
THE COURTS
Title 210—APPELLATE

PROCEDURE
PART I. RULES OF APPELLATE PROCEDURE

[ 210 PA. CODE CH. 19 ]
Order Amending Rule 1972 of the Rules of Appel-

late Procedure; No. 253 Appellate Procedural
Rules Doc.

Order
Per Curiam

And Now, this 1st day of April, 2015, upon the
recommendation of the Appellate Court Procedural Rules
Committee; the proposal having been published before
adoption at 43 Pa.B. 5393 (September 7, 2013):

It Is Ordered, pursuant to Article V, Section 10 of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania that Pennsylvania Rule of
Appellate Procedure 1972 is amended in the following
form.

This Order shall be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(b), and shall be effective May 1, 2015.

Annex A

TITLE 210. APPELLATE PROCEDURE

PART I. RULES OF APPELLATE PROCEDURE

ARTICLE II. APPELLATE PROCEDURE

CHAPTER 19. PREPARATION AND
TRANSMISSION OF RECORD AND RELATED

MATTERS

DISPOSITION WITHOUT REACHING THE MERITS

Rule 1972. Dispositions on Motion.

(a) Except as otherwise prescribed by this rule, subject
to [ Rule 123 (applications for relief) ] Pa.R.A.P. 123,
any party may move:

(1) To transfer the record of the matter to another
court because the matter should have been commenced
in, or the appeal should have been taken to, such other
court. [ See Rule 741 (waiver of objections to juris-
diction). ] See Pa.R.A.P. 741.

(2) To transfer to another appellate court under [ Rule
752 (transfers between Superior and Common-
wealth Courts) ] Pa.R.A.P. 752.

(3) To dismiss for want of jurisdiction in the unified
judicial system of this Commonwealth.

(4) To dismiss for mootness.

(5) To dismiss for failure to preserve the question
below, or because the right to an appeal has been
otherwise waived. [ See Rule 302 (requisites for
reviewable issue) and Rule 1551(a) (review of
quasijudicial orders). ] See Pa.R.A.P. 302 and
Pa.R.A.P. 1551(a).

(6) To continue generally or to quash because the
appellant is a fugitive.

(7) To quash for any other reason appearing on the
record.

Any two or more of the grounds specified in this rule
may be joined in the same motion. Unless otherwise
ordered by the appellate court, a motion under this rule
shall not relieve any party of the duty of filing his or her
briefs and reproduced records within the time otherwise
prescribed [ therefore ] therefor. The court may grant
or refuse the motion, in whole or in part; may postpone
consideration thereof until argument of the case on the
merits; or may make such other order as justice may
require.

(b) In a children’s fast track appeal, a dispositive
motion filed under [ Paragraphs ] subparagraphs
(a)(1), (a)(2), (a)(5), (a)(6) or (a)(7) of this rule shall be
filed within 10 days of the filing of the statement of
errors complained of on appeal required by [ Rule ]
Pa.R.A.P. 905(a)(2), or within 10 days of the lower court’s
filing of a [ Rule ] Pa.R.A.P. 1925(a)(2) opinion, which-
ever period expires last, unless the basis for seeking to
quash the appeal appears on the record subsequent to the
time limit provided herein, or except upon application and
for good cause shown.

[ Official Note: Based on former Supreme Court
Rule 33 and former Superior Court Rule 25.

As to Paragraph (6) see, e.g. Commonwealth v.
Galloway, 460 Pa. 309, 333 A.2d 741 (1975) (continu-
ing generally), Commonwealth v. Barron, 237 Pa.
Super. 369, 352 A.2d 84 (1975) (quashing). Rule 1933
(record for preliminary hearing in appellate court)
makes clear the right of a moving party to obtain
immediate transmission of as much of the record as
may be necessary for the purposes of a motion
under this rule. See Rule 123(c) (speaking applica-
tions). ]

Official Note: Pa.R.A.P. 1933 makes clear the right
of a moving party to obtain immediate transmission
of as much of the record as may be necessary for
the purposes of a motion under this rule. See
Pa.R.A.P. 123(c).

