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THE COURTS

Title 234—RULES OF
CRIMINAL PROCEDURE

[ 234 PA. CODE CH. 4]

Order Amending Rules 490 and 490.1 of the Penn-
sylvania Rules of Criminal Procedure; No. 510
Criminal Procedural Rules Doc.

Order
Per Curiam

And Now, this 1st day of March, 2019, upon the
recommendation of the Criminal Procedural Rules Com-
mittee; the proposal having been published before adop-
tion at See 48 Pa.B. 1930 (April 7, 2018), and a Final
Report to be published with this Order:

It is Ordered pursuant to Article V, Section 10 of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania that Pennsylvania Rules of
Criminal Procedure 490 and 490.1 are amended, in the
following form.

This Order shall be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(b), and shall be effective July 1, 2019.

Annex A
TITLE 234. RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE
CHAPTER 4. PROCEDURES IN SUMMARY CASES
PART H. Summary Case Expungement Procedures

Rule 490. Procedure for Obtaining Expungement in
Summary Cases; Expungement Order.

(A) PETITION FOR EXPUNGEMENT

(1) Except as provided in Rule 320, an individual who
satisfies the requirements of 18 Pa.C.S. § 9122 and 18
Pa.C.S. § 9123(a) for expungement of a summary case
may request expungement by filing a petition with the
clerk of the courts of the judicial district in which the
charges were disposed.

(2) The petition shall set forth:

(a) the petitioner’s name and any aliases that the
petitioner has used, address, date of birth, and social
security number;

(b) the name and address of the issuing authority who
accepted the guilty plea or heard the case;

(c) the name and mailing address of the affiant as
shown on the complaint or citation, if available;

(d) the magisterial district court number;
(e) the docket number;

(f) the date on the citation or complaint, or the date of
arrest, and, if available, the criminal justice agency that
made the arrest;

(g) the specific charges, as they appear on the charging
document, to be expunged,;

(h) the disposition and, if the sentence includes a fine,
costs, or restitution, whether the amount due has been
paid;

(i) the reason(s) for expungement; and

(j) a verification by the petitioner that facts set forth in
the petition are true and correct to the best of the
petitioner’s personal knowledge or information and belief.

The verification may be by a sworn affidavit or by an
unsworn written statement that the facts are verified
subject to the penalties for unsworn falsification to au-
thorities under the Crimes Code § 4904, 18 Pa.C.S.
§ 4904.

Additional information shall not be required by local
rule or practice.

(3) Unless the attorney for the Commonwealth agrees
to waive this requirement, a current copy of the petition-
er’s Pennsylvania State Police criminal history report
shall be attached to the petition. The copy shall be
obtained from the Pennsylvania State Police within
60 days before filing the petition. Absent a waiver by the
attorney for the Commonwealth, the judge shall not rule
upon the petition until the Pennsylvania State Police
criminal history report is filed.

(4) A copy of the petition shall be served on the
attorney for the Commonwealth concurrently with filing.

(B) OBJECTIONS; HEARING

(1) Within 30 days after service of the petition, the
attorney for the Commonwealth shall file a consent or
objection to the petition or take no action. The attorney
for the Commonwealth’s consent or objection shall be filed
with the clerk of courts, and copies shall be served on the
petitioner’s attorney, or the petitioner if unrepresented.

(2) Upon receipt of the attorney for the Common-
wealth’s response, or no later than 14 days after the
expiration of the 30-day period in paragraph (B)(1), the
judge shall grant or deny the petition or shall schedule a
hearing.

(3) At the hearing, if any, the parties shall be afforded
an opportunity to be heard. Following the hearing, the
judge promptly shall enter an order granting or denying
the petition.

(4) If the judge grants the petition for expungement,
the judge shall enter an order directing expungement.

(a) The order shall contain the information required in
paragraph (C).

(b) Except when the attorney for the Commonwealth
has filed a consent to the petition pursuant to paragraph
(B)(1), the order shall be stayed for 30 days pending an
appeal. If a timely notice of appeal is filed, the expunge-
ment order is stayed pending the disposition of the appeal
and further order of court.

(5) If the judge denies the petition for expungement,
the judge shall enter an order denying the petition and
stating the reasons for the denial.

(C) ORDER
(1) Every order for expungement shall include:

(a) the petitioner’s name and any aliases that the
petitioner has used, address, date of birth, and social
security number;

(b) the name and address of the issuing authority who
accepted the guilty plea or heard the case;

(¢c) the name and mailing address of the affiant as
shown on the complaint or citation, if available;

(d) the magisterial district court number;
(e) the docket number;
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(f) the date on the citation or complaint, or the date of
arrest, and, if available, the criminal justice agency that
made the arrest;

(g) the specific charges, as they appear on the charging
document, to be expunged,;

(h) the disposition and, if the sentence includes a fine,
costs, or restitution, whether the amount due has been
paid;

(i) the reason(s) for expungement; and

(j) the criminal justice agencies upon which certified
copies of the order shall be served.

Additional information shall not be required by local
rule or practice.

(2) The clerk of courts shall serve a certified copy of the
Order to each criminal justice agency identified in the
court’s Order.

Comment

This rule, adopted in 2010, provides the procedures for
requesting and ordering expungement in summary cases.
Any case in which a summary offense is filed with a
misdemeanor, felony, or murder of the first, second, or
third degree is a court case (see Rule 103). The petition
for expungement of the summary offense in such a case
would proceed under Rule 790.

This rule was amended in 2019 to clarify that the
procedures under this rule are to be used for
summary convictions for offenses committed when
the defendant is under 18 years of age. This would
include any summary conviction that also has been
certified to juvenile court pursuant to Pa.R.J.C.P.
200(3) and 42 Pa.C.S. § 6304.1. In such cases, two
expungement petitions would need to be filed: one
would be filed pursuant to Pa.R.J.C.P. 170 to ex-
punge the record of the juvenile proceeding and
the second would be filed pursuant to Pa.R.Crim.P.
490 to expunge the underlying summary conviction.

See also Rule 320 for the procedures for expungement
following the successful completion of an ARD program in
a summary case and Rule 790 for court case expunge-
ment procedures.

This rule sets forth the only information that is to be
included in every expungement petition and order.

Paragraph (A)(3) requires the petitioner to attach a
copy of his or her criminal history report to the petition.
The attorney for the Commonwealth may waive the
requirement that the criminal history report be attached
to the petition. The Commonwealth’s agreement to the
waiver may be made orally or in writing, or averred in
the petition.

A form petition and form order of expungement has
been created by the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania
Courts, in consultation with the Committee, and is
available at the following website: http:/www.pacourts.us/
forms/for-the-public.

»

“Petition,” as used in this rule, is a “motion” for

purposes of Rules 575, 576, and 577.

The “reason for expungement” in paragraph (A)(2)(i)
and (C)(1)(i) means, for example, acquittal, arrest or
prosecution free for five years following the conviction for
that summary offense, or age.

For the procedures for filing and service of petitions,
see Rule 576.

For the procedures for filing and service of orders, see
Rule 114.

For purposes of this rule, “criminal justice agency”
includes police departments, county detectives, and other
law enforcement agencies. See also 18 Pa.C.S. § 9102.

Concerning standing, see In Re Administrative Order
No. 1-MD-2003, 936 A.2d 1 (Pa. 2007); Commonwealth v.
J.H., 759 A.2d 1269 (Pa. 2000).

Official Note: Adopted September 22, 2010 effective in
90 days; amended November 1, 2016, effective November
14, 2016; amended March 1, 2019, effective July 1,
2019.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the September 22, 2010 prom-
ulgation of new Rule 490 providing the procedures for
expungements in summary cases published with the
Court’s Order at 40 Pa.B. 5740 (October 9, 2010).

Final Report explaining the November 9, 2016 amend-
ment regarding the stay of expungement when the Com-
monwealth has consented and petition and order forms
published for comment at 46 Pa.B. 7442 (November 26,
2016).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2019 amend-
ment regarding expungement of summary offenses
when the defendant is under 18 years of age pub-
lished with the Court’s Order at 49 Pa.B. 1121
(March 16, 2019).

Rule 490.1. Procedure for Obtaining Expungement
of Truancy Cases; Expungement Order.

(A) PETITION FOR EXPUNGEMENT

(1) An individual who satisfies the requirements of 24
P.S. § 13-1333.3(h) for expungement of a summary tru-
ancy case may request expungement by filing a petition
with the issuing authority by whom the charges were
disposed.

(2) The petition shall set forth:

(a) the petitioner’s name and any aliases that the
petitioner has used, address, date of birth, and social
security number;

(b) the name and address of the issuing authority who
accepted the guilty plea or heard the case;

(c) the name and mailing address of the affiant as
shown on the complaint or citation, if available;

(d) the magisterial district court number;
(e) the docket number;

(f) the school from which the petitioner had been found
to be truant;

(g) the date on the citation or complaint, or the date of
arrest, and, if available, and the criminal justice agency
that made the arrest;

(h) the specific charges, as they appear on the charging
document, to be expunged;

(i) the disposition and, if the sentence includes a fine,
costs, or restitution, whether the amount due has been
paid;

(j) that the petitioner has satisfied the requirements of
24 P.S. § 13-1333.3(h) for expungement; and

(k) a verification by the petitioner that facts set forth
in the petition are true and correct to the best of the
petitioner’s personal knowledge or information and belief.
The verification may be by a sworn affidavit or by an
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unsworn written statement that the facts are verified
subject to the penalties for unsworn falsification to au-
thorities under the Crimes Code § 4904, 18 Pa.C.S.
§ 4904.

Additional information shall not be required by local
rule or practice.

(3) A copy of the petitioner’s high school diploma, a
Commonwealth secondary school diploma or another de-
partment of education-approved equivalent, or documen-
tation that the petitioner is subject to an exception to
compulsory attendance under 24 P.S. § 13-1330 shall be
attached to the petition.

(4) A copy of the petition shall be served on the affiant
and the attorney for the Commonwealth and the school
from which the petitioner had been found to be truant
concurrently with filing.

(B) OBJECTIONS; HEARING

(1) Within 30 days after service of the petition, the
school, the affiant, or the attorney for the Commonwealth
shall file a consent or objection to the petition or take no
action. The school’s, affiant’s, or attorney for the Com-
monwealth’s consent or objection shall be filed with the
issuing authority, and copies shall be served on the
petitioner’s attorney, or the petitioner if unrepresented.

(2) Upon receipt of the school, the affiant, or the
attorney for the Commonwealth’s response, or no later
than 14 days after the expiration of the 30-day period in
paragraph (B)(1), the issuing authority shall grant or
deny the petition or shall schedule a hearing.

(3) At the hearing, if any, the petitioner, the affiant and
the attorney for the Commonwealth and the school from
which the petitioner had been found to be truant shall be
afforded an opportunity to be heard. Following the hear-
ing, the issuing authority promptly shall enter an order
granting or denying the petition.

(4) If the issuing authority grants the petition for
expungement, the issuing authority shall enter an order
directing expungement.

(a) The order shall contain the information required in
paragraph (C).

(b) Except when the school, the affiant, or the attorney
for the Commonwealth has filed a consent to the petition
pursuant to paragraph (B)(1), the order shall be stayed
for 30 days pending an appeal. If a timely notice of appeal
is filed, the expungement order is stayed pending the
disposition of the appeal and further order of court.

(5) If the issuing authority denies the petition for
expungement, the issuing authority shall enter an order
denying the petition and stating the reasons for the
denial.

(6) The issuing authority shall issue the order granting
or denying the petition in writing, with copies to the
school, the affiant, or the attorney for the Commonwealth,
and shall make the order a part of the docket.

(C) ORDER
(1) Every order for expungement shall include:

(a) the petitioner’s name and any aliases that the
petitioner has used, address, date of birth, and social
security number;

(b) the name and address of the issuing authority who
accepted the guilty plea or heard the case;

(c) the name and mailing address of the affiant as
shown on the complaint or citation, if available;

(d) the magisterial district court number;
(e) the docket number;

(f) the school from which the petitioner had been found
to be truant;

(g) the date on the citation or complaint, or the date of
arrest, and, if available, the criminal justice agency that
made the arrest;

(h) the specific charges, as they appear on the charging
document, to be expunged;

(i) the disposition and, if the sentence includes a fine,
costs, or restitution, whether the amount due has been
paid,;

(j) a statement that the petitioner has satisfied the
requirements of 24 P.S. § 13-1333.3(h) for expungement;
and

(k) the criminal justice agencies upon which certified
copies of the order shall be served.

Additional information shall not be required by local
rule or practice.

(2) The issuing authority shall serve a certified copy of
the order to the school from which the petitioner had
been found to be truant, the Pennsylvania Department of
Transportation and to each criminal justice agency identi-
fied in the order.

Comment

This rule, adopted in 2018, provides the procedures for
requesting and ordering expungement in summary tru-
ancy cases as provided in 24 P.S. § 13-1333.3(h). If the
issuing authority finds the petitioner has satisfied the
statutory conditions, the issuing authority shall grant the
petition.

As provided by statute, expungement petitions in tru-
ancy cases may be filed in a magisterial district court, a
court of common pleas, or the Philadelphia Municipal
Court. See 24 P.S. § 13-1333.2. The use of the term
“issuing authority” in this rule is intended to encompass
all of these courts.

Although magisterial district courts are not courts of
record, provisions requiring certain occurrences, such as
the entry of the expungement order, to be made “on the
record” may be accomplished in the magisterial district
court by documentation of these occurrences in the case
record and the case docket. See Rule 135.

Paragraph (A)(4) provides for service of the petition
upon the affiant or the attorney for the Commonwealth
and the school from which the petitioner had been found
to be truant. This is to provide an opportunity to
challenge the petition and the facts supporting the peti-
tion.

See Rule 490 for the procedures for expungement of
summary cases other than truancy, including those
cases in which a summary case has resulted in the
filing of a delinquency or dependency petition in
juvenile court as a result of a failure to comply
with the summary case sentence. See also Rule 320
for the procedures for expungement following the success-
ful completion of an ARD program in a summary case and
Rule 790 for court case expungement procedures.

This rule sets forth the only information that is to be
included in every expungement petition and order.

A form petition and form order of expungement has
been created by the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania
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Courts, in consultation with the Committee, and is
available at the following website: http://www.pacourts.us/
forms/for-the-public.

“Petition,” as used in this rule, is a “motion” for
purposes of Rules 575, 576, and 577. The term “petition”
is used in recognition that motion practice usually is not
conducted in magisterial district courts and that the
expungement procedure under this rule is an exception to
this general concept.

For the procedures for filing and service of petitions,
see Rule 576.

For the procedures for filing and service of orders, see
Rule 114.

For purposes of this rule, “criminal justice agency”
includes police departments, county detectives, and other
law enforcement agencies. See also 18 Pa.C.S. § 9102.

Concerning standing, see In Re Administrative Order
No. 1-MD-2003, 936 A.2d 1 (Pa. 2007); Commonwealth v.
J.H., 759 A.2d 1269 (Pa. 2000).

Official Note: Adopted December 20, 2018, effective
April 1, 2018; Comment revised March 1, 2019, effec-
tive July 1, 2019.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining new Rule 490.1 regarding
procedures for expungement in truancy cases published
with the Court’s Order at 49 Pa.B. 196 (January 12,
2019).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2019 Com-
ment revision regarding procedures for expunge-
ment in non-truancy cases published with the
Court’s Order at 49 Pa.B. 1121 (March 16, 2019).

FINAL REPORT"
Amendment of Rules 490 and 490.1

Summary Expungement for Defendants under the
Age of 18

On March 1, 2019, effective July 1, 2019, upon the
recommendation of the Criminal Procedural Rules Com-
mittee, the Court amended Rules 490 (Procedure for
Obtaining Expungement of Summary Cases; Expunge-
ment Order) and 490.1 (Procedure for Obtaining
Expungement of Truancy Cases; Expungement Order) to
clarify the procedures for the expungement of summary
cases for defendants under the age of 18 in two circum-
stances: (1) expungement under 18 Pa.C.S. § 9123(a); and
(2) the expungement of summary convictions and delin-
quency adjudications that result from a failure to comply
with the sentence on the underlying summary convic-
tions. These amendments have adopted in conjunction
with amendments to Pa.R.J.C.P. 170 and 172.

The Criminal Procedural Rules Committee and the
Juvenile Court Procedural Rules Committee, by means of
a joint subcommittee, explored rule changes to address
two issues regarding the expungement of summary of-
fenses when the defendant is under 18 years old: (1)
expungement under 18 Pa.C.S. § 9123(a); and (2) the
expungement of summary convictions and delinquency
adjudications that result from a failure to comply with
the sentence on the underlying summary convictions.

There are two statutes that permit the expungement of
summary convictions. The first statute, 18 Pa.C.S.
§ 9122(b)(3)(1), generally applies without reference to the

! The Committee’s Final Reports should not be confused with the official Committee
Comments to the rules. Also, note that the Supreme Court does not adopt the
Committee’s Comments or the contents of the Committee’s explanatory Final Reports.

age of the defendant and requires the defendant to be
free from arrest or prosecution for five years. This statute
also contains a provision for the expungement of under-
age drinking convictions when the defendant is 20 years
or older, provided the violation occurred when the defen-
dant was at least 18 years old.

