Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 51 Pa.B. 676 (January 30, 2021).

Pennsylvania Code



Subchapter L. PERMITS RELATING TO DOGS


Sec.


147.221.    General.
147.222.    Permits for dog trials on Commission controlled lands.
147.223.    Permits for dog trials on privately-owned lands.

§ 147.221. General.

 (a)  Signs required in sections 2941(e) and 2942(h) of the act (relating to dog training areas; and special retriever training areas) shall be displayed so they are visible to an intruder and shall:

   (1)  Set forth the purpose for which the area is intended.

   (2)  Warn an intruder that hunting without proper permission is prohibited.

   (3)  Contain other pertinent information the permittee deems necessary.

 (b)  [Reserved].

 (c)  If applicable, each casting point shall be set forth on every application for a permit.

 (d)  During field trials/hunt tests for which a permit has been issued, a firearm normally fired from the shoulder may be used with blank ammunition, if no live ammunition is possessed.

 (e)  No more than ten persons may be listed on the permit as ‘‘official guns.’’

Source

   The provisions of this §  147.221 adopted June 19, 1987, effective July 1, 1987, 17 Pa.B. 2464; amended July 22, 1988, effective upon publication and applies retroactively to July 1, 1988, 18 Pa.B. 3213; amended March 13, 1998, effective March 14, 1998, 28 Pa.B. 1316. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (230330) to (230331).

§ 147.222. Permits for dog trials on Commission controlled lands.

 (a)  A request for permission to hold a trial for dogs on lands under the control of the Commission shall be made in writing, at least 30 days in advance of the requested trial date, to the regional office under whose jurisdiction the lands are located.

 (b)  Upon approval of an applicant’s request, permission to hold a trial may be granted by the issuance of a permit under the signature of the Executive Director or a designee. The permit shall list regulations governing the conduct of the trial and the use of the grounds for those purposes.

 (c)  A field trial may be held only during the period August 1 to April 30, excepting the regular open season for hunting small game, antlered and antlerless deer. Dates for national or State championship trials may be considered by the regional director during closed periods.

 (d)  A retriever trial will be permitted between June 1 and October 1 and January 15 until April 30 of each year. Dates for national or State championship trials may be considered by the regional director during closed periods.

 (e)  An applicant or a designee shall meet with appropriate field officers of the Commission at least 10 days prior to the date of a trial to review the regulations and to assure an understanding of the course location and layout.

 (f)  A field trial shall be conducted through the use of a predetermined course approved by a Commission representative.

 (g)  Unless otherwise approved by the Executive Director or a designee, a permittee shall provide temporary, portable headquarters for conducting the trial, including portable toilet facilities. The facilities shall be removed upon conclusion of the event.

 (h)  A permittee is responsible for the cleanup and removal of litter upon conclusion of the trial.

 (i)  Horses shall be tethered at a designated area; otherwise pasturing is prohibited. Stable facilities will not be furnished.

 (j)  Vehicles shall be parked only at a designated area.

 (k)  Riders on horseback, including officials and gallery, may not exceed 15 persons. Dependent upon ground conditions, the number of riders on horseback may be further restricted.

 (l)  For the appropriate conduct of the trials, marshals shall be required to keep the gallery in line and on course. Horses with riders may not be permitted outside the marked or otherwise designated trial areas.

 (m)  The permittee shall be wholly and solely responsible for loss or damage to property, bodily injury or death arising out of an operation conducted and agree to hold harmless the Commission for damage, loss, claims, demands, suits, costs and expenses which may be suffered by the Commission directly or indirectly by reason of the use of these lands by the permittee or its agent.

 (n)  After having been advised of an infraction of the regulations governing the conduct of the trial, and if the person in charge of the trial fails to correct the infractions, the Executive Director or a Commission officer will have the authority to cause the trial to terminate and to order the participants, with associated equipment, to immediately vacate the area.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  147.222 amended under the Game and Wildlife Code, 34 Pa.C.S. § §  2102(a) and 2901(b).

Source

   The provisions of this §  147.222 adopted March 9, 1990, effective March 10, 1990, 20 Pa.B. 1404; amended March 13, 1998, effective March 14, 1998, 28 Pa.B. 1316; amended October 24, 2003, effective October 25, 2003, 33 Pa.B. 5320. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (242897) to (242898).

§ 147.223. Permits for dog trials on privately-owned lands.

 (a)  Applications for permits to hold dog trials or meets on privately-owned lands shall be made in writing on Commission forms at least 30 days in advance of the requested trial dates to the regional office under whose jurisdiction the lands are located.

 (b)  Applications for permits to hold trial for retrieving dogs on privately-owned land shall be made in writing on Commission forms at least 30 days in advance of the requested trial dates to the regional office under whose jurisdiction the lands are located.

 (c)  Applications for permits for dog trials not received at least 30 days in advance of the trial dates are subject to disapproval.

Source

   The provisions of this §  147.223 adopted June 6, 1997, effective June 7, 1997, 27 Pa.B. 2743.



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.