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THE COURTS

Title 204—JUDICIAL SYSTEM
GENERAL PROVISIONS

PART Il. GENERAL ADMINISTRATION
[ 204 PA. CODE CH. 29]

Promulgation of Financial Regulations Pursuant to
42 Pa.C.S. § 3502(a); No. 503 Judicial Adminis-
tration Doc.

Order
Per Curiam

And Now, this 25th day of September, 2018, it is
Ordered pursuant to Article V, Section 10(c) of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania and Section 3502(a) of the
Judicial Code, 42 Pa.C.S. § 3502(a), that the Court
Administrator of Pennsylvania is authorized to promul-
gate the following Financial Regulations. The costs out-
lined in the Financial Regulations are effective as of
January 1, 2019.

To the extent that notice of proposed rule-making may
be required by Pa.R.J.A. No. 103, the immediate promul-
gation of the regulations is hereby found to be in the
interests of efficient administration.

This Order is to be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(b) and is effective immediately.

Annex A

TITLE 204. JUDICIAL SYSTEM GENERAL
PROVISIONS

PART II. GENERAL ADMINISTRATION
CHAPTER 29. MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS
Subchapter K. COSTS, FINES AND FEES
§ 29.401. Scope.

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court, pursuant to Art. V,
§ 10 of the Pennsylvania Constitution, and 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 1721, has authorized by Administrative Order, the
Court Administrator of Pennsylvania to promulgate regu-
lations relating to the accounting methods to be utilized
in connection with the collection of fees and costs charged
and collected by prothonotaries, and clerks of courts of all
courts of common pleas, or by any officials designated to
perform the functions thereof, as well as by the minor
judiciary, including magisterial district judges, and judges
and staff of all divisions of the Philadelphia Municipal
Court.

Under authority of said Administrative Order and
pursuant to the authority vested in the governing author-
ity under 42 Pa.C.S. § 3502(a) of the Judicial Code, the
following regulations are adopted to implement Act 96 of
2010, 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 1725.1(f) and 3571(c)(4) (as
amended).

§ 29.402. 42 Pa.C.S. § 1725.1. Costs.

(a) Civil cases.—In calendar year 2019, the costs to be
charged by magisterial district judges in every civil case,
except as otherwise provided in this section, shall be as
follows:

(1) Actions involving $500 or less ............. $54.00
(2) Actions involving more than $500
but not more than $2,000 ....................... $72.00

(3) Actions involving more than $2,000

but not more than $4,000 ....................... $89.50
(4) Actions involving between $4,001 and

$12,000 . ... $134.50
(5) Landlord-tenant actions involving $2,000

OF 1SS oottt e $80.50
(6) Landlord-tenant actions involving more

than $2,000 but not more than $4,000 ........... $98.50
(7) Landlord-tenant actions involving more

than $4,000 but not more than $12,000 ......... $134.50
(8) Order of execution ...........ccoueeeeenn... $40.50
(9) Objectiontolevy ................ccoo.... $18.00
(10) Reinstatement of complaint ............... $9.00

(11) Entering Transcript on Appeal or Certiorari. $4.50

Said costs shall not include, however, the cost of
postage and registered mail which shall be borne by the
plaintiff.

(a.1) Custody cases.—In calendar year 2019, the cost
(in addition to the cost provided by general rule) to be
charged by the court of common pleas shall be as follows:

(1) Custody cases, except as provided in section
1725(C)(2)(V) oot $8.50

(b) Criminal cases.—In calendar year 2019, the costs to
be charged by the minor judiciary or by the court of
common pleas where appropriate in every criminal case,
except as otherwise provided in this section, shall be as
follows:

(1) Summary conviction, except motor vehicle

CASES e ettt e e e e e $51.00
(2) Summary conviction, motor vehicle cases,

other than paragraph (3) ....................... $40.50
(3) Summary conviction, motor vehicle cases,

hearing demanded ............................. $48.50
(4) Misdemeanor ..............coeeeeeennnnn... $58.50
(B) Felony .............. ... ... ... $67.50

Such costs shall not include, however, the cost of
postage and registered mail which shall be paid by the
defendant upon conviction.

(¢) Unclassified costs or charges.—In calendar year
2019, the costs to be charged by the minor judiciary in
the following instances not readily classifiable shall be as
follows:

(1) Entering transcript of judgment from another
member of the minor judiciary ................... $9.00

(2) Marrying each couple, making record thereof,
and certificate to the parties .................... $45.00

(3) Granting emergency relief pursuant to
23 Pa.C.S. Ch. 61 (relating to protection from

ADUSE) .ttt $18.00
(4) Issuing a search warrant (except as

provided in subsection (d)) ...................... $18.00
(5) Any other issuance not otherwise provided

in this subsection ............ ..., $18.00
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§ 29.403. 42 Pa.C.S. § 3571.

In calendar year 2019, Commonwealth portion of fines,
etc.

