
THE COURTS
Title 246—MINOR COURT

CIVIL RULES
PART I. GENERAL

[ 246 PA. CODE CH. 500 ]
Order Amending Rules 515 and 516 of the Penn-

sylvania Rules of Civil Procedure Governing
Actions and Proceedings Before Magisterial Dis-
trict Judges; No. 456 Magisterial Rules Doc.

Order
Per Curiam

And Now, this 4th day of June, 2021, upon the
recommendation of the Minor Court Rules Committee;
the proposal having been published for public comment at
51 Pa.B. 422 (January 23, 2021):

It is Ordered pursuant to Article V, Section 10 of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania that Rules 515 and 516 of
the Pennsylvania Rules of Civil Procedure Governing
Actions and Proceedings Before Magisterial District
Judges are amended in the following form.

This Order shall be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(b), and shall be effective on January 1,
2022.

Annex A
TITLE 246. MINOR COURT CIVIL RULES

PART I. GENERAL
CHAPTER 500. ACTIONS FOR THE RECOVERY OF

POSSESSION OF REAL PROPERTY
Rule 515. Request for Order for Possession.

A. If the magisterial district judge has rendered a
judgment arising out of a non-residential lease that the
real property be delivered up to the landlord, the landlord
may, after the 15th day following the date of the entry of
the judgment, file with the magisterial district judge a
request for an order for possession. The request shall
include a statement of the judgment amount, return, and
all other matters required by these rules.

B.(1) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision B(2),
if the magisterial district judge has rendered a judgment
arising out of a residential lease that the real property be
delivered up to the landlord, the landlord may after the
10th day but within [ 180 ] 120 days following the date of
the entry of the judgment, file with the magisterial
district judge a request for an order for possession. The
request shall include a statement of the judgment
amount, return, and all other matters required by these
rules.

(2) In a case arising out of a residential lease, if before
the landlord requests an order for possession,

(a) an appeal or writ of certiorari operates as a
supersedeas; or

(b) proceedings in the matter are stayed pursuant to a
bankruptcy proceeding or other federal or state law; and

(c) the supersedeas or the bankruptcy or other stay is
subsequently stricken, dismissed, lifted, or otherwise ter-
minated so as to allow the landlord to proceed to request
an order for possession,

the landlord may request an order for possession only
within [ 180 ] 120 days of the date the supersedeas or
the bankruptcy or other stay is stricken, dismissed, lifted,
or otherwise terminated.

Official Note: The 15 days in subdivision A of this
rule, when added to the 16-day period provided for in
Rule 519A, will give the tenant time to obtain a
supersedeas within the appeal period. See Rules 1002,
1008, 1009, and 1013.

The 1995 amendment to section 513 of The Landlord
and Tenant Act of 1951, 68 P.S. § 250.513, established a
10-day appeal period from a judgment for possession of
real estate arising out of a residential lease. See also Rule
1002B(1). Rule 1002B(2)(a) provides for a 30-day appeal
period for tenants who are victims of domestic violence.
In most cases, the filing of the request for an order for
possession in subdivision B(1) is not permitted until after
the appeal period has expired. In cases arising out of a
residential lease, the request for an order for possession
generally must be filed within [ 180 ] 120 days of the
date of the entry of the judgment.

If the tenant is a victim of domestic violence, he or she
may file a domestic violence affidavit to stay the execu-
tion of the order for possession until the tenant files an
appeal with the prothonotary pursuant to Rule 1002,
30 days after the date of entry of the judgment, or by
order of the court of common pleas, whichever is earlier.
See Rule 514.1C. No posting of money or bond is required
to obtain a stay with the filing of a domestic violence
affidavit; however, upon the filing of an appeal pursuant
to Rule 1002, the stay is lifted, and the supersedeas
requirements of Rule 1008 shall apply.

The magisterial district court shall enter stays in
compliance with federal or state law, such as the
Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, 50 U.S.C. §§ 3901 et
seq.

