
PROPOSED RULEMAKING
PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC
UTILITY COMMISSION

[ 52 PA. CODE CH. 32 ]
[ L-2017-2604692 ]

Minimum Insurance Requirements for Motor Carri-
ers of Passengers

The Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission (Commis-
sion), on February 8, 2018, adopted a proposed rule-
making order to amend § 32.11 to increase the minimum
required insurance on passenger carriers of less than 16
passengers from $30,000 for bodily injury and $5,000 for
property damage ($35,000 split coverage) to $100,000 for
bodily injury and $25,000 for property damage ($125,000
split coverage).

Executive Summary

Commission regulation requires motor carriers utilizing
vehicles capable of transporting fewer than 16 passengers
to maintain at least $35,000 in ‘‘split coverage,’’ of up to
$30,000 for bodily injury/death (up to $15,000 per person)
and up to $5,000 for property damage. 52 Pa. Code
§ 32.11. This amount is much lower than the minimum
insurance requirements on passenger carriers capable of
transporting fewer than 16 passengers in Maryland,
Michigan, New York, Ohio, and federal/interstate jurisdic-
tion. It is also lower than the minimum insurance
requirements for Transportation Network Company ve-
hicles. See 66 Pa.C.S. § 2603.1. The Commission believes
that the minimum insurance requirement for passenger
carriers in the Commonwealth, operating vehicles capable
of transporting fewer than 16 passengers, should be
raised to $125,000 split coverage consisting of up to
$100,000 for bodily injury/death per accident (up to
$50,000 per person) and up to $25,000 for property
damage. The Commission believes this increased insur-
ance coverage better protects the public and is in the
public interest.

Public Meeting held
February 8, 2018

Commissioners Present: Gladys M. Brown, Chairperson;
Andrew G. Place, Vice Chairperson; Norman J. Ken-
nard; David W. Sweet; John F. Coleman, Jr.

Rulemaking Pertaining to Minimum Insurance
Requirements for Motor Carriers of Passengers,

52 Pa. Code Chapter 32; L-2017-2604692

Proposed Rulemaking Order

By the Commission:

The Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission (Commis-
sion) proposes to amend its regulations governing mini-
mum insurance coverage requirements for motor carriers
of passengers. 52 Pa. Code Chapter 32. By way of back-
ground, on June 14, 2017, the Commission entered an
Advanced Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Order wherein
we invited comments on certain existing motor common
carrier regulations that may need to be updated or
revised in response to changing market conditions. These
proposals would be in addition to the changes previously
approved by the Commission in Temporary Regulations

for the Taxi and Limousine Industries at Docket No.
L-2016-2556432.1

Specifically, we sought comments in this proceeding
concerning the following areas: fuel surcharge; fines and
assessments; provisional authority; web-based training;
motor-carrier insurance; safety code for transportation of
property and passengers; policy statements found at
Chapter 41 of our regulations; property carrier regulation,
group and party carrier regulation; and any other issues
commentators deemed relevant.

The Commission received comments from BestDarnMovers,
Clarion County Taxi, Safe Transportation Group, Pennsyl-
vania Moving and Storage Associates, Pennsylvania Bus
Association, Billtown Cab, K-Cab, Suburban Transit Net-
work, Willow Grove Yellow Cab, Easton Coach Company,
Tri-County Transit Service, Bucks County Transport,
Rasier-PA LLC, and Robert Ely (collectively ‘‘Commenta-
tors’’). Having reviewed the comments, the Commission
now proposes to amend the minimum insurance coverage
requirements for motor common carriers of passengers at
52 Pa. Code § 32.11. However, before addressing this
regulatory proposal, we will discuss the comments re-
ceived to the advanced notice of proposed rulemaking.
A. Advanced Notice of Proposed Rulemaking

Commentators provided comments on the following
topics, which we address ad seriatim:
1. Fuel Surcharge

Some commentators suggested that a fuel surcharge
should be applied to other carriers in addition to house-
hold goods carriers, which is the only carrier group which
has a fuel surcharge currently established. See Fuel Cost
Recovery Surcharge Special Permission, Docket No. SP-
28207 (Order entered April 17, 2003) and Extension of
the Fuel Cost Recovery Surcharge Special Permission
28207, Docket No. R-2009-2094616 (Order entered May 4,
2017). Commentators submitted that monthly tariff ad-
justments to reflect fuel price changes are difficult and
costly for the Commission and carriers to implement.
Commentators recommended that we should consider
quarterly adjustments for the Commission to publish so
each carrier could incorporate it into their individual
tariff on one day’s notice. One commentator also sug-
gested that the fuel surcharge on household goods carri-
ers should stay the same because it directly affects
operating costs. Finally, there was a comment recom-
mending that the Commission should allow a flexible
tariff to allow the use of a surcharge as needed.

The Commission notes that it has recently implemented
tariff regulations for limousine and taxi carriers, allowing
those industries greater flexibility. See Temporary Regula-
tion for Taxi and Limousine Industries, Docket No.
L-2016-2556432 (Order entered December 23, 2016). The
Commission believes that limousine and taxi carriers
have sufficient flexibility in setting rates to account for
market factors without having to add a specific fuel
surcharge. Additionally, other carrier types such as
paratransit, airport transfer, and scheduled route carri-
ers, did not request any change to the Commission’s
regulations to account for fuel pricing. Therefore, the
Commission declines to implement a regulation providing
for a fuel surcharge.

1 Those temporary regulations addressed, inter alia, use of electronic log sheets, use
of driver owned or leased vehicles, flexible tariff rates. Pursuant to Act 164 of 2016,
amending Act 85 of 2016, the temporary regulations will expire upon the promulgation
of final-form regulations or November 4, 2018 whichever is later. As such, absent a
new rulemaking on these topics, these temporary regulations remain in place and are
enforceable.
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2. Fines and Assessments
Commentators recommended that the Commission en-

hance its means to collect fines by other means such as
wage garnishment and liens. One commentator proposed
that the Commission institute a ‘‘diamond system’’ like
the Taxi and Limousine Commission in New York City. It
was suggested that every motor carrier should be re-
quired to register with the Commission and receive a
‘‘diamond’’ for each vehicle indicating they have paid their
assessment and met other requirements.

In the Commission’s judgment, sufficient measures are
currently in place to ensure fine and assessment collec-
tion, and no change needs to be made. We do not have a
significant delinquency issue regarding fines and assess-
ments. The total delinquent amount for fines on taxi and
limousine service in 2017 was $19,062, and the total
delinquent assessments for taxi and limousine service for
2017-2018 was $351,785. The Commission will pursue
satisfaction of these delinquencies through available tools,
up to and including cancellation of carrier certificates of
public convenience. Additionally, the ‘‘diamond system’’
proposed is not feasible since the Commission does not
certificate motor common carriers on a per-vehicle basis.
Furthermore, implementing such a system would be
costly and cumbersome. Given that the current collection
process is sufficient, we decline to adopt this proposal.

3. Provisional Authority

The Commission received one comment from a house-
hold goods carrier suggesting provisional authority to
allow applicants to operate during the pendency of the
application process, asserting that protests only serve to
protect monopoly interests of certificated movers. In
contrast, several commentators noted that provisional
authority should not be granted. They opined that provi-
sional authority would allow applicants with poor safety
records, inadequate financial capability, and lack of opera-
tional experience to prey upon the public. It was also
recommended that provisional authority should not be
granted until the process for certification is complete. One
commentator recommended that the Commission should
adopt a ‘‘conditional’’ status to accommodate single-vehicle
operators upon which permanent authority can be
granted after an operator satisfies all conditions. It was
suggested that if the Commission were to adopt provi-
sional authority, a very high burden on the applicant
should be imposed to demonstrate that provisional au-
thority is in the public interest.

The Commission has regulations in place governing
emergency temporary authority and temporary authority.2
See 52 Pa. Code § 3.383. Those regulations permit service
while an application for permanent authority is pending.
We believe that these provisions allow sufficient flexibility
to provide immediate transportation during the pendency
of an application for permanent authority, while ensuring
those services are provided safely. Significantly, no pro-
tests are permitted to an application for emergency
temporary authority. Additionally, since we no longer
allow protests on the basis of lack of public need applica-
tions for permanent authority should be much less cum-
bersome. See Final Rulemaking Amending 52 Pa. Code
Chapters 1, 3, 5, 23 and 29, Docket No. L-2015-2507592
(Order entered October 27, 2016). Under these circum-
stances, we decline to propose new regulations providing

for provisional authority, since our current processes
provide adequate flexibility to respond to immediate
transportation needs.
4. Web-Based Training

Commentators suggested that web-based training
should be provided to include skill-based programs for
stakeholders. The topics recommended were:

• How to register for intrastate operating authority
(the steps a carrier should take, including who to contact,
forms, cost, etc.);

• The responsibility of a motor carrier when an acci-
dent occurs;

• What a carrier can expect from a roadside/destination
stop;

• A primer on Commission and FMCSA Regulations
(including a discussion as to how the Commission regula-
tions compare to the FMCSA regulation);

• Commission motor carrier compliance issues, includ-
ing the scheduling of inspections by Commission enforce-
ment officers; and

• Training that condenses the motor carrier regulations
that are applicable to the charter bus industry.

The Commission believes that web-based training can
serve as a benefit to motor common carriers. However, we
believe that web-based training should be voluntary and
administered through the Bureau of Technical Utility
Services and Bureau of Investigation and Enforcement.
Therefore, we decline to propose regulations making
web-based training mandatory. Rather, we plan to develop
current training modules that will be available to the
industry to enhance service.
5. 52 Pa. Code Chapter 32—Motor Carrier Insurance

Several commentators suggested that the current mini-
mum insurance coverage limits are very low given the
level of potential liability for property damage and bodily
injury that can be incurred in motor carrier accidents
and, therefore, that the Commission should look at the
minimum limits required by other state and local agen-
cies to determine appropriate coverage limits. Commenta-
tors submitted that most states require minimum cover-
ages of $1 million (and up to $5 million). However, one
commentator suggested that any cost increase on motor
common carriers occasioned by higher mandated insur-
ance levels would cripple existing conventional carriers
and hurt rural and suburban carriers, except for TNCs.
Another commentator suggested that the insurance mini-
mum should not increase on vehicles that transport more
than 28 passengers unless the Commission conducts a
study that demonstrates that an increase would benefit
the public safety and is in the public interest.

With respect to how proof of insurance is tendered to
the Commission, it was recommended that only insurance
carriers should be permitted to file the Form E certificate
with the Commission to avoid fraud. Commentators also
argued that Form E requirements should remain the
same so that motor carriers cannot misrepresent their
coverage. Commentators stated that changing this rule
would abrogate important oversight, and advised that the
Commission should check other jurisdictions on whether
carriers are permitted to self-file their own Form E.

We believe that the current procedure requiring insur-
ers to file Form E certificates directly with the Commis-
sion does not require any changes. However, appropriate
insurance levels should be addressed in a rulemaking and
we will do so herein.

2 Our authority to grant temporary authority stems from Section 1103 of the Public
Utility Code. 66 Pa.C.S. § 1103. There is no provision in the Code governing
provisional authority. Temporary authority is available in an emergency situation,
which is defined as ‘‘[a] situation which presents a clear and present danger to life or
property or which is uncontested and requires action prior to the next scheduled public
meeting.’’ 52 Pa. Code § 3.1.
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6. 52 Pa. Code Chapter 37—Safety Code for Transporta-
tion of Property and Passengers

The Commission received comments pertaining to the
Safety Code for Transportation of Property and Passen-
gers. One commentator recommended that the safety
regulations should not depart from the FMCSA regula-
tions to keep the riding public safe. A comment was also
made with respect to TNC safety, suggesting that TNC
drivers should be given an online test on applicable
regulations and that a separate license should be issued
to TNC drivers.

The Commission will not propose any changes to the
safety code for transportation of property and passengers.
We note that the Commission’s regulations already incor-
porate the safety regulations from the FMCSA. See 52
Pa. Code § 37.204. We also note that Act 164 has ex-
pressly stated that a separate license may not be required
for a TNC driver and the Commission cannot require a
separate TNC driver license. See 66 Pa.C.S. § 2605.
Therefore, we will not propose any changes to Chapter 37.

7. 52 Pa. Code Chapter 41—General Orders, Policy State-
ment and Guidelines on Transportation Utilities

A few Commentators suggested that current guidelines
offer little in terms of concrete metrics for reviewing
applications. Other Commentators, however, believe that
existing fitness guidelines should remain in effect and be
administered according to the Public Utility Code.

The Commission is currently addressing its policy
statement at 52 Pa. Code § 41.14 at Docket No. M-2017-
2629722, to reflect the change in evidentiary criteria that
motor carrier applicants are required to present to the
Commission for a certificate of public convenience. Fur-
ther, we believe there is sufficient information to guide
applicants in the policy statement concerning motor car-
rier application criteria. There is a necessary flexibility
attached to those criteria, evidencing that applicants do
not lend themselves to a ‘‘one-size-fits-all approach.’’
Therefore, we decline to address those guidelines at this
time.

8. P-00940884; Regulation of Property Carriers, And
P-00981458; Regulation of Group and Party Carriers

The Commission did not receive any comments on
regulations at dockets P-00940884 or P-00981458. Accord-
ingly, the Commission will not make any updates or
changes with respect to these dockets.

B. Rulemaking

The Commission has considered all the comments it
received at this docket and will open a rulemaking to
consider appropriate insurance requirements for passen-
ger motor carriers. 52 Pa. Code § 32.11.

The Commission’s regulation at Section 32.11 currently
provides:

§ 32.11. Passenger carrier insurance.

(a) A common carrier or contract carrier of passen-
gers may not engage in intrastate commerce and a
certificate or permit will not be issued, or remain in
force, except as provided in § 32.15 (relating to
applications to self-insure) until there has been filed
with and approved by the Commission a certificate of
insurance by an insurer authorized to do business in
this Commonwealth, to provide for the payment of
valid accident claims against the insured for bodily
injury to or the death of a person, or the loss of or
damage to property of others resulting from the

operation, maintenance or use of a motor vehicle in
the insured authorized service.
(b) The liability insurance maintained by a common
or contract carrier of passengers on each motor
vehicle capable of transporting fewer than 16 passen-
gers shall be in an amount not less than $35,000 to
cover liability for bodily injury, death or property
damage incurred in an accident arising from autho-
rized service. The $35,000 minimum coverage is split
coverage in the amounts of $15,000 bodily injury per
person, $30,000 bodily injury per accident and $5,000
property damage per accident. This coverage shall
include first party medical benefits in the amount of
$25,000 and first party wage loss benefits in the
amount of $10,000 for passengers and pedestrians.
Except as to the required amount of coverage, these
benefits shall conform to 75 Pa.C.S. §§ 1701—1799.7
(relating to Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility
Law). First party coverage of the driver of certificated
vehicles shall meet the requirements of 75 Pa.C.S.
§ 1711 (relating to required benefits).
(c) The liability insurance maintained by a common
or contract carrier of passengers on each motor
vehicle capable of transporting 16 to 28 passengers
shall be in an amount not less than $1 million to
cover liability for bodily injury, death or property
damage incurred in an accident arising from autho-
rized service. Except as to the required amount of
liability coverage, this coverage shall meet the re-
quirements of 75 Pa.C.S. §§ 1701—1799.7.
(d) The liability insurance maintained by a common
or contract carrier of passengers on each motor
vehicle capable of transporting more than 28 passen-
gers shall be in an amount not less than $5 million to
cover liability for bodily injury, death or property
damage incurred in an accident arising from autho-
rized service. Except as to the required amount of
liability coverage, this coverage shall meet the re-
quirements of 75 Pa.C.S. §§ 1701—1799.7.
(e) The limits in subsections (b)—(d) do not include
the insurance of cargo.
The last time the Commission amended Section 32.11

was on May 11, 2000. Rulemaking Re: Passenger Carrier
Insurance Regulation to Clarify Coverage Requirements
52 Pa. Code § 32.11, Docket No. L-00970124 (Order May
11, 2000). The Independent Regulatory Review Commis-
sion noted that the minimum requirement of $35,000 per
accident may be inadequate coverage for passenger carri-
ers of less than 16 passengers. Id. at 3. We addressed this
comment and reasoned that:

in addition to ensuring that the public is adequately
covered in the event of an accident, the Commission
must also take into consideration the high cost of
insurance for taxicab companies. We are mindful that
our goal is not to make getting and maintaining
insurance an insurmountable burden on taxicab com-
panies. We must balance the interest of protecting
the public with the interests of making it financially
feasible for taxicab companies to continue providing
adequate, safe and reasonable service to the public.

