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PROPOSED RULEMAKING

STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF
NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

[ 49 PA. CODE CH. 39]
Continuing Education

The State Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Admin-
istrators (Board) proposes to amend §§ 39.1, 39.11, 39.44,
39.51, 39.52 and 39.61, add §§ 39.11a and 39.11b (relat-
ing to reactivation; and continued competence) and delete
§ 39.71 (related to licensure renewal) to read as set forth
in Annex A.

Effective Date

This proposed rulemaking will be effective upon final-
form publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. The reduc-
tion in continuing education clock hours will be applied
for the first time when licensees renew for the July 1,
2020, through June 30, 2022, biennial period. Licensees
must have completed no less than 36 hours of continuing
education as a condition of renewal in 2020.

Statutory Authority

Section 9(b) of the Nursing Home Administrators Li-
cense Act (act) (63 P.S. § 1109(b)) requires licensees to
complete not less than 24 hours of Board-approved con-
tinuing education courses and programs as a condition of
biennial renewal. Section 9(e) of the act addresses reacti-
vation of expired or inactive licenses. Section 4(a)(9) of
the act (63 P.S. § 1104(a)(9)) provides the statutory
authority for the proposed continued competency provi-
sion. Section 4(a)(9) also authorizes the Board to develop
standards of professional practice and standards of pro-
fessional conduct appropriate to establish and maintain a
high level of integrity and performance in the practice of
nursing home administration. Additionally, section 4(c) of
the act authorizes the Board to promulgate regulations to
effectuate the act.

Background and Need for Amendments

On October 24, 2017, Governor Tom Wolf signed Execu-
tive Order 2017-3, published at 47 Pa.B. 6929 (November
11, 2017), requiring the Commissioner of Professional and
Occupational Affairs (Commissioner) to comprehensively
review and catalog the processes, fees, training require-
ments, criminal history policies, portability and continu-
ing education requirements for occupational and profes-
sional licensure within the purview of the 29 licensing
boards and commissions under the Commissioner’s au-
thority. The order further directed the Commissioner to
benchmark that data against regional averages from 12
states with similar or equivalent licenses that comprise
the Northeast geographic region—Ohio, West Virginia,
Maryland, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, Massachu-
setts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, Ver-
mont and Maine—to identify requirements or functions
that presented unnecessary burdens to licensure and
occupational employment within this Commonwealth.

That report, issued on June 12, 2018, revealed that the
Commonwealth carried one of the highest continuing
education requirements in the regional comparison group
for seven different occupational/professional licenses, in-
cluding nursing home administrators. The Wolf adminis-
tration believes that public protection through the func-
tion of continuing education must be balanced against the
burden to the regulated community. Therefore, because

these requirements are significantly above the regional
average, and no superseding Federal requirement or
imminent public threat to health and safety mandates the
increase, the administration recommended that the bien-
nial requirement for continuing education be reduced to
the statutory minimum.

The Board initially considered reducing the continuing
amount to at least 24 hours, as recommended. However,
after discussion with stakeholders who opposed the reduc-
tion, the Board determined that a reduction by one-
quarter to at least 36 hours per biennium would accom-
plish the Governor’s goal of reducing the required
continuing education while at the same time ensure that
licensees obtain sufficient continuing education given the
complexities of nursing home regulation. This proposed
rulemaking effectuates the reduction to at least 36 hours
and makes similar revisions related to the length of an
educational program and the number of clock hours
awarded for various continuing education activities. Ap-
plying this same logic, the Board would remove the
proration provision for licensees renewing for the first
time; and instead exempt them from completing the
continuing education requirement for their first biennial
renewal. This exemption is consistent with other
licensure boards within the Health Licensing Division of
the Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs.

Additionally, this proposed rulemaking would institute
a continued competence provision. The Board believes
that it is appropriate to require licensees whose licenses
have been inactive or expired for 5 years or longer to
demonstrate their competence to resume the practice of
nursing home administration by passing the licensure
examinations, taking additional coursework or otherwise
demonstrating that they are or have been actively en-
gaged in the practice of nursing home administration in
another state, have been employed by a nursing home in
a supervisory or consultant capacity, or have been teach-
ing long term care subject matter in an accredited college
or university or in a Board-approved 120-hour training
program.