ES * ES * *
(¢c) Costs in magisterial district judge proceedings.
(2) Amounts payable to the Commonwealth:

(i) Summary conviction, except motor vehicle

CASES vttt ettt e $18.00
(ii) Summary conviction, motor vehicle cases

other than subparagraph (iii) ................... $18.00
(iii) Summary conviction, motor vehicle cases,

hearing demanded ............................. $18.00
(iv) Misdemeanor ............eeeuuuuueeeennn. $23.40
(V) Felony .........cooiiiiii .. $36.00
(vi) Assumpsit or trespass involving:
(A) $500 0T 1eSS .. ovviii i $22.50

(B) More than $500 but not more than $2,000.. $36.00
(C) More than $2,000 but not more than

$4,000 ... $53.70
(D) Between $4,001 and $12,000 .............. $89.50
(vii) Landlord-tenant proceeding involving:
(A) $2,000 or less ...t $35.80
(B) More than $2,000 but not more than

$4,000 ..o $44.80
(C) More than $4,000 but not more than

$12,000 ... $62.80
(viii) Objection to levy ...............ccoivoo. .. $9.00
(ix) Order of execution ....................... $27.00

(x) Issuing a search warrant (except as
provided in section 1725.1(d) (relating to costs)) ..

(xi) Order of possession ...................... $15.00
(xii) Custody cases (except as provided in

section 1725(C)(2)(V)) v vve e $6.80
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 18-1657. Filed for public inspection October 26, 2018, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 204—JUDICIAL SYSTEM
GENERAL PROVISIONS

[ 204 PA. CODE CH. 83]

Proposed Amendments to the Pennsylvania Rules
of Disciplinary Enforcement Relating to Annual
Registration of Attorneys

Notice is hereby given that The Disciplinary Board of
the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania (“Board”) is consider-
ing recommending to the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania
that it adopt amendments to Pennsylvania Rule of Disci-
plinary Enforcement (‘Pa.R.D.E.”) 219, relating to the
timing of nonwaivable late payment penalties assessed
against an attorney who fails to timely complete the
annual attorney registration, as set forth in Annex A.

Rule 219(a) provides that every attorney admitted to
practice law in this Commonwealth shall pay an annual

fee and electronically file the annual fee form by July 1.
Pursuant to subdivision (¢) of the rule, attorneys are
notified of this obligation, via electronic mail, on or before
May 15 of each year. Subdivision (f) of the rule provides
for the assessment of two nonwaivable late payment
penalties, the first on attorneys who fail to register by
July 31, and the second on attorneys who fail to register
by August 31. Although not explicitly stated, the rule
provides for a courtesy period between July 1 and July 31
for late registration without penalty.

After August 31, the continued failure to comply with
the registration and payment requirements of Rule 219 is
deemed a request to be administratively suspended. The
Rule directs the Attorney Registration Office (“Office”) to
certify to the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania the name of
every attorney who has failed to comply with registration.
Following the timelines provided for in the rule, gener-
ally, the Office sends the administrative suspension list to
the Court in September, after which time the Court
enters its administrative suspension order, effective in
October.

As set forth in Rule 219, the active registration period
lasts from May 15 through July 1, with late registration
penalties imposed on July 31 and August 31. The basis
for the July 31 and August 31 late registration penalty
dates is historical in nature due to the fact that for
decades, attorneys were required to file the annual
registration in paper form. Processing the paper registra-
tion forms was time-consuming. The Office mailed all
registration forms and notices pertaining to registration
in paper form and attorneys submitted all registration
paperwork to the Office through the mail. Staff manually
sorted the forms and inputted the data into the Attorney
Registration database. The timeframes memorialized in
the existing Rules are responsive to these past practices

Electronic registration has been mandatory since the
2016-2017 registration year, whereby attorneys register
by accessing a portal on the Unified Judicial System’s
web site. Using the electronic portal, attorneys have the
option to pay by credit card, thus immediately completing
the attorney registration obligation once that payment is
processed, or attorneys can opt to print out a voucher and
mail in the voucher along with a check or money order. In
the latter case, the attorney registration obligation is
considered completed once the payment is received and
processed. Additionally, the Office now sends registration
notices to attorneys in electronic form. Communicating
with attorneys via electronic mail allows Office staff to
notify those who have not completed the process through
weekly or bi-weekly emails.

The data on timely compliance bears out the success of
these technological developments and demonstrates a
readiness for modification of the existing timelines. For
2017-2018 registration, over 79% of attorneys completed
their registration by July 1; by July 31, prior to the
imposition of the first late fee, over 96%' of attorneys
completed their registration. For 2018-2019, nearly 82%
of attorneys completed registration by July 1; by July 31,
nearly 97%? of attorneys completed their registration. Yet,
after July 31, registration remains open until October for
approximately 3% of attorneys, roughly 2,500 registrants.
Upon the Board’s analysis, since the transition to elec-
tronic registration and communication, the timeline es-
tablished by the Rules, which was responsive to past
practices, warrants modification in light of current prac-
tices.