Id. at 3-4.

Given the concerns that $35,000 split coverage per
accident may be insufficient and that the Commission
received comments suggesting the minimum insurance
coverage is insufficient the Commission opens a rule-
making to consider increasing this amount. The Commis-
sion has reviewed the minimum liability insurance limits
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in Maryland, Michigan, New York, and Ohio as well as
federal requirements for motor common carriers of pas-
sengers.

Based on that review, it is apparent that the minimum
liability insurance limits for motor common carriers of
passengers with a capacity under 16 passengers in the
Commonwealth is significantly lower by comparison to
these jurisdictions. In Maryland, passenger carriers of
seven passengers or less are required to have at least a
$120,000 combined single limit liability insurance policy.
See Md. Code Regs. 20.95.01.18. Passenger carriers in
Michigan with a seating capacity under nine passengers
requires at least a $300,000 combined single limit liabil-
ity insurance policy. Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 257.2121
(West). In New York, passenger carriers carrying less
than 12 passengers under the jurisdiction of the New
York Department of Transportation are required to main-
tain at least $100,000 for personal injury or death to one
person, $300,000 for personal injury or death to all
persons in one accident with a maximum of $100,000 for
each person; and property damage in the amount of
$50,000. N.Y. Comp. Codes R. & Regs. Title 17, § 750.1.
The Public Utilities Commission in Ohio directs its motor
common carriers to maintain liability insurance on ve-
hicles with a capacity of less than 16 passengers in the
amount of $1.5 million. Ohio motor common carriers with
a seating capacity of 16 or more passengers are required
to maintain at least $5 million in liability insurance. Ohio
Admin. Code 4901:2-13-03. Finally, the federal regula-
tions provide that any motor common carrier operating
vehicles with a passenger capacity less than 16 (except
for taxis that can carry up to seven passengers) must
have at least $1.5 million in liability insurance. Motor
common carriers under federal jurisdiction with passen-
ger capacity of 16 or more must have at least $5 million
in liability insurance. 49 C.F.R. § 387.31.

Considering other jurisdictions’ requirements for liabil-
ity insurance on motor common carriers of passengers,
the Commission believes it is in the public interest that
the minimum level of liability insurance for motor com-
mon carriers of passengers operating vehicles with a
capacity of less than 16 passengers should be raised to
$100,000 for bodily injury and $25,000 for property
damage. This amount of minimum required liability
insurance will ensure that the public is adequately
protected in the event of an accident while not imposing
an insurmountable burden on passenger carriers operat-
ing smaller vehicles. We propose that this coverage
amount will be split coverage of $50,000 for death or
bodily injury per person, $100,000 for death or bodily
injury per incident, and $25,000 for property damage.
Additionally, we propose maintaining current first party
medical benefits of $25,000 and first party wage loss
benefits of $10,000 for passengers and pedestrians. We
note that this proposed coverage is consistent with cover-
age amounts and types required for vehicles used in
transportation network service that are available for
service but not engaged in a ride.

Finally, we do not propose any changes to the current
insurance requirements for motor carriers operating ve-
hicles with seating capacities of 16 passengers or more.
As noted, those limits are $1 million for carriers trans-
porting 16 to 28 passengers and $5 million for carriers
transporting over 28 passengers.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)), on June 22, 2018, the Commission
submitted a copy of this proposed rulemaking and a copy

of a Regulatory Analysis Form to the Independent Regu-
latory Review Commission (IRRC) and to the Chairper-
sons of the House Consumer Affairs Committee and the
Senate Consumer Protection and Professional Licensure
Committee. A copy of this material is available to the
public upon request.

Under section 5(g) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC
may convey any comments, recommendations or objec-
tions to the proposed rulemaking within 30 days of the
close of the public comment period. The comments, recom-
mendations or objections must specify the regulatory
review criteria in section 5.2 of the Regulatory Review Act
(71 P.S. § 745.5b) which have not been met. The Regula-
tory Review Act specifies detailed procedures for review,
prior to final publication of the rulemaking, by the
Commission, the General Assembly and the Governor of
comments, recommendations or objections raised.

Accordingly, under sections 501, 512 and 2502 of the
Public Utility Code (66 Pa.C.S. §§ 501, 512 and 2502)
sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968 (P.L. 769,
No. 240) (45 P.S. §§ 1201 and 1202), and the regulations
promulgated thereunder at 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1, 7.2 and 7.5;
section 204(b) of the Commonwealth Attorneys Act (71
P.S. § 732.204(b)); section 5 of the Regulatory Review Act
(71 P.S. § 745.5); and section 612 of The Administrative
Code of 1929 (71 P.S. § 232), and the regulations promul-
gated thereunder at 4 Pa. Code §§ 7.231—7.234, we
propose adopting the regulation set forth in Annex A;
Therefore,

It Is Ordered That:

1. A rulemaking be opened to consider the regulations
set forth in Annex A.

2. The Law Bureau shall submit this rulemaking order
and Annex A to the Office of Attorney General for review
as to form and legality and to the Governor’s Budget
Office for review of fiscal impact.

3. The Law Bureau shall submit this rulemaking order
and Annex A for review and comments to the Independent
Regulatory Review Commission and the Legislative
Standing Committees.

4. The Law Bureau shall deposit this rulemaking order
and Annex A with the Legislative Reference Bureau to be
published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

5. Original written comments referencing Docket Num-
ber L-2017-2604692 be submitted within 30 days of
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin to the Pennsyl-
vania Public Utility Commission, Attn: Secretary, Com-
monwealth Keystone Building, 2nd Floor, 400 North
Street, Harrisburg, PA 17120.

6. A copy of this rulemaking order and Annex A shall
be served on the Commission’s Bureau of Investigation
and Enforcement, the Office of Consumer Advocate, and
the Office of Small Business Advocate.

7. The contact person for legal matters on this rule-
making is Joseph P. Cardinale, Jr., Assistant Counsel,
Law Bureau, (717) 787-5558. Alternate formats of this
document are available to persons with disabilities and
may be obtained by contacting Alyson Zerbe, Regulatory
Review Coordinator, Law Bureau, (717) 772-4597.

ROSEMARY CHIAVETTA,
Secretary

Fiscal Note: 57-320. No fiscal impact; (8) recommends
adoption.
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Annex A
TITLE 52. PUBLIC UTILITIES

PART I. PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION
Subpart B. CARRIERS OF PASSENGERS OR

PROPERTY
CHAPTER 32. MOTOR CARRIER INSURANCE
Subchapter B. INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS

§ 32.11. Passenger carrier insurance.
* * * * *

(b) The liability insurance maintained by a common or
contract carrier of passengers on each motor vehicle
capable of transporting fewer than 16 passengers
[ shall ] must be in an amount not less than [ $35,000 ]
$125,000 to cover liability for bodily injury, death or
property damage incurred in an accident arising from
authorized service. The [ $35,000 ] $125,000 minimum
coverage is split coverage in the amounts of [ $15,000 ]
$50,000 bodily injury per person, [ $30,000 ] $100,000
bodily injury per accident and [ $5,000 ] $25,000 prop-
erty damage per accident. This coverage [ shall ] must
include first party medical benefits in the amount of
$25,000 and first party wage loss benefits in the amount
of $10,000 for passengers and pedestrians. Except as to
the required amount of coverage, these benefits [ shall ]
must conform to 75 Pa.C.S. §§ 1701—1799.7 (relating to
Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Law). First party
coverage of the driver of certificated vehicles [ shall ]
must meet the requirements of 75 Pa.C.S. § 1711 (relat-
ing to required benefits).

* * * * *
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 18-1032. Filed for public inspection July 6, 2018, 9:00 a.m.]

STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

[ 49 PA. CODE CH. 36 ]
Federally-Mandated Revisions

The State Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers
(Board) proposes to amend Chapter 36 to read as set
forth in Annex A.
Effective Date

This proposed rulemaking will be effective upon final-
form publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

Purpose

This proposed rulemaking would amend and clarify
requirements regarding applications, initial education,
experience, examinations, continuing education and su-
pervisory appraiser experience to be consistent with
Federal criteria that are binding on the Board under Title
XI of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and
Enforcement Act of 1989 (FIRREA) (Pub.L. No. 101-73,
103 Stat. 183) (12 U.S.C.A. §§ 3331—3356).

Statutory Authority

Section 5(1) of the Real Estate Appraisers Certification
Act (act) (63 P.S. § 457.5(1)) authorizes the Board to pass
upon the qualifications and fitness of applicants for

certification or licensure and to adopt and revise rules
and regulations requiring applicants for certification to
pass examinations regarding qualifications for certifica-
tion. Section 5(2) of the act authorizes the Board to adopt
and revise rules and regulations as may be necessary to
carry out the act. Under section 6 of the act (63 P.S.
§ 457.6), the Board is authorized to issue certificates to
real estate appraisers who meet the minimum education
and experience criteria established by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board (AQB) of The Appraisal Foundation
under FIRREA. The AQB publication establishing the
minimum education, experience, examination and con-
tinuing education requirements for real property apprais-
ers is The Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria
(AQB Qualification Criteria).

The act of July 7, 2016 (P.L. 474, No. 72) (Act 72)
amended the act to implement Federally-mandated mini-
mum qualification criteria, including minimum require-
ments for licensed appraiser trainees. Additionally, sec-
tion 4 of Act 72 added section 10(b.2) of the act (63 P.S.
§ 457.10(b.2), which provides that licensed appraiser
trainees are subject to the same continuing education
requirements for licensure renewal as residential and
general appraisers. Thus, licensed appraiser trainees
shall comply with the AQB Qualification Criteria for
continuing education.

Description of this Proposed Rulemaking

This proposed rulemaking would incorporate the man-
dated Federal amendments, including updates for college
education, supervisory appraiser criteria and continuing
education for licensed appraiser trainees. This proposed
rulemaking would also require applicants to submit an
official criminal history record information check.

Historically, the Board has promulgated regulations by
adopting the AQB Qualification Criteria almost verbatim
in the regulations. The Board has determined that having
two separate standards (the AQB Qualification Criteria
and the regulations that restate the minimum qualifica-
tion criteria) causes confusion among licensees and is
difficult for the Board to administer. When Federal law
changes or the AQB evaluates and modifies its minimum
qualification criteria, the regulations are not immediately
reflective of the new AQB Qualification Criteria because
the Board must amend its regulations. In January 2015,
the AQB updated its minimum qualification criteria,
which included changes in education criteria. Shortly
after the new criteria were adopted, the AQB began
entertaining potential areas of change to the criteria.
After issuing a concept paper, having a public hearing
and issuing several versions of exposure drafts proposing
changes to the criteria, the AQB modified again the
minimum criteria for certification of real property ap-
praisers, which included changes in education and experi-
ence criteria that were effective May 1, 2018. Thus, this
proposed rulemaking implements the May 1, 2018, mini-
mum qualification criteria. Given the foregoing, the Board
determined that it is more efficient and prudent to adopt
and incorporate the AQB Qualification Criteria by refer-
ence, when practicable. By adopting and incorporating the
AQB Qualification Criteria by reference, the Board will
eliminate the need to amend its regulations when the
AQB updates or modifies the minimum qualification
criteria. When the Board wishes to maintain or propose
regulations that are more stringent than the Federal
minimum standards, this proposed rulemaking would
adopt the AQB Qualification Criteria by reference, but
would also maintain or propose the Board’s more strin-
gent standards.
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The Board has incorporated another Federal standard
by reference in the same way the Board proposes to adopt
the AQB Qualification Criteria in this proposed rule-
making. In § 36.51 (relating to compliance with USPAP),
the Board adopted by reference The Uniform Standards of
Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) promulgated by
the Appraisal Standards Board of The Appraisal Founda-
tion.

The Board will take steps to ensure that its licensee
population has easy access to the AQB Qualification
Criteria. In addition to providing The Appraisal Founda-
tion web site in this proposed rulemaking, the Board will
place a link on its web site to The Appraisal Foundation
and the AQB Qualification Criteria.

§ 36.1. Definitions

The Board proposes six amendments to § 36.1 (relating
to definitions). The Board proposes amendments to the
definition of ‘‘AQB’’—to provide additional information
regarding the role of the AQB in establishing the mini-
mum education, experience, examination and continuing
education requirements for appraisers. The Board pro-
poses to add a definition of ‘‘AQB Qualification Criteria’’
because the Board proposes adopting this criteria by
reference throughout this proposed rulemaking. The
Board also proposes to add a definition of ‘‘ASC.’’ The
Board proposes an amendment to the definition of
‘‘Board’’ to clarify that the Board operates within the
Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs in the
Department of State. The Board proposes to add ‘‘[e]xcept
as otherwise required by the AQB Qualification Criteria’’
to the definition of ‘‘distance education.’’ Because FIRREA
requires real estate appraisers and licensed appraiser
trainees to adhere to the AQB Qualification Criteria for
distance education, the Board proposes to add this phrase
to ensure that licensees understand that they are also
required to adhere to the AQB Qualification Criteria in
addition to the act and Chapter 36, Subchapter A (relat-
ing to general provisions).

The Board also proposes to add a definition of ‘‘in good
standing’’ because proposed amendments to § 36.54 (re-
lating to duties of supervisory appraiser) include a re-
quirement that the supervisor be in good standing for at
least 3 years immediately preceding the supervisory
appraiser’s notification to the Board. For that reason, the
Board finds it necessary to clarify what it means to be ‘‘in
good standing.’’

§ 36.2. Application process

Application form

The Board proposes to reformat and make three
amendments to § 36.2(a) (relating to application process)
to clarify the Board’s requirements for applications. The
Board proposes to amend § 36.2(a) by requiring an
official criminal history record information check from the
State Police or other state agency for every state in which
the candidate has lived or worked during the past 5
years. Under section 6(c) of the act, the Board is required
to determine whether all applicants are of ‘‘good moral
character.’’ Under section 11(a) of the act (63 P.S.
§ 457.11(a)), the Board is authorized to deny an applica-
tion for certification or licensure, or limit or restrict a
license or certification for being convicted of or pleading
guilty to crimes substantially related to the qualifications,
functions and duties of a person developing real property
appraisals and communicating real property appraisal to
others. Under section 5(11) of the act, to the extent
required by standards and regulations for the qualifica-
tions of appraisers promulgated under FIRREA, the

Board may consider criminal history record information of
convictions and arrests that do not result in a conviction.
Additionally, section 6(c)(3) the act requires applicants for
certification and licensure to satisfy requirements for
dissemination to the Board of criminal history record
information required by the AQB Qualification Criteria.

Effective January 1, 2017, the AQB Qualification Crite-
ria requires background checks for all applicants for a
real property appraiser credential to determine whether
the applicants possess a background that would call into
question public trust. In implementing the required back-
ground check, the Board is required to obtain sufficient
information and documentation to determine applicants’
fitness for licensure or certification. Under the 2017
amendments to the AQB Qualification Criteria, applicants
are not eligible for a real property appraiser credential if,
during at least the 5-year period immediately preceding
the date of the application for licensing or certification,
the applicant has been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo
contendere to a crime that would call into question the
applicant’s fitness for licensure. Thus, it is imperative
under the act and the Federal standards to obtain
criminal history record information for applicants to
determine criminal history, good moral character and
fitness for licensure or certification. The Board deter-
mined that requiring the official criminal history record
information check will enable the Board to meet its State
and Federal obligations.

The Board proposes to amend subsection (a) by adding
a provision that applicants shall satisfy all the require-
ments for licensure or certification, including the require-
ments set by the AQB Qualification Criteria. Including
this provision in the application process will put appli-
cants on notice that applications must contain sufficient
information to show compliance with all of the require-
ments for licensure or certification.

