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RULES AND REGULATIONS

Title 49—PROFESSIONAL
AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

BUREAU OF PROFESSIONAL AND
OCCUPATIONAL AFFAIRS

STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN SPEECH-
LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY AND AUDIOLOGY

[ 49 PA. CODE CHS. 43b AND 45 ]
Fees; General Revisions

The State Board of Examiners in Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology (Board) and the Commissioner
of Professional and Occupational Affairs (Commissioner)
jointly amend §§ 43b.16a, 45.1, 45.2, 45.11—45.17,
45.20—45.22, 45.102, 45.103, 45.301, 45.304, 45.305,
45.307, 45.308, 45.401, 45.501, 45.505 and 45.507, rescind
§§ 45.18 and 45.19 and add §§ 45.23 and 45.24 (relating
to provisional licenses; and certification to wutilize
neurophysiologic intraoperative monitoring) to read as set
forth in Annex A.

Effective Date

This final-form rulemaking will be effective upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

Statutory Authority

Section 5(2) of the Speech-Language Pathologists and
Audiologists Licensure Act (act) (63 P.S. § 1705(2)) autho-
rizes the Board to adopt and revise rules and regulations
consistent with the act as may be necessary to implement
the provisions of the act. Section 5(7) of the act specifi-
cally authorizes the Board to establish standards of
eligibility for license renewal, which includes demonstra-
tion of satisfactory completion of continuing education.
Additionally, section 8.1 of the act (63 P.S. § 1708.1)
requires that the Board issue certifications to audiologists
utilizing neurophysiologic intraoperative monitoring

(IOM).

In connection with the fees, section 7(d)(1) of the act (63
P.S. § 1707(d)(1)) authorizes the Board to issue provi-
sional licenses to qualifying applicants who submit an
application and an accompanying fee. Additionally, section
8(a) of the act (63 P.S. § 1708(a)) requires the Board to
increase fees by regulation to meet or exceed projected
expenditures if the revenues raised by fees, fines and civil
penalties are not sufficient to meet expenditures over a
2-year period. Finally, section 810(a)(3) and (7) of The
Administrative Code of 1929 (71 P.S. § 279.1(a)(3) and
(7)) authorizes the Commissioner to issue all certificates
and other official documents of the various professional
and occupational examining boards and, unless otherwise
provided by law, to fix the fees to be charged by the
boards within the Bureau of Professional and Occupa-
tional Affairs.

With regard to the schedule of civil penalties, section 5
of the act of July 2, 1993 (P.L. 345, No. 48) (63 P.S.
§ 2205) authorizes the Commissioner, upon consultation
with the Board, to adopt a schedule of civil penalties for
violations under the act and regulations of the Board.

Background and Purpose

The final-form rulemaking implements the act of July
2, 2014 (PL. 971, No. 106) (Act 106) by regulating the
practice of speech-language pathology and audiology,
eliminating references to teachers of the hearing impaired
and adding credentials for provisional licenses and certifi-
cates to utilize IOM. This final-form rulemaking also
adopts related fees and increases biennial renewal fees.

Summary and Responses to Comments

Notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 46
Pa.B. 6853 (October 29, 2016), with a 30-day public
comment period. The Board received comments from the
following public commentators: Anne Gilbertson, Presi-
dent, Pennsylvania Speech-Language-Hearing Association
(PSHA); Roy Shinn, Ph.D., Professor and Chair, Speech,
Language and Hearing Department, Edinboro University;
and James L. Shafer, AuD, Vice President of Governmen-
tal Affairs, Pennsylvania Academy of Audiology (PAA).
The Independent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC)
also submitted comments. Neither the House Professional
Licensure Committee (HPLC) nor the Senate Consumer
Protection and Professional Licensure Committee (SCP/
PLC) submitted comments.

§ 45.1. Fees

In the proposed rulemaking, the Board provided a fiscal
analysis for the additional revenue that it expects to be
produced by the new provisional license and IOM certifi-
cate fees and the increased biennial renewal fees. IRRC
asked the Board to provide the expected expenditures for
the same period. The Department of State’s Bureau of
Finance and Operations (BFO) pointed out to the Board
that at the current fee levels, with the elimination of the
teacher of the hearing impaired licensure classification,
the Board currently receives revenue of approximately
$425,000 over a 2-year period. Conversely, budgeted
expenditures for the next 2 fiscal years (Fiscal Year (FY)
2016-2017 and FY 2017-2018) are currently projected at
$510,000—an operating deficit of $85,000. The Board
raises the majority (approximately 85%) of its revenue
through biennial renewal fees. A small percentage (ap-
proximately 15%) of its revenue comes from other fees,
fines and civil penalties. Beginning with projected FY
2018-2019 and continuing through projected FY 2027-
2028, with the advent of the new fees, the Board’s
biennial revenues are anticipated to grow to $670,000 per
biennium while expenditures for the same period would
grow from $595,000 (in FYs 2018-2019 and 2019-2020) to
$631,000 (in FYs 2020-2021 and 2021-2022) to $670,000
(in FYs 2022-2023 and 2023-2024) to $711,000 (in FYs
2024-2025 and 2025-2026) to $755,000 (in FYs 2026-2027
and 2027-2028). If the projections hold, the Board will
evaluate the renewal fees again in FY 2022-2023. The
BFO'’s projections were attached to the Regulatory Analy-
sis Form provided to IRRC and are available upon
request.

$ 45.2. Definitions

IRRC recommended that the Board add a definition for
IOM and revise the proposed definitions of “practice of
audiology” and “practice of speech-language pathology” by
including meaningful statutory provisions. Owing to
IRRC’s concerns, the Board added the statutory definition
of “neurophysiologic intraoperative monitoring.” In addi-
tion, the Board added specific examples delineated in
section 3 of the act (63 P.S. § 1703) into the definition of
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“practice of audiology” and the instances of unprofessional
conduct in § 45.103(22) and (23) (relating to unprofes-
sional conduct).

The Board did not revise the definition of “practice of
speech-language pathology” because it is the Board’s
position that the amended definition closely interprets the
definition in section 3 of the act. Subparagraphs (vii) and
(ix) in the regulatory definition encompass elective modifi-
cation of communication behaviors and enhancement of
communication specified in paragraph (1) of the statutory
definition. Subparagraph (vi) in the regulatory definition
addresses the identification of nonmedical speech, lan-
guage, swallowing, cognitive and social aspects of commu-
nication by developing and providing speech, language,
voice, swallowing, cognitive and social aspects of
communication-related screening programs for persons of
all ages as listed in paragraph (2) of the statutory
definition. Subparagraphs (ii))—(iv), (vii) and (x) in the
regulatory definition encompass providing nonmedical
diagnosis, evaluation and remediation services for disor-
ders of speech, language, voice, swallowing, cognitive and
social aspects of communication specified in paragraph (3)
of the statutory definition. Subparagraphs (iv) and (vi) in
the regulatory definition encompass establishing augmen-
tative and alternative communication techniques and
strategies, including selecting, recommending and dis-
pensing of augmentative aids and devices specified in
paragraph (4) of the statutory definition. Subparagraphs
(v), (vii), (viii) and (ix) in the regulatory definition
describe the provision of nonmedical services to individu-
als with hearing loss and their families, that is auditory
training, speech reading and speech and language inter-
vention secondary to hearing loss specified in paragraph
(5) of the statutory definition. Subparagraph (i) in the
regulatory definition corresponds to the statutory require-
ment in paragraph (6) to provide hearing screening
limited to pass or fail for the purposes of identification of
individuals with potential disorders of hearing. Subpara-
graphs (iv), (vi), (viii) and (x) in the regulatory definition
include the statutory requirement in paragraph (7) of the
statutory definition regarding the training of individuals,
their families and other communication partners in the
use, selecting, fitting and establishment of effective use of
appropriate prosthetic and adaptive devices for speaking
and swallowing. Subparagraphs (i), (vi), (viii) and (x) in
the regulatory definition relate to paragraph (8) of the
statutory definition involving the use of instrumental
technology to provide nonmedical diagnosis, nonmedical
treatment and nonmedical services for disorders of com-
munication, voice and swallowing. Paragraph (9) of the
statutory definition regarding the requirement of a med-
ical evaluation is in § 45.103(23). The Board did make
clarity edits to eliminate the need to refer to both the
statutory and regulatory definitions because everything in
the statutory definition is fairly covered by the regulatory
definition.