Description of Proposed Amendments

The definition of “clock hour” in § 39.1 (relating to
definitions) is proposed to be amended to reduce the
minimum course length to 30 minutes (.5 clock hours)
and to grant additional credit in 15-minute increments.

Section 39.11(b) and (d) (relating to biennial renewal) is
proposed to be amended to include current biennial
renewal procedures. Rather than sending applications for
renewal to licensees, the Board e-mails licensees approxi-
mately 3 months prior to the end of the biennial period
and advises them about the availability of the online
renewal process to renew licenses in the Pennsylvania
Licensing System (PALS). Licensees are then required to
submit the completed renewal application and the bien-
nial renewal fee and, unless there is a discrepancy, will be
accepted by the Board and renewed. Subsection (c) is
proposed to be amended to reduce the minimum number
of continuing education clock hours required for biennial
renewal from 48 to 36. Subsection (e) is proposed to be
deleted, as it is a reactivation provision, which has now
been included in proposed § 39.11a (relating to reactiva-
tion).

Proposed § 39.11a sets forth the reactivation require-
ments for licenses that are expired or inactive. Subsection
(a), which replaces current § 39.11(e), provides the re-
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quirements when the license is expired or inactive for
fewer than 5 years while subsection (b) provides the
requirements when the license has been expired or
inactive for 5 years or longer. In the latter circumstance,
the licensee must also demonstrate continued competence
as provided in proposed § 39.11b.

Proposed § 39.11b would provide five options for dem-
onstrating continued competence: (1) passing the
licensure examinations approved by the Board (the Core
of Knowledge Exam for Long Term Care Administrators,
the Line of Service Exam—Nursing Home Administrators,
and the State Based Licensing Exam—Pennsylvania); (2)
successfully recompleting a Board-approved 120-hour pro-
gram of study; (3) documenting that the licensee has
practiced as a nursing home administrator in another
jurisdiction for at least 2 of the last 5 years; (4) docu-
menting that the licensee has served in a supervisory or
consultant capacity in a nursing home for at least 3 of the
last 5 years; or (5) documenting that the licensee taught
long term care courses for a Board-approved 120-hour
program of study provider or a college or university for at
least 3 of the last 5 years. The Board believes that
requiring licensees who have not had a current license for
5 years or longer to demonstrate continued competence
assures their currency in nursing home administration
thereby protecting the health, safety and welfare of the
residents of nursing homes and their families, as well as
nursing home employees. In the last three continued
competence options, the licensee would be required to
appear before the Board to demonstrate actual involve-
ment in nursing home administration in another jurisdic-
tion or through supervision, consultation or instruction.
To meet the requirements of paragraph (4), the supervi-
sion or consulting provided to a nursing home in at least
3 of the last 5 years must be significant; merely providing
supervision or consulting for 2 or 3 months a year does
not demonstrate significant involvement.

Section 39.44(7) (relating to provider responsibilities) is
proposed to be amended to set forth the items that must
be contained in continuing education records. Section
39.51(b) (relating to standards for continuing education
programs) is proposed to be amended to add the prohibi-
tion in paragraph (3) that continuing education programs
may not be less than 30 minutes in length. The Board
believes that there is not sufficient time to engage in
meaningful learning in less than 30 minutes. Section
39.52(a) (relating to program registration) is proposed to
be amended to correct a cross-reference to § 39.61 (relat-
ing to requirements).

Section 39.61 sets forth the continuing education re-
quirement. Subsections (a) and (c) are proposed to be
amended to reduce the minimum number of continuing
education hours from 48 to 36. Additionally, the maxi-
mum number of clock hours for being an instructor in
paragraph (c)(2), being an author in paragraph (c)(3),
serving as an Administrator-In-Training supervisor in
paragraph (c)(4) and for completing college or university
courses in paragraph (c)(5) would be reduced incremen-
tally to coincide with the overall reduction. Subsection (d)
is proposed to be amended to remove the proration
calculation for licensees’ first biennial renewal in favor of
an exemption of the continuing education requirement for
that period. Proposed subsection (h) provides that licens-
ees will not be awarded credit for programs that have less
than 30 minutes of instruction. In addition, the Board
proposes to replace the undesignated center heading
“Clock Hours Requirement” with “Continuing Education”

to be more descriptive of the content of §§ 39.61 and
39.65 (relating to reporting continuing education clock
hours).

