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RULES AND REGULATIONS

Title 7—AGRICULTURE

MILK MARKETING BOARD
[7 PA. CODE CH. 150]
Milk Marketing Fees

The Milk Marketing Board (Board) amends Chapter
150 (relating to milk marketing fees) by increasing the
license fees for milk dealers, subdealers and haulers, and
increasing the examination and certificate fees for
weigher-samplers and testers. This final-form rulemaking
is the same as the proposed rulemaking published at 49
Pa.B. 4991 (August 31, 2019).

A. Effective Date

This final-form rulemaking will be effective 30 days
after publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. Increases
for new applicants will be effective when this final-form
rulemaking is effective. Increases for renewal applicants
will be effective for license years beginning on or after
July 1, 2020. There is no sunset provision.

B. Statutory Authority

The Milk Marketing Fee Act (act) (31 P.S. §§ 700k-1—
700k-10.1) gives the Board the authority to charge and
collect license fees. Sections 700k-3(c) and 700k-6—700k-8
provide that the Board has the authority to set the fees
by regulation.

C. Purpose and Explanation

The Board is self-funded, primarily by these fees. The
Board has not received any general fund appropriations
since the 1996-1997 fiscal year. The fees have not been
increased since January 2004. The fees and any other
funds received by the Board are paid into the State
Treasury and placed in the Milk Marketing Fund (Fund).
Despite the Board’s careful stewardship, expenses have
increased substantially in these 15 years, while income
has not. The Fund is being eroded by the resulting
deficits. Without this fee increase, the Board’s financial
viability will become uncertain. Further details are avail-
able in the Regulatory Analysis Form available at
www.irrc.state.pa.us or from the contact person desig-
nated as follows.

Section 150.3 is deleted because the classification tran-
sition described in that regulation was implemented and
completed by the Board as described in the regulation.

D. Summary of Public Comments

The only comments received were from the Independent
Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC).

Adequacy of fee increase

IRRC asked for an explanation of the Board’s decision
to seek a fee increase that reduces but does not eliminate
the Board’s budget deficits.

The Board realizes that this fee increase does not
eliminate the annual deficits. A fee increase that would
eliminate the budget deficits would be ideal for the
agency, but not ideal for the dairy industry in this
Commonwealth.

The Legislative Budget and Finance Committee (Com-
mittee) released “A Study of Pennsylvania’s Dairy Indus-
try” in September 2019. The document can be found at
http://Ibfc.legis.state.pa.us/Resources/Documents/Reports/

653.pdf. It catalogues the challenges facing the dairy
industry in this Commonwealth. The Board is aware of
these challenges and was reluctant to increase fees more
than absolutely necessary. The report noted that the
Board was proposing a fee increase and recommended
pursuing alternative funding sources “before any addi-
tional burden is placed on Class I—IV parties to make up
this shortfall” (see page 98). The report also recommended
licensing milk retailers, which would be another potential
source of income.

In July 2019, the Pennsylvania Dairy Future Commis-
sion was created by the Legislature. It is to issue a report
by August 2020. One of its tasks is to make recommenda-
tions about the impact of State laws and regulations on
the dairy industry in this Commonwealth.

These studies are just examples of the serious efforts
being made to support the dairy industry in this Com-
monwealth in a time of enormous challenges. The Board
does not know which, if any, of the recommendations or
initiatives will come to fruition. But one or more could
impact the Board’s revenue. At a time when the dairy
industry is struggling and new directions are being
considered, the Board is proposing fee increases that help
but do not solve the funding situation, realizing further
steps will be needed in coming years.

Revised method of calculating subdealer fee

IRRC asked for an explanation of the Board’s decision
to change the method of calculating subdealer fees from
milk purchased by the subdealers to milk sold by the
subdealers.

Subdealers currently pay an annual fee based on the
number of quarts they buy in this Commonwealth. The
Board bases this fee on quarts sold in this Common-
wealth. There are several reasons for the change.

Dealer fees are based on sales. The fee calculations will
be more consistent when both dealer and subdealer fees
are based on sales.

