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THE COURTS

Title 246—MINOR COURT
CIVIL RULES

PART I. GENERAL
[ 246 PA. CODE CH. 500 ]

Order Amending Rules 515 and 516 of the Penn-
sylvania Rules of Civil Procedure Before Magis-
terial District Judges; No. 449 Magisterial Rules
Doc.

Order
Per Curiam

And Now, this 4th day of December, 2020, upon the
recommendation of the Minor Court Rules Committee,

the proposal having been submitted without publication
pursuant to Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(a)(3):

It is Ordered pursuant to Article V, Section 10 of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania that Rules 515 and 516 of
the Pennsylvania Rules of Civil Procedure Before Magis-
terial District Judges are amended in the following form.

This Order shall be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(b), and shall be effective on January 1,
2021.

Annex A
TITLE 246. MINOR COURT CIVIL RULES
PART I. GENERAL

CHAPTER 500. ACTIONS FOR THE RECOVERY OF
POSSESSION OF REAL PROPERTY

Rule 515. Request for Order for Possession.

A. If the magisterial district judge has rendered a
judgment arising out of a non-residential lease that the
real property be delivered up to the landlord, the landlord
may, after the 15th day following the date of the entry of
the judgment, file with the magisterial district judge a
request for an order for possession. The request shall
include a statement of the judgment amount, return, and
all other matters required by these rules.

B.(1) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision B(2),
if the magisterial district judge has rendered a judgment
arising out of a residential lease that the real property be
delivered up to the landlord, the landlord may after the
10th day but within [ 120 ] 180 days following the date of
the entry of the judgment, file with the magisterial
district judge a request for an order for possession. The
request shall include a statement of the judgment
amount, return, and all other matters required by these
rules.

(2) In a case arising out of a residential lease, if before
the landlord requests an order for possession,

(a) an appeal or writ of certiorari operates as a
supersedeas; or

(b) proceedings in the matter are stayed pursuant to a
bankruptcy proceeding or other federal or state law; and

(c) the supersedeas or the bankruptcy or other stay is
subsequently stricken, dismissed, lifted, or otherwise ter-
minated so as to allow the landlord to proceed to request
an order for possession,

the landlord may request an order for possession only
within [ 120 ] 180 days of the date the supersedeas or
the bankruptcy or other stay is stricken, dismissed, lifted,
or otherwise terminated.

Official Note: The 15 days in subdivision A of this
rule, when added to the 16-day period provided for in
Rule 519A, will give the tenant time to obtain a
supersedeas within the appeal period. See Rules 1002,
1008, 1009, and 1013.

The 1995 amendment to section 513 of The Landlord
and Tenant Act of 1951, 68 P.S. § 250.513, established a
10-day appeal period from a judgment for possession of
real estate arising out of a residential lease. See also Rule
1002B(1). Rule 1002B(2)(a) provides for a 30-day appeal
period for tenants who are victims of domestic violence.
In most cases, the filing of the request for an order for
possession in subdivision B(1) is not permitted until after
the appeal period has expired. In cases arising out of a
residential lease, the request for an order for possession
generally must be filed within [ 120 ] 180 days of the
date of the entry of the judgment.

If the tenant is a victim of domestic violence, he or she
may file a domestic violence affidavit to stay the execu-
tion of the order for possession until the tenant files an
appeal with the prothonotary pursuant to Rule 1002,
30 days after the date of entry of the judgment, or by
order of the court of common pleas, whichever is earlier.
See Rule 514.1C. No posting of money or bond is required
to obtain a stay with the filing of a domestic violence
affidavit; however, upon the filing of an appeal pursuant
to Rule 1002, the stay is lifted, and the supersedeas
requirements of Rule 1008 shall apply.

The magisterial district court shall enter stays in
compliance with federal or state law, such as the
Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, 50 U.S.C. §§ 3901 et
seq.

Subdivision B(2) provides that in a case arising out of a
residential lease, if a supersedeas (resulting from an
appeal or writ of certiorari) or bankruptcy or other stay is
stricken, dismissed, lifted, or otherwise terminated, thus
allowing the landlord to proceed with requesting an order
for possession, the request may be filed only within
[ 120] 180 days of the date the supersedeas or the
bankruptcy or other stay is stricken, dismissed, lifted, or
otherwise terminated.