The second statute, 18 Pa.C.S. § 9123(a), applies to
“juvenile records” and permits the expungement of a
conviction for a summary offense if the defendant is 18
years or older and six months have elapsed after satisfy-
ing the sentence. The statute also contains a provision for
the expungement of underage drinking convictions when
the defendant is 18 years or older, provided the violation
occurred when the defendant was under 18 years old.

Prior to this amendment, Pa.R.Crim.P. 490 (Procedure
for Obtaining Expungement in Summary Cases; Expunge-
ment Order) cited to Section 9122 and not Section
9123(a). Summary offenses are specifically excluded from
the Juvenile Act and Pa.R.J.C.P. 170 (Motion to Expunge
or Destroy Records) did not recognize Section 9123(a) as
it pertains to summary convictions when the defendant is
under 18 years of age.

The Committees did not see merit in establishing two
different procedures to expunge the same conviction in
the magisterial district (“MDJ”) court based on the age of
the defendant. Therefore, Pa.R.Crim.P. 490 has been
amended to include reference to 18 Pa.C.S. § 9123(a) so
that these expungements proceed in accordance with the
Criminal Rules. A cross-reference to Rule 490 has been
added to the Comment to Pa.R.J.C.P. 170.

The other issue that the Committees examined was
what procedures should be used to expunge both the
summary conviction and the juvenile record when the
conviction is certified pursuant to Pa.R.J.C.P. 200(3) and
42 Pa.C.S. § 6304.1. Pa.R.J.C.P. 200(3) and 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 6304.1 provide that a delinquency petition may be filed
in a case where a juvenile has failed to comply with the
sentence arising from a summary conviction. The ques-
tion was whether a petition pursuant to Pa.R.Crim.P. 490
needed to be filed to expunge the summary conviction and
another petition pursuant to Pa.R.J.C.P. 170 needed to be
filed to expunge the certification and any subsequent
juvenile court record.

The Committees recognize that requiring an expunge-
ment petition in the criminal court for the summary
offense and another expungement petition in the juvenile
court may be burdensome. However, it was observed that
eligibility for expungement of the MDJ record and the
juvenile record are so different that one court should not
expunge both records. For example, a curfew violation
may result in a summary conviction and fine. If the
minor fails to comply with the sentence (i.e, pay the fine),
then the matter may be certified to the juvenile court. A
majority of these types of certifications result in an
informal adjustment, consent decree, or entry into a
diversion program rather than a petition being filed.
Consequently, the minor would be entitled to expunge-
ment of the juvenile record pursuant to 18 Pa.C.S.
§ 9123(a)(2) six months after completing the program.
However, the underlying summary offense could not be
expunged until the defendant was at least 18 years of
age. See 18 Pa.C.S. §§ 9123(2.1), (2.2). The minor could
be eligible for expungement of the juvenile record before
being eligible for expungement of the summary convic-
tion. Accordingly, the Committees agreed to recommend a
two-petition procedure. The Comment to Pa.R.Crim.P. 490
has been revised to inform readers of the dual tracks for
the expungement of certified failure to comply cases and
the underlying summary offense.
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Finally, a cross-reference to the Rule 490 procedures for
expungement of summary cases other than truancy has
been added to the Comment to Rule 490.1 Procedure for
Obtaining Expungement of Truancy Cases; Expungement

Order).

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 19-358. Filed for public inspection March 15, 2019, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 234—RULES OF
CRIMINAL PROCEDURE

[ 234 PA. CODE CH. 4]

Proposed Amendment of Pa.Rs.Crim.P. 403, 407—
409, 411—414, 422—424, 454, 456 and 470

The Criminal Procedural Rules Committee is consider-
ing proposing to the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania the
amendment of Rules 403 (Contents of Citation), Rule 407
(Pleas in Response to Citation), 408 (Not Guilty Pleas—
Notice of Trial), 409 (Guilty Pleas), 411 (Procedures
Following Filing of Citation—Issuance of Summons), 412
(Pleas in Response to Summons), 413 (Not Guilty Pleas—
Notice of Trial), 414 (Guilty Pleas), 422 (Pleas in Re-
sponse to Summons), 423 (Not Guilty Pleas—Notice of
Trial), 424 (Guilty Pleas), 454 (Trial in Summary Cases),
456 (Default Procedures: Restitution, Fines, and Costs),
470 (Procedures Related to License Suspension after
Failure to Respond to Citation or Summons or Failure to
Pay Fine and Costs) for the reasons set forth in the
accompanying explanatory report. Pursuant to Pa.R.J.A.
No. 103(a)(1), the proposal is being published in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin for comments, suggestions, or ob-
jections prior to submission to the Supreme Court. This
supplemental proposal resulted from the Committee’s
further review of the proposed rule changes in response to
the extensive correspondence received after publication of
our original explanatory Report.

Any reports, notes, or comments in the proposal have
been inserted by the Committee for the convenience of
those using the rules. They neither will constitute a part
of the rules nor will be officially adopted by the Supreme
Court.

Additions to the text of the proposal are bolded and
underlined; deletions to the text are bolded and brack-
eted.

The Committee invites all interested persons to submit
comments, suggestions, or objections in writing to:

Jeffrey M. Wasileski, Counsel
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania
Criminal Procedural Rules Committee
601 Commonwealth Avenue, Suite 6200
Harrisburg, PA 17106-2635
fax: (717) 231-9521
e-mail: criminalrules@pacourts.us

All communications in reference to the proposal should
be received by no later than Friday, May 3, 2019. E-mail
is the preferred method for submitting comments, sugges-
tions, or objections; any e-mailed submission need not be
reproduced and resubmitted via mail. The Committee will
acknowledge receipt of all submissions.

By the Criminal Procedural
Rules Committee

BRIAN W. PERRY,
Chair

Annex A
TITLE 234. RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE
CHAPTER 4. PROCEDURES IN SUMMARY CASES
PART B. Citation Procedures
Rule 403. Contents of Citation.
(A) Every citation shall contain:

(1) the name and address of the organization, and
badge number, if any, of the law enforcement officer;

(2) the name and address of the defendant;

(3) a notation if the defendant is under 18 years of age
and whether the parents or guardians have been notified
of the charge(s);

(4) the date and time when the offense is alleged to
have been committed, provided however, if the day of the
week is an essential element of the offense charged, such
day must be specifically set forth;

(5) the place where the offense is alleged to have been
committed;

(6) a citation of the specific section and subsection of
the statute or ordinance allegedly violated, together with
a summary of the facts sufficient to advise the defendant
of the nature of the offense charged;

(7) the date of issuance;

(8) a notation if criminal laboratory services are re-
quested in the case;

(9) a verification by the law enforcement officer that
the facts set forth in the citation are true and correct to
the officer’s personal knowledge, or information and be-
lief, and that any false statements therein are made
subject to the penalties of the Crimes Code, 18 Pa.C.S.
§ 4904, relating to unsworn falsification to authorities.

(10) a certification that the citation complies with the
provisions of the Case Records Public Access Policy of the
Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania regarding confi-
dential information and documents.

(B) The copy delivered to the defendant shall also
contain a notice to the defendant:

(1) that the original copy of the citation will be filed
before the issuing authority of the magisterial district
designated in the citation, the address and number of
which shall be contained in the citation; and

(2) that the defendant shall, within [ 10 ] 30 days after
issuance of the citation:

(a) plead not guilty by:

(i) notifying the proper issuing authority in writing of
the plea [ and forwarding as collateral for appear-
ance at trial an amount equal to the fine and costs
specified in the citation, plus any additional fee
required by law. If the amount is not specified, the
defendant shall forward the sum of $50 as collateral
for appearance at trial ], providing a current mail-
ing address and telephone number, and

(a) forwarding as collateral for appearance at
trial an amount equal to the fine and costs speci-
fied in the citation, plus any additional fee required
by law, or

(b) forwarding as collateral for appearance at
trial the sum of $50 if the fine and costs are not
specific on the citation, or
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(c) certifying in writing that they do not have the
financial means to deposit the amount of collateral
specified in the citation, or $50 when no amount is
specified; or

(il) appearing before the proper issuing authority, en-
tering the plea, and depositing such collateral for appear-
ance at trial as the issuing authority shall require[ . If
the defendant cannot afford to pay the collateral
specified in the citation or the $50, the defendant
must appear before the issuing authority to enter a
plea ]; or

(b) plead guilty by:

(i) notifying the proper issuing authority in writing of
the plea and forwarding an amount equal to the fine and
costs when specified in the statute or ordinance, the
amount of which shall be set forth in the citation; or

(ii) appearing before the proper issuing authority for
the entry of the plea and imposition of sentence, when the
fine and costs are not specified in the citation, or when a
payment plan is necessary, or when required to appear
pursuant to Rule 409(B)(3), 414(B)(3), or 424(B)(3); or

(c) appear before the proper issuing authority to re-
quest consideration for inclusion in an accelerated reha-
bilitative disposition program;

(3) that all checks forwarded for the fine and costs or
for collateral shall be made payable to the magisterial
district number set forth on the citation;

(4) that failure to respond to the citation as provided
above within the time specified:

(a) shall result in the issuance of a summons when a
violation of an ordinance or any parking offense is
charged, or when the defendant is under 18 years of age,
and in all other cases shall result in the issuance of a
warrant for the arrest of the defendant; and

(b) shall result in the suspension of the defendant’s
driver’s license when a violation of the Vehicle Code is
charged,;

(5) that failure to indicate a plea when forwarding an
amount equal to the fine and costs specified on the
citation shall result in a guilty plea being recorded; and

(6) that, if the defendant is convicted or has pleaded
guilty, the defendant may appeal within 30 days for a
trial de novo.

Comment

A law enforcement officer may prepare, verify, and
transmit a citation electronically. The law enforcement
officer contemporaneously must give the defendant a
paper copy of the citation containing all the information
required by this rule. Nothing in this rule is intended to
require the defendant to sign the citation.

See Rule 113.1 regarding the Case Records Public
Access Policy of the Unified Judicial System of Pennsylva-
nia and the requirements regarding filings and docu-
ments that contain confidential information.

Paragraph (A)(3) requires the law enforcement officer
who issues a citation to indicate on the citation if the
defendant is a juvenile and, if so, whether the juvenile’s
parents were notified. See the Judicial Code, 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 1522, concerning parental notification in certain sum-
mary cases involving juveniles.

Paragraph (A)(8) requires the law enforcement officer
who issues a citation to indicate on the citation whether
criminal laboratory services are requested in the case.
This information is necessary to inform the magisterial

district judge that, in addition to any fines, restitution, or
costs, the magisterial district judge may be required to
sentence the defendant to pay a criminal laboratory user
fee. See 42 Pa.C.S. § 1725.3 which requires that a
defendant be sentenced to pay a criminal laboratory user
fee in certain specified cases when laboratory services are
required to prosecute the case.

As provided in paragraph (B)(2)(b)(i), the defendant
may plead guilty by mail only when the fine and costs are
set forth in the citation. The law enforcement officer may
specify the fine and costs in the citation only when the
penalty provided by law does not include a possible
sentence of imprisonment and the statute or ordinance
fixes the specific amount for the fine.

Paragraph (B)(4)(a) provides for notice to the defendant
who is under 18 years of age that a summons will be
issued if the defendant fails to respond to the citation.

Paragraph (B)(4)(b) provides notice to the defendant
that his or her license will be suspended if the defendant
fails to respond to the citation or summons within the
time specified in the rules. See 75 Pa.C.S. § 1533.

Paragraph (B)(5) provides a uniform procedure for
handling cases in which a defendant returns the fine and
costs but fails to sign the citation and, therefore, does not
indicate a plea. See Rule 407.

Paragraph (B)(6) was amended in 2000 to make it clear
in a summary criminal case that the defendant may file
an appeal for a trial de novo following the entry of a
guilty plea. See Rule 460 (Notice of Appeal).

It is intended that the notice to the defendant, required
by paragraph (B) to be on the copy of the citation
delivered to the defendant, shall be simply worded so the
plain meaning of the notice is easily understandable.

For consequences of defects in a citation, see Rule 109.

With regard to the “proper” issuing authority as used in
these rules, see Rule 130.

See Rule 401 for procedures for instituting cases in
which there is a parking violation. When the parking
violation information is electronically transmitted as per-
mitted by Rule 401(A), only a summons is issued as
provided in Rule 411.

Official Note: Previous rule, originally numbered Rule
133(a) and Rule 133(b), adopted January 31, 1970, effec-
tive May 1, 1970; renumbered Rule 53(a) and 53(b)
September 18, 1973, effective January 1, 1974; amended
January 23, 1975, effective September 1, 1975; Comment
revised January 28, 1983, effective July 1, 1983; re-
scinded July 12, 1985, effective January 1, 1986, and not
replaced in these rules. Present Rule 53 adopted July 12,
1985, effective January 1, 1986. The January 1, 1986
effective dates all are extended to July 1, 1986; amended
February 1, 1989, effective as to cases instituted on or
after July 1, 1989; amended January 31, 1991, effective
July 1, 1991; amended June 3, 1993, effective as to new
citations printed on or after July 1, 1994; amended July
25, 1994, effective January 1, 1995; renumbered Rule 403
and Comment revised March 1, 2000, effective April 1,
2001; amended March 3, 2000, effective July 1, 2000;
Comment revised February 6, 2003, effective July 1,
2003; amended August 7, 2003, effective July 1, 2004;
amended January 26, 2007, effective February 1, 2008;
amended , 2019, effective , 2019.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Report explaining the January 31, 1991 amendments
published at 20 Pa.B. 4788 (September 15, 1990); Supple-
mental Report published at 21 Pa.B. 621 (February 16,
1991).
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Report explaining the June 3, 1993 amendments pub-
lished with the Court’s Order at 23 Pa.B. 2809 (June 19,
1993).

Report explaining the July 25, 1994 amendments pub-
lished with Court’s Order at 24 Pa.B. 4068 (August 13,
1994).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorganiza-
tion and renumbering of the rules published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18, 2000).

Final Report explaining the March 3, 2000 amendments
concerning appeals from guilty pleas published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1509 (March 18, 2000).

Final Report explaining the February 6, 2003 Comment
revisions cross-referencing Rule 401 concerning electronic
transmission of parking citations published with the
Court’s Order at 33 Pa.B. 973 (February 22, 2003).

Final Report explaining the August 7, 2003 amend-
ments to paragraph (B)(4)(a) concerning juveniles pub-
lished with the Court’s Order at 33 Pa.B. 4293 (August
30, 2003).

Final Report explaining the January 26, 2007 amend-
ments to paragraph (B)(2)(b)(ii) and revisions to the
Comment published with the Court’s Order at 37 Pa.B.
760 (February 17, 2007).

Amendments regarding the Court’s public access policy
published with the Court’s Order at 48 Pa.B. 3575 (June
16, 2018).

Report explaining the proposed amendments re-
garding responses in writing asserting an inability
to pay published for comment at 48 Pa.B. 496
(January 20, 2018); Supplemental Report published
for comment at 49 Pa.B. 1140 (March 16, 2019).

PART B(1). Procedures When Citation Is Issued to
Defendant

Rule 407. Pleas in Response to Citation.

Within [ 10 ] 80 days after issuance of a citation, the
defendant shall notify the issuing authority by mail or in
person that the defendant either pleads not guilty or
pleads guilty.

Comment

For the consequences of failure to respond as provided
in this rule, see Rules 430 and 431.

To notify the issuing authority of the plea, the defen-
dant should sign and return the citation. When a defen-
dant fails to sign the citation to indicate the plea, the
issuing authority should record the unsigned citation as a
guilty plea. See Rule 403(B)(5).

Official Note: Previous Rule 57 adopted September
18, 1973, effective January 1, 1974; title of rule amended
January 23, 1975, effective September 1, 1975; rescinded
July 12, 1985, effective January 1, 1986, and replaced by
present Rules 411—414 and 421—424. Present Rule 57
adopted July 12, 1985, effective January 1, 1986. The
January 1, 1986 effective dates all are extended to July 1,
1986; amended February 1, 1989, effective as to cases
instituted on or after July 1, 1989; renumbered Rule 407
and amended March 1, 2000, effective April 1, 2001;
amended , 2019, effective , 2019.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorganiza-
tion and renumbering of the rules published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18, 2000).

Report explaining the proposed amendments in-
creasing the period to respond to 30 days published
for comment at 49 Pa.B. 1140 (March 16, 2019).

Rule 408. Not Guilty Pleas—Notice of Trial.
(A) A defendant may plead not guilty by:

(1) appearing before the issuing authority, entering the
plea, and depositing such collateral for appearance at
trial as the issuing authority shall require; or

(2) notifying the issuing authority in writing of the
plea, providing a current mailing address and tele-
phone number, and

(a) forwarding as collateral for appearance at trial an
amount equal to the fine and costs specified in the
citation, plus any additional fee required by law| . ]5

[1f] (b) if the fine and costs are not specified, [ the
defendant shall forward ] forwarding the sum of $50
as collateral for appearance at triall . ]ﬂ

(c) certifying that the defendant does not have
the financial means to deposit the amount of the
collateral specified in the citation or the $50 when
no amount is specified.

