds
the Point Count of the other hand by less than four
points.

(iii) Tie and be returned to the player if the selected
hand is a Natural and the other hand is a Natural of
equal Point Count.

(5) A Dragon 7 Insurance Wager, if the table is desig-
nated for play as an EZ Baccarat table, which shall:

(1) Win if the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7.

(i1) Lose if the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand do not result in a Dragon 7.

(6) A Panda 8 Insurance Wager, if the table is desig-
nated for play as an EZ Baccarat table, which shall:

(i) Win if the Point Counts of the Player’s Hand and
the Dealer’s Hand result in a Panda 8.

(i1) Lose if the Point Counts of the Player’s Hand and
the Dealer’s Hand do not result in a Panda 8.

(7) If offered by a certificate holder, a House Money
Wager which shall:

(1) Win if the first two cards of either the Player’s Hand
or Banker’s Hand, or both, are a pair. For purposes of the
House Money Wager, a pair must be of same rank (two
queens, for example), regardless of suit.

(i1) Lose if in the first two cards dealt to the player’s
hand and the banker’s hand, neither the player’s hand
nor the banker’s hand contains a pair.

(b) Wagers at Midibaccarat shall be made by placing
value chips or plaques on the appropriate areas of the
Midibaccarat layout. Verbal wagers accompanied by cash
may be accepted provided that the verbal wagers are
confirmed by the dealer and the cash is expeditiously
converted into value chips or plaques.

(¢) A wager may not be made, increased or withdrawn
after the dealer has announced “no more bets.”

§ 629a.8. Hands of player and banker; procedure
for dealing initial two cards to each hand.

(a) There shall be two hands dealt in the game of
Midibaccarat, one of which shall be designated the Play-
er's Hand and the other designated the Banker’s Hand.

(b) Prior to dealing any cards, the dealer shall an-
nounce “no more bets.”

(¢) The dealer shall then deal an initial four cards from
the dealing shoe. The first and third cards dealt shall be
placed face down on the area designated for the Player’s
Hand and the second and fourth cards dealt shall be
placed face down on the area designated for the Banker’s
Hand.
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(1) After all four cards have been dealt, the dealer
shall place the Banker’s Hand underneath the right
corner of the dealing shoe. The dealer shall then hand the
two cards of the Player’s Hand, face down, to the player
with the highest wager on the Player’s Hand. After
viewing the Player’s Hand, the player shall return the
two cards, face up, to the dealer, who shall place the
cards face up on the area designated for the Player’s
Hand and announce the Point Count of the Player’s
Hand.

(2) The dealer shall then hand the two cards of the
Banker’s Hand, face down, to the player with the highest
wager on the Banker’s Hand. After viewing the Banker’s
Hand, the player shall return the two cards, face up, to
the dealer, who shall place the cards face up on the area
designated for the Banker’s Hand and announce the Point
Count of the Banker’s Hand.

(3) Prior to dealing a third card to the Player’s or
Banker’s Hand, the dealer shall settle all House Money
Wagers as follows:

(i) If a player placed a House Money Wager, after the
initial two cards of the Player’s Hand and Banker’s Hand
have been turned face up on the layout, beginning from
the dealer’s right and moving counterclockwise around
the table, the dealer shall collect all losing House Money
wagers and pay all winning wagers in accordance with
§ 629a.12(h) (relating to payout odds; vigorish) provided
that, at a player’s discretion, the player may add the
winning House Money payout to the player’s original
wager on the Player’s or Banker’s Hand in accordance
with the following:

(A) All of the winning House Money payout or, if
specified in the certificate holder’s Rules Submission filed
in accordance with § 601a.2 (relating to table games
Rules Submissions), only a specified portion of the win-
ning House Money payout shall be added to the area
designated for the placement of the player’s original
wager on the Player’s or Banker’s Hand. The player’s
original wager and the House Money payout which was
added to the player’s original wager shall then be settled
based on the outcome of the player’s wager on the
Player’s or Banker’s Hand.

(B) A player may not touch the winning House Money
payout. The dealer shall either hand the entire winning
House Money payout to the player or place all or a
portion thereof, as authorized by the certificate holder, on
the area designated for the placement of the player’s
wager on the Player’s or Banker’s Hand.

(i) After settling the House Money Wagers, the game
shall resume by dealing any third cards that are required
to be dealt.

(4) Any third card required to be dealt to the Player’s
Hand shall be placed face down on the area designated
for the Player’s Hand. The dealer shall then hand the
card, face down, to the player who was handed and
returned the Player’s Hand. After viewing the card, the
player shall return the card, face up, to the dealer, who
shall place the card face up on the area designated for the
Player’s Hand.

(5) Any third card required to be dealt to the Banker’s
Hand shall be placed face down on the area designated
for the Banker’s Hand. The dealer shall then hand the
card, face down, to the player who was handed and
returned the Banker’s Hand. After viewing the card, the
player shall return the card, face up, to the dealer, who
shall place the card face up on the area designated for the
Banker’s Hand.

(6) If two or more players wager an equally high
amount on the Player’s Hand, the player making the
wager who is closest to the dealer, moving counterclock-
wise around the table, shall be handed the Player’s Hand
and any third card required to be dealt. If two or more
players wager an equally high amount on the Banker’s
Hand, the player making the wager who is closest to the
dealer, moving counterclockwise around the table, shall
be handed the Banker’s Hand and any third card re-
quired to be dealt.

(d) The dealer or floorperson assigned to the table may
require any player to relinquish the right to turn over the
cards in accordance with subsection (c) if the player
unreasonably delays the game. If the voluntary or com-
pulsory relinquishment of that right occurs, the dealer
shall offer it to the player immediately to the right of the
previous player. If the player does not accept it or there is
not a player in that position, the dealer shall offer it to
each of the other players in turn, moving counterclock-
wise around the table for the remainder of that round of
play. If no player accepts the cards, the dealer shall turn
the cards over and place them on the designated areas of
the layout.

§ 629a.12. Payout odds; vigorish.

(a) A winning wager made on the Player’s Hand shall
be paid at odds of 1 to 1.

(b) A winning Tie Wager shall be paid at odds of at
least 8 to 1.

(¢) A winning wager made on the Banker’s Hand shall
be paid at odds of 1 to 1, except that the certificate holder
shall extract a vigorish from the winning players in an
amount equal to 5% of the amount won unless the
certificate holder is offering EZ Baccarat in which vigor-
ish is not collected. When collecting the vigorish, the
certificate holder may round off the vigorish to 25¢ or the
next highest multiple of 25¢.

(d) A dealer shall collect the vigorish from a player in
accordance with one of the following procedures selected
by the certificate holder in its Rules Submission under
§ 601a.2 (relating to table games Rules Submissions):

(1) At the time the winning payout is made.
(2) At a later time, provided that:

(i) The outstanding vigorish shall be collected prior to
beginning play with a new dealing shoe of cards or when
the player leaves the gaming table, whichever occurs
first.

(i1)) The amount of the vigorish shall be tracked by
placing a coin or marker button, which contains the
amount of the vigorish owed, in the rectangular space on
the layout that is imprinted with the number of the
player owing the vigorish.

(iii) The coin or marker button may not be removed
from the layout until the vigorish owed is collected.

(e) If a certificate holder offers the Dragon Bonus
Wager, in accordance with § 629a.7(a)(4) (relating to
wagers), a vigorish may not be extracted on a winning
Dragon Bonus Wager. Winning Dragon Bonus Wagers
shall be paid out at the odds in one of the following
paytables selected by the certificate holder in its Rules
Submission filed in accordance with § 601a.2:

Hand Paytable A Paytable B Paytable C
Win by 9 points 30to 1 20to 1 30to 1
Win by 8 points 10to 1 8tol 10to 1
Win by 7 points 6tol 7Ttol 4to1l
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Hand Paytable A Paytable B Paytable C
Win by 6 points 4tol 4tol 4tol
Win by 5 points 2to1l 3tol 2to1
Win by 4 points 1tol 1tol 2to 1
Natural winner 1tol 1tol 1tol
Natural tie Push Push Push

(f) A winning Dragon 7 Insurance Wager, as described
in § 629a.7(a)(5), shall be paid at odds of 40 to 1.

(g) A winning Panda 8 Insurance Wager, as described
in § 629a.7(a)(6), shall be paid at odds of 25 to 1.

(h) If a certificate holder offers the House Money
Wager and the player elects to take the payout, the
player shall be paid in accordance with the following
paytable:

Hand Odds
Player and Banker Pair 15to 1
Player or Banker Pair 3tol

CHAPTER 631a. BACCARAT
§ 631a.2. Baccarat table physical characteristics.

(a) Baccarat shall be played on a table having num-
bered positions for 10 to 14 seated players.

(b) The layout for a Baccarat table shall be submitted
to the Bureau of Gaming Operations and approved in
accordance with § 601a.10(a) (relating to approval of
table layouts, signage and equipment) and contain, at a
minimum:

(1) The name or logo of the certificate holder.

(2) Separate areas designated for the placement of
wagers on the Banker’s Hand, Player’s Hand and Tie
Hand for each player.

(3) The payout odds for all permissible wagers offered
by the certificate holder. If the payout odds are not
inscribed on the layout, a sign identifying the payout odds
shall be posted at each Baccarat table.

(4) An area designated for the placement of cards for
the Player’s Hand and Banker’s Hand.

(5) If a certificate holder offers the Dragon Bonus
Wager, authorized under § 631a.8(a)(4) (relating to wa-
gers), separate areas designated for the placement of the
Dragon Bonus Wager for each player.

(6) If a certificate holder offers EZ Baccarat:

(i) Separate areas designated for the placement of the
Dragon 7 Insurance Wager, authorized under § 631a.8(a)(5),
for each player.

(ii) Inscriptions that advise patrons that a wager on
the Banker’s Hand that results in a Dragon 7 shall push
and be returned to the player. If the information is not
inscribed on the layout, a sign containing the information
must be posted at each Baccarat table.

(iii) Separate areas designated for the placement of the
Panda 8 Insurance Wager, authorized under § 631a.8(a)(6),
for each player.

(7) If a certificate holder offers the House Money
Wager, authorized under § 631a.8(a)(7), separate areas
designated for the placement of the House Money Wager
for each player.

(8) Numbered areas that correspond to the seat num-
bers for the purpose of marking vigorish unless the
dealer, in accordance with the option selected in the
certificate holder’s Rules Submission under § 601a.2 (re-
lating to table games Rules Submissions), collects the

vigorish from a player at the time the winning payout is
made or the table is designated for play as an EZ
Baccarat table in which vigorish is not collected.

(¢) If marker buttons are used for the purpose of
marking vigorish, the marker buttons shall be placed in
the table inventory container or in a separate rack
designed for the purpose of storing marker buttons. If a
separate rack is used, the rack shall be placed in front of
the table inventory container during gaming activity.

(d) Each Baccarat table must have a drop box and a tip
box attached on the same side of the gaming table as, but
on opposite sides of, the dealer, as approved by the
Bureau of Casino Compliance in accordance with
§ 601a.10(g). The Bureau of Casino Compliance may
approve an alternative location for the tip box when a
card shuffling device or other table game equipment
prevents the placement of the drop box and tip box on the
same side of the gaming table as, but on opposite sides of,
the dealer.

(e) Each Baccarat table must have a discard bucket on
dealer’s side of the table.

§ 631a.8. Wagers.

(a) The following are permissible wagers in the game of
Baccarat:

(1) A wager on the Banker’s Hand which shall:

(i) Win if the Banker’s Hand has a Point Count higher
than that of the Player’s Hand unless EZ Baccarat is
being played and the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand
and the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7.

(i) Lose if the Banker’s Hand has a Point Count lower
than that of the Player’s Hand.

(iii) Tie and be returned to the player if the Banker’s
Hand and the Player’s Hand have the same Point Count
or if EZ Baccarat is being played and the Point Counts of
the Banker’s Hand and the Player’s Hand result in a
Dragon 7.

(2) A wager on the Player’s Hand which shall:

(i) Win if the Player’s Hand has a Point Count higher
than that of the Banker’s Hand and if EZ Baccarat is
being played and the Point Counts of the Player’s Hand
and the Dealer’s Hand result in a Panda 8.

(i) Lose if the Player’s Hand has a Point Count lower
than that of the Banker’s Hand or if EZ Baccarat is being
played and the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7.

(iii) Tie and be returned to the player if the Point
Counts of the Banker’s Hand and the Player’s Hand are
equal.

(3) A Tie Wager which shall:

(i) Win if the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand are equal.

(i) Lose if Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and the
Player’s Hand are not equal.

(4) If offered by a certificate holder, a Dragon Bonus
Wager on the Player’s Hand or Banker’s Hand, or both,
which shall:

(1) Win if the selected hand is:
(A) A Natural and the other hand is not a Natural.
(B) A Natural 9 and the other hand is a Natural 8.

(C) Not a Natural and has a Point Count that exceeds
the Point Count of the other hand by four or more points.
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(i1) Lose if the selected hand is:
(A) A Natural 8 and the other hand is a Natural 9.

(B) Not a Natural and has a Point Count less than or
equal to the Point Count of the other hand.

(C) Not a Natural and has a Point Count that exceeds
the Point Count of the other hand by less than four
points.

(iii)) Tie and be returned to the player if the selected
hand is a Natural and the other hand is a Natural of
equal Point Count.

(5) A Dragon 7 Insurance Wager, if the table is desig-
nated for play as an EZ Baccarat table, which shall:

(1) Win if the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand result in a Dragon 7.

(ii) Lose if the Point Counts of the Banker’s Hand and
the Player’s Hand do not result in a Dragon 7.

(6) A Panda 8 Insurance Wager, if the table is desig-
nated for play as an EZ Baccarat table, which shall:

(i) Win if the Point Counts of the Player’s Hand and
the Dealer’s Hand result in a Panda 8.

(i1) Lose if the Point Counts of the Player’s Hand and
the Dealer’s Hand do not result in a Panda 8.

(7) If offered by a certificate holder, a House Money
Wager which shall:

(i) Win if the first two cards of either the Player’s Hand
or Banker’s Hand, or both, are a pair. For purposes of the
House Money Wager, a pair must be of the same rank
(two queens, for example), regardless of suit.

(ii) Lose if in the first two cards dealt to the player’s
hand and the banker’s hand, neither the player’s hand
nor the banker’s hand contains a pair.

(b) Wagers at Baccarat shall be made by placing value
chips or plaques on the appropriate areas of the Baccarat
layout. Verbal wagers accompanied by cash may be
accepted provided that the verbal wagers are confirmed
by the dealer and the cash is expeditiously converted into
value chips or plaques.

(¢) A wager may not be made, increased or withdrawn
after the dealer has announced “no more bets.”

§ 631a.9. Hands of player and banker; procedure
for dealing initial two cards to each hand.

(a) There shall be two hands dealt in the game of
Baccarat, one of which shall be designated the Player’s
Hand and the other designated the Banker’s Hand.

(b) After the dealer calling the game announces “no
more bets,” the dealer calling the game shall instruct the
curator to commence dealing the cards by announcing
“cards.”

(¢) The curator shall deal an initial four cards from the
dealing shoe face down to the areas designated for the
placement of the Player’s Hand and the Dealer’s Hand.
The first and third cards dealt shall constitute the first
and second cards of the Player’s Hand. The second and
fourth cards dealt shall constitute the first and second
cards of the Banker’s Hand. Except as provided in
subsection (d), after the cards are dealt to each hand, the
dealer calling the game shall place the cards face up in
front of himself. Any third cards that are required to be
dealt shall first be dealt face up to the Player’s Hand and
then to the Banker’s Hand by the curator.