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 15-719. Filed for public inspection April 17, 2015, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 255—LOCAL
COURT RULES

ADAMS COUNTY
Amendment of Rules of Criminal Procedure

705.1(D); Administrative Order No. 17 of 2015

Order of Court
And Now, this 27th day of March, 2015, the Court

hereby Orders that Rules 705.1(D) of the Adams County
Rules of Criminal Procedure shall be amended as follows:
Rule 705.1. Conditions of Probation, Intermediate

Punishment and Parole.
(D) Conditions:
Until changed by rule or administrative order, condi-

tions of probation, parole and intermediate punishment
are established in accordance with the following [ form ]
forms:
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[ (Caption)

Instructions to defendant: You must comply with
all conditions identified as standard by an asterisk
(*) and all special conditions which have been
checked. You [ ] have; [ ] have not been classified
as a sexual offender and [ ] are; [ ] are not re-
quired to comply with SO conditions.

COUNSELING

and

ALCOHOL AND CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES

1. YOU MUST NOT:

*a. Use non-prescribed controlled substances.

*b. Become drunk or publicly intoxicated.

c. Consume alcoholic beverages.

*d. Enter or remain in any bar, tavern, or other
drinking establishment, or any establishment sell-
ing alcoholic or malt beverages, including State
Liquor Stores, without consent from the Probation
Office

*e. Consume alcoholic beverages until this condi-
tion (e) has been waived in writing by the Proba-
tion Office.

2. YOU MUST:

*a. Agree to have your blood, breath, or urine
tested as directed by the Probation Office or Prison
Officials to determine if you are alcohol and/or
drug free.

b. Attend counseling or therapy sessions re-
lated to drug and alcohol abuse as directed by the
Probation Office.

c. Complete the alcohol safe driving school.

d. Attend mental health counseling and
therapy programs as the Probation Office directs.

PERSONAL CONDUCT

3. YOU MUST:

*a. Avoid any violation of the law.

*b. Report any arrest to your Probation Officer.

*c. Avoid association with persons having serious
criminal records and reputations for criminal con-
duct.

*d. Report to the Probation Office when directed.

*e. Obey all directions given by any Probation/
Parole Officer.

*f. Avoid any contact which might cause fear,
annoyance, or alarm to the victim of any case
where charges have been filed against you.

*g. Be in your home and obey any curfew estab-
lished by the Probation Office.

*h. Obey all Prison rules, including those im-
posed while participating in the work release pro-
gram.

4. YOU MUST:

*a. If directed by your Probation Officer as soon
as possible you must obtain and maintain a steady
job.

*b. Avoid causing the loss of any job you get.

*c. Notify the Probation Office of any change in
your present employment status.

FINANCIAL OBLIGATIONS

5. YOU MUST:

*a. Pay your debts, especially court ordered for
the support of any other person.

*b. Pay court costs, fines and restitution on such
payment plan as may be established by the Proba-
tion Office.

*c. Pay the costs of required counseling, therapy
and treatment programs.

PUBLIC SERVICE

6. YOU MUST:

*a. Unless this condition is waived by a judge,
perform public service. If no other period is desig-
nated, you must perform forty (40) hours If another
period is designated, you must perform that
amount. Service shall be arranged by Public Ser-
vice Director for Adams County

b. Perform hours of public service.

RESIDENCE

7. YOU MUST:

*a. Notify the Probation Office of any change of
mailing address or physical residence.

*b. Obtain prior written permission from the Pro-
bation Office to leave Adams County or county of
legal residence for any period of time in excess of
twenty-four (24) hours unless prior permission is
obtained by the Probation Office.

*c. Consent, as a condition of Probation/Parole, to
warrantless searches of your residence by any
Probation/ Parole Officer based upon any suspicion
that the residence contains contraband or other
evidence of probation or parole violations.

*d. Waive extradition procedures and rights, in-
cluding the right to be taken before a judge in
another state, with respect to violations of proba-
tion or parole conditions.

WEAPONS

8. YOU MUST NOT:

*a. Possess a firearm or any other deadly weapon
if:

i. You have been convicted of a felony and/or are
prohibited by Federal and State Law.

ii. Your current offense is for a firearms or
deadly weapon violation.

iii. Possession is prohibited by a court order.