The PSHA requested and IRRC concurred that the
Board should amend the reference to the American
Speech-Language-Hearing Association’s (ASHA) 2003
Scope of Practice in Audiology and the 2007 Scope of
Practice of Speech-Language Pathology documents to
reflect the ASHA’s adoption of updated documents in 2016
following publication of the proposed rulemaking. The
Board reviewed the ASHA’s 2016 definitions and finds
them to be consistent with the definitions in the act.
Therefore, the Board has implemented the recommenda-
tion and revised the date to reflect the most recent
documents in both definitions.

The PAA requested that the Board list the American
Academy of Audiology (AAA) as a governing body in the
definitions. In that the AAA is specifically listed in
subparagraph (xv)(B) of the final-form definition of
“[plractice of audiology,” and is not used elsewhere in the
regulations, the Board has not revised the definitions.
The PAA also recommended that the Board delete “pro-
vided there is no conflict with the act or this chapter”
when incorporating the National professional organiza-
tions’ definitions of “practice of audiology” and “practice of
speech-language pathology.” The Board did not make this
change owing to concerns that doing so could be consid-
ered an improper delegation of authority as the param-
eters for the scopes of practice are contained in the
statutory definitions in section 3 of the act. This is
further clarified by the requirement in section 5(9) of the
act that the Board promulgate a new regulation whenever
the National professional organizations amend their scope
of practice definitions.

$ 45.12. Licensure application procedures

Section 45.12 (relating to licensure application proce-
dures) requires applicants for licensure to submit the
required fees, a completed, signed and dated application,
and applicable documentation. IRRC asked the Board to
add the specific documentation required in the final-form
rulemaking. The documentation required is determined
by the type of application submitted and the applicant’s
employer. For example, speech-language pathology appli-
cants seeking licensure under section 7(a)(1) of the act
shall submit documentation verifying their supervised
professional experience while audiology applicants seek-
ing licensure under section 7(a)(2) of the act do not need
to submit experience documentation. Additionally, appli-
cants seeking a waiver of the examination requirement
under section 7(b)(1) of the act shall submit a letter of
good standing from the state wherein the applicant
holds/held a license and a copy of the applicable laws and
regulations from those states so that the Board can
determine equivalence with the educational requirements.
Applicants seeking a waiver based upon current ASHA
certification under section 7(b)(2) of the act shall submit a
verification from the ASHA that applicant possesses a
current Clinical Competence from the ASHA’s Council for
Clinical Certification based upon having obtained the
required education and passing the licensure examina-
tion. Similarly, applicants seeking a waiver under the
grandfather provision in section 7(c) of the act shall
submit the specific education and employment verifica-
tions to meet the requirements of this subsection.

Applicants who are employed by organizations or corpo-
rations that engage in the practice of speech-language
pathology or audiology also shall submit employer certifi-
cations with their applications under sections 16 and 17
of the act (63 P.S. §§ 1716 and 1717). Similarly, appli-
cants who have different names than the ones used to
apply for licensure shall submit a copy of the legal name
document. Because of the various permutations, the
Board has not set forth the specific documentation re-
quired. Rather, the instructions for the various applica-
tions, which appear on the Board’s web site, specifically
set forth the applicable documentation required.

§ 45.14. Reactivation of licensure status

Proposed § 45.14(a) (relating to reactivation of
licensure status) required licensees who wish to reacti-
vate an expired or inactive license to apply for reactiva-
tion, pay the registration fee and submit a “verification of
nonpractice.” IRRC asked the Board to clarify what
documentation would need to be submitted and how it is
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to be submitted to the Board. The Board clarifies in this
final-form rulemaking that a licensee is required to verify
that the licensee has not practiced in this Commonwealth
while the license was expired or inactive. This verifica-
tion, as is set forth in the reactivation instructions, can be
in a letter to the Board, submitted on a form provided by
the Board or, in the future as the Board converts many of
its applications to online formats, submitted electronically
through an online verification.

§ 45.17. Education requirements
$$ 45.18 and 45.19. (Reserved)

Professor Shinn recommended that the Board retain
the former educational requirements in addition to the
accreditation requirements so that the Board does not
become dependent on the accreditation standards, some of
which the Board may not support. The amendments to
§ 45.17 (relating to education requirements) track the
changes to section 7 of the act. For speech-language
pathologists, applicants shall possess a master’s degree
from an academic program accredited by an accrediting
agency approved by the Board. For audiologists, appli-
cants shall possess a doctoral degree in audiology from an
academic program accredited by an accrediting agency
approved by the Board and the United States Department
of Education or the Council for Higher Education Accredi-
tation. The Board will not approve an accrediting agency
with standards that the Board does not support. The
Board will post a list of approved accrediting agencies on
its web site.

In light of the educational changes in section 7 of the
act, the Board is divested from imposing additional
educational standards or permitting alternative educa-
tional pathways. As a result, §§ 45.18 and 45.19 are no
longer applicable and are rescinded.

§ 45.20. Supervised professional experience required for
licensure as a speech-language pathologist

In the preamble to the proposed rulemaking, the Board
clarified that unlike audiology students who complete
their supervised professional experience during the last
year of their doctoral degree programs, speech-language
pathology students complete their supervised professional
experience after their degrees are conferred. IRRC re-
quested that the Board specify in this final-form rule-
making that this provision only applies to persons seek-
ing licensure as speech-language pathologists. Owing to
IRRC’s request, the Board revised this section heading to
“supervised professional experience required for licensure
as a speech-language pathologist.”

This section requires that the experience be supervised
by a currently licensed speech-language pathologist in the
state or jurisdiction where the supervised professional
experience is being obtained. The PSHA recommended
that the Board replace “supervisor” and “supervision”
with “mentor” and “mentoring” in subsection (d) to con-
form to Principle I(D) of ASHA’s Code of Ethics. Supervi-
sor and supervision are also used in subsections (a) and
(¢). In light of the specific statutory language in section
7(a)(1) of the act requiring supervised professional experi-
ence in the field of speech-language pathology, the Board
believes it should not replace supervisor with mentor or
supervision with mentoring.

§ 45.22. Foreign-trained applicants

In the proposed rulemaking, the Board split § 45.22
(relating to foreign-trained applicants) into separate sub-
sections for speech-language pathologists and audiologists
because the educational requirements for the two profes-

sions differ as set forth in section 7(a) of the act. Although
both subsections mentioned the requirement that foreign-
trained applicants for licensure take the licensure exami-
nation, the proposed deletion of subsection (b), which
specifically required passing the examination, caused
confusion so that IRRC and Professor Shinn questioned
why the Board proposed to delete the requirement.
Professor Shinn recommended that the Board reinsert it.

Because it was not the Board’s intention to delete the
examination requirement as a precondition for licensure
of foreign-trained applicants, the Board withdraws the
proposal to delete subsection (b). In addition, the Board
amends subsection (a) in this final-form rulemaking to
include the requirements for speech-language pathology
and audiology applicants.

§ 45.23. Provisional licenses

Section 45.23 stems from the authorization in section
7(d) of the act to issue provisional licenses to: (1)
speech-language pathologists and audiologists licensed in
other states; (2) speech-language pathologists who are
completing their supervised professional experience; and
(3) audiologists who are applying for licensure or post-
doctoral graduate students completing additional post-
graduate professional experience. Subsection (a)(1)(i) and
(2)(d) tracks the statutory time frame of 6 months because
the applicant has completed all of the requirements for
licensure but is awaiting the issuance of the license by
the Board. Subsection (a)(1)(i)) and (2)(ii) tracks the
statutory time frame of 18 months enabling individuals to
practice speech-language pathology or audiology while
completing the professional experience. Because audiolo-
gists complete their supervised professional experience as
part of their audiology degree, the Board understands
this provision to apply to individuals seeking additional
education, for example, a doctorate in education following
the conferral of a doctorate in audiology. Subsection (a)(3)
tracks the statutory time frame of 90 days for applicants
who hold licenses in other states.

