Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 3204 (May 28, 2022).

49 Pa. Code § 21.156a. Continued competency.

§ 21.156a. Continued competency.

 (a)  A licensed practical nurse whose license has lapsed for 5 years or longer or has been placed on inactive status for 5 years or longer, as permitted in section 13.1(b) of the act (63 P.S. §  663.1(b)), may reactivate the license by doing one of the following:

   (1)  Successfully completing the initial licensing examination approved by the Board and submitting the examination fee in §  21.147 (relating to fees).

   (2)  Successfully completing a Board-approved reactivation program which requires passage of a nursing achievement examination.

   (3)  Providing evidence to the Board that the applicant has a current license and has practiced as a practical nurse in another jurisdiction at sometime within the last 5 years.

 (b)  A licensed practical nurse whose license has been suspended for 5 years or longer may reactivate the license after complying with the terms of the suspension Order by doing either of the following:

   (1)  Successfully completing the initial licensing examination approved by the Board and submitting the examination fee in §  21.147.

   (2)  Successfully completing a Board-approved reactivation program which requires passage of a nursing achievement examination.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  21.156a amended under section 17.6 of the Practical Nurse Law (63 P.S. §  667.6).

Source

   The provisions of this §  21.156a adopted June 18, 1993, effective June 19, 1993, 23 Pa.B. 2827; amended December 16, 2016, effective December 17, 2016, 46 Pa.B. 7822. Immediately preceding text appears at serial page (378858).

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  21.147 (relating to fees); 49 Pa. Code §  21.155 (relating to licensure by endorsement); and 49 Pa. Code §  21.602 (relating to volunteer license).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.