Subdivision B(2) provides that in a case arising out of a
residential lease, if a supersedeas (resulting from an
appeal or writ of certiorari) or bankruptcy or other stay is
stricken, dismissed, lifted, or otherwise terminated, thus
allowing the landlord to proceed with requesting an order
for possession, the request may be filed only within
[ 180 ] 120 days of the date the supersedeas or the
bankruptcy or other stay is stricken, dismissed, lifted, or
otherwise terminated.

In many judicial districts, appeals of magisterial dis-
trict court judgments are submitted to compulsory arbi-
tration pursuant to Pa.R.C.P. Nos. 1301—1314. If, after
the arbitration, the prothonotary enters an award for
possession on the docket in favor of the landlord and the
tenant fails to maintain the supersedeas required by Rule
1008 prior to the prothonotary entering judgment on the
award, then the landlord may terminate the supersedeas
pursuant to Rule 1008B and request an order of posses-
sion from the magisterial district judge pursuant to Rule
515. If the prothonotary enters an award on the docket in
favor of the tenant and the tenant fails to maintain the
supersedeas prior to the prothonotary entering judgment
on the award, the landlord may not obtain an order of
possession between the time that the prothonotary enters
the arbitration award on the docket and the time that the
landlord files a notice of appeal.

The time limits in which the landlord must request an
order for possession imposed in subdivision B apply only
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in cases arising out of residential leases and in no way
affect the landlord’s ability to execute on the money
judgment. See Rule 516, Note, and Rule 521A.

At the time the landlord files the request for an order
for possession, the magisterial district court should collect
server fees for all actions through delivery of possession.
Thereafter, if the order for possession is satisfied 48 hours
or more prior to a scheduled delivery of possession, a
portion of the server costs may be refundable. See Rules
516 through 520 and 44 Pa.C.S. § 7161(d).
Rule 516. Issuance and Reissuance of Order for

Possession.

A. Upon the timely filing of the request form, the
magisterial district judge shall issue the order for posses-
sion and shall deliver it for service and execution to the
sheriff of, or any certified constable in, the county in
which the office of the magisterial district judge is
situated. If this service is not available to the magisterial
district judge, service may be made by any certified
constable of the Commonwealth. The order shall direct
the officer executing it to deliver actual possession of the
real property to the landlord. The magisterial district
judge shall attach a copy of the request form to the order
for possession.

B.(1) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision C,
upon written request of the landlord the magisterial
district judge shall reissue an order for possession for one
additional 60-day period.

(2) If an order for possession is issued and subse-
quently superseded by an appeal, writ of certiorari,
supersedeas, or a stay pursuant to a bankruptcy proceed-
ing or other federal or state law or Rule 514.1C, and

(a) the appeal, writ of certiorari, or supersedeas is
stricken, dismissed, or otherwise terminated; or

(b) the bankruptcy or other stay is lifted; and

(c) the landlord wishes to proceed with the order for
possession,

the landlord must file with the magisterial district
judge a written request for reissuance of the order for
possession in accordance with subdivision B(1).

C. In a case arising out of a residential lease [ and
upon written request of the landlord, the magiste-
rial district judge shall reissue an order for posses-
sion for no more than two additional 60-day peri-
ods. A ], a request for reissuance of an order for
possession may be filed only within [ 180 ] 120 days of
the date of the entry of the judgment or, in a case in
which the order for possession is issued and subsequently
superseded by an appeal, writ of certiorari, supersedeas,
or a stay pursuant to a bankruptcy proceeding or other
federal or state law or Rule 514.1C, only within [ 180 ]
120 days of the date the appeal, writ of certiorari, or
supersedeas is stricken, dismissed, or otherwise termi-
nated or the bankruptcy or other stay is lifted.