IRRC questioned whether an audiologist holding a
provisional license may renew the provisional license
since subsection (d) only addresses speech-language pa-
thologists. The PAA also sought verification that audiolo-
gists may renew provisional licenses. As reflected in
subsection (a)(1)(ii) and (2)(ii), which tracks section 7(d)(1)
of the act (as well as the fee for the renewal of a
provisional license in § 45.1 (relating to fees)), speech-
language pathologists and audiologists who are obtaining
professional experience are permitted to renew their
provisional licenses. Proposed subsection (d) added the
additional requirement that speech-language pathology
provisional license holders who are completing their
supervised professional experience shall update the Board
regarding their acquisition of supervised professional
experience. Because the Board believed that audiology
post-doctoral graduates would likely complete their addi-
tional post-graduate professional experience within the
18-month provisional license timeframe, it did not include
this group in in subsection (d). Owing to the PAA’s
concern, however, the Board added audiologists who
obtain a provisional license under final-form subsection
(a)(2)(ii) to subsection (d).

§ 45.102. Code of Ethics

Principle of Ethics I(1) in subsection (c) reiterates the
prohibition in the definitions of “practice of audiology”
and “practice of speech-language pathology” against
speech-language pathologists and audiologists providing
medical diagnosis and medical treatments. The PAA
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requested that the Board carve out an exemption for
certain diagnostic codes for insurance billing purposes in
subsection (c) so that there would not be confusion over
insurance reimbursement for audiologic procedures that
audiologists currently perform. The only changes made to
this provision from the former version is the deletion of
references to teachers of the hearing-impaired. The Board
does not believe that it has, in any way, altered the
standard for insurance reimbursement for audiologic pro-
cedures that audiologists perform. In fact, the Board does
not have jurisdiction to regulate in any manner regarding
insurance reimbursement. Given the specific statutory
language in section 2 of the act (63 P.S. § 1702) and
throughout the act clearly referring to nonmedical diagno-
sis and treatment, the Board did not see a reason to
revise this section or to carve out exceptions related to
specific insurance billing codes.

§ 45.103. Unprofessional conduct

The Board proposed to add a requirement in paragraph
(24) that licensees utilize universal precautions based
upon the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s
(CDC) recommendation for all health care providers as
well as the standard in the professions enunciated by the
ASHA and the AAA. IRRC did not oppose the addition of
this provision but requested that the Board add a more
definitive explanation of what precautions and infection
control methods would be acceptable since the violation of
these precautions would subject a licensee to discipline.
Owing to IRRC’s concern, the Board revises paragraph
(24) to require licensees to follow the CDC’s 2007 Guide-
line for Isolation Precautions: Preventing Transmission of
Infectious Agents in Healthcare Settings available on the
CDC’s web site at https://www.cde.gov/hicpac/2007IP/
2007isolationPrecautions.html.

Subchapter E. Assistants

In §§ 45.301, 45.304, 45.305, 45.307 and 45.308, the
Board deletes references to teachers of the hearing-
impaired. The PAA requested that the Board further
amend §§ 45.301 and 45.304 (relating to definitions; and
minimum education, experience and training require-
ments) to enable audiologists to apply the same delega-
tion rubric to assistants as the State Board of Medicine
uses for physician delegation to assistants and techni-
cians in §§ 18.401 and 18.402 (related to definitions; and
delegation). Under section 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(PL. 769, No. 240) (45 PS. § 1202), known as the
Commonwealth Documents Law, the Board is precluded
from making amendments to this final-form rulemaking
that enlarge the original purpose of the proposed rule-
making. Because the only basis for this final-form rule-
making is implementing Act 106 and increasing biennial
renewal fees, the Board cannot, at this stage in the
rulemaking process, add substantive provisions concern-
ing delegation. To give stakeholders the opportunity to
comment on this proposal, the Board will consider ad-
dressing delegation in a subsequent rulemaking.

Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

This final-form rulemaking will increase the initial and
biennial renewal fees for licensees of the Board and adopt
a new fee for the issuance of provisional licenses. There
are currently approximately 7,353 actively licensed
speech-language pathologists and 947 actively licensed
audiologists, a total of approximately 8,300 licensees who
will be required to pay $19 more to renew their licenses.
Additionally, approximately 650 applicants apply for
licensure annually. The vast majority of licensees and
applicants are considered to be working for small busi-

nesses. They will be impacted because their license fees
will increase. This final-form rulemaking should not have
other fiscal impact on the private sector, the general
public or political subdivisions of this Commonwealth.

This final-form rulemaking will require the Board to
alter some of its forms to reflect the new fee and create
new applications for provisional licenses and IOM certifi-
cations. Audiologists seeking IOM certification will be
required to file additional paperwork with the Board.
However, this final-form rulemaking will not create other
additional paperwork for the regulated community or for
the private sector.

Sunset Date

The Board continuously monitors the effectiveness of its
regulations. Therefore, a sunset date has not been as-
signed.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)), on October 19, 2016, the Commissioner
and the Board submitted a copy of the notice of proposed
rulemaking, published at 46 Pa.B. 6853, to IRRC and the
Chairpersons of the HPLC and the SCP/PLC for review
and comment.

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, the
Board shall submit to IRRC, the HPLC and the SCP/PLC
copies of comments received during the public comment
period, as well as other documents when requested. In
preparing the final-form rulemaking, the Board has con-
sidered all comments from IRRC and the public.

Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
PS. § 745.5a(j.2)), on June 14, 2017, the final-form
rulemaking was deemed approved by the HPLC and the
SCP/PLC. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regulatory Review
Act, IRRC met on June 15, 2017, and approved the
final-form rulemaking.

Additional Information

Additional information may be obtained by writing to
Sandra Matter, Board Administrator, State Board of
Examiners in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology,
P.O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649.

Findings
The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given
under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P.L. 769, No. 240) and regulations promulgated thereun-
der, 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1 and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered in drafting this
final-form rulemaking.

(3) The amendments made to the final-form rule-
making do not enlarge the purpose of the proposed
rulemaking published at 46 Pa.B. 6853.

(4) The amendments to the regulations of the Board
are necessary and appropriate for the regulation of the
practice of audiology and speech-language pathology in
this Commonwealth.

Order

The Commissioner and the Board, acting under its
authorizing statute, order that:

(a) The regulations of the Commissioner and the
Board, 49 Pa. Code Chapters 43b and 45, are amended by
adding §§ 45.23 and 45.24, deleting §§ 45.18 and 45.19
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and amending §§ 43b.16a, 45.1, 45.2, 45.11—45.17,
45.20—45.22, 45.102, 45.103, 45.301, 45.304, 45.305,
45.307, 45.308, 45.401, 45.501, 45.505 and 45.507 to read
as set forth in Annex A, with ellipses referring to the
existing text of the regulations.

(b) The Commissioner and the Board shall submit a
copy of Annex A to the Office of the Attorney General and
the Office of General Counsel for approval as required by
law.

(¢) The Commissioner and the Board shall submit this
order and Annex A to IRRC, the HPLC and the SCP/PLC
as required by law.

(d) The Commissioner and the Board shall certify this
order and Annex A and shall deposit them with the
Legislative Reference Bureau as required by law.

(e) The regulations shall take effect immediately upon
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

TAN J. HARLOW,
Commissioner
Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs

JONETTE B. OWEN, AuD,
Chairperson
State Board of Examiners in
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

(Editor’s Note: See 47 Pa.B. 3672 (July 1, 2017) for
IRRC’s approval order.)

