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PROPOSED RULEMAKING

STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

[ 49 PA. CODE CH. 23]
General Revisions

The State Board of Optometry (Board) proposes to
amend §§ 23.1, 23.21, 23.82, 23.86, 23.87 and 23.91, and
to add § 23.90 (relating to standards for commercial
support) to read as set forth in Annex A.

Effective Date

The amendments will be effective upon publication of
the final-form rulemaking in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

Statutory Authority

The amendments are authorized under section 3(b)(14)
of the Optometric Practice and Licensure Act (act) (63 P.S.
§ 244.3(b)(14)).

Background and Purpose

Section 3(b)(14) of the act gives the Board the authority
to promulgate all rules and regulations necessary to carry
out the purposes of the act. Section 5(b) of the act
provides the minimum requirements for continuing edu-
cation of 30 hours in a biennial period for licensed
optometrists. Because the Board is charged with ensuring
the health, safety and welfare of the patients of optom-
etrists, it strives to ensure that clear guidance is given to
licensees in reporting continuing education and the stan-
dards for accepting commercial support from the provid-
ers of continuing education.

In compliance with Executive Order 1996-1, the Board
extended invitations to comment on an exposure draft of
this proposed rulemaking to parties who have indicated
an interest in the Board’s regulatory activities. The Board
received comments from the Pennsylvania Optometric
Association and the Pennsylvania Academy of Ophthal-
mology and considered their comments in drafting this
proposal.

Description of the Proposed Amendments

This proposed rulemaking would amend § 23.1 (relat-
ing to definitions) by adding a definition of “contact lens.”
Although the act and the Board’s regulations use the
term “contact lens,” neither provides a definition. The
Board believes that this definition is necessary to provide
guidance to optometrists and to the general public.
Adding this definition will clarify that a contact lens
includes any medical device or other item of any material,
tissue or power (including plano or zero-powered) that is
required to be dispensed by prescription and is placed
directly on the cornea or the cornea and sclera to (1)
correct vision conditions, (2) act as a diagnostic or
therapeutic device or (3) provide a cosmetic or decorative
effect. It is the Board’s intent that this definition will
provide clarification that all contact lenses, as the term is
defined herein, are subject to both State and Federal
regulations.

This proposed rulemaking would amend § 23.21 (relat-
ing to reciprocal application) to clarify that an applicant
for licensure by reciprocity who is a graduate of an
unaccredited school shall comply with the requirements of
§ 23.14 (relating to graduates of unaccredited schools).

Four sections of this proposed rulemaking would ad-
dress continuing education. First, § 23.82 (relating to
continuing education hour requirements) would be

amended to address reporting, audits and enforcement.
Under § 23.82(a), the Board would add the word “imme-
diately” to the phrase “during the 2 years preceding
renewal or reactivation” to clarify when the continuing
education hours must be taken in response to past
questions from licensees. Likewise, in this subsection the
Board would also propose an amendment to respond to
questions that have arisen regarding the maximum num-
ber of continuing education hours in the treatment of
glaucoma that may be applied to the 6 hours required to
maintain certification for therapeutic purposes—no more
than 4 hours. Under subsections (b)—(f), the Board would
address the reporting, audits and making up deficiencies
of continuing education requirements. All boards within
the Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs
require licensees to certify completion of their continuing
education as a condition of renewal and conduct post-
renewal audits to assure compliance. The Board is pro-
posing these amendments to provide notice to licensees of
the audit requirements and of the affirmative require-
ment, notwithstanding any disciplinary action that might
be taken by the Board, to make up all deficiencies that
are identified through the audit process.

