Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 6342 (October 1, 2022).

58 Pa. Code § 109.3. Personal watercraft.

§ 109.3. Personal watercraft.

 (a)  As used in this section, ‘‘personal watercraft’’ means a boat less than 16 feet in length which meets the following conditions:

   (1)  Uses an internal combustion motor powering a water jet pump as its primary source of motive propulsion.

   (2)  Is designed to be operated by a person sitting, standing or kneeling on, rather than being operated by a person sitting or standing inside the vessel.

 (b)  It is unlawful for a person to operate, or be a passenger onboard, a personal watercraft on the waters of this Commonwealth unless the person is wearing a United States Coast Guard approved wearable personal flotation device in accordance with §  97.1 (relating to personal flotation devices). Inflatable personal flotation devices may not be used to meet this requirement.

 (c)  A person operating a personal watercraft equipped by the manufacturer with a lanyard type engine cutoff switch shall attach the lanyard to his person, clothing or personal flotation device as appropriate for the specific vessel.

 (d)  A person may not operate a personal watercraft between sunset and sunrise.

 (e)  Subsections (b) and (c) do not apply to a performer participating in a permitted regatta, race, marine parade, tournament or exhibition or to a person preparing to participate in the event at the location and within 48 hours prior to the event.

 (f)  Except as otherwise provided in this subpart, a person may not operate a personal watercraft on the waters of this Commonwealth unless the person has obtained a Boating Safety Education Certificate as defined in §  91.6 (relating to Boating Safety Education Certificates).

Authority

   The provisions of this §  109.3 amended under the Fish and Boat Code, 30 Pa.C.S. §  5123.

Source

   The provisions of this §  109.3 adopted February 12, 1993, effective February 13, 1993, 23 Pa.B. 744; amended June 3, 1994, effective June 4, 1994, 24 Pa.B. 2795; amended August 8, 1997, effective August 9, 1997, 27 Pa.B. 3999; amended September 25, 1998, effective September 26, 1998, 28 Pa.B. 4789; amended December 4, 1998, effective December 5, 1998, 28 Pa.B. 5984; amended April 12, 2002, effective April 13, 2002, 32 Pa.B. 1865; amended November 15, 2002, effective November 16, 2002, 32 Pa.B. 5659; amended July 18, 2003, effective July 19, 2003, 33 Pa.B. 3497; amended November 20, 2015, effective January 1, 2016, 45 Pa.B. 6679. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (375777) to (375778).

Cross References

   This section cited in 17 Pa. Code §  11.201 (relating to definitions).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.