(B) The issuing authority, upon receiving a plea of not
guilty, shall:

(1) fix a date and hour for trial;

(2) notify the defendant and the law enforcement offi-
cer of the date and hour fixed for trial; and

(3) advise the defendant that failure to appear for trial
shall constitute consent to trial in the defendant’s absence
and if the defendant is found guilty, the collateral depos-
ited shall be forfeited and applied toward the fine, costs,
and restitution, and the defendant shall have the right to
appeal within 30 days for a trial de novo.

Comment

[ It is intended that the defendant will appear in
person before the issuing authority to plead not
guilty when the defendant cannot afford to deposit
the amount of collateral specified in the citation or
the $50 when no amount is specified. A plea entered
by mail must be accompanied by the full amount of
collateral. See Rule 452.] All checks deposited as
collateral shall be made payable to the magisterial dis-
trict number set forth on the citation.

When fixing the date and hour for trial, the issuing
authority should determine whether the trial must be
delayed because the defendant’s criminal record must be
ascertained prior to trial as specifically required by
statute for purposes of grading the offense charged.

Paragraph (B)(3) was amended in 2016 to clarify that
collateral may be forfeited for the payment of restitution
as well as for the fine and costs that have been assessed
by an issuing authority. See 18 Pa.C.S. § 1106(d) for the
authority of a magisterial district judge to impose restitu-
tion on a defendant.

Official Note: Previous Rule 58, adopted September
18, 1973, effective January 1, 1974; amended to correct
printing error June 28, 1976, effective immediately; re-
scinded July 12, 1985, effective January 1, 1986, and not
replaced in the present rules. Present Rule 58 adopted
July 12, 1985, effective January 1, 1986. The January 1,
1986 effective dates all are extended to July 1, 1986;
amended January 31, 1991, effective July 1, 1991; renum-
bered Rule 408 and amended March 1, 2000, effective
April 1, 2001; amended June 10, 2016, effective August 1,
2016; amended , 2019, effective s
2019.
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Committee Explanatory Reports:

Report explaining the January 31, 1991 amendments
published at 20 Pa.B. 4788 (September 15, 1990); Supple-
mental Report published at 21 Pa.B. 621 (February 16,
1991).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorganiza-
tion and renumbering of the rules published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18, 2000).

Final Report explaining the June 10, 2016 amendments
clarifying that forfeited collateral may be applied to
restitution published with the Court’s Order at 46 Pa.B.
3238 (June 25, 2016).

Report explaining the proposed amendments re-
garding responses by mail when the defendant is
unable to post collateral published for comment at
48 Pa.B. 496 (January 20, 2018); Supplemental Re-
port published for comment at 49 Pa.B. 1140 (March
16, 2019).

Rule 409. Guilty Pleas.
(A) A defendant may plead guilty by:

(1) notifying the issuing authority in writing of the
plea and forwarding to the issuing authority an amount
equal to the fine and costs specified in the citation; or

(2) appearing before the issuing authority for the entry
of the plea and imposition of sentence when:

(a) the fine and costs are not specified in the citation
[or];

(b) after receipt of notice that a guilty plea by mail has

not been accepted by the issuing authority pursuant to
paragraph (B)3)[ . |; or
(c) the defendant is without the financial means

immediately to pay the fine and costs specified in
the citation.

(B) When the defendant pleads guilty pursuant to
paragraph (A)(1):

(1) The defendant [ must ] shall sign the guilty plea
acknowledging that the plea is entered voluntarily and
understandingly. The defendant shall provide confir-
mation of a current mailing address and telephone
number.

(2) The issuing authority may issue a warrant for the
arrest of the defendant as provided in Rules 430 and 431
if the amount forwarded with the plea is less than the
amount of the fine and costs specified in the citation.

(3) Restrictions on the acceptance of guilty plea by
mail:

(a) The issuing authority shall not accept a guilty plea
that is submitted by mail when the offense carries a
mandatory sentence of imprisonment.

(b) In those cases in which the charge carries a pos-
sible sentence of imprisonment, the issuing authority may
accept a guilty plea submitted by mail.

(¢c) In any case in which the issuing authority does not
accept a guilty plea submitted by mail, the issuing
authority shall notify the defendant (1) that the guilty
plea has not been accepted, (2) to appear personally
before the issuing authority on a date and time certain,
and (3) of the right to counsel. Notice of the rejection of
the guilty plea by mail also shall be provided to the
affiant.

(C) When the defendant is required to personally ap-
pear before the issuing authority to plead guilty pursuant
to paragraph (A)(2), the issuing authority shall:

(1) advise the defendant of the right to counsel when
there is a likelihood of imprisonment and give the
defendant, upon request, a reasonable opportunity to
secure counsel;

(2) determine by inquiring of the defendant that the
plea is voluntarily and understandingly entered;

(3) have the defendant sign the plea form with a
representation that the plea is entered voluntarily and
understandingly;

(4) impose sentence, or [, in cases in which the
defendant may be sentenced to intermediate pun-
ishment, ] the issuing authority may delay the proceed-
ings (a) pending confirmation of the defendant’s ability
to pay, and (b) in cases in which the defendant may
be sentenced to intermediate punishment, pending
confirmation of the defendant’s eligibility for intermedi-
ate punishment| ; and ].

(5) [ provide for installment payments when a
defendant who is sentenced to pay a fine and costs
is without the financial means immediately to pay
the fine and costs. ] If the defendant is without the
financial means to pay the full amount of the fine,
costs, and restitution in a single remittance, the
issuing authority shall provide for installment pay-
ments and shall:

(a) state the date on which each installment is
due; and

(b) shall advise the defendant of the procedures
in Rule 456 in the event of any default in payment.

(c) The amount of each installment shall be based
upon a determination of a defendant’s financial
ability to pay. The issuing authority is prohibited
from establishing mandatory minimum installment
payments that are not based on the individual
defendant’s ability to pay.

Comment

The rule [ was amended in 2007 to make ] makes it
clear [ (1) ] that a defendant may not enter a guilty plea
by mail (1) to an offense that carries a mandatory
sentence of imprisonment, [ and (2) in] or (2) when
the defendant is without the financial means imme-
diately to pay the fine and costs. In those cases in
which the offense carries a possible sentence of imprison-
ment, the issuing authority has the discretion whether or
not to accept a guilty plea submitted by mail.

Nothing in this rule is intended to require that an
issuing authority should proceed as provided in para-
graph (C) when the defendant returns the written guilty
plea and the fine and costs in person to the issuing
authority’s office pursuant to paragraphs (A)(1) and (B).
The issuing authority’s staff should record receipt of the
plea and monies in the same manner as those received by
mail.

Paragraph (C)(4) was added in 2007 to permit an
issuing authority to delay imposition of sentence in order
to investigate a defendant’s eligibility for intermediate
punishment. For example, under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9763 and
§ 9804, defendants may be sentenced to intermediate
punishment for certain offenses, including summary vio-
lations of 75 Pa.C.S. § 1543(b) (driving while license is
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under a DUlI-related suspension) but only if they meet
certain eligibility requirements, such as undergoing a
drug and alcohol assessment. Often this information will
not be available to the issuing authority at the time of
sentencing, especially when the defendant appears per-
sonally to enter a guilty plea.

In determining whether a defendant is without
the financial means immediately to pay the fine,
costs, and restitution, the issuing authority must
consider the defendant’s financial situation. Some
factors that should be considered in this determina-
tion include, but are not limited to:

(1) the defendant’s current employment status,
including current salary and gross income from
this year and previous recent years, if any, from the
current employer(s) or previous employer(s);

(2) income from other sources such as interest,
dividends, pension and annuities, social security
benefits, support payments, disability payments,
unemployment compensation and supplemental
benefits, workers’ compensation, public assistance;

(3) the value of all property owned, including
money available in cash, or bank accounts, real
estate (including home), and other significant prop-
erty such as motor vehicles;

(4) debts and obligations including mortgages,
rent, loans; court assessments, and any other mis-
cellaneous recurring expenses;

(5) other contributions to household support
from spouse, parents, children, or others; and

(6) all persons dependent upon the defendant for
support and the defendant’s actual contribution to

that support
The issuing authority may require the defendant

to present documents or other evidence to verify
the defendant’s financial situation.

It is recommended that the issuing authority seek
the following information to assist in making an
evaluation as to the defendant’s ability to pay:

(1) the defendant’s employment status, including
whether the defendant has been unemployed due to
recent incarceration;

(2) the defendant’s income including monthly sal-
ary or wages, or income from self-employment;

(3) assets or property owned including real es-
tate, motor vehicles, stocks, bonds, cash, and check-
ing or savings accounts;

(4) the amount of the defendant’s income that is
from a benefit or means-based public assistance
such as

(a) unemployment compensation,

(b) Workers’ Compensation,

(¢) Social Security benefits including Supplemen-
tal Security Income and Social Security Disability,

(d) food stamps,

(e) cash assistance,

(f) pensions and annuities,

(g) any other benefits;

(5) Monthly expenses including:

(a) mortgage or rent,

(b) loans,
(c) utilities,

(d) cost of health insurance,

(e) cost of uninsured health care,

(f) cost of transportation, including car pay-
ments,

(g) costs of dependent care,

(h) spousal/child support,

(i) utilities, including the cost of cell or other
telephone service,

() food,

(k) other expenses.

The Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts
has developed a form available through the court’s
computer systems that will assist the issuing au-
thority in soliciting the above information.

In determining whether the defendant has the
ability to pay, the issuing authority must consider
the totality of the defendant’s financial resources
and the nature of the burden that the payments
will impose on the defendant’s finances.

When the defendant was under 18 years of age at the
time of the offense and is charged with a summary
offense that would otherwise carry a mandatory sentence
of imprisonment as prescribed by statute, the issuing
authority is required to conduct the summary trial but
may not sentence the defendant to a term of imprison-
ment. See 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and 6303 and 75 Pa.C.S.
§ 6303(b).

See Rule 454(F) for the information that must be
included in the sentencing order when restitution is
included in the sentence.

For the procedure upon default in payment of the fine
or costs, see Rule 456.

For appeal procedures in summary cases, see Rules
460, 461, and 462.

For procedures regarding arrest warrants, see Rules
430 and 431.

Concerning the appointment or waiver of counsel, see
Rules 121 and 122.

Official Note: Previous Rule 59 adopted September
18, 1973, effective January 1, 1974; rescinded July 12,
1985, effective January 1, 1986, and replaced by present
Rule 75. Present Rule 59 adopted July 12, 1985, effective
January 1, 1986; amended September 23, 1985, effective
January 1, 1986. The January 1, 1986 effective dates are
all extended to July 1, 1986; amended May 28, 1987,
effective July 1, 1987; amended January 31, 1991, effec-
tive July 1, 1991; renumbered Rule 409 and amended
March 1, 2000, effective April 1, 2001; Comment revised
August 7, 2003, effective July 1, 2004; amended January
26, 2007, effective February 1, 2008; Comment revised
July 17, 2013, effective August 17, 2013; Comment re-
vised March 9, 2016, effective July 1, 2016; amended

, 2019, effective , 2019.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Report explaining the January 31, 1991 amendments
published at 20 Pa.B. 4788 (September 15, 1990); Supple-
mental Report published at 21 Pa.B. 621 (February 16,
1991).
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Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorganiza-
tion and renumbering of the rules published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18, 2000).

Final Report explaining the August 7, 2003 new Com-
ment language concerning defendants under the age of 18
published with the Court’s Order at 33 Pa.B. 4293
(August 30, 2003).

Final Report explaining the January 26, 2007 amend-
ments to paragraphs (A)(2), (B)3), and (C)(4) published
with the Court’s Order at 37 Pa.B. 760 (February 17,
2007).

Final Report explaining the July 17, 2013 Comment
revision concerning mandatory incarceration offenses and
juveniles published with the Court’s Order at 43 Pa.B.
4325 (August 3, 2013).

Final Report explaining the March 9, 2016 Comment
revision concerning the Rule 454 restitution procedures
published with the Court’s Order at 46 Pa.B. 1540 (March
26, 2016).

Report explaining the proposed amendments re-
garding inability to pay published for comment at
48 Pa.B. 496 (January 20, 2018); Supplemental Re-
port published for comment at 49 Pa.B. 1140 (March
16, 2019).

PART B(2). Procedures When Citation Filed

Rule 411. Procedures Following Filing of Citation—
Issuance of Summons.

(A) Upon the filing of the citation, including receipt of
electronically transmitted citation or parking violation
information, the issuing authority shall issue a summons
commanding the defendant to respond within [ 10 ] 30
days of receipt of the summons, unless the issuing
authority has reasonable grounds to believe that the
defendant will not obey a summons in which case an
arrest warrant shall be issued. The summons shall be
served as provided in these rules.

(B) A copy of the citation shall be served with the
summons, except in cases charging parking violations
when the parking violation information is electronically
filed.

(C) In cases charging parking violations in which the
parking violation information is electronically filed, the
summons shall also include:

(1) the date, time, and location of the parking violation;

(2) a description of the vehicle and the license number;
and

(3) a description of the parking violation.
Comment

No fine or costs should be specified in the summons in
cases in which the issuing authority determines that
there is a likelihood of imprisonment.

This rule facilitates the electronic transmission of park-
ing violation information by (1) eliminating the require-
ment that a copy of the citation be served with the
summons in cases in which the parking violation informa-
tion is electronically filed pursuant to Rule 401(A), and
(2) requiring additional information be added to the
summons. See Rule 401 (Proceedings in Summary Cases
Charging Parking Violations). However, nothing in this
rule or Rule 401 is intended to preclude a municipality
from continuing to have its officers prepare a citation in
addition to electronically transmitting the parking viola-
tion information.

Official Note: Previous Rule 117, adopted June 30,
1964, effective January 1, 1965; suspended effective May
1, 1970; revised January 31, 1970, effective May 1, 1970;
renumbered and amended to apply only to summary
cases September 18, 1973, effective January 1, 1974;
amended April 26, 1979, effective July 1, 1979; amended
January 28, 1983, effective July 1, 1983; rescinded July
12, 1985, effective January 1, 1986, and replaced by
present Rule 431. Present Rule 61 adopted July 12, 1985,
effective January 1, 1986. The January 1, 1986 effective
dates all are extended to July 1, 1986; amended July 17,
1996, effective January 1, 1997; renumbered Rule 411
and Comment revised March 1, 2000, effective April 1,
2001; amended , 2003, effective , 2003;
amended , 2019, effective , 2019.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the July 17, 1996 amendments
published with the Court’s Order at 26 Pa.B. 3629
(August 3, 1996).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorganiza-
tion and renumbering of the rules published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18, 2000).

Final Report explaining the February 6, 2003 amend-
ments concerning electronic transmission of citation and
parking violation information published with the Court’s
Order at 33 Pa.B. 973 (February, 22, 2003).

Report explaining the proposed amendments in-
creasing the period to respond to 30 days published
for comment at 48 Pa.B. 496 (January 20, 2018);
Supplemental Report published for comment at 49
Pa.B. 1140 (March 16, 2019).

Rule 412. Pleas in Response to Summons.

Within [ 10 ] 30 days after receipt of a summons, the
defendant shall notify the issuing authority by mail or in
person that the defendant either pleads not guilty or
pleads guilty.

Comment

To notify the issuing authority of the plea, the defen-
dant should sign and return the summons. When a
defendant fails to sign the summons to indicate the plea,
the issuing authority should record the unsigned sum-
mons as a guilty plea. See Rule 403(B)(5).

For the consequences of failure to respond as provided
in this rule, see Rule 430(A).

Official Note: Previous rule, originally numbered Rule
118 and 118(b), adopted June 30, 1964, effective January
1, 1965; suspended effective May 1, 1970; revised January
31, 1970, effective May 1, 1970; renumbered as Rule 62
and amended to apply only to summary cases September
18, 1973, effective January 1, 1974; amended April 26,
1979, effective July 1, 1979; amended April 24, 1981,
effective July 1, 1981; amended January 28, 1983, effec-
tive July 1, 1983; rescinded dJuly 12, 1985, effective
January 1, 1986, and replaced by present Rule 441.
Present Rule 62 adopted July 12, 1985, effective January
1, 1986. The January 1, 1986 effective dates all are
extended to July 1, 1986; amended February 1, 1989,
effective as to cases instituted on or after July 1, 1989 ;
renumbered Rule 412 and amended March 1, 2000,
effective April 1, 2001; amended , 2019, effec-
tive , 2019.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorganiza-
tion and renumbering of the rules published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18, 2000).
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Report explaining the proposed amendments in-
creasing the period to respond to 30 days published
for comment at 48 Pa.B. 496 (January 20, 2018);
Supplemental Report published for comment at 49
Pa.B. 1140 (March 16, 2019).

Rule 413. Not Guilty Pleas—Notice of Trial.
(A) A defendant may plead not guilty by:

(1) appearing before the issuing authority, entering the
plea, and depositing such collateral for appearance at
trial as the issuing authority shall require; or

(2) notifying the issuing authority in writing of the
plea, providing a current mailing address and tele-
phone number, and

(a) forwarding as collateral for appearance at trial an
amount equal to the fine and costs specified in the

citation, plus any additional fee required by law[ . ]5

[1f] (b) if the fine and costs are not specified, [ the
defendant shall forward ] forwarding the sum of $50
as collateral for appearance at trial[ . ]ﬂ

(c) certifying that the defendant does not have
the financial means to deposit the amount of the
collateral specified in the citation or the $50 when
no amount is specified.

