Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Bulletin website includes the following: Rulemakings by State agencies; Proposed Rulemakings by State agencies; State agency notices; the Governor’s Proclamations and Executive Orders; Actions by the General Assembly; and Statewide and local court rules.

PA Bulletin, Doc. No. 97-2059


Workers' Compensation Security Fund Assessment

[27 Pa.B. 6624]

   The Insurance Commissioner has determined that assessments for the Workers' Compensation Security Fund (WCSF) for 1997 will be required of all insurers writing workers' compensation insurance in the Commonwealth. Accordingly, an assessment equal to 1% of each insurers net written premiums determined as of June 30, 1997 will be imposed.

   Under section 5 of the Workers' Compensation Security Fund Act (77 P. S. § 1055), the Commissioner shall impose an assessment equal to 1% of each insurer's net written premiums if the WCSF Balance minus the WCSF Loss Reserve is less than 5% of the Insurers' Loss Reserve. The Commissioner ascertained that the Insurers' Loss Reserve as of June 30, 1997 is $7,326,036,648. Five percent of that reserve is $366,684,367. The WCSF Balance minus the WCSF Loss Reserve is $23,069,313. Accordingly, the WCSF Balance less the WCSF Loss Reserve is less than 5% of Insurers' Loss Reserve, triggering the need for the assessment.

   Payment of the assessment is due no later than January 23, 1998. Insurers will be billed by the WCSF in December, 1997. Questions or comments regarding the assessment may be directed to: Michael P. Sullivan, Claims Manager, Workers' Compensation Security Fund, 901 N. 7th Street, Harrisburg, PA 17102, (717) 783-8093, fax: (717) 705-0140.

   Insurers are reminded that any carrier which fails to pay the contribution when due is subject to a 5% penalty on the total unpaid contribution. Thereafter, for each month (or portion thereof) in which the contribution remains unpaid, a 1% penalty will be imposed on the unpaid balance. Additional penalties for nonpayment can also include revocation of the insurer's certificate of authority. (See 77 P. S. § 1059)

Insurance Commissioner

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 97-2059. Filed for public inspection December 19, 1997, 9:00 a.m.]

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Bulletin full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.