The Board further proposes to amend subsection (a) by
deleting the requirement to submit notarized applica-
tions. Until recently, the notarization requirement was
required under section 6(c) of the act. Act 72 amended the
act and this requirement was deleted.
Application fee

The Board proposes to reformat and make one amend-
ment to § 36.2(b) to clarify application procedures. The
Board proposed to add electronic payment as an accept-
able method for payment of application fees. The Bureau
of Professional and Occupational Affairs has the technical
capability to accept electronic payments and encourages
licensees to use the electronic payment option.
Approved applications

The Board proposes to reformat and amend § 36.2(c)(1)
to clarify the effect of approval of the application. Pro-
posed paragraph (2) clarifies that an approval by the
Board of an application for licensed appraiser trainee,
certified residential real estate appraiser and certified
general real estate appraiser under section 7 of the act
(63 P.S. § 457.7), pertaining to reciprocity, shall consti-
tute approval to issue a license or certificate to the
applicant.
Disapproved applications

The Board proposes to reformat and make minor
amendments to § 36.2(d) to clarify procedures regarding
disapproved applications.
Compliance with new requirements

The Board proposes throughout this proposed rule-
making to incorporate the AQB Qualification Criteria by
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reference with respect to applicants for certification as
residential real estate appraisers, certification as general
real estate appraisers and licensure as appraiser trainees.
Additionally, § 36.2(e) currently requires compliance with
any increased education or experience requirements that
take effect between the applicant’s filing of an initial
application and the applicant’s passing the certification
examination, except as otherwise provided by §§ 36.11
and 36.12 (relating to qualifications for certification as
residential real estate appraiser; and qualifications for
certification as general real estate appraiser). For consis-
tency and clarification, the Board proposes to amend
§ 36.2(e) to clarify that applicants for appraiser trainees
shall comply with any increased education requirement,
except as otherwise provided in § 36.12a (relating to
qualifications for licensure as appraiser trainee) or as
required by the AQB Qualification Criteria. The Board
also proposes to reformat § 36.2(e) for clarity.

§ 36.3. Examinations

The Board proposes to make minor amendments to this
section to clarify the required examinations. The Board
proposes to delete the name of the examination and
proposes a more general approach, without a specific
name of an examination. Thus, if the name of the
examination changes in the future, the Board will not
have to make further amendments. The current and
proposed regulation require the AQB-approved National
examination for certification. Therefore, the proposed
amendment does not substantively change the examina-
tion requirements. Additionally, the Board proposes to
delete the web site address. The web site address is
readily available and accessible to licensees.

§ 36.11. Qualifications for certification as residential real
estate appraiser

Overview

The Board proposes to reformat and amend § 36.11(a)
to clarify the requirements for certification. The Board
proposes to amend subsection (a) by specifically requiring
that applicants for certification as a residential real
estate appraiser satisfy all the requirements set by the
AQB Qualification Criteria. The Board also proposes to
delete the following sentence from § 36.11(a): ‘‘Neither a
real estate salesperson’s license nor a real estate broker’s
license issued under the Real Estate Licensing and
Registration Act (63 P.S. § 455.101—455.902) is a prereq-
uisite to certification as a residential real estate ap-
praiser.’’ The Board proposes to delete this sentence
because it is not necessary to indicate that other licenses
are not a prerequisite to licensure. The act and the
regulations clearly set forth what criteria are required for
certification as a residential real estate appraiser. Thus,
this information is superfluous.

Appraisal classroom hours

The Board proposes to amend § 36.11(b) to require
applicants for certification as a residential real estate
appraiser to submit evidence showing completion of the
classroom hours required by the AQB as of the date of the
application. Because the current regulation, which re-
quires 200 classroom hours, is the same requirement as
the AQB Qualification Criteria for classroom hours, this
proposed rulemaking does not make a substantive change
to the classroom hours required for certification. The
Board’s purpose in proposing this amendment is to incor-
porate the Federally-mandated minimum qualification
criteria by reference. Incorporating the AQB Qualification
Criteria by reference will alleviate future need to amend
its regulations when the AQB modifies or updates its

minimum qualification criteria regarding classroom
hours. The Board also proposes deletion of the provision
that provides an exception for applicants who submitted
applications prior to January 1, 2013, because this date
has passed, and applicants are no longer eligible to apply
for certification under this provision.

Length of classroom hour requirement

The Board proposes to amend the heading of
§ 36.11(b)(1) from ‘‘Length of classroom hour require-
ment’’ to ‘‘Length of classroom hour and courses; course
examination requirement’’ to more accurately describe the
scope of this paragraph. The Board proposes to delete the
current specific requirements regarding classroom hours
(50 minutes of each 60-minute segment) and courses
(length of course is at least 15 hours), which are the
current AQB requirements. The Board proposes to amend
this paragraph by incorporating the AQB Qualification
Criteria by reference. This proposed amendment does not
substantively change the requirements of the current
regulation. Incorporating the AQB Qualification Criteria
by reference will alleviate future need to amend the
regulations when the AQB modifies or updates its mini-
mum qualification criteria regarding classroom hour or
course examination requirements. Additionally, the Board
proposes to reformat this paragraph to clarify the require-
ments for classroom hours and course examinations.

Providers of appraisal courses

The Board proposes to amend § 36.11(b)(2) to specifi-
cally require that credit for the classroom hour require-
ment may be obtained only from providers in the AQB
Qualification Criteria. This proposed amendment does not
change the current regulations. The Board proposes to
amend this paragraph by incorporating the AQB Qualifi-
cation Criteria by reference. Incorporating the AQB
Qualification Criteria by reference will alleviate future
need to amend its regulations when the AQB modifies or
updates its minimum qualification criteria.

Distance education

The Board proposes to amend § 36.11(b)(3) by specifi-
cally requiring compliance with the requirements in the
AQB Qualification Criteria. The current regulations com-
port with the minimum qualification criteria set by the
AQB. Therefore, the proposed amendment does not sub-
stantively change the current regulation. The Board is
proposing to amend this paragraph by incorporating the
AQB Qualification Criteria by reference to alleviate fu-
ture need to amend the regulations when the AQB
modifies or updates its minimum qualification criteria.

Content of appraisal education

The Board proposes to delete § 36.11(c)(1), which sets
forth the content of appraisal education required for
applicants subject to the 120 classroom hour requirement.
The Board proposes to delete this paragraph because
applicants are no longer eligible to apply for certification
under this provision.

The Board also proposes to amend subsection (c) by
specifically requiring compliance with the qualifying edu-
cation requirements in the AQB Qualification Criteria
and as specified in the Required Core Curriculum of the
AQB Qualification Criteria. Additionally, the Board pro-
poses to adopt and incorporate Guide Note 1 (AQB
Guidance for Required Core Curriculum Content) (Re-
quired Core Curriculum) of the AQB Qualification Crite-
ria by reference. The Required Core Curriculum is
Federally-mandated curriculum for the content of ap-
praisal education. While AQB Guide Note 1 is not binding
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on the Board, in promulgating regulations for the content
of appraisal education, the Board has in the past adopted
verbatim the Required Core Curriculum and Guide Note
1. The current regulations comport with Required Core
Curriculum. However, the AQB added additional catego-
ries to Guide Note 1. Because the Board is required to
adhere to and enforce the Required Core Curriculum and
has determined that Guide Note 1 provides the basis for
the required content of appraisal education, the Board
proposes to adopt and incorporate these Federal stan-
dards by reference and proposes to delete the verbatim
text in the current regulations. Incorporating the AQB
Qualification Criteria by reference will alleviate future
need to amend the regulations when the AQB modifies or
updates its minimum qualification criteria.

Postsecondary education

The Board proposes to amend § 36.11(d) by specifically
requiring compliance with the postsecondary education
requirements set by the AQB Qualification Criteria. The
current regulations, which require an associate’s degree
or completion of 21 semester credit hours in certain
college-level subjects, are noncompliant with Federal re-
quirements and must be amended to reflect the AQB
Qualification Criteria, which were adopted on May 1,
2018. Under the May 1, 2018, AQB Qualification Criteria,
applicants have the following six educational options to
satisfy the postsecondary education requirements, includ-
ing: option 1) a bachelor’s degree from an accredited
college or university; option 2) an associate’s degree in a
field of study related to business administration, account-
ing, finance, economics or real estate; option 3) successful
completion of 30 semester hours of college-level course
that cover each of the following specific topic areas and
hours—English composition; microeconomics; macroeco-
nomics; finance; algebra, geometry or higher math; statis-
tics; computer science; business law or real estate law;
and two elective courses in any of the previously listed
topics, or in accounting, geography, agricultural econom-
ics, business management or real estate (3 hours each);
option 4) successful completion of at least 30 hours of
College Level Examination Program� examinations that
cover each of the specific topic areas in option 3; option 5)
any combination of options 3 and 4 that includes all of
the topics identified; and option 6) no college-level educa-
tion required. This option applies to appraisers who have
held a licensed residential credential for a minimum of 5
years and have no record of adverse, final and nonappeal-
able disciplinary action affecting the licensed residential
appraiser’s legal eligibility to engage in appraisal practice
within the 5 years immediately preceding the date of
application for a certified residential real estate appraiser
credential.

Because the Board is required to adhere to and enforce
the AQB Qualification Criteria postsecondary education
requirements, the Board proposes to adopt and incorpo-
rate the Federal standards by reference. The Board’s
purpose in proposing this amendment is to become com-
pliant with Federal standards and, in the future, expedi-
tiously effectuate Federally-mandated amendments with
regard to the AQB Qualification Criteria. Additionally, the
Board wishes to alleviate future need to amend the
regulations when the AQB updates its minimum qualifi-
cation criteria regarding the postsecondary education
requirements. The Board also proposes to delete
§ 36.11(d)(2) because applicants are no longer eligible to
apply for certification under this provision.

Experience

The Board proposes to amend § 36.11(e)(1) by incorpo-
rating the AQB Qualification Criteria for experience by
reference. The Board’s purpose in proposing this amend-
ment is to ensure compliance with Federal standards.
This proposed amendment will expeditiously effectuate
Federally-mandated amendments with regard to the AQB
Qualification Criteria. Additionally, the Board wishes to
alleviate future need to amend the regulations when the
AQB modifies or updates its minimum qualification crite-
ria regarding experience requirements.

Incorporating the Federal standards into the regula-
tions changes the experience requirements for the certi-
fied residential real estate appraiser credential. For the
certified residential real estate appraiser credential, the
proposed rulemaking would change the required hours of
experience from ‘‘2,500 hours of acceptable appraisal
experience during a period of at least 24 months’’ to 1,500
hours of experience in no fewer than 12 months. In
deciding to adopt the minimum qualification criteria over
the current regulations, which reflect a more stringent
standard, the Board considered the National concerns
about the appraisal profession, including shortages of
appraisers and insufficient number of trainees entering
the profession as well as concerns about the graying of
the profession. In this Commonwealth, there are approxi-
mately 1,380 general real estate appraisers, 1,776 resi-
dential real estate appraisers and 359 licensed appraiser
trainees. The median and average ages are as follows:
general real estate appraiser (median: 58; average: 56.79);
residential real estate appraiser (median: 57; average:
56.86); licensed appraiser trainee (median: 36; average:
38.49). Given the National concerns as well as the data
for the licensing population in this Commonwealth, the
Board believes that adopting the AQB Qualification Crite-
ria is appropriate and prudent.

Although the Board proposes to adopt the AQB Qualifi-
cation Criteria by reference, in § 36.11(e)(2) the Board
proposes to maintain its current requirement that at least
50% of the total number of hours of the experience
acquired by the applicant shall be in the actual prepara-
tion of real estate appraisal reports, which includes
physical inspections of the interior and exterior of the
subject properties. This provision is not an AQB require-
ment, but the Board continues to believe that appraisal
report writing is a critical component of experience and
thus has determined that this requirement is appropriate.
In current § 36.11(e)(1), the number of hours is expressed
in an actual figure (1,250 hours), which represents 50% of
the total number of the current experience hours. In the
proposed rulemaking, the Board proposes using a percent-
age figure (50%) instead of a specific figure based upon
the current number of required experience hours. The
Board’s adoption of the AQB Qualification Criteria for
experience (from 2,500 hours to 1,500 hours) will change
the number of hours in actual preparation of real estate
appraisal reports from 1,250 to 750 hours. The Board
believes changing to a percentage is prudent because the
AQB periodically amends the minimum qualification cri-
teria. While the AQB recently change experience hours on
May 1, 2018, there is ongoing discussion within the
profession regarding the appropriate number of experi-
ence hours. Proposed to amend the regulations to a
percentage will alleviate the need to amend the regula-
tions in the event the AQB Qualification Criteria changes
in this regard.

The Board proposes to amend § 36.11(e)(2) by renum-
bering it to § 36.11(e)(3) and by making minor amend-
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ments to the second sentence of this paragraph for clarity.
The Board also proposes to add an additional require-
ment. This provision would make the Commonwealth
more stringent than the AQB Qualification Criteria and
would require applicants for residential real estate ap-
praisers to possess licensure as an appraiser trainee to
obtain experience credit. The Board proposes this amend-
ment because it wants to ensure that the experience
credit obtained by applicants is reflective of current
appraisal standards and that applicants have learned
basic appraisal principles and procedures as well as
USPAP prior to obtaining experience. Additionally, requir-
ing licensure as an appraiser trainee prior to obtaining
experience will provide more mentoring and training of
future valuation professionals. The Board proposes to
delay the implementation until January 1, 2020, to give
sufficient notice to applicants who may wish to use
experience credit obtained prior to becoming a licensed
appraiser trainee.

The acceptable categories of appraisal experience are
included in proposed paragraph (4). The AQB Qualifica-
tion Criteria for experience is less specific than the
regulations. Although the current and proposed regula-
tions incorporate the existing AQB Qualification Criteria,
the Board determined that the acceptable categories of
appraisal experience in the current regulation are in-
structive and provide additional guidance to applicants.
Because the categories of experience are consistent with
the AQB requirements, the Board determined it was not
necessary or appropriate to delete these categories. The
Board also proposes to make minor amendments to
§ 36.11(e)(4)(ii) for clarification. The Board proposes to
amend the reference from ‘‘appraiser’’ to ‘‘applicant’’ be-
cause ad valorem tax appraisals do not have to be
performed by an appraiser.

§ 36.12. Qualifications for certification as general real
estate appraiser

Overview

The Board proposes to amend and reformat § 36.12(a)
to clarify the requirements for certification. The Board
proposes to amend subsection (a) by specifically requiring
that applicants for certification as a general real estate
appraiser satisfy all the requirements in the AQB Qualifi-
cation Criteria. The Board also proposes to delete the
following sentence from subsection (a): ‘‘Neither a real
estate salesperson’s license nor a real estate broker’s
license issued under the Real Estate Licensing and
Registration Act (63 P.S. §§ 455.101—455.902) is a pre-
requisite to certification as a general real estate ap-
praiser.’’ The Board proposes to delete this sentence
because it is not necessary to indicate that other licenses
are not a prerequisite to licensure. The act and the
regulations clearly set forth what criteria are required for
certification as a general real estate appraiser. Thus, this
information is superfluous.

Appraisal classroom hours

The Board proposes to amend § 36.12(b) to require
applicants for certification as a general real estate ap-
praiser to submit evidence showing completion of the
classroom hours required by the AQB as of the date of the
application. Because the current regulation, which re-
quires 300 classroom hours, is the same requirement as
the AQB Qualification Criteria for classroom hours, the
Board’s proposed rulemaking does not make a substantive
change to the classroom hours required for certification.
The Board’s purpose in proposing this amendment is to
incorporate the Federally-mandated minimum qualifica-

tion criteria by reference. Incorporating the AQB Qualifi-
cation Criteria by reference will alleviate future need to
amend the regulations when the AQB modifies or updates
its minimum qualification criteria regarding classroom
hours. The Board also proposes to delete the provision
that provides an exception for applicants who submitted
applications prior to January 1, 2013, because this date
has passed and applicants are no longer eligible to apply
for certification under this provision.

Length of classroom hour requirement

The Board proposes to amend the heading of
§ 36.12(b)(1) from ‘‘Length of classroom hour require-
ment’’ to ‘‘Length of classroom hour and courses; course
examination requirement’’ to more accurately describe the
scope of this paragraph. The Board proposes to delete the
current specific requirements regarding classroom hours
(50 minutes of each 60-minute segment) and courses
(length of course is at least 15 hours), which are the
current AQB requirements. The Board proposes to amend
this paragraph to specifically reference and require com-
pliance with the AQB Qualification Criteria. This pro-
posed amendment does not substantively change the
requirements of the current regulation. Incorporating the
AQB Qualification Criteria by reference will alleviate
future need to amend the regulations when the AQB
modifies or updates its minimum qualification criteria
regarding classroom hour or course examination require-
ments. Additionally, the Board proposes to reformat this
paragraph to clarify the requirements for classroom hours
and course examinations.