D. A written request for reissuance of the order for
possession, filed after an appeal, writ of certiorari, or
supersedeas is stricken, dismissed, or otherwise termi-
nated, or a bankruptcy or other stay is lifted, must be
accompanied by a copy of the court order or other
documentation striking, dismissing, or terminating the
appeal, writ of certiorari, or supersedeas, or lifting the
bankruptcy or other stay.

Official Note: The order for possession deals only with
delivery of possession of real property and not with a levy

for money damages. A landlord who seeks execution of the
money judgment part of the judgment must proceed
under Rule 521A, using the forms and procedure there
prescribed. The reason for making this distinction is that
the printed notice requirements on the two forms, and the
procedures involved in the two matters, differ widely.

Subdivision B provides for reissuance of the order for
possession for one additional 60-day period. However,
pursuant to subdivision C, in cases arising out of a
residential lease, the request for reissuance of the order
for possession must be filed within [ 180 ] 120 days of the
date of the entry of the judgment or, in a case in which
the order for possession is issued and subsequently
superseded by an appeal, writ of certiorari, supersedeas or
a stay pursuant to a bankruptcy proceeding or other
federal or state law or Rule 514.1C, only within [ 180 ]
120 days of the date the appeal, writ of certiorari, or
supersedeas is stricken, dismissed, or otherwise termi-
nated, or the bankruptcy or other stay is lifted. [ In a
case arising out of a residential lease, the magiste-
rial district judge may reissue the order for posses-
sion for no more than two additional 60-day peri-
ods. ] The additional 60-day period need not necessarily
immediately follow the original 60-day period of issuance.
The written request for reissuance may be in any form
and may consist of a notation on the permanent copy of
the request for order for possession form, ‘‘Reissuance of
order for possession requested,’’ subscribed by the land-
lord. The magisterial district judge shall mark all copies
of the reissued order for possession, ‘‘Reissued. Request
for reissuance filed (time and date).’’ A new
form may be used upon reissuance, those portions re-
tained from the original being exact copies although
signatures may be typed or printed with the mark ‘‘/s/.’’
There are no filing costs for reissuing an order for
possession, for the reissuance is merely a continuation of
the original proceeding. However, there may be additional
server costs for service of the reissued order for posses-
sion.

The magisterial district court shall enter stays in
compliance with federal or state law, such as the
Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, 50 U.S.C. §§ 3901 et
seq.

In many judicial districts, appeals of magisterial dis-
trict court judgments are submitted to compulsory arbi-
tration pursuant to Pa.R.C.P. Nos. 1301—1314. If, after
the arbitration, the prothonotary enters an award for
possession on the docket in favor of the landlord and the
tenant fails to maintain the supersedeas required by Rule
1008 prior to the prothonotary entering judgment on the
award, then the landlord may terminate the supersedeas
pursuant to Rule 1008B and request an order of posses-
sion from the magisterial district judge pursuant to Rule
515. If the prothonotary enters an award on the docket in
favor of the tenant and the tenant fails to maintain the
supersedeas prior to the prothonotary entering judgment
on the award, the landlord may not obtain an order of
possession between the time that the prothonotary enters
the arbitration award on the docket and the time that the
landlord files a notice of appeal.

The time limits in which the landlord must request
reissuance of an order for possession imposed in subdivi-
sion C apply only in cases arising out of residential leases
and in no way affect the landlord’s ability to execute on
the money judgment. See Rule 521A.
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FINAL REPORT1

Recommendation 3-2021, Minor Court Rules
Committee

Amendment of Pa.R.C.P.M.D.J. No. 515 and 516
CHANGE OF TIME FOR A LANDLORD TO

REQUEST AN ORDER FOR POSSESSION IN A
RESIDENTIAL LEASE CASE

I. Introduction
In 2020, the Minor Court Rules Committee (‘‘Commit-

tee’’) recommended and the Supreme Court of Pennsylva-
nia (‘‘Court’’) approved amendments to Rules 515 and 516
of the Pennsylvania Rules of Civil Procedure Governing
Actions and Proceedings Before Magisterial District
Judges (‘‘Rules’’).2 The amendments permitted a landlord
in a case involving a residential lease to request an order
for possession within 180 days from the date of entry of
judgment rather than the prior 120-day period. The
Committee recommended that the amendments were ne-
cessitated by exigent circumstances related to the
COVID-19 pandemic requiring the immediate adoption of
the proposal and they were adopted in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(a)(3), without prior publication for
public comment. The Committee subsequently published
the amendments for public comment and, based on
feedback, recommended that the deadline revert back to
the 120-day period.
II. Background and Discussion

