Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 4384 (July 30, 2022).

28 Pa. Code § 1023.22. EMS vehicle operator.

§ 1023.22. EMS vehicle operator.

 (a)  Roles and responsibilities. An EMSVO operates ground EMS vehicles for an EMS agency, as authorized by an EMS agency.

 (b)  Certification. The Department will certify as an EMSVO an individual who meets the following qualifications:

   (1)  Completes an application for EMSVO certification on a form or through an electronic process, as prescribed by the Department.

   (2)  Is 18 years of age or older.

   (3)  Has a current driver’s license.

   (4)  Is not addicted to alcohol or drugs.

   (5)  Is free from physical or mental defect or disease that may impair the person’s ability to drive a ground EMS vehicle.

   (6)  Has successfully completed an emergency vehicle operator’s course of instruction approved by the Department.

   (7)  Has not:

     (i)   Been convicted within the last 4 years prior to the date of application of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

     (ii)   Within the last 2 years prior to the date of application been convicted of reckless driving or had a driver’s license suspended due to use of drugs or alcohol or a moving traffic violation.

   (8)  Has successfully completed an EVOC following a disqualification from certification under paragraph (7), regardless of whether the person successfully completed the course previously.

 (c)  Transition for operators of ground ambulances and squad vehicles. A person who drove an ambulance or squad vehicle prior to April 10, 2014, and who satisfies the certification requirements under subsection (b), may serve as an EMSVO until July 9, 2014, without having secured a certification as an EMSVO.

 (d)  Registration.

   (1)  Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, an EMSVO’s certification is deemed registered for 3 years. Thereafter, an EMSVO shall triennially register the certification by completing a form or through an electronic process, as prescribed by the Department. An EMSVO shall submit the form or complete the electronic process at least 30 days prior to the expiration of a current registration. Failure to do so in a timely manner may result in the EMSVO certification not being registered again before the prior registration expires. The Department will issue a new registration within 30 days after the EMSVO completes the form or the electronic process if the information provided establishes that the EMSVO has a current driver’s license and has successfully completed the continuing education requirements for registration of an EMSVO certification in §  1023.31(a) (relating to continuing education requirements).

   (2)  If an EMSVO also has an EMS provider’s certification, the registration of the EMSVO’s certification will expire at the same time as the registration of the EMS provider’s certification. If the EMSVO does not maintain current registration of the EMS provider’s certification, the registration of the EMSVO’s certification will continue on the same renewal cycle. If an EMSVO who is an EMS provider becomes certified as a higher-level EMS provider, the registration of the EMSVO’s certification will expire at the same time as the registration of the higher-level EMS provider’s certification.

   (3)  An EMSVO who attempts to secure a new registration of an EMSVO certification more than 2 years after the registration expires may secure a new registration by completing a registration form or through an electronic process, as prescribed by the Department, if the information provided establishes that the EMSVO has completed an EVOC within the preceding 2 years. An EMSVO who attempts to secure a new registration of an EMSVO certification within 2 years after the registration expires may secure a new registration by completing a registration form or through an electronic process, as prescribed by the Department, if the information provided establishes that the EMSVO has completed the continuing education requirements for the missed registration period.

   (4)  An EMSVO who is a member of the armed forces who is returning from active military service and whose EMSVO registration has expired or will expire within 12 months after returning from active military service may secure an exception to the registration requirements under §  1023.21(d) (relating to general rights and responsibilities).

   (5)  An EMSVO who operates a ground EMS vehicle exclusively for a QRS operated by an EMS agency does not have registration requirements.

Source

   The provisions of this §  1023.22 adopted October 11, 2013, effective April 10, 2014, 43 Pa.B. 6093.



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.