
RULES AND REGULATIONS
Title 49—PROFESSIONAL AND

VOCATIONAL STANDARDS
STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF NURSING

HOME ADMINISTRATORS
[ 49 PA. CODE CH. 39 ]
Continuing Education

The State Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Admin-
istrators (Board) amends §§ 39.1, 39.11, 39.44, 39.51,
39.52 and 39.61, adds §§ 39.11a and 39.11b (relating to
reactivation; and continued competence) and deletes
§ 39.71 (relating to licensure renewal) to read as set forth
in Annex A.
Effective Date

The amendments will be effective upon publication of
this final-form rulemaking in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.
The changes to continuing education clock hours require-
ments will be applied for the first time beginning with
continuing education completed during the July 1, 2022—
June 30, 2024, biennial period.
Statutory Authority

Section 9(b) of the Nursing Home Administrators Li-
cense Act (act) (63 P.S. § 1109(b)) requires licensees to
complete not less than 24 hours of Board-approved con-
tinuing education courses and programs as a condition of
biennial renewal. Section 9(e) of the act addresses reacti-
vation of expired or inactive licenses. Section 4(a)(9) of
the act (63 P.S. § 1104(a)(9)) provides the statutory
authority for the proposed continued competency provi-
sion. Section 4(a)(9) of the act authorizes the Board to
develop standards of professional practice and standards
of professional conduct appropriate to establish and main-
tain a high level of integrity and performance in the
practice of nursing home administration. Additionally,
section 4(c) of the act authorizes the Board to promulgate
regulations to effectuate the act.

Background and Purpose

On October 24, 2017, Governor Tom Wolf signed Execu-
tive Order 2017-03, published at 47 Pa.B. 6929 (Novem-
ber 11, 2017), requiring the Commissioner of Professional
and Occupational Affairs (Commissioner) to comprehen-
sively review and catalog the processes, fees, training
requirements, criminal history policies, portability and
continuing education requirements for occupational and
professional licensure within the purview of the 29 licens-
ing boards and commissions under the Commissioner’s
authority. The order further directed the Commissioner to
benchmark that data against regional averages from
12 states with similar or equivalent licenses that com-
prise the Northeast geographic region—Ohio, West Vir-
ginia, Maryland, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, Mas-
sachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire,
Vermont and Maine—to identify requirements or func-
tions that presented unnecessary burdens to licensure
and occupational employment within the Commonwealth.

That report, issued on June 12, 2018, revealed that the
Commonwealth carried one of the highest continuing
education requirements in the regional comparison group
for seven different occupational/professional licenses, in-
cluding nursing home administrators (NHA). The Wolf
Administration believes that public protection through

the function of continuing education must be balanced
against the burden to the regulated community. There-
fore, the Wolf Administration recommended that the
Board consider reducing the biennial requirement for
continuing education to the statutory minimum.

The Board initially considered reducing the required
continuing education to at least 24 hours, as recom-
mended. However, after discussion with stakeholders who
opposed the reduction, the Board determined that a
reduction by one-quarter to at least 36 hours per bien-
nium would reduce the burden on the regulated commu-
nity of NHAs, while at the same time ensure that
licensees obtain sufficient continuing education given the
complexities of nursing home regulation. Therefore, the
Board published the proposal to reduce the required
continuing education to a minimum of 36 clock hours,
with a proportional adjustment to the number of clock
hours awarded for various continuing education activities.
The Board also proposed additional continued competence
requirements for licensees whose licenses had expired or
become inactive for 5 years or longer. To demonstrate
continued competence to practice, these licensees would
need to either pass the licensure examinations, take
additional coursework or otherwise demonstrate that they
are or have been actively engaged in the practice of
nursing home administration in another state, have been
employed by a nursing home in a supervisory or consul-
tant capacity or have been teaching long-term care sub-
ject matter in an accredited college or university or in a
Board-approved 120-hour training program.

