Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 3204 (May 28, 2022).

28 Pa. Code § 211.8. Use of restraints.

§ 211.8. Use of restraints.

 (a)  Restraints may not be used in lieu of staff effort. Locked restraints may not be used.

 (b)  Restraints may not be used or applied in a manner which causes injury to the resident.

 (c)  Physical restraints shall be removed at least 10 minutes out of every 2 hours during the normal waking hours to allow the resident an opportunity to move and exercise. Except during the usual sleeping hours, the resident’s position shall be changed at least every 2 hours. During sleeping hours, the position shall be changed as indicated by the resident’s needs.

 (d)  A signed, dated, written physician order shall be required for a restraint. This includes the use of chest, waist, wrist, ankle, drug or other form of restraint. The order shall include the type of restraint to be used.

 (e)  The physician shall document the reason for the initial restraint order and shall review the continued need for the use of the restraint order by evaluating the resident. If the order is to be continued, the order shall be renewed by the physician in accordance with the resident’s total program of care.

 (f)  Every 30 days, or sooner if necessary, the interdisciplinary team shall review and reevaluate the use of all restraints ordered by physicians.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  211.8 amended under section 803 of the Health Care Facilities Act (35 P. S. §  448.803); and section 2102(g) of The Administrative Code of 1929 (71 P. S. §  532(g)).

Source

   The provisions of this §  211.8 adopted August 29, 1975, effective September 1, 1975, 5 Pa.B. 2233; amended January 31, 1987, effective July 1, 1987, 17 Pa.B. 514; amended July 23, 1999, effective July 24, 1999, 29 Pa.B. 3999. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (240330) to (240331).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.