
THE COURTS
Title 204—JUDICIAL SYSTEM

GENERAL PROVISIONS
PART II. GENERAL ADMINISTRATION

[ 204 PA. CODE CH. 29 ]
Promulgation of Financial Regulations Pursuant to

Act 93 of 2021; No. 562 Judicial Administration
Docket

Order

Per Curiam:

And Now, this 29th day of December, 2021, it is
Ordered, pursuant to Article V, Section 10(c) of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania and 42 Pa.C.S. § 3502(a),
that the attached amendments to the Financial Regula-
tions are hereby adopted.

To the extent that notice of proposed rulemaking may
be required by Pa.R.J.A. 103(a), the immediate promulga-
tion of the regulations is hereby found to be in the
interests of efficient administration. See Pa.R.J.A.
103(a)(3).

This Order is to be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. 103(b), and the amendments shall be effective
January 1, 2022.

Annex A

TITLE 204. JUDICIAL SYSTEM GENERAL
PROVISIONS

PART II. GENERAL ADMINISTRATION

CHAPTER 29. MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS

Subchapter I. BUDGET AND FINANCE

§ 29.351. Definitions.

(a) Pennsylvania Supreme, Superior and Common-
wealth Courts. Initial Filing.

Except for the provisions of subsection (g)(1) below, for
purposes of 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 3733(a.1) and 3733.1 and
section 1795.1-E of The Fiscal Code (72 P.S. § 1795.1-E),
a statutory fee of nineteen dollars ($19.00) shall be
imposed on all items enumerated in the fee schedules of
the Appellate Courts for which a filing and service fee is
collected, excluding the following:

i. Second and Subsequent Filings for Extension of
Time.

ii. Reargument/Reconsideration.

iii. Services in Connection with Appeals to or Writs of
Certiorari from the United States Supreme Court.

iv. Miscellaneous Fees.

v. Subpoenas.

(b) Court of Common Pleas. Prothonotary. Civil Actions
and Legal Proceedings.

1. Except for the provisions of subsection (g)(1) below,
for purposes of 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 3733(a.1) and 3733.1 and
section 1795.1-E of The Fiscal Code (72 P.S. § 1795.1-E),
a statutory fee of nineteen dollars ($19.00) shall be
imposed on a civil action or legal proceeding in a Court of
Common Pleas whenever it is initiated upon the filing of

the first legal paper therein of record with the prothono-
tary. The first legal paper may be any of the following:

i. Praecipe for a Writ of Summons.
ii. Complaint.
iii. Deleted.
iv. Petition.
v. Notice of Appeal from a court of limited jurisdiction.
vi. Petition or grant of any other legal paper commenc-

ing an action or proceeding authorized by Act of Assembly
or rule of court.

2. For purposes of these regulations, the initiation of a
civil action or legal proceeding shall include, but is not
limited to:

i. Actions governed by or authorized under the Penn-
sylvania Rules of Civil Procedure, such as Civil Action
Ejectment, Equity, Ground Rent, Mandamus, Mortgage
Foreclosure, Partition of Real Property, Quiet Title, Quo
Warranto, Replevin, and the Prevention of Waste.

ii. Actions pertaining to Dependency, Annulments, Di-
vorce, Custody, Partial Custody, Alimony Pendente Lite,
Support, and Paternity. With respect to Divorce actions, a
separate statutory fee shall be imposed for each count in
the complaint in addition to the count requesting divorce.

iii. Statutory actions such as Confirmation of Arbitra-
tion Awards, Conformation of Confessed Judgment, De-
claratory Judgment, Opening or Striking Off a Judgment,
Eminent Domain, Habeas Corpus, Proceedings on Liens
(other than revival), Name Changes, Partition of Property
Held by Husband and Wife as Tenants By the Entireties,
Tax Sales of Real Property.

iv. Other actions not included in subsections (i), (ii) or
(iii), such as: Appeals from Board of Elections, Appeals
from Board of Viewers, Appeals from Zoning Boards, and
Certiorari to Magisterial District Judges.

(c) Court of Common Pleas. Orphans’ Court Clerk,
Register of Wills.

Except for the provisions of subsection (g)(1) below, for
purposes of 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 3733(a.1) and 3733.1 and
1795.1-E of The Fiscal Code (72 P.S. § 1795.1-E), a
statutory fee of nineteen dollars ($19.00) shall be imposed
on all petitions for grant of letters, and first filings in
petitions concerning adoptions, incapacitated persons’ es-
tates, minors’ estates, and inter vivos trusts.

(d) Court of Common Pleas. Clerk of Court.

1. Except for the provisions of subsection (g)(1) below,
for purposes of 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 3733(a.1) and 3733.1 and
section 1795.1-E of The Fiscal Code (72 P.S. § 1795.1-E),
a statutory fee of nineteen dollars ($19.00) shall be
imposed upon conviction, guilty plea, or when a defendant
is granted entry into an Accelerated Rehabilitative Dispo-
sition (ARD) or other pretrial diversionary program based
upon the initiation of any criminal proceeding. The
initiation of a criminal proceeding shall include the
following:

i. Cases commenced at the magisterial district judge
level resulting in the issuance of a numbered docket
transcript form (OTN), and subsequently waived or held
to court.

ii. The appeal of a summary conviction to the Court of
Common Pleas.
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iii. Cases involving juvenile defendants where a peti-
tion alleging delinquency has been filed in the Court of
Common Pleas.

iv. Cases involving juvenile defendants certified to the
Court of Common Pleas, resulting in the issuance of a
numbered docket transcript form (OTN).

v. Cases involving the severance of charges into sepa-
rate cases resulting in the issuance of one or more
additional numbered docket transcripts (OTNs).

2. Except for the provisions of subsection (g)(1) below,
for purposes of 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 3733(a.1) and 3733.1 and
section 1795.1-E of The Fiscal Code (72 P.S. § 1795.1-E),
a statutory fee of nineteen dollars ($19.00) shall be
imposed for each filing of a deed, mortgage or property
transfer for which a fee, charge or cost is now authorized.
The documents identified as meeting the above conditions
are listed below. The list is not exclusive; other filings for
which a fee is imposed and that can be considered a
property transfer are included, and the fee shall be
imposed. Subject to later amendment, the following docu-
ments have been identified as meeting the statutory
provisions:

i. Deeds in any form.
ii. Mortgages.
iii. Mortgage assignments.
iv. Mortgage releases.
v. Mortgage satisfaction pieces.
vi. Installment sales agreements.
vii. Leases for a term of thirty (30) years or longer.
viii. Easements.
ix. Rights of Way.
(e) Minor Judiciary. Civil and Criminal Proceedings.

For purposes of 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 3733(a.1) and 3733.1[ , ]
and section 1795.1-E of The Fiscal Code (72 P.S.
§ 1795.1-E), a statutory fee of nineteen dollars ($19.00)
shall be imposed on the initiation of a legal proceeding
except as provided in subsection (iii). The initiation of a
legal proceeding, in the following courts of the Minor
Judiciary, shall include, but is not limited to, the follow-
ing:

i. Magisterial District Judge. Civil Actions. Except for
the provisions of subsection (g)(1) below, a statutory fee of
nineteen dollars ($19.00) shall be imposed in connection
with the filing of a complaint in Trespass and Assumpsit
or for the Recovery of Possession of Real Property (Land-
lord and Tenant Proceeding) or for any other Civil Action
as provided in the Rules of Civil Procedure Governing
Actions and Proceedings before Magisterial District
Judges.

ii. Magisterial District Judge. Criminal Actions. Except
for the provisions of subsection (g)(1) below, a statutory
fee of nineteen dollars ($19.00) shall be imposed upon a
conviction, guilty plea or when a defendant is granted
entry into an Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition
(ARD) or any other pretrial diversionary program based
upon the filing of a criminal complaint or non-traffic
citation charging an offense classified as misdemeanor or
summary under a state statute or local ordinance as
provided in the Pennsylvania Rules of Criminal Proce-
dure.

iii. Magisterial District Judge, Pittsburgh Municipal
Court, and Philadelphia Municipal Court. Title 75 Sum-
mary Offenses Initiated by Traffic Citation. Except for the

provisions of subsection (g)(2) below, a statutory fee of
twelve dollars ($12.00) shall be imposed upon a conviction
or guilty plea based upon the filing of a traffic citation
charging a violation of Title 75 (relating to vehicles)
offense classified as summary under a state statute or
local ordinance as provided in the Pennsylvania Rules of
Criminal Procedure.

iv. Pittsburgh Municipal Court. Civil Actions. Except
for the provisions of subsection (g)(1) below, a statutory
fee of nineteen dollars ($19.00) shall be imposed in
connection with the filing of a civil complaint seeking
recovery of fines and penalties imposed by an ordinance
of the City of Pittsburgh or by any ordinance or regula-
tion relating to housing and health administered and
enforced by the county health department where the
violation occurs within the City of Pittsburgh.

v. Pittsburgh Municipal Court. Criminal Actions. Ex-
cept for the provisions of subsection (g)(1) below, a
statutory fee of nineteen dollars ($19.00) shall be imposed
upon a conviction, guilty plea or when a defendant is
granted entry into an Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposi-
tion (ARD) or any other pretrial diversionary program
based upon the filing of a criminal complaint or non-
traffic citation charging an offense classified as misde-
meanor or summary under state statute or local ordi-
nance as provided for in the Pennsylvania Rules of
Criminal Procedure.

vi. Philadelphia Municipal Court. Civil Actions. Except
for the provisions of subsection (g)(1) below, a statutory
fee of nineteen dollars ($19.00) shall be imposed in
connection with the filing of a complaint for a Civil
Action, as defined in the Philadelphia Municipal Court
Rules of Civil Procedure.

vii. Philadelphia Municipal Court. Criminal Actions.
Except for the provisions of subsection (g)(1) below, a
statutory fee of nineteen dollars ($19.00) shall be imposed
upon conviction, guilty plea or when a defendant is
granted entry into an Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposi-
tion (ARD) or any other pretrial diversionary program
based upon the filing of a criminal complaint or non-
traffic citation charging an offense classified as misde-
meanor or summary under state statute or local ordi-
nance as provided for in the Pennsylvania Rules of
Criminal Procedure.