The proposed rulemaking was published at 50 Pa.B.
668 (February 1, 2020) for 30 days of public comment
during which time the Board received comments from
LeadingAge PA, a trade association representing more
than 370 not-for-profit providers of senior housing, health
care and community services across this Commonwealth,
and the Pennsylvania Coalition of Affiliated Healthcare
and Living Communities (PACAH), an organization that
represents a wide variety of entities in the long-term care
field, including 70 skilled nursing facilities. Following the
close of the public comment period, the Board received
comments from the Independent Regulatory Review Com-
mission (IRRC), as well as the House Professional
Licensure Committee (HPLC). The Senate Consumer
Protection and Professional Licensure Committee (SCP/
PLC) did not comment.

After reviewing the comments received, which appeared
to be generally opposed to the reduction in the number of
required continuing education hours, the Board published
an Advance Notice of Final Rulemaking (ANFR) to solicit
additional comment with regard to a change the Board
was considering. See 51 Pa.B. 1017 (February 27, 2021).
In the ANFR, the Board proposed restoring the number of
required clock hours to 48, but to require that 12 of the
48 clock hours be completed in the areas of emergency
preparedness and infection control. During the course of
developing this final-form rulemaking, the Board wit-
nessed how the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
affected the industry and the importance of NHAs being
prepared to handle and navigate these difficult circum-
stances to protect the residents in the facilities which
they oversee. Additionally, the Board proposed revisions
to the allocation of continuing education clock hours
awarded for authoring various types of publications, and
to restore the proportions of continuing education
awarded for serving as an instructor or as a supervisor in
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a Board-approved Administrator-in-Training (AIT) pro-
gram. After publication of the ANFR, the Board received
additional comments from LeadingAge PA.

The following represents a summary of the comments
received relating to the proposed rulemaking and the
ANFR and the Board’s response, followed by a description
of the amendments made to this final-form rulemaking.

Summary of Comments and the Board’s Response

Pennsylvania Coalition of Affiliated Healthcare & Living
Communities

PACAH commented that, while they appreciated the
change from the original exposure draft of the proposal
(which had proposed reducing the requirement to 24
hours), they remain opposed to any reduction in the
continuing education requirement. PACAH noted that
NHAs are required to ensure that residents receive
necessary care, that services meet stringent quality and
safety standards and that the nursing facility complies
with a myriad of ever-changing and complicated Federal
and State regulations. PACAH opines that to suggest a
reduction in the continuing education requirement is
counterintuitive, especially since there is an ‘‘obvious
correlation’’ between quality of care and increased educa-
tion. PACAH goes on to note that if the Board were to
reduce the continuing education requirement to 36 hours
biennially, it would have one of the lowest requirements
in the country. In response to PACAH’s comments, as well
as comments discussed as follows, the Board has recon-
sidered the proposed reduction and has restored the
minimum requirement to 48 hours per biennium in this
final-form rulemaking.

LeadingAge PA

Initially, LeadingAge PA commented that it appreciated
the additional flexibility provided by the Board’s proposal
to permit units of continuing education consisting of
programs 30 minutes or longer and for those programs to
be credited in 15-minute increments. LeadingAge PA also
supported the Board’s update to the methods of contact-
ing licensees to include notice by means of e-mail.
However, they indicated a preference that the Board
utilize both the e-mail address and the licensee’s address
of record to notify them of the availability of the renewal
process. In response, the Board notes that amendments to
§ 39.11(b) (relating to biennial renewal) allow the licen-
see to choose to be notified by both e-mail and regular
mail. Currently, the Pennsylvania Licensure System
(PALS) permits a licensee to choose whether to receive
correspondence from the Board through e-mail or through
the United States mail to the licensee’s address on file
with the Board. At present, the two options are mutually
exclusive in PALS—that is, one can accept e-mail notifica-
tions or choose instead to request notification through the
United States mail. This is the case for all 29 professional
and occupational licensing boards within the Bureau of
Professional and Occupational Affairs (Bureau). However,
at the request of the Board, the Bureau intends to add
the option to request notification by both e-mail and
United States mail in PALS during the summer of 2022.