(d) A certificate holder may, if specified in its Rules
Submission under § 601a.2 (relating to table games Rules

Submissions), elect to use the following procedures in lieu
of the procedures in subsection (¢) and § 631a.10(a)
(relating to procedure for dealing a third card), after all
four cards have been dealt:

(1) The curator shall place the Banker’s Hand under-
neath the right corner of the dealing shoe.

(2) The dealer calling the game shall then hand the
two cards of the Player’s Hand, face down, to the player
with the highest wager on the Player’s Hand. After
viewing the Player’s Hand, the player shall return the
two cards, face up, to the dealer calling the game, who
shall place the cards face up on the area designated for
the Player’s Hand and announce the Point Count of the
Player’s Hand.

(3) The dealer calling the game shall then hand the
two cards of the Banker’s Hand, face down, to the player
with the highest wager on the Banker’s Hand. After
viewing the Banker’s Hand, the player shall return the
two cards, face up, to the dealer calling the game, who
shall place the cards face up on the area designated for
the Banker’s Hand and announce the Point Count of the
Banker’s Hand.

(4) Any third card required to be dealt to the Player’s
Hand shall be placed face down on the area designated
for the Player’s Hand. The dealer calling the game shall
then hand the card, face down, to the player who was
handed and returned the Player’s Hand. After viewing
the card, the player shall return the card, face up, to the
dealer calling the game, who shall place the card face up
on the area designated for the Player’s Hand.

(5) Any third card required to be dealt to the Banker’s
Hand shall be placed face down on the area designated
for the Banker’s Hand. The dealer calling the game shall
then hand the card, face down, to the player who was
handed and returned the Banker’s Hand. After viewing
the card, the player shall return the card, face up, to the
dealer calling the game, who shall place the card face up
on the area designated for the Banker’s Hand.

(6) If two or more players wager an equally high
amount on the Player’s Hand, the player making the
wager who is closest to the dealer calling the game,
moving counterclockwise around the table, shall be
handed the Player’s Hand and any third card required to
be dealt. If two or more players wager an equally high
amount on the Banker’s Hand, the player making the
wager who is closest to the dealer calling the game,
moving counterclockwise around the table, shall be
handed the Banker’s Hand and any third card required to
be dealt.

(7) In the event there are no wagers on the Player’s
Hand, the dealer calling the game shall turn the Player’s
Hand face up and any additional card required to be
dealt. In the event there are no wagers on the Banker’s
Hand, the dealer calling the game shall turn the Banker’s
Hand face up and any additional card required to be
dealt.

(e) After the initial two cards of the Player’s Hand and
Banker’s Hand have been turned face up on the layout
but prior to dealing a third card in accordance with
subsections (c¢) and (d), the dealer shall settle all House
Money Wagers as follows:

(1) If a player placed a House Money Wager, beginning
from the dealer’s right and moving counterclockwise
around the table, the dealer shall collect all losing House
Money wagers and pay all winning wagers in accordance
with § 631a.13(h) (relating to payout odds; vigorish)
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provided that, at a player’s discretion, the player may add
the winning House Money payout to the player’s original
wager on the Player’s or Banker’s Hand in accordance
with the following:

(i) All of the winning House Money payout or, if
specified in the certificate holder’s Rules Submission filed
in accordance with § 601a.2, only a specified portion of
the winning House Money payout shall be added to the
area designated for the placement of the player’s original
wager on the Player’s or Banker’s Hand. The player’s
original wager and the House Money payout which was
added to the player’s original wager shall then be settled
based on the outcome of the player’s wager on the
Player’s or Banker’s Hand.

(i) A player may not touch the winning House Money
payout. The dealer shall either hand the entire winning
House Money payout to the player or place all or a
portion thereof, as authorized by the certificate holder, on
the area designated for the placement of the player’s
wager on the Player’s or Banker’s Hand.

(2) After settling the House Money Wagers, the game
shall resume by dealing any third cards that are required
to be dealt in accordance with subsection (c) or (d)(4).

(f) The dealer or floorperson assigned to the table may
require any player to relinquish the right to turn over the
cards in accordance with subsection (d) if the player
unreasonably delays the game. If the voluntary or com-
pulsory relinquishment of that right occurs, the dealer
shall offer it to the player immediately to the right of the
previous player. If the player does not accept it or there is
not a player in that position, the dealer shall offer it to
each of the other players in turn, moving counterclock-
wise around the table for the remainder of that round of
play. If no player accepts the cards, the dealer shall turn
the cards over and place them on the designated areas of
the layout.

§ 631a.13. Payout odds; vigorish.

(a) A winning wager made on the Player’s Hand shall
be paid at odds of 1 to 1.

(b) A winning Tie Wager shall be paid at odds of at
least 8 to 1.

(¢) A winning wager made on the Banker’s Hand shall
be paid at odds of 1 to 1, except that the certificate holder
shall extract a vigorish from the winning players in an
amount equal to 5% of the amount won, unless the
certificate holder is offering EZ Baccarat in which vigor-
ish is not collected. When collecting the vigorish, the
certificate holder may round off the vigorish to 25¢ or the
next highest multiple of 25¢.

(d) A dealer shall collect the vigorish from a player in
accordance with one of the following procedures selected
by the certificate holder in its Rules Submission under
§ 601a.2 (relating to table games Rules Submissions):

(1) At the time the winning payout is made.
(2) At a later time, provided that:

(i) The outstanding vigorish shall be collected prior to
beginning play with a new dealing shoe of cards or when
the player leaves the gaming table, whichever occurs
first.

(i) The amount of the vigorish shall be tracked by
placing a coin or marker button, which contains the
amount of the vigorish owed, in the rectangular space on
the layout that is imprinted with the number of the
player owing the vigorish.

(iii)) The coin or marker button may not be removed
from the layout until the vigorish owed is collected.

(e) If a certificate holder offers the Dragon Bonus
Wager, in accordance with § 631a.8(a)(4) (relating to
wagers), a vigorish may not be extracted on a winning
Dragon Bonus Wager. Winning Dragon Bonus Wagers
shall be paid out at the odds in one of the following
paytables selected by the certificate holder in its Rules
Submission filed in accordance with § 601a.2:

Hand Paytable A Paytable B Paytable C
Win by 9 points 30to 1 20to 1 30to 1
Win by 8 points 10to 1 8tol 10to 1
Win by 7 points 6tol 7tol 4tol
Win by 6 points 4to1l 4to1l 4tol
Win by 5 points 2tol 3tol 2tol
Win by 4 points 1tol 1tol 2to 1
Natural winner 1tol 1tol 1tol
Natural tie Push Push Push

(f) A winning Dragon 7 Insurance Wager, as described
in § 631a.8(a)(5), shall be paid out at odds of 40 to 1.

(g) A winning Panda 8 Insurance Wager, as described
in § 631a.8(a)(6), shall be paid at odds of 25 to 1.

(h) If a certificate holder offers the House Money
Wager and the player elects to take the payout, the
player shall be paid in accordance with the following
paytable:

Hand Odds
Player and Banker Pair 15to 1
Player or Banker Pair 3tol

CHAPTER 633a. BLACKJACK

§ 633a.7. Procedure for dealing the cards; comple-
tion of each round of play.

* & * & *

(g) Immediately after the second card is dealt to each
player and the dealer, but prior to any additional cards
being dealt or before any card reader device is utilized,
the dealer shall, starting with the player farthest to the
dealer’s right and continuing around the table in a
counterclockwise direction, settle the player’s optional
wagers by collecting all losing wagers and paying all
winning wagers as follows:

* & * * *

(8) If a player placed a Three Card Poker Wager and
the dealer’s up card and the player’s initial two cards
form a three-card Poker hand of a straight flush, three-of-
a-kind, straight or a flush, the dealer shall pay the
winning Three Card Poker Wager in accordance with
§ 633a.13(k).

(9) If a player placed a Straight Jack Progressive
Wager and the player’s initial two cards do not form a
two-card straight, the dealer shall collect the player’s
Straight Jack Progressive Wager.

(10) If a player placed a House Money Wager and the
player’s initial two cards do not form a two-card straight,
a pair, a two-card straight flush or an ace-king suited, the
dealer shall collect the player’s House Money Wager. If a
player has a winning hand:

(1) And the dealer’s up card is an ace, king, queen, jack
or 10, the dealer shall determine whether the hole card
will give the dealer a Blackjack in accordance with
subsection (h). If the dealer:
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(A) Has a Blackjack, the dealer shall pay the winning
House Money Wager in accordance with § 633a.13(n).

(B) Does not have a Blackjack, the dealer shall follow
the requirements in subparagraph (ii).

(i1)) And the dealer’s up card is not an ace, king, queen,
jack or 10, the dealer shall pay all winning wagers in
accordance with § 633a.13(n) provided that, at a player’s
discretion, the player may add the winning House Money
payout to the player’s Blackjack Wager in accordance
with the following:

(A) All of the winning House Money payout or, if
specified in the certificate holder’s Rules Submission filed
in accordance with § 601a.2 (relating to table games
Rules Submissions), only a specified portion of the win-
ning House Money payout shall be added to the area
designated for the placement of the player’s Blackjack
Wager.

(B) A player may not touch the winning House Money
payout. The dealer shall either hand the entire winning
House Money payout to the player or place all or a
portion thereof, as authorized by the certificate holder, on
the area designated for the placement of the player’s
Blackjack Wager. If a player has a Blackjack, the player
may add the House Money payout to the Blackjack
Wager.

(C) If the player adds the House Money payout to his
Blackjack Wager, the House Money payout and the
Blackjack Wager must be considered the entire Blackjack
Wager. Thus, if the player elects to split in accordance
with § 633a.11 (relating to splitting pairs) or doubles
down in accordance with § 633a.10 (relating to Double
Down Wager), the player shall match the entire Blackjack
Wager.

(h) After settling the player’s optional wagers in ac-
cordance with subsection (g), if the dealer’s first card is
an ace, king, queen, jack or 10, the dealer shall, after
offering the Insurance Wager or even money in accord-
ance with § 633a.8 (relating to Insurance Wager), deter-
mine whether the hole card will give the dealer a
Blackjack. The dealer shall insert the hole card into the
card reader device by moving the card face down on the
layout without exposing it to anyone at the table, includ-
ing the dealer. If the dealer has a Blackjack, additional
cards may not be dealt and each player’s Blackjack Wager
and the Bad Beat, Hit and Run Progressive and Insur-
ance Wagers, if applicable, shall be settled.

(i) After the procedures in subsection (h) have been
completed, if necessary, the dealer shall start with the
player farthest to the dealer’s left and continue around
the table in a clockwise direction and if the player:

(1) Has Blackjack and the dealer’s up card:

(1) Isa2,3,4,5,6,7 8 or 9, the dealer shall announce
and pay the Blackjack and remove the player’s cards.

(ii) Is an ace, king, queen, jack or 10 but the dealer’s
hole card will not give the dealer a Blackjack, the dealer
shall announce the player’s Blackjack but may not make
a payment nor remove any cards until all other cards are
dealt to the players and the dealer reveals the hole card.

(2) Does not have Blackjack, the player shall indicate
whether he wishes to surrender, as permitted under
§ 633a.9 (relating to surrender), double down as permit-
ted under § 633a.10 split pairs as permitted under
§ 633a.11 stand or draw additional cards.

() As each player indicates his decision, the dealer
shall deal face upwards whatever additional cards are
necessary to effectuate the player’s decision.

(k) A player may elect to draw additional cards when-
ever his point count total is less than 21, except that:

(1) A player having Blackjack or a hard or soft total of
21 may not draw additional cards.

(2) A player electing to make a Double Down Wager
may draw only one additional card.

(1) After the decisions of each player have been imple-
mented and all additional cards have been dealt, the
dealer shall turn the hole card face up. Any additional
cards required to be dealt to the hand of the dealer, in
accordance with subsection (m), shall be dealt face up.
The dealer shall announce the dealer’s total point count
after each additional card is dealt.

(m) Except as provided in subsection (n), the dealer
shall draw additional cards until he has a hard or soft
total of 17, 18, 19, 20 or 21.

(n) A dealer shall draw no additional cards to his hand,
regardless of the point count, if decisions have been made
on all players’ hands and the point count of the dealer’s
hand will not have an effect on the outcome of the round
of play.

(o) After all additional cards have been dealt to the
players and the dealer, the dealer shall, starting with the
player farthest to the dealer’s right and continuing
around the table in a counterclockwise direction, settle
the remaining optional wagers by collecting all losing
wagers and paying all winning wagers as follows:

(1) If a player placed a Bad Beat Progressive Wager:

(i) A player shall win if the player’s hand has a total
point count of 20 and the dealer has Blackjack or the
total point count of the dealer’s hand is 21. If selected by
the certificate holder in its Rules Submission under
§ 601a.2, a player may also win if the total point count of
the player’s hand is 20, irrespective of the total point
count of the dealer’s hand.

(i) If a player has won the Bad Beat Progressive
Wager or a Magic Card or Lucky Player Bonus, if offered
by the certificate holder, the dealer shall:

(A) Verify that the hand is a winning hand.

(B) Have a floorperson or above verify any Bad Beat
Progressive payout with odds of 100 for 1 or greater in
accordance with approved internal control procedures
submitted under § 465a.2 (relating to internal control
systems and audit protocols).

(C) Credit the player’s game account for the winning
Bad Beat Progressive Wager or the Magic Card or Lucky
Player Bonus in accordance with § 633a.13(j). If more
than one player at the table has won a progressive payout
that is 100% of the jackpot amount on the progressive
meter, each player shall share the maximum amount
proportionally to the amount of the player’s respective
Bad Beat Progressive Wager.

(2) If a player placed a Hit and Run Progressive Wager:

(i) A player shall win if the dealer has Blackjack or the
dealer’s hand has five or more cards inclusive of any card
which would give the dealer’s hand a total point count of
greater than 21. For example, if the dealer’s hand has a
total point count of 14 with five cards drawn and the
dealer draws an additional card resulting in a total point
count of 23, the dealer’s sixth card shall also count
toward the Hit and Run Progressive payout.

(i) If a player has won the Hit and Run Progressive
Wager, the dealer shall:
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(A) Verify that the hand is a winning hand.

(B) Have a floorperson or above verify any Hit and Run
Progressive payout with odds of 200 for 1 or greater in
accordance with approved internal control procedures
submitted under § 465a.2.

(C) Pay the player the winning Hit and Run Progres-
sive Wager in accordance with § 633a.13(1). If a player
has won a progressive payout that is 100% of the jackpot
amount on the progressive meter, the progressive payout
may not be paid from the table inventory container. If a
player has won a progressive payout that is not being
paid from the table inventory container, the cards of the
player must remain on the table until the necessary
documentation has been completed. If more than one
player at the table has won a progressive payout that is
100% of the jackpot amount on the progressive meter,
each player shall share the maximum amount equally.

(3) If a player placed a Straight Jack Progressive
Wager:

(i) A player shall win if the player’s initial two cards
were a two-card straight. Each additional card drawn by
the player which does not break the sequence of the
two-card straight shall result in a payout increase, pro-
vided that an ace, king shall be a two-card straight. For
example, if the player’s initial two cards are a 4 and a 5
and the player draws:

(A) A 6, the player has a three-card straight.
(B) A 3 then a 6, the player has a four-card straight.

(C) A 2 then a 3, the 2 breaks the sequence and the
player has a two-card straight.

(D) A 6 then a 7, resulting in a hand with a total point
count greater than 21, the last card drawn may not count
toward the Straight Jack Progressive Payout. The player
will receive a payout for only a three-card straight.