172,465 attorneys
272,452 attorneys
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The Board proposes truncating the registration period
by amending subdivision (f) to change the late registra-
tion dates from July 31 and August 31 to July 16 and
August 1. This proposed change only impacts the period
for late registration; the active registration period re-
mains the same, May 15 through July 1. Additionally, the
rule still permits a courtesy period to file late registra-
tions before penalties are assessed, from July 1 to July
15. Compressing the dates for late registration will
streamline the registration process and will allow the
Office to send the administrative suspension list to the
Court in early August, as opposed to September, with an
effective date of the Court’s order in September, instead of
October. In addition, this proposal is consistent with best
business practices, as a shortened registration period will
reduce the Office’s temporary staffing needs which are
required during attorney registration season for telephone
support.

Interested persons are invited to submit written com-
ments regarding the proposed amendments to the Office
of the Secretary, The Disciplinary Board of the Supreme
Court of Pennsylvania, 601 Commonwealth Avenue, Suite
5600, PO Box 62625, Harrisburg, PA 17106-2625,
Facsimile number (717-231-3381), Email address Dboard.
comments@pacourts.us on or before November 26, 2018.

By the Disciplinary Board of the
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

JESSE G. HEREDA,
Executive Director

Annex A

TITLE 204. JUDICIAL SYSTEM GENERAL
PROVISIONS

PART V. PROFESSIONAL ETHICS AND CONDUCT
Subpart B. DISCIPLINARY ENFORCEMENT

CHAPTER 83. PENNSYLVANIA RULES OF
DISCIPLINARY ENFORCEMENT

Subchapter B. MISCONDUCT
Rule 219. Annual registration of attorneys.

(a) Every attorney admitted to practice law in this
Commonwealth shall pay an annual fee of $120.00 and
electronically file the annual fee form provided for in this
rule by July 1. The fee shall be collected under the
supervision of the Attorney Registration Office, which
shall make the annual fee form available for filing
through a link on the Board’s website (http:/www.
padisciplinaryboard.org) or directly at https://ujsportal.
pacourts.us. The said fee shall be used to defray the costs
of disciplinary administration and enforcement under
these rules, and for such other purposes as the Board
shall, with the approval of the Supreme Court, from time
to time determine. Upon an attorney’s written request
submitted to the Attorney Registration Office and for
good cause shown, the Attorney Registration Office shall
grant an exemption from the electronic filing requirement
and permit the attorney to file the annual fee form in
paper form.

Official Note: Pa.R.P.C. 1.15(u) imposes an additional
annual fee for use by the IOLTA Board, and Pa.R.D.E.
502(b) imposes an additional annual fee for use by the
Pennsylvania Lawyers Fund for Client Security.

& * kS * &

(¢c) On or before May 15 of each year, the Attorney
Registration Office shall transmit to all attorneys re-

quired by this rule to pay an annual fee a notice by
e-mail to register electronically by July 1. Failure to
receive notice shall not excuse the filing of the annual fee
form or payment of the annual fee.

* & * *k *

(f) Any attorney who fails to complete registration by
July [381] 16 shall be automatically assessed a non-
waivable late payment penalty established by the Board.
A second, non-waivable late payment penalty established
by the Board shall be automatically added to the delin-
quent account of any attorney who has failed to complete
registration by August [ 81 ] 1, at which time the contin-
ued failure to comply with this rule shall be deemed a
request to be administratively suspended. Thereafter, the
Attorney Registration Office shall certify to the Supreme
Court the name of every attorney who has failed to
comply with the registration and payment requirements
of this rule, and the Supreme Court shall enter an order
administratively suspending the attorney. The Chief Jus-
tice may delegate the processing and entry of orders
under this subdivision to the Prothonotary. Upon entry of
an order of administrative suspension, the Attorney Reg-
istration Office shall transmit by certified mail, addressed
to the last known mailing address of the attorney, or by
electronic means, the order of administrative suspension
and a notice that the attorney shall comply with Enforce-
ment Rule 217 (relating to formerly admitted attorneys),
a copy of which shall be included with the notice.

For purposes of assessing the late payment penalties
prescribed by this subdivision (f), registration shall not be
deemed to be complete until the Attorney Registration
Office receives a completed annual fee form and satisfac-
tory payment of the annual fee and of all outstanding
collection fees and late payment penalties. If a check in
payment of the delinquency has been returned to the
Board unpaid, a collection fee, as established by the
Board under subdivision (d)(2) of this rule, shall be added
to the attorney’s delinquent account and registration shall
not be deemed to be complete until the delinquent
account has been paid in full.

The amount of the late payment penalties shall be
established by the Board annually pursuant to the provi-
sions of subdivision (h)(3) of this rule.