(f) Recorders of Deeds.
Except for the provisions of subsection (g)(1) below, for

purposes of 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 3733(a.1) and 3733.1 and
section 1795.1-E of The Fiscal Code (72 P.S. § 1795.1-E),
a statutory fee of nineteen dollars ($19.00) shall be
imposed for each filing of a deed, mortgage or property
transfer for which a fee, charge or cost is now authorized.
The documents identified as meeting the above conditions
are listed below. The list is not exclusive; other filings for
which a fee is imposed and that can be considered a
property transfer are included, and the fee shall be
imposed. Subject to later amendment, the following docu-
ments have been identified as meeting the statutory
provisions:

i. Deeds in any form.
ii. Mortgages.
iii. Mortgage assignments.
iv. Mortgage releases.
v. Mortgage satisfaction pieces.
vi. Installment sales agreements.
vii. Leases for a term of thirty (30) years or longer.
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viii. Easements.
ix. Rights of Way.
(g) Temporary Surcharge.

1. Beginning [ July 1, 2019 ] January 1, 2022, and
until [ December 31, 2021 ] June 30, 2022, for pur-
poses of [ section 1795.1-E of The Fiscal Code (72 P.S.
§ 1795.1-E) ] 42 Pa.C.S. § 3733.2, a temporary sur-
charge of twenty-one dollars and twenty-five cents
($21.25) shall be collected by all collectors of the JCS/ATJ/
CJEA fee to supplement the nineteen dollars ($19.00)
statutory fee described above. This temporary surcharge
may not be imposed upon a conviction or guilty plea
based upon the filing of a traffic citation charging a Title
75 (relating to vehicles) offense classified as summary
under a state statute or local ordinance as provided in the
Pennsylvania Rules of Criminal Procedure.

2. Magisterial District Judge, Pittsburgh Municipal
Court, and Philadelphia Municipal Court. Title 75 Sum-
mary Offenses Initiated by Traffic Citation. Beginning
[ July 1, 2019 ] January 1, 2022, and until [ Decem-
ber 31, 2021 ] June 30, 2022, for purposes of [ section
1795.1-E of The Fiscal Code (72 P.S. § 1795.1-E) ] 42
Pa.C.S. § 3733.2, a temporary surcharge of ten dollars
($10.00) shall be collected to supplement the twelve
dollars ($12.00) statutory fee imposed upon a conviction
or guilty plea based upon the filing of a traffic citation
charging a violation of Title 75 (relating to vehicles)
offense classified as summary under a state statute or
local ordinance as provided in the Pennsylvania Rules of
Criminal Procedure.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 22-73. Filed for public inspection January 14, 2022, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 204—JUDICIAL SYSTEM
GENERAL PROVISIONS

PART IV. ADMISSION TO PRACTICE LAW
[ 204 PA. CODE CH. 71 ]

Order Amending Rules 102, 202, 203, 204, 205,
206, 304, 311, and 341 and Adopting Rule 207 of
the Pennsylvania Bar Admission Rules; No. 897
Supreme Court Rules Docket

Order
Per Curiam

And Now, this 4th day of January, 2022, the proposal
having been published for public comment in the Pennsyl-
vania Bulletin at 51 Pa.B. 1648 (March 27, 2021), and
pursuant to Article V, Section 10 of the Constitution of
Pennsylvania, It Is Ordered that:

A. Rules 102, 202, 203, 204, 205, 206, 304, 311 and 341
of the Pennsylvania Bar Admission Rules are amended in
the attached form;

B. Rule 207 of the Pennsylvania Bar Admission Rules
is adopted in the attached form;

C. The Pennsylvania Board of Law Examiners
(‘‘Board’’) will administer the Uniform Bar Examination
(‘‘UBE’’) beginning in July 2022;

D. The Board will begin accepting applications for UBE
transfers beginning in August 2022;

E. The minimum scaled score required to constitute
satisfactory completion of the UBE for purposes of Penn-
sylvania bar admission shall be 272, and the minimum
scaled score required to constitute satisfactory completion
of the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination
(MPRE) for purposes of Pennsylvania bar admission shall
be 75. The Board shall post that information on the
Board’s public web site prior to commencing registration
for administration of the UBE; and

F. The prior orders of this Court dated January 31,
1997 (Order No. 169, Supreme Court Rules Docket No. 1),
May 22, 2000 (Order No. 246, Supreme Court Rules
Docket No. 1), December 6, 2001 (Order No. 285, Su-
preme Court Rules Docket No. 1), and March 12, 2004
(Order No. 328, Supreme Court Rules Docket No. 1),
regarding standards for passing the Pennsylvania bar
examination and the MPRE, are rescinded to the extent
they are inconsistent with this Order.

This Order shall be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. 103(b) and shall be effective on January 12,
2022.

Additions to the rules are shown in bold and are
underlined.

Deletions from the rules are shown in bold and in
brackets.

Chief Justice Baer files a dissenting statement.

Justice Dougherty notes his dissent.

Justice Brobson did not participate in the consideration
or decision of this matter.

Annex A

TITLE 204. JUDICIAL SYSTEM GENERAL
PROVISIONS

PART IV. ADMISSION TO PRACTICE LAW

CHAPTER 71. PENNSYLVANIA BAR ADMISSION
RULES

Subchapter A. PRELIMINARY PROVISIONS

Rule 102. Definitions.

(a) General Rule. Subject to additional definitions con-
tained in subsequent provisions of these rules which are
applicable to specific provisions of these rules, the follow-
ing words and phrases when used in these rules shall
have, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, the
meanings given to them in this rule:

* * * * *
Enforcement Rules—The Pennsylvania Rules of Disci-

plinary Enforcement.

Filing—When used in reference to an application
for admission, including a supplemental applica-
tion, the application is filed only when it is both
submitted and the filing fee is received by the
Board.

Government Unit—The Governor and the departments,
boards, commissions, officers, authorities, and other agen-
cies of the Commonwealth, including the General Assem-
bly and its officers and agencies and any court or other
officer or agency of the unified judicial system, and any
political subdivision or municipal or other local authority
or any officer or agency of any such political subdivision
or local authority. The term includes boards of arbitrators
appointed pursuant to statute.

* * * * *
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Reciprocal state—[ A state having a reciprocal
agreement or arrangement with this Common-
wealth concerning admission to the bar ] A state
that has a reciprocal agreement or arrangement
with this Commonwealth to allow admission on
motion without examination based upon a specific
number of years of practice.

* * * * *
Subchapter B. ADMISSION TO THE BAR

GENERALLY

IN GENERAL

Rule 202. Admission to the bar.

An applicant who complies with the requirements of
Rule 203 (relating to [ admission of graduates of
accredited institutions ] admission by bar examina-
tion), Rule 204 (relating to [ admission of domestic
attorneys ] admission by reciprocity), [ or ] Rule 205
(relating to [ admission of foreign attorneys ] admis-
sion by bar examination for graduates with foreign
law degrees) or Rule 206 (relating to admission by
transfer of bar examination score) and the applicable
rules of the Board shall be admitted to the bar of this
Commonwealth in the manner prescribed by these rules.

* * * * *
Rule 203. Admission [ of graduates of accredited and

unaccredited institutions ] by bar examination.

(a) Bar Examination. The general requirements for
permission to sit for the bar examination are:

(1) Receipt of an undergraduate degree from an accred-
ited college or university or the receipt of an education
which, in the opinion of the Board, is the equivalent of an
undergraduate college or university education.

(2)(i) Except as provided in subparagraph 2(ii) of this
Rule, completion of the study of law at and receipt
without exception of an earned Bachelor of Laws or Juris
Doctor degree from a law school that was an accredited
law school at the time the applicant matriculated or
graduated. See Rule 205 (relating to admission [ of ] by
bar examination for graduates [ of ] with foreign
[ institutions ] law degrees) for standards applicable to
graduates of foreign law schools; or

* * * * *
(b) Admission to the Bar. The general requirements for

admission to the bar of this Commonwealth are:

(1) satisfactory completion of the bar examination ad-
ministered by or under the authority of the Board;
[ and ]

(2) absence of prior conduct by the applicant which in
the opinion of the Board indicates character and general
qualifications (other than scholastic) incompatible with
the standards expected to be observed by members of the
bar of this Commonwealth[ . ]; and

(3) satisfactory completion of the Multistate Pro-
fessional Responsibility Examination at the score
determined by the Court which score shall be
publicly posted;

Rule 204. Admission [ of domestic attorneys ] by reci-
procity.

As an alternative to satisfying the requirements of Rule
203, an attorney, licensed to practice law in another state,

may be admitted to the bar of this Commonwealth if the
applicant meets the following requirements:

(1) Has completed the study of law at and received
without exception an earned Bachelor of Laws or Juris
Doctor degree from a law school that was an accredited
law school at the time the applicant matriculated or
graduated.

(2) Is a member of the bar of a reciprocal state on
active status at the time of filing of the application for
admission to the bar of this Commonwealth.

(3) Presentation of a certificate of good standing from
the highest court or agency having jurisdiction over
admission to the bar and the practice of law in every
state or jurisdiction in which the applicant has been
admitted to practice law, stating that the applicant is in
good professional standing at the bar of such court or
such state. An applicant who is disbarred or suspended
for disciplinary reasons from the practice of law in
another jurisdiction at the time of filing an application for
admission to the bar shall not be eligible for admission to
the bar of this Commonwealth.

(4) Presentation of proof satisfactory to the Board that
the applicant has for a period of five years of the last
seven years immediately preceding the date of filing of
the application for admission to the bar of this Common-
wealth devoted a major portion of time and energy to the
practice of law in one or more states.

(5) Presentation of proof satisfactory to the Board that
the applicant has either taken and passed the bar
examination in a reciprocal state or has devoted a major
portion of time and energy to the practice of law in a
reciprocal state for five years of the last seven years
immediately preceding the date on which an application
was filed under this Rule.

[ (6) An applicant who has taken and failed the
Pennsylvania bar examination will not be admitted
under this Rule. This provision does not apply to
individuals who have passed the bar examination
upon a subsequent attempt. ]

([ 7 ]6) Satisfaction of the requirements of Paragraphs
(a)(1) [ and ], (b)(2) and (b)(3) of Rule 203.

[ (8) Has passed the Multistate Professional Re-
sponsibility Exam with the score required by the
Court to be achieved by successful applicants un-
der Rule 203. ]

* * * * *
Rule 205. Admission [ of foreign attorneys and

graduates of foreign institutions ] by bar exami-
nation for graduates with foreign law degrees.
(a) General rule. The Board, under such standards,

rules and procedures as it may prescribe, may extend the
provisions of Rule 203 (relating to the admission [ of
graduates of accredited and unaccredited institu-
tions ] by bar examination) to any applicant who has
completed the study of law in a law school which at the
time of such completion was not located within the
geographical area encompassed by the accreditation ac-
tivities of the American Bar Association and:

* * * * *
Rule 206. [ Disqualification of an applicant ] Admis-

sion by bar examination score transfer.