(ii) If a player has won the Straight Jack Progressive
Wager, the dealer shall:

(A) Verify that the hand is a winning hand.

(B) Have a floorperson or above verify any Straight
Jack Progressive Payout with odds of 100 for 1 or greater
in accordance with approved internal control procedures
submitted under § 465a.2.

(C) Pay the player the winning Straight Jack Progres-
sive Wager in accordance with § 633a.13(m). If a player
has won a progressive payout that is 10% or more of the
jackpot amount on the progressive meter, the progressive
payout may not be paid from the table inventory con-
tainer. If a player has won a progressive payout that is
not being paid from the table inventory container, the
cards of the player must remain on the table until the
necessary documentation has been completed. If more
than one player at the table has won a progressive payout
that is 100% of the jackpot amount on the progressive
meter, each player shall share the maximum amount
equally.

(p) A player shall win the Blackjack Wager and be paid
in accordance with the payout odds in § 633a.13(a) if:

(1) The total point count of the player’s hand is 21 or
less and the total point count of the dealer’s hand is in
excess of 21.

(2) The total point count of the player’s hand exceeds
the total point count of the dealer’s hand without exceed-
ing 21.

(3) The player has a Blackjack and the dealer’s hand
has a total point count of 21 in more than two cards.

(q) A Blackjack Wager shall tie and be returned to the
player if the total point count of the player’s hand is the
same as the dealer’s. A player’s Blackjack Wager shall be
lost if the dealer has a Blackjack and the player’s hand
has a total point count of 21 in more than two cards.

(r) The dealer shall collect all losing wagers and pay off
all winning wagers in accordance with one of the follow-
ing procedures designated in the certificate holder’s Rules
Submission under § 601a.2:

(1) Collect all losing wagers and then pay off all
winning wagers.

(2) Pay off all winning wagers and collect all losing
wagers beginning with the player farthest to the dealer’s
right and continuing around the table in a counterclock-
wise direction. The dealer shall place any losing wagers
directly into the table inventory and may not pay off any
winning wagers by using value chips collected from a
losing wager.

(s) After all wagers have been settled, the dealer shall
remove all remaining cards from the table and place them
in the discard rack in a manner that permits the
reconstruction of each hand in the event of a question or
dispute.

(t) Except as provided in § 633a.12(b), players and
spectators may not handle, remove or alter any cards
used to play Blackjack.

§ 633a.13. Payout odds; payout limitation.

* * % * *
(1) If the certificate holder offers the Hit and Run
Progressive Wager:

(1) The certificate holder shall pay out winning Hit and
Run Progressive Wagers at the odds in the following
paytable:

Hand

Dealer has:
Eight or more cards

Payout

100% of meter

Seven cards 200 for 1
Six cards 25 for 1
Five cards 8 for 1
Blackjack 4 for 1

(2) The rate of progression for the meter used for the
Hit and Run Progressive Wager must be specified in the
certificate holder’s Rules Submission filed in accordance
with § 601a.2. The initial and reset amounts must also
be in the Rules Submission and at least $1,000.

(m) If the certificate holder offers the Straight Jack
Progressive Wager:

(1) The certificate holder shall pay out winning
Straight Jack Progressive Wagers at the odds in the
following paytable:

Hand Payout
Player has:
Six-card straight with an ace of spades 100% of meter
and 200 to 1
Six-card straight with an ace of 10% of meter
diamonds, clubs or hearts and 200 to 1
Five-card straight 200 to 1
Four-card straight 50 to 1
Three-card straight 15to 1
Two-card straight 3tol

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 44, NO. 5, FEBRUARY 1, 2014



RULES AND REGULATIONS 631

(2) The rate of progression for the meter used for the
Straight Jack Progressive Wager must be specified in the
certificate holder’s Rules Submission filed in accordance
with § 601a.2. The initial and reset amounts must also
be in the Rules Submission and be at least $5,000.

(n) If a certificate holder offers the House Money
Wager and the player elects to take the payout, the
player shall be paid in accordance with the following
paytable:

(1) If a single deck of cards is being used:

Hand Odds
Ace-king suited 9to 1
Two-card straight flush 5to1
Pair 3tol
Two-card straight 1tol
(2) If multiple decks of cards are being used:
Hand Odds
Ace-king suited 9to 1
Two-card straight flush 4to1l
Pair 3tol
Two-card straight 1to1l

(o) Notwithstanding the payout odds in subsections (b)
and (g), a certificate holder may, in its Rules Submission
under § 601a.2, establish a maximum amount that is
payable to a player with a queen of hearts pair and
dealer Blackjack or king of spades pair and dealer
Blackjack that is payable to all winning hands in the
aggregate on a single round of play. The maximum payout
amount shall be at least $25,000 or the maximum amount
that one patron could win per round when betting the
maximum possible wager, whichever is greater. If a
certificate holder establishes a maximum payout, and
more than one player at a table has a winning hand of
queen of hearts pair and dealer Blackjack or king of
spades pair and dealer Blackjack, each player shall share
the maximum payout amount proportionately to the
amount of the player’s respective wager. Any maximum
payout limit established by the certificate holder shall
apply only to payouts of Royal Match 21 Wagers and
King’s Bounty Wagers.

CHAPTER 635a. SPANISH 21
§ 635a.8. Insurance Wager.

(a) If the first card dealt to the dealer is an ace, each
player may make an Insurance Wager which shall win if
the dealer’s hole card is a king, queen or jack.

(b) An Insurance Wager shall be made by placing a
value chip on the insurance line of the layout in an
amount not more than 1/2 the player’s initial Spanish 21
Wager. A player may wager an amount in excess of 1/2
the initial Spanish 21 Wager to the next unit that can be
wagered in chips when, because of the limitation of the
value of chip denominations, half the initial Spanish 21
Wager cannot be bet. Insurance Wagers shall be placed
prior to the dealer inserting his hole card into the card
reader device.

(¢) Winning Insurance Wagers shall be paid in accord-
ance with the payout odds in § 635a.12(d) (relating to
payout odds).

(d) Losing Insurance Wagers shall be collected by the
dealer immediately after the dealer inserts his hole card
into the card reader device and determines that he does
not have a Blackjack and before he draws any additional
cards.

CHAPTER 637a. POKER

§ 637a.10. Seven-card Stud Poker; procedures for
dealing the cards; completion of each round of
play.

* & * & *

(1) In Seven-card Stud High-low Split Poker and Seven-
card Stud High-low Split Eight or Better Poker, an ace
may be used concurrently as a low hand card to make up
a low hand and as a high card to make up a high Poker
hand.

(m) Notwithstanding the requirements in subsection
(c), if the certificate holder is offering Super Seven-card
Stud High-low Split Eight or better, starting with the
first player to the dealer’s left and continuing around the
table in a clockwise manner, the dealer shall deal four
rounds of cards face down and one round of cards face up
to each player. After examining the cards, each player
shall discard two cards. The first betting round shall
commence in accordance with subsection (d).

§ 637a.21. Badugi Poker; procedures for dealing the
cards; completion of each round of play.

(a) A certificate holder that offers Badugi Poker shall
observe the procedures in this section.

(b) No more than nine players may participate in a
Badugi Poker game. Each player who elects to participate
in a round of play may be required to place an Ante bet.
The rules governing the placement of an Ante bet and the
amount of the Ante bet, if any, and the Kill or Half-kill
option, if offered, must be specified in the -certificate
holder’s Rules Submission under § 601a.2 (relating to
table games Rules Submissions) and posted on a sign at
each Poker table.

(¢) A button shall be used to indicate the order in
which the cards shall be dealt and the order in which
players shall bet in accordance with the following proce-
dures:

(1) At commencement of play, the button shall be
placed in front of either:

(i) The first player to the right of the dealer.

(ii)) The player randomly determined by rank of a
single card dealt.

(2) Thereafter, the button shall rotate around the table
in a clockwise manner after each round of play.

(d) Before any cards are dealt, the player to the
immediate left of the button shall initiate the first betting
round by placing a Blind Bet. A certificate holder may
require additional Blind Bets to be made immediately
after the initial Blind Bet. The amount and number of all
Blind Bets required must be specified in the certificate
holder’s Rules Submission under § 601a.2 and posted on
a sign at the table.

(e) The player to the left of the player who placed a
Blind Bet may place a Straddle Bet, if offered by the
certificate holder. The rules governing the placement of a
Straddle Bet and the amount of the Straddle Bet, if any,
must be specified in the certificate holder’s Rules Submis-
sion under § 601a.2 and posted on a sign at each Poker
table. No more than one Straddle Bet may be made
during a round of play.

(f) Starting with the player to the immediate left of the
button and continuing around the table in a clockwise
manner, the dealer shall deal four rounds of cards face
down to each player. The player with the button shall be
the last player to receive a card each time.
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(g) After each player has been dealt four cards in
accordance with subsection (f), each player, starting with
the player to the left of the player or players who were
required to place a Blind Bet or the player who placed a
Straddle Bet, if offered, and continuing around the table
in a clockwise manner, may fold, call or raise the bet. The
option to raise also applies to a player who made a Blind
Bet or Straddle Bet. After the last player has responded
to the most recent bet, the betting round shall be
considered complete.

(h) The dealer shall then burn the top card of the deck.
Each player who has not folded, starting with the player
to the immediate left of the button and continuing in a
clockwise rotation, shall have the opportunity to draw
new cards one player at a time. Each player may keep his
original hand or discard as many cards as he chooses.
Each discarded card shall be replaced by the dealer with
a new card from the deck. If an insufficient number of
cards remain in the deck for a player to draw new cards,
the discarded cards, except the cards discarded by that
player, shall be reshuffled and the new cards shall be
dealt to the player. The first player to the left of the
button who has not folded shall commence the next
betting round and may bet or check. Each subsequent
player may, in clockwise rotation, fold, call, raise or, if
preceding players have not made a bet, make an opening
bet or check. After the last player has responded to the
most recent bet, the second betting round shall be
considered complete.

(i) Upon completion of the second betting round, the
dealer shall burn the top card of the deck. Each player
who has not folded shall then have the opportunity to
draw new cards in accordance with subsection (h). The
next betting round shall be commenced and completed in
accordance with subsection (h).

(G) Upon completion of the third betting round, the
dealer shall burn the top card of the deck. Each player
who has not folded shall then have the opportunity to
draw new cards in accordance with subsection (h). The
fourth and final betting round shall be commenced and
completed in accordance with subsection (h).

(k) If more than one player remains in the round of
play after the final betting round has been completed, a
showdown shall be used to determine the winner of the
pot based upon the following rankings in order from
highest to lowest:

(1) The lowest Badugi hand shall win the pot. For
purposes of this section, a Badugi hand shall be a hand in
which each of the player’s four cards are of a different
suit from the others and rank in accordance with
§ 637a.6(c) (relating to Poker rankings) with the best
Badugi hand being an ace, 2, 3 and 4.

(2) If no players have a Badugi, the player with the
lowest hand containing three cards, each of which are a
different suit and rank.

(3) If no players have three cards of a different suit
and rank than the player with the lowest hand containing
two cards, each of which are a different suit and rank
shall win the pot.

(4) If no remaining players have a hand containing two
cards of a different suit and rank than the player with
the lowest card.

(5) If a tie exists between two or more players, the pot
shall be divided equally among the tied players. If the pot
cannot be divided equally among the tied players, the

excess, which may not exceed $1, shall be given to the
player specified in the certificate holder’s Rules Submis-
sion under § 601a.2.

CHAPTER 659a. ASIA POKER

Sec.

659a.1.  Definitions.

659a.2.  Asia Poker table; Asia Poker shaker; physical characteristics.

659a.3.  Cards; number of decks.

659a.4.  Opening of the table for gaming.

659a.5.  Shuffle and cut of the cards; procedures for determining the
starting position for dealing cards.

659a.6.  Asia Poker rankings.

659a.7.  Wagers.

659a.8.  Procedures for dealing the cards from a manual dealing shoe.

659a.9.  Procedures for dealing the cards from the hand.

659a.10. Procedures for dealing the cards from an automated dealing
shoe.

659a.11. Procedures for completion of each round of play.

659a.12. Payout odds; payout limitation.

659a.13. Irregularities; invalid roll of dice.

§ 659a.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

Copy hand—A high hand, medium hand or low hand of
a player that is identical in rank to the corresponding
high hand, medium hand or low hand of the dealer.

High hand—The four-card hand that is formed from
the seven cards dealt so as to rank higher than the
medium hand and the low hand.

Low hand—The one-card hand that is formed from the
seven cards dealt so as to rank lower than the high hand
and the medium hand.

Medium hand—The two-card hand that is formed from
the seven cards dealt so as to rank lower than the high
hand and higher than the low hand.

Setting the hands—The process of forming a high hand,
medium hand and low hand from the seven cards dealt.

§ 659a.2. Asia Poker table; Asia Poker shaker;
physical characteristics.

(a) Asia Poker shall be played at a table having betting
positions for no more than six players on one side of the
table and a place for the dealer on the opposite side of the
table.

(b) The layout for an Asia Poker table shall be submit-
ted to the Bureau of Gaming Operations and approved in
accordance with § 601a.10(a) (relating to approval of
table game layouts, signage and equipment) and contain,
at a minimum:

(1) The name or logo of the certificate holder.

(2) A separate betting area designated for the place-
ment of the Asia Poker Wager for each player.

(3) Three separate areas designated for the placement
of the high hand, medium hand and low hand of each
player.

(4) Three separate areas designated for the placement
of the high hand, medium hand and low hand of the
dealer.

(5) If the certificate holder offers the optional Bonus
Wager authorized under § 659a.7(e) (relating to wagers),
a separate area designated for the placement of the
Bonus Wager for each player.

(6) Inscriptions that advise patrons of the payout odds
or amounts for all permissible wagers offered by the
certificate holder. If the payout odds or amounts are not
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inscribed on the layout, a sign identifying the payout odds
or amounts for all permissible wagers shall be posted at
each Asia Poker table.

(7) An inscription indicating the payout limit per hand
established by the certificate holder under § 659a.12(c)
(relating to payout odds; payout limitation) or a generic
inscription indicating the game is subject to the posted
payout limit. If the payout limit is not inscribed on the
layout, a sign which sets forth the required information
shall be posted at each Asia Poker table.

(c) To determine the starting position for the dealing or
delivery of the cards, Asia Poker may be played with:

(1) An Asia Poker shaker, approved in accordance with
§ 601a.10(a), which shall be designed and constructed to
maintain the integrity of the game. The Asia Poker
shaker shall be the responsibility of the dealer, may not
be left unattended while at the table and must:

(i) Be capable of housing three dice that when not
being shaken shall be maintained within the Asia Poker
shaker. Dice that have been placed in an Asia Poker
shaker for use in gaming may not remain on a table for
more than 24 hours.

(ii) Be designed to prevent the dice from being seen
while being shaken.

(iii) Have the name or logo of the certificate holder
imprinted or impressed thereon.

(2) A computerized random number generator which
must be approved by the Bureau of Gaming Laboratory
Operations in accordance with § 461a.4 (relating to sub-
mission for testing and approval) prior to its use.

(3) A flat button which shall be approved by the
Bureau of Gaming Operations prior to its use.

(d) Each Asia Poker table must have a drop box and a
tip box attached on the same side of the gaming table as,
but on opposite sides of, the dealer and in locations
approved by the Bureau of Casino Compliance in accord-
ance with § 601a.10(g). The Bureau of Casino Compliance
may approve an alternative location for the tip box when
a card shuffling device or other table game equipment
prevents the placement of the drop box and tip box on the
same side of the gaming table as, but on opposite sides of,
the dealer.