Fiscal Note: 16A-6803. (1) Professional Licensure Aug-
mentation Account; (2) Implementing Year 2016-17 is -$0;
(3) 1st Succeeding Year 2017-18 is -$3,680; 2nd Succeed-
ing Year 2018-19 is -$250; 3rd Succeeding Year 2019-20 is
-$5,200; 4th Succeeding Year 2020-21 is -$250; 5th Suc-
ceeding Year 2021-22 is -$5,200; (4) 2015-16 Program—
$245,226; 2014-15 Program—$224,881; 2013-14 Pro-
gram—3$209,071; (7) Professional and Occupational
Affairs (R); (8) recommends adoption. Eliminating the
license for teachers of the hearing impaired will result in
a loss of fee revenue for the Board. However, increases to
the application and biennial renewal fees for all speech-
language pathologists and audiologists are necessary to
cover current and future year Board expenses.

Annex A
TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL STANDARDS
PART I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE
Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL AFFAIRS
CHAPTER 43b. COMMISSIONER OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL AFFAIRS

SCHEDULE OF CIVIL PENALTIES, GUIDELINES FOR IMPOSITION OF CIVIL PENALTIES AND
PROCEDURES FOR APPEAL

§ 43b.16a. Schedule of civil penalties—audiologists and speech-language pathologists.
STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY AND AUDIOLOGY

Violation under
63 P.S. § 1706

Title/ Description

lapsed license
49 Pa. Code § 45.501

Practicing as an audiologist or
speech-language pathologist on a

Failure to complete 20 hours of

Civil Penalty

0—12 months—$50 per month
Over 12 months—formal action
2nd offense—formal action

1st offense—$100 per clock hour

approved continuing education during 2nd offense—formal action
a biennial renewal period

CHAPTER 45. STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN
SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY AND
AUDIOLOGY

Subchapter A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 45.1. Fees.
The following are the fees charged by the Board:

(1) Initial license ............c.eovrieininnennnnnn. $50
(2) Certification of licensure ..................... $15
(3) Biennial renewal of license ................... $65
(4) Provisional license ................cc.ocouuun.n. $50
(5) Provisional license renewal ................... $30

(6) Certification to utilize neurophysiologic
intraoperative monitoring .......................... $15

(7) Application for continuing education approval
(other than preapproved provider) .................. $40

§ 45.2. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

ASHA—The American Speech-Language-Hearing Asso-
ciation.

Act—The Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiolo-
gists Licensure Act (63 P.S. §§ 1701—1719).

Biennial renewal period—The period from August 1 of
an even-numbered year to July 31 of the next even-
numbered year.

Board—The State Board of Examiners in Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology.

Business entity—A lawful form of organization, includ-
ing a corporation, partnership, trust, association, com-
pany or other similar form of organization.

Clock hour—Consists of 50 to 60 minutes of instruction
or participation in an approved continuing education
course or program.

Continuing education record—Report provided to a par-
ticipant in a continuing education course or program by
the provider which conforms to § 45.506(b) (relating to
provider responsibilities).
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Direct supervision—The personal, on-premises observa-
tion of activities performed by personnel working under
the licensee or qualified training supervisor.

Inactive license—A license status in which the licensee
notifies the Board that the licensee no longer requires an
active license to practice.

Lapsed license—A license status in which the license
has not been currently renewed.

Licensees—Speech-language pathologists and audiolo-
gists.

Neurophysiologic intraoperative monitoring—The pro-
cess of continual testing and interpreting of results by the
use of electrodiagnostic modalities to identify and monitor
the functional integrity of neurological structures to re-
duce the risk of injury and complications related to the
nervous system during a surgical procedure.

Practice of audiology—The application of principles,
methods and procedures related to disorders of the audi-
tory and vestibular systems including all of the following:

(i) Prevention of hearing loss by designing, implement-
ing and coordinating industrial, school and community-
based hearing conservation programs.

(ii) Identification of dysfunction of hearing, balance and
other auditory-related systems by developing and oversee-
ing hearing and balance-related screening programs for
persons of all age, including newborn and school screen-
ing programs.

(ii1) Administration of speech or language screening or
other measures for the purpose of initial identification
and referral of persons with other communicative disor-
ders.

(iv) Assessment and nonmedical diagnosis and treat-
ment of hearing and vestibular disorders through the
administration of behavioral, psychoacoustic, electrophysi-
ologic tests of the peripheral and central auditory and
vestibular systems using standardized test procedures,
including all of the following:

(A) Audiometry.

(B) Tympanometry.

(C) Acoustic reflex measures.

(D) Otoacoustic emissions.

(E) Auditory evoked potentials.

(F) Video and electronystagmography.

(G) Tests of central auditory function using calibrated
instrumentation leading to the diagnosis of auditory and
vestibular dysfunction abnormality.

(v) Assessment of candidacy of persons with hearing
loss for cochlear implants.

(vi) Nonmedical treatment for persons with impairment
of auditory function utilizing amplification and other
assistive devices.

(vii) Selection, fitting, evaluation and dispensing of
hearing aids and other amplification systems.

(viii) Fitting and mapping of cochlear implant devices
and audiologic rehabilitation to optimize device use.

(ix) Fitting of middle ear implantable hearing aids,
fully implantable hearing aids and bone-anchored hearing
aids.

(x) Conducting otoscopic examinations.

(xi) Nonmedical treatment of persons with tinnitus
using techniques including biofeedback, masking, hearing
aids, education and counseling.

(xii) Counseling on the psychosocial aspects of hearing
loss and the use of amplification systems.

(xiii) Administration of electrophysiologic measures of
neural function, including sensory and motor-evoked po-
tentials, and preoperative and postoperative evaluation of
neural function.

(xiv) Use of neurophysiologic intraoperative monitoring
of the central nervous system, spinal cord and cranial
nerve function by an audiologist holding certification from
the Board under § 45.24 (relating to certification to
utilize neurophysiologic intraoperative monitoring) and
upon delegation from and under the overall direction of a
physician.

(xv) Acts within the definition of “practice of audiology”
in the following documents, provided there is not a
conflict with the act or this chapter:

(A) ASHA’s Scope of Practice in Audiology statement
developed by the Coordinating Committee for ASHA Vice
President for Professional Practices in Audiology and
approved in 2016 by the Legislative Council.

(B) The American Academy of Audiology’s Scope of
Practice document developed in 1992, and updated in
1996 and 2004.

(C) The Academy of Doctors of Audiology’s (ADA) Scope
of Practice statement jointly crafted by the ADA and the
Audiology Foundation of America (July 31, 2003).

Practice of speech-language pathology—The application
of principles, methods and procedures of prevention,
screening, consultation, identification, assessment and
evaluation, determination of disorders and service deliv-
ery model, nonmedical treatment and intervention, coun-
seling, collaboration and referral services for persons with
known or suspected language, cognitive and linguistic,
social, speech (resonance and voice, fluency and sound
production), feeding and swallowing, orofacial
myofunctional disorders or communication disorders, in-
cluding all of the following:

(i) Screening individuals for hearing loss or middle ear
pathology using conventional pure-tone air conduction
methods, otoacoustic emissions screening and screening
tympanometry.

(i) Providing intervention and support services for
children and adults diagnosed with speech-language or
auditory processing disorders.

(iii) Using instrumentation to observe, collect data and
measure parameters of communication and swallowing or
other upper aerodigestive functions.

(iv) Developing, selecting and implementing multi-
modal augmentative and alternative communication sys-
tems, including aided and unaided strategies.

(v) Providing amplification services to children and
adults with hearing loss.

(vi) Selecting, fitting and establishing effective use of
devices for communication and swallowing other than
hearing amplification.

(vil) Providing nonmedical treatment and instruction
on modification or enhancement of communication perfor-
mance.
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(viii) Evaluating the functionality of amplification de-
vices.

(ix) Providing auditory training involving individuals
with hearing loss.