[ (a) Automatic disqualification. An applicant
who is found to have:
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(1) obtained, used, or attempted to obtain or use
answers or written or oral information or materials
relating to the subjects tested on the bar examina-
tion from another applicant or any other person or
source while taking the bar examination;

(2) brought in to the bar examination any per-
sonal notes relating to the subjects tested on the
bar examination and used or attempted to use such
notes while taking the bar examination;

(3) secreted any answers, information, materials,
or personal notes relating to the subjects tested on
the bar examination with the intent to review or
use such information while taking the bar examina-
tion;

(4) received advance knowledge or information
about the questions or the answers to the questions
that are included on the bar examination being
taken;

(5) written any notes or unauthorized informa-
tion relating to the subjects tested on the bar
examination on any examination materials prior to
the beginning of the examination session; or

(6) given or attempted to give answers or infor-
mation relating to the bar examination being taken
to another applicant shall be disqualified from the
bar examination and will not receive a score for the
bar examination, or if a score had already been
determined such score will be invalidated. Such
applicant shall not be eligible to file an application
to sit for another bar examination for a period of
three years from the date of the disqualification. If
such applicant successfully completes a subsequent
bar examination, the conduct underlying the dis-
qualification will be considered by the Board in
determining whether the applicant has the requi-
site character to be a member of the bar.

(b) Discretionary disqualification. An applicant
who is found to have violated or attempted to
violate any other rule or restriction established by
the Board related to taking the bar examination,
including but not limited to bringing any item or
material prohibited by the Board into the examina-
tion room, failure to follow instructions concerning
the beginning or end of the examination, communi-
cating with another applicant or external source
during the examination, violating any oral or writ-
ten instructions given in connection with the ad-
ministration of the bar examination, compromising
or disrupting the process for administration of the
bar examination, failure to cooperate in the investi-
gation of any conduct in connection with the ad-
ministration of the bar examination, or otherwise
failing to make a good faith effort to take the bar
examination may be disqualified from the examina-
tion. An applicant who is disqualified under this
section will not receive a score for the bar examina-
tion, or if a score had already been determined
such score will be invalidated. If an applicant is not
disqualified under this section for a violation of
any rule or restriction, or if such applicant is
disqualified and successfully completes a subse-
quent bar examination, the conduct underlying the
violation of the rules and restrictions will be con-
sidered by the Board in determining whether the
applicant has the requisite character to be a mem-
ber of the bar.

(c) The initial determination as to the disqualifi-
cation of an applicant shall be made by the Execu-

tive Director. An applicant receiving notice of the
disqualification shall have the right to request in
writing, within 10 days of the disqualification, a
hearing before the Board, which hearing shall be
governed by the general procedures set forth in
Rule 213. ]

Applicants may apply for admission to the bar of
the courts of this Commonwealth using a Uniform
Bar Examination (UBE) score earned in another
jurisdiction provided that the applicant meets the
requirements below.

(a) Score requirements.
(1) The UBE score must meet or exceed that

established by the Court as the minimum passing
score for applicants sitting for the bar exam at the
time the applicant files an application for admis-
sion under this rule; and

(2) No more than 30 months have passed from the
first day of the UBE that resulted in the score the
applicant seeks to transfer.

(b) Applicant requirements.
(1) Provide supplemental documentation as the

Board directs in support of the application for
admission by UBE transfer within six months from
the date of filing the application; and

(2) Satisfy the requirements of Paragraphs (a),
(b)(2) and (b)(3) of Rule 203.

(c) Administrative withdrawal. The Board will
deem the application administratively withdrawn if
the applicant fails to meet (b)(1) of this rule. In the
event the Board deems an application administra-
tively withdrawn, the applicant will be required to
reapply and successfully meet all of the require-
ments for admission to the bar in order for the
Board to issue a certificate recommending the ap-
plicant’s admission to the bar.

(d) Subsequent hearing after Board denial. If the
executive director issues an initial denial per
Pa.B.A.R. 213(a) and the Board, after a hearing
pursuant to Pa.B.A.R. 213, also declines to issue a
certificate recommending admission, the applicant
may be permitted to submit a supplemental appli-
cation to seek a subsequent hearing before the
Board if 36 months have not passed from the first
day of the examination from which the applicant is
seeking to transfer the score.

Official Note: In accordance with the require-
ment in Pa.B.A.R. 203(a)(2)(i), graduates of foreign
law schools must also meet the requirements of
Pa.B.A.R. 205—Admission by Bar Examination for
Graduates of Foreign Law Schools—to transfer a
score under this rule.
Rule 207. Disqualification of an applicant.

(a) Automatic disqualification. An applicant who
is found to have:

(1) obtained, used, or attempted to obtain or use
answers or written or oral information or materials
relating to the subjects tested on the bar examina-
tion from another applicant or any other person or
source while taking the bar examination;

(2) brought in to the bar examination any per-
sonal notes relating to the subjects tested on the
bar examination and used or attempted to use such
notes while taking the bar examination;
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(3) secreted any answers, information, materials,
or personal notes relating to the subjects tested on
the bar examination with the intent to review or
use such information while taking the bar examina-
tion;

(4) received advance knowledge or information
about the questions or the answers to the questions
that are included on the bar examination being
taken;

(5) written any notes or unauthorized informa-
tion relating to the subjects tested on the bar
examination on any examination materials prior to
the beginning of the examination session; or

(6) given or attempted to give answers or infor-
mation relating to the bar examination being taken
to another applicant

shall be disqualified from the bar examination
and will not receive a score for the bar examina-
tion, or if a score had already been determined
such score will be invalidated. Such applicant shall
not be eligible to file an application to sit for
another bar examination for a period of three years
from the date of the disqualification. If such appli-
cant successfully completes a subsequent bar ex-
amination, the conduct underlying the disqualifica-
tion will be considered by the Board in determining
whether the applicant has the requisite character
to be a member of the bar.

(b) Discretionary disqualification. An applicant
who is found to have violated or attempted to
violate any other rule or restriction established by
the Board related to taking the bar examination,
including but not limited to bringing any item or
material prohibited by the Board into the examina-
tion room, failure to follow instructions concerning
the beginning or end of the examination, communi-
cating with another applicant or external source
during the examination, violating any oral or writ-
ten instructions given in connection with the ad-
ministration of the bar examination, compromising
or disrupting the process for administration of the
bar examination, failure to cooperate in the investi-
gation of any conduct in connection with the ad-
ministration of the bar examination, or otherwise
failing to make a good faith effort to take the bar
examination may be disqualified from the examina-
tion. An applicant who is disqualified under this
section will not receive a score for the bar examina-
tion, or if a score had already been determined
such score will be invalidated. If an applicant is not
disqualified under this section for a violation of
any rule or restriction, or if such applicant is
disqualified and successfully completes a subse-
quent bar examination, the conduct underlying the
violation of the rules and restrictions will be con-
sidered by the Board in determining whether the
applicant has the requisite character to be a mem-
ber of the bar.

(c) The initial determination as to the disqualifi-
cation of an applicant shall be made by the Execu-
tive Director. An applicant receiving notice of the
disqualification shall have the right to request in
writing, within 10 days of the disqualification, a
hearing before the Board, which hearing shall be
governed by the general procedures set forth in
Rule 213.

Subchapter C. RESTRICTED PRACTICE OF LAW

IN GENERAL
Rule 304. Limited Admission of Spouses of Active-

Duty Service Members of the United States Uni-
formed Services.

An applicant may apply for limited admission to the
practice of law in Pennsylvania as a spouse of an
active-duty service member of the United States Uni-
formed Services if all requirements of this rule are
satisfied.

(a) Qualifications.

An applicant who seeks admission pursuant to this
rule:

(1) must be present in Pennsylvania as the spouse of
an active-duty member of the United States Uniformed
Services who is (A) assigned to duty in Pennsylvania or
(B) assigned to duty outside the United States but whose
last assignment within the United States was in Pennsyl-
vania;

(2) must satisfy the requirements of Rule 203(a)(1) and
(2)(i) (related to completion of undergraduate studies and
legal studies at a law school accredited by the American
Bar Association) and Rule 203(b)(2) (related to character
and fitness);

[ (3) must not have taken and failed the Pennsyl-
vania bar examination; ]

([ 4 ]3) must be currently admitted as an attorney at
law in the highest court of another state, commonwealth,
territory or the District of Columbia;

([ 5 ]4) must not currently be the subject of a pending
disciplinary matter in any jurisdiction in which the
applicant is admitted to the practice of law or be cur-
rently suspended or disbarred in any such jurisdiction;

([ 6 ]5) must not have been disciplined for professional
misconduct by any jurisdiction within the 10 years imme-
diately preceding filing of the Pennsylvania application or
been disbarred at any time by any jurisdiction; and

([ 7 ]6)(A) must be employed and supervised by a
Pennsylvania-licensed attorney who is in good standing
and who is currently engaged in the practice of law in
Pennsylvania; or

(B) be employed by the federal government, the Com-
monwealth of Pennsylvania or a local government within
Pennsylvania and supervised in that employment by a
Pennsylvania-licensed attorney who is currently engaged
in the practice of law in Pennsylvania.

(b) Procedure.

(1) An applicant who seeks admission pursuant to this
rule must submit to the Board of Law Examiners an
affidavit confirming that the applicant satisfies the re-
quirements of Rule 304(a); that the applicant agrees to
supplement his or her application with any information
that might arise during the limited admission to practice
that bears on any of the requirements of Rule 304(a); that
the applicant agrees to notify the Prothonotary of the
Pennsylvania Supreme Court of any information that
might arise during the limited admission to practice that
bears on any of the requirements of Rule 304(a); that the
applicant has read, is familiar with and agrees to abide
by the Pennsylvania Rules of Professional Conduct and
the Pennsylvania Rules of Disciplinary Enforcement; that
the applicant will comply with any obligations imposed by
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the Pennsylvania Continuing Legal Education Board; and
that the applicant submits to the jurisdiction of the
Pennsylvania Supreme Court with respect to any and all
disciplinary matters.

(2) An applicant must submit to the Board of Law
Examiners an affidavit of the Pennsylvania attorney who
will, pursuant to Rule 304(a)([ 7 ]6), supervise the appli-
cant if the application is granted. The supervising lawyer
must confirm in the affidavit that he or she will (A)
supervise the applicant in the performance of the appli-
cant’s legal work and (B) notify the Board in the event
the applicant leaves the employ of the supervising attor-
ney’s law firm or government entity or is otherwise no
longer being supervised by that attorney.