The Board proposes to delete § 39.71 because the
information contained in this section is either outdated or
duplicative of § 39.11. In addition, the undesignated
center heading “Renewal” is proposed to be amended with
“Fees” because of the deletion of § 39.71, all that remains
is § 39.72 (relating to fees).

Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

Because licensees will continue to renew their licenses
in the same manner as they currently do, the reduction in
the minimum number of continuing education clock hours
that have to be completed per biennium will not result in
any increased fiscal impact or additional paperwork re-
quirements on the Board. For licensees, it will result in a
decrease in costs as they will have to complete fewer
required clock hours of continuing education.

Licensees who wish to reactivate licenses that have
expired or been inactive for more than 5 years may have
an increased fiscal impact depending upon the continued
competence activity selected. Those who select completion
of the 120-hour course in new § 39.11b(2) will experience
the highest costs as the average cost for the 120-hour
course is currently $2,650. Individuals who chose to
complete the licensure examinations would be required to
pay the fee for the State and National portions of the
examination, which is currently $785. For either of these
activities there will be no additional paperwork require-
ments, as § 39.11(e) currently requires application, a fee
and documentation.

The continued competence activities in proposed
§ 39.11b(3), (4) and (5) will have no increased costs but
will have some additional paperwork requirements. Each
of these activities involve work experience. Under pro-
posed § 39.11b(3), a licensee would have to document
that the licensee practiced as a nursing home administra-
tor in another jurisdiction for at least 2 of the last 5 years
prior to application for reactivation. In proposed
§ 39.11b(4) and (5) the licensee would be required to
demonstrate significant involvement in the field of nurs-
ing home administration or instruction in long term care
during the time the license was expired or inactive. That
involvement may include, for example, serving as an
assistant nursing home administrator or department
head or teaching a nursing home administration course
within the 120-hour program or bachelor’s degree pro-

gram.
Sunset Date

The Board continuously monitors the effectiveness of its
regulations. Therefore, no sunset date has been assigned.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)), on January 16, 2020, the Board submit-
ted a copy of this proposed rulemaking and a copy of a
Regulatory Analysis form to the Independent Regulatory
Review Commission (IRRC) and to the Chairpersons of
the Senate Consumer Protection and Professional
Licensure Committee and the House Professional
Licensure Committee. A copy of this material is available
to the public upon request.

Under section 5(g) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC
may convey any comments, recommendations or objec-
tions to this proposed rulemaking within 30 days of the
close of the public comment period. The comments, recom-
mendations or objections shall specify the regulatory
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review criteria which have not been met. The Regulatory
Review Act specifies detailed procedures for review, prior
to final publication of the rulemaking, by the Board, the
General Assembly and the Governor of comments, recom-
mendations or objections raised.

Public Comment

Interested persons are invited to submit written com-
ments, suggestions or objections regarding this proposed
rulemaking to Jaime D. Black, Counsel, State Board of
Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, P.O. Box
69523, Harrisburg, PA 17106-9523 or by e-mail to RA-
STRegulatoryCounsel@pa.gov within 30 days following
publication of this proposed rulemaking in the Pennsylva-
nia Bulletin. Reference No. 16A-6219 (Continuing Educa-
tion) when submitting comments.

KIMBERLY COBAUGH,
Chairperson

Fiscal Note: 16A-6219. No fiscal impact; (8) recom-
mends adoption.

Annex A

TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

PART I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 39. STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF
NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

GENERAL
§ 39.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

& * & * *

Clock hour—A [ minimum ] unit of education consist-
ing of 60 minutes of instruction. Programs longer than
[60] 30 minutes will be credited in [30] 15 minute
increments.

* * * % *

§ 39.11. Biennial renewal.

(a) Licenses are renewable each biennium, in the even-
numbered years.

(b) [ Applications for renewal] Notice of the
availability of the renewal process will be forwarded
to each active licensee at the licensee’s address of record
or current e-mail address on file with the Board, or
both, prior to the expiration of the current biennial
period.