(e) Each Asia Poker table must have a discard rack
securely attached to the top of the dealer’s side of the
table.

§ 659a.3. Cards; number of decks.

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b), Asia Poker
shall be played with one deck of cards that are identical
in appearance and two cover cards. The deck of cards
used to play Asia Poker must include one joker. A
certificate holder may use decks that are manufactured
with two jokers provided that only one joker is used for
gaming.

(b) If an automated card shuffling device is utilized,
Asia Poker may be played with two decks of cards in
accordance with the following requirements:

(1) The cards in each deck must be of the same design.
The backs of the cards in one deck must be of a different
color than the cards included in the other deck.

(2) One deck of cards shall be shuffled and stored in
the automated card shuffling device while the other deck
is being used to play the game.

(3) Both decks of cards shall be continuously alternated
in and out of play, with each deck being used for every
other round of play.

(4) The cards from only one deck shall be placed in the
discard rack at any given time.

(¢) The decks of cards used in Asia Ride Poker shall be
changed at least every:

(1) Four hours if the cards are dealt by hand.

(2) Eight hours if the cards are dealt from a manual or
automated dealing shoe.

§ 659a.4. Opening of the table for gaming.

(a) After receiving one or more decks of cards at the
table, the dealer shall inspect the cards for any defects.
The floorperson assigned to the table shall verify the
inspection.

(b) If the deck of cards used by the certificate holder
contains two jokers, the dealer and a floorperson shall
ensure that only one joker is utilized and that the other
joker is torn in half and placed in the box, envelope or
container that the deck came from. After the cards are
inspected, the cards shall be spread out face up on the
table for visual inspection by the first player to arrive at
the table. The cards shall be spread in horizontal fan
shaped columns by deck according to suit and in sequence
and include the one joker.

(c) After the first player is afforded an opportunity to
visually inspect the cards, the cards shall be turned face
down on the table, mixed thoroughly by a washing of the
cards and stacked. Once the cards have been stacked,
they shall be shuffled in accordance with § 659a.5 (relat-
ing to shuffle and cut of the cards; procedures for
determining the starting position for dealing cards).

(d) If an automated card shuffling device is utilized
and two decks of cards are received at the table, each
deck of cards shall be spread for inspection, mixed,
stacked and shuffled in accordance with subsections

(a)—(c).

(e) If the decks of cards received at the table are
preinspected and preshuffled in accordance with
§ 603a.16(u) or (v) (relating to cards; receipt, storage,
inspection and removal from use), subsections (a)—(d) do
not apply.

§ 659a.5. Shuffle and cut of the cards; procedures
for determining the starting position for dealing
cards.

(a) Immediately prior to commencement of play, unless
the cards were preshuffled in accordance with
§ 603a.16(u) or (v) (relating to cards; receipt, storage,
inspection and removal from use), after each round of
play has been completed or when directed by the
floorperson or above, the dealer shall shuffle the cards,
either manually or by use of an automated card shuffling
device, so that the cards are randomly intermixed. Upon
completion of the shuffle, the dealer or device shall place
the deck of cards in a single stack provided, however, that
the certificate holder may use an automated card shuf-
fling device which, upon completion of the shuffling of the
cards, inserts the stack of cards directly into a dealing
shoe.

(b) After the cards have been shuffled and stacked, the
dealer shall:

(1) If the cards were shuffled using an automated card
shuffling device, determine the starting position in ac-
cordance with subsection (g), then deal the cards in
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accordance with § 659a.8, § 659a.9 or § 659a.10 (relating
to procedures for dealing the cards from a manual dealing
shoe; procedures for dealing the cards from the hand; and
procedures for dealing the cards from an automated
dealing shoe).

(2) If the cards were shuffled manually or were
preshuffled, cut the cards in accordance with subsection

(e).

(c) If a cut of the cards is required, the dealer shall
place the cover card in the stack at least ten cards in
from the top of the stack. Once the cover card has been
inserted, the dealer shall take all cards above the cover
card and the cover card and place them on the bottom of
the stack. The stack of cards shall then be inserted into
the dealing shoe for commencement of play. The dealer
shall then determine the starting position in accordance
with subsection (g), and deal the cards in accordance with
§ 659a.8, § 659a.9 or § 659a.10.

(d) After the cards have been cut and before any cards
have been dealt, a floorperson or above may require the
cards to be recut if the floorperson determines that the
cut was performed improperly or in any way that might
affect the integrity or fairness of the game.

(e) If there is no gaming activity at an Asia Poker table
which is open for gaming, the cards shall be removed
from the dealing shoe and discard rack and spread out on
the table face down unless a player requests that the
cards be spread face up on the table. After the first player
arriving at the table is afforded an opportunity to visually
inspect the cards, the procedures in § 659a.4(c) (relating
to opening of the table for gaming) and this section shall
be completed.

(f) A certificate holder may utilize a dealing shoe or
other device designed to automatically reshuffle the cards
provided that the device is submitted and approved in
accordance with § 461a.4 (relating to submission for
testing and approval) prior to its use in the licensed
facility. If a certificate holder is utilizing the approved
device, subsections (c)—(e) do not apply.

(g) To determine the starting position for the dealing of
cards, the certificate holder shall use one of the following:

(1) An Asia Poker shaker in accordance with the
following procedures:

(i) The dealer shall shake the Asia Poker shaker at
least three times to cause a random mixture of the dice.

(i1)) The dealer shall then remove the lid covering the
Asia Poker shaker and place the uncovered shaker on the
designated area of the table layout. The dealer shall then
total the dice and announce the total.

(iii) To determine the starting position, the dealer shall
count each betting position in order, regardless of
whether there is a wager at the betting position, begin-
ning with the dealer as number one and continuing
around the table in a counterclockwise manner, until the
count matches the total of the three dice.

(iv) After the dealing procedures required under
§ 659a.8, § 659a.9 or § 659a.10 have been completed, the
dealer shall place the cover on the Asia Poker shaker and
shake the shaker once. The Asia Poker shaker shall then
be placed to the right of the dealer.

(2) A computerized random number generator to select
and display a number from 1 to 7. To determine the
starting position, the dealer shall count each betting
position in order, regardless of whether there is a wager
at the betting position, beginning with the dealer as

number one and continuing around the table in a counter-
clockwise manner, until the count matches the number
displayed by the random number generator.

(3) If an automated card shuffling device and dealing
shoe are used under § 659a.10, a flat button to indicate
the starting position. At the commencement of play, the
button shall be placed in front of the dealer. Thereafter,
the button shall rotate around the table in a clockwise
manner after each round of play.

(h) After the starting position for a round of play has
been determined, a certificate holder may mark that
position with an additional cover card or similar object
approved by the Bureau of Gaming Operations.

§ 659a.6. Asia Poker rankings.

(a) The rank of the cards used in Asia Poker, in order
of highest to lowest, shall be: ace, king, queen, jack, 10, 9,
8, 7,6, 5,4, 3 and 2. Notwithstanding the foregoing, an
ace may be used to complete a straight flush or a straight
formed with a 2, 3 and 4 but may not be combined with
any other sequence of cards (for example: queen, king, ace
and 2). The joker shall be used and ranked as an ace or
may be used as any card to complete a straight, a flush, a
straight flush or a royal flush.

(b) The permissible Poker hands at the game of Asia
Poker, in order of highest to lowest rank, shall be:

(1) Four aces, which is a high hand consisting of four
aces.

(2) A royal flush, which is a high hand consisting of an
ace, king, queen and jack of the same suit.

(3) A straight flush, which is a high hand consisting of
four cards of the same suit in consecutive ranking, with
ace, 2, 3 and 4 being the highest ranking straight flush;
king, queen, jack and 10 being the second highest ranking
straight flush; and 2, 3, 4 and 5 being the lowest ranking
straight flush. The certificate holder may, if specified in
its Rules Submission under § 601a.2 (relating to table
games Rules Submissions), specify that a straight flush
formed with an ace, 2, 3 and 4 of the same suit is the
lowest ranking straight flush.

(4) A four-of-a-kind, which is a high hand consisting of
four cards of the same rank, with four kings being the
highest ranking four-of-a-kind and four 2s being the
lowest ranking four-of-a-kind.

(5) A flush, which is a high hand consisting of four
cards of the same suit. When comparing two flushes, the
provisions in subsection (c) shall be applied.

(6) A straight, which is a high hand consisting of four
cards of consecutive rank, regardless of suit, with an ace,
king, queen and jack being the highest ranking straight;
an ace, 2, 3 and 4 being the second highest ranking
straight; and a 2, 3, 4 and 5 being the lowest ranking
straight. The certificate holder may, if specified in its
Rules Submission under § 601a.2, specify that a straight
formed with an ace, 2, 3 and 4, regardless of suit, is the
lowest ranking straight.

(7) A three-of-a-kind, which is a high hand containing
three cards of the same rank, with three aces being the
highest ranking three-of-a-kind and three 2s being the
lowest ranking three-of-a-kind.

(8) Two pair, which is a high hand containing two
pairs, with two aces and two kings being the highest
ranking two pair hand and two 3s and two 2s being the
lowest ranking two-pair hand.
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(9) A pair, which is either a high hand or a low hand
consisting of two cards of the same rank, with two aces
being the highest ranking pair and two 2s being the
lowest ranking pair.

(c) When comparing two high hands, two medium
hands or two low hands that are of identical hand rank
under subsection (b), or contain none of the hands in
subsection (b), the hand that contains the highest ranking
card under subsection (a), which is not in the other hand,
shall be considered the higher ranking hand. If the two
hands are of identical rank after the application of this
section, the hands shall be considered a copy.

(d) If the certificate holder offers the optional Bonus
Wager under § 659a.7(e) (relating to wagers), the follow-
ing hands shall be used to determine the amount of the
bonus payout to a winning player:

(1) A three-of-a-kind and four 8s.

(2) Five aces, which is a hand consisting of four aces
and a joker.

(3) A royal flush, which is a hand consisting of an ace,
king, queen, jack and 10 of the same suit.

(4) A natural straight flush, which is a hand consisting
of five cards of the same suit in consecutive rank with no
joker.

(5) A straight flush with a joker, which is a hand
consisting of five cards of the same suit in consecutive
rank, one of which is a joker.

(6) A four-of-a-kind, which is a hand consisting of four
cards of the same rank regardless of suit.

(7) A 9-high, which is a seven-card hand that contains
a987,6,4,3and20ra9,8,7 5,4, 3 and 2.

(8) A full house, which is a hand consisting of a
three-of-a-kind and a pair.

(9) A flush, which is a hand consisting of five cards of
the same suit.

(10) A three-of-a-kind, which is a hand containing three
cards of the same rank regardless of suit.

(11) A straight, which is a hand consisting of five cards
of consecutive rank, regardless of suit.

§ 659a.7. Wagers.

(a) Wagers at Asia Poker shall be made by placing
value chips or plaques on the appropriate areas of the
Asia Poker layout. Verbal wagers accompanied by cash
may not be accepted.

(b) Only players who are seated at an Asia Poker table
may wager at the game. Once a player has placed a
wager and received cards, that player shall remain seated
until the completion of the round of play. If a player
leaves the table during a round of player, any wagers
made by the player may be considered abandoned and
may be treated as losing wagers.

(c) All wagers at Asia Poker shall be placed prior to the
dealer announcing “no more bets” in accordance with the
dealing procedures in § 659a.8, § 659a.9 or § 659a.10
(relating to procedures for dealing the cards from a
manual dealing shoe; procedures for dealing the cards
from the hand; and procedures for dealing the cards from
an automated dealing shoe). A wager may not be made,
increased or withdrawn after the dealer has announced
“no more bets.”

(d) To participate in a round of play and compete
against the dealer’s high hand, medium hand and low
hand, a player shall place an Asia Poker Wager.

(e) If specified in its Rules Submission under § 601a.2
(relating to table games Rules Submissions), a certificate
holder may offer to each player who placed an Asia Poker
Wager, the option of placing a Bonus Wager that the
seven cards dealt to the player will form a hand with a
rank of 9-high or better as described in § 659a.6(d)
(relating to Asia Poker rankings).

(f) If specified in its Rules Submission under § 601a.2,
a certificate holder may permit a player to wager on two
adjacent betting areas at an Asia Poker table. If a
certificate holder permits a player to wager on adjacent
betting areas, the cards dealt to each betting area shall
be played separately. If the two wagers are not equal, the
player shall set the hand with the larger wager before
ranking and setting the other hand. If the amounts
wagered are equal, each hand shall be played separately
in a counterclockwise rotation with the first hand being
ranked and set before the player proceeds to rank and set
the second hand. Once a hand has been ranked, set and
placed face down on the layout, the hands may not be
changed.

§ 659a.8. Procedures for dealing the cards from a
manual dealing shoe.

(a) If a manual dealing shoe is used, the dealing shoe
must be located on the table in a location approved by the
Bureau of Casino Compliance. Once the procedures re-
quired under § 659a.5 (relating to shuffle and cut of the
cards; procedures for determining the starting position for
dealing cards) have been completed, the stacked deck of
cards shall be placed in the dealing shoe either by the
dealer or by an automated card shuffling device.

(b) Prior to dealing any cards, the dealer shall an-
nounce “no more bets” and use one of the procedures
authorized under § 659a.5(g) to determine the starting
position for dealing the cards.

(¢) The dealer shall then deal the first card to the
starting position as determined in subsection (b) and,
continuing around the table in a clockwise manner, deal
one card at a time to all other positions, regardless of
whether there is a wager at the position, and the dealer,
until each position and the dealer has seven cards. Each
card dealt shall be removed from the dealing shoe with
the hand of the dealer that is closest to the dealing shoe
and placed face down on the appropriate area of the
layout with the opposite hand.

(d) After seven cards have been dealt to each position
and the dealer, the dealer shall remove the stub from the
manual dealing shoe and determine whether four cards
are left by spreading them face down on the layout. The
four cards that remain may not be exposed to anyone and
shall be placed in the discard rack.

(e) If more or less than four cards remain, the dealer
shall determine if the cards were misdealt. If the cards
were misdealt (a player position or the dealer has more or
less than seven cards), all hands shall be void and all
wagers shall be returned to the players. If the cards were
not misdealt, all hands shall be void, all wagers shall be
returned to the players and the entire deck of cards shall
be removed from the table.

(f) If the dealer determines the cards were dealt prop-
erly, the dealer shall collect any stacks dealt to a position
where there was no wager and place them in the discard
rack without exposing the cards.
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§ 659a.9. Procedures for dealing the cards from the
hand.

(a) If the cards are dealt from the dealer’s hand, the
following requirements shall be observed:

(1) An automated shuffling device shall be used to
shuffle the cards.

(2) After the procedures required under § 659a.5 (re-
lating to shuffle and cut of the cards; procedures for
determining the starting position for dealing cards) have
been completed, the dealer shall place the deck of cards
in either hand. After the dealer has chosen the hand in
which to hold the cards, the dealer shall continue to use
that hand when holding the cards during that round of
play. The cards held by the dealer shall be kept over the
table inventory container and in front of the dealer at all
times.

(3) Prior to dealing any cards, the dealer shall an-
nounce “no more bets” and use one of the procedures
authorized under § 659a.5(g) to determine the starting
position for dealing the cards. The dealer shall deal each
card by holding the deck of cards in the chosen hand and
shall use the other hand to remove the top card of the
deck and place it face down on the appropriate area of the
layout.

(b) The dealer shall then deal the first card to the
starting position as determined in subsection (a) and,
continuing around the table in a clockwise manner, deal
one card at a time to all other positions, regardless of
whether there is a wager at the position, and the dealer,
until each position and the dealer has seven cards.