By way of background, prior to the adoption of the
recent amendments, a landlord seeking to regain property
must file a request for an order for possession with the
magisterial district court following the issuance of a
judgment in a landlord-tenant case and the requisite
waiting period. See Rule 515. In residential landlord-
tenant cases, the landlord must file the request for an
order for possession no later than 120 days of the date of
entry of the judgment. See Rule 515B(1). The recent
amendments extended this deadline to 180 days. Certain
filings stay the deadline for filing a request for order for
possession, such as an appeal or writ of certiorari operat-
ing as a supersedeas, or a bankruptcy or other stay
required by state or federal law. See Rule 515B(2).

The Committee received correspondence recommending
an extension of the 120-day period within which a
landlord must file a request for an order for possession in
a residential landlord-tenant case. Extending the deadline
would provide the parties with greater flexibility to
negotiate and enter into private forbearance agreements.
Such private agreements could allow the tenants addi-
tional time in which to satisfy back rent obligations while
maintaining current rental payments and housing status.
Therefore, the Committee recommended increasing the
time period within which a landlord must file a request
for an order for possession in a residential lease case from
120 days to 180 days.

The Court approved the recommendation on December
4, 2020 with an effective date of January 1, 2021. The
Court also directed the Committee to publish the proposal
for public comment and advise the Court whether these
measures should remain in place. The proposal was made
available on the Committee website on January 12, 2021
and published at 51 Pa.B. 422 (January 23, 2021).

The Committee received comments from groups ex-
pressing concern that the extended deadline does not

benefit tenants, but rather places tenants in situations
where they are disadvantaged by unequal bargaining
power between the parties. For example, a tenant may be
induced to enter into an unaffordable payment plan to
retain housing. The Committee did not receive any
comments in favor of the extension or suggesting that it
remain in place. Therefore, the Committee was persuaded
that the prior time limitation should be reinstated, and
made that recommendation to the Court.

III. Rule Changes

Rules 515 and 516 are amended to provide for 120 days
within which a landlord in a residential lease case must
request an order for possession, which was the deadline
in place prior to January 1, 2021.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 21-948. Filed for public inspection June 18, 2021, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 246—MINOR COURT
CIVIL RULES
PART I. GENERAL

[ 246 PA. CODE CH. 1200 ]
Proposed Amendment of Pa.R.C.P.M.D.J. No.

1208—1211

The Minor Court Rules Committee is considering pro-
posing to the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania the amend-
ment of Pa.R.C.P.M.D.J. No. 1208—1211 relating to or-
ders denying petitions for emergency protection from
abuse or petitions for protection from sexual violence or
intimidation for the reasons set forth in the accompany-
ing Publication Report. Pursuant to Pa.R.J.A. No.
103(a)(1), the proposal is being published in the Pennsyl-
vania Bulletin for comments, suggestions, or objections
prior to submission to the Supreme Court.

Any reports, notes, or comments in the proposal have
been inserted by the Committee for the convenience of
those using the rules. They neither will constitute a part
of the rules nor be officially adopted by the Supreme
Court.

The Committee invites all interested persons to submit
comments, suggestions, or objections in writing to:

Pamela S. Walker, Counsel
Minor Court Rules Committee

Supreme Court of Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania Judicial Center

PO Box 62635
Harrisburg, PA 17106-2635

FAX: 717-231-9546
minorrules@pacourts.us

All communications in reference to the proposal should
be received by August 11, 2021. E-mail is the preferred
method for submitting comments, suggestions, or objec-
tions; any e-mailed submission need not be reproduced
and resubmitted via mail. The Committee will acknowl-
edge receipt of all submissions.