(¢) As a condition of biennial renewal, licensees shall
complete [ 48 ] a minimum of 36 clock hours of continu-
ing education during the preceding biennial period as
required in § 39.61 (relating to requirements).

(d) Renewal applications shall be completed in a for-
mat and manner required by the Board and [ re-
turned to the Board office ] accompanied by the
required renewal fee in § 39.72 (relating to fees). Upon
[ approval of each ] Board acceptance of the bien-
nial renewal application, the license will be renewed
and the applicant [ shall ] will receive a certificate of
registration for the current renewal period.

[ (e) An application for the renewal of a license
which has expired shall be accompanied by a late
fee or a verification of nonpractice, the renewal fee
and documentation evidencing the satisfactory
completion of the continuing education require-
ment for the preceding biennial period. ]

(Editor’s Note: The following sections are proposed to
be added and printed in regular type to enhance readabil-
ity.)

§ 39.11a. Reactivation.

(a) A nursing home administrator who desires to reacti-
vate a license that has been expired or inactive shall file
an application for reactivation in a format and manner
required by the Board and shall provide:

(1) A late fee as required by section 225 of the Bureau
of Professional and Occupational Affairs Fee Act (63 P.S.
§ 1401-225) or a verification of nonpractice, as applicable.

(2) The renewal fee in § 39.72 (relating to fees).

(3) Documentation evidencing the satisfactory comple-
tion of the continuing education requirement for the
preceding biennial period.

(b) In addition to complying with the requirements in
subsection (a), a nursing home administrator whose li-
cense has been expired or inactive for 5 years or longer
shall demonstrate continued competence under § 39.11b
(relating to continued competence).

§ 39.11b. Continued competence.

A nursing home administrator applying to reactivate a
license that has been expired or inactive for 5 years or
longer shall demonstrate continued competence by doing
one of the following:

(1) Passing the licensure examinations approved by the
Board.

(2) Successfully recompleting 120 clock hours in a
program of study approved by the Board as prescribed in
§ 39.14 (relating to approval of programs of study).

(3) Providing written documentation to the Board evi-
dencing that the licensee has practiced nursing home
administration in another jurisdiction for at least 2 years
within the last 5 years under a current license in that
jurisdiction. The licensee shall appear personally before
the Board to demonstrate that practice.

(4) Providing written documentation to the Board that
the licensee has been employed in a nursing home in a
supervisory or consultant capacity for at least 3 years
within the last 5 years. The licensee shall appear person-
ally before the Board to demonstrate, to the Board’s
satisfaction, a significant involvement in the field of
nursing home administration during the time the license
has been expired or inactive. Sporadic or occasional
involvement is not sufficient to demonstrate continued
competence.

(5) Providing written documentation to the Board that
the licensee has been teaching long term care subject
matter for a continuing educational provider approved by
the Board to offer the 120-hour program or an accredited
college or university for at least 3 years within the last 5
years. The licensee shall appear personally before the
Board to discuss the scope of the education provided
during the time the license has been expired or inactive.

APPROVAL PROCESS—PROVIDERS
§ 89.44. Provider responsibilities.

For each program, providers shall:
* * * *k *
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(7) Issue continuing education records[.] to each
licensee who completed the course, which must
include:

(i) The name of the licensee.

(ii) The title of the course or program.

(iii) The date of the course or program.

(iv) The number of continuing education clock
hours provided.

(v) The name of the course provider and the
provider number.

(vi) A statement that the course or program was
approved by the Board or NAB, which must include
the program approval number.

(8) Retain attendance records, written outlines and a
summary of evaluations for a 5-year period.

APPROVAL PROCESS—PROGRAMS

§ 39.51. Standards for continuing education pro-
grams.

(a) A program shall consist of the subjects listed in
§ 39.14(a)(2) (relating to approval of programs of study).

(b) The Board does not deem the following programs
acceptable:

(1) Inservice programs which are not open to licensees.

(2) Programs limited to the organization and operation
of the employer.

(3) Programs consisting of less than 30 minutes of
instruction.

§ 39.52. Program registration.

(a) All programs require preapproval, except as in
§ [39.61(b)(4) and (5)] 39.61(c)(2)—(5) (relating to
requirements).

* * & *k *

[ CLOCK HOURS REQUIREMENT ]
CONTINUING EDUCATION

§ 39.61. Requirements.