* & * b *

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 18-1658. Filed for public inspection October 26, 2018, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 204—JUDICIAL SYSTEM
GENERAL PROVISIONS

[ 204 PA. CODE CH. 83]

Proposed Amendments to the Pennsylvania Rules
of Disciplinary Enforcement Relating to Review
and Action by the Board

Notice is hereby given that The Disciplinary Board of
the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania (“Board”) is consider-
ing recommending to the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania
that it adopt amendments to Pennsylvania Rule of Disci-
plinary Enforcement (“Pa.R.D.E.”) 208, relating to the
submission of briefs and presentation of oral argument to
the Board, as set forth in Annex A.
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In attorney discipline and reinstatement proceedings,
pursuant to the Disciplinary Board Rules and Procedures
(“Board Rules”), following the filing of a report and
recommendation with the Board by a hearing committee
or special master, either party may object to such findings
and recommendation by filing exceptions in a brief to the
Board. In the brief on exceptions, a party may request
oral argument before the Board. The parties may also file
a brief opposing exceptions in response to a brief on
excleptions. See, Disciplinary Board Rule § 89.201(d) and
(e).

The Pennsylvania Rules of Disciplinary Enforcement,
however, in Rule 208(d)(1), addressing the same proceed-
ings, states that “the respondent-attorney shall have the
right to submit briefs and to present oral argument to a
panel of at least three members of the Board.” Contrary
to what is provided for in the Board Rules, this rule
language in the Rules of Disciplinary Enforcement does
not expressly state that both parties have the right to file
briefs and present oral argument. In order to remedy this
inconsistency, the Board proposes amending Rule
208(d)(1) to encompass the rights of both parties to the
proceedings.

The proposed amendment to Rule 208(d)(1) modifies the
scope of the rule to provide that both parties shall have
the right to submit briefs and to present oral argument
before the Board.

Interested persons are invited to submit written com-
ments regarding the proposed amendments to the Office
of the Secretary, The Disciplinary Board of the Supreme
Court of Pennsylvania, 601 Commonwealth Avenue, Suite
5600, PO Box 62625, Harrisburg, PA 17106-2625, Fac-
simile number (717-231-3381), Email address Dboard.
comments@pacourts.us on or before November 26, 2018.

By the Disciplinary Board of the
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

JESSE G. HEREDA,
Executive Director

Annex A

TITLE 204. JUDICIAL SYSTEM GENERAL
PROVISIONS

PART V. PROFESSIONAL ETHICS AND CONDUCT
Subpart B. DISCIPLINARY ENFORCEMENT

CHAPTER 83. PENNSYLVANIA RULES OF
DISCIPLINARY ENFORCEMENT

Subchapter B. MISCONDUCT
Rule 208. Procedure.

& * & * *

(¢c) Hearing procedures. Proceedings before hearing
committees and special masters shall be governed by
Board rules, except that, unless waived in the manner
provided by such rules, at the conclusion of the hearing
the hearing committee or special master shall submit a

189.201(d) Procedure to except to report of hearing committee or special master. Any
participant desiring to object to the findings and recommendations of a hearing
committee or special master shall, within 20 days after the service of a copy of a report
or such other time as may be fixed by the Board Chair, file exceptions to the report or
part thereof in a brief (designated “brief on exceptions”). “Briefs opposing exceptions”
may be filed in response to briefs on exceptions within 20 days after the filing of briefs
on exceptions or such other time as may be fixed by the Board Chair. No further
response will be entertained unless the Board, with or without motion, so orders.

89.201(e) Oral argument. Unless otherwise ordered by the Board, oral argument
shall be deemed waived unless expressly requested in a brief on exceptions or brief
opposing exceptions.

report to the Board containing the findings and recom-
mendations of the hearing committee or special master.

(d) Review and action by Board.

(1) Proceedings before the Board shall be governed by
Board rules, except that, unless waived in the manner
provided by such rules, [ the respondent-attorney ]
both parties shall have the right to submit briefs and to
present oral argument to a panel of at least three
members of the Board. Members of the Board who have
participated on a reviewing panel under paragraph (a)(4)
or (5) of this rule shall not participate in further consider-
ation of the same matter or decision thereof on the merits
under this subdivision (d).

* & * & *

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 18-1659. Filed for public inspection October 26, 2018, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 249—PHILADELPHIA RULES

PHILADELPHIA COUNTY

Amendment Philadelphia Criminal Rule *528. Ten
Percent (10%) Deposit of Bail; No 02 of 2018

Order

And now, this 10th day of October, 2018, upon recom-
mendation of the Philadelphia County Criminal Justice
Advisory Board (“CJAB”) that the First Judicial District
of Pennsylvania consider amending Philadelphia Criminal
Rule *528, which currently authorizes the retention of
30% of cash bail posted to secure a defendant’s release
from custody pending the full and final disposition of the
defendant’s case, and upon consideration of best practices
reviewed by the CJAB and the First Judicial District in
connection with criminal justice reform including in their
involvement in the management of the MacArthur Foun-
dation grant awarded to the City of Philadelphia and
interaction with City Council’s Special Committee on
Criminal Justice Reform, the Court concludes that the
interests of justice would be best served if the entire
amount of cash bail deposited to secure the defendant’s
release were to be refunded in those cases where the
Defendant fully complied with the principal purpose of
bail: to appear as required at all times for all court
hearings and other events until full and final disposition
of defendant’s case,

Now, therefore, it is hereby Ordered and Decreed that
Philadelphia Rule of Criminal Procedure *528 is amended
as follows. The amendment authorizes the return of the
entire amount deposited, pursuant and subject to
Pa.R.Crim.P. 535, provided that the Defendant has not
violated the condition of the bail bond which requires the
Defendant to appear as required at all times for all court
hearings and other events until full and final disposition
of the case.