Next, LeadingAge PA indicated that they appreciate
that the regulations will continue to recognize the educa-
tional value of mentoring, teaching and scholarly writing,
but asked the Board to consider restoring the number of
hours that can be attained through serving as an instruc-
tor, authoring an article or serving as a supervisor in a
Board-approved AIT program. In response to LeadingAge
PA’s comment, the Board restores the prior levels of credit
available for serving as an instructor and for serving as a

supervisor in a Board-approved AIT program. With regard
to credit for authorship, the Board revised this final-form
rulemaking to restore the prior maximums and also
added additional types of professional writing for which
credit would be granted, including authoring a book or a
chapter in a book. In addition, rather than the Board
determining on a case-by-case basis the appropriate num-
ber of clock hours to award, the Board determined that
licensees would benefit from more certainty as to the
number of credit hours that would be awarded for
professional writing activities. Therefore, the Board deter-
mined that authoring a book relating to long-term care
will earn 18 clock hours of continuing education credit,
authorizing a chapter in a book will earn 4 clock hours of
credit, authoring an article published in a peer-reviewed
journal will earn 3 hours of continuing education credit,
and authoring an article in a non-peer-reviewed journal,
magazine, newsletter or other publication will earn 2
hours of continuing education credit.

LeadingAge PA also commented that it appears that the
Board is contemplating moving to a fully online license
renewal system, which would appear to streamline the
licensing process and is likely to be beneficial to most
NHAs and their employers. However, because of the rural
nature of many parts of this Commonwealth and the lack
of Internet coverage in some areas of the State,
LeadingAge PA suggests that the Board consider provid-
ing an alternative renewal process for NHAs residing or
working in these areas. While this comment is beyond the
scope of this final-form rulemaking, the Board notes that
the Bureau has shifted to online renewals for all 29
professional and occupational licensing boards.

Next, LeadingAge PA commented on the proposed con-
tinued competency requirements for individuals seeking
to reactivate a license that had been lapsed for 5 years or
longer where the Board initially sought to require a
personal interview with the applicant. LeadingAge PA
suggested that, due to the potentially lengthy time be-
tween Board meetings and the lack of qualified NHAs,
the Board consider a way for these applicants to work
temporarily prior to appearing personally before the
Board. Upon considering this comment, the Board decided
instead to make the personal appearance optional, at the
discretion of the Board.

LeadingAge PA further suggested that the Board recon-
sider the requirement for continuing education course
providers to include the course provider number on the
participant’s certificate of attendance, noting that the
National Association of State Boards of Nursing Home
Administrators (NAB) does not include that field, and
NAB has indicated an unwillingness to conform to any
additional state guidelines. In response, the Board notes
that all continuing education courses must be approved
by either NAB or the Board. The Board assigns provider
numbers to those course providers approved by the Board.
It was not the Board’s intention to regulate NAB, but
rather only those course providers approved by the Board.
Therefore, this final-form rulemaking is amended to
clarify that the provider number is only required for those
continuing education course providers approved by the
Board.

Finally, after publication of the ANFR, LeadingAge PA
submitted additional comments. First, they appreciated
the Board’s decision to restore the 48 hours of continuing
education required, but oppose the proposal that 12 of the
48 hours be in the areas of emergency preparedness and
infection control. LeadingAge PA noted that while these
have been extremely important topics through 2020, the
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field of nursing home administration is constantly chang-
ing and needs to respond to current issues rather than
the past. In response, the Board notes that emergency
preparedness does not only apply to pandemics, but many
other occurrences that can, and do, affect nursing homes
across the country, including fire, floods, hurricanes and
other natural disasters, as well as extended power out-
ages. Infection control is not limited to COVID-19. While
the Board appreciates the need for NHAs to evaluate and
determine the areas in which they personally need addi-
tional education, there are still 36 of the 48 hours that
can be dedicated to other topics. In addition, the Board
notes that nothing in this final-form rulemaking restricts
an NHA from completing more than 48 hours of continu-
ing education per biennium.