Providers of appraisal courses

The Board proposes to amend § 36.12(b)(2) to specifi-
cally require that credit for the classroom hour require-
ment may be obtained only from the providers in the AQB
Qualification Criteria. This proposed amendment does not
substantively change the current regulations. The Board
proposes to amend this paragraph by incorporating the
AQB Qualification Criteria by reference to alleviate fu-
ture need to amend the regulations when the AQB
modifies or updates its minimum qualification criteria.

Distance education

The Board proposes to amend § 36.12(b)(3) by specifi-
cally requiring compliance with the requirements in the
AQB Qualification Criteria. The current regulations com-
port with the minimum qualification criteria set by the
AQB. Therefore, the proposed amendment does not sub-
stantively change the current regulation. The Board
proposes to amend this paragraph by incorporating the
AQB Qualification Criteria by reference to alleviate fu-
ture need to amend the regulations when the AQB
modifies or updates its minimum qualification criteria.

Content of appraisal education

The Board proposes to delete § 36.12(c)(1), which sets
forth the content of appraisal education required for
applicants subject to the 180-classroom hour requirement.
The Board proposes to delete this paragraph because
applicants are no longer eligible to apply for certification
under this provision.

The Board also proposes to amend § 36.12(c) by specifi-
cally requiring compliance with the qualifying education
requirements in the AQB Qualification Criteria and as
specified in the Required Core Curriculum of the AQB
Qualification Criteria. Additionally, the Board proposes to
adopt and incorporate by reference Guide Note 1 of the
AQB Qualification Criteria. The Required Core Curricu-
lum is Federally-mandated curriculum for the content of
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appraisal education. While the AQB Guide Note 1 is not
binding on the Board, in promulgating regulations for the
content of appraisal education, the Board has adopted
verbatim the Required Core Curriculum and Guide Note
1. The current regulations comport with Required Core
Curriculum. However, the AQB added additional catego-
ries to Guide Note 1. Because the Board is required to
adhere to and enforce the Required Core Curriculum and
has determined that Guide Note 1 provides the basis for
the required content of appraisal education, the Board
proposes to adopt and incorporate these Federal stan-
dards by reference and proposes to delete the verbatim
text in the current regulations. Incorporating the AQB
Qualification Criteria by reference will alleviate future
need to amend the regulations when the AQB modifies or
updates its minimum qualification criteria.

Postsecondary education

The Board proposes to amend § 36.12(d) by specifically
requiring compliance with the postsecondary education
requirements in the AQB Qualification Criteria. The
current regulations, which require a bachelor’s degree or
completion of 30 semester credit hours in certain college-
level subjects, are noncompliant with Federal require-
ments and must be amended to require a bachelor’s
degree, or higher, from an accredited college or university.
Because the Board is required to adhere to and enforce
the postsecondary education requirements, the Board
proposes to adopt and incorporate the AQB Qualification
Criteria by reference. The Board’s purpose in proposing
this amendment is to become compliant with Federal
standards and, in the future, expeditiously effectuate
Federally-mandated amendments with regard to the AQB
Qualification Criteria. Additionally, the Board wishes to
alleviate future need to amend the regulations when the
AQB updates its minimum qualification criteria regarding
the postsecondary education requirements. The Board
also proposes to delete § 36.12(d)(2) because applicants
are no longer eligible to apply for certification under this
paragraph.

Experience

The Board proposes to amend § 36.12(e) by incorporat-
ing the AQB Qualification Criteria for experience by
reference. Incorporating the Federal standards into the
regulations changes the experience requirement for the
certified general real estate appraiser credential. The
Board’s purpose in proposing this amendment is to ensure
compliance with Federal standards. This amendment will
expeditiously effectuate Federally-mandated amendments
with regard to the AQB Qualification Criteria. Addition-
ally, the Board wishes to alleviate future need to amend
the regulations when the AQB modifies or updates its
minimum qualification criteria regarding experience re-
quirements.

For the certified general real estate appraiser, the
proposed rulemaking will not change the number of hours
of experience required (3,000). However, the time to
complete the experience hours will change from ‘‘in no
fewer than 30 months’’ to in no fewer than 18 months. In
deciding to adopt the minimum qualification criteria over
the current regulations, which reflect a more stringent
standard, the Board considered the National concerns
about the appraisal profession, including shortages of
appraisers and insufficient number of trainees entering
the profession as well as concerns about the graying of
the profession. As noted previously, in this Common-
wealth, there are approximately 1,380 general real estate
appraisers, 1,776 residential real estate appraisers and
359 licensed appraiser trainees. The median and average

ages are as follows: general real estate appraiser (median:
58; average: 56.79); residential real estate appraiser
(median: 57; average: 56.86); licensed appraiser trainee
(median: 36; average: 38.49). Given the National concerns
as well as the data for this Commonwealth’s licensing
population, the Board believes that adopting the AQB
Qualification Criteria is appropriate and prudent.

Although the Board proposes to adopt the AQB Qualifi-
cation Criteria by reference, in § 36.12(e)(2) the Board
proposes to maintain its current requirement that at least
1,500 hours of the experience acquired by the applicant
shall be in the actual preparation of real estate appraisal
reports, which includes physical inspections of the inte-
rior and exterior of the subject properties. This provision
is not an AQB requirement, but the Board continues to
believe that appraisal report writing is a critical compo-
nent of experience and thus has determined that this
requirement is appropriate. The Board requires a mini-
mum of 1,500 hours in the preparation of appraisal
reports, which is 50% of the total experience required,
under current § 36.12(e)(1). In proposed § 36.12(e)(2), the
Board proposes to amend the minimum number of hours
from 1,500 hours to 50% of the total amount of experience
hours required by the AQB Qualification Criteria. The
proposed amendment does not substantively change the
regulation because the 1,500 is based upon 50% of the
current AQB Qualification Criteria, which requires 3,000
hours of experience. Using a percentage figure instead of
a figure based upon the current number of required
experience hours will prevent the Board from having to
revise its regulations in the event the AQB changes its
experience requirement. The Board believes this amend-
ment is necessary because it will alleviate the need to
amend the regulations when the AQB Qualification Crite-
ria is amended.

The Board proposes to renumber current paragraph (2)
to paragraph (3) and making minor amendments to the
second sentence of this paragraph to clarify the regula-
tion. The Board also proposes to add an additional
requirement to proposed paragraph (3). This provision
makes the Commonwealth more stringent than the AQB
Qualification Criteria and will require applicants for
general real estate appraisers to possess licensure as an
appraiser trainee or certification as a residential real
estate appraiser to obtain experience credit. The Board
proposes this amendment because it wants to ensure that
the experience credit obtained by applicants is reflective
of current appraisal standards and that applicants have
learned basic appraisal principles and procedures as well
as USPAP prior to obtaining experience. Additionally,
requiring licensure as an appraiser trainee prior to
obtaining experience will provide more mentoring and
training of future valuation professionals. The Board
proposes to delay the implementation of this proposed
amendment until January 1, 2020, to give sufficient
notice to applicants who may wish to use experience
credit obtained prior to becoming a licensed appraiser
trainee.

The Board proposes to move the acceptable categories
of appraisal experience to proposed § 36.12(e)(4). The
AQB Qualification Criteria for experience is less specific
than the regulations. Although the current regulation and
the proposed rulemaking incorporate the existing AQB
Qualification Criteria, the Board determined that the
acceptable categories of appraisal experience in the cur-
rent regulation are instructive and provide additional
guidance to applicants. Because the categories of experi-
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ence are consistent with the AQB requirements, the
Board determined it was not necessary or appropriate to
delete these categories.

The Board proposes to make minor amendments in
§ 36.12(e)(4)(ii) for clarification. The Board proposes to
amend the reference from ‘‘appraiser’’ to ‘‘applicant’’ be-
cause ad valorem tax appraisals do not have to be
performed by an appraiser.
§ 36.12a. Qualifications for licensure as appraiser trainee
Overview

The Board proposes to amend and reformat § 36.12a(a)
to clarify the requirements for licensure. The Board
proposes to amend § 36.12a(a) by specifically requiring
that applicants for licensure as an appraiser trainee
satisfy all the requirements in the AQB Qualification
Criteria. The proposed amendment also adds the AQB
requirement that an applicant shall complete a course
that, at a minimum, complies with the specifications for
course content established by the AQB, which is specifi-
cally oriented to the requirements and responsibilities of
supervisory appraisers and licensed appraiser trainees.
The Board also proposes to delete the following sentence
from § 36.12a(a): ‘‘Neither a real estate salesperson’s
license nor a real estate broker’s license issued under the
Real Estate Licensing and Registration Act (63 P.S.
§ 455.101—455.902) is a prerequisite for licensure as an
appraiser trainee.’’ The Board proposes to delete this
sentence because it is not necessary to indicate that other
licenses are not a prerequisite to licensure. The act and
the regulations clearly set forth what criteria are required
for certification as a general real estate appraiser. Thus,
this information is superfluous.
Appraisal classroom hours

The Board proposes to amend § 36.12a(b) to require
applicants for licensure as an appraiser trainee to submit
evidence showing completion of the classroom hours
required by the AQB Qualification Criteria. Because the
current regulation, which requires 75 classroom hours, is
the same requirement as the AQB Qualification Criteria
for classroom hours, the proposed amendment does not
make a substantive change to the classroom hours re-
quired for licensure. The Board’s purpose in proposing
this amendment is to expeditiously effectuate Federally-
mandated amendments with regard to the AQB Qualifica-
tion Criteria. Additionally, the Board wishes to alleviate
future need to amend the regulations when the AQB
updates its minimum qualification criteria regarding
classroom hours. The Board also proposes to delete the
provision that provides an exception for applicants who
satisfied the education requirement for certification as a
residential real estate appraiser that was in effect as of
December 31, 2007, because applicants are no longer
eligible to apply under this provision.
Content of appraisal education

The Board proposes to amend § 36.12a(b)(1) by specifi-
cally requiring compliance with the qualifying education
requirements in the AQB Qualification Criteria and as
specified in the Required Core Curriculum of the AQB
Qualification Criteria. Additionally, the Board proposes to
adopt and incorporate Guide Note 1 of the AQB Qualifica-
tion Criteria by reference. The Required Core Curriculum
is Federally-mandated curriculum for the content of ap-
praisal education. While the AQB Guide Note 1 is not
binding on the Board, in promulgating regulations for the
content of appraisal education, the Board has in the past
adopted verbatim the Required Core Curriculum and
Guide Note 1. The current regulations comport with

Required Core Curriculum. However, the AQB added
additional categories to Guide Note 1. Because the Board
is required to adhere to and enforce the Required Core
Curriculum and has determined that Guide Note 1
provides the basis for the required content of appraisal
education, the Board proposes to adopt and incorporate
these Federal standards by reference and proposes to
delete the verbatim text in the current regulations.
Incorporating the AQB Qualification Criteria by reference
will alleviate future need to amend the regulations when
the AQB modifies or updates its minimum qualification
criteria.

Examination requirement; length of classroom hour

The Board proposes to amend the heading of
§ 36.12a(b)(2) from ‘‘Examination requirement; length of
classroom hour’’ to ‘‘Length of classroom hour and
courses; course examination requirement’’ to more accu-
rately describe the scope of this paragraph. The Board
proposes to delete the current specific requirement re-
garding classroom hours (50 minutes of each 60-minute
segment), which is the current AQB requirement. The
Board proposes to amend this paragraph to specifically
reference and require compliance with the AQB Qualifica-
tion Criteria. This proposed amendment does not substan-
tively change the requirements of the current regulation.
Incorporating the AQB Qualification Criteria by reference
will alleviate future need to amend the regulations when
the AQB modifies or updates its minimum qualification
criteria regarding classroom hour or course examination
requirements. Additionally, the Board proposes to refor-
mat this subsection to clarify the requirements for class-
room hours and course examinations.

Providers of appraisal courses

The Board proposes to amend § 36.12a(b)(3) to specifi-
cally require that credit for the classroom hour require-
ment may be obtained only from providers in the AQB
Qualification Criteria. This proposed amendment does not
substantively change the current regulations. The Board
proposes to amend this paragraph by incorporating the
AQB Qualification Criteria by reference to alleviate fu-
ture need to amend the regulations when the AQB
modifies or updates its minimum qualification criteria for
providers of appraisal courses.

Distance education

The Board proposes to amend § 36.12a(b)(4) by specifi-
cally requiring compliance with the requirements set by
the AQB. The current regulations comport with the AQB
Qualification Criteria. Therefore, the proposed amend-
ment does not substantively change the current regula-
tion. The Board proposes to amend this paragraph by
incorporating the AQB Qualification Criteria by reference
to alleviate future need to amend the regulations when
the AQB modifies or updates its minimum qualification
criteria for distance education.

§ 36.13. Experience options for preparation of appraisal
reports; experience logs

The Board proposes to amend § 36.13(b) (relating to
experience options for preparation of appraisal reports;
experience logs) by adding the date that appraisal assis-
tants were required to obtain an appraiser trainee li-
cense, October 1, 2010, to clarify that only experience
acquired as an assistant before October 1, 2010, can be
counted towards experience. Additionally, the Board pro-
poses to clarify that for experience acquired before Octo-
ber 1, 2010, an assistant to a certified general real estate
appraiser or certified residential real estate appraiser
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shall comply with the experience requirements in the
regulations. The Board also proposed to amend § 36.13(c)
and (d) for clarity.

The Board proposes to add § 36.13(d)(5). This proposed
paragraph requires a residential real estate appraiser and
a general real estate appraiser to jointly maintain an
appraisal experience log on forms provided by the Board.
This is not an AQB requirement. However, the Board has
historically instructed residential real estate appraisers to
utilize the Board’s experience logs when submitting expe-
rience to the Board. For licensed appraiser trainees, the
AQB Qualification Criteria does require the trainee and
the supervisory appraiser to jointly maintain an appraisal
experience log. Therefore, the Board also proposes to add
subsection (e) to require that licensed appraiser trainees
to jointly maintain an appraisal experience log on forms
provided by the Board. Proposed amendments to subsec-
tion (e) further require that appraisal experience logs
comply with the AQB Qualification Criteria. The Board
also proposes to amend the heading of § 36.13 from
‘‘Experience options for preparation of appraisal reports’’
to ‘‘Experience options for preparation of appraisal re-
ports; experience logs’’ to more accurately describe the
scope of this section.

§ 36.41. Continuing education requirement

The Board proposes to amend § 36.41(a) and (b) (relat-
ing to continuing education requirement) by adding li-
censed appraiser trainees to the continuing education
requirement. Effective January 1, 2015, licensed ap-
praiser trainees were required to comply with the AQB
continuing education requirements. Although this is a
new provision in the regulations, this is a current AQB
requirement which the Board implemented effective
January 1, 2015. The Board notified licensed appraiser
trainees of this AQB requirement by letter on October 8,
2014, and notice on the Board’s web site. Act 72 added
section 10(b.2) to the act, which requires licensed ap-
praiser trainees to complete the same continuing educa-
tion requirements for licensure renewal as residential and
general appraisers. Because the Board is required to
adhere to and enforce the AQB Qualification Criteria
regarding continuing education, the Board proposes to
delete the verbatim AQB Qualification Criteria in the
current regulation, and instead adopt and incorporate the
AQB Qualification Criteria regarding continuing educa-
tion by reference. The current regulations mirror the
AQB’s current standards except that the Board requires
at least 2 hours of continuing education on the act, the
Board’s continuing education regulations and the policies
of the Board. Therefore, the Board’s proposed rulemaking
incorporates the AQB Qualification Criteria for continu-
ing education by reference, but also maintains the addi-
tional 2-hour continuing education requirement on the
act, the Board’s continuing education regulations and the
policies of the Board. The Board’s purpose in proposing
this amendment is to become compliant with current
Federal standards and, in the future, expeditiously effec-
tuate Federally-mandated amendments with regard to
the AQB Qualification Criteria.

