Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 51 Pa.B. 5522 (August 28, 2021).

49 Pa. Code § 48.15. Exemption from licensure examination.

§ 48.15. Exemption from licensure examination.

 A license will be issued without examination to an applicant who meets the following requirements. The applicant shall have:

   (1)  Satisfied the general requirements for licensure of §  48.12 (relating to general qualifications for licensure).

   (2)  Submitted an application provided by the Board and accompanied by the required fee.

   (3)  Submitted an application by February 19, 2002. (Editor’s Note: The act of February 13, 2002 (P. L. 83, No. 4) extended the deadline for the filing of an application by 1 year.)

   (4)  Demonstrated proof of practice of marriage and family therapy for at least 5 of the 7 years immediately prior to the date of application for license.

   (5)  Have successfully met one of the following education requirements:

     (i)   Have a doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy as defined in §  48.1 (relating to definitions) from an accredited educational institution.

     (ii)   Have a doctoral degree in a field closely related to the practice of marriage and family therapy as defined in §  48.1 from an accredited educational institution with graduate level coursework in marriage and family therapy acceptable to the Board as defined in §  48.1.

     (iii)   Have a master’s degree of at least 48 semester hours or 72 quarter hours in marriage and family therapy as defined in §  48.1 from an accredited educational institution.

     (iv)   Have a master’s degree of at least 48 semester hours or 72 quarter hours in a field closely related to marriage and family therapy as defined in §  48.1 from an accredited educational institution with graduate level course-work in marriage and family therapy acceptable to the Board as defined in §  48.1.

     (v)   Have a master’s degree of less than 48 semester hours or 72 quarter hours but not less than 36 semester hours or 54 quarter hours in marriage and family therapy as defined in §  48.1 from an accredited educational institution and have within the past 10 years completed sufficient continuing education satisfactory to the Board to equal the number of hours needed to achieve a total of 48 semester hours or 72 quarter hours at a ratio of 15 continuing education hours equaling 1 semester hour. Continuing education satisfactory to the Board shall meet the following requirements:

       (A)   Master’s level difficulty.

       (B)   Excludes courses in office management or practice building.

       (C)   Any course which is related to the practice of marriage and family therapy that has been approved for continuing education credit for licensed psychologists or licensed social workers, has been approved by the National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc. (NBCC), the Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification (CRCC), the Certification Board for Music Therapists (CBMT), AATA, American Dance Therapy Association (ADTA) or the National Association for Drama Therapy (NADT), or has been offered by AAMFT or the Pennsylvania Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (PAMFT).

     (vi)   Have a master’s degree of less than 48 semester hours or 72 quarter hours but not less than 36 semester hours or 54 quarter hours in a field closely related to the practice of marriage and family therapy as defined in §  48.1, from an accredited educational institution with graduate level coursework in marriage and family therapy as defined in §  48.1 and have within the past 10 years completed sufficient continuing education satisfactory to the Board to equal the number of hours needed to achieve a total of 48 semester hours or 72 quarter hours at a ratio of 15 continuing education hours equaling 1 semester hour. Continuing education satisfactory to the Board shall meet the following requirements:

       (A)   Master’s level difficulty.

       (B)   Excludes courses in office management or practice building.

       (C)   Any course which is related to the practice of marriage and family therapy that has been approved for continuing education credit for licensed psychologists or licensed social workers, has been approved by NBCC, CRCC, CBMT, AATA, ADTA or NADT, or has been offered by AAMFT or PAMFT.

   (6)  Demonstrated holding clinical membership status from AAMFT and passing the AMFTRB National MFT Examination or an examination given by another state as a requirement for licensure in that state.



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.