Subdealers already report their annual sales on the
Subdealer Survey form which they submit with their
annual license renewal.

Dealers licensed by the Board are required to report
their sales to subdealers. Some subdealers purchase their
products from dealers in other states. Those dealers may
not be licensed by the Board. Then those sales to the
subdealers are not reported to the Board. Recent analysis
by milk industry economists and the Committee report
(see page 107) have stated that the Board’s effectiveness
will be increased by gathering more comprehensive data
about milk sales in this Commonwealth. By basing the
fees on sales instead of purchases, the Board will obtain
more definitive data about Commonwealth transactions.
The Subdealer Surveys are not adequate for this purpose
because those are not audited as the reports of sales for
fee-setting purposes can be.

Fiscal impact of revised method of calculating subdealer
fee

IRRC asked what fiscal impact the revised method of
calculating the subdealer fee will have on the regulated
community.

The subdealer quart-equivalent fee currently produces
a total of about $18,000 per license year for all subdeal-
ers. There are 11 fee categories based on volume. About
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80% of the subdealers are in the smallest volume cat-
egory. There are only five subdealers in the five highest
categories.

The fees are currently calculated based on the volumes
that licensed dealers report selling to licensed subdealers.
Subdealer sales are not currently reported, other than on
the Subdealer Surveys, which are not audited and are not
necessarily consistently submitted.

Therefore we cannot calculate with certainty the impact
of this change. But most of the subdealers have relatively
small volume with limited geographical range. Their
product sold is likely to be commensurate with their
product purchased. The large volume subdealers, if this
changes their fee at all, can be sure they will not
experience an enormous change because there is a cap on
the amount of this fee ($1,750). Two of the five large
subdealers are already in the top category, so the only
increase they will experience is the increase for that
category.

The Board’s expectation that this change is not likely to
have a large impact is evidenced in the fee estimate for
the year after this change is implemented. A 25% increase
from $18,000 to $22,500 is projected.

E. Fiscal and Administrative Impact

The milk dealers are projected to pay a combined total
of about $370,000 to $385,000 per year more than they
would under the current fee structure. The milk subdeal-
ers are projected to pay a combined total of about $8,500
per year more than they would under the current fee
structure. The milk haulers are projected to pay a
combined total of about $950 per year more than they
would under the current fee structure. The milk weigher-
samplers are projected to pay a combined total of about
$8,195 per year more than they would have under the
current fee structure. The milk testers are projected to
pay a combined total of about $325 per year more than
they would have under the current fee structure. These
are projected estimates.

These fees are not new fees—they are increases in
existing fees. Therefore the administrative impact is not
expected to be significant. Subdealers will calculate their
fees based on the volume of milk products sold, which is
information that is obviously readily available, instead of
having their fees calculated on the basis of milk products
purchased, and therefore this is not expected to result in
a significant administrative impact.

F. Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)), on July 31, 2019, the Board submitted a
copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking, published at
49 Pa.B. 4991 to IRRC and to the Chairs of the House
and Senate Committees on Agriculture and Rural Affairs
for review and comment.

Under section 5(g) of the Regulatory Review Act, the
Board is required to submit to IRRC and the House and
Senate Committees copies of comments received during
the public comment period, as well as other documents
when requested. In preparing this final-form rulemaking,
the Board has considered all comments from IRRC and
the public.

Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)(j.2)), on January 30, 2020, this final-form
rulemaking was deemed approved by the House and
Senate Committees. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regula-
tory Review Act, IRRC met on January 31, 2020, and
approved this final-form rulemaking.

G. Contact Person

Interested persons may obtain information regarding
this final-form rulemaking by contacting Douglas Eberly,
Chief Counsel, Milk Marketing Board, 2301 North Cam-
eron Street, Harrisburg, PA 17110, ra-pmmb@pa.gov
within 30 days after publication in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin. Individuals who require this information in a
different format may call the Pennsylvania AT&T Relay
Service for TDD users, (717) 787-4194 or (800) 654-5984.
H. Findings

The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given
under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P.L. 769, No. 240) (45 P.S. §§ 1201 and 1202), known as
the Commonwealth Documents Law, and the regulations
promulgated thereunder, 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1 and 7.2 (relat-

ing to notice of proposed rulemaking required; and adop-
tion of regulations).

