Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 51 Pa.B. 5522 (August 28, 2021).

49 Pa. Code § 39.61. Requirements.

CLOCK HOURS REQUIREMENT


§ 39.61. Requirements.

 (a)  A licensee shall complete at least 48 clock hours of continuing education during the preceding biennial period.

 (b)  All continuing education clock hours shall be completed in courses preapproved by NAB or the Board, except as provided in subsection (c)(2)—(5).

 (c)  Of the 48 clock hours required, the following apply:

   (1)  Up to 48 clock hours may be taken in lecture, college or university, computer interactive, distance learning or correspondence courses preapproved by NAB or the Board.

   (2)  A maximum of 12 clock hours may be earned by serving as an instructor of a NAB or Board-approved continuing education program or as an instructor of a college or university course approved by NAB or the Board. Instructors may earn 1 clock hour for each hour of instruction up to 12 clock hours.

   (3)  Clock hours may be earned by authoring an article on long-term care as follows:

     (i)   Authors whose articles relating to long-term care are published in professional journals may earn 3 clock hours per article, up to a maximum of 12 clock hours per biennium.

     (ii)   Additional credit per article, up to 12 of the required clock hours, may be awarded based on the complexity of the subject matter or work.

     (iii)   In exceptional circumstances, when the article is published in a refereed journal, and the subject matter or work is complex, a licensee may be awarded up to 24 clock hours.

     (iv)   Published articles used for continuing education credit shall be submitted to the Board within 60 days of publication. Upon review of the published article, the Board will determine the appropriate number of clock hours to be awarded based upon the complexity of the subject matter or work.

   (4)  Up to 24 clock hours may be obtained by serving as a supervisor in a Board-approved AIT program, when the AIT successfully completes the AIT program.

   (5)  A maximum of 12 clock hours may be awarded retroactively for attending programs, to include lectures, and college or university courses, which have not been preapproved. The attendee shall submit a written request for approval within 60 days of attending the program and document attendance. The attendee shall demonstrate to the Board’s satisfaction that the programs meet the requirements in § §  39.14(a)(2) and 39.51 (relating to approval of programs of study; and standards for continuing education programs).

 (d)  A licensee who obtains a license after the biennial period begins shall complete a prorated amount of clock hours equal to 2 clock hours per month through the end of the biennial period. For the purpose of calculating the number of clock hours required, partial months shall count as whole months.

 (e)  A licensee suspended for disciplinary reasons is not exempt from the continuing education requirements in subsection (a).

 (f)  A licensee who cannot meet the overall continuing education clock hour requirement in subsection (a) or (d) due to illness, emergency or hardship may apply to the Board in writing prior to the end of the renewal period for an extension of time to complete the clock hours. A licensee who cannot meet any other requirement in this section due to illness, emergency or hardship may apply to the Board in writing prior to the end of the renewal period for a waiver of the requirement. An extension or waiver request must explain why compliance is impossible, and include appropriate documentation. An extension or waiver request will be evaluated by the Board on a case-by-case basis.

 (g)  A licensee will not be credited for repeating a program in the same renewal period unless the subject matter has substantially changed during that period.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  39.61 issued under section 506 of The Administrative Code of 1929 (71 P. S. §  186); and sections 4 and 9 of the Nursing Home Administrators License Act (63 P. S. § §  1104(c) and 1109).

Source

   The provisions of this §  39.61 adopted February 25, 1983, effective February 26, 1983, 13 Pa.B. 834; amended March 9, 2001, effective March 10, 2001, 31 Pa.B. 1362; amended July 11, 2008, effective July 12, 2008, 38 Pa.B. 3811; amended June 11, 2010, effective June 12, 2010, 40 Pa.B. 3090. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (335561) to (335563).

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  39.11 (relating to biennial renewal); and 49 Pa. Code §  39.52 (relating to program registration).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.