(B) The issuing authority, upon receiving a plea of not
guilty, shall:

(1) fix a date and hour for trial;

(2) notify the defendant and the law enforcement offi-
cer of the date and hour fixed for the trial; and

(3) advise the defendant that failure to appear for trial
shall constitute consent to trial in the defendant’s absence
and if the defendant is found guilty, the collateral depos-
ited shall be forfeited and applied toward the fine, costs,
and restitution, and the defendant shall have the right to
appeal within 30 days for a trial de novo.

Comment

[ It is intended that the defendant will appear in
person before the issuing authority to plead not
guilty when the defendant cannot afford to deposit
the amount of collateral specified in the citation or
the $50 when no amount is specified. A plea entered
by mail must be accompanied by the full amount of
collateral. See Rule 452.] All checks deposited as
collateral shall be made payable to the magisterial dis-
trict number set forth on the citation.

When fixing the date and hour for trial, the issuing
authority should determine whether the trial must be
delayed because the defendant’s criminal record must be
ascertained prior to trial as specifically required by
statute for purposes of grading the offense charged.

Paragraph (B)(3) was amended in 2016 to clarify that
collateral may be forfeited for the payment of restitution
as well as for the fine and costs that have been assessed
by an issuing authority. See 18 Pa.C.S. § 1106(d) for the
authority of a magisterial district judge to impose restitu-
tion on a defendant.

Official Note: Previous rule, originally numbered
Rules 141 and 142, adopted January 31, 1970, effective
May 1, 1970; combined, and renumbered Rule 63, and
amended September 18, 1973, effective January 1, 1974,
amended April 26, 1979, effective July 1, 1979; rescinded
July 12, 1985, effective January 1, 1986, and replaced by
present Rule 454. Present Rule 63 adopted July 12, 1985,

effective January 1, 1986. The January 1, 1986 effective

dates all are extended to July 1, 1986; amended January

31, 1991, effective July 1, 1991; renumbered Rule 413 and

amended March 1, 2000, effective April 1, 2001; amended

June 10, 2016, effective August 1, 2016; amended
, 2019, effective , 2019.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Report explaining the January 31, 1991 amendments
published at 20 Pa.B. 4788 (September 15, 1990); Supple-
mental Report published at 21 Pa.B. 621 (February 16,
1991).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorganiza-
tion and renumbering of the rules published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18, 2000).

Final Report explaining the June 10, 2016 amendments
clarifying that forfeited collateral may be applied to
restitution published with the Court’s Order at 46 Pa.B.
3238 (June 26, 2016).

Report explaining the proposed amendments re-
garding responses by mail when the defendant is
unable to post collateral published for comment at
48 Pa.B. 496 (January 20, 2018); Supplemental Re-
port published for comment at 49 Pa.B. 1140 (March
16, 2019).

Rule 414. Guilty Pleas.
(A) A defendant may plead guilty by:

(1) notifying the issuing authority in writing of the
plea and forwarding to the issuing authority an amount
equal to the fine and costs specified in the summons; or

(2) appearing before the issuing authority for the entry
of the plea and imposition of sentence when:

(a) the fine and costs are not specified in the summons
[or];

(b) after receipt of notice that a guilty plea by mail has

not been accepted by the issuing authority pursuant to
paragraph (B)3)[ . I; or
(c¢) the defendant is without the financial means

immediately to pay the fine and costs specified in
the citation.

(B) When the defendant pleads guilty pursuant to
paragraph (A)(1):

(1) The defendant [ must ] shall sign the guilty plea
acknowledging that the plea is entered voluntarily and
understandingly. The defendant shall provide confir-
mation of a current mailing address and telephone
number.

(2) The issuing authority may issue a warrant for the
arrest of the defendant as provided in Rules 430 and 431
if the amount forwarded with the plea is less than the
amount of the fine and costs specified in the summons.

(3) Restrictions on the acceptance of guilty plea by
mail:

(a) The issuing authority shall not accept a guilty plea
that is submitted by mail when the offense carries a
mandatory sentence of imprisonment.

(b) In those cases in which the charge carries a pos-
sible sentence of imprisonment, the issuing authority may
accept a guilty plea submitted by mail.

(¢) In any case in which the issuing authority does not
accept a guilty plea submitted by mail, the issuing
authority shall notify the defendant (1) that the guilty
plea has not been accepted, (2) to appear personally
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before the issuing authority on a date and time certain,
and (3) of the right to counsel. Notice of the rejection of
the guilty plea by mail also shall be provided to the
affiant.

(C) When the defendant is required to personally ap-
pear before the issuing authority to plead guilty pursuant
to paragraph (A)(2) the issuing authority shall:

(1) advise the defendant of the right to counsel when
there is a likelihood of imprisonment and give the
defendant, upon request, a reasonable opportunity to
secure counsel;

(2) determine by inquiring of the defendant that the
plea is voluntarily and understandingly entered;

(3) have the defendant sign the plea form with a
representation that the plea is entered voluntarily and
understandingly;

(4) impose sentence, or, in cases in which the defendant
may be sentenced to intermediate punishment, the issu-
ing authority may delay the proceedings pending confir-
mation of the defendant’s ability to pay or of the
defendant’s eligibility for intermediate punishment] ;

and |.

(5) [ provide for installment payments when a
defendant who is sentenced to pay a fine and costs
is without the financial means immediately to pay
the fine and costs. ] If the defendant is without the
financial means to pay the full amount of the fine,
costs, and restitution in a single remittance, the
issuing authority shall provide for installment pay-
ments and shall:

(a) state the date on which each installment is
due; and

(b) shall advise the defendant of the procedures
in Rule 456 in the event of any default in payment.

(c) The amount of each installment shall be based
upon a determination of a defendant’s financial
ability to pay. The issuing authority is prohibited
from establishing mandatory minimum installment
payments that are not based on the individual
defendant’s ability to pay.

Comment

The rule [ was amended in 2007 to make ] makes it
clear [ (1) ] that a defendant may not enter a guilty plea
by mail (1) to an offense that carries a mandatory
sentence of imprisonment, [ and (2) in] or (2) when
the defendant is without the financial means imme-
diately to pay the fine and costs. In those cases in
which the offense carries a possible sentence of imprison-
ment, the issuing authority has the discretion whether or
not to accept a guilty plea submitted by mail.

Nothing in this rule is intended to require that an
issuing authority should proceed as provided in para-
graph (C) when the defendant returns the written guilty
plea and the fine and costs in person to the issuing
authority’s office pursuant to paragraphs (A)(1) and (B).
The issuing authority’s staff should record receipt of the
plea and monies in the same manner as those received by
mail.

Paragraph (C)(4) was added in 2007 to permit an
issuing authority to delay imposition of sentence in order
to investigate a defendant’s eligibility for intermediate
punishment. For example, under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9763 and
§ 9804, defendants may be sentenced to intermediate

punishment for certain offenses, including summary vio-
lations of 75 Pa.C.S. § 1543(b) (driving while license is
under a DUlI-related suspension) but only if they meet
certain eligibility requirements, such as undergoing a
drug and alcohol assessment. Often this information will
not be available to the issuing authority at the time of
sentencing, especially when the defendant appears per-
sonally to enter a guilty plea.

In determining whether a defendant is without
the financial means immediately to pay the fine
and costs, the issuing authority must consider the
defendant’s financial situation. Some factors that
should be considered in this determination include,
but are not limited to:

(1) the defendant’s current employment status,
including current salary and gross income from
this year and previous recent years, if any, from the
current employer(s) or previous employer(s);

(2) income from other sources such as interest,
dividends, pension and annuities, social security
benefits, support payments, disability payments,
unemployment compensation and supplemental
benefits, workers’ compensation, public assistance;

(3) the value of all property owned, including
money available in cash, or bank accounts, real
estate (including home), and other significant prop-
erty such as motor vehicles;

(4) debts and obligations including mortgages,
rent, loans; court assessments, and any other mis-
cellaneous recurring expenses;

(5) other contributions to household support
from spouse, parents, children, or others; and

(6) all persons dependent upon the defendant for
support and the defendant’s actual contribution to
that support

The issuing authority may require the defendant
to present documents or other evidence to verify
the defendant’s financial situation.

It is recommended that the issuing authority seek
the following information to assist in making an
evaluation as to the defendant’s ability to pay:

(1) the defendant’s employment status, including
whether the defendant has been unemployed due to
recent incarceration;

(2) the defendant’s income including monthly sal-
ary or wages, or income from self-employment;

(3) assets or property owned including real es-
tate, motor vehicles, stocks, bonds, cash, and check-
ing or savings accounts;

(4) the amount of the defendant’s income that is
from a benefit or means-based public assistance
such as

(a) unemployment compensation,

(b) Workers’ Compensation,

(¢) Social Security benefits including Supplemen-
tal Security Income and Social Security Disability,

(d) food stamps,

(e) cash assistance,

(f) pensions and annuities,

(g) any other benefits;

(5) Monthly expenses including:
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(a) mortgage or rent,

(b) loans,
(c) utilities,

(d) cost of health insurance,

(e) cost of uninsured health care,

(f) cost of transportation, including car pay-
ments,

(g) costs of dependent care,

(h) spousal/child support,

(i) utilities, including the cost of cell or other
telephone service,

() food,

(k) other expenses.

The Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts
has developed a form available through the court’s
computer systems that will assist the issuing au-
thority in soliciting the above information.

In determining whether the defendant has the
ability to pay, the issuing authority must consider
the totality of the defendant’s financial resources
and the nature of the burden that the payments
will impose on the defendant’s finances.

When the defendant was under 18 years of age at the
time of the offense and is charged with a summary
offense that would otherwise carry a mandatory sentence
of imprisonment as prescribed by statute, the issuing
authority is required to conduct the summary trial but
may not sentence the defendant to a term of imprison-
ment. See 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and 6303 and 75 Pa.C.S.
§ 6303(b).

See Rule 454(F) for the information that must be
included in the sentencing order when restitution is
included in the sentence.

For the procedure upon default in payment of the fine
or costs, see Rule 456.

For appeal procedures in summary cases, see Rules
460, 461, and 462.

For arrest warrant procedures, see Rules 430 and 431.

Concerning the appointment or waiver of counsel, see
Rules 121 and 122.

Official Note: Previous rule, originally numbered Rule
136, adopted January 31, 1970, effective May 1, 1970;
renumbered Rule 64 September 18, 1973, effective Janu-
ary 1, 1974; rescinded July 12, 1985, effective January 1,
1986, and replaced by present Rule 84. Present Rule 64
adopted July 12, 1985, effective January 1, 1986;
amended September 23, 1985, effective January 1, 1986.
The January 1, 1986 effective dates all are extended to
July 1, 1986; amended May 28, 1987, effective July 1,
1987; amended January 31, 1991, effective July 1, 1991,
renumbered Rule 414 and amended March 1, 2000,
effective April 1, 2001; Comment revised August 7, 2003,
effective July 1, 2004; amended January 26, 2007, effec-
tive February 1, 2008; Comment revised July 17, 2013,
effective August 17, 2013; Comment revised March 9,
2016, effective July 1, 2016; amended , 2019,
effective , 2019.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Report explaining the January 31, 1991 amendments
published at 20 Pa.B. 4788 (September 15, 1990); Supple-
mental Report published at 21 Pa.B. 621 (February 16,
1991).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorganiza-
tion and renumbering of the rules published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18, 2000).

Final Report explaining the August 7, 2002 new Com-
ment language concerning defendants under the age of 18
published with the Court’s Order at 33 Pa.B. 4293
(August 30, 2003).

Final Report explaining the January 26, 2007 amend-
ments to paragraphs (A)(2), (B)(3), and (C)(4) published
with the Court’s Order at 37 Pa.B. 760 (February 17,
2007).

Final Report explaining the July 17, 2013 Comment
revision concerning mandatory incarceration offenses and
juveniles published with the Court’s Order at 43 Pa.B.
4325 (August 3, 2013).

Final Report explaining the March 9, 2016 Comment
revision concerning the Rule 454 restitution procedures
published with the Court’s Order at 46 Pa.B. 1540 (March
26, 2016).

Report explaining the proposed amendments re-
garding inability to pay published for comment at
48 Pa.B. 496 (January 20, 2018); Supplemental Re-
port published for comment at 49 Pa.B. 1140 (March
16, 2019).

PART C. Procedures in Summary Cases When
Complaint Filed

Rule 422. Pleas in Response to Summons.

Within [ 10 ] 30 days after receipt of a summons, the
defendant shall notify the issuing authority by mail or in
person that the defendant either pleads not guilty or
pleads guilty.

Comment

To notify the issuing authority of the plea, the defen-
dant should sign and return the summons. When a
defendant fails to sign the summons to indicate the plea,
the issuing authority should record the unsigned sum-
mons as a guilty plea. See Rule 403(B)(5).

For the consequences of failure to respond as provided
in this rule, see Rule 430(A).

Official Note: Previous Rule 67, adopted September
18, 1973, effective January 1, 1974; amended May 26,
1977, effective July 1, 1977, amended April 26, 1979,
effective July 1, 1979; Comment revised April 24, 1981,
effective July 1, 1981; Comment revised January 28,
1983, effective July 1, 1983; rescinded July 12, 1985,
effective January 1, 1986, and replaced by present Rules
460, 461, and 462. Present Rule 67 adopted July 12, 1985,
effective January 1, 1986. The January 1, 1986 effective
dates all are extended to July 1, 1986; amended February
1, 1989, effective as to cases instituted on or after July 1,
1989; renumbered Rule 422 and amended March 1, 2000,
effective April 1, 2001; amended , 2019, effec-
tive , 2019.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorganiza-
tion and renumbering of the rules published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18, 2000).
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Report explaining the proposed amendments in-
creasing the period to respond to 30 days published
for comment at 48 Pa.B. 496 (January 20, 2018);

amended March 1, 2000, effective April 1, 2001; amended
June 10, 2016, effective August 1, 2016; amended
, 2019, effective , 2019.

Supplemental Report published for comment at 49
Pa.B. 1140 (March 16, 2019).

Rule 423. Not Guilty Pleas—Notice of Trial.
(A) A defendant may plead not guilty by:

(1) appearing before the issuing authority, entering the
plea, and depositing such collateral for appearance at
trial as the issuing authority shall require; or

(2) notifying the issuing authority in writing of the
plea, providing a current mailing address and tele-
phone number, and

(a) forwarding as collateral for appearance at trial an
amount equal to the fine and costs specified in the

citation, plus any additional fee required by law[ . ]5

[1f] (b) if the fine and costs are not specified, [ the
defendant shall forward ] forwarding the sum of $50
as collateral for appearance at trial[ . ]ﬂ

(c) certifying that the defendant does not have
the financial means to deposit the amount of the
collateral specified in the citation or the $50 when
no amount is specified.

(B) The issuing authority, upon receiving a plea of not
guilty, shall:

(1) fix a date and hour for trial;

(2) notify the defendant and the affiant of the date and
hour fixed for the trial; and

(3) advise the defendant that failure to appear for trial
shall constitute consent to trial in the defendant’s absence
and if the defendant is found guilty, the collateral depos-
ited shall be forfeited and applied toward the fine, costs,
and restitution, and the defendant shall have the right to
appeal within 30 days for a trial de novo.

Comment

[ It is intended that the defendant will appear in
person before the issuing authority to plead not
guilty when the defendant cannot afford to deposit
the amount of collateral specified in the citation or
the $50 when no amount is specified. A plea entered
by mail must be accompanied by the full amount of
collateral. See Rule 452.] All checks deposited as
collateral shall be made payable to the magisterial dis-
trict number set forth on the citation.

When fixing the date and hour for trial, the issuing
authority should determine whether the trial must be
delayed because the defendant’s criminal record must be
ascertained prior to trial as specifically required by
statute for purposes of grading the offenses charged.

Paragraph (B)(3) was amended in 2016 to clarify that
collateral may be forfeited for the payment of restitution
as well as for the fine and costs that have been assessed
by an issuing authority. See 18 Pa.C.S. § 1106(d) for the
authority of a magisterial district judge to impose restitu-
tion on a defendant.

Official Note: Previous Rule 68 adopted September
18, 1973, effective January 1, 1974; rescinded July 12,
1985, effective January 1, 1986, and not replaced in the
present rules. Present Rule 68 adopted July 12, 1985,
effective January 1, 1986. The January 1, 1986 effective
dates all are extended to July 1, 1986; amended January
31, 1991, effective July 1, 1991; renumbered Rule 423 and

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Report explaining the January 31, 1991 amendments
published at 20 Pa.B. 4788 (September 15, 1990); Supple-
mental Report published at 21 Pa.B. 621 (February 16,
1991).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorganiza-
tion and renumbering of the rules published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18, 2000).

Final Report explaining the June 10, 2016 amendments
clarifying that forfeited collateral may be applied to
restitution published with the Court’s Order at 46 Pa.B.
3238 (June 26, 2016).

Report explaining the proposed amendments re-
garding responses by mail when the defendant is
unable to post collateral published for comment at
48 Pa.B. 496 (January 20, 2018); Supplemental Re-
port published for comment at 49 Pa.B. 1140 (March
16, 2019).