In many judicial districts, appeals of magisterial dis-
trict court judgments are submitted to compulsory arbi-
tration pursuant to Pa.R.C.P. Nos. 1301—1314. If, after
the arbitration, the prothonotary enters an award for
possession on the docket in favor of the landlord and the
tenant fails to maintain the supersedeas required by Rule
1008 prior to the prothonotary entering judgment on the
award, then the landlord may terminate the supersedeas
pursuant to Rule 1008B and request an order of posses-
sion from the magisterial district judge pursuant to Rule
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515. If the prothonotary enters an award on the docket in
favor of the tenant and the tenant fails to maintain the
supersedeas prior to the prothonotary entering judgment
on the award, the landlord may not obtain an order of
possession between the time that the prothonotary enters
the arbitration award on the docket and the time that the
landlord files a notice of appeal.

The time limits in which the landlord must request an
order for possession imposed in subdivision B apply only
in cases arising out of residential leases and in no way
affect the landlord’s ability to execute on the money
judgment. See Rule 516, Note, and Rule 521A.

At the time the landlord files the request for an order
for possession, the magisterial district court should collect
server fees for all actions through delivery of possession.
Thereafter, if the order for possession is satisfied 48 hours
or more prior to a scheduled delivery of possession, a
portion of the server costs may be refundable. See Rules
516 through 520 and 44 Pa.C.S. § 7161(d).

Rule 516. Issuance and Reissuance of Order for
Possession.

A. Upon the timely filing of the request form, the
magisterial district judge shall issue the order for posses-
sion and shall deliver it for service and execution to the
sheriff of, or any certified constable in, the county in
which the office of the magisterial district judge is
situated. If this service is not available to the magisterial
district judge, service may be made by any certified
constable of the Commonwealth. The order shall direct
the officer executing it to deliver actual possession of the
real property to the landlord. The magisterial district
judge shall attach a copy of the request form to the order
for possession.

B.(1) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision C,
upon written request of the landlord the magisterial
district judge shall reissue an order for possession for one
additional 60-day period.

(2) If an order for possession is issued and subse-
quently superseded by an appeal, writ of certiorari,
supersedeas, or a stay pursuant to a bankruptcy proceed-
ing or other federal or state law or Rule 514.1C, and

(a) the appeal, writ of certiorari, or supersedeas is
stricken, dismissed, or otherwise terminated; or

(b) the bankruptcy or other stay is lifted; and

(c) the landlord wishes to proceed with the order for
possession,

the landlord must file with the magisterial district judge
a written request for reissuance of the order for posses-
sion in accordance with subdivision B(1).

C. In a case arising out of a residential lease[ , a ] and
upon written request of the landlord, the magiste-
rial district judge shall reissue an order for posses-
sion for no more than two additional 60-day peri-
ods. A request for reissuance of an order for possession
may be filed only within [ 120 ] 180 days of the date of
the entry of the judgment or, in a case in which the order
for possession is issued and subsequently superseded by
an appeal, writ of certiorari, supersedeas, or a stay
pursuant to a bankruptcy proceeding or other federal or
state law or Rule 514.1C, only within [ 120 ] 180 days of
the date the appeal, writ of certiorari, or supersedeas is
stricken, dismissed, or otherwise terminated or the bank-
ruptcy or other stay is lifted.

D. A written request for reissuance of the order for
possession, filed after an appeal, writ of certiorari, or
supersedeas 1is stricken, dismissed, or otherwise termi-
nated, or a bankruptcy or other stay is lifted, must be
accompanied by a copy of the court order or other
documentation striking, dismissing, or terminating the
appeal, writ of certiorari, or supersedeas, or lifting the
bankruptcy or other stay.

Official Note: The order for possession deals only with
delivery of possession of real property and not with a levy
for money damages. A landlord who seeks execution of the
money judgment part of the judgment must proceed
under Rule 521A, using the forms and procedure there
prescribed. The reason for making this distinction is that
the printed notice requirements on the two forms, and the
procedures involved in the two matters, differ widely.