(2) A public comment was provided as required by law
and all comments were considered.

(3) The amendments to this final-form rulemaking do
not enlarge the purpose of the proposed rulemaking
published at 49 Pa.B. 4991.

(4) This final-form rulemaking is necessary and appro-
priate for administration and enforcement of the autho-
rizing act identified in this preamble.

I. Order
The Board orders that:

(a) The regulations of the Board, 7 Pa. Code Chapter
150, are amended by deleting § 150.3 and amending
§§ 150.11, 150.12, 150.21, 150.22, 150.51, 150.61, 150.62,
150.71 and 150.72 to read as set forth in Annex A.

(b) The Board shall submit this order and Annex A to
the Office of General Counsel and to the Office of
Attorney General as required by law.

(¢) The Board shall certify this order and Annex A and
deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bureau as
required by law.

(d) The order shall take effect on publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.

(Editor’s Note: See 50 Pa.B. 1001 (February 15, 2020)
for IRRCs approval order.)

Fiscal Note: 47-19. No fiscal impact; (8) recommends
adoption.

ROBERT N. BARLEY,
Chairperson

Annex A
TITLE 7. AGRICULTURE
PART VI. MILK MARKETING BOARD
CHAPTER 150. MILK MARKETING FEES

GENERAL PROVISIONS

§ 150.3. (Reserved).
LICENSE FEES OF MILK DEALERS

§ 150.11. Fixed fees.

(a) A new applicant for a milk dealer’s license shall pay
a fixed fee of $100 for applications submitted before
January 1 of the license year for which the application is
submitted, and $50 for applications submitted on or after
January 1.

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 50, NO. 13, MARCH 28, 2020



1838 RULES AND REGULATIONS

(b) An applicant for annual renewal of a milk dealer’s
license shall pay a fixed fee of $100.

§ 150.12. Hundredweight fees.

(a) In addition to the fixed fee imposed under § 150.11
(relating to fixed fees), a milk dealer that was licensed for
the entire calendar year preceding license renewal shall
pay an annual hundredweight fee as set forth in para-
graphs (1) and (2).

(1) For milk for which the Board has fixed a minimum
wholesale or retail price, received, produced or brought
into this Commonwealth during the calendar year preced-
ing the period for which the license is issued, the fee is
$.060 per hundredweight.

(2) For milk for which the Board has not fixed a
minimum wholesale or retail price, received, produced or
brought into this Commonwealth during the calendar
year preceding the period for which the license is issued,
the fee is $.0064 per hundredweight.

(b) In addition to the fixed fee imposed under § 150.11,
a milk dealer that was not licensed for the entire
calendar year preceding license application or renewal
shall pay a monthly hundredweight fee as set forth in
paragraphs (1) and (2). Monthly payments shall continue
until the milk dealer has been licensed for an entire
calendar year and for each month thereafter until the
next license year begins. Annual payments shall then
commence under subsection (a).

(1) For milk for which the Board has fixed a minimum
wholesale or retail price, received, produced or brought
into this Commonwealth during the preceding month, the
fee is $.060 per hundredweight.

(2) For milk for which the Board has not fixed a
minimum wholesale or retail price, received, produced or
brought into this Commonwealth during the preceding
month, the fee is $.0064 per hundredweight.

ES * ES * k
LICENSE FEES OF MILK SUBDEALERS
§ 150.21. Fixed fees.

(a) A new applicant for a subdealer’s license shall pay a
fixed fee of $50.

(b) An applicant for annual renewal of a subdealer’s
license shall pay a fixed fee of $50.

§ 150.22. Quart-equivalent fee.