Rule 424. Guilty Pleas.
(A) A defendant may plead guilty by:

(1) notifying the issuing authority in writing of the
plea and forwarding to the issuing authority an amount
equal to the fine and costs specified in the summons; or

(2) appearing before the issuing authority for the entry
of the plea and imposition of sentence when:

(a) the fine and costs are not specified in the summons
[or];

(b) after receipt of notice that a guilty plea by mail has

not been accepted by the issuing authority pursuant to
paragraph (B)3)[ . ]; or

(c) the defendant is without the financial means
immediately to pay the fine and costs specified in
the citation.

(B) When the defendant pleads guilty pursuant to
paragraph (A)(1):

(1) The defendant [ must ] shall sign the guilty plea
acknowledging that the plea is entered voluntarily and
understandingly. The defendant shall provide confir-
mation of a current mailing address and telephone
number.

(2) The issuing authority may issue a warrant for the
arrest of the defendant as provided in Rules 430 and 431
if the amount forwarded with the plea is less than the
amount of the fine and costs specified in the summons.

(3) Restrictions on the acceptance of guilty plea by
mail:

(a) The issuing authority shall not accept a guilty plea
that is submitted by mail when the offense carries a
mandatory sentence of imprisonment.

(b) In those cases in which the charge carries a pos-
sible sentence of imprisonment, the issuing authority may
accept a guilty plea submitted by mail.

(¢) In any case in which the issuing authority does not
accept a guilty plea submitted by mail, the issuing
authority shall notify the defendant (1) that the guilty
plea has not been accepted, (2) to appear personally
before the issuing authority on a date and time certain,
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and (3) of the right to counsel. Notice of the rejection of
the guilty plea by mail also shall be provided to the
affiant.

(C) When the defendant is required to personally ap-
pear before the issuing authority to plead guilty pursuant
to paragraph (A)(2), the issuing authority shall:

(1) advise the defendant of the right to counsel when
there is a likelihood of imprisonment and give the
defendant, upon request, a reasonable opportunity to
secure counsel;

(2) determine by inquiring of the defendant that the
plea is voluntarily and understandingly entered;

(3) have the defendant sign the plea form with a
representation that the plea is entered voluntarily and
understandingly;

(4) impose sentence, or, in cases in which the defendant
may be sentenced to intermediate punishment, the issu-
ing authority may delay the proceedings pending confir-
mation of the defendant’s ability to pay or of the
defendant’s eligibility for intermediate punishment] ;

and ]:

(5) [ provide for installment payments when a
defendant who is sentenced to pay a fine and costs
is without the financial means immediately to pay
the fine and costs. ] If the defendant is without the
financial means to pay the full amount of the fine,
costs, and restitution in a single remittance, the
issuing authority shall provide for installment pay-
ments and shall:

(a) state the date on which each installment is
due; and

(b) shall advise the defendant of the procedures
in Rule 456 in the event of any default in payment.

(c) The amount of each installment shall be based
upon a determination of a defendant’s financial
ability to pay. The issuing authority is prohibited
from establishing mandatory minimum installment
payments that are not based on the individual
defendant’s ability to pay.

Comment

The rule [ was amended in 2007 to make ] makes it

clear [ (1) ] that a defendant may not enter a guilty plea
by mail (1) to an offense that carries a mandatory
sentence of imprisonment, [ and (2) in] or (2) when
the defendant is without the financial means imme-
diately to pay the fine and costs. In those cases in
which the offense carries a possible sentence of imprison-
ment, the issuing authority has the discretion whether or
not to accept a guilty plea submitted by mail.

Nothing in this rule is intended to require that an
issuing authority should proceed as provided in para-
graph (C) when the defendant returns the written guilty
plea and the fine and costs in person to the issuing
authority’s office pursuant to paragraphs (A)(1) and (B).
The issuing authority’s staff should record receipt of the
plea and monies in the same manner as those received by
mail.

Paragraph (C)(4) was added in 2007 to permit an
issuing authority to delay imposition of sentence in order
to investigate a defendant’s eligibility for intermediate
punishment. For example, under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9763 and
§ 9804, defendants may be sentenced to intermediate
punishment for certain offenses, including summary vio-

lations of 75 Pa.C.S. § 1543(b) (driving while license is
under a DUlI-related suspension) but only if they meet
certain eligibility requirements, such as undergoing a
drug and alcohol assessment. Often this information will
not be available to the issuing authority at the time of
sentencing, especially when the defendant appears per-
sonally to enter a guilty plea.

In determining whether a defendant is without
the financial means immediately to pay the fine
and costs, the issuing authority must consider the
defendant’s financial situation. Some factors that
should be considered in this determination include,
but are not limited to:

(1) the defendant’s current employment status,
including current salary and gross income from
this year and previous recent years, if any, from the
current employer(s) or previous employer(s);

(2) income from other sources such as interest,
dividends, pension and annuities, social security
benefits, support payments, disability payments,
unemployment compensation and supplemental
benefits, workers’ compensation, public assistance;

(3) the value of all property owned, including
money available in cash, or bank accounts, real
estate (including home), and other significant prop-
erty such as motor vehicles;

(4) debts and obligations including mortgages,
rent, loans; court assessments, and any other mis-
cellaneous recurring expenses;

(5) other contributions to household support
from spouse, parents, children, or others; and

(6) all persons dependent upon the defendant for
support and the defendant’s actual contribution to
that support

The issuing authority may require the defendant
to present documents or other evidence to verify
the defendant’s financial situation.

It is recommended that the issuing authority seek
the following information to assist in making an
evaluation as to the defendant’s ability to pay:

(1) the defendant’s employment status, including
whether the defendant has been unemployed due to
recent incarceration;

(2) the defendant’s income including monthly sal-
ary or wages, or income from self-employment;

(3) assets or property owned including real es-
tate, motor vehicles, stocks, bonds, cash, and check-
ing or savings accounts;

(4) the amount of the defendant’s income that is
from a benefit or means-based public assistance
such as

(a) unemployment compensation,

(b) Workers’ Compensation,

(¢) Social Security benefits including Supplemen-
tal Security Income and Social Security Disability,

(d) food stamps,

(e) cash assistance,

(f) pensions and annuities,

(g) any other benefits;

(5) Monthly expenses including:

(a) mortgage or rent,
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(b) loans,
(c) utilities,

(d) cost of health insurance,

(e) cost of uninsured health care,

(f) cost of transportation, including car pay-
ments,

(g) costs of dependent care,

(h) spousal/child support,

(i) utilities, including the cost of cell or other
telephone service,

() food,

(k) other expenses.

The Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts
has developed a form available through the court’s
computer systems that will assist the issuing au-
thority in soliciting the above information.

In determining whether the defendant has the
ability to pay, the issuing authority must consider
the totality of the defendant’s financial resources
and the nature of the burden that the payments
will impose on the defendant’s finances.

When the defendant was under 18 years of age at the
time of the offense and is charged with a summary
offense that would otherwise carry a mandatory sentence
of imprisonment as prescribed by statute, the issuing
authority is required to conduct the summary trial but
may not sentence the defendant to a term of imprison-
ment. See 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and 6303 and 75 Pa.C.S.
§ 6303(b).

See Rule 454(F) for the information that must be
included in the sentencing order when restitution is
included in the sentence.

For the procedure upon default in payment of the fine
or costs, see Rule 456.

For appeal procedures in summary cases, see Rules
460, 461, and 462.

For procedures regarding arrest warrants, see Rules
430 and 431.

Concerning the appointment or waiver of counsel, see
Rules 121 and 122.

Official Note: Previous rule, originally numbered Rule
140, adopted January 31, 1970, effective May 1, 1970;
renumbered Rule 69 September 18, 1973, effective Janu-
ary 1, 1974; Comment revised January 28, 1983, effective
July 1, 1983; rescinded July 12, 1985, effective January 1,
1986, and not replaced in these rules. Present Rule 69
adopted July 12, 1985, effective January 1, 1986;
amended September 23, 1985, effective January 1, 1986.
The January 1, 1986 effective dates are all extended to
July 1, 1986; amended May 28, 1987, effective July 1,
1987; amended January 31, 1991, effective July 1, 1991;
renumbered Rule 424 and amended March 1, 2000,
effective April 1, 2001; Comment revised August 7, 2003,
effective July 1, 2004; amended January 26, 2007, effec-
tive February 1, 2008; Comment revised July 17, 2013,
effective August 17, 2013; Comment revised March 9,
2016, effective July 1, 2016; amended , 2019,
effective , 2019.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Report explaining the January 31, 1991 amendments
published at 20 Pa.B. 4788 (September 15, 1990); Supple-
mental Report published at 21 Pa.B. 621 (February 16,
1991).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorganiza-
tion and renumbering of the rules published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18, 2000).

Final Report explaining the August 7, 2003 new Com-
ment language concerning defendants under the age of 18
published with the Court’s Order at 33 Pa.B. 4293
(August 30, 2003).

Final Report explaining the January 26, 2007 amend-
ments to paragraphs (A)(2), (B)(3), and (C)(4) published
with the Court’s Order at 37 Pa.B. 760 (February 17,
2007).

Final Report explaining the July 17, 2013 Comment
revision concerning mandatory incarceration offenses and
juveniles published with the Court’s Order at 43 Pa.B.
4325 (August 3, 2013).

Final Report explaining the March 9, 2016 Comment
revision concerning the Rule 454 restitution procedures
published with the Court’s Order at 46 Pa.B. 1540 (March
26, 2016).

Report explaining the proposed amendments re-
garding inability to pay published for comment at
48 Pa.B. 496 (January 20, 2018); Supplemental Re-
port published for comment at 49 Pa.B. 1140 (March
16, 2019).

PART E. General Procedures in Summary Cases

Rule 454. Trial in Summary Cases.
(A) Immediately prior to trial in a summary case:

(1) the defendant shall be advised of the charges in the
citation or complaint;

(2) if, in the event of a conviction, there is a reasonable
likelihood of a sentence of imprisonment or probation, the
defendant shall be advised of the right to counsel and

(a) upon request, the defendant shall be given a rea-
sonable opportunity to secure counsel, or

(b) if the defendant is without financial resources or is
otherwise unable to employ counsel, counsel shall be
assigned as provided in Rule 122; and

(3) the defendant shall enter a plea.

(B) If the defendant pleads guilty, the issuing authority
shall impose sentence. If the defendant pleads not guilty,
the issuing authority shall try the case in the same
manner as trials in criminal cases are conducted in the
courts of common pleas when jury trial has been waived;
however, in all summary cases arising under the Vehicle
Code or local traffic ordinances, the law enforcement
officer observing the defendant’s alleged offense may, but
shall not be required to, appear and testify against the
defendant. In no event shall the failure of the law
enforcement officer to appear, by itself, be a basis for
dismissal of the charges against the defendant.

(C) The attorney for the Commonwealth may appear
and assume charge of the prosecution. When the violation
of an ordinance of a municipality is charged, an attorney
representing that municipality, with the consent of the
attorney for the Commonwealth, may appear and assume
charge of the prosecution. When no attorney appears on
behalf of the Commonwealth, the affiant may be permit-
ted to ask questions of any witness who testifies.
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(D) The verdict and sentence, if any, shall be an-
nounced in open court immediately upon the conclusion of
the trial, except as provided in paragraph (E).

(E) In determining the amount of the discretion-
ary fine, if any, or discretionary costs, if any, that is
to be imposed and the payment schedule, if any, the
issuing authority shall consider the defendant’s
ability to pay. The issuing authority may delay
imposing sentence pending confirmation of the de-
fendant’s ability to pay.

[®) ] (F) If the defendant may be sentenced to inter-
mediate punishment, the issuing authority may delay
imposing sentence pending confirmation of the defen-
dant’s eligibility for intermediate punishment.

[@® 1] (G) At the time of sentencing, the issuing
authority shall:

(1) if the defendant’s sentence includes restitution, a
fine, or costs, state:

(a) the amount of the fine and the obligation to pay
costs;

(b) the amount of restitution ordered, including
(i) the identity of the payee(s),

(i1)) to whom the restitution payment shall be made,
and

(iii)) whether any restitution has been paid and in what
amount; and

(c) the date on which payment is duel . ]5

[ If the defendant is without the financial means
to pay the amount in a single remittance, the
issuing authority may provide for installment pay-
ments and shall state the date on which each
installment is due. ]

(2) advise the defendant of the right to appeal within
30 days for a trial de novo in the court of common pleas,
and that if an appeal is filed:

(a) the execution of sentence will be stayed and the
issuing authority may set bail or collateral; and

(b) the defendant must appear for the de novo trial or
the appeal may be dismissed;

(3) if a sentence of imprisonment has been imposed,
direct the defendant to appear for the execution of
sentence on a date certain unless the defendant files a
notice of appeal within the 30-day period, and advise
that, if the defendant fails to appear on that date, a
warrant for the defendant’s arrest will be issued; and

(4) issue a written order imposing sentence, signed by
the issuing authority. The order shall include the infor-
mation specified in paragraphs (F)(1) through (F)(3), and
a copy of the order shall be given to the defendant.

(5) If the defendant is without the financial
means to pay the amount in a single remittance,
the issuing authority shall provide for installment
payments and shall:

(a) state the date on which each installment is
due; and

(b) shall advise the defendant of the procedures
in Rule 456 in the event of any default in payment.

(c) The amount of each installment shall be based
upon a determination of a defendant’s financial
ability to pay. The issuing authority is prohibited

from establishing mandatory minimum installment
payments that are not based on the individual
defendant’s ability to pay.

Comment

No defendant may be sentenced to imprisonment or
probation if the right to counsel was not afforded at trial.
See Alabama v. Shelton, 535 U.S. 654 (2002), Scott v.
Illinois, 440 U.S. 367 (1979), and Argersinger v. Hamlin,
407 U.S. 25 (1972). See Rules 121 and 122.

The affiant may be permitted to withdraw the charges
pending before the issuing authority. See Rule 457 (With-
drawal of Charges in Summary Cases).

Paragraph [ ) @2)(b) ] (G)(2)(b) is included in the
rule in light of North v. Russell, 427 U.S. 328 (1976). For
the procedures for taking, perfecting, and handling an
appeal, see Rules 460, 461, and 462.

As the judicial officer presiding at the summary trial,
the issuing authority controls the conduct of the trial
generally. When an attorney appears on behalf of the
Commonwealth or on behalf of a municipality pursuant to
paragraph (C), the prosecution of the case is under the
control of that attorney. When no attorney appears at the
summary trial on behalf of the Commonwealth, or a
municipality, the issuing authority may ask questions of
any witness who testifies, and the affiant may request the
issuing authority to ask specific questions. In the appro-
priate circumstances, the issuing authority may also
permit the affiant to question Commonwealth witnesses,
cross-examine defense witnesses, and make recommenda-
tions about the case to the issuing authority.

Although the scheduling of summary trials is left by
the rules to the discretion of the issuing authority, it is
intended that trial will be scheduled promptly upon
receipt of a defendant’s plea or promptly after a defen-
dant’s arrest. When a defendant is incarcerated pending a
summary trial, it is incumbent upon the issuing authority
to schedule trial for the earliest possible time.

When the defendant was under 18 years of age at the
time of the offense and is charged with a summary
offense that would otherwise carry a mandatory sentence
of imprisonment as prescribed by statute, the issuing
authority is required to conduct the summary trial but
may not sentence the defendant to a term of imprison-
ment. See 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 6302 and 6303 and 75 Pa.C.S.
§ 6303(b).

Under paragraph [ (F)(2)(a) ] (®)(2)(a), the issuing
authority should explain to the defendant that if an
appeal is filed, any sentence, including imprisonment,
fines, or restitution, will be stayed.

When setting the specific date for the defendant to
appear for execution of a sentence of imprisonment
pursuant to paragraph [ (F)@3)] (G)(8), the issuing
authority should set the earliest possible date for sentenc-
ing after the appeal period expires.

When a defendant has waived the stay of the sentence
of imprisonment pursuant to Rule 461, the issuing au-
thority may fix the commencement date of the sentence to
be the date of conviction, rather than after the 30-day
stay period has expired. The defendant, of course, still
would be able to pursue an appeal under Rules 460—462.

For the statutory authority to sentence a defendant to
pay a fine, see 42 Pa.C.S. § 9726.

For the statutory authority to sentence a defendant to
pay restitution, see 42 Pa.C.S. § 9721(c) and 18 Pa.C.S.
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§ 1106(c). See also 18 Pa.C.S. § 1106(c)(2)(iii), which
prohibits the court from ordering the incarceration of a
defendant for failure to pay restitution if the failure
results from the defendant’s inability to pay.

Before imposing both a fine and restitution, the issuing
authority must determine that the fine will not prevent
the defendant from making restitution to the victim. See
42 Pa.C.S. §§ 9726(c)(2) and 9730(b)(3).

Certain costs are mandatory and must be imposed. See,
e.g., Section 1101 of the Crime Victims Act, 18 P.S.
§ 11.1101.