Additionally, LeadingAge PA suggested that due to the
‘‘significant changes’’ envisioned in this final-form rule-
making, that the Board should have released a second
proposed rulemaking rather than an ANFR. Generally,
the Board would be required to publish anew as proposed
if the changes to this final-form rulemaking expand the
scope beyond that proposed by the Board. The Board does
not believe that the changes to this final-form rulemaking
expand the scope of the regulation which pertains to
continuing education and continued competence. However,
because the Board recognized that the public did not have
an opportunity to comment on the proposal to dedicate 12
hours of continuing education to these specific topic areas,
the Board decided to publish the ANFR to solicit addi-
tional comment. The ANFR was published at 51 Pa.B.
1017 (February 27, 2021) and was shared with entities
identified as having an interest in the rulemaking. In
addition, these changes were discussed in public board
meetings in 2020 and 2021. For these reasons, the Board
has elected to proceed with this final-form rulemaking.

House Professional Licensure Committee

The HPLC submitted two comments for the Board’s
consideration. First, the HPLC commented that the re-
duction in the required continuing education credits will
make the Commonwealth’s requirement lower than the
contiguous states of New Jersey, New York, Delaware,
Maryland, Ohio and West Virginia, and asks whether the
change would have any impact on the Commonwealth’s
licensees seeking licensure in one of those contiguous
states. The Board does not believe that the change would
have had any impact on individuals seeking licensure in
these states. However, based on the objections of the
regulated community, the Board has restored the continu-
ing education requirement to 48, so this should no longer
be a concern.

Additionally, the HPLC asked if the Board will develop
a process to offer its licensees a choice of which method
they prefer for notices relating to biennial renewal (e-mail
or United States mail). As noted previously, the PALS
system offers all applicants and licensees the choice of
accepting e-mail notifications or to be notified by United
States mail.

Independent Regulatory Review Commission

IRRC asked the Board to explain how lowering the
continuing education requirements for NHAs will ad-
equately protect the public health, safety and welfare.
IRRC additionally asked the Board to explain how re-
duced continuing education requirements will affect mem-
bers of the regulated community who seek licensure in
states with higher continuing education requirements.
The Board considered this and other comments from
stakeholders opposing the proposal and concluded that a

reduction of the continuing education units from 48
biennial to 36 would not be in the best interests of the
licensees or the public. Instead, the Board will keep the
current continuing education requirement at 48 hours
biennially and require that 12 of the 48 hours be
completed in emergency preparedness and infection con-
trol, as discussed previously. The Board accepts all con-
tinuing education courses approved by NAB. NAB’s ap-
proved CE Database includes a significant number of
courses in emergency preparedness and infection control
that can be completed in person or virtually. For this
reason, the Board does not believe this change will be
overly burdensome.

IRRC asked whether it is the Board’s intent not to
renew a license of an NHA who fails to meet continuing
education requirements. The Board will not renew a
license of a nursing home administrator who is unable to
certify on the renewal application that they have met
their continuing education requirements. In follow-up,
IRRC asked the Board to amend this final-form rule-
making to include clear notice that the Board will not
renew a license if the licensee fails to complete the
continuing education required by the act. The Board
maintains that § 39.11(c) gives clear notice that comple-
tion of the required continuing education is a condition of
biennial renewal. In addition, the Board has amended
§ 39.61 (relating to requirements) to reiterate that a
licensee shall complete at least 48 hours of continuing
education during the preceding biennial period as a
condition of renewal.