By the Minor Court Rules Committee
HONORABLE MARGARET A. HUNSICKER,

Chair

1 The Committee’s Final Report should not be confused with the Official Notes to the
Rules. Also, the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania does not adopt the Committee’s
Official Notes or the contents of the explanatory Final Reports.

2 See Order of December 4, 2020, No. 449 Magisterial Rules Docket.
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Annex A

TITLE 246. MINOR COURT CIVIL RULES

PART I. GENERAL

CHAPTER 1200. ACTIONS FOR EMERGENCY
PROTECTIVE RELIEF

Rule 1208. Findings and Protection Orders; Denial Or-
ders.

A.(1) If the hearing officer, upon good cause shown,
finds it necessary to protect the plaintiff or minor chil-
dren from abuse, the hearing officer may grant relief in
accordance with Section 6110(a) of the Protection From
Abuse Act, 23 Pa.C.S. § 6110(a), and make any protection
orders necessary to effectuate that relief. Immediate and
present danger of abuse to the plaintiff or minor children
shall constitute good cause.

(2) If the hearing officer, upon good cause shown, finds
it necessary to protect the plaintiff or another individual
in connection with claims of sexual violence or intimida-
tion, the hearing officer may grant relief in accordance
with 42 Pa.C.S. § 62A09(a), and make any protection
orders necessary to effectuate that relief. Immediate and
present danger posed by the defendant to the plaintiff or
another individual shall constitute good cause.

B. If the hearing officer does not find good cause
pursuant to subdivision A(1) or A(2), the hearing
officer shall issue an order denying the petition.

C. The hearing officer shall enter on the petition form
the findings and any protection orders made or other
action taken.

Official Note: [ Subparagraph ] Subdivision A(1)
of this rule permits the hearing officer to grant limited
relief in accordance with 23 Pa.C.S. § 6108(a)(1), (2), and
(6) or (1) and (6). [ Subparagraph ] Subdivision A(2) of
this rule permits the hearing officer to grant limited relief
to plaintiffs in accordance with 42 Pa.C.S. § 62A07(b).
Subdivision B provides for the issuance of an order
denying the petition for emergency relief.

Rule 1209. Service and Execution of Emergency Protec-
tion Orders; Denial Orders.

A. [ The ] (1) If the hearing officer grants the re-
quested emergency relief in whole or in part, then
the hearing officer shall provide to the plaintiff a copy
of [ a ] the protection order made under Rule 1208. The
hearing officer or, when necessary, the plaintiff shall
immediately deliver a service copy of any protection order
made under Rule [ 1208 ] 1208A to a police officer, police
department, sheriff, or certified constable for service upon
the defendant and execution. After making reasonable
effort, if the executing officer is unable to serve the
protection order upon the defendant in a timely fashion,
the executing officer shall leave a service copy of the
petition form containing the order with the police depart-
ment with jurisdiction over the area in which the plaintiff
resides for service upon the defendant, and shall advise
such police department that the order could not be
served.

[ B. When a ] (2) If the protection order is issued
under Rule [ 1208 ] 1208A(2) in accordance with 42
Pa.C.S. § 62A09(a), the hearing officer shall:

[ (1) ] (a) within two business days, serve the order
upon the police department, sheriff, and district attorney
in the jurisdiction where the order was entered, and

[ (2) ] (b) in the case of a minor victim of sexual
violence, serve a copy of the petition and order upon the
county agency (as defined by 23 Pa.C.S. § 6303) and the
Department of Human Services.

B.(1) If the hearing officer denies the requested
emergency relief, the hearing officer shall provide
to the plaintiff the order issued under Rule 1208B.
The denial order shall not be served upon the
defendant.