In determining whether a defendant has the fi-
nancial means to pay, the issuing authority must
consider the defendant’s financial situation. Some

(g) any other benefits;

(5) Monthly expenses including:

(a) mortgage or rent,

(b) loans,
(e) utilities,

(d) cost of health insurance,

(e) cost of uninsured health care,

(f) cost of transportation, including car pay-
ments,

(g) costs of dependent care,

(h) spousal/child support,

factors that should be considered in this determina-
tion include, but are not limited to:

(1) the defendant’s current employment status,
including current salary and gross income from
this year and previous recent years, if any, from the

(i) utilities, including the cost of cell or other
telephone service,

() food,

(k) other expenses.

current employer(s) or previous employer(s);

(2) income from other sources such as interest,

The Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts
has developed a form available through the court’s

dividends, pension and annuities, social security

computer systems that will assist the issuing au-

benefits, support payments, disability payments,

thority in soliciting the above information.

unemployment compensation and supplemental
benefits, workers’ compensation, public assistance;

(3) the value of all property owned, including
money available in cash, or bank accounts, real
estate (including home), and other significant prop-
erty such as motor vehicles;

(4) debts and obligations including mortgages,
rent, loans; court assessments, and any other mis-
cellaneous recurring expenses;

(5) other contributions to household support
from spouse, parents, children, or others; and

(6) all persons dependent upon the defendant for
support and the defendant’s actual contribution to

that support.
The issuing authority may require the defendant

to present documents or other evidence to verify
the defendant’s financial situation.

It is recommended that the issuing authority seek
the following information to assist in making an
evaluation as to the defendant’s ability to pay:

(1) the defendant’s employment status, including
whether the defendant has been unemployed due to
recent incarceration;

(2) the defendant’s income including monthly sal-
ary or wages, or income from self-employment;

(3) assets or property owned including real es-
tate, motor vehicles, stocks, bonds, cash, and check-
ing or savings accounts;

(4) the amount of the defendant’s income that is
from a benefit or means-based public assistance
such as

(a) unemployment compensation,

(b) Workers’ Compensation,

(¢) Social Security benefits including Supplemen-
tal Security Income and Social Security Disability,

(d) food stamps,

(e) cash assistance,

(f) pensions and annuities,

In determining whether the defendant has the
ability to pay, the issuing authority must consider
the totality of the defendant’s financial resources
and the nature of the burden that the payments
will impose on the defendant’s finances.

Paragraph [ (E) ] (F) permits an issuing authority to
delay imposing sentence in summary cases in order to
investigate a defendant’s eligibility for intermediate pun-
ishment. For example, under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9763 and
§ 9804, defendants may be sentenced to intermediate
punishment for certain offenses, including summary vio-
lations of 75 Pa.C.S. § 1543(b) (driving while license is
under a DUlI-related suspension) but only if they meet
certain eligibility requirements, such as undergoing a
drug and alcohol assessment. Often this information will
not be available to the issuing authority at the time of
sentencing.

See Rule 456 for the procedures when a defendant
defaults in the payment of restitution, fines, or costs.

For the procedures concerning sentences that include
restitution in court cases, see Rule 705.1.

A defendant should be encouraged to seek an adjust-
ment of a payment schedule for restitution, fines, or costs
before a default occurs. See Rule 456(A).

Official Note: Rule 83 adopted July 12, 1985, effective
January 1, 1986; amended September 23, 1985, effective
January 1, 1986; January 1, 1986 effective dates extended
to July 1, 1986; amended February 2, 1989, effective
March 1, 1989; amended October 28, 1994, effective as to
cases instituted on or after January 1, 1995; Comment
revised April 18, 1997, effective July 1, 1997; amended
October 1, 1997, effective October 1, 1998; Comment
revised February 13, 1998, effective July 1, 1998; renum-
bered Rule 454 and Comment revised March 1, 2000,
effective April 1, 2001; amended February 28, 2003,
effective July 1, 2003; Comment revised August 7, 2003,
effective July 1, 2004; amended March 26, 2004, effective
July 1, 2004; amended January 26, 2007, effective Febru-
ary 1, 2008; Comment revised July 17, 2013, effective
August 17, 2013; amended March 9, 2016, effective July
1, 2016; amended , 2019, effective ,
2019.
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Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the October 28, 1994 amend-
ments published with the Court’s Order at 24 Pa.B. 5841
(November 26, 1994).

Final Report explaining the April 18, 1997 Comment
revision cross-referencing new Rule 87 published with the
Court’s Order at 27 Pa.B. 2119 (May 3, 1997).

Final Report explaining the October 1, 1997 amend-
ments to paragraph (E) and the Comment concerning the
procedures at the time of sentencing published with the
Court’s Order at 27 Pa.B. 5414 (October 18, 1997).

Final Report explaining the February 13, 1998 Com-
ment revision concerning questioning of witnesses pub-
lished with the Court’s Order at 28 Pa.B. 1127 (February
28, 1998).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorganiza-
tion and renumbering of the rules published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18, 2000).

Final Report explaining the February 28, 2003 amend-
ments published with the Court’s Order at 33 Pa.B. 1326
(March 15, 2003).

Final Report explaining the August 7, 2003 changes to
the Comment concerning defendants under the age of 18
published with the Court’s Order at 33 Pa.B. 4293
(August 30, 2003).

Final Report explaining the March 26, 2004 changes
concerning Alabama v. Shelton published with the Court’s
Order at 34 Pa.B. 1931 (April 10, 2004).

Final Report explaining the January 26, 2007 amend-
ments adding paragraph (E) concerning intermediate
punishment published with the Court’s Order at 37 Pa.B.
760 (February 17, 2007).

Final Report explaining the July 17, 2013 Comment
revision concerning mandatory incarceration offenses and
juveniles published with the Court’s Order at 43 Pa.B.
4325 (August 3, 2013).

Final Report explaining the March 9, 2016 amendments
to paragraph (F) concerning required elements of the
sentence published with the Court’s Order at 46 Pa.B.
1540 (March 26, 2016).

Report explaining the proposed amendments re-
lated to determining the defendant’s ability to pay
case assessments published for comment at 48 Pa.B.
496 (January 20, 2018); Supplemental Report pub-
lished for comment at 49 Pa.B. 1140 (March 16,
2019).

Rule 456. Default Procedures: Restitution, Fines,
and Costs.

(A) When a defendant advises the issuing authority
that a default on a single remittance or installment
payment of restitution, fines, or costs is imminent, the
issuing authority may schedule a hearing on the defen-
dant’s ability to pay. If a new payment schedule is
ordered, the order shall state the date on which each
payment is due, and the defendant shall be given a copy
of the order.

(B) If a defendant defaults on the payment of fines and
costs, or restitution, as ordered, the issuing authority
shall notify the defendant in person or by first class mail
that, unless within 10 days of the date on the default
notice, the defendant pays the amount due as ordered, or
appears before the issuing authority to explain why the

defendant should not be imprisoned for nonpayment as
provided by law, a bench warrant for the defendant’s
arrest may be issued.

(C) If the defendant appears pursuant to the 10-day
notice in paragraph (B) or following an arrest for failing
to respond to the 10-day notice in paragraph (B), the
issuing authority shall conduct a hearing immediately to
determine whether the defendant is financially able to
pay as ordered.

(1) If the hearing cannot be held immediately, the
issuing authority shall release the defendant on recogni-
zance unless the issuing authority has reasonable
grounds to believe that the defendant will not appear, in
which case, the issuing authority may set collateral as
provided in Rule 523.

(2) If collateral is set, the issuing authority shall state
in writing the reason(s) why any collateral other than
release on recognizance has been set and the facts that
support a determination that the defendant has the
ability to pay monetary collateral.

(3) If collateral is set and the defendant does not post
collateral, the defendant shall not be detained without a
hearing longer than 72 hours or the close of the next
business day if the 72 hours expires on a non-business
day.

(D) When a defendant appears pursuant to the notice
in paragraph (B) or pursuant to an arrest warrant issued
for failure to respond to the notice as provided in
paragraph (C):

(1) upon a determination that the defendant is finan-
cially able to pay as ordered, the issuing authority may
impose any sanction provided by law.

(2) Upon a determination that the defendant is finan-
cially unable to pay as ordered, the issuing authority
[ may ] shall order a schedule or reschedule for install-
ment payments, or alter or amend the order as otherwise
provided by law. The amount of each installment
shall be based upon a determination of a defen-
dant’s financial ability to pay. The issuing authority
is prohibited from establishing mandatory mini-
mum installment payments that are not based on
the individual defendant’s ability to pay.

(3) At the conclusion of the hearing, the issuing author-
ity shall:

(a) if the issuing authority has ordered a schedule of
installment payments or a new schedule of installment
payments, state the date on which each installment
payment is due;

(b) advise the defendant of the right to appeal within
30 days for a hearing de novo in the court of common
pleas, and that if an appeal is filed:

(i) the execution of the order will be stayed and the
issuing authority may set bail or collateral; and

(i) the defendant must appear for the hearing de novo
in the court of common pleas or the appeal may be
dismissed;

(c) if a sentence of imprisonment has been imposed,
direct the defendant to appear for the execution of
sentence on a date certain unless the defendant files a
notice of appeal within the 30-day period; and

(d) issue a written order imposing sentence, signed by
the issuing authority. The order shall include the infor-
mation specified in paragraphs (D)(3)(a) through (D)(3)(c),
and a copy of the order shall be given to the defendant.
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The order shall also state the reason(s) why a
sentence was deemed appropriate and the facts
that support a determination that the defendant
has the ability to pay as ordered.

(4) A sentence of imprisonment or probation shall
not be imposed if the right to counsel was not
afforded at the hearing. Counsel shall be appointed
as provided in Rule 122(A)(1).

(E) A defendant may appeal an issuing authority’s
determination pursuant to this rule by filing a notice of
appeal within 30 days of the issuing authority’s order.
The appeal shall proceed as provided in Rules 460, 461,
and 462.

(F) UNCOLLECTABLE RESTITUTION, FINE, AND
COSTS

(1) If, after a period of two years following sen-
tencing, in which the defendant defaults upon the
payment of restitution, fine, and costs due as or-
dered, the issuing authority determines that the
defendant does not have the ability to pay, the
issuing authority may notify the defendant, any
victim, and the affiant, or the attorney for the
Commonwealth in person or by first class mail that,
unless within 10 days of the date of the notice any
victim, the affiant, or the attorney for the Common-
wealth objects, the issuing authority may issue an
order declaring the payments uncollectable due to
the defendant’s inability to pay.

(2) The order may be issued only after a hearing
at which the defendant is present and represented
by counsel.

(3) Service of the notice of the hearing held
pursuant to paragraph (F)(2) shall be by first class
mail.

(4) notice of the hearing also shall be made on
the victim, affiant, and attorney for the Common-
wealth who shall be permitted to object to the
issuance of the order.

(5) When an order has been issued pursuant to
paragraph (F)(1), no further action shall be taken
to collect the amount owed by the defendant, in-

cluding:
(a) the scheduling of a default hearing pursuant
to paragraph (A);

(b) the issuance of the notice pursuant to para-
graph (B);

(c) issuance of a bench warrant for the defen-
dant’s arrest;

(d) referral of the case to a collections agency;

(e) contempt proceedings for failure to pay;

(f) issuance of a notice of default to the Pennsyl-
vania Department of Transportation pursuant to
Rule 470.

(6) The order shall be served on the defendant
and the victim, affiant, or attorney for the Com-
monwealth.

(7) If the defendant later becomes able pay, the
issuing authority, after notice to the defendant and
the victim, affiant, and attorney for the Common-
wealth and an opportunity to be heard, may re-

Comment

The purpose of this rule is to provide the procedures
governing defaults in the payment of restitution, fines,
and costs.

Although most of this rule concerns the procedures
followed by the issuing authority after a default occurs,
paragraph (A) makes it clear that a defendant should be
encouraged to seek a modification of the payment order
when the defendant knows default is likely, but before it
happens. For fines and costs, see 42 Pa.C.S. § 9730(b)(3).

An issuing authority may at any time alter or amend
an order of restitution. See 18 Pa.C.S. § 1106(c)(2) and
(3).

When a defendant defaults on a payment of restitution,
fines, or costs, paragraph (B) requires the issuing author-
ity to notify the defendant of the default, and to provide
the defendant with an opportunity to pay the amount due
or appear within 10 days to explain why the defendant
should not be imprisoned for nonpayment. Notice by first
class mail is considered complete upon mailing to the
defendant’s last known address. See Rule 430(B)(4).

Except in cases under the Public School Code of 1949,
24 P.S. § 1-102, et seq., in which the defendant is at least
13 years of age but not yet 17, if the defendant is under
18 years of age, the notice in paragraph (B) must inform
the defendant and defendant’s parents, guardian, or other
custodian that, if payment is not received or the defen-
dant does not appear within the 10-day time period, the
issuing authority will certify notice of the failure to pay to
the court of common pleas as required by the Juvenile
Act, 42 Pa.C.S. § 6302, definition of “delinquent act,”
paragraph (2)(iv), and the case will proceed pursuant to
the Rules of Juvenile Court Procedure and the Juvenile
Act instead of these rules.

If the defendant is charged with a violation of the
compulsory attendance requirements of the Public School
Act of 1949, 24 P.S. § 1-102, et seq.; has attained the age
of 13 but is not yet 17; and has failed to pay the fine, the
issuing authority must issue the notice required by
paragraph (B)(4) to the defendant and the defendant’s
parents, guardian, or other custodian informing the de-
fendant and defendant’s parents, guardian, or other cus-
todian that, if payment is not received or the defendant
does not appear within the 10-day time period, the
issuing authority may allege the defendant dependent
under 42 Pa.C.S. § 6303(a)(1). Pursuant to 24 P.S.
§ 13-1333(b)(2), the defendant’s failure to pay is not a
delinquent act and the issuing authority would not certify
notice of the failure to pay to the common pleas court.

If the defendant is 18 years or older when the default
in payment occurs, the issuing authority must proceed
under these rules.

Pursuant to paragraph (C), the issuing authority must
conduct a default hearing when a defendant responds to
the 10-day notice as provided in paragraph (B), or when
the defendant is arrested for failing to respond to the
10-day notice. If the default hearing cannot be held
immediately, the issuing authority may set collateral as
provided in Rule 523. However, the issuing authority
should only set monetary collateral when he or she has
determined that less restrictive conditions of release will
not be effective in ensuring the defendant’s appearance.

In determining whether a defendant has the fi-

scind the order and proceed with efforts to obtain

nancial means to pay, the issuing authority must

payment from the defendant on the money owed.

consider the defendant’s financial situation. Some
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factors that should be considered in this determina-

(i) utilities, including the cost of cell or other

tion include, but are not limited to:

(1) the defendant’s current employment status,

telephone service,
(j) food,

including current salary and gross income from
this year and previous recent years, if any, from the
current employer(s) or previous employer(s);

(2) income from other sources such as interest,
dividends, pension and annuities, social security
benefits, support payments, disability payments,
unemployment compensation and supplemental
benefits, workers’ compensation, public assistance;

(3) the value of all property owned, including
money available in cash, or bank accounts, real
estate (including home), and other significant prop-
erty such as motor vehicles;

(4) debts and obligations including mortgages,
rent, loans; court assessments, and any other mis-
cellaneous recurring expenses;

(5) other contributions to household support
from spouse, parents, children, or others; and

(6) all persons dependent upon the defendant for
support and the defendant’s actual contribution to
that support.

The issuing authority may require the defendant
to present documents or other evidence to verify
the defendant’s financial situation.

It is recommended that the issuing authority seek
the following information to assist in making an
evaluation as to the defendant’s ability to pay:

(1) the defendant’s employment status, including
whether the defendant has been unemployed due to
recent incarceration;

(2) the defendant’s income including monthly sal-
ary or wages, or income from self-employment;

(3) assets or property owned including real es-
tate, motor vehicles, stocks, bonds, cash, and check-
ing or savings accounts;

(4) the amount of the defendant’s income that is
from a benefit or means-based public assistance
such as

(a) unemployment compensation,

(b) Workers’ Compensation,

(c) Social Security benefits including Supplemen-
tal Security Income and Social Security Disability,

(d) food stamps,

(e) cash assistance,

(f) pensions and annuities,

(g) any other benefits;

(5) Monthly expenses including:

(a) mortgage or rent,

(b) loans,
(c) utilities,
(d) cost of health insurance,

(e) cost of uninsured health care,

(f) cost of transportation, including car pay-
ments,

(g) costs of dependent care,

(h) spousal/child support,

(k) other expenses.

The Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts
has developed a form available through the court’s
computer systems that will assist the issuing au-
thority in soliciting the above information.

In determining whether the defendant has the
ability to pay, the issuing authority must consider
the totality of the defendant’s financial resources
and the nature of the burden that the payments
will impose on the defendant’s finances.

Under paragraph (D)(1), when the issuing authority
determines that a defendant is able to pay as ordered, the
issuing authority may, as provided by law, impose impris-
onment or other sanctions. In addition, delinquent resti-
tution, fines, or court costs may be turned over to a
private collection agency. See 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 9730(b)(2)
and 9730.1(a).