IRRC also commented that the language of § 39.11b(4)
was ambiguous where the proposed regulation requires
‘‘significant’’ and not ‘‘sporadic or occasional’’ involvement
in a supervisory or consultant capacity to demonstrate
continued competence. IRRC asked the Board to revise
the language to establish a standard that is predictable
for the regulated community and enforceable by the
Board. In response, the Board has amended paragraph (4)
to eliminate the ambiguous language so that a licensee
seeking to reactivate a license that has been expired for 5
or more years needs to provide documentation demon-
strating that the licensee has been employed in a nursing
home in a supervisory or consultant capacity for at least
3 of the last 5 years, a standard which is predictable and
enforceable.

Next, IRRC noted that in § 39.61(c)(3), the Board
provides for continuing education credit for authoring an
article on long-term care and that additional credit may
be awarded based on the complexity of the subject matter.
IRRC asked the Board to revise the language to establish
a standard that is predictable for the regulated commu-
nity and enforceable by the Board. In response, the Board
has replaced subsection (c) in this final-form rulemaking
with new subsection (c.1) that not only establishes pre-
dictability, but also will grant continuing education cred-
its for other types of professional writing beyond simply
‘‘articles’’ to include a book, a chapter of a book, an article
in a peer-reviewed journal and an article in a non-peer-
reviewed journal, magazine, newsletter or other publica-
tion relating to long-term care.

Finally, IRRC also questioned whether the Board will
develop a process to offer active licensees a choice of
notification of the availability of the renewal process to
the licensee’s address of record or current e-mail address
on file with the Board. In response, the Board notes that
the PALS system provides the opportunity for applicants
and licensees to accept e-mail notifications or choose to
receive notices by United States mail at the address on
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file with the Board. As mentioned previously, the Board
will explore with the Bureau the possibility of offering a
third option—to receive notifications by both e-mail and
United States mail.

Description of the Amendments to the Final-Form Rule-
making

The following describes all amendments made to this
final-form rulemaking in response to comments from the
public, the HPLC and IRRC.

Section 39.11 is amended to restore the minimum of 48
clock hours of continuing education required as a condi-
tion of renewal of an NHA’s license.

Section 39.11b is amended to make the personal ap-
pearance of the applicant discretionary, rather than man-
datory, thus permitting the Board to require a personal
appearance if there are questions relating to the docu-
mentation submitted by the applicant to demonstrate
their continued competence. Paragraph (4), pertaining to
licensees seeking to establish continued competence who
have been employed in a nursing home in a supervisory
or consultant capacity, is amended to eliminate ambigu-
ous language and make the standard more certain and
enforceable as suggested by IRRC.

The Board amends § 39.44 (relating to provider respon-
sibilities) to clarify that only those continuing education
providers approved by the Board must include their
provider number on certificates of attendance issued to
each licensee who completed the course, in recognition of
the fact that NAB does not include a provider number on
their certificates.

Section 39.61 is amended to restore the minimum of 48
clock hours of continuing education and to reiterate the
fact that completion of the required continuing education
is a condition of renewal. Subsection (a) is also amended
to provide that beginning with the continuing education
completed during the July 1, 2022—June 30, 2024,
biennial renewal period, at least 12 of the 48 hours shall
be completed in the subject areas of emergency prepared-
ness and infection control. The Board will enforce this
provision for the 2024 renewal and thereafter. Subsection
(c) is amended to restore the previous proportion of
continuing education that can be completed as an instruc-
tor (maximum of 12 clock hours), serving as a supervisor
in a Board-approved AIT program (up to 24 clock hours),
and attending programs which have not been preap-
proved (maximum of 12 clock hours). The Board has also
revised the number of clock hours provided for profes-
sional writing activities to make it more certain for
licensees, to address other professional writing beyond
articles, including authoring a book or a chapter in a
book, and to distinguish between articles published in a
peer-reviewed journal from those published in a non-peer-
reviewed journal, magazine, newsletter or other publica-
tion relating to long-term care.

Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

Because the Board is not changing the total number of
continuing education clock hours required as a condition
of renewal, the revised continuing education requirements
will not result in any fiscal impact or additional paper-
work requirements on the Board or the regulated commu-
nity.

Licensees who wish to reactivate licenses that have
expired or been inactive for more than 5 years may have
an increased fiscal impact depending upon the continued
competence activity selected. Those who select completion
of the 120-hour course in § 39.11b(2) will experience the

highest costs as the average cost for the 120-hour course
is currently $2,650. Individuals who chose to complete the
licensure examinations would be required to pay the fee
for the State and National portions of the examination,
which is currently $785. For either of these activities
there will be no additional paperwork requirements, as
§ 39.11(e) currently requires application, a fee and docu-
mentation.

The continued competence activities in § 39.11b(3), (4)
and (5) will have no increased costs but will have some
additional paperwork requirements. Each of these activi-
ties involve work experience, requiring the licensee to
document that the licensee practiced as an NHA in
another jurisdiction for at least 2 of the last 5 years prior
to application for reactivation, has been employed in a
nursing home in a supervisory or consultant capacity for
at least 3 of the last 5 years, or has been teaching
long-term care subject matter for at least 3 of the last
5 years. That involvement may include, for example,
serving as an assistant NHA or department head or
teaching a nursing home administration course within
the 120-hour program or bachelor’s degree program.
There may also be costs involved if the Board requests a
personal appearance by the applicant, however, consider-
ation will be given to permitting such personal appear-
ances by video conference.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5(a)) on January 16, 2020, the Board submit-
ted a copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking, published
at 50 Pa.B. 668, to IRRC and to the Chairpersons of the
HPLC and the SCP/PLC for review and comment.

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC,
the HPLC and the SCP/PLC were provided with copies of
the comments received on the regulation, as well as other
documents when requested. In preparing this final-form
rulemaking, the Board has considered all comments
received from the public, the HPLC and IRRC. The Board
received no comments from the SCP/PLC.

Under section 5.1(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P.S. § 745.5a(a)), on January 12, 2022, the Board deliv-
ered this final-form rulemaking to IRRC, the HPLC and
the SCP/PLC. Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulation
Review Act, the final-form rulemaking was deemed ap-
proved by the HPLC and the SCP/PLC on March 9, 2022.
Under section 5.1(e) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC
met on March 10, 2022, and approved the final-form
rulemaking.

Additional Information

Additional information may be obtained by writing to
Christina Stuckey, Board Administrator, State Board of
Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, P.O. Box
2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649, ST-NHA@pa.gov.

Findings

The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given
under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P.L. 769, No. 240) (45 P.S. §§ 1201 and 1202), referred to
as the Commonwealth Documents Law and the regula-
tions promulgated thereunder, 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1 and 7.2
(relating to notice of proposed rulemaking required; and
adoption of regulations).

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law, and all comments received were considered in
drafting this final-form rulemaking.
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(3) The amendments to this final-form rulemaking do
not enlarge the original purpose of the proposed rule-
making published at 50 Pa.B. 668.

(4) This final-form rulemaking is necessary and appro-
priate for the administration of the act (63 P.S. §§ 1101—
1114.2).

Order

The Board, therefore, orders that:

(a) The regulations of the Board, 49 Pa. Code Chapter
39 are amended by amending §§ 39.1, 39.11, 39.44, 39.51,
39.52 and 39.61, adding §§ 39.11a and 39.11b, and delet-
ing § 39.71.

(b) The Board shall submit this final-form rulemaking
to the Office of Attorney General and the Office of
General Counsel for approval as required by law.

(c) The Board shall submit this final-form rulemaking
to IRRC, the HPLC and the SCP/PLC as required by law.

(d) The Board shall certify this final-form rulemaking
and deposit it with the Legislative Reference Bureau as
required by law.

(e) This final-form rulemaking shall take effect upon
publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

SHARON McDERMOND,
Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: See 52 Pa.B. 1845 (March 26, 2022) for
IRRC’s approval order.)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 16A-6219 remains valid for
the final adoption of the subject regulations.