SO Conditions:

[ ] all conditions apply

[ ] all conditions apply except
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9. YOU MUST NOT POSSESS ANY OF THE FOL-
LOWING ITEMS, WITHOUT THE APPROVAL OF
YOUR PROBATION OFFICER:

i. Badges, uniforms, weapons or other indicia of
official authority,

ii. Chains, handcuffs, ropes or lines intended or
designed as restraints,

iii. Children’s clothing,

iv. Masks and disguises,

v. Photographs, video or films depicting or show-
ing nudity,

vi. Photographs of the victim,

vii. Pornography.

10. YOU MUST NOT WITHOUT YOUR PROBA-
TION OFFICER’S APPROVAL:

i. use fictitious names, other than those regis-
tered for legitimate business purposes.

ii. have any contact with children, other than
those specifically authorized by your probation
officer, and subject to conditions imposed by your
probation officer,

iii. enter or remain upon school property, play-
grounds or places where children congregate,

iv. linger, loiter or prowl in the vicinity of
schools, playgrounds or places where children con-
gregate.

v. use a public street or sidewalk that passes such
a location, except for legitimate purposes of travel,
or movement. In such a case, your use shall be
limited in time and purpose to expeditiously travel-
ing from one legitimate location to another.

vi. Rent or maintain a post office box, or receive
mail at any location that does not identify your
actual residence, without authorization from your
probation officer

Witness

Defendant

Date ]
STANDARD RULES OF SUPERVISION FOR

PROBATION, INTERMEDIATE PUNISHMENT AND
PAROLE

The Adams County Court of Common Pleas has
conditionally released/placed you under the super-
vision of the Adams County Department of Proba-
tion Services. You must comply with all supervision
rules and conditions set forth. If you violate any of
these rules of supervision the Department of Proba-
tion Services has the authority to arrest or detain
you and return your case to court for revocation
proceedings.

1. You must not commit any violation of the law.

2. You must refrain from any assaultive behavior
which threatens or presents a danger to yourself or
others. You will not annoy or harass any victim or
witness of your crime.

3. You must report as directed, by any Probation
Officer, and comply with all written or verbal
instructions including all Community Re-entry
Rules and Guidelines if a re-entry, work release, or
house arrest participant.

4. You must agree to permit any Probation/Parole
Officer, to search your person, enter into and
search your residence, vehicle or any other prop-
erty under your control without warrant at any
time upon reasonable suspicion of violation and to
ensure compliance with all conditions of your sen-
tence.

5. You may not have any prohibited offensive
weapons or firearms on your person, in your resi-
dence or in your vehicle while on active Probation/
Parole/IPP supervision, unless otherwise waived by
the court.

6. You must obtain permission to change your
residence and shall notify Probation within 24
hours of that change. You will not be permitted to
reside with persons on active probation or parole
supervision, unless approved by your Probation
Officer.

7. You must report all police or law enforcement
contact to your Probation Officer within the next
business day.

8. Unless classified as physically or mentally dis-
abled, you must find and maintain employment and
report any changes to employment within 24 hours.
If you are a juvenile, you must attend school every
day that school is in session and obey all rules of
the school authority.

9. You must complete hours of community
service.

10. You must not leave the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania for more than 24 hours or stay over-
night at any place other than your approved resi-
dence without obtaining written or verbal permis-
sion.

11. You must comply with all Court-ordered fi-
nancial obligations including the payment of child
support.

12. You must abide by the following designated
curfew until modified at the discretion of your
Probation Officer:

Adults: 10:00 p.m. Juveniles: 9:00 p.m.

13. You must not possess or use any non-
prescribed controlled substances and provide proof
of any valid prescriptions as directed to do so.

14. You must submit to blood/urine testing as
required by the Department of Probation Services.
Specimen must be provided within 2 hours of
request, and be of sufficient quality and quantity
for chemical testing.

15. You must comply with all specific conditions
dictated by the Court within your most recent
sentencing, juvenile dispositional or supervised bail
order(s) on the Case(s) noted above.