Second, under § 23.86 (relating to sources of continuing
education hours), the Board, for purposes of clarity, would
set forth under subsection (a) the preapproved providers
of continuing education in a numbered list, rather than in
paragraph form. Also for clarity, the Board would provide
that the schools and colleges of optometry that are
accredited by the Accreditation Council of Optometric
Education or its successor, are the ones that the Board
deems approved. Where National or State organizations
are listed, the Board would also clarify that the affiliated
State or local entities are also included as preapproved
providers. Under subsection (b), the Board would set forth
the requirements for other providers of continuing educa-
tion not listed in subsection (a) to obtain approved
provider status. The Board would use the continuing
education standards set by the Association of Regulatory
Boards of Optometry’s (ARBO) Council of Optometric
Practitioner Education (COPE) to determine if a provider
is competent to provide continuing education to optom-
etrists. To inform licensees of new and existing providers
of continuing education, the Board will maintain a list on
its web site. Subsection (d) sets forth the process for
individual course approval by providers who have not
been approved under subsection (a) or (b). Subsection (e)
would set forth the manner in which licensees may be
awarded continuing education retroactively for attending
programs that have not been previously approved. Fi-
nally, in subsections (f)—(i), the Board would provide
guidance to its licensees on the maximum percentage of
continuing education credits that a licensee may receive
for specific types of continuing education.

Third, the Board, would add a new subsection (b) to
§ 23.87 (relating to reporting of continuing education
credit hours) that would allow, but not require, a licensee
to have the licensee’s continuing education courses en-
tered into an electronic database. One such electronic
database developed by ARBO is the Optometric Education
Tracker, which captures and stores continuing education
data electronically for optometrists, thereby allowing li-
censees to track their continuing education compliance
and allowing licensing boards to review and audit the
continuing education credits earned by their licensees
electronically. Costs are paid by licensees at $20 per year.
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In the final section pertaining to continuing education,
the Board would add § 23.90, to address a new area
regarding the type and amount of benefits that continu-
ing education providers may give to licensees, including
those who serve as course instructors or consultants
rendering advisory services. In drafting its proposed
regulations, the Board reviewed ARBO’s COPE Standards
for Commercial Support and standards developed by the
Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America.

Finally, the Board would revise its fee structure under
§ 2391 (relating to fees) to include applications for
continuing education provider initial approval, renewal
fees for approved providers and application fees for
licensees seeking continuing education credit retroac-
tively. Additionally, the Board clarified that the applica-
tion for continuing education program approval includes
continuing education courses.

Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

This proposed rulemaking should have no fiscal impact
on the Commonwealth or its political subdivisions. Only
minor paperwork requirements are imposed for the Board
to develop forms for approval of providers of continuing
education under § 23.86(b)(1). The only fiscal impact to
the regulated community of optometrists would be associ-
ated with the $45 fee for retroactive approval of continu-
ing education courses. However, this cost could be avoided
by simply taking all continuing education through pre-
approved providers and courses. Providers of continuing
education courses could benefit from the new fee struc-
ture in that they could apply for provider approval and
pay a $135 fee, rather than pay a $45 fee for each course
offered.

Sunset Date

The Board continually monitors the cost effectiveness of
its regulations. Therefore, no sunset date has been as-
signed.

Regulatory Review

Under Section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)), on February 15, 2019, the Board submit-
ted a copy of this proposed rulemaking and a copy of a
Regulatory Analysis form to the Independent Regulatory
Review Commission (IRRC) and to the Chairpersons of
the Senate Consumer Protection and Professional
Licensure Committee and the House Professional
Licensure Committee. A copy of this material is available
to the public upon request.

Under section 5(g) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC
may convey any comments, recommendations or objec-
tions to this proposed rulemaking within 30 days of the
close of the public comment period. The comments, recom-
mendations or objections shall specify the regulatory
review criteria that have not been met. The Regulatory
Review Act specifies detailed procedures for review, prior
to final publication of the rulemaking, by the Commis-
sioner, the General Assembly and the Governor of com-
ments, recommendations or objections raised.