§ 36.42. Subject matter and sources of continuing educa-
tion

The Board proposes to amend the heading of § 36.42
from ‘‘Continuing education subject matter’’ to ‘‘Subject
matter and sources of continuing education’’ to more
accurately reflect the scope of this section. The Board
proposes to amend subsection (a) by generally requiring
continuing education to comply with the AQB Qualifica-
tion Criteria. The Board proposes to delete language in

subsection (b), regarding classroom hours, and delete
subsection (e), regarding activities which may be granted
credit, because those standards are contained in the AQB
Qualification Criteria regarding continuing education re-
quirements. The Board further proposes to amend subsec-
tion (b) to incorporate the acceptable continuing education
subject matter in the AQB Qualification Criteria by
reference. The Board is also making necessary amend-
ments to cross-references due to the reorganization of the
section. The Board’s purpose in proposing this amend-
ment is to expeditiously effectuate Federally-mandated
amendments with regard to the AQB Qualification Crite-
ria. Additionally, the Board wishes to alleviate future
need to amend the regulations when the AQB updates its
minimum qualification criteria on continuing education.

§ 36.43. Distance education

The Board proposes to amend § 36.43 (relating to
distance education) by specifically requiring compliance
with the requirements in the AQB Qualification Criteria.
Because the current regulations comport with the AQB
Qualification Criteria, the proposed amendment does not
substantively change the current regulation. The Board’s
purpose in proposing this amendment is to expeditiously
effectuate Federally-mandated amendments with regard
to the AQB Qualification Criteria. Additionally, the Board
wishes to alleviate future need to amend the regulations
when the AQB updates its minimum qualification criteria
on distance education courses for continuing education.

§ 36.54. Duties of supervisory appraiser

The Board proposes to amend § 36.54(b) by specifically
requiring compliance with the requirements in the AQB
Qualification Criteria. The Board’s purpose in proposing
this amendment is to expeditiously effectuate Federally-
mandated amendments with regard to the AQB Qualifica-
tion Criteria. Unlike most of the Board’s proposed amend-
ments, this proposed amendment incorporates by
reference the AQB Qualification Criteria and also sets
forth the current AQB Qualification Criteria within the
proposed rulemaking. The new AQB Qualification Criteria
are incorporated in proposed § 36.54(b)(2), (5), (5)(ii), (6),
(7) and (12). The Board has drafted the proposed rule-
making in this fashion because the Board has current
regulations that are consistent with but not incorporated
in the AQB Qualification Criteria for supervisors. Includ-
ing the current AQB Qualification Criteria along with the
Board’s regulatory requirements ensures that licensees
understand the Federal and State standards. Additionally,
adopting the AQB Qualification Criteria by reference also
ensures that the regulations will include future updates
to the AQB Qualification Criteria for supervisory apprais-
ers.

As previously indicated, the AQB Qualification Criteria
are minimum standards. However, the Commonwealth
and the Board may impose more stringent requirements.
For supervisory appraisers, the AQB Qualification Crite-
ria currently require supervisory appraisers to be State-
certified and in good standing for at least 3 years, while
the act requires at least 5 years of experience. Addition-
ally, the AQB Qualification Criteria require good standing
in the training jurisdiction in which the licensed ap-
praiser trainee practices, but do not require certification
in the jurisdiction for a minimum period of time. Consis-
tent with the act’s more stringent 5-year experience
requirement, the Board proposes to amend § 36.54(b)(4)
and (5)(i) to require that supervisory appraisers be in
good standing in this Commonwealth for at least 3 years.
The Board believes having a jurisdictional requirement
for a minimum period of time will ensure that supervi-
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sory appraisers have sufficient knowledge and expertise
when serving as a supervisory appraiser in this Common-
wealth.

The Board also proposes to amend § 36.54(b)(3) to
require that supervisory appraisers notify the Board, in
writing, of the name and address of the licensed ap-
praiser trainee before the trainee begins work for the
appraiser. Currently, the Board’s procedures require the
notification to ensure adherence to Board regulations and
the AQB Qualification Criteria for supervisors. Given the
review necessary by Board staff to determine supervisory
eligibility, it is necessary and appropriate to require
written notification to the Board.

The Board also proposes several minor amendments
that do not substantively change requirements. Through-
out this section, the Board proposes to change ‘‘trainee’’ to
‘‘licensed appraiser trainee’’ for consistency and clarifica-
tion.

Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

The proposed amendments reflect the AQB Qualifica-
tion Criteria for postsecondary education standards for
certified residential real estate appraiser. Prior to May 1,
2018, the AQB Qualification Criteria required applicants
for certified residential real estate appraisers to hold a
bachelor’s degree, or higher, from an accredited college or
university. The new AQB Qualification Criteria and the
proposed rulemaking will lessen the financial burden on
applicants for certified residential real estate appraiser
credential due to decreased postsecondary education re-
quirements. Current AQB Qualification Criteria for certi-
fied general real estate appraisers require applicants to
hold a bachelor’s degree, or higher. This Federal require-
ment represents an increase in education as compared to
the Board’s current regulations. However, because the
bachelor’s degree is Federally mandated, the Board imple-
mented this requirement on January 1, 2015. The pro-
posed amendments that require licensed appraiser train-
ees to obtain 28 classroom hours of continuing education
reflect the amendments in Act 72 and the current AQB
Qualification Criteria and are mandated for compliance
with Federal requirements. The Board’s proposed amend-
ments also require an official criminal history record
information check from the State Police or other state
agency for every state in which the candidate has lived or
worked during the past 5 years. This proposed rule-
making will have a fiscal impact on the regulated commu-
nity due to the cost of continuing education for licensed
appraiser trainees (annual cost of $91,545) and criminal
history record information checks (annual cost of $7,920).

Regarding paperwork requirements, the Board has
already revised its application forms to reflect the current
Federal standards. Therefore, the Board does not antici-
pate additional paperwork requirements. The proposed
rulemaking requires completion of experience logs for
licensed appraiser trainees and certified residential real
estate appraisers pursuing experience credit.

Sunset Date

The Board continuously monitors the cost and effective-
ness of its regulations and will continue do so with
respect to these regulations. Therefore, a sunset date has
not been assigned.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)), on June 22, 2018, the Board submitted a
copy of this proposed rulemaking and a copy of a
Regulatory Analysis Form to the Independent Regulatory

Review Commission (IRRC) and the Chairpersons of the
House Professional Licensure Committee (HPLC) and the
Senate Consumer Protection and Professional Licensure
Committee (SCP/PLC). A copy of this material is available
to the public upon request.

Under section 5(g) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC
may convey comments, recommendations or objections to
the proposed rulemaking within 30 days of the close of
the public comment period. The comments, recommenda-
tions or objections must specify the regulatory review
criteria in section 5.2 of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5b) which have not been met. The Regulatory
Review Act specifies detailed procedures for review prior
to final publication of the rulemaking by the Board, the
General Assembly and the Governor.
Public Comment

Interested persons are invited to submit written com-
ments, suggestions or objections regarding this proposed
rulemaking to Jacqueline A. Wolfgang, Counsel, State
Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers, P.O. Box 69523,
Harrisburg, PA 17106-9523, ra-stregulatorycounsel@pa.gov
within 30 days following publication of this proposed
rulemaking in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. Reference Regu-
lation No. 16A-7022, Federally-Mandated Revisions, on
comments.

D. THOMAS SMITH,
Chairperson

Fiscal Note: 16A-7022. No fiscal impact; (8) recom-
mends adoption.

Annex A

TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

PART I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 36. STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

Subchapter A. GENERAL PROVISIONS

GENERAL PROVISIONS

§ 36.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

[ AQB—The Appraiser Qualifications Board of the
Appraisal Foundation. ]

AQB—The Appraiser Qualifications Board of The
Appraisal Foundation—The independent board of
The Appraisal Foundation that establishes the
minimum education, experience, examination and
continuing education requirements for real prop-
erty appraisers under Title XI of FIRREA (12
U.S.C.A. §§ 3331—3356). The term includes any suc-
cessor organization as designated by the United
States Congress or the ASC.

AQB Qualification Criteria—The AQB publica-
tion, The Real Property Appraiser Qualification
Criteria, establishing the minimum education, ex-
perience, examination and continuing education
requirements for real property appraisers to obtain
a state license or certification. The publication may
be accessed at The Appraisal Foundation web site
at www.appraisalfoundation.org.
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ASC—The Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal
Financial Institutions Examination Council.

Act—The Real Estate Appraisers Certification Act (63
P.S. §§ 457.1—457.19).

Ad valorem tax appraisal—Valuation for tax purposes
involving the appraisal of real estate, its analysis, opin-
ions and conclusions regarding taxation.

Applicant—A natural person.

Appraisal—A written analysis, opinion or conclusion
relating to the nature, quality, value or utility of specified
interests in, or aspects of, identified real property, for or
in expectation of compensation.

Appraisal review—An analysis of a completed appraisal
report to determine if it conforms to specific requirements
and guidelines and to [ insure ] ensure that the report
is consistent and mathematically correct.

Board—The State Board of Certified Real Estate Ap-
praisers within the Bureau of Professional and Oc-
cupational Affairs in the Department of State of the
Commonwealth.

Certified broker/appraiser—A person who holds a cer-
tificate issued under authority of section 6(a)(3) of the act
(63 P.S. § 457.6(a)(3)) and who is authorized to perform
appraisals of all types of real property in non-Federally-
related transactions.

Certified general real estate appraiser—A person who
holds a certificate issued under authority of section
6(a)(2) and (e) of the act and § 36.12 (relating to qualifi-
cations for certification as general real estate appraiser)
and who is authorized to perform appraisals of all types
of real property in all transactions, whether Federally-
related or non-Federally-related.

Certified real estate appraiser—A certified broker/
appraiser, certified residential real estate appraiser or
certified general real estate appraiser.

Certified residential real estate appraiser—A person
who holds a certificate issued under authority of section
6(a)(1) and (d) of the act and § 36.11 (relating to qualifi-
cations for certification as residential real estate ap-
praiser) and who is authorized to perform appraisals of
residential properties of one-to-four dwelling units in all
transactions, whether Federally-related or non-Federally-
related.

Distance education—[ An ] Except as otherwise re-
quired by the AQB Qualification Criteria, an educa-
tional process based on the geographical separation of the
learner and instructor, which provides interaction be-
tween the learner and instructor and includes testing.
Examples include [ CD or DVD ROM ] CD-ROM or
DUD-ROM, on-line learning, correspondence courses,
video conferencing, and video and remote television
courses.

FIRREA—The Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery,
and Enforcement Act of 1989[ , the act of August 9,
1989 ] (Pub.L. No. 101-73, 103 Stat. 183).

Feasibility analysis—A study of the cost-benefit rela-
tionship of an economic endeavor.

Federally-related transaction—A real estate-related fi-
nancial transaction which a Federal financial institution
regulatory agency or the Resolution Trust Corporation
engages in, contracts for or regulates, and which requires
the services of an appraiser.

Highest and best use analysis—A study which repre-
sents the reasonable and probable use that results in the
highest present value of the land or improved property
after considering all legally permissible, physically pos-
sible and economically feasible uses.

IDECC—International Distance Education Certification
Center.

In good standing—

(i) When referring to an individual certified or
licensed by the Board to perform appraisals, an
individual who is authorized under the act to
perform appraisals or to act as a licensed appraiser
trainee.

(ii) The term includes an individual who has an
active, unrestricted certificate or license, or a cer-
tificate or license that is on probation or subject to
a restriction ordered by the Board.

(iii) The term does not include an individual who
holds a certificate or license that is inactive, ex-
pired, suspended or revoked.

Licensed appraiser trainee—A person who holds a li-
cense issued under section 6(a.1) of the act and § 36.12a
(relating to qualifications for licensure as appraiser
trainee) and who is authorized to assist a certified
residential real estate appraiser or certified general real
estate appraiser in the performance of an appraisal.

Real estate counseling—Providing, for a fee, disinter-
ested and unbiased advice, professional guidance and
judgment in the broad field of real estate, involving all
segments of the business, including marketing, leasing,
managing, planning, financing, appraising, providing tes-
timony and other similar services. Real estate counseling
is a specialty area in which the counselor clearly identi-
fies the real estate problem to be solved, determines the
most satisfactory solutions and, where appropriate, fol-
lows through on the implementation.

Real estate-related financial transaction—A transaction
involving the following:

(i) Sale, lease, purchase, investment in or exchange of
real property, including interests in property or the
financing thereof.

(ii) Refinancing of real property or interests in real
property.

(iii) Use of real property or interests in property as
security for a loan or investment, including mortgage-
backed securities.

Review appraiser—A person who performs an appraisal
review.

USPAP—The Uniform Standards of Professional Ap-
praisal Practice promulgated by the Appraisal Standards
Board of [ the ] The Appraisal Foundation.

§ 36.2. Application process.

[ (a) Application form. A person interested in be-
coming a licensed appraiser trainee, a certified
residential real estate appraiser or a certified gen-
eral real estate appraiser shall complete and file
with the Board a notarized application form and an
application fee. Application forms may be obtained
by visiting the Board’s website at www.dos.state.
pa.us/real or by writing, telephoning, or e-mailing
the Board at Post Office Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA
17105-2649, (717) 783-4866, or ST-APPRAISE@state.
pa.us, respectively.

3964 PROPOSED RULEMAKING

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 48, NO. 27, JULY 7, 2018



(b) Application fee. The application fee for
licensure as an appraiser trainee or certification as
a residential real estate appraiser or general real
estate appraiser is set forth in § 36.6 (relating to
fees). Application fees are nonrefundable. Payments
must be in the form of a personal check or money
order made payable to the ‘‘Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania.’’

(c) Approved applications. Subject to the provi-
sions of subsection (e), an approved application for
certification as a residential real estate appraiser
or general real estate appraiser will be valid for 1
year from the date of approval. If an applicant does
not pass the certification examination within this
1-year period, the applicant’s application will be
considered to have been withdrawn. If the appli-
cant wishes to take the examination after 1 year
from the date of approval, a new application, along
with the required fee, shall be submitted to the
Board. ]

(a) Application form. An individual who applies
for licensure as a licensed appraiser trainee or for
certification as a certified residential real estate
appraiser or a certified general real estate ap-
praiser shall do all of the following:

(1) Submit an application to the Board on a form
provided by the Board.

(2) Submit an official criminal history record in-
formation check from the State Police or other
state agency for every state in which the candidate
has lived or worked during the past 5 years. A
report must be dated within 90 days of the date of
application.

(3) Pay the required application fee in the
amount prescribed § 36.6 (relating to fees).

(4) Satisfy the requirements for licensure or cer-
tification in this subchapter.

(5) Satisfy the requirements in the AQB Qualifica-
tion Criteria.

(b) Application fee. The payment of a fee for
processing an application is nonrefundable and
must satisfy all of the following conditions:

(1) The application fee must be in the amount in
§ 36.6.

(2) Payment of the application fee must be in the
form of a personal check or money order payable to
‘‘Commonwealth of Pennsylvania’’ or an electronic
payment in a form or method approved by the
Commissioner of Professional and Occupational Af-
fairs.

(c) Approved applications. Residential real estate
appraiser and general real estate appraiser certifi-
cation applications approved by the Board are
subject to all of the following conditions:

(1) Approval by the Board of an initial applica-
tion for certification as a residential real estate
appraiser or a general real estate appraiser consti-
tutes approval to take the examination approved by
the AQB with all of the following limitations:

(i) Approval of the application will be valid for 1
year from the date of approval.

(ii) Approval of the application will be subject to
subsection (e).

(iii) If an applicant does not pass the certification
examination approved by the AQB within 1 year of
the date of approval, the application will be
deemed to be withdrawn.

(iv) If an applicant wishes to take the certifica-
tion examination approved by the AQB more than 1
year after the date of approval of an application,
the applicant shall file a new application that
complies with subsections (a) and (b).

(2) Approval by the Board of an application for
licensure as an appraiser trainee, certification as a
residential real estate appraiser or certification as
a general real estate appraiser under section 7 of
the act (63 P.S. § 457.7), regarding reciprocity, con-
stitutes approval to issue a license or certificate to
the applicant.