(a) A licensee shall complete at least [ 48 ] 36 clock
hours of continuing education during the preceding bien-
nial period.

(b) All continuing education clock hours shall be com-
pleted in courses preapproved by NAB or the Board,
except as provided in subsection (¢)(2)—(5).

(c) Of the [ 48] 36 clock hours required, the following
apply:

(1) Up to [481] 36 clock hours may be taken in lecture,
college or university, computer interactive, distance learn-

ing or correspondence courses preapproved by NAB or the
Board.

(2) A maximum of [ 12 ] 9 clock hours may be earned
by serving as an instructor of a NAB or Board-approved
continuing education program or as an instructor of a
college or university course approved by NAB or the
Board. Instructors may earn 1 clock hour for each hour of
instruction up to [12] 9 clock hours.

(3) Clock hours may be earned by authoring an article
on long-term care as follows:

(i) Authors whose articles relating to long-term care
are published in professional journals may earn 3 clock
hours per article, up to a maximum of [ 12] 9 clock
hours per biennium.

(ii) Additional credit per article, up to [ 12] 9 of the
required clock hours, may be awarded based on the
complexity of the subject matter or work.

(iii) In exceptional circumstances, when the article is
published in a refereed journal, and the subject matter or
work is complex, a licensee may be awarded up to [ 24 ]
18 clock hours.

(iv) Published articles used for continuing education
credit shall be submitted to the Board within 60 days of
publication. Upon review of the published article, the
Board will determine the appropriate number of clock
hours to be awarded based upon the complexity of the
subject matter or work.

(4) Up to [24] 18 clock hours may be obtained by
serving as a supervisor in a Board-approved AIT program,
when the AIT successfully completes the AIT program.

(5) A maximum of [ 12 ] 9 clock hours may be awarded
retroactively for attending programs, to include lectures,
and college or university courses, which have not been
preapproved. The attendee shall submit a written request
for approval within 60 days of attending the program and
document attendance. The attendee shall demonstrate to
the Board’s satisfaction that the programs meet the
requirements in §§ 39.14(a)(2) and 39.51 (relating to
approval of programs of study; and standards for continu-
ing education programs).

(d) A licensee [ who obtains a license after the
biennial period begins shall complete a prorated
amount of clock hours equal to 2 clock hours per
month through the end of the biennial period. For
the purpose of calculating the number of clock
hours required, partial months shall count as whole
months | is not required to meet the continuing
education requirement on the first renewal imme-
diately following licensure.

(e) A licensee suspended for disciplinary reasons is not
exempt from the continuing education requirements in
subsection (a).

(f) A licensee who cannot meet the overall continuing
education clock hour requirement in subsection (a) or (d)
due to illness, emergency or hardship may apply to the
Board in writing prior to the end of the renewal period for
an extension of time to complete the clock hours. A
licensee who cannot meet any other requirement in this
section due to illness, emergency or hardship may apply
to the Board in writing prior to the end of the renewal
period for a waiver of the requirement. An extension or
waiver request must explain why compliance is impos-
sible, and include appropriate documentation. An exten-
sion or waiver request will be evaluated by the Board on
a case-by-case basis.

(g) A licensee will not be credited for repeating a
program in the same renewal period unless the subject
matter has substantially changed during that period.

(h) A licensee will not be credited for any con-
tinuing education program less than 30 minutes of
instruction in duration.
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[ RENEWAL ] FEES
§ 39.71. [ Licensure renewal | (Reserved).

[ (a) Licensure renewal will be based on the pay-
ment of the required fee to the Commonwealth and
submission of “certification of credit” form. This
form is available from the State Board of Examin-
ers of Nursing Home Administrators, Post Office
Box 2649, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17105.

(b) Total credit hours for the 1982-84 biennium
consist of 48 hours.

(¢) Certification forms shall be submitted to the
Board. Documentation of programs attended with
proper signatures of provider and nursing home
administrator shall be kept by the licensee for a
period of 2 years.

(d) Certification of credit hours submitted by the
nursing home administrator shall be properly
signed as being correct and true. False statements
shall be grounds for licensure revocation or suspen-
sion. ]

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 20-150. Filed for public inspection January 31, 2020, 9:00 a.m.]
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