Public Comment

Interested persons are invited to submit written com-
ments, suggestions or objections regarding this proposed
rulemaking to Jacqueline A. Wolfgang, Board Counsel,
State Board of Optometry, 2601 North Third Street,
P.O. Box 69523, Harrisburg, PA 17106-9523, RA-
STRegulatoryCounsel@pa.gov, within 30 days following
publication of this proposed rulemaking in the Pennsylva-
nia Bulletin. Reference No. 16A-5213 Optometry Board
General Revisions, when submitting comments.

CARL J. URBANSKI, OD,
Chair

Fiscal Note: 16A-5213. No fiscal impact; (8) recom-
mends adoption.

ANNEX A

TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

PART I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 23. STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY
GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 23.1. Definitions.
The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context

clearly [ indicated ] indicates otherwise:
* * % * %

Clinical Skills Assessment Examination—A clinical
skills competency examination developed, prepared, ad-
ministered and scored by the NBEO, which the Board
adopts as the State clinical examination for licensure.

Contact lens—A medical device or any other item
or device of any material, tissue or power, includ-
ing plano or zero-powered, that is required to be
dispensed by prescription, and is placed directly on
the cornea or the cornea and sclera to do any of the
following:

(i) Correct vision conditions.

(ii) Act as a diagnostic or therapeutic device.

(iii) Provide a cosmetic or decorative effect.

Continuing education hour—Fifty minutes of continuing
education.

LICENSE BY RECIPROCITY AND INTERSTATE
CERTIFICATION

§ 23.21. Reciprocal application.

(a) An applicant for licensure by reciprocity to practice
optometry in this Commonwealth shall submit the follow-
ing to the Board:

(1) A completed application which has been filed with
the Board together with the fee required by § 23.91
(relating to fees), in the form of a check or money order,
made payable to “Commonwealth of Pennsylvania—OE.”

(2) A certificate of preprofessional education issued by
the Department, showing that the preliminary education
requirements are satisfied.

(3) A transcript of subjects and grades from the college
or school of optometry from which the applicant has
graduated.

(b) Any school or college of optometry from which the
applicant for reciprocity has graduated shall be one
approved by the Board at the time he was graduated.

(c) An applicant for licensure by reciprocity who
is a graduate of an unaccredited school shall com-
ply with the requirements of § 23.14 (relating to
graduates of unaccredited schools).

CONTINUING EDUCATION
§ 23.82. Continuing education hour requirements; con-

tinuing education reporting; audit and enforce-
ment.

(a) An applicant for biennial license renewal or reacti-
vation of license is required to complete, during the 2
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years immediately preceding renewal or reactivation, a
minimum of 30 hours of continuing education. For licens-
ees certified in accordance with section 4.1 of the act (63
P.S. § 244.4a), regarding certification to prescribe and
administer pharmaceutical agents for therapeutic pur-
poses, at least 6 of the required 30 hours shall concern
the prescription and administration of pharmaceutical
agents for therapeutic purposes. For licensees certified in
accordance with section 4.2 of the act (63 P.S. § 244.4b),
regarding additional requirements to prescribe and ad-
minister pharmaceutical agents for the treatment of
certain types of glaucoma, at least 4 of the 30 hours shall
concern the prescription and administration of pharma-
ceutical agents for the treatment of glaucoma. [ The ] No
more than 4 hours taken in the treatment of glaucoma
may be applied toward the 6 hours required to maintain
therapeutic certification; however, all licensees shall com-
plete at least 30 total hours. Completion of a Board-
approved course described in section 4.1(a)(2) of the act or
continuing education described in section 4.2 of the act
shall satisfy the continuing education requirement for the
biennial renewal period in which it is completed including
the 6-hour requirement in therapeutics and the 4-hour
requirement in glaucoma.

(b) [ Persons failing to meet the continuing educa-
tion requirements for any biennial renewal period
will be disciplined in accordance with section 7(e)
of the act (63 P.S. § 244.7(e)).] Licensees shall

hardship. It is the duty of each licensee seeking waiver to
notify the Board in writing and request the waiver prior
to the end of the biennial renewal period for which the
waiver is sought. The waiver will be granted, denied or
granted in part.