(3) The applicant must submit to the Board of Law
Examiners the following:

(A) certificates or official transcripts evidencing compli-
ance with the provisions of Rule 304(a)(2) related to legal
education;

(B) a certificate of good standing from the highest court
or the admissions authority of a state, commonwealth,
territory or the District of Columbia in which the appli-
cant is currently licensed to practice law;

(C) a copy of the United States military orders of the
applicant’s spouse establishing that the spouse is present
in Pennsylvania because of military orders; and

(D) any fee required by the Board of Law Examiners.

(4) If an applicant satisfactorily completes the steps
required by this rule and the Board determines that the
applicant is qualified under this rule, the Board shall
provide to the applicant a certificate recommending ad-
mission of a spouse of an active-duty service member.

(5) At any time within six months of the issuance of a
certificate recommending admission of a spouse of an
active-duty service member, an applicant may file a
motion with the Prothonotary of the Supreme Court of
Pennsylvania, on a form prescribed by the Board for
issuance of such a license. The applicant shall submit the
form with the certificate recommending admission of a
spouse of an active-duty service member along with any
fee the Prothonotary may assess.

(6) Upon receipt of a properly supported motion, the
Prothonotary shall enter the name of the applicant upon
the docket of persons specially admitted to the bar of the
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania subject to the restrictions
of this rule.

(c) Limitations

(1) An applicant who is granted limited admission
under this rule and who continues to satisfy the require-
ments of Rule 304(a) is entitled to all the same rights,
privileges and benefits and is subject to the same duties,
obligations and responsibilities as active members of the
bar of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania subject to the
following limitations.

(2) The limited admission provided by this rule shall
terminate automatically upon the occurrence of any of the
following:

(A) any of the provisions of Rule 304(a) are no longer
satisfied or

(B) the attorney admitted under this rule is admitted
to the bar of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania under
any other rule.

(3) In the event Rule 304(c)(2)(A) or (B) applies as a
result of the death of the spouse of the attorney admitted
under this rule, the termination of the limited admission
provided by this rule will be subject to a six-month grace
period.

Official Note: For purposes of this rule, the ‘‘United
States Uniformed Services’’ are defined to include the
following: the United States Army; the United States
Marine Corps; the United States Navy; the United States
Air Force; the United States Coast Guard; the United
States Public Health Service Commissioned Corps; the
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Com-
missioned Corps and any other entity designated as part
of the United States Uniformed Services by the United
States Department of Defense or the United States
Department of Homeland Security. See 10 U.S.C.
§ 101(a)(4) and (5).

The phrase ‘‘active duty’’ shall have the meaning given
it in 10 U.S.C. § 101(d)(1).

For purposes of Rule 304(a)([ 7 ]6), ‘‘practice of law’’
shall have the meaning set out in Rule 204.

The supervision required by Rule 304(a)([ 7 ]6) must be
sufficient to insure that the supervising attorney has
knowledge of the specific conduct, ratifies the conduct,
knows of the conduct at a time when its consequences
may be avoided or mitigated and will assume responsibil-
ity for the supervised attorney’s work should the super-
vised attorney’s limited license terminate.

ATTORNEY PARTICIPANTS IN DEFENDER OR
LEGAL SERVICES PROGRAMS

Rule 311. Attorney Participants in Defender or Le-
gal Services Programs.

* * * * *
(d) Requirements. The requirements for issuance of a

limited license under this rule are:
* * * * *

[ 5. An applicant who has taken and failed the
Pennsylvania bar examination will not be admitted
under this Rule. This provision does not apply to
individuals who have passed the bar examination
upon a subsequent attempt. ]

* * * * *
FOREIGN LEGAL CONSULTANTS

Rule 341. Licensing of foreign legal consultants.
(a) Required qualifications. An applicant may be li-

censed to practice in this Commonwealth as a foreign
legal consultant, without examination, if the applicant:

* * * * *
(3) possesses the good moral character and general

fitness requisite for a member of the bar of this Common-
wealth;

(4) is at least 26 years of age;
(5) intends to practice as a foreign legal consultant in

this Commonwealth and to maintain an office in this
Commonwealth for that purpose; and

(6) has passed the Multistate Professional Responsibil-
ity Exam [ with the score ] as required [ by the Court
to be achieved by ] for successful applicants under
Rule 203.

* * * * *
Dissenting Statement

Chief Justice Baer Filed: January 4, 2022
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I dissent from the Court’s adoption of a minimum
scaled score of 272 for passage of the Uniform Bar
Examination (UBE) in Pennsylvania (‘‘cut score’’). In my
view, setting a cut score of 272 disadvantages Pennsylva-
nia’s law students and law schools generally by making
Pennsylvania an outlier. Only five of the 39 UBE states
have cut scores above 270: Pennsylvania (272), Idaho
(272), Arizona (273), Colorado (276), and Alaska (280).
Closer to home, most of the states in our geographic
region utilize cut scores of either 266 or 270. New York,
New Jersey, Maryland, District of Columbia, and Con-
necticut, all in our geographic region, employ 266 as their
cut score. Ohio, West Virginia, Massachusetts, Rhode
Island, Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine use a cut
score of 270.

Pennsylvania’s higher cut score of 272 may place
Pennsylvania’s law schools at a competitive disadvantage
in their quest to maintain and increase enrollment, as
well as to fulfill their commitment to graduate law
students who can pass the bar and pursue their profes-
sion. A college graduate could choose to attend law school
in a state with a lower cut score, so that upon graduation,
certainly in need of employment and perhaps burdened
by debt, the student is not facing the bar exam with the
highest cut score in the eastern United States.

Accordingly, I would lower Pennsylvania’s cut score for
passage of the UBE to either 266 or 270, thus bringing
Pennsylvania into conformity with our neighboring states.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 22-74. Filed for public inspection January 14, 2022, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 234—RULES OF
CRIMINAL PROCEDURE

[ 234 PA. CODE CHS. 1, 5, 6 AND 10 ]
Order Amending Rules 529, 543, 575, 576, 576.1,

587, and 1011 and the Comments to Rules 113,
567, 568, 573, 580, and 605 of the Pennsylvania
Rules of Criminal Procedure; No. 536 Criminal
Procedural Rules Docket

Order

Per Curiam

And Now, this 4th day of January, 2022, upon the
recommendation of the Criminal Procedural Rules Com-
mittee; the proposal having been submitted without publi-
cation pursuant to Pa.R.J.A. 103(a):

It is Ordered pursuant to Article V, Section 10 of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania that Rules 529, 543, 575,
576, 576.1, 587, and 1011 and the Comments to Rules
113, 567, 568, 573, 580, and 605 of the Pennsylvania
Rules of Criminal Procedure are amended in the attached
form.

This Order shall be processed in accordance with
Pa.R.J.A. 103(b), and shall be effective July 1, 2022.

Justice Brobson did not participate in the consideration
or decision of this matter.

Additions to the rule are shown in bold and are
underlined.

Deletions from the rule are shown in bold and brackets.

Annex A
TITLE 234. RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE

CHAPTER 1. SCOPE OF RULES, CONSTRUCTION
AND DEFINITIONS, LOCAL RULES

PART A. Business of the Courts
Rule 113. Criminal Case File and Docket Entries.

* * * * *
Comment

This rule sets forth the mandatory contents of the list
of docket entries and the criminal case files. This is not
intended to be an exhaustive list of what is required to be
recorded in the docket entries. The judicial districts may
require additional information be recorded in a case or in
all cases.

The list of docket entries is a running record of all
information related to any action in a criminal case in the
court of common pleas of the clerk’s county, such as dates
of filings, of orders, and of court proceedings. The clerk of
courts is required to make docket entries at the time the
information is made known to the clerk, and the practice
in some counties of creating the list of docket entries only
if an appeal is taken is inconsistent with this rule.

Nothing in this rule is intended to preclude the use of
automated or other electronic means for time stamping or
making docket entries.

This rule applies to all proceedings in the court of
common pleas at any stage of a criminal case.

The requirement in paragraph (C)(2) that all attorneys
and their addresses be recorded makes certain there is a
record of all attorneys who have appeared for any litigant
in the case. The requirement also ensures that attorneys
are served as required in Rules 114 and 576. See also
Rule 576([ B ]b)(4) concerning certificates of service.

* * * * *

CHAPTER 5. PRETRIAL PROCEDURES IN
COURT CASES

PART C(1). Release Procedures
Rule 529. Modification of Bail Order Prior to Ver-

dict.

([ A ]a) The issuing authority who is the magisterial
district judge who was elected or assigned to preside over
the jurisdiction where the crime occurred, upon request of
the defendant or the attorney for the Commonwealth, or
by the issuing authority sua sponte, and after notice to
the defendant and the attorney for the Commonwealth
and an opportunity to be heard, may modify a bail order
at anytime before the preliminary hearing.

([ B ]b) A bail order may be modified by an issuing
authority at the preliminary hearing.

([ C ]c) The existing bail order may be modified by a
judge of the court of common pleas:

(1) at any time prior to verdict upon motion of counsel
for either party with notice to opposing counsel and after
a hearing on the motion; or

(2) at trial or at a pretrial hearing in open court on the
record when all parties are present.

([ D ]d) Once bail has been set or modified by a judge
of the court of common pleas, it shall not be modified
except

(1) by a judge of a court of superior jurisdiction, or
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(2) by the same judge or by another judge of the court
of common pleas either at trial or after notice to the
parties and a hearing.

([ E ]e) When bail is modified pursuant to this rule,
the modification shall be explained to the defendant and
stated in writing or on the record by the issuing authority
or the judge.

Comment

In making a decision whether to modify a bail order,
the issuing authority or judge should evaluate the infor-
mation about the defendant as it relates to the release
criteria in Rule 523 and the types of release on bail set
forth in Rule 524.

In Municipal Court cases, the Municipal Court judge
may modify bail in the same manner as a common pleas
judge may under this rule. See Rule 1011.

The procedures for modification of a bail order by the
issuing authority were amended in 2006 to permit the
issuing authority to modify bail at any time before the
preliminary hearing on the issuing authority’s own mo-
tion or request of a party when, for example, new
information becomes available concerning the defendant
that would affect the issuing authority’s decision concern-
ing the type of release and the conditions of release
imposed at the preliminary arraignment. The 2006
amendments to [ paragraph ] subdivision ([ A ]a) are
not intended to affect bail procedures in the Philadelphia
Municipal Court.