16. You must complete all Court-ordered evalua-
tions or assessments. You must participate in and
successfully complete any programs of treatment or
counseling recommended by any Drug and Alcohol
or Mental Health evaluation or assessment.
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Alcohol related offenses and/or persons under 21
years of age

[ ] You may not consume or possess alcohol. If
you are prohibited from consuming alcoholic bever-
ages, any blood/breath or urine testing positive for
alcohol will be considered a violation.

Juveniles

[ ] You are immediately subject to electronic
monitoring and/or house arrest.

Sex Offenses

[ ] I acknowledge that I have received a copy of
the sex offender rules.

SEX OFFENDER RULES OF SUPERVISION

1. You shall obtain a sex offender evaluation from
a certified sex offender treatment provider and
follow through with the recommendations resulting
therefrom and shall assume all responsibility for
the costs of any required program. You shall pro-
vide written authorization for release of confiden-
tial information between your sex offender treat-
ment provider and the Adams County Department
of Probation Services.

2. You shall submit to regular polygraph exami-
nations as directed by the treatment provider. You
are responsible for the cost of this service.

3. If your offense involved a minor, you shall not
frequent places where children congregate includ-
ing but not limited to, parks, playgrounds, swim-
ming pools, schools, malls, arcades. You shall not
engage in any activity that will bring you in close
contact with children. (This rule may be waived by
your probation officer for school attendance pur-
poses if you are a juvenile.)

4. If your offense involved a minor, you are not
permitted to reside with minor children without
permission from the Court.

5. You will not possess pornographic materials of
any kind, including photographs, movies, or com-
puter generated images depicting or showing nu-
dity. You may not possess images of your victim.
You shall not enter adult book stores, adult enter-
tainment clubs, massage parlors or any other estab-
lishment, that promote sexual material or objecti-
fies males or females.

6. For monitoring purposes, you are subject to
search of cell phone, camera, computer, gaming
device and their accessories that may be viewed
and or scanned at any time to detect pornographic
or sexually explicit content. If approved to possess
or use a computer you will agree to have a technol-
ogy monitoring device installed on any computers
you are authorized to possess or have access to and
you will sign and agree to the conditions of Sex
Offender Computer Use and Internet Access Agree-
ment.

7. You will comply with all sex offender registra-
tion and statutory requirements if applicable.

8. You shall obtain permission from a Probation
Officer before leaving the County of Adams and you
must secure travel permission before leaving the
Commonwealth of PA.

9. You shall not receive mail at any other location
than your home residence address without your
Probation Officers approval.

SEX OFFENDER SUPERVISION PROGRAM
COMPUTER USE AND INTERNET ACCESS

AGREEMENT

In being granted the privilege of using a com-
puter while under Sex Offender Supervision and/or
having access to the Internet, I hereby agree to the
following:

1. I will provide a written justification for my
possession and use of a computer, Internet access,
and/or use of any e-mail systems.

2. I agree to the installation of Court-authorized
technology on my devices with Internet access to
monitor nature and content of materials accessed
or viewed, and any examination/search of my com-
puter or electronic devices.

3. I will only use the computer and/or Internet
Service Provider approved by my Probation Officer.

4. I will not enter or participate in any social
media or chat rooms of any type.

5. I will not access any site that contains sexually
explicit or pornographic material depicting nudity.

6. I will not possess sexually graphic material on
any electronic device or mechanism that can hold
such material for visual use.

7. I will not use any encryption devices on my
computer. I will supply my Probation Officer with
any and all passwords and/or e-mail addresses used
on my computer.

8. I recognize I am responsible for all material
and information on my computer regardless if
other individuals have access to or use my com-
puter.

9. I agree to supply documentation of telephone
records, credit card records, or invoices relating to
the use of my computer and/or Internet access.

10. I understand that any non-compliance with
this agreement, deception on my part, lack of coop-
eration or resistance to providing requested infor-
mation will be grounds for this privilege being
revoked and/or violation proceedings being initi-
ated.