(a) In addition to the fixed fee imposed under
§ 150.21(b) (relating to fixed fees), an applicant for
annual renewal of a subdealer’s license shall pay an
annual quart-equivalent fee calculated by dividing the
total quarts of milk sold during the previous calendar
year by the number of months in which the subdealer
engaged in business. The Board will assess the fee in
accordance with the following schedule:

Ave. Qts. Sold Per Month Annual Fee

129,999 $ 62.50
30,000—59,999 125.00
60,000—119,999 187.50

120,000—149,999 200.00
150,000—199,999 312.50
200,000—299,999 375.00
300,000—399,999 500.00
400,000—599,999 625.00
600,000—799,999 1000.00
800,000—999,999 1500.00
1,000,000 and over 1750.00

(b) As used in subsection (a), “quarts” means the total
volume of milk for which the Board sets a price expressed
in quart equivalents.

LICENSE FEES OF MILK HAULERS
§ 150.51. Fixed fees.

A new applicant for a milk hauler’s license and an
applicant for annual renewal of a milk hauler’s license
shall pay a fixed fee of $35.

CERTIFICATION FEES OF MILK TESTERS
§ 150.61. Examination fee.

The fee to take the Board-approved examination for a
certificate of proficiency in milk testing is $30, payable
when the examination is taken. The examination fee is
not refundable and may not be applied toward payment of
the fixed fees in § 150.62 (relating to fixed fees for new
and renewed certificates).

§ 150.62. Fixed fees for new and renewed certifi-
cates.

A new applicant for a milk tester’s certificate and an
applicant for renewal of a milk tester’s certificate shall
pay a fee of $25, which shall accompany the milk tester
certificate application (available from the Board Office or
website).

CERTIFICATION FEES OF MILK WEIGHERS AND
SAMPLERS

§ 150.71. Examination fee.

The fee to take the Board-approved examination for a
certificate of proficiency in milk weighing and sampling is
$30, payable when the examination is taken. The exami-
nation fee is not refundable and may not be applied
toward payment of the fixed fees in § 150.72 (relating to
fixed fees for new and renewed certificates).

§ 150.72. Fixed fees for new and renewed certifi-
cates.

A new applicant for a milk weigher and sampler’s
certificate and an applicant for renewal of a milk weigher
and sampler’s certificate shall pay a fee of $25, which
shall accompany the milk weigher/sampler certificate
application (available from the Board Office or website).

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 20-446. Filed for public inspection March 27, 2020, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 49—PROFESSIONAL AND
VOCATIONAL STANDARDS

STATE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION
[ 49 PA. CODE CH. 35]
Broker Price Opinions; Temporary Regulations
The State Real Estate Commission (Commission)
hereby adopts temporary regulations amending Chapter
35 by adding Subchapter I (relating to broker price

opinions—temporary regulations) to read as set forth in
Annex A.

Effective Date

The temporary regulations will be effective upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.
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Statutory Authority

The act of June 29, 2018 (P.L. 500, No. 75) (Act 75 of
2018) amended the Real Estate Licensing and Registra-
tion Act (act) (63 P.S. §§ 455.101—455.902) and autho-
rizes the Commission to promulgate temporary regula-
tions for the prompt implementation of section 608.6 of
the act (63 P.S. § 455.608f) regarding broker price opin-
ions. Under section 608.6(k) of the act, the adoption of
temporary regulations are not subject to sections 201—
203 of the act of July 31, 1968 (P.L. 769, No. 240) (45 P.S.
§§ 1201—1203), known as the Commonwealth Documents
Law, or to the requirements of the Regulatory Review Act
(71 P.S. §§ 745.1—745.15). The temporary regulations
will expire on August 28, 2021, or upon promulgation of
the final-form rulemaking, whichever occurs first.