(x) Teaching and implementing techniques to assure
safety and efficiency in swallowing.

(xi) Acts within the definition of “practice of speech-
language pathology” developed by the ASHA’s Ad Hoc
Committee on the Scope of Practice in Speech-Language
Pathology and approved by the ASHA Legislative Council
in 2016, provided there is not a conflict with the act or
this chapter.

Provider—An agency, organization, institution, college,
university, professional society, association or center ap-
proved by the Board to offer an organized continuing
education course or program.

Subchapter B. LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION
§ 45.11. Licenses and certifications.

The Board issues the following licenses and certifica-
tions:

(1) Speech-language pathologist license.

(2) Audiologist license.

_(3) Provisional license as a speech-language patholo-
gist.

(4) Provisional license as an audiologist.

(5) Certification for an audiologist to utilize neuro-
physiologic intraoperative monitoring.

§ 45.12. Licensure application procedures.

(a) The applicant for licensure shall submit to the
Board, along with required fees as provided by § 45.1
(relating to fees), a completed, signed and dated applica-
tion and applicable documentation.

(b) Excluding applicants who fall within the exclusions
in section 6(b) of the act (63 P.S. § 1706(b)), the applicant
for licensure shall file with the Board evidence that the
applicant has:

(1) Speech-language pathologists.

(i) Met the educational requirements of § 45.17(a) (re-
lating to education requirements).

(ii) Completed 9 months of supervised professional
experience requirements of § 45.20 (relating to super-
vised professional experience required for licensure as a
speech-language pathologist).

(iii) Passed an examination approved by the Board.

(iv) Demonstrated that the applicant is of good moral
character.

(2) Audiologists.
(i) Met the educational requirements of § 45.17(b).
(i1) Passed an examination approved by the Board.

(iii)) Demonstrated that the applicant is of good moral
character.

(¢) An applicant who wishes to apply for more than one
Board-issued license or provisional license specified in
§ 45.11 (relating to licenses and certifications) shall
submit a separate application for each license or provi-
sional license.

§ 45.13. Renewal of license; inactive status of li-
cense; required continuing education.

(a) Unless renewed for the upcoming biennium, -
censes issued under this subchapter expire at the end of
the current biennium.

(b) Licenses, provisional licenses, certifications and
documentation from the Board will be sent to the address
provided to the Board by the licensee. Whenever the
licensee changes an address of record, the licensee shall
notify the Board in writing within 10 days after making
the address change.

(¢c) The licensee shall renew his license in the manner
prescribed by the Board and pay the required fee, as
provided by § 45.1 (relating to fees). Unless a licensee
requests that a license be placed on inactive status, at the
end of a biennial period it will be marked expired until it
is renewed or reactivated.

(d) When a license is renewed after the expiration date,
a late fee, as provided for by section 225 of the Bureau of
Professional and Occupational Affairs Fee Act (63 P.S.
§ 1401-225), will be charged for each month or part of a
month that the licensee has engaged in practice beyond
the expiration date. A licensee who practices under an
expired license may be subject to criminal prosecution
under section 18 of the act (63 P.S. § 1718).

(e) A license that is not renewed at the end of a
biennium will be marked expired unless a licensee who
does not intend to practice in this Commonwealth re-
quested that the license be placed on inactive status.

() A licensee who fails to renew a license or who
requests to be placed on inactive status will not be sent
Board notifications until the license is renewed or reacti-
vated.

(g) An application for renewal of a license will not be
granted unless the licensee has certified that the licensee
has completed the required continuing education hours
under § 45.501 (relating to credit hour requirements). If
requested by the Board, an application for renewal shall
also include the documentation required under § 45.504
(relating to reporting completion of continuing education).

(h) An application for reactivation of an inactive or
lapsed license shall also include the documentation re-
quired under § 45.504 for the preceding biennial period.

§ 45.14. Reactivation of licensure status.

(a) A licensee who wishes to reactivate an expired or
inactive license shall apply for reactivation, pay the
current registration fee and verify that the licensee has
not practiced in this Commonwealth while the license was
expired or inactive.

(b) A licensee shall pay a late renewal fee for the
preceding biennial registration periods in which the licen-
see engaged in practice in this Commonwealth while the
license was expired or inactive.

(c) With the exception of individuals exempt from
licensure under section 6(b)(2) of the act (63 P.S.
§ 1706(b)(2)), licensees who practice in this Common-
wealth during a period in which the licensees’ registration
is not renewed shall pay a late fee of $5 for each month
or part of a month beyond the date specified for renewal,
as provided in section 225 of the Bureau of Professional
and Occupational Affairs Fee Act (63 P.S. § 1401-225), in
addition to the prescribed biennial renewal fee. The
payment of a late fee does not preclude the Board from
taking disciplinary action against a licensee for practicing
in this Commonwealth without a current license.
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(d) A licensee whose license has lapsed, been sus-
pended or placed on inactive status for more than 5 years
shall demonstrate continued competency to reactivate the
license by doing one of the following:

(1) Successfully complete the initial licensing examina-
tion approved by the Board.

(2) Successfully complete the required continuing edu-
cation in § 45.501(a) (relating to credit hour require-
ments) for the biennial periods during which the license
was lapsed, suspended or inactive.

(3) Provide evidence to the Board that the applicant
has a license in good standing to practice speech-language
pathology or audiology in another jurisdiction that has
substantially similar requirements for licensure and has
engaged in practice in the other jurisdiction at some
period within the last 5 years.

§ 45.15. Duplicate licenses.

A duplicate license will be issued only upon payment of
the fee as prescribed by the Bureau of Professional and
Occupational Affairs Fee Act (63 P.S. §§ 1401-101—1401-
501).

§ 45.16. Display of license.

The licensee shall post the license and, if applicable,
certification in a conspicuous place in the office or place of
business of the licensee.

§ 45.17. Education requirements.

(a) Speech-language pathologist. An applicant for
licensure as a speech-language pathologist shall provide
evidence of holding a master’s degree in speech-language
pathology from an academic program accredited by an
accrediting agency approved by the Board. The Board will
make available a list of approved accrediting agencies on
its web site.

(b) Audiologist. An applicant for licensure as an audi-
ologist shall provide evidence of holding a doctoral degree
in audiology from an academic program approved by an
accrediting agency approved by the Board and the United
States Department of Education or the Council for Higher
Education Accreditation. The Board will make available a
list of approved accrediting agencies on its web site.

§ 45.18. (Reserved).
§ 45.19. (Reserved).

§ 45.20. Supervised professional experience re-
quired for licensure as a speech-language pa-
thologist.

(a) The applicant shall begin the supervised profes-
sional experience within 4 years of conferral of the
degree, and shall complete no less than 1,260 hours in no
less than 9 months, but no more than 2 years.

(b) The Board may waive the requirements in subsec-
tion (a) in the case of demonstrated undue hardship,
military service or other good cause shown by the appli-
cant.

(c) The applicant shall complete the supervised profes-
sional experience under the supervision of a currently
licensed speech-language pathologist in the state or juris-
diction where the supervised professional experience is
being obtained.

(1) The supervisor may not supervise more than three
applicants completing their supervised professional expe-
rience at any one time.

(2) Applicants may not work under the direction of
more than two supervisors at one time.

(d) The applicant shall inform individuals under his
care that he is completing the supervised professional
experience and is working under the supervision of a
licensed speech-language pathologist.

(e) An applicant shall spend at least 80% of each week
in direct client contact related to assessment, nonmedical
diagnosis, evaluation, screening, habilitation, rehabilita-
tion, consulting, recordkeeping or other duties appropri-
ate to a bona fide program of clinical work. No more than
50% of the applicant’s time may be spent conducting
screenings. Clinical residents who teach, conduct re-
search, perform administrative tasks or engage in other
activities not related to direct client contact may not
apply the time devoted to these activities toward meeting
the supervised professional experience requirement.