Subdivision B provides for reissuance of the order for
possession for one additional 60-day period. However,
pursuant to subdivision C, in cases arising out of a
residential lease, the request for reissuance of the order
for possession must be filed within [ 120 ] 180 days of the
date of the entry of the judgment or, in a case in which
the order for possession is issued and subsequently
superseded by an appeal, writ of certiorari, supersedeas or
a stay pursuant to a bankruptcy proceeding or other
federal or state law or Rule 514.1C, only within [ 120 ]
180 days of the date the appeal, writ of certiorari, or
supersedeas 1is stricken, dismissed, or otherwise termi-
nated, or the bankruptcy or other stay is lifted. In a case
arising out of a residential lease, the magisterial
district judge may reissue the order for possession
for no more than two additional 60-day periods. The
additional 60-day period need not necessarily immediately
follow the original 60-day period of issuance. The written
request for reissuance may be in any form and may
consist of a notation on the permanent copy of the request
for order for possession form, “Reissuance of order for
possession requested,” subscribed by the landlord. The
magisterial district judge shall mark all copies of the
reissued order for possession, “Reissued. Request for
reissuance filed (time and date).” A new form
may be used upon reissuance, those portions retained
from the original being exact copies although signatures
may be typed or printed with the mark “/s/.” There are no
filing costs for reissuing an order for possession, for the
reissuance is merely a continuation of the original pro-
ceeding. However, there may be additional server costs for
service of the reissued order for possession.

The magisterial district court shall enter stays in
compliance with federal or state law, such as the
Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, 50 U.S.C. §§ 3901 et
seq.

In many judicial districts, appeals of magisterial dis-
trict court judgments are submitted to compulsory arbi-
tration pursuant to Pa.R.C.P. Nos. 1301—1314. If, after
the arbitration, the prothonotary enters an award for
possession on the docket in favor of the landlord and the
tenant fails to maintain the supersedeas required by Rule
1008 prior to the prothonotary entering judgment on the
award, then the landlord may terminate the supersedeas
pursuant to Rule 1008B and request an order of posses-
sion from the magisterial district judge pursuant to Rule
515. If the prothonotary enters an award on the docket in
favor of the tenant and the tenant fails to maintain the
supersedeas prior to the prothonotary entering judgment
on the award, the landlord may not obtain an order of
possession between the time that the prothonotary enters
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the arbitration award on the docket and the time that the
landlord files a notice of appeal.

The time limits in which the landlord must request
reissuance of an order for possession imposed in subdivi-
sion C apply only in cases arising out of residential leases
and in no way affect the landlord’s ability to execute on
the money judgment. See Rule 521A.

FINAL REPORT"

Recommendation 4-2020,
Minor Court Rules Committee

Amendment of Pa.R.C.PM.D.J. Nos. 515 and 516

EXTENSION OF TIME FOR A LANDLORD TO
REQUEST AN ORDER FOR POSSESSION IN A
RESIDENTIAL LEASE CASE

I. Introduction

The Minor Court Rules Committee (“Committee”) rec-
ommended amendments to Rules 515 and 516 of the
Pennsylvania Rules of Civil Procedure Governing Actions
and Proceedings Before Magisterial District Judges
(“Rules”). The amendments will permit a landlord in a
case involving a residential lease to request an order for
possession within 180 days from the date of entry of
judgment rather than the current 120 days. The recom-
mendation is necessitated by exigent circumstances re-
quiring the immediate adoption of the proposal and is
adopted in accordance with Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(a)(3), with-
out prior publication for public comment.

II. Background and Discussion

Following the issuance of a judgment in a landlord-
tenant case and the requisite waiting period, a landlord
seeking to regain property must file a request for an
order for possession with the magisterial district court.
See Rule 515. In residential landlord-tenant cases, the
landlord must file the request for an order for possession
no later than 120 days from the date of entry of the
judgment. See Rule 515B(1). Certain actions will stay the
period within which a request for order for possession
must be filed, such as an appeal or writ of certiorari
operating as a supersedeas, or a bankruptcy or other stay
required by state or federal law. See Rule 515B(2).

Since the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Court,
the federal government, the Governor, and the Centers
for Disease Control and Prevention (“CDC”), inter alia,
have promulgated laws and orders suspending certain
residential evictions.? One of the most recent orders
staying some residential evictions, issued by the CDC,
will expire on December 31, 2020.

The Committee received correspondence recommending
an extension of the 120-day period within which a
landlord must file a request for an order for possession in
a residential landlord-tenant case. An extension would
provide the parties with greater flexibility to negotiate
and enter into private forbearance agreements. Such
private agreements could allow the tenants additional
time in which to satisfy back rent obligations while

! The Committee’s Final Report should not be confused with the Official Notes to the
Rules. Also, the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania does not adopt the Committee’s
Official Notes or the contents of the explanatory Final Reports.