STANDARD RULES OF SUPERVISION FOR
CONTEMPT FOR FAILURE TO PAY

1. You may purge yourself of Contempt by the
payment of $ which is payable to the
Adams County Clerk of Courts.

2. You must notify your supervising Probation
Officer and provide documentation when payment
is made.

3. You must report as ordered to the Adams
County Adult Correctional Complex on at if you
have not paid the purge amount. Failure to report
to ACACC after failing to purge will result in the
filing of escape charges.

4. You must report as directed to the Adams
County Department of Probation Services.
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5. You must notify the Probation Department in
advance of any changes to your mailing address or
physical address.

6. You must comply with any and all other spe-
cific conditions dictated by the court within your
sentence order dated, .

These rule amendments shall become effective after all
the provisions of the Pennsylvania Rules of Criminal
Procedure are met, to include the following:

a. A certified copy of this order shall be submitted to
the Criminal Procedural Rules Committee for review in
accordance with Pa.R.Crim.P. No. 105(D);

b. Upon receipt of a statement from the Criminal
Procedural Rules Committee that the local rules is not
inconsistent with any general rule of the Supreme Court,
two (2) certified copies of this Order together with a
computer diskette that complies with the requirement of
1 Pa. Code § 13.11(b), or other compliant format, contain-
ing the test of the local rule(s) adopted hereby shall be
distributed to the Legislative Reference Bureau for publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin;

c. One (1) certified copy of this Order shall be for-
warded to the Administrative Office of the Pennsylvania
Courts for distribution in accordance with the provisions
of Pa.R.Crim.P. No. 105(F)(1);

d. A copy of the local rule shall be published on the
Unified Judicial System’s website.

e. This Order shall be filed in the Office of the
Prothonotary of Adams County and a copy thereof shall
be filed with the Adams County Clerk of Courts and the
Adams County Law Library for inspection and copying;

f. The effective date of the local rule shall be 30 days
after publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin;

g. Upon the effective date of the local rule, these
conditions shall be applicable to any person sentenced,
adjudicated, resentenced, or paroled on or after that date.

h. Upon the effective date of the local rule, the Rules of
Probation as described in Administrative Order 14 of
2003 shall be applicable only to those persons sentenced,
resentenced, or paroled prior to the effective date of the
local rule described herein.

i. In order to avoid a long-term, bifurcated approach to
the Rules of Probation, the Department of Probation
Services shall also execute the appropriate updated
form(s) with all existing persons subject to conditions of
probation or parole in any form established prior to the
effective date of the local rule. Due to the number of
persons involved, the Department of Probation Services
will have six months from the effective date of the local
rule to complete this provision. After six months from the
effective date of the local rule, Administrative Order 14 of
2003 shall be vacated.

j. In the event a person subject to the Rules of
Probation as described in Administrative Order 14 of
2003 has not signed the updated conditions described
herein before the time that Administrative Order 14 of
2003 is to be vacated, regardless of the reason, the
Department of Probation Services will initiate revocation
proceedings prior to Administrative Order 14 of 2003
being vacated. If the person is subject to a bench warrant
at the time this rule becomes effective, the Department of
Probation Services shall, prior to Administrative Order 14
of 2003 being vacated, submit an Amended Violation

Report to indicate that the person has not followed the
directive of the Department of Probation Services to sign
the updated form(s). If, for some reason, the Department
of Probation Services had not initiated revocation pro-
ceedings in conjunction with the issuing of the bench
warrant, the Department of Probation Services shall
initiate revocation proceedings due to the failure of the
person to sign the updated conditions.

By the Court
MICHAEL A. GEORGE,

President Judge
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 15-720. Filed for public inspection April 17, 2015, 9:00 a.m.]

BUTLER COUNTY
Clerk of Courts’ Schedule of Fees and Costs;

Misc.; Administrative Doc. No. 4-2015

Order of Court

And Now, this 16th day of March, 2015, upon consider-
ation of the Clerk of Courts’ Petition to Increase Fees and
Costs Pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S.A. § 1725.4 It Is Hereby
Ordered, Adjudged and Decreed, that:

1. The revised fee schedule submitted by the Clerk of
Courts of Butler County, Pennsylvania, a copy of which
follows hereto and incorporated herein, is approved.