When a defendant is in default of an installment
payment, the issuing authority on his or her own motion
or at the request of the defendant or the attorney for the
Commonwealth must schedule a rehearing to determine
the cause of the default. Before an issuing authority may
impose a sentence of imprisonment as provided by law for
nonpayment of restitution, fines, or costs, a hearing or
rehearing must be held whenever a defendant alleges
that his or her ability to pay has been diminished. See 42
Pa.C.S. § 9730(b). No defendant may be sentenced to
imprisonment or probation if the right to counsel was not
afforded [ at trial ] at the default hearing. See Rule
122(A)(1) (“Counsel shall be appointed. . .in all sum-
mary cases, for all defendants who are without
financial resources or who are otherwise unable to
employ counsel when there is a likelihood that
imprisonment will be imposed....”). See Alabama v.
Shelton, 535 U.S. 654 (2002) and Scott v. Illinois, 440
U.S. 367 (1979). See also Commonwealth v. Farmer, 466
A.2d 677 (Pa. Super. 1983) (Whenever there is a likeli-
hood in a proceeding that imprisonment will be imposed,
counsel must be assigned) and (Commonwealth uv.
Spontarelli, 791 A.2d 1254 (Pa. Cmmw. 2002) (defendant
is entitled to appointed counsel when tried for violation of
municipal ordinance that permits imprisonment upon
default of payment of the fine). See also [ Rules ] Rule
121 [ and 122 ] (dealing with [ appearance or ] waiver
of counsel).

When a rehearing is held on a payment schedule for
fines or costs, the issuing authority may extend or
accelerate the payment schedule, leave it unaltered, or
sentence the defendant to a period of community service,
as the issuing authority finds to be just and practicable
under the circumstances. See 42 Pa.C.S. § 9730(b)(3).

This rule contemplates that when there has been an
appeal pursuant to paragraph (E), the case would return
to the issuing authority who presided at the default
hearing for completion of the collection process.

Nothing in this rule is intended to preclude an issuing
authority from imposing punishment for indirect criminal
contempt when a defendant fails to pay fines and costs in
accordance with an installment payment order, 42 Pa.C.S.
§§ 4137(a)(4), 4138(a)(3), and 4139(a)(3), or fails to pay
restitution, 42 Pa.C.S. § 4137(a)(3). Separate Rules of
Criminal Procedure govern contempt adjudications. See
Chapter 1 Part D.
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Official Note: Adopted July 12, 1985, effective Janu-
ary 1, 1986; amended September 23, 1985, effective
January 1, 1986; January 1, 1986 effective dates extended
to July 1, 1986; Comment revised February 1, 1989,
effective July 1, 1989; rescinded October 1, 1997, effective
October 1, 1998. New Rule 85 adopted October 1, 1997,
effective October 1, 1998; amended July 2, 1999, effective
August 1, 1999; renumbered Rule 456 and amended
March 1, 2000, effective April 1, 2001; Comment revised
August 7, 2003, effective July 1, 2004; amended March 3,
2004, effective July 1, 2004; Comment revised April 1,
2005, effective October 1, 2005; Comment revised Septem-
ber 21, 2012, effective November 1, 2012; Comment
revised January 17, 2013, effective May 1, 2013; amended
April 10, 2015, effective July 10, 2015; amended

, 2019, effective , 2019.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the new rule published with
the Court’s Order at 27 Pa.B. 5414 (October 18, 1997).

Final Report explaining the July 2, 1999 amendments
to paragraph (C) published with the Court’s Order at 29
Pa.B. 3718 (July 17, 1999).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorganiza-
tion and renumbering of the rules published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18, 2000).

Final Report explaining the August 7, 2003 changes to
the Comment concerning failure to pay and juveniles
published with the Court’s Order at 33 Pa.B. 4293
(August 30, 2003).

Final Report explaining the March 3, 2004 amendment
to paragraph (B) published with the Court’s Order at 34
Pa.B. 1561 (March 20, 2004).

Final Report explaining the April 1, 2005 Comment
revision concerning application of the Juvenile Court
Procedural Rules published with the Court’s Order at 35
Pa.B. 2213 (April 16, 2005).

Final Report explaining the September 21, 2012 Com-
ment revision correcting the typographical error in the
fourth paragraph published with the Court’s Order at 42
Pa.B. 6251 (October 6, 2012).

Final Report explaining the January 17, 2013 revisions
of the Comment concerning the Public School Code of
1949 published with the Court’s Order at 43 Pa.B. 656
(February 2, 2013).

Final Report explaining the April 10, 2015 amendments
concerning the setting of collateral published with the
Court’s Order at 45 Pa.B. 2045 (April 25, 2015).

Report explaining the proposed amendment con-
cerning factors to be considered when determining
a defendant’s ability to pay published for comment
at 48 Pa.B. 496 (January 20, 2018); Supplemental
Report published for comment at 49 Pa.B. 1140
(March 16, 2019).

PART G. Special Procedures in Summary Cases
Under the Vehicle Code

Rule 470. Procedures Related to License Suspen-
sion After Failure to Respond to Citation or
Summons or Failure to Pay Fine and Costs.

(A) When a defendant fails to comply with the [ 10-
day ] 80-day response period set forth in Rules 407, 412,
and 422, [ and 456, ] the issuing authority shall notify

the defendant in writing that, pursuant to Section 1533 of
the Vehicle Code, the defendant’s license will be sus-

pended if, within 15 days of the date of the notice,
the defendant fails to respond to the citation or summons
or fails to pay all fines and costs imposed or enter into an
agreement to make installment payments for the fines
and costs [ within 15 days of the date of the notice ].

(B) When a defendant defaults on the payment of
fines, costs, or restitution as ordered, the issuing
authority shall notify the defendant in writing that,
pursuant to Section 1533 of the Vehicle Code, the
defendant’s license will be suspended if, within 15
days of the date of the notice, the defendant fails to
pay all fines, costs, and restitution imposed, or
enter into an agreement to make installment pay-
ments for fines, costs, and restitution and the
issuing authority finds that the defendant has the
financial ability to pay.

[B)] (C) Service of the notice required in [para-

graph ] paragraphs (A) and (B) shall be by first class
mail, and a copy shall be made part of the record.

[©] (D) If the defendant does not respond by the
fifteenth day, the issuing authority shall so notify the
Pennsylvania Department of Transportation. The notice
shall be sent by electronic transmission in the form
prescribed by the Pennsylvania Department of Transpor-
tation. The issuing authority shall print out and sign a
copy of the notice, which shall include the date and time
of the transmission, and the signed copy shall be made
part of the record.

(E) If the defendant responds by the fifteenth
day, and fails to pay all fines, costs, and restitution
imposed, or fails to enter into an agreement to
make installment payments for fines, costs, and
restitution, a notice issued pursuant to paragraph
(B) shall be sent to the Pennsylvania Department of
Transportation only if the issuing authority first
has held a hearing pursuant to Rule 456(C) and
determined that the defendant has the financial
ability to pay. The notice shall not be sent during
the pendency of any appeal from that hearing.

[ D) ] (F) If the defendant responds to the citation or
summons or pays all fines and costs imposed or enters
into an agreement to make installment payments for the
fines and costs imposed after notice has been sent
pursuant to paragraph [ (C) ] (D), the issuing authority
shall so notify the Pennsylvania Department of Transpor-
tation and request the withdrawal of the defendant’s
license suspension. The notice and request shall be sent
by electronic transmission. The issuing authority shall
print out and sign a copy of the notice and request, which
shall include the date and time of the transmission, and
the signed copy shall be made part of the record.

[@®) ] (G) Upon request of the defendant, the attorney
for the Commonwealth, or any other government agency,
the issuing authority’s office shall provide a certified copy
of any notices or any request form required by this rule.

Comment

This rule was adopted in 1993, and amended in 2011,
to implement the notice requirements of 75 Pa.C.S.
§ 1533 and to insure uniform, prompt transmissions to
the Department of Transportation. It does not change the
other procedural requirements contained in the summary
case rules generally. See, e.g., paragraph (B)(1)(a) of Rule
430 (Issuance of Warrant) and Rule 456 (Default Proce-
dures: Restitution, Fines, and Costs). This rule was
amended in 2019 to clarify that, in cases involving
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default on the payment of fines and costs, or
restitution, the 15-day notice of the license suspen-
sion may be sent at the time of default and not
subsequent to the expiration of the 10-day bench
warrant notice under Rules 430(B)(3)(b) and 456(B).

It is recommended that the issuing authority seek
the following information to assist in making an
evaluation as to the defendant’s ability to pay:

(1) the defendant’s employment status, including
whether the defendant has been unemployed due to
recent incarceration;

(2) the defendant’s income including monthly sal-
ary or wages, or income from self-employment;

(3) assets or property owned including real es-
tate, motor vehicles, stocks, bonds, cash, and check-
ing or savings accounts;

(4) the amount of the defendant’s income that is
from a benefit or means-based public assistance
such as

(a) unemployment compensation,

(b) Workers’ Compensation,

(c) Social Security benefits including Supplemen-
tal Security Income and Social Security Disability,

(d) food stamps,

(e) cash assistance,

(f) pensions and annuities,

(g) any other benefits;

(5) Monthly expenses including:

(a) mortgage or rent,
(b) loans,
(c) utilities,

(d) cost of health insurance,

(e) cost of uninsured health care,

(f) cost of transportation, including car pay-
ments,

(g) costs of dependent care,

(h) spousal/child support,

(i) utilities, including the cost of cell or other
telephone service,

() food,

(k) other expenses.

The Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts
has developed a form available through the court’s
computer systems that will assist the issuing au-
thority in soliciting the above information.

In determining whether the defendant has the
ability to pay, the issuing authority must consider
the totality of the defendant’s financial resources
and the nature of the burden that the payments
will impose on the defendant’s finances.

This rule is not intended to address the admissibility of
evidence. See the Pennsylvania Rules of Evidence and 42
Pa.C.S. § 6101 et seq. concerning the Rules of Evidence
for documents.

Under paragraph [ (E) ] (G), the issuing authority is
required to provide a certified copy of the report, but only
if the request is made within the period that the issuing
authority is required to retain the records.

Electronic transmissions are to be made from the
Magisterial District Judge System or other computer
system used by issuing authorities.

Official Note: Previous Rule 91, formerly Rule 140,
adopted January 31, 1970, effective May 1, 1970; renum-
bered Rule 69 September 18, 1973, effective January 1,
1974; Comment revised January 28, 1983, effective July
1, 1983; rescinded July 12, 1985, effective January 1,
1986. The January 1, 1986 effective date is extended to
July 1, 1986. Readopted and renumbered Rule 91 Febru-
ary 1, 1989, effective July 1, 1989; rescinded June 3,
1993, effective July 1, 1993, and replaced by new Rule 92.
New Rule 91 adopted June 3, 1993, effective July 1, 1993;
renumbered Rule 470 and amended March 1, 2000,
effective April 1, 2001; amended February 18, 2011,
effective March 18, 2011; amended , 2019, ef-
fective , 2019.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Report explaining the provisions of the new rule pub-
lished with the Court’s Order at 23 Pa.B. 2811 (June 19,
1993).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorganiza-
tion and renumbering of the rules published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18, 2000).

Final Report explaining the February 18, 2011 amend-
ments to paragraphs (A) and (D) adding failure to pay
fines and costs published with the Court’s Order at 41
Pa.B. 1168 (March 5, 2011).

Report explaining the proposed amendments to
paragraphs (A) regarding the timing of the notice
of suspension for failure to pay fines and costs
published for comment at 48 Pa.B. 496 (January 20,
2018); Supplemental Report published for comment
at 49 Pa.B. 1140 (March 16, 2019).

SUPPLEMENTAL REPORT

Proposed Amendment of Pa.Rs.Crim.P. 403, 407,
408, 409, 411, 412, 413, 414, 422, 423, 424, 454,
456, and 470

INCARCERATION OF THE INDIGENT FOR
FAILURE TO PAY IN SUMMARY CASES

The Criminal Procedural Rules Committee originally
published for comment a package of proposed rules
changes intended to provide for the more equitable
enforcement of monetary assessments imposed in sum-
mary cases on those without the financial ability to pay.!
After studying the numerous publication responses, the
Committee is considering revisions to the proposal. As
these changes constitute significant changes to the origi-
nal proposal, the Committee is publishing this Supple-
mental Report seeking comment on the changes to the
proposal.

The core of the proposal as published remains the
same.? The original proposal’s rules changes fell into
three main areas:

(1) increasing the amount of time a defendant has to
respond to a citation from the current 10 days to 30 days;

(2) permitting a defendant who wishes to plead not
guilty but who cannot afford to post collateral to assert
the inability to pay when responding in writing to the
citation;

! See 48 Pa.B. 496 (January 20, 2018) and http:/www.pacourts.us/assets/uploads/
Resources/Documents/Publication%20Report%20Indigent%20Incarceration%20for%
20Failure%20t0%20Pay%20in%20Summaries%20-%20006720.pdf?cb=bd09e.

2See the Committee’s explanatory Report for the explanation of the development
and the core aspects of the proposal.
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(3) providing guidance to the issuing authority regard-
ing the factors to be considered when assessing a defen-
dant’s ability to pay at time of sentencing and default.

The changes the Committee is considering in this
supplemental proposal address several of the issues
raised in the publication responses. Briefly, these changes
include:

e the creation of a procedure for an administrative hold
on collection actions where the issuing authority has
determined that the defendant does not have an ability to
pay on an extended basis;

o strengthening the statement in the rules regarding
right to counsel at payment determination hearings;

e precluding the practice of setting minimum payment
amounts regardless of the individual defendant’s ability
to pay;

e clarifying that the Rule 470 notice to the Pennsylva-
nia Department of Transportation (“PennDOT”) regarding
suspension of the defendant’s driver’s license for failure to
pay would only be issued after an ability to pay determi-
nation had been made;

e developing with the Administrative Office of Pennsyl-
vania Courts a form that may be used by the issuing
authority in determining a defendant’s ability to pay, that
would include in the Comment to various rules a listing
of the types of information to be solicited in this form.

A number of the publication responses included a
request for a procedure that would permit some form of
forbearance when a defendant clearly lacks the ability to
pay and will likely be in that situation in the long term.
It was noted that a great deal of time and effort was
being exerted in collection and attempted enforcement of
owed case assessments when a defendant is known to
lack the financial resources to be able to pay. These
commenters suggested some means of administratively
closing a case in that situation. However, the Committee
was concerned that this would have amounted to a
modification of the sentencing order for which there is no
statutory authority.?

Due to these concerns about the statutory preclusion on
modifying a sentence more than 30 days after imposition,
the Committee preferred a procedure for placing an
“administrative hold” on collection efforts. Under the
proposed procedure, a new paragraph (F) would be added
to Rule 456 (Default Procedures: Restitution, Fines, and
Costs) that would provide this “administrative hold”
procedure. This procedure may be utilized only after two
years of attempts at collection have failed and it is
determined that the defendant is unable to pay. Para-
graph (F) would include a list of collection actions that
would be precluded, including the issuance of arrest
warrants and notification to Pennsylvania Department of
Transportation regarding license suspension.

Once an issuing authority believes that the defendant
may be unable to pay, a hearing on the question would be
held at which the defendant must be present. Notice of
the hearing would be sent to the victim, affiant, and, if
applicable, the attorney for the Commonwealth to provide
the opportunity to object. If, at the end of the hearing, the
issuing authority determines that the defendant has been
and will be chronically unable to pay, an order would be
issued placing on hold any efforts to collect the case
assessments. If the issuing authority later determines
that the defendant becomes able to pay, the order may be
lifted.

3 A court order may not be modified by the presiding judge more than 30 days after
it had been entered. 42 Pa.C.S. § 5505.

The hold on further collection efforts does not operate
to decrease or limit a defendant’s financial obligation
toward various stakeholders, including restitution owed
to victims. The intent of the hold is to serve as a
recognition that, after two years, such efforts serve no
purpose when a court determines a defendant does not
have the ability to pay even minimal periodic amounts.
The Committee invites feedback on this aspect of the
proposal to better understand stakeholder concerns.

Another suggestion received from the publication com-
ments was to strengthen the statement on a defendant’s
right to counsel at the default hearings by moving the
statement of this right from the Rule 456 Comment into
the text of the rule. This suggestion has been incorpo-
rated into the proposal as a new paragraph (D)(4) in Rule
456. The Comment language regarding right to counsel
would be retained to emphasize the point.

The Committee also received reports of the practice in
some counties or among some judges to require certain
minimum monthly payments in all cases. The Committee
agreed that this practice should be proscribed. This
proscription has been included in a new paragraph (G)(5)
in Rule 454 that addresses the establishment of install-
ment payment plans. A similar provision has been added
to other rules dealing with sentencing, i.e., Rules 409,
414, and 424. It has also been added to Rule 456, as part
of the provisions dealing with modified installment plans.

It also was suggested that the rules should provide for
a hearing on a defendant’s ability to pay before his or her
driver’s license could be suspended. The Committee
agreed to include this provision in the proposal. However,
the situation when a defendant refuses to participate in
this hearing should not be a means of halting the license
suspension process. To clarify these procedures, Rule 470
has been slightly reorganized. Paragraph (A) would ad-
dress the situation when a notice of license suspension is
being issued because the defendant has failed to respond
to a citation or summons. A new paragraph (B) would
address the situation when a defendant fails to pay
summary case assessments and would include the re-
quirement that a determination of the defendant’s ability
to pay must be made prior to notice being sent to
PennDOT. Paragraph (D) would retain the rule’s current
provision regarding a defendant’s failure to respond to the
notice of license suspension. A new paragraph (E) would
provide that, when a defendant does respond to the notice
of license suspension, before notifying PennDOT that the
defendant’s license should be suspended, the issuing
authority must determine that the defendant is able to
pay but does not.