Once bail has been modified by a common pleas judge,
only the common pleas judge subsequently may modify
bail, even in cases that are pending before a district
justice. See Rules 543 and 536.

Pursuant to this rule, the motion, notice, and hearing
requirements in [ paragraphs ] subdivisions ([ C ]c)(1)
and ([ D ]d)(2) must be followed in all cases before a
common pleas judge may modify a bail order unless the
modification is made on the record in open court either
when all parties are present at a pretrial hearing—such
as a suppression hearing—or during trial.

See Pa.R.A.P. [ 1762(b)(2) ] 1610 for the procedures to
obtain appellate court review of an order of a judge of the
court of common pleas granting or denying release, or
modifying the conditions of release.

[ Official Note: Former Rule 4008 adopted July
23, 1973, effective 60 days hence; rescinded Septem-
ber 13, 1995, effective January 1, 1996, and replaced
by Rule 4010. Present Rule 4008 adopted September
13, 1995, effective January 1, 1996. The January 1,
1996 effective dates extended to April 1, 1996; the
April 1, 1996 effective dates extended to July 1,
1996; renumbered Rule 529 and amended March 1,
2000, effective April 1, 2001; Comment revised Au-
gust 24, 2004, effective August 1, 2005; amended May
19, 2006, effective August 1, 2006.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the provisions of the new
rule published with Court’s Order at 25 Pa.B. 4116
(September 30, 1995).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorga-
nization and renumbering of the rules published
with the Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18,
2000).

Final Report explaining the August 24, 2004 Com-
ment revision published with the Court’s Order at
34 Pa.B. 5025 (September 11, 2004).

Final Report explaining the May 19, 2006 amend-
ments concerning ‘‘pre-preliminary hearing’’ modifi-
cation of bail by the issuing authority published
with the Court’s Order at 36 Pa.B. 2633 (June 3,
2006). ]

PART D. Proceedings in Court Cases Before Issuing
Authorities

Rule 543. Disposition of Case at Preliminary Hear-
ing.

* * * * *

(C) When the defendant has appeared and has been
held for court, the issuing authority shall:

(1) set bail as permitted by law if the defendant did not
receive a preliminary arraignment; or

(2) continue the existing bail order, unless the issuing
authority modifies the order as permitted by Rule
529([ A ]a);

* * * * *

PART F. Procedures Following a
Case Held for Court

Rule 567. Notice of Alibi Defense.

* * * * *

Comment

This rule, which is derived from paragraphs (C)(1)(a),
(c)—(g), and (D) of Rule 573 (Pretrial Discovery and
Inspection) and was made a separate rule in 2006, sets
forth the notice procedures when a defendant intends to
raise an alibi defense at trial.

The reference in paragraph (A) to Rule 579 (Time for
Omnibus Pretrial Motion and Service) contemplates con-
sideration of the exceptions to the time for filing set forth
in Rule 579(A).

The notice-of-alibi provision is intended to comply with
the requirement of Wardius v. Oregon, 412 U.S. 470
(1973), by the inclusion of reciprocal disclosure responsi-
bilities placed upon the Commonwealth in paragraph (C).
See also Commonwealth v. Contakos, [ 455 Pa. 136, ] 314
A.2d 259 (Pa. 1974).

Any motion under this rule must comply with the
provisions of Rule 575 (Motions and Answers) and Rule
576 (Filing and Service by Parties).

See Rule 576([ B ]b)(4) and Comment for the contents
and form of the certificate of service.

* * * * *
Rule 568. Notice of Defense of Insanity or Mental

Infirmity; Notice of Expert Evidence of a Mental
Condition.

* * * * *
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Comment
This rule, which is derived from paragraphs (C)(1)(b),

(c)—(f), and (D) of Rule 573 (Pretrial Discovery and
Inspection) and was made a separate rule in 2006, sets
forth the notice procedures when a defendant intends to
raise a defense of insanity or mental infirmity, or intro-
duce evidence relating to a mental disease or defect or
any other mental condition at trial.

For the procedures related to the determination of
mental retardation precluding imposition of a sentence of
death, see Chapter 8 Part (B).

The reference in paragraph (A) to Rule 579 (Time for
Omnibus Pretrial Motion and Service) contemplates con-
sideration of the exceptions to the time for filing set forth
in Rule 579(A).

See Rule 569 (Examination of Defendant by Mental
Health Expert) for the procedures for the examination of
the defendant by the Commonwealth’s expert when the
defendant provides notice of an intention to raise a
defense of insanity or mental infirmity or an intention to
introduce expert evidence concerning his or her mental
condition.

Any motion under this rule must comply with the
provisions of Rule 575 (Motions and Answers) and Rule
576 (Filing and Service by Parties).

See Rule 576([ B ]b)(4) and Comment for the contents
and form of the certificate of service.

* * * * *
PART G. Procedures Following Filing of

Information
Rule 573. Pretrial Discovery and Inspection.

* * * * *
Comment

* * * * *
See Rule 576([ B ]b)(4) and Comment for the contents

and form of the certificate of service.

* * * * *

PART G(1). Motion Procedures
Rule 575. Motions and Answers.

(A) MOTIONS

* * * * *
(2) A written motion shall comply with the following

requirements:

* * * * *
(f) The motion shall include a certificate of service as

required by Rule 576([ B ]b)(4).

* * * * *
(B) ANSWERS

* * * * *
(3) A written answer shall comply with the following

requirements:

* * * * *
(c) The answer shall include a certificate of service as

required by Rule 576([ B ]b)(4).

* * * * *
Comment

For the definition of ‘‘motion,’’ see Rule 103.

See Rule 1005 for the procedures for pretrial applica-
tions for relief in the Philadelphia Municipal Court.

‘‘Rules to Show Cause’’ and ‘‘Rules Returnable’’ were
abolished in 2004 because the terminology is arcane, and
the concept of these ‘‘rules’’ has become obsolete. These
‘‘rules’’ have been replaced by the plain language ‘‘notice
of hearings’’ provided in Rule 577(A)(2).

Pursuant to paragraphs (A)(2)(f) and (B)(3)(c), and Rule
576([ B ]b)(4), all filings by the parties must include a
certificate of service setting forth the date and manner of
service, and the names, addresses, and phone numbers of
the persons served.

* * * * *
The prohibition on local rules mandating cover sheets

was added because cover sheets are no longer necessary
with the addition of the Rule 576([ B ]b)(1) requirement
that the court administrator be served a copy of all
motions and answers.

Although paragraph (D) precludes local rules that
require a proposed order be included with a motion, a
party should consider whether to include a proposed
order. Proposed orders may aid the court by defining the
relief requested in the motion or answer.

* * * * *
Rule 576. Filing and Service by Parties.

([ A ]a) [ FILING ] Filing.

(1) All written motions and any written answers, and
any notices or documents for which filing is required,
shall be filed with the clerk of courts.

(2) Filing shall be:

([ a ]i) by personal delivery to the clerk of courts;

([ b ]ii) by mail addressed to the clerk of courts.
Except as provided by law, filing by mail shall be timely
only when actually received by the clerk of courts within
the time fixed for filing; or,

([ c ]iii) in a judicial district that permits electronic
filing pursuant to Rule 576.1, as provided in Rule
576.1(E).

(3) The clerk of courts shall accept all written motions,
answers, notices, or documents presented for filing. When
a document, which is filed pursuant to [ paragraph ]
subdivision ([ A ]a)(1), is received by the clerk of courts,
the clerk shall time stamp it with the date of receipt and
make a docket entry reflecting the date of receipt, and
promptly shall place the document in the criminal case
file.

(4) In any case in which a defendant is represented by
an attorney, if the defendant submits for filing a written
motion, notice, or document that has not been signed by
the defendant’s attorney, the clerk of courts shall accept it
for filing, time stamp it with the date of receipt and make
a docket entry reflecting the date of receipt, and place the
document in the criminal case file. A copy of the time
stamped document shall be forwarded to the defendant’s
attorney and the attorney for the Commonwealth within
10 days of receipt.

(5) If a defendant submits a document pro se to a judge
without filing it with the clerk of courts, and the docu-
ment requests some form of cognizable legal relief, the
judge promptly shall forward the document to the clerk of
courts for filing and processing in accordance with this
rule.

(6) Unified Practice. Any local rule that is inconsistent
with the provisions of this rule is prohibited, including
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any local rule requiring that a document has to be
presented in person before filing or requiring review by a
court or court administrator before a document may be
filed.

([ B ]b) [ SERVICE ] Service.

(1) All written motions and any written answers, and
notices or documents for which filing is required, shall be
served upon each party and the court administrator
concurrently with filing.

(2) Service on the parties shall be by:

([ a ]i) personal delivery of a copy to a party’s attorney,
or the party if unrepresented; or

([ b ]ii) personal delivery of a copy to the party’s
attorney’s employee at the attorney’s office; or

([ c ]iii) mailing a copy to a party’s attorney or leaving
a copy for the attorney at the attorney’s office; or

([ d ]iv) in those judicial districts that maintain in the
courthouse assigned boxes for counsel to receive service,
when counsel has agreed to receive service by this
method, leaving a copy for the attorney in the attorney’s
box; or

([ e ]v) sending a copy to an unrepresented party by
certified, registered, or first class mail addressed to the
party’s place of residence, business, or confinement; or

([ f ]vi) sending a copy by facsimile transmission or
other electronic means if the party’s attorney, or the party
if unrepresented, has made a written request for this
method of service for the document; or

([ g ]vii) delivery to the party’s attorney, or the party if
unrepresented, by carrier service.

(3) Service on the court administrator shall be by:

([ a ]i) mailing a copy to the court administrator; or

([ b ]ii) in those judicial districts that maintain in the
courthouse assigned boxes for the court administrator to
receive service, leaving a copy for the court administrator
in the court administrator’s box; or

([ c ]iii) leaving a copy for the court administrator at
the court administrator’s office; or

([ d ]iv) sending a copy to the court administrator by
facsimile transmission or other electronic means if autho-
rized by local rule; or

([ e ]v) delivery to the court administrator by carrier
service.

(4) Certificate of Service.

([ a ]i) All documents that are filed and served pursu-
ant to this rule shall include a certificate of service.

([ b ]ii) The certificate of service shall be in substan-
tially the form set forth in the Comment, signed by the
party’s attorney, or the party if unrepresented, and shall
include the date and manner of service, and the names,
addresses, and phone numbers of the persons served.

(5) In a judicial district that permits electronic filing
pursuant to Rule 576.1, service shall be made as provided
in Rule 576.1(D)(2) and (H)(1).