2. The revised fee schedule approved by this Order of
Court shall be effective on May 1, 2015.

3. The Clerk of Courts is hereby directed to immedi-
ately cause the publication of the revised fee schedule in
the Butler County Legal Journal once a week for two (2)
successive weeks, and to file a copy of the Proof of
Publication of the advertisement at the previously listed
term and docket number.

4. The Clerk of Courts shall file one (1) certified copy
hereof with AOPC and distribute two (2) certified copies
plus a diskette to the Legislative Reference Bureau for
publication in the PA Bulletin.

5. The Clerk of Courts is to distribute a copy of the fee
schedule to each of the Judges of the Court of Common
Pleas of Butler County and to the Butler County Bar
Association.

6. Nothing contained herein shall prevent this Court to
further revise the fee schedule approved by this Order of
Court upon proper application made in accordance with
law.

By the Court
THOMAS J. DOERR,

President Judge

Clerk of Courts’ Petition to Increase Fees and Costs
Pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S. § 1725.4

And Now, comes Lisa Weiland Lotz, Clerk of Courts of
Butler County, by and through Leo M. Stepanian, II,
Esquire, Solicitor, and respectfully petitions this Court as
follows:

1. Petitioner is the duly elected Clerk of Courts of the
Common Pleas Court of Butler County, Pennsylvania.

2. Butler County is a county of the fourth class.
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3. Act 36 of 2000 provides in pertinent part:
The amount of any fee or charge increased pursuant
to paragraph (1) may be increased every three years,
provided that the amount of the increase may not be
greater than the percentage of increase in the Con-
sumer Price Index for Urban Workers for the immedi-
ate three years preceding the last increase in the fee
or charge.
42 Pa.C.S. § 1725.4(a)(2).
4. The Clerk of Courts last sought approval for and

this Court last granted approval for an increase in the
fees and costs charged by the Clerk of Courts in April
2012.

5. Pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S. § 1725.4(a)(2), the Clerk of
Courts may request, and the President Judge may ap-
prove, an increase in the fees and costs charged by the

Clerk of Courts based upon the increase in the Consumer
Price Index for the period from June 2009 to June 2011.

6. Based upon the Consumer Price Index for Urban
Workers (Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers), the
Consumer Price Index has increased 4.64% (June 2009 to
June 2011).

7. Following hereto as Exhibit ‘‘A’’ is a proposed fee bill
for the Clerk of Courts of Butler County, Pennsylvania
that takes into account the increase in the Consumer
Price Index as previously set forth.

Wherefore, the Clerk of Courts of Butler County, Penn-
sylvania respectfully requests this honorable Court to
authorize and adopt the schedule of fees and costs as
proposed hereby.

LEO M. STEPANIAN, II,
Solicitor for the Clerk of Courts
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Exhibit ‘‘A’’

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 15-721. Filed for public inspection April 17, 2015, 9:00 a.m.]
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FRANKLIN AND FULTON COUNTIES
Amended Rule of Judicial Administration 1901—

Prompt Disposition of Matters; Termination of
Inactive Cases; 2015-1281

Order of Court

And Now this 1st day of April, 2015;

It Is Hereby Ordered That local Judicial Administration
Rule 1901—Prompt Disposition of Matters; Termination
of Inactive Cases shall be amended and adopted.

It Is Further Ordered that the District Court Adminis-
trator shall:

1. File one (1) certified copy of this amended Adminis-
trative Order with the Administrative Office of Pennsyl-
vania Courts;

2. Submit two (2) certified copies of this amended
Administrative Order and a copy on a computer diskette
or CD-ROM to the Legislative Reference Bureau for
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin;

3. Keep a copy of this amended Administrative Order
continuously available for inspection and copying in the
Office of the Prothonotary in both Fulton and Franklin
Counties and in the Franklin County Law Library.

39th Jud.Dist.R.Jud.Adm. 1901 as amended shall be
effective thirty (30) days after publication in the Pennsyl-
vania Bulletin.

By the Court
CAROL L. VAN HORN,

President Judge

Local Rule of Judicial Administration 1901. Prompt
Disposition of Matters; Termination of Inactive
Cases.

