Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 4384 (July 30, 2022).

28 Pa. Code § 1023.29. Prehospital physician extender.

§ 1023.29. Prehospital physician extender.

 (a)  Roles and responsibilities. A PHPE performs for an EMS agency basic and advanced EMS skills, and additional skills within the scope of practice of a physician assistant under the Medical Practice Act of 1985 (63 P. S. § §  422.1—422.51a) or the Osteopathic Medical Practice Act (63 P. S. § §  271.1—271.18), or a successor act, as follows:

   (1)  As a member of the crew of an ambulance or squad vehicle.

   (2)  As a member of a QRS to stabilize and improve a patient’s condition in an out-of-hospital emergency until an ambulance arrives at the scene. The PHPE may then assist the ambulance crew.

   (3)  As a member of a special operations EMS service.

   (4)  As a first aid or safety officer, or in a similar capacity.

 (b)  Certification. The Department will certify as a PHPE an individual who meets the following qualifications:

   (1)  Completes an application for PHPE certification on a form or through an electronic process, as prescribed by the Department.

   (2)  Has a currently registered license as a physician assistant with the State Board of Medicine or the State Board of Osteopathic Medicine.

   (3)  Is 18 years of age or older.

   (4)  Has a current certificate evidencing successful completion of a CPR course acceptable to the Department.

   (5)  Has passed a practical test of PHPE skills for PHPE certification approved by the Department.

   (6)  Has passed a written test of PHPE skills for PHPE certification approved by the Department.

 (c)  Biennial registration.

   (1)  When a PHPE certification is issued it is deemed registered through December 31 of that year, if it is issued in an odd-numbered year, or through December 31 of the next odd-numbered year, if it is issued in an even-numbered year. Thereafter, a PHPE shall biennially register the certification by completing a form or through an electronic process, as prescribed by the Department. A PHPE shall submit the form or complete the electronic process at least 30 days prior to the expiration of a current registration. Failure to do so in a timely manner may result in the PHPE certification not being registered again before the prior registration expires. The Department will issue a new registration within 30 days after the PHPE completes the form or the electronic process if the information provided establishes that the PHPE has satisfied the following:

     (i)   Has a current physician assistant license or current registration of that license.

     (ii)   Has completed the continuing education requirements for biennial registration of a PHPE certification in §  1023.31(g) (relating to continuing education requirements).

   (2)  A PHPE who is a member of the armed forces who is returning from active military service and whose PHPE registration has expired or will expire within 12 months after returning from active military service may secure an exception to the biennial registration requirements under §  1023.21(d) (relating to general rights and responsibilities).

 (d)  Scope of practice. A PHPE may perform skills within a paramedic’s scope of practice and other skills a physician assistant is authorized to perform by the Medical Practice Act of 1985 or the Osteopathic Medical Practice Act, whichever applies to the physician assistant, when authorized by a medical command physician or an applicable Statewide or Department-approved EMS protocol. When a PHPE functions in this capacity, the physician supervision requirements under the Medical Practice Act of 1985 and the Osteopathic Medical Practice Act do not apply. A PHPE who has not been educated in a skill within a paramedic’s scope of practice may not perform that skill unless and until the PHPE has received education to perform the skill and is able to document having received the education as required under §  1023.27(d)(2) (relating to paramedic) or otherwise documents having received the education to competently perform the skill.

Source

   The provisions of this §  1023.29 adopted October 11, 2013, effective April 10, 2014, 43 Pa.B. 6093.

Cross References

   This section cited in 28 Pa. Code §  1023.31 (relating to continuing education requirements).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.