(f) During the supervised professional experience, the
applicant shall routinely consult with the supervisor for
evaluation of the applicant’s performance in professional
employment. These consultations shall occur at least once
a month and shall include review of the applicant’s
performance in regard to one or more of the following:

(1) Clinical treatment or evaluation.

(2) Changes in the communication behaviors of persons
served by the applicant.

(3) Clinical records, diagnostic reports, treatment re-
cords, correspondence, plans of treatment and summaries
of clinical conferences.

(4) Staff conferences and interaction with allied profes-
sionals, colleagues and clients and their representatives.

(5) Contributions to professional meetings and publica-
tions, and participation in other professional growth
opportunities.

(6) Other matters related to the applicant’s knowledge,
skills and abilities to practice.

(g) During the supervised professional experience, the
applicant shall complete at least 36 supervised activities
as follows:

(1) A minimum of one supervised activity shall be
completed per month.

(2) Each of a minimum of 18 activities shall meet the
following criteria. The activities shall:

(i) Be directly supervised and involve the assessment,
nonmedical diagnosis, evaluation, screening, habilitation
and rehabilitation of clients.

(i1) Be at least 1 hour in duration.

(8) No more than 6 hours of direct supervision activi-
ties may be completed in 1 day.

(4) At least six direct supervision activities shall be
completed during each third of the supervised profes-
sional experience.

(5) Applicants fulfilling the supervised professional ex-
perience at more than one site shall complete at least one
direct supervision activity at each site during each of the
three segments of the supervised professional experience.

(h) The supervisor shall attest that the applicant has
fulfilled the criteria of the supervised professional experi-
ence.

(i) The final decision as to whether the applicant has
satisfactorily met the conditions of the supervised profes-
sional experience is within the discretion of the Board.
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§ 45.21. Waivers.

The Board will waive the education, experience and
examination requirements of this subchapter for an appli-
cant who:

(1) Holds a currently valid license to practice speech-
language pathology or audiology in a state which has
standards determined by the Board to be at least equal to
those for licensure in this Commonwealth. The applicant
shall file an application with the Board, and shall cause
the appropriate agency in the state of licensure to submit
to the Board a letter attesting to the applicant’s good
standing.

(2) Holds a current certificate of clinical competence
from the Council for Clinical Certification of the ASHA.
The applicant shall file an application with the Board,
and shall cause the ASHA to submit to the Board
certification of the applicant’s status.

(3) Is a current practitioner who falls within the ex-
emption in section 7(c) of the act (63 P.S. § 1707(c)),
earned a bachelor’s degree in speech-language pathology
or a master’s degree in audiology from an accredited
college or university as of February 19, 1982, and was
employed as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist
for at least 9 consecutive months during the period
February 19, 1982—February 19, 1985. The applicant
shall file an application with the Board, and shall provide
documentation evidencing completion of the degree and
employment as a speech-language pathologist or audiolo-
gist.

§ 45.22. Foreign-trained applicants.

(a) To apply for licensure the foreign-trained applicant
shall, before examination, submit evidence satisfactory to
the Board that the applicant meets the following require-
ments:

(1) For speech-language pathologists:
(1) Is of good moral character.

(ii) Has completed educational requirements substan-
tially equivalent to § 45.17(a) (relating to education
requirements). The Board will accept a credential evalua-
tion done by a recognized and accredited credential
evaluation agency approved by the Board as proof that
the foreign-trained applicant has completed these require-
ments.

(iii) Has completed at least 9 months of supervised
professional experience as provided by § 45.20 (relating
to supervised professional experience required for
licensure as a speech-language pathologist).

(2) For audiologists:
(i) Is of good moral character.

(ii) Has completed educational requirements substan-
tially equivalent to § 45.17(b). The Board will accept a
credential evaluation done by a recognized and accredited
credential evaluation agency approved by the Board as
proof that the foreign-trained applicant has completed
these requirements.

(b) The foreign-trained applicant may be licensed by
the Board, if the applicant has complied with subsection
(a) and has passed the licensure examination.

§ 45.23. Provisional licenses.

(a) The following applicants may be issued a provi-
sional license:

(1) Speech-language pathologist.

(i) Applicants for licensure who have completed the
requirements in § 45.12(b)(1) (relating to licensure appli-
cation procedures). A provisional license granted under
this subparagraph will be valid for 6 months from the
date the application for licensure is submitted to the
Board.

(i) Applicants who are completing the supervised pro-
fessional experience necessary to receive an ASHA Certifi-
cate of Clinical Competence. A provisional license granted
under this subparagraph will be valid for 18 months and
may be renewed one time under section 7(d) of the act (63
P.S. § 1707(d)).

(2) Audiologists.

(i) Applicants for licensure who have completed the
requirements in § 45.12(b)(2). A provisional license
granted under this subparagraph will be valid for 6
months from the date the application for licensure is
submitted to the Board.

(i1) Post-doctoral graduates completing additional post-
graduate professional experience. A provisional license
granted under this subparagraph will be valid for 18
months and may be renewed one time under section 7(d)
of the act.

(8) Licensees from other states. Individuals who hold a
valid license in another state to practice speech-language
pathology or audiology who apply for licensure in this
Commonwealth may also apply for a provisional license.
A provisional license granted under this paragraph will
be valid for 90 days.

(b) An applicant seeking a provisional license shall
submit all of the following:

(1) An application for a provisional license and the fee
in § 45.1(4) (relating to fees).

(2) In addition to meeting the requirements of subsec-
tion (b)(1), an applicant for a provisional license under
subsection (a)(1)(i1) or (2)(ii) shall also submit:

(1) A letter describing the applicant’s plans for complet-
ing the professional experience.

(i) A transcript.

(A) Speech-language pathologist applicants’ transcripts
must evidence completion of the applicants’ didactic edu-
cation.

(B) Audiologist applicants’ transcripts must evidence
completion of didactic and clinical education.

(3) In addition to meeting the requirements of para-
graph (1), an applicant for a provisional license under
subsection (a)(1)3), (2)i) or (3) shall also submit an
application for licensure and the accompanying fee in
§ 45.1(1).

(c) Except for provisional licenses granted under sub-
section (a)(1)(i) and (2)(1), provisional licensees shall
practice only under supervision of a supervisor who holds
the same type of license as the provisional licensee and, if
the provisional licensee does not hold a graduate degree,
who is physically present in the area or unit where the
provisional licensee is practicing.

(d) An applicant who was issued a provisional license
under subsection (a)(1)(ii) or (2)(i1) seeking an extension
of the provisional license shall provide a detailed written
explanation of the reason the extension is requested and
the status of the applicant’s supervised professional expe-
rience.
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§ 45.24. Certification to utilize neurophysiologic
intraoperative monitoring.

(a) Prior to utilizing neurophysiologic intraoperative
monitoring, an audiologist shall obtain certification from
the Board.

(b) Applicants shall be granted -certification by the
Board upon submission of documentation evidencing one
of the following:

(1) Current certification from the American Board of
Neurophysiologic Monitoring, the American Audiology
Board of Intraoperative Monitoring or another National
certifying organization approved by the Board.

(2) Completion of the doctoral level coursework, includ-
ing neuroanatomy, neurophysiology and other neurophysi-
ologic intraoperative monitoring, from an accredited doc-
toral audiology program and clinical instruction in
neurophysiologic intraoperative monitoring that meets
the requirements of section 8.1(2) of the act (63 P.S.
§ 1708.1(2)). The applicant has the affirmative burden of
proving that these requirements are met.

(¢) The Board will make available a list of approved
certifying organizations on its web site.

Subchapter C. STANDARDS OF PRACTICE AND
CONDUCT

§ 45.102. Code of Ethics.

(a) General. The Board is empowered by section 5(2) of
the act (63 P.S. § 1705(2)) to promulgate a Code of Ethics
for speech-language pathologists and audiologists, and the
Board finds that the following rules are essential for
establishing and maintaining stringent standards of pro-
fessional conduct and for protecting the public interest,
the Board has established the following Code of Ethics. A
violation of this code constitutes unprofessional conduct
under § 45.103 (relating to unprofessional conduct) or, as
applicable, fraud or deceit under § 45.104 (relating to
fraud or deceit), and subjects the violator to appropriate
disciplinary action.