Background and Need for the Temporary Regulations

Act 75 of 2018 made two major changes to the act. It
increased the minimum amount of education necessary
for licensure as a salesperson and it allowed for broker
price opinions to be performed by licensed brokers, associ-
ate brokers and salespersons. Broker price opinions are
considered another form of valuation for a property. Act
75 of 2018 amended section 201 of the act (63 P.S.
§ 455.201) to define a broker price opinion as “an esti-
mate prepared by a broker, associate broker or salesper-
son that details the probable selling price of a particular
parcel of real property and provides a varying level of
detail about the property’s condition, market and neigh-
borhood, and information on comparable sales, but does
not include an automated valuation model. . ..” Until the
amendments were made to the act, a broker price opinion
was considered an appraisal under Commonwealth law
which may be performed only by a certified real estate
appraiser. Broker price opinions are most frequently used
by banks to determine an approximate value of the bank’s
real estate inventory. Prior to Act 75 of 2018, banks would
have to either obtain a formal appraisal or a comparative
market analysis. Banks find it cost prohibitive to pay for
a full appraisal when they only want a quick opinion as
to the value. The purpose of a comparative market
analysis is for a real estate licensee to give an opinion of
value for the purpose of listing a property for sale or
aiding a buyer to determine the offering price. A compara-
tive market analysis would not help a bank for its needs
concerning valuing its inventory. A broker price opinion
creates a viable alternative for those consumers that
would just like an estimate of value for their property
without having to pay for an expensive appraisal or to
have the property listed for sale. The trend across the
country is to allow broker price opinions. The amend-
ments to the act keep the Commonwealth current with
practices in other states.

Act 75 of 2018 also authorized the Commission to
promulgate temporary regulations to facilitate the prompt
implementation of the practice of broker price opinions by
brokers, associate brokers and salespersons.

Description of the Temporary Regulations

The temporary regulations add a new subchapter which
sets forth limitations and requirements for broker price
opinions, including required disclosures, signature re-
quirements, permissible uses and required experience and
education for brokers, associate brokers and salespersons.

Definitions

Section 35.401 (relating to definitions) sets forth defini-
tions for terms used in the temporary regulations. The
following terms are defined as provided in the act:
“broker price opinion” and “short sale.” In addition,

“automated valuation model” is defined in accordance
with section 1125 of the Financial Institutions Reform,
Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989 (Pub.L. No.
101-73) (12 U.S.C.A. § 3354(d)), which is consistent with
the definition in the act.

Broker Price Opinion

Section 35.402 (relating to broker price opinion) lists
the requirements of a broker price opinion. Under subsec-
tion (a), a broker price opinion is required to have a
specific statement displayed indicating that the broker
price opinion was not prepared in accordance with the
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice and
that it is not to be construed as an appraisal. Subsection
(b) requires a signature by the person who prepares the
broker price opinion and lists all of the information that
must be on every broker price opinion, as required by
section 608.6(c) of the act. Based on the suggestion of one
of the comments received from stakeholders during the
drafting of the temporary regulations, the Commission
added “cost data” at paragraph (b)(4) as another way of
basing a conclusion as to price. Paragraph (b)(9) requires
the license numbers of the preparer and any broker or
associate broker reviewing the broker price opinion be-
cause the Commission believes it is important to identify
all licensees involved with a broker price opinion.

Consistent with the act, subsection (c) requires compen-
sation for preparing a broker price opinion to be paid
directly to the employing broker of the licensee who
prepared the broker price opinion. This mirrors section
608.6(d) of the act but adds the word “employing” in front
of broker. The Commission believes that adding the word
“employing” in front of broker clarifies that only the
broker can be compensated by a consumer and is consis-
tent with section 604(a)(12) of the act (63 P.S.
§ 455.604(a)(12)), which prohibits an associate broker or
salesperson from accepting a commission or other valu-
able consideration from anyone other than the employing
broker. Subsections (d) and (e) set forth the minimum
requirements for a salesperson to prepare a broker price
opinion, which includes experience, education and re-
quired review and signature by the employing broker or
designated associate broker as set forth in section 608.6(j)
of the act.

Use of Broker Price Opinions

Section 35.403(a) (relating to use of broker price opin-
ion) lists the permissible uses of a broker price opinion as
set forth in section 608.6(e) of the act. Subsection (b) lists
the prohibited uses of a broker price opinion as set forth
in section 608.6(f) of the act.