It Is further Ordered and Decreed that should the
Defendant fail to appear as required by the bail bond, the
amount deposited shall be forfeited pursuant to
Pa.R.Crim.P. 536 and the forfeiture shall only be reduced
or vacated pursuant to Philadelphia Criminal Rule *536
and other applicable local rules.

This Order is effective as to all cases which are fully
and finally disposed as of today’s date and thereafter.
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As required by Pa.R.J.A. 103(d), this Administrative
Order and the proposed local rule were submitted to the
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania Criminal Procedural
Rules Committee for review and written notification has
been received from the Rules Committee certifying that
the proposed local rule is not inconsistent with any
general rule of the Supreme Court. This Administrative
Order and the following local rule shall be filed with the
Office of Judicial Records (formerly the Prothonotary,
Clerk of Courts and Clerk of Quarter Sessions) in a
docket maintained for Administrative Orders issued by
the First Judicial District of Pennsylvania. As required by
Pa.R.J.A. 103(d)(5)(ii), two certified copies of this Admin-
istrative Order and the following local rule, as well as one
copy of the Administrative Order and local rule shall be
distributed to the Legislative Reference Bureau on a
computer diskette for publication in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin. As required by Pa.R.J.A. 103(d)(6) one certified
copy of this Administrative Order and local rule shall be
filed with the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania
Courts, shall be published on the web site of the First
Judicial District at http://www.courts.phila.gov, and shall
be incorporated in the compiled set of local rules no later
than 30 days following publication in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin. Copies of the Administrative Order and local
rule shall also be published in The Legal Intelligencer and
will be submitted to American Lawyer Media, Jenkins
Memorial Law Library, and the Law Library for the First
Judicial District.

By the Court

HONORABLE SHEILA WOODS-SKIPPER,
Chair, Administrative Governing Board
First Judicial District of Pennsylvania
President Judge, Court of Common Pleas,
Philadelphia County

Rule *528. Ten Percent (10%) Deposit of Bail.

(A) Any defendant who has been properly granted bail
may obtain his release from custody as provided herein
by depositing with the Office of Judicial Records a sum of
money equal to ten percent (10%) of the full amount of
the bail, but in no event less than twenty-five dollars
($25), and by executing a bail bond. A private individual
who is not a surety company or bail bondsman may act as
a third-party surety and execute the aforementioned bail
bond on behalf of the defendant. Except as provided in
this section, no other individual or business entity may
act as a third-party surety unless approved by the
Administrative Governing Board of the First Judicial
District of Pennsylvania upon filing a petition pursuant to
Pa.R.Crim.P. 531 and applicable local rules of court.

(B) With respect to deposited bail pursuant to subsec-
tion (A), the Court is empowered to designate a minimum
sum of money which shall be retained by the Court.

(C) Should the defendant fail to appear as required by
the bail bond, and not appear in court within ninety (90)
days after notice of the forfeiture, as provided by
Pa.R.Crim.P. 536(A)(2)(c), the amount deposited shall be
forfeited and a judgment will be entered for the balance
of the total bail ordered. Forfeitures and bail judgments
shall only be reduced or vacated pursuant to Philadelphia
Criminal Rule *536 and other applicable local rules of
court.

(D) Upon the full and final disposition of the criminal
case in which bail has been deposited:

(1) the bail deposit shall be returned in full, as pro-
vided in Pa.R.Crim.P. 535, if the defendant has appeared
as required at all times for all court hearings and other
events as required by the bail bond; or

(2) the bail deposit, less the retention amount autho-
rized pursuant to subsection (B), shall be returned if the
defendant has not appeared as required at all times for
all court hearings and other events as required by the
bail bond.

(E) A defendant or a third party surety as defined in
this rule may post realty as security for bail. In this
event, an encumbrance shall be created immediately on
such realty before the defendant may be admitted to bail.
The said encumbrance shall remain in force until the case
is disposed as provided in subsection (D).

Realty posted as security for bail shall be valued in an
amount equal to the assessed value of the realty used for
determining tax liability on the realty. Only realty with
an unencumbered assessed value equal to, or in excess of,
the full amount of bail shall be accepted as security for
the bail.

Comment

Subsection (A) authorizes posting cash bail with the
Office of Judicial Records.

