Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Bulletin website includes the following: Rulemakings by State agencies; Proposed Rulemakings by State agencies; State agency notices; the Governor’s Proclamations and Executive Orders; Actions by the General Assembly; and Statewide and local court rules.

PA Bulletin, Doc. No. 02-85



Rule WJ507 Retention of Court Reporter Notes; No. 3 of 2002

[32 Pa.B. 315]

Administrative Order

   And Now This 3rd day of January, 2002, It Is Hereby Ordered that Westmoreland County Rule of Judicial Administration WJ507 is rescinded, and new Rule WJ507 is adopted.

By the Court

President Judge

Rule WJ507.  Retention of Court Reporter Notes and Transcripts.

A.  Raw Notes of Testimony

   1.  ''Raw notes'' are those on paper tapes and/or other media in the original state in which they existed when taken at the time of testimony.

   2.  Court reporters will transcribe notes of all Termination of Parental Rights and Adoption proceedings. The transcript and printed raw notes of testimony will be filed in the record, and retained.

   3.  The court reporter may destroy the raw notes 60 days after the date of filing of the transcript. The court reporter shall retain the notes until the court rules on any objections of the transcript.

   4.  In any case in which no transcript has been prepared, the raw notes shall be retained for seven years from the date of testimony.

   5.  Notwithstanding the provisions of this subsection, any party may petition the court for an order directing the retention of particular court reporter notes for a period of time beyond that required herein.

B.  Transcripts

   1.  The original of all transcripts will be filed with the appropriate record keeper. With the exception of subsections 2 and 3, Transcripts filed with the Prothonotary, Clerk of the Orphans' Court, and Clerk of Courts are subject to the retention periods set forth in the County Records Manual.

   2.  Transcripts filed in juvenile matters may be destroyed when the subject reaches the age of 25, or 10 years after the last action in the case, whichever is later.

   3.  Transcripts for Divorce or Annulment cases may be destroyed 5 years after the Final Decree in Divorce or Annulment is entered.

C.  Record Retention Disposal Log

   Disposal of raw notes shall be accomplished as provided in Section 2.3 of the Supreme Court's Record Retention and Disposition Schedule. When completing Disposal Log Forms, the raw notes need not be listed on the Records Disposal Log by caption and case number, but may be listed merely by date of hearing.

Comment:  The requirements of this Rule are derived from the Supreme Court Record Retention and Disposition Schedule.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 02-85. Filed for public inspection January 11, 2002, 9:00 a.m.]

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Bulletin full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.