Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Bulletin website includes the following: Rulemakings by State agencies; Proposed Rulemakings by State agencies; State agency notices; the Governor’s Proclamations and Executive Orders; Actions by the General Assembly; and Statewide and local court rules.

PA Bulletin, Doc. No. 13-1135



Unemployment Compensation; Notice of Change to Penalty for Dishonored Checks and Failed Electronic Payments

[43 Pa.B. 3435]
[Saturday, June 22, 2013]

 Section 313 of the Unemployment Compensation Law (law) (43 P. S. § 793) provides as follows:

The department is hereby authorized to charge a penalty of one hundred per centum (100%) of the face value of the check or payment by electronic transfer, up to a maximum of one thousand dollars ($1,000) with a minimum of twenty-five dollars ($25) per occurrence for all dishonored checks and payments by electronic transfer that are not credited upon transmission or at such other amounts as shall be determined by the secretary and published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin as a notice under 45 Pa.C.S. § 725(a)(3) (relating to additional contents of Pennsylvania Bulletin). Such sums shall be collectible in the manner provided in sections 308.1, 308.2, 308.3 and 309 of this act.

 The purpose of this notice is to change the amount which the Department of Labor and Industry (Department) will charge under section 313 of the law as a penalty for a dishonored check or a payment by electronic transfer that is not credited upon transmission from 100% of its face value to 10%. The maximum and minimum penalty amounts will remain at $1,000 and $25 respectively.

 Under section 201(a) of the law (43 P. S. § 761(a)) and section 313 of the law, the Department is submitting this notice to the Legislative Reference Bureau for publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

 This notice will take effect upon publication and will apply to penalties charged on or after the effective date without regard to the date of the check or payment by electronic transfer or the date when the check was dishonored or the payment by electronic transfer was not credited upon transmission.

 Questions concerning this notice should be directed to Gregg D. Shore, Deputy Secretary for Unemployment Compensation Programs, Labor and Industry Building, 651 Boas Street, Harrisburg, PA 17121.


[Pa.B. Doc. No. 13-1135. Filed for public inspection June 21, 2013, 9:00 a.m.]

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Bulletin full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.