Subsection (B) authorizes the Court to designate, con-
sistent with Pa.R.Crim.P. 535(D), the fee to administer
the cash bail program. The retention figures designated
by the Court are 30% (thirty percent) of the amount of
the deposit or 3% (three percent) of the total amount of
the bail. However, the Court has directed that the
maximum amount retained shall not exceed $1,500 re-
gardless of the total amount of the bail or the amount of
the cash deposit, and that in no event shall the amount
retained by the Court be less than $10 (ten dollars).

Subsection (C) provides guidance regarding the forfei-
ture of the bail deposit and entry of a judgment for the
balance of the bail ordered as well as reduction and
vacation of same.

Subsection (D) provides that the entire bail deposit will
be returned if the defendant appears for all court hear-
ings and events, and that the retention amount estab-
lished in subsection (B) shall be retained if the defendant
does not appear as required.

Subsection (E) controls real estate posted as bail.

Note: Star Rule *4008.1, adopted May 17, 1973; Star
Rule *4009.1, adopted May 17, 1973, and Star Rule
*4010(c), adopted May 20, 1971. General Court Regula-
tion 73-5, July 2, 1973; comment amended by General
Court Regulation 80-13, effective July 1, 1980; comment
amended by General Court Regulation 88-4; effective
June 1, 1988. Former Phila. Crim. R. 506. Comment
amended and rule renumbered on April 20, 2012 by
Administrative Governing Board Order 03 of 2012.
Amended October 10, 2018, effective immediately.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 18-1660. Filed for public inspection October 26, 2018, 9:00 a.m.]
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Title 249—PHILADELPHIA RULES

PHILADELPHIA COUNTY

Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas Criminal
Rule No. 910 Probation Detainer and Violation
Procedure; and Philadelphia Municipal Court
Criminal Rule No. 910 Probation Detainer and
Violation Procedure; Joint Administrative Order
No. 08 of 2018

Order

And Now, this 9th day of October, 2018, it is hereby
Ordered and Decreed that Philadelphia Court of Common
Pleas Criminal Rule No. 910 Probation Detainer and
Violation Procedure, and Philadelphia Municipal Court
Criminal Rule No. 910 Probation Detainer and Violation
Procedure are rescinded, effective immediately.

This Order is issued in accordance with Pa.R.J.A. No.
103 and shall be filed with the Office of Judicial Records
(formerly the Prothonotary, Clerk of Courts and Clerk of
Quarter Sessions) in a docket maintained for Orders
issued by the First Judicial District of Pennsylvania. As
required by Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(d)(5)(i1), two certified copies
of this Order shall be distributed to the Legislative
Reference Bureau, together with a copy on a computer
diskette, for publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. As
required by Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(d)(6) one certified copy of
this Order shall be filed with the Administrative Office of
Pennsylvania Courts, shall be published on the web site
of the First Judicial District at http://www.courts.
phila.gov, and shall be incorporated in the compiled set of
Philadelphia local rules no later than 30 days following
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. Copies of the
Order shall also be published in The Legal Intelligencer
and will be submitted to American Lawyer Media, Jen-
kins Memorial Law Library, and the Law Library for the
First Judicial District.

By the Court

HONORABLE SHEILA WOODS-SKIPPER,
President Judge, Court of Common Pleas
Philadelphia County

HONORABLE MARSHA H. NEIFIELD,
President Judge
Philadelphia Municipal Court
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 18-1661. Filed for public inspection October 26, 2018, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 255—LOCAL COURT RULES

BERKS COUNTY

Amendments to Local Rules; No. 18-54 Prothono-
tary

Order

And Now, this 4th day of October, 2018, the following
amendments to Berks County Rules of Civil Procedure
207.1 and 4001 shall become effective thirty (30) days
after publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin, in accord-
ance with Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(c)(5)(iii) and No.
103(d)(5)(ii).

(New language is bold and underscored, and removed
language is shown bracketed and bold)

The District Court Administrator is Ordered and Di-
rected to:

1. Submit one (1) copy of this Order, including the
amended rules, to the appropriate Rules Committee of the
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania for review.

2. Distribute two (2) copies of this Order, including the
amended rules, and one (1) disk copy with the Legislative
Reference Bureau for publication in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin.

3. File one (1) copy of this Order, including the
amended rules, with the Administrative Office of Pennsyl-
vania Courts contemporaneously with publishing the local
rules in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

4. Compile the local rules within the complete set of
local rules available on the Berks County Court website
no later than 30 days following publication in the Penn-
sylvania Bulletin.

5. Distribute one (1) copy of this Order, including the
amended rules to the Berks County Prothonotary’s Office
so they can keep them continuously available for public
inspection and copying.

THOMAS G. PARISI,
President Judge

Rule 207.1. Presentation of Motions, Petitions and
Applications.

(a) All routine motions, petitions and applications shall
be filed in the prothonotary’s office for transmission to the
assigned judge for disposition.

(b) All motions, petitions or applications necessitating
personal presentation to the court should be made in the
courtroom of the judge assigned to the case either at
9:30 A.M. or 1:30 PM. on a day he or she is scheduled to
sit. If the motion, petition or application is of such nature
that opposing parties have a right to be heard, the
moving party shall give each opposing party at least
forty-eight (48) hours notice of the time when the moving
party will appear and present such motion, petition or
application, unless the emergency nature of the matter
prevents such notice. In the latter situation, the moving
party shall give as much notice as is reasonably possible.