(a) List of cases for Termination. No less than once per
year, the Prothonotary shall prepare a list of civil cases
for general call(s) in which there has been no docketed
activity or proceedings for two years or more prior
thereto. The list shall be generated sufficiently in advance
of the general call date(s) to provide the parties with at
least thirty (30) days’ written notice of the opportunity for
hearing on the proposed termination.

(b)(i) Issuance of Notice of Termination. For each case
on the list, the Prothonotary at the Court Administrator’s
request shall issue a written notice of intent to terminate
to counsel of record and to self-represented parties for
whom no appearance of counsel has been entered, as
provided by Pa.R.J.A. 1901(c). Notice of the proposed
termination shall be provided in person or by mail to the
parties’ last address of record or their counsel of record.

(ii) Content of Notice to Terminate. The notice to termi-
nate a case shall be on a form developed by the Court
Administrator in conjunction with the Court. The notice
shall provide counsel and self-represented parties with
notice of the case type, the time in which a written notice
of objection or intent to proceed must be filed with the
Prothonotary to preserve the right to appear for the
general call, and the date, time and location of the
general call at which counsel or the self-represented
parties shall appear if there is objection to termination.

(c)(i) Notice of Intent to Terminate Cases by Publication.
If notice of intent to terminate a case is not accomplished
by mail, or if the notice is returned undeliverable to the

Prothonotary, the Prothonotary shall provide the Court
Administrator with a list of cases which must be given
notice of intent to terminate by publication pursuant to
Pa.R.J.A. 1901(c)(2). The Prothonotary shall cause notice
of proposed termination to be given to all cases on the list
by publication in the Franklin County Legal Journal no
less than thirty (30) days in advance of the general call
date(s) established by the Court and the Court Adminis-
trator.

(ii) Content of Publication Notice to Terminate. The
published notice to terminate a case shall be on a form
developed by the Court Administrator in conjunction with
the Court. The published notice to terminate a case shall
provide notice to the public of the case type, the time in
which a written notice of objection or intent to proceed
must be filed with the Prothonotary to preserve the right
to appear for the general call, and the date, time and
location of the general call at which counsel or the
self-represented parties shall appear if there is objection
to termination.

(d) Orders for Termination and Removal From the Civil
Docket. If a written objection or written intention to
proceed is not docketed before the deadline set forth
within the written or published notice to terminate, the
Court Administrator shall strike the matter from the list
and cause an order to be entered dismissing the matter
with prejudice for failure to prosecute under the provi-
sions of this rule. However, consistent with Pa.R.J.A.
1901(c)(2), any matter terminated after notice by publica-
tion may be reinstated by the court after dismissal upon
written application if good cause is shown.

(e) General Call List. If a written objection or written
intention to proceed is docketed within the time limit
established by the Court Administrator, each written
objection and notice of intent to proceed that has been
filed along with a list of the cases that are required to
appear at the general call date(s) shall be forwarded to
the Court Administrator by the Prothonotary. The Court
Administrator shall finalize and deliver to each judge a
list of the cases which will appear before the judge for the
general call.

(f) General Call, Hearings, Continuances and Joint
Case Management Orders. If, after a review of the written
objection or notice to proceed, or based upon information
provided by counsel or self-represented parties at the
general call, the Court determines that further hearing is
necessary to determine if good cause exists to allow the
matter to remain on the docket, the Court on its own
motion or upon motion of any party, may list the matter
for a separate good cause hearing. No case in which a
period of inactivity is greater than 2 years shall proceed
in the absence of good cause. In any matter permitted to
proceed, the Court shall issue an order directing the
parties to enter a joint case management order to govern
further proceedings in the case. If a case is continued by
the Court beyond the general call date to permit the
Court time to consider additional information, or schedule
a good cause hearing, the Court Administrator shall be
given notice of the continuance and the matter shall be
placed on the next general call date, unless the matter is
terminated by the court following a review of the informa-
tion, filings or the holding of the good cause hearing.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 15-722. Filed for public inspection April 17, 2015, 9:00 a.m.]
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