Annex A

TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

PART I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 39. STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF
NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

GENERAL

§ 39.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

* * * * *
Clock hour—A unit of education consisting of 60 min-

utes of instruction. Programs longer than 30 minutes will
be credited in 15-minute increments.

* * * * *
§ 39.11. Biennial renewal.

(a) Licenses are renewable each biennium, in the even-
numbered years.

(b) Notice of the availability of the renewal process will
be forwarded to each active licensee at the licensee’s
address of record or current e-mail address on file with
the Board, or both, prior to the expiration of the current
biennial period.

(c) As a condition of biennial renewal, licensees shall
complete a minimum of 48 clock hours of continuing
education during the preceding biennial period as re-
quired in § 39.61 (relating to requirements).

(d) Renewal applications shall be completed in a format
and manner required by the Board and accompanied by
the required renewal fee in § 39.72 (relating to fees).
Upon Board acceptance of the biennial renewal applica-
tion, the license will be renewed and the applicant will
receive a certificate of registration for the current renewal
period.

(e) (Reserved).

§ 39.11a. Reactivation.

(a) A nursing home administrator who desires to reacti-
vate a license that has been expired or inactive shall file
an application for reactivation in a format and manner
required by the Board and shall provide all of the
following:

(1) A late fee as required by section 225 of the Bureau
of Professional and Occupational Affairs Fee Act (63 P.S.
§ 1401-225) or a verification of nonpractice, as applicable.

(2) The renewal fee in § 39.72 (relating to fees).

(3) Documentation evidencing the satisfactory comple-
tion of the continuing education requirement for the
preceding biennial period.

(b) In addition to complying with the requirements in
subsection (a), a nursing home administrator whose li-
cense has been expired or inactive for 5 years or longer
shall demonstrate continued competence under § 39.11b
(relating to continued competence).

§ 39.11b. Continued competence.

A nursing home administrator applying to reactivate a
license that has been expired or inactive for 5 years or
longer shall demonstrate continued competence by doing
one of the following:

(1) Passing the licensure examinations approved by the
Board.

(2) Successfully recompleting 120 clock hours in a
program of study approved by the Board as prescribed in
§ 39.14 (relating to approval of programs of study).

(3) Providing written documentation to the Board evi-
dencing that the licensee has practiced nursing home
administration in another jurisdiction for at least 2 years
within the last 5 years under a current license in that
jurisdiction. The licensee may be required to appear
personally before the Board to demonstrate that practice.

(4) Providing written documentation to the Board that
the licensee has been employed in a nursing home in a
supervisory or consultant capacity for at least 3 years
within the last 5 years. The licensee may be required to
appear personally before the Board to demonstrate that
practice.

(5) Providing written documentation to the Board that
the licensee has been teaching long-term care subject
matter for a continuing educational provider approved by
the Board to offer the 120-hour program or an accredited
college or university for at least 3 years within the last 5
years. The licensee may be required to appear personally
before the Board to discuss the scope of the education
provided during the time the license has been expired or
inactive.

APPROVAL PROCESS—PROVIDERS

§ 39.44. Provider responsibilities.

For each program, providers shall:

* * * * *
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(7) Issue continuing education records to each licensee
who completed the course, which must include:

(i) The name of the licensee.
(ii) The title of the course or program.
(iii) The date of the course or program.
(iv) The number of continuing education clock hours

provided.
(v) The name of the course provider and, if approved by

the Board, the provider number.
(vi) A statement that the course or program was

approved by the Board or NAB, which must include the
program approval number.

(8) Retain attendance records, written outlines and a
summary of evaluations for a 5-year period.