(2) The denial order and the underlying petition
are not public records.

Official Note: The hearing officer [ should ] shall
provide the plaintiff with at least one copy of a protection
order granting the requested relief, but more than one
copy may be needed. For example, the plaintiff may wish
to serve the order upon multiple police departments when
the plaintiff lives and works in different police jurisdic-
tions, etc. If it is necessary for the plaintiff to deliver the
protection order to the executing officer, the hearing
officer should make sure that the plaintiff fully under-
stands the process and what must be done to have the
order served upon the defendant. The hearing officer
should make every effort to have the protection order
served by a law enforcement officer in a timely fashion.
The Rule requires that if the executing officer is unable to
serve the protection order in a timely fashion, the execut-
ing officer shall leave a service copy of the order with the
police department with jurisdiction over the area in which
the plaintiff resides. This was thought advisable so that
the local police would have a service copy in case they
[ would be ] are called to the plaintiff ’s residence
[ should ] if the defendant [ return ] returns there.
Due to the emergency nature of these protection orders
and the fact that to be meaningful they must be served
and executed at night or on a weekend, the hearing
officer should have the authority to use police officers as
well as sheriffs and certified constables to serve and
execute these orders. Protection orders issued under Rule
[ 1208 ] 1208A(2) in accordance with 42 Pa.C.S. § 62A09
(providing for protection of victims of sexual violence or
intimidation) are subject to additional service require-
ments. See Section 6109(a) of the Protection From Abuse
Act, 23 Pa.C.S. § 6109(a), and 42 Pa.C.S. § 62A05(d).

Service shall be made without prepayment of costs. See
Rule 1206(C).

Service of protection orders upon the defendant at the
time of execution may not be possible under some circum-
stances.

The hearing officer will provide the plaintiff with
the order denying the petition for emergency relief;
the denial order is not served upon the defendant.
Neither the denial order nor the underlying peti-
tion are public records or accessible to the public
given the sensitive nature of their contents. See
Case Records Public Access Policy of the Unified
Judicial System of Pennsylvania, Section 9.0F.
Rule 1210. Duration of Emergency Protection Or-

ders.

Protection orders issued under Rule [ 1208 ] 1208A
shall expire at the end of the next business day the court
deems itself available.

* * * * *
Rule 1211. Certification to Court of Common Pleas.

A. Any protection order issued under Rule [ 1208 ]
1208A, together with any documentation in support
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thereof, shall immediately be certified to the court of
common pleas by the hearing officer.

* * * * *
PUBLICATION REPORT

Proposed Amendment of Pa.R.C.P.M.D.J.
No. 1208—1211

The Minor Court Rules Committee (‘‘Committee’’) is
considering proposing to the Supreme Court of Pennsylva-
nia the amendment of Rules 1208—1211 of the Pennsyl-
vania Rules of Civil Procedure Governing Actions and
Proceedings Before Magisterial District Judges (‘‘Rules’’).
The proposal relates to orders denying petitions for
emergency protection from abuse or petitions for protec-
tion from sexual violence or intimidation. The proposal
was first published for public comment at 49 Pa.B. 1772
(April 13, 2019). The Committee modified the proposal in
response to comments received following the 2019 publi-
cation.

Background

The Committee received an inquiry from a magisterial
district court questioning if a copy of an order denying a
petition for emergency protection from abuse should be
served on the defendant. The inquirer expressed concern
that sending the denial order to the defendant could
aggravate tensions between the parties and put the
plaintiff in potential danger. The Committee determined
that relevant statutes and rules are silent on the matter
of service of an emergency denial order. This void resulted
in divergent local practices in magisterial district courts
for processing a denial order—some courts sent it to the
defendant, while others placed it in the court’s file or
forwarded it to the court of common pleas without
sending a copy to the defendant. The Committee believed
it would be preferable to have a standardized statewide
practice for these cases.