Broker Price Opinion Education

Section 35.404 (relating to broker price opinion educa-
tion) sets forth the educational requirements a licensee
must complete prior to preparing a broker price opinion.
Subsection (a) requires brokers, associate brokers and
salespersons to complete a Commission-approved initial
education course in the preparation of broker price opin-
ions. Subsection (b) requires a broker or associate broker
to complete the Commission-approved initial education
course in the preparation of broker price opinions prior to
signing a broker price opinion prepared by a salesperson.
Subsection (¢) requires brokers, associate brokers and
salespersons to complete at least 3 hours of Commission-
approved continuing education in broker price opinion
topics prior to preparing a broker price opinion. Subsec-
tion (d) requires brokers, associate brokers and salesper-
sons to retain the transcript or certificate of instruction
and provide a copy to the Commission upon request.
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Under subsection (e), the Commission preapproves four
broker prelicensure courses in the topics of valuation of
residential property, valuation of income-producing prop-
erty, basic appraisal principles and basic appraisal proce-
dures for the initial educational requirement.

In developing these temporary regulations, the Com-
mission received comments from the Bucks County Real
Estate Institute, Vintage Real Estate Academy, Irene P.
Richmond, Pennsylvania Association of Realtors, Real
Estate Valuation Advocacy Association, Polley Associates,
Howard Hanna Real Estate Services, Appraisal Institute,
Mid-Atlantic Valuation Group, Inc. and Career Growth
Real Estate Academy. The major concern among the
commentators was that the proposed educational require-
ment was not a two-part educational requirement with
separate initial education and continuing education re-
quirements. Due to the number of comments received, the
Commission revised the temporary regulations to sepa-
rate the requirements for the initial broker price opinion
education and continuing education.

Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

The temporary regulations should have no adverse
fiscal impact on the Commonwealth or its political subdi-
visions. The Commission will not incur any additional
costs due to the review and approval of the educational
courses because those costs are paid for through applica-
tion fees paid by the education providers. Those brokers,
associate brokers and salespersons who want to perform
broker price opinions will incur minimal costs associated
with obtaining the necessary initial education if they
have not already done so. On average, education provid-
ers are charging approximately $10 per credit hour for
broker price opinion education. These costs are minimal
and not prohibitive to obtain the education to perform a
broker price opinion. Also, licensees who complete the
initial education requirement will be required to retain
the transcript or certificate of instruction for as long as
the licensees are performing broker price opinions.

Sunset Date

The temporary regulations will expire no later than
August 28, 2021. The Commission will assess the effec-
tiveness of the temporary regulations in formulating
proposed and final-form rulemakings on the topic of
broker price opinions.

Regulatory Review

These temporary regulations are statutorily exempt
from the process set forth in the Regulatory Review Act
(71 P.S. §§ 745.1—745.15).

Public Comment

In accordance with Executive Order 1996-1 (see 4
Pa. Code §§ 1.371—1.382 (relating to Regulatory Review
and Promulgation)), in January of 2019, the Commission
sent an exposure draft of the temporary regulations to
interested parties and stakeholders soliciting comment.
The Commission received comments from the public,
including stakeholders in the real estate industry and
considered them at a public meeting on April 30, 2019.
Commentators were primarily concerned that the educa-
tional requirements were not clearly separated into initial
and continuing education components. As previously dis-
cussed, the Commission has separated initial education
requirements and continuing education in these tempo-
rary regulations in response to those comments. The
Commission will solicit additional input when formulating
the proposed and final-form rulemakings.

JOSEPH TARANTINO,
Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: Title 49 of the Pennsylvania Code is
amended by adding temporary regulations in §§ 35.401—
35.404 to read as set forth in Annex A.)

Fiscal Note: 16A-5624. No fiscal impact; (8) recom-
mends adoption.

Annex A

TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

PART I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 35. STATE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

Subchapter I. BROKER PRICE
OPINIONS—TEMPORARY REGULATIONS

§ 35.401. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
subchapter, have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

Automated valuation model—Any computerized model
used by mortgage originators and secondary market
issuers to determine the collateral worth of a mortgage
secured by a consumer’s principal dwelling.