(c) After seven cards have been dealt to each position
and the dealer, the dealer shall determine whether four
cards are left by spreading them face down on the layout.
The four cards that remain may not be exposed to anyone
and shall be placed in the discard rack.

(d) If more or less than four cards remain, the dealer
shall determine if the cards were misdealt. If the cards
were misdealt (a player position or the dealer has more or
less than seven cards), all hands shall be void and all
wagers shall be returned to the players. If the cards were
not misdealt, all hands shall be void, all wagers shall be
returned to the players and the entire deck of cards shall
be removed from the table.

(e) If the dealer determines the cards were dealt
properly, the dealer shall collect any stacks dealt to a
position where there was no wager and place them in the
discard rack without exposing the cards.

§ 659a.10. Procedures for dealing the cards from an
automated dealing shoe.

(a) If the cards are dealt from an automated dealing
shoe, after the procedures under § 659a.5 (relating to
shuffle and cut of the cards; procedures for determining
the starting position for dealing cards) have been com-
pleted, the cards shall be placed in the automated dealing
shoe. Prior to the shoe dispensing any stacks of cards, the
dealer shall announce “no more bets.”

(b) After the starting position for delivering the cards
has been determined, the dealer shall deliver the first
stack of cards dispensed by the automated dealing shoe
face down to that position. As the remaining stacks are
dispensed to the dealer by the automated dealing shoe,
the dealer shall, moving clockwise around the table,
deliver a stack face down to each of the other positions,
regardless of whether there is a wager at the position,
and the dealer.

(c) After seven cards have been dispensed and deliv-
ered to each position and the dealer, the dealer shall
remove the remaining cards from the shoe and determine
whether four cards are left by spreading them face down
on the layout. The four cards that remain may not be
exposed to anyone and shall be placed in the discard rack.

(d) If more or less than four cards remain, the dealer
shall determine if the cards were misdealt. If the cards
were misdealt (a player position or the dealer has more or
less than seven cards), all hands shall be void and all
wagers shall be returned to the players. If the cards were
not misdealt, all hands shall be void, all wagers shall be
returned to the players and the entire deck of cards shall
be removed from the table.

(e) If the dealer determines the cards were dealt
properly, the dealer shall collect any stacks dealt to a
position where there was no wager and place them in the
discard rack without exposing the cards.

§ 659a.11. Procedures for completion of each round
of play.

(a) After the dealing procedures required under
§ 659a.8, § 659a.9 or § 659a.10 (relating to procedures
for dealing the cards from a manual dealing shoe; proce-
dures for dealing the cards from the hand; and procedures
for dealing the cards from an automated dealing shoe)
have been completed, each player shall examine his cards
subject to the following limitations:

(1) Each player who wagers at an Asia Poker table
shall be responsible for setting his own hands and no
person other than the dealer and the player to whom the
cards were dealt may touch the cards of that player. If a
player requests assistance in the setting of his hands, the
dealer shall inform the player of the manner in which the
certificate holder requires the hands of the dealer to be
set in accordance with the certificate holder’s Rules
Submission under § 601a.2 (relating to table games Rules
Submissions).

(2) Each player shall keep his seven cards in full view
of the dealer at all times.

(3) Once each player has set his three hands and
placed them face down on the appropriate area of the
layout, the player may not touch the cards again.

(b) Each player shall set his hands by arranging the
cards into a high hand, a medium hand and a low hand.
When setting the three hands, the four-card high hand
must be higher in rank than the two-card medium hand
and the medium hand must be higher in rank than the
one-card low hand. For example, if the two-card medium
hand contains a pair of sevens, the four-card high hand
must contain at least a pair of sevens and the two
remaining cards.

(c) After all players have set their hands and placed
the cards on the table, the seven cards of the dealer shall
be turned over and the dealer shall set his hands by
arranging the cards into a high hand, medium hand and
low hand. The certificate holder shall specify in its Rules
Submission under § 601a.2 the manner in which the
hands of the dealer shall be set. The dealer shall then
place the three hands face up on the appropriate area of
the layout.

(d) Unless a player has placed an optional Bonus
Wager in accordance with § 659a.7(e) (relating to wa-
gers), a player may surrender his wager after the hands
of the dealer have been set. The player shall announce
his intention to surrender prior to the dealer exposing
any of the three hands of that player as provided in
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subsection (e). Once the player has announced his inten-
tion to surrender, the dealer shall immediately collect the
Asia Poker Wager from that player and collect the seven
cards dealt to that player without exposing the cards to
anyone at the table. The dealer shall verify that seven
cards were collected by counting them face down on the
layout prior to placing them in the discard rack.

(e) After the dealer has set a high hand, medium hand
and a low hand, the dealer shall reveal all three hands of
each player, beginning with the player farthest to the
dealer’s right and continuing around the table in a
counterclockwise direction. The dealer shall compare the
high, medium and low hand of each player to the high,
medium and low hand of the dealer and shall announce if
the Asia Poker Wager of that player wins or loses.

(f) An Asia Poker Wager will:
(1) Lose and will immediately be collected if:

(i) Any two of the player’s three hands are identical or
lower in rank than the dealer’s corresponding hands.

(i) Any one of the player’s three hands is identical in
rank to the corresponding hand of the dealer and one of
the player’s remaining hands is lower in rank than the
dealer’s corresponding hand.

(iii) The high hand of the player was not set so as to
rank higher than the medium hand of that player.

(iv) The medium hand of the player was not set so as
to rank higher than the low hand of that player.

(v) The three hands of the player were not otherwise
set correctly in accordance with this chapter.

(2) Win if any two of the player’s three hands are
higher in rank than the dealer’s corresponding hands.
The dealer shall pay the winning Asia Poker Wager in
accordance with the payout odds in § 659a.12(a) (relating
to payout odds; payout limitation).

(g) Except as provide in subsection (h), after settling
the player’s Asia Poker Wager, the dealer shall place the
cards of the player in the discard rack.

(h) If a player placed a Bonus Wager, after settling the
player’s Asia Poker Wager, the dealer shall rearrange the
seven cards of any player and form the highest ranking
hand and shall be responsible for creating the hand for
purposes of the Bonus Wager. If a player:

(1) Does not have a 9-high or better, as described in
§ 659a.6(d) (relating to Asia Poker rankings), the dealer
shall collect the Bonus Wager and place the cards of the
player in the discard rack.

(2) Has a 9-high or better, the dealer shall pay the
winning Bonus Wager in accordance with § 659a.12(b)
and place the cards of the player in the discard rack.

(i) All cards removed from the table shall be placed in
the discard rack in a manner that permits the reconstruc-
tion of each hand in the event of a question or dispute.

§ 659a.12. Payout odds; payout limitation.

(a) A certificate holder shall pay each winning Asia
Poker Wager at odds of 1 to 1.

(b) The certificate holder shall pay out winning Bonus
Wagers at the odds in one of the following paytables
selected by the certificate holder in its Rules Submission
filed in accordance with § 601a.2 (relating to table games
Rules Submissions):

Hand Paytable A Paytable B Paytable C

Three-of-a-kind 5,000to1 5,000to 1 5,000 to 1
and four 8s

Five aces 800 to 1 800 to 1 800 to 1

Royal flush 200 to 1 200 to 1 200 to 1

Natural straight 80to1l 50 to 1 50to 1
flush

Straight flush 40to 1 40to 1 40to 1
with a joker

Four-of-a-kind 30to 1 30to 1 25to 1

9-high 10to 1 10to 1 10to 1

Full house 5to1l 5to1l 5to1l

Flush 4to1l 4to1l 4to1l

Three-of-a-kind 3tol 3tol 3tol

Straight 2to 1 2to 1 2to 1

(¢) Notwithstanding the payout odds in subsections (a)
and (b), a certificate holder may, in its Rules Submission
under § 601a.2, establish a maximum amount that is
payable to a player on a single hand. The maximum
payout amount shall be at least $50,000 or the maximum
amount that one player could win per round when betting
the minimum permissible wager, whichever is greater.

§ 659a.13. Irregularities; invalid roll of dice.

(a) If the dealer uncovers the Asia Poker shaker and all
three dice do not land flat on the bottom of the shaker,
the dealer shall call a “no roll” and reshake the dice.

(b) If the dealer uncovers the Asia Poker shaker and a
die or dice fall out of the shaker, the dealer shall call a
“no roll” and reshake the dice.

(¢) If the dealer incorrectly totals the dice and deals the
first card to the wrong position, all hands shall be void,

all wagers shall be returned to the players and the cards
shall be reshuffled.

(d) If the dealer exposes any of the cards dealt to a
player, the player may void the hand. The player shall
make the decision to either play out the hand or to void
the hand without looking at the unexposed cards.

(e) If a card or cards in the dealer’s hand are exposed,
all hands shall be void, all wagers shall be returned to
the players and the cards shall be reshuffled.

(f) A card that is found face up in the shoe or the deck
while the cards are being dealt shall not be used in that
round of play and shall be placed in the discard rack. If
more than one card is found face up in the shoe or the
deck during the dealing of the cards, all hands shall be
void, all wagers shall be returned to the players and the
cards shall be reshuffled.

(g) A card drawn in error without its face being
exposed shall be used as though it were the next card
from the shoe.

(h) If any player or the dealer is dealt an incorrect
number of cards, all hands shall be void, all wagers shall
be returned to the players and the cards shall be
reshuffled.

(1) If the dealer does not set his hands in the manner
in which the certificate holder requires the hands of the
dealer to be set, the hands shall be reset in accordance
with the certificate holder’s Rules Submission and the
round of play shall be completed.

() If any of the dealer’s cards are inadvertently ex-
posed while the dealer is dealing the cards, all wagers
shall be returned to the players and the cards shall be
reshuffled.
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(k) If any player position or the dealer is dealt an
incorrect number of cards, all hand shall be void, all
wagers shall be returned to the players and the cards
shall be reshuffled.

(1) If an automated card shuffling device is being used
and the device jams, stops shuffling during a shuffle or
fails to complete a shuffle cycle, the cards shall be
reshuffled.

(m) If an automated dealing shoe is being used and the
device jams, stops dealing cards or fails to deal all cards
during a round of play, the round of play shall be void, all
wagers shall be returned to the players and the cards
shall be removed from the device and reshuffled with any
cards already dealt.

(n) If an automated shuffling device or automated
dealing shoe malfunctions and cannot be used, the auto-
mated card shuffling device or automated dealing shoe
must be covered or have a sign indicating that the
automated shuffling device or automated dealing shoe is
out of order placed on the device before any other method
of shuffling or dealing may be utilized at that table.

CHAPTER 663a. FIVE CARD HI-LO

Sec.

663a.1.  Definitions.

663a.2.  Five Card Hi-Lo table; physical characteristics.

663a.3.  Cards; number of decks.

663a.4.  Opening of the table for gaming.

663a.5.  Shuffle and cut of the cards.

663a.6. Five Card Hi-Lo rankings.

663a.7.  Wagers.

663a.8.  Procedures for dealing the cards from a manual dealing shoe.

663a.9.  Procedures for dealing the cards from the hand.

663a.10. Procedures for dealing the cards from an automated dealing
shoe.

663a.11. Procedures for completion of each round of play.

663a.12. Payout odds.

663a.13. Irregularities.

§ 663a.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

High hand—The three-card hand that is formed from
the five cards dealt so as to have a point value higher
than the two-card low hand.

Low hand—The two-card hand that is formed from the
five cards dealt so as to have a point value lower than the
three-card high hand.

Setting the hands—The process of forming a high hand
and low hand from the five cards dealt.

§ 663a.2. Five Card Hi-Lo table; physical character-
istics.

(a) Five Card Hi-Lo shall be played at a table having
betting positions for no more than six players on one side
of the table and a place for the dealer on the opposite side
of the table.

(b) The layout for a Five Card Hi-Lo table shall be
submitted to the Bureau of Gaming Operations and
approved in accordance with § 601a.10(a) (relating to
approval of table game layouts, signage and equipment)
and contain, at a minimum:

(1) The name or logo of the certificate holder.

(2) A separate betting area designated for the place-
ment of the Ante Wager for each player.

(3) A separate betting area designated for the place-
ment of the Play Wager for each player.

(4) Two separate areas designated for the placement of
the high and low hands of each player.

(5) If the certificate holder offers the optional Tie
Wager authorized under § 663a.7(e)(1) (relating to wa-
gers), a separate area designated for the placement of the
Tie Wager for each player.

(6) If the certificate holder offers the optional Poker
Bonus Wager authorized under § 663a.7(e)(2), a separate
area designated for the placement of the Poker Bonus
Wager for each player.

(7) Inscriptions that advise patrons of the payout odds
or amounts for all permissible wagers offered by the
certificate holder. If the payout odds or amounts are not
inscribed on the layout, a sign identifying the payout odds
or amounts for all permissible wagers shall be posted at
each Five Card Hi-Lo table.

(¢) Each Five Card Hi-Lo table must have a drop box
and a tip box attached on the same side of the gaming
table as, but on opposite sides of, the dealer, as approved
by the Bureau of Casino Compliance in accordance with
§ 601a.10(g). The Bureau of Casino Compliance may
approve an alternative location for the tip box when a
card shuffling device or other table game equipment
prevents the placement of the drop box and tip box on the
same side of the gaming table as, but on opposite sides of,
the dealer.

(d) Each Five Card Hi-Lo table must have a discard
rack securely attached to the top of the dealer’s side of
the table.

§ 663a.3. Cards; number of decks.

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b), Five Card
Hi-Lo shall be played with one deck of cards that are
identical in appearance and one cover card.

(b) If an automated card shuffling device is utilized,
Five Card Hi-Lo may be played with two decks of cards in
accordance with the following requirements:

(1) The cards in each deck must be of the same design.
The backs of the cards in one deck must be of a different
color than the cards in the other deck.

(2) One deck of cards shall be shuffled and stored in
the automated card shuffling device while the other deck
is being used to play the game.

(3) Both decks of cards shall be continuously alternated
in and out of play, with each deck being used for every
other round of play.

(4) The cards from only one deck shall be placed in the
discard rack at any given time.

(¢) The decks of cards used in Five Card Hi-Lo shall be
changed at least every:

(1) Four hours if the cards are dealt by hand.

(2) Eight hours if the cards are dealt from a manual or
automated dealing shoe.

§ 663a.4. Opening of the table for gaming.

(a) After receiving one or more decks of cards at the
table, the dealer shall inspect the cards for any defects.
The floorperson assigned to the table shall verify the
inspection.

(b) After the cards are inspected, the cards shall be
spread out face up on the table for visual inspection by
the first player to arrive at the table. The cards shall be
spread in horizontal fan shaped columns by deck accord-
ing to suit and in sequence.
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(c) After the first player is afforded an opportunity to
visually inspect the cards, the cards shall be turned face
down on the table, mixed thoroughly by a washing of the
cards and stacked. Once the cards have been stacked, the
cards shall be shuffled in accordance with § 663a.5
(relating to shuffle and cut of the cards).

(d) If an automated card shuffling device is utilized
and two decks of cards are received at the table, each
deck of cards shall be spread for inspection, mixed,
stacked and shuffled in accordance with subsections

(a)—(c).

(e) If the decks of cards received at the table are
preinspected and preshuffled in accordance with
§ 603a.16(u) or (v) (relating to cards; receipt, storage,
inspection and removal from use), subsections (a)—(d) do
not apply.

§ 663a.5. Shuffle and cut of the cards.