§ 23.86. Sources of continuing education hours.

(a) [In addition to another provider which
wishes to secure approval from the Board, the | The
Board finds that the [ following ] providers listed be-
low have currently met the standards for provider ap-
proval for all acceptable courses of continuing education| ;
accordingly, ] that meet the requirements of
§ 23.83(a) (relating to continuing education subject
matter). Accordingly, the following providers [ have
program approval in all allowable areas for con-
tinuing education ] are preapproved sources for
continuing optometric education courses:

[ the ] (1) The American Optometric Association, and
its state affiliates.

[ the ] (2) The Pennsylvania Optometric Association,
and its local societies.

[ all Board-accredited ] (8) All schools and colleges
of optometry[ ,] accredited by the Accreditation
Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) of the

certify completion of the required continuing edu-
cation on the biennial renewal application. False
certifications will be grounds for disciplinary ac-
tion under section 7(a)(3) of the act (63 P.S.
§ 244.7(a)(3)).

(c) The Board may randomly audit licensees to
ensure compliance with the continuing education
requirements. A licensee selected for audit shall
provide information to document the licensee’s
completion of required continuing education,
which shall include the information at § 23.87(a)
(relating to reporting of continuing education
credit hours).

(d) A licensee who, as a result of an audit,
is determined to be deficient in continuing educa-
tion hours will be subject to formal disciplinary
action under section 7(a)(8) of the act (63 P.S.
§ 244.7(a)(8)), or will be subject to the issuance of a
citation under section 5(a) of the act of July 2, 1993
(P.L. 345, No. 48) (63 P.S. § 2205(a)) in accordance
with § 43b.25 (relating to schedule of civil penal-
ties—optometrists).

(e) Notwithstanding other disciplinary action
taken as set forth in subsection (d), a licensee who
is determined to be deficient in continuing educa-
tion hours is required to make up all deficient
hours of continuing education and submit docu-
mentation containing the information set forth in
subsection (c) to the Board within 6 months from
the issuance of a citation or the imposition of
formal discipline. Hours of continuing education
submitted to the Board to make up for a deficiency
may not be used to satisfy the continuing education
requirement for the current biennium.

(f) Failure to make up all deficiencies as set forth
in subsection (e) will subject the licensee to further
disciplinary action under section 7(a)(8) of the act.

(g) The Board may waive the requirements of continu-
ing education in cases of certified illness or undue

American Optometric Association, or its successor.

[ the ] (4) The College of Optometrists in Vision De-
velopment (COVD)[ , ]:

[the] (5) The Council on Optometric Practitioner
Education (COPE)[, eye and vision-related continu-
ing |.

(6) Continuing education courses offered by accred-
ited medical colleges, as defined in section 2 of the

Medical Practice Act of 1985 (63 P.S. § 422.2)[, ].
[the] (7) The Optometric Extension Programl, ].

[ the] (8) The American Academy of Optometry and
its state affiliates| , ]:

[ the ] (9) The American Academy of Ophthalmology
and its state affiliates|, and eye and vision-related
courses offered by the |.

(10) The American Medical Association and its state
affiliates.

(b) The Board may approve other providers of
continuing education not listed in subsection (a).
The Board will maintain on its web site a list of all
approved providers.

(1) A provider seeking approved provider status
shall:

(i) Apply to the Board, on forms supplied by the
Board, at least 90 days in advance of the date the
initial course is given. The provider may not offer
any course for credit until the Board grants its
approval as an approved provider.

(ii) Pay the required fees under § 23.91 (relating
to fees).

(iii) Demonstrate that the provider is competent
to provide continuing education to optometrists.
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(2) All provider approvals expire November 30th

in accordance with this subsection or in the con-

of each even-numbered year, regardless of the date

tinuing education from any of the sources in sub-

of issuance, and must be renewed biennially.