There were a number of publication responses suggest-
ing that the rule should contain presumptions of an
inability to pay when the defendant’s income is at a
certain level. The Committee believes that such a stan-
dard would be arbitrary given the wide geographical and
economic differences between areas of the Commonwealth
and between the circumstances of each individual defen-
dant. The Committee concluded that such presumptions
would unduly hamper an equitable and individualize
determination of a defendant’s ability to pay. However, to
assist in making this determination, the original proposal
included Comment language contained in the various
rules related to sentencing and default suggesting factors
to be considered. In this revised proposal, the Committee
is proposing further detail to these provisions. If the
Court adopts this proposal, the Committee would antici-
pate the development of forms by the Administrative
Office of Pennsylvania Courts that would elicit from the
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defendant information regarding the defendant’s financial
situation that would assist in the ability to pay determi-
nation. To assist in the development of these forms, the
Comments to the rules would contain, in addition to the
general factors to be considered in making the ability to
pay determination, specific information about the defen-
dant’s financial situation.

There were a few suggestions made in publication
responses that the Committee declined to adopt. These
included reiterations of the proposal to eliminate the
requirement to post collateral in not guilty pleas by mail.
As the Committee had discussed in its original develop-
ment of the proposal, the retention of the general require-
ment for posting collateral but permitting an assertion of
financial inability to post collateral represented an appro-
priate compromise on this question. Therefore, no change
to the original proposal in this regard was made.

There were also objections to the increase in the time
for responding to a summary citation from 10 to 30 days.
The consensus of the Committee was that the increase
was a reasonable change that will provide defendants
without sufficient liquidity more time to raise assessment
money and so may reduce the number of not guilty pleas.
No change to the original proposal has been made in this
regard.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 19-359. Filed for public inspection March 15, 2019, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 237—JUVENILE RULES

PART I. RULES
[ 237 PA. CODE CH. 1]

Order Amending Rules 170 and 172 of the Penn-
sylvania Rules of Juvenile Court Procedure; No.
793 Supreme Court Rules Doc.

Order
Per Curiam

And Now, this 1st day of March, 2019, upon the
recommendation of the Juvenile Court Procedural Rules
Committee, the proposal having been published for public
comment at 47 Pa.B. 938 (February 18, 2017):

It is Ordered pursuant to Article V, Section 10 of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania that Pennsylvania Rules of
Juvenile Court Procedure 170 and 172 are amended in
the following form.

This Order shall be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(b), and shall be effective on July 1,
2019.

Annex A
TITLE 237. JUVENILE RULES
PART I. RULES
Subpart A. DELINQUENCY MATTERS
CHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

PART C(3). EXPUNGING OR DESTROYING
RECORDS, FINGERPRINTS, AND PHOTOGRAPHS

Rule 170. Motion to Expunge or Destroy Records.

A. Motion. Upon motion, or sua sponte, expungement
proceedings may be commenced:

1) if a written allegation is not approved for prosecu-
tion;

2) if the petition is dismissed by the court;

3) in consent decree and informal adjustment cases:

a) when six months have elapsed since the final dis-
charge of the juvenile from supervision; and

b) if no proceeding seeking adjudication or conviction is
pending;

4) when a juvenile has been discharged from court
supervision pursuant to Rule 631:

a) five years have elapsed;

b) the juvenile has not been convicted or adjudicated
delinquent for a felony or misdemeanor;

¢) no court proceeding is pending seeking such convic-
tion or adjudication; and

d) the delinquent act is not an act precluded from
expungement pursuant to 18 Pa.C.S. § 9123(a.1); or

5) when the attorney for the Commonwealth consents
to the expungement.

B. Contents of [motion] Motion. A motion, which shall
include a proposed court order, shall contain the following
information:

1) the name of the juvenile;
2) the date of birth of the juvenile, if known;
3) the juvenile’s case docket number, if any;

4) the allegations or offenses to which the order
pertains;

5) the law enforcement agency that initiated the alle-
gations;

6) the reference number of the police report or written
allegation to be expunged or destroyed, including the
juvenile offense tracking number (JOTN), if avail-
able;

7) the date of arrest;
8) the disposition of the written allegation or petition;

9) the reasons and statutory authority for expunging or
destroying the documents, fingerprints, or photographs;
and

10) the agencies upon which certified copies of the
court order shall be served.

C. Service of [ motion ] Motion. In addition to the
service required by Rule 345, the movant shall serve the
motion on the chief juvenile probation officer.

D. Answer.

1) The attorney for the Commonwealth, and any other
person upon whom the motion was served, may file an
answer to the motion.

2) If objections to the motion are not made within
thirty days of the filing of the motion, they shall be
deemed waived.

E. Court’s | response to the motion | Response to
the Motion. The court shall conduct a hearing or grant or
deny the motion after giving consideration to the follow-
ing factors:

1) the type of offense;

2) the individual’s age, history of employment, history
of academic or vocational training, delinquent or criminal
activity, and drug or alcohol issues;
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3) adverse consequences that the individual may suffer
if the records are not expunged; and

4) whether retention of the record is required for
purposes of public safety.

F. [ Inter-county transfer cases] Inter-County
Transfer Cases.

1) A motion to expunge or destroy records shall be filed
in the county in which the adjudication of delinquency
was entered.

2) A motion regarding the records of a juvenile whose
disposition did not involve an adjudication of delinquency
shall be filed in the county in which the disposition
occurred.

3) The court entering an order to expunge or destroy
records shall direct the order to any other court possess-
ing records pertaining to the case.

Comment

Paragraph (A) provides that [ any party may file ] a
motion to expunge or destroy records, files, fingerprints,
or photographs, or the court, sua sponte, may commence
expungement proceedings.

Under paragraphs (A)(1) & (2), the written allegation or
petition may be dismissed for several reasons, including,
but not limited to, when: 1) a juvenile completes an
informal adjustment or diversionary program; 2) the
attorney for the Commonwealth declines to prosecute; 3)
probable cause is not found at the detention hearing
pursuant to Rule 242(C)(1); 4) there is no finding on the
offenses pursuant to Rule 408(B); or 5) there is no finding
of a need for treatment, supervision, and rehabilitation
pursuant to Rule 409(A)(1). Expungement proceedings
may be commenced upon these dismissals of the written
allegation or the petition.

For expungement of summary offenses heard by a
magisterial district court or criminal court, see
Pa.R.Crim.P. 490 and 490.1 (truancy). For eligibility
for expungement, see 18 Pa.C.S. § 9123(a); 24 P.S.
§ 13-1333.3(h) (truancy).

Under paragraph (B)(6), any number assigned to police
papers helpful in tracking the police report or written
allegation that would assist the law enforcement agency
in expunging or destroying the document is to be listed. A
reference number could be [an] a juvenile offense
tracking number, district control number, crime control
number, incident number, Philadelphia identification
number, or another number assigned by the law enforce-
ment agency to track the document.

Pursuant to paragraph (B)(9), the reasons for expung-
ing the records or destroying fingerprints and photo-
graphs are to be included in the motion, specifically citing
which provision of paragraph (A) applies.

“Expunge” or “expungement” is defined by Rule 120,
which means to erase legally, or the process of legal
erasure of an item making it permanently not available to
the public but where some information may be retained
only for limited purposes by agencies or departments. See
Rule 173. See also Comment to Rule 120.

Rule 173 provides for the retention of certain informa-
tion that is crucial for: 1) determining compliance with
the order to expunge; 2) determining eligibility in a court
program, determining the grading or penalty of an of-
fense, or for other purposes as provided by law; 3)

maintaining statistical and research information; 4) main-
taining intelligence and investigative information; and 5)
financial audits.

[ The new procedures instituted with the changes
of 2014 require one procedure for expunging or
destroying records, fingerprints, and photographs.
One order will go to the appropriate agencies and
departments as required by Rule 172 and will help
those agencies become more efficient in the manner
in which items are destroyed or expunged. ]

Pursuant to paragraph (D), the attorney for the Com-
monwealth is given an opportunity to respond to the
motion. The attorney for the Commonwealth should
specify its position on whether items should be expunged
or destroyed. Expunged items remain available to law
enforcement agencies and the attorney for the Common-
wealth in limited circumstances, whereas destroyed items
are permanently erased. The attorney for the Common-
wealth should consent to expunging records unless the
attorney for the Commonwealth demonstrates good cause
for the retention of records. See In re A.B., 987 A.2d 769
(Pa. Super. [ Ct. ] 2009).

The reasons for maintaining information pursuant to
Rule 173 do not qualify as good cause against expunging
records under this rule. Maintenance of specific informa-
tion is different from the maintenance of the official court
record or other official records of the juvenile probation
office or a law enforcement agency. Pursuant to Rule 173,
a separate document, file, or database is to be created.
See Rule 173 and its Comment.

If the attorney for the Commonwealth objects to ex-
punging or destroying the records, the court should
conduct a hearing on the motion.

Pursuant to paragraph (E)(3), the court is to consider
adverse consequences that an individual may suffer if the
records are not expunged. Adverse consequences are
discussed in The Pennsylvania Collateral Consequences
Checklist instituted by Pennsylvania Juvenile Indigent
Defense Action Network in conjunction with the initiative
the Models for Change System Reform in Juvenile Jus-
tice. This checklist may be [ assessed ] accessed on the
Supreme Court’s website at [ http:/www.pacourts.us/
T/BoardsCommittees/JuvenileCourtProcedural/ ]
http:// www.pacourts.us/courts/supreme-court/comm
ittees/rules-committees/juvenile-court-procedural-
rules-committee/juvenile-court-committee-rules-
and-forms.

The attorney for the Commonwealth in the county in
which a motion is filed in an inter-county transfer case
pursuant to paragraph (F) should provide notice of the
motion to, and communicate with, the attorney for the
Commonwealth and the juvenile probation office in the
county to which, or from which, the case was transferred.

Notwithstanding this rule, see 18 Pa.C.S. § 9123(a.1)
for cases that are ineligible for expungement proceedings.
See also 42 Pa.C.S. § 6341 for destruction of fingerprints
and photographs.

Official Note: Rule 170 adopted April 1, 2005, effec-
tive October 1, 2005. Amended July 28, 2014, effective
September 29, 2014. Amended February 12, 2015, effec-
tive immediately. Amended March 1, 2019, effective

July 1, 2019.
Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the provisions of Rule 170
published with the Court’s Order at 35 Pa.B. 2214 (April
16, 2005).

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 49, NO. 11, MARCH 16, 2019



1144 THE COURTS

Final Report explaining the amendments to Rule 170
published with the Court’s Order at 44 Pa.B. 5447
(August 16, 2014).

Final Report explaining the amendments to Rule
170 published with the Court’s Order at 49 Pa.B.
1142 (March 16, 2019).

Rule 172. Order to Expunge or Destroy.

A. Contents. Any order to expunge or destroy the
official court record, juvenile probation files, docket en-
tries, law enforcement records, or fingerprints and photo-
graphs shall include the following information:

1) all items contained in Rule 170(B);

2) a directive specifically identifying which items shall
be expunged or destroyed, including all law enforcement
records, juvenile probation files, official court records,
other juvenile records, fingerprints, photographs, and any
other information pertaining to the arrest;

3) a directive that the keeper of the juvenile records
shall expunge or destroy such items;

4) a directive that each agency, department, or office,
upon request, shall notify the court or its designee, in
writing, of the action taken in response to the order to
expunge or destroy;

5) a directive to a school building principal or his or
her designee to destroy information received from the
court pursuant to Rule 163;

6) the printed name and signature of the judge issuing
the order; and

7) the date of the court order.

B. Service. In addition to the service required by Rule
167, the clerk of courts, court administrator, or other
court designee shall serve certified copies of the order on
the chief juvenile probation officer, the Pennsylvania
State Police, the Juvenile Court Judges’ Commis-
sion, and any other person or agency as directed by the
court.

Comment

Pursuant to paragraph (A)(2), the court is to list
specifically which items are to be expunged and which
items are to be destroyed. Specific information retained
pursuant to Rule 173 should be expunged but not de-
stroyed. In most instances, the court should order that
the fingerprints and photographs be destroyed and that
the remaining records and documents be expunged.

Pursuant to paragraph (A)(4), an agency, department,
or office may be requested to produce evidence of compli-
ance with the court order to expunge. Non-compliance
may result in a finding of contempt of court.

Pursuant to paragraph (A)(5), the school is to destroy
all information received from the court. Because the
school is required to store this information separately
under Rule 163(F), destruction should not be difficult. See
Rule 163 and its Comment. The court may also require
the school to provide written notice of the action taken.

Official Note: Rule 172 adopted April 1, 2005, effec-
tive October 1, 2005. Amended December 24, 2009, effec-
tive immediately. Amended July 28, 2014, effective Sep-
tember 29, 2014. Amended March 1, 2019, effective

July 1, 2019.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the amendments to Rule 172
published with the Court’s Order at 40 Pa.B. 222 (Janu-
ary 9, 2010).

Final Report explaining the amendments to Rule 172
published with the Court’s Order at 44 Pa.B. 5447
(August 16, 2014).

Final Report explaining the amendments to Rule
172 published with the Court’s Order at 49 Pa.B.
1142 (March 16, 2019).

FINAL REPORT!
Amendment of Pa.R.J.C.P. 170 and 172

On March 1, 2019, the Supreme Court amended Rule of
Juvenile Court Procedure 170 to require the inclusion of
additional information in a motion for expungement and
Rule 172 to require the Pennsylvania State Police and the
Juvenile Court Judges’ Commission to be served a copy of
the expungement order.

The Criminal History Record Information Act provides
for the expungement of both written allegations and
petitions in juvenile proceedings under certain circum-
stances. See 18 Pa.C.S. § 9123(a); see also Pa.R.J.C.P.
170(A). In juvenile court vernacular, crimes set forth in a
written allegation are “allegations,” whereas crimes set
forth in a petition are “offenses.” Previously, Rule
170(B)(4) concerning expungement motions only required
the motion to contain allegations; it did not require the
inclusion of offenses. Rule 170(B)(4) has been amended to
add “or offenses.”

Rule 170(B)(6) has been amended to require the inclu-
sion of the “juvenile” to more accurately describe the
offense tracking number. The commentary has also been
revised to add the “juvenile” descriptor.

Within the Comment to Rule 170, the phrase, “any
party may file,” has been removed. The Committee recom-
mended removing this phrase because it did not wish to
imply that a non-party, such as a juvenile probation
officer, is foreclosed from motioning for an expungement
when, for example, a juvenile has been discharged from
supervision following a consent decree or informal adjust-
ment. Other non-substantive revisions to the Comment
included the elimination of a paragraph of historical
language explaining amendments in 2014.

The Pennsylvania State Police is required to maintain a
statewide registry of juvenile history record information,
fingerprints, and photographs. See 42 Pa.C.S. § 6309(b).
Additionally, the Juvenile Court Judges’ Commission’s
Information Technology Division collects, compiles, and
publishes the juvenile court statistics. See 42 Pa.C.S.
§ 6373. Accordingly, information related to juvenile cases
is shared with these entities. See 42 Pa.C.S. § 6309(¢c) &
(d).

Rule 172 was amended to ensure that these entities
maintain accurate information pertaining to juvenile re-
cords by requiring copies of expungement orders to be
served upon those entities in every matter. The amend-
ment to Rule 170(B)(6) requires the JOTN, if available, to
be included in the expungement motion. By operation of
Rule 172(A)(1), this information is also included in the
expungement order to assist the entities in performing
their functions.

! The Committee’s Final Report should not be confused with the official Committee
Comments to the rules. Also note that the Supreme Court does not adopt the
Committee’s Comments or the contents of the Committee’s explanatory Final Reports.
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As a result of a public comment, a joint committee of
the Juvenile Court Procedural Rules Committee and the
Criminal Procedural Rules Committee was formed to
consider whether the Juvenile Rules or the Criminal
Rules should govern the expungement procedures for
summary offenses committed by a defendant under the
age of 18. For reasons more fully discussed in the Final
Report being filed with the amendments of Pa.R.Crim.P.
490 and 490.1, the Comment to Rule 170 is being revised
to add:

For expungement of summary offenses heard by a
magisterial district court or criminal court, see
Pa.R.Crim.P. 490 and 490.1 (truancy). For eligibility
for expungement, see 18 Pa.C.S. § 9123(a); 24 P.S.
§ 13-1333.3(h) (truancy).

The purpose of this reference is to direct readers to the
Criminal Rules for procedures for the expungement of
summary offenses, as well as reference the statutes
establishing the eligibility for an expungement. The inclu-
sion of “criminal court” is intended to reflect instances
where more serious charges against a minor have been
dismissed and the criminal court judge sits as a magiste-
rial district court judge. The reference to the court where
the record is located was believed to be more accurate
than to the status of the jurist adjudicating the matter.

The amendments will become effective July 1, 2019.
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 19-360. Filed for public inspection March 15, 2019, 9:00 a.m.]

DISCIPLINARY BOARD OF
THE SUPREME COURT

Notice of Suspension

Notice is hereby given that Sal Greenman having been
suspended from the practice of law in New Jersey; the
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania issued an Order dated
February 27, 2019 suspending Sal Greenman from the
practice of law in this Commonwealth for a period of one
year, effective March 29, 2019. In accordance with Rule
217(f), Pa.R.D.E., since this formerly admitted attorney
resides outside the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, this
notice is published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

MARCEE D. SLOAN,
Board Prothonotary
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 19-361. Filed for public inspection March 15, 2019, 9:00 a.m.]
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