(a) Immediately prior to commencement of play, unless
the cards were preshuffled in accordance with
§ 603a.16(u) or (v) (relating to cards; receipt, storage,
inspection and removal from use), after each round of
play has been completed or when directed by the
floorperson or above, the dealer shall shuffle the cards,
either manually or by use of an automated card shuffling
device, so that the cards are randomly intermixed. Upon
completion of the shuffle, the dealer or device shall place
the deck of cards in a single stack. The certificate holder
may use an automated card shuffling device which, upon
completion of the shuffling of the cards, inserts the stack
of cards directly into a dealing shoe.

(b) If an automated card shuffling device is being used,
which counts the number of cards in the deck after the
completion of each shuffle and indicates whether 52 cards
are present, and the device reveals that an incorrect
number of cards are present, the deck shall be removed
from the table.

(c) After the cards have been shuffled and stacked, the
dealer shall:

(1) If the cards were shuffled using an automated card
shuffling device, deal the cards in accordance with
§ 663a.8, § 663a.9 or § 663a.10 (relating to procedures
for dealing the cards from a manual dealing shoe; proce-
dures for dealing the cards from the hand; and procedures
for dealing the cards from an automated dealing shoe).

(2) If the cards were shuffled manually, cut the cards
in accordance with the procedures in subsection (d).

(d) If a cut of the cards is required, the dealer shall
place the cover card in the stack at least ten cards in
from the top of the stack. Once the cover card has been
inserted, the dealer shall take all cards above the cover
card and the cover card and place them on the bottom of
the stack. The stack of cards shall then be inserted into
the dealing shoe for commencement of play.

(e) After the cards have been cut and before the cards
have been dealt, a floorperson or above may require the
cards to be recut if the floorperson determines that the
cut was performed improperly or in any way that might
affect the integrity or fairness of the game.

(f) If there is no gaming activity at a Five Card Hi-Lo
table which is open for gaming, the cards shall be
removed from the dealing shoe and discard rack and
spread out on the table face down unless a player
requests that the cards be spread face up on the table.
After the first player arriving at the table is afforded an
opportunity to visually inspect the cards, the procedures

in § 663a.4(c) (relating to opening of the table for gam-
ing) and this section shall be completed.

(g) A certificate holder may utilize a dealing shoe or
other device that automatically reshuffles and counts the
cards, provided that the device is submitted to the
Bureau of Gaming Laboratory Operations and approved
in accordance with § 461a.4 (relating to submission for
testing and approval), prior to its use in the licensed
facility. If a certificate holder is utilizing the approved
device, subsections (b)—(f) do not apply.

§ 663a.6. Five Card Hi-Lo rankings.

(a) Each card dealt must have a point value. The point
value of all nonface cards is their denomination. Jacks,
queens and kings have a point value of 10. Aces have a
point value of 11 if played in the high hand and a point
value of 1 if played in the low hand.

(b) If the certificate holder offers the Poker Bonus
Wager, authorized under § 663a.7(e) (relating to wagers),
the winning five-card Poker hands must be:

(1) A royal flush, which is a hand consisting of an ace,
king, queen, jack and 10 of the same suit.

(2) A straight flush, which is a hand, other than a royal
flush, consisting of five cards of the same suit in consecu-
tive ranking. An ace may be used to complete a straight
flush formed with a 2, 3, 4 and 5 but may not be
combined with any other sequence of cards (for example:
queen, king, ace, 2 and 3).

(3) A four-of-a-kind, which is a hand consisting of four
cards of the same rank regardless of suit.

(4) A full house, which is a hand consisting of a
three-of-a-kind and a pair.

(5) A flush, which is a hand consisting of five cards of
the same suit, not in consecutive order.

(6) A straight, which is a hand consisting of five cards
of consecutive rank, regardless of suit. An ace may be
used to complete a straight formed with a king, queen,
jack and 10 or a 2, 3, 4 and 5 but may not be combined
with any other sequence of cards (for example: queen,
king, ace, 2 and 3).

(7) A three-of-a-kind, which is a hand consisting of
three cards of the same rank, regardless of suit.

(8) Two pairs, which is a hand consisting of two pairs.

(9) One pair of 6s, 7s or better, depending on the
paytable selected by the certificate holder in its Rules
Submission filed in accordance with § 601a.2 (relating to
table games Rules Submissions), which is a hand consist-
ing of two cards of the same rank.

§ 663a.7. Wagers.

(a) Wagers at Five Card Hi-Lo shall be made by
placing value chips, plaques or other Board-approved
wagering instruments, as defined in § 603a.10 (relating
to permissible wagering; exchange and redemption of
gaming chips and plaques), on the appropriate areas of
the Five Card Hi-Lo layout. Verbal wagers accompanied
by cash may not be accepted.

(b) Only players who are seated at a Five Card Hi-Lo
table may wager at the game. Once a player has placed a
wager and received cards, that player shall remain seated
until the completion of the round of play. If a player
leaves the table during a round of play, any wagers made
by the player may be considered abandoned and may be
treated as losing wagers.

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 44, NO. 5, FEBRUARY 1, 2014



640 RULES AND REGULATIONS

(c) All wagers at Five Card Hi-Lo shall be placed prior
to the dealer announcing “no more bets” in accordance
with the dealing procedures in § 663a.8, § 663a.9 or
§ 663a.10 (relating to procedures for dealing the cards
from a manual dealing shoe; procedures for dealing the
cards from the hand; and procedures for dealing the cards
from an automated dealing shoe). A wager may not be
made, increased or withdrawn after the dealer has an-
nounced “no more bets.”

(d) To participate in a round of play and compete
against the dealer’s high and low hands, a player shall
place an Ante Wager.

(e) A certificate holder may, if specified in its Rules
Submission under § 601a.2 (relating to table games Rules
Submissions), offer to each player who placed an Ante
Wager, in accordance with subsection (d), the option of
placing the following additional wagers:

(1) A Tie Wager that the total point value of either the
high hand or the low hand of the player, or both, will tie
the high or low hand of the dealer.

(2) A Poker Bonus Wager that the five cards dealt to
the player will form a five-card Poker hand with a rank of
a pair of 6s or better or a pair of 7s or better, as described
in § 663a.6(b) (relating to Five Card Hi-Lo rankings),
depending on the pay table selected by the certificate
holder.

(f) A certificate holder may, if specified in its Rules
Submission under § 601a.2, permit a player to wager on
two adjacent betting areas at a Five Card Hi-Lo table. If
a certificate holder permits a player to wager on adjacent
betting areas, the cards dealt to each betting area shall
be played separately. If the two wagers are not equal, the
player shall rank and set the hand with the larger wager
before ranking and setting the other hand. If the amounts
wagered are equal, each hand shall be played separately
in a counterclockwise rotation with the first hand being
ranked and set before the player proceeds to rank and set
the second hand. Once a hand has been ranked, set and
placed face down on the layout, the hands may not be
changed.

§ 663a.8. Procedures for dealing the cards from a
manual dealing shoe.

(a) If a manual dealing shoe is used, the dealing shoe
must be located on the table in a location approved by the
Bureau of Casino Compliance in accordance with
§ 601a.10(g) (relating to approval of table game layouts,
signage and equipment). Once the procedures required
under § 663a.5 (relating to shuffle and cut of the cards)
have been completed, the stacked deck of cards shall be
placed in the dealing shoe either by the dealer or by an
automated card shuffling device.

(b) Prior to dealing any cards, the dealer shall an-
nounce “no more bets.”

(c) Each card shall be removed from the dealing shoe
with the hand of the dealer that is the closest to the
dealing shoe and placed on the appropriate area of the
layout with the opposite hand.

(d) The dealer shall, starting with the player farthest
to the dealer’s left and continuing around the table in a
clockwise manner, deal one card at a time to each player
who placed an Ante Wager in accordance with § 663a.7(d)
(relating to wagers) and to the dealer until each player
and the dealer have five cards.

(e) After five cards have been dealt to each player and
the dealer, the dealer shall remove the stub from the

manual dealing shoe and, except as provided in subsec-
tion (f), place the stub in the discard rack without
exposing the cards.

(f) If an automated card shuffling device, which counts
the number of cards in the deck after the completion of
each shuffle and indicates whether 52 cards are present,
is not being used, the dealer shall count the stub at least
once every 5 rounds of play to determine if the correct
number of cards are still present in the deck. The dealer
shall determine the number of cards in the stub by
counting the cards face down on the layout.

(g) If the count of the stub indicates that 52 cards are
in the deck, the dealer shall place the stub in the discard
rack without exposing the cards.

(h) If the count of the stub indicates that the number
of cards in the deck is incorrect, the dealer shall deter-
mine if the cards were misdealt. If the cards were
misdealt (a player or the dealer has more or less than 5
cards) but 52 cards remain in the deck, all hands shall be
void and all wagers shall be returned to the players. If
the cards were not misdealt, all hands shall be void, all
wagers shall be returned to the players and the entire
deck of cards shall be removed from the table.

§ 663a.9. Procedures for dealing the cards from the
hand.

(a) If the cards are dealt from the dealer’s hand, the
following requirements shall be observed:

(1) An automated shuffling device shall be used to
shuffle the cards.

(2) After the procedures required under § 663a.5 (re-
lating to shuffle and cut of the cards) have been com-
pleted, the dealer shall place the stacked deck of cards in
either hand. After the dealer has chosen the hand in
which to hold the cards, the dealer shall continue to use
that hand whenever holding the cards during that round
of play. The cards held by the dealer shall be kept over
the table inventory container and in front of the dealer at
all times.

(3) Prior to dealing any cards, the dealer shall an-
nounce “no more bets.”

(b) The dealer shall deal each card by holding the deck
of cards in the chosen hand and use the other hand to
remove the top card of the deck and place it face down on
the appropriate area of the layout. The dealer shall,
starting with the player farthest to the dealer’s left and
continuing around the table in a clockwise manner, deal
one card at a time to each player who placed an Ante
Wager in accordance with § 663a.7(d) (relating to wagers)
and to the dealer until each player and the dealer have
five cards.

(c) After five cards have been dealt to each player and
the dealer, the dealer shall remove the stub from the
manual dealing shoe and, except as provided in subsec-
tion (d), place the stub in the discard rack without
exposing the cards.

(d) If an automated card shuffling device, which counts
the number of cards in the deck after the completion of
each shuffle and indicates whether 52 cards are present,
is not being used, the dealer shall count the stub at least
once every 5 rounds of play to determine if the correct
number of cards are still present in the deck. The dealer
shall determine the number of cards in the stub by
counting the cards face down on the layout.

(e) If the count of the stub indicates that 52 cards are
in the deck, the dealer shall place the stub in the discard
rack without exposing the cards.
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(f) If the count of the stub indicates that the number of
cards in the deck is incorrect, the dealer shall determine
if the cards were misdealt. If the cards were misdealt (a
player or the dealer has more or less than 5 cards), but
52 cards remain in the deck, all hands shall be void and
all wagers shall be returned to the players. If the cards
were not misdealt, all hands shall be void, all wagers
shall be returned to the players and the entire deck of
cards shall be removed from the table.

§ 663a.10. Procedures for dealing the cards from an
automated dealing shoe.

(a) If the cards are dealt from an automated dealing
shoe, the following requirements shall be observed:

(1) After the procedures required under § 663a.5 (re-
lating to shuffle and cut of the cards) have been com-
pleted, the cards shall be placed in the automated dealing
shoe.

(2) Prior to the shoe dispensing any stacks of cards, the
dealer shall announce “no more bets.”

(b) The dealer shall deliver the first stack of cards
dispensed by the automated dealing shoe face down to the
player farthest to the dealer’s left who has placed an Ante
Wager in accordance with § 663a.7(d) (relating to wa-
gers). As the remaining stacks are dispensed to the dealer
by the automated dealing shoe, the dealer shall, moving
clockwise around the table, deliver a stack face down to
each of the other players who has placed an Ante Wager.
The dealer shall then deliver a stack of five cards face
down to the area designated for the placement of the
dealer’s cards.

(c) After each stack of five cards has been dispensed
and delivered in accordance with subsection (b), the
dealer shall remove the stub from the automated dealing
shoe and, except as provided in subsection (d), place the
cards in the discard rack without exposing the cards.

(d) If an automated card shuffling device, which counts
the number of cards in the deck after the completion of
each shuffle and indicates whether 52 cards are present,
is not being used, the dealer shall count the stub at least
once every 5 rounds of play to determine if the correct
number of cards is still present in the deck. The dealer
shall determine the number of cards in the stub by
counting the cards face down on the layout.

(e) If the count of the stub indicates that 52 cards are
in the deck, the dealer shall place the stub in the discard
rack without exposing the cards.

(f) If the count of the stub indicates that the number of
cards in the deck is incorrect, the dealer shall determine
if the cards were misdealt. If the cards were misdealt (a
player or the dealer has more or less than 5 cards), but
52 cards remain in the deck, all hands shall be void and
all wagers shall be returned to the players. If the cards
were not misdealt, all hands shall be void, all wagers
shall be returned to the players and the entire deck of
cards shall be removed from the table.

§ 663a.11. Procedures for completion of each round
of play.

(a) After the dealing procedures required under
§ 663a.8, § 663a.9 or § 663a.10 (relating to procedures
for dealing the cards from a manual dealing shoe; proce-
dures for dealing the cards from the hand; and procedures
for dealing the cards from an automated dealing shoe)
have been completed, each player shall examine his cards
subject to the following limitations:

(1) Each player who wagers at a Five Card Hi-Lo table
shall be responsible for setting his own hands and a
person other than the dealer and the player to whom the
cards were dealt may not touch the cards of that player.

(2) Each player shall keep his five cards in full view of
the dealer at all times.

(3) Once each player has set a high and low hand and
placed the two hands face down on the appropriate area
of the layout, the player may not touch the cards again.

(b) After each player has examined his cards, the
dealer shall, beginning with the player farthest to the
dealer’s left and moving clockwise around the table, ask
each player who placed an Ante Wager if he wishes to
forfeit the Ante Wager and end his participation in the
round of play or make a Play Wager in an amount equal
to the player’s Ante Wager. If a player:

(1) Has placed an Ante Wager and a Tie Wager but
does not make a Play Wager, the player shall forfeit both
wagers.

(2) Has placed an Ante Wager and a Poker Bonus
Wager but does not make a Play Wager, the player shall
forfeit the Ante Wager but does not forfeit the Poker
Bonus Wager.

(c) After each player who has placed an Ante Wager
has either placed a Play Wager on the designated area of
the layout or forfeited his wagers and hand, the dealer
shall collect all forfeited wagers and associated cards and
place the cards in the discard rack. If a player has placed
a Poker Bonus Wager but did not place a Play Wager, the
dealer shall leave the player’s cards and the Poker Bonus
Wager on the table until the wager is resolved in
accordance with subsection (j).

(d) Each player who placed a Play Wager shall then set
his hands by arranging the cards into a high hand and a
low hand. When setting the two hands, the player shall
add the point value of the cards placing the three higher
value cards in the high hand and the two lower value
cards in the low hand, provided that a player may place
up to one ace in his low hand. For example, if a player is
dealt an ace, jack, 10, 9 and 2, the high hand may contain
the jack, 10 and 9 for a total point value of 29 and the
two-card low hand would contain the ace and 2 for a total
point value of 3.

(e) After all players have set their hands and placed
the cards on the table, the five cards of the dealer shall
be turned over and the dealer shall set his hands by
arranging the cards into a high and low hand, provided
that aces shall be placed in the dealer’s high hand unless
the dealer was dealt four aces. The dealer shall then
place the two hands face up on the appropriate area of
the layout.