(¢) No motion, petition or application shall be made or
presented to any judge in chambers without pre-
arrangement with that judge. No request for appointment
in chambers shall be granted except for compelling
reasons.

(d) All motions, petitions or applications in cases which
have not yet been assigned to a judge shall be filed with
the prothonotary; the court administrator shall promptly
assign a judge to the case.

(e) All motions, petitions or applications which require
immediate action in cases where the assigned judge is
unavailable or in cases where no judge has been assigned
to the case and the court administrator fails to assign a
judge to the case in sufficient time to allow presentation
to such judge shall be presented to the emergency
motions judge in his courtroom at 9:30 A.M. or at 1:30
P.M. or by pre-arrangement with the emergency motions
judge in his chambers.

(f) A party presenting a motion, petition or application

for an order or decree shall file with the motion, petition
or application a proposed form of the order or decree

sought, together with[ :

(1) one copy of each such proposed order or
decree for the moving party;
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(2) one copy of each such proposed order or
decree for each other party;

(3) one copy of each such proposed order or
decree for the civil Court Information Management
Office;

4) ] a certificate signed by the party presenting the
motion, petition or application or his or her attorney of
record, setting forth the name and current address of
each party’s attorney of record, and if no attorney has
entered an appearance of record for a party, the name
and current address of each unrepresented partyl ; ]:

[ (5) an envelope stamped with the required post-
age for each party, including the moving party,
pre-addressed to each party’s attorney of record, or
if no attorney has entered an appearance of record
for a party, to each unrepresented party at such
unrepresented party’s current address. The enve-
lope shall bear the return address of the Prothono-
tary, Court House, Reading, Pennsylvania 19601.

When a party does not provide the required
number of copies of the proposed order or decree
sought, the required certificate or the required
envelope(s), the prothonotary shall nevertheless file
and docket the same, but the prothonotary shall
not forward the proposed motion, petition or appli-
cation until the required number of copies and
other required documents are provided. ]

(g) A party presenting a motion, application or praecipe
for the entry of judgment shall file with the motion,

application or praecipe| :

(1) ] a certificate signed by the party presenting the
motion, petition or application or his or her attorney of
record, setting forth the name and current address of
each party’s attorney of record, and if no attorney has
entered an appearance for a party, the name and current
address of each unrepresented partyl ; ].

[ (2) an envelope stamped with the required post-
age for each other party, pre-addressed to each
other party’s attorney of record, or if no attorney
has entered an appearance of record for a party, to
each unrepresented party at such unrepresented
party’s current address. |

Rule 4001. Discovery Applications/Discovery Mas-
ter.

Legal issues relating to discovery applications and
protective orders shall not be scheduled for regular
argument court or be subject to the briefing schedule
provided for in B.R.C.P. 211.2, unless the court specifi-
cally so orders. In order to facilitate the prompt disposi-
tion of discovery matters, discovery disputes [ shall be
first | may be referred by order of the assigned
judge to be processed before a Master as part of the
“Discovery Master Program” and shall follow the follow-
ing procedure:

(a) The Board of Judges shall appoint members of the
Bar who shall have practiced civil law in Berks County
for a minimum of 10 years to serve as Discovery Masters,
for an indeterminate term, without compensation, at the
pleasure of the Court.

(b) [ Except as provided in B.R.C.P. 4005(b) and
4012, all discovery applications along with a Rule to
Show Cause shall be filed with the Prothonotary.
The Rule to Show Cause shall contain a space for

the Court to enter a return date, time and place.
The moving party shall promptly serve the respon-
dent with a copy of the motion and Rule designat-
ing the return date, time and place. The moving
party must also comply with B.R.C.P. 208.2(e) by
certifying that it has conferred in a good faith
effort to resolve the discovery dispute, which certi-
fication must specifically describe those efforts. ]
Except as provided in B.R.C.P. 4005(b) and 4012, all
discovery applications shall be filed with the Pro-
thonotary along with a proposed order scheduling
the matter for disposition before a Discovery mas-
ter. The proposed order shall contain a space for
the Court to enter a date, time and place for a
hearing on the discovery application. The Protho-
notary will forward the discovery application to the
assigned judge, who will promptly enter an order
scheduling a hearing on the discovery application
before a Discovery Master on the next scheduled
Discovery Master hearing date (which shall be a
Friday) that is at least fourteen (14) days after the
date the discovery application was filed. If the
Friday of the week in which the discovery applica-
tion would otherwise be heard is a court holiday, it
shall be scheduled for a hearing on the next Friday
that is not a court holiday. The moving party shall
promptly serve the respondent with a copy of the
motion, proposed order, and argument brief, if any,
filed in support of the application. The movin
party must also comply with B.R.C.P. 208.2(e) by
certifying that it has conferred in a good faith
effort to resolve the discovery dispute, which certi-
fication must specifically describe those efforts.

