Register of Wills; O.C. No. 90193/17 ADM
[47 Pa.B. 7444]
[Saturday, December 9, 2017]
And Now, this 16th day of November, 2017, pursuant to Acts 40 and 47 of 2017, the fee bill of the Register of Wills of Lawrence County, Pennsylvania is amended as indicated on the fee bill of the following Petition.
The JCS/ATJ/CJEA fees will become effective as of November 30, 2017 at 4:00 PM.
It Is Further Ordered that the Court shall:
(a) File seven (7) certified copies of this Administrative Order with the AOPC;
(b) File two (2) certified copies of this Administrative Order and one (1) diskette with the Legislative Reference Bureau for publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin;
(c) File one (1) certified copy of this Administrative Order with the PA Supreme Court Orphans' Court Rules Committee;
(d) Forward one (1) copy of this Administrative Order to be published in the Lawrence County Law Journal;
(e) Forward one (1) copy of this Administrative Order to the Lawrence County Law Library; and
(f) Keep continuously available for public inspection copies of this Administrative Order in the Lawrence County Register of Wills Office and the office of the Court Administrator.
By the Court
HONORABLE DOMINICK MOTTO,
to Increase Fees for Register of Wills Office
(Pursuant to Acts 40 and 44 of 2017)
To the Honorable Dominick Motto, President Judge of the Said Court:
The petition of Janet L. Kalajainen, Register of Wills of Lawrence County respectfully represents that:
1. Governor Tom Wolf recently signed into law Acts 40 and 44 of 2017 that will make immediate changes to the Judicial Computer Project/Access to Justice/Criminal Justice Enhancement Account (JCS/ATJ/CJEA).
2. The JCS/ATJ/CJEA surcharge is increased from $35.50 to $40.25. The surcharge will remain at $40.25 through December 2020.
3. These changes took effect immediately on October 30, 2017, but pursuant to the authority under 42 Pa.C.S. § 3502(a) to promulgate regulations specifying the time and manner of remittance of this fee by the county staff, all collectors of the fee must be in compliance with these regulations on or before November 30, 2017. This implementation period is necessary to allow all collectors of the fee sufficient time to make the necessary adjustments to existing automated systems and protocols.
4. Effective November 30, 2017 at 4:00 PM, Acts 40 and 44 will increase the JCS/ATJ/CJEA fee by an additional $4.75 bringing the total to $40.25.
5. Therefore, the fee of $40.25 will be implemented as of November 30, 2017 at 4:00 PM on all Petitions for Probate in the Register of Wills Office.
Wherefore, your Petitioner, Janet L. Kalajainen, Register of Wills of Lawrence County, Pennsylvania, respectfully requests the Court to authorize the following schedules of fees with mandated fee increases for the office of Register of Wills of Lawrence County for adoption by this Court.
JANET L. KALAJAINEN,
Register of Wills
Lawrence County Register of Wills
Effective November 30, 2017 at 4:00 PM
Note: All Probate and first filings must be accompanied by a Death Certificate
PROBATE OF WILL (Without Letters) Judicial Computer System/Access to Justice/Criminal Justice Enhancement Account fee $40.25 Automation Fee $10.00 Last Will and Testament $40.00 GRANTING LETTERS TESTAMENTARY and LETTERS OF ADMINISTRATION Judicial Computer System/Access to Justice/Criminal Justice Enhancement Account fee $40.25 Automation Fee $10.00 Will/Codicil $20.00 FOR ESTATE VALUES: NOT EXCEEDING $5,000.00 $40.00 From $5,001.00 to $10,000.00 $60.00 From $10,001.00 to $20,000.00. $70.00 From $20,001.00 to $30,000.00 $80.00 From $30,001.00 to $40,000.00 $90.00 From $40,001.00 to $50,000.00 $100.00 From $50,001.00 to $75,000.00 $120.00 From $75,001.00 to $100,000.00 $150.00 Each additional $100,000.00 or fraction thereof $100.00 First $1 million $1000.00 Each additional $100,000.00 or fraction thereof $100.00 • Where the gross value of an estate has been underestimated on the Petition for Letters, a bill for Addition