(d) Disapproved applications. Subject to [ the provi-
sions of ] subsection (e), an applicant for licensure as an
appraiser trainee, certification as a residential real estate
appraiser[ , ] or certification as a general real estate
appraiser whose application has been disapproved by the
Board will be notified in writing of the reasons for the
disapproval, and will have 1 year from the date of
disapproval to correct the deficiencies or to file a request
for reconsideration.

(1) A request for reconsideration must give the reason
for the applicant’s request, must be accompanied by
documentary materials not previously submitted which
the applicant wishes the Board to consider and may
include a request for an informal interview with the
Board.

(2) If a request for reconsideration is denied or, subject
to [ the provisions of ] subsection (e), an applicant is
unable to correct the deficiencies which resulted in the
disapproval of the application within 1 year from the date
of disapproval, a new application, along with the required
fee, shall be submitted to the Board.

(e) Compliance with new requirements.
(1) Residential real estate appraiser and general

real estate appraiser applicants. Except as otherwise
provided in §§ 36.11 and 36.12 (relating to qualifications
for certification as residential real estate appraiser; and
qualifications for certification as general real estate ap-
praiser) or as required by the AQB Qualification
Criteria, an applicant for certification as a residential
real estate appraiser or general real estate appraiser
shall comply with any increased education or experience
requirements that take effect between the applicant’s
filing of an initial application and the applicant’s passing
the certification examination.

[ An ] (2) Appraiser trainee applicants. Except as
otherwise provided in § 36.12a (relating to qualifi-
cations for licensure as appraiser trainee), or as
required by the AQB Qualification Criteria, an
applicant for licensure as an appraiser trainee shall
comply with any increased education requirement that
takes effect between the applicant’s filing of an applica-
tion that is disapproved and the applicant’s filing of a
new application.
§ 36.3. Examinations.

(a) [ The examination required for certification
as a residential real estate appraiser is the AQB-
endorsed Uniform State Certified Residential Real
Property Appraiser Examination or its equivalent.
The examination required for certification as a
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general real estate appraiser is the AQB-endorsed
Uniform State Certified General Real Property Ap-
praiser Examination or its equivalent. ] The exami-
nation required for certification as a residential
real estate appraiser or a general real estate ap-
praiser is the AQB-approved National examination
for the certification for which an applicant is ap-
plying. The certification examinations are administered
by a professional testing organization under contract with
the Board at times and places established by the profes-
sional testing organization. An examination is not re-
quired for licensure as an appraiser trainee.

(b) Interested persons may obtain information about
the certification examinations from the professional test-
ing organization. Contact information for the professional
testing organization appears on the Board’s [ website at
www.dos.state.pa.us/real] web site.

QUALIFICATIONS FOR CERTIFICATION OR
LICENSURE

§ 36.11. Qualifications for certification as residen-
tial real estate appraiser.

[ (a) Overview. An applicant for certification as a
residential real estate appraiser shall be of good
moral character, meet the following education and
experience requirements prior to examination, and
pass an examination for certification as a residen-
tial real estate appraiser. Neither a real estate
salesperson’s license nor a real estate broker’s li-
cense issued under the Real Estate Licensing and
Registration Act (63 P.S. § 455.101—455.902) is a
prerequisite to certification as a residential real
estate appraiser.

(b) Appraisal classroom hours. Effective January
1, 2008, an applicant shall submit evidence to the
Board of having completed 200 classroom hours in
the appraisal curriculum set forth in subsection
(c)(2). This requirement does not apply to an appli-
cant who submits an otherwise qualifying applica-
tion before January 1, 2013, that shows evidence of
the applicant’s having completed 120 classroom
hours of courses related to real estate appraisal,
including the 15-hour National USPAP Course or
equivalent course approved by the AQB, together
with coverage of the topics listed in subsection
(c)(1), before January 1, 2008.

(1) Length of classroom hour requirement. Credit
toward the classroom hour requirement will only
be granted when the length of the course is at least
15 hours, and the applicant successfully completes
an examination pertinent to the course. A class-
room hour is defined as 50 minutes out of each 60
minute segment.

(2) Providers of appraisal courses. Credit for the
classroom hour requirement may be obtained from
accredited colleges or universities and community
or junior colleges. Subject to Board approval under
§ 36.31 (relating to provider registration/appraisal
courses), credit for the classroom hour requirement
may also be obtained from real estate appraisal or
real estate related organizations, State or Federal
agencies or commissions, proprietary schools and
other providers. ]

(a) General qualifications. An applicant for certi-
fication as a residential real estate appraiser shall:

(1) Be of good moral character.

(2) Satisfy the education and experience require-
ments in this section prior to the date of examina-
tion.

(3) Pass an AQB-approved examination for certifi-
cation as a residential real estate appraiser.

(4) Satisfy the requirements in the AQB Qualifica-
tion Criteria for certification as a residential real
estate appraiser.

(b) Appraisal classroom hours. An applicant for
certification as a residential real estate appraiser
shall submit evidence to the Board of having com-
pleted the classroom hours required by the AQB
Qualification Criteria as of the date of the applica-
tion.

(1) Length of classroom hour and courses; course
examination requirement.

(i) The length of classroom hours and courses
must comply with the requirements in the AQB
Qualification Criteria.

(ii) Credit toward the classroom hour require-
ment will be granted only if the applicant success-
fully completes an examination pertinent to the
course and attends at least the minimum length of
time, as required by the AQB Qualification Criteria,
to receive course credit.

(iii) The course examination must comply with
the requirements in the AQB Qualification Criteria.

(2) Providers of appraisal courses. Credit for the
classroom hour requirement may be obtained from
types of providers in the AQB Qualification Criteria
subject to the following:

(i) Credit for the classroom hour requirement
may be obtained from accredited colleges or uni-
versities and community or junior colleges.

(ii) Real estate appraisal or real estate related
organizations, State or Federal agencies or commis-
sions, proprietary schools and other providers are
subject to Board approval under § 36.31 (relating to
provider registration/appraisal courses).

(3) Distance education. Distance education courses
must comply with the requirements in the AQB
Qualification Criteria. A distance education course is
acceptable to meet the classroom hour requirement if the
course is approved by the Board and meets all of the
following conditions:

(i) The course is presented by one of the following:

(A) An accredited (Commission on Colleges or a re-
gional accreditation association) college or university that
offers distance education programs in other disciplines.

(B) A course provider that has received approval for
course design and delivery mechanism from the IDECC
and approval for course content from the Board or from
the AQB through its Course Approval Program.

(ii) The applicant successfully completes a written ex-
amination proctored by an official approved by the col-
lege, university or other course provider.

(iii) The length and content of the course meet the
requirements of paragraph (1) and subsection (c), respec-
tively.
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[ (c) Content of appraisal education. The content
of an applicant’s appraisal education must be as
follows:

(1) An applicant who is subject to the 120-
classroom hour requirement in subsection (b) shall
demonstrate that the classroom hours included cov-
erage of the following topics, with particular em-
phasis on the appraisal of one-to-four unit residen-
tial properties:

(i) Influences in real estate value.
(A) Physical and environmental.
(B) Economic.
(C) Governmental and legal.
(D) Social.
(ii) Legal considerations in appraisal.
(A) Real estate versus real property.
(B) Real property versus personal property.
(C) Limitations on real estate ownership.
(D) Legal rights and interests.
(E) Forms of property ownership.
(F) Legal descriptions.
(G) Transfer of title.
(iii) Type of values.
(A) Market value or value in exchange.
(B) Price.
(C) Cost.
(D) Investment value.
(E) Value in use.
(F) Assessed value.

(G) Insurable value.

(iv) Economic principles.

(A) Anticipation.

(B) Balance.

(C) Change.

(D) Competition.

(E) Conformity.

(F) Contribution.

(G) Increasing and decreasing returns.

(H) Opportunity cost.

(I) Substitution.

(J) Supply and demand.

(K) Surplus productivity.

(v) Real estate markets and analysis.

(A) Characteristics of real estate markets.

(B) Absorption analysis.

(C) Role of money and capital markets.

(D) Real estate financing.

(vi) Valuation process.

(A) Definition of the problem.

(B) Collection and analysis of data.

(C) Analysis of highest and best use.

(D) Application and limitations of each approach
to value.

(E) Reconciliation and final value estimate.

(F) The appraisal report.

(vii) Property description.

(A) Site description.

(B) Improvement description.

(C) Basic construction and design.

(viii) Highest and best use analysis.

(A) Four tests.

(B) Vacant site or as if vacant.

(C) As improved.

(D) Interim use.

(ix) Appraisal math and statistics.

(A) Compound interest concepts.

(B) Statistical concepts used in appraisal.

(x) Sales comparison approach.

(A) Research and selection of comparables.

(B) Elements of comparison.

(C) Adjustment process.

(D) Application of sales comparison approach.

(xi) Site value.

(A) Sales comparison.

(B) Land residual.

(C) Allocation.

(D) Extraction.

(E) Plottage and assemblage.

(xii) Cost approach.

(A) Steps in cost approach.

(B) Application of the cost approach.

(xiii) Income approach.

(A) Gross rent multiplier analysis.

(B) Estimation of income and expenses.

(C) Operating expense ratios.

(D) Direct capitalization.

(xiv) Valuation of partial interests.

(A) Life estates.

(B) Undivided interest in commonly held prop-
erty

(C) Easements.

(D) Timeshares.

(E) Cooperatives.

(F) Leased fee estate.

(G) Leasehold estate.

(xv) Appraisal standards and ethics.

(xvi) Narrative report writing.
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(2) An applicant who is subject to the 200-
classroom hour requirement in subsection (b) shall
demonstrate that the classroom hours satisfy the
following curriculum requirements:

(i) Basic appraisal principles (30 hours).
(A) Real property concepts and characteristics.
(I) Basic real property concepts.
(II) Real property characteristics.
(III) Legal description.
(B) Legal considerations.
(I) Forms of ownership.
(II) Public and private controls.

(III) Real estate contracts.

(IV) Leases.

(C) Influences on real estate.

(I) Governmental.

(II) Economic.

(III) Social.

(IV) Environmental, geographic and physical.

(D) Types of value.

(I) Market value.

(II) Other value types.

(E) Economic principles.

(I) Classical economic principles.

(II) Application and illustrations of the economic
principles.

(F) Overview of real estate markets and analysis.

(I) Market fundamentals, characteristics and defi-
nitions.

(II) Supply analysis.

(III) Demand analysis.

(IV) Use of market analysis.

(G) Ethics and how they apply in appraisal
theory and practice.

(ii) Basic appraisal procedures (30 hours).

(A) Overview of approaches to value.

(B) Valuation procedure.

(I) Defining the problem.

(II) Collecting and selecting the data.

(III) Analyzing.

(IV) Reconciling and final value opinion.

(V) Communicating the appraisal.

(C) Property description.

(I) Geographic characteristics of the land/site.

(II) Geologic characteristics of the land/site.

(III) Location and neighborhood characteristics.

(IV) Land/site considerations for highest and best
use.

(V) Improvements—architectural styles and types
of construction.

(D) Residential applications.

(iii) National USPAP Course or equivalent (15
hours).

(A) Preamble and ethics rules.
(B) Standard 1.
(C) Standard 2.
(D) Standards 3 to 10.
(E) Statements and advisory opinions.
(iv) Residential market analysis and highest and

best use (15 hours).
(A) Residential markets and analysis.
(I) Market fundamentals, characteristics and defi-

nitions.
(II) Supply analysis.
(III) Demand analysis.
(IV) Use of market analysis.
(B) Highest and best use.
(I) Test constraints.
(II) Application of highest and best use.
(III) Special considerations.
(IV) Market analysis.
(V) Case studies.
(v) Residential appraiser site valuation and cost

approach (15 hours).
(A) Site valuation.
(I) Methods.
(II) Case studies.
(B) Cost approach.
(I) Concepts and definitions.
(II) Replacement/reproduction cost new.
(III) Accrued depreciation.
(IV) Methods of estimating accrued depreciation.
(V) Case studies.

(vi) Residential sales comparison and income ap-
proaches (30 hours).

(A) Valuation principles and procedures—sales
comparison approach.

(B) Valuation principles and procedures—income
approach.

(C) Finance and cash equivalency.

(D) Financial calculator introduction.

(E) Identification, derivation and measurement of
adjustments.

(F) Gross rent multipliers.

(G) Partial interests.

(H) Reconciliation.

(I) Case studies and applications.

(vii) Residential report writing and case studies
(15 hours).

(A) Writing and reasoning skills.

(B) Common writing problems.

(C) Form reports.

(D) Report options and USPAP compliance.
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(E) Case studies.
(viii) Statistics, modeling and finance (15 hours).
(A) Statistics.
(B) Valuation models (AVMs and mass appraisal).
(C) Real estate finance.
(ix) Advanced residential applications and case

studies (15 hours).
(A) Complex property, ownership and market

conditions.
(B) Deriving and supporting adjustments.
(C) Residential market analysis.
(D) Advanced case studies.
(x) Appraisal subject matter electives (20 hours).
(d) Postsecondary education.
(1) Effective January 1, 2008, an applicant shall

submit evidence to the Board of having satisfied
one of the following requirements:

(i) Possession of an associate’s degree, or higher,
from an accredited college or university.

(ii) Completion of 21 semester credit hours in the
following college-level subjects at an accredited
college or university:

(A) English composition.
(B) Principles of economics (micro or macro).
(C) Finance.
(D) Algebra, geometry or higher mathematics.
(E) Statistics.
(F) Computer science.
(G) Business or real estate law.
(2) This requirement does not apply to an appli-

cant who submits an otherwise qualifying applica-
tion before January 1, 2012, that shows evidence of
the applicant’s having completed 120 classroom
hours of courses related to real estate appraisal,
including the 15-hour National USPAP Course or
equivalent course approved by the AQB, together
with coverage of the topics listed in subsection
(c)(1), before January 1, 2008. ]

(c) Content of appraisal education.

(1) The content of an applicant’s appraisal educa-
tion must comply with the qualifying education
requirements in the AQB Qualification Criteria and
as specified in the Required Core Curriculum in
the AQB Qualification Criteria.

(2) All courses must consist of instruction in the
subject areas in Guide Note 1 of the AQB Qualifica-
tion Criteria or any successor Guide Note.

(d) Postsecondary education. An applicant for cer-
tification as a residential real estate appraiser shall
satisfy the postsecondary education requirements
in the AQB Qualification Criteria.

(e) Experience. An applicant’s experience must
comply with all of the following:

[ (1) In addition to meeting the education re-
quirements, an applicant shall submit evidence to
the Board of having acquired 2,500 hours of accept-
able appraisal experience during a period of at
least 24 months. At least 1,250 hours of the experi-

ence acquired by an applicant must be in the actual
preparation of real estate appraisal reports, which
includes physical inspections of the interior and
exterior of the subject properties, in accordance
with § 36.13 (relating to experience options regard-
ing preparation of appraisal reports). Hours may be
treated as cumulative to achieve the necessary
2,500 hours of appraisal experience. Cumulative is
defined to mean that experience may be acquired
over any time period in excess of 24 months. There
is no minimum number of hours which must be
acquired in any 12 months. The following will serve
as an example:

Year 1 400 Hours
Year 2 800 Hours
Year 3 200 Hours
Year 4 500 Hours
Year 5 600 Hours
Total 2,500 Hours ]

(1) An applicant for certification as a residential
real estate appraiser shall satisfy the experience
requirements in the AQB Qualification Criteria.

(2) At least 50% of the total experience require-
ment shall be in the actual preparation of real
estate appraisal reports, which includes physical
inspections of the interior and exterior of the
subject properties in accordance with § 36.13 (relat-
ing to experience options for preparation of ap-
praisal reports; experience logs).

[ (2) ] (3) Effective January 1, 2008, experience must
be acquired after January 30, 1989, and must comply
with USPAP. Experience acquired after August 2, 1993,
will not be accepted unless the applicant [ has first ]
completed 45 classroom hours of appraisal education,
including 15 hours on USPAP prior to acquiring the
experience. Effective January 1, 2020, experience
credit may be obtained only by individuals who
possess a license as an appraiser trainee.

(4) Acceptable categories of appraisal experience in-
clude all of the following:

(i) Fee and staff appraisals.

(ii) Ad valorem tax appraisals, if the [ appraiser can
demonstrate that the appraiser used techniques to
value properties similar to those used by other
appraisers and that the appraiser ] applicant can
demonstrate that the applicant used techniques to
value properties similar to those used by appraisers
and that the applicant effectively used the appraisal
process.