(f) After the dealer has set a high hand and a low
hand, the dealer shall reveal both hands of each player,
beginning with the player farthest to the dealer’s right
and continuing around the table in a counterclockwise
direction. The dealer shall compare the total point value
of the high and low hand of each player to the high and
low hand of the dealer and shall announce if the Ante and
Play Wagers of that player win, lose or are a tie.

(g) Ante and Play Wagers must:

(1) Win if the high hand of the player is higher in point
value than the high hand of the dealer and the low hand
of the player is lower in point value than the low hand of
the dealer. The dealer shall pay the winning Ante and
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Play Wagers in accordance with the payout odds in
§ 663a.12(a) (relating to payout odds).

(2) Lose and will immediately be collected if the high
hand of the player ties or is lower in point value than the
high hand of the dealer and the low hand of the player
ties or is higher in point value than the low hand of the
dealer.

(3) Tie and will be returned to the player if:

(1) The high hand of the player is higher in point value
than the high hand of the dealer, but the low hand of the
player is identical in point value or higher in point value
than the low hand of the dealer.

(i1)) The high hand of the player is identical in total
point value to the high hand of the dealer or lower in
total point value than the high hand of the dealer, but the
low hand of the player is lower in total point value than
the low hand of the dealer.

(h) A player may also qualify for an additional Ante
Bonus Payout, regardless of the outcome of the player’s
Ante and Play Wagers in subsection (g), if a player has
three or more aces in the player’s hand. Ante Bonus
Payouts shall be paid in accordance with § 663a.12(b).

(i) Except as provided in subsection (j), after settling
the player’s Ante and Play Wagers, the dealer shall place
the cards of the player in the discard rack.

(j) After settling the player’s Ante and Play Wagers,
the dealer shall settle the player’s optional wagers as
follows:

(1) If a player placed a Tie Wager in accordance with
§ 663a.7(e)(1) (relating to wagers), the dealer shall:

(i) Pay winning Tie Wagers in accordance with
§ 663a.12(c) if the high hand or low hand, or both, of the
player is identical in point value with the high hand, low
hand, or both, of the dealer.

(ii) Collect all losing Tie Wagers if neither the high
hand nor the low hand of the player is identical in point
value with the high hand or low hand of the dealer.

(2) If a player placed a Poker Bonus Wager in accord-
ance with § 663a.7(e)(2), the dealer shall rearrange the
five cards of the player to form the highest ranking Poker
hand in accordance with § 663a.6(b) (relating to Five
Card Hi-Lo rankings). After rearranging the player’s five
cards, the dealer shall settle the player’s Poker Bonus
Wager as follows:

(i) If a player has a pair of 6s or better or a pair of 7s
or better, depending on the paytable selected by the
certificate holder, the dealer shall pay the winning Poker
Bonus Wager in accordance with § 663a.12(d).

(ii) If a player does not have a pair of 6s or better or a
pair of 7s or better, depending on the paytable selected by
the certificate holder, the dealer shall collect the Poker
Bonus Wager.

(k) If a player has placed more than one optional
wager, the dealer shall settle all of the player’s optional
wagers before placing the player’s cards in the discard
rack.

() All cards removed from the table shall be placed in
the discard rack in a manner that permits the reconstruc-
tion of each hand in the event of a question or dispute.

§ 663a.12. Payout odds.

(a) A certificate holder shall pay each winning Ante
and Play Wager at odds of 1 to 1.

(b) The certificate holder shall pay an Ante B onus
Payout based on the amount of the player’s Ante Wager
at the odds in one of the following paytables selected by
the certificate holder in its Rules Submission filed in
accordance with § 601a.2 (relating to table games Rules
Submissions):

Hand Paytable A Paytable B
Four aces and one 2 1,000 for 1 500 for 1
Four aces 100 for 1 50 for 1
Three aces 10 for 1 5 for 1
Hand Paytable C Paytable D
Four aces and one 2 200 for 1 100 for 1
Four aces 50 for 1 50 for 1
Three aces 5 for 1 5 for 1

(¢c) The certificate holder shall pay out winning Tie
Wagers at the odds in the following paytable:

Hand Payout
Low hands tie 4to1
High hands tie 4tol
Both high and low hands tie 20 to 1

(d) The certificate holder shall pay out winning Poker
Bonus Wagers at the odds in one of the following
paytables selected by the certificate holder in its Rules
Submission filed in accordance with § 601a.2:

Hand Paytable A Paytable B
Royal flush 250 to 1 500 to 1
Straight flush 50to 1 100 to 1
Four-of-a-kind 25to 1 40to 1
Full house 15to 1 15to 1
Flush 10to 1 8tol
Straight 8tol 6tol
Three-of-a-kind 5to1 4to1
Two pair 3tol 3tol
Pair of 7s or better 1tol

Pair of 6s or better 1tol

§ 663a.13. Irregularities.

(a) A card that is found face up in the shoe or the deck
while the cards are being dealt may not be used in that
round of play and shall be placed in the discard rack. If
more than one card is found face up in the shoe or the
deck during the dealing of the cards, all hands shall be
void, all wagers shall be returned to the players and the
cards shall be reshuffled.

(b) A card drawn in error without its face being
exposed shall be used as though it were the next card
from the shoe or the deck.

(¢) If any player or the dealer is dealt an incorrect
number of cards, all hands shall be void, all wagers shall
be returned to the players and the cards shall be
reshuffled.

(d) If an automated card shuffling device is being used
and the device jams, stops shuffling during a shuffle or
fails to complete a shuffle cycle, the cards shall be
reshuffled.

(e) If an automated dealing shoe is being used and the
device jams, stops dealing cards or fails to deal cards
during a round of play, the round of play shall be void, all
wagers shall be returned to the players and the cards
shall be removed from the device and reshuffled with any
cards already dealt.

(f) If an automated card shuffling device or automated
dealing shoe malfunctions and cannot be used, the auto-
mated card shuffling device or automated dealing shoe
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shall be covered or have a sign indicating that the
automated card shuffling device or automated dealing
shoe is out of order placed on the device before any other
method of shuffling or dealing may be utilized at that
table.

CHAPTER 665a. DOUBLE ATTACK BLACKJACK

Sec.

665a.1.  Definitions.

665a.2. Double Attack Blackjack table; card reader device; physical
characteristics; inspections.

665a.3.  Cards; number of decks; value of cards.

665a.4.  Opening of the table for gaming.

665a.5.  Shuffle and cut of the cards.

665a.6.  Wagers.

665a.7.  Procedure for dealing the cards; completion of each round of
play.

665a.8.  Insurance Wager.

665a.9.  Surrender.

665a.10. Double Down Wager.

665a.11. Splitting pairs.

665a.12. Payout odds.

665a.13. Irregularities.

§ 665a.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

Blackjack—An ace and any card having a value of 10
dealt as the initial two cards to a player or the dealer.

Card reader device—A device which permits the dealer
to determine if the hole card will give the dealer a
Blackjack.

Hard total—The total point count of a hand which does
not contain aces or which contains aces that are each
counted as 1 in value.

Hole card—The second card dealt face down to the
dealer.

Soft total—The total point count of a hand containing
an ace when the ace is counted as 11 in value.

§ 665a.2. Double Attack Blackjack table; card
reader device; physical characteristics; inspec-
tions.

(a) Double Attack Blackjack shall be played at a table
having betting positions for no more than six players on
one side of the table and a place for the dealer on the
opposite side of the table.

(b) The layout for a Double Attack Blackjack table
shall be submitted to the Bureau of Gaming Operations
and approved in accordance with § 601a.10(a) (relating to
approval of table game layouts, signage and equipment)
and contain, at a minimum:

(1) The name or logo of the certificate holder.

(2) A separate betting area designated for the place-
ment of the Bet Wager and the Double Attack Wager for
each player.

(3) The following inscriptions:
(i) Blackjack pays even money.
(ii) Insurance pays 5 to 2.

(iii)) Dealer shall draw to 16 and stand on all 17s or
other similar language approved by the Executive Direc-
tor in accordance with § 601a.10(a).

(4) If the certificate holder offers the optional Bust It
Wager authorized under § 665a.6(e) (relating to wagers),
a separate area designated for the placement of the Bust
It Wager for each player.

(5) Inscriptions that advise patrons of the payout odds
or amounts for all permissible wagers offered by the
certificate holder. If the payout odds or amounts are not
inscribed on the layout, a sign identifying the payout odds
or amounts for all permissible wagers shall be posted at
each Blackjack table.

(c) Each Double Attack Blackjack table must have a
drop box and a tip box attached on the same side of the
table as, but on opposite sides of, the dealer, as approved
by the Bureau of Casino Compliance in accordance with
§ 601a.10(g). The Bureau of Casino Compliance may
approve an alternative location for the tip box when a
card shuffling device or other table game equipment
prevents the placement of the drop box and tip box on the
same side of the gaming table as, but on opposite sides of,
the dealer.

(d) Each Double Attack Blackjack table must have a
card reader device attached to the top of the dealer’s side
of the table. The floorperson assigned to the Double
Attack Blackjack table shall inspect the card reader
device at the beginning of each gaming day to ensure that
there has been no tampering with the device and that it
is in proper working order.

(e) Each Double Attack Blackjack table must have a
discard rack securely attached to the top of the dealer’s
side of the table. The height of each discard rack must
either:

(1) Equal the height of the cards, stacked one on top of
the other, in the total number of decks that are to be used
in the dealing shoe at that table.

(2) Be taller than the height of the total number of
decks being used if the discard rack has a distinct and
clearly visible mark on its side to show the exact height
for a stack of cards equal to the total number of cards in
the number of decks to be used in the dealing shoe at
that table.

§ 665a.3. Cards; number of decks; value of cards.

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b), Double Attack
Blackjack shall be played with an eight-deck batch of
cards that are identical in appearance and at least one
cover card. The decks shall consist of 48 cards, with the
10 of each suit removed from each deck during the
inspection required under § 665a.4 (relating to opening of
the table for gaming) or as provided in § 603a.16(u) or (v)
(relating to cards; receipt, storage, inspection and removal
from use).

(b) If an automated card shuffling device is utilized,
other than a continuous shuffler, Double Attack Blackjack
shall be played with two batches of cards in accordance
with the following requirements:

(1) The cards shall be separated into two batches with
eight decks included in each batch.

(2) The cards in each batch must be of the same design
but the backs of the cards in one batch must be of a
different color than the cards in the other batch.

(3) One batch of cards shall be shuffled and stored in
the automated card shuffling device while the other batch
is being used to play the game.

(4) Both batches of cards shall be continuously alter-
nated in and out of play, with each batch being used for
every other dealing shoe.

(5) The cards from only one batch shall be placed in
the discard rack at any given time.

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 44, NO. 5, FEBRUARY 1, 2014



644 RULES AND REGULATIONS

(¢) The decks of cards opened for use at a Double
Attack Blackjack table shall be changed at least once
every 24 hours.

(d) The value of the cards shall be as follows:
(1) Any card from 2 to 9 shall have its face value.
(2) Any jack, queen or king shall have a value of 10.

(3) An ace shall have a value of 11 unless that value
would give a player or the dealer a score in excess of 21,
in which case the ace shall have a value of 1.

§ 665a.4. Opening of the table for gaming.

(a) After receiving the decks of cards at the table, the
dealer shall inspect the cards for any defects. The
floorperson assigned to the table shall verify the inspec-
tion.

(b) If the decks contain the 10 of any suit, the dealer
and a floorperson shall ensure that these cards are
removed from the decks, torn in half and placed in the
box, envelope or container that the decks came from.

(c) After the cards are inspected, the cards shall be
spread out face up on the table for visual inspection by
the first player to arrive at the table. The cards shall be
spread in horizontal fan shaped columns by deck accord-
ing to suit and in sequence.

(d) After the first player arriving at the table has been
afforded an opportunity to visually inspect the cards, the
cards shall be turned face down on the table, mixed
thoroughly by a washing of the cards and stacked. Once
the cards have been stacked, the cards shall be shuffled
in accordance with § 665a.5 (relating to shuffle and cut of
the cards).

(e) If an automated shuffling device is utilized, other
than a continuous shuffler, all the decks in one batch of
cards shall be spread for inspection, mixed, stacked and
shuffled in accordance with subsections (a)—(c) separate
from the decks in the other batch of cards.

(f) If the decks of cards received at the table are
preinspected and preshuffled in accordance with
§ 603a.16(u) or (v) (relating to cards; receipt, storage,
inspection and removal from use), subsections (a) and
(¢c)—(e) do not apply.

§ 665a.5. Shuffle and cut of the cards.

(a) Immediately prior to commencement of play, unless
the cards were preshuffled in accordance with
§ 603a.16(u) or (v) (relating to cards; receipt, storage,
inspection and removal from use), after each shoe of cards
is dealt or when directed by a floorperson or above, the
dealer shall shuffle the cards, either manually or by use
of an automated card shuffling device, so that the cards
are randomly intermixed. Upon completion of the shuffle,
the dealer or device shall place the decks of cards in a
single stack. The certificate holder may use an automated
card shuffling device which, upon completion of the
shuffling of the cards, inserts the stack of cards directly
into a dealing shoe.

(b) After the cards have been shuffled and stacked, the
dealer shall offer the stack of cards to be cut, with the
backs facing away from the dealer, to the player deter-
mined under subsection (c). If no player accepts the cut,
the dealer shall cut the cards.

(¢) The cut of the cards shall be offered to players in
the following order:

(1) The first player arriving at the table, if the game is
just beginning.

(2) The player on whose betting area the cover card
appeared during the last round of play.

(3) If the cover card appeared on the dealer’s hand
during the last round of play, the player at the farthest
position to the right of the dealer. If this player refuses,
the offer to cut the cards shall rotate to each player in a
counterclockwise manner.

(4) If the reshuffle was initiated at the direction of the
floorperson or above, the player at the farthest position to
the right of the dealer. If this player refuses, the offer to
cut the cards shall rotate to each player in a counterclock-
wise manner.

(d) The player or dealer making the cut shall place the
cover card in the stack at least ten cards from the top or
bottom of the stack. Once the cover card has been
inserted, the dealer shall take all cards on top of the
cover card and place them on the bottom of the stack. The
dealer shall then insert the cover card in the stack at a
position at least 1/4 of the way in from the bottom of the
stack. The stack of cards shall then be inserted into the
dealing shoe for commencement of play.

(e) After the cards have been cut and before the cards
have been placed in the dealing shoe, a floorperson or
above may require the cards to be recut if the floorperson
determines that the cut was performed improperly or in
any way that might affect the integrity or fairness of the
game. If a recut is required, the cards shall be recut
either by the player who last cut the cards or by the next
person entitled to cut the cards, as determined under
subsection (c). The stack of cards shall then be inserted
into the dealing shoe for commencement of play.

(f) A reshuffle of the cards in the shoe shall take place
after the cover card is reached in the shoe, as provided in
§ 665a.7(d) (relating to procedure for dealing the cards;
completion of each round of play), except that a
floorperson may determine that the cards should be
reshuffled after any round of play.

(g) If there is no gaming activity at a Double Attack
Blackjack table which is open for gaming, the cards shall
be removed from the dealing shoe and the discard rack
and spread out on the table face down unless a player
requests that the cards be spread face up on the table.
After the first player arriving at the table is afforded an
opportunity to visually inspect the cards, the procedures
in § 665a.4(d) (relating to opening of the table for
gaming) and this section shall be completed.

(h) A certificate holder may utilize a dealing shoe or
other device that automatically reshuffles and counts the
cards provided that the device is submitted to the Bureau
of Gaming Laboratory Operations and approved in ac-
cordance with § 461a.4 (relating to submission for testing
and approval) prior to its use in the licensed facility. If a
certificate holder is utilizing the approved device, subsec-
tions (b)—(g) do not apply.