(c) The approval given to [these] the providers
approved in accordance with subsections (a) and
(b) is subject to reevaluation. A rescission of provider or
program approval will be made only in accordance with 1
Pa. Code Part II (relating to general rules of administra-
tive practice and procedure).

[b] (d) Courses which are [ provided ] given by
providers [ not indicated in subsection (a)] who
have not been approved in accordance with subsec-
tions (a) or (b) will count as continuing education hours
provided that the [ provider and subject matter are ]
course is approved by the Board prior to implementation
of the course. The course provider shall submit an
application for course approval on a form supplied
by the Board and pay the fee required under
§ 23.91 at least 45 days in advance of the date the
course is given. [ In addition, credits may be ob-
tained on an individual basis for attendance at
programs which have not had prior approval of the
Board so long as the individual submits proper
application for program approval and supporting
documentation and verification of attendance; how-
ever, in this instance, the licensee cannot guarantee
himself proper credit from the Board unless the
Board finds such course to be in compliance with
the subject matter and the provider to be quali-
fied. |

(e) Continuing education credit may be awarded
retroactively for attending programs, to include
lectures and college or university courses, which
have not been previously approved. The attendee
shall apply to the Board for approval on a form
supplied by the Board, pay a fee under § 23.91, and
document attendance within 60 days of attending
the program. The attendee shall demonstrate to the
Board’s satisfaction that the program meets the
requirements in § 23.83. A licensee may complete
up to 50% of the licensee’s required continuing
education in programs approved under this subsec-
tion or subsections (f)—(h).

[@ ] & It shall be permissible to attend clinical
conferences, clinical rounds, or training under a preceptor
through clinical hospitals, medical centers, schools, and
colleges which are acceptable at the rate of [ one ] 1
continuing education hour for every 50 minutes. If re-
quested by the Board, a licensee shall provide
documentation of completion. A licensee may com-
plete up to 25% of the licensee’s required continu-
ing education from sources in this subsection and
up to an additional 25% in required continuing
education from any of the sources in subsections

(e), (g) or (h).

[ @] (g) Credit hours will be given for correspon-
dence programs, taped study programs, online or
webinar programs, journal courses, and other indi-
vidual study programs at the rate of 1 continuing educa-
tion hour for every 50 minutes. However, proper credit
being given for such program is dependent upon the
licensee proving, to the satisfaction of the Board, that the
program meets the provisions of [ § 23.85 (relating to
standards for providers)] subsections (a) or (b). A
licensee may complete up to 50% of the licensee’s
required continuing education in individual study

sections (e), (f) or (h).

[ (e) ] (h) Credit hours will be credited for service as a
teacher, preceptor, lecturer, or speaker and for publica-
tions, articles, books, and research relating to the practice
of optometry. [ Application should be made prior to
the service to assure that approval will be given by
the Board to the program.] At the request of the
Board, a licensee shall provide documentation to
the Board. Otherwise, the licensee will be required to
secure retroactive approval as set forth in subsection
[ )] (e). One continuing education hour will be
granted for every 50 minutes of initial instruction
or research and 2 continuing education hours will
be granted for the preparation of each hour of
instruction. If a licensee prepares written materials
to accompany the instruction, the continuing edu-
cation credits for only the instruction will be
doubled. Five continuing education hours will be
granted for publication of a book, and 2 continuing
education hours will be granted for publication of
an article or a chapter in a book. A licensee may
complete up to 25% of the licensee’s required con-
tinuing education in accordance with this subsec-
tion and up to an additional 25% from any of the
required continuing education sources in subsec-

tions (e), (f) and (g).

[ ® Each licensee is required to fulfill the con-
tinuing education hours using the following alloca-
tions:

(1) Subsections (a) and (b) count for a minimum
of 50%. Continuing education hours may be com-
pleted from subsections (a) and (b).

