Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 2550 (April 23, 2022).

28 Pa. Code § 1181.32. Training.

§ 1181.32. Training.

 (a)  Within the time specified, the following individuals shall complete a 4-hour training course approved by the Department:

   (1)  A physician prior to being included in the practitioner registry under §  1181.24 (relating to physician registration).

   (2)  A medical professional prior to assuming any duties at a dispensary under §  1161.25 (relating to licensed medical professionals at facility).

 (b)  The requirements of the training course required under subsection (a) must include, at a minimum, all of the following:

   (1)  The provisions of the act and this part relevant to the responsibilities of a practitioner or medical professional.

   (2)  General information about medical marijuana under Federal and State law.

   (3)  The latest scientific research on the endocannabinoid system and medical marijuana, including the risks and benefits of medical marijuana.

   (4)  Recommendations for medical marijuana as it relates to the continuing care of a patient in the following areas:

     (i)   Pain management, including opioid use in conjunction with medical marijuana.

     (ii)   Risk management, including drug interactions, side effects and potential addiction from medical marijuana use.

     (iii)   Palliative care.

     (iv)   The misuse of opioids and medical marijuana.

     (v)   Recommendations for use of medical marijuana and obtaining informed consent from a patient.

     (vi)   Any other area determined by the Department.

   (5)  Use of the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program.

   (6)  Best practices for recommending the form and dosage of medical marijuana products based on the patient’s serious medical condition and the practitioner’s or medical professional’s medical specialty and training.

 (c)  Successful completion of the course required under subsection (a) shall be approved as continuing education credits as determined by:

   (1)  The State Board of Medicine and the State Board of Osteopathic Medicine.

   (2)  The State Board of Pharmacy.

   (3)  The State Board of Nursing.

 (d)  The individuals listed in subsection (a) shall submit documentation of the completion of the 4-hour training course to the Department.

 (e)  The Department will maintain on its publicly-accessible web site a list of approved training providers that offer the 4-hour training course.

Cross References

   This section cited in 28 Pa. Code §  1181.23 (relating to medical professionals generally); and 28 Pa. Code §  1181.24 (relating to physician registration).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.