Broker price opinion—An estimate prepared by a bro-
ker, associate broker or salesperson that details the
probable selling price of a particular parcel of real
property and provides a varying level of detail about the
property’s condition, market and neighborhood, and infor-
mation on comparable sales, but does not include an
automated valuation model.

Short sale—A sale of real property in which the seller’s
proceeds are less than the amount required to pay off all
liens secured by the property.

§ 35.402. Broker price opinion.

(a) A broker price opinion must contain the following
statement displayed conspicuously and without change:

This analysis has not been prepared in accordance with
the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice
which require valuers to act as unbiased, disinterested
third parties with impartiality, objectivity and indepen-
dence and without accommodation of personal interest. It
is not to be construed as an appraisal and may not be
used as such for any purpose.

(b) A broker price opinion must be signed manually or
electronically by the person who prepared it and must
contain all of the following information:

(1) An identification of the intended users and intended
uses of the broker price opinion, if known.

(2) A brief description of the subject property.

(38) A brief description of the property interest to be
priced.

(4) The basis for the conclusion as to the price, includ-
ing applicable market data, cost data or capitalization
computation.

(5) Any assumption or limiting condition.

(6) Any existing or contemplated interest of the licen-
see who prepared the broker price opinion.

(7) The effective date of the broker price opinion.
(8) The date that the document is signed.
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(9) The real estate license number of the preparer and,
if applicable, the reviewing broker or associate broker.

(c) A fee or valuable consideration for a broker price
opinion shall be paid directly to the employing broker.

(d) A salesperson may not prepare a broker price
opinion unless the salesperson has held an active license
for the 3 years immediately preceding the effective date of
the broker price opinion and has satisfied the educational
requirements in § 35.404 (relating to broker price opinion
education).

(e) A broker price opinion prepared by a salesperson
must be signed by the salesperson and reviewed and
signed by the employing broker or a designated associate
broker.

§ 35.403. Use of broker price opinion.

(a) A broker price opinion may be prepared by a broker,
associate broker or salesperson only for use in conjunction
with any of the following:

(1) A property owned by a lender after an unsuccessful
sale at a foreclosure auction.

(2) A modification of a first or junior mortgage or
equity line of credit.

(3) A short sale of a property.

(4) An evaluation or monitoring of a portfolio of proper-
ties.

(b) A broker price opinion may not be prepared by a
broker, associate broker or salesperson for use:

(1) As the basis to determine the value of a parcel of
real property for a mortgage loan origination, including a
first or junior mortgage, refinancing or equity line of
credit.

(2) In connection with any of the following:
(i) An eminent domain proceeding.
(i1) A Federal, State or local tax appeal.

(iii) A bankruptcy or insolvency proceeding.

(iv) An action or proceeding involving divorce or equi-
table distribution of property.

(v) Any other action or proceeding before a court of
record.

(vi) The distribution of a decedent’s estate.
§ 35.404. Broker price opinion education.

(a) A broker, associate broker or salesperson may not
prepare a broker price opinion unless the broker, associ-
ate broker or salesperson has completed a Commission-
approved initial education course in the preparation of
broker price opinions.

(b) A broker or associate broker may not sign a broker
price opinion prepared by a salesperson unless the broker
or associate broker has completed a Commission-approved
initial education course in the preparation of broker price
opinions.

(c) A broker, associate broker or salesperson may not
prepare a broker price opinion unless the broker, associ-
ate broker or salesperson has completed at least 3 hours
of Commission-approved continuing education in broker
price opinion topics during the current or immediately
preceding 2-year license period.

(d) A broker, associate broker or salesperson who has
completed a Commission-approved initial education
course, a broker prelicensure course listed in subsection
(e) or continuing education referenced in subsection (c)
shall retain the transcript or certificate of instruction and
provide a copy to the Commission upon request.

(e) The following broker prelicensure courses have been
approved to satisfy the initial education requirement in
subsections (a) and (b):

(1) Valuation of residential property.

(2) Valuation of income-producing property.

(3) Basic appraisal principles.

(4) Basic appraisal procedures.
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