Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 51 Pa.B. 6384 (October 2, 2021).

49 Pa. Code § 21.332. Requirement of continuing education.

§ 21.332. Requirement of continuing education.

 (a)  A CRNP shall comply with this section and § §  21.332a—21.337.

 (b)  Continuing education requirements shall be completed each biennial renewal cycle.

   (1)  A CRNP who does not meet the continuing education requirements for a biennial period will be subject to formal disciplinary action under section 14(a)(3) of the act (63 P.S. §  244(a)(3)).

   (2)  The Board may waive the requirements of continuing education in cases of illness or undue hardship. It is the duty of each CRNP who seeks a waiver to notify the Board in writing and request the waiver at least 90 days prior to the end of the renewal period unless an emergency or hardship occurs within the 90-day period. The Board will grant, deny or grant in part the request for waiver.

   (3)  A CRNP who requests a waiver may not prescribe or dispense drugs after the expiration of his current prescriptive authority until the Board grants the waiver request or the prescriptive authority approval has been renewed.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  21.332 issued under sections 2.1(k) and 8.1(c) of The Professional Nursing Law (63 P.S. § §  212.1(k) and 218.1(c)); amended under sections 2.1(k) and 12.1(a) of The Professional Nursing Law (63 P.S. § §  212.1(k) and 222(a)).

Source

   The provisions of this §  21.332 adopted December 3, 2004, effective December 4, 2004, 34 Pa.B. 6409; amended December 11, 2009, effective December 12, 2009, 39 Pa.B. 6994; amended October 16, 2015, effective October 17, 2015, 45 Pa.B. 6196. Immediately preceding text appears at serial page (366681).

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  21.332a (relating to inactive status and reactivation).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.