(c) Any party or interested third-party opposing
relief sought in the application shall file with the
Prothonotary a written response to the application,
and if appropriate or desired an argument brief in
opposition, no later than four (4) days prior to the
scheduled Discovery Master hearing date. If no
opposition is timely filed, the discovery application
shall be deemed to be unopposed, the moving party
shall be excused from appearing at the scheduled
hearing, and the Discovery master shall submit a
written recommendation and proposed order grant-
ing the requested relief to the assigned judge for
entry of an appropriate order.

[ (¢) If the motion is resolved amicably prior to
the return day, the motion shall either be with-
drawn or a stipulated order shall be submitted to
the Prothonotary for submission to the assigned
judge. If no opposition is filed, the Discovery Mas-
ter shall submit a proposed order granting the
motion to the assigned judge. If an opposition is
filed, the parties shall appear in a courtroom or
arbitration room designated on the Friday of the
week in which the rule was made returnable, to
argue the matter before the Discovery Master
scheduled to hear the matter. In the event the
Friday of the week in which the rule was made
returnable is a Court holiday, the motion shall be
argued before the Discovery Master on the follow-
ing Friday that is not a Court holiday. Briefs in
support of and in opposition to the motion may be
filed prior to the day on which the motion is to be
argued before the Discovery Master.] (d) If the
discovery application is resolved amicably prior to
the scheduled hearing date, the moving party shall
either file a praecipe withdrawing the application
or submit a stipulated order to the assigned judge.
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If an opposition is timely filed, the parties shall
appear in the designated courtroom or hearing
room on the date and time for the scheduled
hearing to provide evidence and argue the matter
before the assigned Discovery Master. If not previ-
ously filed, argument briefs in support of or in
opposition to the discovery application may be filed
no later than four (4) days prior to the scheduled
Discovery Master hearing date.

[ (@ ] (e) After hearing or argument and considering
the [ motion ] discovery application and [ answer ]
opposition, and any briefs filed, the Discovery Master
shall submit a written recommendation and proposed
order to the assigned judge for entry of an appropriate
order.

[e] (f) Any party may file an application under this
rule to have the case scheduled to a Discovery Manage-
ment Conference before a Discovery Master. The Discov-
ery Master may recommend a Discovery Management
Order, which establishes the following:

(1) A date for completion of all discovery, except for
depositions for use at trial,

(2) A date for plaintiff to submit expert reports and
curricula vitae of said experts, or answer expert inter-
rogatories; and

(3) A date for defendant to submit expert reports and
curricula vitae of said experts, or answer expert inter-
rogatories.

[ ® ] (g) The parties may, by agreement in writing,
extend any dates set forth in the Discovery Management
Order.

[@] (h) Upon request of any party, for good cause
shown, the Discovery Master may recommend an exten-
sion of any dates set forth in the Discovery Management
Order.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 18-1662. Filed for public inspection October 26, 2018, 9:00 a.m.]

DISCIPLINARY BOARD OF THE
SUPREME COURT

Notice of Disbarment

Notice is hereby given that Robert Henry Leiner
(# 69318), having been disbarred in the State of New
Jersey, the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania issued an
Order on October 9, 2018, disbarring Robert Henry
Leiner from the Bar of this Commonwealth, effective

November 8, 2018. In accordance with Rule 217(f),
Pa.R.D.E., since this formerly admitted attorney resides
outside of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, this notice
is published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.
JULIA M. FRANKSTON-MORRIS, Esq.,
Secretary
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 18-1663. Filed for public inspection October 26, 2018, 9:00 a.m.]

DISCIPLINARY BOARD OF THE
SUPREME COURT

Notice of Disbarment

Notice is hereby given that Frank N. Tobolsky
(# 50998), having been disbarred in the State of New
Jersey, the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania issued an
Order on October 9, 2018, disbarring Frank N. Tobolsky
from the Bar of this Commonwealth, effective November
8, 2018. In accordance with Rule 217(f), Pa.R.D.E., since
this formerly admitted attorney resides outside of the
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, this notice is published
in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

JULIA M. FRANKSTON-MORRIS, Esq.,
Secretary
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 18-1664. Filed for public inspection October 26, 2018, 9:00 a.m.]

DISCIPLINARY BOARD OF THE
SUPREME COURT

Notice of Suspension

Notice is hereby given that Stuart I. Rich having been
suspended from the practice of law in the State of New
Jersey; the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania issued an
Order dated October 9, 2018 suspending Stuart I. Rich
from the practice of law in this Commonwealth for a
period of two years, effective November 8, 2018. In
accordance with Rule 217(f), Pa.R.D.E., since this for-
merly admitted attorney resides outside the Common-
wealth of Pennsylvania, this notice is published in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.

JULIA M. FRANKSTON-MORRIS, Esq.,
Secretary
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 18-1665. Filed for public inspection October 26, 2018, 9:00 a.m.]
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