(iii) Review appraisals.
(iv) Appraisal analysis (synonymous with an ap-

praisal).
(v) Real estate counseling, if the counselor can satisfac-

torily demonstrate that:
(A) The client clearly asked for counseling services.
(B) The client was informed that the counselor’s time

would be devoted to counseling services, which are sepa-
rate from other real estate functions such as appraising,
sales management and mortgage lending.

(C) A file memorandum was prepared on each assign-
ment indicating the nature of the assignment, recommen-
dations and disposition.
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(D) Compensation for the counseling services was sepa-
rate from other real estate services rendered.

(vi) Highest and best use analysis.
(vii) Feasibility analysis/study.
(viii) Real estate related experience such as that of an

officer of a lending institution, if the experience consists
of the actual performance or professional review of real
estate appraisals.

(ix) Evaluations under FIRREA in accordance with
requirements of Federal financial institution regulatory
agencies.

(x) Case studies or practicum courses that are ap-
proved by the AQB Course Approval Program.
§ 36.12. Qualifications for certification as general

real estate appraiser.

[ (a) Overview. An applicant for certification as a
general real estate appraiser shall be of good moral
character, meet the following education and experi-
ence requirements prior to examination, and pass
an examination for certification as a general real
estate appraiser. Neither a real estate salesperson’s
license nor a real estate broker’s license issued
under the Real Estate Licensing and Registration
Act (63 P.S. §§ 455.101—455.902) is a prerequisite to
certification as a general real estate appraiser.

(b) Appraisal classroom hours. Effective January
1, 2008, an applicant shall submit evidence to the
Board of having completed 300 classroom hours in
the appraisal curriculum set forth in subsection
(c)(2). This requirement does not apply to an appli-
cant who submits an otherwise qualifying applica-
tion before January 1, 2013, that shows evidence of
the applicant’s having completed 180 classroom
hours of courses related to real estate appraisal,
including the 15-hour National USPAP Course or
equivalent course approved by the AQB, together
with coverage of the topics listed in subsection
(c)(1), before January 1, 2008.

(1) Length of classroom hour requirement. Credit
toward the classroom hour requirement will only
be granted when the length of the course is at least
15 hours, and the applicant successfully completes
an examination pertinent to the course. A class-
room hour is defined as 50 minutes out of each 60
minute segment.

(2) Providers of appraisal courses. Credit for the
classroom hour requirement may be obtained from
accredited colleges or universities and community
or junior colleges. Subject to Board approval under
§ 36.31 (relating to provider registration/appraisal
courses), credit for the classroom hour requirement
may also be obtained from real estate appraisal or
real estate related organizations, State or Federal
agencies or commissions, proprietary schools and
other providers.

(3) Distance education. A distance education
course is acceptable to meet the classroom hour
requirement if the course is approved by the Board
and meets the following conditions:

(i) The course is presented by one of the follow-
ing:

(A) An accredited (Commission on Colleges or a
regional accreditation association)college or uni-
versity that offers distance education programs in
other disciplines.

(B) A course provider that has received approval
for course design and delivery mechanism from the
IDECC and approval for course content from the
Board or from the AQB through its Course Ap-
proval Program.

(ii) The applicant successfully completes a writ-
ten examination proctored by an official approved
by the college, university or other course provider.

(iii) The length and content of the course meet
the requirements of paragraph (1) and subsection
(c), respectively.

(c) Content of appraisal education. The content of
an applicant’s appraisal education must be as fol-
lows:

(1) An applicant who is subject to the 180-
classroom hour requirement in subsection (b) shall
demonstrate that the classroom hours included
coverage of the following topics, with particular
emphasis on the appraisal of nonresidential prop-
erties. Residential is defined as one to four resi-
dential units.

(i) Influences on real estate value.
(A) Physical and environmental.
(B) Economic.
(C) Governmental and legal.
(D) Social.
(ii) Legal considerations in appraisal.
(A) Real estate versus real property.
(B) Real property versus personal property.
(C) Limitations on real estate ownership.
(D) Legal rights and interests.
(E) Forms of property ownership.
(G) Legal descriptions.
(H) Transfer of title.
(iii) Type of values.
(A) Market value or value in exchange.
(B) Price.

(C) Cost.

(D) Investment value.

(E) Value in use.

(F) Assessed value.

(G) Insurable value.

(H) Going concern value.

(iv) Economic principles.

(A) Anticipation.

(B) Balance.

(C) Change.

(D) Competition.

(E) Conformity.

(F) Contribution.

(G) Increasing and decreasing returns.

(H) Opportunity cost.

(I) Substitution.

(J) Supply and demand.
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(K) Surplus productivity.
(v) Real estate markets and analysis.
(A) Characteristics of real estate markets.
(B) Absorption analysis.
(C) Role of money and capital markets.
(D) Real estate financing.
(vi) Valuation process.
(A) Definition of the problem.
(B) Collection and analysis of data.
(C) Analysis of highest and best use.
(D) Application and limitations of each approach

to value.
(E) Reconciliation and final value estimate.
(F) The appraisal report.
(vii) Property description.
(A) Site development.
(B) Improvement description.
(C) Basic construction and design.
(viii) Highest and best use analysis.
(A) Four tests.
(B) Vacant site or as if vacant.
(C) As improved.
(D) Interim use.
(ix) Appraisal math and statistics.
(A) Compound interest concepts.
(B) Statistical concepts used in appraisal.
(x) Sales comparison approach.
(A) Research and selection of comparables.
(B) Elements of comparison.
(C) Adjustment process.
(D) Application of sales comparison approach.
(xi) Site value.
(A) Sales comparison.
(B) Land residual.
(C) Allocation.
(D) Extraction.
(E) Ground rent capitalization.
(F) Subdivision analysis.
(G) Plottage and assemblage.
(xii) Cost approach.
(A) Steps in cost approach.
(B) Application of the cost approach.
(xiii) Income approach.
(A) Estimation of income and expenses.
(B) Operating statement ratios.

(C) Direct capitalization.

(D) Cash flow estimates (before tax only).

(E) Measures of cash flow.

(F) Discounted cash flow analysis (DCF).

(xiv) Valuation of partial interests.

(A) Interests created by a lease.
(B) Lease provisions.
(C) Valuation considerations.
(D) Other partial interests.
(xv) Appraisal standards and ethics.
(xvi) Narrative report writing.
(2) An applicant who is subject to the 300-hour

classroom requirement in subsection (b) shall dem-
onstrate that the classroom hours satisfy the fol-
lowing curriculum requirements:

(i) Basic appraisal principles
(30 hours).
(A) Real property concepts and characteristics.
(I) Basic real property concepts.
(II) Real property characteristics.
(III) Legal description.
(B) Legal considerations.
(I) Forms of ownership.
(II) Public and private controls.
(III) Real estate contracts.
(IV) Leases.
(C) Influences on real estate.
(I) Governmental.
(II) Economic.
(III) Social.
(IV) Environmental, geographic and physical.
(D) Types of value.
(I) Market value.
(II) Other value types.
(E) Economic principles.

(I) Classical economic principles.

(II) Application and illustrations of the economic
principles.

(F) Overview of real estate markets and analysis.

(I) Market fundamentals, characteristics and defi-
nitions.

(II) Supply analysis.

(III) Demand analysis.

(IV) Use of market analysis.

(G) Ethics and how they apply in appraisal
theory and practice.

(ii) Basic appraisal procedures (30 hours).

(A) Overview of approaches to value.

(B) Valuation procedure.

(I) Defining the problem.

(II) Collecting and selecting the data.

(III) Analyzing.

(IV) Reconciling and final value opinion.

(V) Communicating the appraisal.

(C) Property description.

(I) Geographic characteristics of the land/site.
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(II) Geologic characteristics of the land/site.
(III) Location and neighborhood characteristics.
(IV) Land/site considerations for highest and best

use.
(V) Improvements—architectural styles and types

of construction.
(D) Residential applications.
(iii) National USPAP Course or equivalent (15

hours).
(A) Preamble and ethics rules.
(B) Standard 1.
(C) Standard 2.
(D) Standards 3 to 10.
(E) Statements and advisory opinions.
(iv) General appraiser market analysis and high-

est and best use (30 hours).
(A) Real estate markets and analysis.
(I) Market fundamentals, characteristics and defi-

nitions.
(II) Supply analysis.
(III) Demand analysis.
(IV) Use of market analysis.
(B) Highest and best use.
(I) Test constraints.
(II) Application of highest and best use.
(III) Special considerations.
(IV) Market analysis.
(V) Case studies.
(v) General appraiser site valuation and cost ap-

proach (30 hours).
(A) Site valuation.
(I) Methods.
(II) Case studies.
(B) Cost approach.

(I) Concepts and definitions.

(II) Replacement/reproduction cost new.

(III) Accrued depreciation.

(IV) Methods of estimating accrued depreciation.

(V) Case studies.

(vi) General appraiser sales comparison approach
(30 hours).

(A) Value principles.

(B) Procedures.

(C) Identification and measurement of adjust-
ments.

(D) Reconciliation.

(E) Case studies.

(vii) General appraiser income approach (60
hours).

(A) Overview.

(B) Compound interest.

(C) Lease analysis.

(D) Income analysis.

(E) Vacancy and collection loss.

(F) Estimating operating expenses and reserves.

(G) Reconstructed income and expense state-
ment.

(H) Stabilized net operating income estimate.

(I) Direct capitalization.

(J) Discounted cash flow.

(K) Yield capitalization.

(L) Partial interests.

(M) Case studies.

(viii) General appraiser report writing and case
studies (30 hours).

(A) Writing and reasoning skills.

(B) Common writing problems.

(C) Report options and USPAP compliance.

(D) Case studies.

(ix) Statistics, modeling and finance (15 hours).

(A) Statistics.

(B) Valuation models (AVMs and mass appraisal).

(C) Real estate finance.

(x) Appraisal subject matter electives (30 hours).

(d) Postsecondary education.

(1) Effective January 1, 2008, an applicant shall
submit evidence to the Board of having satisfied
one of the following requirements:

(i) Possession of a bachelor’s degree, or higher,
from an accredited college or university.

(ii) Completion of 30 semester credit hours in the
following college-level subjects at an accredited
college or university:

(A) English composition.

(B) Macroeconomics.

(C) Microeconomics.

(D) Finance.

(E) Algebra, geometry or higher mathematics.

(F) Statistics.

(G) Computer science.

(H) Business or real estate law.

(I) Two elective courses in accounting, geography,
ag-economics, business management or real estate.

(2) This requirement does not apply to an appli-
cant who submits an otherwise qualifying applica-
tion before January 1, 2012, that shows evidence of
the applicant’s having completed 180 classroom
hours of courses related to real estate appraisal,
including the 15-hour National USPAP Course or
equivalent course approved by the AQB, together
with coverage of the topics listed in subsection
(c)(1), before January 1, 2008. ]
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(a) General qualifications. An applicant for certi-
fication as a general real estate appraiser shall:

(1) Be of good moral character.

(2) Satisfy the education and experience require-
ments in this section as of the date of the examina-
tion.

(3) Pass an AQB-approved examination for certifi-
cation as a general real estate appraiser.

(4) Satisfy all the requirements in the AQB Quali-
fication Criteria for certification as a general real
estate appraiser.

(b) Appraisal classroom hours. An applicant for
certification as a general real estate appraiser shall
submit evidence to the Board of having completed
the classroom hours required by the AQB Qualifica-
tion Criteria as of the date of application.

(1) Length of classroom hour and courses; course
examination requirement.

(i) The length of classroom hours and courses
must comply with the requirements in the AQB
Qualification Criteria.

(ii) Credit toward the classroom hour require-
ment will be granted only if the applicant success-
fully completes an examination pertinent to the
course and attends at least the minimum length of
time, as required by the AQB Qualification Criteria,
to receive course credit.

(iii) The course examination must comply with
the requirements in the AQB Qualification Criteria.

(2) Providers of appraisal courses. Credit for the
classroom hour requirement may be obtained from
the types of providers in the AQB Qualification
Criteria subject to all of the following:

(i) Credit for the classroom hour requirement
may be obtained from accredited colleges or uni-
versities and community or junior colleges.

(ii) Real estate appraisal or real estate related
organizations, State or Federal agencies or commis-
sions, proprietary schools and other providers are
subject to Board approval under § 36.31 (relating to
provider registration/appraisal courses).

(3) Distance education. Distance education
courses must comply with the requirements in the
AQB Qualification Criteria. A distance education
course is acceptable to meet the classroom hour
requirement if the course is approved by the Board,
and meets all of the following conditions:

(i) The course is presented by one of the follow-
ing:

(A) An accredited (Commission on Colleges or a
regional accreditation association) college or uni-
versity that offers distance education programs in
other disciplines.

(B) A course provider that has received approval
for course design and delivery mechanism from the
IDECC and approval for course content from the
Board or from the AQB through its Course Ap-
proval Program.

(ii) The applicant successfully completes a writ-
ten examination proctored by an official approved
by the college, university or other course provider.

(iii) The length and content of the course meet
the requirements of paragraph (1) and subsection
(c), respectively.

(c) Content of appraisal education.
(1) The content of an applicant’s appraisal educa-

tion must comply with the qualifying education
requirements in the AQB Qualification Criteria and
as specified in the Required Core Curriculum in
the AQB Qualification Criteria.

(2) All courses must consist of instruction in the
subject areas in Guide Note 1 of the AQB Qualifica-
tion Criteria or any successor Guide Note.

(d) Postsecondary education. An applicant for cer-
tification as a general real estate appraiser shall
satisfy the postsecondary education requirements
in the AQB Qualification Criteria.

(e) Experience. An applicant’s experience must
comply with all of the following:

[ (1) In addition to meeting the education re-
quirements, an applicant shall submit evidence to
the Board of having acquired 3,000 hours of accept-
able appraisal experience, including 1,500 hours in
nonresidential work, during a period of no less
than 30 months. At least 1,500 hours of the experi-
ence acquired by an applicant shall be in the actual
preparation of real estate appraisal reports, which
includes physical inspections of the interior and
exterior of the subject properties, in accordance
with § 36.13 (relating to experience options regard-
ing preparation of appraisal reports). Hours may be
treated as cumulative to achieve the necessary
3,000 hours of appraisal experience. Cumulative is
defined to mean that experience may be acquired
over any time period in excess of 30 months. There
is no minimum number of hours which must be
acquired in any 1 year. The following will serve as
an example:

Year 1 1,000 Hours
Year 2 800 Hours
Year 3 100 Hours
Year 4 1,000 Hours
Year 5 100 Hours
Total 3,000 Hours ]

(1) An applicant for certification as a general real
estate appraiser shall satisfy the experience re-
quirements in the AQB Qualification Criteria.

(2) At least 50% of the total experience require-
ment must be in the actual preparation of real
estate appraisal reports, which includes physical
inspections of the interior and exterior of the
subject properties, in accordance with § 36.13 (re-
lating to experience options for preparation of
appraisal reports; experience logs).

[ (2) ] (3) Effective January 1, 2008, experience must
be acquired after January 30, 1989, and must comply
with USPAP. Experience acquired after August 2, 1993,
will not be accepted unless the applicant [ has first ]
completed 45 classroom hours of appraisal education,
including 15 hours on USPAP prior to acquiring the
experience. Effective January 1, 2020, experience
credit can be obtained only by individuals who
possess a license as an appraiser trainee or a
certification as a residential real estate appraiser.
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(4) Acceptable categories of appraisal experience in-
clude:

(i) Fee and staff appraisals.

(ii) Ad valorem tax appraisals, if the [ appraiser can
demonstrate that the appraiser used techniques to
value properties similar to those used by other
appraisers and that the appraiser ] applicant can
demonstrate that the applicant used techniques to
value properties similar to those used by appraisers
and that the applicant effectively used the appraisal
process.

(iii) Review appraisals.
(iv) Appraisal analysis (synonymous with an ap-

praisal).
(v) Real estate counseling, if the counselor can satisfac-

torily demonstrate that:
(A) The client clearly asked for counseling services.
(B) The client was informed that the counselor’s time

would be devoted to counseling services, which are sepa-
rate from other real estate functions such as appraising,
sales management and mortgage lending.