§ 665a.6. Wagers.

(a) Wagers at Double Attack Blackjack shall be made
by placing value chips, plaques or other Board-approved
table game wagering instruments on the appropriate
areas of the Double Attack Blackjack layout. Verbal
wagers accompanied by cash may be accepted provided
that they are confirmed by the dealer and the cash is
expeditiously converted into value chips or plaques.

(b) After the cards have been shuffled as required
under § 665a.5 (relating to shuffle and cut of the cards),
a certificate holder may prohibit any patron, whether
seated at the gaming table or not, who does not make a
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wager on a given round of play from placing a wager on
the next round of play and any subsequent round of play
at that gaming table until either:

(1) The certificate holder chooses to permit the player
to begin wagering again.

(2) A reshuffle of the cards has occurred.

(c) A player may not handle, remove or alter any
wagers that have been made until a decision has been
rendered and implemented with respect to that wager.

(d) To participate in a round of play, a player shall
place a Bet Wager.

(e) A player who has placed a Bet Wager may then
place a Double Attack Wager as provided in § 665a.7(e)
(relating to procedure for dealing the cards; completion of
each round of play), in an amount equal to or less than
the player’s Bet Wager.

(f) If specified in its Rules Submission under § 601a.2
(relating to table games Rules Submissions), a certificate
holder may offer to each player who placed a Bet Wager
in accordance with subsection (d) the option of placing an
additional Bust It Wager, in an amount equal to or less
than the player’s Bet Wager.

(g) The certificate holder shall specify in its Rules
Submission under § 601a.2 the number of adjacent boxes
on which a player may place a Bet Wager in one round of
play.

§ 665a.7. Procedure for dealing the cards; comple-
tion of each round of play.

(a) All cards shall be dealt from a dealing shoe which
must be located on the table in a location approved by the
Bureau of Casino Compliance in accordance with
§ 601a.10(g) (relating to approval of table game layouts,
signage and equipment). Once the procedures under
§ 665a.5 (relating to shuffle and cut of the cards) have
been completed, the dealer or automated card shuffling
device shall place the stacked cards in the dealing shoe.

(b) Each card shall be removed from the dealing shoe
with the hand of the dealer that is closest to the dealing
shoe and placed on the appropriate area of the layout
with the opposite hand. The dealer may deal cards to the
two betting positions closest to the dealing shoe with the
same hand.

(c) After each full batch of cards is placed in the shoe,
the dealer shall remove the first card and place it in the
discard rack. Each new dealer who comes to the table
shall also remove one card and place it in the discard
rack before dealing any cards to the players.

(d) If the cover card appears as the first card in the
dealing shoe at the beginning of a round of play or
appears during play, the cover card shall be removed and
placed to the side and the hand will be completed. The
dealer shall then collect and reshuffle the cards in
accordance with § 665a.5.

(e) At the commencement of each round of play and
after all players have been afforded the opportunity to
make a Bet and Bust It Wager, one card shall be dealt
face up to the dealer. After examining the dealer’s up
card, a player who placed a Bet Wager may place an
optional Double Attack Wager in accordance with
§ 665a.6(e) (relating to wagers).

(f) After all players have been afforded an opportunity
to place a Double Attack Wager, starting with the player

farthest to the dealer’s left and continuing around the
table in a clockwise manner, the dealer shall deal the
cards as follows:

(1) One card face up to each box on the layout in which
a Bet Wager is contained.

(2) A second card face up to each box on the layout in
which a Bet Wager is contained.

(3) A second card face down to the dealer.

(g) Immediately after the second card is dealt to each
player and the dealer, if the dealer’s first card is an ace,
the dealer shall offer the Insurance Wager in accordance
with § 665a.8 (relating to Insurance Wager). If the
dealer’s first card is an ace, king, queen or jack, the
dealer shall then determine whether the hole card will
give the dealer a Blackjack. The dealer shall insert the
hole card into the card reader device by moving the card
face down on the layout without exposing it to anyone at
the table, including the dealer. If the dealer has a
Blackjack, additional cards may not be dealt and each
player’s Bet, Double Attack, Bust It and Insurance Wa-
gers, if applicable, shall be settled in accordance with this
section and § 665a.8.

(h) After the procedures in subsection (g) have been
completed, if necessary, the dealer shall start with the
player farthest to the dealer’s left and continue around
the table in a clockwise direction and if the player:

(1) Has Blackjack, the dealer shall announce and pay
the Bet and Double Attack Wagers in accordance with
subsection (0) and remove the player’s cards. If a player
also placed a Bust It Wager, the wager shall remain on
the layout until subsection (m) is completed.

(2) Does not have Blackjack, the player shall indicate
whether he wishes to surrender, as permitted under
§ 665a.9 (relating to surrender), double down as permit-
ted under § 665a.10 (relating to Double Down Wager),
split pairs as permitted under § 665a.11 (relating to
splitting pairs), stand or draw additional cards.

(1) As each player indicates his decision, the dealer
shall deal face upwards whatever additional cards are
necessary to effectuate the player’s decision.

() A player may elect to draw additional cards when-
ever his point count total is less than 21, except that:

(1) A player having Blackjack or a hard or soft total of
21 may not draw additional cards.

(2) A player electing to make a Double Down Wager
may draw only one additional card.

(k) Prior to the dealer exposing his hole card, if player
has less than 21 after drawing additional cards, the
player may surrender in accordance with § 665a.9.

(1) After the decisions of each player have been imple-
mented and all additional cards have been dealt, the
dealer shall turn the hole card face up.

(m) If the first two cards of the dealer’s hand:

(1) Equal a total point count of 17 or higher, the dealer
shall collect all losing Bust It Wagers before settling the
player’s Bet or Double Attack Wagers in accordance with
subsection (o).

(2) Equal a total point count of less than 17, the dealer
shall draw an additional card. If the dealer’s three card
hand has a total point count:

(1) In excess of 21, the dealer shall pay the winning
Bust It Wager in accordance with § 665a.12(c) (relating
to payout odds). The payout shall be based on the value of
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the third card drawn, except that if all three of the
dealer’s cards are an 8 of the same color or suit, a player
shall receive an increased payout based on the three 8s
instead of the payout based on the value of the third card
drawn.

(i) Of 21 or less, the dealer shall collect all losing Bust
It Wagers.

(n) After settling the player’s Bust It Wager, if appli-
cable, if the dealer’s first three cards equal a total point
count of less than 17, the dealer shall draw additional
cards until he has a hard or soft total of 17, 18, 19, 20 or
21.

(o) After all additional cards have been dealt to the
players and the dealer, the dealer shall, starting with the
player farthest to the dealer’s right and continuing
around the table in a counterclockwise direction, settle
the remaining wagers by collecting all losing wagers and
paying all winning wagers as follows:

(1) A Bet Wager shall:
(i) Win and be paid in accordance with § 665a.12(a) if:

(A) The total point count of the player’s hand is 21 or
less and the total point count of the dealer’s hand is in
excess of 21.

(B) The total point count of the player’s hand exceeds
the total point count of the dealer’s hand without exceed-
ing 21.

(C) The player has a Blackjack and the dealer’s hand
has a total point count of 21 in more than two cards.

(i1) Lose and be collected if:

(A) The dealer has a Blackjack and the player does not
have a Blackjack.

(B) The total point count of the dealer’s hand is 21 or
less and the total point count of the player’s hand is in
excess of 21.

(C) The total point count of the dealer’s hand exceeds
the total point count of the player’s hand without exceed-
ing 21.

(iii) Tie and be returned to the player if the total point
count of the player’s hand is the same as the dealer’s or if
both the player and dealer have Blackjack.

(2) A Double Attack Wager shall win, lose or tie in
accordance with subsection (0)(1) except that the Double
Attack Wager shall be returned to the player if the dealer
has a Blackjack and the player does not have a Blackjack.

(p) The dealer shall pay all winning wagers and collect
all losing wagers beginning with the player farthest to
the dealer’s right and continuing around the table in a
counterclockwise direction. The dealer shall place any
losing wagers directly into the table inventory and may
not pay off any winning wagers by using value chips
collected from a losing wager.

(q) After all wagers have been settled, the dealer shall
remove all remaining cards from the table and place them
in the discard rack in a manner that permits the
reconstruction of each hand in the event of a question or
dispute.

(r) Players and spectators may not handle, remove or
alter any cards used to play Double Attack Blackjack.

§ 665a.8. Insurance Wager.

(a) If the first card dealt to the dealer is an ace, each
player may make an Insurance Wager which shall win if
the dealer’s hole card is a king, queen or jack.

(b) An Insurance Wager may be made by placing a
value chip on the insurance line of the layout in an
amount not more than 1/2 of the player’s Bet Wager. A
player may wager an amount in excess of 1/2 of the initial
Bet Wager to the next unit that can be wagered in chips,
when, because of the limitation of the value of chip
denominations, half the initial wager cannot be bet.
Insurance Wagers shall be placed prior to the dealer
inserting his hole card into the card reader device.

(¢) Winning Insurance Wagers shall be paid in accord-
ance with the payout odds in § 665a.12(b) (relating to
payout odds).

(d) Losing Insurance Wagers shall be collected by the
dealer immediately after the dealer inserts his hole card
into the card reader device and determines that he does
not have a Blackjack and before he draws any additional
cards.

§ 665a.9. Surrender.

(a) After the first two cards are dealt to the player, the
player may elect to discontinue play on his hand for that
round by surrendering. A player may also elect to surren-
der after additional cards are dealt to the player, after a
hand is split as permitted under § 665a.11 (relating to
splitting pairs) and after doubling down as permitted
under § 665a.10 (relating to Double Down Wager). A
player may not elect to surrender after deciding to stand.

(b) If the player elects to surrender and the first card
dealt to the dealer:

(1) Is not an ace, king, queen or jack, the dealer shall
immediately collect the cards of the player and 1/2 of the
Bet Wager and Double Attack Wager, if applicable, and
return the other 1/2 to the player.

(2) Is an ace, king, queen or jack, the dealer shall
determine whether the hole card will give the dealer a
Blackjack. The dealer shall insert the hole card into the
card reader device in accordance with § 665a.7(g) (relat-
ing to procedure for dealing the cards; completion of each
round of play). If the dealer:

(i) Has a Blackjack, the dealer shall collect the entire
Bet Wager and the Bust It Wager, if applicable, and
return the Double Attack Wager, if applicable, to the
player.

(i1) Does not have a Blackjack, the dealer shall immedi-
ately collect the cards of the player and 1/2 of the Bet
Wager and Double Attack Wager, if applicable, and return
the other 1/2 to the player.

(¢) If the player has made a Bust It Wager and then
elects to surrender, the Bust It Wager must remain on the
layout until settled in accordance with § 665a.7(m).

(d) If the player has made an Insurance Wager and
then elects to surrender, each wager will be settled
separately in accordance with subsection (b) and § 665a.8
(relating to Insurance Wager).

§ 665a.10. Double Down Wager.

(a) Except when a player has a Blackjack, a player
may elect to make a Double Down Wager, which may not
exceed the amount of his original Bet and Double Attack
Wagers, on two or more cards dealt to that player,
including any hands resulting from a split pair, provided
that only one additional card shall be dealt to the hand
on which the player has elected to double down.

(b) If a dealer obtains Blackjack after a player makes a
Double Down Wager, the dealer shall collect only the
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amount of the original Bet Wager of the player and shall
return the Double Down and Double Attack Wagers.

(c) Upon a player’s election to make a Double Down
Wager, the dealer shall deal the one additional card face
up and place it sideways on the layout.

§ 665a.11. Splitting pairs.

(a) If the initial two cards dealt to a player are
identical in value, the player may elect to split the hand
into two separate hands provided that he makes a wager
on the second hand formed in an amount equal to his
original Bet and Double Attack Wagers. For example, if a
player has two 7s or a king and a queen, the player may
elect to split the hand.

(b) When a player splits pairs, the dealer shall deal a
card to and complete the player’s decisions with respect to
the first incomplete hand on the dealer’s left before
proceeding to deal any cards to the second hand.

(c) After a second card is dealt to each split pair hand,
the player shall indicate his decision to stand, draw or
double down with respect that hand. A player may split
pairs again if the second card dealt to an incomplete hand
is identical in value to the split pair. A player may split
pairs a maximum of three times for a total of four hands.

(d) If the dealer obtains Blackjack after a player splits
pairs, the dealer shall collect only the amount of the
original Bet Wager of the player and return the Double
Attack Wager and the additional amount wagered in
splitting pairs.

(e) If a player elects to split a pair of aces, each ace
shall receive only one card. Aces may not be split more
than once and may not be resplit.

§ 665a.12. Payout odds.

(a) The certificate holder shall pay out each winning
Bet and Double Attack Wager at odds of 1 to 1.

(b) The certificate holder shall pay out winning Insur-
ance Wagers at odds of 5 to 2.

(c) The certificate holder shall pay out winning Bust It
Wagers at the odds in the following paytable:

Hand Payout

8, 8, 8 of the same suit 200 to 1
8, 8, 8 of the same color 50 to 1
Third card drawn:
Isaé6 15to 1
Isa?7 10to 1
Isan 8 8tol
Isa9 6tol
Is a king, queen or jack 3tol

§ 665a.13. Irregularities.

(a) A card found face up in the shoe may not be used in
that round of play and shall be placed in the discard rack.

(b) A card drawn in error without its face being
exposed shall be used as though it were the next card
from the shoe.

(c) After the initial two cards have been dealt to each
player and the dealer and a card is drawn in error and
exposed to the players, the card shall be dealt to the
players or dealer as though it were the next card from the
shoe. Any player refusing to accept the card may not have
any additional cards dealt to him during the round. If the
card is refused by the players and the dealer cannot use
the card, the card shall be placed in the discard rack.

(d) If the dealer has 17 and accidentally draws a card
for himself, the card shall be placed in the discard rack.

(e) If there are insufficient cards remaining in the shoe
to complete a round of play, all of the cards in the discard
rack shall be shuffled and cut according to the procedures
in § 665a.5 (relating to shuffle and cut of the cards). The
first card shall be drawn face down and placed in the
discard rack and the dealer shall complete the round of
play.

(f) If no cards are dealt to a player’s hand, the hand is
dead and the player shall be included in the next deal. If
only one card is dealt to a player’s hand, at the player’s
option, the dealer shall deal the second card to the player
after all other players have received a second card.

(g) If after receiving the first two cards, the dealer fails
to deal an additional card to a player who has requested
a card, then, at the player’s option, the dealer shall either
deal the additional card after all other players have
received their additional cards but prior to the dealer
revealing his hole card or call the player’s hand dead and
return the player’s Bet and Double Attack Blackjack
Wagers.

(h) If the dealer inserts his hole card into a card reader
device when the value of his first card is not an ace, king,
queen or jack, the dealer, after notification to a
floorperson or above, shall:

(1) If the particular card reader device in use provides
any player with the opportunity to determine the value of
the hole card, call all hands dead, collect the cards and
return each player’s wager.

(2) If the particular card reader device in use does not
provide any player with the opportunity to determine the
value of the hole card, continue play.

(1) If a card reader device malfunctions, the dealer may
not continue dealing the game of Double Attack Blackjack
at that table until the card reader device is repaired or
replaced.

() If an automated card shuffling device is being used
and the device jams, stops shuffling during a shuffle or
fails to complete a shuffle cycle, the cards shall be
reshuffled.

(k) If an automated shuffling device malfunctions and
cannot be used, the device must be covered or have a sign
indicating that it is out of order placed on the device
before any other method of shuffling may be utilized at
that table.
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