APPROVAL PROCESS—PROGRAMS
§ 39.51. Standards for continuing education pro-

grams.
(a) A program shall consist of the subjects listed in

§ 39.41(a)(2) (relating to approval of programs of study).
(b) The Board does not deem the following programs

acceptable:
(1) Inservice programs which are not open to licensees.
(2) Programs limited to the organization and operation

of the employer.
(3) Programs consisting of less than 30 minutes of

instruction.
§ 39.52. Program registration.

(a) All programs require preapproval, except as in
§ 39.61(c)(2)—(5) (relating to requirements).

* * * * *
CONTINUING EDUCATION

§ 39.61. Requirements.

(a) A licensee shall complete at least 48 clock hours of
continuing education during the preceding biennial period
as a condition of renewal. Beginning with the continuing
education completed during the July 1, 2022, through
June 30, 2024, biennial renewal period, at least 12 of the
required 48 clock hours shall be completed in the subject
areas of emergency preparedness and infection control.

(b) All continuing education clock hours shall be com-
pleted in courses preapproved by NAB or the Board,
except as provided in subsection (c)(2)—(5).

(c) Of the 48 clock hours required, the following apply:

(1) Up to 48 clock hours may be taken in lecture,
college or university, computer interactive, distance learn-
ing or correspondence courses preapproved by NAB or the
Board.

(2) A maximum of 12 clock hours may be earned by
serving as an instructor of a NAB or Board-approved
continuing education program or as an instructor of a
college or university course approved by NAB or the
Board. Instructors may earn 1 clock hour for each hour of
instruction up to 12 clock hours.

(3) (Reserved).

(3.1) Clock hours may be earned by professional writ-
ing on the topic of long-term care as follows:

(i) Authoring a book relating to long-term care will
earn 18 clock hours per published book per biennium.

(ii) Authoring a chapter in a book relating to long-term
care will earn 4 clock hours per chapter up to a maximum
of 12 clock hours per biennium.

(iii) Authoring an article relating to long-term care that
is published in a peer-reviewed journal will earn 3 clock
hours per article up to a maximum of 9 clock hours per
biennium.

(iv) Authoring an article that is published in a non-
peer-reviewed journal, magazine, newsletter or other pub-
lication relating to long-term care will earn 2 clock hours
per article, up to a maximum of 6 clock hours per
biennium.

(v) A licensee seeking continuing education credit for
professional writing as set forth in this paragraph shall
submit a copy of the book, chapter, article, newsletter or
other publication to the Board within 60 days of publica-
tion.

(4) Up to 24 clock hours may be obtained by serving as
a supervisor in a Board-approved AIT program, when the
AIT successfully completes the AIT program.

(5) A maximum of 12 clock hours may be awarded
retroactively for attending programs, to include lectures,
and college or university courses, which have not been
preapproved. The attendee shall submit a written request
for approval within 60 days of attending the program and
document attendance. The attendee shall demonstrate to
the Board’s satisfaction that the programs meet the
requirements in §§ 39.14(a)(2) and 39.51 (relating to
approval of programs of study; and standards for continu-
ing education programs).

(d) A licensee is not required to meet the continuing
education requirement on the first renewal immediately
following licensure.

(e) A licensee suspended for disciplinary reasons is not
exempt from the continuing education requirements in
subsection (a).

(f) A licensee who cannot meet the overall continuing
education clock hour requirement in subsection (a) or (d)
due to illness, emergency or hardship may apply to the
Board in writing prior to the end of the renewal period for
an extension of time to complete the clock hours. A
licensee who cannot meet any other requirement in this
section due to illness, emergency or hardship may apply
to the Board in writing prior to the end of the renewal
period for a waiver of the requirement. An extension or
waiver request must explain why compliance is impos-
sible, and include appropriate documentation. An exten-
sion or waiver request will be evaluated by the Board on
a case-by-case basis.

(g) A licensee will not be credited for repeating a
program in the same renewal period unless the subject
matter has substantially changed during that period.

(h) A licensee will not be credited for any continuing
education program less than 30 minutes of instruction in
duration.

FEES
§ 39.71. (Reserved).
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