([ C ]c) Any non-party requesting relief from the court
in a case shall file the motion with the clerk of courts as
provided in [ paragraph ] subdivision ([ A ]a), and
serve the defendant’s attorney, or the defendant if

unrepresented, the attorney for the Commonwealth, and
the court administrator as provided in [ paragraph ]
subdivision ([ B ]b).

Comment

For the procedures for electronic filing and service as a
local option, see Rule 576.1.

[ Paragraph ] Subdivision ([ A ]a)(1) requires the
filing of all written motions, and answers. The provision
also applies to notices and other documents only if filing
is required by some other rule or provision of law. See,
e.g., the notice of withdrawal of charges provisions in
Rule 561 (Withdrawal of Charges by Attorney for the
Commonwealth), the notice of alibi defense and notice of
insanity defense or mental infirmity defense provisions in
Rule 573 (Pretrial Discovery and Inspection), the notice
that offenses or defendants will be tried together provi-
sions in Rule 582 (Joinder—Trial of Separate Indictments
or Informations), the notice of aggravating circumstances
provisions in Rule 802 (Notice of Aggravating Circum-
stances), and the notice of challenge to a guilty plea
provisions in Municipal Court cases in Rule 1007 (Chal-
lenge to Guilty Plea).

When a motion, notice, document, or answer is pre-
sented for filing pursuant to [ paragraph ] subdivision
([ A ]a)(1), the clerk of courts must accept it for filing
even if the motion, notice, document, or answer does not
comply with a rule or statute or appears to be untimely
filed. It is suggested that the judicial district implement
procedures to inform the filing party when a document is
not in compliance with these rules or a local rule so the
party may correct the problem.

See Commonwealth v. Jones, 700 A.2d 423 (Pa. 1997);
and Commonwealth v. Little, 716 A.2d 1287 (Pa. Super.
1998) concerning the timeliness of filings by prisoners
proceeding pro se (the ‘‘prisoner mailbox rule’’).

[ The 2004 amendments to paragraph (A)(4) modi-
fied the procedure by which the clerks of courts
handle filings by represented defendants when the
defendant’s attorney has not signed the document
being filed by the defendant. As amended, para-
graph ] Subdivision ([ A ]a)(4) requires, in all cases in
which a represented defendant files a document, that the
clerk of courts make a docket entry of the defendant’s
filing and place the document in the criminal case file,
and then forward a copy of the document to both the
attorney of record and the attorney for the Common-
wealth. See Commonwealth v. Castro, 766 A.2d 1283 (Pa.
Super. 2001). Compare Pa.R.A.P. [ 3304 ] 121(g) (Hybrid
[ R ]representation). The requirement that the clerk time
stamp and make docket entries of the filings in these
cases only serves to provide a record of the filing, and
does not trigger any deadline nor require any response.
See Rules 120 (Attorneys—Appearance and Withdrawals)
and 122 (Assignment of Counsel) concerning the duration
of counsel’s obligation under the rules.

[ Paragraph ] Subdivision ([ A ]a)(4) only applies to
cases in which the defendant is represented by counsel,
not cases in which the defendant is proceeding pro se.

The purpose of [ paragraph ] subdivision ([ A ]a)(5)
is to ensure documents raising cognizable legal issues
submitted to the judge are transmitted to the clerk of
courts, and does not relieve the defendant from complying
with the other requirements of the rules. When a docu-
ment is forwarded to the clerk from a judge, if the
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defendant is unrepresented, the clerk is to proceed as
provided in [ paragraph ] subdivision ([ A ]a)(3) and
the defendant is to be treated like any other party. If the
defendant is represented, the clerk is to proceed pursuant
to [ paragraph ] subdivision ([ A ]a)(4).

[ Paragraph ] Subdivision ([ A ]a)(6), titled ‘‘Unified
Practice,’’ was added in 2004 to emphasize that local rules
must not conflict with the statewide rules. Although this
prohibition on local rules that are inconsistent with the
statewide rules applies to all Criminal Rules through
Rule 105 (Local Rules) and Rule of Judicial Administra-
tion 103 (Procedures for Adoption, Filing, and Publishing
Rules), the reference to the specific prohibitions is in-
cluded because these types of local rules have been
identified by practitioners as creating significant impedi-
ments to the statewide practice of law within the unified
judicial system. See the first paragraph of the Note to
Pa.R.J.A. No. 103. The term ‘‘local rule’’ includes every
rule, regulation, directive, policy, custom, usage, form or
order of general application. See Pa.R.J.A. No. 103(d)(1).

Any local rule that requires personal appearance in
addition to filing with the clerk of courts is inconsistent
with this rule.

See Rule 113 (Criminal Case File and Docket Entries)
for the requirements concerning the contents of the
criminal case file and the minimum information to be
included in the docket entries.

[ Paragraph ] Subdivision ([ B ]b)(1) requires that,
concurrently with filing, the party must serve a copy on
the court administrator. This requirement provides flex-
ibility to accommodate the various practices for schedul-
ing. However, it is not intended to replace the require-
ment that the party must file with the clerk of courts.

When a judge is assigned to a case, in addition to the
requirements of [ paragraph ] subdivision ([ B ]b)(1),
it is suggested counsel send the judge a courtesy copy of
any filings.

Under any system of scheduling, once a hearing or
argument is scheduled, the court or court administrator
must give notice of the hearing or argument to the
parties, and a copy of the notice must be filed in the
criminal case file and a docket entry made. See Rule
114(C)(2).

Although [ paragraph ]subdivision ([ B ]b)(2)([ d ]iv)
permits the use of assigned mailboxes for service under
this rule, the Attorney General’s office never may be
served by this method.

A facsimile number or an electronic address set forth on
letterhead is not sufficient to authorize service by fac-
simile transmission or other electronic means under
[ paragraph ] subdivision ([ B ]b)(2)([ f ]vi). The au-
thorization for service by facsimile transmission or other
electronic means under this rule is document specific and
only valid for an individual document. Counsel will have
to renew the authorization for each document.

Nothing in this rule is intended to preclude a judicial
district from utilizing the United States Postal Service’s
return receipt electronic option, or any similar service
that electronically provides a return receipt, when using
certified mail, return receipt requested.

For the definition of ‘‘carrier service,’’ see Rule 103.

[ Paragraph ] Subdivision ([ B ]b)(4) requires the
filing party to include with the document filed a certifi-

cate of service. The certificate of service should be in
substantially the following form:

* * * * *
[ Official Note: Former Rule 9022 adopted Octo-

ber 21, 1983, effective January 1, 1984; amended
March 22, 1993, effective January 1, 1994; amended
July 9, 1996, effective September 1, 1996; renum-
bered Rule 576 and amended March 1, 2000, effec-
tive April 1, 2001. Former Rule 9023 adopted Octo-
ber 21, 1983, effective January 1, 1984; amended
June 2, 1994, effective September 1, 1994; renum-
bered Rule 577 and amended March 1, 2000, effec-
tive April 1, 2001; rescinded March 3, 2004, effective
July 1, 2004. Rules 576 and 577 combined and
amended March 3, 2004, effective July 1, 2004,
Comment revised June 4, 2004, effective November
1, 2004; Comment revised September 18, 2008, effec-
tive February 1, 2009; Comment revised September
21, 2012, effective November 1, 2012; amended Janu-
ary 25, 2018, effective May 1, 2018.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the March 22, 1993
amendments to former Rule 9022 published with
the Court’s Order at 23 Pa.B. 1699 (April 10, 1993).

Report explaining the June 2, 1994 amendments
to former Rule 9023 published at 23 Pa.B. 5008
(October 23, 1993).

Final Report explaining the July 9, 1996 amend-
ments to former Rule 9022 published with the
Court’s Order at 26 Pa.B. 3532 (July 27, 1996).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorga-
nization and renumbering of the rules published
with the Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18,
2000).

Final Report explaining the March 3, 2004
changes amending and combining Rule 576 with
former Rule 577 published with the Court’s Order
at 34 Pa.B. 1561 (March 20, 2004).

Final Report explaining the September 18, 2008
revision of the Comment concerning the United
States Postal Service’s return receipt electronic
option published with the Court’s Order at 38 Pa.B.
5428 (October 4, 2008).

Final Report explaining the September 21, 2012
revision of the Comment correcting a typographical
error in the thirteenth paragraph published with
the Court’s Order at 42 Pa.B. 6251 (October 6, 2012).

Final Report explaining the January 25, 2018
amendment regarding electronic filing and service
pursuant to Rule 576.1 published with the Court’s
Order at 48 Pa.B. 861 (February 10, 2018). ]
Rule 576.1. Electronic Filing and Service of Legal

Papers.

* * * * *
(H) Service

(1) Upon the submission of a legal paper for electronic
filing, the system shall provide an electronic notification
to other parties and attorneys to the case who are
participating in electronic filing that the legal paper has
been submitted. This notification upon submission shall
satisfy the service requirements of Rules 114(B) and
576([ B ]b) on any attorney or party who has established
a system account.
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(2) Upon the acceptance by the clerk of courts office of
a legal paper for electronic filing, the system shall provide
an electronic notification to other parties and attorneys to
the case who are participating in electronic filing that the
legal paper has been accepted.

(3) Service of electronic filings on any attorney or party
who has not established a UJS web portal account or who
is unable to file or receive legal papers electronically or
otherwise unable to access the system shall be made by
the procedures provided under Rules 114(B) and
576([ B ]b).

Comment

* * * * *
See Rule 576([ B ]b) governing service of motions and

any written answers, and any notices or documents for
which filing is required by facsimile transmission or other
means.

* * * * *

Rule 580. Disposition of Pretrial Motions.

* * * * *
Comment

See Rule 587([ B ]b) for the procedures for motions to
dismiss on double jeopardy grounds.

* * * * *
Rule 587. Motion for Dismissal.

([ A ]a) Untimely Filing of Information.

(1) Upon motion and a showing that an information
has not been filed within a reasonable time, the court
may order dismissal of the prosecution, or in lieu thereof,
make such other order as shall be appropriate in the
interests of justice.

(2) The attorney for the Commonwealth shall be af-
forded an opportunity to respond.

([ B ]b) Double Jeopardy.

(1) A motion to dismiss on double jeopardy grounds
shall state specifically and with particularity the basis for
the claim of double jeopardy and the facts that support
the claim.

(2) A hearing on the motion shall be scheduled in
accordance with Rule 577 (Procedures Following Filing of
Motion). The hearing shall be conducted on the record in
open court.

(3) At the conclusion of the hearing, the judge shall
enter on the record a statement of findings of fact and
conclusions of law and shall issue an order granting or
denying the motion.