Probate Fees will be rendered for the balance due. • Additional Probate Fees will be due and payable within thirty (30) days from the date of the billing statement. Any balances more than thirty (30) days in arrears will be charged interest at the rate of 1% per month. • All fees must be paid in full before any finalization/estate settlement will be accepted for filing. RENUNCIATIONS—per signature $5.00 SHORT CERTIFICATES—each $5.00 CODICIL $20.00 LETTERS (Administration DBN & DBN CTA) $40.00 PETITIONS (ie. Petition to Compel Administration) $25.00 Citations—each $20.00 Certified Mail—each $10.00 ANCILLARY LETTERS (Follow regular estate fee schedule based on PA assets only.) AFFIDAVIT OF DEATH $10.00 AMENDMENT TO PROBATE Within 3 months from date of probate (Petition to the Register of Wills) $30.00 After 3 months from date of probate (Petition to Orphans' Court) APPEAL FROM REGISTER (Filed in Orphans' Court) AUTOMATION FEE $10.00 To be charged on all first filings requiring JCS/ATJ fee BOND $20.00 CAVEAT (filing and entering) + Bond $25.00 CERTIFICATION OF RECORD (w/cover sheet & gold seal) $10.00 + per page certified $3.00 CERTIFICATION OF INHERITANCE TAX PAID Issuing Certificate to another county $20.00 Filing from another county $10.00 CITATIONS—each $20.00 Certified Mail—each $10.00 CLAIMS AGAINST ESTATE (filed in Orphans' Court) Copy filed with Register of Wills $10.00 COMMISSION TO ADMINISTER OATH $25.00 COPIES (per page) $.50 By mail ~ postage and handling $2.00 DISCLAIMER OF BENEFICIAL INTEREST (filed in Orphans' Court) ELECTION TO TAKE AGAINST WILL (filed in Orphans' Court) EXEMPLIFICATION—ISSUING & FILING $30.00 + per page $3.00 FAMILY SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT $50.00 FINAL ACCOUNT (filed in Orphans' Court) INVENTORY $20.00 INHERITANCE TAX RETURN $20.00 MISCELLANEOUS FILINGS $10.00 PRAECIPE OF APPEARANCE $10.00 PRAECIPE OF WITHDRAWAL $10.00 RECEIPT AND RELEASE per legatee $10.00 REGISTER'S HEARINGS $50.00 (If Court Reporter is requested, it's at Attorney's expense.) Citations—each $20.00 Certified Mail—each $10.00 RESEARCH FEE Per name—per record searched $5.00 + per page copied $.50 Screen shots & docket entries—per page $1.00 By mail—postage & handling $2.00 RETURNED CHECKS Re-processing fee $30.00 + original amount (Cashier's checks only) SMALL ESTATES AFFIDAVIT $25.00 STIPULATION $25.00 SUPOENA $10.00 WAIVER $10.00
Note: If a fee is not specifically listed, the Register of Wills shall make the same charge as that imposed for other services of a similar nature.
Fee Schedule History
Act 57 of 1981 Register of Wills Fees set by General Assembly of PA Act 82 of 1990 Allows Register of Wills to establish fees with approval of President Judge—60 day window—thereafter increased only by Act of General Assembly Approved by President Judge Glenn McCracken—September 1990 Act 69 of 1993 Amended to allow increase of Register of Wills fees as determined by Register of Wills and the President Judge Act 122 of 2002 Imposed by Supreme Court—Judicial Computer Program $10.00 Act 49 of 2009 Imposed by Supreme Court—Judicial Computer System/Access to Justice/Criminal Justice Enhancement Account ~ additional $13.50 Jan. 2, 2010 Fee Schedule increase approved by President Judge Dominick Motto December 4, 2009 Act 113 of 2014 Imposed by Supreme Court—Judicial Computer System/Access to Justice/Criminal Justice Enhancement Account ~ additional $2.00 Act 126 of 2014 Imposed by Supreme Court—Judicial Computer System/Access to Justice/Criminal Justice Enhancement Account ~ additional $10.00 Acts 40 & 44 of 2017 Imposed by Supreme Court—Judicial Computer System/Access to Justice/Criminal Justice Enhancement Account ~ additional $4.75
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 17-2018. Filed for public inspection December 8, 2017, 9:00 a.m.]
No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.
This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Bulletin full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.