(C) A file memorandum was prepared on each assign-
ment, indicating the nature of the assignment, recommen-
dations and disposition.

(D) Compensation for the counseling services was sepa-
rate from other real estate services rendered.

(vi) Highest and best use analysis.
(vii) Feasibility analysis/study.
(viii) Real estate experience such as that of an officer of

a lending institution, if the experience consists of the
actual performance or professional review of real estate
appraisals.

(ix) Evaluations under FIRREA in accordance with
requirements of Federal financial institution regulatory
agencies.

(x) Case studies or practicum courses that are ap-
proved by the AQB Course Approval Program.
§ 36.12a. Qualifications for licensure as appraiser

trainee.

[ (a) Overview. An applicant for licensure as an
appraiser trainee shall be of good moral character
and meet the education requirements prescribed by
this section. Neither a real estate salesperson’s
license nor a real estate broker’s license issued
under the Real Estate Licensing and Registration
Act (63 P.S. § 455.101—455.902) is a prerequisite for
licensure as an appraiser trainee.

(b) Appraisal classroom hours. An applicant shall
submit evidence to the Board of having completed
75 classroom hours in the appraisal curriculum in
paragraph (1), except that this requirement does
not apply to an applicant who had satisfied the
education requirement for certification as a resi-
dential real estate appraiser that was in effect as of
December 31, 2007.

(1) Content of appraisal education. An applicant’s
classroom hours must satisfy the following curricu-
lum requirements:

(i) Basic appraisal principles (30 hours).
(A) Real property concepts and characteristics.
(I) Basic real property concepts.

(II) Real property characteristics.
(III) Legal description.
(B) Legal considerations.
(I) Forms of ownership.
(II) Public and private controls.
(III) Real estate contracts.
(IV) Leases.
(C) Influences on real estate.
(I) Governmental.
(II) Economic.
(III) Social.
(IV) Environmental, geographic and physical.
(D) Types of value.
(I) Market value.
(II) Other value types.
(E) Economic principles.
(I) Classical economic principles.
(II) Application and illustrations of the economic

principles.
(F) Overview of real estate markets and analysis.
(I) Market fundamentals, characteristics and defi-

nitions.
(II) Supply analysis.
(III) Demand analysis.
(IV) Use of market analysis.
(G) Ethics and how they apply in appraisal

theory and practice.
(ii) Basic appraisal procedures (30 hours).
(A) Overview of approaches to value.
(B) Valuation procedure.

(I) Defining the problem.

(II) Collecting and selecting the data.

(III) Analyzing.

(IV) Reconciling and final value opinion.

(V) Communicating the appraisal.

(C) Property description.

(I) Geographic characteristics of the land/site.

(II) Geologic characteristics of the land/site.

(III) Location and neighborhood characteristics.

(IV) Land/site considerations for highest and best
use.

(V) Improvements—architectural styles and types
of construction.

(D) Residential applications.

(iii) National USPAP Course or equivalent (15
hours).

(A) Preamble and ethics rules.

(B) Standard 1.

(C) Standard 2.

(D) Standards 3 to 10.

(E) Statements and advisory opinions.
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(2) Examination requirement; length of classroom
hour. Credit towards the classroom hour require-
ment will only be granted when the applicant
successfully completes an examination pertinent to
the course. A classroom hour is defined as 50
minutes out of each 60 minute segment.

(3) Providers of appraisal courses. Credit for the
classroom hour requirement may be obtained from
accredited colleges or universities and community
or junior colleges. Subject to Board approval under
§ 36.31 (relating to provider registration/appraisal
courses), credit for the classroom hour requirement
may also be obtained from real estate appraisal or
real estate related organizations, State or Federal
agencies or commissions, proprietary schools and
other providers. ]

(a) General qualifications. An applicant for
licensure as an appraiser trainee shall:

(1) Be of good moral character.

(2) Satisfy the education requirements in this
section.

(3) Complete a course that, at a minimum, com-
plies with the specifications for course content
established by the AQB Qualification Criteria,
which is specifically oriented to the requirements
and responsibilities of supervisory appraisers and
licensed appraiser trainees.

(4) Satisfy the requirements in the AQB Qualifica-
tion Criteria for licensure as an appraiser trainee.

(b) Appraisal classroom hours. An applicant for
licensure as an appraiser trainee shall comply with
the qualifying educational standards required by
the AQB Qualification Criteria.

(1) Content of appraisal education.

(i) The content of an applicant’s appraisal educa-
tion must comply with the qualifying education
requirements in the AQB Qualification Criteria.

(ii) All courses must consist of instruction in the
subject areas in Guide Note 1 of the AQB Qualifica-
tion Criteria or any successor Guide Note.

(2) Length of classroom hour and courses; course
examination requirement. The length of classroom
hours and course requirements must comply with
all of the following:

(i) The length of classroom hours and courses
must comply with the requirements in the AQB
Qualification Criteria.

(ii) Credit toward the classroom hour require-
ment will be granted only when the applicant
successfully completes an examination pertinent to
the course and attends at least the minimum length
of time, as required by the AQB Qualification Crite-
ria, to receive course credit.

(iii) The course examination must comply with
the requirements in the AQB Qualification Criteria.

(3) Providers of appraisal courses. Credit for the
classroom hour requirement may be obtained from
the types of providers in the AQB Qualification
Criteria subject to all of the following:

(i) Credit for the classroom hour requirement
may be obtained from accredited colleges or uni-
versities and community or junior colleges.

(ii) Real estate appraisal or real estate related
organizations, State or Federal agencies or commis-
sions, proprietary schools and other providers are
subject to Board approval under § 36.31 (relating to
provider registration/appraisal courses).

(4) Distance education. Distance education courses
must comply with the requirements in the AQB
Qualification Criteria. A distance education course is
acceptable to meet the classroom hour requirement if the
course is approved by the Board and meets all of the
following conditions:

(i) The course is presented by one of the following:

(A) An accredited (Commission on Colleges or a re-
gional accreditation association) college or university that
offers distance education programs in other disciplines.

(B) A course provider that has received approval for
course design and delivery mechanism from the IDECC
and approval for course content from the Board or from
the AQB through its Course Approval Program.

(ii) The applicant successfully completes a written ex-
amination proctored by an official approved by the col-
lege, university or other course provider.

(iii) The content and classroom hours of the course
meet the requirements of paragraphs (1) and (2).

(c) Noneligibility for licensure. A certified real estate
appraiser is not eligible to be licensed as an appraiser
trainee.

(d) Limitation on license renewal. An appraiser trainee
license may not be biennially renewed more than four
times unless the Board, for good cause shown and on a
case-by-case basis, should determine that one or more
additional renewals is warranted.

§ 36.13. Experience options for preparation of appraisal
reports; experience logs.

* * * * *

(b) [ An ] For experience acquired before October
1, 2010, an assistant to a certified general real estate
appraiser or certified residential real estate appraiser
shall [ observe ] comply with all of the following
requirements when preparing an appraisal report:

* * * * *

(c) A licensed appraiser trainee shall [ observe ] com-
ply with all of the following requirements when prepar-
ing an appraisal report for a certified general real estate
appraiser or certified residential real estate appraiser:

* * * * *

(d) A certified residential real estate appraiser shall
[ observe ] comply with all of the following require-
ments when preparing an appraisal report for a certified
general real estate appraiser:

(1) The residential appraiser shall perform an inspec-
tion of the interior and exterior of the property.

(2) The residential appraiser may not arrive at an
independent determination of value.

(3) The residential appraiser shall comply with USPAP.

(4) The residential appraiser shall co-sign the appraisal
report as set forth in § 36.52 (relating to use of certificate
number and title) and ensure that the nature of his
significant real property appraisal assistance is specified
in the report.

PROPOSED RULEMAKING 3975

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 48, NO. 27, JULY 7, 2018



(5) Jointly maintain an appraisal experience log
with the general real estate appraiser on forms
provided by the Board.

(e) The licensed appraiser trainee shall jointly
maintain an appraisal experience log with the su-
pervisory appraiser on forms provided by the
Board. An appraisal experience log must comply
with the requirements in the AQB Qualification
Criteria.

CONTINUING EDUCATION
§ 36.41. Continuing education requirement.

(a) Continuing education for certified real estate ap-
praisers and licensed appraiser trainees is necessary
to ensure that they maintain and increase their skill,
knowledge and competency in real estate appraising.
Except as provided in subsection (b), [ a certified real
estate appraiser shall complete 28 classroom hours
of continuing education—including the 7-hour Na-
tional USPAP Update Course, or an equivalent
7-hour course approved by the AQB, and ] certified
real estate appraisers and licensed appraiser train-
ees shall satisfy the continuing education require-
ments in the AQB Qualification Criteria, which
must include at least 2 hours on the act, this chapter
and the policies of the Board[ — ]during each biennial
renewal period as a condition of renewal of certification
for the next biennial renewal period.

(b) A certified general real estate appraiser [ or ],
residential real estate appraiser or licensed appraiser
trainee whose initial certification or license becomes
effective between January 1 and June 30 of a biennial
renewal year will not be required to furnish proof of
continuing education as a condition of renewal of certifi-
cation in that biennial renewal year.

§ 36.42. [ Continuing education subject matter. ]
Subject matter and sources of continuing educa-
tion.

[ (a) The following subjects are acceptable for
continuing education:

(1) Ad valorem taxation.
(2) Arbitration.
(3) Business courses related to the practice of

real estate appraisal.
(4) Development cost-estimating.
(5) Ethics and standards of professional practice.
(6) Land use planning, zoning and taxation.
(7) Management, leasing, brokerage and time-

sharing.
(8) Property development.
(9) Real estate appraisal.
(10) Real estate financing and investment.
(11) Real estate law.
(12) Real estate litigation.
(13) Real estate appraisal related computer appli-

cations.
(14) Real estate securities and syndication.
(15) Real property exchange.

(16) Mass appraisal model building.

(17) Mass appraisal model calibration.

(18) Assessment administration.
(19) Mapping.
(b) Credit toward the classroom hour require-

ment will be granted only when the length of the
education offering is at least 2 hours. A classroom
hour is defined as 50 minutes out of each 60 minute
segment. ]

(a) Continuing education subject matter and
sources must comply with the requirements in the
AQB Qualification Criteria.

(b) Subjects acceptable for continuing education
include the subjects in the AQB Qualification Crite-
ria.

(c) Credit for the classroom hour requirement may be
obtained from colleges or universities and community or
junior colleges. Subject to Board approval under § 36.31
(relating to provider registration/appraisal courses), credit
for the classroom hour requirement may also be obtained
from real estate appraisal or real estate related organiza-
tions, State or Federal agencies, or commissions, propri-
etary schools and other providers.

(d) Educational offerings which cover real estate ap-
praisal related topics other than those [ listed in sub-
section (a) ] in subsection (b) may be acceptable for
continuing education credit if the applicant can demon-
strate to the Board that the topic or program contributed
to the applicant’s professional competence and is consis-
tent with the purpose of continuing education as stated in
§ 36.41 (relating to [ purpose ] continuing education
requirement).

[ (e) Continuing education credit may also be
granted—up to 50% of the biennial requirement—
for participation, other than as a student, in ap-
praisal educational processes and programs. Ex-
amples of activities for which credit may be
granted include teaching, program development,
authorship of textbooks or similar activities which
the applicant can demonstrate to the Board are
equivalent to obtaining continuing education. ]
§ 36.43. Distance education.

Distance education courses must comply with the
requirements in the AQB Qualification Criteria. A
distance education course is acceptable for continuing
education credit if it is approved by the Board and meets
all of the following conditions:

(1) The course is presented by one of the following:

(i) A course provider that presents the course to an
organized group in an instructional setting with a person
qualified and available to answer questions, provide
information and monitor attendance.

(ii) An accredited (Commission on Colleges or a re-
gional accreditation association) college or university that
offers distance education programs in other disciplines.

(iii) A course provider that has received approval for
course design and delivery mechanism from the IDECC
and approval for course content from the Board or from
the AQB through its Course Approval Program.

(2) With regard to a course presented under paragraph
(1)(ii) or (iii), the certified real estate appraiser or the
licensed appraiser trainee either successfully com-
pletes a written examination proctored by an official
approved by the college, university or other course pro-
vider or successfully completes the course mechanisms
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required for course accreditation that evidence the learn-
er’s mastery and fluency of the course content.

(3) The content and length of the course meet the
requirements of § 36.42 (relating to [ continuing edu-
cation subject matter ] subject matter and sources
of continuing education).

STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL APPRAISAL
PRACTICE

§ 36.54. Duties of supervisory appraiser.

* * * * *

(b) A certified residential real estate appraiser or certi-
fied general real estate appraiser who utilizes a licensed
appraiser trainee shall:

(1) Have at least 5 [ years’ ] years of experience as a
residential real estate or general real estate appraiser.

(2) Comply with the supervisory appraiser re-
quirements in the AQB Qualification Criteria.

(3) Provide written notification to the Board of
the name and address of the licensed appraiser
trainee before the trainee begins work for the
appraiser.

(4) Be a certified residential real estate appraiser
or certified general real estate appraiser in this
Commonwealth for at least 3 years immediately
preceding the supervisory appraiser’s notification
to the Board.

(5) Be a certified residential real estate appraiser
or certified general real estate appraiser in good
standing in this Commonwealth.

(i) The supervisory appraiser shall be in good
standing in this Commonwealth for at least 3 years
immediately preceding the supervisory appraiser’s
notification to the Board.

(ii) The supervisory appraiser shall be in good
standing while serving as a supervisor.

(6) Have not received from the Board or any
jurisdiction any disciplinary action that affects or
affected the supervisor’s legal eligibility to engage
in appraisal practice within 3 years immediately
preceding the supervisory appraiser’s notification
to the Board.

(7) Prior to supervising a licensed appraiser
trainee, complete a course, that, at a minimum,
complies with the specifications for course content
established by the AQB Qualification Criteria,
which is specifically oriented to the requirements
and responsibilities of supervisory appraisers and
licensed appraiser trainees.

[ (2) ] (8) Supervise no more than three licensed
appraiser trainees at one time.

[ (3) ] (9) Directly supervise and control the licensed
appraiser trainee’s work, assuming total responsibility
for the contents of the appraisal report, including all
value conclusions.

[ (4) ] (10) Accompany the licensed appraiser
trainee during the physical inspection of the property
until the licensed appraiser trainee has logged 300
hours of appraisal experience or until the supervising
appraiser determines the licensed appraiser trainee is
competent under USPAP to perform the physical inspec-
tion unaccompanied, whichever is the longer period.

[ (5) ] (11) Co-sign a Board-approved appraiser trainee
checklist that has been completed by the licensed ap-
praiser trainee, relates to the licensed appraiser train-
ee’s work on the appraisal report and is made part of the
appraisal report submitted to the client.

(12) Jointly maintain an appraisal experience log
with the licensed appraiser trainee. An appraisal
experience log must comply with the requirements
in the AQB Qualification Criteria.

[ (6) ] (13) Provide a current or former licensed ap-
praiser trainee who is applying for appraiser certifica-
tion with copies of designated appraisal reports requested
by the Board to verify the licensed appraiser trainee’s
experience.

(c) A certified general real estate appraiser who utilizes
a certified residential real estate appraiser as an assis-
tant for an appraisal of nonresidential property or an
appraisal of residential property of more than four dwell-
ing units shall:

(1) Directly supervise and control the residential ap-
praiser’s work, assuming total responsibility for the con-
tents of the appraisal report, including all value conclu-
sions.

(2) Accompany the residential appraiser during the
physical inspection of the property until the general
appraiser determines the residential appraiser is compe-
tent under USPAP to perform the physical inspection
unaccompanied.

(3) Co-sign the appraisal report as set forth in § 36.52
and specify in the appraisal report the nature of the
significant real property appraisal assistance rendered by
the residential appraiser.

(4) Provide the residential appraiser, at the time of
application for general appraiser certification, with copies
of designated appraisal reports requested by the Board to
verify the residential appraiser’s experience.

(5) Jointly maintain an appraisal experience log
with the general real estate appraiser on forms
provided by the Board.

(6) Comply with the requirements in the AQB
Qualification Criteria.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 18-1033. Filed for public inspection July 6, 2018, 9:00 a.m.]
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