(4) In a case in which the judge denies the motion, the
findings of fact shall include a specific finding as to
frivolousness.

(5) If the judge makes a finding that the motion is
frivolous, the judge shall advise the defendant on the
record that a defendant has a right to file a petition for
review of that determination pursuant to [ Rule of
Appellate Procedure ] Pa.R.A.P. [ 1573 ] 1311(a)(3)
within 30 days of the order denying the motion.

(6) If the judge denies the motion but does not find it
frivolous, the judge shall advise the defendant on the
record that the denial is immediately appealable as a
collateral order.

Comment

Cf. Pa.R.J.A. 1901 concerning termination of inactive
cases.

A motion filed pursuant to this rule must comply with
the provisions of Rule 575 (Motions and Answers) and
Rule 576 (Filing and Service by Parties).

In any case in which a summary offense is joined with
a misdemeanor, felony, or murder charge, and therefore is
part of the court case, a dismissal of the prosecution
pursuant to [ paragraph ] subdivision ([ A ]a)(1)
would include the dismissal of the summary offense. See
the Comment to Rule 502 (Instituting Proceedings in
Court Cases).

‘‘Hearing,’’ as used in [ paragraph ] subdivision
([ B ]b)(2) includes the taking of testimony, or the hear-
ing of argument, or both. See Rule 115 for the procedures
for the recording and transcribing of the hearing.

[ Paragraph ] Subdivision ([ B ]b)(4) requires the
judge to make a specific finding whether the motion is
being dismissed as frivolous. The judge should expressly
cite on-point controlling case law that would make the
claim frivolous. See, e.g., Commonwealth v. Gains, [ 383
Pa.Super. 208, 217, ] 556 A.2d 870, 874 (Pa. Super.
1989) (‘‘A frivolous claim is a claim clearly and palpably
without merit; it is a claim which presents no debatable
question.’’). A mere adverse decision of the case does not
mean the matter is frivolous.

Although the judge is required to advise the defendant
of his or her appellate rights in [ paragraphs ] subdivi-
sions ([ B ]b)(5) and ([ B ]b)(6) upon dismissing the
motion, nothing in this rule is intended to preclude the
defendant from proceeding to trial without first appealing
the double jeopardy question. See, e.g., Commonwealth v.
Lee, [ 490 Pa. 346, 350, ] 416 A.2d 503, 504-05 (Pa.
1980) (‘‘Unquestionably, appellant could have sought im-
mediate appellate review of the question involved. For
whatever reason, however, appellant proceeded to trial
without first appealing the double jeopardy question. We
believe that a defendant may choose to proceed to trial
and if convicted, still challenge the propriety of the
pretrial motion to dismiss on double jeopardy grounds on
appeal.’’ ([ citations ] footnote omitted)).

For the procedures for challenging the denial of the
motion to dismiss on double jeopardy grounds when the
judge makes a finding that the motion is frivolous, see
[ Rule of Appellate Procedure ] Pa.R.A.P. [ 1573 ]
1311(a)(3).

Pursuant to [ Rule of Appellate Procedure ]
Pa.R.A.P. 1701(d), the filing of a petition for review does
not affect the judge’s power to proceed further in the case
while the petition for review is pending.

[ Official Note: Rule 316 adopted June 30, 1964,
effective January 1, 1965; amended June 8, 1973,
effective July 1, 1973; amended February 15, 1974,
effective immediately; renumbered Rule 315 and
amended June 29, 1977 and November 22, 1977,
effective as to cases in which the indictment or
information is filed on or after January 1, 1978;
Comment revised January 28, 1983, effective July 1,
1983; amended August 12, 1993, effective September
1, 1993; renumbered Rule 587 and amended March
1, 2000, effective April 1, 2001; amended March 3,
2004, effective July 1, 2004; Comment revised March
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9, 2006, effective September 1, 2006; amended June
4, 2013, effective July 4, 2013.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Report explaining the August 12, 1993 amend-
ments published at 22 Pa.B. 3826 (July 25, 1992).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorga-
nization and renumbering of the rules published
with the Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18,
2000).

Final Report explaining the March 3, 2004 amend-
ment of paragraph (B) published with the Court’s
Order at 34 Pa.B. 1561 (March 20, 2004).

Final Report explaining the March 3, 2006 Com-
ment revision concerning joinder of summary of-
fenses with misdemeanor, felony, or murder charges
published with the Court’s Order at 36 Pa.B. 1392
(March 25, 2006).

Final Report explaining the June 4, 2013 provi-
sions of the new paragraph (B) concerning motions
to dismiss on double jeopardy grounds published
with the Court’s Order at 43 Pa.B. 3331 (June 22,
2013). ]

CHAPTER 6. TRIAL PROCEDURES IN
COURT CASES

PART A. General Provisions

Rule 605. Mistrial.

* * * * *
Comment

This rule replaces the practice of moving for the
withdrawal of a juror.

Examples of ‘‘manifest necessity’’ can be found in
Commonwealth v. Stewart, [ 456 Pa. 447, ] 317 A.2d 616
(Pa. 1974); Commonwealth v. Brown, [ 451 Pa. 395, ] 301
A.2d 876 (Pa. 1973); United States ex rel. Russo v.
Superior Court of New Jersey, Law Division, Passaic
County, 483 F.2d 7 (3rd Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S.
1023 (1973; United States v. Tinney, 473 F.2d 1085 (3rd
Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 412 U.S. 928 (1973); United
States v. Jorn, 440 U.S. 470 (1971); and United States v.
Perez, 9 Wheat. 579 (1824); see also Illinois v. Somerville,
410 U.S. 458 (1973).

See Rule 587([ B ]b) for the procedures when a motion
to dismiss on double jeopardy grounds is filed.

* * * * *
CHAPTER 10. RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE

FOR THE PHILADELPHIA MUNICIPAL COURT
AND THE PHILADELPHIA MUNICIPAL COURT

TRAFFIC DIVISION

PART A. Philadelphia Municipal Court Procedures

Rule 1011. Bail.

(A) Prior to verdict, an existing bail order may be
modified by a Municipal Court judge in a Municipal
Court case in the same manner as a judge of the court of
common pleas may modify a bail order pursuant to Rule
529([ C ]c), ([ D ]d), and ([ E ]e).

* * * * *

CRIMINAL PROCEDURAL RULES COMMITTEE

ADOPTION REPORT

Technical and Stylistic Amendment of Pa.R.Crim.P.
529, 576, and 587 with Correlative Amendment of
Pa.R.Crim.P. 543, 575, 576.1, and 1011 and of the
Comments to Pa.R.Crim.P. 113, 567, 568, 573, 580,

and 605.

On January 4, 2022, effective July 1, 2022, the Su-
preme Court amended Pa.R.Crim.P. 529, 576, and
587 with correlative amendment of Pa.R.Crim.P. 543, 575,
576.1, and 1011 and of the Comments to Pa.R.Crim.P.
113, 567, 568, 573, 580, and 605. These amendments are
intended to update citations to the Rules of Appellate
Procedure. The Criminal Procedural Rules Committee has
prepared this Adoption Report describing the rulemaking
process. An Adoption Report should not be confused with
Comments to the rules. See Pa.R.J.A. 103, Comment. The
statements contained herein are those of the Committee,
not the Court.

Rule 587(B)(5) currently cites to Pa.R.A.P. 1573, which
previously provided for review when a court found a
double jeopardy claim to be frivolous. Such appeals may
now be taken by permission pursuant to Pa.R.A.P.
1311(a)(3). Rule 587(B)(5) has been updated accordingly.
The citation in the Comment to this rule has been
similarly amended. Additionally, parallel citations have
been removed from the Comment so that only citations to
the Atlantic Reporter appear.

The Comment to Rule 529 currently cites Pa.R.A.P.
1762(b)(2) ‘‘for the procedures to obtain appellate court
review of an order of a judge of the court of common pleas
granting or denying release, or modifying the conditions
of release.’’ Pa.R.Crim.P. 529, Comment. However, the
procedure for seeking review of such an order is now
found at Pa.R.A.P. 1610, which provides for ‘‘filing a
petition for specialized review[.]’’ The Comment has been
updated accordingly.

The Comment to Rule 576 currently refers the reader
to Pa.R.A.P. 3304 regarding hybrid representation and
the filing of documents. However, Pa.R.A.P. 3304 has been
rescinded and replaced with Pa.R.A.P. 121(g). The Com-
ment has been updated accordingly.

Parallel citations have also been removed from the
Comment to Rule 605 so that only citations to the
Atlantic Reporter appear.

Finally, Pa.R.Crim.P. 543, 575, 576.1, and 1011 and the
Comments to Pa.R.Crim.P. 113, 567, 568, 573, 580, and
605 have been amended to reflect stylistic changes to
Pa.R.Crim.P. 529, 576, and 587.

The following commentary has been removed from Rule
587:

Official Note: Rule 316 adopted June 30, 1964, effec-
tive January 1, 1965; amended June 8, 1973, effective
July 1, 1973; amended February 15, 1974, effective
immediately; renumbered Rule 315 and amended June
29, 1977 and November 22, 1977, effective as to cases in
which the indictment or information is filed on or after
January 1, 1978; Comment revised January 28, 1983,
effective July 1, 1983; amended August 12, 1993, effective
September 1, 1993; renumbered Rule 587 and amended
March 1, 2000, effective April 1, 2001; amended March 3,
2004, effective July 1, 2004; Comment revised March 9,
2006, effective September 1, 2006; amended June 4, 2013,
effective July 4, 2013.
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Committee Explanatory Reports:

Report explaining the August 12, 1993 amendments
published at 22 Pa.B. 3826 (July 25, 1992).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorganiza-
tion and renumbering of the rules published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18, 2000).

Final Report explaining the March 3, 2004 amendment
of paragraph (B) published with the Court’s Order at
34 Pa.B. 1561 (March 20, 2004).

Final Report explaining the March 3, 2006 Comment
revision concerning joinder of summary offenses with
misdemeanor, felony, or murder charges published with
the Court’s Order at 36 Pa.B. 1392 (March 25, 2006).

Final Report explaining the June 4, 2013 provisions of
the new paragraph (B) concerning motions to dismiss on
double jeopardy grounds published with the Court’s Order
at 43 Pa.B. 3331 (June 22, 2013).