(b) Preamble.

(1) The preservation of the highest standards of integ-
rity is vital to the successful discharge of the professional
responsibilities of speech-language pathologists and audi-
ologists. To this end, the Board has established this Code
of Ethics to safeguard the public health, safety and
welfare and to assure that speech-language and hearing
services of the highest possible quality are available to
the people of this Commonwealth. A violation of a provi-
sion of the Code of Ethics constitutes unprofessional
conduct subject to disciplinary action. Accordingly, failure
to specify a particular responsibility or practice in the
code should not be construed as a deliberate omission.

(2) The fundamental rules of ethical conduct are de-
scribed in the following categories:

(i) Principles of Ethics. Seven principles serve as the
basis for the ethical evaluation of professional conduct
and form the underlying moral basis for the Code of
Ethics. Speech-language pathologists and audiologists, as
defined in the act, shall observe these principles as
affirmative obligations under all conditions of professional
activity.

(ii) Ethical proscriptions. Ethical proscriptions are for-
mal statements of prohibitions that are derived from the
Principles of Ethics.

(¢) Principle of Ethics I.

(1) Because speech-language pathologists and audiolo-
gists provide nonmedical and nonsurgical services, med-
ical diagnosis and medical treatment by these persons are
specifically to be considered unethical and illegal.

£l & & £ *
§ 45.103. Unprofessional conduct.

As used in section 10(5) of the act (63 P.S. § 1710(5)),
the term “unprofessional conduct” includes all of the
following types of conduct:

(1) Practicing as a speech-language pathologist or an
audiologist with a license that has lapsed or that has
been suspended or revoked.

(2) Knowingly aiding or abetting a person who is not
licensed or exempted from licensure by the act to practice
as a speech-language pathologist or an audiologist.

(3) Misrepresenting or concealing a material fact in
seeking reinstatement of a license to practice as a
speech-language pathologist or an audiologist.

(4) Delegating to a person duties that the speech-
language pathologist or an audiologist knows, or has
reason to know, the person is not competent or authorized
to perform.

(5) Committing an act of gross negligence, gross mal-
practice or gross incompetence, or repeated acts of negli-
gence, malpractice or incompetence.

(6) Practicing as a speech-language pathologist or an
audiologist while unable to do so with reasonable skill
and safety because of illness, drunkenness, excessive use
of controlled substances, chemicals or other types of
materials or as the result of a mental or physical
condition.

(7) Withdrawing professional services after a profes-
sional relationship has been established without inform-
ing the person served of where to obtain necessary and
equivalent professional services in a timely manner.

(8) Harassing, abusing or intimidating a person served.
Sexual contact, or requests for sexual contact, with a
person served is specifically prohibited by this subsection.

(9) Committing an act involving moral turpitude, dis-
honesty or corruption when the act directly or indirectly
affects the health, welfare or safety of citizens of this
Commonwealth. If the act constitutes a crime, conviction
in a criminal proceeding is not a condition precedent to
disciplinary action by the Board.

(10) Failing to provide necessary professional care or
products to a person served in a timely manner or to
inform the person served of the need for the care.

(11) Revealing personal or professional identifiable
facts obtained as a result of a professional relationship
without the prior consent of the person served, parent or
guardian, except as authorized by a court or required by
statute.

(12) Unconditionally guaranteeing the effectiveness of
professional services and products rendered.

(13) Advertising professional services and products in a
manner which is false, misleading or deceptive.

(14) Accepting compensation from a person being su-
pervised or sponsored, beyond reasonable reimbursement
for direct expenses.
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(15) Being disciplined by a licensing or disciplinary
authority of another state or country or convicted or
disciplined by a court of a state or country for an act that
would be grounds for disciplinary action under the act or
this chapter.

(16) Being convicted of or pleading guilty or nolo
contendere to a felony, whether or not an appeal or other
proceeding is pending to have the conviction or plea set
aside.

(17) Failing to comply with § 45.101 (relating to pre-
paring, maintaining and retaining records).

(18) Providing services or promoting the sale of devices,
appliances or products to a person who cannot reasonably
be expected to benefit from them.

(19) Failing to comply with the act.

(20) Failing to comply with an order, rule or regulation
issued or adopted by the Board, including its Code of
Ethics.

(21) Violating a State or Federal statute or a regulation
promulgated thereunder in the Pennsylvania Code or the
Code of Federal Regulations by a State or Federal agency
that imposes a standard for practicing as a speech-
language pathologist or an audiologist in this Common-
wealth. The Board, in reaching a decision as to whether
there has been a violation of a statute or regulation, will
be guided by adjudications of the agency or court that
administers or enforces the standard.

(22) Utilizing neurophysiologic intraoperative monitor-
ing without possessing certification from the Board.

(23) Failing to refer patients who presented with sus-
pected medical conditions beyond the licensee’s scope of
practice under the act for medical evaluation to an
appropriate physician within 30 days.

(24) Failing to follow the Centers for Disease Control
and Prevention’s 2007 Guideline for Isolation Precautions:
Preventing Transmission of Infectious Agents in
Healthcare Settings.

Subchapter E. ASSISTANTS
§ 45.301. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
subchapter, have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

Assistant—An individual who works under the direction
and supervision of a licensed audiologist or speech-
language pathologist and who meets the requirements in
this subchapter.

Direct onsite supervision—The physical presence of a
licensed audiologist or speech-language pathologist in the
facility or location where the assistant is working who is
immediately available to exercise supervision, direction
and control.

Interpreter—An individual whose sole function is to
translate or to facilitate communication between persons
via oral, cued speech, manual, total communication or
written modes. For purposes of this subchapter, an inter-
preter is not considered an assistant.

Task—Work assigned or carried out as a part or
subcomponent of the assistant’s duties.

§ 45.304. Minimum education, experience and
training requirements.

(a) Prior to the use of an assistant, the licensee shall
obtain from the assistant evidence of one of the following:

(1) The assistant has completed 30 semester hours or
the equivalent from an accredited institution of higher
education in the area of speech-language pathology and
audiology as outlined in the requirements as specified
(nonaudited) for a certificate of clinical competence from
the Council for Clinical Certification of the ASHA.

(2) The assistant has practiced as an assistant in the
area of speech-language pathology and audiology since at
least June 8, 1989, under the supervision of an audiolo-
gist or speech-language pathologist licensed in this Com-
monwealth.

(3) The assistant has practiced as an assistant in the
area of speech-language pathology and audiology since at
least June 8, 1989, under the supervision of an audiolo-
gist or speech-language pathologist licensed in another
state or the District of Columbia which has requirements
for assistants substantially equivalent to the provisions of
this subchapter.

(b) Prior to assigning a duty to an assistant, a licensee
shall perform a task analysis of the expected duties of
each assistant the licensee supervises, and shall then
train the assistant, with an emphasis on competency-
based skill acquisition, in accordance with this analysis.
Training may be provided through formal coursework,
workshops or directly supervised observation or
practicum; training shall encompass all areas of activities
which the assistant will perform. An assistant trained in
one area (audiology or speech-language pathology) may
not perform duties in another area unless training in that
area has been given. An assistant is not permitted to
perform a duty for which, in the opinion of the licensed
supervisor, the assistant is neither trained nor qualified.
A minimum of 20 hours of practical training for each duty
is required.

(c) A licensee shall familiarize an assistant with the
standards of practice and conduct and the application of
these ethics to each assistant’s activities, codified in
Subchapter C (relating to standards of practice and
conduct).

§ 45.305. Functions and duties of assistants.

(a) An assistant may engage in only duties that are
planned, designed and supervised by a licensee. Examples
of appropriate duties include the following:

(1) The screening of speech, language or hearing.

