Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 51 Pa.B. 3586 (June 26, 2021).

55 Pa. Code § 3270.106. Rest equipment.

§ 3270.106. Rest equipment.

 (a)  Individual, clean, age-appropriate rest equipment shall be provided for preschool, toddler and infant children as agreed between the child’s parent and the operator. The rest equipment must be labeled for the use of a specific child and used only by the specified child.

 (b)  Bed linens may not be used alone as age-appropriate rest equipment.

 (c)  Stacked cribs may not be used.

 (d)  Crib and playpen slats may be no more than 2 3/8 inches apart.

 (e)  Seasonal, appropriate covering, such as sheets or blankets, shall be provided as agreed between the child’s parent and the operator.

 (f)  At least 2 feet of space is required on three sides of a bed, cot, crib or other rest equipment while the equipment is in use.

 (g)  Linens, blankets and rest equipment shall be cleaned monthly, at a minimum. The operator shall arrange a cleaning schedule with the parent.

 (h)  Soiled bedding shall be cleaned before it is reused.

 (i)  The upper level of double-deck beds may not be used for children 8 years of age or younger.

 (j)  Toys, bumper pads or pillows may not be present in a crib while an infant is sleeping in the crib.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  3270.106 amended under Articles IX and X of the Human Services Code (62 P.S. § §  901—922 and 1001—1088).

Source

   The provisions of this §  3270.106 amended May 23, 2008, effective September 22, 2008, 38 Pa.B. 2437. Immediately preceding text appears at serial page (218001).

Cross References

   This section cited in 55 Pa. Code §  3270.13 (relating to waivers); 55 Pa. Code §  3270.61 (relating to measurement and use of indoor child care space); 55 Pa. Code §  3270.209 (relating to rest equipment); and 55 Pa. Code §  3270.234 (relating to stacked cribs and crib slats).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.