
PROPOSED RULEMAKING
LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

[ 40 PA. CODE CH. 13 ]
Discount Pricing Practices

The Liquor Control Board (Board), under the authority
of section 207(i) of the Liquor Code (47 P. S. § 2-207(i)),
proposes to amend § 13.102 (relating to discount pricing
practices).
Summary

Section 13.102 currently limits a licensee to a ‘‘happy
hour’’ period of no more than 2 consecutive hours per
business day. The proposed amendments are necessary so
that the regulations pertaining to happy hour limitations
are consistent with the Liquor Code (47 P. S. §§ 1-101—
10-1001). In particular, the act of June 28, 2011 (P. L. 55,
No. 11) (Act 11) and the act of December 22, 2011 (P. L.
530, No. 113) (Act 113) amended the Liquor Code to allow
a licensee to have up to 4 hours of discounted drinks in 1
day, but no more than 14 hours per week. In addition,
these amendments to the Liquor Code place a burden on
the licensees to post a notice of happy hours at least 7
days prior to the happy hour.

To improve the clarity of § 13.102 and for the conve-
nience of the regulated community, examples of permis-
sible ‘‘daily drink specials’’ are copied from Board Advi-
sory Notice No. 16 into proposed subsection (b)(2)(i)—(iii).
The Board plans to withdraw Advisory Notice No. 16
upon the final-form adoption of this proposed rulemaking.
Affected Parties

There are currently almost 11,400 actively licensed
retail licensees who are affected by Acts 11 and 113.
Paperwork Requirements

This proposed rulemaking is not expected to affect
legal, accounting or consulting procedures and should not
require additional reporting, recordkeeping or other pa-
perwork. Act 11 requires the posting of a notice of the
licensee’s happy hours. This proposed rulemaking does
not place additional reporting or paperwork requirements
on licensees.

Fiscal Impact

This proposed rulemaking is not expected to have fiscal
impact on the regulated community, the Commonwealth
or local governments.

Effective Date

This proposed rulemaking will become effective upon
final-form publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

Public Comments

Interested persons are invited to submit written com-
ments about the proposed rulemaking to Rodrigo Diaz,
Executive Deputy Chief Counsel, or Norina Blynn, Assis-
tant Counsel, Office of Chief Counsel, Liquor Control
Board, Room 401, Northwest Office Building, Harrisburg,
PA 17124-0001 within 30 days after publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin. Comments submitted by facsimile
will not be accepted.

Public comments will be posted on the Independent
Regulatory Review Commission’s (IRRC) web site. Per-
sonal information will not be redacted from the public
comments received.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5(a)), on April 21, 2015, the Board submitted a
copy of this proposed rulemaking and a copy of a
Regulatory Analysis Form to IRRC and to the Chairper-
sons of the House Liquor Control Committee and the
Senate Committee on Law and Justice. A copy of this
material is available to the public upon request.

Under section 5(g) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC
may convey any comments, recommendations or objec-
tions to the proposed rulemaking within 30 days of the
close of the public comment period. The comments, recom-
mendations or objections must specify the regulatory
review criteria which have not been met. The Regulatory
Review Act specifies detailed procedures for review, prior
to final publication of the rulemaking, by the Board, the
General Assembly and the Governor of comments, recom-
mendations or objections raised.

TIM HOLDEN,
Chairperson

Fiscal Note: 54-69. No fiscal impact; (8) recommends
adoption.

Annex A

TITLE 40. LIQUOR

PART I. LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

CHAPTER 13. PROMOTION

Subchapter C. SOLICITATION FOR THE
PURCHASE OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES

§ 13.102. Discount pricing practices.

(a) General. Retail licensees may discount the price of
alcoholic beverages for [ a consecutive period of time
not to exceed 2 hours in a business day, but ] not
more than 4 hours in a day and not more than 14
hours in a week. Retail licensees may not engage in
discount pricing practices between 12 midnight and the
legal closing hour. Retail licensees shall post on the
licensed premises notice of happy hours. The notice
shall be posted so that it is readily visible to the
public. The notice shall be posted no less than 7
days prior to the happy hour. Retail licensees may not
engage in the following discount pricing practices unless
specifically excepted in subsection (b):

(1) The sale or serving, or both, of more than one drink
of liquor, wine, or malt or brewed beverages at any one
time to any one person, for the price of one drink.

(2) The sale or serving, or both, of an increased volume
of one drink of liquor, wine, or malt or brewed beverages
without a corresponding and proportionate increase in the
price for the drink.

(3) The sale or serving, or both, of an unlimited or
indefinite amount of liquor, wine, or malt or brewed
beverages for a set price.

(4) The pricing of alcoholic beverages in a manner
which permits the price to change within [ the 2-hour ]
a happy hour period.

(b) Exceptions. Nothing in subsection (a) prohibits:

(1) The sale or serving, or both, of an unlimited or
indefinite amount of liquor, wine, or malt or brewed
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beverages for a fixed price for catered events which have
been arranged at least 24 hours in advance.