(2) The recording, charting, graphing or otherwise
displaying of data which reflects the performance of a
person served.

(3) The maintaining of clinical records.

(4) The reporting of changes in the performance of a
person served to the licensee who is responsible for that
person.

(5) The preparing of clinical materials, including ear
molds.

(6) The testing of hearing aids to determine whether
they meet published specifications.

(7) The participating with the licensee in research
projects, in-service training, public relations programs
and similar activities.

(b) The assistant may not engage in one or more of the
following activities:

(1) The formulating of diagnostic statements or clinical
management strategies or procedures.

(2) The determining of who will be served.
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(3) The transmitting of clinical information, including
data or impressions bearing on the performance, behavior
or progress of a person served, either verbally or in
writing, to anyone other than the licensee.

(4) The independent composing of clinical reports, ex-
cept for progress notes to be held in the file of a person
served.

(5) The referring of a person served to other profession-
als or other agencies.

(6) The using of a title, either verbally or in writing,
other than one which complies with § 45.301 (relating to
definitions).

(7) Activities which require the formal education or
training, and the skill and knowledge of a licensed
audiologist or speech-language pathologist.

§ 45.307. Limitations.

(a) An assistant may not engage in activities reserved
by the act to licensees of the Board, nor may the assistant
hold himself out to the public, either by title or by
description of services, as an audiologist or speech-
language pathologist. Titles may be used only in conjunc-
tion with the appendage “assistant,” for example, “audiol-
ogy assistant.”

(b) A licensee may not assign, delegate or permit
assistants to perform activities which require the formal
education or training, and the skill and knowledge of a
licensed audiologist or speech-language pathologist, in-
cluding activities enumerated under § 45.305 (relating to
functions and duties of assistants).

§ 45.308. Exceptions.

(a) A licensee is not required to file with the Board a
list of support personnel who do not engage in activities
requiring formal education or training in the field of
speech-language and hearing, the skill and knowledge of
a licensed audiologist or speech-language pathologist, or
the skill and knowledge of an assistant, as required under
this subchapter.

(b) This subchapter does not limit the activities of a
student who is pursuing a program of study supervised
by a person licensed under the act which leads to a
degree in audiology or speech-language pathology in this
Commonwealth.

Subchapter F. CHILD ABUSE REPORTING
REQUIREMENTS

§ 45.401. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
subchapter, have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

Child abuse—A term meaning any of the following:

(i) A recent act or failure to act by a perpetrator which
causes nonaccidental serious physical injury to a child
under 18 years of age.

(i) An act or failure to act by a perpetrator which
causes nonaccidental serious mental injury to or sexual
abuse or sexual exploitation of a child under 18 years of
age.

(iii) A recent act, failure to act or series of acts or
failures to act by a perpetrator which creates an immi-
nent risk of serious physical injury to or sexual abuse or
sexual exploitation of a child under 18 years of age.

(iv) Serious physical neglect by a perpetrator constitut-
ing prolonged or repeated lack of supervision or the

failure to provide the essentials of life, including adequate
medical care, which endangers a child’s life or develop-
ment or impairs the child’s functioning.

ChildLine—An organizational unit of the Department
of Human Services which operates a 24-hour a day
Statewide toll free telephone system for receiving reports
of suspected child abuse, referring reports for investiga-
tion and maintaining the reports in the appropriate file.

Individual residing in the same home as the child—An
individual who is 14 years of age or older and who resides
in the same home as the child.

Licensee—An audiologist or speech-language pathologist
licensed by the Board.

Perpetrator—A person who has committed child abuse
and is a parent of the child, a person responsible for the
welfare of a child, an individual residing in the same
home as a child or a paramour of a child’s parent.

Person responsible for the child’s welfare—A person who
provides permanent or temporary care, supervision, men-
tal health diagnosis or treatment, training or control of a
child in lieu of parental care, supervision and control. The
term does not include a person who is employed by or
provides services or programs in a public or private
school, intermediate unit or area vocational-technical
school.

Recent acts or omissions—Acts or omissions committed
within 2 years of the date of the report to the Department
of Human Services or county agency.

Serious mental injury—A psychological condition, as
diagnosed by a physician or licensed psychologist, includ-
ing the refusal of appropriate treatment, that does one or
more of the following:

(i) Renders a child chronically and severely anxious,
agitated, depressed, socially withdrawn, psychotic or in
reasonable fear that the child’s life or safety is threat-
ened.

(i1) Seriously interferes with a child’s ability to accom-
plish age-appropriate developmental and social tasks.

Serious physical injury—An injury that causes a child
severe pain or significantly impairs a child’s physical
functioning, either temporarily or permanently.

Sexual abuse or exploitation—The employment, use,
persuasion, inducement, enticement or coercion of a child
to engage in or assist another person to engage in
sexually explicit conduct or a simulation of sexually
explicit conduct for the purpose of producing a visual
depiction, including photographing, videotaping, computer
depicting or filming, of sexually explicit conduct or the
rape, sexual assault, involuntary deviate sexual inter-
course, aggravated indecent assault, molestation, incest,
indecent exposure, prostitution, statutory sexual assault
or other form of sexual exploitation of children.

Subchapter G. CONTINUING EDUCATION
§ 45.501. Credit hour requirements.

(a) Each speech-language pathologist or audiologist
shall have completed 20 clock hours of continuing educa-
tion per license during each preceding biennial renewal
period. Excess clock hours may not be carried over to the
next biennium.

(b) Up to 10 clock hours of approved continuing educa-
tion credit per biennial renewal period may be granted on
a case-by-case basis for services as a lecturer or speaker,
and for publication of articles, books and research relat-
ing to the practice of speech-language pathology or audiol-
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ogy. A licensee seeking continuing education credit under
this subsection shall submit a written request with a copy
of the lecture, presentation, article, book or research and
a fee for continuing education approval as required under
§ 45.1 (relating to fees). The request shall be submitted
180 days prior to the expiration of the biennial renewal
period for which the licensee is seeking credit. An instruc-
tor of a program approved under § 45.505 (relating to
approval of continuing education programs) will receive
credit to the same extent that an attendee will receive
credit and is not required to apply for approval under this
subsection.

(c) Unless granted a waiver under § 45.502 (relating to
exemption and waiver), the Board will not renew or
reactivate any speech-language pathologist or audiologist
license until the continuing education requirement for the
current biennial renewal period has been completed.

(d) A licensee may not receive credit for participation
in substantially the same program more than once during
a single renewal cycle.

§ 45.505. Approval of continuing education pro-
grams.
* £l & & &

(d) The following programs are deemed approved for
continuing education credit:

(1) Continuing education programs approved or spon-
sored by the ASHA.

(2) Continuing education programs approved or spon-
sored by the American Academy of Audiology.

(3) Courses and programs offered for credit by aca-
demic programs in speech-language pathology or audiol-

ogy associated with institutions accredited by any state’s
department of education or a regional commission on
institutions of higher education.

* * % * %

§ 45.507. Disciplinary action authorized.

(a) A licensed speech-language pathologist or audiolo-
gist who submits fraudulent continuing education records
may be subject to discipline under section 10 of the act
(63 P.S. § 1710).

(b) A licensed speech-language pathologist or audiolo-
gist who fails to complete the required continuing educa-
tion requirement within any biennial renewal period may
be subject to discipline unless the licensee is exempt or
has been granted a waiver under § 45.502 (relating to
exemption and waiver).

(¢) Notwithstanding discipline imposed by the Board
under subsection (b), whether by formal disciplinary
proceedings or by issuance of a citation as set forth in
§ 43b.16a (relating to schedule of civil penalties—
audiologists and speech-language pathologists), a licensed
speech-language pathologist or audiologist who has been
found to be deficient in continuing education hours shall
make up deficiencies within 6 months of receiving notice
of the deficiency.

(d) Failure to make up deficient continuing education
hours as required under subsection (c) may subject the
licensed speech-language pathologist or audiologist to
further discipline under section 10 of the act.
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