After reviewing relevant statutes and rules, as well as
the Case Records Public Access Policy of the Unified
Judicial System of Pennsylvania (‘‘Policy’’), the Committee
considered the fairness of withholding a denial order from
a defendant in an adversarial (albeit ex parte) proceeding
when the denial order and underlying petition could be
accessed by the public. The Committee further considered
the concern raised in the initial inquiry—the potential
harm to a plaintiff if the defendant is notified of the
denial order. Notifying the defendant of the court’s denial
order would inform him or her of the plaintiff ’s attempt
to seek emergency protective relief from the court, while
leaving the plaintiff without any court-ordered protection.
However, the Committee aimed to balance the safety of
plaintiffs seeking emergency protection with the due
process rights of defendants.

The Committee published for public comment proposed
amendments to rules governing emergency protective
actions. The proposed amendments to Rule 1208 would
have required hearing officers in emergency protection
actions to issue an order denying the requested relief
when the hearing officer did not find it necessary to
protect the plaintiff or another individual. The proposed
amendments to Rule 1209 would have required the
hearing officer to send the denial order to the defendant
by first class mail no sooner than 48 hours after issuance
of the denial order. The 48-hour delay in the mailing of

the denial order to the defendant was intended to provide
the plaintiff with time to implement a safety plan or seek
a temporary protection order from a court of common
pleas. Public comment to the proposal was largely nega-
tive and expressed concern for the safety of plaintiffs. The
Committee revisited the proposal and is considering
recommending an alternative approach to the Court.
Discussion

The Committee continues to seek uniform processing of
denial orders and balancing of the safety of the plaintiff
with the due process rights of the defendant. While the
Committee proposed a 48-hour delay in serving a denial
order on a defendant in 2019, it ultimately came to the
conclusion that there was no optimal period of time to
serve the denial order on the defendant such that the
plaintiff ’s safety is ensured. A defendant receiving a
denial order 10, 30, or 60 days after its issuance may be
as likely to be provoked as a defendant receiving the
order 48 hours later. Since the Committee is not satisfied
that the denial order can be served on the defendant
without risk of harm to the plaintiff, the Committee is
considering proposing to the Court that a denial order not
be served on the defendant and that public access to the
denial order and underlying petition is prohibited.

Currently, an order denying a petition for emergency
protective relief constitutes a public record within the
context of the Policy, subject to certain content restric-
tions; a denial order could be issued and made available
to the public without the defendant’s knowledge. See
Policy, §§ 1.0B(2), 3.0. If the defendant is not going to be
served with a copy of the denial order, it stands to reason
that the public should not have access to it. The Policy
designates information that is not accessible by the public
at a court facility, including ‘‘[i]nformation to which access
is otherwise restricted by federal law, state law, or state
court rule.’’ Id., § 9.0F. Because the definition of ‘‘public’’
does not include a party to a case, a defendant would be
able to obtain a copy of the petition and denial order in
the case because he or she is a named party. See id.,
§ 1.0N. The Committee cannot predict the likelihood of a
defendant in an emergency protective matter subse-
quently becoming aware of the existence of the petition
and denial order and seeking access to them, but this
proposal provides a better balancing between plaintiff
safety and defendant due process.
Proposed Rule Changes

Rule 1208 would be amended to add a new paragraph
requiring the hearing officer to issue an order denying the
emergency petition if the hearing officer does not find it
necessary to protect the plaintiff or another individual
from abuse or in connection with claims of sexual violence
or intimidation. Rule 1209 would be amended to require
the hearing officer to provide the plaintiff with the denial
order and clarifies that the denial order is not served on
the defendant. The proposed amendments to Rule 1209
also specifies the denial order and underlying petition are
not public records or available to the public. Other
amendments update cross-references and make minor
stylistic and grammatical changes.

The Committee invites all comments, concerns, and
suggestions regarding this proposal.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 21-949. Filed for public inspection June 18, 2021, 9:00 a.m.]
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