(2) Subsections (c¢), (d) or (e) may be used up to a
maximum of 25% of the required biennial credit
hours. In no case may the combined total from
these three subsections exceed 50% of the total

biennial requirement of 30 hours. |
(i) Of the 30 hours of continuing education credit

required at § 23.82 (relating to continuing educa-
tion hour requirements), the following shall apply:

(1) Courses in jurisprudence or ethics shall count
for no more than 2 hours of the total.

(2) Courses within the optometric curriculum of-
fered by an accredited school of optometry or
medicine in the United States or Canada shall
count for no more than 25% of the required bien-
nial credit hours. Two continuing education credit
hours will be provided for each semester credit
earned, including a course which the licensee au-
dits.

§ 23.87. Reporting of continuing education credit
hours.

(a) Applicants for a license or license renewal shall
provide, at a time prescribed and on forms approved by
the Board, a signed statement certifying that they have
met the continuing education requirements set forth in
section 5(b) of the act (63 P.S. § 244.5(b)) by providing
information which shall include the following:

(1) Dates attended.
(2) Continuing education hours claimed.

(3) Title of course, including the course number as-
signed by the Board, if applicable, and description of
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content. For those courses which are approved to meet
the requirements for therapeutic or glaucoma -certifica-
tion, the licensee claiming credit shall ensure that the
certificate of attendance includes the course number and
number of hours that apply toward the requirement for
therapeutic or glaucoma certification.

(4) School, clinical hospital, medical center, optometric
center or organization sponsoring course, clinical confer-
ence, clinical rounds or preceptor training.

(5) Instructor.
(6) Name of licensee.

(b) If a course provider does not use an elec-
tronic database such as the Association of Regula-
tory Boards of Optometry’s (ARBO’s) Optometric
Education (OE) Tracker to report a continuing
education course, the licensee may make arrange-
ments to have the continuing education course
entered into an electronic database for compliance
purposes.

(Editor’s Note: The following section is proposed to be
added and is printed in regular text to enhance readabil-
ity.)

§ 23.90. Standards for commercial support.

(a) For a licensee to obtain continuing education credit,
all continuing education must be free from the control of
a commercial interest.

(1) There must be a clear separation of any type of
product, service and instrument or device promotion with
any continuing education courses. All commercial exhibits
and advertisements must be physically separated from
continuing education courses.

(2) Specific proprietary business interests or products
may not be included in continuing education courses.
Continuing education courses must give balanced cover-
age to treatment options.

(3) Financial relationships with commercial interests of
any person in a position to impact or control the educa-
tional content must be disclosed to the licensees taking
the course and to the Board.

(4) Course instructors shall assure that educational
materials must not include any advertising or product
group message. Instructors shall ensure balanced and
transparent coverage of therapeutic and treatment op-
tions, and may disclose off-label or experimental informa-
tion.

(b) A licensee’s travel, lodging, honoraria or personal
expenses (including social events and recreation) for
attending a continuing education program may not be
paid for or reimbursed by the provider of the continuing
education. Licensees who are course instructors or consul-
tants rendering advisory services to the continuing educa-
tion provider may receive reasonable compensation for
those services and reimbursement for reasonable travel,
lodging, and meal expenses incurred as part of providing
these services.

(¢) A licensee may receive from the provider of continu-
ing education food and refreshment of modest value
according to local standards for attending the continuing
education program.

FEES
§ 23.91. Fees.

The following is the schedule of fees for services
charged by the Board:

* & * & *

Application for continuing education course or
program approval.............. . ... i, $45
Application for continuing education pro-

vider initial approval for providers under
§ 23.86(b) (relating to sources of continuing

education hours).......ccooeeeeeeeeeneeeeaaannann $135
Biennial renewal fee for providers approved
under § 23.86(b)...cccveeieitcrrcctrtscssccsanonans $45

Application for licensees seeking continuing
education credit retroactively under § 23.86(e)
OF () e eeeesseeeeeeeenneeeeeeonnnneeooonnnnnnanas $45
Application for certification to treat glaucoma ..... $25
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 19-292. Filed for public inspection March 1, 2019, 9:00 a.m.]
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