2 See Order of March 18, 2020, Nos. 531 and 532 Judicial Administration Docket, In
re: General Statewide Judicial Emergency, pp. 8-9 (suspending eviction, ejectment, or
other displacement from a residence based upon the failure to make a rent, loan, or
other similar payment). See also Order of April 1, 2020, Nos. 531 and 532 Judicial
Administration Docket, In re: General Statewide Judicial Emergency, p. 6, Second
Supplemental Order; Order of April 28, 2020, Nos. 531 and 532 Judicial Administra-
tion Docket, In re: General Statewide Judicial Emergency, p. 12. See also Coronavirus
Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act, P.L. 116-136 (“CARES Act”); Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania, Executive Order May 7, 2020, § 2, as amended, May 21, 2020;
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Executive Order July 9, 2020, § 2; Temporary Halt in
Residential Evictions to Prevent the Further Spread of COVID-19, 85 Fed. Reg. 55292
(Sept. 4, 2020) (“CDC Order”).

maintaining current rental payments and housing status.
Therefore, the Committee recommended increasing the
time period within which a landlord must file a request
for an order for possession in a residential lease case from
120 days to 180 days.

III. Rule Changes

Rules 515 and 516 are amended to provide for 180 days
within which a landlord in a residential lease case must
request an order for possession. Rule 516C is further
amended to provide that upon written request of the
landlord in a case arising out of a residential lease, the
magisterial district judge shall reissue an order for
possession for no more than two additional 60-day peri-
ods.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 20-1768. Filed for public inspection December 18, 2020, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 255—LOCAL COURT RULES

LEBANON COUNTY

Rules of Civil Procedure; Administrative Order No.
9 of 2020; Doc. No. 2020-00021

Order of Court

And Now, this 7th day of December, 2020, in compli-
ance with Rule 1018.1 of the Pennsylvania Rules of Civil
Procedure, it is Hereby Ordered that the Court adopts the
following Rule of Civil Procedure Rule 1018.1 regarding
Address in Notice to Defend.

The District Court Administrator is Hereby Ordered to:

1. File one certified copy of this Order with the Admin-
istrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts to adminrules@
pacourts.us;

2. Submit two paper copies of this Order to the Legisla-
tive Reference Bureau and one electronic copy in
Microsoft Word format only to bulletin@palrb.us for publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin;

3. Provide one copy of this Order to the members of the
Lebanon County Bar Association;

4. Incorporate the Rule into the set of Local Rules
within thirty (30) days of publication of the Local Rule in
the Pennsylvania Bulletin and publish the rules on the
Court’s website at www.lebcounty.org.

5. File this Order in the Prothonotary’s Office of Leba-
non County.

Rule 52-1018.1. Address in Notice to Defend.

The address to be included in the Notice to Defend
required by Pa.R.C.P. 1018.1 shall be as follows:

Mid-Penn Legal Services
1150 Chestnut Street, Suite 1
Lebanon, PA 17042

(717) 274-2834

By the Court

JOHN C. TYLWALK,
President Judge
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 20-1769. Filed for public inspection December 18, 2020, 9:00 a.m.]
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DISCIPLINARY BOARD OF
THE SUPREME COURT

Notice of Disbarment

Notice is hereby given that Jason Edward Rheinstein
(# 205996), having been disbarred in Maryland, the
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania issued an Order on
December 9, 2020, disbarring Jason Edward Rheinstein
from the Bar of this Commonwealth, effective January 8,
2021. In accordance with Rule 217(f), Pa.R.D.E., since
this formerly admitted attorney resides outside of the
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, this notice is published
in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

MARCEE D. SLOAN,
Board Prothonotary
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 20-1770. Filed for public inspection December 18, 2020, 9:00 a.m.]

DISCIPLINARY BOARD OF
THE SUPREME COURT

Notice of Hearing

A Petition for Reinstatement to the active practice of
law has been filed by Jon Ari Lefkowitz and will be the
subject of a hearing on February 16, 2021 before a
hearing committee designated by the Board. Anyone
wishing to be heard in reference to this matter should
contact the District I Office of the Disciplinary Board of
the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, 1601 Market St.,
Suite 3320, Philadelphia, PA, 19103, phone number (215)
560-6296, on or before February 2, 2021.

MARCEE D. SLOAN,
Board Prothonotary

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 20-1771. Filed for public inspection December 18, 2020, 9:00 a.m.]
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