Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 3204 (May 28, 2022).

34 Pa. Code § 401.2. Department fees.

§ 401.2. Department fees.

 (a)  The following fees apply to the certification of code officials. The Department will charge one fee per certification application. An individual may apply for certification for multiple categories on a single application form. Fees are nonrefundable.

   (1)  Initial certification and registration—$50.

   (2)  Certification renewal—$50.

   (3)  Third-party agency certification and renewal—$250.

   (4)  Identification card replacement—$10.

 (b)  The following fees shall apply to the Department’s issuance of a permit for the construction, alteration or demolition of a building or structure:

(1) New construction
(i) New buildings and additions $100 plus 20¢ per square foot of floor area or each fraction of floor area.
(ii) New structures and facilities other than buildings $300
(2) Alterations, renovations or modifications of existing buildings or structures $100 plus $20 for each $1,000 of estimated cost of alterations, renovations or modification certified by the permit applicant
(3) Revisions of approved plans and accelerated approval $300
(4) Department accessibility plan review and inspection under §  403.141(b) (relating to enforcement by the Department) $200
(5) Building or structure demolition $100
(6) Annual permit $100

 (c)  The following fees apply to plan review and application for a permit for installation:

(1) Passenger, freight and combination passenger/freight elevators (not hydraulic elevators):
(i) 1—7 floors $363
(ii) 8—20 floors $436
(iii) More than 20 floors $508
(2) Hydraulic passenger, freight, combination passenger/freight elevators and other lifting devices $290
(3) Ski lifts$508
(4) Escalator and moving walks $290
(5) Wheelchair lift and inclined stairway chairlift $150
(6) Orchestra lift, belt manlift, stage lift, organ lift and other lifting devices $300
(7) Permit for alterations and major repairs $145
(8) Reinspection following failed major repair inspection (per inspection) $100 paid before reinspection
(9) Reinspection following failed acceptance inspection (to a maximum of $300 per inspection) 50% of initial permit fee paid before reinspection
(10) Revision of plans 50% of initial permit fee

 (d)  The following fees apply to periodic elevator and other lifting device inspections under §  405.7 (relating to periodic inspections):

(1) Passenger, freight and combination passenger/freight elevators (not hydraulic):
(i) 1—7 floors $94
(ii) 8—20 floors $116
(iii) More than 20 floors $145
(2) Hydraulic passenger, freight, combination passenger/freight elevators and other lifting devices $73
(3) Ski lifts $145
(4) Wheelchair lift and inclined stairway chairlift $75
(5) Escalator and moving walk $94
(6) Orchestra lift, belt manlift, stage lift, organ lift and other lifting devices $75

 (e)  The following fees apply to witnessing periodic tests under §  405.8 (relating to periodic testing):

(1) Electric elevators with one to ten openings $125
(2) Electric elevators with 11-20 openings $150
(3) Electric elevators with more than 20 openings $175
(4) Roped hydraulic elevator and roped/chained vertical reciprocal conveyor $110
(5) Hydraulic elevator, limited use/limited application elevator and direct hydraulic vertical reciprocating conveyor $85
(6) Escalator and moving walks $85
(7) Wheelchair lift and inclined stairway chairlift $75
(8) Orchestra lift, stage lift and organ lift $125
(9) Other equipment $85

 (f)  The following fees apply to the witnessing of periodic dynamic testing required under §  405.9 (relating to periodic dynamic testing):

(1) Aerial tramways $300
(2) Detachable aerial grips $300
(3) Fixed grip aerial lifts $200

 (g)  The following fees apply to a certificate of operation:

(1) Annual renewal $36
(2) Duplicate $25

 (h)  The following fees shall apply to a variance request:

(1) Industrial Board variance request appeal or extension of time $100
(2) Accessibility Advisory Board variance request application $100

Authority

   The provisions of this §  401.2 amended under sections 105, 301, and 304 of the Pennsylvania Construction Code Act (35 P. S. § §  7210.105, 7210.301 and 7210.304).

Source

   The provisions of this §  401.2 amended January 9, 2004, effective April 9, 2004, 34 Pa.B. 319; amended December 15, 2006, effective December 31, 2006, 36 Pa.B. 7548. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (302318) to (302321).

Cross References

   This section cited in 34 Pa. Code §  401.5 (relating to waivers); 34 Pa. Code §  401.8 (relating to certification renewal); 34 Pa. Code §  401.11 (relating to certification of third-party agency); 34 Pa. Code §  401.15 (relating to registration of current code administrators); 34 Pa. Code §  403.43 (relating to grant, denial and effect of permits); 34 Pa. Code §  405.3 (relating to permit application); and 34 Pa. Code §  405.6 (relating to certificate of operation).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.