The following commentary has been removed from Rule
529:

Official Note: Former Rule 4008 adopted July 23,
1973, effective 60 days hence; rescinded September 13,
1995, effective January 1, 1996, and replaced by Rule
4010. Present Rule 4008 adopted September 13, 1995,
effective January 1, 1996. The January 1, 1996 effective
dates extended to April 1, 1996; the April 1, 1996 effective
dates extended to July 1, 1996; renumbered Rule 529 and
amended March 1, 2000, effective April 1, 2001; Comment
revised August 24, 2004, effective August 1, 2005;
amended May 19, 2006, effective August 1, 2006.

Committee Explanatory Reports:

Final Report explaining the provisions of the new rule
published with Court’s Order at 25 Pa.B. 4116 (Septem-
ber 30, 1995).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorganiza-
tion and renumbering of the rules published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18, 2000).

Final Report explaining the August 24, 2004 Comment
revision published with the Court’s Order at 34 Pa.B.
5025 (September 11, 2004).

Final Report explaining the May 19, 2006 amendments
concerning ‘‘pre-preliminary hearing’’ modification of bail
by the issuing authority published with the Court’s Order
at 36 Pa.B. 2633 (June 3, 2006).

The following commentary has been removed from Rule
576:

Official Note: Former Rule 9022 adopted October 21,
1983, effective January 1, 1984; amended March 22, 1993,
effective January 1, 1994; amended July 9, 1996, effective
September 1, 1996; renumbered Rule 576 and amended
March 1, 2000, effective April 1, 2001. Former Rule 9023
adopted October 21, 1983, effective January 1, 1984;
amended June 2, 1994, effective September 1, 1994;
renumbered Rule 577 and amended March 1, 2000,
effective April 1, 2001; rescinded March 3, 2004, effective
July 1, 2004. Rules 576 and 577 combined and amended
March 3, 2004, effective July 1, 2004, Comment revised
June 4, 2004, effective November 1, 2004; Comment
revised September 18, 2008, effective February 1, 2009;
Comment revised September 21, 2012, effective November
1, 2012; amended January 25, 2018, effective May 1,
2018.

Committee Explanatory Reports:
Final Report explaining the March 22, 1993 amend-

ments to former Rule 9022 published with the Court’s
Order at 23 Pa.B. 1699 (April 10, 1993).

Report explaining the June 2, 1994 amendments to
former Rule 9023 published at 23 Pa.B. 5008 (October 23,
1993).

Final Report explaining the July 9, 1996 amendments
to former Rule 9022 published with the Court’s Order at
26 Pa.B. 3532 (July 27, 1996).

Final Report explaining the March 1, 2000 reorganiza-
tion and renumbering of the rules published with the
Court’s Order at 30 Pa.B. 1478 (March 18, 2000).

Final Report explaining the March 3, 2004 changes
amending and combining Rule 576 with former Rule 577
published with the Court’s Order at 34 Pa.B. 1561 (March
20, 2004).

Final Report explaining the September 18, 2008 revi-
sion of the Comment concerning the United States Postal
Service’s return receipt electronic option published with
the Court’s Order at 38 Pa.B. 5428 (October 4, 2008).

Final Report explaining the September 21, 2012 revi-
sion of the Comment correcting a typographical error in
the thirteenth paragraph published with the Court’s
Order at 42 Pa.B. 6251 (October 6, 2012).

Final Report explaining the January 25, 2018 amend-
ment regarding electronic filing and service pursuant to
Rule 576.1 published with the Court’s Order at 48 Pa.B.
861 (February 10, 2018).

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 22-75. Filed for public inspection January 14, 2022, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 255—LOCAL COURT RULES
ERIE COUNTY

Prothonotary Fees 2022; No. 90064-2021

Order of Court

And Now, to-wit, this 10th day of December, 2021, pursuant to 42 P.S. Section 21071.1(b), and 42 P.S. Section 21071.2
the fee schedule appended to this order is hereby approved and adopted effective February 1, 2022.

By the Court
JOSEPH M. WALSH, III,

President Judge
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APPEAL TO HIGHER COURT—Superior, Commonwealth & Supreme (Pro Costs) 58.00
(State) 90.25

ARBITRATION/MEDIATION PRAECIPE 23.50
ASSIGNMENTS 10.00
BANKRUPTCY ORDERS 10.00
CERTIFICATES—(separately issued certificate documents)

Discontinuance/Satisfactions 6.00
Divorce 6.00
Member in Good Standing 6.00
Notary Certificate 6.00

COMMENCEMENT OF ACTION (this includes $5.00 Automation Fee, $.50 state tax, $40.25 JCS) 143.75
Custody Complaint/Petition 152.25
(This includes $5.00 Automation Fee, $.50 state tax, $40.25 JCS, & $8.50 AOPC fee)
Divorce—Add $40.25 JCS Fee for each additional named count 228.75
Add $48.75 (JCS Fee + $8.50 AOPC Fee) when Custody is named as a count
Includes $10.00 Surcharge for each complaint
Includes $75.00 Master Fee Fund
Name Change—Add $12.00 Lien Search Fee (143.75 + 12.00 per name) 155.75
(This includes $5.00 Automation Fee, $.50 state tax, $40.25 JCS)

COPY COSTS—Per Page .25
Certified Copies ($1.00 for certification + .25 per page) 1.00
Gold Seal Certified Copies ($5.50 + $.25 per page) 6.00

CUSTODY MODIFICATION/CONTEMPT/SPECIAL RELIEF/EMERGENCY PETITION
(existing case)

50.00

CRIMINAL JUDGMENTS W/SAT FEE (CLERK OF COURTS)
(includes $.50 state tax & $5.00 automation fee)

33.50

DISTRICT JUDGE APPEALS (includes $.25 state tax, $40.25 JCS fee & $5.00 automation fee) 143.50
DIVORCE TRANSMITTAL 12.00
EXECUTIONS—(Personal Property or Real Estate) (Includes $.50 state tax) 30.00
EXEMPLIFICATION OF RECORD 12.00
FOREIGN EXECUTIONS (Includes $.50 state tax) 30.00
POLITICAL SUBDIVISION FEE (Includes $.50 state tax, $40.25 JCS & $5.00 automation Fee) 55.75
JUDGMENTS—Agreement to Revive, Decree Nisi, Default, Final Judgment, Judgments against
Garnishees and Judgments on Award, Verdicts & Court Ordered Judgments

18.00

Declaratory Judgment (New Action) (includes state tax $.50, JCS $40.25 &
$5.00 automation fee)

143.75

District Judge Judgments (includes $.25 state tax & $5.00 automation fee) 23.25
Foreign Judgments (includes state tax $.50, JCP $40.25 & $5.00 automation

fee)
143.75

Complaint in Confession of Judgment (Includes $.50 state tax, JCS $40.25 &
$5.00 automation fee)

63.75

Exemplified Judgments (includes $.50 state tax & $5.00 automation fee) 23.50
LICENSE REVOCATION (certification of motor vehicle judgment) 12.00
LIENS— Commonwealth Tax Lien (includes $.50 state tax & $5.00 automation fee) 23.50

Federal Tax Lien (includes $.50 state tax & $5.00 automation fee) 23.50
Commonwealth Tax Lien (w/sat fee) (includes state tax $.50 for Lien, $.50 for

Sat & $5.00 automation fee)
34.00

Municipal Liens (includes Satisfaction fee, $.50 state tax & $5.00 automation
fee)

33.50

Suggestion of Non-Payment (Commonwealth Liens) 18.00
Suggestion of Non-Payment (Municipal Lien (includes sat fee) 33.00
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LIS PENDENS— Commencing an action (includes $.50 state tax, $40.25 JCS, $5.00 automation
fee)

143.75

On a Pending Action 18.00
MASTER FEE PETITION 450.00
MECHANICS LIEN—Claims (includes $.50 state tax, $40.25 JCS, $5.00 automation fee) 143.75

Waivers/Releases (includes $.50 state tax & $5.00 automation fee) 29.00
MOTOR VEHICLE LICENSE and/or REGISTRATION SUSPENSION APPEAL 143.75
(Includes $.50 state tax, $40.25 JCS, $5.00 automation fee)
NOTARY PUBLIC Registration of Signature 3.50
PETITION FOR APPOINTMENT OF BOARD OF VIEWERS 58.00

(This fee is in addition to the Commencement Fee of $143.75)
PETITION TO OPEN AND/OR STRIKE JUDGMENT 143.75
(Includes $.50 state tax, $40.25 JCS, $5.00 automation fee)
POUNDAGE For the handling of money paid into Court: .03

For each $1.00 of the first $1,000.00 .01
For each $1.00 over the initial $1,000.00 or fraction thereof

POWER OF ATTORNEY (Includes $.50 state tax) 24.00
Revocation of Power of Attorney (per named) 10.00

PRAECIPE FOR NOTICE OF INTENT TO ATTACH WAGES 143.75
(Includes $.50 state tax, $40.25 JCS, $5.00 automation fee)
PRAECIPE FOR WRIT OF ATTACHMENT OF WAGES (includes $.50 state tax) 30.00
PRAECIPE TO STRIKE/TERMINATE—APPEAL/SUPERSEDEAS 10.00
PROTECTION FROM ABUSE PETITIONS (Fees ordered

by Court)
REINSTATEMENT OF ALL COMPLAINTS 10.00
RE-ISSUANCE OF WRITS (except Writ of Execution) 10.00
RE-ISSUANCE OF WRIT OF EXECUTION 30.00
RELEASES (per legal description) 10.00
RESUMPTION OF PRIOR SURNAME 10.00
SATISFACTIONS/DISCONTINUANCES/VACATE 10.00
SATISFACTION W/CERTIFICATE 16.00
SATISFACTION W/CERTIFICATE & STATEMENT OF COSTS 22.00
SATISFACTIONS—COMMONWEALTH LIENS 10.50
SEARCHES (genealogy or name changes) 12.00
STATEMENT OF COSTS 6.00
STATEMENT OF OBJECTIONS 143.50
(Includes $.25 state tax, $40.25 JCS, $5.00 automation fee)
SUBORDINATIONS & POSTPONEMENTS 10.00
SUBPOENA 3.00
TRANSFER OF VENUE 18.00
WRIT OF CERTIORARI 143.75
(Includes $.50 state tax, $40.25 JCS, $5.00 automation fee)
WRIT OF POSSESSION / WRIT OF SEIZURE (includes $.50 state tax) 30.00
WRIT OF REVIVAL 23.50
WRIT OF SCIRE FACIAS (includes $40.25 JCS & $.50 state tax) 58.75
YEARLY FINANCIAL STATEMENT OF BONDING COMPANIES 6.00

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 22-76. Filed for public inspection January 14, 2022, 9:00 a.m.]
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