(2) The offering for sale of one specific type of alcoholic
beverage or drink per day or a portion thereof at a
reduced price, if the offering does not violate subsection
(a) and if the price of the drink does not change
during the day. For purposes of this section, a specific
type of alcoholic beverage means either a specific regis-
tered brand of malt or brewed beverages, a type of wine,
a type of distilled spirits or a mixed drink. Examples of
permissible drink discounts are [ found in Board Advi-
sory Notice 16. ] as follows:

(i) A specific brand of beer such as ‘‘Blue Hound
Pilsner,’’ ‘‘Brendan’s Cream Stout’’ or ‘‘Oil City
Light,’’ but not ‘‘all draft,’’ ‘‘all bottled beer’’ or ‘‘all
Blue Hound products.’’

(ii) Daily wine specials could be ‘‘Chardonnay’’ or
‘‘Merlot,’’ but not ‘‘all white wine,’’ ‘‘all red wine’’ or
‘‘all Kendall’s wines.’’

(iii) Permissible spirits specials would be ‘‘Rum
and Cola’’ or ‘‘all brandy drinks,’’ but not ‘‘all well
drinks’’ or ‘‘all Jackson’s products.’’

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 15-951. Filed for public inspection May 22, 2015, 9:00 a.m.]

[ 40 PA. CODE CH. 7 ]
Posting Requirements for Extension

The Liquor Control Board (Board), under the authority
of section 207(i) of the Liquor Code (47 P. S. § 2-207(i)),
proposes to amend § 7.22 (relating to application).
Summary

Section 7.22 currently requires that applicants for an
extension of the licensed premises post a notice that the
application has been filed for a period of 15 days. The
reference to a posting period of 15 days is consistent with
the former language of section 403(g) of the Liquor Code
(47 P. S. § 4-403(g)).

The act of December 9, 2002 (P. L. 1653, No. 212)
amended section 403(g) of the Liquor Code by increasing
the time period for the posting of a notice from 15 days to
30 days. Therefore, section 403(g) of the Liquor Code
requires a longer posting period than § 7.22 requires. The
disparity between the statute and the regulation some-
times results in frustration and confusion for applicants.

This proposed amendment would address this issue by
requiring that a notice of an extension of the licensed
premises must be posted for at least 30 days.

Affected Parties

There are currently almost 16,340 licensees who could
potentially be affected by this proposed rulemaking. Since
the proposed rulemaking simply aligns the posting period
with that which is required by statute, licensees will not
be adversely affected.

Paperwork Requirements

This proposed rulemaking is not expected to affect
legal, accounting or consulting procedures and should not
require additional reporting, recordkeeping or other pa-
perwork. Posting of the application until the Board
renders a decision is already required under § 3.14(c)
(relating to applicant responsibility).

Fiscal Impact
This proposed rulemaking is not expected to have fiscal

impact on the regulated community, the Commonwealth
or local governments.
Effective Date

This proposed rulemaking will become effective upon
final-form publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.
Public Comments

Interested persons are invited to submit written com-
ments about the proposed rulemaking to Rodrigo Diaz,
Executive Deputy Chief Counsel, or Norina Blynn, Assis-
tant Counsel, Office of Chief Counsel, Liquor Control
Board, Room 401, Northwest Office Building, Harrisburg,
PA 17124-0001 within 30 days after publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin. Comments submitted by facsimile
will not be accepted.

Public comments will be posted on the Independent
Regulatory Review Commission’s (IRRC) web site. Per-
sonal information will not be redacted from the public
comments received.
Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5(a)), on April 21, 2015, the Board submitted a
copy of this proposed rulemaking and a copy of a
Regulatory Analysis Form to IRRC and to the Chairper-
sons of the House Liquor Control Committee and the
Senate Committee on Law and Justice. A copy of this
material is available to the public upon request.

Under section 5(g) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC
may convey any comments, recommendations or objec-
tions to the proposed rulemaking within 30 days of the
close of the public comment period. The comments, recom-
mendations or objections must specify the regulatory
review criteria which have not been met. The Regulatory
Review Act specifies detailed procedures for review, prior
to final publication of the rulemaking, by the Board, the
General Assembly and the Governor of comments, recom-
mendations or objections raised.

TIM HOLDEN,
Chairperson

Fiscal Note: 54-83. No fiscal impact; (8) recommends
adoption.

Annex A
TITLE 40. LIQUOR

PART I. LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

CHAPTER 7. TRANSFER, EXTENSION,
SURRENDER, EXCHANGE AND SUSPENSION

OF LICENSES

Subchapter B. EXTENSION OF LICENSES
§ 7.22. Application.

* * * * *

(c) An applicant for extension of premises shall post,
for a period of at least [ 15 ] 30 days beginning with the
day the application is filed with the Board, in a conspicu-
ous place on the outside of the licensed premises, a notice
of application in a form, and size and containing provi-
sions the Board requires concerning the requested exten-
sion. Proof of the posting of the notice shall be filed with
the Board.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 15-952. Filed for public inspection May 22, 2015, 9:00 a.m.]
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